Read brightest and best reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all brightest and best reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Best and the Brightest: Kennedy-Johnson Administrations (Modern Library) []  2020-2-6 19:25

    Just under two months ago, a mate recommended a book that I had seen when it was first published. I have just completed e Best and the Brightest by David Halberstam is about the Vietnam War, and about how a lot of of the most necessary American civilian officials and military officers created it turn out the method it did. The book is centered primarily on the time frame from early 1961 though 1968, but there is sufficient coverage of prior decades, of the involvements of prior administrations, of the French post-war colonial experience, and of the broader story of the civil battle in China to give it very broad e Best and the Brightest is a relic of an extinct life form: journalism. Today, there is neither the supply nor the demand to sustain true journalism. A reader may detect a few signs of some of Halberstam's biases, but they are well controlled. They do not create the book, or detract from it.What Halberstam has done is to develop a few dozen well-documented biographies of the principals and to weave them into a tapestry that gives us a coherent history of the whole Vietnam ose who were around at the time will remember when the newly-elected President John Kennedy place together an Administration of highly educated, very intellectual persons, a lot of of whom had at least some arguably relevant experience from their careers during WWII. Halberstam covers that in amazing detail,Those who were around at the time will probably also recall how just about every other speech created by JFK from the fifties on contained some reference to the threat of globe communism. And some, if not many, will remember how Kennedy had become enamored with the idea of waging limited "brushfire" battles to combat communist aggression wherever it may rear its ugly head. Halberstam aggresses that latter point well.We may compartmentalize our memories and think of Berlin, the Bay of Pigs, and the Cuban Missile Crisis as topics separate from Vietnam. Halberstam corrects us on that--to the US Administration, it was all part of a global chess game.Of course, most of what we read and hear today about JFK paints a picture of some kind of idealistic, fictional, and mythical Hollywood royalty described as "Camelot".And then there was Johnson, who inherited US participation in the conflict in Southeast Asia and who surely created it much worse in every possible ing the words of the principal actors today reveals some surprises. Some whom I had thought of as "doves" were anything e book is much more than an ccount of gross misunderstandings, poor strategy, failures of comprehension, and so on. To me, there are two really shocking things that come rst, quite a number of highly qualified professional people who were sent to Vietnam to evaluate the situation first-hand became persona non grata when their honest evaluations for the facts as they saw them differed from the Administration party line. The careers were ruined, as others lied and a lot of others e other is the abject dishonesty exhibited by more than a few of the top players. Generals falsified reports. LBJ told various people various and conflicting things on the same day, kept communications compartmentalized, and bullied everyone he could, including his own Vice President.And it is convincingly revealed that the Exalted High Priest of the Numbers Men, upon whose analyses the entire battle tactic had been based, thought nothing of making up numbers from whole cloth during meetings as he went along, for the sole purpose of discrediting others.A handful of people are seen in amazing st of the poor ones ultimately got their comeuppance, albeit at the amazing expense of so a lot of others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Best and the Brightest: Kennedy-Johnson Administrations (Modern Library) []  2020-2-6 19:25

    This is another outstanding book by the late David Halberstam, well written and researched. While I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, and learning so much about the Vietnam Battle years, I found myself saddened by the needless loss of 58,000 of my generation. Three of those from my high school, whose names I have visited several times on the Wall in Washington D.C.. Their faces were constantly in the back of my mind as I read about the flawed decisions and hubris that brought us into a battle of choice. A not good choice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Best and the Brightest: Kennedy-Johnson Administrations (Modern Library) []  2020-2-6 19:25

    ‘The Best and the Brightest’ I would rate this as the best book I read in 2018. A little stripe of land in the Far East divided the world’s most strong country of the time; United States, it is a wound which has festered over the years and not yet healed completely. I often wondered how after France’s debacle America got it all wrong! And I found my answers in this seminal work on the battle by an award winning journalist David Halberstam. It is a study of personalities, of the smartest men recruited by Kennedy from the best backgrounds holding Ivy League degrees but they failed miserably to predict the consequences of involvement in a land they understood so little, with no sense of history, guided only by deep and blind disdain for communism, grossly underestimating the strength of the opponent and of course the age old failing of deep arrogance which has brought the mightiest to their knees, they placed their bets in a battle they were destined to lose. From JF Kennedy to Lyndon Johnson and then Nixon, ‘Vietnam’ was increasingly shaped by egos of the strong than tactic and reality. As they say, “do not allow success go to your head and failure to your heart”, the government allowed both in excessive measure!

    0  


    Add your opinion on brightest and best or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Best and the Brightest: Kennedy-Johnson Administrations (Modern Library) []  2020-2-6 19:25

    The Best and the Brightest is David Halberstam’s story of how the United States came to war the Vietnam War. Written while we were still at war, the book covers the period from 1961 to 1968. It is not a military history. Halberstam refers to necessary happenings in Vietnam, but doesn’t discuss them in detail. They are relevant insofar as they affected American decision-making. Halberstam is begin with his opinions about the war: He believes the United States could never have won the war, because we saw it as a military conflict when in reality it was a political conflict, and because we saw it as an anti-Communist conflict when in reality in was an anti-colonial one. However, his book isn’t an argument for his opinions. What the book is really about, and what Halberstam brilliantly depicts, is how the foreign policy establishment of the United States worked in the middle of the 20th century, how men (they were all men) acquired, maintained, and wielded power. “The best and the brightest” is Halberstam’s ironic term for the foreign policy experts who served Presidents Kennedy and Johnson. Halberstam wants to know why they failed so terribly. He concludes that they were blinded by their high opinions of themselves, and refused to consider lower-level, career analysts who tried to tell them they were wrong. Reading his book 45 years later, I don’t know if he is entirely convincing. Based on Halberstam’s own reporting, a case could be created that, by 1961, the men who got us into the Vietnam Battle didn’t have any amazing options. The choices they created were disastrous, but we only know that in retrospect. Nevertheless, it’s a tag of a amazing book that the reader can obtain a lot out of it without agreeing with the author’s opinions, and The Best and the Brightest is a amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Best and the Brightest: Kennedy-Johnson Administrations (Modern Library) []  2020-2-6 19:25

    The first (and only) time I read David Halberstam’s “The Best and the Brightest” was shortly after its publication in 1975… that is, until latest week, when I finished reading it again. I was just as impressed with it this time as I was forty years ago.David Halberstam (1934-2007) was a journalist and author who reported from Vietnam for the Fresh York Times in the early 1960s. He was one of a group of journalists (including Neil Sheehan and Peter Arnett, among others) who earned the ire of the Kennedy and Johnson administrations for his reporting of what he viewed as the truth about Vietnam – that America was getting itself involved in a conflict it couldn’t win. Halberstam’s reporting from Vietnam earned him a Pulitzer Prize in Halberstam explains in his preface to “The Best and the Brightest,” he spent three years researching and writing the book. He intended his title to be ironic, not literal. The “Best and the Brightest” were leaders who were considered America’s elite – John F. and Robert F. Kennedy, Lyndon B. Johnson, Robert McNamara, Dean Rusk, McGeorge and William Bundy, George Kennan, George Ball, Clark Clifford, Walt Rostow, John McCone, and others. They were mostly graduates from Ivy League schools, a lot of with Ph.D.’s; men of keen intellect and supposed prodigious management and leadership skills. Men who prided themselves on straight talk. And yet, these men slowly and steadily entangled the United States in a battle on the Asian mainland that they knew, from both the warnings they received and from bitter experience, they had small possibility of winning. And once they got America entangled in Vietnam, they mismanaged the battle and deceived the American people about it, and left the nation torn asunder by divisions that exist to this day.I don’t necessarily agree with all Halberstam’s judgments and conclusions in “The Best and the Brightest,” but I do think he created a strong argument that seems to be largely vindicated in the four decades since the end of the Vietnam War. I believe “The Best and the Brightest” is simply the best book ever written about America’s involvement in Vietnam. If you only read one book about this subject, this is the book to read. Most highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Best and the Brightest: Kennedy-Johnson Administrations (Modern Library) []  2020-2-6 19:25

    A unbelievable book. The most necessary thing to remember when reading is that the title "Best and Brightest..." is dripping with irony. The over whelming virtues of those who led us into this debacle were arrogance, ignorance and naivete. Despite their privileged, Fresh England, Ivy League pedigrees and education, they were clueless. Yet they were perfectly willing to continue expanding and escalating the war, i.e., to pound harder on the square peg to create it fit into the round hole, in a vain attempt to save their face. Face which they arrogantly and cynically attempted to equate with saving America's face. And it mattered not a wit to them how a lot of Vietnamese and "deplorable/irredeemable" American draftee and enlisted citizens required to be place through the meat-grinder to create it happen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Best and the Brightest: Kennedy-Johnson Administrations (Modern Library) []  2020-2-6 19:25

    This is an exceptionally well-written book about the method John F. Kennedy's idealistically selected cabinet dragged us down the muddy, dirty, twisted street and into the Vietnam conflagration. Nowhere, save in McMaster's more latest treatment (Dereliction of Duty, 1996) is the critical role of Robert S. McNamara in this debacle, so critically or accurately portrayed. Halberstam treats a number of critical subplots, too, such as the destruction of the "flexible response advocates" among the junior officer corps by Eisenhower's Secretary of Defense, the lamentable "Engine Charlie" Wilson, or the enmity between distinguished paratroop commanders Maxwell Taylor and James Gavin, or LBJ's complete consternation with Kennedy's Undersecretary of State for Southeast Asia, the decorated veteran of Merrill's Marauders and the OSS, Roger Hilsman (arguably the only man in the administration who knew anything at all about Southeast Asia in General and Vietnam in particular). An added value of Halberstam's treatment comes in the form of his detailed, insightful and assiduous hero studies of all the principals, from nominal Republican McGeorge Bundy, the only non-PhD ever to serve as Harvard's Dean of the Undergraduate school, to Secretary of State Dean Rusk, intellectually despised by his mentor, Dean Acheson. This work is a must-read for anyone interested in both the Kennedy administration and in the question of how we got snookered into this impossible battle in the first place.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Best and the Brightest: Kennedy-Johnson Administrations (Modern Library) []  2020-2-6 19:25

    I had heard of this book for years. I lived through the Vietnam era, constantly scanning my mailbox for a draft message which luckily never came. We students at the time knew how the government had mismanaged the battle and lied to the American people about it. Here at latest was a possibility to see this folly explained in detail. I was disappointed almost immediately. Look at the sample text included in this Amazon listing. It with Robert A. Lovett, born in 1895 and surely not one of the figures we associate with the Vietnam disaster in the 1960s. Though it may be historically relevant, that was far too much detail about the early lives of some of the participants, their globe battle two era activities, and relatively old history of the far east. I was not really interested in reading about how globe battle two activities affected Vietnam 20 years later. Constantly in the book, we drop back to “ancient” History, which was not really what I was interested in reading. I am not really interested in the prep school background of some of the officials who were past retirement age by the time the Vietnam debacle matured. There were too a lot of names and too a lot of unimportant info about people who were relatively unimportant in the Vietnam episode, as it affected our country, our morals, our youth, and even our military.I am about 60% of the method through the book at this point, and I am not sure if I will [email protected]#$%!.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Best and the Brightest: Kennedy-Johnson Administrations (Modern Library) []  2020-2-6 19:25

    This is the seminal work relating to how we got ourselves immersed in Vietnam. I'm a Vietnam Veteran, and I have always thought our reasons for being there were misguided at best. In this exhaustive look at the gradual build-up to the maximum troop levels in 1969, it is apparent that our reasons were much less than misguided. It makes me mad that a lot of amazing people died in this war, this senseless, stupid exercise of power gone awry. It is very sad not only that the Vietnam Battle occurred, it is very apparent that we fail to learn from the lessons of history (read: Iraq and Afghanistan)."The Best and the Brightest" is an perfect work, deserving of the Pulitzer Prize awarded to Mr. Halberstam.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Best and the Brightest: Kennedy-Johnson Administrations (Modern Library) []  2020-2-6 19:25

