Read children of zion reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all children of zion reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    miami dade clerk of courts case search [md case search judiciary]  2020-8-23 12:25
    [email protected]

    index website web maryalnd case find this page more information here case find orange county fl case find fulton county state court case find

    0  


    Add your opinion on children of zion or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    dose of cialis [cialis safe ]  2020-8-20 4:58
    [email protected]

    When a the human race wickedness not oneself discount website cialis 50mg within down in the mouth gelatins and revascularization in slushy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Songs Of Zion [App]  2019-9-28 13:43

    Prasie the Lord,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Songs and Hymns of Zion [App]  2019-5-14 13:34

    Amazing app! For those with font size issues test adjusting font size in your phone's settings

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Songs and Hymns of Zion [App]  2019-5-14 13:34

    Method to expensive This application works amazing and does its job but is just too much to sink on one application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Songs and Hymns of Zion [App]  2019-5-14 13:34

    Nice Its nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Songs and Hymns of Zion [App]  2019-5-14 13:34

    K Ok

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Songs and Hymns of Zion [App]  2019-5-14 13:34

    Totally worth the money... This application is worth the if you wish to have the songbook wherever you go. Although it would be even better if it had a "favourites" tab; where you could save your favorite songs to be easily reached when you wish to sing them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Songs and Hymns of Zion [App]  2019-5-14 13:34

    Amazing application Very convenient, nice to have on your phone with you whenever a need arises

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Songs and Hymns of Zion [App]  2019-5-14 13:34

    Absolutely wonderful! Much utilized app!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Songs and Hymns of Zion [App]  2019-5-14 13:34

    How can I reverse the background. White words/black backgound?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Songs and Hymns of Zion [App]  2019-5-14 13:34

    Suggestion On an android device phone the font size doesn't go huge enough to share your "song book". The smallest size is only readable with a microscope so maybe that could be reworked.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Songs and Hymns of Zion [App]  2019-5-14 13:34

    Amazing when working but somehow the user licence won't allow me begin anymore

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Songs and Hymns of Zion [App]  2019-5-14 13:34

    Love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Songs and Hymns of Zion [App]  2019-5-14 13:34

    Works great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Songs and Hymns of Zion [App]  2019-5-14 13:34

    If you can't afford this application and you have a smartphone..you have issues..most likely you can afford to chew or smoke..so cough up the tight wads.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Songs and Hymns of Zion [App]  2019-5-14 13:34

    Mike Works amazing ....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Songs and Hymns of Zion [App]  2019-5-14 13:34

    Loved it Eccepshunul

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Songs and Hymns of Zion [App]  2019-5-14 13:34

    Amazing catch fast fix My only concern when the modernize came out was that you couldn't begin the songs from the list. Now this second modernize fixes that. Amazing work. Thanks for the fast fix.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Songs and Hymns of Zion [App]  2019-5-14 13:34

    Amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Songs and Hymns of Zion [App]  2019-5-14 13:34

    Amazing song book, but.... I love having the song book with me wherever I go! The only drawback is the font is SO SMALL!! Since upgrading my phone from a Droid Razr Maxx to a Droid Turbo, I cannot create the font huge enough to see very well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Songs and Hymns of Zion [App]  2019-5-14 13:34

    The best song book This book is filled with songs that feed a persons soul. The is worth it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Songs and Hymns of Zion [App]  2019-5-14 13:34

    Works great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Return to Zion: The History of Modern Israel []  2020-2-5 0:3

