Read blues time reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all blues time reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pipeliners Blues: Doin' Time []  2021-3-13 19:58

    This items should be on NCIS: Fresh Orleans. Hey, CBS check these guys out and give them a call. You won't regret it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Time Greatest Blues Songs [3 CD] []  2020-1-7 19:27

    Not happy at all. Very not good quality. Hubby didn't like at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Good Time Charlie's Got the Blues []  2020-11-4 18:54

    Love this song, very glad I was able to purchase it in MP3 format.

    0  


    Add your opinion on blues time or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Good Time Charlie's Got the Blues []  2020-11-4 18:54

    Classic track from this album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Time Greatest Blues Songs [3 CD] []  2020-1-7 19:27

    This compilation could have been so much more, had it lived up to its promise or its hype. Maybe it should have been called "Lousy recordings of all time greatest blues songs without any info about such classics". The listed songs are a treasure trove of blues classics, and the stable of artists represented is very good. Hard core blues collectors or fans will be disappointed at the quality of the recordings, and casual fans or starting collectors will be disappointed by not only the quality, but the complete lack of any info about any of the artists or music. Some of the source material is surely to blame for the sound (OK, Robert Johnson didn't record in Muscle Shoals or Memphis), but for a lot of of the tracks, there is no excuse for the lousy sound, except maybe to avoid paying royalties for better versions of the songs. And there is no information about anything inside the jewel box. I mean zero, not so much as a copyright date. Blank white paper. A compilation like this should at the very least have included a short 4 sides of information about the artists, even if only to be able to see them in chronological order, to better understand who came after who. This was supposed to fill in a few blank spots in my stack of blues CD's, but even at the bargain price, having played it through a couple of times, it will probably sit at the bottom of the stack for the rest of its time, until it hits the box of garage sale CD's in a year or 2. No wonder there is no audio preview of this CD - nobody would buy it. I probably own 50 or 60 blues-based CD, and maybe a third of them are compilations of some kind. I thought this one compiled an beautiful selection of songs that would allow me throw it in the vehicle to cover a lot of ground in a convenient pack for travel. Save your money. Granted, it does have maybe half a dozen gems scattered throughout. If you are looking for the works of some of the artists on here that you don't already have, you can search a few other choices that will be better listening, and for a bit more money, you will obtain a lot better product. If you just wish to check the box that you own some Robert Johnson, Leadbelly, and Huge Bill Broonzy, to present off to your friends, go ahead. If you just need to own a particular song or two included here, search them somewhere else. But if you are looking for a few discs of enjoyable blues entertainment, what a let-down. A couple of alternate suggestions from my collection contain "Pure Blues", or the "Martin Scorsese presents" blues soundtrack, or maybe one of the Alligator Records anniversary CD's (mostly contemporary artists, but unbelievable exposure to a boatload of quality music!).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Time Greatest Blues Songs [3 CD] []  2020-1-7 19:27

    Just started on the first song, and it hot and massive rhythm and blues with a lot of rhythm guitar and harmonica. So if you just wish to sway to the rhythm I think this will do it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Good Time Charlie's Got the Blues []  2020-11-4 18:54

    A song that brings back sooooo a lot of memories from the early years of my marriage. Satisfied to have found it by the original artist too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Good Time Charlie's Got the Blues []  2020-11-4 18:54

    What can I say? It's an old time favorite!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Time Greatest Blues Songs [3 CD] []  2020-1-7 19:27

    A blues lover most of my adult life, I have finally gotten keep of some of that old time music...and what a difference! These aren't contemporary, all cleaned up songs to blend with your contemporary, all cleaned up Saturday night. These songs are scratchy and blurred around the edges and straight from the heart of singers who were feeling the emotions. Some of these songs are dance happy, some are heart breaking, and all are story tellers. And while it may take listening a few times to tune your ear, it's well worth the effort. If you appreciate realism, honesty and melody that hasn't been tweaked and trimmed and edited and wrung dry-buy this CD set. Then sit down, begin a cold beer, and listen. Listen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Time Greatest Blues Songs [3 CD] []  2020-1-7 19:28

    Really amazing melody with a lot of varied reknown artists. One issue is that the item came with a busted up case, but I required it right away, so just place a rubber band around it! The melody is amazing quality and amazing selection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Good Time Charlie's Got the Blues []  2020-11-4 18:54

