Read botswana from the outside in reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all botswana from the outside in reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Rails 5: Rails from the Outside In []  2020-2-2 17:13

    I was disappointed it did not address ActionCable or API mode which are fresh to Rails 5. The only reference to action cable I could search was in the end of the book on one of the latest pages as a definition. It really just seemed to be a rework of an older ver perhaps to be compatible with Rails 5, but not much effort seemed to be created to create the code relevant to rails 5 and understanding it's fresh features, which is SPECIFICALLY why I bought the book. Honestly I would not recommend this book if your interest is in rails 5 specifically. It would be amazing for a beginner who knows very small ands just wants to learn rails in general, but I personally felt that it was a large allow down for someone who wanted a more comprehensive introduction to rails 5 and it's features.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Rails 5: Rails from the Outside In []  2020-2-2 17:13

    Clears everything up for me

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Learning Rails 5: Rails from the Outside In []  2020-2-2 17:13

    I'm very much happy with it!

    0  


    Add your opinion on botswana from the outside in or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    On The Roof In Africa (Namibia & Botswana Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:52

    A fun read with lots of interesting info for travelers. Impressed with the couples calmness and sense of humor when dealing with some frustrating and somewhat scary encounters.Where are the follow up books? Can not search them and most definitely wish to read them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Out There: The Wildest Stories from Outside Magazine []  2020-2-4 15:17

    Ive been an outside magazine reader for decades. This book collects some of the best stories published in the mag, Ive given copies to several friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Out There: The Wildest Stories from Outside Magazine []  2020-2-4 15:17

    I laughed so hard my guts damage and I was blinded by tears, which nearly caused me to crash our vehicle as my wife read the first story. So funny!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Place Outside the Law: Forgotten Voices from Guantanamo []  2020-2-6 19:54

    This is a hard read because of all the abuse that takes put at the Guantanamo bay prison in Cuba with the captured men from a not required war, but very interesting. There are still prisoners there!Hopefully after reading this book people can be more understanding to other peoples needs , and not treat people like a piece of trash..Like I said this was a hard read for me, but every one should read this book, and the truth be was written well..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Place Outside the Law: Forgotten Voices from Guantanamo []  2020-2-6 19:54

    Forgotten is a amazing word to describe the prisoners at Guantanamo Bay in that the United States and our allies captured and transported them to this prison in the middle of nowhere where they have been largely forgotten by the American public and the camera lens eyes of the news media. Because of this, I feel like Peter Jan Honigsberg’s A Put Outside the Law is about forgetting that we still have people imprisoned there who deserve to be forgotten for the evil deeds they may have supported . Or maybe the Forgotten is the principles of American democracy and human decency that allowed such a put to exist in the first place. I guess how one resolves this question of what is forgotten and why will determine how they feel about this er Jan Honigsberg for whatever else may be able to be said, does give the reader a decent look at Guantanamo Bay through the eyes of prisoners and the guard/soldiers who it has irrevocably changed. A lot of of the stories do create me believe that Guantanamo is a poor put and Honigsberg was intelligent to contain voices other than prisoners to blunt the charges of “well of course the prisoners are going to complain about being in prison.”But still I search myself torn like maybe the truth is somewhere further right to Honigsberg’s admittedly human rights centric approach, even though I don’t really wish to go down that rabbit hole because surely Guantanamo didn’t house a bunch of choir boys. But if we can willfully discard our values so easily what does that say about our values? These are the types of questions I struggle with reading A Put Outside the Law, so if nothing else it’s a useful conversation piece.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Place Outside the Law: Forgotten Voices from Guantanamo []  2020-2-6 19:54

    There's no question this is a solid work of research and history, but it's certainly not a book meant for "entertainment." I think the audience will primarily be future researchers and writers who wish a solid collection of first-hand accounts to draw from, both from this book and the "Witness to Guantanamo" interview cause it is a collection of interviews without a constant narrative thread, it has a very literal sense - this is what "X" person said about being a guard, lawyer, administrator, prisoner, family member, etc., and the paths of the interviewees rarely cross. That's a fine historical approach, and for a researcher using this book it will create it easier to navigate. For a curious reader who wants to know more, it will def. inform, but at a loss of the 'storytelling' aspect. Of course, the book and the situation are not meant to entertain, so that seems absurd. But, on the other hand, the book works best if it reaches a wide audience. Honigsberg wrote an intense essay about his first trip to Guantanamo, and I [email protected]#$%! had been included here to give more narrative grounding.Speaking to the book's actual content, it's depressing how prescient some of the comments turned out to be - critics said that allowing some put like Guantanamo was the first step in turning away from democracy, and that prediction held up. As soon as we, as a country, allowed this sort of extrajudicial punishment, we basically sacrificed our morality for revenge. We're all equally guilty - unless you're a tax resistor, it's on prisoner was a child who threw a grenade that killed a couple soldiers in Afghanistan. Yeah, terrible. There are Germans walking around right now who probably machine-gunned tons of Americans. They aren't holed up in secret prisons - because that's what happens in war. People obtain blown up by grenades. So it's absurd that we invade a country, take prisoners, and don't call it war. That sort of situational morality has all sorts of by-products which we're living through right the book does create a reader think about things like that - but the unconnected chapters created me feel like I was reading a college textbook at times.I was deployed to Guantanamo in the 1990s for the Haitian refugee crisis. It's a literal tropical paradise, but also isolating in a spooky way. I can easily see how a prison guard would feel tormented by such a pristine landscape containing such an poor job. I can also easily see how the isolation would enable a guard to feel unconnected to society's moral expectations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Out There: The Wildest Stories from Outside Magazine []  2020-2-4 15:17

    Amazing stories for the most part. Some were funny and interesting. Eventually though it started to be a bit of a chore to continue reading. I should have stuck to a story every week. My thanks to Outside Magazine and Netgalley.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Out There: The Wildest Stories from Outside Magazine []  2020-2-4 15:17

    I always have fun writing of outdoor adventures and this book provided a number of amazing stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Place Outside the Law: Forgotten Voices from Guantanamo []  2020-2-6 19:54

    This is a strong strong collection of accounts of the some people have to for the battle on terror. For peace of mind. For some. I'm an emotional person and thus I found this quite difficult to read. That humanity can be lost so completely. Not all are guilty but for all to be treated as such, to know that people of amazing power can be so cruel, to force people to be so cruel and to make laws specifically to let it. These are true life stories that required to be told and listened to. Not just what happened during but also after. So a lot of lives changed, so a lot of paths altered. This book did a amazing job of giving a voice to those who suffered and it was interesting and heartbreaking to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Place Outside the Law: Forgotten Voices from Guantanamo []  2020-2-6 19:54

    Oh boy here we go.. This book was clearly written to persuade the Reader towards a one-sided agenda regarding GB and doesn't even test to hide that fact but that is the Author's right to do so but it's also mine to not agree with that point of view., so let's just place that out there gardless, the point of this review is the book itself and it is well written it does include a lot of facts and it is informative and well written. I learned some thing from this book so despite my opinions & views I did take something away from reading it.I do agree with it that changes need to be created and at the end of the day, people DO deserve humane treatment, even if they don't treat others humanly. The thing is though, if you wish to be treated like a human being- don't do things to obtain yourself place in Guantanamo Bay Prison. Period. Because everyone knows what happens there and everyone knows why it needs to be in existence.BUT however, as this book points out, there are innocent people suffering the same fate as the guilty and that is why this info needs to be told. Some of the things you read in this book are downright disturbing and for the innocent it is horrific to envision them being treated so vile, I just think this book should have been written on a more unbiased viewpoint so more people would "get it" the method it's intended. 4 stars.*If this review helped you create an informed choice about this product in any method I would appreciate it if you take a moment of your time and allow me know by hitting the Helpful button and letting me know. I appreciate that you took the time to read my review, Thank you!*

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Place Outside the Law: Forgotten Voices from Guantanamo []  2020-2-6 19:54

    This collection of interviews is extremely emotional. Regardless of your beliefs regarding the process that got us here, these stories are necessary to history. If we had recordings like this for all our wars, maybe we would have a bit more respect for people and their suffering, a bit more respect for war.“…Peter Jan Honingberg uncovers a haunting portrait of life at the military prison and its toll, not only on the detainees and their loved ones but also in its military and civilian personnel…” this is the quote that I believe sums up this entire work. It is a deeply private collection of voices and their roller coaster of emotions. I simply cannot imagine what they when through, how they cope and how, in spite of everything hope was still there. This collection covers a wide range of voices, not just detainees and it is vital to gather vices from all sides, gather more testimony.I think this book/these stories should be mandatory reading for all who care about humanity, are in politics, or just wish to see a sliver of the outcome from such a tragedy.I required to read these slowly as I wanted to take in the stories and their impact. I think that this was well done with very small bias. It is necessary to record history. I will be looking up the full length interviews from Duke University Human Rights Archive and listening to more stories. I appreciate the author and all his work (as well as his teams) and hope this collection spreads for all to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Out There: The Wildest Stories from Outside Magazine []  2020-2-4 15:17

    I love the Outside magazine, and have read it for over 25 years. I have the first book of articles and looked forward to reading all my favorite articles. First the articles are the best!I got my copy from the library and here is why one star e binding is very and will not last, and I wish to it on my fire so I can create the print a small bigger, its small, and I wish the back lighting and to be able to haul it around for those times we spend t with it Outside, I wish to it from amazon . I do not wish a hard copy,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Out There: The Wildest Stories from Outside Magazine []  2020-2-4 15:17

    This was a bonus for my husband, he likes it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Out There: The Wildest Stories from Outside Magazine []  2020-2-4 15:17

    Fun book - each chapter an interesting story in a various part of the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Place Outside the Law: Forgotten Voices from Guantanamo []  2020-2-6 19:54

    The author thinks Guantanamo Bay should never have been opened, and that the U.S. had no right to detain anyone is book, while interesting, does not convince 's not objective. The author clearly states his bias. Worse, he omits much necessary info and accepts as fact much that undermines his e author wants readers to sympathize with Guantanamo Bay detainees. He provides dozens of feel-good information on detainees, people who worked with them and “experts” from the so-called Center for Constitutional Rights, among others. Feeling looks, crying, sympathetic comments from parents, a conversion to Islam (since the prisoners were so nice), etc.A 2006 Seton Hall paper cited here (p. 18) claims that only 8 percent of GB detainees were “al Qaeda fighters” while 55 percent were not hostile to the U.S. That is, 55 percent had committed no “hostile act” versus the U.S. “on the battlefield.” (Of course that would leave much room for hostility, e.g. to plan hostile acts, help in hostile acts, fund hostile acts, and so on.)Indeed, as of September 2018, the U.S. Director of National Intelligence reported to Congress that of the 729 detainees by then transferred from Guantanamo Bay, 123 had demonstrably reengaged in terrorism; another 99 were suspected to reengage in terrorism, most before January short, more than 30 percent of those released returned to terrorism or were suspected to have returned to terrorism, making suspect the mere, innocent-sounding, 8 percent of original detainees that had been “fighters.”There was a lot more animosity towards the U.S. amongst those GB detainees than suggested by either the Seton Hall study or the book's 's another problem: the Center for Constitutional Rights that backed the author's project intentionally named itself to sound fundamentally pro-American. But a closer look calls the Center's real purpose into e lead problem for this group, according to its web page, is “abusive immigration practices,” not constitutional e U.S. Constitution, of course, established the laws of our nation, the United States of opens, “We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more excellent Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defence, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.”Not a single word in the constitution concerns t a single word gives access to the United States to foreigners. Indeed, the constitution opens with the need for “domestic tranquility” and “the common defense.”Later articles and clauses cover, among other things, the means to prosecute opponents and traitors.But access to America is not a constitutional right, and the denial to foreigners of access to the U.S. does not constitute an abuse of immigration practices or e Center, though, wants anyone and everyone to have access to the U.S. It seeks to destroy immigration laws and all means to enforce them.And so what if 19 foreigners, most of the in the U.S. illegally, attacked the U.S. on 9/11?Among the Center's board members is Laila Al-Arian, the eldest daughter of Sami Al-Arian, a terrorist fundraiser who lied about his terrorist affiliations to gain American residency and citizenship and was in 2007 deported for it. While Laila Al-Arian is not guilty of her father's crimes (and the Constitution prohibits such conferrence of guilt), she does object to U.S. immigration laws and their enforcement, doubtless since her father was, after all, legally deported according to those owing all this, and knowing that Peter Jan Honigsberg is backed by the misleadingly named Center for Constitutional Rights, establishes doubt as to the veracity of a lot of more assertions in this r example, the author writes (p.8), with no footnotes or other authentication, that after 9/11 “there were countless stories of brown people, Muslims, people of South Asian decent, and people of Middle Eastern decent who were harassed in public venues and on roads throughout the country.”Yes, there were stories. For example, Egyptian Sheikh Muhammad Al-Gameia of Al-Azhar University served until Sept. 28, 2001 as Imam at Fresh York City's Islamic Cultural Center and Mosque on 96th street. Once back in Egypt, Al-Gameia (aka Gemeaha) claimed he had been harassed and said “only the Jews” could have perpetrated September 11. If Americans knew, “they would have done to Jews what Hitler did.” He added, Allah says Jews “disseminate corruption in the land” and spread “heresy, homosexuality, alcoholism, and drugs.”Whether the author included this particular Muslim allegation of post 9/11 harrassment in his unsubstantiated “stories,” I don't know. But with no evidence whatsoever, he accepts “anecdotal” as factual, and encourages readers do so too.Often anecdotes are wrong, however. Reporters have documented at least 60 anti-Muslim hate crime hoaxes since 2001.Take the 7/9/2004 arson at a Muslim-operated Everett, Washington grocery, first reported as a hate crime. Investigators found that shop operator Mirza Akram staged the arson to collect insurance and avoid a huge scheduled payment on his shop purchase. And despite the fraud, “human rights” groups still falsely report this case (and others like it) an anti-Muslim “hate crimes.”The author leads us to believe that a huge percentage of the detainees in Guantanamo should never have been brought there, that they were peaceful and innocent people, simply in the wrong put at the wrong e author discusses the case of a British trio, the so-called Tipton Three---Rhuhel Ahmed, Asif Iqbal and Shafiq Rasul. Detained in north Afghanistan on Nov. 28 2001 by General Abdul Rashid Dostum's men, they were sent to Guantanamo as suspected terrorists and remained until their March 2004 releases, without charge.But noted by as the renowned International Centre for the Study of Radicalisation (ICSR) at the King's College in London, Rhuhel Ahmed in 2007 admitted he had visited an Islamist training camp, and there learned to handle weapons like AK-47s. In a Jan. 2010 BBC interview, his compatriots confirmed that story. A lot of times, they all went “to the Taliban training camp,” one said. They were later “in Afghanistan,” where they'd gone to war jihad versus the West, as encouraged by the imam at the Tipton ese guys cleaned up on stories broadcast on the alleged abuses they suffered at Guantanamo. But by their own admission, they went to Afghanistan to war jihad versus the is book opens with the atrocities committed versus America and Americans on Sept. 11, 2001 and the more than 3,300 people who died that day. But it does not mention the deaths of at least 446 more as a effect of exposure to the toxic materials loosed in that attack and it does not mention the tons of terrorist attacks attempted and created in America and overseas since.And the book quickly forgets the horror of those attacks and encourages us to embrace our opponents and disparage the U.S. This Guantanamo guard converted to Islam. That habeas corpus attorney quit her job and abandoned the U.S. And so on.Obviously, the U.S. had (and has) a issue on how to handle the alleged perpetrators of 9/11. And maybe Guantanamo has not been a excellent solution. But was it as horrible as this author wants us to think? I doubt it.War is hell, and the U.S. did not begin this battle nor did the U.S. have any clear means of dealing with non-state opponent reover, we have incarcerated alleged 9/11 mastermind Khalid Sheikh Mohammed, also suspected for the 2002 murder of Wall Road Journal reporter Daniel Pearl. We have four other alleged genocidal maniacs as well. Their terrorism trials are scheduled to start in January e story here that most interested me was that of the 20 Uighur Muslims who had lived in the Tora Bora mountains or in Pakistan and were turned over to the U.S. They had reportedly gone to Afghanistan and Pakistan to learn how to war versus China. Their complaints, the book contends, were understandably with ina had grabbed East Turkestan in the mid 1990s, renamed it Xinjiang, and then proceeded to conduct cultural genocide, related to what began in Tibet with its 1949-1950 invasion. I feel sorry for them, but their plight does not negate the U.S. need to detain and prosecute its enemies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Place Outside the Law: Forgotten Voices from Guantanamo []  2020-2-6 19:54

    First of all, I have my own political beliefs which I will omit while analyzing the contents of this book. Since it is very controversial, and one can review the content based on which side of blue or red they sit on, I'm going to test and avoid either side even if one could argue that the author is biased BUT one could also argue that there was 158 interviews conducted across 20 countries which would take a considerable amount of time to organize, evaluate and write and based on this alone, this book was tremendously well written. I do believe there were a lot of injustices created and sadly allowed. Do I believe that there should have been no GB? No.Just as with the immigration problems TODAY, I believe there needs to be law and but also believe that law and should be conducted as humanely and justly as possible and there should be checks and balances to ensure people are treated with dignity with human rights in mind.We can point fingers and blame all day long but that solves nothing neither back then, now nor in the future. I don't blame people who did their jobs according to the law but I do blame those who take the law inside their own hands and laws that need to be changed or updated to reflect society's norms of what is right and is book brings to light what is wrong with how governments are able to justify doing just about anything in the name of patriotism (which I am one but know the difference between right and wrong and don't let others to brainwash me otherwise). I am thankful that the victims were able to tell their truths and the author wrote about them.I tend to reread books to ensure I didn't read something inaccurately or missed an necessary point as I will with this book and will modernize my thoughts if needed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Place Outside the Law: Forgotten Voices from Guantanamo []  2020-2-6 19:54

    Politics aside, this book is a amazing read for anyone with an interest in the battle on terror or our legal system. A Put Outside the Law: Forgotten Voices from Guantanamo is a special peek into the lives and back stories of some of the nation’s most risky criminals. Some are know terrorists and some were simply in the wrong put and the wrong time. Both now suffering the same fate and they have fallen through the cracks of the American Legal System. This book highlights some of the abuses they have suffered. It also accounts experiences from the staff there and the sacrifices they’ve created in guarding this facility. In an effort to counter global extremism, the black eye Girmo has made may only have worsened the problem. In to solve both, one must first understand live inside this secretive prison.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botswana: The Bradt Travel Guide []  2020-2-1 5:15

    The tutorial was highly useful. The contents were very well arranged and the info on activities and locations of accommodation was informaitve when it came to what to do and where to stay in Botswana.Willie Y

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botswana: The Bradt Travel Guide []  2020-2-1 5:15

    This travel book of Botswana does not cover all of the wildlife viewing locations of the country. We will be traveling to the Tuli reserve on the Eastern edge and wanted to see some info on the personal parks in that zone as well as the lodges. The book didn't cover any of that, which was beautiful disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botswana: The Bradt Travel Guide []  2020-2-1 5:15

    Terrific. The section about the animals is a amazing read all by itself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botswana: The Bradt Travel Guide []  2020-2-1 5:15

    Having just returned from Botswana, I highly recommend this book. It is accurate with just the right amount of detail. Although the author owns his own travel company, his comments and reviews were accurate, thorough and objective as to safari experiences as well as other tour operators.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botswana: The Bradt Travel Guide []  2020-2-1 5:15

    Very satisfied with my purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botswana: The Bradt Travel Guide []  2020-2-1 5:15

    I've been waiting for this book for a long time!! None of the other tutorials on the zone even comes close. It is the most detailed tutorial I've read on the Okavango, Chobe, Makgadikgadi, and the northern Kalahari. In my view the info seems to be very up-to-date (which is not real for Bradts second edition on Namibia!). This book is suitable for people going on an organized safari (I envy them their $'s and the luxury that awaits them :-) ), and those planning an independent self-drive. The maps are good, and a number of useful GPS coordinates are included. The descriptions of off some of the beaten track websites that I have visited are very accurate. If you are a self-drive tourist you might wish to look at Mike Mains: "African Adventurer's Tutorial to Botswana". It has a lot of trails that are more detailed in the same region, but lacks the overview given in this tutorial describing the a lot of concession locations surrounding the Okavango. The book also contains a very useful section on Livingstone in Zambia, telling you how to obtain the most out of your visit to the famed Victoria Falls. What do I miss? Talking to Elein Drotsky, she mentioned that here sisters company could arrange boat trips from Shakawe to Maun, water levels permitting. There is no mention of this or any other such service in the book, guess I'll have to do some digging on that one myself. All in all, your $'s, £'s, €'s or Rand's will be well spent on this guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botswana: The Bradt Travel Guide []  2020-2-1 5:15

    This book practical tip on structuring your wildlife safari in Botswana, complete with info on where/when to search which species, how to select a safari company, how to do it on your own, choosing a lodge or camp, and tailoring your itinerary to meet your special needs. The descriptions of the different parks and reserves were not as compellingly enticing as the Bradt tutorial to Tanzania, so I will probably choose to visit Tanzania instead of Botswana. But if I am lucky enough to be able to take a second safari, I will definitely use this book to decide where in Botswana to go, where to stay, and what time of year to visit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botswana: The Bradt Travel Guide []  2020-2-1 5:15

    This tutorial provides as excellant overview to Botswana's history, cluture, and travel options. The descriptions of the personal android game concessions were very helpful in planning my trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botswana: The Bradt Travel Guide []  2020-2-1 5:15

    I read this tutorial book cover to cover like a novel. It's interesting, well written, and extremely helpful with all aspects of planning. My safari is scheduled for August 2010.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Botswana: The Bradt Travel Guide []  2020-2-1 5:15

    Received in a very timely fashion & book in perfect condition as advertised. Enjoyable reading that covers the locations I plan on visiting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Outside In MN [App]  2019-6-29 13:19

    A more in-depth westher description of the day and lots of amazing resources.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Outside In MN [App]  2019-6-29 13:19

    Really useful application for getting MN weather updates and local events. Thanks, MPR!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Outside In MN [App]  2019-6-29 13:19

    super smooth app! it scratches that itch that google trips had now that its gone. 😊

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From the Outside: My Journey Through Life and the Game I Love []  2020-1-11 19:1

    Amazing condition and amazing book! Love Ray Allen!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From the Outside: My Journey Through Life and the Game I Love []  2020-1-11 19:1

    I enjoyed this page turner. Ray, already being my favorite, created me look forward to reading about his life. As a die hard Celtics fan, it damage when he left, but after hearing the rumors, and now from his mouth, I understood. Never enjoyed watching him in a Heat uniform, but watching him play the android game he loved, created it worth it. This book gave some advice, not that it was written for that purpose, but enjoyed reading. Thanks Ray

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From the Outside: My Journey Through Life and the Game I Love []  2020-1-11 19:1

    My husband doesn't normally read but he he said the book was great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From the Outside: My Journey Through Life and the Game I Love []  2020-1-11 19:1

    Ray info the ups and downs of his life and career in a very candid and insightful book. Would recommend to anyone who loves sports. Highlights are his time growing up in South Carolina, his tenure as a Buck and of course those glory years in Boston.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From the Outside: My Journey Through Life and the Game I Love []  2020-1-11 19:1

    Decent book but seemed a small too self-serving

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From the Outside: My Journey Through Life and the Game I Love []  2020-1-11 19:1

    As a career long admirer of eighteen-year NBA veteran … and two-time NBA Champion… and portrayer of Jesus Shuttlesworth… in Hollywood… Ray Allen… this autobiography… has been a long time coming. The author’s writing style… is straight forward… and lean… in the zone of “pomp-and-circumstance”… not unlike the author’s ball playing persona.Ray was an Air Force “brat”… which meant… home was here… home was there. This added to Allen’s inability to fit in and feel accepted. This is one of the two main perspectives… or mantras… that are the ongoing cores of his story. The author felt… unaccepted… for a lot of reasons. Being far from rich… and having a very limited wardrobe… being black… and even “criticized”… for sounding “white”… when he talked. Additionally… whenever I hear or read about someone who says “My Father never told me he loved me”… I obtain a feeling that is deeper than being sad. Even all these years since my childhood… and being a Father and Grandfather… and always being begin with my love… it strikes me… as almost a sin versus humanity. Ray… states he was such a deprived e second repetitive mantra… is probably the largest reason… Ray was almost like a machine at the three-point-line…Ray never took any basketball accomplishment for granted… he was ready for every challenge to be a success… when he states words that should be chiseled in the walls of eternal success… “IT REQUIRES WHAT SUCCESS HAS ALWAYS REQUIRED: COMMITMENT, DAY AFTER DAY. YEAR AFTER YEAR.” Ray came to practice earlier… and left later… than just about everyone else. From day one… he never took success for granted… he place in the sweat AND time AND unrelenting effort! Ray admits mistakes created along the way… from recounting his college recruiting trips… where he found he was more immature than he had originally admitted. From being slighted by Rick Pitino… on a visit to Kentucky… to making a premature commitment to Alabama. After committing to UConn… (Decency… Integrity… Honesty)… the enormous private growth under Coach Calhoun… and his unwavering dedication to getting better… even if it meant sitting in his room alone… while his less dedicated teammates went out and partied.Ray’s long NBA career included a lot of accolades and awards… but perhaps… the most meaningful… didn’t appear in the newspapers… or on plaques… or trophies. They were the personal words of awe and respect… and understanding… by competing squads owners… coaches… players… trainers… and teammates… when they years later would tell Ray… that unbeknownst to him… they were watching him… in awe… from the shadows… while he day by day… year by year… pushed… AND… demanded… to place himself… through hundreds of additional shots… additional exercises… so it would be… second-nature… when it was all on the line… like it was in android game six of the 2013 NBA Championship series for the Miami Heat… versus the San Antonio Spurs. One of the greatest… most clutch shots in NBA history… led to the Heat being able to survive for a seventh android game and a Back-To-Back-Championship. Ray reminds the globe in this book… that he was getting ready for that moment… that second in time… ever since he was a youngster and saw Michael Jordan on TV. (Though his favorite player was Michael Cooooooppppeeeerrrr on the Showtime Lakers)Note: The Foreword to this book by Spike Lee… is perhaps the “weakest” forward to a book I’ve ever read. Spike comes across like a sixty-one-year old man… trying to act like he’s a cool young hipster. Luckily… he doesn’t waste too much zone in the book… since the forward is about ¾ of a page long… and even in such limited space… Spike uses the word “Da”… six times!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From the Outside: My Journey Through Life and the Game I Love []  2020-1-11 19:1

    I think some times you need to pick up peace of literature that seems easy at first glance but you need to remember in to make something easy and inspiring you need to work much harder.If you wish to learn what makes people greats at sports they play or life they live, seek some life tip or at the tough spot and need some inspiration this book is worth your time!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From the Outside: My Journey Through Life and the Game I Love []  2020-1-11 19:1

    Well written, amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From the Outside: My Journey Through Life and the Game I Love []  2020-1-11 19:1

    I must say... I like biographies and autobiographies but I only read about the amazing ones or people who've been through a lot.Ray Allen's story intrigued me... I'm a small bit older than Ray so I can remember him playing for UConn as I was in college as well. He was a beast in the NBA Sega Genesis Android games for Seattle and Milwaukee. He's one of the greatest pure shooters who also has super exceptional athletic ability (Just Youtube Ray Allen Highlights). This guy used to jump out the gym and didn't mind giving it to to read about his life and stories was like being a fly on the wall at his android games in certain times of his life. From his wars with Kobe and Michael to his time in Milwaukee, why KG, PP and Rajon hate him to why he chose Miami and Lebron over signing with Boston. He discusses it all and it makes sense. KG and the rest of the Celtics were in their feelings. When you obtain to the NBA you have to do what it takes to take care of your family, that's really the endgame of it all. So KG, PP and Rondo being angry at him for going to Miami to create and victory a championship is straight bull. Miami offered less than Dallas, but who WOULDN'T go to Miami to play with D Wade and Lebron.. Those guys slay me now they're angry at Ray.. Screw em'..I was satisfied with this book and I think you will be too. Very amazing read about Ray's life and how he remains humble. I honestly think he could've played another 2-3 years if he wanted.. but only an athlete knows when they're ready to hang the sneakers up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    From the Outside: My Journey Through Life and the Game I Love []  2020-1-11 19:1

    It was amazing I was glad that I read about Ray Ray it was amazing thanks Ray Allen or was good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Outside the Law [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    “Outside the Law” is eminently readable crime-southern noir fiction in the tradition of Elmore Leonard and the TV present “Justified”. It’s got the same fine qualities as its more well-known siblings, and if you like those stories, you will have fun this one too. The author must have actually spent some time as a sheriff in the rural south because the method the characters speak, the method they behave, rings with authenticity. And while some readers may focus the skillful characterization of the basic characters (and it’s simple to see why), for me, where this book really shined was in the host of peripheral characters. Through their words or actions or both, they each seemed like fully-fleshed and interesting characters worthy of taking a front-and-center role in the story. When the secondary characters are that much fun to read, you know the rest of the book will be good. And it is. Even the scenes between the major beats – the scenes wherein Colt (the main protagonist) talks with his constituents for his reluctant reelection campaign or the pastoral scenes that detail the river that winds through and plays its own prominent role in the story – are excellent. Frankly, when an author can write the “filler” scenes that well, they’ve got my attention and my support. Don’t obtain me wrong, there’s plenty of action in this book. But the story’s quality isn’t only found in the action scenes. The amazing Elmore Leonard said (paraphrasing), to write an exciting book, “leave out the boring parts.” In “Outside the Law,” you’d be hard-pressed to search any boring parts. It’s all good.If I could suggest one thing for the reader, consider reading the previous book to this one too. Though not absolutely necessary, knowing what happens between the characters in “Deep Blood” certainly informs and adds greater depth to the understanding to hero relationships in “Outside the Law.”Already looking forward to the next installment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Outside the Law [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    Very disappointed. Have a hard time liking nd respecting the sheriff, who seems to create lots of not good decisions. I see no Walt Longmire or Raylon Givens in the sheriff, not in actions or dialog. Too bad..was hoping to like it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The War Outside []  2020-1-11 19:15

    More of a YA book. Was expecting it to be a small deeper and more thought provoking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The War Outside []  2020-1-11 19:15

    I have very mixed feelings about this book. There are parts that I loved and parts that left me not so happy. I love the preface of this story, the interment camps here in the US that most of us never really learned much about in school. While this story isn't true, it is based on several people who were true and the author does a amazing job at explaining who was based on true people and who was added to make the story. As a teacher, I LOVE that b/c it really encourages the children to go deeper. I also loved the 2 main characters. They are so different, yet so very much alike at the same time. They are true and raw and young, which makes them relatable and believable. In their youth, they discuss and expose the flaws of where they are and the questions that adults should be able to simply answer, but just can'e things I didn't love about this book.....First, the story was good, but there were times it was all over the place. There were chapters where nothing would happen for 4-5 pages and then all of a sudden a very necessary plot point would come and go in a few paragraphs and the description wasn't amazing enough to understand what exactly had just happened without going back and reading it again. Additionally, I felt like this story was laced with a bit of a romantic undertone of an "almost" relationship between these girls....Now, I don't take problem with that, it's a true thing that a lot children can relate to, however, it was like the author was trying tip around it for a amazing portion of the book and then at the end just dropped it and was like "never mind, they were just amazing friends".....If you're going to place that type of will they, won't they in there, commit to it and either create it part of the story or don't, but quite honestly, waiting and anticipating that type reveal and then not coming back to it one method or the other it at least a small bit was more of a distraction from the driving actions of the plot.Overall, I want this was a bit more polished b/c I wanted to love it, but the writing wasn't quite there, the plot was a bit rocky, and in the end it felt like an unfinished piece....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Outside []  2020-1-11 19:19

    This is a amazing book. There are numerous grammatical errors which detracted from the overall enjoyment, but otherwise a solid story with believable characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Outside []  2020-1-11 19:19

    On the Outside is all about a trio of friends: Kayla, Riley, and Evan. They've been mates since first grade, and before starting high school promised to stay best mates no matter what. It's been hard, but they've managed to stay friends, although not quite as close. Most of this is because Kayla has a boyfriend, but as soon as they break up, Riley and Evan begin dating making things even more awkward. More awkward still would be Kayla realizing that she's jealous because she likes Riley too!I loved the On the Outside had a very powerful focus on friendship. It's all from Kayla's POV, so we obtain to see how awkward things feel to her as she watches her two best mates snuggle up together, then go out without her. Of course, we also obtain her struggling with her sexuality. Realizing that she likes girls (or at least just Riley) really throws Kayla off. She doesn't know if she's really gay, but she does still like boys, so is she bi? Is she allowed to label herself as bi if she isn't sure, or if Riley is the only girl that she likes? I really liked seeing this, because those are exactly the kind of thoughts that lead to bi-erasure. There is not quota of same-sex people you need to like to be bisexual. If you feel like you are, then you are. It was nice seeing Kayla come to terms with that at the e one thing (or maybe two) that kept me from enjoying On the Outside more was that it ends beautiful suddenly. I've noticed with other books by this author, that she rushes the endings. Normally it's just skimming over some final details, but in this case, I felt like everything was building, building, building and then just ended. Even just an epilogue could have taken care of that. I wanted to see how Riley and Kayla being together affected their friendship dynamic, because we got to see that with Riley and Evan. I also just wanted to see Riley and Kayla together, period. There isn't much of that at all, once the truth is out.I definitely still really liked On the Outside. It's a very fast read, which I finished in one sitting. I love stories of friendship as well as friends-to-lover Romances, so this was certainly going to be a hit for me anyway. I was just disappointed with how everything was resolved.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Detox Outside the Box []  2020-5-18 19:23

    Well described theory and procedure for detox.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Outside the Law [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    Enjoyed this book from begin to finish. Each chapter represent s a various characters POV so as you read you know what each hero is thinking and planning reflecting their anticipation.I liked Colt who was a sheriff who was end android game oriented and he was driven, no matter what. John was his deputy, who had fought beside Colt in the Marines. He knew Colt and what he was capable of but often, not what he was thinkingRhonda was a woman John deeply cared for who had a childhood with Colt and something more, but he didn't know exactly lly showed up in city and Colt caught her presence fast. She worked for the ATF but he wasn't sure what her agenda was but he knew she had d read. Hope the author reads the reviews. I' d like more.......and hold Rhonda in the mix.. hmm?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Outside []  2020-1-11 19:19

    Another fabulous book by Siera Maley. I absolutely love it. Most of the reviews say it ends abruptly. I thought it ended perfectly. It would have been nice to have a epilogue. But even so, I thought it was Great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Outside []  2020-1-11 19:19

    I thought this was a amazing book, but at the same time disappointing in a way. I thought the idea of the two girls thinking they might be bisexual was a small odd. It was fairly obvious that instead of proving that they were bisexual, their behavior was rather odd. It was quite obvious to me that while they were dating boys, when the time came to prove their bisexuality with intimacy with the opposite sex, they just couldn't do it. A real bisexual would probably have no issue being intimate with the opposite sex; given the opportunity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The War Outside []  2020-1-11 19:15

    A unbelievable book about friendship and a fictional view about American history we like to sweep under the rug.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Immigration Outside the Law []  2020-1-17 21:35

    Hiroshi is the best. This book breaks down so much history and legal insight into such simple to read language. The structure and flow of concepts are brilliant. Thank you for writing this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Immigration Outside the Law []  2020-1-17 21:35

    perfect writing on a very necessary subject in our modern society

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Outside the Law [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    *** LANGUAGE ***Adult English, with a number of f-words and other profanities. Bearing in mind that the language used by these characters is consistent with what would be expected to be spoken by these characters, a lot of readers may choose to pass on this otherwise extremely engaging also should be noted that, although there is some violence, it is not graphic. If this were a film, it likely would be rated at least PG 13 for language.Quick OverviewThis is Crime Fiction that is, in my opinion, a candidate for Amazon Prime Video, unless HBO grabs it first. I can see Billy Bob Thornton in the role of Sheriff Colt Harper. Harper is a hero distinct from Jesse Stone and Walt Longmire. In fact, each of the three is distinct from one another, but each is amazing because they all share the essential characteristic of doing whatever it takes, no matter how long it takes, to solve the crime they are working on.Length: Print, 235 pages; Audible 7 hours 40 minutes.Q - Target Audience/Genre and is it marketed as Nonfiction or Fiction:A – Adults looking for a amazing police procedural with a small additional oomph.Q - How was this book obtained?A – Bought on Amazon.Q - Is this a book that I can read without having to read others first?A – Yes. I read it as a stand-alone, but have purchased the first Colt Harper, “Deep Blood”.Q – If this is a recurring hero or a series, does it have a cliffhanger ending?A – No cliffhanger ending. Still, I will be reading the next book in the series.Q - Are there a lot of typos/misspellings, grammatical errors or other editing failures?A – Not a huge number. Better than most Kindle books, in fact.Q - Is this a fast, simple read or is it more of a leisure read?A – This is a quick read that grabbed me on page one.Q - My largest pleasure or disappointment?A – I had a small trouble, now and then, understanding who it was that said what. Once I got into the flow, though, this disappeared. My only other downside comment is that the characterization could be just as successful with fewer profanities. What I mean is that, once it is established that these are drug dealers and nefarious souls, the rough language gets in the method of, rather than enhance, the story. Having stated that, I personally had no serious problems with the language, as I was riveted to this give a feel for the editing, and the style and flow of this work, I am posting a brief excerpt below.Excerpt‘…He pulled to the left of the store, close to the wall nearest the road, and killed the engine. He hefted his pistol and ejected the magazine, then replaced it with another—this one loaded with shells filled with little pellets instead of ball ammunition—and replaced it on the seat.Within ten minutes, he saw the pinpoints of headlights descending the hill toward the bridge, coming from the same direction he had taken earlier. The high beams flashed once, then turned into the bait on the bank opposite him. He cranked the vehicle and pulled out, taking his time approaching the bridge.He stopped his vehicle halfway across the span. He holstered his pistol under his jacket, smoothed his shirt, and checked his tie in the rearview e dealer appeared, on foot, at the edge of his headlights, a bulging eight-by-ten envelope in his left hand, smoldering cigarette in the other. He was short and beefy, with a face like a comic-book villain: wide, ugly, and festooned with a scraggly goatee. He didn’t appear to be armed.Hack killed the lights and climbed out. He closed the twenty feet silently, calmly. Nodded once. The dealer nodded back, nervous.“You would be Robert Pritchard, I presume,” he said to the dealer.Another nervous nod. “Ah, yes, sir. And I got it all—”He raised a hand. “We’ll obtain to that. First things first.”“Yes, sir,” Robert said. “Robert, you f---ed up, but that goes without saying,” Cheat said in a tone that could have been called friendly under various circumstances. “My employers don’t like f---ups. Causes them to question the reliability and competence of their employees. You understand that, don’t you?”Robert exhaled. “Yes, sir, I do. I surely do. But this was a one-time thing. I can guarantee you that. That guy came out of nowhere and jumped me. And I’m here to create it right.” He raised the envelope, which shook in his hand. “Double what was stole from me. That was the deal. Four thousand dollars.”He nodded, annoyed at the dealer’s groveling. “I see that. But, Robert, there’s a couple of things you need to understand. First, there was no deal. That is your penance, for your sins, if you wish to look at it that way. And, second, there’s no need to guarantee me anything, because I know this was a onetime thing.”He stepped toward Robert, took the envelope and…’Thompson, Phillip. Outside the Law (Kindle Areas 155-176). Brash Books. Kindle tom Line:Although this may not a tale to share with your church book club, this is definitely a hero worth following in future. In that sense, I rank it up there with Craig Johnson’s Walt Longmire and Robert B. Parker’s Jesse ve stars out of five, despite the two misgivings cited above. This is one of those rare books, for me that rises above its flaws so the way: I mentioned there is a prior book this author wrote with Sheriff Colt Harper. Here is a link to Deep Blood, just in case you're curious (I haven't read it yet, but soon will) Deep BloodComments regarding your opinion of this book or of my review, whether favorable or unfavorable, are always welcome. If you the book based on my review and become disappointed, especially, I do wish to know that and I wish to understand how I can improve as a book reviewer. Just please be ank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Outside the Law [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    5+ stars CompellingThis stand-alone is simple to follow. The violence is not gratuitous. No drag-you-down drama. The writing is at times almost riguing storyline with plenty of action. Realistic procedures, actions and reactions. Believable characters with distinct personalities. Thought-provoking, memorable and occasionally snarky dialogue.'He climbed out of the vehicle and into the rain falling like silver three-penny nails on a moonless night.'“You know what me and a dead owl got in common? Neither one of us give a hoot.''She had learned a long time ago that specialists critique to support as well support to critique.'I may re-read this story and look forward to other works by this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Outside the Law [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    Obtain ready to read this book through in just one sitting, much like I just did! I loved this story not just because its well written and chocked full of action but because it just created sense...being from MS I can see his characters plain as day the method he described them from the clothes, the smells and the attitudes! I also can appreciate the location/setting of this story as I lived there for a very long time. But it was the writing itself that sealed the for me. Bravo, Phillip Thompson, Bravo!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Immigration Outside the Law []  2020-1-17 21:35

    In amazing condition, as promised.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The War Outside []  2020-1-11 19:15

    I loved this book. I read it in one sitting and the ending left me wanting more from Margot and Haruko's stories. This is a fresh perspective in WWII historical fiction, and I really enjoyed reading about the perspectives of German and Japanese families in an internment camp.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The War Outside []  2020-1-11 19:15

    I have read novels and memoirs about Manzanar, but this is my first encounter with Crystal City, which was special among American Detention camps during WWII because it housed not only Japanese but Germans as well. This story is about two teenage girls, both American, but their parents are considered opponent aliens. Neither Haruko nor Margot can figure out why their Japanese and German fathers (respectively) have been detained. But their families chose to join their men in Crystal Town so they could remain together. An uneasy friendship begins between the two girls who bond over their despair despite their differences. Their alliance is not an acceptable thing in the camp, and they tentatively navigate their fresh camaraderie. The confusion of camp life and family allegiance causes the ultimate betrayal and both girls are forced to examine their loyalty to one rgot’s awkwardness and bookishness were endearing, as was her shame bout her father’s Nazi associations. Haruko’s pragmatism conflicted with her emotions, especially regarding her enlisted older brother. This was a amazing example of how hysteria and mistrust can affect two relatively ordinary girls just because of where their parents came from.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Outside []  2020-1-11 19:19

    I liked everything about this book, the love, the romance and I'm a fool for satisfied endings so that's a given! Although I would've liked a bit more of an ending, it just,well, ended if there were to be a sequel I would definitely read it! I would love to follow on more of Kayla and Riley's love story!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Outside []  2020-1-11 19:19

    I always obtain a bit excited when I see a fresh release from Siera Maley, she's one of the few people out there writing consistently amazing YA stories for bisexual and readers. This one is no exception.Kayla and Riley have beautiful terrific chemistry, though the story is not a straight out romance - friendship is at its core, what it feels like to be a third wheel when your best mates obtain together, and then what it feels like to create someone else the third wheel later on. As per usual the dialogue is tight, the scenario is interesting, the story moves along well and it's one of those books you end up reading in a few sittings, keen to obtain to the end.I appreciated reading a novel in this genre that was comfortable depicting a bisexual (or maybe fluid) main character. We obtain a lot of them on TV but not so much in books, for some reason. I found Kayla very relatable, personally.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Detox Outside the Box []  2020-5-18 19:23

    Not what I expected at all, but amazing information. Not a compendium of various detox methodologies. It's all about EDTA suppositories, that's it. I was not aware of this fresh lower cost, more convenient way of serious EDTA detoxification. It is much more doable than the IV way so I was satisfied to learn about it. If you wish a cheaper, easier, and over-the-counter available EDTA detox experience this book will clue you in. If you wish an overview of different detoxification methods choose another book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Outside the Law [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    Outside the Law is Thompson's best work to date, and I've read them all. Harper is my favorite hero of his and I'm glad to see him back. I hope he makes another appearance. The amazing guys and poor guys have interesting histories. You'll be doing yourself a favor if you read Thompson's other books after this, as there are tie-ins. Thompson's bio doesn't tell you the full story; he's also a talented cartoonist who once penned the weekly "In the Trenches" cartoon for Marine Corps Times. His characters bring flashes of the wit and humor of the old cartoon to life as the story unfolds.Harper exhibits charm and chilling tenacity by turns. Like I said, I hope Thompson brings him back; he's quite interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The War Outside []  2020-1-11 19:15

    THE WAR OUTSIDE by Monica HesseTexas was the website of Crystal Town – an internment camp for “Enemy Aliens” during Globe Battle II. Crystal Town was for those people of German, Japanese or Italian ancestry that the government believed might be spies. Haruku and Margot both accompanied fathers who were suspects. They lived on opposite sides of the camp but became mates – sort of. This story gives a glimpse into the reality of their lives and that of the others interned at Crystal City. They were American teenagers, but because someone in their family was suspect, they had been uprooted and sent to a hot, dusty, ill equipped prison. They were opponents to each other and to their country.Hesse writes clearly of young people confused and conflicted and does it extremely well. Margot and Haruku live and breathe. They become mates - and enemies. They trust each other - and break that trust. We learn of their families – their love, their politics, their fears, their coping – and their NOT coping.Engrossing, terrifying, moving, sweet and bittersweet – all these and more. Ultimately a story of betrayal and forgiveness, THE WAR OUTSIDE is thought provoking and well worth reading.5 of 5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The War Outside []  2020-1-11 19:15

    “The Battle Outside” is set in one of the internment camps set up in the United States during WWII for certain American citizens from Japan and e story takes put at an internment camp in a Texas city called Crystal City.(There were a lot of such camps by the way; one was in a backwater city called Minidoka, near my own hometown in southern Idaho.)The book, though fiction, adheres strongly to historical is an perfect read, but what makes it particularly poignant is that it was written well before families were ripped apart at our border with Mexico.If I had read the book before our current humanitarian crisis took place, it would have been eye-opening enough.But reading it after the very latest internment of over 2300 South American kids forcefully separated from their parents at the border, this story breaks my heart in fresh places, locations that won't heal in the show system of e book was hard to read, knowing for myself now that this type of injustice can occur anywhere anytime to those who have no ere are two separated groups within the internment camp in Crystal City, Texas. One is comprised of Japanese Americans, the other, much smaller, of German Americans.Each community keeps to itself, but two teenagers cross the invisible line to form a close bond of ey are Margot and e story is told alternately from the point of view of each girl.We know from the beginning that something dreadful happens along the method that causes an insurmountable breach between these the German camp, there is a Nazi loyalist faction. As Margot sees her father resist the pressure to join, she becomes more and more afraid that out of his despair and isolation he will ere is a single project underway that both camps will freely have fun access to, a huge public swimming pool.When at latest the pool is finished, both camps have a formal celebration together. But this moment of camaraderie is ominously interrupted by a parade created up of the Nazi breakaway group from the German e public swimming pool is a amazing success though, with both German and Japanese kids enjoying relief from the Texas heat and an opportunity to become better en a tragedy occurs at the pool that separates the two camps more emphatically than before, and outright enmity develops, with devastating e close bond between Margot and Haruko is egorized as YA historical fiction, “The Battle Outside" is an necessary read for adults as well as for pierces deeply into the centers of love and betrayal, self-doubt and e denouement of this heart-rending story is most unexpected, simultaneously hopeful and filled with nica Hesse has done her homework in writing this though it is fiction, she composes her work as closely as possible to reflect true people, locations and e Note on Historical Accuracy at the end of the book is well worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Outside []  2020-1-11 19:19

    I've read ever book by this author and she has yet to disappoint. This book is lighthearted and an simple read, but at the same time is able to touch base with the feels effortlessly. It's the type of book that you can read straight through, leaving you with a content warmth in your stomach and a smile on your face.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Outside []  2020-1-11 19:19

    It was a amazing coming of age story that tells the story of blurred friendship lines that progress to something more. The story line flowed very well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Immigration Outside the Law []  2020-1-17 21:35

    The author examines the case of Plyler v Doe - a case about the right of unauthorized kids to attend Texas schools - as a window onto immigration outside the law or immigration law as it works on the ground, sometimes outside the rule of law. The first aim of the book is to a method to think about why immigration law is an zone of ambivalence and disagreement. A second aim is to assess and suggest responses to unauthorized migration. In straightforward and precise prose, the author raises necessary and timely questions about the status of immigrant in our time. This is a amazing companion and in a lot of ways an extension of arguments started in Motomura's Americans in Waiting. I use this latest book in a course on the sociology of law and migration. Now I'll add this perfect and lucid tome on immigration outside the law.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Immigration Outside the Law []  2020-1-17 21:35

    Non biassed and very informative. Thick.... must have amazing attention span.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lead from the Outside: How to Build Your Future and Make Real Change []  2019-12-20 18:39

    This is a amazing book by a very smart woman who deserves to be heard and has lessons for everyone. I have known Stacey since she was in college and her principles are clear and honest. I recommend this for all who wish to lead.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lead from the Outside: How to Build Your Future and Make Real Change []  2019-12-20 18:39

    I started the book and it is truly inspiring. I didn't know much about Stacey Abrams before this but she is definitely on my radar of power leaders. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Outside the Law [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    If you liked the present Justified, I think you'll like this book. Sheriff Colt Harper reminded me a lot of Raglan Givens, so much so that I started picturing Timothy Oliphant! Even the story reminded me of Justified, since it involves drugs and drug kingpins and is set in a rural area, in this case Mississippi. It's a small confusing at first, since each chapter is about a various character, so point of view changes with the chapters. The action starts right off and doesn't stop, and eventually you hold the characters straight and figure out who the poor guys are. There's no sex, and just a small cursing, but there's killing, although not gruesomely detailed for the most part. So you have a Raylan style sheriff, his deputy John, his mate Rhonda, and ATF agent Molly, and several others to learn about as you go. Quick read, never boring!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Outside the Law [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    Amazing read. A small confusing until you figure out its structure but then it flows very well. You won't wish to just place it down and come back to it. You will wish to hang in there and follow through. A amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Outside the Law [Book]  2018-4-12 18:0

    I agree with the gentleman that said this book reminded his of the present Longmire. I was excited to turn the page and see what happens next. Kept me on the edge of my seat and couldn't place it down. Well done Phillip... I can't wait till the next one!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The War Outside []  2020-1-11 19:15

    While I was working after college I craved learning and I took a class on Asian Immigration to United States and my professor had been one of the Japanese internment camps in California. One of the students challenged as to why it was important! We were all shocked. She told of being a girl scout and she thought she was 100% American. Neighbors were burying their china in the backyard and all of her family was taken to the Santa Anita stables to await reassignment. Also of what it was like to have guards standing around and knowing that you could not ars later, I moved to Texas and was looking for a historical fiction CD to listen to and I found this one. I did not know that there was a camp in Crystal City, Texas. All the time that I was listening, I was comparing this to the ones in California camps. Later I found a lot of info about the Crystal Town Camp and it rang real for this story.I liked how author did present the level of suspicion rampant in the general population. Her research emphasized that at the end of the book and when you think about the total story, that is an underlying theme among the prisoners, the two girls, the guards and outside the camp. It is subtle but simple to find. It reminds me of what my mother said. People at his work called him a "commie" because he was not service during WWII. In fact, he tried to sign up but was told that he more valuable to the country at home! Please think about suspicion when reading or listening to this e love story is interesting between Margot and Haruko because the two girls did not express it openly even to each other. The times must be considered. There has been much change since then. Wanting to have an apartment together was and their dreams of it was the dearest part of the book for me. I reminded me of two sweet women that I knew as a child. I knew that they loved each other very much but that was in the 1950's. But even they were result and endangered by suspicion . I love the story. The only jarring thing for me was one the speakers on the audio had a definite "Valley girl" method of talking. It took me away for the story at times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The War Outside []  2020-1-11 19:15

    The Battle Outside is a YA novel that could easily cross over to adult. Set in 1944, Margot and Haruko are both interned in Crystal City, a camp for not only Japanese Americans during Globe Battle II, but also Germans who are suspected of being Nazis. Margot's family has come from Iowa while Haruko's has come from Colorado. Even in the camp their friendship is frowned upon as they must remain in their own locations of Crystal City. Yet, they meet in an ice house, finding some common ground and a friendship of sorts.Hesse's novel is well researched and she has included bits and pieces of life in Crystal Town that are fascinating: a swimming pool for the residents, the tragic drowning of two young girls in the pool, schools for the children, time off for soldiers who are then allowed to visit their family at the camp, and even repatriation of prisoners to their homeland in exchange for American prisoners of the story unfolds their friendship is place to the test, and Hesse manages to make a situation that is believable and will leave readers thinking. I loved this novel: the setting, the characters and all the attention to the info of that time period all come together to create this book hard to place down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The War Outside []  2020-1-11 19:15

    Monica Hesse always does an perfect job researching her topic so that the happenings seem plausible. Her recent novel "The Battle Outside" focuses on two young women who, along with their respective families, have been sent to an interment camp in Crystal City, Texas. Primarily populated by Japanese, the camp also houses a number of German families. Most of the detainees are American citizens, but fear of the Axis Powers during Globe Battle II resulted in the rrated in alternating chapters by Haruko and Margot, "The Battle Outside" explores the effects of forced detention on families and those "guarding" the camps. Haruko's mother voluntarily chose to bring her two daughters to Crystal Town to reunite the family; Haruko's father had been accused of providing info to the Japanese military. Margot, her father, a farmer from Iowa, and her mother were sent as a family to the camp. Rather than attending the German school which glorifies the Nazi regime, Margot chooses to attend the American school at the camp. An unlikely friendship develops between Margot and Haruko; there are tips of a physical attraction between the girls that is not acted upon. The conflict and the moral conundrums presented stem from their friendship. The final tragedy affects both young women, yet neither realizes the part each played in bringing about that event.While Monica Hesse brings historic happenings and small known incidents to light I felt the characters in "The Battle Outside" lacked appeal. Neither girl fully developed into a compelling character; neither created me wish to know them better. This was the same downside I felt "Girl in the Blue Coat" displayed and one that resulted in a loss of a star for that book. This novel is readable and of interest to those who are unfamiliar with the interment camp story. It is not one for those seeking a novel that draws the reader into the characters' lives, engendering empathy for their situation and remembering their names long after the final page has been read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Outside []  2020-1-11 19:19

    I've enjoyed all of Siera Maley's books thus far, but this book just had a tad too much drama for me to really love it. The relationships between the main characters become all screwed up thanks to long time crushes and newly discovered feelings. The couple you wish to root for is somewhat overshadowed by their reasoning's behind the actions they take to achieve happiness. The story just began to feel too contrived towards the end just for additional drama when all it would have taken was communication and honesty. But all that to say, I'll still read any of Siera Maley's future books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On the Outside []  2020-1-11 19:19

    Read it in about two days. Amazing simple book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Immigration Outside the Law []  2020-1-17 21:35

    Outstanding insights from a clear thinker on a topic that is obviously close to his heart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lead from the Outside: How to Build Your Future and Make Real Change []  2019-12-20 18:39

    This book speaks so a lot of positive things! What a great, amazing read. So empowering and worthwhile. I have found so a lot of nuggets to use. I have underlined so much in this book that speaks to me personally. She gets straight to the point. No long drawn out historical review of her life. She gives the reader just enough about her past then moves quickly to where she is now. Her determination is inspiring to me and others. I would definitely recommend this book to EVERYONE!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lead from the Outside: How to Build Your Future and Make Real Change []  2019-12-20 18:39

    Absolutely fabulous book. A amazing read from begin to finish.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lead from the Outside: How to Build Your Future and Make Real Change []  2019-12-20 18:39

    This book is really interesting and very well written. I discovered Stacey Abrams because of the gubernatorial elections in Georgia. I was amazed by her non concession speech, and I wanted to know more about the Minority leader. In this book Stacey Abrams shares her experiences, talks about her fights, her goals. Stacey Abrams is a bold politician, a very intelligent woman, she encourages us to work across the aisle when necessary.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lead from the Outside: How to Build Your Future and Make Real Change []  2019-12-20 18:39

    InformativeInfuriatingly RelatableNecessaryMotivationalResourcefulThought ProvokingTransparentExcellentAt times I listened while preparing dinner with my 11yr old one room over, in the dining room. After over hearing 5-10 minutes, he asked me who she was & if he could also listen with me. That created my heart smile. 👩🏾‍🦱🧒🏾❤️😊

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lead from the Outside: How to Build Your Future and Make Real Change []  2019-12-20 18:39

    Awsome. I can relate. A must read. Inspiring. This book opens your eyes and allow you know that her family is just like yours. She shared the most intimate family struggles. She is not only bright but she is articulate. I bought both book and the audio book. Read to the end. You will like it along with her pdf. She wrote this book not only an educational piece but is also have pdf interactive or write in the book. She gives you a possibility to challenge yourself in this book. Satisfied Reading. 👏

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lead from the Outside: How to Build Your Future and Make Real Change []  2019-12-20 18:39

    Love love love Stacey Abrams - she's a phenomenal woman and can't wait to see all the awesome things she will do for Georgia and beyond.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lead from the Outside: How to Build Your Future and Make Real Change []  2019-12-20 18:39

    I liked her interview on the Everyday Present and I was excited to see her calling folk out on voter suppression but I felt like the book was a small rushed to create a deadline. Like it had to obtain out there to coincide with her campaign. I wound up skimming through a lot of it that felt redundant and then putting it in a box. Amazing notice but required to be cleaned up and edited a bit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lead from the Outside: How to Build Your Future and Make Real Change []  2019-12-20 18:39

    A lot of books are written about how to be a successful leader, but I found that most of the books are like the education system in this country, a one size fits all is the approach. In their writings, a lot of authors failed to address the struggles that minorities face in their journey to success. If you wish to understand your roadblocks as a minority leader, you need to read this book. You cannot war if you do not know what you are fighting against. The norm says to be successful you need an education and others say you need more than talents, but Stacey Abrams tell you through her experience as a minority leader and her remarkable writing skills precisely what you need to know to succeed as a minority leader. If you were about to give up because what you have read thus far does not seem to be helpful before you throw the towel give "Minority leader" a chance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TV Outside the Box: Trailblazing in the Digital Television Revolution (NATPE Presents) []  2019-12-24 20:10

    Amazing book, well researched and immeasurably helpful with my university work

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TV Outside the Box: Trailblazing in the Digital Television Revolution (NATPE Presents) []  2019-12-24 20:10

    It's difficult to say a book blows your mind without sounding hyperbolic, but that is what it feels like diving into this book. Through interviews with nearly every gamechanger, trendsetter and revolutionary in Hollywood, Neil gives his readers unprecedented access to the creative minds who will shape the future of digital content.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Your Outside: All About the Human Body (Cat in the Hat's Learning Library) []  2020-1-16 8:30

    My 4 year old son and 2 year old daughter both really have fun this book. They recently have become interested in things inside your body. My son especially loves seeing the pictures of skeletons. All the pictures are drawn though, no true xrays in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Outside the Wire: Riding with the "Triple Deuce" in Vietnam, 1970 []  2020-2-4 3:19

    Most books about the different military conflicts are written from the perspective of the over all tactic or corps level engagements. The Vietnam Battle and its a lot of surviving participants affords an opportunity to see the the day to day challenges of life in a combat location through the eyes of the men individually. This book is another fine example of that style. As I followed the journey of the author through his tour in country it is small wonder that his experiences will leave lasting and not always positive memories. I am appreciative to him for sharing them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Outside the Wire: Riding with the "Triple Deuce" in Vietnam, 1970 []  2020-2-4 3:19

    Anyone who ever used a P-38 to begin C-Rations will relate to Jim Ross's memoir of Troops life during the Vietnam era. Ross holds nothing back as he relates with detailed descriptive prose the stench, filth, noise, fears and emotional swings he went through during his tour. We follow Ross as he evolves from a naive, patriotic infantry trainee, to "newbie" in the battle theater, to a still-patriotic but somewhat questioning combat veteran trying to create sense of it all. I thank Jim for his service and for writing a memoir that is very private yet also universal in a lot of ways for all veterans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TV Outside the Box: Trailblazing in the Digital Television Revolution (NATPE Presents) []  2019-12-24 20:10

    This book has all the info required to gain insight into the tv industry. It is fun read and obtain right to the point. I appreciate the frank conversations he had with everyone he interviewed. Greats like Norman Lear provided their perspective on the tv industry and where it's going. This will definitely be reference I will use often.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TV Outside the Box: Trailblazing in the Digital Television Revolution (NATPE Presents) []  2019-12-24 20:10

    Incredibly informative and useful for anyone in the current day TV business or just interested in it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TV Outside the Box: Trailblazing in the Digital Television Revolution (NATPE Presents) []  2019-12-24 20:10

    Man cannot live by Netflix alone. Nor should he surf today's golden wave of serialized drama and digital fiction without Neil Landau's entertaining interviews with those who make it. We're living in unprecedented times for expensive, high-quality drama, but will it obtain even better or is winter coming?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside Your Outside: All About the Human Body (Cat in the Hat's Learning Library) []  2020-1-16 8:30

    This is one of the most delightful human anatomy books for kids that I've read. It doesn't dumb down the info just to sound cute ("in our stomachs there's meal we ate three days ago"). I learned we have exactly 206 bones in human body and for the first time discovered, by manually counting with my children, that at least 96 of them reside in our palms and feet alone. I also learned that the ear bones (hammer, anvil, and stirrup) together are the size of a grain of rice and we feel dizzy even after we stop twirling because the fluid in the cochlea keeps swirling and sending wrong signals to the brain. The book ends with a glorious illustration of a giant bladder emptying itself into the WC while a line of Dr. Suess characters (im)patiently wait their turn outside the restroom.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386