birds of ethiopia and eritrea Reviews & Opinions


Submit birds of ethiopia and eritrea review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of the Horn of Africa: Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, and Socotra (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-25 17:24

    Basics: 2009, softcover, 496pp, field/identification guide, 213 color plates of all 1,000+ species in the region; range mapsThis is another top quality book produced by the authors for the eastern region of Africa. Upon opening this book, you'll recognize a lot of of the plates from their earlier work, "Field Tutorial to the Birds of East Africa" (see #6 below). You'll also see a lot of fresh plates along with modifications of prior e artistry is very good, easily making this book equal to or better than any other field tutorial on African birds. The 213 color plates illustrate all 1,000+ species found in the four "Horn" countries of Eritrea, Ethiopia, Djibouti and Somalia (plus the island of Socotra, which belongs to Yemen). Nearly every bird is shown with multiple (2-5) drawings that display perfect detail. The Yellow Wagtail has 13 various illustrations that compare the wide variation of this species. The plates do a amazing job at showing variations between genders, ages, and subspecies. I especially appreciated the additional effort that went into separating out the a lot of subspecies. Extra focus seems to have been given to in-flight poses for a lot of of the non-passerines.A brief paragraph is given for each bird across from its illustration. Although the amount of text may seem light, the info is very informative, to the point, and precise. About 80% of the info is on identification. A couple more lines are dedicated to habitat, distribution notes, and voice. You may wish to take note of the font size, which is little and thin; consequently, you might wish to have your reading glasses e range maps - one for each bird - shows the resident, breeding, and non-breeding ranges in three various colors. These maps reflect the bird's range within only the four countries and artificially stop at the political borders. The maps present very amazing detail; however, this is sometimes difficult to create out due to the shaded highland regions in the background and to the rather faint gray boundaries that separate the countries. Ranges of birds with a very restricted distribution (e.g., Sidamo Lark, Ash's Lark, Djibouti Francolin, Black-backed Cisticola) can be difficult to see with just a little dot representing the range. Inserting an arrow would have been helpful. Making a more prominent note of the 70+ endemics would also have been appreciated, vs simply burying the word "endemic" within the case you're wondering if you would need this book over the authors' prior book for East Africa, the respond is "Yes, if you are visiting any of these four countries." Twenty percent of the birds found in the Horn are not in the other book. Also, when there is overlap of the species between the two regions, the authors' have modified the plates to reflect the plumages of the local is is a superb tutorial that will be essential for birding in these countries. Being the only complete book for this region makes it even more indispensible.1) Birds of Ethiopia and Eritrea by Atkins/Ash2) Ethiopia's Endemic Birds by Urban3) A Tutorial to Endemic Birds of Ethiopia and Eritrea by Pol4) Ethiopia: In Find of Endemic Birds by Francis5) Birds of Somalia by Ash6) Field Tutorial to the Birds of East Africa by Stevenson7) Birds of Africa South of the Sahara by Sinclair/Ryan8) Birds of Kenya and Northern Tanzania by Zimmerman9) A Checklist of the Birds of Ethiopia by Urban(written by Soleglad at Avian Review or Avian Books, May 2009)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of the Horn of Africa: Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, and Socotra (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-25 17:24

    An perfect book we look forward to using when we visit these countries in January 2020Similar to one we used when we visited Uganda & Rwanda latest October : color plates & descriptions & maps are outstanding

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of the Horn of Africa: Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, and Socotra (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-25 17:24

    Being stationed in Djibouti I was amazed of all the birds that flew through the airfield. I tried to look them up but to no avail, I couldn't search a book that would help. Latest week Mat Klope came by to perform a wildlife survey of the birds and animals in Djibouti and in his hand was this book. I was amazed that someone even took the time to log the regions where the birds live. I've worked in the Aviation industry since high school and repaired countless aircraft after a "bird strike." Learning more about the birds that live in the regions where I work

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on birds of ethiopia and eritrea or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch birds of ethiopia and eritrea video reviews and related movies:

    See Africa: Ethiopia, South Sudan, Sudan, Eritrea, Djibouti on youtube.

     related image

    See Birds in Ethiopia on youtube.

     related image

    See Eritrea bird watcher's heaven on youtube.

     related image

    See Ethiopia and Eritrea: blue skies ahead on youtube.

     related image

    See The Egyptian Eritrean Military Axis Might Make The Horn Of Africa Crisis Explode. Egypt Vs Ethiopia on youtube.

     related image

    See Ethiopia and Eritrea on youtube.

     related image

    See Open Mic - Guest Mr. Nigel Redman (Author of "Birds in the Horn Of Africa" #Eritrea on youtube.

     related image

    See The lovely Ethiopian Mystery Bird on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of the Horn of Africa: Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, and Socotra (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-25 17:24

    we used this book during our 27 day journey through Ethiopia. Its perfect and we would have been lost without it. The index is clear the photos amazing and the descriptions of the birds very helpful - they highlight what you need to concentrate on.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of the Horn of Africa: Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, and Socotra (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-25 17:24

    I was really excited to order this book and the color plates are terrific. However, the range maps are so min that they're a joke. They are beautiful well impossible to read, even with a magnifying glass. I realize that the only alternative is to have the range maps on a separate page, but that would be preferable to not being able to read them

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of the Horn of Africa: Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, and Socotra (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-25 17:24

    I've been using this book while working and traveling in the Horn of Africa. It has been very useful ... I really like the layout--the pictures are perfect representations of the species (and as one reviewer noted, subspecies). The flight profiles and range maps have been key to my identifying some birds--the hardest birds to identify I search are the plain ones and this book does a very amazing job of describing and showing the subtle variations needed for positive identification. My copy is now dog-eared, coffee-stained, and marked up ... After 3 months, the binding is coming loose somewhat but the pages are still stitched in beautiful well. It's been stuffed in backpacks, thrown on hot dashes, tossed around in a dive bag on the beach--so it's holding up very well all things considered!If you are coming this method and you like birds, it's the book for you! Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of the Horn of Africa: Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, and Socotra (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-25 17:24