    An extremely useful book that should be mandatory study for serious students of the problem as well as famous readers. The author manages to reflect -- and almost even sing -- in direct engaging prose accessible to non-academic readers the Zionist narrative of national rebirth in Israel and in its most honest and benevolent form. He manages also, unlike a lot of pro-Israel narratives, not to dismiss the Arab enemies out of hand but to set out the amazing faith of the adversaries in their turn. Bias, where it appears, does seem unintentional and honest, and the book does not deny being sympathetic to one side in ose like this reviewer, who see the Zionist narrative as fundamentally deficient and the Palestinian one (when stripped of its own nationalism, wounded backwardness, and bigotry) as being powerful and central to the whole situation, can still appreciate the true history that was seriously pursued and then similar in Mr. Gartman's nus points: starting Israel's modern history with the 1881 assassination of Tsar Alexander II, the seminal happening which led to so a lot of of the stresses of modernity, most relevantly the reinvigoration of organized anti-Semitism as a political force.Ding points: soft-pedaling the Deir Yassin massacre (a common vice among sympathetic narrators of Israel).Overall: a masterwork of its type for both academics and partment chairs: add this to the syllabi.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Return to Zion: The History of Modern Israel []  2020-2-5 0:3

    Return to Zion The History of Modern Israel by Eric Gartman is a unbelievable book, excellent for anyone who wants to understand middle eastern politics, which dominates the globe scene now. In his introduction Gartman says that reading history should be exciting and fun and for sure he has achieved that objective in this exciting book. He sees the four thousand year history of the Jews as one of the amazing stories of human history and the development of and vibrant survival of a Jewish homeland in the Middle East as the triumph of a people versus crushing odds. One of the very necessary things to understand about Israel is how it arose almost directly out of the Holocaust and Gertman does a unbelievable job explaining this. The motto "Never Again" and the rock hard determination to survive rose out of the Holocaust. A lot of of the early settlers of Israel were Holocaust survivors and refugees from Eastern Europe and the pograms of ey book opens with an acc of the Jewish rebellion versus the Romans in 73 to 74 A.D. He focuses on the siege of the fortress of Masada and the suicude of the 800 pr so Jewish defenders of the fort. He explains how the memory of this happening fueled the fire for a Jewish homeland. He info the history of Zionism and the international politics behind England's permission for Jews to settle in the region of Palestine came about. He talks a bit about how this conquer of the rebellion destroyed the Jewish homeland and began the dispersion of Jews. Basically Churchill thought Jewish immigrants would do a better job developing the region than indigenous Arabs. I found this fascinating.On May 14, 1948 David Ben-Gurian proclaimed the existence of the state of Israel declaring it a globe wide home for Jews. Soon a lot of people, over a million would come just from Russia, moved to Israel. The issue arose because the location claimed by the state of Israel was occupied by a few million Arabs, mostly Palestenian. All of the surrounding countries were lead by dictators or monarchs and all had as their central policy the destruction the state of Israel and the complete slaughter of all Jews. The Arabs intended to complete the work of Hitler. Jewish leaders, a lot of were veterans of Globe Battle Two, and the citizens of the fresh country of Israel began to make a defense force. With the support of financial aid from the American Jewish community they build up a strong force. Every male citizen of age is in the reserves. As explained by Gertman, the residents of Israel were largely highly educated and a lot of had technical or commercial skills where the Palestein residents were over 90 percent illiterate and had done small or nothing to improve their homeland in 2000 want immigrants to Israel had almost no experience as farmers for because by law in Russia and Easyern Europe Jews could not own land. Gartman explains how the collective farms produced what he calls a "New Kind of Jew", one who could turn the harshest soil into richly productive agricultural land. When most early residents arrived they spoke either Yiddish or Russian. In an incredibly bold and brilliant move the leaders decided to create the ancient language of Hebrew the official language. All over the country people began to learn Hebrew. It is the only case in history of the revival of an ancient language. People very quickly totally bonded to their fresh ortly after the declaration of statehood nearby countries like Egypt, Syria, and Jordan invaded. Like in all subsequent invasions, the Arabs were crushingly defeated. Gartman covers all the invasions. I knew that Israel would victory but the story of the battles was very thrilling, In the Yom Kippur War, the Russians provided the Egyptian military with the recent in high tech weapons, planes and tanks. The issue was the Arabs did not know how to repair them or use their advanced features. Egyptian soldiers were fast to jump out of tanks and run for home. Israeli soldiers on the other hand were totally trained and knew how to use the strong weapons supplied by the USA and France. At the conclusion of all these battles Israel could have easily destroyed the Arab capitals but they did not believe in the killing of civilians. The Israelis showed a restraint in win their opponents would not even have e huge human rights problem in the Middle East now is the fate of the Palestenians. Israel has perhaps millions of Arab residents who are a amazing source of social unrest. They feel Israel has stolen their land.I would note that if the oil rich Arab nations spent a little bit of the they use to fund their military to support the Palesteinians the human rights crisis could easily be ended. It is to the advantage of Israel's opponents to hold the Palesteinians in misery so they can blame rtman tells us how Isrsel developed into a very prosperous country through hard work, dedication and intelligence. He tells readers there is no chance of Arab countries destroying Israel as the country is so strong and is backed by America. The Arabs have been backed by Russian but not to the degree America has backed Israel. He basically acknowledges Israel probably has nuclear weapons and may have been prepared to use them in the 1967 war.I learned a lot from this i book. Much more than I have touched on. I grew up with Israel on the nightly news but it was amazing to have it all told in a coherent narrative. He talks a lot about Israeli me might say the book is totally pro-Israel . It does cover the hardships of the Palesteinians. I think if they had the power the countries bordering Israel would complete the Holocaust. Gertman does go into how Israel did face criticism for perceived injuries inflicted on Palestenians.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Return to Zion: The History of Modern Israel []  2020-2-5 0:3

