Read brooklyn july reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all brooklyn july reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Dodgers []  2020-1-25 5:10

    There are a lot of better books out there about the Dodgers. This one, despite some amazing photos, includes some factual errors, and the text is sparse particularly as it relates to almost everybody's favorite Dodger squads of the early 50s until they split for LA. Ahh...the Duke, Gil, PeeWee, Campy, the Redding Rifle, Newk, Jackie...it was nice to "see" them again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secret Brooklyn []  2020-1-31 0:54

    Very interesting look at my community I didn't know about

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motherless Brooklyn []  2020-1-25 17:6

    Lionel Essrog, the orphaned character of this superb novel which evokes and in some ways surpasses the classics of Raymond Chandler, has Tourette's syndrome and suffers from compulsive traits that create him behave in a dozens of strange ways. The author's brilliant evocation of his internal dialogues and the method in which his tic constantly manifests itself is totally convincing and lifts this book into a unique onel is regarded as a freak by almost everyone he meets. The exception is Frank Minna, a small-time crook running a series of modest rackets in Brooklyn, who rescues Lionel and three other inmates of his orphanage and enlists them as his "Minna Men," to do odd jobs and tasks for him. Minna runs a fake vehicle service which is a front for a detective agency which itself is a front for different forms of larceny. But as the book begins, Minna is onel's tics hide a sharp intelligence and a well-defined sense of right and wrong, which makes him the excellent hero. As he tries to obtain to the bottom of Minna's death, he finds that his behavior gives him a strange advantage. Nobody takes him seriously. But he is intensely en through Lionel's eyes, the globe is a strange place. Fresh York Town itself, he says, is a "Tourettic city" with its constant scratching and counting and tearing. Lionel has the customary love affair during this book with a sweet girl who seems to understand him and then doesn't. smooths away his tics, the author writes, then supplanting them with the largest tic of is is one of those books that takes a genre, shakes it up and goes beyond it without ever violating its fundamental rules. I believed totally in Essrog and came to see the globe through his eyes.

    0  


    Add your opinion on brooklyn july or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motherless Brooklyn []  2020-1-25 17:7

    We saw a film could not understand what was event so we bought a book that was the most boring book I ever y times I wanted to place it down but was curious to search what was going on.Was very disappointed that the book was completely various from the film and we never found out what was going was a waist of our time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Old Brooklyn []  2020-1-23 3:15

    WIDE VARIETY-Great players. Another champion from Statman and friends. A+

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Old Brooklyn []  2020-1-23 3:15

    If you can cope with Andy plus the likes of Ricky Skaggs, Byron Berline,Bela Fleck and Bruce Molskyplaying blues, Jewish melodies,and jazz in lovely, sweet and joyous ways,then treat yourself to this one!With artists such as these fellows playing roots melody their own individual way, the term that comes tomy mind is "mind-boggling"!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    I die hard passionate Brooklyn nets fan live in state of Tennessee one thing I would like to see broadcast live raido for some fan live in various parts of the states I love my Brooklyn nets app bleed black and grey passionate love to see listen to the radio broadcast of Brooklyn nets

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    This application is horrible. All I wanted was an application where I could see just the Nets schedule, and the application can't even do that! Takes me back thru ridiculous setup screens Every Time I open! I have now uninstalled yet again! What a waste!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    This application is CONSTANTLY crashing when I test to upload my NETS season tickets. Can't even obtain in the android game that I PAID FOR!!! What in the WORLD do you have versus Android device users??!! Making it abundantly clear you are COMPLETELY biased by only supporting Iphone/Apple products. FIX THIS ASAP!!!!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    Can't view my tickets Season starts tonight and I don't have my card yet. Better fix this that i can enter using my mobile phone

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    Go nets

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    Isaiah Webb Always freezes and doesn't work

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    Grate app, let's create it a grate year!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    AMAZING I love the brooklyn Nets, this application is amazing, very minor items like trying to pay for a item but thats minor. But I rate this a 5! AMAZING!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Streetcars []  2020-8-24 18:34

    This book is very historical my husband and his relatives were born in Brooklyn and found this book very interesting and entertaining.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chasing Brooklyn []  2020-10-25 18:54

    Chasing Brooklyn by Lisa SchroederRating: 4.3Genre: Young Adult/Verse/Romance/ParanormalChasing Brooklyn is about a girl named Brooklyn who can't sleep. Her boyfriend, Lucca, died only a year ago, and now her mate Gabe has just died of an overdose. Every time she closes her eyes, Gabe's ghost is there waiting for her. She has no idea what he wants or why it isn't Lucca visiting her can't stop. He's always running, trying to escape the pain of losing his brother, Lucca. But when Lucca's ghost begins leaving messages, telling Nico to support Brooklyn, emotions come crashing to the the nightmares escalate and the messages become relentless, Nico reaches out to Brooklyn. But neither of them can admit that they're being haunted. Until they learn to allow each other in, not one soul will be able to rest. (Goodreads summary)Characters: The characters in the novel are relatable and humane. Both Brooklyn and Nico battled with their depression after losing Lucca and Gabe in different, but related ways. In Chasing Brooklyn, Brooklyn was emotionally attached to her boyfriend, Lucca. I didn’t think her attitude was cliché, but rather appropriate for the book’s significant meaning. She overcame her sadness with the support of her family, friends, the world, and Nico. Brooklyn’s experience of recovering from the death of a loved one is how I think most people should deal with death. People shouldn’t go through chaos all alone. They should express their earnest feelings to those who care, so they can be relieved of the massive burdens they feel within. Nico became my favorite hero because he never gave up on Brooklyn. His kindness and patience toward Brooklyn created him a genuine healer and taught me the valiant virtues of how a amazing mate should act. By supporting Brooklyn, he helped fix a part of himself he never originally thought he was able ot: This was a very fast-paced read. I finished reading the entire story in approximately two hours and sixteen minutes, which was surprising for me, (considering the book has four-hundred and twelve pages inside), yet to be expected since it’s a novel formatted in a poetic verse style. I thought the plot was interesting. I liked when Gabe and Lucca’s ghosts interacted with the main characters Brooklyn and Nico by sending them messages to support them search their internal strengths to overcome their struggles. I also enjoyed reading about Brooklyn and Nico’s mental and emotional journeys and the lessons they learned while training for an April triathlon. However, on the other hand, some of the novel’s moments seemed a bit dull, where I wanted more emphasis on how the characters felt when they were in the process of recovering. I would’ve liked to hear more memories of Lucca from Brooklyn and Nico’s perspectives. Lucca’s hero wasn’t as involved in the story as I wanted him to. If he was mentioned more, I could comprehend better why they felt such a powerful threshold to favorite part was when Brooklyn finally understood her dreams and its correlation with her true life version ysis: The book’s cover is chilling and sentimental. It reminds me of Brooklyn and Lucca’s close relationship and that she missed him terribly. The cover touches the surface on what the novel wants readers to know. The handwritten script title is in Brooklyn’s handwriting to tip about the story’s revolution around her. Fading teal tones give a sense of mourning and heartache. The cool ambience radiates moodiness.Overall: I think the book is well-written with a decent plot-line. Although I was hoping there would be more to the story at a few parts, I don’t think that would change my perception of the whole book much. I gave Chasing Brooklyn, a rating of four point three stars because I love how the book focuses on acknowledging life’s easy pleasures and the handling the stages of grief. This is a amazing book for people who need assurance and value commended For: Fans of Catalyst by Laurie Halse Anderson, The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen, and Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chasing Brooklyn []  2020-10-25 18:54

    Love this story! Very captivating from beginning to end. I personally can say it touched me more than twice!! It not only contains the loss of a loved one and a girls heartbreaking method of dealing with it but a guys pov. ( point of view) and how they also have those moments when they need someone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    How is this product so bad?? Application crashes constantly when trying to do the one function we need it for (showing tickets) so it is unusable. The UX is also very muddled and I'm not sure why I obtain random crash notifications when the application isn't even running. Once again uninstalling and will probably test again next season and uninstall again when it is still a piece of junk

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    I only downloaded this cuz I bandwagon Jeremy Lin lol

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    Love!!!!!! It!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yow!!!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    Nice application but buggy Looks nice but can't access my tix thru the app. It hangs at the ticket master page and closes the ticket page.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    Never up to date. ...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    Brooklyn ewallet QR code capability Brooklyn ewallet is awesome to purchase using QR code capability.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    Allow Love lt

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Old Brooklyn []  2020-1-23 3:15

    Andy again proves to be globe class on the mandolin and clarinet. Beyond this, he continues to present ability to place melody and musicians together that remind people of their roots and their lives. It is a lively, rich melody that is accessible to everyone. Bravo Andy & friends!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Dodgers []  2020-1-25 5:10

    A+++

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motherless Brooklyn []  2020-1-25 17:6

    I decided to read this book once the Edward Norton movie had been released, wanting to have my own understanding of the story before Norton’s interpretation painted the picture for me. I’m glad I did, mostly because it appears that the movie does not faithfully follow the book, so I may end up with two stories for the price of one.I was not familiar with Jonathan Lethem prior to discovering the book but in real Lionel Essrog fashion I will now have to allow my Lethem tic run its course. Of course, I will read more. I found this book to be, to use a cliché, a “page turner”. Compelling and fluid writing style, despite the jerky, disjointed hero of the main protagonist. I don’t know if Tourette’s is a form of autism, but Lionel is a fascinating man, being so smart, yet so naive, all at the same time. I especially liked the method you don’t learn about key happenings in the book simply because Lionel didn’t experience them first hand. A lesser author might have tried to fudge an explanation simply in order to fill the gaps. Gaps are good. There’s nothing wrong with having your own imagination fill in certain parts of the story. All in all a very amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motherless Brooklyn []  2020-1-25 17:7

    In "Motherless Brooklyn," Jonathan Lethem melds several genres, among them the bildungsroman, psychological novel, literary parody--all in the occasionally transparent framework of a detective story. The most popular aspect of the book is its hero's Tourette syndrome (the influence of Oliver Sacks's work is quite apparent), but the neurological condition itself takes on a life of its own, simultaneously moving and comic--and an opportunity for Lethem to indulge in some freakishly inventive wordplay that owes as much to James Joyce as to Angry magazine and the Artist Formerly Known as e opening stage is on a par with the best of pulp fiction. Eating White Castle sliders daintily arrayed in a row of six (a compulsive aspect of his neurosis), Lionel Essrog stakes out an Upper East Side Zen studio with his associate Gilbert Coney, with the two of them standing guard as their boss Frank Minna is inside, wired for sound and exchanging cryptic arguments with some unknown heavy. It's at this point that everything goes wrong, and the ensuing chase stage through Queens and murder in Brooklyn provide one of the novel's onel and Gilbert are just two of the four orphans hired (adopted, really) by Minna for a detective agency masquerading as a vehicle service. (One of the recurrent gags is the group's supply of creative explanations to prospective customers for the lack of cars.) As a Minna Man, Lionel finds a father figure and a family where his Tourette's is not ignored but nevertheless accepted; Tony's pet name for him, "the free human freak show," serves more as a term of endearment than as a slur and indicates Minna's moderately disguised understanding that Lionel is the savviest of the bunch (Minna's estranged wife tells Lionel the reason Minna finds him useful is because everyone thought he was "stupid").It's the interplay of the characters and Lionel's bumbling entry into adulthood that provide most of the novel's interest. As for the noir-inspired plot: there's hardly a cliche that Lethem doesn't send up--Italian mobsters and an evil corporation, the intrusively clueless police officer and a traitorous colleague, a sequence of red-herring clues and an offstage murder. ("Have you ever felt, in the course of reading a detective novel, a guilty thrill of having a hero murdered before he can step onto the page and burden you with his actual existence? Detective stories have too a lot of characters anyway.")Yet the crime story itself never lives up the dizzying pursuit of the opening scene, and Lethem faces the difficulty of writing a parody of authors who themselves wrote masterful parodies (e.g., "The Thin Man," "The High Window"). Instead, the potboiler elements play shotgun both to Lethem's neurological-intellectual wordplay and to the emotional growth of his lead character. Lethem's novel has "too a lot of characters anyway," and he resists the temptation to allow the mystery gum up the at's not necessarily a poor thing--unless you're expecting an old-fashioned whodunit or keystone caper. But Lethem's novel is less a whodunit than a howdunit--or, in this case, how the author does it: creating an affecting protagonist whose tongue twitches with the pulse of the cultural zeitgeist.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secret Brooklyn []  2020-1-31 0:54

    Amazing little book ! I have found a lot of unusual info , I really enjoyed and love it !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Streetcars []  2020-8-24 18:34

    Terrific review of Brooklyn streetcars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chasing Brooklyn []  2020-10-25 18:54

    My daughter has read this several times and now I am. It really is a amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chasing Brooklyn []  2020-10-25 18:54

    I love reading books in verse. Ellen Hopkins has mastered this style of writing. Lisa Schroeder does it very well.....Chasing Brooklyn is one of the best books I've read..touches my heart and that's one of the feelings I hope to carry away with me after reading the latest sentence on the latest page of a really amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    Crashes every single time I reset my phone. I reboot and the first thing my phone says is "Brooklyn Nets Application Has Crashed" Devs need to figure out what's up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    It crashes and you can't see the tickets on an android device phone. Works fine on my iPhone but, that is my secondary phone. Now I have to take 2 phones to the android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    Unable to log in. Keeps saying that it is unavailable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    It keeps crashing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    The best application out there. .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    I super love it. Im a huge fan of BKN. Go BKN.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    Nice layout

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secret Brooklyn []  2020-1-31 0:54

    Not usseful at all

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Dodgers []  2020-1-25 5:10

    An perfect addition to this series. The Brooklyn history ends in 1957 which allows the coverage of the squad to be quite comprehensive. I enjoyed the photography that accompanied the text.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Old Brooklyn []  2020-1-23 3:15

    Of all Andy Statman's previous recordings, Old Brooklyn reminds me most of Nashville Mornings, Fresh York Nights (now out of print; it would be amazing to have this available again on CD or MP3). This fresh collection mixes klezmer-style pieces with bluegrass-style, performed by a relatively huge ensemble. What makes the difference, aside from the pieces themselves, is that Old Brooklyn is on another level, as they say, musically, emotionally, and spiritually. Like Statman, a lot of of the guest performers have been playing for decades, reflected in the force and emotion of their playing and st of the pieces are Statman compositions, and most of the balance are traditional tunes arranged by him. Some of the performers, in particular Paul Shafer and Marty Rifkin, according to the album notes were recorded separately, but this isn't evident from listening. The performances are terrific. Especially impressive and enjoyable is Larry Eagle's percussion, almost matching Statman's playing in mastery and inventiveness. This is especially evident, I think, in Statman's composition "The One in Nine," a kind of duet between clarinet and drums, anchored and driven by Jim Whitney's bass.Other standout pieces are "The Lord Will Provide," a verbal expression of faith sung by Ricky Skaggs, echoed instrumentally by Statman on his clarinet; "Old Brooklyn," which to my ears combines the American bluegrass and Eastern European folk traditions in a single piece; and "Ocean Parkway After Dark," a Statman original with a catchy melody, tempo shifts, and improvisations--somehow, it reminds me of some Sephardi weddings I've attended in that general neighborhood.An exceptional album, eclectic, with outstanding performances by unbelievable musicians at the height of their powers. Very enjoyable, with much to listen to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Old Brooklyn []  2020-1-23 3:15

    All I can say is, this is unbelievable!! Amazing music, I recommend giving it a listen. The mandolin playing is quick and right on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motherless Brooklyn []  2020-1-25 17:6

    Five orphans are taken under the wing of a little time hustler, Frank Minna. They gradually become the Minna Men. Detectives? Well, at least one of them, Lionel, thinks e story is told by Lionel Essrog, a young man afflicted with Tourette's syndrome. Lionel's Tourette syndrome makes him both annoying and endearing. A lot of people simply think he is crazy. There were times when Lionel's tics created me laugh out loud, even while I imagined how difficult not being able to control outbursts must be for someone with Lionel's problem. As he works to unravel the truth behind Frank, his affliction is both a curse and a blessing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Streetcars []  2020-8-24 18:34

    Brooklyn was once served by the second biggest road railway system in the United States. The Brooklyn Rapid Transit system and successor Brooklyn & Queens Transit Corporation strived to provide the best in frequent, safe and comfortable surface transportation for their millions of everyday patrons. This book is a unbelievable pictorial introduction to Brooklyn when the electric streetcar was "king of the road." It divides the system into various locations or neighborhoods and illustrates the diversity of the borough when the trolleys were urban, suburban, and rural. "Brooklyn Streetcars" will remind a lot of older readers who grew up in the borough of satisfied times spent on the vehicles to visit friends, go ping, travel to Coney Island, Ebbets Field, or cross the amazing Manhattan, Brooklyn, or Williamsburgh Bridges for work in the "city across the river."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Streetcars []  2020-8-24 18:34

    The book relies largely on photos and maps, which in itself isn't so bad, until you test to zoom in on some of them. If you have a Kindle Fire HD, like I do, you should be able to obtain close up views of the pages with the "Reading View" button.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chasing Brooklyn []  2020-10-25 18:54

    4.5 StarsThis story is a haunting tale (literally) about dealing with, and moving on after tragic loss, and finding love when you least expect ooklyn lost her boyfriend Lucca in a tragic accident one year ago, and now his best friend, Gabe, has died of an overdose. Brooklyn was very much in love with Lucca, and hasn't been dealing with the loss well. Who would? She's abandoned her art, and writes letters to Lucca every day. All of a sudden Brooklyn starts having nightmares about Gabe. Truly heart-pounding, scary, run-for-your life nightmares! She has no idea why, and is beyond is Lucca's older brother, and has barely been coping with the death of his brother as well. Lucca was the favorite kid of his parents and he feels he's a not good substitution. Lucca starts visiting Nico in his dreams, begging him to support Brooklyn. He has no idea why she needs support or how to provide it. But Lucca's request is desperate enough that Nico arranges to meet up with Brooklyn to create sure all is well. Nico can tell there is something wrong but Brooklyn won't say is story was told in verse, a form of storytelling I am quickly beginning to love. A verse novel can speak volumes with very few words. It's like a focused type of storytelling. Lisa Schroeder did a masterful job in capturing just the right emotion, at the right time. I found from the beginning I was riveted, and didn't wish to place this book down. It was suspenseful and scary, but also heart-warming, and heart-breaking. Nico is so swoon-worthy, a total knight-in-shining-armor type of guy. You search yourself falling for him just as Brooklyn does, not that she is completely aware of this at first. Love this verse from her:When I wake upI whisper prayers of ank you for a night free of ghosts and ank you for another day of ank you for a race that gives me ank you for a lullaby latest ank you for the boy who sang it.I think he called me lovely in the song.Did he?Yeah, he did.And I feel my heartdo a dance of joyat the thought.If you haven't read a verse novel, do yourself a favor and give one a try. They're a fast, and if done right, strong read. I highly recommend this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chasing Brooklyn []  2020-10-25 18:54

    Lisa Schroeder has done it again! A unbelievable fast simple read for reluctant young adult readers. Both boys and girls search this read appealing. Written as poetry in verse form the author keeps the reader on his toes at all times. Amazing read and amazing opening to discuss suicide and dealing with loss...another awesome read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    To a lot of crashes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    Application crashes on my iPhone and Android device

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    You seriously have to fix this app. I've downloaded and deleted this application several times hoping it would be better with each download but it never improves. Always crashing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    Nice idea - Never works! Crashes every time you test to begin the Advantage tab. All of my previous points lost!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    Scores For some reason it shows we lose more android games than we win... Plz fix 😉

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    Fresh Rating I've increased my rating from 3 stas to 5 stars because the application now has in android game notifications.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    Brooooooklyn

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    Great! Simple to use and efficient

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    Amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Bound [App]  2019-8-22 13:39

    Ugh. Disaster.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secret Brooklyn []  2020-1-31 0:54

    lt is astounding just how much there is to see in BB - no, not the late, amazing B. B. King, but "Beautiful Brooklyn"! This book follows the line of the older book (not too old!), SECRET NEW YORK. Most websites are given two pages, most of the left-hand page being a photograph, with the text on the right. All Brooklyn websites detailed in SECRET NEW YORK are featured here too, and a lot of more. They are given in geographical order, from north to south to east. Brooklyn has vast numbers of off-beat attractions in the line of architecture, history, parks, natural scenery and general interest; it is strongly recommended, both for locals, for residents of the "other" four boroughs of the amazing City, and for tourists, to go out and see Brooklyn. This perfect book provides a superb starter; but in no method must it replace your own thorough research, both on the lnternet and in other books. Another must-have is a good, detailed old-fashioned map - recommended is Streetsmart Brooklyn BRK by vanDam.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Dodgers []  2020-1-25 5:10

    This book goes through a history of the multiple Brooklyn baseball squads in the three decades from 1850. These eventually coalesced, despite some temporary name changes along the way, into the Brooklyn Dodgers. The author then gives a history of the squad - key players, managers and owners - from the late 19th century to the mid-twentieth ever, for a book that purports to tell "the story" of the Brooklyn Dodgers, it has ambiguities, omissions and mistakes, and is desperately in need of a amazing begin, there is a photograph of the Brooklyn squad of 1888. The author's caption "identifies" the players by their position in each row. But as some players were standing, sitting and in between, it is impossible to tell who is in which row. The caption does nothing to help the reader and therefore the author's "identification" of the players is en there are the mistakes. The author has another picture, this one of the 1916 Globe Series, which he captions "...shows the only scoring action in the second game." As he states below that the final score was 2-1, there obviously were two more "scoring actions" in that game.Under a picture of Casey Stengel, the author writes that "...he led the Yankees to championships year in and year out in the 1950s and 1960s."Stengel's latest Yankee pennant championship was in 1960; that single year hardly qualifies as "the 1960s". And while he did victory eight pennants in the 1950s, he lost in two years; that was most of the decade but not "year in and year out".Then there are the omissions. The little one is in the caption of a picture Manager Wilbert Robinson and pitcher Rube Marquard. The caption says the pitcher's delivery was like a dance step he performed with his film star wife. Having pointed out that she was a film star begs the question: which film star was his wife? But the author just ignores that.Another omission is Android game 4 of the 1947 Globe Series. Cookie Lavagetto's pinch-hit double in the ninth inning breaking up Bill Beven's no-hitter was a historic moment in Brooklyn. But the author completely ignores it.But the largest omission is with the 1950s Dodgers. The book's back page blurb claims "A huge part of Brooklyn Dodgers is dedicated to those squads of the 1950s..." That is pure hype - and completely false. The key part of the book - covering the "Boys of Summer" - is in Chapter Eight, a very slim chapter and a very little part of the book. The 1955 Globe Series victory is there, as are some of players. But just as a lot of are not. A book about the 50s Dodgers not mentioning mainstay relief pitcher Clem Labine, making no note of Carl Furillo's special ability to play [email protected]#$%! off the concave right field wall - nor of his rifle arm throwing out runners at home plate - and not noting that Don Newcombe was not only an outstanding pitcher but was often used as a pinch hitter is hardly telling the Dodgers e book required another dozen pages to cover the 1950s teams. It is a shame that this book, while giving much history, is such a letdown dealing with the key Dodger decade.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Dodgers []  2020-1-25 5:10

    My husband loved the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motherless Brooklyn []  2020-1-25 17:6

    Enthralling, different, layered, with idiosyncratic characters the reader comes to like and worry about. Totally caught up in the story, just complex enough. Terrific d it so much, bought another Lethem--used paperback. Alas, college student previous owner, reading quite closely with instruction, as full of unbelievable markings, notes, highlighting. Full price for Mr. Lethem next time!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motherless Brooklyn []  2020-1-25 17:7

    I chose this book because of an interview I saw with Edward Norton. I think he is a genius actor and he read this book and wanted to create it into a movie. I am certain that he is considerably deeper in thought and more smart than I. Therefore, I can honestly say, I don't obtain it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Old Brooklyn []  2020-1-23 3:15

    Andy Statman, who gave us mystical klezmer jazz with his perfect "Between Heaven and Earth," now blows me over with this two-disc album. I was first at a loss where in my collection to file the album: my Jewish and klezmer section of globe melody or within the country and bluegrass section. This amusing quandary proves again that all musicians are without borders, national and often genre. Statman, of course, has long experience in both musical styles (for instance, he was on Ricky Skaggs' Grammy recording, "Instrumentals") and here teaming up with Béla Fleck's banjo, Byron Berline's and Bruce Molsky's fiddles, Jon Sholle's and Marty Rifkin's steel guitars, and Ricky Skaggs' vocal, the album is more American than East European. To Statman's supporting musicians Jim Whitney, bass, and Larry Eagle on percussion, he added Paul Shaffer on keyboards, Lew Soloff playing trumpet, Art Baron on trombone and tuba, and Bob Jones on acoustic guitar. The melody gives us touches of different blues, country dances, klezmer celebrations, a Greek dance, and rabbic niguns. Statman played clarinet on 8 tracks, but the mandolin is powerful throughout. The musicianship as you would expect is grand, and the tunes are satisfied and sufficiently varied to maintain interest with surprises over the album's some 90 minutes. "Old Brooklyn" is a dazzling showcase of Statman's versatility.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Old Brooklyn []  2020-1-23 3:15

    I read a review of this album in the NY Times and was very interested not only with the melody but in Andy Statman. I have been playing the discs on my method to swim practice(I am 81 years old) and arri ved ready to go. It is a unbelievable mix of melody and I think it is one of my favorite buys.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Streetcars []  2020-8-24 18:34

    This latest edition of Arcadia's Photos of Rail series takes you on a magnificent tour of Fresh York's most populous borough by road udents of Fresh York's transit history may also know that this isn't the first publication on the subject. Back in the 1980's, James C. Greller published "Brooklyn Trolleys", which in its own right, is also an perfect book. Whereas the Greller book focuses on the various vehicle types that roamed the roads of Brooklyn, the Arcadia book takes you on a historical tour of Kings County from far-flung Norton's Point, to the Manhattan Bridge. Therefore, these two books are perfect complements to each other. If you have both, you now know the whole ooklyn Streetcars offers a glimpse of life in Brooklyn from the late 19th century to the mid-1950's, and how the streetcar influenced the growth and planning of this part of Fresh York City.Every page has either two amazing sized images or one very huge image that takes up almost the entire page. There are also maps, but they are a bit crude and could have been done better, in my opinion.99% of the images in this book I have not seen before, and therefore, probably does not overlap in any significant method any other publication on the subject. I wouldn't be surprised if the author was conscious of other books written on the subject, and carefully used images previously unpublished.Even though I was born method after the latest trolley ran in Brooklyn, I have always wondered what it was like to see these fabulous cars running down Ocean Avenue, Church Avenue, Coney Island Avenue, anks to Arcadia, now I have come a small closer to knowing and understanding the once heavy and impressive system.If you are into the history of Fresh York City's Transit system, this book is sure to be a favorite in your collection. And at the price offered by Amazon, you certainly can't go wrong. It's literally a trip back in time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Streetcars []  2020-8-24 18:34

    Any old Brooklyn trolley pictures bring me back to my childhood, growing up in Bay Ridge Brooklyn. Though small, this book is packed with amazing images of a time gone by.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chasing Brooklyn []  2020-10-25 18:54

    When I finished reading Chasing Brooklyn I couldn't helped but sighs not because it was a poor book, al contraire it was just amazing. I still don't know if I could place in words the thoughts and feelings about this book but I shall was my first time reading a verse like book, I wasn't even sure I was going to liked it but I was hooked after the ten first pages and believe me I think if it was written in any other method it wouldn't have been so unique and special book. It was an emotional, gripping and attractive story. There were times where I was smiling, others I was a bit spooked because of the supernatural factors of the story and others time I was a bit sad. This is how strong this book, it takes you into an emotional ride but in the end it makes you hope, hope that after a situation such as difficult as loosing someone you love, you would be able to move e story is narrate through Nico and Brooklyn point of view which interesting because you obtain to side of the lover and the side of the family of the person who passed away and how they dealt with their lost and how turning into each other helped them to heal and move on. And of course I can't support to mention that I love Nico... totally cute and consistent hero and you can't really blame Brooklyn into trust him so after all my ramblings about the book, I hope it sounds a amazing rambling so you would go and buy the book, because your cash would be well spent and you would be so happy with when you are done, that you would test to review as I am now and not search the expert words of critic but you would rambling just like me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chasing Brooklyn []  2020-10-25 18:54

    Bought this as a gift, amazing price

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Bound [App]  2019-8-22 13:39

    won't load, keeps asking me to sign in

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    If you are in the street this is amazing if you wish to see the android game score or watch

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    Application always crashes or has other problems, Never can present my member id so I can obtain discounts at Barclays.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    The application crashes 19 times on me in one week. I have season tickets to the Nets and I cannot access my tickets because the application continues to crash.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    Keeps crashing 2x whenever i turn on my device Love the Nets, but dont have time for buggy apps.....sorry, removing & 1☆ rating it....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    Book us on your next Brooklyn Move My Squad My Town! No one does it better than BROOKLYN!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    Amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    HelloBrooklyn #WeAreBrooklyn

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Nets [App]  2019-2-23 13:42

    Love it Brooooooklyn!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motherless Brooklyn []  2020-1-25 17:6

    Jonathan Lethem set out to write a contemporary noir novel, one set in the Fresh York Town he knows, and in that light he has succeeded. Huge cast of colourful characters? Check. Snappy bitten-off dialogue with lots of local references? Check. A amazing girl and a poor girl? Check. A assassin giant? Check. A complicated plot that gets neatly summed up at the end? en he throws in the kitchen sink. Japanese megafirms, Zen Buddhism, Prince... and a narrator with Tourette’s es it work? Yes, if you wish a quick read that’s well-written, with a likable protagonist. If you are interested in Tourette’s, for any reason. I have no idea if the speech and behaviors — the compulsive touching, the flapping hands, the triggers that begin or end an attack — are realistic. They are certainly why three stars? Well — ultimately, it’s still piffle. Lethem is a skilled writer, capable of tossing off a memorable phrase or conjuring up a visual image, but his talents here are in the service of a lesser god. In other words, it’s genre. Colourful cardboard is still cardboard, which is how his characters begin and end. Snappy dialogue out of the side of the mouth is a convention, just like the vehicles and the cigarettes and the Italian mama in a little slummy kitchen and the sad, incompetent NYPD detective — except that this time he’s African-American, huge blow for originality. Not. The plot drags. The “zany” shtick — Buddhists! Monks! Japanese executives! — falls flat. Ok, cool, he dreamed it up, but what for? Zany needs a purpose.Lethem’s love for the genre and its conventions shines forth from every page, and in a lot of ways is one of the best things about this novel. He loved it; he ached to do it; he did it. For this reader, and I say this with regrets, the result is like watching a brilliant impersonator. Reading a work of fiction should be something else entirely.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motherless Brooklyn []  2020-1-25 17:6

    "Motherless Brooklyn", by author Jonathan Lethem, is a detective story with a twist ... the protagonist, Lionel Essrog, has Tourette's syndrome, a disorder with barely controllable physical tics and inadvertant vocal components, where the sufferer touches repeatedly things or imitates others, and may blurt out anything ... obscenities, secrets, or nonsense. Essrog is an orphan, who along with three other orphans, now work for Frank Minna, a small-time crook who employs them in a dozens of legal and semi-legal endeavors. After Minna is murdered, Essrog searches to search Minna's killer. As I don't give plot spoilers (the above information is beautiful much from the advertising blurbs and first chapter of the book), below are my impressions of the srog is the narrator of the story, and it's told from his perspective, in first person. For the first chapter or so, I was annoyed and discomfited by the structure and pacing of the narrative ... it was too "jerky" and disjointed, primarily because of the symptoms of Essrog's Tourette syndrome, but once I grew used to the pacing and flow, it largely ceased to bother me. Although afflicted by Tourette's syndrome, and appearing to others as somewhat less than sane or normal, there is nothing wrong with Essrog's powers of intellect, so you obtain a sense of someone peering keenly out from behind a damaged exterior.While nominally a detective story (and a very amazing one at that), this is also somewhat of a hero study, where the flawed Essrog lives among others who are damaged in other ways, and his struggles to search Minna's assassin moves him beyond both his own comfort location and involves him in complex situations where small is as it first appears. As it is difficult to fully develop a lot of of the individuals within the context of a single novel, a lot of are slight caricatures and stereotypes rather than thoroughly developed. But Essrog himself is tremendously appealing, and his disorder only adds to his humanity, and you search yourself rooting for him as the story progresses.Overall, this is a very amazing novel, and once you obtain past its eccentricities, it will suck you in. This book would serve as a amazing basis for a series of sequels featuring Essrog and his friends, but given that "Motherless Brooklyn" was published in 1999 and there have been no reported efforts by the author toward a sequel, it isn't likely to ever happen. Four stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Motherless Brooklyn []  2020-1-25 17:7

    Not for me! Tried to obtain into it but too a lot of side roads. Donated it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Dodgers []  2020-1-25 5:10

    Author Tag Rucker has gotten keep of some priceless photographs from the Dodger archives in writing “Images of Sports: Brooklyn Dodgers” for ARCADIA PUBLISHING. Rucker contains images of some of the most significant moments in Dodgers history, including Jackie Robinson staring at home as Bobby Thomson crosses the plate to give the Giants the pennant in 1951, and the amazing catch by Sandy Amoros in the 1955 Globe Series to support preserve the android game 7 victory for Johnny Podres. Balancing these moments of gravitas are spring training shots of Hugh Casey wearing a large sombrero and of Harold “Pee Wee” Reese signing some autographs at Vero e book is divided into eight chapters, with the first page of each chapter containing a single photograph that is about twice the size of the other photographs in the book. Other than the introductory pages, generally, all pages of the book have two photographs on ong the nuggets of info that Rucker contains in his book are naming the pitcher who Joe DiMaggio called the “meanest man” he had ever seen. (DiMaggio was referring to Whitlow Wyatt, a pitcher in the 1940’s for the Dodgers, who Rucker calls an “aggressive knockdown artist.”) In his chapter titled “1910-1919,” Rucker provides two amazing shots of future manager Casey Stengel in his playing days, reminding us that Stengel could also play the game, as he hit .364 in the 1916 Globe Series, leading the Dodgers in batting in the e book is not flawless, as second baseman Jerry Coleman is identified as a shortstop on page 121 and on page 117 Rucker states Erskine held the Globe Series strikeout record of 14 until 1967, when in fact it was 1963 that the record was broken. Rucker fails to point out that the pitcher doing the breaking was none other than Sandy Koufax, who struck out 15 Yankees in android game 1 of the Globe an ideal world, I would have enjoyed seeing more prose, especially in the introduction to each chapter, allowing Rucker to elaborate on the rich history of the Brooklyn l in all, this was a fast and enjoyable te: The author of this review is also the author of “Spring Training with the Washington Nationals,” published by FONTHILL MEDIA in April 2015. As with the “Brooklyn Dodgers,” the book on the Nationals is 128 pages and uses some perfect photographs to tell its story. All photographs in “Spring Training with the Washington Nationals are in color and are part of Fonthill’s “Images of Modern America” series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Dodgers []  2020-1-25 5:10

    I expected THE BROOKLYN DODGERS: IMAGES OF SPORT to be a coffee table- sized edition. It's actually a rather slim trade paperback. Regardless of my deflated expectations, this small book by Tag Rucker is a amazing addition to any Brooklyn Dodger fan's e book is crammed with photographs, most of very high quality, and associated commentaries on Brooklyn Dodger (and proto-Dodger) squads dating back to the 1840s, when Brooklyn appeared in a semi-pro national championship. To judge from the images and woodcuts of the early era, baseball, if not yet the National Pastime, was Brooklyn's Pastime.Legends about Abner Doubleday aside, baseball was born in Brooklyn. Brooklyn sold the first tickets to games, invented the batting helmet, the warning track, the box score, the curve ball, the wrist snap, had the first televised games, and a host of other innovations. To be fair, some of these innovations, like yellow baseballs and android games on ice (!) didn't exactly catch had some of the greatest talent the android game has ever seen. If Brooklyn's squad struggled along in a lot of seasons, it was only because players like Dazzy Vance or Zack Wheat stood alone as gifted stars on otherwise moderately talented or simply mediocre teams. (Rucker doesn't say whether he is similar to the amazing Dodger pitcher of the Thirties, Nap Rucker.) It would be left to the Yankees to develop their pool of talent into an overwhelming juggernaut of perennially winning teams, at least until the Dodgers' best years in the cker introduces us to a veritable troops of Dodger players, some of who are memorable, like Wee Willie "Hit 'em where they ain't" Keeler, Jim Creighton, Dave Foutz, John Ward Montgomery, and Frenchy Bordagaray; some of whom are forgotten, like Jigger Staatz, H.B Polhemus, and Frank Kitson; some of whom are world-class talents, like Jackie Robinson, Pee Wee Reese, Duke Snider, Roy Campanella and Gil Hodges; and some of whom are better known for their association with other teams, like Casey Stengel and Babe Ruth. Each captioned photograph gives us a snippet of info on the represented player, his record, and his fate. Squad images are revealing as to the evolution and professionalization of the sport. The earliest antebellum tintypes might have been taken by Matthew Brady. The mustachio'd Nineties players all fit the 'Casey At The Bat' stereotype. The Dodgers went through a bewildering array of changes of name and livery until settling on the blue on white script so closely identified with the Borough of Brooklyn (and still used by the Los Angeles club today).Many earlier images have not survived the years. As a result, the bulk of photographs in the book concern the latter-day Dodgers of the Forties and Fifties. Some of the pictures are familiar, but a lot of are not. All are priceless.Each page of this book is a little gift, to be treasured for its pleasure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Old Brooklyn []  2020-1-23 3:15

    This is the best yet!!! One of the best kept musical secrets in the country, the Andy Statman Trio is what American melody is about. This album is the culmination of years of work and hundreds of concerts, and once again showcases Andy's virtuosity in both mandolin and can't go wrong with the trio. Jim's smooth bass, Larry's versatile hands (and feet) on the drums (and whatever else he can obtain his hands on)- Not to mention some very gifted friends- this album has it all. From the sweet reflective tones of Andys clarinet to breakneck bluegrass and everything in between (no kitchen sink but they threw in the kettle- in real trio style). You don't have to love bluegrass (or klezmer,jazz,classic rock, country, blues...) to love this double cd set. Physically and spiritually uplifting often at the same st time a nomination- this time lets see a Grammy! Amazing work guys!! obtain a visual feel for this check out their www service Andystatman dot org, or their You Tube channel- derechamuno

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Old Brooklyn []  2020-1-23 3:15

    When this CD is good, it's really good. But some pieces are dull for me. It's probably attributable to Andy Statman's wonderful range of performance styles. I like some, and I don't like others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Old Brooklyn []  2020-1-23 3:15

    It's a amazing album. My only complaint is technical: I was unable to upload the latest song of the album to my iPod--and it's a attractive song.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Secret Brooklyn []  2020-1-31 0:54

    I lived in Brooklyn for 35 years yet this book identified things I never knew.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brooklyn Streetcars []  2020-8-24 18:34

    This book is filled with rare images of trolley vehicles in Brooklyn. It's amazing for people who grew up in Brooklyn, especially if they are old enough to remember some of the trolley lines or if they just wish to see what Brooklyn looked like back then. If you are not from Brooklyn, but a trolley fan in general, you would like seeing the photos of what was once one of the major trolley systems in this country. It's a worthwhile addition to any collection of publications on streetcars and rapid transit operations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chasing Brooklyn []  2020-10-25 18:54

    This is the first book I have read by Schroeder. I had heard so a lot of amazing things about her books but I was still a small hesitant. How can I connect with the characters in a verse novel? How will their story develop in such a sort book? All of my hesitations were completely unjustified. I realized that after just a few pages.I connected with the characters very well. I felt their pain. Their fear and their joy. Lisa Schroeder definitely has a method with words. She may not use a lot of of them but they are written so beautifully that you can't support feeling every one. The story alternated between Brooklyn and Nico and their struggles with their own private times this book was a small creepy. The ghost aspect is something I love. Seeing as I'm a powerful believer in ghosts myself. This book is definitely not to be missed. I will be reading Schroeder's other books as soon as possible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chasing Brooklyn []  2020-10-25 18:54

    This is such a beautiful, heartfelt story about loss, love, and having the courage to choose life. A fast read that will capture your heart. I would gladly read this again, and look forward to reading other works by this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    4th July [App]  2019-7-6 13:35

    Bello

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sweet July []  2020-11-18 20:9

    Love, love, love this magazine! So a lot of amazing articles and so a lot of wonderful recipes! Can’t wait for the next one! Kudos Mrs. Curry!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sweet July []  2020-11-18 20:9

    Amazing Magazine with lots of Simple and delicious recipes! Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    4th July [App]  2019-7-6 13:35

    It allow me send one then wouldn't allow me send anymore. Application sucks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    JULY 401k [App]  2020-6-26 13:13

    Simple to access your JULY Recordkeeping 401(k) account. Valuable calculator to assess your retirement needs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sweet July []  2020-11-18 20:9

    I truly enjoyed reading this magazine. I love the feel of it. There's something for everyone. I especially enjoyed reading about Ayesha's mom, Ms. Carol, as most women can relate to her story. It has amazing interviews and recipes, of course. You won't search ads on every other page. It's just right! Well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sweet July []  2020-11-18 20:9

    Great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sweet July []  2020-11-18 20:9

    love this magazine

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    4th July [App]  2019-7-6 13:35

    Updated ver of the app? Nice application Tvishi. Awaiting updated versions of the app.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386