    While heavy, it is comprehensive and simple to use. Perfect index and plates. Fellow birders carried smaller Birds of Eastern Africa and kept asking to see my Redman guide. Local tutorials also used Birds of the Horn...I recommend Redman's book strongly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of the Horn of Africa: Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, and Socotra (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-25 17:24

    This is another perfect bird tutorial by the authors. On a latest trip to Ethiopia, I found this book to be an indispensable companion. The drawings are outstanding as is the text on each bird. The range maps and in particular the elevation tutorials were very helpful in this geographically variable country. The info of this tutorial are well covered in previous reviews and this book would be a welcome addition to the library of those who love to travel in Africa. I left this tutorial with our local semi-bird tutorial to encourage his growth in birding. He was both emotional and appreciative to keep this book. I bought a fresh one on my arrival home. Ted Peterson Lynnwood WA USA

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of the Horn of Africa: Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, and Socotra (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-25 17:24

    I used this book when I studied tropical ecology in Ethiopia earlier this year. I won't repeat what others have said, but this is a very amazing field guide. One major flaw is that some species are given full species status or various names when that is not how they are recognized in current globe checklists. That makes it difficult for those that use eBird or other listing databases.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Birds of the Horn of Africa: Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti, Somalia, and Socotra (Princeton Field Guides) review []  2020-1-25 17:24

    Like an idiot, I didn't buy a bird book BEFORE my trip to Ethiopia. Upon returning home I bought this book and I'm successfully using it to ID the birds I saw on my trip, based on my photographs and notes. A very user friendly layout with intuitively displayed range information.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    yosager 91" x 23" Premium Bird Feeding Station Kit, Bird Feeder Pole Wild Bird Feeder Hanging Kit with Metal Suet Feeder Bird Bath for Bird Watching Birdfeeder Planter Hanger review []  2020-1-18 2:21

    Satisfied to choose amazon delivery, which is safe & fast! Everybody are have fun bird watching with this well-built item. We are pleasure to create 5 stars for it. The amazing reasons as following:Pro:1. Created of solid metal construction. No afraid of powerful wind with 5 prong base. The size of pole is twice than shepherd's hook. it will be for long time to use.2. It’s very simple to install. No need tools, I just place them together in few mins .3. Four hooks could be used to hang bird feeder, flower basket and others. Come with a water dish which could be for bird bath and water tray.4. Love to watch this stylish bird feeder station and regular blue jays, robins staying in my garden.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    yosager 91" x 23" Premium Bird Feeding Station Kit, Bird Feeder Pole Wild Bird Feeder Hanging Kit with Metal Suet Feeder Bird Bath for Bird Watching Birdfeeder Planter Hanger review []  2020-1-18 2:21

    I'm slowly becoming obsessed with feeding the wildlife in my yard and this was the newest addition to my buffet, I love it! I had no issue setting it up, it only took a few minutes. It stays sturdy in the ground and is powerful enough to keep planters too, so I have a couple hanging flower pots in addition to a seed feeder, mealworm feeder, and the water [email protected]#$%!& looks really cute and the birds seem to appreciate being higher up than I previously had them. Amazing feeding station, I would recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    yosager 91" x 23" Premium Bird Feeding Station Kit, Bird Feeder Pole Wild Bird Feeder Hanging Kit with Metal Suet Feeder Bird Bath for Bird Watching Birdfeeder Planter Hanger review []  2020-1-18 2:21

    Perfect purchase. Place together myself and place into ground easily. Birds love it. So do Squirrels. The small rascals can’t be deterred. Any advice?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    yosager 91" x 23" Premium Bird Feeding Station Kit, Bird Feeder Pole Wild Bird Feeder Hanging Kit with Metal Suet Feeder Bird Bath for Bird Watching Birdfeeder Planter Hanger review []  2020-1-18 2:21

    Simple to assembly, just screw the pieces together. I like how tall it is, birds are safe from cats and my dog. The bird feed tray needs bigger seeds like sunflower seeds. It feels sturdy. Getting into the ground I have took some work, but I think most people will search it simple to set it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    yosager 91" x 23" Premium Bird Feeding Station Kit, Bird Feeder Pole Wild Bird Feeder Hanging Kit with Metal Suet Feeder Bird Bath for Bird Watching Birdfeeder Planter Hanger review []  2020-1-18 2:21

    Very simple to place together and to stake in the ground, seems to be created well, I did anchor it because I have one massive bird feeder and it leaned a little, but besides that I love it, I love how tall it is because my daughter likes to watch the birds and my other hook was not tall enough, had two neighbors ask me where I got it from, lol. Satisfied to tell them.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    yosager 91" x 23" Premium Bird Feeding Station Kit, Bird Feeder Pole Wild Bird Feeder Hanging Kit with Metal Suet Feeder Bird Bath for Bird Watching Birdfeeder Planter Hanger review []  2020-1-18 2:21

    I wasn't sure if this bird feeding station pole would be powerful enough to keep my huge feeder plus a lot of other things. It was exactly what I was looking for! The only problem I had to trying to obtain the stake into the ground without damaging the pole. It took some time but I got it figured out. If you are looking for a sturdy and movable bird feeding station I highly recommend this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    yosager 91" x 23" Premium Bird Feeding Station Kit, Bird Feeder Pole Wild Bird Feeder Hanging Kit with Metal Suet Feeder Bird Bath for Bird Watching Birdfeeder Planter Hanger review []  2020-1-18 2:21