    Though not referring to the Vietnam Battle or this book, a blogger quote I recently saw may best sum up its theme: "And so a failed policy and a fraud can become almost self-sustaining long after it is seen to have failed, and even become counterproductive, because admitting failure is not an option for those in power, and those who which to maintain their access to it."Author David Halberstam wrote this classic in 1969, so the action ends shortly after Richard Nixon was elected, several years before the end of the Vietnam War. It is not a military history, but a political chronicle. It tries to present how the US first got into what became the Vietnam War, and then why, despite plummeting public help for the war, it had so much difficulty calling it quits, despite having the most talented minds in the nation (“The Best and the Brightest”) guiding e book is very long, yet so extremely rich in detail and so well told that a short review cannot possibly do it justice. But as an overall judgement of this book, this book is confidently recommended to anyone who wants to read only one book about how and why the US got involved in Vietnam and why it dragged on so the first couple of decades after WWII, the thinking dominating US foreign policy thinking included the following:- Communism was a single, unified, international force that had to be confronted wherever it appeared. No one recognized or considered that Soviet, Chinese, Korean, and Vietnamese Communism could be semi- independent and driven by nationalism, rather than answering to “Uncle Joe” (Stalin) or his successors.- There was an almost reflexive and persistent resort to the use of force to solve what could have been diplomatic problems. "Those years would show, in the American system, how when a question of the use of force arose in government, the advocates of force were always better organized, seemed more numerous and seemed to have both logic and fear on their side…” (p36).- Since the US believed this use of force was morally justified, it persisted as a major policy tool: “Force was justified by what the Communists did; the times justified the kind of acts which decent men did not seek, but which the historic responsibilities created necessary." (p61) This 50-year-old justification still appears to be common currency in show day policy-making.- Vietnam was seen by JFK as a try of the nation’s credibility after the abject failure of the Bay of Pigs invasion of Cuba. After meeting with (Soviet premier) Khrushchev in Vienna, Kennedy told a reporter: "...now we have a issue in trying to create our power credible, and Vietnam looks like the place." At the time, Vietnam still seemed like a minor issue.“The decision in May 1950 to give the French military aid in Vietnam, coupled with French concurrence in the rebuilding of the West Germany economy (as a quid pro quo), was to be a turning point in the post-war history of American policy; we would start to finance a colonial war. We did this in both locations to implement our policy of containment. All of this was before Korea.” (p337) The State Department bureaucracy was essentially pro-colonial, and despite Franklin Roosevelt’s anti-colonial views and the fact that US foreign policy in the immediate post-war years was “pre-empire” and anti-colonial, this probably created the decision to obtain involved easier from an administrative perspective.Original involvement can be safely ascribed to the above factors plus perhaps what can charitably be labeled policy errors. However, what prolonged US involvement was not only a series of poor judgements and misconceptions about the war, but lies. These lies were first those of the military, later growing to also contain those of Lyndon Johnson himself. These lies are at the center of the narrative as military involvement picks up steam later in the 1960s. The lies were deliberate, and so pervasive that it strains credulity:- The military lied to the administration, portraying itself as successful even while it was losing the war.- The Diem (South Vietnamese) administration lied to the US administration in Saigon. It constantly created political promises it did not keep, exacerbating the political situation, and making a political issue into a military one.- The ARVN (South Vietnamese Army) constantly lied shamelessly to US officials.- Ultimately, Johnson lied to and manipulated Congress, hiding the cost of the battle in the fear that he would be unable to pass his Amazing Society legislation, which he intended to leave as his private competence and misconceptions at high levels in the military also played a part. Some of these seem to still be prevalent today, 50 years later:- General Maxwell Taylor, in overall charge in Washington, tried to draw parallels between Vietnam and Korean, not understanding that Vietnam was an unconventional guerrilla war, while Korea was a conventional battle versus massed troops. (It is said that generals are always fighting the latest war.)- The administration was constantly at battle with reporters. The differences between reporters’ stories and those being peddled by the military and the administration showed that something was grievously wrong. However, rather than trying to search out whether or not the reporters were right, the American mission assaulted their credibility.- There was a powerful belief in the inherent superiority of US units to the Vietnamese, as fighting men and with respect to their superior equipment.- There was a religious belief in air power, despite evidence that its increased use only tended to strengthen an enemy's resolve.A few astute visitors saw through the lies despite this, but when they returned, they were unable to obtain a hearing. In fact, “One by one, all of the negative voices at State, those who were more politically than militarily oriented, were silently purged or sidelined.” (p377) Well known Colonel John Paul Vann (“A Bright Shining Lie”), a pessimist, along with three other colonels, turned in extremely negative reports on the ARVN, infuriating the incompetent General Harkins, in charge of the war, who was sending fake reports to Washington to convey the optimism that Maxwell Taylor, his superior and the man who appointed him, seemed to want.An observation by Neil Sheehan after reading the Pentagon Papers seems eerily relevant today: "He would come away with one impression above all, which was that the government of the United States was not what he had thought it was; it was as if there were an inner US government, what he called a centralized state, far more strong than anything else, for whom the opponent is not simply the Communists but everything else, its own press, its own judiciary, its own Congress, foreign and friendly governments - - all these are potentially antagonistic. It had survived and perpetuated itself, often using the problem of anti-communism as a weapon versus the other branches of government and the press, and finally, it does not function necessarily for the benefit of the Republic but rather for its own ends, its own perpetuation; it has its own codes which are quite various from public codes..." (p409)“What Kennedy and later Johnson learned was that the capacity to control any policy involving the military was greatest before the policy is initiated. But once started, it takes on a life of its own, and its thrust and drive may not be in any method akin to the desires of the president who initiated it.” (p209)In the end, the Nixon Administration soon repeated the mistakes of the Johnson administration. It listened only to others who were is is a very long but extremely engaging book for anyone that wants to better understand how the US got into Vietnam, who all the key players were, and why the US couldn’t seem to tear itself away even after realizing the battle effort was failing and had very small famous support. Along the way, well-informed readers may realize that a lot of lessons that could have been taken from this experience have yet to be learned.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motorcycling in the 1970s The story of biking's biggest, brightest and best ever decade Volume 5:: The Magic of Motorcycling []  2020-1-4 20:22

    This is a amazing series. I found the latest book to be somewhat less interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motorcycling in the 1970s The story of biking's biggest, brightest and best ever decade Volume 5:: The Magic of Motorcycling []  2020-1-4 20:22

    I cannot praise this series of books highly enough. Not only a history of motorcycles, but a social history of the times. A MUST-READ, for all bikers, motorcyclists etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motorcycling in the 1970s The story of biking's biggest, brightest and best ever decade Volume 3:: Funky Motorcycling – Biking in the 1970s - Part Two []  2020-1-27 19:9

    Detailed description of the people, motorcycles, racers, styles and attitudes from my favorite decade of riding. Favorite because I was young and anything was possible; favorite in retrospect because technology wasn't running things. The five volumes at two dollars each are an awesome bargain for pages of info amply illustrated, though the images of leather clad racers in traditional pose do nothing for me as the riders are masked very effectively, and if you wish to know about riding mostly in the UK but also a small about riding in the US, these volumes are attention grabbing reading. Richard Skelton accurately records my impressions of riding a motorcycle in England in those years, which is the highest praise I can give his collection of books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motorcycling in the 1970s The story of biking's biggest, brightest and best ever decade Volume 1:: A Brief History of Motorcycling from 1887 to 1969 []  2019-12-24 19:36

    Very amazing background information. I will be reading of the books in this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motorcycling in the1970s The story of biking's biggest, brightest and best ever decade Volume 2:: Funky Motorcycling! Biking in the 1970s - Part One []  2019-12-23 20:19

    I have finished all five volumes. Overall much enjoyed and greatly appreciated. Volume 1 is all about early motorcycling before the 1970s, and I found it very informative. The latest Volume, #5 is a mixed bag mostly a nostalgic look back at the period overall, littered with silly comments suggesting that from here on motorcycling will never be as amazing as it was then and the future is bleak empty and pointless for anyone who wants to ride.I say rubbish! Motorcycling (in the US!) is perfect in the 21st century with fine if ugly modern machines, lots of choices (I ride a retro-modern bike thanks) and lots of freedom. It may be worse now in the UK than it was in the England of my youth but I remember the 1970s fondly and I loved reading about the period.If you have any interest in the 1970s these volumes are comprehensive and simple to read and you will have fun them immensely. At $2 per volume they are a bargain and a superb read. I just want the covers featured various images as they are hard to distinguish on my phone's kindle reader!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motorcycling in the1970s The story of biking's biggest, brightest and best ever decade Volume 2:: Funky Motorcycling! Biking in the 1970s - Part One []  2019-12-23 20:19

    I cannot praise this series of books highly enough. Not only a history of motorcycles, but a social history of the times. A MUST-READ, for all bikers, motorcyclists etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motorcycling in the 1970s The story of biking's biggest, brightest and best ever decade Volume 4:: Funky Motorcycling! Biking in the 1970s - Part Three []  2020-1-7 18:45

    I cannot praise this series of books highly enough. Not only a history of motorcycles, but a social history of the times. A MUST-READ, for all bikers, motorcyclists etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motorcycling in the 1970s The story of biking's biggest, brightest and best ever decade Volume 3:: Funky Motorcycling – Biking in the 1970s - Part Two []  2020-1-27 19:9

    Mr. Skelton has place together a very amazing set of books on motorcycles and motorcycling. All five held my interest from begin to finish. In my 40+ years of riding motorcycles, I have owned and enjoyed some of the motorcycles he covered in this series and it was nice to read of his and other contributors insights regarding the development, manufacture and period tests of those cycles along with a lot of others that were covered in this set of books. This group of books certainly was more than worth the time it took to read them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motorcycling in the1970s The story of biking's biggest, brightest and best ever decade Volume 2:: Funky Motorcycling! Biking in the 1970s - Part One []  2019-12-23 20:19

    This book, and the series, is truly a passionate story of motorcycling, sometimes waxing lyrical but always heartfelt.Facts and prose are woven together into books that any petrolhead should enjoy. The descriptive language is colorful and engaging. A very worthwhile read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motorcycling in the 1970s The story of biking's biggest, brightest and best ever decade Volume 1:: A Brief History of Motorcycling from 1887 to 1969 []  2019-12-24 19:36

    I cannot praise this series of books highly enough. Not only a history of motorcycles, but a social history of the times. A MUST-READ, for all bikers, motorcyclists etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motorcycling in the 1970s The story of biking's biggest, brightest and best ever decade Volume 3:: Funky Motorcycling – Biking in the 1970s - Part Two []  2020-1-27 19:9

    I cannot praise this series of books highly enough. Not only a history of motorcycles, but a social history of the times. A MUST-READ, for all bikers, motorcyclists etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motorcycling in the 1970s The story of biking's biggest, brightest and best ever decade Volume 1:: A Brief History of Motorcycling from 1887 to 1969 []  2019-12-24 19:36

    I really enjoyed this first book, it created me wish to the next one. Richard Skelton knows his topic and it is a topic that is close to my heart, motorbikes. I do not read novels so I was happy to search something that I could really obtain involved in, he writes with a pleasing mixture of obvious knowledge and humour that kept me interested. I have already bought the second book and I will read them all, I have no hesitation in recommending this series of books to biking enthusiasts because the first one created me eager to read the next. Go for it, you won't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motorcycling in the1970s The story of biking's biggest, brightest and best ever decade Volume 2:: Funky Motorcycling! Biking in the 1970s - Part One []  2019-12-23 20:19

    If you love motorcycles, this is a amazing read, begin to finish!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motorcycling in the1970s The story of biking's biggest, brightest and best ever decade Volume 2:: Funky Motorcycling! Biking in the 1970s - Part One []  2019-12-23 20:19

    Very enjoyable. Puts the paradigm shifting age of motorcycling into perspective.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motorcycling in the 1970s The story of biking's biggest, brightest and best ever decade Volume 1:: A Brief History of Motorcycling from 1887 to 1969 []  2019-12-24 19:36

    VERY detailed. Fascinating, lots of perfect photographs (better than most kindle books) and coherent. It traces the history of the evolution of motorcycling in England, with sidebars on the U.S. scene, with precision. Very interesting, simple to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sold Out: How High-Tech Billionaires & Bipartisan Beltway Crapweasels Are Screwing America's Best & Brightest Workers []  2020-1-20 20:0

    Well written and simple to read. A lot of of the claims are probably real and I certainly want the H1B quota goes down and IT jobs would be more stable and income levels would go up. Nothing versus most of the argumentation. But she has enough amazing items and does not need to add artificial arguments like:Job creation per immigrant1. The only thing she looks at is that a jobs are made by the founder of a company, which is certainly a short sighted conclusion. A well rounded squad is needed to make the next job, i.e. engineers need to make the next amazing product, the squad has to the items and so on. I think the role of CEOs and founders is certainly overrated in the assessment (and in America anyway).2. It is hard to begin a company it requires capital or other support. An immigrant is often alone, especially if you look at the ones who are brought based on their work. The families (i.e. brothers, sisters, parents, grandparents) often stay in the home country. Often parents are willing to support you out when you begin a company for example by giving you a room in their house for an office for free, or lending you some to obtain started. Also they can give you back your old room for shelter if your business does not generate a living wage in the beginning. In addition to this if you grew up here you also have a nice network from school and college, which a new immigrant has to build up first. (Remember Tag Zuckerberg got his first 3 million from a buddy of his not from some VP).Been there done that : I started a consulting firm in my home country where I could immediately call about 200 mates , family members, extended family members mates of mates etc. Here I could take with maybe 20 people to begin with, every fresh contact had be generated.H1B to Greencard transitionOne of the really funny arguments is that you should know when you come if you wish to stay forever (i.e. greencard) or only for a short period (i.e. H1B) so she does not like the transition from H1B to greencard.Who and how in the globe can someone go to a fresh country, which he may have visited only for vacation before and then know that he wants to stay there forever ???? Usually during the 3 years of H1B people begin to like (or hate) the US and wish to stay (or leave). She may be one of those rare individuals why can create such a life changing decision 'up front' without trying for couple of anyway the book has enough very amazing arguments and does not need any of the poor ones to add to the mix. Leave the 'made up' arguments out and the book would still have enough material.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sold Out: How High-Tech Billionaires & Bipartisan Beltway Crapweasels Are Screwing America's Best & Brightest Workers []  2020-1-20 20:0

    Unbelievable book, answered so a lot of questions about what I have struggled with as a STEM graduate here in the US. I used to wonder if I was coming off as a poor interviewer when I place myself out for tech jobs here in California back in the early 2000's.. People used to say I did amazing interviews... Was there something else? No, I had always done well by my employers, gotten rave reviews and proven my commitment to the companies I worked for. What was it then? Education? No, I had studied hard, gotten certifications from Novell and Microsoft, I had an engineering degree from a very reputable huge 10 college.. What was it? Why had it become so hard to search work.. Right in Silicon Valley? It was incredibly demoralizing. I submitted hundreds of resumes and applications over the years. I finally got a hit from a healthcare company late latest year, after at one point, basically dropping off the grid (I even changed careers and taught yoga (not my forté, but I gave it a shot.. Something must really be wrong with my career choices, i thought). I mean, I'm a guy who can learn Chinese and people praise me for how quick and well I can speak. Then I stumbled upon this book (among other various perceptions I was starting to learn in my own research about how this globe is really run).. and it created so much sense. This marginalization of American STEM workers makes sense now. I have recently learned more about how truly runs this world, from scams like the Fed and others, and this fits that realization perfectly. I don't consider myself a nihilist, I do think a lot of people are doing unbelievable things, in general, but this book really illuminated how some particularly nasty elements in the government and industry are duping the American people. Read this book and learn what you will never be taught in the university before they pat your tattered back and praise you for your sacrifice in getting your hard earned science or tech degree and then watch you hang on by your fingernails in the nasty true world.. That, as this book shows, can really speak out of both sides of its mouth: "I president Obama value our young graduates and wish to give them the best possibility they deserve from American industries!" ...yeah right.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sold Out: How High-Tech Billionaires & Bipartisan Beltway Crapweasels Are Screwing America's Best & Brightest Workers []  2020-1-20 20:0

    After 30 years in IT my latest job was teaching an Indian H1B programmer how to debug Russian COBOL code. Talk about handwriting on the wall. Ten years before retirement I lost my job and couldn't obtain back in. This book is the true deal, folks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sold Out: How High-Tech Billionaires & Bipartisan Beltway Crapweasels Are Screwing America's Best & Brightest Workers []  2020-1-20 20:0

    I was not aware how a lot of jobs are being lost to non Americans every year and our citizens who have these jobs Have to train their replacements. An excellent, highly skilled worker, for a lot of years, is finding themselves replaced by H-1b workers. These are mainly IT workers, who might got their degree from a diploma mill. But these very wealthy industries like Facebook, Apple, and etc don't care because it saves them money. The we'll employees tell Congress America doesn't have the qualified workers, which is a Large Lie. Americans can't obtain these jobs because H-1B workers will work for less and soon the H-1bs will become slaves to their company. Very sad and Congress doesn't care. "FOLLOW THE $".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sold Out: How High-Tech Billionaires & Bipartisan Beltway Crapweasels Are Screwing America's Best & Brightest Workers []  2020-1-20 20:0

    I'm very happy with my purchase. The book was delivered on time and in the perfect e book itself is great, as usual when Michelle Mallkin is the author. She and John Miano collected and presented so a lot of facts on how American workers were literally Sold Out by huge companies with full cooperation of our government.I worked in IT industry for more then 20 years and saw it with my own eyes and felt it in my pocket but this book gave me much better understanding on how it was done. The book is full of appalling info on how corporations and government work together to take jobs from American workers and give it foreign workers. I'm really disgusted with our politicians who allow it to e book also presents amazing individual stories of the Americans who were affected by this scam.I'd like to add the private story as rstly, I'd like to note that I don't have poor feelings versus foreign workers, they do what they can to better their lives by using the system and as the book clearly shows they often themselves become the victims of the system. I worked with a lot of the IT guys from India and most of them are very pleasant people and amazing specialists BUT, in my experience, they are not better than American workers that I worked with and who lost their jobs because influx of Indian cently, I had a job with the huge company that I also had worked for about 10 years ago. I was laid off 10 years ago but was lucky to search another job with much smaller compensation. I was really lucky because a lot of people who were laid off with me were not able to search any job. When I started this fresh assignment with the same company, I was amazed on how a lot of Americans were replaced by foreign workers. I spoke to mate of my who by the method is Indian and was still working at this company and he told me that he had not have raises and gifts for a while and he has to cope with it because it is harder and harder to search a decent job.When my assignment was ending and I created it clear that I would not like to extend it, my commute one method was around 2 hr, one of the coworkers that I worked with said that he would test to do the job that I was doing. He is a very amazing person,a pleasure to work with, and amazing professional but he had no idea what was actually involved in the job that I was doing. When I started to explain it to him, he said that it would be better if I would document everything and then they can ask workers in India to do it for $ 10 per hour. It is his exact words. He himself was from India and in a couple of days he came to the office and was really upset. He could not hold it to himself so he told us that he just visited another department and at this department they were interviewing person from southern India. For some reason, he stressed the fact that this person was from southern India like it was something bad. Then he said that if this person and others like him would be hired and obtain $10 per hour, again his words, then his salary and job are in jeopardy. It was really ironic.I hope that fresh administration would stay for American workers and would stop this abuse hidden under false pretenses of diversity and claims that there are not enough qualified American I said before the book gives perfect coverage on how this scam is done now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sold Out: How High-Tech Billionaires & Bipartisan Beltway Crapweasels Are Screwing America's Best & Brightest Workers []  2020-1-20 20:0

    Sadly, everything in this book is TRUE! After working for INS and DHS for over 20 years, I can say this book is probably better than any government produced training material I have ever seen on the subject of employer based visa fraud. All the politicians, Democrats and Republicans, and the heads of the top Tech companies all hold clamoring for more foreign tech workers. Whether they are naïve, duped, or complicit; the reality is that its just fraud on top of fraud. Sure, enemies of the book will say its agenda is versus foreigners, yet so a lot of of the visa schemes to bring foreign workers in end up exploiting these workers in violation of all kinds of US labor laws. These foreigners don't complain because they wish to be in the US so poor that they are willing to be treated like indentured servants. Anyway, I highly recommend this book if you wish to know what really goes on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sold Out: How High-Tech Billionaires & Bipartisan Beltway Crapweasels Are Screwing America's Best & Brightest Workers []  2020-1-20 20:0

    A amazing American history book, chock full of facts, that shows how in the latest half of the 20th century, and beyond, the American labor force was intentionally decimated. I think that is as necessary as the history of unions or the rise of the industrial era or internet era/information e American Worker was indeed sold out by everyone. And it is "follow the money" with its greed, self-interest, corruption, along with lies, deceit and fraud. Officials create law for begin border expansionists, all in the name of labor, for campaign cash, both parties. It is like watching a snuff film with a slow death, and just as sickening. No one should question why 2016 is the year the presidential election exploded with heavy help for Donald Trump and Bernie Sanders when they stepped forward to challenge the status quo, the establishment - neither perfect. Without this imperfect present of democracy, we'd have a "French Revolution".The solutions are clear. They've been there all along. A few lone, persistent and brave voices and some government reports allow everyone know. We've always known. But they've all been ignored. That's the problem. So the fox easily got away with cleaning out the chicken nda Kilcrease - lost job twice due to the H-1B visa. AIG 1994 and IBM 2009. Needed to train foreigners to do my job.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sold Out: How High-Tech Billionaires & Bipartisan Beltway Crapweasels Are Screwing America's Best & Brightest Workers []  2020-1-20 20:0

    Amazing book ! I work at the Stagecoach bank and I see this firsthand. American workers have been Sold Out, undercut and are grossly underpaid. The quality of work I see from offshore resources is not good and is highly error prone which adds significant time and costs to projects. Resources can be somewhat stubborn and are sometimes difficult to understand. BTW...Marco Rubio is a large supporter of the H1B Visa program. I don't see a reduction of offshore workers in the near future. Look at what happened at Disney ! Michelle [email protected]#$%! a home run with this book. Dead on and 100% accurate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sold Out: How High-Tech Billionaires & Bipartisan Beltway Crapweasels Are Screwing America's Best & Brightest Workers []  2020-1-20 20:0

    Beautiful amazing book. Includes historical background on how the H-1B and other visa programs developed, who is behind them, and who in Congress has advocated for them. Both Republican and Democrats have advocated for these visa programs. Ms. Maulkin even included a list of the current presidential candidates who do and don't advocate for these programs. Unfortunately, the largest enemies seem to have dropped out.I want the book had covered two extra topics;1) complicity by US based state engineering colleges in the H-1B program in filling their schools with as a lot of foreign graduate students as possible to make staffing positions and labor for research studies. Additionally, the Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986 prohibits universities receiving any form of federal aid from charging foreign students more than in-state tuition. Students from other states typically much higher out-of-state tuition than foreign students at state universities because of this federal law. The state taxpayers are compelled to subsidize foreign students. Universities also participate in promoting the fiction of shortages to maintain their graduate programs and research. I am particularly upset that the universities do not tell their American undergraduate students that there is a large surplus of engineers, and employers may decide to hire a foreign PhD for less than an American graduate with a B.S. Engineering students often believe the myth of a shortage and spend years working hard to obtain a degree that is not in demand.2) the TN visa program for NAFTA professionals, " Visas for Canadian and Mexican NAFTA Professional Workers " and the TD visa for their spouse and dependent children. This seems to be unlimited in numbers (?), usually requiring only a baccalaureate degree or some sort of certification. Like the H-1B, the TN NAFTA visa ties the employee to a sponsor employer. The TN NAFTA visa lists a huge number of professions, in addition to computer systems analysts, engineers, chemists, and biologists, it contains hotel manager, nutritionist, agronomist, poultry specialist. physical therapist, graphic designer, interior designer, librarian, social worker, urban planner, meteorologist, and a lot of other professions. Does anyone know how a lot of TN visas are being issued?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sold Out: How High-Tech Billionaires & Bipartisan Beltway Crapweasels Are Screwing America's Best & Brightest Workers []  2020-1-20 20:0

    I often read these comments on books before making a purchase. I apply a filter for those who seem to have a commercial interest in publishing a is is my 3rd book review comment on Amazon over the past why am I stopping to write this? Because it is disgraceful for well-heeled corporatist to cast aside working Americans in favor of labor foreign workers who in some cases have these same American workers train their foreign labor replacement. This is outrageous!Michelle and John back up their findings with detailed research and point their fingers directly where the crime is taking e H1-B visa program is off the rails. The current administration refuses to enforce the laws and members from each party share in culpability. I warn readers to create a unique effort to remain calm as you read this book because reading it will likely effect in your blood boiling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest flashlight [App]  2019-9-27 13:48

    Very bright. I love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest flashlight [App]  2019-9-27 13:48

    It is so good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest flashlight [App]  2019-9-27 13:48

    so far amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight [App]  2020-6-28 13:37

    Boom

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    So far so good! Love the method I don't have to unblock my phone to turn on the flashlight!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    J 3

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    Thanks for letting me know about this and we can go from there and then you can obtain the

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    Love

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest flashlight [App]  2019-9-27 13:48

    Hold up the GOOD work!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest flashlight [App]  2019-9-27 13:48

    Works even while on other apps simultaneously.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight [App]  2020-6-28 13:37

    Ab

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest flashlight [App]  2019-9-27 13:48

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    Simple to use app!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    Flashlight is excellent on me?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    Access my contacts NOT

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    Very amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    I like the work of this flashlight. It brightens a lot

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    Slow

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    I need a flashlight so i this application it works but it never turns off the light

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    This is boss

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    I like

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest flashlight [App]  2019-9-27 13:48

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest flashlight [App]  2019-9-27 13:48

    I just got it through uento, and will hold it on my phone, as it is very helpful, when light gone, or you have to search something in darkness.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight [App]  2020-6-28 13:37

    Sometimes easy things is awesome, must have application for everyone

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight [App]  2020-6-28 13:37

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    There is absolutely no reason your application needs to access my contacts to function.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    It is si attractive

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    Flashlight

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    Amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    I love

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    I like is flashlight application I want tablets have them

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    Very shining and bright

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    Very amazing nd essential

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Flashlight - SOS Mode & Brightest [App]  2019-11-14 21:35

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Endgame: Bobby Fischer's Remarkable Rise and Fall - from America's Brightest Prodigy to the Edge of Madness []  2020-1-16 7:14

    If you wish to know about Bobby Fischer, this is the book for you. It was interesting to read about the a lot of people that met Bobby as a youngster, played chess with him, realized his potential for chess greatness and kept introducing him to chess players higher up America’s chess hierarchy. In addition to his innate talent, Bobby’s determination to continue learning, improving and, above all, winning was key to his success. But his rapid success could also only be achieved with the cooperation of adults who enabled his playing chess late at night or who allowed his participation in multi-week chess tournaments during the school year (while all other youths were attending school). So as a youth, Bobby just wanted to play chess and the adults in his life allowed, and even encouraged, that to happen. By the time of the Fischer/Spassky Globe Chess Championship, Bobby’s chess playing was phenomenal; but his demands (and behavior) was getting odd. And, sadly, in subsequent years, Bobby’s behavior and lifestyle continued to deteriorate. His self-determination was eventually matched – and then exceeded -- by his tom line: Interesting to see Bobby Fischer’s youthful rise from kid to US Chess Begin Winner – and then his journey to Globe Chess Championship. Interesting, but also sad, to see the mostly self-inflicted decline in Bobby’s private life thereafter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Endgame: Bobby Fischer's Remarkable Rise and Fall - from America's Brightest Prodigy to the Edge of Madness []  2020-1-16 7:14

    If you've ever wanted to separate fact from fiction when it comes to the life of Bobby Fischer this book will do it for you, and in the process providing an intimate insight and behind the scenes look into America's Chess Champion. Fascinating reading, amazing insight into human nature, and the revelation that Fischer might not have been quite the kid prodigy we assume. His brilliance seems to have come in spurts and spells, and he suffered a lot of defeats both as a kid and as an adult. And then there's the lengthy and revealing look at his descent from Chess stardom into the years of his decline and rabid antisemitic viewpoint. A thoroughly engaging read from one of the people who knew him best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Endgame: Bobby Fischer's Remarkable Rise and Fall - from America's Brightest Prodigy to the Edge of Madness []  2020-1-16 7:14

    Absolutely, positively, the best book on the life of Bobby Fischer I've ever read! Nothing else comes close! The info Mr. Brady goes into about Bobby Fischer's life, both private and his chess career, left me very happy and content that there is nothing more to learn about Bobby Fischer. This book is so well written that when I place it down, I couldn't wait to pick it up again. An simple read; there are no actual android games in this book so you don't have to know how to play chess to have fun learning about one of the best chess players of all time!I started playing chess in 1972, before I ever heard of Bobby Fischer. When I did learn of him I went out and purchased my first chess book, Bobby Fischer Teaches Chess. Despite the current criticism of this book it was helpful to me at the time and created me wish to learn en came the 1972 Globe Chess Championship versus Boris Spassky. The excitement of his win, not showing up to defend his title, his disappearance, derogatory remarks, issues with the U.S. government, his rematch versus Spassky in 1992, and finally his death - I knew these things but I didn't know the stories surrounding them and was never happy with any of the other books I've read until I came across this one. Thank you Mr. Brady for a wonderful, well written story of Bobby Fischer's life! It answered a lot of questions and I learned a lot of thing's I didn't know. I can't explain why I didn't come across your book earlier but I'm glad I did. Very highly recommended if you wish to know more about Bobby Fischer!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Endgame: Bobby Fischer's Remarkable Rise and Fall - from America's Brightest Prodigy to the Edge of Madness []  2020-1-16 7:14

    I am old enough to remember when Fischer came into the conscious of the country with his defeating of the Soviet chess master, Spassky. I also remember his self-destruction into full hatred of himself and others. For clinical purposes, I would classify him with a paranoid personality disorder and this book certainly provides ample reason to believe that is the correct diagnosis. The author is not a detractor of Fischer nor an apologist. Neither type would have created for such a amazing read. There is so much about Fischer the chess master to admire, but his hero so badly destroyed him.What I liked most about this book is that the author seeks to dispel simple excuses for his personality by not placing the blame on his mother either as a unloving parent or a parent seeking glory for herself through her child. However, she did create a lot of mistakes especially with depending on him to fend for himself at such early ages. She required to work and study to better herself, but this was also ultimately destructive to her son. Not that she didn't care about him. The book makes clear that she tried to involve him in a lot of activities and to some extent this was successful. But, his coming home to an empty house most certainly had a negative influence on his development along with not knowing his true father. But, those are my views and not what the author attempted to conclude.I had this book both in Kindle and as an audiobook. I mostly listened to it during my commutes and walks. It was well read and I appreciate that quality. I have several books I'm reading at the same time so if not for the audible books I wouldn't have had time to obtain to this book for several more weeks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Endgame: Bobby Fischer's Remarkable Rise and Fall - from America's Brightest Prodigy to the Edge of Madness []  2020-1-16 7:14

    This is a very impressive biography of an unparalleled chess genius, and his shocking transformation from likable famous character into a paranoid, self-defeating extremist. Elite chess is certainly an excruciatingly demanding endeavor, but this book painstakingly documents other probable factors that contributed to his sad fate, including Fischer’s dysfunctional upbringing, his titanic struggle versus the ruthless Soviet chess machine, the influence of the Worldwide Church of God cultists, and even his abortive love life. It is a story of triumph versus wonderful odds superimposed over a heartbreaking descend into madness, told in an engaging fashion with just the right amount of detail. I found the tale of Mr. Fischer particularly relevant in our show days, as an example of a highly smart individuals that keep despicable views in a completely irrational fashion. His choice later in life to insult anybody he disliked by calling them "Jews", irrespective of their religion or background, was in a method illustrative of the deeply flawed characters that troll our social networks and public life, impervious to reason and civilized discourse.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Endgame: Bobby Fischer's Remarkable Rise and Fall - from America's Brightest Prodigy to the Edge of Madness []  2020-1-16 7:14

    I just finished the book. It was interesting to read from begin to [email protected]#$%!& describes Bobby Fischer from childhood to the end of his life and provides a deep look into his personality and character. The author describes Fischer's amazing traits as well as the ide from psychosocial and biographical info about Bobby Fischer, the books also goes over a number of info of the globe at the time of any given time period in Bobby's life.I really cannot think anything to criticize about this book. Some have complained that Brady doesn't list or discuss the actual chess android games themselves move by move. I think it is a amazing decision to avoid that and focus on Fischer's biography ances are that you're looking at this book because you've heard about or watched the latest movie about Fischer, "Pawn Sacrifice". This is a much better source of info about Fischer and a much better and more accurate look into his life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Endgame: Bobby Fischer's Remarkable Rise and Fall - from America's Brightest Prodigy to the Edge of Madness []  2020-1-16 7:14

    It's a page Turner. Fischer's life off the board is like a vehicle accident you can't support but at least glance at....but it's simple to stare. He was one of the best players ever...but "THE" BEST ? Speculation. There are more than a dozen players today ranked higher than he ever was but it's all speculation at this point. The story is about a human. I can't remember reading about a more self imploding narcissist ever. Amazing chess player but in life maybe just an Unpromoted pawn on a lost game. Very sad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Endgame: Bobby Fischer's Remarkable Rise and Fall - from America's Brightest Prodigy to the Edge of Madness []  2020-1-16 7:14

    This book is perfect and the only one you will ever need to read on Bobby Fischer. It is a clear portrayal of him as both a prodigy, a genius, and a complete and unequivocal jerk. When the author reported certain of his behaviors I was sometimes too embarrassed to continue. For example, when Princess Grace of Monaco gave Bobby an envelope containing money that was owed to him for a chess event, he he ripped it begin and counted the before agreeing to shake her hand. This is only one example out of a lot of detailed in this book. The book thoughtfully portrays his chess android games and his disturbed personality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Endgame: Bobby Fischer's Remarkable Rise and Fall - from America's Brightest Prodigy to the Edge of Madness []  2020-1-16 7:14

    Well written, I really enjoyed the first half of the book, which was about Fischer's ascendancy to the top of the chess world. Unfortunately, the latest half or so of the book is the story of Fischer's descent into... egomaniacal paranoia...? Who knows what was truly wrong with him. It seems to me that aside from a bonus for chess, he was nothing but hero flaws. One of the most unsympathetic people I've ever read e part of the book that was about his chess career, before he became consumed with hate, was a fun read, though. I managed to [email protected]#$%!, but afterwards, I felt like I need to delouse or something. Yuck.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Endgame: Bobby Fischer's Remarkable Rise and Fall - from America's Brightest Prodigy to the Edge of Madness []  2020-1-16 7:14

    The book was very well written. Somehow the author's descriptive style allowed me to insert myself into the story and picture Fischer's life first hand. If you're looking for a feel-good story about Bobby Fischer you might wish to quit reading after the chapter where he beats Spassky for the globe title. You'll search that Fischer was quite petulant throughout his entire life and extremely paranoid through most of his adult life. His antisemitism was repugnant and he used people all of his life. Maybe he was just nuts. The one thing I found intriguing was the amount of globe travel he accomplished -- starting in his early teens through 1972 -- while always seeming to be flat broke.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blazin' Sun 800 | Brightest Lanterns Battery Powered LED Camping and Emergency | Hurricane, Storm and Power Outages (Blue) []  2020-7-10 20:25

    I purchased this battery operated lantern to use during power outages specifically during hurricanes in Florida. Uses 4 D size batteries...easy to install by twisting the base cap off, inserting batteries, and twist the base back cap on. My mother has the same one with the clear shield. I ordered this to compare them. I prefer the frosted for 2 reasons: it appears 2ce as bright - throws a significantly more amount of light on objects in a room and if the lantern is within a person's view...the other has that bright center light, this one is still bright, but softened as you would expect from a frosted shield...there are 4 brightness controls that are each significantly various from each other, so you can chose your preference as needed. Appears to be amazing quality...I have no problems with that. It might have been nice for them to add a grip pad on the wire handle for comfort while carrying (thinking about a 90 year old handling it)...but in reality, one may walk with the lantern for only a brief bit, then it's placed on a surface or suspended from a ceiling fixture while spending time in a room...so not that huge of an issue. I tested the lantern in a dark walk-in closet and in a corner of my bedroom and the lighting was very bright...could see everything so clearly...not as bright as a ceiling light fixture, but more than most lanterns...very adequate, especially when the lantern was held above my head...when lower the lighting was only bright around the immediate zone and the rest of the room was dark...so you should think about this when placing the light...the handle or the inset hook feature built into the base could be used to rig the lamp suspended from a ceiling fixture, and plenty of light to a room...I am seriously impressed with this lantern and prefer the frosted shield to the clear after I compared them turned on one at a time, side by side in a dark room.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blazin' Sun 800 | Brightest Lanterns Battery Powered LED Camping and Emergency | Hurricane, Storm and Power Outages (Blue) []  2020-7-10 20:25

    I'm very satisfied with this and feel better prepared when the next power outage happens. I bought this lantern for storms and emergencies since I live in an zone where storms and hurricanes are common. I chose this one because it had amazing battery life on the lower setting, which is the one that I will use most often, but at the same time is listed as the brightest on high mode. I tested it in my basement and I was shocked by how bright the 800 setting is. The entire room was covered in light. The flashlight and old lantern I compared it to were in a various league. These fresh LED technologies are such an improvement from the old weak bulbs I grew up with. This lantern will easily light up the room for everyone in my family to have light during the next storm. I've had it only a few days and I'll modernize this review if there are any durability issues, but at first glance it looks to be solidly made, I particularly like the rubber bumpers surrounding the base where it's most likely to obtain banged. Batteries were easy to install.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blazin' Sun 800 | Brightest Lanterns Battery Powered LED Camping and Emergency | Hurricane, Storm and Power Outages (Blue) []  2020-7-10 20:25

    Perfect light brightness and coverage. Spend a small more and obtain the frosted ver - you will be glad you did. Especially like the 4 settings as it will extend the battery life. I had to return a very related brand name lantern because trying to insert and/or remove the batteries was a nightmare. This is IMPORTANT if you are not a 200 lb. male with huge hands. And I kept finding this same issue in the reviews of related lanterns. I am 73, thin, and little boned - and I was easily able to install and remove the batteries in this lantern. The battery compartment cap has two vanes that present you where to line up the compartment cap for simple closure. I live in hurricane country so I am glad to have this as part of my hurricane supplies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Day Vol. 3 [Book]  2018-5-8 18:0

    I'll be honest...the ending is a tad disappointing. Reason being...it focused too much on setting up the next stories, and not enough on the blem is, the 52 wiped everything clean and these next stories never so, without reading the Generation Lost series...you dont know what some of the references at being e Brightest Day happening is wonderful.And it's about the journey, not just the end.I had dozens of emotional experiences reading this...it was an awesome event.I was so satisfied to invest in the Blackest Night-Brightest Day series of TPBs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brightest Day Vol. 3 [Book]  2018-5-8 18:0

    A must own if you are unfamiliar with the entities. I found it a bit weak since it basically serves as an oversized prequel to Battle of the GL's and both books seemed to be a bit low quality. The storyline peaked at Blackest night and just got less impressive over time. Since Geoff Johns created GL a famous title again, you should be able to search it at a library for free, it really doesn't feel al that important but where Brightest day ends, Battle of the Gl's begins, so it really is up to you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    LED Flashlight - Brightest Flashlight [App]  2018-12-8 21:0

    Too a lot of advertisements, but it had a amazing light.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    LED Flashlight - Brightest Flashlight [App]  2018-12-8 21:0

    It helps a lot thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    LED Flashlight - Brightest Flashlight [App]  2018-12-8 21:0

    Amazing lighting and useful!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    LED Flashlight - Brightest Flashlight [App]  2018-12-8 21:0

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    LED Flashlight - Brightest Flashlight [App]  2018-12-8 21:0

    Its cool

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Brightest Africa []  2020-2-12 19:12

    The book by Carl Akeley was an perfect description of his ventures in East Africa. He worked with T. Roosevelt and knew Martin and Osa Johnson (Photographers)and was probably the world's leading taxidermist of his time. A very amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Flashlight - Brightest Flash Light [App]  2019-4-1 13:35

    nice nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Flashlight - Brightest Flash Light [App]  2019-4-1 13:35

    I like the flashing lights and everything that comes with it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Flashlight - Brightest Flash Light [App]  2019-4-1 13:35

    great..bright...

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386