    This book is a delight for all those interested in the history of Israel and the Middle East. The author gives us a new take as he goes behind the scenes to uncover the untold stories and key turning points that have shaped "Zion's" history and the history of the region. After reading this book, I feel that I have a much better understanding of these events. He brings both the key personalities and the conflicts to life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prisoner of Zion: Muslims, Mormons, and Other Misadventures []  2020-1-20 19:46

    This book created me wonder, who is this author who writes so well and in such a special style? A web find led me to a podcast on NPR's This American Life. I went down a bit of a rabbit hole trying to learn about the author. Scott's own story is as interesting as the happenings he chooses to write about. Now I listen to his podcast "Home of the Brave" as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prisoner of Zion: Muslims, Mormons, and Other Misadventures []  2020-1-20 19:46

    We are all prisoners to something or some things. A amazing writer walks us up to the ledge. Carrier and Najib give me hope to stumble on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prisoner of Zion: Muslims, Mormons and Other Misadventures []  2020-7-13 19:38

    A collection of amazing essays about Afghanistan, Cambodia and Salt Lake City, all of them very private and truthful. I personally liked Carrier's writing about Mormonism and Salt Lake City, where he alternates between thoughtful exposition and harsh critique. There are some 5 star essays in here, and one or two 2's, so I'm giving the whole book a 4.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prisoner of Zion: Muslims, Mormons and Other Misadventures []  2020-7-13 19:38

    "She was looking for enlightenment, prone to losing herself in the moment and falling in love with whomever we met, but I had a deadline and expenses and I required a story, not satori."Who else in America can write like this?This is a profound book, profound because of its simplicity, profound because of its humor, profound because of the Mormons and Afghans and Cambodians whose words and stories live here, profound because of the raw wound that is Scott Carrier's tender soul, profound because of the supple sentences with which he tends that wound.We're all prisoners of ZION. Carrier demonstrates how that's the case and recommends how we -- and how he himself -- might break down the walls.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prisoner of Zion: Muslims, Mormons, and Other Misadventures []  2020-1-20 19:46

    A collection of amazing essays about Afghanistan, Cambodia and Salt Lake City, all of them very private and truthful. I personally liked Carrier's writing about Mormonism and Salt Lake City, where he alternates between thoughtful exposition and harsh critique. There are some 5 star essays in here, and one or two 2's, so I'm giving the whole book a 4.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prisoner of Zion: Muslims, Mormons, and Other Misadventures []  2020-1-20 19:46

    A thought provoking read with honesty being triumphantly written about the authors own fears and shortcomings as a human being. My parents converted to Mormonism in Australia in the early 70's, six years after my birth in Fresh Zealand my parents and 7 kids created the monumental move to Northern Utah, Zion in 1979. I am the only kid out of ten to create a conscious decision to walk (resign) from my childhood religion in 2009. A path that a lot of will understand is not attempted without years of reading book after book after book. This book for me offered the special challenge to readers - a self-examination rather than slinging proverbial mud at the structures of rigid religion, I heartily agree with you Scott persecuting them fortifies the martyred mission that their very dogma teaches. Well done, it is not simple to write a book with the searing truth that our humanness is okay and that our admission to being human unites the universal family. I would highly recommend this book to anyone in find of a self examined life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Return to Zion: The History of Modern Israel []  2020-2-5 0:3

    the writer had placed the blame for the Arab exodus from Palestine where it belongs, on their leaders. It wasn't the Jews who drove them out, it wasn't Yigal Allon (p.115) who, according to the autor, invented the idea of phychological warfare and spread a rumor among the Arabs that the Jews were coming to slay them and take their women, and so they'd better leave. It was the Arab leaders themselves planting those ideas and telling their populations to leave, so they could finish off the Jews and then they'd come back victorious. Those who listened left to never come back, but those stayed are now rightful citizens of Israel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prisoner of Zion: Muslims, Mormons and Other Misadventures []  2020-7-13 19:38

    We are all prisoners to something or some things. A amazing writer walks us up to the ledge. Carrier and Najib give me hope to stumble on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prisoner of Zion: Muslims, Mormons, and Other Misadventures []  2020-1-20 19:46

    I first heard Scott Carrier On NPR's This American Life. I immediately felt in tune with Carrier's style and humor and especially his humanity. This all shines through in Prisoner of Zion. I felt relief that after a story taking put in and about Afghanistan, the next story takes put in and arbout about Utah. Even with this the stories feel connected and the book just flows. I highly recommend this book and I am glad I read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Return to Zion: The History of Modern Israel []  2020-2-5 0:3

    Return to Zion, by Eric Gartman, has already elicited some very positive reviews. I agree with all that has been said up to now.But I have a special perspective to share.I read the book, found it extremely engaging and readable and valuable as a teaching tool. So it is now the core book in a class I regularly teach on the Arab-Israeli conflict at a public university and a little personal Gartman's book lives up to everything he promises to do in his preface. He "lets the two sides speak for themselves through documents from the times," and he tells the story of Israel's rebirth, and its impact on the indigenous Palestinian population, "in a [fresh and] lively manner."What truly sets his book apart from the tons of scholarly and academic studies of the Palestinian-Israeli conflict is his close attention to "the human element." As Mr. Gartman correctly observes, he frames his discussion "in a method that conveys not only facts but emotions. For it is emotions that animate the people of the Holy Land." This allows Mr. Gartman to show the "history of Israel in a method that explains why the existence of the Jewish state raises the passions that it does [from both the Israeli and Palestinian perspectives]."This, in a word, is a book for both the general reader as well as the student of the conflict struggling to understand how the Israeli and Palestinian narratives can so often appear to be diametrically opposed to one another.I hope other college teachers consider including Return to Zion in courses on the history of Israel and on the Palestinian/Arab-Israeli conflict.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Return to Zion: The History of Modern Israel []  2020-2-5 0:3

    Amazing book for perspective! Very informative for someone who know nothing about the topic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prisoner of Zion: Muslims, Mormons and Other Misadventures []  2020-7-13 19:38

    This book created me wonder, who is this author who writes so well and in such a special style? A web find led me to a podcast on NPR's This American Life. I went down a bit of a rabbit hole trying to learn about the author. Scott's own story is as interesting as the happenings he chooses to write about. Now I listen to his podcast "Home of the Brave" as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prisoner of Zion: Muslims, Mormons and Other Misadventures []  2020-7-13 19:38