    This pole is amazing in theory but they sure skimped out in the joints for the three pieces of the pole. That plastic connector that is threaded between each section is not sturdy - the pole continually bends at those connection points. I have tried moving that connector piece up or down and it still wants to bend at those joints. These poles should have been threaded to screw into each other instead of using a cheap plastic connector.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    yosager 91" x 23" Premium Bird Feeding Station Kit, Bird Feeder Pole Wild Bird Feeder Hanging Kit with Metal Suet Feeder Bird Bath for Bird Watching Birdfeeder Planter Hanger review []  2020-1-18 2:21

    I assembled and had it in my garden in less than 40 minutes. i bought it primarily to hang my bug zapper on it. And I ended up hanging 2 hummingbird feeders on either side of the middle hook.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    yosager 91" x 23" Premium Bird Feeding Station Kit, Bird Feeder Pole Wild Bird Feeder Hanging Kit with Metal Suet Feeder Bird Bath for Bird Watching Birdfeeder Planter Hanger review []  2020-1-18 2:21

    i bought this to hang some hummingbird feeders and it seems to working beautiful well so far. The material is powerful enough and it stands stable once installed to the ground. It’s got a small bit rusty, but i don’t think the birds really care about that.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    yosager 91" x 23" Premium Bird Feeding Station Kit, Bird Feeder Pole Wild Bird Feeder Hanging Kit with Metal Suet Feeder Bird Bath for Bird Watching Birdfeeder Planter Hanger review []  2020-1-18 2:21

    GREAT, I HAVE SO MANY BIRDS COMING TO ALL MY DIFFERENT FEEDERS. I LOVE IT. IT HAS YET TO FALL! even with the poor weather, we have been having here in Fresh Jersey lately. It has held up and I lost count of the various species and how often I refill my feeders. I also loved that it included 3 various types of feeders for you to use. The suet one I placed on a tree for the woodpeckers that come now. the other two feeders I use 2 various types of seeds and the birds love it! I also found a squirrel sitting on one of the included feeders eating the seeds! it was truly a sight to see his small butt sitting on the square feeder munching away. I am not a person to deny squirrels food. I like to watch them as well. My boyfriend created 2 box feeders and attached them both to another tree so that I can feed the squirrels as well. We both sit on my back sun porch and watch all the commotion going on outside my windows. Study and reasonably priced. it comes with 4 prongs to insert into the ground and this one is created of metal, not like others that are created of plastic. so buyer beware of the others. I am glad it is metal and sturdy because of the intense winds we have had and it has held its own thus far. I love the product, we are thinking of perhaps purchasing another one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea review []  2020-1-23 0:32

    This is essential reading for any professional soldier or diplomat conducting business in east Africa. Kaplan neatly lays out the narrative as is his style. His commentary is on target. I have worked this theater for 5 years now and he does not write one thing which I can say is inaccurate. His insights provide explanation to what may seem to the uninitiated as chaos. Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea review []  2020-1-23 0:32

    I apologize for the obnoxious and arguably flippant alliteration in that title, but it manages to be remarkably accurate. I found this book to be an extremely well-written and enlightening, if at times somewhat chaotic, acc of the complicated situation on the horn of Africa around the time of the mid-1980s. Its focus is on the underreported factors that contributed to the famine that ravaged the region, namely that regional battles and corrupt leaders were far more responsible for the mass starvation and suffering than simply the drought itself. A compelling if depressing read that sheds light on protracted, devastating happenings that are largely unknown to most of the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea review []  2020-1-23 0:32

    Kaplan has amazing books because he is on the ground, describing what he sees. This one would have been better if I would have read it years ago. Still, it is a amazing history of the region. You can tell it was one of the first books that he wrote. Sometimes you lose track of the people he is writing about. But overall, it is a amazing read, especially if you like his other books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea review []  2020-1-23 0:32

    I always have fun reading Robert Kaplan, so the book is a amazing tour of Africa. Even though the material is now somewhat dated, I am sure that the political and social contexts have not changed all that much in the intervening years. I recommend this like all Mr. Kaplan's other works highly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea review []  2020-1-23 0:32

    Insightful and simple to read analysis of the 70s and 80s Horn of Africa. And the political side of the 1980s famine. As always a amazing book from the Author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea review []  2020-1-23 0:32

    excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea review []  2020-1-23 0:32

    I've been reading Kaplan for years. He has a special method of exploring an problem or region of the globe and bringing it home for the reader in a method that balances history, politics, and culture with a touch of the exotic. Kaplan also has a hold grasp of the globe and where it is going. Reading Kaplan is always interesting, provocative, and thought-provoking. I would recommend any book he's written as a amazing read.I must confess my ignorance about Ethiopia. I grew up with the commercials for starving kids and famine relief and Live Aid, but I never actually knew much about it. I just figured it was another group of hungry people who were doomed by poor weather and poor geography. I never paid much attention to the problems of that part of the world, so I was shocked to learn just how much I had missed in my own lifetime in Ethiopia. Kaplan does a terrific job of explaining the background and bringing the problems to vivid life. This book is somewhat dated, but it still serves as a amazing description of what was event in the region in the 1980s and 1990s and it helps shed light on the problems facing the region today.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea review []  2020-1-23 0:32

    Another brilliant book by Robert Kaplan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea review []  2020-1-23 0:32

    very biased, although admittedly so. Better than anything else I could search on Ethiopia. Could be more well rounded in what it covers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea review []  2020-1-23 0:32

    I was not particularly impressed with this book. Kaplan tend to repeat the same thoughts (and phrases) in each chapter. Obviously, he did not wish to do much research into the zone as the same handful of sources are referred to. It is a shame that such short shrift is given to this region as it is one continuously neglected by the famous media.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea (Vintage Departures) review []  2020-1-17 20:47