    Amazing song!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Good Time Charlie's Got the Blues []  2020-11-4 18:54

    Although I have only just discovered the melody of Sturgill Simpson, I am a fresh fan. Danny O'Keefe, Alabama and John Anderson are old familiar favorites and bring back some very amazing memories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Time Greatest Blues Songs [3 CD] []  2020-1-7 19:27

    I am a large fan of blues e names of the artists on this compilation sounded promising, so I decided to purchhase this cd set although I knew few of the songs.I was anxious to listen to these amazing musicians, and became immediately frustrated as the sound quality was so poor. I did not even listen to the 3 cds in full, and probably never rry, but this purchase was a complete waste of cash for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Time Greatest Blues Songs [3 CD] []  2020-1-7 19:27

    I'm a blues man from back in the day. This cd has some amazing songs, but it also has some dogs as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Time Greatest Blues Songs [3 CD] []  2020-1-7 19:28

    Amazing songs quality of melody not so great. Case arrived cracked.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Good Time Charlie's Got the Blues []  2020-11-4 18:54

    Everything went smoothly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Good Time Charlie's Got the Blues []  2020-11-4 18:54

    Best two song story in American music...this and the 's just another city along the road.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Time Greatest Blues Songs [3 CD] []  2020-1-7 19:27

    The songs on this CD are plentiful, but not amazing quality at all; very disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    All Time Greatest Blues Songs [3 CD] []  2020-1-7 19:28

    A amazing selection, covering a wide range (Leadbelly to Canned Heat).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Good Time Charlie's Got the Blues []  2020-11-4 18:54

    The lyrics are a small various than I remember from my youth, but it's still great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Good Time Charlie's Got the Blues []  2020-11-4 18:54

    It is a timeless classic with the instrumentation of of country with a story telling lyric that captures your soul.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    quite a various fishing book. well done with a host of truths applicable to todays current fishing issues. Respect the resource, which we do not do, learning and respecting a bit about the eco system of our waters, this conversation is interesting. Subtle tips of the migration of Blues ( which he loves and i do not blame him ) and i enjoyed the recipes at the conclusion of each chapter. If all you wish to do is look for techniques on catching, this is not your book. But, if you wish a lifetime of experience explained in a comfortable conversation between two smart human beings, than have fun this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    Perfect read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    This had got to be one of my favorite books of all time. Written as if it could also be read to a child, I hope to one day read this to my children. Amazing story, amazing recipes. A amazing method to present the seasons. I cant say enough amazing things about this classic. Buy this if your a fisherman, interested in the sea, fish, or seafood. Amazing book for a young kid as well as an adult.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    Give as a bonus to all my fishing friends. Simply outstanding.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    Hersey is a great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    A second read thirty years later. Fisherman, even degree ones, don't talk like this guy who seems more a professorial lecturer than a weather beaten fisher of fish.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    If you fish for bluefish this is a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    Truly a classic. Amazing recipes too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    Magnificent book on fishing for bluefish, extraordinary facts about blues, well written, Just a joy to a fisherman like me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues []  2019-12-8 18:53

    Amazing book for fishermen

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tishomingo Blues [Book]  2017-12-21 18:0

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tishomingo Blues [Book]  2017-12-21 18:0

    It's Elmore at his best

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tishomingo Blues [Book]  2017-12-21 18:0

    When Elmore Leonard is on a roll, he's just about the best there is. This isn't his strongest work, in my opinion, but it's still a fun story with memorable characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Creole Blues []  2020-2-2 0:6

    Arrived on time, as discrived. Melody disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living Blues []  2020-2-2 11:52

    I found everything I hoped for in the magazine, concerning whats event in the blues world. It's the best in blues.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sugar Blues []  2020-2-9 19:23

    This has to be one of the best books on sugar I have ever read. And think that this was back decades ago. This book has been recommended by different authorities and want this had been more promoted back in the 60s when I was growing up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sugar Blues []  2020-2-9 19:23

    i love this book. it was suggested to me from a friend, and it has changed my perspective. i am now trying to curb my sugar addiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sugar Blues []  2020-2-9 19:23

    A very amazing resource for diabetics and anyone who wants to know more about dangers of sugar, etc. However, be prepared to read format that is not so simple to hold your attention on. If you are dedicated enough, this is a amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lina's Blues []  2020-1-22 2:7

