Read building an fps game with unity reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all building an fps game with unity reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    horse riding tales - ride with friends []  2020-5-19 15:11

    So i just updated it yesterday and when i got on 2 hours after the detail was all GONE !!!! I have a rare horse the black and white one spotted and then u couldn't see the spots left i wanted to begin over but i just got on lvl 7 and 6 horses already the barn detail and everything so i got on it this morning to see that maybe it was just a glitch but i was 100% WRONG. But other than that i love this android game but just one question why does the wild mode have to like 86 gems or your horse has to be level 100 why just it be i wanted to roleplay with my with other people but i have to be a wild horse so why not create it free. But i have you have my 100 help if u wish to create any changes pls fix this problem.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Building an RPG with Unity 2018: Leverage the power of Unity 2018 to build elements of an RPG., 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:56

    Does a amazing job going from 0-100 on everything you need to know to obtain started. A chapter is dedicated on how to plan building your game. Too a lot of times people skip this necessary step to plan all the small info and then have to create changes later and pushing back your release date. This book covers just about everything you need to obtain your feel wet and learn, including lots of code, illustrations, pictures, and examples.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Building an RPG with Unity 2018: Leverage the power of Unity 2018 to build elements of an RPG., 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:56

    - Lots of typos everywhere especially in the code. I wonder if it was ever reviewed... " public enum ItemCatrgory {...} personal ItemCatrgory category The main idea in the preceding code is ItemCateogry" I mean how would you trust author who is not able to write the word "category" correctly 2 out of 3 times.- Code is very dirty and looks like it's written by a first grade student- You won't search anything particularly useful regarding to RPG genre. This is NOT how the true RPG android game is built. I couldn't search anything similar to quest scripting engine (the heart of any RPG), dialog system etc. All the items in this book is very primary and you may search it for free. If this book would cost $5 it would probably worth it in case you just started learning Unity.If your intention to figure out how android games like Fallout or The Elder Scrolls series are built this book won't give you any clue.

    0  


    Add your opinion on building an fps game with unity or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Building an RPG with Unity 2018: Leverage the power of Unity 2018 to build elements of an RPG., 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:56

    The book is a amazing overview of the RPG genre! Covers all the core aspects of an RPG and how to build them - from planning to implementation. It even recommends some assets to jump begin your development!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Building an RPG with Unity 2018: Leverage the power of Unity 2018 to build elements of an RPG., 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:56

    If you are looking for a beginners tutorial to the development of Role Playing Android games then this is the excellent book for you.1- Has amazing explanation on what a role playing android game is and how a lot of types of patterns you can follow to design one.2- Step by step explanation of various modules of a Role Playing Android games with true life examples.3- Nice introduction to environment design.4- One of the best implementation of locomotion and combat systems.5- Simple to follow instructions for structing your code and making the android game is book allow you master the fundamentals of developing a Role Playing Game. Highly Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Building an RPG with Unity 2018: Leverage the power of Unity 2018 to build elements of an RPG., 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:56

    This book is excellent. If you are a beginner or intermediate who wants to make an RPG, this has most things you need to learn most of what it takes to place an RPG together. It covers android game management, inventory system, stat system HUD, UI, Terrain creation and an perfect multiplayer section. The code examples are impressive, and the author does go into detail each and every aspect of the subjects covered.I can not say enough about how the author emphasized "Design first, code later" ALWAYS have a goal on what you wish to accomplish before coding a single is WOULD have been a 5, but it does not cover one of the most necessary aspect of RPG android game programming, and that is one of a quest and dialogue system. What is an RPG without quests or dialogues? It is beautiful much nothing. You can build a attractive world, have a glorious stage with amazing characters and monsters, but for what? Why are you here? How do you obtain money? Is there a maiden or sir to woo?Being said, and just to reiterate, this is an wonderful book, a MUST have for any beginner or intermediate android game programmer who wants to learn what it takes to build a amazing RPG. Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Building an RPG with Unity 2018: Leverage the power of Unity 2018 to build elements of an RPG., 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:56

    You can search and better guides on the internet. Why waste $50 for a book that reads like they watched those same tutorials, then wrote this. It is terrible. It isn't even formatted well. It actually hurts my eyes to look at it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Building an RPG with Unity 2018: Leverage the power of Unity 2018 to build elements of an RPG., 2nd Edition []  2020-1-31 3:56

    1. Well written simple to follow step by step guide.2. Practical examples.3. Low cost.4. Just it already.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity in Action: Multiplatform Game Development in C# with Unity 5 []  2020-1-31 3:45

    Most people who look at IT or CS majors think that everything is done with a teacher giving long lectures, and students just knowing how it all works. The reality is the teacher picks out a amazing book that can be used as a reference with other projects, and shows clean code with amazing explanations. The teacher often uses the book as the lecture, and the students search guides online to further any specific need. That sounds counter intuitive to charging students hundreds of dollars for a single class, but it is actually the teacher finding the right book, and knowing how to fix the code when it screws up.Unity in Action teaches with amazing clean code, that gives ideas on how to alter it for more interesting results. I went in thinking of this as if it was a class, only at my own time and pace. But I am learning, have amazing references to what I need to do, and how it works, plus the ability to alter the code to test out fresh ideas. Right now I am trying to obtain a sphere to grow bigger if you slay it. Everything up to the growing bigger is given in the book, and I am searching for the easy command to create it grow larger before it dies. The opponents are running around with twisting cubes around them, and will grow bigger and change color when shot. Everything is there, plus the opportunity to search out more and test out r a class, whether through university or your own private time, this book is a amazing begin into Unity engine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity in Action: Multiplatform Game Development in C# with Unity 5 []  2020-1-31 3:45

    Joe Hocking does a unbelievable job with this book. The examples are clear and the pacing is superb. I also appreciate the index as well as coverage of 2D, UI, and audio. As someone who has experience with several languages (C, C++, Java, Objective-C ) but no experience with C#, I found the examples simple to follow. While the book doesn't obtain into more advanced topics, it is an perfect introduction to Unity and primary android game design. Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity in Action: Multiplatform Game Development in C# with Unity 5 []  2020-1-31 3:45

    I've been using this book to learn a lot of primary Unity concepts. It's amazing for learning some primary C# scripts and crafting scenes along with examples. Everything is beautiful clear and straightforward until chapter 6 (2D GUI). Then suddenly it says to go to the Unify Wiki and copy/paste this HUGE page of code into your script without explaining ANY of it. It also starts to subtly tell you to delete or add chunks of code from scripts without a visual example, which causes unsureness that wasn't a issue in the beginning of the book. After finishing chapter 6, my UI code wasn't functioning correctly with the stage and I couldn't search a clear point in which I went wrong. The precise explanations and clarity with the concepts disappear after Chapter 5 because the book assumes you've mastered every function of code that you've used one time in previous chapters.I'm starting to learn Unity with more video courses now. This book helped me learn a lot of foundational concepts, but there's a certain point with learning skills like coding where all books fail.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity in Action: Multiplatform Game Development in C# with Unity 5 []  2020-1-31 3:45

    If you are a C# programmer this is the book to obtain for tapping Unity android game platform power. If your are not, but you have an expertise in another language, such as C or Java you can still follow the logic and use the cook-book type C# recipes for your is a well written book and its author's approach is sound and effective. Through the chapters you develop a project from the beginning to the end, as opposed to the approach that I have seem in other books consisting in giving you chunks of code that have no relation to each other. I like this book because you can see the progress of the project chapter after chapter. The author conveys difficult ideas in easy ways.I want all computer books would be written with at least this level of succinct clarityThank you, Joe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity in Action: Multiplatform Game Development in C# with Unity 5 []  2020-1-31 3:45