    This is essential reading for any professional soldier or diplomat conducting business in east Africa. Kaplan neatly lays out the narrative as is his style. His commentary is on target. I have worked this theater for 5 years now and he does not write one thing which I can say is inaccurate. His insights provide explanation to what may seem to the uninitiated as chaos. Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea (Vintage Departures) review []  2020-1-17 20:47

    I apologize for the obnoxious and arguably flippant alliteration in that title, but it manages to be remarkably accurate. I found this book to be an extremely well-written and enlightening, if at times somewhat chaotic, acc of the complicated situation on the horn of Africa around the time of the mid-1980s. Its focus is on the underreported factors that contributed to the famine that ravaged the region, namely that regional battles and corrupt leaders were far more responsible for the mass starvation and suffering than simply the drought itself. A compelling if depressing read that sheds light on protracted, devastating happenings that are largely unknown to most of the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea (Vintage Departures) review []  2020-1-17 20:47

    Kaplan has amazing books because he is on the ground, describing what he sees. This one would have been better if I would have read it years ago. Still, it is a amazing history of the region. You can tell it was one of the first books that he wrote. Sometimes you lose track of the people he is writing about. But overall, it is a amazing read, especially if you like his other books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea (Vintage Departures) review []  2020-1-17 20:47

    I always have fun reading Robert Kaplan, so the book is a amazing tour of Africa. Even though the material is now somewhat dated, I am sure that the political and social contexts have not changed all that much in the intervening years. I recommend this like all Mr. Kaplan's other works highly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea (Vintage Departures) review []  2020-1-17 20:47

    Insightful and simple to read analysis of the 70s and 80s Horn of Africa. And the political side of the 1980s famine. As always a amazing book from the Author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea (Vintage Departures) review []  2020-1-17 20:47

    excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea (Vintage Departures) review []  2020-1-17 20:47

    I've been reading Kaplan for years. He has a special method of exploring an problem or region of the globe and bringing it home for the reader in a method that balances history, politics, and culture with a touch of the exotic. Kaplan also has a hold grasp of the globe and where it is going. Reading Kaplan is always interesting, provocative, and thought-provoking. I would recommend any book he's written as a amazing read.I must confess my ignorance about Ethiopia. I grew up with the commercials for starving kids and famine relief and Live Aid, but I never actually knew much about it. I just figured it was another group of hungry people who were doomed by poor weather and poor geography. I never paid much attention to the problems of that part of the world, so I was shocked to learn just how much I had missed in my own lifetime in Ethiopia. Kaplan does a terrific job of explaining the background and bringing the problems to vivid life. This book is somewhat dated, but it still serves as a amazing description of what was event in the region in the 1980s and 1990s and it helps shed light on the problems facing the region today.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea (Vintage Departures) review []  2020-1-17 20:47

    Another brilliant book by Robert Kaplan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea (Vintage Departures) review []  2020-1-17 20:47

    very biased, although admittedly so. Better than anything else I could search on Ethiopia. Could be more well rounded in what it covers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea (Vintage Departures) review []  2020-1-17 20:47

    I was not particularly impressed with this book. Kaplan tend to repeat the same thoughts (and phrases) in each chapter. Obviously, he did not wish to do much research into the zone as the same handful of sources are referred to. It is a shame that such short shrift is given to this region as it is one continuously neglected by the famous media.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ethiopia, Eritrea, Djibouti (CARTES (19600)) (French, English and German Edition) review []  2020-1-25 17:24

    Map wasn’t nearly as detailed as I expected. Country boundaries, waterways, and a couple of major streets but that’s about it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Exhart Solar Blue Hand-Blown Glass Bird Yard Stakes -Bird Garden Stake w/Solar LED Lights in Spiral Bronze Finial Design - Bird Metal Stakes, Bird Decor, Garden Art Bird Ornaments, 7" L x3 W x30 H review []  2020-1-23 4:55

    This is a lovely thing, the bird is bigger than I expected and in itself, is delightful. But it only stays lit for a few minutes. I have moved it to another put where it will obtain more sun and a better charge and we'll see what happens. I turn the light off during the daytime so it will charge. If the move helps, I'll modernize the review to 5 stars. UPDATE: Turned it off, left it in direct sunlight for 2 days, turned it on at night and... bleah... only stayed lit for 2 mins and faded away. Bummer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Exhart Solar Blue Hand-Blown Glass Bird Yard Stakes -Bird Garden Stake w/Solar LED Lights in Spiral Bronze Finial Design - Bird Metal Stakes, Bird Decor, Garden Art Bird Ornaments, 7" L x3 W x30 H review []  2020-1-23 4:55

    Nice glass bird but the one I bought will not light up at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Exhart Solar Blue Hand-Blown Glass Bird Yard Stakes -Bird Garden Stake w/Solar LED Lights in Spiral Bronze Finial Design - Bird Metal Stakes, Bird Decor, Garden Art Bird Ornaments, 7" L x3 W x30 H review []  2020-1-23 4:55

    I adore this small glass bird, but the solar panel did not work for even a month - and during the short time it did, it would only light up for a couple of hours after sunset. I still love it and it's very, very nice glass (heavy, etc.), but it's useless in terms of the solar lighting. Disappointed. Maybe I got a faulty solar panel, so I can't say I wouldn't recommend, but I would encourage one to purchase it for the daytime beauty it add and not expect much for the night.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Exhart Solar Blue Hand-Blown Glass Bird Yard Stakes -Bird Garden Stake w/Solar LED Lights in Spiral Bronze Finial Design - Bird Metal Stakes, Bird Decor, Garden Art Bird Ornaments, 7" L x3 W x30 H review []  2020-1-23 4:55

