catholicism and orthodox christianity Reviews & Opinions


Submit catholicism and orthodox christianity review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Catholicism and Orthodox Christianity review []  2020-1-19 22:47

    As an Orthodox Christian, I can't speak for the accuracy of the material about the other side, but this includes some egregious errors that even a young Orthodox Christian kid would be able to point out. (It would have been better if both authors weren't followers of the pope of Rome.)One instance: an icon of the Theotokos (Virgin Mary) holding the Lord Jesus Christ is labelled an icon of the Virgin Mary and God the Father! (Two points: apart from some isolated instances where Western influences have trumped Orthodox standards, God the Father, being immaterial, is never depicted; and apart from obvious situations such as an icon of the Annunciation, the Virgin Mary is always depicted with the Son because He is the reason we honour her -- in fact, the most common representation is her holding Him in one arm and the other hand pointing to Him Who is the Way, the Truth, and the Life.)Another instance: the authors claim the division between the Orthodox Catholic Church and non-Chalcedonian Christians (aka 'Oriental Orthodox' or 'Monophysites' [the more common older, but offensive label]) has been healed. Although that would be unbelievable if true, it is not. I cannot imagine where the authors came up with that claim.I would prefer to give it zero stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Catholicism and Orthodox Christianity review []  2020-1-19 22:47

    First, the amazing stuff. It is written so that grade 6-8 children can read this easily and it is certainly a general is book reads more like a Catholic Church pamphlet than a seriously researched document. Non-Catholic groups, regardless if they are Protestants or Orthodox, are depicted as groups who decided to not follow the correct views, but are nevertheless not completely e Crusades are dealt with in a paragraph and "Throughout the succeeding crusades, however, dissension among the leaders took put and deviations from their holy purpose often led to failure." By stating that there was a holy purpose to conquering the Levant is not only extremely subjective, it is historically inaccurate. The Inquisitions are related reviewed in a paragraph and stated as being a means to achieving political unity. Nothing is mentioned of executions, torture, or the really amazing stuff. There are a lot of other examples, but these two should demonstrate a fundamental weakness that is consistent throughout the short, the subjectivity of this work got on my nerves and as a history teacher I would question its value as a source because of it very obvious bias.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    No issue with the application itself, though I often clumsily hit the wave button when I don't mean to. A confirmation notice before sending a wave would frustrate me less!

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on catholicism and orthodox christianity or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch catholicism and orthodox christianity video reviews and related movies:

    See 5 Differences Between the Roman Catholic Church and the Eastern Orthodox Church on youtube.

     related image

    See Jimmy Akin - The Catholic Church and Eastern Orthodoxy on youtube.

     related image

    See Differences Between Orthodox and Catholics (Pencils & Prayer Ropes) on youtube.

     related image

    See An Orthodox Perspective on Roman Catholicism on youtube.

     related image

    See Catholic and Orthodox Church: A look at why the Pope's visit with Bartholomew was key on youtube.

     related image

    See Catholicism Versus Eastern Orthodoxy on youtube.

     related image

    See Why I Never Became Eastern #Orthodox on youtube.

     related image

    See Catholics Made Unwelcome in Orthodox Russia (2002) on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    Trials limited to 5 messages then they delete them if you provide any contact info to the recipient. So useless really then, very expensive for full membership for what it is. Id say dont bother and obtain on SALT instead. Also allows LGBTs to join which I dont agree with.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    Its not poor an app, but the fact that you cant notice other people unless you subscribe is a large turn off. Begin messages and this will be a 5 star for sure.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    Could never log in, Doesnt work and always crashes. A true shame tbh!!! FIX YOUR STUFF!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    Broken, won't load or do anything but a white screen

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    Very expensive to subscribe and very buggy. Expect more for the cash

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    How can a so called "Christian dating" application encourage a same sex relationship. I had the option to pick which gender i was interested in after selecting which gender I am.. seriously doesn't sound right to me. What evs if your into that items but really? on a Christian app?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    looks like it was thrown together in a hurry: there is not even a password verification when one signs up, nor can you see the password when you type. Tell me who has been this negligent in 25 years of the internet? Huge security risk!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    I have NOT been able to log into your application EVER - right from the moment I signed up/created a profile on your website! I've tried reinstalling this useless application on my phone as well as changing my password via your website, and up to now, I have not been able to move pass beyond the log in screen. Perhaps it's about time you hire more experienced and better qualified Application developers to maintain your app, Christian Connection team...??

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    Has potential however it is very expensive to be a full member... I remember I created an acc and deleted it and then came back a few weeks later to create a fresh one... The fresh acc was the one I was getting frequent messages but your admin deleted it and created me go back to my old one I just didnt obtain it... On top of that although not the apps fault people do ignore your waves etc.. Are we not meant to be Christians?... Overall I just found the process of getting to know people a struggle...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    Not a poor first effort for the application would like to see an easier log in instead of having to remember your username ( eg: use email or username) would also like to see it remember my log in info or stay logged in after the application is closed otherwise it's no various from using the www service on a mobile device... Which I might add at least remembers your log in for a while

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    It's good...when it works. It often gets stuck on the loading screen and eventually says that you are not connected to the internet (even though I am, and other apps etc are working) The chat feature looks better on the application than it does on the website.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    Couldn't obtain in the "gate"! Kept sending code but page was BLANK!? It is GOOD,though!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    Everytime I test to begin this application I obtain a blank screen.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    That full members can only notice other full members is a complete deal breaker. This website seems a bit greedier than most. I've paid for just 1 month and even having paid, I cannot begin a conversation with any other members unless they've also paid.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    apart from the cover screen everything else is a blank white canvas

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    Useless. Login doesn't work. It sends link, and the opening of the link leads to the blank screen that hangs for ever. Uninstall...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    It doesn't even work when i go into the application it's just white blank screen?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    Hope to use the application soon. Also just getting white blank screen after going into email to log in. Using Samsung phone. Amazing luck. Satisfied fresh year

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    The APP is useless! Can't even log in and trying to begin a link from email just sends you to a blank screen.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    can be a nice app. unfortunately you need to pay. this application should be Christian. it's more expensive than other chat! Lol

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    Login is via email and it sends me to a white page that never loads.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    amazing application but could improve by having a distance setting and age setting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    Application is pointless. Just sends a link to your email that can only be opened on your browser instead of on the app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    I have paid for this CC apps for six months, the cash has been taken out of my acc an I can't obtain into the apps. What is going on?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    terrible, dosnt launch!stuck on the login page. basically $40 to visit a www service

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    All that cash you charge to send basically MSN style messages and you can't even develop a working app. Embarrassing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    couldn't begin application after entering mail address.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    Application ver is useless. Sends you a link via email but doesn't begin anything.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    there is a issue with the link to your www service

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    Www service does a amazing job. Application didn't for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    Only showed a blank screen when I opened the app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    unable to login or authenticate, uninstalled

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    Christian adults should be able to offer other forms of communication without their acc being deleted. cash grabbing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    your application is complete garbage wont allow me sign in obtain it fixed

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    The application will not recognize my email address...lol

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    It does not open, does not work and it is paid, yep, paid without working at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    Small to no members. no chats.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    All amazing but too expensive

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    slow or no sign up

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    very unbelievable and a lot of amazing people

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    total joke there's like 12 people in Phoenix on this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    Application never worked!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    It's not that amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    one more untrustworthy so called Christian dating application place in your country and email address and then it ever stops saying please wait or something like that nothing but a scam under the guise of the heading Christian hmm wonder just how satisfied jesus will be about this on judgment day.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    this globe bee amazing for what I need to haveing a amazing life with some one that's willing two love me and that can trust me .andcan note that I will be in love with you I tack my love life verey surat no disrespect but I don't like to go to bed with a woman on the first date I like to respect the lady by taking her out and having a amazing night and I would like to know what the lady would like to do in the near future what would you like to be I like to know more about the ladies and the lady knowi

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    I kinda like it but I just excepted in the church again do to poor habits I was blinded by all your beauty now can I re schedule my lung appointmebt and thank you for always wanting me to suceed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    STOP SENDING ADS

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    not poor at all and quite helpful thank you for your friendship.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    Trust me you won't like this application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    What experience? was told nothing Maybe a case for powerful prayer, from me! Jim Perry.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    24 quid a month...nothing Christian about this....rip off rip off rip off so stay away

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    cannot load

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    wont even allow me sign in.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    i just obtain a white screen

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    God Will Live It

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    I'm not paying anything.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    sucks.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    cathalic

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    doesnt work

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    Promising !

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    I really like like it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    broken

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Connection - Christian Dating App review [App]  2019-9-28 13:53

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Klove Christian Radio & Christian Music Stations review [App]  2019-3-21 13:16

    amazing to hear the gospel through the melody that's played...

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Amen - Christian Singles Dating & Chat review [App]  2019-3-21 21:17

    is the best Christian application seen

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Dating - Match Local Christian Singles review [App]  2019-4-24 13:19

    scam

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Christian Singles - Mingle & Date Local Christians review [App]  2019-4-26 13:19

    cool application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Free Christian Dating - Meet Christian Singles review [App]  2019-6-17 21:17

    every girl I talked to on here just wish to have sex and I that is not what I was after

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Japanese and Christianity: Why Is Christianity Not Widely Believed in Japan? review []  2020-1-19 21:28

    This saying reflects the importance of Shintoism in Japanese family traditions, the trend toward "Christian" (western-style) weddings, and the popularity of Buddhist funerals. It also reflects the failure of Christian evangelists to bring more than a little percentage of Japanese into the fold. Beginning with Portuguese Jesuits in 1549, thousands of westerners representing every Christian denomination have worked in Japanese missions. Today, fewer than 2% of Japanese identify themselves as Christians. Why?This book is the author's doctoral thesis from Leiden University in Amsterdam. He was a twenty-year veteran in Christian ministries when he began to compile different scholarly writings into one coherent explanation of the enigma that is Japan's put in Christendom. I think he succeeds in presenting a coherent explanation, but it's NOT a easy one! This is a long, dense, thorough examination of Japanese history, culture, and psychology and how a lot of factors have combined to create this country so resistant to Christian 's academic writing and has not been altered to conform to anyone's idea of "good light reading." It opens with pages and pages of "endorsements" by experts, has more pages and pages of explanation of methodology, and the footnotes at the end of every chapter will give you a LOT more info than you wanted. Dr. Lee also has the academician's habit of telling you what he's going to tell you, then telling it to you, and then telling you what he's told you. College professors do this in why the five stars? Because, if you're patient and can do some skipping, there's a really amazing book in here. Lee's handling of this extremely complicated topic makes it understandable even to those of us who are not experts in the field. Of particular interest is the influence which Christianity and Christian missionaries have had on the development of modern Japan; an influence which is disproportionate to the numbers of Japanese who are professed Christians. If you're interested in Japan and Japanese culture, you shouldn't miss this one. It's fascinating reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Japanese and Christianity: Why Is Christianity Not Widely Believed in Japan? review []  2020-1-19 21:28

    This book is the best overview of Christian history of Japan that I have read. Finding books that cover not only the 16 th century, but also post Globe Battle 2 is difficult. I choose this rating because I gained such a huge amount of info from the book. It is not difficult to read! I would recommend this for all adults interested in Christianity in Japan.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Japanese and Christianity: Why Is Christianity Not Widely Believed in Japan? review []  2020-1-19 21:28

    Dr. Lee does a amazing job covering all aspects of a subject that is so complex, even the experts argue the root cause of the problem. It's broad enough to cover everything without going into unnecessary depth, making it extremely accessible to the casual reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Japanese and Christianity: Why Is Christianity Not Widely Believed in Japan? review []  2020-1-19 21:28

    For those who are interested in why Japan is not opening up to Christianity, this will be a amazing book to start.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Japanese and Christianity: Why Is Christianity Not Widely Believed in Japan? review []  2020-1-19 21:28

    Having just finished this, first of all do understand this is a thesis that's been created available as a book and possibly a bit prematurely.I picked this up hoping for a solid overview of the history of Christianity in Japan along with some critique of how the Japanese church and foreign missionaries could be better placed to contexualise the Gospel, I ended up feeling it didn't really obtain there.I'm not sure if this kindle ver I read was an OCR of the print edition but there was a lot of typos and the layout created it harder than it need be to read. Generally there's a fluidity and simplicity to the author's writing that means you can carve through it faster than most theses; yet there's enough turns of phrase that are awkward, along with repetitive rhetoric that it gets a bit frustrating if you're expecting an edited book.I felt that it is a powerful critique to Western involvement in the Japanese Church and whilst trying to encompass it all it's simply isn't thorough enough. The author clearly has read a lot in researching this subject yet some of the errors in happenings or references left me unsure how acquainted he was with some of it. I found that it jumped from anecdote to anecdote sometimes with a century between them trying to thread the needle on an arguments that often ended in a non sequitur. It's one of those books that I felt only half of it was on the cash but that's mingled in with the other half of unnecessary content. I felt it was trying to be factual on one hand yet had enough private determinations that it shaded most Western Christian activity in Japan as negative. Whilst it was trying to span the spectrum of missionary and indigenous church beliefs in Japan, also it never established really what was the Gospel, as in what was the point of Christianity.Overall I felt that it might be better to begin with Atsuyoshi Fujiwara's Theology of Culture in a Japanese Context that attempts to cover related ground, yet in more academic language, and putting it within a framework and critique of Niebuhr's missiology.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Japanese and Christianity: Why Is Christianity Not Widely Believed in Japan? review []  2020-1-19 21:28

    Dr. Lee's comprehension of and passion for the problems that stand versus the salvation of the Japanese are obvious. This book is very impressive--well researched, easily understood and extremely well documented: a must for anyone with a heart for the Japanese people.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Japanese and Christianity: Why Is Christianity Not Widely Believed in Japan? review []  2020-1-19 21:28

    on understanding the barriers to Japanese believing in Christianity. A short but comprehensive must-read if you work with Japanese people.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Japanese and Christianity: Why Is Christianity Not Widely Believed in Japan? review []  2020-1-19 21:28

    Must read for all missionaries and missionary children raised in Japan. An informed outsiders view of the Land of the Rising Sun.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Japanese and Christianity: Why Is Christianity Not Widely Believed in Japan? review []  2020-1-19 21:28

    Especially critical book for future missionaries to Japan! It's not so deep in detail and history, but it gives you enough to certainly have a handle on the complex relationship between Japan and Christianity.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Why I Am Not a Christian review []  2020-1-19 22:11

    Betrand is not advocating for the abuse of Christians, be it verbal or non verbal. He is advocating for free thought and rational thinking to the extent that the human mind can conceive. He respectfully acknowledges the uncertainty in life. We cannot be 100% certain about most things. Just as there is no scientific proof for the existence of God, there is neither a scientific proof that disproves the existence of God. THIS BOOK IS NOT A PROOF versus the existence of God. Betrand is only sharing his thoughts as he understands religion and in specificity, Christianity. These are his subjective thoughts. As reader, appreciate them and come up with your own subjective thoughts. Your thoughts will be incomplete until you READ THE BIBLE FOR YOURSELF. Don't worship Betrand, he is a human being just like you. Read the bible and come to your own conclusion on whether it is or is not absolute.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Why I Am Not a Christian review []  2020-1-19 22:11

    I read this book when I was 13 years old and the result was profound.I highly recommend it. If I could give everyone on the planet a free copy of this book I I return to it decades later and Russell's logic is just as devastating as it was when I first read it.Warning believers: Cognitive Dissonance ahead. Fasten your seat belt.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Why I Am Not a Christian review []  2020-1-19 22:11

    The next time some superstitious myth repeating Christian moron tries to corner you, or even if they are respectful about it, there is plenty of info / ammunition in this book to support you obtain them off your back. You might even obtain them to begin questioning their beliefs.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Why I Am Not a Christian review []  2020-1-19 22:11

    Should be read by Christians who seek to impose their religious values on others.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Why I Am Not a Christian review []  2020-1-19 22:11

    Sir Bertrand is not just a amazing philosopher, but a amazing writer. He won the Nobel Prize for literature, so that tells you. This book has several essays on the general topic of religion and its evils, the best being the first one, "Why I Am Not a Christian". There, his discussion of Jesus is fascinating and powerful. He explains why Jesus was not really that "wise", and also why he was not really a very caring person. Everyone, believer or atheist, and everyone in between should read this book. It is wise, intelligent, honest, moral, and never mad or condescending.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Why I Am Not a Christian review []  2020-1-19 22:11

    An interesting take by a popular mathematician. I read this when I was just 18, and I wanted to look at it again now that I am 69 and an devoted atheist. It was fun to re-read it and trying to revisit that confused young man back then.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Why I Am Not a Christian review []  2020-1-19 22:11

    Bertrand Russell was a polymath: a mathematician, a philosopher, a historian, a pacifist who was jailed for his anti-war views, and a Nobel Laureate in Literature. His essay "Why I Am Not A Christian," a lecture he delivered in 1927, is a clear, succinct, and well-reasoned brief versus Christianity and the existence of a Deity (Christian or not). His hard to refute arguments presented in the essay are for those who are begin to concepts which may not agree with their own views or their upbringing. But to read it is a journey worth the effort and may begin to the reader fresh vistas.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Why I Am Not a Christian review []  2020-1-19 22:11

    Bertrand Russell was arguably one of the best skeptical writers of the 20th century and his description of why a person of reason, observation, science and history could not continue to pretend that religion held anything of value for him, his neighbors and collegues or the public at large. Whether you're questioning the validity of religion, or just curious about how an athiest thinks and feels this is a amazing put to start. It's crystal clear, short and to the point.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Why I Am Not a Christian review []  2020-1-19 22:11

    Bertrand Russell is a terrific writer, and the essays collected in this book represent some of his best work. As the title makes clear, most of the book is dedicated to Russell's thoughts on religion, which are somewhat less than flattering. Be aware of what you're getting into, though. If you wish a thorough treatment on the rationality of religious belief in a philosophical context, you're better off with something like George H. Smith's "Atheism: The Case Versus God." Russell is more concerned with the social and moral effects of religion, which is certainly no less interesting, but it's a somewhat various e Amazon review of this book mentioned that some of the essays included herein are outdated, since they deal with contemporary social and ethical concerns of the early twentieth century. That may be true, but I still found them to be very interesting reading. Reading about the social hero of an age through the eyes of someone like Russell, rather than in a book of history, seems to create that part of our past all the more real. It's interesting to see what the globe was like at the time, and where Russell thought it was going. Sometimes there are surprises about what's gotten better and what's gotten addition to Russell's essays, the book contains an appendix which info the manner in which Russell was prevented from teaching philosophy at Fresh York Town College, which is also interesting reading, if rather disturbing. The number and the zealotry of those calumniators to whom the idea of a prominent atheist teaching philosophy was such anathema were simply disgusting.If you're interested in reading the freethinker's point of view, you could do small better than Russell. He is far more engaging than most philosophers, and all of these essays are thoughtful and well worth your time.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Why I Am Not a Christian review []  2020-1-19 22:11

    I enjoyed the essays and they were well written. Although I do search that they do not really respond anything I was looking for. In fact it created me decide that the arguments could be used in any context and probably be used for any belief. Anyway it did create decide I have some kind of belief even it is just agnostic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Unsaved Christian: Reaching Cultural Christianity with the Gospel review []  2020-1-23 1:40

    Matthew 7:21–23 is one of the most sobering passages of the Bible. “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven,” Jesus tells His disciples, “but only the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven.” What does it mean to say, “Lord, Lord”? Jesus explains: “Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name and in your name drive out demons and in your name perform a lot of miracles?’” Regardless of their displays of spiritual power, Jesus’ verdict is negative: “Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!’”Dean Inserra opens The Unsaved Christian with this passage because it so starkly portrays the self-deception of self-identified Christians whom Christ cannot identify as His own. “These petitioners Jesus spoke of loved to say, ‘didn’t we?’ when they should have been saying, ‘didn’t He?’” In other words, they practiced self-righteousness, attempting to merit salvation through strong spiritual works, rather than receiving God’s gracious bonus of righteousness in Christ through repentance and faith in , a lot of self-identified American Christians don’t claim to prophesy or exorcize demons or work miracles, but the central insight of The Unsaved Christian is that they are nevertheless as lost as the “evildoers” of Matthew 7:23. They are Christians in name only, practitioners of cultural Christianity. “Cultural Christianity is a mindset that locations one’s security in heritage, values, rites of passage (such as a first communion or a baptism from childhood), and a generic deity, rather than the redemptive work of Jesus Christ,” writes Inserra. He goes on to provide a taxonomy of eight types of cultural Christians:1. Country Club Christian: “Self-focused, not missional; church just happens to be the social club of their preference.”2. Christmas & Easter Christian: “Holds the Christian holidays close with sentimentality, but the implications of these holidays seem to have small impact on everyday life."3. God & Country Christian: “Is ‘proud to be an American, where at least I know I’m free’; digests everything first as an American or member of a certain political party, not as a believer. Can have blinders on to what really matters.”4. Liberal Social Justice Christian: “Feels strongly about specific social justice issues; compromises biblical teachings in light of cultural whims; believes that politicians and legislation can fix the world.”5. Amazing Guy Next Door Christian: “Believes God wants people to be amazing and kind to each other as taught in most globe religions; Jesus just so happens to be the mascot, but the specifics of Christianity aren’t really relevant.”6. Generational Catholic Christian: “Generally either views Catholicism as a heritage or carries significant guilt to be loyal to its tenants.” (I think Inserra means “tenets.”)7. Mainline Protestant: “Generally believes vague things about the Bible but is prone to discard it in favor of the pressing beliefs of the day. Proclaims God’s love in terms of license to seek comfort.”8. Bible Belt Christian: “Displays external forms of religiosity and would be offended to be called an atheist, but in actuality, Jesus has small impact on their lives.”These eight varieties of cultural Christians are ideal types, obviously, but they do describe a lot of the features of what passes for Christianity in contemporary American r each variety, Inserra elaborates on what it mistakes the gospel for, identifies starting points for gospel conversations, and shows how the gospel, correctly understood, both challenges and provides a remedy for it. Take the Bible Belt Christianity, for example. It is typically found in the South, which Flannery O’Connor described as “Christ-haunted.” Its “unofficial liturgy” is country music, and Inserra provides an insightful look at the religious outlook of three contemporary country sed on those songs, he comments: “Sadly, a lot of people in the Bible Belt are haunted by the idea of Christ, while not understanding His love for them. The judgment of God lingers in their minds. Believing the gospel would let them to understand that it is the kindness of God that can actually lead them to repentance (Rom. 2:4). With an awareness of God and our sins, but not the gospel, one is only left with country melody theology, hoping God will allow us into heaven one day after we have some fun on earth.”Inserra closes The Unsaved Christian by enumerating three things important for evangelizing cultural Christians: “a refusal to be in denial, gospel clarity, and boldness to speak the truth in love” (emphasis in original). Inserra is a pastor, and he intends his book as an aid to pastors and other concerned Christians who long to “make disciples” of Jesus Christ” (Matthew 28:19). Distinguishing between authentic and nominal Christianity is never easy, especially in a supposedly Christian nation, but it’s an evangelistic necessity, lest we leave people thinking what we did, rather than what He did, saves us.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Unsaved Christian: Reaching Cultural Christianity with the Gospel review []  2020-1-23 1:40

    Like another reviewer, I give it 2 stars for, somewhat bravely, identifying a mission field to self-identifying 'Christians' who don't appear to substantively follow Jesus, perhaps a far larger mission field in the USA than that of those who don't identify as Christian at all.If the authors intent was to merely identify and categorize some common types of these Christian posers, maybe he somewhat succeeded. If he intended to support us determine how, operationally, be a genuine Christian (a real Jesus-follower), his effort is beautiful anemic.Any treatise on what being a genuine Bible-informed (and formed) Christian would have to stand on at least two central pillars: (1) "Whoever claims to live in him must live as Jesus did." (Jn 1:26) and (2) "If you love me, hold my commands." (Jesus speaking in Jn 14:15). I may have missed it, but I don't recall the first on even being mentioned in the book. And, I know very small about what Jesus commands from reading the book.If the author is going to talk so much about himself and his experiences, I would have like to see more specifics on exactly how he lives his life to be congruent with how Jesus lived his life and the specific demands created by Jesus. It's unclear to me that Inserra has a very clear and concrete understanding of what that sum, the book is like the typical, somewhat vague and rambling sermon: mildly interesting and sometimes entertaining narrative, occasionally on-target (in a vast sea of words and thoughts), with small that's likely to stick as far as producing spiritual transformation that would change a poser to an actual Jesus-follower, someone appropriately called a Christian and no longer a hypocrite that Jesus and the globe my opinion, if you're going to write a book like this, you should at least create a powerful effort to identify resources that will support the fake, "Unsaved Christian" obtain saved and be an actual disciple of Jesus, one whose inner being and lifestyle are compatible and consistent with the Spirit of Christ.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Unsaved Christian: Reaching Cultural Christianity with the Gospel review []  2020-1-23 1:40

    Living in the Bible belt, this books title immediately grabbed me. There is a lot of Cultural Christianity here. Ministry is really hard because most people would tell you they are saved. That is why chapter one of this book is immediately grabbing for me—Help Them Obtain Lost. Yes, a lot of people in the zone I live need support getting lost so they know that they need to be found. If you’re like me, The Unsaved Christian by Dean Inserra may be just the book you’ve been looking an Inserra is the founding pastor of Town Church in Tallahassee, Florida. He has an MA in theological studies from Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary and is pursuing a DMin from The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary. He also is an advisory member of the Ethics and Religious Liberty Commission’s Leadership Counsel with the Southern Baptist Convention. Dean writes with honesty and transparency in a method that I feel will leave the reader hopeful and encouraged.I personally recommend reading this book cover-to-cover, but you will message when you begin it that chapters are laid out in a method that serves the reader. If there is a certain demographic that you search yourself in, whether that be the Bible Belt, Generational Catholics, Mainline Protestants, etc., you can flip straight to that chapter and read it. However, the first few chapters lay the ground work so I would recommend you read those first.I found Inserra’s insights into the Bible Belt especially helpful given my context. “In the Bible Belt, identifying as a Christian is a method of life, but sadly, believing the gospel and following Jesus often are not” (169). He says later, “In ministering to the Bible Belt, don’t war versus the Christ-haunting culture of the South—use it as a means to preach Christ” (177). I have always said that ministry is very difficult when everyone thinks they’re saved, but Inserra has given me confidence through his tip that the Lord has amazing work for us to do here in the ere are huge parts of the United States infected with Cultural Christianity. Inserra calls on Christians to quit being timid, embrace what needs to be done, and take action—a notice we all need to hear. “Reaching a Cultural Christian requires three basic things: a refusal to be in denial, gospel clarity, and boldness to speak the truth in love” (182). No matter the context you search yourself in, this book will benefit you. May we all follow Inserra’s tip and face the facts, know the gospel, and pray for boldness to lovingly share the truth with those who may be confused.Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Moody in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Unsaved Christian: Reaching Cultural Christianity with the Gospel review []  2020-1-23 1:40

    Dean's story resonates with me as I grew up a cultural christian in a pastor's home. I remember the first time my faith was challenged I was extremely offended. But, it was in that time when my christian vanity was challenged that I found real faith. This book shines a light accurately on a mission field that a lot of pastors are in the midst of reaching whether the realize it or not. While reading it a lot of people in my congregation were brought to mind as people I need to be lovingly reaching with the Gospel. This book also provides actionable steps to reaching these lost Christians and provides clarity on what aspects of their faith system need to be challenged. Chapter 1 suggest "help them obtain lost," in this Dean encourages the truth of the gospel as the plan for them learning how lost they are. This is a sign that his heart is for them to keep real salvation and not something he has determined as the solution. Simple to read book that exposes a vital mission field!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Unsaved Christian: Reaching Cultural Christianity with the Gospel review []  2020-1-23 1:40

    A well-written book that adequately helps to identify the various types of people who claim to be Christian but do not bear fruit revealing themselves to be truly born again. The book even gives helpful questions and hints towards the end to ask of these people in order to prompt deeper conversation. But ultimately, at the book's conclusion, I was still left wondering exactly how I should reach out and share the gospel with my cultural Christian friends. I felt well-prepared to identify them and even begin a conversation with them but still left with small tactic to confidently reach them. The book is good, and I would still recommend it, but ultimately I was expecting more and still feel rather unprepared and lacking in confidence to reach my cultural "Christian" friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Unsaved Christian: Reaching Cultural Christianity with the Gospel review []  2020-1-23 1:40

    This is a amazing book, and is going to be discomfiting for a lot of people who view themselves as right with God, but whose views on that score are wholly without rst, a bit of historical perspective: parts of the United States were swept by revivalism in the 18th and 19th centuries. Much amazing came out those revivals, but there were also some results that were not particularly praiseworthy. One of them was a reductionism of redemption: in a lot of cases it was reduced to a “decision” rather than a whole-life reorientation around repentance and faith in Jesus Christ as Lord and Master. Salvation is not less than a decision, but it is much more than d to that an unbalanced emphasis on eternal security (especially in the mid to late 20th century), virtually separating the doctrine of assurance from the “new life” aspect of regeneration. And add to that a sort of “second-blessing” theology that teaches the decision to yield to Jesus as Lord and Master is separate from the decision to trust Him as Savior, and what you wind up with is a culture that views salvation as small more than checking the right boxes. Salvation becomes a cultural inheritance of white, conservative, flag-waving Americans, something akin to joining the Republican an Inserra’s book is a gentle but firm expose of that problem: cultural Christianity is not biblical Christianity, and it is decidedly not a “Christianity” that saves. He deals with a dozens of flavors of it: moral theism, watered-down mainline Protestantism, the Bible Belt cultural ambience, the confusion of patriotism with Christianity, and so on. One particularly amazing chapter explores the Christmas and Easter attendance phenomenon and yields some rather surprising serra is not swinging a club—he’s not browbeating. He’s quite gentle, in fact, and contains questions at the end of each chapter for self-evaluation. But he also pulls no punches. Chapter 3 is entitled “Civic Religion: Generic Faith that Demands and Asks Nothing of Its Followers.” His view of the real gospel, biblical faith, salvation, the effects of regeneration, and so on are fully orthodox.Buckle your spiritual seatbelt, place on your crash helmet, and read this book. Here at Bible Fellowship, we’re going to go through this book in Sunday School. It’s too necessary to leave sitting on the shelf. For some, it might create an eternity of difference. Five stars, highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Unsaved Christian: Reaching Cultural Christianity with the Gospel review []  2020-1-23 1:40

    Pastor Dean has a large hit on his hands with this book being the best Gospel Centered read of 2019. It took all of a day to read and now on a reread as everyone from across the spectrum should give this book a read. Very well researched and fulfilling from all aspects I believe this will be a bestseller and a Classic from one of the amazing young influencers of the next generation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Unsaved Christian: Reaching Cultural Christianity with the Gospel review []  2020-1-23 1:40

    For years I have probably offended people by saying "There are "Christians" in Hell. I was raised in the church from a baby. Said the "Sinners Prayer" three various times. I was a "Christian"! It wasn't until I was 39 I truly understood what Jesus Christ did for me on the cross and why He had to do it. MY SIN! This book is very well written - and I have purchased several copies to hold on hand to give away when someone says that it is impossible for a "Christian" to be in Hell. I thank God for giving Dean Inerra the wisdom to write this book!

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter