Read brine and bone reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all brine and bone reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brine and Bone []  2021-4-6 23:24

    It’s a worthwhile retelling. It’s not Kate Stradling’s best work. It’s not meant to be hilarious, but The Legendary Inge is hilarious. Kingdom of Ruses is charming, whimsical and creative. This retelling feels constrained. The reversal in insight between the mermaid and princess changes a amazing deal about the characters and story. Part of the feel of the story is that capricious indifference of life and the obliviousness of others. Swapping the insight reduces the sea fae to a pathetic monster rather than a full person. It might be a premise of the story, but it’s quite various from the original. Once you accept premise though, I do like the ending for her not-quite person sea spite the criticism, it’s worthwhile as a commentary on Andersen because the sea monster just doesn’t obtain why it’s not going to work. A lot of one sided attractions have that quality, and I wonder how much insight Andersen had about that in his own life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brine and Bone []  2021-4-6 23:24

    I always know it's going to be a amazing day when Kate Stradling announces she's published something. In this case, it's a novella ver of The Small Mermaid--much closer to the original than Disney, in the best possible way. Through the whole novella there's a slight, savage undertone of the risky sea and unchancy creatures, combining with the story between the wonderfully spiky Magdalena and her surprisingly cunning Prince of the things I love so much about Kate's books is her characterisation, and although this was a novella, she didn't disappoint me. I was unsure of Finnian until I began to message that there was a lot of sneakiness going on under that almost-too-perfect-and-good exterior, and I loved Magdalena from the start.I ate this up in a single afternoon, and now I'm sad that I have to wait for the next book...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brine and Bone []  2021-4-6 23:24

    This book followed very closely to H. C. Anderson's ver of The Small Mermaid (which is quite a bit various from Disney's version). Uniquely, this alternative retelling doesn't occur from the perspective of the mermaid, instead it tells the story from the perspective of the prince's other love interest. The change of perspective allows the plot to follow the original tale, while still telling a fresh story. Instead of seeing a mermaid desperate to be loved, Kate Stradling's ver reveals a sea creature's risky obsession which provides a very compelling story.

    0  


    Add your opinion on brine and bone or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brine and Bone []  2021-4-6 23:24

    I've heard a lot about Kate Stradling's fairytale retellings and was thrilled to obtain the possibility to read BRINE AND BONE, her short retelling of A LITTLE MERMAID.I really enjoyed this story. The characters were fascinating, managing to be ly (or creepy) and lovable at the same time. And the writing was beautiful. It's unusual to obtain a retelling that's so faithful to HCA's original, because, let's face it, the Anderson original is downright depressing, as are so a lot of of his other stories. I think Stradling did a unbelievable job of remaining faithful to the original while giving it a sense of meaning and hope. In the final struggle between the two authors, however, I can't support feeling that Anderson still won at said, this was a wonderfully enjoyable retelling that doesn't shy away from the dark and uncomfortable nature of the original tale. One of the more special and unusual fairytale retellings I've come across, and I'll definitely be checking out some more of this author's work in future!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brine and Bone []  2021-4-6 23:24

    First, I am a fairy tale fanatic. I love them. This small mermaid retelling is exceptional in that it is closer to the original tale than the modern Disney versions you find, plus it is very well written. I love that the main characters had so much compassion, and I also loved that the antagonists weren't humanized-that's unusual in a fairy tale these days. I genuinely similar to the main characters and even with the sea fae, and for the first time in YEARS I was very disappointed when I got to the end.Speaking of, when I finished this book I looked to see what else the author has written and was mildly surprised to search that I have read every. Single. Book. She has written. :)Ma'am, I absolutely LOVE The Legendary Inge, and truly, all the books you have on Amazon. I have used Kindle for going on ten years and you are the first author I search myself thinking about at random times, wondering if you have anything fresh out yet lolTL:DR-awesome ver of the small mermaid, highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brine and Bone []  2021-4-6 23:24

    When anything by Kate Stradling (be it a novel or a scribbled-on paper napkin) comes out, I buy it, without even reading what it’s about first. That is the highest recommendation and compliment I can give any author (some might think my taste is rubbish, but I certainly don’t - hence the review). I therefore cannot claim that this is a completely unbiased review, but the fact is that she has not disappointed my high expectations yet - and nor does she with Brine and regards this novella: it is the excellent blend of subtlety and tragedy, bias and a change of perspective, fantasy and realism. A reimagining of Hans Christian Andersen’s Small Mermaid, the story is told from the perspective of “the other woman” (and if your only frame of reference is the Disney ver with Ursula Trojan-horsing it, then this should have you grasping your pearls and gasping in indignation). However, as always, the author imbues her characters with realistic flaws and feelings, while cleverly adjusting our view of the “innocent” small mermaid who tries to steal the heart of a prince through magical means.I don’t wish to give too much away, but I felt anticipation at the start, haunted and vindicated at the end, and deliciously annoyed and frustrated in the middle. Do read this for a high quality retelling of a fraught and tragic tale.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brine and Bone []  2021-4-6 23:24

    I’m a large Littler Mermaid fan and it’s a lot of adaptations. (When I was 4 my best mate was a miniature mermaid who played with me in the tub during bath time 😅). My favorite is the anime ver from back in the 80s, with Marina the mermaid turning into sea foam. Cried buckets. Second to that, I think this was a amazing take on the Andersen tale, reading it from the perspective “of the other woman.“ Her hero kind of reminded me of myself, who can be painfully aware of what others think.I loved Stradling’s The Legendary Inge, and liked Namesake (though that main hero was a little... too bitter? For me to read. Kate Stradling is now on auto buy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brine and Bone []  2021-4-6 23:24

    Kate Stradling has got to be my favourite author. I've read all her books, and loved them all, especially Namesake, Goldmayne & Legendary Inge. She has a magical method of bringing her special stories to life with relatable characters & tight plots. You can't ever place her books down and i've lost count how a lot of times I reread them. So when this novella came out, I literally squealed with glee.Who doesn't love Disney's ver of The Small Mermaid? But when I read the original version, I was crushed with its tragic ending. I couldn't accept it. So I stuck with Disney's version, despite knowing they sugar-coated the story. But Kate came by and gave the PERFECT resolution to how the original ver was written & I love it. It reconciled everything wrong with the original whilst keeping real to its homage.I love Malena from e start, she's a loveable hero who's real to herself. I was afraid Finnian would be, well, finicky... but he proved a main hero I too fell in love with.I want I can say more about how amazing this novella is but I can't do so without spoilers. So I'll just anxiously wait for the next mindblowing novel or novella from Kate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brine and Bone []  2021-4-6 23:24

    I really loved Stradling's "The Legendary Inge", and I've read all her books since then. They all have an interesting story and fair writing, but honestly, they've gotten a bit bitter. I really liked this twist on Small Mermaid - I would never wish to run into one of THESE mermaids - and I liked how there was no insta-love. BUT, Magdalena! She was so bitter! I can understand why, but it doesn't create for a particularly fun read. She required some other traits, quirks, a dark humor, SOMETHING to hold me from getting annoyed with her constant complaining.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brine and Bone []  2021-4-6 23:24

    I like that this tale makes a lot of sense and fills in the gaps nicely from Hand Christian Anderson's original tale. I like that it's not just a remake of Disney's version. I also like that it's told from the other girl's perspective, not the mermaid's. No swearing, or even scenes. Nice and clean, dark and beautiful, with hope. This is the first book I have read by this author. It won't be the last. Also, this book isn't full of typos or wrong words that completely take you out of the story. I am glad I bought it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ivory and Bone []  2020-1-18 21:25

    i can say I've never really read a caveman/ ice age book before and I have to say I really enjoyed it! I loved level-headed Kol and his family, I was entertained and fascinated by the info of their lives and what it took to survive and live in that time. I was frustrated in Mya but somehow still rooting for her and I was thoroughly swept up in the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow and Bone []  2020-1-19 21:47

    I feel like my review is going to a bit rambly and quite over the at’s right, I finally read something by Leigh Bardugo! This book had been on my TBR for so long that it grew cobwebs on it. And……. I liked it!!Now I’m not going to lie, this did have some YA clichés that you see a lot. Girl in love with best friend, doesn’t know that she had powers, oh and a love triangle. Sarcasm aside, I quite enjoyed this book with all of the clichés. There were times that it did obtain a small slow for me but I pushed past e globe building was great! I loved her fluid writing and detail about the various kind of Grisha.I’m so glad that Alina came into her power and became stronger. She was a small difficult to like in the beginning because she came off a bit whiny and weak, but by the end she grew on me. I liked seeing her go head to head with The tice how I’m not really saying anything about Mal? He was okay. Not swoon worthy and a small boring. Why is he a love interest at all? I didn’t feel a drop of chemistry between him and Alina.I feel like The Darkling is misunderstood. I know, I know. I always defend the villain. I always go towards them in books I read. But honestly, The Darkling was my favorite out of this whole book. I wish to know more about him and see what makes him I said there was a bit of a love triangle here. Mal was alright and all BUT, I cannot be the only one who ships her with the Darkling! Am I? Oh well, I’ll be the pirate on this ship.Overall, this book did have twists and turns and for the most part I really enjoyed it. I have already ordered Siege and Storm and can’t wait to see what happens next!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muscle and Bone []  2021-4-7 0:35

    Amazing globe building smoothly integrated into the plot. A small massive globe building at the begin but just the right amount afterwards. Very likable characters. I think my favorite was Wade. Amazing twist to the mystery. And I think my favorite was the compromise and change of perceptions by the MCs. In the era of hate, it was a relief and refreshing to see MCs who could meet in the middle, admit when their perceptions were wrong and still be real to themselves. 5 stars because I’m rereading immediately and goes on my favorites list.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ivory and Bone []  2020-1-18 21:25

    I was thoroughly engaged throughout this book. As a teacher of reluctant teenage readers, I especially appreciate a story set in a time period that my students wouldn't be too familiar with, yet whose characters face problems that are very familiar. Today's physical dangers may be various - we don't have to worry about wild animals around the corner - but the idea of friendly versus hostile guild is relevant, and in today's globe provides its own perils. Of course individual problems such as finding our put and falling in love are timeless. Amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ivory and Bone []  2020-1-18 21:25

    Really enjoyed this. Particularly liked the young couple at the heart of the story. Believable prehistoric setting. Sometimes, the explaining of what went wrong between clans felt a bit laborious. I think the main villain could've been more full developed as a character.But perfect writing overall and I look forward to more by Julie Eshbaugh.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow and Bone []  2020-1-19 21:47

    It had the bones of a amazing book, but it desperately required fleshing out and maybe a reality e meat of the story was, hilariously, just a boarding school drama. Even though the Grisha are supposedly the King's most elite soldiers, apparently they don't have anything better to do but gossip about each other's clothes and about who's shagging who in between nya and the Darkling were the only remotely multifaceted/interesting characters. The others were just cardboard cutouts. Alina and Mal included.I liked Mal at first, and his unbreakable friendship with Alina that kept toeing the line to be something more. But then he disappears for most of the book and when he returns he's devolved into a bland and broody love ina's sole defining trait is her unfailingly low self esteem. Aside from that she's a blank slate While I can understand why low self esteem might be appropriate for the target audience and as the starting point for a coming of age story, it isn't something that's enjoyable for me to read personally. It's especially grating when that's the literal only glimmer of personality Alina had. The payoff at the end simply wasn't amazing enough to sit through her whining and second guessing all through the novel.Speaking of payoffs. I don't wish to spoil anything but that has to be the cheapest handwavey loophole I've read in quite some time. There is *nothing* set up previously to help that or to suggest that Grisha magic works that l grumping aside I'll probably read the next one as well. It reads cleanly and doesn't take too much energy. It's nice mindless fluff if you need to wind down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marrow and Bone []  2020-9-19 19:28

    Marrow and Bone and Homeland is the same book under various titles. Not knowing it I bought both books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muscle and Bone []  2021-4-7 0:35

    Mary Calmes is an author who builds characters and the globe they live in with seamless integration, whether it's a human's or shifter's world. And this story is proof of her ability to do just e characters are fleshed out and engaging, the dialogue is uniquely attuned to each character's personality, and the story , from the beginning to the end, grabs your attention and doesn't allow go.I confess to being a Mary Calmes fan girl! I have every one of the books she's written and re-read a lot of of them whenever I need the comfort of her familiar characters and their unbelievable personalities. This story is no exception. A must read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muscle and Bone []  2021-4-7 0:35

    I loved this book, but I usually love Mary Calmes books, so it was no surprise that I liked this one also. If you like shifters and mysteries you'll love the book! Avery and Graeme are wolf shifters in a globe where shifters live side by side with humans. Avery works as a police detective, and a needs to solve a gruesome murder, right after he meets his mate, Graeme. I highly recomend the book, it's got humor, action, love - everything!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ivory and Bone []  2020-1-18 21:25

    This main plot is about Kol from the Manu guild and his focus on one woman, Mya. If there are any allusions going on it is with the film 10,000 B.C. The story is told in first person from the perspective of Kol. Roughly for the first three quarters of the book the story is told in a narration from his perspective of his meeting her and following happenings that led them to where he starts to tell the story. Oral tradition is how history was passed from generation to generation in the past and this narration is reminiscent of that. The romantic in me absolutely loves this because he is so detailed in his thoughts, feelings, and honesty. He holds nothing back and I love how the author was able to hold the narration so well and from his perspective. Truly well written and not just his narration but she does an perfect job of the globe construction for pre-historic times but unfortunately for me I kept envisioning 10,000 B.C.Kol’s deepest desire is for Mya to see him, to wish him, to trust him, to be his. Mya is from the Olen guild and there is a poor history between these two clans that almost led to a battle five years ago. Kol is unaware of exactly what the catalyst was that led to the tensions between clans but his fascination with Mya is the spark that starts his mind pondering. That spark has opened his awareness to why Mya and her guild are not so begin to the idea of the clans aligning and later on explains the not good treatment of his ems that guild Olen also have a few skeletons in their closet. Unbeknownst to either guild Manu or Olen there is a third clan, the Bosha, in the background who have a nefarious interest in the extinction of the Olen elder, Chev, and his family. Through deception this third guild is almost able to bring their plan to fruition but things do not go as planned thanks to the bravery of r most of the book, I found the whole hero of Mya to be a turn off. I wanted Kol to just move on and seek greener pastures. Had I been his mate I would have definitely been trying to push him to be sensible because the girl has issues. In the latest quarter of this book my feelings for her started to thaw because as things came to light I began to understand the “why” to her behaviors.Kol, now there is a guy after my heart even if he is a bit naive. Yes, naive because he is fixated on a girl that is not worthy of him or seemingly interested in him. I found his hero to be well rounded and well developed. The imagery that I see when I think back about his narration in the re-telling of his perspective of Mya just makes me love this character.I felt that the ideas were developed, the sub plots were tied together nicely and that the writing style was original, although there are some problems with the modern voice in a pre-historic setting. The story was beautiful slow until the end where the climax was quite tumultuous. Also, I am not versus “insta-love” if it is believable to me. Kol was inexperienced with females and given how the story was told he was fascinated by Mya but is that due to lack of previous options or experience? It just came across as “puppy love” to me and was hard for me to take seriously. If he had previously had female options and took no interest and then he met Mya and wowwzza then I would have been able to take his fascination e largest turn off for me was the first person voice. Everything is from Kol’s perspective and I obtain nothing from Mya’s. There is no sidekick to add to the discussion and bring some deepening of the characters. So I just have his thoughts and feelings on everything but I felt that they were the thoughts and feelings of a pre-pubescent boy. Any seventeen-year-old boy would have some inner thoughts that were not pure and rational. I would have liked to known Mya’s side of things. Her inner thoughts, how she felt about Kol, her struggles and ere was so much amazing with this story but there were just some problems that I could not obtain past to fangirl about this book. It is a amazing debut novel from an obviously talented writer and I am hoping for more in the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ivory and Bone []  2020-1-18 21:25

    I tried to obtain this book at the winter ALA convention and someone beat me to it. I later saw the person that got it and he told me he didn't really like it and so I wasn't that anxious to read it. He was so wrong!! I really liked it a lot! I'm glad I gave in and read it. Julie Eshbaugh writes a special story of love in a globe of life and death and mammoths!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow and Bone []  2020-1-19 21:47

    Set, and written, before the Six of Crows duology. If you’re going to read this trilogy, read it first or not at all. It’s not so much that Six of Crows spoils you for plot (though it does just a little) but more that Six of Crows will spoil you for richness of characters and depth of plot. Shadow & Bone just feels lacking in comparison - a small too plain, far too cliche, a small empty on characters, and far too short. Six of Crows simply sets reader expectations too high - better to begin here and work your method forward with the author’s experience level.I won’t be buying the rest of this trilogy, but rather waiting for the author to write fresh works.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow and Bone []  2020-1-19 21:47

    I LOVED the Six of Crows duology and was really excited to read this one, but the tone is so different, it was somewhat deflating. I loved the lore and the world, but Alina's awkwardness and her complete lack of confidence, along with the romantic elements of the book were sooo various from Kaz and his crew. I felt as if this was written for a younger audience than Six of 's still a amazing story and if you love ya fantasy romance, I'm sure you'll love it! I'm just an action junkie and this had more romance and awkwardness than action. I'm sure the pace of the next books will pick up (and I'm guessing dramatically) once we focus more on the action and the globe of the Grisha (which I'm completely in love with!)Leigh is an extremely talented author and I have every faith that, in the end, this book will be a whirlwind of a ride!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow and Bone []  2020-1-19 21:47

    This was a fairly generic fantasy novel. There is an orphan, and a dark power, and the orphan just happens to have the power to dispel the dark power, and trains and makes friends, but there's a magic macguffin she needs to really save the world. Then everything goes to s***, but at the latest moment it turns out she has even more potential than anyone suspected, so the day is sorta saved. But only sorta, so there can be a e book left me bored, and was fairly predicable. It did not really do anything exciting in even filling out the checklist of stuff in a generic fantasy novel. Magic just makes you tired, eventually. Dark guy who uses magical darkness turns out to be (spoiler warning) evil. Your one real love turns out to be your childhood friend, who shows up to save you at the right e magic system is particularly a mess, where sometimes being in a magic sphere of light surrounded by magical shadow means that you can be seen, but the people in the shadow can't, and sometimes it means just the opposite. The main hero has mirrors to use to reflect light into people's eyes, which also does not create any sense. If you can control light enough to direct it into the mirror at the right angle to obtain into someone's eyes, then you can also direct it right into someone's eyes, no mirror required. And for all that the rest of the system talks about like being attracted to like, for some unexplained reason if you're strong enough you can chop through e ending is where the book really broke for me in multiple ways (so there are spoilers here). There's a moment where the main hero expresses that they'd rather die than support do evil. And then really don't do anything more to resist helping, even when left unguarded for hours. There's no effort at all to allow anyone know things are wrong, or to test and break the collar that's being used to control them, or to actually go through with dying first. That sort of passivity followed by a miraculous "The rules of magic changed. Look how super strong I am now!" moment left me e book left me a small bit curious about where things go from where it ends, but not enough that I'd actually trudge through another book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Marrow and Bone []  2020-9-19 19:28

    Walter Kempowski was born in 1929 - old enough to be conscripted into the Hitler Youth during Globe Battle II and to be disgusted by the whole enterprise of Nazi Germany. In this short novel, he appears to disguise his disgust under a patina of farce, but the disguise doesn't hold. His protagonist, Jonathan, hardly a hero, was born in the latest days of the battle in what was then Germany, but soon became Poland and was continually the "bloodlands" of Eastern Europe. In 1988, Jonathan, living in Germany with a woman who is curating an exhibit of cruelty in the local museum, is given an opportunity to revisit his birthplace on behalf of a Japanese vehicle manufacturer. The bulk of this novel focuses on that trip. Kempowski, a masterful writer, retains tenuous control of this narrative, which risks veering off into comedy, bathos and tragedy, but instead retains its ambiguous and discomforting tone. Hats off to the translator, who captures this tone so successfully.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muscle and Bone []  2021-4-7 0:35

    5 starsThis title's a so far standalone story of MM Romance with a HEA, PNR aka Paranormal Romance, Suspense, Men-in-Blue, Action, Fated Mates, Alpha-Omega, Shifter 's difficult to decide right away what to say even!Wow, just wow! What a mix! I hope we'll see more! I enjoyd my read immensely! Exciting! Hot! Attractive and rich telling. It was such a thrill to read it. The beginning was more of an introductory part where we met all kinds of characters and of course the main characters Avery and Graeme and the framework and the begin of their romance. The framework is very rich in all aspects. Very well described, interesting. The characters vivid and full of life and personality. The two search each other and ... Then it was revealed that this was something more than primary shifter romance. The story, it just took and evolved so that I was so surprised and overjoyed. It was a true suspense and action story. It turned into murder mystery. Very ! This was ... just so --- yes, I loved! Not a moment bored! Read at one sitting!What a whirlwind romance!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muscle and Bone []  2021-4-7 0:35

    Mary writes possessive men well, and once you add in the fated friends aspect? Hoo boy! I wasn't quite sure going in what to expect, but it's *Mary* so I was sure I'd love it, and I definitely wasn't ere was such a amazing balance between independence and trusting in a relationship, and there was an interesting mystery woven in that kept me guessing (incorrectly, but whatever. I'm no detective for sure). The chemistry between the main characters was fantastic! I hope it's not the latest we see from this world, whether we revisit the main characters or *cough cough* certain interesting side characters that seemed like something might be starting. :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muscle and Bone []  2021-4-7 0:35

    Same old story with only a slight variation. The judgments given rhe poor guys is ridiculous! I would read Linden's story, as he's a flawed hero and he knows it. The method the omegas were treated is not good and the heat party was horrendous! The only one who truly cared about the omegas was the human. This author's latest several books have been a huge miss for me, not sure I'll continue reading her books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blood and Bone [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    Profanity is a brutal vice. He who uses it, is not a gentleman. Michael Jai White is one of the baddest men on the planet, so it was inevitable that he would follow in the footsteps of Van Damme, Seagal, Norris etc etc into movies. A martial artist of supreme skill and deadly grace, White brings not only his imposing physique and skills to the film, but also a moody poise to the role of Isaiah Bone, an ex-convict who infiltrates an underground war circuit to avenge the murder of a friend. There is absolutely no surprises in shop here, narratively speaking, but the action, the choreography and the editing are high grade stuff. So strap yourself in and roll with it, allow the kinetic fury grab you, and rejoice as another martial arts expert enters the fray late in the day. A terrific action film, hoo-hah! 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow and Bone []  2020-1-19 21:47

    Plain girl learns she's the chosen one. She goes into a magic school, has classes, deals with snobs. Becomes strong and beautiful, but spends most of her time anguished over a love is is a rehash of a lot of other books, nothing fresh feels like half the book is about how people look, and only the attractive people matter. Such a sad and stupid stereotype.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow and Bone []  2020-1-19 21:47

    Ms. Bardugo really has a talent with storytelling mixed in with magic and humor. I love the universe she made with its Russian words, background, culture. The harshness of being an orphan, the luxuries of the Court all really come together in a rich fantasy oil painting. Not too much detail, not too much magic theory, not too much dread and despair. It was an simple at aside, I couldn't really like the characters. I thought I liked the diamond-in-the-rough heroine but she never really pulled through to obtain her act together until the very end of this novel. She was constantly being pushed, shoved, led by others. She was easily deceived, and deceived even herself. You would think that after all this time she would figure out who she was and what she wanted. She is no longer a kid but she is constantly looking to others to give her the e hero development was really a mixed bag of "aha!" moments the author drops like candies on the floor. No true warning, just suddenly the heroine discovers why she's so brilliant (no pun intended), the character suddenly decides he loves her, and the villain whom I was really cheering for went from a multi-dimensional puzzle box to a textbook villain with no soul. Ugh. Disappointment e ending wrapped up so quickly it literally took half a chapter and one afterward to wrap it up. One moment it was all confrontation tension, the next, a miraculous resolution because the heroine just figured it all out. The issue with the huge reveal is that she never really cared about anything. Not her work. Not her co-workers. Not her life. Not even her health/appearance. She lived her entire life just numb; without hope or joy, just pining after a childhood friend. She obsessed about her childhood mate as if her universe revolved around him, and despite everything that happens to her and everything she's discovered about herself she still clings to him in the end even though we were supposed to believe she completely broke free of that mold a lot of chapters she makes a choice, willing to sacrifice all else, including the mates she didn't think she could create and innocent people, to obtain her HEA. What makes her so various from the enemy, then? In the next book I'm supposed to believe she wants to war a madman and save the country (she never really care for or fit in anywhere) and its people (she never really had any connection to)? Yeah, I'm thinking I'll just allow her do that without me. I'm done Alina. Have fun with e novel was rather short, as well. I think all three could really be reduced to two books, but for the greed of the publisher, we're forced to pay a tall price three times. The first 70% of this book was decent, but I'll save my cash and read something else.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow and Bone []  2020-1-19 21:47

    Bought this after reading The Language of Thorns, another of the author's books of short stories. Was expecting something similarly well written and creative, but instead was disappointed. Gist of story : self-doubting peasant girl with fiery will just wants a normal life in a globe ruled by high and mighty mages (called Grisha here) , but discovers she holds the rare and special power (chosen one trope) that can save them all. Taken to mage school where she makes mates and opponents who are all out to create her life difficult, but not to worry, the head of the mages is a tall, dark, brooding, handsome guy who watches her from afar and actually isn't so cold and nasty after all - at least not to her. Then there's her handsome childhood mate (twilight anyone)... I'm glad I didn't buy the rest of the series, because I had to struggle past all the clichés.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ivory and Bone []  2020-1-18 21:25

    I had read the first chapter of this book and knew I required to read this. It is a much various type of book than I normally read. I was hooked from the beginning and read this book in 1 day. It was a quick paced roller-coaster ride. I loved that the story was told as Kol was telling a story to Mya about when they met and all that had is story takes put a long time ago when mammoths roamed the earth and life was much simpler. Tribes were responsible for collecting, harvesting, hunting, and procreating to protect their line. Kol’s tribe has no girls in it anymore so they are in danger of dying out. Mya, her sister, and some of their tribe come to visit in hopes of creating a union between the two but things go wrong. Mya is standoffish and seems to be cold and indifferent to Kol. Kol isn’t quite sure what to think of her. He can’t stop thinking about her but she is so odd that he can’t heads or tails of what to do. So much is riding on a union that he stresses over their interactions.I loved the twists and turns this book took and the action and adventure. Even though times were simpler then, they were definitely not easy. This book created me think about all the obstacles and complexities that man faced to continue living in such a harsh environment. They had no medical help, no true tools, no true protection from the elements. Yet, they managed to persevere and thrive. It’s awesome what one can accomplish if you are determined.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ivory and Bone []  2020-1-18 21:25

    This item was excellent and was exactly what i was expecting. The item came in no time and was very well packaged and in a amazing shape. I'm very satisfied and happy with the item i received and wish to thank the seller for a terrific product.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muscle and Bone []  2021-4-7 0:35

    With 'Muscle and Bone' I'm remaining hopeful this is just the begin of a possible fresh series in the same kind of fated-mates vein as Calmes 'Change of Heart' series (which I adore), except instead of werepanthers these are wolves. I'm a tried and real sucker for real friends stories and this is no exception.I loved that we obtain dual POVs, and my only niggle is there are a few instances where scenes from Avery's POV are left mostly off page that I personally would have loved to read as they happened and not found bits out afterwards from Graeme's POV.Dual POV, a/b/o, wolf shifter, fated friends romance with humor, lots of heat, and a so, for those who I know care...no knotting or mpreg. 🤷‍♀️

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muscle and Bone []  2021-4-7 0:35

    I really loved this book! Of course I've loved every book Mary has written so that didn't come as a shock. I think what I like most about some of her books is the globe building. This one reminded me of the heavy amount of back story and globe building that she has in her Change of Heart series. Just the words she comes up with to denote things in the wolf hierarchy is awesome to me. Then, of course, is the humor. I search myself just smiling so huge while I read and even laughing out loud a few times. I like how her characters are far from perfect, but somehow they are excellent for each other.I do hope she continues this as a series. I would love to obtain Linden and Wade's story! tip tip hint

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muscle and Bone []  2021-4-7 0:35

    I have been reading Mary Calmes for years and am never disappointed. This is a shifter MM. Usually books with Omega/ Alpha relationships doesn't attract me because they are usually lean so much in the alpha having all the power. Not so in this book. This omega is [email protected]#$% and doesn't allow the fact that Graeme is the head of the local holte change who he is. I really hope Linden gets his story next, he deserves it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ivory and Bone []  2020-1-18 21:25

    I'm a sucker for anything based on Pride & Prejudice, add-in gender flipping and I'm hooked. This book has both, plus the writing is crisp and clear with characters you can't wait to obtain back to and harrowing life or death situations. I started this book, was loving it, then accidentally forgot to shove it in my carry-on bag on the method out of city for a 3 week trip. I was SO MAD at myself that I sulked for half the plane ride. I don't know if I was more satisfied to finally be home, or to obtain back to this book after an unintended absence. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ivory and Bone []  2020-1-18 21:25

    Full disclosure: I met Julie through the book blogging community, and she was gracious enough to send me an ARC of Ivory and Bone. That being said, it took me months to gather up the courage to finally read it. I mean… What if I hated it or something? Awk-ward…As soon as I started reading it, though, I realized a few things: 1) this book was definitely written by Julie Eshbaugh, 2) I was already enjoying it, and 3) I shouldn’t have been worried. This book is a beauty!There are so a lot of things that create Ivory and Bone shine bright. - The prose is rich with a lyrical texture, flowing from page to page. Every little detail, every description evokes the senses and brings the story to life in waya that feels deliberate and delicate and meaningful. - The narration is so clever and so special that you don’t even realize the brilliance of it until your heart is aching with FEELINGS! This is one aspect of the storytelling that I loved the most. - While the setting is unusual – though not unheard of, by any stretch – the happenings that unfold within this tale are a unbelievable exploration of relationships. Yes, there are a lot of info to the lives of these tribal people, but it’s the people (not the setting) that come most into ere’s a lot more I could say about Ivory and Bone, but I’m having problem avoiding spoilers, so maybe I should stop while I’m ahead. If you’re looking for something different, something rich with gentle beauty, perhaps something reminiscent of Sorrow’s Knot (which I also loved), then Ivory and Bone is the book for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ivory and Bone []  2020-1-18 21:25

    I adored this book. Attractive writing. Fascinating premise. And a touch of Pride & Prejudice to boot. Five stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow and Bone []  2020-1-19 21:47

    The land of Ravka has been decimated by the Shadow Fold; a mysterious consequence of dark magic which blights the landscape in creatures and darkness. The people of this tormented land have not known peace for generations.While attempting to cross the fold, Troops cartographer Alina Starkov finds her transport attacked by the creatures that dwell within. Faced with near-certain death, Alina calls upon a hidden power, and manages to push back the darkness. Returning to non-blighted land, Alina learns that she is a Grisha (witch/mage), and that she may be the only one who can save Ravka from the Shadow Fold. Suddenly thrust into the aristocratic globe of the Grisha and Ravka court politics, Alina must master her gift, while at the same time learning to navigate the treacherous waters of court is is YA done right. Books like this hold me coming back to the genre when I feel that reading one more angsty book will drive me mad. The plot (this is the first installment in a trilogy) is well executed. The characters are still in their nascent phase, but present amazing promise. The requisite love triangle feels a bit more realistic than most entries in the YA genre.I especially enjoyed the method magic is handled, and the care the author shows in her globe building. Bardugo has place together a grand vision, and she has the skill to translate that vision into a gorgeous work of fantasy. The story actually reminds me a bit of the Black Magician Trilogy by Trudi Canavan, another unbelievable series in YA of the young adult genre, young adult fantasy, and fantasy in general will have fun this series. Even those who don’t typically read things in the YA sphere will search a lot to like in this book; it is technically a young adult novel, but it doesn’t read like one. I can’t wait to read the other books in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow and Bone []  2020-1-19 21:47