    Well written and simple to follow, especially considering the highly technical subject. I can't recommend this enough for anyone wanting a jump-start with Unity. Unfortunately, the is higher than what a lot of game-dev dreaming children will be able to ere really isn't much here that isn't covered by the extensive online Unity documentation and tutorials, but my [email protected]#$% went that route at first myself and was left frustrated and stumped by all of the holes in what I was learning. This book puts it all together and explains it well in one understandable start-to-finish tutorial that you just can't really search anywhere else. Following along with the book helps give you the momentum and confidence you need for starting out.I'd have liked the book to touch on a few more key subjects, but was overall very happy. I still go back to reference it occasionally, months later while working on my own project. I strongly recommend downloading the online PDF for that reason; being able to find for keywords is very nice. Later portions of the book build on previous chapters, which also makes that find helpful. The code in my book didn't work for downloading my PDF, but the publisher was very friendly and responsive everyday with me via email to support resolve the situation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity in Action: Multiplatform Game Development in C# with Unity 5 []  2020-1-31 3:45

    This is a beautiful amazing book; even though it is the first edition, the code still works as far as I can tell in 2018. The author gives explanations of how things work, then gives you the code, then you test it, and then he discusses the code in more detail about what you just did. You do have to read the text carefully though because if you miss a step (which is often embedded in the text) by reading too fast, it can "steal your soul" as one C# coder once said. But that's not the book's fault necessarily. I deducted a star because I've had difficult logging into Manning and trying to access those resources, and the book touts the ability to do that. But even still, I'd say this is a solid book, still accurate in 2018, but I think you'd probably wish to obtain the 2018 ver just to save yourself any possible headaches.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity in Action: Multiplatform Game Development in C# with Unity 5 []  2020-1-31 3:45

    I've had an interest in developing android games for years, but never had the motivation, either because of the feeling of being overwhelmed, or just from the lack of resources. I finally decided to give Unity a shot on a whim, and picked up this book before even opening it. I can say without a doubt, I wouldn't be making the progress I've done in the past couple of weeks without a programmer, but with no C# experience, Joe Hocking does an awesome job of introducing you to Unity scripting and rapidly integrating little scripts that serve as fundamental components to building a game. The examples are to the point, and are fairly fast to breeze through!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Developing 2D Games with Unity: Independent Game Programming with C# []  2020-2-1 11:48

    I found "Developing 2D Android games with Unity : Independent Android game Programming with C#" to be a very amazing and helpful text for learning the basics of 2D android game development with Unity. I'm an experienced C# engineer and I found it very simple to pick up the text and start to learn how to use Unity using a skill I was already well versed in. The examples are helpful learning tools and I was able to create my own changes along the method which helped me to learn the concepts even more. I am giving it four stars rather than five because I thought there were some sections that could have used a small more explanation. For example in the chapter on spawning stuff I spent about a day pulling out my hair because the stuff I was spawning into the android game were not showing up. Then I eventually figured out it was because of the z coordinate in the transform. A helpful hint like "If your item doesn't present up in the android game be sure to check the z coordinate" would have saved me some trouble. Additionally, the book does not address in any method adding sound to a Unity android game which I feel like is kind of an essential component for an end-to-end learning exercise in making a game. Also I would have liked to have seen some coverage on transitioning between scenes and creating and using interactive menu UI (granted that latest subject might be too advanced for this book but even a tip of covering the subject would have been appreciated). That sounds like a lot of gripes maybe but those are just the reasons I gave it only four stars. Like I said, it's a amazing book and definitely a amazing choice for a first book if you are interested in learning 2D android game development with Unity. But if you are serious about getting into indie android game development like I am be prepared to look for extra books to continue supplementing the learning process.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Developing 2D Games with Unity: Independent Game Programming with C# []  2020-2-1 11:48

    I like the fact that this book reads like one large instruction manual. I will be taking Programming using Unity this fall in College and I really required a book like this to support me practice using Unity before I go back to school.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Developing 2D Games with Unity : Independent Game Programming with C# []  2020-5-23 18:27

    Got to chapter 4, and some problems - like script with curly double quotes I cut/pasted which don't work on a PC (I figured out), player-idle sprite is missing from - I just kinda created one. Probably stop here due to not getting the tilemap collider to work properly. Also asking me to check the box for Freeze Rotation (again) which was done earlier. Came across a couple other redundancies which makes me think the book needs more editing. Oh yeah, have no idea where the "Choose" button is in chap. 4 to generate tiles. Anyways, could probably figure all this it out eventually, but time vs. progress >>> time has the upper hand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Developing 2D Games with Unity : Independent Game Programming with C# []  2020-5-23 18:27

    I bought this book for a android game programming class. I've probably used this book more for reference after the class than I did during the finitely worth picking up, even if it's an optional text book, or if you wish to teach yourself d examples to follow along, and a amazing index for fast reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Developing 2D Games with Unity: Independent Game Programming with C# []  2020-2-1 11:48

    Got to chapter 4, and some problems - like script with curly double quotes I cut/pasted which don't work on a PC (I figured out), player-idle sprite is missing from - I just kinda created one. Probably stop here due to not getting the tilemap collider to work properly. Also asking me to check the box for Freeze Rotation (again) which was done earlier. Came across a couple other redundancies which makes me think the book needs more editing. Oh yeah, have no idea where the "Choose" button is in chap. 4 to generate tiles. Anyways, could probably figure all this it out eventually, but time vs. progress >>> time has the upper hand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Developing 2D Games with Unity: Independent Game Programming with C# []  2020-2-1 11:48

    I bought this book for a android game programming class. I've probably used this book more for reference after the class than I did during the finitely worth picking up, even if it's an optional text book, or if you wish to teach yourself d examples to follow along, and a amazing index for fast reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Developing 2D Games with Unity : Independent Game Programming with C# []  2020-5-23 18:27

    I found "Developing 2D Android games with Unity : Independent Android game Programming with C#" to be a very amazing and helpful text for learning the basics of 2D android game development with Unity. I'm an experienced C# engineer and I found it very simple to pick up the text and start to learn how to use Unity using a skill I was already well versed in. The examples are helpful learning tools and I was able to create my own changes along the method which helped me to learn the concepts even more. I am giving it four stars rather than five because I thought there were some sections that could have used a small more explanation. For example in the chapter on spawning stuff I spent about a day pulling out my hair because the stuff I was spawning into the android game were not showing up. Then I eventually figured out it was because of the z coordinate in the transform. A helpful hint like "If your item doesn't present up in the android game be sure to check the z coordinate" would have saved me some trouble. Additionally, the book does not address in any method adding sound to a Unity android game which I feel like is kind of an essential component for an end-to-end learning exercise in making a game. Also I would have liked to have seen some coverage on transitioning between scenes and creating and using interactive menu UI (granted that latest subject might be too advanced for this book but even a tip of covering the subject would have been appreciated). That sounds like a lot of gripes maybe but those are just the reasons I gave it only four stars. Like I said, it's a amazing book and definitely a amazing choice for a first book if you are interested in learning 2D android game development with Unity. But if you are serious about getting into indie android game development like I am be prepared to look for extra books to continue supplementing the learning process.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Developing 2D Games with Unity : Independent Game Programming with C# []  2020-5-23 18:27

    I like the fact that this book reads like one large instruction manual. I will be taking Programming using Unity this fall in College and I really required a book like this to support me practice using Unity before I go back to school.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity in Action: Multiplatform Game Development in C# with Unity 5 []  2020-1-31 3:45

    This book really is excellent. I a couple of hours I was moving around a room I made using the keyboard and mouse in 3 dimensions. Very cool! This was excellent for me. I am a C# programmer but I have never programmed a android game or used Unity before. This is getting me up to speed and I learn more with every page. I had attempted to jump into Mac android game development with XCode and Swift but just could not obtain started. Unity is making excellent sense with this book as a guide. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity in Action: Multiplatform Game Development in C# with Unity 5 []  2020-1-31 3:45

    My book came in today and I was immediately wowed. I have extensive coding experience in ActionScript 3 and some intermediate coding experience in JavaScript. I'm a CG artist and illustrator, and I've been wanting to obtain into the programming aspects of gaming. I started studying C# in 2009 and became somewhat intimidated by the language which is what compelled me to master ActionScript 3. I began My delve into android game design, logic, and programming in April of 2017 and decided to start with Android game Maker Studio. After running into limitations of trying to design a high end 2D graphics android game made with 3D generated artwork, I knew that as strong as Android game Maker Stuido is, it just wasn't going to chop it. So, I decided to Unity in Action: Multiplatform Android game Development based on the amazing reviews that I read here on Amazon. I had hoped that by mastering ActionScript 3, that the knowledge of building complicated applications would off in my cross training efforts. Oh, yeah...it's paying soon as I started to read the Unity in Action book, I was able to immediately relate C# methods, conditionals, and other basics relative to most programming languages, as well as OOP principles and practices, to what I had learned programming ActionScript 3. I've made extremely complex subroutines and operations with ActionScript 3, so I know that there is far more to C#, but with my coding background and understanding of OOP principles and programming logic, it shouldn't be as troublesome as I had feared. When I read about the Begin and Modernize methods I said to myself, "Oh, the Begin way is like a Constructor way and the Modernize way is related to the onEnterFrame way of ActionScript (and the Make Happening and Step Happening in Android game Maker). But it's how the book is presented that I really love (practical, straightforward, etc). The author seems to take a simple, clear headed, no nonsense (goofy jokes, or irrelevant lessons) approach to his presentation. At the time of this writing, I had read half the book and I'm already fully comprehending what I'm doing and what I am going to be capable of doing. Unity in Action gave me the courage to take a leap of faith that I've wanting to take with the confidence and assurance that I will land squarely on my feet with no broken bones in my sically what I'm trying to say in this longwinded review is that if you have any extensive training in most OOP languages, you should be able to place two and two together and obtain up and running in a fairly reasonable amount of time. With a book like Unity in Action as your guide, you should be able to obtain up to speed quickly with whatever you're trying to accomplish with Unity and it's C#. If you have no coding experience or do not understand OOP principles, Unity in Action may still be a amazing buy, but expect to be engaged in hours of running back and forth to the web.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity in Action: Multiplatform Game Development in C# with Unity 5 []  2020-1-31 3:45

    Wow, what a amazing book. I enjoyed every chapter and can say with confidence that I learned lots of fresh tricks.few of the highlights:1. As a engineer, I appreciated the fact that Joe place lots of effort in making sure the code is very well structured, simple to understand and concise. I found the usage of patterns very helpful, especially the separation of managers into sub managers. Unfortunately, that kind of detail is often left out in a lot of guides (even in Unity's official online tutorials)2. The flow between chapters is perfect. Each proceeding chapter builds on top of the skills learned in the previous ones (although you can easily skip them if you're already familiar the subject). I have read a lot of engineering books and often times there is no logical flow between chapters. This book was very simple to sum it up, I have learned a lot from this book. I've already started porting some of the scripts (Managers) into my own project (Animated Chess game) and planning on refining some of my old scripts with the tricks I learned from this book (i.e re-implementing my audio system).Thanks for writing such a amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Developing 2D Games with Unity: Independent Game Programming with C# []  2020-2-1 11:48

    A Review by a web dev who always wanted to be a android game dev:I think i first started trying to create android games about 20 years ago with the same "Make android games with qBasic" book the author mentions (my public library also had a beat up old copy). I stuck with it for awhile, but then burnt myself out when i got into making flash games. I had to stop Pulling my hair out using ActionScript 2.0 and it's horrible implantation of scopes (this is necessary for later) and turned into a web dev instead.I still have a lot of mates who create "real" android games [their words] , and they often trash talk Unity. For amazing reason, there is a lot of shovel-ware created with the engine, and even a lot of the amazing Unity android games can be buggy. But, after playing yet another amazing retro style 2d android game and seeing it was created in Unity, I figured there must be something here, got this book and dived in.Let's begin by saying this book is very well written, the author has engaging prose, and is extremely clear on his explanations. He does a beautiful amazing job explaining what an API/Library call is actually doing. There is a excellent number of illustrated examples of the GUI in action. The introduction of fresh concepts is done -pretty- well. The Technical Reviewer did a amazing job, this is probably the first book I've ever used without a single error in the code, that's an achievement! The foundation the book gives you are the building blocks to use Unity to create your own game. I will say, after reading this book, I could create a some-what working android game in Unity, hence the 4 for my short list of criticisms I hope that Author could modernize in a future edition of the book:is is the main one. There is no explanation for the near exclusive use of global variables, direct class value manipulation, and referencing components by type alone. I've been taught in all my years of programming that globals are bad, and you shouldn't modify class variables directly, you should use a getter/setter. To create this more confusing, lots of the Unity guides out there follow this same [seemingly bad] paradigm. Doing some research there is something called SerializeField that allows setting personal values in the inspector, which seems like it would be a better method to program.I'm also not sure how you target a specific component (what if a object had 2 "2d colliders" on it, is that even possible?).While using globals can be fine for tutorials, the author doesn't talk about scoping in Unity at all, which I think is extremely important, and is a heavy omission. I feel like, unless I'm missing something with how Unity 'works', using the guides as-is to create a full featured android game would effect in an unmanageable monster. Being given the impression that Unity works like the spaghetti code of ActionScript is not something I think the author wants to apter 2 really could have been flushed out a bit more on how Unity works under the hood, including memory management. Knowing how it uses your code helps develop better coding practices. It also should have included a feature map as to what exactly we were building and working apter 8 feels really rush and ends abruptly. We never added any sound effects, particle effects, levels, or a title screen. Our "attack" animation gets canceled by the running animation. These all seem like true primary components of a 2d android game created in 2019. This criticism could be mostly negated with a the better Unity explanation mentioned in point is is an extremely specific criticism, but the 9 pages dedicated to building the "Quadrant" functions to determine the firing direction animation is SO over unnecessarily complicated it detracts from learning Unity. Unless Unity lacks an atan2 function, this could have been done in 2 lines of code, determine the angle between the player's origin and the mouse cursor and return a direction based on the degrees. Again, am I missing something Unity specific here?Criticisms aside, this is a GREAT starting point for unity development. I will probably move on to a unity programming pattern book and fill in the technical blanks with online tutorials.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Developing 2D Games with Unity: Independent Game Programming with C# []  2020-2-1 11:48

    Making video android games has always been a dream of mine yet I've never known where to begin. This book has been an wonderful resource that not only took the mystery out of android game development but provided an immense amount of inspiration to obtain that first android game going. Jared's passion for android game development and wonderful command of the tools comes through in a wonderfully clear, straightforward manner. I'm now convinced 2D is the excellent put to begin for a budding indie android game dev!With so a lot of digital distribution channels at our fingertips there's never been a more exciting time to obtain into android game dev, and this book will absolutely obtain you there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Developing 2D Games with Unity : Independent Game Programming with C# []  2020-5-23 18:27

    I've been a developer for some time and always wanted to obtain into android game development. Growing up on 2D top down games, this book seemed like the excellent method to jump into android game dev. This book reads really well and has nice concise yet descriptive step by step instructions. The illustrations also bring back some beautiful amazing memories! Very satisfied with the book and definitely recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Developing 2D Games with Unity : Independent Game Programming with C# []  2020-5-23 18:27

    This book was a very amazing introduction to Unity. I worked through every chapter and exercise, and I now feel like I can build my own game.But, after finishing the book, there are some things I still don't know how to do like:1. Add sound effects.2. Transition between multiple scenes or levels.3. Save android game state, so the user can come back and play where they left off.4. Troubleshoot issues.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Developing 2D Games with Unity : Independent Game Programming with C# []  2020-5-23 18:27

    Everything is explained well, allowing the reader to make a easy 2D android game from begin to finish. A amazing introduction to Unity and its 2D aspects, including screenshots, code explanations, and a repo with all files for simple reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Developing 2D Games with Unity: Independent Game Programming with C# []  2020-2-1 11:48

    Amazing read on Unity engine. Amazing for someone fresh to the tool. The author presents info in a clear and natural method that I found simple to learn from.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Developing 2D Games with Unity: Independent Game Programming with C# []  2020-2-1 11:48

    The book does a amazing job of showing you how to build a game. With the photos and code samples you can build a whole game. It's beautiful sweet. Amazing to support beginners and super helpful tool for experienced unity devs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Developing 2D Games with Unity : Independent Game Programming with C# []  2020-5-23 18:27

    Amazing read on Unity engine. Amazing for someone fresh to the tool. The author presents info in a clear and natural method that I found simple to learn from.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Developing 2D Games with Unity: Independent Game Programming with C# []  2020-2-1 11:48

    I've been a developer for some time and always wanted to obtain into android game development. Growing up on 2D top down games, this book seemed like the excellent method to jump into android game dev. This book reads really well and has nice concise yet descriptive step by step instructions. The illustrations also bring back some beautiful amazing memories! Very satisfied with the book and definitely recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Developing 2D Games with Unity: Independent Game Programming with C# []  2020-2-1 11:48

    Everything is explained well, allowing the reader to make a easy 2D android game from begin to finish. A amazing introduction to Unity and its 2D aspects, including screenshots, code explanations, and a repo with all files for simple reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Developing 2D Games with Unity : Independent Game Programming with C# []  2020-5-23 18:27

    A Review by a web dev who always wanted to be a android game dev:I think i first started trying to create android games about 20 years ago with the same "Make android games with qBasic" book the author mentions (my public library also had a beat up old copy). I stuck with it for awhile, but then burnt myself out when i got into making flash games. I had to stop Pulling my hair out using ActionScript 2.0 and it's horrible implantation of scopes (this is necessary for later) and turned into a web dev instead.I still have a lot of mates who create "real" android games [their words] , and they often trash talk Unity. For amazing reason, there is a lot of shovel-ware created with the engine, and even a lot of the amazing Unity android games can be buggy. But, after playing yet another amazing retro style 2d android game and seeing it was created in Unity, I figured there must be something here, got this book and dived in.Let's begin by saying this book is very well written, the author has engaging prose, and is extremely clear on his explanations. He does a beautiful amazing job explaining what an API/Library call is actually doing. There is a excellent number of illustrated examples of the GUI in action. The introduction of fresh concepts is done -pretty- well. The Technical Reviewer did a amazing job, this is probably the first book I've ever used without a single error in the code, that's an achievement! The foundation the book gives you are the building blocks to use Unity to create your own game. I will say, after reading this book, I could create a some-what working android game in Unity, hence the 4 for my short list of criticisms I hope that Author could modernize in a future edition of the book:is is the main one. There is no explanation for the near exclusive use of global variables, direct class value manipulation, and referencing components by type alone. I've been taught in all my years of programming that globals are bad, and you shouldn't modify class variables directly, you should use a getter/setter. To create this more confusing, lots of the Unity guides out there follow this same [seemingly bad] paradigm. Doing some research there is something called SerializeField that allows setting personal values in the inspector, which seems like it would be a better method to program.I'm also not sure how you target a specific component (what if a object had 2 "2d colliders" on it, is that even possible?).While using globals can be fine for tutorials, the author doesn't talk about scoping in Unity at all, which I think is extremely important, and is a heavy omission. I feel like, unless I'm missing something with how Unity 'works', using the guides as-is to create a full featured android game would effect in an unmanageable monster. Being given the impression that Unity works like the spaghetti code of ActionScript is not something I think the author wants to apter 2 really could have been flushed out a bit more on how Unity works under the hood, including memory management. Knowing how it uses your code helps develop better coding practices. It also should have included a feature map as to what exactly we were building and working apter 8 feels really rush and ends abruptly. We never added any sound effects, particle effects, levels, or a title screen. Our "attack" animation gets canceled by the running animation. These all seem like true primary components of a 2d android game created in 2019. This criticism could be mostly negated with a the better Unity explanation mentioned in point is is an extremely specific criticism, but the 9 pages dedicated to building the "Quadrant" functions to determine the firing direction animation is SO over unnecessarily complicated it detracts from learning Unity. Unless Unity lacks an atan2 function, this could have been done in 2 lines of code, determine the angle between the player's origin and the mouse cursor and return a direction based on the degrees. Again, am I missing something Unity specific here?Criticisms aside, this is a GREAT starting point for unity development. I will probably move on to a unity programming pattern book and fill in the technical blanks with online tutorials.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Developing 2D Games with Unity : Independent Game Programming with C# []  2020-5-23 18:27

    Making video android games has always been a dream of mine yet I've never known where to begin. This book has been an wonderful resource that not only took the mystery out of android game development but provided an immense amount of inspiration to obtain that first android game going. Jared's passion for android game development and wonderful command of the tools comes through in a wonderfully clear, straightforward manner. I'm now convinced 2D is the excellent put to begin for a budding indie android game dev!With so a lot of digital distribution channels at our fingertips there's never been a more exciting time to obtain into android game dev, and this book will absolutely obtain you there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity Game Changer [App]  2019-11-28 13:30

    Servers are "not response" (actually what it says, poor grammar and all). Only about 1/4 of the menu is available.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Foundations) [Third Edition]: A step-by-step guide to creating your first game with Unity []  2020-2-8 18:25

    This one didn't have a lot of reviews but a lot of were positive. Not sure why, it's not a amazing book. If you've never touched Unity and don't know what it is then this may support you obtain started. But to call your book "zero to proficiency" implies I'll learn a lot. I did not. 75% of this book is how to do such primary things, which is fine, and the other 25% covers slightly more than primary things. Nothing goes beyond the ultra basics and while they imply that you'll create a android game there is NO CODING whatsoever in here! It's basically a guide of somebody walking me through the Unity pre-made example scenes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Foundations) [Third Edition]: A step-by-step guide to creating your first game with Unity []  2020-2-8 18:25

    Okay to begin off, this book is slightly dated. Some buttons that the instructor illustrates are no longer in Unity or have been moved, but I do not think it is a large issue. He also has a video guide for the beginning of the book which will support out a lot. The step by step instructions support learn the basics of using unity in 3D android games and in 2D games. You will learn about terrain manipulation adding assets and textures. Honestly the only thing that I want was included was animation or creating 3D assets. Maybe these will be in the other books (there are 4 in total) but I have not read them. This is for anyone who is looking to learn the basics of Unity, you just need to be patient. You will obtain exactly what is promised.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Foundations) [Third Edition]: A step-by-step guide to creating your first game with Unity []  2020-2-8 18:25

    First off I just wish to say I never touched Unity 5 at all and I read through the entire book in about 12 hours even doing the labs. It has given me amazing confidence and I know enough now to create a primary layout for a game.If you have never touched Unity, I highly recommend this book, if you have used Unity 4 or 5 at any ver you are probably too advanced for this ver of his book, go obtain the "beginners" or "intermediate" versions of Patricks s its a lot of for the book $45.00 print edition (at the time of writing this review) that doesn't go very in-depth but the title didn't lie it says "Foundations" and he ebooks if you wish to go that route for method with that said I am a programmer with experience in different programming languages and I really appreciate the method Patrick tutorials you through on the usage of Unity 5 and walks you through hand in hand in the creation of primary layout of a game. His instructions were clear and with lots of screenshots! Some errors in the verbiage but you obtain the point and it won't stop tastic book overall for fresh people to Unity I plan to all in Patrick's series and I hope he comes out with more advanced versions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Foundations) [Third Edition]: A step-by-step guide to creating your first game with Unity []  2020-2-8 18:25

    It's been years since I've taken a deep dive into Unity, so I wanted to create sure I had a amazing review before I started on working with code. Patrick's book was just what I was looking for. It's amazing as a review of going over the basics of Unity and its is just right for those that are just starting out. I highly suggest using this book to obtain started on your Unity journey of as a review for those that have been away for a while.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Foundations) [Third Edition]: A step-by-step guide to creating your first game with Unity []  2020-2-8 18:25

    I purchased the kindle ver of this book, hoping to obtain a leg up on developing Unity-based games. The book is supposed to have downloadable exercise files associated with it that you use when working through the examples. You are directed to a www service to obtain these files. However ... when to go there the only 'link' (to access anything) is labelled 'Download your FREE Resource Pack!". It requires that you enter an email address and name and then press "Yes, I wish to keep my pack!" - whatever that is. Supposedly you will keep an email directing you to the downloads. Instead you obtain an email inviting you to subscribe to some sort of subscription. There are no signs whatsoever of the files! Given the absence of these files, it is kinda hard to proceed with the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Foundations) [Third Edition]: A step-by-step guide to creating your first game with Unity []  2020-2-8 18:25

    I like to hold learning fresh things in my retirement. This book is a amazing walk through to obtain you started with the Foundations of Unity Programming. There is no scripting (coding) just importing objects and adding to scenes. I didn't give it five stars because I've had a lot of frustration trying to understand what I am being asked to do. My first frustration was using the Asset Shop in ver 2019.2.9f1. After hours of searching I found that in Windows 10 you have to begin the firewall for Unity long enough to import the assets. (This information will save you dozens of find time.) The author states very clearly that you need to use the Unity Manual along with the book and I totally agree. So a lot of times he asks you to do something to an object but I can't understand why. That's when I go to the Unity Manual to read more about the object and/or process. I'm getting ready to begin the second book, Beginners, and can't wait to obtain into the scripting. I used to be able to code several computer languages and am looking forward to getting back to working in C+.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Foundations) [Third Edition]: A step-by-step guide to creating your first game with Unity []  2020-2-8 18:25

    As a fresh user to Unity, the book does a amazing job getting fresh users accustomed to the interface, and provides some amazing examples on creating primary designs. There are some typos here and there which is expected, as well as a few inconsistencies in what you are supposed to see on the screen as opposed to what shows in the book. This is probably due to ver changes of Unity itself though (I was using 5.6.2f1), and the author should state the actual ver being used in the book. You can usually search the actual option after mucking through the interface te that there is no actual coding done in this book, with the exception of applying pre-written scripts to some objects. This is to teach you the interface, and you CAN make easy android games just with dragging and for the Kindle ver of the book, there are problems with the photos being too little to view. The author does a amazing job explaining what's in the image, but with differences in the ver I have as opposed to what the author used, being able to view the photo would have helped (like ambient lighting).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Foundations) [Third Edition]: A step-by-step guide to creating your first game with Unity []  2020-2-8 18:25

    I have two of Pat's books and I can't say enough about how intuitive they are to obtain off the ground with a strong tool like Unity. I have been in the tech industry for over 20yrs and sometimes you have to search someone who writes these types of books that will hold you engaged and present you that progress is being made. Right away you see results, you learn things about Unity that would likely take you months, if not years, to discover. Here is the best thing: If you have a question or can't figure something out, e-mail Pat - he actually responds. Not in a week or two, but typically when I check my e-mail the next day he has already responded. Amazing!The only reason I have not purchased more of Pat's books is because I am a hobbyist in android game development so time is a precious commodity and not something I have a lot of right now. Take the time and begin at the foundations course and work your method up if you are buying the Unity series. If you have any questions, e-mail Pat - he will actually answer to you and quickly!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Foundations) [Third Edition]: A step-by-step guide to creating your first game with Unity []  2020-2-8 18:25

    This book has no Table of Contents as a part of the actual book. This book and the companion www service have no questions for the Quizes, only the answers, so they are useless. The companion www service starts sending me messages after signing up. The photos are too little to search out what is inside them. You should always explain everything using words in case the photo doesn't create it obvious what you are supposed to do. Author's Notes boxes include crucial information, not just comments as promised at the beginning of the book, so you need to read them instead of skipping them. Peculiar acronyms like MRB (Mouse Right Button) do not support the beginners with learning. All the photos are for the OS X ver of Unity, but beginners obtain confused when there are no photos for the Windows ver also. Downloading a large complex project like the Viking Village is not the best method of teaching beginners with Unity as it takes multiple difficult procedures and a long time to import and it. The author confuses Tabs with Views. Otherwise, this book does teach what it promises, so it's not totally bad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Foundations) [Third Edition]: A step-by-step guide to creating your first game with Unity []  2020-2-8 18:25

    Just starting out with unity, and found this book to be VERY helpful in walking one through each section and building on previous sections. Definitely worth buying, which I did. The only thing I would point out is that the books could use better titling as it was hard to tell that the Foundation book actually came before the Beginner book. :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Foundations) [Third Edition, for Unity 2018 and Unity 2019]: A step-by-step guide to creating your first game with Unity 2018 and 2019. [Third Edition, February 2019] []  2019-12-23 19:31

    This book has no Table of Contents as a part of the actual book. This book and the companion www service have no questions for the Quizes, only the answers, so they are useless. The companion www service starts sending me messages after signing up. The photos are too little to search out what is inside them. You should always explain everything using words in case the photo doesn't create it obvious what you are supposed to do. Author's Notes boxes include crucial information, not just comments as promised at the beginning of the book, so you need to read them instead of skipping them. Peculiar acronyms like MRB (Mouse Right Button) do not support the beginners with learning. All the photos are for the OS X ver of Unity, but beginners obtain confused when there are no photos for the Windows ver also. Downloading a large complex project like the Viking Village is not the best method of teaching beginners with Unity as it takes multiple difficult procedures and a long time to import and it. The author confuses Tabs with Views. Otherwise, this book does teach what it promises, so it's not totally bad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Foundations) [Third Edition, for Unity 2018 and Unity 2019]: A step-by-step guide to creating your first game with Unity 2018 and 2019. [Third Edition, February 2019] []  2019-12-23 19:31

    Okay to begin off, this book is slightly dated. Some buttons that the instructor illustrates are no longer in Unity or have been moved, but I do not think it is a large issue. He also has a video guide for the beginning of the book which will support out a lot. The step by step instructions support learn the basics of using unity in 3D android games and in 2D games. You will learn about terrain manipulation adding assets and textures. Honestly the only thing that I want was included was animation or creating 3D assets. Maybe these will be in the other books (there are 4 in total) but I have not read them. This is for anyone who is looking to learn the basics of Unity, you just need to be patient. You will obtain exactly what is promised.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Foundations) [Third Edition, for Unity 2018 and Unity 2019]: A step-by-step guide to creating your first game with Unity 2018 and 2019. [Third Edition, February 2019] []  2019-12-23 19:31

    This one didn't have a lot of reviews but a lot of were positive. Not sure why, it's not a amazing book. If you've never touched Unity and don't know what it is then this may support you obtain started. But to call your book "zero to proficiency" implies I'll learn a lot. I did not. 75% of this book is how to do such primary things, which is fine, and the other 25% covers slightly more than primary things. Nothing goes beyond the ultra basics and while they imply that you'll create a android game there is NO CODING whatsoever in here! It's basically a guide of somebody walking me through the Unity pre-made example scenes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Foundations) [Third Edition, for Unity 2018 and Unity 2019]: A step-by-step guide to creating your first game with Unity 2018 and 2019. [Third Edition, February 2019] []  2019-12-23 19:31

    First off I just wish to say I never touched Unity 5 at all and I read through the entire book in about 12 hours even doing the labs. It has given me amazing confidence and I know enough now to create a primary layout for a game.If you have never touched Unity, I highly recommend this book, if you have used Unity 4 or 5 at any ver you are probably too advanced for this ver of his book, go obtain the "beginners" or "intermediate" versions of Patricks s its a lot of for the book $45.00 print edition (at the time of writing this review) that doesn't go very in-depth but the title didn't lie it says "Foundations" and he ebooks if you wish to go that route for method with that said I am a programmer with experience in different programming languages and I really appreciate the method Patrick tutorials you through on the usage of Unity 5 and walks you through hand in hand in the creation of primary layout of a game. His instructions were clear and with lots of screenshots! Some errors in the verbiage but you obtain the point and it won't stop tastic book overall for fresh people to Unity I plan to all in Patrick's series and I hope he comes out with more advanced versions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Foundations) [Third Edition, for Unity 2018 and Unity 2019]: A step-by-step guide to creating your first game with Unity 2018 and 2019. [Third Edition, February 2019] []  2019-12-23 19:31

    Full of errors, the book contradicts itself too a lot of times, one page say something next one says the opposite, for example position 713 states that Unity uses a left handed coordinate system then in position 1016 says right handed; very primary thing like instruct you to do a zoom in when the intention is to do a zoom out, and is full of this kind of elemental error; very poor poor review of the author/editor before publishing to catch this kind of mistakes; on the other hand, is toooo primary and short in scope, you probably be better with some introduction guide over internet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Foundations) [Third Edition, for Unity 2018 and Unity 2019]: A step-by-step guide to creating your first game with Unity 2018 and 2019. [Third Edition, February 2019] []  2019-12-23 19:31

    I like to hold learning fresh things in my retirement. This book is a amazing walk through to obtain you started with the Foundations of Unity Programming. There is no scripting (coding) just importing objects and adding to scenes. I didn't give it five stars because I've had a lot of frustration trying to understand what I am being asked to do. My first frustration was using the Asset Shop in ver 2019.2.9f1. After hours of searching I found that in Windows 10 you have to begin the firewall for Unity long enough to import the assets. (This information will save you dozens of find time.) The author states very clearly that you need to use the Unity Manual along with the book and I totally agree. So a lot of times he asks you to do something to an object but I can't understand why. That's when I go to the Unity Manual to read more about the object and/or process. I'm getting ready to begin the second book, Beginners, and can't wait to obtain into the scripting. I used to be able to code several computer languages and am looking forward to getting back to working in C+.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Foundations) [Third Edition, for Unity 2018 and Unity 2019]: A step-by-step guide to creating your first game with Unity 2018 and 2019. [Third Edition, February 2019] []  2019-12-23 19:31

    As a fresh user to Unity, the book does a amazing job getting fresh users accustomed to the interface, and provides some amazing examples on creating primary designs. There are some typos here and there which is expected, as well as a few inconsistencies in what you are supposed to see on the screen as opposed to what shows in the book. This is probably due to ver changes of Unity itself though (I was using 5.6.2f1), and the author should state the actual ver being used in the book. You can usually search the actual option after mucking through the interface te that there is no actual coding done in this book, with the exception of applying pre-written scripts to some objects. This is to teach you the interface, and you CAN make easy android games just with dragging and for the Kindle ver of the book, there are problems with the photos being too little to view. The author does a amazing job explaining what's in the image, but with differences in the ver I have as opposed to what the author used, being able to view the photo would have helped (like ambient lighting).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Foundations) [Third Edition, for Unity 2018 and Unity 2019]: A step-by-step guide to creating your first game with Unity 2018 and 2019. [Third Edition, February 2019] []  2019-12-23 19:31

    Very well written book. I bought the kindle ver and it was easily worth the price. I have been doing web development for a lot of years using c# and have always wanted to obtain into video games. I have done some of the guide videos on Unity's www service and they helped some but I was not making much progress. I decided to this book because I was interested in the content. Turns out it was a amazing buy. It walks you through all of the basics and gave me a much better and solid foundation of how to use Unity. It reads well and the pace moves quickly. Chapter 4 walks you through how to design a android game map like Wolfenstein 3D (that's what it reminded me of). Chapter 5 has you build an island (like a method dumbed down ver of Just Cause 3 but still beautiful cool.) And so far I have not had to write any code. I was unaware that Unity had so much built in. If you are wanting to obtain started learning Unity this book is great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Foundations) [Third Edition, for Unity 2018 and Unity 2019]: A step-by-step guide to creating your first game with Unity 2018 and 2019. [Third Edition, February 2019] []  2019-12-23 19:31

    I purchased the kindle ver of this book, hoping to obtain a leg up on developing Unity-based games. The book is supposed to have downloadable exercise files associated with it that you use when working through the examples. You are directed to a www service to obtain these files. However ... when to go there the only 'link' (to access anything) is labelled 'Download your FREE Resource Pack!". It requires that you enter an email address and name and then press "Yes, I wish to keep my pack!" - whatever that is. Supposedly you will keep an email directing you to the downloads. Instead you obtain an email inviting you to subscribe to some sort of subscription. There are no signs whatsoever of the files! Given the absence of these files, it is kinda hard to proceed with the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Foundations) [Third Edition, for Unity 2018 and Unity 2019]: A step-by-step guide to creating your first game with Unity 2018 and 2019. [Third Edition, February 2019] []  2019-12-23 19:31

    This series of books has step by step instructions that are simple to follow. There are lots of pictures to verify you are doing things correctly. I have done three books in this series so far (Foundations, Beginner, and Platform). Before starting the books, I had some coding background, but no experience with Unity. Each book covers a manageable amount of information. There is so much to learn, but the author does well to stick to key points to not create the reader feel overwhelmed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity []  2020-1-22 3:25

    I love this magazine

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity []  2020-1-22 3:25

    Love Unity Church.........but not the magazine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity []  2020-1-22 3:25

    still getting it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity []  2020-1-22 3:25

    It’s nice Christian magazine and cheaper which is why I subscribe thru this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Beginner) [Third Edition, for Unity 2019]: A step-by-step guide to coding your first game with Unity in C#. [Third Edition, March 2019] []  2019-12-18 20:16

    This series of books has step by step instructions that are simple to follow. There are lots of pictures to verify you are doing things correctly. I have done three books in this series so far (Foundations, Beginner, and Platform). Before starting the books, I had some coding background, but no experience with Unity. Each book covers a manageable amount of information. There is so much to learn, but the author does well to stick to key points to not create the reader feel overwhelmed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Beginner) [Third Edition, for Unity 2019]: A step-by-step guide to coding your first game with Unity in C#. [Third Edition, March 2019] []  2019-12-18 20:16

    I learned allot from his tutorials. But it is not polished. So expect to wrestle through some of the lessons. His Web website can be frustrating. For example, i registered there and it said it would send me am email with a direct link to the source files. No link is included in his email and you are forced to contact him to obtain the link and password.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Beginner) [Third Edition, for Unity 2019]: A step-by-step guide to coding your first game with Unity in C#. [Third Edition, March 2019] []  2019-12-18 20:16

    If you, like me, are torn between one of a few books to on a particular subject at any given time, and you're looking through the reviews to decide which is the correct choice, look no is book is perfect whether you're fresh to Unity or a beginner. When I first delved into android game design, this book is what created me feel comfortable with Unity's layout and menus. After the first couple of books, I dare say I know my method around Unity about as well as Microsoft the price, it's a steal and more than worth your investment. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn Unity. If you have any questions regarding the book itself, the author answers e-mails as well!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Beginner) [Third Edition, for Unity 2019]: A step-by-step guide to coding your first game with Unity in C#. [Third Edition, March 2019] []  2019-12-18 20:16

    This is a perfectly straight forward, simple to read book that does exactly what it is supposed to do. Short, but not skimping on detail or features that it explores. This is an perfect introduction and holds promises that the rest of the author's more advanced books will be (or are) a amazing value.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Beginner) [Third Edition, for Unity 2019]: A step-by-step guide to coding your first game with Unity in C#. [Third Edition, March 2019] []  2019-12-18 20:16

    I found this to be a amazing fast read to learn some of the basics of the Unity API/UI, and how to use the scripting API to accomplish a lot of various primary tasks.I did see that other reviews mentioned an problems with the first chapter discussing C#, which I unfortunately skipped, though I agree throughout the book there seems to be a misunderstanding of member access levels (and naming conventions). There are other different practices in Unity I did question, like duplicating initialized objects, lack of prefabs/interfaces, or dynamically finding GameObjects instead of assigning via public members, but this may be from the author trying not to go to deep too quick. Either way, these are all very minor criticisms which can be overlooked and remedied with some minor doc research, it doesn't take away from the overall mission of the book.If you are learning android game development with C#, you are going to learn a lot of various coding styles over your career, and it will be up to you and your understanding to pick the best practice. As long as you create sure to create it a habit to visit the API documentation (which the author even mentions), you will learn proficiently. For the money, it's not a poor purchase, especially since it's not an extremely UI-heavy book like a lot of others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Beginner) [Third Edition, for Unity 2019]: A step-by-step guide to coding your first game with Unity in C#. [Third Edition, March 2019] []  2019-12-18 20:16

    It was clear and effective. Even for a relative beginner it was simple to follow and learn a amazing deal. This author gets it and is a amazing resource.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Beginner) [Third Edition, for Unity 2019]: A step-by-step guide to coding your first game with Unity in C#. [Third Edition, March 2019] []  2019-12-18 20:16

    Numerous typos along with a couple of missing steps makes it hard to follow. The file you for the examples is going to be from an older ver of Unity, which will give you some problems in regards to older code. You can still use it, but be aware your console log will be showing it all the would have been nice if it also showed C# along with Javascript. Translating it is not that difficult sues with Kindle ver on photos in where you can't really see it (no method to enlarge). Environment Ambient Lighting has been renamed in newer versions, and the Bake option is now a tab.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Beginner) [Third Edition, for Unity 2019]: A step-by-step guide to coding your first game with Unity in C#. [Third Edition, March 2019] []  2019-12-18 20:16

    I would recommend for people who wish to study unity generally, to take a fast primary programming course before starting with this book because i am not sure if this book was simple for me because i have a primary knowledge about programming, or it's just thing is for sure, it makes things method ere are a lot of www services for online primary courses like Codeacademy and Sololearn which give primary introduction guide for JavaScript and nce i am familiar with programming, i didn't need to begin focusing on how programming works (which is explained in this book) but only on how programming with unity work.Highly recommended book nonetheless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Beginner) [Third Edition, for Unity 2019]: A step-by-step guide to coding your first game with Unity in C#. [Third Edition, March 2019] []  2019-12-18 20:16

    I purchased this book because I wanted to learn more about using C# for scripting in Unity. However, in the very first chapter the author makes an egregious error. Explaining how to define a class, he declares several member variables and member methods as private. So far not a problem. Then he declares an object of the class and accesses the personal members with a dot operation. You absolutely can not do this. It is why you create the members personal to start with is to create this type of behavior impossible. I normally do not write reviews, but I felt I required to write this to warn absolute beginners that you will be led astray from chapter 1. I am going to complete the book and possibly modernize this review. However, just be warned the the author either does not know what he is doing or he had a not good technical editor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unity From Zero to Proficiency (Beginner) [Third Edition, for Unity 2019]: A step-by-step guide to coding your first game with Unity in C#. [Third Edition, March 2019] []  2019-12-18 20:16

    I'm an adjunct instructor for several institutions where I teach adults how to design and develop using different IDEs and languages. As a former military officer, I've come to appreciate the idea of ensuring my units have all the training and gear they'll need to obtain the job done. Patrick exemplifies that spirit in his series, "From Zero to Proficiency." After reading his first two books in the series, I've decided that I'll use them in the Fall term to teach my students android game development with Unity. The lessons are simple to follow, yet provide strong impact upon android game development. I've never come across any other author who continues to provide weekly help to his readers and Patrick Felicia does. He even solicits us to learn what we'd like for him to teach next. If you wish to learn Unity from someone who actually knows how to teach it, I recommend his books. I read a lot of technical books, so I seriously appreciate it when an author can clearly convey knowledge in an easy-going manner that is technically correct. I'm very satisfied with these books and am sure my students will be too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Game Design, Prototyping, and Development: From Concept to Playable Game with Unity and C# (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-31 3:50

    Since others have covered the content of the book quite extensively, I'll comment on the quality of the book itself. I know you're not supposed to judge a book by its cover or whatever, but the first thing I said when I opened my Amazon delivery was, "Wow, this is a really nice book".- It's full of full colourful images, even the source code examples have their syntax colored.- The paper isn't glossy, which I like because I don't obtain that annoying glare when reading in a well-lit area- The pages feel nice, which is something I can't say about a lot of of the programming books I own.- The font size isn't so little that you feel like they were trying to save trees by cutting down on pages

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Game Design, Prototyping, and Development: From Concept to Playable Game with Unity and C# (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-31 3:50

    If you've studied about OOP (difference between inheritance and composition) and looking for some textbook about Unity, I strongly recommend the "Unity in Action" (by J.Hocking). It's explanation is straight-forward and very clear. And you can obtain it's FREE eBook ver with no cost.On the other hand, this textbook's description is redundant and unclear. It's website is also unclear and includes easy but long slides of each chapters. And it is difficult to search the page of it's example projects and source codes. Moreover, if you the printed version, you MUST over $40 in to obtain the eBook reover, If you write the same codes in the book, they often do not work because of the version-up of Unity. In to solve this problem, I must purchased it's second edition (this one) 's eBook ver with over $40 money.I regret I purchased this book before purchasing the "Unity in Action". I wasted a lot of time and money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Game Design, Prototyping, and Development: From Concept to Playable Game with Unity and C# (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-31 3:50

    This book is a amazing book to introduce someone into android game design. I removed a star because Bond had conflated android game design, prototyping, and development with political theory during the early parts as he discussed the influences of modern culture and how sexism is reflective on the design of android games (as an example). While he presents these problems as true as they are, I feel as though they are presented informally and lack any context to the book's intention to show an introduction android game design, prototyping, and development to a beginner. In Bond's defense he was simply implying that video android games evolve over time; fitting the culture that surrounds it. However much of that early section would not fit my definition of "an introduction to android game design, prototyping, and development" and thus was purely superfluous at spite this however this book is a really well written, well informed, and quite a respectable resource for an aspiring android game designer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Game Design, Prototyping, and Development: From Concept to Playable Game with Unity and C# (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-31 3:50

    It has been a while since I read this book, but the lessons from it stick with me. For anyone looking for a very solid, yet complete, introduction to android game design as well as android game development in Unity, this is a amazing put to start. The author is definitely a teacher because the book is structured like a textbook, and in this case that's a amazing thing because the chapters are broken up into very digestible bits. There are 9 fully functional Unity projects later in the book that teach you much about structuring a android game project and they vary in degrees of complexity. I bought this book purely for the android game design portion as I already knew programming in Unity, and it was worth it just for that, but I also found the prototyping section to be extremely interesting and I'm looking forward to trying some of those practices for my next game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Game Design, Prototyping, and Development: From Concept to Playable Game with Unity and C# (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-31 3:50

    SUMMARY: All in all, I've been through several Unity and C# programming books. This one is the best, especially in its current iteration. The www service is very up to date on errata and Unity changes. Mr. Bond writes clearly and with an entertaining and familiar tone, and the content is second to none. No other book is going to create a newcomer feel more accomplished from the tutorials, even if they don't always create complete sense at of writing this I still have a bit more of the book and a few guides to do, but I am very impressed and happy with the 2nd edition of this book. It alleviates almost all of my concerns of the first version. The guides (in Part 3) are easier to follow, clean up inconsistencies, and do a amazing job of explaining what is event behind the code and teaching vital design concepts. I wish to emphasize to someone who is treating this book truly as an "Introduction" that the code herein should be studied, not just taken for granted. It is more complex than most guides I've come across and truly mirrors the actual kind of coding you would be doing for any extensible prototype worth making. There are a lot of clever uses of programming patterns that are slightly glossed over, but when you're finishing a tutorial, take a moment to map it out and see what is really going on in the code. One thing that could be improved is if Mr. Bond gave a description of the next iterative mechanic he was going to code and treating it as an exercise for the reader rather than just diving right in - but to the cautious self-student this is irrelevant e guides (so far) do a amazing job of highlighting the capabilities of Unity and the utter speed at which prototyping can be accomplished. As Mr. Bond explains several times - a android game is not a android game until its played, and the WHOLE book is dedicated to the idea of getting to something playable as soon as possible, if nothing else for the sheer accomplishment of making a android game that is interesting, while keeping in mind the ever-important scope limitations! The rest of the book (parts 1 and 2) does a amazing job of covering holistic bases in the gaming industry and in the C# language. Part 1 is extremely interesting, though not strictly necessary. Part 2 is vital to intensely study if you have a light programming background, but otherwise can be skimmed or referenced.A word of caution that I want Mr. Bond would have place into an "Intro" book and was something that created me wish to throw my hands in frustration sometimes. His code, from a novice perspective, is so CLEAN, polished, and clever. Then when I would write my own early prototypes it looked like Frankenstein's monster. As a beginner, it bears remembering that if your home-grown code looks right in-game, it is right. Too much perfectionist obsession over hyper-clean and clever code pushes hundreds of people away from programming, specifically from programming games. Of course Mr. Bond shouldn't equivocate on the proper coding practices, but a fair warning that code doesn't come out of the novice's fingertips looking like his would be justified.I recommend going through each part concurrently, depending on your experience and "moodiness." Sometimes I just wish to code, so I flip to the guide I'm working through in Part 3. Sometimes I feel pensive, so I'll read the intricacies of the layered tetrad. Sometimes I lose sight of when I wish to use a List, Array, or Dictionary, so off to Part 2 I go. My own private preference is to obtain the paperback ver - I used the kindle ver for the first edition and it didn't feel right, as with code listing you'll wish to flip back and forth and around quickly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Game Design, Prototyping, and Development: From Concept to Playable Game with Unity and C# (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-31 3:50

    I was looking for a textbook for computer science students who wish to create their own games, and this book was excellent for that group. It started off with design - as all android games should - and then segued to a discussion of implementation, ending with multiple tutorials. For me, the discussion of design is the best part (as that's what I'm weakest in). It was written clearly and me books just walk you through one giant tutorial, which tend to be tedious and, because they focus on one game, leave a lot out. This book did not fall into that trap.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Game Design, Prototyping, and Development: From Concept to Playable Game with Unity and C# (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-31 3:50

    As stated near the beginning of the book, this work is for either designers who wish to learn some coding for prototypes, or an engineer who wants to learn some design principles for prototyping. From that point of view, the book easily gets a 5 star. If you are beginner in the android game development globe (ie college student, or still looking for your first gig) you will obtain wonderful use out of this book (and I personally want I had read it back when I was in school).Chapters are concise, explanations on code snippets is top notch as a seasoned engineer, your mileage will be a less than novices. I do [email protected]#$%! had more to on best practices/patterns for prototyping specifically. I feel book achieved that for design side, but lacked a bit for engineering side. To be fair, it is called and "Introduction" and engineering can be beautiful overwhelming when first introduced, so introducing really high level concepts like prototyping patterns, agile best practices, squad quality, etc would have probably been to much for intended audience.Overall, a quality book, and I'm glad I picked it up. If you are a novice, do your yourself a favor and just go ahead and it now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Game Design, Prototyping, and Development: From Concept to Playable Game with Unity and C# (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-31 3:50

    It's fine. Priced okay.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Game Design, Prototyping, and Development: From Concept to Playable Game with Unity and C# (2nd Edition) []  2020-1-31 3:50

    Some unity/programming books will just give you the code that you need and lack any decent explanation as to what it represents. And while this is sometimes useful, all the code here is clearly commented giving a brief description as you would expect from normal commenting. In addition to this (and more importantly) however, a more detailed description of whats going on under the hood follows immediately after the code. This helps considerably and prevented me from running back and forth to the documentation every two seconds. Screenshots of the associated subjects are presented roughly every other page which helps with clarification if needed.Overall, amazing book: very clear and simple to follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dungeon Tales : An RPG Deck Building Card Game [App]  2019-6-14 13:27

    Its a promising ver of Kill the Spire. Amazing port to mobile.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rogue Adventure: An RPG Deck Building Card Game [App]  2020-4-20 21:28

    Really enjoying the game! Love the gameplay. I've had one problem where when I use a soul priestess, I keep the result as if I had a demon card in my deck. Only Happens when I have Nephil in my deck. Didn't present demon in his description so I thought I would bring it up. Amazing android game though! Hold up the amazing work!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rogue Adventure: An RPG Deck Building Card Game [App]  2020-4-20 21:28

    There are a couple "Slay the Spire" clones out there but this has to be one of the best out there. It has it own take on the mechanics and they haven't simply copy and pasted cards. Some cards belong to various factions and obtain stronger when you obtain more cards of one faction. Multiple classes with various abilities and an option to make batter said ability makes every class feel and play vastly various from others. There are some ads but it's all optional. Overall an awesome game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rogue Adventure: An RPG Deck Building Card Game [App]  2020-4-20 21:28

    Beautiful fun. One of the few mobile android games I've spent on. Expected another spire reskin, but it is different. Original opponents and all characters share a single pool of cards (outside of the starting deck). This means that while you can have a favorite character, you can draft a favorite set of cards.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rogue Adventure: An RPG Deck Building Card Game [App]  2020-4-20 21:28

    It's an uncomplicated collecting card android game much in the vein if Kill the Spire. The pixel art aesthetic is good, and mechanics are beautiful sound. I found it enjoyable to play. Although it's a genuinely amazing game, it has glaring omissions in localization. Although you will generally obtain the hang of it while playing in the languages other than English, and card descriptions are mostly localized, the experience will be far from coherent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rogue Adventure: An RPG Deck Building Card Game [App]  2020-4-20 21:28

    Enjoying the android game a lot so far. Very high replay value. My largest issue is how crappy of a class the fighter is. Needs to be buffed, honestly. Mage is a glass cannon, pure DPS. Favorite class is the druid, very well rounded in a overpowered way. Engineer, robots and lots of them, well balanced class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rogue Adventure: An RPG Deck Building Card Game [App]  2020-4-20 21:28

    Really unbelievable game, in principle. Would give this five stars except for a few issues: 1. It loses replayability once you've unlocked all the classes. Fresh card types and polish on deck tactics would support a lot. 2. This android game is super exploitable. There are certain strategies (insane shield + poison, among others) that create you invincible. 3. The largest problem I have is that the dungeons are wayyy too short. Right when your deck is really coming together it's android game over.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rogue Adventure: An RPG Deck Building Card Game [App]  2020-4-20 21:28

    A decent deckbuilder game. Starts off streamlined, but gets bogged down with fluff as you unblock access to more cards and skills. By the time I unlocked engineer I found that the possibility of a card or skill, that was useful to my build, appearing was quite minimal. Later runs felt very reliant on RNG to obtain a fun deck going.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rogue Adventure: An RPG Deck Building Card Game [App]  2020-4-20 21:28

    I usually don't rate games, but this one absolutely deserves a 5 star! It's fun, varied, each run can be different, and no to win!! It's so sad that it's so rare to search a android game that's not to victory anymore, this is absolutely refreshing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rogue Adventure: An RPG Deck Building Card Game [App]  2020-4-20 21:28

    Really well done game. No to play bs. I one time for no ads which @#$%!3 and completely fair considering how much time I spent on it. But the dynamics are amazing with the various cards to choose based on your hero. It's fun!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rogue Adventure: An RPG Deck Building Card Game [App]  2020-4-20 21:28

    Honestly not been able to stop playing this, which is a bit annoying but meh. The android game keeps freezing on me unfortunately. The screen goes white and I have to reset the application to do anything. Thankfully it autosaves but having to redo long wars is tedious

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rogue Adventure: An RPG Deck Building Card Game [App]  2020-4-20 21:28

    It's really engaging & I enjoyed it a lot! There are so a lot of classes to play & the android game is constantly updating, I'll never obtain bored of this XD

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rogue Adventure: An RPG Deck Building Card Game [App]  2020-4-20 21:28

    Flipping amazing game. I've enjoyed this more than any phone android game I've ever played, personally. Amazing card dynamics and an interesting resource management system with each respective class of player.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rogue Adventure: An RPG Deck Building Card Game [App]  2020-4-20 21:28

    Fairly light on content when compared to other deck building games, but the content that is in the android game is well made, and provides a lot of hours of entertainment

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rogue Adventure: An RPG Deck Building Card Game [App]  2020-4-20 21:28

    They often modernize to improve the game, which keeps the video test new and shows that they are responsive to feedback. And the ads are not excessive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rogue Adventure: An RPG Deck Building Card Game [App]  2020-4-20 21:28

    Lots of heroes, cards, and enemies. There's plenty to do and I'm enjoying it so far. I'm interested in where this android game will go in the future!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rogue Adventure: An RPG Deck Building Card Game [App]  2020-4-20 21:28

    Very fun deck-building game, gave 5 stars but the art and font can be clearer. A lot of various classes and strategies, each run can hold you occupied for over 2 hours πŸ‘πŸ»

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rogue Adventure: An RPG Deck Building Card Game [App]  2020-4-20 21:28

    So far so good. Amazing small game. Love the pixelart, but could be slightly different. Amazing that it REALLY IS to play. Amazing job developers

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386