Read born again reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all born again reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Again []  2020-1-31 7:41

    Well written and insightful without being preachy. Colson stays honest and forthright which makes the reading about the Watergate storm, his role and transformation believable and compelling. He knows how to tell the story without laurels and fanfare - just matter of fact. He was who he was and became who he became not because of a self willed reform, but a self admitted transformation of divine origin.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Again []  2020-1-31 7:41

    I usually read only 30-45 MAX, but I've found myself into the wee hours with this one. 3 hours just wizzed by and I could not place it down. I search myself looking forward to coming home while at work, just so I can [email protected]#$%!. Any reviewers, likely haters of conservatives, Nixon, or specfically Colson himself may have written a few reviews to detur you, but don't. Just look at the current 4-5 star rating. This book has nothing to do with being liberal or conservative. It actually shows how belief in Jesus created arch opponents of Nixon/Colson come together in brotherhood, praying together and becoming friends. Colson's going from being a limousined elite, with an office next door to the President, to emboiled in a scandle of being a hatchetman, leaking inlfamatory information to descredit others (self admittedly after finding God), and taking him to Prison where he must constantly check his back, to eventually giving himself to the cause of prison ministry AFTER HE GOT OUT. I don't do it justice, but you will enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Again []  2020-1-31 7:41

    This book is fantastic! I was 9 when The Watergate scandal was in the news, and never really knew the info of what it was. So for a history lesson on the scandal as well as the inner workings of Washington it was quite informative. How God worked in Chuck’s life throughout the scandal and going to prison was just awe inspiring! Perfect read! I will go back to it again and again for inspiration as to the power of God!

    0  


    Add your opinion on born again or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Again []  2020-1-31 7:41

    Whether you are a believer in Jesus Christ or not, information shared in this book has the power to change your life for the Amazing that God, the creator of the universe intended and continues to intend for every one alive today! No matter your current status in life, God has something very private and very unique that is just for you! May His Will continue to be accomplished in each person's life. Dolores Jenerson-Madden, a sinner saved by God"s grace!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Again []  2020-1-31 7:41

    I have read quite a few redemption stories but Chuck's was the one that touched me the most. Even after having been dead for quite some time, Chuck Colson's life continues to impact lives, now mine!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Again []  2020-1-31 7:41

    Such a moving story of a man who choose to live all aspects of his life for a God who saved him. He’s willingness to be true about the struggles of understanding how trusting his own ability to take charge of his life was so poignant. I love his heart for the fringe people and his desire to support them search a better way. I’m left pondering how can I create a difference where God has planted me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Again []  2020-1-31 7:41

    I had the special privilege of working with Chuck for three years. But before I ever knew that I would, I read this book -- not expecting much. At the time, like most people, I thought Colson was using his "conversion" to create himself more palatable to the public. I found that I was wrong -- terribly wrong. Hence, when the opportunity came to work for him, I leaped at it. The thing that caused me to search this book so compelling, is Colson's naked honesty with himself. It is the story of one man searching his soul after being involved in the political wasteland. In this book as well as in his life, Colson proves something which I believe most profoundly: when someone reaches for God, God always reaches back. -- Paul Morris, author of The Justus Scrolls.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Again []  2020-1-31 7:41

    Especially interesting (disturbing) insights on how politics works. I would have rather remained naive. The most strong man in the globe speaks and things happened, right or wrong. The struggles over reconciling a Christian life with a civic life and duty raised private questions for me. It reminded me that life under the cross of Christ is not always fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Again []  2020-1-31 7:41

    Nixon's hatchet Man! " If you have them by the #%$$s, their hearts and minds will follow" that's what I had read and that's what I believed about Chuck Colson! I did not wish to read this book, I was not interested in anything this man had to say, but having read all the other "Watergate" books I could search all these years later I finally decided to read this one, I was pleasantly surprised and actually felt that had I met this Man I would have liked him very much, his book displayed humility, honesty and humor which I found refreshing, I believe He really was Born Again Hallelujah!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Again []  2020-1-31 7:41

    I was in high school when this was going on and remember hearing a lot about Watergate.I know Chuck Colson had a conversion but the story of how, and all the things that led to it, were very interesting and really see inside politics and how they work, but also see the hand of God on all ry amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daredevil: Born Again (Daredevil (1964-1998)) [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Frank Miller had come on Daredevil and turned a floundering book around. This foreshadowed what he would later do for Bat man and even his creator-owned Sin City. Miller introduced and reinforced hard-boiled crime drama, tragedy, and pathos into the globe of Daredevil. Miller also introduced Bullseye, Elektra, and Stick as part of Daredevil's milieu, as well as taking one of Spidermans' foes, The Kingpin, and making him a force to be reckoned with. Under Millers' stewardship, Wilson Fisk truly lived up to his description as "The Kingpin of Crime". Wilson Fisk went from being a C-list Spider-Man rogue to a truly terrifying, strong villain. Unlike other supervillains, The Kingpin didn't wear a costume or have flashy superpowers: His powers were the ability to manipulate, intimidate, corrupt, and destroy others. Under the pen of Frank Miller, The Kingpin was a cerebral and physical powerhouse who used his wealth and connections (legitimate and criminal) to accomplish his goals. When John Byrne revamped Superman at DC Comics in the late 80s, there's no doubt he used elements of Millers' Kingpin as a model for the revamped Lex Luthor. Frank Miller set the tone for Daredevil which is part of the hero a lot of decades later. David Mazzuchelli kept up the powerful artistic tradition of Frank Miller without being a clone. From the second problem onward, Mazzuchelli inks his own work and one sees the evolution in his style. Along with Miller, David Mazzuchelli also left his tag on "Batman: Year One". Whether you are a fan of Daredevil, Batman, Frank Miller, or Dave Mazzuchelli, this book should be a worthy addition to your collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daredevil: Born Again (Daredevil (1964-1998)) [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    I bought this book not really knowing how it would turn out. I love the hero of Daredevil and I loved Frank Millers Batman titles so I figured I'd give this a go because it got amazing reviews. This is the best comic I've had the pleasure of owning, I personally think it's even better than Dark Knight Returns. What you're getting here is less of Daredevil and more of Matt Murdock. If you only like action in comics don't this it's a very plot and hero development based book. The presentation of the book is also very nice although the coloring is not always consistent but the pencils were very amazing and very much 80s-like artwork which I appreciated. The ending, although it was short and sweet and a small ambiguous I thought was satisfying. On top of all that it's got an extra story in the back. If you're a fan of Miller or Daredevil this is a must

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daredevil: Born Again (Daredevil (1964-1998)) [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    This is a amazing Matt Murdoch story! This particular arc is focused more on who Matt is when he isn't Daredevil and how he with a life changing series of events. The writing is real to the hero and helps you realize just how powerful a personality Matt is. Recommended for any DD fan. The review is short to avoid any potential spoilers. You should know nothing going in and just be swept away by the amazing story telling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daredevil: Born Again (Daredevil (1964-1998)) [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    I remember reading these problems years ago when they were first published and it felt so amazing to re-read them in this most perfect collection. Miller's writing is fantastic. Matt Murdock goes thru hell and then redemption. I need to read this again in a few years. I never obtain tired of this story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daredevil: Born Again (Daredevil (1964-1998)) [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    I had heard a lot about Daredevil: Born Again and how awesome it was, and I didn't doubt it. I'm a large fan of Frank Miller's run on Daredevil, but I always place off buying this book because I'm really like that. So when I finally got the nerve to pony up and it, I was small worried it wouldn't live up to the hype. I'm here to tell you, believe the BLOWS AWAY Frank Miller's previous work on Daredevil, and in my opinion even tops Batman: Year One or Batman: The Dark Knight Returns. I've read hundreds of Marvel comics, from the 60's to the show day, but none come close to being as epic as Daredevil: Born Again. It is really that good. Miller's writes drama and tension as amazing as the best Hollywood films. and Miller summarizes David Mazzucchelli's art in a blurb at the end of the story quite nicely:"It's almost criminal how simple David makes it to write a script. He makes a three-dimensional scene of the individual panel, complete in authentic detail, nonetheless uncluttered and utterly readable. He creates actors whose dramatic range is startling, whose best and most compelling moments are wordless. He's talked of writing his own comics. Hold your eye out for them. I will. - Frank Miller, 1987"(Incidentally, Mazzucchelli did in fact write and draw his own graphic novel, Asterios Polyp, which was released in 2009 to stellar reviews. Although I wouldn't know since I haven't read it yet... again, I'm very cheap.)The hardcover is of amazing quality too. The only issue I have is how Marvel collected the issues. This book includes Daredevil #226-233, which were all done by Miller and Mazzucchelli. But since Born Again starts in problem #227, Marvel decided to stick problem #226 all the method at the end of the book, which doesn't create sense to me. Although not officially part of the story, #226 works as a prelude to Born Again, introducing some characters and elements that play a beautiful huge role. So I highly recommend going to the back of the book and reading that problem first. Be careful not to spoil yourself by coming across the latest few pages of the main story. This is the only issue I have with an otherwise awesome final advice: if and when you this book, read it all at once. You can thank me later.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daredevil: Born Again (Daredevil (1964-1998)) [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    I've been a fan and reader of comics for well over 40 years. Daredevil Born Again is arguably the most seamless blend of a writer and artist coming together as a single artist belongs alongside Frank Miller's Batman: The Dark Knight Returns and Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons' Watchmen as one of the greatest comic book stories of all time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daredevil: Born Again (Daredevil (1964-1998)) [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    OMG! This story was just spectacular. Never been much of a Daredevil reader but was glad I piced this book up. Kind of suprised I never picked this book up as a Frank Miller fan

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daredevil: Born Again (Daredevil (1964-1998)) [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Just like it says in the title of the review, the story is astounsing, as is part for the course with Frank Miller, but the ending is very limp, with almost no impact or feeling of "Yeah, Matt got the Kingpin!", which is not necessarily a poor rhing, but the ending is a lot more like "What? All the Kingpin gets is a couple of criminal charges that probably won't stick?"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daredevil: Born Again (Daredevil (1964-1998)) [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    I have always been very fond of Daredevil in all his evershifting personalities. He was the first Marvel hero that really became known and read in my country Sweden and he outdistanced Spiderman and Unbelievable Four that created it for true much later even though they appeared at about the same time. Here we have a classic story-line from rather long time ago where the demons of his life are pushing very hard and breaking him. A theme which has been used quite a lot of times aferwards. This classical collection is very nice but I feel the age and the punch of the story is no longer that powerful as it (probably) was when the story was new.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daredevil: Born Again (Daredevil (1964-1998)) [Book]  2017-11-3 18:1

    Seriously this story is awesome. This shows how scary the Kingpin is as a villain and how tough Daredevil is and how much crap he has to go through. If you're a fan of the present you'll love this book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    One half star for chucking Alison Brie and Kane Hodder into the same movie, and the second half for being **@#$%ing hilarious**. It's unpleasant to watch, but there is a lot of "Laugh at" moments on offer. Things like: the lead having siblings that are twice her age, the standard-rate poor CGI you search in films with this low a budget, and the absolute worst body-double nudity I've seen to date. _Final rating:★½: - Boring/disappointing. Avoid if possible._

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Again: What Really Happened to the White House Hatchet Man []  2020-1-23 19:44

    This is a very perfect book that has begin and challenged my life. It isworth sharing and passing around. Dorothy Schultz

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Again: What Really Happened to the White House Hatchet Man []  2020-1-23 19:44

    I really enjoyed listening to this audio book! Chuck’s story is fascinating and an encouragement in my walk with Christ.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Again: What Really Happened to the White House Hatchet Man []  2020-1-23 19:44

    Amazing read! Mr Colson is an honest man, I think he was railroaded by Watergate, it worked out well. This book especially, along with his a lot of others, have opened my eyes. RIP Sir, and thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Again: What Really Happened to the White House Hatchet Man []  2020-1-23 19:44

    Too much politics for me!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Again []  2020-2-2 6:8

    This song really won me over when I would watch the early Full Metal Alchemist en I decided to watch some more YouTube videos of her songs.I was sold. That was when I decided to this e reminds me of a Japanese Shakira...the "Donde Estan Los Ladrones" Shakira: soulful, gritty, heart-thread tugging, soul speaking singer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Again []  2020-2-2 6:8

    Exactly what i was looking for as the song wasn't available on my application store.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Again []  2020-2-2 6:8

    I love YUI5 she is awesome and I so love this song from bleach can't wait to obtain more

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Again []  2020-2-2 6:8

    I love the music!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Again []  2020-2-2 6:8

    Ok, I like Yui's voice anyway and this song does not change that one wit. This song has one amazing sounding hook, the variations in tempo create for an engaging tune. If you like Yui's other works, you'll like this one too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Again []  2020-2-2 6:8

    this song makes me sing along in badly pronounced japanese everytime it hits the chorus. In case you didnt know, this was the theme song for the japanese anime present Fullmetal Alchemist; Brotherhood in the first season. i have to say that i miss this theme song later in the series and that i bought it because i wish to dance around my room every time i hear it:) Have a nice life!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Again []  2020-2-2 6:8

    I really like this song, I got it because I loved full metal alchemist brotherhood. I would def recommend it to anybody who likes Japanese songs esp anime songs

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Again []  2020-2-2 6:8

    A kid asked me what this song was about. I answered, "a small boy who turns into a giant robot to beat up poor guys". This song will always bring back memories of staying up all night and watching the endless, magic grab bag that is Adult Swim.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Again []  2020-2-2 6:8

    I got this song because I heard it in the opening title sequence of FMA Brotherhood and fresh that I required to it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Again []  2020-2-2 6:8

    It's a amazing song. Those familiar with the anime Full Metal Alchemist Brotherhood will be familiar with this song.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Again Again []  2020-7-5 19:6

    Adelaide and her family were still coming to terms with her brother's addiction. As her family supported him through multiple stints at rehab, Adelaide wanted to be the amazing daughter, the simple child. She found comfort in assuming these roles, but the longer she played them, the more she lost touch with herself. Now dumped by her boyfriend and on academic probation, she finds herself adrift, but not lost, in a sea of e hook of this book is supposed to be the idea of the multiverse. That the entirety of our globe is the sum of a group of universes. Heady stuff, but don't worry, because it's not that complicated in AGAIN AGAIN. In the book, we follow Adelaide over the course of a summer. We watch her fall in and out of love, confront her fears, reconnect with her brother, and complete her design project. As the story plays out, there are points, where multiple possibilities are explored, and we obtain to see how each choice she makes affects the outcome. I read these small branch points, and found it interesting, but when I saw how it all came together at the end, I was a bit awed. I hint my hat to you, Ms. Lockhart.I loved seeing the various potential outcomes. It was fascinating to imagine how huge an impact little decisions could make. Each thread had Adelaide making various choices for her love life, but in all of them, she was a sister desperately trying to restore her relationship with her younger brother. It was the moments she shared with her brother, that hit me the hardest. Those scenes were touching and heart wrenching, and I think they impacted me more, because I lost a cousin, who had lived with my family, to addiction, and was therefore, I understood her pain and fear. It was also unbelievable seeing her grow in each possible universe. Various choices yielded various outcomes, yet each augmented Adelaide's understanding of herself, her brother, her parents, love, and life.When I finished this book, I wiped my tears, and just sat back, so I could quietly appreciate the beauty of the story. It was a small bit sad and bittersweet, but it was also imbued with hope. It reminded me that life is full of endless possibilities, and that I do wield some power over it via the choices I make.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Again Again []  2020-7-5 19:6

    DNF @ p.40I have a fresh policy where if a book doesn't grab me within the first 30-40 pages, I no longer finish the book unless I absolutely have to. I feel like if a book fails to grab you from the beginning, or at least create you think it will, that is a shortcoming amazing enough that it warrants a AIN AGAIN was a book I was excited about ever since I first heard about it because I've been a fan of Lockhart since high school (don't ask how long ago that was) with her Ruby Oliver series, which was much edgier than a lot of the offerings that were being promoted to me and my fellow kiddos at the time.With books like WE WERE LIARS and GENUINE FRAUD, she seemed to obtain edgier, and trying to capitalize on the growing trend of Gillian Flynn-esque mysteries among the 13-18 set. A lot of my mates didn't like WE WERE LIARS, but I actually really enjoyed it-- far more than Ruby Oliver, even. I love unreliable narrators and I liked the fact that there were no simple answers or flawless characters in the AIN AGAIN isn't like Lockhart's earlier or later stuff, so if I am to give kudos for one thing, it's that this is an author who constantly seems to be evolving and trying fresh things. She doesn't stagnate. Which is a check when it comes to creative progress, but kind of hard for us readers, who will never really be 100% certain whether one of her books will be for us-- they're all so e premise is that there are two(?) timelines in this book, and I guess we obtain to see how the heroine, Adelaide, makes various decisions that change the progress of each world? It's not science-fiction so much as a speculative young adult work with some mild supernatural happenings fueling the plot, kind of like how BEFORE I FALL did the same thing with life after death-- only this heroine isn't dead. I thought the premise was interesting, but I couldn't easily tell the difference between the two timelines which created reading confusing,I was also really not a fan of the writing style. This had a pretentious, forcibly artistic "Maggie Stiefvater vibe" to it that I really did not like at all. The heroine likes poetry and some parts are in verse and it just feels method too affected and pretentious, and I did not have fun it at all. Some might, particularly if you have fun Maggie Stiefvater, but I hate that author's work and steer clear of it at all costs, so seeing one of my faves begin writing in that kind of style felt like a r mileage may vary, of course. But I know what I like and don't like in fiction, and it seemed pointless to force myself through this book as soon as it became clear that it wouldn't be something I enjoyed. I think if you enjoyed her newer books because of their edge, you should avoid this one, because it has none. It feels like a YA that is being targeted at a much younger anks to the publisher for sending me a copy in exchange for an honest review!1 to 1.5 out of 5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Again Again []  2020-7-5 19:6

    E. Lockhart is a really interesting writer, and I like that she tries something various with each book. At first, Again Again seems related to Lockhart's Ruby Oliver series, which is about the romantic tribulations of a teen girl at an exclusive personal school. But it quickly turns into something elaide Buchwald is spending the summer after her junior year in the little city where she goes to boarding school, living with her father (a teacher at the school) and taking care of five dogs as her summer job. Her boyfriend has just dumped her, and she's on academic probation and has to finish a huge project over the summer so she doesn't fail out. Her family life is strained because of her younger brother's addiction to opioids. When she meets a cute guy, it seems like the excellent summer romance to take her mind off her problems. Or maybe ain Again explores the idea that there are parallel worlds, where the same happening might have various consequences. We see Adelaide meet a guy, have a summer romance, blow the romance, and meet someone else. She shuts her brother Toby out, or she comes to terms with him and they repair their fractured relationship. In another life, Toby doesn't become an e thing I liked best about this book is that it really captures the transitory nature of teen romance. Adelaide has an ex she's pining for and at least two possible fresh love interests, but it's basically a given that the relationships aren't forever. So a lot of romances in YA are all consuming, and Again Again's treatment of romance felt more much more realistic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Again Again []  2020-7-5 19:6

    Well, this was lovely, bittersweet and melancholy.And welcome back, E. Lockhart. I was afraid you'd succumbed fully to the mystery genre, to writing of the stories I don't enjoy.I wouldn't call Again Again a complete return to the lighter chick-lit-type items of her early writing career. But this is monumentally better than the unfortunate Genuine ain Again is a story about accepting the pain and joys of loving people. The cover might give one an impression that this is a romance, which it is, somewhat, however the focus of Again Again is on allowing yourself to love, even with the knowledge that this love (romantic, sibling) can and will bring you heartache. I know I am being unclear and rambly. You just need to discover this for yourself. Lockhart achieved quite a lot of depth in this work, even though the novel is set in a beautiful standard YA landscape of school, family and romantic woes. And her characters, unfailingly, are amazing conversationalists, if you don't mind the uppity, a-bit-too-precocious tone of her ere is also an interesting gimmick (?) of the same happenings playing out in various parallel worlds inserted here. For a lot of this novel I thought it had only entertainment value, but the latest part of the book pulled it all l in all, a delightful reading experience, created even more so by my simultaneous binge of DEVS. #multiverseftw.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Again Again []  2020-7-5 19:6

    Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher and netgalley. Thanks! All opinions are my : Again, AgainAuthor: E. LockhartBook Series: StandaloneRating: 3.5/5Recommended For...: romance lovers, second possibility romance, and multi-verse storylinesPublication Date: June 2, 2020Genre: YA ContemporaryRecommended Age: 16+ (romance, substance abuse TW, heartache, second chances)Publisher: Delacorte PressPages: 288Synopsis: If you could live your life again, what would you do differently?After a near-fatal family catastrophe and an unexpected romantic upheaval, Adelaide Buchwald finds herself catapulted into a summer of wild possibility, during which she will fall in and out of love a thousand times—while finally confronting the secrets she keeps, her ideas about love, and the weird grandiosity of the human : For the most part I thought the book was well done. The story-telling is special and I loved the attention to detail the author had when crafting the book. The hero development for the most part was well done and the globe building was amazingly well done. I also loved how thought provoking the book was and how much the book had me flipping back and forth between scenes!However, I did feel like the book pacing was a bit slow in spots and that the book could have done a bit better on some of the side characters developments. I wished that the book focused on the brother than our main characters love life as well, but it’s still well rdict: Awesome read! Definitely a must read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Again Again []  2020-7-5 19:6

    Again Again is a YA contemporary story that takes put over summer and follows our main hero Adelaide, a high school girl about to start her senior year at a personal school.  Heartbroken and somewhat depressed, she's spending her summer as a dog walker.  Her boyfriend has just unexpectedly dumped her and left the country; she's failed to turn in a major project for one of her classes, which could cause her to be expelled, all while trying to come to terms with her feelings about her brother's drug addiction.  Over the summer, she encounters some fresh people, some of whom may or may not become a fresh love interest.What's special about this book is that certain happenings in this book are played out in several various multiverses, each resulting in a various outcome. In other words, we see Adelaide's story play out in a dozens of various ways.  It's kind of like seeing her story unfold in parallel universes where there are numerous versions of herself. She makes various decisions in each multiverse, falls in love with various people, and has various conversations about the same topics.  This aspect was unusual, in that it allows us to contemplate the "what ifs" in our lives, and look at how changing one decision or saying something differently could change the outcome.  Even the smallest of changes can affect how things turn out. For instance, we see her have several various versions of a conversation with her professor or modified versions of the same text notice thread with a boy she likes.  In some versions of the storyline, she suffers enormous setbacks and heartbreaks; in others, she finds happiness with someone different.  I especially got a kick of Adelaide's inner dialog with the dogs that she walks.  Again again is an experimental novel in an unusual format, and because of that, it's not the kind of story that you can simply kick back and settle into.  I actually found that the format pulled me out of the story every time we dipped into the multiverses, which I personally found a tad jarring. It isn't simple to discuss the plot, given that there are several various versions of it.  But what I found to be the heart of this novel is Adelaide's complicated relationship with her brother Toby, which was heart-wrenching in locations and hopeful in others. In every multiverse, she navigates her feelings about her brother's situation: anger, regret, mistrust, fear, but with love at the root of it l in all, I enjoyed Again Again though truth be told, I'm personally not a fan of experimental fiction, and as such, I am not the ideal reader for this story.  Though I did search the multiverse format special and creative, I also found it a bit difficult to connect with the characters because of it.But readers who have fun experimental novels or multiverse storylines should definitely give Again Again a test as it's a refreshing take on the contemporary novel.  It's also a story with a lot of depth and a lot of layers, and with a dozens of themes such as love, loss, regret, siblings, heartbreak, family dynamics, addiction, self-esteem, the interconnectedness of things, and how even the smallest of choices can have large repercussions. Thank you to Netgalley and Delacorte Press for providing a advanced e-copy of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Again Again []  2020-7-5 19:6

    This is a review that I take no pleasure in leaving. I know the time, love and dedication that goes in to writing a book, so I test and read every book I begin with an begin mind and with the hope of being able to see the story in the method the author meant for me to see it. This book, for me, was extremely hard to obtain through. I almost gave up reading it multiple times, but ultimately wanted to give it my time and respect and so I pushed through and finished is book is hard to read. I don’t care for the author’s style of writing, and I found the storyline extremely difficult to follow. I had hoped as I carried on reading I’d become attached to the characters and it would all create more sense, but this never materialized for me. While the idea of the same story unfolding in various ways in multiple universes is a really romantic and an intricate thought, it was too hard to follow. I had a hard time keeping each ver of the storyline in line with what had happened previously in that storyline. Each ver only varied slightly and so it felt like I was constantly rereading the same passage over and over again but with no e characters were not at all likable. So a lot of were introduced but without fully engaging the reader to who they were, and so I felt disconnected and confused over who all the additional characters were. I felt no connection with the protagonist, Adelaide, despite her storyline resonating with me on a private e ending, or endings I should say, were all dreary. They all felt unfinished, yet I was so satisfied to be done reading them. Young love filled with drama and trauma should have been right up my alley. I loved the idea of this storyline, I just didn’t care for the style this story was told or how it unfolded. There are so a lot of times I just wanted to give up on this book, but I stuck through to the end in hopes of being able to love Adelaide and her story the method E. Lockhart intended me to, but I just couldn’t. I cannot recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Again Again []  2020-7-5 19:6

    This book is tough to rate because while I did have some issues with the story, l appreciate how the author was creative in her storytelling. There were aspects of the story I really loved, particularly the storyline involving the brother. But as a whole, I wouldn't say this was the most satisfying read. I do think there are readers who will connect more with the story and hero than I did.High school student Adelaide Buchwald is spending her summer as a dog walker. And that's beautiful much all you need to know other than the story explores alternate realities or scenarios or whatever you wish to call them. Throughout the course of the book a situation plays out but then you obtain the possibility to see if the outcome is various if something else had been said or done differently by Adelaide. Sounds confusing? Well yeah, it kinda was confusing. I've read a couple other books that went the alternate scenarios route and really enjoyed them but I wasn't impressed with the execution of it in this e heart of the story for me was everything regarding Adelaide's brother, Toby. There was just so much raw honesty that resonated with me. It's awesome how I've seen the same topic explored in a lot of other novels, but yet I walked away from reading this one and felt like the author managed to convey something in a fresh way. I actually would have preferred if more of the book revolved around him instead of so much devoted to Adelaide's love life. Other than a few moments here and there, I just wasn't invested in the romance elements of the is was my first time reading a book by this author and even though this wasn't a excellent read, I can at least recognize she is a talented writer. Not all books are going to be an exact fit for every reader and I would much rather read a story that aims high and misses the tag a bit than one that doesn't even attempt to bring something fresh to the table.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Again Again []  2020-7-5 19:6

    Again Again is a book about love, romantic love, love for friends, love for family. It's also about how those relationships are interconnected to form something much bigger than ourselves. I saw so much of myself as a young adult in Adelaide. Though I didn't have the same struggles she did, I had related experiences with men, related emotions and anxieties, I've even told myself that I'm okay when I truly was not okay. Almost everyone can relate to a hero in this narrative, whether it is Adelaide or her brother or a love interest.Early on, I felt so connected to this character, Adelaide. I have often found myself needing an escape but falling into a hole where I can't obtain work done or I procrastinate long enough that something just doesn't obtain done at all. After a jarring, but seemingly important move, Adelaide feels this way, something I've felt often.I felt like I was re-living the emotions and experiences I had as a teenager and college student through the eyes of Adelaide. This is a poignant journey through love found, love lost, and the emotional growth that comes with those e style was of particular interesting. There were several little things that I really enjoyed about this book. This book has a bit of a fourth wall breaking cadence to it. The characters interact, but there are small moments of "it was in her wallet," or "she was wearing it under her jacket". The feel of the writing is that the hero is whispering these small things to you, breaking the fourth wall (it's not a play or movie, but you obtain the idea) and letting us in on these secrets that the other hero doesn't know. It's honestly a amazing technique and super engaging!The asides in the middle of chapters, alternate versions of the how the conversation would have gone - these just speak to me. As a person who goes through every scenario for a conversation, especially a hard conversation, before I have it, [email protected]#$%!s deep.I also loved the inner monologue of the dogs that Adelaide walks, it was a nice touch that brough even more personality out of them. Possibly my favorite metaphor is the egg-yolk-of-misery, I've felt this in my bones. When I've gone through a particularly hard time emotionally, I've felt like there is a movie between me and the globe and I am the misery filled egg yolk. Just is is a novel that drained me emotionally and built me back up again. I would highly recommend this book to anyone, it's an simple read that packs a an necessary and valuable message.I received a galley copy of this title in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Again Again []  2020-7-5 19:6

    Thank you NetGalley for an advanced copy of "Again Again" by E. Lockhart. This book was so various and I really enjoyed the "multiverse" approach to a YA romance. I loved how the author weaved some verse into the prose and the alternative universe versions of a lot of of the scenes were so interesting. It always kept me in suspense about what was going to happen in the "real" one.SPOILERS: The author really place into question which ver was the "real" one and kind of left that up to your interpretation as a reader by throwing basically an entire alternate book at the end. I might actually lean toward giving this a 4.5 stars rather than the full 5 (I always round up my ratings though), just because I was disappointed that we didn't go back to the "real" timeline at the end and see how things worked out in the ver I'd been invested in for the whole first two-thirds of the book. I wanted to be able to see that. But, I realize that would have been kind of contrary to the whole point.I just loved this various approach to storytelling that I've personally never seen before. I also loved the theme of it, that when we're young we fall in love over and over, learning more about ourselves and how to love each time, growing and hurting ourselves and others and figuring it out as we go. It showed how we each have our own baggage we take to each relationship, especially as conflicted, emotionally immature teenagers, and especially when you're so young and have so much of your life to figure out and make ahead of you. It showed how relationships as a teen aren't supposed to be forever—not that they never are, but often they aren't. It just felt true and I could see and feel some of my own life experiences on the page, and I think that's what amazing literature is all ly, there was also a subplot about the MC's brother recovering from an opioid addiction that was really well done and added a amazing level to what this girl brought to her romantic relationships because of all that was going on with her family. It showed how much our relationships affect each other and showed the various aspects of all sorts of relationships in our summary, I really enjoyed it and got a lot out of it. I'd definitely recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Infinity Born [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    This time I tried to read a Douglas E. Richards book slowly, taking a few evenings to savor every stage instead of tearing through it like I've done with all his previous books. But I just couldn't hold myself from speeding along as usual to search out what would happen next and from being unable to place the book down for any length of time. If you can refrain from doing that, you're a better man than I, Charlie e perfect and extensive Amazon Review here describes much of the overall story, and I will only supplement it by briefly describing some other aspects. The book is about a military detective, Cameron Carr, who is tasked by the Secretary of Defense to hunt down an extraordinary genius, Isaac Jordan, who in 2020 has developed a technology for advanced, self-learning, self-aware computers that might achieve consciousness. Jordan's heinous crime is that he demolished an entire high-tech community and its inhabitants with a zone weapon and then butchered his own family. One of Jordan's daughters survives and, along with Carr, is pursued by a deadly Russian operative. Stunningly, it turns out, Jordan might not have been the creature he so obviously appeared to have become; and Carr has second thoughts. I'll stop there so as not to be a spoiler. But I will add that there are truly fascinating matters regarding the transference of a human brain's content to a computer and the concomitant problems of individual human consciousness and soul, about which Richards presents some highly thought provoking is book concerns the future of computers. However, considering all the other scientific and technological disciplines and their future evolution covered in other books by the author, which are listed at this Amazon webpage, it is inarguable that Douglas E. Richards is just flat-out rtin P. Fricke, PhD (nuclear physics)San Diego

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Infinity Born [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    I've read most of Douglas Richards' books and really enjoyed the depth of research, the current and "possible" technologies that are explored and the perfect hero development he provides. Infinity Born is another hit IMO! It begins with a futuristic catastrophe and follows with an almost believable plot to unravel the opening mystery. I really enjoyed learning about artificial general intelligence (AGI) and the myriad of moral and ethical challenges facing society as this technology becomes closer to a reality. The action is quick paced, the characters are well developed and Richards maintains the thrill of the chase throughout the book.If you have fun technology filled plots, intrigue and heart stopping action reads, Infinity Born should be on your must read list!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Infinity Born [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    Douglas Richards may be the best futurist and science fiction writer since Isaac Asimov. He extends current technology and developments into the future realistically and wraps them into page turning thrillers that hold you reading. Infinity Born will create you think about the controversy surrounding over-development of AI and where it could lead. I thoroughly enjoyed the novel and highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Infinity Born [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    This book appeared in my audio library recently, and I am so glad it did! An interesting plot which is so believable I am almost glad my '3 score and 10' are nearly done! This near-future thriller had me listening into the early hours because I just had to know what was going to happen. A gamut of technologies are used throughout the story - which could have been mind-boggling but was handled in a method which I found understandable.I particularly enjoyed the 'bonus' at the end with the reality check showing where much of this tech is at present.Highly recommended for people who have fun fiction depicting a future which could be a reality; with interesting characters and realistic events; and leaving the reader with something to ponder over.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Born [Book]  2018-3-1 18:1

    Conjoined at their huge toes at birth, Lucy and Margot Fox have grown up in a life that is both privileged and a virtual prison. Their father is a strong government figure in a town ruled by fear and an odd caste system. The fear comes from a resurgence of the plague that has decimated society and, in the process, has led to martial law, desperation and near economic collapse. It's a frightening time, created more so by guards, secrets and a growing threat from those who are mad and frightened. The sisters are markedly different. Lucy is the responsible one, but is also more willing to question what she's fed by her parents. Margot is a rebel, skipping school and meeting boys, ever certain that her sister will cover for her. Her desperation in the face of uncertainty leads her to create foolish and dangerous choices. When the threat of violence suddenly escalates, their father brings in Nolan Storm, leader of what are known as Real Born, people who seem to have throwback genetic material that allows them to resist the plague. It also gives them unusual traits, but I'll leave those undescribed so you can read the book. Jared is a Real Born assigned to guard Lucy and the more time they spend together, the more the attraction increases as do her questions about her own genetic mix as well as her parents' honesty. By the end of the book, readers will feel a bit like a wrung out load of wash as they follow what happens to Margot (hint: it isn't pretty) and how Lucy feels (she's not smiling). Readers are well set up for the next book which I hope comes soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Born [Book]  2018-3-1 18:1

    The book was great! The premise on Wattpad encouraged me to the book online. I gave it four stars because the story felt incomplete at the ending. I want there was more substance where it ended, but otherwise it was great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Born []  2020-1-22 23:57

    I read a lot of Andre Norton's books in my teens and twenties. Having just read this one I can say they still keep up over time. Plenty of action and adventure, interaction between species and doing the right thing in the end. She didn't need gratuitous sex, foul language or violence to create a story work. She word painted photos in your mind and allow you fill in the gaps. I want there were more like her still writing in the old style where imagination was stimulated rather than bombarded in the modern style.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Born []  2020-1-22 23:57

    It has been a lot of years since I latest read Star Born. I had forgotten most of the story. Often when I reread very old favorites I search that my taste has changed but this is not real of Star Born. It is a bit simpler than much of the current science fiction but the writing is honed to a fine degree. Concepts of fresh worlds, change after leaving Earth, finding others friendly and inimical still remain relevant.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Born []  2020-1-22 23:57

    Andre Norton - Star Born The plot elements of this 1950's zone adventure "Star Born" have been used, some would say abused, so a lot of times it could be employed as a template for a course in Writing Your Own SF Novel. The genius of Andre Norton is her knack for taking a standard SF planet adventure plot and infusing it with solid characters and so a lot of unusual plot escapades you can't resist turning the page to see how it all turns out. We begin with exiles from a warring Earth founding a colony on Astra a habitual planet somewhere in outer space. The exiles search scattered throughout their immediate zone of settlement-abandoned cities, remnants of a prior civilization apparently destroyed in an atomic war. A deep distrust of technology and fear of weapons causes to exiles to avoid visiting the cities of "Those Others" as the inhabitants are called. In addition to developing town destroying weapons "Those Others" bred a race of mermen - folk who can live both on land and under water. The mermen revolted versus "Those Others" and eventually formed an alliance with the exiles. What starts out as an exploratory expedition by a pair of merman-exiled youths turns into a quite entertain and exciting novel when "Those Others" squad up with a fresh expedition from Earth to reclaim some of that ancient technology. Norton usually wrote several novels using the same background and plot highpoints. "Star Born" (1957) was no exception. A prior novel, "The Stars are Ours" (1954) detailed the story of the exiles while on Earth and during their landing on Astra. Although book 2 "Star Born" leaves several plot points unresolved Norton never wrote subsequent books in this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Dead []  2020-1-22 2:27

    no problems

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Dead []  2020-1-22 2:27

    PEOPLE 4 GET THAT THIS WAS B.C's SECOND ALBUM & IT'S A GREAT LISTEN,,,, I TUNES,,,, NAPSTER & ALL WEB MUSIC SEEM 2 OVERLOOK IT'S EXHISTANCE BUT TRUE FANS LIKE ME NO IT'S OUT THERE & ENJOY IT..... NOW IF THEY COULD ONLY RECOGNIZE THAT THEIRS A 3rd B.C ALBUM CALLED B.C 3 & NOT MURDER 4 HIRE ,,,, WHICH IS THEIR 4th C.D,,,,,,WE WOULD'NT B SO ( @#$%^*&+ ) MAD AT THOSE CRAPPY WEB MUSIC SITES.....LOVE IT ,,,,,B.C....B.C.....B.C.....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Witch Born []  2020-7-7 19:19

    While this is fiction there is a ton of history intertwined throughout too. The book is also infused with magic, mystery, suspense and more. I love history and with the fact that this book brings in a rivalry between Queen Elizabeth and Mary Queen of Scots, this was a book that I truly enjoyed. The author made a globe that really created you feel that you were in 1577 which was amazing. The book is strong as well, especially as you see how the book starts and you see that Alyce's mother is burned at the stake for being a witch. While Alyce escapes, she is not safe and this book follows her as she works to evade witch hunters and tries to search safety. By the end of the book I will say that I was hoping to see more books from Nicholas Bowling, as he really does make a tale that is compelling and one that draws you in as a reader throughout the entire book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Infinity Born [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    I've never seen a writer package so much innovation into a single novel! This is the seventh novel of Douglas Richards I have read, and every one is concentrated inventiveness. This is a story of how geniuses interact with technology to escape the evil clutches of some really poor guys. Not as subtle in hero development as others in the genre, but his grasp of near future technical achievements is unparalleled. The plot twists and turns in unexpected directions multiple times during the story, so you can't predict where it will go next. Mr. Richards also appropriately addresses the philosophical and ethical issues associated with technologies. I especially like the author's notes at the end in which he discusses the science in more depth. I learn so much from these. If I could create a suggestion, the author could dilute the plot with more hero development and interactions, and lengthen the storyline across several books. This would give this reader more time to savor the story, the science, philosophical issues, and the characters. The content is dense enough to do it. I am a committed Richards fan and look forward to any fresh stories or essays. This book, as all his others, should be on every SciFi reading list.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Free [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    > We wish them to be an angel, but being wild is what defines them. I thought I dreamt about these lions when I was a kid, but when I came to know about this movie that created me realise I actually saw this movie when I was a very young to remember anything. It was a few photos remained in memory, that's how I tracked it. So while watching this now brought back those scary moments. Yep, I was scared like hell, like the hero Kendall from it was. Childhood is like a dream, until we re-encounter those things we held, met, seen, which wakes up our memory after a long time and becoming adults. I really enjoyed watching it, because I love animals. But what I did not like was harming the animals. I don't think animals were harmed while making this film, and they even smartly censored story/scene that consists harming/killing them. Actually the movie was inspired by the true story, in that, the animals were killed and that is what this movie depicted, yet disappoints from that perspective. The time has changed, now it is different, we learnt our lesson, so I hope we focus on protecting this magnificent animal to be born and to be wild. The Africa was very beautifully portrayed. One of the best movies on the wild animal theme I've ever seen. It was a documentary style narration with a small story from the human couple. Hats off to the true Joy and George Adamson. It won a couple of Oscars in the category of melody and song. But I think it deserved more than that. I can't believe it is rated PG, but I scared watching it as a child and I believe the young kids with the awareness of the real nature of the lions would do the same. But still highly recommended for all ages. We have now 'Duma', 'Two Brothers' and a lot of more, but this movie is something unique and you will know it after a watch. 8/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Born [Book]  2018-3-1 18:1

    The idea was amazing and intrigued me when reading the summary. To me seemed a cross between Xmen and Divergent and had amazing potential. However, the plot wasn't well developed and there was a lot of information dumping that did small to actually form a clear picture of what was going on. I felt things happened too quickly and too slowly at the same time. For instance the author spent pages explaining the globe of Dominion but did not explain it clearly enough. So instead of what could have been a paragraph or two of a concise idea was pages of confusing information. However, the action started before an actual story line was even in place. I was reading and had to go back and read over a page twice because I did not realize something had happened because one second I'm reading about the plague and the next the main hero is being chased.I also did not feel connected to the characters. I liked Lucy alright but she was very one dimensional. I also think Lucy and her sister's relationship felt forced. I also thought this was a excellent example of the kind of story that has a teen girl who all of a sudden meets a gorgeous guy with gorgeous hair and awesome eyes that are any color but brown. Said girl falls in love with said guy immediately and he is all of a sudden protective of her. I found the story to fall flat for me. Remember this is my opinion so take it with a grain of salt. Some others seem to like it. It's just not my cup of tea. I know a lot of work goes into writing and I appreciate the work place in to this story. Just not for me. Plus I feel there should have been a bit more editing and work place in before this book was ready for sale.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Born [Book]  2018-3-1 18:1

    This book is just ahhhhh. Amazing amount of adventure and sci-fi and seriously steamy romance. I love love loved it! I started this book back when it was on wattpad and I like the fresh direction she went in. A small less dark but still so suspenseful. 5/5 star worthy!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Born [Book]  2018-3-1 18:1

    I found myself unable to place this book down and completely drawn into the back and forth between Lucy and Jared! I can't wait to continue reading the trilogy and see what happens next!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Born []  2020-1-22 23:57

    a amazing sci-fi book. by amazing writer!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Born []  2020-1-22 23:57

    Star Born (1957) is the second SF novel im the Astra duology, following The Stars Are Ours. In the previous volume, the Terran refugees found a habitable planet, which they named Astra. It had evidence of a prior civilization. Still, the Terrans had small choice except to settle the planet, for their ship was not capable of taking them any though the technological civilization seemed to be defunct and its inhabitants to be extinct, some of their experimental animals still remained. One breed -- the mermen -- had since achieved sapience. The Terran colony had created peaceful contact with these amphibious monsters and traded with this novel, Dalgard Nordis is making his man-journey into strange lands. With him goes Sssuri, a merman and his knife brother. The two are traveling by outrigger along the coastline when they sight a break in the cliffs. They paddle their boat into the cove.While Sssuri slips into the sea with his spear, Dalgard waits by a stream broadcasting a feeling of friendship and goodwill. When he makes mind contact with a hopper -- a twenty inch high animal with some mental talents -- Dalgard trades some crystal beads for dried fruit. After Sssuri returns with a fish, they prepare their meal.Dalgard and Sssuri intend to discover a town of Those Others that is shunned by most of the mermen. The town is one of the accursed sites, only a rumor to the merman and unknown to the Terrans. So they will be the first to investigate the ter they finish eating, Sssuri notices the presence of runners in the dark, primitive primates distantly similar to the mermen. Usually the runners are nocturnal, but something has excited them. They have left their hunting grounds to seek fresh ing the cause of the runner migration, Dalgard and Sssuri travel inland to the central plains. They are observed by hoppers and message a little herd of duocorns. Finally they explore a running stream and settle down to await the runners. As night falls, they see a streak of fire cross the sky from east to this story, centuries have passed, the Pax has fallen, and Earth is once again trying to reach the stars. Experimental overdrive ships are being built and sent into zone every five years. None have returned, but the recent venture has brought the RS-10 to an unknown e squad soon discovers that the fresh globe has cities. When they set out to discover the nearest city, they also search natives. Although Raf Kurbi is suspicious, his crewmates seem to accept the aliens as benign survivors of a amazing civilization.Raf meets a fellow pilot and is invited to tour their only remaining longrange ship. He also is shown the remains of another alien who was savagely attacked with a spear. Later, Raf sees the aliens burn down members of another alien species armed with such spears.Dalgard and Sssuri search a hopper that is afraid of them. Since the hoppers have not been scared of them in the past, Dalgard and Sssuri wonder if Those Others are out wandering the land. Then they search the bodies of slaughtered hoppers and know that Those Others have been hunting for sport.Sssuri searches the minds of the nearby animals and discovers that Those Others are no longer present. Dalgard and Sssuri paddle an alien boat across the river to enter the alien city. There they search a lair of snake devils in an ancient is story has the aliens looting a shop of alien technology within the abandoned city. The ship crewmen have come with the aliens to see these artifacts and learn about the technology. Eventually Dalgard and Raf explore each other in the alien city.Unlike the previous novel, this tale contains mutations among the Terran settlers from the long centuries of spaceflight. These mutations let them to communicate mentally with the mermen and hoppers. They can even communicate with Those Others to some is tale heralds the beginnings of the spread of humanity to the stars. Moreover, it also relates the initial development of psionic talents among humanity. This duology lays the foundations for most of the later SF novels by the author. Enjoy!Highly recommended for Norton fans and for anyone else who enjoys tales of strange civilizations, alien motivations, and telepathic powers.-Arthur W. Jordin

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Dead []  2020-1-22 2:27

    Love this LP.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Witch Born []  2020-7-7 19:19

    :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Witch Born []  2020-7-7 19:19

    Witchborn was a really fun historical fantasy with a realistic setting and plenty of added mystery and magic. Set in 1577 with Queen Elizabeth I on the throne and Mary Queen of Scots locked in the Turret of London for treason this is a story about an ongoing, bitter rivalry between the two queens and a young girl who gets caught in the yce's life is turned upside down when her mother is burned at the stake for witchcraft. Alyce manages to escape and heads to London, determined to deliver a secret letter to a man her mother said would be able to support her, but with the witch finders hot on her heels, and her growing powers becoming increasingly difficult to hide, it's not going to be easy.I don't wish to say much more about the plot because it's better to allow you unravel happenings for yourself but I really liked Alyce as a hero and enjoyed the journey she goes on. She meets a few allies along the method but it's very difficult to decide who can be trusted and certain things definitely aren't what they originally seem. The book is creepy and quite dark in locations but I mean that in the best method possible and Nicholas Bowling really brings historical London to life with all the sights, sounds and smells you'd come across if you took a step back through time. I believe this is a stand alone story, and it definitely works as one, but I'd be very satisfied to read more stories about these characters and I'll be watching out for more from this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Witch Born []  2020-7-7 19:19

    Alyce’s mother has been burned at the stake by the witch finders and she is on the run as they are after her now. She flees to London with a letter her mother had given her, prior to the witch finders getting her, to give to John Dee the Hangman. During her adventures to obtain the letter to its addressee she is rescued from several predicaments by a young actor, Solomon Harper, who becomes helps her escape the witch finders and search those who will actually support veral names from history appear in the book, Mary Queen of Scots, Queen Elizabeth, and Sir Walter Raleigh.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Infinity Born [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    When a top-secret DARPA project on AGI is sabotaged, Navy Lieutenant Cameron Carr is assigned a one-man mission to search whoever was responsible. It’s not just American security at stake, hostile forces are also seeking control over Artificial General Intelligence, a self-aware computer that can control the world, and which poses a threat to all of finity Born by Douglas E. Richards is a thriller without parallel. Chocked full of nonstop action and intrigue, with a backdrop of high-technology; some real, so imagined, but with enough authenticity to create it hard to tell which is which, this story will capture your imagination like few of the genre have ever done.A must-read for hard-core sci-fi thriller fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Born [Book]  2018-3-1 18:1

    I honestly didn’t know what to expect when I started this book. I haven’t read anything dystopian (that doesn’t involve aliens) in a while, so I enjoyed visiting this genre again. The cover drew me in, if I’m being completely honest, and once I understood it’s meaning, I loved it even more. However, the story inside does not cy Fox was a unbelievable narrator. The book started off a small slow, and though it took me a few chapters to obtain into it and understand exactly how the globe worked, Lucy’s voice kept a steady pace. She had an even hero arc, and since this is a trilogy—yay!—I’m excited to see how her hero changes in the other books. She slowly gave me bits and pieces of the life she and her sister had lived. Their connection was peculiar and enthralling, and it motivated Lucy to become the person that I had come to know by the end of the book. Margot, her twin, and Lucy had a amazing relationship, one that didn’t take away from the other person but built them up and nourished a special e there any fans of Jace from The Mortal Instruments out there? You’ll love Jared! I was on twitter and saw someone talk about Jared being man candy, and my curious mind had to know. I had the book on my kindle, waiting idly for my attention, and it was just the shove I needed. Thank you, person on twitter that decided to talk about this book, you were so right. I loved Jared. Blonde, snarky, transitioning eye color, and an inherent desire to protect Lucy, it was practically impossible not to make a unique put in my heart for this Real Born. While they didn’t have an incredibly romantic relationship, each kiss and careful caress created my heart race. With Jared came a lot of nail biting moments, and he kept me on my toes practically the entire book—I stayed about as confused as Lucy on where they e globe building had such complexity. Sterling took a general idea—widespread plague—and added a twist. There were Splicers, Lasters, and Real Borns, each indicative of where you stood in society. Lucy and Margot, like everyone else but those labeled Real Born at birth, waited anxiously to learn where they fell when they turned eighteen. They had been used to living in the Upper Circle, their globe skillfully designed to fit a certain mold. I expected science fiction, but felt a lean toward fantasy. The two seemed to blend together in an exceptional method that banished the slight confusion that I had at the beginning. Dominion stood vividly in my mind, and I hope to learn more about the hierarchal division in the next of Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy or X-Men will devour this book. Is it too soon to be asking for the next book in the trilogy yet?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Born [Book]  2018-3-1 18:1

    Love it couldn't place it down. Would recommend to anyone. Amazing love story & sisterly bond. Canxt wait to read the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Dead []  2020-1-22 2:27

    Ice-T is a amazing rapper, he is even better with his rock/metal band Body Count. Born Dead is a loud massive in your face album for any die hard fan of Hard Rock/Heavy Metal. This album is: Raw, Gritty, Loud, but most importantly: it was in you face with loud lyrics and blazing guitars and drums. If you're a fan of Ice-T, or just a fan of Hard Rock/Heavy Metal, I would strongly recommend this album. Two Thumbs Up!!!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Dead []  2020-1-22 2:27

    A treat for body count fans who never heard the second album. A must have!9

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Born []  2020-1-22 23:57

    Andre Norton has always been the best. The story line will have everyone smiling and crying at one time or the other. This is a amazing book for younger readers and adults too. The globe she makes is so true and the characters so very alive. I recommend this book and author to all sci-fi fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Born []  2020-1-22 23:57

    When the oppressive global dictatorship of Pax took over the Earth they place a stop to zone exploration. Still, a few rebels escaped in the sleeper ships to found fresh colonies- or perish in the attempt. Those few colonies that reached inhabitable worlds and survived were chop off for centuries. It was during these centuries of isolation and freedom that they were able to develop the mysterious mental powers that "civilization" had all but ly, when Pax had been eradicated from Earth by the Federation of Free Men, the rockets began to rise once more. This time they they possessed the faster than light drives that would enable them to create up for lost time. One such ship was the RS-10. This ship and its squad stumbled upon the globe of Astra and it's strange, ruthless, degenerate, inhuman inhabitants. The Terrans did not trust these monsters but there was much that they could learn from them. Making a temporary alliance the expedition accompanied the aliens to a strange treasure town to support exploit its wonders. It was there that they discovered that the aliens had amazing reason to fear going to the treasure town alone. It was protected by Free Men who had arrived centuries before....The classic Ace edition of this sci-fi classic has probably the best painted cover of a conventional zone ship that I've ever seen.If there had been no other creator of science fiction and fantasy in the second half of the twentieth century, Andre Norton would have been enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Witch Born []  2020-7-7 19:19

    Amazing book! Would more from this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Witch Born []  2020-7-7 19:19

    This novel adapts the rivalry between Queen Elisabeth I and Mary, Queen of Scots as a war between rival factions of witches. The two historical queens were both accused of being witches so the writer has cunningly used this as a starting point for a very original re-telling of history. Since there was a latest film about these same two women, that makes this book even more contemporary.Anyone who’s even glancingly aware of historical facts knows that religious factions in Europe were often tied up with superstitious hysteria. Anyone even remotely various in terms of lifestyle was considered to be a witch. People greedy, angry, spiteful or bitter about anyone else’s success could and did accuse others of witchcraft. That the accused were often helpless women, alone and friendless, created it simple for them to be victimized by false allegations.Fear of the unknown runs rampant throughout this book, indicating the strain it posed for real witches who had to hide what they were. Time and again, the protagonist is told to hide her talent because the local group—bar customers, actors, sailors, whomever—are a superstitious bunch and wouldn’t take kindly to knowing she can see and hear the e writer throws in mentions of other true historical figures: Dr. John Dee, necromancer; Walter Raleigh, mate and confidant to Queen Elizabeth; John Hopkins, infamous witchfinder. Their voices and tales are woven into the story of one Alyce Greenliefe, a girl whose mother has been burnt at the stake for—what else?—witchcraft. Her crime? Not going to church with the others in the e story is compelling, convincing and the tension is very real. The fact that it’s based on actual historical fact with witchcraft thrown in makes it all the more readable. The two queens face off in a dramatic showdown that makes Alyce’s part in the drama frighteningly understand Mary’s determination to clear the globe of death. Alyce does, too, and her belief that death can be conquered makes for some nervous reading. We expect the heroine of the book to defy the obvious villain not collude with her. Alyce’s temptation and the steps she takes create you uneasy and left me wanting a sequel—and nowadays I prefer books without sequels because there are just so a lot of books and so small time…You wonder if it’s possible to use an evil practice for a amazing purpose and what tag it can leave on the practitioner. When a book makes you ponder such philosophical questions, you know that you’ve got something unique on your hands.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Witch Born []  2020-7-7 19:19

    I couldn’t even create it past page 6 because the author used the word handsome NINE TIMES IN SIX PAGES. It’s called a thesaurus.I’ll test to pick it up again tomorrow to give it another chance:

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Infinity Born [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    This is a quick moving story that has it's twists as well as plenty of action. A really fun read. Mr Richards weaves scientific dreams into reality, then challenges the reader to doubt the possibility. He always makes one aware of the unintended consequences of having your wishes come true. The characters are mostly believable.I don't understand how Mr. Richards can hold coming up with such mind expanding stories. I've been reading SciFi for over sixty-five years and each succeeding book blows my mind! This has got to be the most brilliant author now writing. If you like Science and you like Fiction you'll love his books!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Yesterday [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:51

    Possibly the most endearing "dumb blonde" ever? Judy Holliday rightly won the best actress Oscar for her portrayal of dumb blonde kept woman Billie Dawn, a role she successfully played on Broadway in the scene present production. Yet to only mention her would be doing a disservice to the movies other strengths as it has a lot of to justify it being labelled a classic of its time. Billie Dawn is the girlfriend of scrap metal magnate Harry Brock, she's not that bright and Brock uses her as a front for some less than honest dealings. Sure he cares but his treatment of her borders on the repulsive whilst still managing to obtain the ribs tickled, Brock worries that her dumbness will do down necessary business problems socially, so he arranges for the calm and well spoken Paul Verrall to be her chaperon and train her to be eloquent and more astute of the globe and its history. The movie then becomes your standard Pygmalion story as the nice but dim Billie not only learns about the globe she lives in, she also learns about the globe SHE HAS been living in, and coupled with the awakening she finds with Verrall this fills out the rest of the story. It's full of delightful scenes that linger long in the memory, and outside of Holliday's brilliant performance, we obtain a unbelievable example of the polar opposite Male love interest, Broderick Crawford as Brock is a maelstrom of shouting daftness, a man that makes you cringe such is his buffoonery. On the other hand we obtain the serene and well mannered Verrall played with the right amount of pathos by William Holden, and it is with much that amongst the loud brash shows from the other stars, he remains more than a distant memory. The comedy here will create you cringe one minute, and then have you giggling away the next, all the chief characters here engage you in the method they are meant to, the climax may be a bit too condensed for some but it's a fine ending that befits the previous efforts you have just witnessed, and I defy anyone to not laugh at the gin rummy sequence! 8/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Born [Book]  2018-3-1 18:1

    Real Born is intriguing from the start, and leaves you desiring more of Lucy and Jared, while also being anxious for more understanding of the twins. I greatly enjoyed the read and am hopeful for a continuation of the story!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Born [Book]  2018-3-1 18:1

    This book was strange at best but intriguingly entertaining. Violent in parts so unless you have a powerful stomach may not like. It kept me reading like a amazing mystery. I will have fun the second book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Dead []  2020-1-22 2:27

    Amazing Album

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Dead []  2020-1-22 2:27

    i got this cd very quick it is a amazing cd i like to headbang while listening to this so obtain it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Born []  2020-1-22 23:57

    A real classic - have this in paper, am glad it's now available for the ebook generation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Witch Born []  2020-7-7 19:19

    England, 1577: Alyce can't trust anyone after her mother is burned at the stake for practicing witchcraft. With only the barest instructions and a mommet doll to tutorial her, Alyce heads to London. She hopes it will be simple to follow her mother's instructions to search the ong the method Alyce has to dodge risky witch hunters and learn how to trust fresh mates and allies. But Alyce isn't the only one in London with a mission. Queen Elizabeth I and Mary Queen of Scots are both searching intently for Alyce. Both queens wish to use her, but only one of them for amazing in Witch Born (2018) by Nicholas Bowling.Witch Born is a thoroughly researched historical fantasy. Bowling brings the squalor and wonder of the sixteenth century to life along with the near-constant terror of witchcraft. Genuinely frightening witch hunters and evocative settings create this slim novel a page cause of Alyce's young age, this novel is also ideal for readers of all ages. Alyce is a winsome heroine sure to endear herself to readers in this gripping debut. Recommended for readers of both fantasy and historical fiction.Possible Pairings: Tumble and Blue by Cassie Beasley, Savvy by Ingrid Law, Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Witch Born []  2020-7-7 19:19

    Y’all might think I’m lying about liking this book,but..I’ve bought it off another site, and I’m just wanting to say, THIS IS A AMAZING BOOK.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Infinity Born [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    I just finished 'Infinity Born', which is probably the most thought provoking thing I have read in a long time. If your not familiar with Richard's writing this is an perfect put to start. He has taken our globe and mixed a very little amount of 'What If' in the current and ongoing quest for advanced Artificial Intelligence - A.I. is already here and in common use. SIRI, Google, Echo, and a lot of others are forms of A.I., which while obvious when pointed out was not something I had actually realized. The changes (Or maybe a better term would be additions) that he introduces create for a fascinating look at our globe - sometimes a disturbing one. Whatever you would like to call them, he makes you think - these are not reams of mindless fiction, but ones which create you examine what is going on and consider what You would do. The hero development is perfect (No surprise there as this is real in all of his writing) and the technical aspects are as s obvious that Richard's spends a lot of effort in learning about what he writes, so much so that after reading his books I come away feeling I have more knowledge than I started with - and often search myself doing research on my own about what he wrote about. (I admit I became more interested in science when I was young through references in science fiction, so that is really nothing new, except for the fact that most of the other 'contemporary' fiction does not create me do that). Richard's writing has that same affect as my early exposure to Science Fiction - something I had not realized I missed until now.If your looking for a an engrossing and highly enjoyable book, look no further. This is the first in what I hope to see is a series (Yes, its that good).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Infinity Born [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    It starts off with several disjointed short stories and you may be tempted to give up, don't! They will eventually all come 's hard to classify this book. One would be tempted to call it science fiction, but that does not do it first I found reading this tedious, but then it started coming together and became more and more exciting. You will really have fun this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Infinity Born [Book]  2017-10-24 18:0

    This book was my first look at Douglas Richards and I have a feeling that he will be one of my favorite authors. Perfect and thought provoking story line that grabs you from page one and never lets loose until the final sentence. Then you wish MORE. READ IT. Do some research andRead it again. If you are a fan of modern technology/reality/science fiction..."this might/could happen...maybe"....you will love...Love...LOVE THIS BOOK!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Free [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    The wonders of Elsa. Born Free is based on George and Joy Adamson and their raising of a lioness during their time living at a android game reserve in Kenya. It's directed by James Hill, adapted to screenplay by Lester Cole, and stars Virginia McKenna and Bill Travers as the Adamsons. Melody is by John Barry and cinematography by Kenneth Talbot. It's a classic case of a family movie keeping everything easy for maximum results. A huge hit upon release, as was the book written by Joy Adamson, the attractive landscapes and emotionally swirling musical score marry up perfectly with the story being told. There's some liberties taken with the facts, both with humans and lions, but we aren't in to this pic for any sort of misery or grimy drama. We want, and get, feel good, a time for animal lovers to rejoice and wipe that fly from the eye. 8/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    True Born [Book]  2018-3-1 18:1

    I was originally attracted to Real Born because of the cover; clean, striking, and minimalistic. The blurb was intriguing enough that I picked it up to try. At nearly 85% through my first read I still had not created up my mind how I felt about the story. The thing that kept bouncing around in my head? Passive understand my feeling, I'm going to give you a bit of the story basics. From the begin we follow Lucy Fox, twin to Margot and daughter of the Chief Diplomat of Nor-Am, as she struggles to understand her (and Margot's) put in their world. Being born to the Upper Circle sets Lucy apart from the rest of her dying world. You see, the globe has fallen victim to the plague. The breakdown of society wasn't fast, but it was messy, leaving three types of people in the world: Lasters, those who don't survive the plague. Splicers, humans who's bodies can be spliced with alternate genes to support them war off the plague and survive (sort of...). Lastly are the Real Born, those who are immune to the plague, but they come with animalistic attributes (fins, claws, fur...).People don't learn if they are Lasters, Splicers, or Real Born until their reveal on their 18th birthday. Lucy and Margot's 18th birthday is looming and they don't understand why they hold having to go through Protocols to determine their path in life. Everyone else only goes through one set of protocols, after all it's only a easy check of the genome sequence that determines Laster, Splicer, or Real Born. So why have Lucy and Margot have been doing them yearly since they were children? This is the question on Lucy's mind even as the globe goes pear-shaped. First is her run-in with the Real Born Jared. Then her father, popular for his dislike of Real Borns, introduces her and Margot to their fresh security detail, headed by the Real Born Nolan Storm. Nothing is as it seems and yet, even as we follow along with Lucy's story, it's very clear she makes no decisions for herself. Everything that happens, happens to her. Lucy's doesn't take action, but she does talk. Only talk doesn't obtain anything but drug along for the ride.Even with Lucy's passive narrative, the globe piqued my curiosity. I wish to know more about Real Borns. I wish to know more about the plague. I'm curious to see how the magic of the globe evolves. I'm interested in...well, let's just say I'm interested. I'll be reading the full trilogy just to search out what happens.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Dead []  2020-1-22 2:27

    very happy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Dead []  2020-1-22 2:27

    really amazing cd

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born Dead []  2020-1-22 2:27

    [email protected]#$% album love it there are some amazing tracks on here if anyone likes Ice T/Body Count it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Born []  2020-1-22 23:57

    Disappointed in terms of "Large Print." The size of the letters was Ok on the back of the book. Guessing it is about the equivalent of 16 pt type on a Word document. Inside the book the letters looked about the same as one would search in a stansard business letter. Bought "Large Print" because I am dealing with macular degeneration and business leter sized type is a true struggle to read. Also wanted to test reading without having the text beamed into my eyes by my smartphone screen. This to reduce eye strain. I know that there are kindle models that might support but wanted to experience actual huge print using reflective light before investing into a kindle while owning a smartphone that gives me print size flexibility but not a reflective screen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Star Born []  2020-1-22 23:57

    Beautiful standards Andre Norton fare, simply amazing reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Witch Born []  2020-7-7 19:19

    A very satisfying blend of fantasy, a touch of horror and history. Alyce not only must watch as her mother is burned at the stake for witchcraft, but then avoid capture by the Witchhunters who incited the townspeople. Instead, she flees, landing in an insane asylum. Her subsequent journey has her escaping people she believes are intent upon capturing and killing her, being saved by a slightly older boy whose own experiences mirror hers in a lot of ways, and having to navigate a messy, tricky, deceitful political situation surrounding Mary, Queen of Scots and Queen Elizabeth of England. Between the intrigue, dark magic and constant threat of recapture, Alyce finds romance, a major surprise about her heritage and just how powerful her own powers are. I particularly like the ending, one that satisfies while leaving room for another book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead Again [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    By far, my favourite movie of Branagh's that he's directed. A solid mystery/thriller--the kind that's not done enough these days IMHO. Though he's certainly diversified his oeuvre recently, what with Disney remakes and even superhero films, I want he had done a lot more like this one, rather than, high-quality as they are, a metric tonne of yet-more Shakespearean adaptations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ride Again []  2020-1-31 9:34

    This is a rerecording of some of thei best songs, it's OK but not as amazing as the otiginals, so now that they have been reissued, go for the fresh ones, with two LP's on one cd they are probably the best value on earth.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386