    I love when authors are able to make a detailed and vast fresh globe where I feel like I can walk right into it, and Leigh Bardugo has masterfully done ina Starkov is a teenage girl living within the kingdom of Ravka, a put where those with supernatural abilities are called the Grisha. Some abilities contain the power to summon/control water, damage/heal internal organs, alter physical appearances, manipulate the wind, etc. Yes, it’s as cool as it sounds.Ravka is currently divided in half by the Shadow Fold, a huge stretch of land plagued in eternal darkness, its only inhabitants being flying, milky eyed, razor fanged, flesh eating monsters… yeah. Is that an amazing plot or what? Like, I don’t wish to go there or anything, but I will certainly watch this unfold from what can an ordinary teenage girl do about this? Nothing, except probably fill a monster’s stomach briefly. But Alina is no ordinary girl, and may even have the ability to defeat this abyss along side: the Darkling. A mysterious, beautiful, endlessly fascinating, and terrifying Grisha that has the rare ability to call darkness.What I liked about the book:○ The Universe. A vast, detailed, mysterious landscape that I wish to discover every nook and cranny of○ The Storyline. There's a stretch of land that is just...black. Absolute darkness. The only occupants are ghastly, human eating ghouls that announce their presence by the flap of their wings and the sound of their fangs ripping through flesh. Awesome. For the first time in a while I was 100% devoted to the plot and not just the characters○ The Pacing. I could not place this book down! It rarely ran into a dry or dull moment. I think a lot of that had to do with the mysteriousness of the Darkling — each chapter we would obtain just a snippet of him that leaves you whirling with questions○ The Darkling. An incredibly mysterious and fascinating characterWhy this book lost a star:○ The Protagonist. Seriously, Alina has as much depth as an igloo. And there’s no escaping it because the entire book is in her POV. She doesn’t do all that much. She complains, criticizes herself, says she has no talents, compares herself to others, is plain stupid, etc etc. Here she is with this wondrous power that may be able to save lives, yet all she can focus on is her appearance. How annoying.○ Mal. Mal is Alina’s childhood best mate that she has been secretly in love with since she was 15 years old (because a book cannot have a childhood friendship just be a childhood friendship). He was likable enough at the beginning, but not that interesting. He treats Alina like a friend, flirts/hooks up with other girls, is overly arrogant and y, etc. And then we don’t see him for most of the book. We see more memories of Alina and him growing up than actual show day Mal. How am I expected to care about a hero I have barely seen?○ The Ending. Don’t obtain me wrong – it wasn’t a poor ending. In fact, most people would probably have fun the ending. But for me, due to my lack of connection with some of the characters, I didn’t care for it.Overall,I thought Alina’s hero was weak and irritating, while Mal was bland and lackluster. However, the storyline, universe, and pacing created me love this book. I will be continuing this series solely for the dark, mysterious, and creepy world, and because I really enjoyed the Darkling's hero and wish to see how his story progreses

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muscle and Bone []  2021-4-7 0:35

    I’ve read a lot of books by Mary Calmes, and this one is various from the lot. This is an alpha/omega shifter story, quite unusual in its world-building. Avery is an omega who is a police detective, and not at all the usual trembling omega who wants to be a housewife. Graeme is an awesome alpha, wealthy and titled, who had never met an omega like ing a Mary Calmes book, there are amazing secondary characters, and, since Avery is a police detective, a murder to solve.Well worth reading. In fact, I think I will read it again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sanniti Spanish Caperberries (Caper Berries) in Vinegar and Salt Brine - 33.5 oz []  2020-1-23 4:18

    To be fair, Ive no idea what these are supposed to taste like-I assumed just larger versions of capers. They're good, not "mushy" or too salty like some reviews have stated, as compared to shop bought capers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sanniti Spanish Caperberries (Caper Berries) in Vinegar and Salt Brine - 33.5 oz []  2020-1-23 4:18

    We had these on a charcuterie board at a local restaurant and loved them. We could not search them in our local stores so I turned to online. These have a amazing flavor and were the excellent size and texture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    32 Ounce Golden Greek Pepperoncini Peppers in Vinegar and Salt Brine []  2020-1-23 4:18

    I enjoyed these very much. The taste is very good. Perfect packing and delivery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    32 Ounce Golden Greek Pepperoncini Peppers in Vinegar and Salt Brine []  2020-1-23 4:18

    Very tasty peppers! Work very well in a slow cooker pot roast.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    San Francisco Bay Brand ASF66190 Brine Shrimp Hatchery Baby Fish and Reef Tanks []  2021-2-23 20:48

    Your browser does not help HTML5 video.  really excited about the pack I received this morning. Yeah and I was looking forward the hatching some baby Brian shrimp. Everything assembled nicely, how did a room heater setting it to 80°, chop the bottom of the bottle as you can see, Connect to the USB air pump and USB light. Filled it halfway with water and emptied one packet of pre-mix salt tea and Brine shrimp eggs. I thought it be best to place it in a bucket after reading so a lot of other reviews about leaks. Amazing thing I did. The bottle receiver you can see it leaks, and the school children disappointed. Have a look at the video and you decide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    San Francisco Bay Brand ASF66190 Brine Shrimp Hatchery Baby Fish and Reef Tanks []  2021-2-23 20:48

    When COVID hit us, we decided to breed our female and male betta! I thought this contraption would be useful to create the baby brine shrimp but it is bersome and messy. I just used a plastic bottle turned upside down, placed inside another cup or container, with a bubbler tube line and have had large success. Too late to return it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    San Francisco Bay Brand ASF66190 Brine Shrimp Hatchery Baby Fish and Reef Tanks []  2021-2-23 20:48

    Super simple to use. Most eggs hatched and I had no leaking after taking the ring off the soda bottle. [email protected]#$%! came with a strainer though. Ended up using a coffee filter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sanniti Spanish Caperberries (Caper Berries) in Vinegar and Salt Brine - 33.5 oz []  2020-1-23 4:18

    These super huge and flavor enhance by their brine capers are common in Spain and Italy; but, I have not ever been able to search them in local grocers, even specialty markets. They bring back found memories of time spent in locations around the Med.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sanniti Spanish Caperberries (Caper Berries) in Vinegar and Salt Brine - 33.5 oz []  2020-1-23 4:18

    These caper berries are delicious. On a scale of 1- 5. 1 being firm and 5 being mushy. These are a solid 3. They are a smidge softer than I prefer but very tasty. I will continue to purchase them because I have not been able to search them anywhere else.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    32 Ounce Golden Greek Pepperoncini Peppers in Vinegar and Salt Brine []  2020-1-23 4:18

    We can't hold enough of them in the office.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    32 Ounce Golden Greek Pepperoncini Peppers in Vinegar and Salt Brine []  2020-1-23 4:18

    I'm into peppers and these are some of the best I have found

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    San Francisco Bay Brand ASF66190 Brine Shrimp Hatchery Baby Fish and Reef Tanks []  2021-2-23 20:48

    It does the job well enough. There's nothing to be excited 's a very easy system. The base screws directly into a two liter bottle. While the base is suspiciously light, I have not had any problems with the filled bottle tipping over.I have had problems with the included airline tubing being slightly to huge to fit snuggly on the base's nipple results in a few s.Yield from the included brine shrimp packages has been beautiful solid. It's difficult to argue with the simplicity of pooring the contents of a bag into your hatchery and starting your air pump.I'm unlikely to purchase this set again, but will likely not need a replacement (short of an upgrade) for a considerable time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    San Francisco Bay Brand ASF66190 Brine Shrimp Hatchery Baby Fish and Reef Tanks []  2021-2-23 20:48

    The nipple that holds the air line hose underneath the stand broke off after 3 uses .I don't know whether it was just a Defective unit that was shipped to me or it is a design flaw. I would like to contact the manufacturer but I do not know how to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    San Francisco Bay Brand ASF66190 Brine Shrimp Hatchery Baby Fish and Reef Tanks []  2021-2-23 20:48

    Worse product I ever bought to be honest. It leaked because the holes was to huge for the stem and pushed water through the hose back to the aerator no matter how strong...I would return it but it's not worth my time for something cheaply created at a cheap cost..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sanniti Spanish Caperberries (Caper Berries) in Vinegar and Salt Brine - 16 oz []  2020-1-19 0:13

    Tasty but inconsistent quality. Some mushy ones, some too seedy and lots of little ones. I’m fresh to caper berries and the medium olive sized ones seem best to me. Will still eat them but will test a various brand next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sanniti Spanish Caperberries (Caper Berries) in Vinegar and Salt Brine - 33.5 oz []  2020-1-23 4:18

    The Sanniti caperberries are delicious. Not too salty or too vinegary. They have the level of intensity of a Spanish olive. I could eat then straight out of the jar. Could see them in all kinds of dishes. I've seen comments where they are substituted for olive in a martini or soaked in balsamic vinegar and used in an antipasto.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sanniti Spanish Caperberries (Caper Berries) in Vinegar and Salt Brine - 33.5 oz []  2020-1-23 4:18

    AMAZING! They are just right. Just the right amount of salt, vinegar, and crunch! Yummmmm! Ill be buying ! They were wrapped great...like they were bricks of gold! Hummm, come to think about it they are meal Gold!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    32 Ounce Golden Greek Pepperoncini Peppers in Vinegar and Salt Brine []  2020-1-23 4:18

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    San Francisco Bay Brand ASF66190 Brine Shrimp Hatchery Baby Fish and Reef Tanks []  2021-2-23 20:48

    Works amazing with a small tweak and the egg mix hatches wonderfully. I will be buying some more of the egg mix. I did need the add plumbers tape to the bottle cap, you also need to remove the ring that's left after removing the cap. It provides a amazing stand for the bottle but it did leak until I added the plumbers tape. I hold it in a wide bowl in case it were to leak again but it has not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sanniti Spanish Caperberries (Caper Berries) in Vinegar and Salt Brine - 33.5 oz []  2020-1-23 4:18

    The flavor is there. Not too salty, not to vinegary. But I have never had mushy caper-berries. So I ate several, thinking that is was just one in the jar, but every one I tried was mushy. They have held their shape, was packed like it was an heirloom (very well) but I will look for some that are firm, almost crunchy like the ones I have been buying for over 30 years. If you don't mind the texture, these are great. Otherwise, if you are an affection-ado of taste and also texture, these are not for you,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sanniti Spanish Caperberries (Caper Berries) in Vinegar and Salt Brine - 33.5 oz []  2020-1-23 4:18

    Delicious caperberries. Packaged well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    32 Ounce Golden Greek Pepperoncini Peppers in Vinegar and Salt Brine []  2020-1-23 4:18

    Perfect ! Been looking for amazing pepperoncini peppers ever since first eating them in L.A., back in the 70’s. I found them at TAMA.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    32 Ounce Golden Greek Pepperoncini Peppers in Vinegar and Salt Brine []  2020-1-23 4:18

    Tasty and just right.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    San Francisco Bay Brand ASF66190 Brine Shrimp Hatchery Baby Fish and Reef Tanks []  2021-2-23 20:48

    Best price and quick shipping. I also wanted to mention that I message some of the reviews listed leaks were an problem causing some not so happy customers. But decided to test it anyway due to not having a lot of other options and the price seemed reasonable. Right away it started leaking. However was satisfied to explore that the leak occurred because I hadn't tightened well enough. The hatchery is a very amazing product and very simple to use.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    San Francisco Bay Brand ASF66190 Brine Shrimp Hatchery Baby Fish and Reef Tanks []  2021-2-23 20:48

    I've tried 2 various 2 liters from 2 major cola companies. Both leak. I will test plumber tape but it shouldn't be necessary. EDIT. I tried plumbers tape with no luck. I will be returning this and sticking with jars for now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sanniti Spanish Caperberries (Caper Berries) in Vinegar and Salt Brine - 33.5 oz []  2020-1-23 4:18

    Taste great, largest jar I’ve ever seen, and packaged really well so no leaking or broken glass!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sanniti Spanish Caperberries (Caper Berries) in Vinegar and Salt Brine - 33.5 oz []  2020-1-23 4:18

    Unbelievable flavor! Some of the berries had mature seeds. I don’t mind since I usually snack on them but if you’re looking for soft seeds they are hit or miss.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    32 Ounce Golden Greek Pepperoncini Peppers in Vinegar and Salt Brine []  2020-1-23 4:18

    Not only Italians but Greeks lobe pepperoncini. This one really fit the bill.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    32 Ounce Golden Greek Pepperoncini Peppers in Vinegar and Salt Brine []  2020-1-23 4:18

    Soooooo amazing super crunchy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sanniti Spanish Caperberries (Caper Berries) in Vinegar and Salt Brine - 16 oz []  2020-1-19 0:13

    Amazing taste.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    San Francisco Bay Brand ASF66190 Brine Shrimp Hatchery Baby Fish and Reef Tanks []  2021-2-23 20:48

    I have tried several various ones and this one works the best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    bone []  2020-6-21 18:22

    I could not search this book in any bookstore. I was quite happy to search it on Amazon. This book is excellent for me during this time in my life. I have spent years combing through bookstores trying to search books that would support to soothe my emotional wounds. Bone is that book and I found it on Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    bone []  2020-6-21 18:22

    Yrsa's collection of work creates a flow for the reader to both relish in her art and be interrupted by it. I fell in love with characters in her stories, wonder about them still, and take deep soulful breaths with her exquisite poetry. She pushes us to reflect on the layers of our humanity as people of color who have suffered and loved fiercly. As a result, your journey with bone will feel refreshing and crushing, important and difficult, funny and attractive all at the same time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    bone []  2020-6-21 18:22

    WHETHER YOU’RE DANCING DUST OR BREATHING LIGHT YOU’RE NEVER EXACTLY THE SAME, is is a raw compilation. The title does this book pletely stripped bare for the readers.I could tell the author wrote of what she knew. I felt her in each piece, humming under the current of the words poured onto the e is talented, however, I similar to very few of these. There were lines and sections and poems I completely adored. Then there were others that left me thinking, “Wait, what?” Sometimes I honestly could not follow her train of thought.Another issue I had was that she seemed to be on again, off again with punctuation. Some poets like punctuation, others don’t, but at least pick a side.With my minor frustrations, this was still a amazing book to read. Parts were even great. So great, in fact, that I’d say the book as a whole is worth it. The feels were powerful, even if I couldn’t fully relate to them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    bone []  2020-6-21 18:22

    If you're looking for Nayyirah Waheed in Bone, don't. Yrsa has her own compelling and attractive voice. Bone is a very honest and insightful read that explores mental health, being a woman of color, ity, death, and matters of the heart.I can definitely relate to bone--being a woman of color and suffering from a mental illness. Her poems on mental illness stayed with me and wouldn't leave. It allowed me to be honest about my struggle. Some of my faves are "mental illness", "to the elders", "issue", "panacea", "what love isn't" and "emergency warning". And there's so a lot of poignant lines like "One day i will tell you what I've been. It will scare you" and "I cannot search the God you serve and I have been known to stay out all night searching." Bone really spoke to me. Allow it speak to you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    bone []  2020-6-21 18:22

    The truth: I took less than 5 full hours, to read this. Of course I paused to cook, and hang out the laundry, but I couldn’t wait to come back. I have no one words to describe how this book makes me feel. So profound. Carefully articulated and I feel every word as though she was talking about me. I know we are connected, cause afterall, if we have nothing else in common, it is that we are woman. I feel you Yrsa. Just as you have felt a thousand women. Thank you for giving me poetry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    bone []  2020-6-21 18:22

    “I miss you in little small underground soil is a hot disaster.Home is ’re a lost thing.”— heat‘Bone’ is a body of peace created with the past and homage paid to memories; a symphony of growth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    bone []  2020-6-21 18:22

    I have ordered this on Kindle, carrying it on my phone and notebook like a bible. It is instructive and grounding; the language clean and accessible yet every time I reread it proves expansive because I obtain something else. Hers is work that doesn't seem as widely known as it should be. But you should know it. Read it and you'll see what I mean.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    bone []  2020-6-21 18:22

    Will emotionally destroy you, then resurrect you, and you will search the poetry in your own life. Also, don't listen to the comment about putting that primary plagiarizing bish Rupi Kaur with Daley-Ward/Nayyirah Waheed. What an insult.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow and Bone (The Shadow and Bone Trilogy Book 1) []  2020-2-2 6:35

    Set, and written, before the Six of Crows duology. If you’re going to read this trilogy, read it first or not at all. It’s not so much that Six of Crows spoils you for plot (though it does just a little) but more that Six of Crows will spoil you for richness of characters and depth of plot. Shadow & Bone just feels lacking in comparison - a small too plain, far too cliche, a small empty on characters, and far too short. Six of Crows simply sets reader expectations too high - better to begin here and work your method forward with the author’s experience level.I won’t be buying the rest of this trilogy, but rather waiting for the author to write fresh works.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow and Bone (The Shadow and Bone Trilogy Book 1) []  2020-2-2 6:35

    I feel like my review is going to a bit rambly and quite over the at’s right, I finally read something by Leigh Bardugo! This book had been on my TBR for so long that it grew cobwebs on it. And……. I liked it!!Now I’m not going to lie, this did have some YA clichés that you see a lot. Girl in love with best friend, doesn’t know that she had powers, oh and a love triangle. Sarcasm aside, I quite enjoyed this book with all of the clichés. There were times that it did obtain a small slow for me but I pushed past e globe building was great! I loved her fluid writing and detail about the various kind of Grisha.I’m so glad that Alina came into her power and became stronger. She was a small difficult to like in the beginning because she came off a bit whiny and weak, but by the end she grew on me. I liked seeing her go head to head with The tice how I’m not really saying anything about Mal? He was okay. Not swoon worthy and a small boring. Why is he a love interest at all? I didn’t feel a drop of chemistry between him and Alina.I feel like The Darkling is misunderstood. I know, I know. I always defend the villain. I always go towards them in books I read. But honestly, The Darkling was my favorite out of this whole book. I wish to know more about him and see what makes him I said there was a bit of a love triangle here. Mal was alright and all BUT, I cannot be the only one who ships her with the Darkling! Am I? Oh well, I’ll be the pirate on this ship.Overall, this book did have twists and turns and for the most part I really enjoyed it. I have already ordered Siege and Storm and can’t wait to see what happens next!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    bone []  2020-6-21 18:22

    I borrowed this book from the library on a Sunday and by Monday night, I had fallen in love and finished the book. The same night I placed my order from Amazon. The book came on Wednesday, in excellent condition, no creases or imperfections and it smells like a fresh book. After taxes this is still the best price I’ve found online for this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    bone []  2020-6-21 18:22

    I bought this book after one of my favorite singers shared one of the poems. Yrsa gives me answers and explanations that I did not even know I was looking for.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow and Bone (The Shadow and Bone Trilogy Book 1) []  2020-2-2 6:35

    I LOVED the Six of Crows duology and was really excited to read this one, but the tone is so different, it was somewhat deflating. I loved the lore and the world, but Alina's awkwardness and her complete lack of confidence, along with the romantic elements of the book were sooo various from Kaz and his crew. I felt as if this was written for a younger audience than Six of 's still a amazing story and if you love ya fantasy romance, I'm sure you'll love it! I'm just an action junkie and this had more romance and awkwardness than action. I'm sure the pace of the next books will pick up (and I'm guessing dramatically) once we focus more on the action and the globe of the Grisha (which I'm completely in love with!)Leigh is an extremely talented author and I have every faith that, in the end, this book will be a whirlwind of a ride!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow and Bone (The Shadow and Bone Trilogy Book 1) []  2020-2-2 6:35

    It had the bones of a amazing book, but it desperately required fleshing out and maybe a reality e meat of the story was, hilariously, just a boarding school drama. Even though the Grisha are supposedly the King's most elite soldiers, apparently they don't have anything better to do but gossip about each other's clothes and about who's shagging who in between nya and the Darkling were the only remotely multifaceted/interesting characters. The others were just cardboard cutouts. Alina and Mal included.I liked Mal at first, and his unbreakable friendship with Alina that kept toeing the line to be something more. But then he disappears for most of the book and when he returns he's devolved into a bland and broody love ina's sole defining trait is her unfailingly low self esteem. Aside from that she's a blank slate While I can understand why low self esteem might be appropriate for the target audience and as the starting point for a coming of age story, it isn't something that's enjoyable for me to read personally. It's especially grating when that's the literal only glimmer of personality Alina had. The payoff at the end simply wasn't amazing enough to sit through her whining and second guessing all through the novel.Speaking of payoffs. I don't wish to spoil anything but that has to be the cheapest handwavey loophole I've read in quite some time. There is *nothing* set up previously to help that or to suggest that Grisha magic works that l grumping aside I'll probably read the next one as well. It reads cleanly and doesn't take too much energy. It's nice mindless fluff if you need to wind down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow and Bone (The Shadow and Bone Trilogy Book 1) []  2020-2-2 6:35

    Ms. Bardugo really has a talent with storytelling mixed in with magic and humor. I love the universe she made with its Russian words, background, culture. The harshness of being an orphan, the luxuries of the Court all really come together in a rich fantasy oil painting. Not too much detail, not too much magic theory, not too much dread and despair. It was an simple at aside, I couldn't really like the characters. I thought I liked the diamond-in-the-rough heroine but she never really pulled through to obtain her act together until the very end of this novel. She was constantly being pushed, shoved, led by others. She was easily deceived, and deceived even herself. You would think that after all this time she would figure out who she was and what she wanted. She is no longer a kid but she is constantly looking to others to give her the e hero development was really a mixed bag of "aha!" moments the author drops like candies on the floor. No true warning, just suddenly the heroine discovers why she's so brilliant (no pun intended), the character suddenly decides he loves her, and the villain whom I was really cheering for went from a multi-dimensional puzzle box to a textbook villain with no soul. Ugh. Disappointment e ending wrapped up so quickly it literally took half a chapter and one afterward to wrap it up. One moment it was all confrontation tension, the next, a miraculous resolution because the heroine just figured it all out. The issue with the huge reveal is that she never really cared about anything. Not her work. Not her co-workers. Not her life. Not even her health/appearance. She lived her entire life just numb; without hope or joy, just pining after a childhood friend. She obsessed about her childhood mate as if her universe revolved around him, and despite everything that happens to her and everything she's discovered about herself she still clings to him in the end even though we were supposed to believe she completely broke free of that mold a lot of chapters she makes a choice, willing to sacrifice all else, including the mates she didn't think she could create and innocent people, to obtain her HEA. What makes her so various from the enemy, then? In the next book I'm supposed to believe she wants to war a madman and save the country (she never really care for or fit in anywhere) and its people (she never really had any connection to)? Yeah, I'm thinking I'll just allow her do that without me. I'm done Alina. Have fun with e novel was rather short, as well. I think all three could really be reduced to two books, but for the greed of the publisher, we're forced to pay a tall price three times. The first 70% of this book was decent, but I'll save my cash and read something else.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow and Bone (The Shadow and Bone Trilogy Book 1) []  2020-2-2 6:35

    This was a fairly generic fantasy novel. There is an orphan, and a dark power, and the orphan just happens to have the power to dispel the dark power, and trains and makes friends, but there's a magic macguffin she needs to really save the world. Then everything goes to s***, but at the latest moment it turns out she has even more potential than anyone suspected, so the day is sorta saved. But only sorta, so there can be a e book left me bored, and was fairly predicable. It did not really do anything exciting in even filling out the checklist of stuff in a generic fantasy novel. Magic just makes you tired, eventually. Dark guy who uses magical darkness turns out to be (spoiler warning) evil. Your one real love turns out to be your childhood friend, who shows up to save you at the right e magic system is particularly a mess, where sometimes being in a magic sphere of light surrounded by magical shadow means that you can be seen, but the people in the shadow can't, and sometimes it means just the opposite. The main hero has mirrors to use to reflect light into people's eyes, which also does not create any sense. If you can control light enough to direct it into the mirror at the right angle to obtain into someone's eyes, then you can also direct it right into someone's eyes, no mirror required. And for all that the rest of the system talks about like being attracted to like, for some unexplained reason if you're strong enough you can chop through e ending is where the book really broke for me in multiple ways (so there are spoilers here). There's a moment where the main hero expresses that they'd rather die than support do evil. And then really don't do anything more to resist helping, even when left unguarded for hours. There's no effort at all to allow anyone know things are wrong, or to test and break the collar that's being used to control them, or to actually go through with dying first. That sort of passivity followed by a miraculous "The rules of magic changed. Look how super strong I am now!" moment left me e book left me a small bit curious about where things go from where it ends, but not enough that I'd actually trudge through another book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow and Bone (The Shadow and Bone Trilogy Book 1) []  2020-2-2 6:35

    The land of Ravka has been decimated by the Shadow Fold; a mysterious consequence of dark magic which blights the landscape in creatures and darkness. The people of this tormented land have not known peace for generations.While attempting to cross the fold, Troops cartographer Alina Starkov finds her transport attacked by the creatures that dwell within. Faced with near-certain death, Alina calls upon a hidden power, and manages to push back the darkness. Returning to non-blighted land, Alina learns that she is a Grisha (witch/mage), and that she may be the only one who can save Ravka from the Shadow Fold. Suddenly thrust into the aristocratic globe of the Grisha and Ravka court politics, Alina must master her gift, while at the same time learning to navigate the treacherous waters of court is is YA done right. Books like this hold me coming back to the genre when I feel that reading one more angsty book will drive me mad. The plot (this is the first installment in a trilogy) is well executed. The characters are still in their nascent phase, but present amazing promise. The requisite love triangle feels a bit more realistic than most entries in the YA genre.I especially enjoyed the method magic is handled, and the care the author shows in her globe building. Bardugo has place together a grand vision, and she has the skill to translate that vision into a gorgeous work of fantasy. The story actually reminds me a bit of the Black Magician Trilogy by Trudi Canavan, another unbelievable series in YA of the young adult genre, young adult fantasy, and fantasy in general will have fun this series. Even those who don’t typically read things in the YA sphere will search a lot to like in this book; it is technically a young adult novel, but it doesn’t read like one. I can’t wait to read the other books in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shadow and Bone (The Shadow and Bone Trilogy Book 1) []  2020-2-2 6:35

    Bought this after reading The Language of Thorns, another of the author's books of short stories. Was expecting something similarly well written and creative, but instead was disappointed. Gist of story : self-doubting peasant girl with fiery will just wants a normal life in a globe ruled by high and mighty mages (called Grisha here) , but discovers she holds the rare and special power (chosen one trope) that can save them all. Taken to mage school where she makes mates and opponents who are all out to create her life difficult, but not to worry, the head of the mages is a tall, dark, brooding, handsome guy who watches her from afar and actually isn't so cold and nasty after all - at least not to her. Then there's her handsome childhood mate (twilight anyone)... I'm glad I didn't buy the rest of the series, because I had to struggle past all the clichés.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Body and Bone: A Novel [Book]  2018-3-10 18:0

    Love it! Hawker's writing is exemplary. I am not a 'professional' review so I won't go on and on. But, I am an avid reader and I demand perfect writing, amazing characters and a story that keeps me engaged. In my younger days I'd read a book to its conclusion no matter what. Today I have been known to toss a book in the trash just to prevent someone else from reading it. This one I want I could lend to everyone I know.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Body and Bone: A Novel [Book]  2018-3-10 18:0

    This was a amazing book. Did anyone message a glaring typo /improper edit in the kindle ver - zone 2871 states Detective Treleor visited to deliver necessary news but when Nessa reveals this visit to Isabeau she states Detective Dirksen delivered this news (location 3150). I thought at first there would be a reason given for this but there wasn't - it was indeed an error. I'm curious to check a hard copy to see if the error is still there. Anyway - this was an perfect story. I loved the plot twist. I give this a 5 but I did love The Drowning Android game more:)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bravelands #3: Blood and Bone []  2020-2-7 19:47

    My children love these books. Might not be suitable for some kids because a lot of beloved characters die but overall it's a amazing series

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bravelands #3: Blood and Bone []  2020-2-7 19:47

    Love Erin Hunters books

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of Blood and Bone []  2020-1-14 19:21

    I have been anticipating Kids of Blood and Bone since I heard about it latest fall. I was a small worried that I would be disappointed because I was looking forward to it so much. I finished it this morning and if anything, I was too reserved in my excitement. It is exactly the kind of sweeping fantasy that I love, and it has so a lot of layers that give it much deeper meaning. I hate spoilers, so all I will say about the plot is that I love Tomi Adeyemi’s choices and where she took each of the characters. Unless you’ve seen or read interviews with the author, it’s necessary read the author’s note at the end of the book, which gives the story a modern context. That context makes the story even more meaningful. I really enjoyed her writing, and I was on the edge of my seat for most of the book. Even when things seemed to be going well, I felt like I couldn’t allow my guard down, which is surely intentional.I love that women were central to the story, and I appreciate the method that the relationship between Zélie and Amari developed. It is an empowering story on a lot of levels. I don't think I've ever read a fantasy or science fiction book where ALL the characters were Black, and I tried to create sure I pictured the characters as the author intended, occasionally catching myself and having to re-draw a hero in my someone who beautiful much never re-reads a book, I will be reading this one again. And of course, I am already anticipating the sequel. I can’t wait to search out what happens and I'm hoping we obtain to meet more of the various clans. I also really hope they obtain the film right, because it could be awesome on the huge screen.I've read some beautiful amazing books in the past year, but this is without a doubt my favorite.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daughter of Smoke and Bone []  2020-1-14 19:24

    Review based on category of YA Paranormal Romance: 5 starsIf you're looking for a YA-but-appeals-to-wide-audience series like Hunger Android games or Divergent, this is not that. The "Daughter of Smoke and Bone" series is firmly in the Young Adult paranormal ROMANCE category. In other words, if you're a guy of any age just stay away.Karou's life has always been a deliciously mystical swirl flowing between the human globe and her hidden family of human/beast chimaera who live in an extra-dimensional accessible only through a world-wide series of portals. As Karou reaches late teens, her chimaera family allows her to move from the to the town of her choice. She chooses Prague - a lush town of beauty and experience - to live and attend school. She periodically portal-hops back to her chimaera /home, then to anywhere in the globe running errands for her chimaera "father" Brimstone, being trained by the best martial art instructors, or soaking up life in exotic locations. And any of her life's smaller frustrations can be wished away... with *real* wishes given to her by Brimstone. When she isn't portal-hopping, she goes to school with Zuzana, the coolest side-kick ever. Life is amazing and the worst she has to worry about is a cheating, manipulative boyfriend. Then, on one of her errands she sees an angel and her life goes to ini Taylor's world-building is creative and fairly unique, although the romantic plot-line around the character and heroine is a small tired at times. Taylor reworks the Romeo/Juliet theme to a fairly amazing advantage, but some scenes tend to be predictable. Other scenes not so much! Two elements create this series stand out in the flooded YA market: 1) the hero of Zuzana; 2) the interactions between Zuzana, Mik and the whole rest of the cast of characters. Taylor animates Zuzana and Mik with a joy that propels the whole series to a various level.I strongly recommend you listen to full Audible ver as well as reading the paper or Kindle version. Kristine Hvam captures Zuzana and the other characters with mastery. I've both read and listened to the whole series and the "Cake and Puppets" novella (which was completely charming) and laughed out loud almost every time Zuzana had any dialog. DON'T use Whispersync to listen/read --- that's where you download audio directly into the Kindle application and listen from there. That way leaves out a amazing chunk of dialog. Instead, download audio into the Audible application or some other media app.I recommend this for any female about 14 or 15 who enjoys paranormal and romance. There is some violence and the second and third books obtain much darker as violence is described. I really enjoyed this book, although I want she had focused less on the romance and more on the delicious story. I very cautiously recommended it to my husband, ONLY because I knew he'd love the Zuzana character. He's struggling to obtain through the romantic high-schooly bits, but he's thoroughly enjoying Zuzana and Mik -- enough to obtain through this first book, at least!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muscle and Bone Anatomy 3D [App]  2020-8-15 13:36

    I'm most interested to learn muscles and their functions. Not being able to zoom is a dealbraker! And the interface is very clumsy. The actions animations are only positive side of this app. Almost useless waste of money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Muscle and Bone Anatomy 3D [App]  2020-8-15 13:36

    @Developer your application is very useful but large and does not accept moving to external memory. If you could fix this it would be amazing

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386