Read candido rodriguez reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all candido rodriguez reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    jose rodriguez []  2017-12-13 20:43
    [email protected]

    This should be 5$ not 10$. Must of the android games have lines in the characters and on screen

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    RODRIGUEZ - RODRIGUEZ ROCKS : LIVE IN AUSTRALIA []  2020-2-2 20:44

    I bought this CD at one of his Bay Zone (CA) concerts (from his granddaughter who was running the merchandise booth). This CD is an perfect live recording - quality production. If you love or even just like Rodriguez - you should obtain this CD. I've listened to it a lot of times - I really love it! Songs include:1. Climb Up On My Music2. I Wonder3. Sugar Man4. Rich Folks Hoax5. Inner Town Blues6. Road Boy7. I'm Gonna Live Til I Die8. Just One Of Those Things9. Somebody To Love10. Learnin' The BluesMy CD lists only nine songs - but it has a tenth. Bottomline: a must have!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    RODRIGUEZ - RODRIGUEZ ROCKS : LIVE IN AUSTRALIA []  2020-2-2 20:44

    Rodriguez is a amazing artist, and this is a unbelievable live recording of his songs. A nice clean mix - not overproduced.

    0  


    Add your opinion on candido rodriguez or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    RODRIGUEZ - RODRIGUEZ ROCKS : LIVE IN AUSTRALIA []  2020-2-2 20:44

    There's nothing to dislike about Rodriquez. The story of his sidelined career and his rediscovery warms my heart beyond measure. I'd listen to anything he does if it was just a case of the hiccups. To comprehend his "discovery," if you will, can be seen on the DVD "Searching for Sugarman". Help him. I will forever. He's a national treasure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Johnny Rodriguez - Greatest Hits []  2020-11-5 19:19

    Liked all I reviewed one I haven't received her

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Johnny Rodriguez - Greatest Hits []  2020-11-5 19:19

    I have always been a large fan of Johnny Rodrizuez and this casette was a true joy to play. I love all of JR's melody but I have to be honest, I bought this casette for one song. "Faded Love". I love Johnny R's version. I already had all of his other melody on cd but could not search his ver of "Faded Love" on cd. Johnny R's sound is solid country music, the method country melody is supposed to sound.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Johnny Rodriguez - Greatest Hits []  2020-11-5 19:19

    This cd is great, has alot of the songs that I remember that were sung in english and spanish. I really enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Johnny Rodriguez - Greatest Hits []  2020-11-5 19:19

    GOOD MUSIC. SEEN IN PERSON.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Lalo Rodriguez []  2020-5-27 18:49

    At long latest available on CD, this album was Olivencia's follow-up to his wildly successful "Plante Bandera" release from 1975. On this album, Olivencia introduces the superb but underrated sonero Simon Perez (who excels on such standouts as "Buena Suerte", "42nd Road Mambo" and the hilarious "Evelio Part 2{el muerto}")--sadly, he was the only solo singer to have sung with Olivencia's band that did not record even one solo album. On the other hand, Lalo Rodriguez sounds cool, confident and relaxede on the boleros "Hoy No Me Recuerdas and "No Has De Verme Liorar" and the descarga all-out jam "Vengo Del Monte".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Johnny Rodriguez - Greatest Hits []  2020-11-5 19:19

    I got this today and I love it and I don't.I think Johnny Rod is a amazing artist, but I wasn't a huge fan of that Nashville overly produced pap they used to do with people's records back when he was a star, which is why I would rather have re-recorded songs rather than a bunch of orchestrated string arrangenents mucking up the whole ere's a small more of that on here than I was expecting from the description.I went ahead and ordered the taped recording, as I'm not spending $49.00 if you're Johnny Rodriguez himself coming to my house.I love the songs where you can just hear this unbelievable voice, which is not worse for wear for 's an evocotive voice. It didn't need to be hampered.On the huge plus side is a recording of Dance With Me (One More Time) which isn't in a lot of his other recordings and is sublime.On the minus side are the Nashville string arrangements.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Johnny Rodriguez - Greatest Hits []  2020-11-5 19:19

    Amazing CD by a amazing artist!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Johnny Rodriguez - Greatest Hits []  2020-11-5 19:19

    Amazing music, I have the album, and wanted he cd

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introducing Lalo Rodriguez []  2020-5-27 18:49

    Both eminently danceable and listenable, this CD is pure 70s goodness, as hip as the suits they wear on the cover art. You sense a whole background of cadillacs and 70s cinema every time you play it. Some of the grooves are just so very well constructed and likable, it doesn't matter if you like salsa or not, just so long as you appreciate amazing music. Today my 7 month-old niece and 1 and a half yr-old nephew broke into spontaneous joyful dancing as I threw this on - they LOVED it! Babies know pure class when they hear it it seems. You will not regret this fine addition to your salsa collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Johnny Rodriguez - Greatest Hits []  2020-11-5 19:19

    amazing album

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Johnny Rodriguez - Greatest Hits []  2020-11-5 19:19

    Johnny has a amazing songs in the greatest hits cd. Would recommend this to anyone who likes country music. I have several of his cd's and records.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Johnny Rodriguez - Greatest Hits []  2020-11-5 19:19

    Love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Luis Rodriguez con Los Panchos - Inolvidable []  2020-6-18 20:19

    Thank your

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Luis Rodriguez con Los Panchos - Inolvidable []  2020-6-18 20:19

    Excelente

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jesus Alemany's ¡Cubanismo! feat. Alfredo Rodriguez []  2020-2-2 1:41

    This is a unbelievable C.D. if you like trumpet music/jazz melody with very small vocal. Jesus Alemany must be one of the greatest trumpet players. The only C.D. I would recommend ahead of this is The Best of Arturo Sandoval. Arturo's melody is also out of this world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jesus Alemany's ¡Cubanismo! feat. Alfredo Rodriguez []  2020-2-2 1:41

    This is an extremely satisfying collection of Cuban songs performed by a band of virtuosi fronted by the amazing trumpet player, Jesus Alemany. It's an perfect introduction to the range of Cuban jazz, as the dance tracks contain such rhythms as rumba, cha-cha, son, danzon, and pa'ca. The musicians are uniformly excellent, but I was especially impressed by the three Alemany family members on trumpet, Orlando Valle on flute (an instrument that I don't usually have fun that much), perfect jazz riffs by pianist Alfredo Rodriguez, and underneath it all, the incessant, overlapping percussive section (including the following instruments: timbale, conga, bongo, guiro, claves, and quinto). Tanto Guines is one of the amazing modern percussionists; he and Miguel Aurelio Diaz move these pieces along with their complex, rumbling beats. The percussion section, by the way, is very well recordedThe CD also cuts across different strains of jazz: Huge band (with huge blaring solos), some modern dissonance (the saxophonists and pianist play some attractive abstract riffs that are amazing 1950's bop) and some straight ahead mainstream numbers. These latter songs (e.g., "Aprovecha") are relaxing and danceable, but also the least compelling. Fortunately, most of the songs take more risks. Unlike another reviewer here, I thought the horn section was tight, the sections and the band as a whole work well together. Towards the end, a few of the cuts on this long album lose some energy as the dance sensibility gets more weight than the jazz. I think mixing in some live performances would have added excitement and enabled a more private feeling to the band. Granted, they don't showboat it, but the briefly spoken phrase by the drummer at the end of the latest song added a "presence" that was almost electrifying. An perfect huge ensemble introduction to the genre.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Luis Rodriguez con Los Panchos - Inolvidable []  2020-6-18 20:19

    Insuperable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jesus Alemany's ¡Cubanismo! feat. Alfredo Rodriguez []  2020-2-2 1:41

    This recording is related to seeing the group live. Album is more "rootsy" than the first. I like it, just had to listen a small more than the first album to obtain it's "it". Compare Cubanismo with Arturo Sandoval's Hot House album. Hot House has got to be one of the all time amazing huge band latin jazz albums. When you compare Jesus' group to Sandoval's wonderful horn section re-dubs . . . you will be amazed by the difference. Both very good. On the other hand, it may not be fair to compare these very capable Cuban trumpet players. Actually, Jesus' albums are more focused so far (and in the same general groove) than Arturo's. Out of 6 or more albums, I have found each of Arturo's albums to be so various as to render me confussed as to what he really wants in the method of an audience. Jesus, on the other hand, offers a relatively related musical offering. So far I like his stuff. Here's hoping he continues to develop this format.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jesus Alemany's ¡Cubanismo! feat. Alfredo Rodriguez []  2020-2-2 1:41

    The cd is a compilation of fresh rythms and songs which tags the artists as risk takers. They are not looking to speed up or slow down the classics of the cuban music. The performance is technically correct. The notes and arrangements are synchronous in every detail and this produces, eventually, a monotonous sound. The cd lacks, in amazing amounts, soul. The first chop "Descarga de Hoy" is an example of this. It simply fails to deliver in its performance. Descarga, cuban slang for a jam session, cannot be "boxed" in.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Luis Rodriguez con Los Panchos - Inolvidable []  2020-6-18 20:19

    What a combination! I had to buy this CD again as mine was stolen along with my stereo a couple of months ago. Even though these songs already had a few years running when I was born in 1967, this collection is unbelievable today. It makes amazing company when cooking and cleaning. I'm sure I obtain funny looks now and then from other drivers as I sing to my heart's content while commuting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jesus Alemany's ¡Cubanismo! feat. Alfredo Rodriguez []  2020-2-2 1:41

    The cd is in amazing condition, this album has very amazing songs

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jesus Alemany's ¡Cubanismo! feat. Alfredo Rodriguez []  2020-2-2 1:41

    This is a amazing album. Jesus Alemany is intoxicating. There are seven songs here that are perfect and unforgettable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Luis Rodriguez con Los Panchos - Inolvidable []  2020-6-18 20:19

    My mom melody 👍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Luis Rodriguez con Los Panchos - Inolvidable []  2020-6-18 20:19

    Loved it, this melody never goes out of style. enoyed listening to this melody while cleaning at home on weekends

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jesus Alemany's ¡Cubanismo! feat. Alfredo Rodriguez []  2020-2-2 1:41

    Amazing album, although I likes some songs better than others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Luis Rodriguez con Los Panchos - Inolvidable []  2020-6-18 20:19

    Amazing CD and perfect service. Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Luis Rodriguez con Los Panchos - Inolvidable []  2020-6-18 20:19

    It arrived with a broken case and it was meant as a bonus for my dad :-( The disc was intact at least.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Luis Rodriguez con Los Panchos - Inolvidable []  2020-6-18 20:19

    Older classic style Spanish melody with powerful emphasis on harmony, love similar lyrics and lots of melodic acoustic guitar riffs and rhythm. Beautiful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Luis Rodriguez con Los Panchos - Inolvidable []  2020-6-18 20:19

    Excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunger of Memory: The Education of Richard Rodriguez []  2020-1-9 18:41

    I disagreed with him in some ways, however his book really created me think. I think about it a lot still, and I read it over 4 months ago. Very strong book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunger of Memory : The Education of Richard Rodriguez []  2020-1-30 21:18

    Just as Mr. Rodriguez, I went to a Christian personal school where I was the only Latina. I am a second generation Mexican-American who disagrees with Mr. Rodriguez opinions and feelings. He can’t seem to relate to anyone who is Mexican, even his own siblings who went through a related education and upbringing. He explains several times that he is ashamed of his parents for having small education. He eventually stopped speaking Spanish and distanced himself from his family. He’s ashamed of his skin tone and his roots. The notice I got from this book is that Education=Anglo Saxon and uneducated=minority. This book is sending a toxic notice about internalized racism. He’s a self hating Latino but still so far up [email protected]#$% about his fresh socio economic status and higher education.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunger of Memory : The Education of Richard Rodriguez []  2020-1-30 21:18

    I liked the book... my class not so much. This review is more for the teachers who wish to teach the book. It is very relatable for my students, but it is so wordy. I actually had a student say that he mentions the same thing multiple times in various ways. But I enjoyed it. I will continue teaching it. I found a amazing unit package on TPT that created teaching this SOOOOO easy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunger of Memory : The Education of Richard Rodriguez []  2020-1-30 21:18

    I read this as part of a book discussion group. I can't say that I agreed totally with his observations, but was mpressed by the clarity of his arguments and the elegance o fhis writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Alex Rodriguez: Hot Corner, Hot Shot (USA TODAY Lifeline Biographies) []  2020-9-23 20:1

    Even as a very young kid Alexander Emmanuel Rodriguez was fascinated by anything baseball. The two-year-old "carried around a red plastic bat and swung at everything he could." That didn't bode well for the household furnishings, but his family was proud and amused by his passion. His father was especially interested because at one time he was a player on a Dominican Republic baseball team. Alex's intense interest in baseball pushed him ahead of his peers and by the age of six he was "playing with boys three and four years older than he was." His parents, Lourdes Navarro and Victor Rodriguez, undoubtedly expected amazing things from Alex, even though he was a sandlot though Alex had been born in Manhattan, the family's amazing fortune had allowed them to move back to the Dominican Republic to have fun the amazing life they wanted. Soon financial misfortune came upon them and they lost everything. Forced to sell their home and move to Kendall, Florida, the family was unsettled. The once satisfied family was devastated when Victor abruptly abandoned them, never to return. Lourdes was left alone to tend to Alex and his siblings, Susy and Joe. Adrift in a put they knew small about, it was going to be a , no doubt, was a solace to Alex. Juan Diego Artega, a youth baseball league coach, eventually drew Alex under his wing, creating a mentorship that would boost his spirits. Another coach at the Hank Cline Club of the Boys & Girls Clubs of Miami-Dade, Eddy Rodriguez also gave him hope. Eddy told Alex, "Believe in yourself, but ask more of yourself. This will sustain you in times both amazing and bad." There would be a mix of both. In this book you'll learn about his dedication to the android game as a young man, how he honed his skills, his mother's critical support, his high school career, how he was "bombarded" with offers, his agent, when he was drafted, his multi-million dollar contracts, his awesome career, and you'll learn a lot of other interesting facts about one of baseball's is is a fascinating look at Alex Rodriguez, one of baseball's "greatest all-around" players. In this very well written, concise biography young readers will obtain to know a lot about Alex and his passion for baseball. I especially enjoyed reading about the people who inspired him, on and off the field. His mother's unending encouragement, as well as that of his coaches, undoubtedly did much to create him into the player he is today. A prophetic statement by Coach Rich Hofman clearly indicated not only his sheer talent, but also what can happen when adults believe in young people: "Well, tenth grade you had an OK year. Next year everyone will obtain to know you, and in twelfth grade you'll be the number one pick in the country." The book is generously illustrated with photographs, period USA TODAY articles, and numerous informative sidebars. In the back of the book is an index, a glossary, Alex's career statistics (1994 to 2011), extensive source notes, a selected bibliography, and extra recommended book and www service resources to is book courtesy of the publisher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunger of Memory : The Education of Richard Rodriguez []  2020-1-30 21:18

    The book was not interesting , he also hade a very boring life that was very normal to me since I am also bilingual and I’m from Mexico but he messed up hard on forgetting how to speak Spanish. Huge L

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunger of Memory : The Education of Richard Rodriguez []  2020-1-30 21:18

    *Hunger of Memory* was an ok read. There was nothing unforgettable in the book. So, that left me somewhat disappointed. Rodriguez provided his private accounts on some topics, such as assimilation, language, bi-bi education, Catholicism, affirmative action, etc.I enjoyed reading about his views and experiences with assimilating with American values and whatnots. For those of us who are minorities, I believe that we can relate to that. His private accounts kind of became reminders of my childhood and helped me re-evaluate how I was e other thing I enjoyed reading was about his college education and "moving up" as a minority in regards to scholarships and job offers. As a minority, you never really know if you're being sought after due to your minority status or your expertise/specialty. Rodriguez was honest about his feelings and views on such things.His portrayal of his mother reminded me so much of my mother. I had to laugh and groan in memory. It is interesting to see how he portrays a separation between him and his family due to his being an academician. It as if his family expect him to know everything because he's educated. Yet, when he gives answers, those answers are "over the top" for them. They just dismiss him and move on. At the same time, they still encourage him for further achievements...as long as he leaves out the family because it is a personal matter.What I didn't like about the book was that he droned on and on about language (Spanish & English). I'm guess I was bored with this as I had just finished reading *Breaking Through* and *Growing Up Latino*. Both of these books mentioned this. I realize it is a common experience by Hispanics in regards to Spanish and English. But in Rodriguez, he dwells on language forever.Overall, I have mixed feelings about this book. I liked half of it and hated the other half. It was like he wrote about himself but at the same time, he didn't. This book was more of his views on things rather than getting to know him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunger of Memory: The Education of Richard Rodriguez []  2020-1-9 18:41

    Just as Mr. Rodriguez, I went to a Christian personal school where I was the only Latina. I am a second generation Mexican-American who disagrees with Mr. Rodriguez opinions and feelings. He can’t seem to relate to anyone who is Mexican, even his own siblings who went through a related education and upbringing. He explains several times that he is ashamed of his parents for having small education. He eventually stopped speaking Spanish and distanced himself from his family. He’s ashamed of his skin tone and his roots. The notice I got from this book is that Education=Anglo Saxon and uneducated=minority. This book is sending a toxic notice about internalized racism. He’s a self hating Latino but still so far up [email protected]#$% about his fresh socio economic status and higher education.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunger of Memory: The Education of Richard Rodriguez []  2020-1-9 18:41

    *Hunger of Memory* was an ok read. There was nothing unforgettable in the book. So, that left me somewhat disappointed. Rodriguez provided his private accounts on some topics, such as assimilation, language, bi-bi education, Catholicism, affirmative action, etc.I enjoyed reading about his views and experiences with assimilating with American values and whatnots. For those of us who are minorities, I believe that we can relate to that. His private accounts kind of became reminders of my childhood and helped me re-evaluate how I was e other thing I enjoyed reading was about his college education and "moving up" as a minority in regards to scholarships and job offers. As a minority, you never really know if you're being sought after due to your minority status or your expertise/specialty. Rodriguez was honest about his feelings and views on such things.His portrayal of his mother reminded me so much of my mother. I had to laugh and groan in memory. It is interesting to see how he portrays a separation between him and his family due to his being an academician. It as if his family expect him to know everything because he's educated. Yet, when he gives answers, those answers are "over the top" for them. They just dismiss him and move on. At the same time, they still encourage him for further achievements...as long as he leaves out the family because it is a personal matter.What I didn't like about the book was that he droned on and on about language (Spanish & English). I'm guess I was bored with this as I had just finished reading *Breaking Through* and *Growing Up Latino*. Both of these books mentioned this. I realize it is a common experience by Hispanics in regards to Spanish and English. But in Rodriguez, he dwells on language forever.Overall, I have mixed feelings about this book. I liked half of it and hated the other half. It was like he wrote about himself but at the same time, he didn't. This book was more of his views on things rather than getting to know him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunger of Memory: The Education of Richard Rodriguez []  2020-1-9 18:41

    The book was not interesting , he also hade a very boring life that was very normal to me since I am also bilingual and I’m from Mexico but he messed up hard on forgetting how to speak Spanish. Huge L

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunger of Memory: The Education of Richard Rodriguez []  2020-1-9 18:41

    They say that English is one of the hardest languages to learn. However, it is much harder to navigate the language of culture, which Richard Rodriguez mastered well. Rodriguez's story plays out the same as method a lot of second-generation Americans; he begins his educational career in parochial school, where he only knows 50 words of English. He is forced by Nuns to assimilate to American culture and learn the language, in doing so he leave some of his own Hispanic upbringing behind. His parents feel the pressure by Nuns as well, who insist that the Rodriguez's speak English at home. Rodriguez succeeds in school, goes to Stanford University, and begins a teaching career. He doesn't create himself visible in the Chicano studies program nor is he a supporter of Affirmative Action, which he feels designates persons of color as needing preferential treatment because they can't compete because of their race. Throughout his life he struggles to master remaining real to his roots, but understanding how his education leaves him out of touch from other Hispanics who never had the breaks Rodriguez had. As a first-generation college graduate I can relate to the struggles Rodriquez experienced, walking the line of relevancy of where you came from to realizing how distant you are from it. This book was an okay read, but left me wanting more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunger of Memory : The Education of Richard Rodriguez []  2020-1-30 21:18

    This book is very enlightening! I gained amazing insight into Richard Rodriguez’s background.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunger of Memory : The Education of Richard Rodriguez []  2020-1-30 21:18

    Amazing book, I am Mexican American and had to read this in college for an English class. Rodriguez is a very opinionated person and there may be things you don't agree with him, but over time throughout my college life I began to see his points, which I will spare the details. I recommend you read it because it gives a view on language barriers between Mexican Americans and white Americans here in the U.S as well as other subjects that you may come across in classes in college and its a amazing reference to go back to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunger of Memory: The Education of Richard Rodriguez []  2020-1-9 18:41

    I liked the book... my class not so much. This review is more for the teachers who wish to teach the book. It is very relatable for my students, but it is so wordy. I actually had a student say that he mentions the same thing multiple times in various ways. But I enjoyed it. I will continue teaching it. I found a amazing unit package on TPT that created teaching this SOOOOO easy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunger of Memory: The Education of Richard Rodriguez []  2020-1-9 18:41

    Amazing book, I am Mexican American and had to read this in college for an English class. Rodriguez is a very opinionated person and there may be things you don't agree with him, but over time throughout my college life I began to see his points, which I will spare the details. I recommend you read it because it gives a view on language barriers between Mexican Americans and white Americans here in the U.S as well as other subjects that you may come across in classes in college and its a amazing reference to go back to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunger of Memory : The Education of Richard Rodriguez []  2020-1-30 21:18

    I disagreed with him in some ways, however his book really created me think. I think about it a lot still, and I read it over 4 months ago. Very strong book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunger of Memory : The Education of Richard Rodriguez []  2020-1-30 21:18

    They say that English is one of the hardest languages to learn. However, it is much harder to navigate the language of culture, which Richard Rodriguez mastered well. Rodriguez's story plays out the same as method a lot of second-generation Americans; he begins his educational career in parochial school, where he only knows 50 words of English. He is forced by Nuns to assimilate to American culture and learn the language, in doing so he leave some of his own Hispanic upbringing behind. His parents feel the pressure by Nuns as well, who insist that the Rodriguez's speak English at home. Rodriguez succeeds in school, goes to Stanford University, and begins a teaching career. He doesn't create himself visible in the Chicano studies program nor is he a supporter of Affirmative Action, which he feels designates persons of color as needing preferential treatment because they can't compete because of their race. Throughout his life he struggles to master remaining real to his roots, but understanding how his education leaves him out of touch from other Hispanics who never had the breaks Rodriguez had. As a first-generation college graduate I can relate to the struggles Rodriquez experienced, walking the line of relevancy of where you came from to realizing how distant you are from it. This book was an okay read, but left me wanting more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunger of Memory : The Education of Richard Rodriguez []  2020-1-30 21:18

    When I started this book, I was not expecting him to take the stance that he takes on bilingual education. Richard has some very special and valuable private insights into the matter, as well as the beginnings of affirmative action in the education system. His writing style is vulnerable and honest, making it simple to search yourself sympathizing with him as he tells his story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunger of Memory: The Education of Richard Rodriguez []  2020-1-9 18:41

    This book is very enlightening! I gained amazing insight into Richard Rodriguez’s background.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunger of Memory: The Education of Richard Rodriguez []  2020-1-9 18:41

    When I started this book, I was not expecting him to take the stance that he takes on bilingual education. Richard has some very special and valuable private insights into the matter, as well as the beginnings of affirmative action in the education system. His writing style is vulnerable and honest, making it simple to search yourself sympathizing with him as he tells his story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunger of Memory: The Education of Richard Rodriguez []  2020-1-9 18:41

    I read this as part of a book discussion group. I can't say that I agreed totally with his observations, but was mpressed by the clarity of his arguments and the elegance o fhis writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Camp: A Young Girl's Journey to Freedom (A Sara Rodriguez Mystery Book 1) []  2020-7-6 19:12

    This was an simple book to obtain through. I didn't understand where it was going until I got to about the latest 20%, but once I understood the message, it was an eye-opener. This is a amazing book for younger readers to obtain an idea of what happens behind the scenes of immigration. I look forward to the next book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three and Out: Rich Rodriguez and the Michigan Wolverines in the Crucible of College Football []  2020-12-13 18:55

    In 2011 after a 1-5 start, Arizona parted ways with Mike Stoops and was in the hunt for a successor. As names flew back and forth for his replacement, a fellow Wildcat fan and Michigan Alum mate of mine indicated that Rich Rod, former head coach at Michigan and now sportscaster, would be the excellent fit at Arizona. I of course asked why my freind would recommend him if Michigan had sent him packing after just a few years and after a discussion of how his style football would fit Arizona, I was also informed that there was much-much more to the story than the wins and losses and that it included one about a naive country man not fitting in with the Blue Bloods at Michigan and being set up to fail. This discussion would've ended there, while I held out hope for maybe a Mike Leach being offered the job when AD Greg Byrnes announces the hiring of Rich Rod. So I started to research this coach and learned of this book and purchased it. In it I learn that, yes, there were things done at Michigan versus Rich Rod that were under-handed and unbecoming one of our finest schools in the country but Rich Rod was also naive and totally out of his element in a ancient educational establishment ripe with traditions and sense of entitlement for only the best and preferably of Michigan at being said, this book allowed me to identify why Rich Rod was not a amazing fit at Michigan and may be the excellent fit for Arizona while giving me a whole fresh insight into the plight of the college coach.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Camp: A Young Girl's Journey to Freedom (A Sara Rodriguez Mystery Book 1) []  2020-7-6 19:12

    Kate immediately pulls me into Sara’s story and had me cheering for the protagonist from page one. The turns and twists surprised me as the author educates us about the struggles our newest Americans must endure to survive in the United States.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three and Out: Rich Rodriguez and the Michigan Wolverines in the Crucible of College Football []  2020-12-13 18:55

    I'm a Michigan alum and a football fan who was left hugely disappointed by the RichRod Error, so Three and Out was a must-read for me. I didn't begin out as a RichRod hater; I was actually excited about his record and his successes with the spread offense. I thought his hiring was exactly what Michigan required to extricate itself from the too-predictable and too-slow offense that it had been running. But my initial enthusiasm drained away as Michigan suffered the three worst years in its long football history and it became apparent that RichRod and Michigan were a not good hn Bacon's book is remarkable on several levels: first, it provides the reader with virtually unparalleled access to the inner workings of the Michigan football team, from practices to android game strategies, to post-game reactions. Bacon does an perfect job at conveying the intensity and emotion that surround a major college football program -- especially one under the gun the method Michigan was during the RichRod era. For that alone, the book is just wonderful.And Rich Rodriguez appears to be both candid and an honorable man. He was certainly remarkably trusting to allow a reporter have the kind of in-depth and extensive access that Bacon had to place this book together. So a lot of college coaches inflate their importance and become secretive control freaks, mistakenly believing that their jobs involve something akin to national security. Rich Rodriguez, whatever his faults, comes across as decent, honest and refreshingly free of such imperial grandiosity. During the long period in which he was being savaged in the press, it was hard to tell exactly what kind of person Rich Rodriguez was. Three and Out shines a bright and mostly positive light on him.If there's a weakness to the book, it's Bacon's obvious fondness for his subject, which leads him to underplay Rodriguez's missteps and weaknesses. Bacon acknowledges that Rodriguez created few efforts to ingratiate himself with the fraternity of former Michigan football players and the wider globe of fans (raging from the fanatic to more casual casual fans like myself). He also admits that Rodriguez's ignorance and apparent disregard for Michigan traditions also cost him dearly with those groups, and that it wasn't until too much hurt had been done that he tried belatedly to repair those relations. Furthermore, he also notes that Rodriguez had a virtual tin ear for public statements, and that he frequently said things that created him look foolish, naive or worse.But the largest failing in Three and Out is in letting RichRod off the hook for his coaching weaknesses, especially on defense. Bacon subscribes to the theory that the previous coach, Lloyd Carr, had left the cupboard bare of decent players. There's still a dispute as to the strength of that claim, but even if you grant its premise, it still doesn't explain why, for three years, Michigan tacklers still lacked proper tackling technique, or why, during his three years, the defense's efficiency and overall rating deteriorated each year. Nor does it explain why, despite Rodriguez's emphasis on strength and conditioning, his squads were often competitive in the first half and blown out in the second half. In my view, you can't blame the players for the coaching, which was one reason why Rodriguez had to go. Especially after the Mississippi State disaster in the Gator Bowl, I don't think Dave Brandon had any confidence that RichRod could fix what was wrong.While Three and Out has some weaknesses, it's still a amazing look at the Michigan football program during the time of its greatest adversity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three and Out: Rich Rodriguez and the Michigan Wolverines in the Crucible of College Football []  2020-12-13 18:55

    If you have a passion for college football, this book is for you. It's well written with a ton of insight. You'll be surprised, and enjoy, the brief Michigan football history at the beginning. Then, keep on to your hat as you steadily move through Rich Rod's 3 years 'll be sure of three things when you've finished this book:1. The Detroit Free Press is incapable of bias-free journalism. Their unprofessional sports coverage is pathetic.2. Rich Rodriguez and others in his position work very hard and obtain hassled greatly for the privilege.3. Behind the mask of big-time college sports are departments and administrations where a lot of are in it for themselves. They are clearly the over-paid, self-concerned participants in the globe of college athletics.Kudo's to John Bacon for first class writing. Thanks for bringing fans a balanced view that other sources wouldn't.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Camp: A Young Girl's Journey to Freedom (A Sara Rodriguez Mystery Book 1) []  2020-7-6 19:12

    This book provides an necessary and important perspective for young adult readers. This age group is often presented with a limited or dehumanized view of immigration. "Fish Camp" narrates the story of a young girl's journey from Mexico to America with a raw complexity of emotions without relying on shock value as the only source of entertainment. This book is age-appropriate in content, yet entertaining for all ages. I thoroughly enjoyed following Sara on her journey and look forward to reading the other books in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three and Out: Rich Rodriguez and the Michigan Wolverines in the Crucible of College Football []  2020-12-13 18:55

    As a life-long Michigan football fan, I had amazing interest in this confirmed my suspicion that Rich Rod had been treated completely unfairly by both the press and the administration of U-M. When Rich Rod was fired, one of the top choices to replace him was ironically former Wolverine Jim Harbaugh, then the coach of Stanford Univ. Comparing Jim Harbaugh's (apparently exemplary) record at Stanford to Rich Rod's at MI:First Year: Rich Rod 3-9; Jim Harbaugh: 4-8Second Year: Rich Rod: 5-7; Jim Harbaugh: 5-7Third Year: Rich Rod: 7-6; Jim Harbaugh: 8-5Fourth Year: Rich Rod: FIRED; Jim Harbaugh: 12-1Both coaches were systematically improving. In his fourth year, Jim Harbaugh won a BCS bowl and finished #4 in the country. Rich Rod didn't obtain a shot, despite making virtually identical progress his first three seasons. That fourth year that Rich Rod didn't obtain a possibility to coach, Brady Hoke took his squad to 11-2 and a BCS bowl victory. I'm thinking that, had Rich Rod not been fired, that gaudy 2011 record at Michigan (or one very similar) would have been his instead of Brady Hoke's.Enough ranting. This book was a amazing read for anybody interested in the inner workings of college football in general or the Michigan Wolverines in cidentally, Rich Rod comes out smelling beautiful good, despite what appears to be a quite objective treatment by the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three and Out: Rich Rodriguez and the Michigan Wolverines in the Crucible of College Football []  2020-12-13 18:55

    Like almost anyone who reads this book I am a die hard Michigan fan, and I have to admit as a fan I was glad they moved on from Rodriguez at the time because it was obvious it was like a poor blind date that extended for 3 years. But, I also always had the feeling that Michigan did him wrong and always had a what if burning in the back of my mind. This book turned that little burning wonder into a full raging fire. John U. Bacon, besides having one of the greatest names I have ever seen does an awesome job of providing back story to a lot of of the things that didn't add up on the outside to fans. After reading this book I have grown to truly admire Rich Rod as a person and feel for all he went through. Hopefully Harbaugh will right the ship, but it is sad how close I feel Rodriguez had them to being great, but it just wasn't meant to be. A must read for any Michigan fan, but also a amazing read for any fan of college football very insightful in the history of the sport and in particular the changes in the behind the scenes pressure in the latest 20-30 years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three and Out: Rich Rodriguez and the Michigan Wolverines in the Crucible of College Football []  2020-12-13 18:55

    It's interesting to read a book that you already know the ending to with respect to how latest the happenings happened. What's more interesting is now that Michigan has (at least this year) reasserted itself among the nations elite programs only magnifies the tragedy of Michigan football under Rich Rod's domain. Remember to ask yourself questions as you read along, remember to recall your feelings as you endured those 3 agonizing seasons. A very well written first hand acc by Mr. Bacon. Personally I am curious about the relationship between Greg Robinson and Rich Rod. Also, I would have liked to see more in depth coverage on the defensive and unique squads issues as me things just need to be allow go of and with Rich Rod accepting the head coaching position at Arizona perhaps all of us can search closure and truly move on from a very uncomfortable time in Michigan football history. I do want Rich Rod and his family the utmost success and happiness at Arizona. I would suggest all fans of Michigan, Arizona, and NCAA football to give this book a read.Had Bacon covered more on the defense/special squads issues, this book would keep 5 stars. It's common knowledge that the defense failed Michigan for 3 consecutive seasons progressively getting worse each year. For me, too much was left out of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Camp: A Young Girl's Journey to Freedom (A Sara Rodriguez Mystery Book 1) []  2020-7-6 19:12

    The book stands well on its own, But Jillian Yetter Brings it to life. Jillian's narration was amazing. I have been listening to audio books for years and her voice is great. The pairing of a amazing book with a amazing voice talent when it happens is truly awesome.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Camp: A Young Girl's Journey to Freedom (A Sara Rodriguez Mystery Book 1) []  2020-7-6 19:12

    A amazing read ! Unbelievable for young adults and older adults too !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three and Out: Rich Rodriguez and the Michigan Wolverines in the Crucible of College Football []  2020-12-13 18:55

    This is a unbelievable book, full of insight and very well written. I think it should be needed reading for anyone who follows UM Football. It just goes to present that a lot more goes on than what we read in the headlines during any given football season. After Rodriguez failed to produce in his first three years I was satisfied to see him go. But after reading Bacon's acc of what really happened I can only sympathize with his situation. It is truly shameful how he was treated at the UM and I am somewhat embarrassed to say that was my r what its worth, my own take on the program's demise is that the loss to Application State in 2007 was the beginning of the end. That loss was on Carr's watch. And one of the ironies of this riveting story is how Carr has been place on a pedestal by UM alums and football people. After reading Bacon's book, allow me just say that I don't think Carr is a very gracious, or nice person and he is much to blame for Michigan football's current woes.If Michigan wants to obtain its football program back they need to clean house. But it all starts at the top, with the President of the University for that is the office that oversees the Athletic Dept. Bacon also makes this clear in his acc and lays some of the blame for the Rodriguez debacle on President short, if you follow Michigan football and care deeply about the program, read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three and Out: Rich Rodriguez and the Michigan Wolverines in the Crucible of College Football []  2020-12-13 18:55

    I am a UMich alum who suffered greatly through the purgatory that was Rich Rodriguez's tenure as head coach of Wolverine football. Such a amazing feeling when he left! -- like getting a fresh lease on life. However...as Bacon doents, Rodriguez wasn't the only sinner in the fiasco of his tenure. Bacon clearly finds his topic sympathetic, but it was enlightening to learn about the gross mismanagement at the Athletic Director level; and the beloved then-President Mary Sue Coleman doesn't come out of this volume unscathed, either. Per Bacon and a number of players (e.g., Denard Robinson), Rodriguez was a coach both tough and inspirational, despite some flaws in his communication style in a more public forum. But from the very start, he enjoyed small to no help from the university administration -- or from his predecessor, Lloyd Carr, who apparently worked versus RR at times. I'm as satisfied as anybody with Brady Hoke, but I now no longer regard Rich Rodriguez with unmitigated disdain. My son, also an alum and an ardent Wolverines fan, for whom I originally purchased this book, agrees. Go Blue forever!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    De Panama a Nueva York, From Panama to New York: Con La Orquesta De Pete Rodriguez []  2021-1-6 19:30

    This is a collection a must have is one of ruben blades ever with a band is ok but its worth to hold thank you..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Camp: A Young Girl's Journey to Freedom (A Sara Rodriguez Mystery Book 1) []  2020-7-6 19:12

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book! I quickly felt attached to Sara and her struggle to search her put in a completely fresh life situation. A book that created me wish to hold picking it up until I got to the end. A lot of twists and turns that hold you for knowing the outcome until the very end. I don't have fun reading a book where I can figure out the ending before I barely obtain started. Not so with Fish Camp! I'm anxious for Book 2!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fish Camp: A Young Girl's Journey to Freedom (A Sara Rodriguez Mystery Book 1) []  2020-7-6 19:12

    Unbelievable first novel by Kate Banco.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three and Out: Rich Rodriguez and the Michigan Wolverines in the Crucible of College Football []  2020-12-13 18:55

    The book was good! But as a Wolverine fan it created me wish to cry or punch a wall. RichRod was enthusiastic, over the top, innovative but alienated some alum/players, tried to impose his system on players not suited for the option-spread offense, and was incredibly tone deaf. RR's tenure at Michigan was a disaster, but RichRod didn't do it alone. John U. Bacon did a amazing job. After reading it I felt some sympathy for the coach, but most of his issues at UM and with the fan base were self-inflicted. I wanted more about the individual players who "bought all in" and those who bailed, but that would probably violate the privacy of some of those players. ... Bacon's book could be used in a leadership class or business management class to present how, despite the best of intentions, having the wrong person using an inadequate selection process selecting the wrong person for the wrong put can produce so a lot of mistakes that the cascade result craters a successful program. Must read for college football fans

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Three and Out: Rich Rodriguez and the Michigan Wolverines in the Crucible of College Football []  2020-12-13 18:55

    A amazing book on the history of Michigan football as well as the trifecta collapse with the passing of Bo Schembechler, the retirement of Don Canham and the selection of fresh university president all within months of each other and the chaos that ensued which coach Rich Rod toiled under. This book helps to illustrate some of the crap RR had to deal with from impatient fans, a mendacious sports media and bungling executives at U of M. Rich Rod did better than Lloyd Carr in his waning days but he never got credit for the meager turnaround. Especially in light of his replacement, Brady Hoke, who really screwed the whole program as a one-eye-open coach who must've been a Manchurian Candidate selection from either MSU or OSU.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2019-12-24 19:43

    He is my ancestor, which is why I picked up this book. Don't expect ens or any elaborate prose. He gives a very matter-of-fact private acc of his life, including some fascinating insight into life in the 1800s. I like how he describes the old Texas (the info are unintentionally amazing), and his stories of scouting and conflict with Indians (the ethics of this is a various discussion), rogue troops deserters, and others. Toward the end he is converted to Protestantism. From there, he talks about so a lot of he "saved" amd "preached" to, but I want he would have delved more into what that meant to him, and why he chose his faith. It's a amazing book if you are looking into family history, and a very amazing book if you wish to read about a good-humored slightly y [email protected]#$% who totally owned the Wild West.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2019-12-24 19:43

    HOw a lot of of you have built a town, school post office, been a Texas Ranger, Priest, scout for the army, you have to see the church with your own eyes, read the book don't wait for the movie

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2020-9-22 20:0

    Perfect book, well written and highly enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2020-10-5 19:7

    Poly was my wife's great, amazing grandfather and this book tells about his awesome life on the frontier of Texas. You won't be able to place it down once you begin reading. The church he built with his own hands is still standing today and is begin to the public. It is located in Pipe Creek, Texas where he lived and died. He is buried in the cemetery by the church.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2020-10-5 19:7

    A copy of this book was given to my father by the amazing amazing grandson of Polly (the signature looks like Richard Hernandez Jr.) The picture it paints of the San Antonio zone gave me a fresh appreciation for my home town. He went hunting and fishing close to our current downtown area. Indians were still killing people. He starts as a womanizing drinker to a man of God. I love this: "My conversion created a amazing sensation among my neighbors and friends; and as I was so completely changed, the report that I had gone crazy was believed by many." I thoroughly enjoyed this book which give a historical view first hand and it is also a story of a man God saved. My mates have also enjoyed borrowing this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2020-10-5 19:7

    Satisfied customer!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2020-12-18 20:25

    It was hard to search this book since it was published sometime ago.I was surprised when I found it and even more surprised at the price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2020-12-20 20:25

    It was hard to search this book since it was published sometime ago.I was surprised when I found it and even more surprised at the price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2020-12-20 20:25

    Satisfied customer!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2020-12-19 20:25

    Perfect book, well written and highly enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2020-12-19 20:25

    Satisfied customer!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2020-12-22 20:20

    It was hard to search this book since it was published sometime ago.I was surprised when I found it and even more surprised at the price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2020-12-23 20:20

    What an awesome story. A amazing adventure this man had." a must read" for all Texans .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2020-12-23 20:20

    Polly was my husbands amazing amazing amazing amazing grandfather. We were married in the chapel he built. My husband and I have read this book over and over and we love it. Our sweet 10 year old son has read it a few times too and loves Grandpa Polly's adventures! This is a amazing read for anyone that loves Texas and History!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2019-12-24 19:43

    What an awesome story. A amazing adventure this man had." a must read" for all Texans .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2020-9-22 20:0

    He is my ancestor, which is why I picked up this book. Don't expect ens or any elaborate prose. He gives a very matter-of-fact private acc of his life, including some fascinating insight into life in the 1800s. I like how he describes the old Texas (the info are unintentionally amazing), and his stories of scouting and conflict with Indians (the ethics of this is a various discussion), rogue troops deserters, and others. Toward the end he is converted to Protestantism. From there, he talks about so a lot of he "saved" amd "preached" to, but I want he would have delved more into what that meant to him, and why he chose his faith. It's a amazing book if you are looking into family history, and a very amazing book if you wish to read about a good-humored slightly y [email protected]#$% who totally owned the Wild West.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2020-9-22 20:0

    HOw a lot of of you have built a town, school post office, been a Texas Ranger, Priest, scout for the army, you have to see the church with your own eyes, read the book don't wait for the movie

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2020-10-5 19:7

    He is my ancestor, which is why I picked up this book. Don't expect ens or any elaborate prose. He gives a very matter-of-fact private acc of his life, including some fascinating insight into life in the 1800s. I like how he describes the old Texas (the info are unintentionally amazing), and his stories of scouting and conflict with Indians (the ethics of this is a various discussion), rogue troops deserters, and others. Toward the end he is converted to Protestantism. From there, he talks about so a lot of he "saved" amd "preached" to, but I want he would have delved more into what that meant to him, and why he chose his faith. It's a amazing book if you are looking into family history, and a very amazing book if you wish to read about a good-humored slightly y [email protected]#$% who totally owned the Wild West.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2020-10-5 19:7

    Perfect book, well written and highly enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2020-12-22 20:20

    What an awesome story. A amazing adventure this man had." a must read" for all Texans .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2020-12-22 20:20

    HOw a lot of of you have built a town, school post office, been a Texas Ranger, Priest, scout for the army, you have to see the church with your own eyes, read the book don't wait for the movie

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2020-12-18 20:25

    What an awesome story. A amazing adventure this man had." a must read" for all Texans .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2020-12-18 20:25

    Polly was my husbands amazing amazing amazing amazing grandfather. We were married in the chapel he built. My husband and I have read this book over and over and we love it. Our sweet 10 year old son has read it a few times too and loves Grandpa Polly's adventures! This is a amazing read for anyone that loves Texas and History!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2020-12-19 20:25

    He is my ancestor, which is why I picked up this book. Don't expect ens or any elaborate prose. He gives a very matter-of-fact private acc of his life, including some fascinating insight into life in the 1800s. I like how he describes the old Texas (the info are unintentionally amazing), and his stories of scouting and conflict with Indians (the ethics of this is a various discussion), rogue troops deserters, and others. Toward the end he is converted to Protestantism. From there, he talks about so a lot of he "saved" amd "preached" to, but I want he would have delved more into what that meant to him, and why he chose his faith. It's a amazing book if you are looking into family history, and a very amazing book if you wish to read about a good-humored slightly y [email protected]#$% who totally owned the Wild West.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2020-12-19 20:25

    It is a easy story about his life and adventures.I bought it because I am a mate of one of his was interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2020-12-20 20:25

    Poly was my wife's great, amazing grandfather and this book tells about his awesome life on the frontier of Texas. You won't be able to place it down once you begin reading. The church he built with his own hands is still standing today and is begin to the public. It is located in Pipe Creek, Texas where he lived and died. He is buried in the cemetery by the church.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2020-12-20 20:25

    A copy of this book was given to my father by the amazing amazing grandson of Polly (the signature looks like Richard Hernandez Jr.) The picture it paints of the San Antonio zone gave me a fresh appreciation for my home town. He went hunting and fishing close to our current downtown area. Indians were still killing people. He starts as a womanizing drinker to a man of God. I love this: "My conversion created a amazing sensation among my neighbors and friends; and as I was so completely changed, the report that I had gone crazy was believed by many." I thoroughly enjoyed this book which give a historical view first hand and it is also a story of a man God saved. My mates have also enjoyed borrowing this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jose Policarpo Rodriguez, the Old Guide, Surveyor, Scout, Hunter, Indian Fighter, Ranchman, Preacher; His Life in His Own Words (1898) (Linked Contents) []  2020-12-23 20:20

    It was hard to search this book since it was published sometime ago.I was surprised when I found it and even more surprised at the price.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386