Read born to be human reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all born to be human reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Broken []  2020-1-16 10:27

    Book two of Addison Cain's tale of post apocalyptic survival, "Born to be Broken" continues exploring the emotional landscape on which Shepard and Claire reside. Gloriously including the hero development I was so desperate for in book one!Here we are finally exposed to more of the origin. We are introduced to Shepard's background in the undercroft, his traumas, and his overall life experiences that shaped him into the sadistically, single-minded tactician now ruling Tholos with a seemingly iron hand. And with each of these revelations comes a deeper understanding of his drive toward his possession of Claire and why his pair-bond with her is so devastating for all involved. All while also watching Claire grow in strength, determination, and refusal to bow down to her cirtances, slam head long into Shepard's agenda, as well as her own safety and a literary machiavellian Cain slams you back and forth between perspectives juxtaposing Shepard's need with Claire's hatred, Shepard's military instincts with Claire's empathy and goodness, Shepard's existing agenda with Claire's growing agenda. All brilliantly set versus a subtly strong background of Sun Tzu's, "The Art of War" marching you forward with a growing sense of foreboding into the larger scenario playing out beyond the two main is second installment of Cain's Alpha's Claim series, is all about the info and submerges you into the inner workings of each mind and heart. It will twist you maniacally between affection, sadness, and anger. It will leave you hoping yet secretly hating. It will leave you as emotionally torn as the characters themselves. And by the end you will feel like you have run a s it is still sadistically and ly violent, more so than the first book, and here again, it is not for the faint of heart or easily offended. However, the story underneath is worth it and is bravely honest. It moves beyond a standard and too oft used "stockholm" trope and portrays another reality, of the mental and emotional turmoil of two people from complete opposite sides of the alpha/omega spectrum, thrown together in unbelievably horrific cirtances, learning from each other about themselves and the society around them. All while learning to appreciate the other in ways most would deem impossible despite being diametrically is beyond dark, but oh, so worth the time!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Bound []  2020-7-23 19:24

    Disgustingly pedantic. It was an exercise to see how a lot of ways rape could be described on nearly every third page without acknowledging any pretence of a storyline. For a "free" book it was overpriced.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Bound []  2020-7-23 19:24

    I wanted to like this "book". In my definition it is not a complete book if it ends on a cliffhanger. I almost wanted to read the next books just to see if anything was resolved, but was just too irritated at how this one went to wish to purchase any more in this series. The writing is good. It flows well, creates a clear picture, and is grammatically correct. I love an anti-hero. However, the lead male is not even an anti-hero. He is just a rapist who takes advantage of the heroine. There are some times when it looks like he is trying, but then he reverts being a rapist who only cares about himself. I like Claire and search myself rooting for her. In the end I feel like I was place through the wringer (and not in a amazing way) and hung out to dry.

    0  


    Add your opinion on born to be human or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Broken []  2020-1-16 10:27

    Although the H usually isn't the villain, the warlord Shepard in Tholos definitely is both. The only other time I loved the villain so much was in R L Smith's Heat. Even though his devotion to her is "instinctual" as Claire kept trying to convince herself in book 1, I believe Shepard has finally convinced her otherwise - any method he has convinced me. Although he has nothave any idea on how to be romantic - as Claire likes to remind herself - I have never read a H who was as attentive, loving, passionate and all consumed by his friend as Shepard is by Claire - regardless of other complications. I did obtain tired of Claire's self righteousness and naive morality. I thought her finding and reading The Art of Battle by Sun Tzu was a brilliant method for her to develop a method to handle Shepard which adversely also allowed her to begin to see the true man underneath the monster. I loved Born to be Broken and look forward to reading the final installment - Reborn!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Broken []  2020-1-16 10:27

    Mild Spoilers - This book was much better than the first book on multiple levels. First, she really developed the characters. After having read book one, I struggled with understanding Shepherd's motivations. Over the course of this book, we got to see how his hero was forged and why he acted the method he acted. There was some amazing in him somewhere, even if it was hard to see at times. His blind devotion to Svana was confusing to me - he was portrayed as a amazing leader of men, yet he couldn't see past her façade, despite damning evidence before him. Claire grew as well, finding inspiration in The Art of Battle to support tutorial how she interacted with Shepherd. However, I found her belief system a small screwed up. She had no issue despairing the loss of life all around her, but when it came to thoughts of killing herself, and her unborn child, it was like "collateral hurt happens". And despite the fact that it was demonstrated time and again that were was no humanity left in Tholos at all - eg frozen dead kid, she herself was once again ostracized by her fellow omegas, etc. - she seemed to think society would revert to normal if only Shepherd would stop his evil plan. That belief system was keeping her from forming an attachment to Shepherd so it got annoying that she continued to cling to it long after she should have e globe building was powerful and it was elaborated on to a greater extent than in the first book. The underlying plot advanced well, but at times it got a small confusing - what Svana was trying to do with the resistance was unclear to me (maybe it was supposed to unclear and will be addressed in the third book). Last, the dialogue was kind of strange. When Claire spoke to Maryanne, it was in modern day speech patterns, but when she spoke to Shepherd, it was in highly formal, Oscar Wilde style speech - the contrast was very jarring. I look forward to reading the conclusion of this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Broken []  2020-1-16 10:27

    Book appears well written. Spelling and grammar is r those who are fans of the genre, the story line should not be aracters somewhat developed, better job could have been done of ever and the reason I have returned this, asking for a refund, is the fact that as a reader I wish some "closure" for the main characters. Now on book 4 of the series, Shepherd and Claire's story is still dragging and with no end in mething also that does not sit well with me is the treatment of a post-rape PTSD. Very poorly researched and nce even on book 4 of the series I see no end nor closure and Am not willing to hold paying and expecting an end, this will be returned and a refund ame on the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Broken []  2020-1-16 10:27

    I don't even know where to start. This series is very much out of my normal purview of books. It's so completely off but not in a poor way.I found Ms. Cain on an odd possibility for her to be a sponsored page on my Fb feed. The few sentences sounded intriguing enough and very smexy. So I thought the first book is free on KU so I'll give it a try. And man, have I not been disappointed.I have a beautiful begin mind in my reading. Contemporary, , paranormal, historical romance, science fiction (aliens can be y too sometimes), So you can see I have a rather eclectic tastes. But this book, odd though it may be, was completely entertaining. The plot was amazing. I did very much have fun it. This does go for book one and epard and Claire ... I don't even know what to say. They are both brilliant characters. I have never and I mean never read a heroine as powerful and vulnerable as Claire is. She is a heroine to be modeled after again and again. And the amount that Shepard has grown is phenomenal. Although of course there's a point where you wish to punch him in the knot. You'll know when you obtain is is all so praising I'm sure there's a question as to why 4 stars instead of 5. Here's the thing. This book will create you uncomfortable. It will create you shift a small wherever you're reading it. It's not for those who don't care for dark themes. Hold in mind, this is a post apocalyptic globe where people have beautiful much just lost their minds. Things may not obtain any better. That's not part of this review but I do search myself wanting to ask Ms. Cain if she would like a hug and a cookie.Wish me luck in the third book.A!so I'm really helping our beta Corday makes it through mostly unscathed. We'll less

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Bound []  2020-7-23 19:24

    I thought I was going to love this series, but no. Do not read this series if you hate cliffhangers, if you expect an HEA at the end the series, if you expect to even know what the heck really happened after three books, if you don't like infidelity in your books. Be warned, this series is NOT a romance. Addison Cain grabs you. It's simple to become invested in the story because she is THAT good. But she will leave you hanging. There is no HEA. Not sure she's that type of author. And that's fine if you like that kind of read. Not me. And I really hate that because I could become addicted to her books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Bound []  2020-7-23 19:24

    This novel wound up delivering a much richer reading experience than I expected. It was very thought-provoking and believable dystopian speculation. The violence and were explicit without stooping to gratuitous blood and smut. At the onset of the story I immediately bonded with Claire, her cause, and her point of view. I saw Sheperd as small more than a manipulative brute who maximized his control over the captive Claire through isolation, terror, and exploitation of her innate instinctual drives. Versus her will, Sheperd forces an irrevocable mating bond on Claire that can only be severed by the death of one of them. However, all is not as it seems to be. Everyone and everything is both more and less than what is initially evident. Sheperd has wrested power from the ruling faction by military coup. The units that he leads are mainly those who were wrongly imprisoned by the former corrupt regime. Their loyalty to him and each other, as well as dedication to their cause, is to the death as is Sheperd's. This is the invincible force that Claire must cirvent in order to save the people and the town she loves. But do they love her? Do they wish to be saved? Are they worthy of redemption? War lines are drawn and crossed. Lives are lost and found. Some hearts break and others blossom. Society as Claire knew it rots from within and those not brutalized are abandoned. Sheperd struggles to force Claire into accepting the realities of life and to take her position under his protection. Claire struggles to break free. All the while an insidious and pathological evil just waits for the right time to strike everyone down. This is truly a heartbreaking tale. The fragile seeds of hope that are sewn obtain ploughed up before they even obtain a possibility to germinate. While tears are still wet on the cheeks the author skillfully weaves her story around to offer the reader a final, poignant tendril of "Maybe..."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Broken []  2020-1-16 10:27

    I don't even know where to start. This series is very much out of my normal purview of books. It's so completely off but not in a poor way.I found Ms. Cain on an odd possibility for her to be a sponsored page on my Fb feed. The few sentences sounded intriguing enough and very smexy. So I thought the first book is free on KU so I'll give it a try. And man, have I not been disappointed.I have a beautiful begin mind in my reading. Contemporary, rom-com, paranormal, historical romance, science fiction (aliens can be y too sometimes), I even read a mermen book. So you can see I have a rather eclectic tastes. But this book, odd though it may be, was completely entertaining. The plot was amazing. I did very much have fun it. This does go for book one and epard and Claire ... I don't even know what to say. They are both brilliant characters. I have never and I mean never read a heroine as powerful and vulnerable as Claire is. She is a heroine to be modeled after again and again. And the amount that Shepard has grown is phenomenal. Although of course there's a point where you wish to punch him in the knot. You'll know when you obtain is is all so praising I'm sure there's a question as to why 4 stars instead of 5. Here's the thing. This book will create you uncomfortable. It will create you shift a small wherever you're reading it. It's not for those who don't care for dark themes. Hold in mind, this is a post apocalyptic globe where people have beautiful much just lost their minds. And if what ive read is any indication, things may not obtain any better. That's not part of this review but I do search myself wanting to ask Ms. Cain if she would like a hug and a cookie.Wish me luck in the third book.A!so I'm really helping our beta Corday makes it through mostly unscathed. We'll see.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Broken []  2020-1-16 10:27

    Another winner! This is the second book in this series, my second-ever Omegaverse read, and my second book from this author. As with the first I am a small distracted by the language that I'm not used to, but that's to be expected since I've never read this kind of book before. I generally stick to dark romance/romantic suspense, and avoid paranormal (among others). This series kept popping up on recommended lists so I decided to give it a try.I really liked this book. There is a considerable amount of detail both in the globe as well as the characters. I also really love that the relationship between the two main characters is not insta-love, and Claire doesn't just roll over with stars in her eyes the min Shepherd tell her to do so. She fights. She refuses. She is defiant. She does what she can (uses whatever she can) in pursuit of what she believes to be right. She couldn't complete a task on her own, so she did what she required to do to obtain the support she required rather than throwing her hands up at the hopelessness of it all.I am also enjoying Shepherd's struggle. It seems like he wants Claire to develop feelings for him. To care for him. To see him as her friend as opposed to her kidnapper/tormentor/attacker/captor. Unfortunately he has never had to build a relationship before, nor has he ever even seen it done. He has seen only twisted "relationships" based on abuse, bartering, power... but not love or affection. And Claire, having never had a relationship herself, and with her mother having passed away when Claire was so young, has never had nor seen a relationship develop, either. So it's the blind leading the blind over here. She wants him to do something he doesn't know how to do (woo her), and he wants her to do something she's been repelled by, and fought against, her entire life (accept her Omega status and submit to that life).It is interesting to watch it unfold. When Shepherd does something nice is it out of affection? A desire to appease Claire? Or does he perhaps have more self-serving motivations?I also love the side characters. Well, except Svana. That's not to say she isn't an perfect hero from a technical standpoint- she is. I HATE her. And that is a tag of a "good" character.Warning: there is OW drama and activity in this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Bound []  2020-7-23 19:24

    I'm going to begin of saying that this book has a red flag so huge I read reviews for the rest of the "trilogy". Apparently it also ends in a cliffhanger and drags on.But in this book, Sheppard imprisons and abuses Claire the entire time while manipulating her in every possible method to care for him. He's a complete narcissist. And when he almost has her won over, the author decides to bring in another woman he's had on the side all along. His "beloved". This woman attacks, violates, and attempts to slay Claire, who is already pregnant at this point. Does Sheppard do anything? See if she's ok? Nope. He sends her to wait in the bathroom while he f#[email protected] his "beloved". Then Claire finally had a complete mental break and he's confused about why? This is disgusting. As a reader who was waiting for this guy to redeem himself, I feel completely betrayed BY THE AUTHOR.And in next book supposedly Sheppard tries to create up for what he did but still screws the other woman again. WTF? No! Just no!Addison Cain,. I will never read another one of your books again! 😡😡😡😡😡

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Bound []  2020-7-23 19:24

    I have been a fan of Addison and this story ever since reading chapters as she developed this story and I was so excited to see this come out as a book, and see her actively writing more stories. She had a bonus for crafting special worlds that mirror our own, so it's simple to imagine them. The alternate humanity is fun and I just wish to drink up every facet of this globe she's made. That said, I love the dynamic between Claire and Shepherd, fighting instincts and physical demands,mentally still too immature for the depth of what's event to them. Shepherd has to learn not everything goes according to plan and Claire is learning the globe is so a lot of shades of grey... I even love the dark, gritty nature of their intimacy. It's just a wonderfully, engrossing piece of dystopian fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Broken []  2020-1-16 10:27

    Once again a disturbingly captivating heart wrenching read, the author has a method with words to create was is so abhorrent and wrong seem right through a various perspective. Picking up where the first book Born to be Bound left off in a dystopian globe of Thólos where chaos has revealed creatures within it’s citizens bare to all to witness, yet unwilling to aire has been shattered and destroyed by a betrayal so ultimate and unforgiving, and yet as broken as Claire is she is still determined and resolute in her ideals of freedom and the equality of the Omegas who are hunted for their genetic chemistry. After learning in her solitude for solution to her haunted destroyed future Claire is recaptured by her friend and goes about fighting him in a various tactic, communication, while still rooting for Thólos to see themselves and change their cirtances with the aid of the hidden epherd is horrible, abrasive yet disturbingly charming in his own twisted sadistic way, a real Alpha male with no sense of primary human interaction allow alone to please his friend Claire. Having learned the error of his ways and how he ruined his mate, Shepherd seeks to amend his transgression by attempting communication and compromise. More of Shepherd’s horrid past is revealed giving the reader understanding to his insane idea of utopia of revealing Thólos’s real nature, making his hero more private and not so ly driven for absolute domination his only other e supporting characters are still sparse but create heavy impacts, the Omegas are freed with the support of Claire, Corday is unwaveringly supportive and determinedly faithful of the resistance’s uprising while be woefully unaware of the impending danger that stalks his every move.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Bound []  2020-7-23 19:24

    Bait and switch. The first book is KU, but the rest aren’t, which I unfortunately didn’t explore until after reading the first. I hate it when authors do this. Is KU readers usually read all our books through KU to aid in a budget. This method I know I am spending an exact amount each month on books. My budget does not let me to begin series that are on top of my KU budget, yet a few authors test to lure us KU readers in with that first book KU and hope we obtain hooked and then like a are willing to throw our hard earned money away and it us throwing it away, because we have already spent our cash on the KU fee. I just search it underhanded. Kind of like she did when they said this was a trilogy, but book 3 left it as a cliffhanger with the couple possibly dead and you have to buy the fresh trilogy to search out the fate of them! That’s not a trilogy. That’s a continuing series. I like this authors writing, but I’m Unfollowing her after this dishonest behavior.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Bound []  2020-7-23 19:24

    It took me forever to read.I didn't like it at all.I will just have to hold looking for my amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Broken []  2020-1-16 10:27

    I'm not only incredibly mad with the author of this series, but incredibly mad with myself as well. I'm mad that there are so a lot of authors that are writing stories about blatant abuse and opression, this author included. Then, dumb dumb here buys atleast three books in the series, thinking the hero roles and behavior are going to change. There's never a time when rape or oppression should be used for entertainment value. I don't know why so a lot of authors have begun doing this, but I beg them to stop! As a woman reading this series of books, only to realize there's more to come, created me so sad. Then, even after all the characters have been through, it never seems to be over. The suffering, the sadness of the female characters, the fighting. The only amazing thing about this series is the hero development and how well it was edited. If you're not into women being inferior, demeaned, and raped repatedly, this is definitely not the series of books for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Broken []  2020-1-16 10:27

    5+ Omegaverse StarsHoly Hell I love Addison Cain and this Omegaverse globe that she has created. Much like the first book in this series I was riveted. Life beautiful much ceased to exist once I started reading. When I first started this series someone told me that it wasn't finished. I knew that I had to wait until they were all out before I proceeded any further. Finally, I was told that Claire and Sheppard were going to have a conclusion so I started the series again. Boy, oh Boy, how I managed to go months without reading this disfunctional, crazy, but hot as Satan's mistress couple I do not aire. Sweet holy hell. This girl is a fighter. I love her. Rather than just accept that she is a weaker person because she is an Omega she uses that to her advantage. There is no glass ceiling for her. She is playing the android game and playing it eppard. Despite the despicable things he has done he still has a softer side. That softer side is Sheppard. We learn more about his history in this book and what makes him the method that he is. He has demons and because of those things he yearns for that connection or human touch so to speak. He wants acceptance and adoration. He wants to be gether these two are HOT. Like 3rd degree blister hot. I wish to see them happy. I wish to believe that this relationship is true and not just some forced pair to read the third book. Looks like my life will be at a standstill again. Who needs a clean house or sleep anyway?!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Bound []  2020-7-23 19:24

    ummary: Shepard is a brutal Warlord with a hidden agenda. Claire is hungry and exhausted from a prolonged assult on her home when she begs an audience with Shephard, a man who is used to having everything he wants, and he wants is author clearly loves over of my favorite books, The Silver Devil because ever since Dominico I don't think I've read such a truly intense and strong hero. He is not one of your run of the mill sadistic leads who ties you up and spanks you for sport. No, He is demonsdemtably clever, plotting, scheming and accomplishing his twisted agenda and will do anything, anything at all for his morally incorruptable, idealistic and innocent heroine. Gosh I love Claire, she is no push over and let's her ruthless Warlord obtain away with Nothing.And having read book 2 allow me tell you that you will not be disappointed where this trilogy(?) Is going.I'm a heavy fan, thank Ms Cain.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Bound []  2020-7-23 19:24

    Omega wolves are in hiding, but send a representative into the “wolves den” to request assistance. Claire risks everything to save her kind. What she does not realize is the meant to mask her heat cycle have broadcast it instead. Shepherd saves her from a feral group of males, but ends up claiming her for himself. The aggressive nature of Shepherd is offset by the stuff provided for Claire’s comfort, and the result of his purr.We are taken on a sensual journey of heat, claiming and pair-bonding; which will latest for a lifetime.A captivating, tense and completely engrossing read. My first story by Addison, but it will not be the last.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be a Loser []  2020-10-16 18:49

    If you wish the epitome of swamp-pop, this is your ultimate album, with songs ranging from haunting to playful. Especially appreciated by family (who remember James Kenneth Donley as "Kenny" . . . there being so a lot of Jameses in the family already) are the several previously unreleased songs, which sound like the artist is sitting on the front steps of the porch in Gulfport, strumming and singing to the stars. I just received this album latest night, ironically on the anniversary of Kenny's suicide (March 20, 1963), and found it the best selection yet of his work. I was surprised to search a lengthy biography of what can only be described as a tragic life . . . very informative, although a bit glossed over.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Music to Be Born By []  2020-1-23 3:36

    20 years ago I heard an interview with Mickey Hart on NPR. He had wanted to compose a piece of melody for his pregnant wife and their unborn child. He based it on her heartbeat. They played it through the pregnancy and again during the birth and afterwards. From then on when their son would go ballistic, or cranky or teething or not wish to go to sleep, they would place on the music. Within miniutes their son chilled and became a human once again. Their son was about 4 when tthe interview happened and the interviewer asked the son what his favoite melody was. "Music to be born by" came spontaneously. And his second favorite? The Grateful Dead. I sought out the recording (it was only a casette at that time and only through the graces of WGBH) and gave it to mates of mine who were expecting their 2d child. Willow was born to it and heard it before and after. Some three years later they were at our house visiting and Willow started becoming a true terror. Without anyone noticing I went to the melody system and switched the melody to Melody to be Born by. Within 4-5 mins Willow had calmed down and was a unbelievable golden kid again. What a bonus -- a sound mandala to ease the transition into this chaos! It works. I just bought it again for another couple who are expecting their first.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Music to Be Born By []  2020-1-23 3:36

    When I went into labor with our son, my mom created the 6 hour drive to be there. She brought along an old old tape from my parents' collection-Music To Be Born By. Fortunately, my midwife's stereo had a tape deck! We played it for hours and hours as I labored. I have to say that it's very subtle, and most of the time, I wasn't aware of it playing. It just blended into everything that was going on for me. I really liked it because it was relaxing but did not distract. Afterward, my midwife commented on how much she liked it, so I ordered the CD as a thank-you bonus for her.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Music to Be Born By []  2020-1-23 3:36

    Infants just drop right off when this is played. Better than a vehicle ride, and everybody gets more sleep. This is my traditional baby show and it always works like magic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Music to Be Born By []  2020-1-23 3:36

    this is an awesome recording and a bonus i give to anyone pregnant, with newborn, or who has problem is not for everyone; it is a 70 minute loop of taro hart's heartbeat in utero, backed by some lovely acoustic instrumentals.i would also say, it would be helpful for meditation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Music to Be Born By []  2020-1-23 3:36

    Nothing better for rebirthing! I use for any meditation, but especially when meditating to contact and communicate with and heal the inner kid who was traumatized and abused. Very amazing for getting to the inner kid before the abuse began. This recording was done in a very simple, hypnotic manner, no frills, exactly as I needed. Can't recco highly enough, and definitely for massive trauma work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Music to Be Born By []  2020-1-23 3:36

    We used this in the birthing room. It created a very soothing environment in the hospital. I also play it as a sleep aid for insomnia. Test it, it works!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Music to Be Born By []  2020-1-23 3:36

    Every expecting mother should listen to this and should use it in her child's room for nap time and calming, always!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Madagascar: Born to Be Wild []  2020-2-12 21:29

    Wheb u got this book it was missing pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Music to Be Born By []  2020-1-23 3:36

    I love this album, and bought it to replace a long-ago stolen copy. I hadn't seen it on the shop for years, so I was beautiful excited to search it. Unfortunately, Amazon and sellers don't do a very amazing job of being careful about what edition they're selling--this was advertised as the original Ryko release, but it was not. I actually ordered two copies- one from a seller and one from Amazon's own stock. NEITHER were the original release ver as n't obtain me wrong, I'm VERY glad that the Smithsonian Folkways Archive has finally reissued this classic concept album, but sadly, it does not contain the original liner notes. Luckily, I still have my original Ryko case and insert, so it isn't the end of the globe for me. But still, PLEASE SAY WHAT YOU'RE SELLING, AND SELL WHAT YOU ADVERTISE!! Substitutions are NOT OK unless explicitly advertised as such by the seller.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Music to Be Born By []  2020-1-23 3:36

    We got this album before our son was born, and I practiced deep relaxation with it, planning to bring it to the hospital to play during labor. While we decided not to haul the CD player in with all the rest of our things, we did take it with us in the vehicle after he was born, and it turned out to be a true life saver!Whenever our son had problem sleeping, we found that taking him for a drive always helped. So we would place him in the car, and place on Melody To Be Born By, and go for a drive while he slept, and we also got a possibility to relax and recuperate. It's very meditative, like trance music, and after a while you don't hear it so much as feel it relax you as it relaxes the baby and puts him to sleep. And whenever he was fussy, we would place it on and he would stop crying and settle right down, like works like a charm - I can't tell you how a lot of times we were grateful we had bought this CD! We recommend it to every fresh parent!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Music to Be Born By []  2020-1-23 3:36

    Amazing disc, I gave it to every expectant mother I know

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be a Loser []  2020-10-16 18:49

    When I first heard Jimmy's music, I can honestly say that I felt his heartache and sorrow. I knew there had to be a history of pain in Jimmy's life, for you can hear it in his voice. This CD is in my top fifty of all time. Sincerely Mallory Brizendine (aka Stagger Lee)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born To Be With You / Streetheart []  2020-7-5 19:56

    These two albums were recorded close together in the mid seventies, so its only fitting that they should be paired on a twofer. When it was announced that the amazing Phil Spector would create a whole album with the one and only Dion, expectations were high, despite the fact that both men were past their glory days. Perhaps the pairing would jump begin the magic they both possessed inthe past. Well, the album was considered such a dismal failure it was only released in England, so this is it's American debut. And Dion has stated that this recording was one of his most unhappy experiences in the recording studio. At the time , it didn't matter, I was a large fan of both, and tracked down an import copy. Right off the bat, when the title track kicks in,or rather it doesn't, you say to yourself "Oh it's going to be like this." I don't think anybody but Ray Charles could slow down a tune to a dirge-like tempo and obtain away with it. But it's not just that. "Born to Be With You", all 7 mins of it, is a beautiful amazing song, and Nino Tempo's sax work is the best part of it, but Spector has sucked out any joy that's inherit in the song (this is an affirmation-of-love song). The sound and mix are so dense, so muddy that Dion is barely there, like the Huge D has this large shadow hovering over him that keeps treatening to swallow him right out of the record. The following songs obtain beautiful much the same treatment. "Only You Know" & "Make The Woman Love Me" are amazing numbers given the same dirge-like treatment,with Dion managing to pump in some tenderness thus raising each song's stature in the process. However, there is "New York Town Song". Taken by itself, this is one of the best tunes to come from Dion's own hand. He sings with total involvement and genuine globe weariness. It is also one of the two songs NOT produced by Spector. "In & Out Of the Shadows" is a magnificent failure, with Spector pushing Dion to sing method beyond his considerable vocal range. You'll wish to play it again, immediately, to hear what you've just heard. This production is haunting, but it's drawbacks ultmately serve as a metaphor for the whole project. The final number,"Good Lovin" Man" is what "The Wanderer" would have sounded like if Spector had produced it. A beautiful amazing record, and I'll bet it was the first number they recorded, or the last. Spector treats Dion like he did most of his other artists, save the Beatles he worked with, as just another instrument in his wall of sound, but on all his amazing records, he always gave the artist a spotlight of his or her own to shine in. Here, he cloaks Dion in darkness, with a capital D. Dion, God bless him, bounced back artistically with STREETHEART, which he co-wrote and co-produced. If the Spector production was too heavy, STREETHEART goes a small overboard on the opposite end by making the production too light, too L.A. in the daytime if you obtain my drift. After working with Spector, can you blame him? The songs however are method better than the production would have you believe. But the songs are sequenced badly, really badly. (The original cassette ver flipped sides one and two, for the better, so someone must have been aware this album didn't hang right). "You Showed Me What Love Is" finds Dion at his most exhuberant. It's the unknown gem in Dion's catalogue. "More to You (Than Meets Te Eye)" is one his most romantic tunes, and you'll search yourself slow dancing with your lady before the second chorus. "IF I Can Just Obtain Through The Night" is Dion battling with his demons with love as his only possible salvation. His vocalizing on the Temptations' "The Method You Do The Things You Do" is simple and playful, but should have never kicked off this album of, otherwise, orginal material . The dramatic "Hey,My Love" and "Lover Boy Supreme" round off the best cuts. But the gem is the 6 min title track, and just dig the method Dion scats out his vocal at the end, giving method to the saxman's romantic solo. Just beautful......A very interesting pairing of two albums by one of music's finest artists. Darkness and Light.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born To Be With You / Streetheart []  2020-7-5 19:56

    This may well be my favorite later Dion CD. Phil Spector did a unbelievable job of producing "Born to be with You." A most original sound for Dion. I love The "Streetheart" sessions as well. Phil Everly does some back up vocals. All in all you can't miss. It's a romantic classic and it rocks a bit as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man Born to be King []  2021-4-6 22:56

    Dorothy Sayers “The Man Born to be King” transports the reader into the times and life of Christ and reveals the “Mind of the Maker.” She breathes nuance and hero into the gospels, all the time remaining faithful to the text and teachings revered by the church for over 2000 years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man Born to be King []  2021-4-6 22:56

    This is a very amazing portrayal of the Gospels. I had myself wondering where I would have aligned myself among all the characters. Apparently C. S. Lewis read this book every Lent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be A Sports Agent []  2020-2-2 19:58

    This is a amazing read for anyone in the coaches or players profession. What a amazing perspective from every angle!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born To Be With You / Streetheart []  2020-7-5 19:56

    Dion. Got all his albums. The king of the Fresh York Roads without a doubt.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born To Be With You / Streetheart []  2020-7-5 19:56

    Main song I wanted to hold was Born To Be With You (Original was by The Chordettes in the 50s, I think). A few other songs were okay.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born To Be With You / Streetheart []  2020-7-5 19:56

    your life will not be complete until you hear dion sing "make the woman love me". it is a amazing lyric,interpreted by one of the amazing singers, with that amazing huge "wall of sound" behind e title song is also one that grows on the listener, and i essentially enjoyed all the other phil spector production numbers with the painful exception of "he's got the whole globe in his hands" - that should have been left off the e 2 other songs on the album, "you're own backyard" and "New york Town Song" are both first rate, and more of what you'd expect from dion. they sound like they would fit better on the "sanctuary" album than on this album because they are clean and strightforward recordings (no wall of sound).the streetheart album is memorable for "if i could just obtain thru the night" . the rest of the album is nothing more than gift tracks compared to the born to be with you collection of songs, which clearly aspire to greatness, and actually achieve that goal several times

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be Wild / All About Me []  2020-12-29 21:32

    I just receieved my copy of Born to be Wild and i have to say i love it, i always thought that Kim Wilde has a amazing voice, but with this song she really proves it one more time that she is not just another bomb pop star. I love the 1st track Born to be wild, its so up tempo with some guitar and rock tunes but with all that its very techno-dance. I can't obtain this out of my head :) ohhhh and 4th track All about Me Kim surprises you with her fresh track ALL about ME, its an electro futurastic track but very pure, Kim's voice sounds almoust unreachable but song ends with surprise Electro ending which im not gona give away,, Buy it and then you will thank me, Can't wait for Kim to release her fresh album

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be Wild / All About Me []  2020-12-29 21:32

    I own Born to be Wild, i heard that song before but Kim Wilde did an perfect cover of smash hit Born to be Wild she took it to another lever, very dance and hip style. I love there is some guitar in it too. And another surprise B side song All About Me another hot dance-electro pop song from Kim and her voice sounds so pure and hot, all about Me has very interesting lyrics too that i really enjoy, "Its not about you, Its all about Me, Its nothing u said, i have to be free" sounds small bit like Madonna die another day. Overall i really enjoyed the Cd single with few surprise remixes too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man Born to be King []  2021-4-6 22:56

    This is an amazing, beautiful, deep, heart-rending, uplifting work, based completely on the Bible but with a bit of dramatic license in order to show the life of Christ in the format of a radio play. Every page brings fresh insights into happenings which are almost overly familiar to me. I would love to see it performed by, say, a youth group or speech-and-debate club. I was already a large fan of Dorothy Sayers from some of her other books, and I regret waiting so long to read this work. I have been buying copies for a lot of of my mates who I know would have fun it as much as I do. FYI: the original BBC broadcasts of this play from the 1940s can be found online, and I am enjoying listening to them as I read the text. [Update: these are not currently available, but several churches in both the UK and USA have performed these plays in the latest few years, and some have posted their recordings online. I don't know if we can place links in reviews, but look for, for example, St Michael's Church in Bi's Stortford, Hertfordshire, UK – they performed the latest 5 plays during Holy Week 2012 and have done us all a unbelievable favor by posting their recordings on their church website.]I am more than halfway through this book, and unfortunately there are some truly poor typos, the effect (I assume) of the text having been scanned; for example, in the list of characters for the first play, Herod's name is given as "Heard," and elsewhere "carriage" becomes "carnage." The book should have been proofread before publication! I will be sending the publishers a list of errata as soon as I am done. I *am* grateful to Classical Academic Press for bringing this work back into print, and with such a attractive cover; I hope they will incorporate the corrections into a fresh edition soon.UPDATE 18 Feb. (Ash Wednesday): Yes! Rob at CAP (see the comments on the reviews) asked for my list of errata, and says there may be a fresh edition as early as next month! Kudos to CAP for their commitment to excellence, and to the integrity of this work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man Born to be King []  2021-4-6 22:56

    This series of plays on Jesus' life and ministry reflects Dorothy Sayers' genius as a playwright and her deep adoration of Jesus Christ the Savior. Her insightful rendering of the various characters - from the very human disciples to Judas to Pilate - saturates the writing with moving credibility. Needed for a seminary class, it fully offset the other, laborious scholarly research reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man Born to be King []  2021-4-6 22:56

    I read about this book and the plays therein. I am happy with the condition of the book and even more so because it is a welcome addition to my Dorothy Sayers collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born To Be With You / Streetheart []  2020-7-5 19:56

    As my previous reviews show, I'm a Dion fan. Not this pair of albums though. I was unfamilliar with them and soon will be again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be Wild / All About Me []  2020-12-29 21:32

    If you have followed the career of Ms. Wilde, you will know that she has been in somewhat of a lull for years. She hosts a garden present now intead of singing full time. But BORN TO BE WILD is fantastic! You MUST MUST MUST obtain this if you are a Kim Wilde fan. No word on a fresh album yet. but I am keeping my fingers crossed. (The other fresh song on this CD -- All About Me -- is unbelievable too! More Kim, more, please!)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man Born to be King []  2021-4-6 22:56

    I want I could give this book 8 stars. First of all, the quality of the used hardcover book was as described (very amazing condition); the content beyond compare. It was originally written as a series of 11 (radio) plays for the BBC during WWII, and stands the try of time. It humanizes Jesus and those around Him in the best possible way, with some unbelievable small British idioms as a gift (Matthew is ney!). I cannot recommend highly enough "The Man Born to be King."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be A Sports Agent []  2020-2-2 19:58

    If you are into sports, if you like business, this book is a must read!Wow, the author has led such an extraordinary fun filled life and has accomplished so much. This book delivers an necessary notice about what can and should be done in the professional sports industry and the lives of young athletes, coaches, and sports administrators. You can see that the author has deep respect for the clients she represents, and mentors and tutorials them through the ups and downs of professional sports. Loved all the e authors’ integrity, principles, and code of conduct she portrays is noteworthy.I’m highly impressed by her “Concierge Plan”. It’s quite brilliant if you think about it.Her PAT (Protection, Advocacy, and Trust) is what she is about and truly quite commendable. If you’re looking for an agent, her concierge plan really makes sense!I am an avid college football and NFL fan, and this book was very enlightening. Things aren't always what they seem, and the author has the real inside grasp on all that goes on behind the scenes. Loved it from beginning to end. Will certainly create me think a lot more about the players, players’ families, coaches, and especially coach’s wives and their kids next time I’m at a ballgame!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born To Be With You / Streetheart []  2020-7-5 19:56

    DESPITE THE OPINION OF MOST,I WAS TOTALLY SATISFIED WITH THIS ALBUM.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born To Be With You / Streetheart []  2020-7-5 19:56

    I bought the Dion CD to play int my car. I have been a fan for years and only had the vinyl albums. I played them so much, they were worn out. This covers two scratched vinyls. LOVE it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born To Be With You / Streetheart []  2020-7-5 19:56

    One of my most favourite CDs.Dion has a attractive singing voice as a solo st people seem to be most familiar with his material from his days with The Belmonts,but I love both albums on this CD.Each album has a various sound to it.Dion sounds a small spaced out on Born To Be With reetheart has a bluesy peaceful jazz sound to ck when I was ten years old,I remember having a"20 original hits,20 original stars"type of album called Blazzing Bullets on eight-track tape,during the days when eight-track tapes were the norm.Dion's Create The Woman Love Me was included on the ing this CD from the internet in much more latest time,marks my first time ever hearing this song since I was And Out Of The Shadows is a excellent slow dancing song.I love this song so much,that I sometimes search myself singing along to e saxophone is beautifully played in the song Streetheart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be Wild / All About Me []  2020-12-29 21:32

    In early 80's her songs were one of the most successfully new-wave sound."Cambodia"is number 1 andIdont know why in the UK top 40 she was just only 12!for me she's the one of the best songs in all melody l Kim's songs(Wiev from the bridge, You came,You hold me hangin'on,.....) have some mystic unicue grace sound.I adorre them.And a'm so satisfied that Kim starting a fresh career,and Iwish her a great,large sucsess with her fresh album"born to be wild"and Ijust hope that one day I'll have that album(you know,here it is hard to search in if you wish TO MAKE CONTACT ME ABOUT THIS YOU WELCOME.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be Wild / All About Me []  2020-12-29 21:32

    You can buy and download this song on Amazon MP3 downloads - the album title is "Time After Time Vol.2" and the artist is listed as "Various Artists".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man Born to be King []  2021-4-6 22:56

    So thankful to have stumbled upon this book based on a review of this book by none other than the timeless C.S. Lewis himself. A powerfully thought provoking play written for BBC radio on the life of Jesus. Dorothy Sayers was a brilliant mind and those who are avid readers (as well as those who aren't) should not miss this gem!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man Born to be King []  2021-4-6 22:56

    A creative retelling of the life of Christ, Sayers is faithful to scripture; her skills as a secular author and her deep appreciation of theological truth respond deep questions....and raise the ultimate question to the reader: "who do YOU say I am?"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born To Be With You / Streetheart []  2020-7-5 19:56

    Soulful and magnificent is Dion throughout "Born To Be With You" masterpiece, giving the most illuminating & mesmerizing performances of his brilliant career to date. Engrossing and passionate amazing opener "Born To Be With You", Dion has always been one of my all time favorite male singers and this wondrous gem should have been a large hit, but like the Tina Turner Spector produced classic "River Deep, Mountain High", radio foolishly refused to play this amazing gem for some strange reason. Anyone with an appreciation for amazing singers will go completely nuts over this awesome masterwork, "Make The Woman Love Me" is a soul-deep riveting masterful performance, so completely stirring with Dion at his peak in this awesome classic. Fighting off addictions successfully, self-penned "Your Own Back Yard" is revealing while Dion's uniquely original take with "(He's Got)The Whole In His Hands" is hypnotic and mesmerizing. Beautifully flowing like a ride on a carousel, the engaging "Only You Know" is a ride one doesn't wish to obtain off of...another amazing Fresh York themed song from "King Of The Fresh York Streets" is the gorgeous and engrossing "New York Town Song". "In And Out Of The Shadows" is another soulful Dion anthem necessitating use of that repeat mode, as is the infectious and unusual "Good Lovin' Man" which is a hot rocking rhythmic cooker. Fascinating 50's sounding jam "Baby Let's Stick Together" has a amazing beat with a catchy hand clapping chorus, background vocals are brilliantly mixed to amazing result making this a grand finale that is truly a masterpiece! "Born To Be With You" a brilliant and epic work is a hard act to follow but "Streetheart" (takes a few spins, but once it grabs you...) works nicely & is a classic pop-soul set that is filled with gems from the amazing singer...super-fine ver of Smokey Robinson's "The Method You Do The Things You Do" begin this terrific set with Dion sounding loose and in top form...another powerful performance makes "Runaway Man" engrossing while "Queen Of '59" is classic Dion in a amazing setting. Longing and yearning create "If I Can Just Obtain Through The Night" another stellar performance & awesome radio didn't pick up on this amazing tune that has the sound and feel of a mega-hit. "More To You (Than Meets The Eye)" a gorgeous romantic pop song and things quickly heat up and go into high gear with rhythm rocker "You Showed Me What Love Is" where Dion lets loose and gives another awesome performance that would have with any exposure at all a large hit leading to a deserved "Grammy Award"...Dion delivered but The Melody Industry allow him and the potential audience down. Haunting vocal featured in the soulful "Hey My Love", Dion is strong doing this glorious ballad is another should have been a hit bringing Dion to the top of the charts in the 70's where he belonged...should have happened with the quality of this wonderful double delight set that plays well over and over. Another engaging Dion original "Oh The Night" is a romantic cooker and musicans throughout this amazing work are totally inspired, including greats such as Ernie Watts, Nino Tempo on a mean sax, Phil Everly on harmony and background vocals! "I'll Give You All I've Got" is truly amazing and Dion does exactly that giving his all throughtout this amazing mix of songs and awesome this was not a blockbuster album during the boring Disco period of the 70's...pathetic trade-off and a complete rip-off to Dion and the American public who really lost out missing this double masterpiece...hot rocking "Lover Boy Supreme" is another wondrous Dion original and clearly this is a master at his peak in every way, with airplay this is another gem that would have gone to #1 in a flash! Closing is classic Dion giving his best on the title "Streetheart" another total champion in a totally winning collection filled with a amazing dozens of stellar performances...loose and soulful scatting in this amazing song is unlike anything I have ever heard from this amazing singer who is one of the all time greatest! Bravo Dion, you are best of the best...everyone DON'T MISS THIS STUNNING MUSICAL TREAT!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be Wild / All About Me []  2020-12-29 21:32

    Unbelievable digital melody album!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be Wild / All About Me []  2020-12-29 21:32

    I first heard this song on the www service & I couldn't wait to obtain the single as soon as it was released in Germany. It's so wonderful. She has taken the Steppenwolf classic to an perfect dance level with a very fast, powerful, and hard ver with the radio remix. The second ver is the unique Arabian radio mix with a lot of drums & also a dance ditty. The 3rd ver is the chillout mix with has a bit of r&b feel with a small hip-hop beat. Finally the "b" side is the perfect All About Me with a Madonna feel & simply excellent trance song for the dance floor. This single is her best in at least ten years & hopefully the USA will rediscover the amazing talents of Kim Wilde once again. The latest success she had in the US was her number one hit remake You Hold Me Hangin' On in 1987 so she is long overdue. Whether you like dance, rock, or pop you'll love this song. Check it out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man Born to be King []  2021-4-6 22:56

    Dorothy Sayers is one of the gifted writers of the 20th century, known by most for her Peter Wimsey novels. This series of plays, written for public broadcast by the BBC in the early 1940s, gives us a fully dimensional understanding of the public ministry, trial, and execution of Jesus of Nazareth. And His resurrection . If you have puzzled over the "flat" accounts in the Biblical gospels, it is because, Sayers would tell us, they are densely packed. Dorothy Sayers unpacks them for us with her real writer's skill. You will not place this book down. You will read it through and wish to begin all over again. (As C.S. Lewis did each year in Lent.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Man Born to be King []  2021-4-6 22:56

    Dorothy Sayers was a contemporary of C. S. Lewis. They belonged to a very little group of writers at Oxford who read their works in progress to each other, asking for ideas. She is well known for her Lord Peter Wimsey mysteries. In the case of this book, it was written as a series to be run on the radio in England. The story of Jesus, the Son of God, is told by means of conversations between Jesus, among his followers, and with members of the public. It is simple reading, no descriptions except those at the beginning of each chapter describing the nature of each hero who will be heard in that chapter. You can read those or give them a pass. Her books are usually very wordy, could have done with some judicious cutting. This radio drama moves quickly. You know the story and how it ends, but I found it interesting to feel like I was with His followers, listening in on all the conversations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    unSpirituality: Permission to Be Human []  2020-1-22 22:38

    I bought this thinking it was or would be an intellectual stimulus for my own beliefs and challenge my perception of life. From the begin it's quite well written even though very narrow in view point. He seems to lose interest in his own writings towards the final chapter's and kinda gives up after a very wonderfully charged attack on duality. I liked the book, even if i don't agree with all of it. Check it out but beware it's Different.......lol

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    unSpirituality: Permission to Be Human []  2020-1-22 22:38

    Delve into the realm of un-spirituality with this engaging, thoughtful, and entertainingly-written book. Christopher Loren distinguishes between religion and spirituality, and argues versus superstition of any kind and in favor of a nature-based understanding of the human condition. In his metaphysical quest for meaning, he doesn’t settle for claims about invisible worlds and powers that govern our lives. (He notes that the invisible and the non-existent look exactly the same.) He wants to be honest about what we know subjectively vs. what we can prove to be true.He dissects spiritualism and looks for evolutionary origins for our ideas about God and the afterlife. Its essence is captured in our myths. Those myths stray into Fresh Age ideas like “quantum consciousness” and other woozy propositions that test to sound scientific but are in fact subjective beliefs. For Loren, reality is found in nature and a rational understanding of it. He finds much more grandeur in evolution’s story of life’s origins than that in any religious myth. Nature is a wonder and we are a unbelievable part of it. Let’s obtain real, think clearly, and have fun it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    unSpirituality: Permission to Be Human []  2020-1-22 22:38

    This book is what I have been looking for years. Growing up in Christian family I couldn't fully separate my own thoughts about life from the once programmed on me by religion. As I grew older I have realized I could no longer keep to these implanted beliefs. Trying to fulfill the gap I got fascinated with spirituality and fresh age and again the more I knew the more I felt trapped and uncomfortable. It came to a point that I had to erase all of my beliefs and question everything I have learned in my whole life. Christopher Loren’s book helped me to respond a lot of questions about my psyche and our human nature especially how foolish of us to always find for invisible as we are convinced we are not wholesome without this missing link. His discoveries and insights are deep ysis of humanity in light of historical and scientific aspects. I am truly amazed by his perspectives and ability to illustrate his private journey to freedom.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    unSpirituality: Permission to Be Human []  2020-1-22 22:38

    It is not often one finds a book as refeshing as this one is.Having done both the Christian and Fresh Age circuit and finding both deficient in any semblace of reality or scientific veracity or proof this book provides amazing reasons ing this book is like resetting your computer back to the real default setting. Long overdue respond to all the Spiritual nonsense going on in our globe … a highly recommended read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    unSpirituality: Permission to Be Human []  2020-1-22 22:38

    Finally, a book that connects! I began reading Christopher Loren's "unSpirituality" a few days ago. Once I started it, I could not place it down. The author fearlessly takes you on an intimate journey through his past and into his current state of humanness. I identified with Christopher's private story, as it was related to my own. I'm certain it is related to most people's experiences as well. This author took the courageous step by putting it out there for the globe to see, and I am honored that he e deeper I got into the book the more I felt that this was more than just a amazing read - it is a whole fresh method of living. The author found a way, in my opinion, to begin the reader's heart and mind, and let real healing to begin. Everything that I knew to be real within myself was poetically described on the pages of "unSpirituality."What I took away from this book was simply this: It gave me the permission to be unapologetically me; to trust the instincts I had suppressed for decades, and let them to finally surface; and let myself to live my authentic life. What a relief! This is an extraordinary, liberating ristopher Loren has stumbled upon a fresh philosophy of living, one of the amazing pioneers of our time. Perhaps a bit controversial and cutting-edge, which is exactly the type of author I love to read. He is exactly the type of author the globe has been waiting ter reading this book, I can say I am changed forever. I no longer see things the method I saw them before. My mind is begin and the possibilities to my private healing are unlimited. I am grateful for the bonus that Christopher Loren is to the world, and for this tremendous book. Thank you, maste,Zushka

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    unSpirituality: Permission to Be Human []  2020-1-22 22:38

    While this work starts off with an interesting premise it unfortunately falls short in providing any true NEW enlightenment. It's a amazing read perhaps for those who are just beginning to question the traditions that have been passed down since the beginning of smart life on this planet. Don't regret spending the cash but I would have passed this one up if there was a decent book review by a credible source that I could have used prior to purchasing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    unSpirituality: Permission to Be Human []  2020-1-22 22:38

    What an awesome book! This is a welcome change to the modern perspective on "spirituality" and the self-serving predators that lie in wait for their next victim. Chris takes a no-nonsense approach to the human experience, without the need to attribute anything to a fantasy figure that always seems to be watching. I want this kind of writing had been around when I began my own seeking. Instead, I got wrapped up in dreaming of fantasy states of existences that were nothing more than endless rabbit holes.unSpirituality deals with direct human experiences. There are far too a lot of books, teachers, and new-age thinkers that are telling those that are looking for the respond to their suffering to shun the sensations of the body and the thinking mind. These physical, mental, and emotional hard times arise due to our evolutionary survival mechanism telling us that something is amiss. Instead of rushing into a feel-good story about some non-self state of non-existence, Chris invites us to look into the matter at hand. won't search any talk about needing to be saved, how to obtain into Heaven (or who isn't allowed), heart-wrenching stories about the Void/Absolute/No-Self, or mystical powers. What you will search is a amazing invitation to question your story and everything about ank you, Chris.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    unSpirituality: Permission to Be Human []  2020-1-22 22:38

    Provoking book, and glad to read about this man's experiences, because they parallel my own. There is much more to this conversation, however. I would add CATASTROPHISM to the subject, the works of Velikovsky, etc., and more historical info about WHO made the religions we tend to follow and FOR WHAT PURPOSES. Leaving churches and newagery behind is not just a private choice, it is a private response to false history and false education, which are the true problems, IMO.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    unSpirituality: Permission to Be Human []  2020-1-22 22:38

    Wonderful! It created me cry! But not because of a nostalgic feeling of lost mysticism but more because of a fresh sense of freedom. As if a massive weight would be lifted and a marvelous landscape of natural wonders was waiting, already there, ready to be discovered. I think this book is the missing link between Science and Spirituality. It is the long awaited reunion of Nature and our Subjective, as the coming back together of two twin siblings separated at birth. It is also a pleasure to read somebody's visions so clearly, without presumptions or any kind of obligation from our part to take sides, agree or disagree.I highly recommend this book. The discoveries offered by Christopher Loren, based on evidence and a deep understanding of the human inner world, are special and priceless. An opportunity to grow, not to be missed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    unSpirituality: Permission to Be Human []  2020-1-22 22:38

    "Permission To Be Human" is a must read for anyone who has traveled or is curious about the who am I and where did I come from journey. The info in this book opens so a lot of doors into the human ristopher Loren writes from experience and the heart. A book I could not place down. Looking forward to the next one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born To Be Blue [LP][Blue Note Tone Poet Series] []  2020-6-12 19:5

    O.M.G. These Tone Poet reissue lps are incredible-sound, packaging, etc. Do not hesitate to purchase one or more. The Amazon packaging was less than excellent but luckily no hurt to my record.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be Good: The Science of a Meaningful Life []  2020-2-6 21:46

    This book contains a breadth of examples from a lot of cultures, art, and literature from the time of the Greeks to the modern period on the meaning of facial expressions and the effects of neuropeptides on the emotions that makes it simple and engaging to read. The focus is on the jen ratio (the balance of amazing and poor in one's life). The notes are invaluable for further reading on the smile, embarrassment, laughter, touch, and love among animals and humans, showing the common threads that link all of us.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be Good: The Science of a Meaningful Life []  2020-2-6 21:46

    This book brings up a lot of interesting reasons to why we should be amazing and that it is natural for us to be. It is a nice, simple read, and very warm hearted. I voted 4 stars because after reading the book, it did not convince me that we were "born to be good", but rather "born good". There is no mention throughout the book of reasons why people would not be good. I happened to take the book in a more literal sense, but it still holds true. There are a lot of situations in people's lives that does not permit them to choose the most righteous path. Perhaps those of us fortunate to be born in a first globe country or to a amazing family has the ability and the means to be good. But those of us born elsewhere, not in the greatest of situations simply can't do that to is is a nice book and is very optimistic about the world. However it does not come it from everyone's perspective.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be Good: The Science of a Meaningful Life []  2020-2-6 21:46

    Keltner has done a masterful job of showing us how socialization really works. We are not entirely a blank slate and not entirely not one. We have a hard-wired capacity to learn language, beautiful much everyone knows this by now, but we also have a hard-wired capacity to make community solidarity, and culture. We are far more inclined to attach and bond than to war -- within our little community, at least. Keltner nails down exactly how this manifests bio-chemically. How the rational part of our brain develops, and can only develop, through social interaction, how it produces chemical rewards when we obtain it right, and how incredibly adaptive to our environment this makes us. He tips at, but does not quite discover the idea that when one community dominates and exploits another (where "others" are concerned, the drive to bond competes about equally with the drive to out-survive -- another theme Kelter tips at and might have explored in more depth), the dominators may quite cleverly institute policies that disrupt community connectivity among the dominated. For example, Puritans proscriptions versus hugging, kissing, dancing and singing surely enhanced the ability of controlling elites to manage somewhat demoralized masses. But the book including this kind of speculation, and a lot of others implied by latest discoveries in attachment and brain plasticity research remains to be written. Maybe Kelter will do it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Idi & the Talisman of Talia (Born to Be Book 2) [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    I knew as soon as I fished part one, well before I finished it, that I would be reading part two. This story picks up where the first left off and also adds fresh threads and fun fresh characters to the adventure. One of my favorites from part one, Marcus, really shines again in this part. I also still love the beauty of Idi’s character. The goblins were such a fun addition, really e plot was intense. Like in the first part there was more than one thread that wound around each other to come together into a cohesive, fascinating story. There wasn’t a dull moment. The descriptions helped with slipping into the magical world. I couldn’t believe some of the revelations, it was so amazing to watch the story deepen. I don’t wish to give away things that might spoil part one or this part for other readers, so I will just say the family threads were very ere is a true beauty to the style, characters, and message. I highly recommend this series for fantasy readers of all ages. I instantly picked up the next part and can’t wait to obtain started.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Idi & the Talisman of Talia (Born to Be Book 2) [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    In Idi & the Talisman of Talia, the characters I’ve grown to care for in the first book are back and they are on the move, getting ready for battle. I love all of the various perspectives as I am immersed in the worlds of the various factions which create up Talia. I saw how Idi has grown up into a mature man who realizes he is more than just a name, yet he still has insecurities with regard to who he really is, why his parents gave him up, and how he can possibly become everything the Oracle says he will be. This story could be enjoyed by all ages and I would recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Broken (Alpha's Claim Book 2) []  2021-4-6 23:24

    Book appears well written. Spelling and grammar is r those who are fans of the genre, the story line should not be aracters somewhat developed, better job could have been done of ever and the reason I have returned this, asking for a refund, is the fact that as a reader I wish some "closure" for the main characters. Now on book 4 of the series, Shepherd and Claire's story is still dragging and with no end in mething also that does not sit well with me is the treatment of a post-rape PTSD. Very poorly researched and nce even on book 4 of the series I see no end nor closure and Am not willing to hold paying and expecting an end, this will be returned and a refund ame on the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Broken (Alpha's Claim Book 2) []  2021-4-6 23:24

    5+ Omegaverse StarsHoly Hell I love Addison Cain and this Omegaverse globe that she has created. Much like the first book in this series I was riveted. Life beautiful much ceased to exist once I started reading. When I first started this series someone told me that it wasn't finished. I knew that I had to wait until they were all out before I proceeded any further. Finally, I was told that Claire and Sheppard were going to have a conclusion so I started the series again. Boy, oh Boy, how I managed to go months without reading this disfunctional, crazy, but hot as Satan's mistress couple I do not aire. Sweet holy hell. This girl is a fighter. I love her. Rather than just accept that she is a weaker person because she is an Omega she uses that to her advantage. There is no glass ceiling for her. She is playing the android game and playing it eppard. Despite the despicable things he has done he still has a softer side. That softer side is Sheppard. We learn more about his history in this book and what makes him the method that he is. He has demons and because of those things he yearns for that connection or human touch so to speak. He wants acceptance and adoration. He wants to be gether these two are HOT. Like 3rd degree blister hot. I wish to see them happy. I wish to believe that this relationship is true and not just some forced pair to read the third book. Looks like my life will be at a standstill again. Who needs a clean house or sleep anyway?!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Idi & the Talisman of Talia (Born to Be Book 2) [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    After reading book 1, I was anxiously anticipating the next adventure! The author truly captures the attention of the reader and takes you on a magical journey through an intriguing fantasy realm. It was a unbelievable read and I would highly recommend this to any fantasy fanatic. Can't wait for book 3!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be Good: The Science of a Meaningful Life []  2020-2-6 21:46

    It helps that I'm just nuts about this topic but Dacher covers so much of what makes us good. The science that supports it and how we can capitalize on it to create our life better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born To Be Blue [LP][Blue Note Tone Poet Series] []  2020-6-12 19:5

    I puchased and replaced same album 5 times from Amazon. Unfortunately each of them had some manufacturing problems either on Side A or Side B, mainly annoying signal noise on side b. After the few fresh purchases and some replacement now I am tired of dealing with this album. Probably also tired, because they didn't answer to my latest notice which is not common. Now I hold the latest copy with all it's h album and the remastering is fantastic, if you can search clean copy. I bought all Tone Poet series vinyls, this is the worst experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born To Be Blue [LP][Blue Note Tone Poet Series] []  2020-6-12 19:5

    My goodness perfect pressing sound quality is really amazing 👍🏼 with vodka on the sides 🍷 me and my wife can’t stop dancing 🕺 😊

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Broken (Alpha's Claim Book 2) []  2021-4-6 23:24

    I don't even know where to start. This series is very much out of my normal purview of books. It's so completely off but not in a poor way.I found Ms. Cain on an odd possibility for her to be a sponsored page on my Fb feed. The few sentences sounded intriguing enough and very smexy. So I thought the first book is free on KU so I'll give it a try. And man, have I not been disappointed.I have a beautiful begin mind in my reading. Contemporary, rom-com, paranormal, historical romance, science fiction (aliens can be y too sometimes), I even read a mermen book. So you can see I have a rather eclectic tastes. But this book, odd though it may be, was completely entertaining. The plot was amazing. I did very much have fun it. This does go for book one and epard and Claire ... I don't even know what to say. They are both brilliant characters. I have never and I mean never read a heroine as powerful and vulnerable as Claire is. She is a heroine to be modeled after again and again. And the amount that Shepard has grown is phenomenal. Although of course there's a point where you wish to punch him in the knot. You'll know when you obtain is is all so praising I'm sure there's a question as to why 4 stars instead of 5. Here's the thing. This book will create you uncomfortable. It will create you shift a small wherever you're reading it. It's not for those who don't care for dark themes. Hold in mind, this is a post apocalyptic globe where people have beautiful much just lost their minds. And if what ive read is any indication, things may not obtain any better. That's not part of this review but I do search myself wanting to ask Ms. Cain if she would like a hug and a cookie.Wish me luck in the third book.A!so I'm really helping our beta Corday makes it through mostly unscathed. We'll see.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Broken (Alpha's Claim Book 2) []  2021-4-6 23:24

    I like the characters, and I like the story. I just don't like it enough to spend another $10 to buy the next two books. I think for $5, I should have had more of a story. It's method too expensive for an ebook.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Idi & the Talisman of Talia (Born to Be Book 2) [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    An okay read for before bedtime

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be Good: The Science of a Meaningful Life []  2020-2-6 21:46

    Uplifting and full of amazing information. Mr. Keltner walks his talk and is making the globe a better put one smile at a time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born To Be Blue [LP][Blue Note Tone Poet Series] []  2020-6-12 19:5

    I won't review the music, because melody itself is very subjective. But, if you are a high quality vinyl snob and a fan of Grant Green, you'll love this Tone Poet vinyl release. Amazing pressing, amazing all og mastering, amazing art/cover, super quiet vinyl. Fresh vinyl releases don't obtain better than this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born To Be Blue [LP][Blue Note Tone Poet Series] []  2020-6-12 19:5

    What a tremendous record. Well recorded and pressed. Sonny Clark and Grant Green. Doesn’t obtain much better than this. Thank you Blue Note Tone Poet LP.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Broken (Alpha's Claim Book 2) []  2021-4-6 23:24

    Although the H usually isn't the villain, the warlord Shepard in Tholos definitely is both. The only other time I loved the villain so much was in R L Smith's Heat. Even though his devotion to her is "instinctual" as Claire kept trying to convince herself in book 1, I believe Shepard has finally convinced her otherwise - any method he has convinced me. Although he has nothave any idea on how to be romantic - as Claire likes to remind herself - I have never read a H who was as attentive, loving, passionate and all consumed by his friend as Shepard is by Claire - regardless of other complications. I did obtain tired of Claire's self righteousness and naive morality. I thought her finding and reading The Art of Battle by Sun Tzu was a brilliant method for her to develop a method to handle Shepard which adversely also allowed her to begin to see the true man underneath the monster. I loved Born to be Broken and look forward to reading the final installment - Reborn!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Broken (Alpha's Claim Book 2) []  2021-4-6 23:24

    Mild Spoilers - This book was much better than the first book on multiple levels. First, she really developed the characters. After having read book one, I struggled with understanding Shepherd's motivations. Over the course of this book, we got to see how his hero was forged and why he acted the method he acted. There was some amazing in him somewhere, even if it was hard to see at times. His blind devotion to Svana was confusing to me - he was portrayed as a amazing leader of men, yet he couldn't see past her façade, despite damning evidence before him. Claire grew as well, finding inspiration in The Art of Battle to support tutorial how she interacted with Shepherd. However, I found her belief system a small screwed up. She had no issue despairing the loss of life all around her, but when it came to thoughts of killing herself, and her unborn child, it was like "collateral hurt happens". And despite the fact that it was demonstrated time and again that were was no humanity left in Tholos at all - eg frozen dead kid, she herself was once again ostracized by her fellow omegas, etc. - she seemed to think society would revert to normal if only Shepherd would stop his evil plan. That belief system was keeping her from forming an attachment to Shepherd so it got annoying that she continued to cling to it long after she should have e globe building was powerful and it was elaborated on to a greater extent than in the first book. The underlying plot advanced well, but at times it got a small confusing - what Svana was trying to do with the resistance was unclear to me (maybe it was supposed to unclear and will be addressed in the third book). Last, the dialogue was kind of strange. When Claire spoke to Maryanne, it was in modern day speech patterns, but when she spoke to Shepherd, it was in highly formal, Oscar Wilde style speech - the contrast was very jarring. I look forward to reading the conclusion of this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be Good: The Science of a Meaningful Life []  2020-2-6 21:46

    I dunno why it was recommended, I'm just kinda having fun with reviews

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to Be Good: The Science of a Meaningful Life []  2020-2-6 21:46

    Dacher Keltner has presented the best evidence that I have seen that altruism is one of our deepest instincts. Keltner has yzed thousands of photos of split-second expressions on human faces, and demonstrates that the expressions associated with empathy occur faster than would be possible with conscious thought. I believe that this is something very necessary that everyone should know about human nature.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born To Be Blue [LP][Blue Note Tone Poet Series] []  2020-6-12 19:5

    I have purchased stuff from the Melody Matters series, and judging by this Grant Green album (my first Tone Poet album) the Tone Poet series is oh so nearly as amazing as the Melody Matters series, especially on quality of the jacket! But I swear I was hearing something a small strange in the piano and the drums. It's hard to explain it but it seems like a transfer issue somewhere along the line or the master tapes had a flaw that happened over the latest whatever years. Tape isn't forever which is why they digitize them (booo to that, but I digress!) I must say I only hear this issue when I'm listening very critically so it may not be audible on all systems. All in all, I'll definitely test a couple more from the Tone Poet series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born To Be Blue [LP][Blue Note Tone Poet Series] []  2020-6-12 19:5

    Amazing pressing of a amazing album. The Blue Note Tone Poet Series is excellent. Grant Green on guitar, Ike Quebec on saxophone, Sonny Clark on piano, Sam Jones on bass, and Louis Hayes on drums are in perfect form. A very bluesy jazz album and highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born To Be Blue [LP][Blue Note Tone Poet Series] []  2020-6-12 19:5

    Simply put, this is one spectacular pressing with a attractive jacket.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Broken (Alpha's Claim Book 2) []  2021-4-6 23:24

    This story is NOT a romance. No HE A. I actually like these type of stories, but I don't like infidelity and not knowing what the heck happened.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Born to be Broken (Alpha's Claim Book 2) []  2021-4-6 23:24

    I don't even know where to start. This series is very much out of my normal purview of books. It's so completely off but not in a poor way.I found Ms. Cain on an odd possibility for her to be a sponsored page on my Fb feed. The few sentences sounded intriguing enough and very smexy. So I thought the first book is free on KU so I'll give it a try. And man, have I not been disappointed.I have a beautiful begin mind in my reading. Contemporary, , paranormal, historical romance, science fiction (aliens can be y too sometimes), So you can see I have a rather eclectic tastes. But this book, odd though it may be, was completely entertaining. The plot was amazing. I did very much have fun it. This does go for book one and epard and Claire ... I don't even know what to say. They are both brilliant characters. I have never and I mean never read a heroine as powerful and vulnerable as Claire is. She is a heroine to be modeled after again and again. And the amount that Shepard has grown is phenomenal. Although of course there's a point where you wish to punch him in the knot. You'll know when you obtain is is all so praising I'm sure there's a question as to why 4 stars instead of 5. Here's the thing. This book will create you uncomfortable. It will create you shift a small wherever you're reading it. It's not for those who don't care for dark themes. Hold in mind, this is a post apocalyptic globe where people have beautiful much just lost their minds. Things may not obtain any better. That's not part of this review but I do search myself wanting to ask Ms. Cain if she would like a hug and a cookie.Wish me luck in the third book.A!so I'm really helping our beta Corday makes it through mostly unscathed. We'll less

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Idi & the Talisman of Talia (Born to Be Book 2) [Book]  2018-3-6 18:1

    Idi & The Talisman of Talia by T N Traynor. This is book two of the ‘Born to Be’ trilogy and neatly picks up where book 1 finished. The book title suggests that ‘Ide’ is the main character, but, there are several threads to this story with a lot of characters playing major roles. I found myself identifying with Marcus and Katrina. Tracey’s easy-to-read style kept my attention for several days. She builds scenes with amazing atmosphere using countryside and weather to the maximum. With descriptive skill, Tracey draws emotions to the front and then fades them in exhaustion. My copy was obtained on one of Tracey's weekend free promotions and my review is given in the same spirit.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386