    I received this yesterday and I'm very pleased. My delivery was late in the day and I figured I would have to wait until the next day to see what it looks like lit up. I was wrong...With very small time in indirect sunlight, this small bird lit up at dark and was still lit several hours later when I looked out the window. It's a nice addition to my flower garden.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Exhart Solar Blue Hand-Blown Glass Bird Yard Stakes -Bird Garden Stake w/Solar LED Lights in Spiral Bronze Finial Design - Bird Metal Stakes, Bird Decor, Garden Art Bird Ornaments, 7" L x3 W x30 H review []  2020-1-23 4:55

    Nice...so far am impressed with the look/quality of the item...so much so that I recently ordered the 3 other colors, look great, nice addition to potted plants!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Exhart Solar Blue Hand-Blown Glass Bird Yard Stakes -Bird Garden Stake w/Solar LED Lights in Spiral Bronze Finial Design - Bird Metal Stakes, Bird Decor, Garden Art Bird Ornaments, 7" L x3 W x30 H review []  2020-1-23 4:55

    This bird is beautiful; it is created of massive glass and has gorgeous colors. looks amazing day time and lights up at night. I started with the yellow colourful bird and ended up getting the other three colors and placed them together as a group.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Exhart Solar Blue Hand-Blown Glass Bird Yard Stakes -Bird Garden Stake w/Solar LED Lights in Spiral Bronze Finial Design - Bird Metal Stakes, Bird Decor, Garden Art Bird Ornaments, 7" L x3 W x30 H review []  2020-1-23 4:55

    Very disappointed that this solar bird does not "glow" at night. This is the most expensive solar decoration I've purchased, but even after a full day of sun, the darn thing remains dark at night. There is no rechargeable battery package like most of the solar fixtures I've purchased. Am I missing a part? May need to return if I can't obtain it to work...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Exhart Solar Blue Hand-Blown Glass Bird Yard Stakes -Bird Garden Stake w/Solar LED Lights in Spiral Bronze Finial Design - Bird Metal Stakes, Bird Decor, Garden Art Bird Ornaments, 7" L x3 W x30 H review []  2020-1-23 4:55

    Very nice product, massive glass, simple to assemble, the only problem I have is that the glass bird can come off easily if dropped. My daughter dropped the whole thing on the carpet. It didnt break but the bird came off the top. It was simple to place back on but was surprised that there was small to no adhesive between the glass and the stake. It still works and looks wonderful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Exhart Solar Blue Hand-Blown Glass Bird Yard Stakes -Bird Garden Stake w/Solar LED Lights in Spiral Bronze Finial Design - Bird Metal Stakes, Bird Decor, Garden Art Bird Ornaments, 7" L x3 W x30 H review []  2020-1-23 4:55

    IT IS APART OF A GARDEN MEMORIAL FOR SOMEONE WHOSE FAV COLOR WAS YELLOW. I THINK IT LOOKS GREAT. A LITTLE THING MAYBE BUT I LIKED THAT THE SOLAR BATTERY IS INSIDE THE BIRD AND UNSEEN. I TIED A YELLOW RIBBON AROUND IT ON THE STAFF...TO GIVE IT "WINGS THAT MOVE". DAY OR NIGHT I LIKE IT.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Exhart Solar Blue Hand-Blown Glass Bird Yard Stakes -Bird Garden Stake w/Solar LED Lights in Spiral Bronze Finial Design - Bird Metal Stakes, Bird Decor, Garden Art Bird Ornaments, 7" L x3 W x30 H review []  2020-1-23 4:55

    Lovely glass bird by day that glows inside out at nighttime from the solar generated generated light inside the bird. Makes a unbelievable accent piece for the garden. Excellent for bonus giving!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Birding Association Field Guide to Birds of Pennsylvania (American Birding Association State Field) review []  2020-1-12 18:43

    Incredibly gorgeous photographs, clear and concise descriptions, and helpful hints on where and when to spot each species. This field tutorial is probably worth twice what you pay and if a table book (not practical since it's a field guide) would go for $80. or so. Now, not to obtain anyone started however: If you're not a birder and must hunt migratory android game birds and waterfowl you owe it to yourself, all birders, and everyone else to obtain this guide. The author states there are 426 species recorded in PA of which 252 can be found in this guide. If you are going to take android game birds, you owe it to all of us to be able to correctly identify the 20 or so species (including duck variations) you are allowed to hunt and leave well enough alone the other 400 or so you can't. Kills are poor enough to a birder and all of us who love nature; mistake kills are devastating and illegal. I hope birders and the Birding Association can hold an begin mind to my reasoning here and see why hunters might also benefit from purchasing this perfect guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Birding Association Field Guide to Birds of Pennsylvania (American Birding Association State Field) review []  2020-1-12 18:43

    I pre-ordered this book from Amazon months ago, and am thrilled to finally have a copy in my hands. As a Pennsylvanian, I'm excited to have a field tutorial that I can actually use in the field, and which is tailored specifically to the birds of Pennsylvania!As an avid Pennsylvania birder, but also an environmental educator, this is a field tutorial I will use in teaching the a lot of students I work with each year, while at the same time, one I'll be recommending to fellow avid birders!The book is simple to use, offers vivid written species accounts, and perfect hints on where to search birds throughout the amazing Commonwealth of Armistead's fantastically descriptive text provided in the species accounts are engaging, but more importantly, memorable, for those who are learning. Since I've received the book, I've been reading excerpts to a youth birding group I've been working with, and the children are riveted by Mr. Armistead's narratives of even the most common resident birds. This book leaves a lasting impression on the reader, and lays the foundation for understanding and learning birds!Each species acc is accompanied by perfect photographic examples of that species. Choosing photographs to represent a species most effectively, so as to present structure, field marks, and expression of a bird, is tough. But the author has nailed it, in the selection of photos to illustrate his descriptions.And while I already use this book for teaching young Pennsylvanians about the unbelievable bird life in Penn's Woods, I recommend it to birders that will be visiting Pennsylvania who wish to learn how and where to search specific birds, as well as avid PA birders, who will undoubtedly search lots of valuable hints large extra-bonus is that the book is incredibly portable, unlike a lot of other field guides, so it's not a book you will leave at home when you go birding!This is most definitely a "must have" book for birders of all skill levels, inside Pennsylvania, and out!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Birding Association Field Guide to Birds of Pennsylvania (American Birding Association State Field) review []  2020-1-12 18:43

    Nicely laid out amazing illustration amazing pictures

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Birding Association Field Guide to Birds of Pennsylvania (American Birding Association State Field) review []  2020-1-12 18:43

    has lots of bird types in it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Birding Association Field Guide to Birds of Pennsylvania (American Birding Association State Field) review []  2020-1-12 18:43

    Perfect photography, and amazing information. Not as a lot of images as you would search in a Stokes guide, but very clear images, amazing quality.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Birding Association Field Guide to Birds of Pennsylvania (American Birding Association State Field) review []  2020-1-12 18:43

    Gave to a mate for identifying backyard visitors to his feeders

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Birding Association Field Guide to Birds of Pennsylvania (American Birding Association State Field) review []  2020-1-12 18:43

    Amazing book. Love it. Came quick.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Birding Association Field Guide to Birds of Pennsylvania (American Birding Association State Field) review []  2020-1-12 18:43

    Very amazing field tutorial for beginners and avid birders alike. Well organized with perfect photos.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Birding Association Field Guide to Birds of Pennsylvania (American Birding Association State Field) review []  2020-1-12 18:43

    Amazing descriptions - unbelievable color photos!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Birding Association Field Guide to Birds of Pennsylvania (American Birding Association State Field) review []  2020-1-12 18:43

    Sheet works perfectly on our icomfort f700 18" thick mattress has yet to come undone even with the adjustable base.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Birding Association Field Guide to Birds of Minnesota (American Birding Association State Field) review []  2020-1-25 17:10

    This tutorial is a must have for all who appreciate and have fun the beauty and diversity of our regional birds. My third birding book that has become my go to tutorial since received. The narratives are spot on and easily understood, the photography is remarkable with no equal that I have found. Being very fortunate to live in a State Forest of hardwoods and conifers, with natural state bogs and ponds within view, my confirmed observations have increased from 160 to over 200 in a short time. Sending my thanks to Laura and Brian for sharing their knowledge and skills for others to share. Also thankful for Laura's radio show. "For The Birds". Very interesting, sweet and relaxing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Birding Association Field Guide to Birds of Minnesota (American Birding Association State Field) review []  2020-1-25 17:10

    Very nice color pictures of the birds of Minnesota. We use it all the time. We hold it near the kitchen table so when we see a bird we can't identify it is handy. Very amazing resource for anyone in Minnesota who wants to know more about the birds.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Birding Association Field Guide to Birds of Minnesota (American Birding Association State Field) review []  2020-1-25 17:10

    I bought this as a Christmas bonus for my mom so she can look at the birds in her back yard and identify them. She loves it! She's finding all kinds of birds she didn't know how to identify and even found some she'd been misidentifying. It's a nice compact size and simple to use. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Birding Association Field Guide to Birds of Minnesota (American Birding Association State Field) review []  2020-1-25 17:10

    I sat down when I received this, and read the entire book! I have lived in Minnesota all my life, and have been a bird watcher for most of it, and always have fun learning more about all of the attractive birds in our state. This was full of amazing info and facts, and where the birds can be seen.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Birding Association Field Guide to Birds of Minnesota (American Birding Association State Field) review []  2020-1-25 17:10

    Just bought a house in the Mississippi River. All kinds of water fowl. Love the book, it is helping me identify all kinds of birds.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Birding Association Field Guide to Birds of Minnesota (American Birding Association State Field) review []  2020-1-25 17:10

    As an avid bird photographer, I have been looking for a amazing comprehensive reference with just Minnesota Birds to easily ID birds I am not familiar with. This is exactly what I have been looking for! Amazing images with perfect descriptions that provide key info about each bird.I have a lot of bird books but this is one of my favorites.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Birding Association Field Guide to Birds of Minnesota (American Birding Association State Field) review []  2020-1-25 17:10

    Does not say where in MN you can search each bird, so rather useless.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Birding Association Field Guide to Birds of Minnesota (American Birding Association State Field) review []  2020-1-25 17:10

    This is a must have book for the MN bird watchers and wonderer's, very informative with amazing pictures and info and description. I would highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Birding Association Field Guide to Birds of Minnesota (American Birding Association State Field) review []  2020-1-25 17:10

    Absolutely love this book! Amazing book for Minnesota birding. Laura Erickson gives concise explanations for each bird and where they most likely would be found. The book is just the right size to package on birding trips! I highly recommend this book on Minnesota Birding.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    American Birding Association Field Guide to Birds of Minnesota (American Birding Association State Field) review []  2020-1-25 17:10

    Very amazing amazing images and info

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ethiopia & Eritrea, Djibouti, Somaliland 1:2,000,000 Travel Map GIZI, 2011 edition review []  2020-1-25 17:24

    Amazing quality map of Ethiopia and the Horn

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea by Kaplan, Robert D. [Vintage, 2003] (Paperback) [Paperback] review []  2020-1-9 19:21

    This is essential reading for any professional soldier or diplomat conducting business in east Africa. Kaplan neatly lays out the narrative as is his style. His commentary is on target. I have worked this theater for 5 years now and he does not write one thing which I can say is inaccurate. His insights provide explanation to what may seem to the uninitiated as chaos. Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea by Kaplan, Robert D. [Vintage, 2003] (Paperback) [Paperback] review []  2020-1-9 19:21

    I apologize for the obnoxious and arguably flippant alliteration in that title, but it manages to be remarkably accurate. I found this book to be an extremely well-written and enlightening, if at times somewhat chaotic, acc of the complicated situation on the horn of Africa around the time of the mid-1980s. Its focus is on the underreported factors that contributed to the famine that ravaged the region, namely that regional battles and corrupt leaders were far more responsible for the mass starvation and suffering than simply the drought itself. A compelling if depressing read that sheds light on protracted, devastating happenings that are largely unknown to most of the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea by Kaplan, Robert D. [Vintage, 2003] (Paperback) [Paperback] review []  2020-1-9 19:21

    Kaplan has amazing books because he is on the ground, describing what he sees. This one would have been better if I would have read it years ago. Still, it is a amazing history of the region. You can tell it was one of the first books that he wrote. Sometimes you lose track of the people he is writing about. But overall, it is a amazing read, especially if you like his other books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea by Kaplan, Robert D. [Vintage, 2003] (Paperback) [Paperback] review []  2020-1-9 19:21

    I always have fun reading Robert Kaplan, so the book is a amazing tour of Africa. Even though the material is now somewhat dated, I am sure that the political and social contexts have not changed all that much in the intervening years. I recommend this like all Mr. Kaplan's other works highly.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea by Kaplan, Robert D. [Vintage, 2003] (Paperback) [Paperback] review []  2020-1-9 19:21

    Insightful and simple to read analysis of the 70s and 80s Horn of Africa. And the political side of the 1980s famine. As always a amazing book from the Author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea by Kaplan, Robert D. [Vintage, 2003] (Paperback) [Paperback] review []  2020-1-9 19:21

    excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea by Kaplan, Robert D. [Vintage, 2003] (Paperback) [Paperback] review []  2020-1-9 19:21

    I've been reading Kaplan for years. He has a special method of exploring an problem or region of the globe and bringing it home for the reader in a method that balances history, politics, and culture with a touch of the exotic. Kaplan also has a hold grasp of the globe and where it is going. Reading Kaplan is always interesting, provocative, and thought-provoking. I would recommend any book he's written as a amazing read.I must confess my ignorance about Ethiopia. I grew up with the commercials for starving kids and famine relief and Live Aid, but I never actually knew much about it. I just figured it was another group of hungry people who were doomed by poor weather and poor geography. I never paid much attention to the problems of that part of the world, so I was shocked to learn just how much I had missed in my own lifetime in Ethiopia. Kaplan does a terrific job of explaining the background and bringing the problems to vivid life. This book is somewhat dated, but it still serves as a amazing description of what was event in the region in the 1980s and 1990s and it helps shed light on the problems facing the region today.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea by Kaplan, Robert D. [Vintage, 2003] (Paperback) [Paperback] review []  2020-1-9 19:21

    Another brilliant book by Robert Kaplan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea by Kaplan, Robert D. [Vintage, 2003] (Paperback) [Paperback] review []  2020-1-9 19:21

    very biased, although admittedly so. Better than anything else I could search on Ethiopia. Could be more well rounded in what it covers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Surrender or Starve: Travels in Ethiopia, Sudan, Somalia, and Eritrea by Kaplan, Robert D. [Vintage, 2003] (Paperback) [Paperback] review []  2020-1-9 19:21

    I was not particularly impressed with this book. Kaplan tend to repeat the same thoughts (and phrases) in each chapter. Obviously, he did not wish to do much research into the zone as the same handful of sources are referred to. It is a shame that such short shrift is given to this region as it is one continuously neglected by the famous media.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ethiopia & Eritrea Travel Map 1:2M/900K ITM (SERIE INTERNAT - 1/2.000.000) review []  2020-1-25 17:24

    Not a whole lot of detail for Ethiopia, and several of the streets are outdated as of 2019. It's OK as an overview, but I wouldn't rely on it for anything other than the main highways. Also, the text written about the countries suggests this was written by an Eritrean with a gripe versus Ethiopia, and the level of detail for Eritrea is much higher (though curiously not consistent with the overlap on the Ethiopia side).

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ethiopia & Eritrea Travel Map 1:2M/900K ITM (SERIE INTERNAT - 1/2.000.000) review []  2020-1-25 17:24

    I bought it for Ethiopia travel. The author is probably Eritrean, but the map is amazing quality and has info of cities like Addis Abbaba.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ethiopia & Eritrea Travel Map 1:2M/900K ITM (SERIE INTERNAT - 1/2.000.000) review []  2020-1-25 17:24

    Amazing map on a plain paper in 1:2 Million scale with plans of Adis Ababa and Asmara, including a brief history of Ethiopia and Eritrea

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ethiopia & Eritrea Travel Map 1:2M/900K ITM (SERIE INTERNAT - 1/2.000.000) review []  2020-1-25 17:24

    Nice map. Perfectly sufficient for my travel needs. Amazing maps are hard to search in Ethiopia so buy one before you depart.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ethiopia & Eritrea Travel Map 1:2M/900K ITM (SERIE INTERNAT - 1/2.000.000) review []  2020-1-25 17:24

    Brand new.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ethiopia & Eritrea Travel Map 1:2M/900K ITM (SERIE INTERNAT - 1/2.000.000) review []  2020-1-25 17:24

    I was wanting a map of Ethiopia. This one definitely has an "Eritrean" leaning. It is "o.k." for Ethiopia, but is quite dated. The service by the vendor was just fine. The product itself didn't meet my needs so well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    This is a lovely book about "how to write." It is full of amazing humor and amazing advice. After the introduction I was laughing out loud and after the first few chapters, I was invigorated to go write fiction as quick as possible for the rest of my life. If there are any true downers in this book they are that not enough attention has been given to Scribl and Smashwords and (yes) Amazon self-publishing (however, this is totally forgivable, since the book was published in 1995, still, an addendum would be nice), and that the author is so brutally frank about the realities of being a professional author (seems you need more than a couple of Fresh York Times Bestsellers under your belt before you can even be confident of paying the rent on time every month -- who knew? -- maybe this "write fiction forevermore" idea I had is not economically the wisest). Lamott never condescends or minces, she writes to us in the voice of an established beginner addressing slightly less experienced beginners with encouragement but also with hard facts. The language is for grown-ups, but the notice is clear (and could probably be paraphrased helpfully even for grade schoolers, as long as we leave out some of the cancer-paranoia and the unbelievable story about the effing keys). Whether or not I ever really obtain published, I am grateful to Lamott for giving me this view of the landscape without talking down to me or filling it full of fluffy rainbows.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    I enjoyed reading Bird by Bird. It was recommended to me by a unbelievable blogger I follow. I thought it would read like a textbook, but I was pleasantly surprised. It reads like a nonfiction book with awesome tip sprinkled through the pages. The author has a special method of mixing humor with useful info that is relevant to both daily life and writing. I have found the book to be helpful in both manners and search myself recalling tidbits throughout my day. Furthermore, I am taking a creative writing class and have been able to refer to Bird by Bird a lot of times during my college class.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    Fundamental reference material.Having read this in the early 1990's, my first peek into the written arts that has since consumed me, I found literal joy at experiencing it *for the first time* once e easy instruction and, at times, whimsical and at other times painful, anecdotes are invaluable to anyone in pursuit of understanding and attempting a solid foundation as a writer, and hopefully, one day, if you stick with it long enough, as an author.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    Excellent, excellent, precious book. This is a classic! Instructive, thoughtful, humorous, personal, inspiring and liberating. I am amazed at how the author compiled enough instruction and insight to give an aspiring writer confidence to proceed with their creative engagement. I think the reader will love this book as well as the author for her thoughtfulness and caring in its production.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    Right at the start, Lamott tells us that "good writing is about telling the truth." The writing life is a tough road, but Bird by Bird is a unbelievable tutorial that shines a warm light over it.If you don't know where to start, or if you feel oppressed by perfectionism or the infamous writer's block, this book has some tip for you. You will learn to treat your characters as living (ficticious) beings, and that they dictate the rd by Bird is not a rulebook, but it reads more like a friendly conversation. I recommend it to all kinds of writers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    i am very grateful to the lady at the annual picnic of the California Writer's Club in Joaquin Miller Park Oakland who recommended this to an aspiring writer - it is a sublime, yet direct, frank exposition of the tools and meaning of writing, writing well - the meaning of life, of living well - at least until Steve Jobs gave his greatest contribution to humankind in the Stanford 2005 commencement speech about1) Connecting the Dots - backwards : you dont know the dots will connect in the future, only backwards, only your intuition, faith, trusting your gut that your story will create sense somehow, someday - Hold Looking, Dont Settle 2) Death is Inevitable, the greatest change agent of life - dont waste limited time living someone else's life - we are all naked, so be brave and be who you wish to be, say what you wish to say3) Stay Hungry Stay foolish

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    I had to order the kindle ver of this book for a class. I thought it was going to be another boring author talking about how hard their climb to where they are today was. Anne's book created me wish to continue to wish to become a writer. Her book is very informative to people newer to the writing stage as well as vets. It is filled with awesome tip you really already know told through funny stories from her life. I only had to read a few chapters for the class, I ended up reading the entire book, and plan on re-reading it this winter break!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    So a lot of necessary life lessons buried here. Although quintessentially a book about writing, it delves into the meaning of life and it's irreverent and funny; a pleasure to read. The author shares some lessons about writing that she teaches to students and this comes with some wit and sometimes a dash of black humor.We learn about the importance of writing every day and not being afraid to make poor first drafts. How a writer should obtain to know the characters, first and foremost. And there are some good, worthwhile tips, like taking notes (or keeping index cards).'Bird by Bird' is a book that's hard to place down as with every page there's something insightful and lighthearted being shared. If you aspire to be a writer, or even a published author, Anne's 'instructions' are worthy of your attention. A fresh, meaningful perspective on the joys and pitfalls of writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    When I started reading this book, I thought it would be one of those conventional boring textbooks that teach students the right method to produce a piece of writing. I was wrong. Anne Lamotte puts a lot of her previous private experiences onto the book. She enhances this feeling by using metaphors, sarcasm and irony throughout her passages, passing a feeling that she started from the bottom just like any other student. The method she uses private examples and even tells stories about her family (most about her father, who was a writer), makes this book really simple to private point of view is that she passes her notice with excellence. I am a freshman college student now, and this was the year that I was needed the most to have a amazing background in terms of writing. I assume this happens with every freshman student. Gladly, my professor is a huge fan of her work and methods (which I highly recommend to be followed) and gave the class her book as a e organized her content so well, that readers can easily message the steps of writing. The most helpful tool she used in this book was making herself a character, making this book sound like a story (with a lot of content) and not a textbook that is boring to be read. Besides, I can assume that most of young students struggle very hard when it comes to the time to decide the project genre and start with the work. Anne Lamotte does a amazing job on this too; she tells the audience the info of the times she felt this method to, making the reader (in this case, me) feel safe and more calm.I highly recommend this book for college students and even high school students. Regular textbooks may have the same writing content her book has, but the WAY she develops to express this content created this book one of the best I've had to learn.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life review [Book]  2017-10-14 18:10

    Anne Lamott is hilarious - anyone who is a writer should read this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bird Down: Go Down Hopping of the Lost Bird review [App]  2019-7-13 13:43

    Let's be honest I'm addicted?..

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Bird Down: Go Down Hopping of the Lost Bird review [App]  2019-7-13 13:43

    Amazing Graphics I love the

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter