Read book of unwritten tales 2 reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all book of unwritten tales 2 reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    horse riding tales - ride with friends []  2020-5-19 15:11

    So i just updated it yesterday and when i got on 2 hours after the detail was all GONE !!!! I have a rare horse the black and white one spotted and then u couldn't see the spots left i wanted to begin over but i just got on lvl 7 and 6 horses already the barn detail and everything so i got on it this morning to see that maybe it was just a glitch but i was 100% WRONG. But other than that i love this android game but just one question why does the wild mode have to like 86 gems or your horse has to be level 100 why just it be i wanted to roleplay with my with other people but i have to be a wild horse so why not create it free. But i have you have my 100 help if u wish to create any changes pls fix this problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


    Add your opinion on book of unwritten tales 2 or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Application runs great!!! No problems on android. Fun to play!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Not satisfied the android game takes forever to download, then ages when loading, played it 3 times from scratch now because it says it has saved, when you test to play again, it's from the begining not worth the hassle. Would like a refund, but because of re trying the android game I've missed out, so going to contact google play. Don't waste your it's really not worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    The android game plays very well on my Samsung smartphone with just a couple of minor glitches. The hot spots occasionally overlap if your hero is positioned in some areas in the room. Usually moving the hero around solves the problem. The load time can be long but really isn't that much worse than on the PC. I did search the main characters washed out. Not sure if that is my smartphone but I'm guessing it might be as it seems fine on other systems.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    By far the best android game I've played on my phone. Graphics not the best but the longest android game I've played yet and worth the price! Can't wait for more android games I'll for sure

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Easily the best adventure android game on android device (and one of the best on any platform, for that matter). Playing on a shield smartphone it's been a basically flawless playthrough, and an perfect conversion from PC. Loved it :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Amazing point and adventure. The narrative is funny and love the nods to all things fantasy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Pleasant puzzles, an epic story!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    The touch mechanics could be better. Works well on PlayStation 3,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Don't waste your time and money. This android game starts off slowly, becomes nice and then suddenly a few days into playing the android game there's a bug and you can't move forward. As you have already been playing this android game for longer than the 48 hour period to obtain a the developer is not interested in fixing the bug, I see someone else also reviewed a bug in their game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    I love this android game so much I had to obtain the mobile version. It's only a shame they don't have the first for mobile. Cute story, loveable characters, lovely graphics. I want there were more android games like this one. Well worth the 4.99.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Best android game ever!!!! Amazing graphics and voices. Awesome storyline with humor. Point and style. Everything you could wish in an amazing game! I was honestly sad when I finished the game!!!! You come to love all the characters. And the references are hilarious. I. Going to the first one and the prequel for the PC I loved this so much. Definitely worth every penny!!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Amazing game, but I am stuck on a bug with the bounty hunter at the Red Pirate. No method to contact the dev via the app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Amazing point and adventure. Mobile gaming needs more fully fledged android games like this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Amazing story geat gane

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Fun game....love it so far

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Really enjoying it so far

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    I love this game. Im really enjoying the story and characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    I thought it was a fun android game until i went back to play it and my saved android game was gone. Started over, watched the whole beginning again, played for a few mins, saved it 3 times under 3 names and when i went back, nothin. Please refund. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Amazing android game fairly simple to play if if you obtain stuck on a part th there are plenty of walkthrough on the internet to support you out

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Was this a part one and will third be others

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Makes me so satisfied cant remember being this satisfied since monkey island

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Wow a various type of adventure android game boy this is sweet an the android game is really amazing as well ljke amazing android game in every aspect lots of fun also i like the acent of the people not American its just all over a cool time 2 play this android game its not 2easy either...MY ONLY PROBLEM/QUESTION IS WHATS UP WITH PART1 I HATE WHEN GAMES DO THIS OUT OF ORDER I DONT LIKE THAT SOMEWHAT DOES IT NOT MATTER?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Love this android game so much, however the first time i downloaded it a few years ago it was perfect, thought I'd it again to replay it and everytime i would save my android game and go back off it then the save would never be there! I stuck with it and replayed the beginning 3 times and saved it on various names, nope!! It kept only giving me the option of a fresh game, so the only option is to play it all at once and not have to save it! I uninstalled it because i couldn't be arsed to hold replaying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Love it can you please place the first android game on here

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    READ THIS FOR HELP FIXING GLITCH WITH NATE AND RED PIRATE! This IS a 10 star game!!! Sadly after two glorious chapters of wonder graphics, voice acting, logical and fun puzzles the huge crash. As soon as you obtain to play Nate and are talking in a drunken stupor to the red pirate you obtain in a war with a bounty hunter are pushed down never to obtain up again literally. That's it stuck on the floor never to move or continue the adventure. So in my frustration I went into settings clicked graphics from low to high hit apply went back into the android game and to my delight the android game moved to the next chop screen. I hope this helps anybody who encounters the same glitch.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    I was loving this android game up untill the bounty hunter pushes Nate over and then nothing happens Nate lies on the floor and you can't control anything the video test doesn't move on DAMM glitch

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Amazing game. Gonna have to test part one next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Fun to play

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    sweet android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    A large disappointment. Android game crashed at the drunken war and created me lose all progress. It would have been a 5 star android game if I didn't have this happen and cause a waste of my

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Amazing game, but glitchy. I purchased this game, got a fair method into it and then one day it wouldn't load and came up with a notice saying 'failed to load as you may not have purchased this game', so it was an enjoyable game, but now all progress is lost and it appears that I will have to uninstall and test to reinstall if I wish to play the game. If the android game developer has a method to obtain my progress back, then I'll be happy, but I'm not sure I'll bother to test replaying as I have got too far to place the effort and time back in again at the moment!! It does seem like I've wasted my a bit too. UPDATE- I decided to uninstall and reinstall as I had enjoyed the android game up until the issue I had, I managed to obtain a fair chunk of the android game played (up until nate and critter are in the pyramid) then low and behold it did the very same thing and 'failed to load as you may not have purchased this app' came up again and I am once again so frustrated that I have lost all my progress after playing it for hours upon hours. I really want the android game producer would answer to my emails, reviews and messages, but it seems that now they have my money, I no longer exist or matter enough to remedy this problem, I now feel that I am due a as I have to received what I for.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    A graphically perfect and fully voice acted adventure awaits with one caveat, the android game suffers from bugs(at least for me).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Amazing game, has everything you wish from a point and click! Been waiting for something like this for ages. Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Brilliant not enough android games like this hope there is a follow up !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Book of Unwritten Tales 2 [App]  2019-11-7 13:56

    Well worth the money!! Very much loved it so couldn't place it down till I finished it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass For His Pillow: Tales of Otori, Book Two (Tales of the Otori 2) [Book]  2018-1-9 18:1

    Grass for His Pillow is the continuation of the Tales of the Otori series about young Takeo. This book resumes where Book One, Across the Nightingale Floor ends. Thankfully, the story continues. The vivid descriptions, the mental portrayal of the scenery in which young Takeo & the heroine, Lady Kaede Shirakawa, search themselves, is vibrant and real. Lian Hearn takes a known globe (Japan) and crafts another globe just like it in which to set his story. There are a lot of unbelievable moments in this story and to tell them here would only lessen the experience. If you love detailed, well worded and special hero portrayal, please have fun this title today!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass For His Pillow: Tales of Otori, Book Two (Tales of the Otori 2) [Book]  2018-1-9 18:1

    I simply stand in awe of Lian Hearn's prose and ability to tell a story. The characters are so engaging, so sympathetic, and the suspense so pervading it is very hard to place the book down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass For His Pillow: Tales of Otori, Book Two (Tales of the Otori 2) [Book]  2018-1-9 18:1

    Totally various than what I read and I'm glad I found it. Well written and keeps my interest-I read like a chain smoker in winter and this one makes the chop

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass For His Pillow: Tales of Otori, Book Two (Tales of the Otori 2) [Book]  2018-1-9 18:1

    I love the author and have read the entire Otori series. Fantastic, I can actually feel I'm in that time period and smelling the cherry blossoms. Perfect writer. Lian Hearn actually pushed me to write my own book and [email protected]#$%!. Thanks Lian!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass For His Pillow: Tales of Otori, Book Two (Tales of the Otori 2) [Book]  2018-1-9 18:1

    Rating System:1 star = abysmal; some books deserve to be forgotten2 star = poor; a total waste of time3 star = good; worth the effort4 star = very good; what writing should be5 star = fantastic; must own it and share it with othersSTORY: From back cover: "Takeo has now been claimed by the Tribe; held by them versus his will, he is condemned to work as an assassin. Meanwhile, Shirakawa Kaede must test to unify the domain she has inherited, while fighting off would-be suitors and hoping that Takeo will return to her."MY FEEDBACK:1) You don't really need to read the first book to understand this story because the author does enough reflection and backstory to obtain a reader up to speed. BUT...it is so much better if you do read Across the Nightingale Floor first.2) The characters of Takeo and Kaede are explored more and we as readers continue our bond and love for them. Kaede plays a much larger role in this book than the first.3) This second/middle book doesn't seem to suffer from middle-book syndrome but continues with the same strength as the first. The first book resolved enough without having to read this book, but this book definitely sets the scene for interesting happenings to happen in the 3rd ry small is resolved in this book. This book was truly the rising action of the series making you feel that the climax is just around the corner and me as a reader anxious to obtain there.4) The same actors come back to this book to do the voices in this unabridged representation of the book. The acting is very well done and enjoyable throughout.OVERALL: Unbelievable continuation. I can't wait till the end of the trilogy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass For His Pillow: Tales of Otori, Book Two (Tales of the Otori 2) [Book]  2018-1-9 18:1

    This is the second book in the Tales of the Otori series by Lian Hearn. This book picks up where the first left off. Takeo leaves Kaede for training under the mysterious Tribe; whose supernatural abilities Takeo has inherited from his father. As his training concludes, and he is asked to take out certain missions, he must ask himself if his loyalties will lie with the Tribe or with the Otori? Kaede meanwhile is left on her own to return home and see what state her family is in. Kaede struggles to consolidate her power and claim the inheritance she was left in a globe that is run by is was a fitting second book for this series. It moved along at the steady, descriptive pace of the second book. Although for some reason I found myself getting bored while reading this book. The lush descriptions, while detailed, didn't bring the book to life in the method I hoped they would. I had a small problem understanding some of the stupid decisions created by Kaede and Takeo along the way. Despite these misgivings, if you liked the first book you must read the second book. It is very much in the same style of the first book and continues the story of Kaede and Takeo. This book definitely builds to a climax preparing you for the battle and conflict of the third novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass For His Pillow: Tales of Otori, Book Two (Tales of the Otori 2) [Book]  2018-1-9 18:1

    I love this series. I am deeply touched by the love story that grows as powerful as steel and is truly forged through adversity, betrayals, intrigues, ancestral expectations. Stellar series!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass For His Pillow: Tales of Otori, Book Two (Tales of the Otori 2) [Book]  2018-1-9 18:1

    It has been a long time since I have read a series that captivated me as deeply as these did. Amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass For His Pillow: Tales of Otori, Book Two (Tales of the Otori 2) [Book]  2018-1-9 18:1

    This is the second book in the superb 4 book series, Tales of the Otori. The whole series is completely engaging, with complex characters set in a slightly magical medieval Japan. Takeo Otori has to come to terms with his triple heritage, as a kid raised by the Hidden, a Christian-like sect; a member of the tribe , a sinister ninja-like group specializing in intrigue and assassination; and as the adopted heir to the Otori, lords and warriors. The only other author who does this kind of thing as well is Guy Gavriel Kay with books like the Sarantine Mozaic (set in Byzantium) or Under Heaven (set in Tang dynasty China).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass For His Pillow: Tales of Otori, Book Two (Tales of the Otori 2) [Book]  2018-1-9 18:1

    This second book starts slow, like breathing in preparation for meditation but it abruptly ends. It left me yearning for more of Hearn's attractive and tragic narration of love lost and found. I couldn't support but think that the awesome and most not good moments of Kaede and Takeo's journey are all packed in book three.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Destiny of Dragons: Tales from Verania, Book 2 []  2020-1-18 21:10

    Now that was some brilliant storytelling. This book is a large amount of utterly dense chocolate have to chew your method through it, and 's epic. Zany. Full of the characters we loved in TLSH. But now we've moved beyond boy meets boy love story novelty. The character and his hilarious loving pals have a life journey.Anyone who claims this isn't as amazing as book one? This is not book one. Various animal. Characters have to grow as do authors. Loved it. I have to reread it now. Took a week to obtain it all.Take time to savor the rich flavor as you consume this unexpectedly compelling treat. 5 stars doesn't do it justice. (This is pure "10") Just sink right on it. Can't wait for the next installment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moonlight And Midtown (Fairy Tales of the Magicorum Book 2) []  2020-1-25 4:16

    Bryar Rose has only own she was a wolf for a month and can honestly say she has not gotten a keep of the situation at all. Between her wolf popping out at the most not good of times, and her destroyed wardrobe from all the shifting, Bryar feels a small overwhelmed. But luckily she has her guy Knox to support with the wolfy issues and her bestie Elle who knows just the put to for a fresh outfit.“So we’re your knights.”Surprisingly enough, it’s really cool to search out that you have knights, even if they created up the title themselves and tell you about it while naked and covering their junk with bras. It’s the thought that counts, really.I read book 2 before I read this novella, which happens to be 1.5 and works as the excellent bridge between the two stories. This series is the excellent adventure for anyone who likes a twist on the typical fairytale world, where all the characters have a template to follow- but it appears as if nobody is sticking to the rules they were given. I have fun the backstory for the characters as well as the conflicts and default behavior expected from the original tales. The best part of the book though is the relationship dynamic between Bryar and her people, be it protective Knox, loyal Elle or charming Alec, I always have fun the banter and de note- Sheep faeries were the best part of the book, not gonna lie. They and the entire shopping stage was so ridiculous and bizarre that I could not support to be enchanted while I was reading. It was a nice, creative spin that I never expected and fully appreciated, and the intense level of wish Bryar's wolf experienced was so realistic to my puppy and his favorite chew toys.Overall this is a cute small snippet story into the trials that is being Bryar Rose. I highly recommend reading the series in to create sure you do not miss anything- and trust me, you do not wish to miss anything!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moonlight And Midtown (Fairy Tales of the Magicorum Book 2) []  2020-1-25 4:16

    Bryar Rose is getting ready for a night out with Knox her fresh boyfriend or who her wolf calls mate. Bry is worried about their upcoming outing as she is worried about her wolf showing herself at inappropriate times. She doesn’t wish her naked rear end to end up on Youtube. But not to worry Knox has a plan that can support Bry learn to tame her wolf.Oh and with all this shifting Bry is almost out of clothes. Every time she shifts her clothes is destroyed. Bry and her best mate Elle has plans to go shopping at the fairy which could spell disaster for both of them because going shopping with Bryar Rose can be deadly. But a girl has to look amazing no matter what the yar is also having problem with being followed but every time she looks over her shoulder to see who it is they disappear into the shadows. Who is following Bryar and what do they want? No need to worry because her bff is going to support her catch whoever is following her and take them down.I love stories like Moonlight And Midtown where fae, witches, werewolves among other paranormal monsters all join together or at least some do. Oh and did I forget to mention the fairy tale hero like Cinderella, Prince Charming, Small Red Riding Hood? I love the combination of the two. Fairy tales and paranormal monsters in one story, brilliant!Christina Bauer is one of my favorite authors of all time and I have read a lot of of her books and loved each and every one of them. They are all so incredibly amazing. Christina knows how to spend a story that keeps you coming back for more. Moonlight And Midtown is short read but it is so full of adventure and excitement that will hold you turning the pages soaking it all up from the first page until the last. I can’t wait to read more in this wonderful world.I would recommend Moonlight And Midtown to fans of fairy tales and the paranormal world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass for His Pillow: Tales of the Otori, Book 2 []  2020-1-14 19:34

    Rating System:1 star = abysmal; some books deserve to be forgotten2 star = poor; a total waste of time3 star = good; worth the effort4 star = very good; what writing should be5 star = fantastic; must own it and share it with othersSTORY: From back cover: "Takeo has now been claimed by the Tribe; held by them versus his will, he is condemned to work as an assassin. Meanwhile, Shirakawa Kaede must test to unify the domain she has inherited, while fighting off would-be suitors and hoping that Takeo will return to her."MY FEEDBACK:1) You don't really need to read the first book to understand this story because the author does enough reflection and backstory to obtain a reader up to speed. BUT...it is so much better if you do read Across the Nightingale Floor first.2) The characters of Takeo and Kaede are explored more and we as readers continue our bond and love for them. Kaede plays a much larger role in this book than the first.3) This second/middle book doesn't seem to suffer from middle-book syndrome but continues with the same strength as the first. The first book resolved enough without having to read this book, but this book definitely sets the scene for interesting happenings to happen in the 3rd ry small is resolved in this book. This book was truly the rising action of the series making you feel that the climax is just around the corner and me as a reader anxious to obtain there.4) The same actors come back to this book to do the voices in this unabridged representation of the book. The acting is very well done and enjoyable throughout.OVERALL: Unbelievable continuation. I can't wait till the end of the trilogy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass for His Pillow: Tales of the Otori, Book 2 []  2020-1-14 19:34

    At this point, I've read all five of these books: the TALES OF THE OTORI trilogy as well as its epilogue and prequel. I read them contiguously and without pause--making sure that, before I finished one book, I had the next in hand. I would recommend the OTORI series for anyone who 1) has a modicum of interest in Japan, 2) likes a breath of magic, 3) enjoys surprise, 4) looks for the quality of nobility in characters, and 5) loves a amazing read. What's not to like!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass for his Pillow: Tales of the Otori, Book 2 []  2020-1-14 19:34

    All I can say is that this series, The Otori series, is absolutely magnificent. It takes you right there immediately and you are captivated until the end. Not just the end of the book but the end of the series. You really don't wish it all to end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass for His Pillow: Book 2 Tales of the Otori []  2020-2-4 8:8

    The story and descriptions created you feel as if you were there. I do not live where it snows, so the descriptions of the coldness created me glad that I live in southern California. Looking forward to reading Book 3.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass for His Pillow: Book 2 Tales of the Otori []  2020-2-4 8:8

    The Tales of the Otori series are all perfect listening for long vehicle trips - I found myself sitting in the vehicle until the chapter finished even after a long trip, and that is saying t in a fantasy realm that bears a LOT of similarities to Tokugawa era Japan.Wishing someone would create an assassin's creed style android game set in the globe described in these books, that would be spectacularly fun and beautiful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass for His Pillow: Book 2 Tales of the Otori []  2020-2-4 8:8

    This is the second book in the Tales of the Otori series by Lian Hearn. This book picks up where the first left off. Takeo leaves Kaede for training under the mysterious Tribe; whose supernatural abilities Takeo has inherited from his father. As his training concludes, and he is asked to take out certain missions, he must ask himself if his loyalties will lie with the Tribe or with the Otori? Kaede meanwhile is left on her own to return home and see what state her family is in. Kaede struggles to consolidate her power and claim the inheritance she was left in a globe that is run by is was a fitting second book for this series. It moved along at the steady, descriptive pace of the second book. Although for some reason I found myself getting bored while reading this book. The lush descriptions, while detailed, didn't bring the book to life in the method I hoped they would. I had a small problem understanding some of the stupid decisions created by Kaede and Takeo along the way. Despite these misgivings, if you liked the first book you must read the second book. It is very much in the same style of the first book and continues the story of Kaede and Takeo. This book definitely builds to a climax preparing you for the battle and conflict of the third novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass for His Pillow: Book 2 Tales of the Otori []  2020-2-4 8:8

    Listened to the first book using Audible. It presented a very interesting and complex narrative. I have up the audio format because the female narrator was dreadful - Sri I purchased the rest of the series in print. Book 2 has quite a few dead spots. The remind me of filler foods that restaurants add to your entree to create it look more substantial. The key parts of the story are here but they could have been presented without most of the fillers. I felt as though the main purpose of this book was to obtain me to the next one in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Destiny of Dragons: Tales from Verania, Book 2 []  2020-1-18 21:10

    This was a amazing follow up to The Lightning Struck Heart! Sam and Kevin are together, Justin is still single, Kevin and Gary are still at it, and Tiggy is m learns that he has a role to play in a destiny. One he doesn't want. Regardless, the gang sets out to meet Sam's Destiny with a lot of jokes along the way. Maybe, too a lot of jokes. The back and forth banter is really what created the first book in the series a five star read for me. Here, it seemed too ill, it was funny as hell. We obtain to meet a super villain who seeks to destroy Verania as we know and love it. Add in an angst-ridden teenage dragon, a gypsy grandmother, and another cornerstone and you've got a recipe for fun and mayhem.Looking forward to the next book since this one leaves us hanging on Kevin's back. (And I soooo want the audio for this one was already out!)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Destiny of Dragons: Tales from Verania, Book 2 []  2020-1-18 21:10

    First, if you haven't read a book by T.J. Klune yet, you are truly missing out. Emotions run rampant in beautiful much every book. Tears of laughter, tears of heartbreak, tears of joy - I don't think I've read one of his books without shedding one or all of the above. And no, I'm not a gluten for punishment or a masochist. I just love books that create me feel and T.J. Klune is a pro at all the feels. ALL OF THEM! So, where does The Tales of Verania fall in that spectrum? Well, the "Merry Band of Misfits" are comprised of a hornless (sassy) unicorn; a dragon who is WAY too full of himself; a magician's apprentice who has a knack for getting himself in crazy, mostly dangerous, sometimes deadly situations; a sometimes overly gallant, sword wielding  knight who would follow said magician's assistant anywhere to attempt to hold him out of trouble; a sweet, lovable half giant who BEGS to punch anyone who poses a threat to his mates and family; and sometimes even a "jilted by the knight," somewhat reluctant, grumbling prince. If you assumed that A Destiny of Dragons is on the silly side, you'd be half right. The thing about T.J. Klune is that even his silliest books have a depth that inevitably takes readers by surprise. Just one of the a lot of things I love about his books,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moonlight And Midtown (Fairy Tales of the Magicorum Book 2) []  2020-1-25 4:16

    The gang is back on another fun and crazy adventure. Here Bryar and her bestie are trying to Bry clothes. What happens when a werewolf goes clothes shopping in the stores run by fairies and one in particular was the fairy queen? Well you can only imagine the problem they obtain e story is fun and flirtatious. Elle has never been one to back down from things and neither has Bry so these two obtain into all sorts of hijinks just buying clothes. Clothes that Bry won’t destroy with her wolfie ways. I love the various characters in the stores and how the stores are not what they seem on the outside but on the inside are wild and crazy. The fabrics and magic infused in the clothing is nuts and e story isn’t all fun in the where her and Elle obtain in problem though. WE see Bryar’s struggle in coming to terms and being who she is now. We see her and Knox trying to search their footing in their fresh globe and with each other. the two are amazing together but are fresh and figuring things out along the way. Then we have Elle and Alec who are fighting their attraction but are so fun and flirty with each other and we have some crazy times there as is is a quick, quirky and fun read that keeps you laughing, smiling and on your toes but also gets you a small more insight on these four and where they are and how they are doing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moonlight And Midtown (Fairy Tales of the Magicorum Book 2) []  2020-1-25 4:16

    Moonlight and Midtown was a ton of fun and the excellent method to see what our favorite characters were up to. Ultimately we got to watch Bryar and Elle's shopping extravaganza and oh my [email protected]#$%!& was action packed and a small bit crazy lol. But we also got to learn more about the globe that they lived in and watch Bryar and Knox begin to search their put in life. This novella was a quick, lighthearted read that left me feeling even more excited for the next book in this series!I loved getting a peak into Bryar's struggles, since she learned what she was. But the not good girl couldn't catch a break and her wolf was uncontrollable. Thankfully she had Elle, her bestie, who was ready to take her on a shopping trip since she kept destroying her clothes every time she shifted. And speaking of Elle, we also got to see Alex, a warlock and Knox's best friend. The interaction between Elle and Alex was a lot of fun and I need to search out more about Elle's past and why that hinders them from being together. They're so fabulous together! See, I need that next book now lol.But my favorite in this series? Knox. He was as seductive as ever. And I loved what a amazing mate he had become to Bryar. They worked together so well. I mean, yes he was her mate, but still, I loved the method they meshed. It warmed my heart how Knox would support Byrar out and that he was always by her side. Even though he had his own struggles......Just like the first book in this series, this novella was beyond adorable. So if you loved Wolves and Roses, definitely give this one a try. It was a super fast read and it was a ton of fun. I loved every min of it!*I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book, provided by Creature House Books LLC. All thoughts and opinions are my own.*

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass for His Pillow: Tales of the Otori, Book 2 []  2020-1-14 19:34

    One of my favorite reads. The main hero is beautifully portrayed in a historical Japanese venue. The writing is superlative and creates detailed scenes easily envisioned. Best of all, though this is part of a series of books, each stands well on it's own. Test a sample; I'm sure you'll wish to read all of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass for His Pillow: Tales of the Otori, Book 2 []  2020-1-14 19:34

    The story and descriptions created you feel as if you were there. I do not live where it snows, so the descriptions of the coldness created me glad that I live in southern California. Looking forward to reading Book 3.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass for His Pillow: Tales of the Otori, Book 2 []  2020-1-14 19:34

    Grass for His Pillow is the continuation of the Tales of the Otori series about young Takeo. This book resumes where Book One, Across the Nightingale Floor ends. Thankfully, the story continues. The vivid descriptions, the mental portrayal of the scenery in which young Takeo & the heroine, Lady Kaede Shirakawa, search themselves, is vibrant and real. Lian Hearn takes a known globe (Japan) and crafts another globe just like it in which to set his story. There are a lot of unbelievable moments in this story and to tell them here would only lessen the experience. If you love detailed, well worded and special hero portrayal, please have fun this title today!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass for His Pillow: Tales of the Otori, Book 2 []  2020-1-14 19:34

    The Tales of the Otori series are all perfect listening for long vehicle trips - I found myself sitting in the vehicle until the chapter finished even after a long trip, and that is saying t in a fantasy realm that bears a LOT of similarities to Tokugawa era Japan.Wishing someone would create an assassin's creed style android game set in the globe described in these books, that would be spectacularly fun and beautiful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Destiny of Dragons: Tales from Verania, Book 2 []  2020-1-18 21:10

    Following the story set up in The Lightning Struck Heart, A Destiny of Dragons is the first in the continuing three part series, Tales From Verania , that T.J. Klune is calling the “Destiny F*** Yeah Trilogy”. Much like Lord of the Rings, Tales from Verania is a series in parts and thankfully the remaining two books are being published shortly, so don’t allow the word cliffhanger place you off. If you’re a fan of Sam of Wilds you have to read this book!Now that Sam has his happily ever after and everything in the Town of Lockes is going along smoothly, some drama just has to happen, right!? Cue Sam’s long-lost gypsy grandmother. She brings along the dark, mysterious, and incredibly buff Ruv (who she says is Sam’s real cornerstone), and Knight Commander Ryan Foxheart doesn’t like this one bit!Oh, yes, and Sam has a vision of the future while being bad-touched by his grandma. He discovers it’s his destiny to save the world, and he must gather all the dragons in Verania to do it. Our favorite heroes are all back and better than ever and they set off on the quest.Ryan is still dashing and immaculate, and now that Haveheart is solid, he’s letting us see his kinky side too. Gary still has sass up the wazoo, and Kevin surpasses anything I could even imagine with his vivid and creative descriptions of his favorite pastime. The story in A Destiny of Dragons is completely captivating, and the banter is clever and funny. Believe me, you won’t be wouldn’t be TJ if there wasn’t some heartbreak, and some of the more poignant moments really touched me, such as Sam’s conversation with the Star Dragon about why all wishes can’t come true, “‘If we got everything we ever wished for, we wouldn’t have the capacity to be thankful for all the things we’d already been given.’” Sam is still struggling to accept his quest, figure out why all this is going on, and wondering if he truly wants to commit to ere are some unbelievable fresh characters introduced in this book. Klune completely nails the hero of Zero the dragon, all his teenage angst and attitude. Zero broke my heart between his desperation to be accepted and his desire to search a deep and passionate love. Zero is wise beyond his years when he tells Sam, “‘Everything dies, it’s the we for being alive.’” Sam hears him, but he’s still going to do whatever he must to create sure his family stays Klune gets a small massive in this one. He delves deep into the concepts of fate and will, amazing vs evil, faith, and the power of love. Maybe I should add honesty to the list… I know Sam is going to regret not coming clean about his visions and everything that went down with Myrin.I’m so glad I waited for the audio ver of A Destiny of Dragons. What would the story be without Michael Lesley giving voice to Gary, Tiggy, Kevin and the rest of the crew? Lesley infuses the characters with so much personality it just enhances everything that Klune has written. I love the voices he’s made for Zero, Vadoma, Myrin and the other fresh characters, Lesley is just so incredibly talented. The audio is beautifully produced and contains some awesome sound effects which really enliven the Klune’s imagination knows no limits and A Destiny of Dragons is creative and funny and poetic and heartfelt and, well you obtain the idea, beautiful much The. Best. Book. Ever! *fangirl moment* I think Klune is a genius. Now the only thing that remains to be seen is whether I’ll dive straight into reading The Consumption of Magic or wait for the audiobook to come out. Who am I kidding, I’ll do both. There’s still three more dragons to search and I can’t wait to see what happens next!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Destiny of Dragons: Tales from Verania, Book 2 []  2020-1-18 21:10

    Excellent! Excellent! Excellent! I forgot how amazing the first book had been. This second book is method past 5 Stars!Sam of Wilds, the love of his life, Ryan Foxheart and Sam's misfit friends, Gary the unicoron with a horn, Kevin, a black dragon, and Tigger, a half-gaint, sent off to save the the globe from Darkness.An adventure it is all caused by Sam's grandmother he has never seen who comes to enlighten the man about his destiny and to push what she called his cornerstone, Ruv. Sam has a mind of his own and no one was taking Ryan, his beloved cornerstone away from him.Whenever things become serious and your heart is pounding, out comes the dialogue between the five members in this misfit group that is hysterical! I love the method TJ Klune writes such an entertaining read, and you'd miss out if you don't read this series. I'm starting Book 3 next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moonlight And Midtown (Fairy Tales of the Magicorum Book 2) []  2020-1-25 4:16

    A quick read with a satisfying conclusion and plenty of fun to be had. I look forward to the reading the next book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moonlight And Midtown (Fairy Tales of the Magicorum Book 2) []  2020-1-25 4:16

    Moonlight and Midtown is a amazing novella filled with humor and mystery. Bryar Rose has come to terms with the fact that she is a shifter but she and her wolf have a few problems to work out still. The main one being that Bryar Rose’s wolf pops out whenever she feels like it and it is very inconvenient for Bryar Rose. The main inconvenience is that that since Bryar Rose has no control over the shifting, she does not have time to take off her clothes, which obtain destroyed when shifting and she has quite simply run out of clothes to wear. The other problem is that when Bryar Rose does shifts back to human she is naked as the day she was born and that is quite humiliating for a girl who has not grown up as a shifter.With being unable to control her shifting, Bryar Rose has become a bit reclusive. Her boyfriend, Knox, has been quite supportive throughout this ordeal. With him being a shifter, he can understand what she is going through and with her wolf when needed. Which has been a unbelievable thing for Bryar Rose. More unbelievable than that though is her bestie, a bestie who has promised to take her shopping for an outfit that is magically enchanted and will not rip when she shifts. Bryar Rose will do just about anything for one of those outfits but it will not be an simple outing for the ere is a lot to love in Moonlight and Midtown! It was a humorous tale that provided girl time between Bryar Rose and Elle, which was nice to see! Their attempts to obtain Bryar Rose a fresh wardrobe is beautiful darn hilarious. There was some development with the plot regarding Knox and the pressure he is receiving to take over as Alpha. There is also some expansion on two supporting characters and that was quite enjoyable. I liked where Moonlight and Midtown ended and I am very excited to see how the situation that occurred at the end of this story develops in the next is review is based on a complimentary book I received from NetGalley. It is an honest and voluntary review. The complimentary receipt of it in no method affected my review or rating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass for His Pillow: Book 2 Tales of the Otori []  2020-2-4 8:8

    Rating System:1 star = abysmal; some books deserve to be forgotten2 star = poor; a total waste of time3 star = good; worth the effort4 star = very good; what writing should be5 star = fantastic; must own it and share it with othersSTORY: From back cover: "Takeo has now been claimed by the Tribe; held by them versus his will, he is condemned to work as an assassin. Meanwhile, Shirakawa Kaede must test to unify the domain she has inherited, while fighting off would-be suitors and hoping that Takeo will return to her."MY FEEDBACK:1) You don't really need to read the first book to understand this story because the author does enough reflection and backstory to obtain a reader up to speed. BUT...it is so much better if you do read Across the Nightingale Floor first.2) The characters of Takeo and Kaede are explored more and we as readers continue our bond and love for them. Kaede plays a much larger role in this book than the first.3) This second/middle book doesn't seem to suffer from middle-book syndrome but continues with the same strength as the first. The first book resolved enough without having to read this book, but this book definitely sets the scene for interesting happenings to happen in the 3rd ry small is resolved in this book. This book was truly the rising action of the series making you feel that the climax is just around the corner and me as a reader anxious to obtain there.4) The same actors come back to this book to do the voices in this unabridged representation of the book. The acting is very well done and enjoyable throughout.OVERALL: Unbelievable continuation. I can't wait till the end of the trilogy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass for His Pillow: Book 2 Tales of the Otori []  2020-2-4 8:8

    Grass for His Pillow is the continuation of the Tales of the Otori series about young Takeo. This book resumes where Book One, Across the Nightingale Floor ends. Thankfully, the story continues. The vivid descriptions, the mental portrayal of the scenery in which young Takeo & the heroine, Lady Kaede Shirakawa, search themselves, is vibrant and real. Lian Hearn takes a known globe (Japan) and crafts another globe just like it in which to set his story. There are a lot of unbelievable moments in this story and to tell them here would only lessen the experience. If you love detailed, well worded and special hero portrayal, please have fun this title today!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass for His Pillow: Tales of the Otori, Book 2 []  2020-1-14 19:34

    I thought this suffered a small from "middle of the trilogy" syndrome. Dramatic happenings occurred in the first book, along with the introduction of a lot of interesting characters. Here we seem to be in a bit of a holding pattern while everyone catches his breath and waits for the rt of it was due to the overall intended atmosphere of the book. It is winter and everything slows to a halt--with only plans being created for when the snow clears and major campaigns can now be fought. Part is due to the mysterious Tribe--Takeo is amongst them, but only interacts with a few lower-members, whose relationships with him don't change much. And surprisingly small is revealed about them--save that what we have guessed or learned from the first book. I wanted a bit more of a climatic arc to be had with that part of the story, but it was not to ever, the globe remains beautifully, even sublimely rendered. And there is that subtle tension that underlies the events, which pulls the reader along. I greatly enjoyed the first book and am content with this, the second book, and wait eagerly for the conclusion to this compelling tale.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass for His Pillow: Tales of the Otori, Book 2 []  2020-1-14 19:34

    Listened to the first book using Audible. It presented a very interesting and complex narrative. I have up the audio format because the female narrator was dreadful - Sri I purchased the rest of the series in print. Book 2 has quite a few dead spots. The remind me of filler foods that restaurants add to your entree to create it look more substantial. The key parts of the story are here but they could have been presented without most of the fillers. I felt as though the main purpose of this book was to obtain me to the next one in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass for his Pillow: Tales of the Otori, Book 2 []  2020-1-14 19:34

    Unbelievable series of 5 books this story cycle of feudal Japan. however to compare it to Tokein's ring trilogy was a bit much on their part!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moonlight And Midtown (Fairy Tales of the Magicorum Book 2) []  2020-1-25 4:16

    Bryar Rose is attempting to learn to control her wolf and preparing to go to a normal high school. She has destroyed the majority of her clothing when she changes to wolf so she needs to obtain some fresh clothes. Shopping becomes an adventure when there are faeries involved. This is a fun bridge to the second book in the series Fairy Tales of the Magicorum.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moonlight And Midtown (Fairy Tales of the Magicorum Book 2) []  2020-1-25 4:16

    This is a bridge novella that takes put immediately after book 1 and leads you into book 2 of the Magicorum series. I highly recommend you read the first book before this one because this is a lighter read and so much happened in book yar is new into her shifter powers and is trying quickly to learn how to control her wolf but is failing miserably. She and Elle have moved into a townhouse owned by Le Charme and now her boyfriend Knox, an alpha wolf, and Alec Le Charme are their neighbors. Bryar is about to begin regular school and is going to a mixer to meet other Magicorum students who will also be attending. The corrupt Magicorum instructors are gone. The issue is her wolf overtakes her so frequently she is running out of clothes to yar comes off to me much younger than she did in book one. I don't know why but it's been hard to overlook. I loved the first book so much though I had to see where the author went with this e decides to go to the underground Fae and see if there is anything they can do about her clothing issues. The girls continue to play pranks on the guys and they always retaliate. Alec comes off as more of a prankster than Knox though. Knox seems like the most mature of the group to me. He does a lot to teach Bryar about her wolf until he starts acting out of control. Bryar starts feeling uneasy like someone is following her and with Knox off his android game she has to figure out what to is book was cute with enough intrigue and foreshadowing to create me excited to read the next book that comes out this fall!Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for this ARC in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Destiny of Dragons: Tales from Verania, Book 2 []  2020-1-18 21:10

    Sam, Gary, Tiggy, Kevin, and Ryan are back, and they're as fun as ever. Warning! Do not be in the process of chewing meal while reading this novel. Doing so can lead to choking and spewed meal across your is novel picks up a year after "The Lightning-Struck Heart" (which I recommend you read first as it's very good, introduces the characters, and has happenings referred to in this book). Sam's estranged grandmother, the gypsy queen Vadoma, has come into his life with a prophecy of world-shattering happenings that Sam must prevent. She also brought a young man who she claims is Sam's cornerstone (the person that grounds your magic). Sam must investigate the validity of this prophecy and, if necessary, take e book is funny and is told in the same first-person perspective as the first. It's funny and entertaining and just flows from page to page. Of note is that it does develop a very ominous undertone which took me by surprise. And one particular stage was actually quite horrifying and chilling. Only TJ Klune could pull off something like that. After giggling and laughing, I suddenly found I was gripping the pages in horror as a fresh villain showed himself to be leagues above what we've seen before.With fresh characters and monsters alongside our favorites, if you liked "The Lightning-Struck Heart", then you will absolutely like this one. Be warned though that this sequel will rely on a third book (to be released soon) to complete the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Destiny of Dragons: Tales from Verania, Book 2 []  2020-1-18 21:10

    4-4.5 starsThis was a really enjoyable followup to The Lightning-Struck Heart. I really enjoyed it and still love the characters but I will admit that the story didn't suck me in as much as the first book did, hence the 4 stars instead of is story takes put a year after the ending of The Lightning-Struck Heart. Sam and Ryan are satisfied and things have been going well. So of course, this is when things have to go a bit wonky. Sam's grandmother shows up at the castle, bringing with her news of Sam's "destiny". Sam is satisfied with his life and doesn't wish a "destiny" and actively tries to hide away from it. At least until he realizes that hiding from it wont create it go away. There's also the problem with Sam's Grandmother bringing another possible cornerstone for Sam but that doesn't cause as much drama as I'd is story is only a beginning of the story surrounding Sam's destiny and his efforts to save everyone from darkness. I know there are at least 2 more books in this series so I'm guessing this will be an ongoing problem for a while. The part that was covered in this book was a really amazing begin and I'm looking forward to seeing how things progress. While there was a decent amount of dark items you don't have to worry, Sam and mates always seem to squeeze in time to have some zany adventure or weird conversation to lighten things up (sometimes in the middle of the dark scenes). Overall, this was a really amazing continuation of the series and I'm looking forward to seeing what happens in the future books. I would recommend this book but as part of the series, I don't think this would work as a standalone.* note - I listened to the audio ver of this book and as with book #1, the narrator did an amazing job. It's really more of a performance than a narration and even has some sound effects thrown in.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass for His Pillow: Book 2 Tales of the Otori []  2020-2-4 8:8

    One of my favorite reads. The main hero is beautifully portrayed in a historical Japanese venue. The writing is superlative and creates detailed scenes easily envisioned. Best of all, though this is part of a series of books, each stands well on it's own. Test a sample; I'm sure you'll wish to read all of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass for His Pillow: Book 2 Tales of the Otori []  2020-2-4 8:8

    I thought this suffered a small from "middle of the trilogy" syndrome. Dramatic happenings occurred in the first book, along with the introduction of a lot of interesting characters. Here we seem to be in a bit of a holding pattern while everyone catches his breath and waits for the rt of it was due to the overall intended atmosphere of the book. It is winter and everything slows to a halt--with only plans being created for when the snow clears and major campaigns can now be fought. Part is due to the mysterious Tribe--Takeo is amongst them, but only interacts with a few lower-members, whose relationships with him don't change much. And surprisingly small is revealed about them--save that what we have guessed or learned from the first book. I wanted a bit more of a climatic arc to be had with that part of the story, but it was not to ever, the globe remains beautifully, even sublimely rendered. And there is that subtle tension that underlies the events, which pulls the reader along. I greatly enjoyed the first book and am content with this, the second book, and wait eagerly for the conclusion to this compelling tale.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass for His Pillow: Book 2 Tales of the Otori []  2020-2-4 8:8

    This second book starts slow, like breathing in preparation for meditation but it abruptly ends. It left me yearning for more of Hearn's attractive and tragic narration of love lost and found. I couldn't support but think that the awesome and most not good moments of Kaede and Takeo's journey are all packed in book three.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Destiny of Dragons: Tales from Verania, Book 2 []  2020-1-18 21:10

    Imagine “Lord of the Rings” and a bit of “Harry Potter” mashed together. And then envision it as if the principal characters were all @#$%!y esome, right?I might have loved “The Lightning Struck Heart,” a small more than “A Destiny of Dragons” because it was so startlingly novel. I’d never read anything like it before—which is, come to think of it, not an uncommon reaction when reading anything by TJ Klune. I gasped with laughter because nobody, to my knowledge, had ever dared take the so-very-serious concept of the mythical, magical, oath-bound quest and created it so very and very camp. It was a hugely dangerous thing to do, and it worked.“A Destiny of Dragons” works, too. Very well. Brilliantly. But, probably, not for everybody. It is bawdy and gross and campy and absurd. It is also strong and touching and brought me to tears numerous times and in ways that created me understand just how carefully TJ Klune has constructed his epic romance of magic and love and queerness. He has dared to do what Tolkein couldn’t even imagine, and what J.K. Rowling didn’t have the courage to do.“I was seventeen years old when I brought a bird back to life. I had taken life from the earth to do it. And I never breathed a word of it to anyone.”This is at the begin of the book, and while it seems almost random, it is in fact a psychological foundation for everything before and after. This is a scared teenager who is faced with the shattering truth of his own powers and a seemingly impossible burden of responsibility. This is a boy who can’t believe who he is, and can imagine how he will be what everyone else expects him to the way, there is a very clear literary link to the story of Jesus and Satan and that whole thing. Just in case you thought I wasn’t paying attention. The same is real for both Frodo and Harry Potter.Unlike most romance novels, Klune’s books are written from a deeply private perspective that I can’t start to comprehend. But I know that his books—whether or not they contain items that makes me unhappy, uncomfortable, or even angry—touch me in a method that no other author’s works do. Maybe it’s because my discovery of Klune’s writing coincided with a very unhappy moment in my own life.I discovered Tolkein’s “Lord of the Rings” as a fourteen-year-old whose family was falling apart. I discovered Harry Potter as a man in his late thirties desperate to become a father and faced with one adoption disaster after another. I discovered TJ Klune in my late fifties, terrified of getting old and desperate to gain some control over my world, to feel visible and mm. I discern a with all of Klune’s books, he makes a very predictable use of repetition and reiteration (not the same thing!). His books are like very long musical fugues, where small motifs and phrases hold reappearing and reminding the reader what’s happened, even as they prepare the reader for what’s coming next. Klune tries to distract us with the distraction of his absurd characters, who constantly derail even the most fraught situations with bizarre riffs of inappropriate talk and catty teenage bickering. But the plot moves forward; the tensions binds us tighter with every page. Just as with Frodo Baggins and Harry Potter, destiny awaits, no matter how a lot of sidebars test to pull us off the Klune’s “Tales from Verania” books take no prisoners. They are what I need right now. I cheered at the not-quite-cliffhanger ending. I love Sam Haversford even more than I loved Frodo or Harry. Because, like me, he’s gay. Ultimately, Sam will respond only to himself. As do we all.“I was Sam of Wilds. And I was going to face my godsdamned destiny.”See you in book three.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Destiny of Dragons: Tales from Verania, Book 2 []  2020-1-18 21:10

    This is technically the second book in a series, but it feels like a beginning... :) allow me test to explain myself better... :) "The lightning-struck heart", book #1 in Tales from Verania absolutely unbelievable fantasy series reads like a standalone... it's a complete story, that introduces us to the globe and all the main characters... you can read it and be satisfied how it ended... :) this one, on the other hand... this one starts something new... with a cliffhanger at the end and everything :) yes, you really should read that first book to understand all the connections between characters :) plus, this second one spoils a lot of things about that first story... so definitely begin with book #1 :) don't worry if you are not caught up with the series, cause I will have the next paragraph completely spoiler free, so even if you haven't read anything it will be safe to read :) and then the third and latest part of this review will be all about this installment, where I will definitely spoil some things from the first book, but nothing from the second one :)So what can I say to you about this globe and these characters... besides the most obvious thing, that I absolutely love them... :) *sighs happily* ok, focus woman :) the whole story takes put in Verania, a fantasy globe with magical creatures, wizards and all that jazz ;) Sam of Wilds is our main hero :) raised in the slumps, when he accidentally turns some rude boys into stone, he and his parents are taken to the castle, where Sam becomes a wizard's apprentice :) an apprentice to none other than Morgan of Shadows, a legendary wizard who will become not only his mentor but also a very close friend... and if by now you are thinking: "oh, it's gonna be a nice, warm fantasy story, filled with adventures" then... think again ;) and be prepared for a whole lot of sass, sarcasm, crazy surprises and all around awesomeness :) because Sam has two best friends: Gary and Tiggy :) Gary is a hornless unicorn (long story) who is the absolute Queen of Sass and Tiggy is the sweetest half giant you ever met :) not only that, but we also have Ryan... who is he? oh I'll tell ya :) Ryan is the knight commander of the king and boyfriend of Justin, the prince... he is also someone, who Sam has a giant crush on... :) when Justin is kidnapped by a dragon, Sam, Gary, Tiggy and Ryan are going on a rescue mission... what can go wrong? ;) based on the fact that Sam attracts the worst kind of luck...? a lot of things ;) be prepared for an absolutely phenomenal ride, full of surprises (this story never went when I thought it would go) sarcastic humor and sass on super high levels :) I freaking loved this series and already can't wait to continue on with it :) so if you haven't gave it a shot already, definitely do it as soon as possible :) ok, now that we have this small explanation out of the way, allow me jump into all my thoughts and feelings about this second installment :)Last warning people, this paragraph will include some spoilers about the first story, so if you are brand fresh to the sereis, avert your eyes :) I was very excited to dive back into this globe :) we have all our favourite characters back, including one that I couldn't really mention above... yes, I mean Kevin... the dragon... Beast from the East and all that ;) I swear you guys, he is the largest reason for my snort-laughing when I read the book on my commute :) about a year went by from the end of the previous story and Sam and Ryan are all satisfied with rainbows and sunshine and all that ;) there are still crazy adventures and surprises along the way, but life is good... :) everything gets more complicated when unexpectedly Sam's gypsy grandmother arrives with the talk of his destiny to gather dragons of Verania in a war agains the largest darkness there ever was... and to top all that, she claims that Ruv, the man who came with her is Sam's real cornerstone (long story short, it's a person who helps a wizard built and stabilize their magic)... dun dun duuuuunnnnnn :) so even though Sam is very unhappy about the whole "destiny" thing, he gathers his mates and they begin another adventure :) I won't say anything else about what is event in this particular installment, because I don't wish to spoil you anything, but I will warn you that it does end on a cliffhanger... fortunately, the next installment is already available ;) once again, I was absolutely in love with the writing style... it was entertaining and quick paced and I loved every min of it... speaking of minutes... :) once again I listened to the audiobook ver of this novel and once again I was impressed how one person can act out so a lot of various voices... Michael Lesley as the narrator is unbelievable and definitely adds to the book... so much, that even though I already have ebook versions of the third and fourth (last) books, I am tempted to wait for the audiobooks :) we shall see how long I will actually latest :) as with the previous installment, while reading this one I definitely gasped in surprise more than once... sighed from all the cuteness... but my most common reaction was laughter... and not your cute giggle... noooo... I am talking about snorting in public and not-being-able-to-catch-your-breath-because-you-are-laughing-so-much situation... :) #TrueStory :) I cannot recommend you guys this book and this whole series enough :) it's sooo much fun... intertwined with much more serious and emotional topics... this second installment opened up all sorts of very interesting possibilities and I am very curious to see where the author will take us next :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Destiny of Dragons: Tales from Verania, Book 2 []  2020-1-18 21:10

    TLSH is one of my all time favorite books, I was truly thinking nothing could be as amazing as that book. I WAS WRONG. We continue the journey with Sam, Ryan, Gary, Tiggy and Kevin and it is everything and then some. The was Tj writes and brings not only the characters but the whole book to life is amazing. I created the ugly wookie cry face a few times so obtain ready for that, obtain ready for more full on laughter, just obtain ready. I cannot wait for the next book, it will slay me to wait. Saying all that, just know this book is just breathtaking, wonderful, funny and heartbreaking all rolled in together. It's just simply magic. Just it, you will not be sorry. Thank you Tj, thank you for this unbelievable story, for bringing them all back. Thank you!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass for His Pillow: Tales of the Otori, Book 2 []  2020-1-14 19:34

    This is the second book in the Tales of the Otori series by Lian Hearn. This book picks up where the first left off. Takeo leaves Kaede for training under the mysterious Tribe; whose supernatural abilities Takeo has inherited from his father. As his training concludes, and he is asked to take out certain missions, he must ask himself if his loyalties will lie with the Tribe or with the Otori? Kaede meanwhile is left on her own to return home and see what state her family is in. Kaede struggles to consolidate her power and claim the inheritance she was left in a globe that is run by is was a fitting second book for this series. It moved along at the steady, descriptive pace of the second book. Although for some reason I found myself getting bored while reading this book. The lush descriptions, while detailed, didn't bring the book to life in the method I hoped they would. I had a small problem understanding some of the stupid decisions created by Kaede and Takeo along the way. Despite these misgivings, if you liked the first book you must read the second book. It is very much in the same style of the first book and continues the story of Kaede and Takeo. This book definitely builds to a climax preparing you for the battle and conflict of the third novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass for His Pillow: Tales of the Otori, Book 2 []  2020-1-14 19:34

    This second book starts slow, like breathing in preparation for meditation but it abruptly ends. It left me yearning for more of Hearn's attractive and tragic narration of love lost and found. I couldn't support but think that the awesome and most not good moments of Kaede and Takeo's journey are all packed in book three.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Grass for His Pillow: Book 2 Tales of the Otori []  2020-2-4 8:8

    At this point, I've read all five of these books: the TALES OF THE OTORI trilogy as well as its epilogue and prequel. I read them contiguously and without pause--making sure that, before I finished one book, I had the next in hand. I would recommend the OTORI series for anyone who 1) has a modicum of interest in Japan, 2) likes a breath of magic, 3) enjoys surprise, 4) looks for the quality of nobility in characters, and 5) loves a amazing read. What's not to like!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moonlight And Midtown (Fairy Tales of the Magicorum Book 2) []  2020-1-25 4:16

    Well, seems like being a werewolf is a @#$%! on your wardrobe. Shredding everything you wear and most definitely for Bryar who doesn't have full (or any) control over her r women, this means one thing... SHOPPING! (I have to admit... I seriously hate shopping, ugh... ah well)This was a very enjoyable interlude between Wolves and Roses and Shifters and Glyphs. As always, the author painted a very clear and detailed picture which left us to have fun the story to its aracter development was good. Bryar is having wolf issues, serious wolf problems and having Knox around does a globe of good. She needs to learn control and ascertain dominance over the wolf... yeah, amazing luck! :D Not to mention her other 'gifts'.Elle is, as always, sooooo awesome!!! I really wish to know what her is! :D Maybe a spinoff? Maybe some pov changes? Best of all, she is a gamer :D (I knew I liked her haha)The men in the books are rather caring and understanding, which makes it a nice change in cing and flow were good. This isn't a long instalment and a lot happens, so keep onto your horses for an eventful l in all, I liked it. It was a bit of a recap for me who the main characters are and what happened in the first book (ideal if it's been a while since reading Wolves and Roses). On to Shifters and Glyphs!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Moonlight And Midtown (Fairy Tales of the Magicorum Book 2) []  2020-1-25 4:16

    This a novella set in The Fairy Tales of The Magicorum series, and takes put four weeks after Wolves and Roses. Bry's needs support train  her wolf  as in latest book the spell that was place on Bry was released, all her magic was returned, and so was her Wolf much to her shock.Unfortunately all her clothes and furniture is ruined. So all she wants is some fresh clothes and learn to control her ox is the one to support with the inner wolf, but a girl needs her girlfriend to go is is an entertaining novella of Bry and Elle shopping. Bryer Rose needs Knox to help control her wolf. This is an entertaining peek into the lives of Knox and Bry, with some support for Alec and Elle. Even in a novella Christina draws in with practice ease and wets my appetite until the next book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Library of the Unwritten: A Novel from Hell's Library, Book 1 []  2020-1-18 21:18

    For once I’m grateful for Fb ads, because without them I wouldn’t have found this gem of a book. This novel caters to every single one of my niche interests perfectly. It’s exciting, poignant, funny, and heart wrenching. I fell in love with the characters, and the storyline kept me guessing just enough. As a writer, I really enjoyed all the delightfully meta musings. The worldbuilding is extremely engaging and interesting. I feel like I know enough about the universe to feel satisfied, but there’s certainly enough mystery left to hold me excited about future books. I highly recommend this book if you enjoyed Amazing Omens or American Gods.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Library of the Unwritten (A Novel from Hell's Library Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:8

    I cannot express how much I enjoyed this book! The gripping story and likable characters pull you in, making it an engaging book and hard to place down. The author paints the picture of the afterlife in vivid detail, as the librarian, her muse, demon, and character travel through realms of the afterlife to save the world. Twists and turns create the story unpredictable and fresh. I highly recommend this book and I’m excited to read the next in this special series!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Library of the Unwritten (A Novel from Hell's Library Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:8

    A Library in Hell for unfinished works, who wouldn’t love that dramatic concept? Then add in Claire the emotionally damaged librarian, Brevity her muse assistant, Leto a human who thinks he’s a demon with amnesia, and a Character from a book on an adventure to save the library in hell! Lots of villains to dig through, realm jumping, scary parts, and enough emotional upheaval to create me fall in love! It’s definitely one of my favorite books of 2019!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Library of the Unwritten: A Novel from Hell's Library, Book 1 []  2020-1-18 21:18

    A Library in Hell for unfinished works, who wouldn’t love that dramatic concept? Then add in Claire the emotionally damaged librarian, Brevity her muse assistant, Leto a human who thinks he’s a demon with amnesia, and a Character from a book on an adventure to save the library in hell! Lots of villains to dig through, realm jumping, scary parts, and enough emotional upheaval to create me fall in love! It’s definitely one of my favorite books of 2019!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Library of the Unwritten: A Novel from Hell's Library, Book 1 []  2020-1-18 21:18

    A kind of damned librarian caught in the middle of a battle between heaven and hell. There's so much to have fun here but I personally loved how the book explored the difference between being kind and satisfied vs. Being "right"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Library of the Unwritten (A Novel from Hell's Library Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:8

    I love books about books. Libraries were my favorite put to visit as a child (I still fantasize about visiting the one in Corpus Christi, TX, that I spent so much time in). This tale is something truly special, a palate cleanser from all the fiction that’s allow me down this year (The Priory of the Orange Tree, I’m looking at you here). I honestly kept waiting for the plot or the characters to turn formulaic or boring, but instead I drew out reading the end of the book so I could hang out with them longer. I LOVE YOU, CLAIRE! ! ! ! !Am immediately going back to amazon to everything else this author has available on Kindle under both of the names the author publishes is one’s for the book nerds. You know who you are. And anyone else who enjoys a amazing story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Library of the Unwritten (A Novel from Hell's Library Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:8

    'Stories wish to change, and it is a librarian's job to preserve them; that's the natural of things.  The Unwritten Wing of the Library, for all its infinite magic and mystery, is in some ways a futile project.  No story, written or unwritten, is static.  Left abandoned too long and given the right stimulation, a book goes wrong in the head.  It is a story's natural ambition to wake up and begin telling itself to the world.  This, of course, is a buggered pain in the arse.'Welcome to the Library of the Unwritten, nestled inside (but not a part of) Hell.  Here, the current librarian Claire Hadley keeps track of the books begun, but never finished.  Demon patrons have to be kept in line, rogue characters brought back top their books, clean and tidy.  Orderly.  That's the method of things here while she works off her soul debt.  When Heaven comes knocking, far too interested in her charges, she and her assistant Brevity must gear up to protect the Library from Heaven and Hell.  Who can she trust to support her?  The anxious, overly polite demon-currier Leto, her failed-muse-turned-assistant Brevity, Hero- a hero rejected by his own story?  Andreas, the arcanist demon who helped her stand on her own thirty years ago?  It's not much of a squad when place versus agents of Heaven, but she won't go down without a fight.I will admit it; I am 100% obsessed with the premise of this book.  A library filled with half developed stories, characters beloved but never realized, all stored together itching to be free- to be told.  I could live here, in this library.  13 year old me would have died just thinking about such treasure.I loved the characters here, each with their own regrets and issues.  Leto, the amnesiac demon who's afraid of everything and only wants to obtain things right.  Claire, damaged from her past, closed off.... yet can't support herself from collecting strays to take care of.  Brevity, the muse discharged for the sin of wanting something for herself.  Hero, who only wanted to escape his book to search his author and obtain her to write, left apart, unacknowledged by his own book and unable to obtain back.  Then there's Ramiel, one of the fallen angels- the Watchers, tossed from Heaven at the same time as Lucifer for giving God's creations forbidden knowledge.  Still too caring, too determined to do the right thing, looking in on Heaven- the only home he ever knew- and unable to go back.  Each one is well developed and interesting with their own voices that you obtain to hear through the duel narratives- the book is broken up so that each hero gets a e mission- to search the remaining pages of the Devil's Bible, without letting the Devil know, before Heaven can obtain it- is really interesting.  I was enthralled by all the adventure, and the mad-cap plans.  You can't support but root for this snarky band of misfits (let's face it; none of these guys are exactly merry, are they?).  I liked that there was more than Heaven and Hell, there was Valhalla and regions so old as to be e writing style is really amazing too- it has a amazing flow and is simple to follow even though there are four narrators ( I had forgotten that Character was not given his own chapter).  Each chapter starts with the name of the narrator and an exert from the journal that The Library's workers kept. Everything melded together perfectly.  It started strong, catching my attention with the exert I quoted in my summary.  I feel like it was a very quick paced book that will appeal to bibliophiles ages 13 to 100.  For me, this is a five star book with an additional star for creativity.On the adult content scale, there is a lot of violence.  Some language, drinking and a lot of bawdy talk/ innuendo.  It's not the worst I have ever seen on the YA book section.... but it's something to think about.  I would still give it to a thirteen year old.  Let's give it a e book is out! I cannot recommend it enough.  In fact, I had borrowed this book from the library and found myself unable to part with it.  My copy will be in tomorrow- I bought a paperback so I could pass it around, but I don't know if I can allow it go long enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Library of the Unwritten (A Novel from Hell's Library Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:8

    A very fun and enjoying read. I like how it was set in hell and was a book about books its a very special idea and setting.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386