    Amazing sounds!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lina's Blues []  2020-1-22 2:7

    I love the cd. Came in excellent condition. Would definitely recommend!! Can't wait for their fresh one to come out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Psychedelic Blues []  2020-1-22 2:10

    The album title immediately grabbed me, being such an explorer during that era, but I am also a fan of Latin melody and have other recordings by Sanchez. I am happy to now have this outstanding, Grammy-nominated recording in my collection. The infectious rhythms, the powerful arrangements, the sonorous brass, and the selections of tunes, including some amazing jazz classics, create this a major opus. Sonny Henry's psychedelia here really isn't but the entire album is mind-blowing. A delightful sound that shakes my body, a feast of drums, this album should appeal to every Latin jazz fan and dancer. Dig it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Psychedelic Blues []  2020-1-22 2:10

    Amazing cd

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Psychedelic Blues []  2020-1-22 2:10

    Latin Jazz lovers a must! Very amazing melody Poncho Sanchez is one of the best conga players in the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deja-Blues []  2020-1-22 2:16

    Amazing music. Very well orchestrated. Amazing for relaxing, meditating or helping you obtain the desired and required sleep everyone do desires.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deja-Blues []  2020-1-22 2:16

    This CD is a sensual, y, relaxing musical journey. This is one of my favorite CD's to pop in when I'm in the mood for some sensual time with my guy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deja-Blues []  2020-1-22 2:16

    Nice mix of Blues and Indian music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Groove Blues []  2020-1-25 19:31

    January 3, 1958, was a productive day in Gene's recording career, where on he recorded enough material for two complete Prestige albums (see also "The Huge Sound"). This blowing session features Gene's huge tenor along with John Coltrane (on alto sax, rather unusual), Pepper Adams on baritone sax, Paul Quinichette's Lestorian sound on tenor, Jerome Richardson on flute, and a rhythm section of Mal Waldron, George Joyner, and Art Taylor. The title track is a medium blues done just right, and everyone swings for the seats on "Jug handle." A nice date that won't allow you down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Survivor Blues []  2020-1-10 19:56

    I have all of Walter's CDs and this one is superb- lots of thick, crunchy guitar, classic Walter vocals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Helplessness Blues []  2020-1-11 20:24

    This is not Fleet Foxes 2 but a complex layered series of vocals, unusual instrumentals along with an original sound that sets them apart from just about anyone else recording today. The album isn't just more of the same from their Sun Giant album but builds on what they have laid down. Helplessness Blues doesn't just repeat what was done nor does it test to take them into some "new" direction but builds on the foundation that waslaid and constructs a more complex structural sound.On first listen, I was disappointed, there was no White Winter Hymnal that jumped out at me as was in their first album. However, the more I listened the more I found myself being drawn into the complex nature of the sound and music. Helplessness Blue may not provide Fleet Foxes with the same critical success as Sun Giant album but for their fans, it was worth the wait.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Helplessness Blues []  2020-1-11 20:24

    Love this record. Amazing addition to the collection. It makes me wish to run and frolick in a field of flowers!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    BLUES TRACKS []  2020-1-11 20:26

    This is where it started for Pat Travers and his long journey back into the blues .... Travers style of course (would you expect anything less from this innovator of aggressive electric blues) .... mostly covers here, but very new interpretations of some well known classics and some obscure gems. One Travers original (Calling Card Blues) shows how well he can blend and adapt his writing to that of the greats ..... he also re-records Blind Willie McTell's "Statesboro Blues" (made popular by the Allman Brothers) ... this was done by Pat earlier in 1977 on his Makin' Magic album... this newer ver clearly outshines Pat's earlier attempt at it and blows the Allman Brothers' ver right out of the water .......5 stars for Pat and for Mike Varney for rescuing Pat from obscurity .......

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transcendental Blues []  2020-1-16 23:19

    Not an immediate classic S. Earle album, but amazing next level effort. Not quite for the casual fan, but there are surely weaker efforts in the back catalog. Better with repeated listens. The live gift tracks that came with mine pump it up a bit. Bought it because it looks like it's going out of print (?). Don't know why, but it'd be a shame for someone to miss out on discovering this title.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transcendental Blues []  2020-1-16 23:19

    There is nothing like driving a vehicle packed to the gills with all your earthly possessions through Oklahoma at 1 a.m., sucking down a giant gas-station cup of Coke, and singing along to Steve Earle at the top of your lungs. Several years ago, I moved from the Northeast to Alaska via a roadtrip down I-40 and up I-5. "Transcendental Blues" was one of a handful of discs that stayed in my driver-side CD visor the entire time. Earle's lyrics are nothing fancy, but they hit true human emotions."Steve's Latest Ramble" and "Another Town" are my all-time favorite driving songs. "Halo 'Round The Moon," with its easy music and spare instrumentation, makes you wish to sit on the front stoop in contemplation on a calm night, sipping tea. And "I Don't Wish To Lose You Yet" is so easy in lyric and catchy in music that you expect it to be cliche - but it's not. It's relate-to-able, and I think that's the crux of Steve Earle. You can relate to his music. That's why, three years after buying this album, it still spends a lot of time in my CD changer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Transcendental Blues []  2020-1-16 23:19

    I'm a large Steve Earle fan - of both his CDs and his concerts. But being a fan doesn't automatically create every song/CD a amazing one. TB has small to keep my interest. Occasional cliches are OK, but they're spread across the lyric sheet like wild fire (pun intended). And the melody just lies there - bits and pieces of earlier songs pop up all over, but never establish a singular identity. "Until the Day I Die" shows he can still approach the amazing stuff. Maybe real art really does come from pain, and now that Steve's "feeling alright" perhaps he's lost the edge. But I doubt it. I've been with him since "Guitar Town" first created me an Earle addict. I prefer to think TB is just a lull. Afterall, I've got years of amazing melody listening to thank Steve for. For now, if you're a newcomer, buy "Essential SE," listen for a week, and then buy his latest four CDs - and wait for his next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues Alive []  2020-1-17 2:29

    Gary Moore was arguably the first "blueshredder"--that is, the first guitarist to combine the technical elements of 80's metal shredding guitar and the power and emotion of blues guitar. While his style was tamer in subsequent releases, Gary's style of blueshredding is still alive and well today in players like Joe Bonamassa and Eric Gales. Blues purists hate blueshredders because they think they overplay and do not concentrate on emotion. Sorry, but I disagree. The emotion that Gary Moore pours out of his guitar is straight from the heart, and his tendency to throw in dazzling, lightning-fast runs only adds to the excitement, for me. Every song is a WINNER on this CD!! Gary smokes like you wouldn't believe!His vocals are also powerful on this effort. Sure, his voice and vocal style isn't in the same league as B.B. King, and he's not quite as amazing as, say, Eric Clapton, but he does keep his own, and I'm sure he considers his own focal point to be his guitar playing rather than his singing, anyway.I HIGHLY recommend this CD for blues-rock enthusiasts, as well as his studio Cds "Still Got The Blues" and "After Hours," most of which this material is based. If that's too much overlap for ya, I would just stick to this live CD, since it's so hot...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deep Blues []  2020-1-17 5:21

    Ronnie Earl always makes me smile when I hear him play. He has drawn influence from the greats and developed his own inimitable style that is truly a pleasure to hear.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deep Blues []  2020-1-17 5:21

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Deep Blues []  2020-1-17 5:21

    great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    November Blues []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Purchased this book for my daughter, who said it was wonderful. She said she liked the characters and how they dealt with their situations. She said the writer didn't talk down to her as a reader. She has loaned this book out a lot of times to her mates who all give it amazing praise. This book is for older teens due to the situational conflicts in the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adderall Blues []  2020-1-15 22:39

    Adderall Blues captures what research and literature is lacking, the impact of ADHD on everyday functioning and relationships. As a health care professional, much of the latest focus on ADHD is geared toward the management of kids and the parent perspective. Robinson gives a raw and honest look at what result ADHD can have on an adult, and how this effects his day to day life, breaking down mainstream stereotypes. Robinson insightfully describes “The balance, and the truth, is that ADHD is both a bonus and a disorder. If you think it’s only one or the other, you are missing the huge picture”. Witty, humorous, intelligently written, the book keeps you wanting more. A must read for health care specialists working with individuals with ADHD, as well as for family and mates who that have someone in their lives with ADHD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micronesian Blues []  2020-1-16 13:15

    I read this book when I was visiting Chuuk and Pohnpei and found it to be a excellent compliment to my visit. I was even able to meet one the book's characters Bill (and his family) when we stayed at the Truk Stop in Chuuk. My only critique of the book is that it might have been amazing to use pseudonyms for the characters because they are true people and you wouldn't wish any hurt to ever come to them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micronesian Blues []  2020-1-16 13:15

    I enjoyed this book for its easy stories and well written narrative. Not a book that you can't place down but one full of amazing mini stories that are east to read. I loved hearing about the different culture shocks of working abroad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Harmonica Blues []  2020-1-23 2:47

    Thanks for the amazing service and the amazing blues recordings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues Moods []  2020-1-23 2:47

    A possibility to hear a lot of of the fresh modernist blues expressionists such as Carl Weathersby, Ron Levy, Sugar Ray, Ronnie Earl, Marcia Ball, Lurie Bell, Lucky Peterson, Guitar Shorty, Carey Bell, and a lot of others. A true night out on a CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chess Blues []  2020-1-23 2:48

    To the best of my knowledge, there is no better collection of Chess Blues classics to own than this one. You obtain an absolutely mouth-watering 4-disc cross section chop into the best Chess had to offer the globe of the Blues, one truly American melody creation that has blessed the entire world. Whether you are a collector, a Blues aficionado, or just a casual listener, this is a must have one-of-a-kind. Since it was released a number of years ago, you might have to find a small to search one. However, my mate it will be well worth your time to do so.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Texas Blues []  2020-1-18 22:33

    A+

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues & Ragtime []  2020-1-18 22:33

    loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues & Ragtime []  2020-1-18 22:33

    If you are like me, you probably discovered RGD in a backwards sort of way. You probably have fun the melody of one of his students (like Woody Mann, Ernie Hawkins, Jorma Kaukonen, Bob Weir, et al) and wish to taste a small from the source. This is a really nice collection of performances done late in the life of RGD, but they're still new and alive. I mean, here's this guy...late 60s, blind, picks guitar with only one finger and a thumb, and he belts out incredibly soulful, complex rags & bluesy tunes. This CD isn't overloaded with his more gospel side, which I think is a plus. As another reviewer said, you need to obtain this CD even if you only wish to hear just the Reverend's rendition of Cincinnati Flow Rag. Wonderful stuff. Hesitation Blues is a hoot, as this old early 20th century song gets done in a really humorous method (in contrast to Jorma's more straight-forward lyrical arrangement.} I wasn't bothered by the crown noise as much as others, because they're just laughing at the really funny stuff. When I'm 70, maybe I can obtain away with performing the song (poorly) in this way.Anyhow...get it and enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dublin Blues []  2020-1-18 22:36

    Bought this one at the same time as Boats to Build because I couldn't create up my mind which to purchase. Best use of indecision I've done in a long time. Each song is carefully thought out. Really love Items that Works, The Cape and the Randall Knife. As I obtain older, with more mature reflections, these songs obtain under my skin. Attractive work Guy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dublin Blues []  2020-1-18 22:36

    Amazing classic album

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Someday Blues []  2020-1-18 22:57

    Some songs are not available to download, so I bought the CD. It is perfect all around.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Someday Blues []  2020-1-18 22:57

    ONE OF THE BEST OF THE 31 CD COLLECTION BY TROWER... YOU GOTTA CHECK THIS ONE OUT ! IT ROCKS !!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Someday Blues []  2020-1-18 22:57

    Amazing to hear Robin's vocals!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Statistician's Blues []  2020-1-19 0:3

    Perfect product.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Yemen Blues []  2019-12-8 19:14

    Ravid Kahalani is very talented, with a group of awesome musicians he creates fresh rhythms deriving from diverse genres. He is one of the best and outstanding musicians in contemporary melody today!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prime Blues []  2019-12-30 19:20

    As always unbelievable guitar playing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues Gold []  2020-6-12 19:9

    Perfect Blues collection. I like it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues Gold []  2020-6-12 19:9

    This is a amazing CD to buy if you're looking for a amazing (albeit abbreviated) introduction to some classic blues music. A lot of of the amazing artists are represented here and the tracks provided give the listener a springboard to delve deeper if desired. Highly recommended!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Señor Blues []  2020-6-16 19:19

    Long one of my favorite musicians, I think this is one of his best. Taj brings a zest to melody that is hard to rival, not to mention his enduring career as an "out of the mainstream" musician. His cds can be bought so cheaply it's one of the real bargains out there if you have fun his blend of blues genres. "Senor Blues" was issued in 1997. On this album he brings some 60s flavor with a few tunes such as "Think", "Things Are Gettin' Crazy Up In Here", "Mr. Pitiful", and bit of country-style blues such as "Mind Your Own Business" featuring his trademark National Steel Guitar work. The title track "Senor Blues" is a cool smooth jazzy Horace Silver tune. I particularly like "21st Century Gypsy Singin' Lover Man". As always Taj brings outstanding musicians to the studio always bringing a well-crafted product full of enthusiasm. I saw Taj perform live 2 years ago at 69 years of age and it was wonderful how much energy he brought to the stage. He absolutely rocked the house.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Señor Blues []  2020-6-16 19:19

    Amazing Cd. Quick ship.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Papa Blues []  2020-6-16 19:19

    Papa Joh Creach is a fresh discovery for me. I've known the Bernie Pearl Band. This is a tremendous CD. I never considered the violin for blues. All the musicians on this CD are excellent. A amazing example that sometimes you really can catch lightening in a bottle. Wow. I love this CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Papa Blues []  2020-6-16 19:19

    Amazing and I truly loved this product!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pastel Blues []  2020-6-12 19:5

    Really nice, clean pressing of a masterpiece. If you are in the fence about the songs and this arrangement, stream it for a listen, but if you already like the songs and this album, this is a amazing quality piece of vinyl.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Pastel Blues []  2020-6-12 19:5

    An amazing singer and an amazing album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mojo Blues []  2020-7-16 19:47

    Will Ray - Mojo BluesNever having heard the Hellecasters or any other Will Ray music, I gave this a spin to check it out and am damn glad I did. The guitar work is perfect with amazing dozens and solid telecaster tone. Ray wrote 10 of the 11 tracks and I didn't search a bum track in the bunch. In addition to the amazing guitar featured on every track, Ray does a amazing job on lead vocals as well which is not mentioned by the other reviewers of this CD. Fine help from the band as well with appearances from musicians Ray has played with over the years. There is also a hidden track on the CD at the end - The Chicken Song about a chicken in a bar with some fine looking women all around mmary - amazing guitar, amazing songs, powerful vocals, amazing band. Entertaining CD with a blend of blues, soul and country rock. It all just sounds like amazing roots melody to me. Nice CD! Thanks Will.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mojo Blues []  2020-7-16 19:47

    This deserves 6 stars as it shows that another level of guitar playing is possible. Will Ray may be the first to have reached this level although others may lay claim to the throne. I was fortunate to see the HELLECASTERS live in OZ 2 years ago and this guy can do it live as well.He left me with goose bumps for the full 90 min concert. No one plays better or more original blues than Will Ray. He also plays so a lot of other styles that he incorporates seemlessly into HIS blues to turn the genre on it's n't wait for his next release.p.s it must be said that the singing is not his strongest point and the songs are not all of the highest quality. BUT LISTEN TO THAT GUITAR

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mojo Blues []  2020-7-16 19:47

    Like most aspiring tele-twangers, I'm amazed by the Hellecasters and I was anxious to hear one of them on his own in a less frenetic and overwhelming milieu. The 'Casters together have so much going on that, amazing as it is, it's almost too much to absorb. Unfortunately, Will Ray's solo effort doesn't quite measure up for me. The guitar work is impressive, but Ray's compositions are weak, hackneyed, and downright feeble efforts in some cases, particularly "Bad Poor Day" and "I Hate My Day Job." Songs like these are reconstituted redneck themes that singers like Ronnie Milsap, Johnny Paycheck and Dolly Parton (to name a few) have covered ad nauseum. In other cases, the performance elevates the weak material. "Holy Smokes" is a amazing example--the song just a drooling rumination about a babe walking into a bar, but the collaboration with chord theorist extraordinaire Ted Greene is entirely special. Another high point for me is the solo treatment of "Shenandoah," a tired old ditty to be sure, but eloquently interpreted through some nice tele-technique (the rock intro seems a small out of put to me, but that could be argued). Some of the other country blues, such as "Wait a Minute" and Santa-Cruzin'" are innocuous enough as songs to allow the guitar shine. I think the respond here is that Will Ray should create another album concentrating on a dozen or so of his favorite compositions by other people. His instrumental mastery is unquestioned and he even demonstrates some artistry (not all shredders are capable of that), but the songs really shorten my attention span. Too bad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Earthbound Blues []  2020-7-26 22:45

    Unbelievable album, awesome artist.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blues Deluxe []  2020-8-22 19:46

    I'm like lots of other people who didn't even know of Joe Bonamassa until this album. This guy is young, but has proved that he is a amazing bluesman. He claims his greatest influence is B.B. King and you can hear some of that in his music. Joe's soloing is very tasteful, always holding back some and not playing all out all the time. He knows exactly how to punctuate his licks and lyrics. I can honestly say I have fun all the tracks, but my favorite is the slow blues "Blues Deluxe". I believe this CD will have a long uce

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    HAVANA BLUES []  2020-9-20 20:11

    unbelievable music, superb instrumentation

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    JACKHAMMER BLUES []  2020-12-1 22:11

    RICK DOES A BANG UP JOB ON THIS CD. GET IT!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Just Blues []  2020-12-1 22:6

    a mate recommended sonny Rhodes to me and I will say my mate gave me a amazing steer. 4 stars is amazing from me I don't give 5 stars often

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Backwater Blues []  2020-12-3 20:57

    timeless

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lackawanna Blues []  2020-11-16 19:46

    S. Epatha Merkerson brings the 1950's to life in Lakawanna Blues. The story of a young boy, whose journey lands him in Nanny's rooming house. What ensues, is a hero study that is entertaining, heart-wrenching and endearing. I've watches this film at least 100 times. And every time I see it, I wish to tell someone about it. It is a timeless acc of segregation in the 50's, and the effects they had on a community. A must see! If I could, I would've given it ten stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lackawanna Blues []  2020-11-16 19:46

    Being a baby boomer growing up in the early 60s as a person of color, "Lackawanna Blues" is note excellent in capturing the sentiment of a time long gone. The most prophetic statement/assessment about those times comes near the end when Reuben Santiago, as a young man off to college, muses about the lost of a significant part of culture for people of color. It was the latest time where one could experience the joys and tribulations of a cultured neighborhood. "For every door that integration opened, another door was closed on the symbiosis of a segregated neighborhood".S. Epatha Merkerson more than earns her well deserved "Best Actress Emmy", in yet another sterling HBO created for tv cinema. She radiates the warmth and grace that the hero is based on. Quite simply, I see so much of my childhood in "Lackawanna Blues" though on the surface, one would wonder, how?. The "how" is again the touching snapshot of a peoples taking care of each other, supporting each other, learning and growing from each other. With "Momma's role" being center stage, the viewer can not only see the importance of community that gathers, but, you can almost smell the delicious delicacies being cooked in the boarding e young actor that played Reuben as a kid is simply magical. (He gives another knockout performance in "I'm Not There" as one of the Dylan characters. Again, I see myself in his role especially in how the love he has for "Nanna or Momma", and how she eventually takes care of him, more as a maternal figure than his own, troubled biological mother. Terrence Howard is convincing as the 17 year old junior of Momma's heart. Macy Gray in a small, but, effective role is funny and endearing. These are just a few standout performances in a film that is filled with ere was a house in our neighborhood that was just as transient with a unbelievable array of C. Wolfe had recently demonstrated his indisputable talent as a scene director in the Public Theater production of "Radiant Baby", a musical about Keith Haring. He is equally adept in directing this wonderful, small gem of a remains a chop above the tournament with their well-made, exclusive movies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mercury Blues []  2020-11-12 18:49

    good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blues []  2020-11-24 19:41

    The Thrill is Gone with Richie Blackmore & Secrets or Sins (sort of Shatner doing Leonard Cohen) are both fine songs. The rest of the songs aren’t my thing. As usual, Shatner is usually amazing when his does his melodic talking style, but can be hard to listen to when he does his sing-singing style (which I realize is intended to be somewhat comedic)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blues []  2020-11-24 19:41

    Just horrible. Guest artists are great, Shatner's "singing" is annoying at best. Don't waste your money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Blues []  2020-11-24 19:41

    If you love and follow William Shatner and wish to help him obtain this Album you will have fun it very much. If you just wish to be critical of us that do don't.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386