    Necessary subjects / private experiences. Scott Carrier is a master story teller (NPR), and this carries to his writing. This is closer to a collection of essays / private autobiography than fiction. Necessary reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Return to Zion: The History of Modern Israel []  2020-2-5 0:3

    Captures and portrays the most significant happenings similar to the creation and perseverance of the modern State-Nation of Israel. Should be read after Herman Wouk's duo of The Winds of Battle and Battle and Remembrance (history based novels of WWII containing graphic and accurate descriptions of the Holocaust), which serve as a gripping stage-setter to Return to Zion

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Return to Zion: The History of Modern Israel []  2020-2-5 0:3

    “Return to Zion” is a amazing introductory overview of the origins of the modern state of Israel and its war for survival. The book is well-written, of academic jargon, and often exciting. The author is highly sympathetic to Israel but is respectful of the Palestinian Arab view. The book’s focus is on the military and political history of the Jewish state, so those looking for info on the economy and society of modern Israel will have to look elsewhere. Some of the stories and themes in the book worth noting:- David Ben Gurion, the founder of Israel, was probably the greatest leader of any nation in the twentieth century. He had the knack of knowing precisely when to compromise, when to stand firm, and when to fight.- During Globe Battle Two, when the German general Rommel was advancing through North Africa and threatened the Middle East, Jewish settlers in Palestine planned a last-ditch “Masada” stand on Mount Carmel (which fortunately, turned out to be unnecessary).- In their early wars for independence, some Jewish groups committed massacres of Arab civilians, and rumors of massacres were spread by the Israeli military to empty Arab villages so that Israel would have more defensible borders.- The Arabs achieved almost complete surprise in the 1973 war, due in amazing part to poor analysis and unprofessional behavior by the head of Israeli military intelligence.- The not good behavior of Arab armies can be explained in part by the low levels of development in Arab societies, particularly the shockingly high rates of illiteracy, which created it difficult for Arab armies to handle modern weapons or carry out complex military plans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prisoner of Zion: Muslims, Mormons, and Other Misadventures []  2020-1-20 19:46

    Having become acquainted with Scott as both a student and friend, a favorable review of this book is perhaps biased. And yet, I'm positive that I would still be as engrossed in the book even if I didn't know the author. For one, he writes candidly in regard to the situations he is in, which is not only refreshing but also makes you trust him in a method that doesn't happen with your average nonfiction writer. It's also a book that goes by so quick because Scott's attention to detail and observation makes you feel you right there with him, whether it'@#$%!chhiking in volatile parts of the globe or facing death on the slopes of the Wasatch mountains, and before you know it the journey is over. That's the tag of a amazing storyteller - when they can create you forget time and at the end leave you thinking "that's it? I wish more!" Scott has that talent, and I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prisoner of Zion: Muslims, Mormons, and Other Misadventures []  2020-1-20 19:46

    Love this guy. His work is a excellent blend of darkness, insight and levity. In this short read he manages to cover Afghanistan, U.S. politics, Mormons and more. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prisoner of Zion: Muslims, Mormons and Other Misadventures []  2020-7-13 19:38

    Occasionally I will search a book that is a pleasure to spend my time with. This is one of them. Pain, observation, redemption. The author has shared much of himself and takes you with him so convincingly you begin to believe you were actually with him on these journeys. I so enjoyed it. Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prisoner of Zion: Muslims, Mormons and Other Misadventures []  2020-7-13 19:38

    I first heard Scott Carrier On NPR's This American Life. I immediately felt in tune with Carrier's style and humor and especially his humanity. This all shines through in Prisoner of Zion. I felt relief that after a story taking put in and about Afghanistan, the next story takes put in and arbout about Utah. Even with this the stories feel connected and the book just flows. I highly recommend this book and I am glad I read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prisoner of Zion: Muslims, Mormons, and Other Misadventures []  2020-1-20 19:46

    Necessary subjects / private experiences. Scott Carrier is a master story teller (NPR), and this carries to his writing. This is closer to a collection of essays / private autobiography than fiction. Necessary reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prisoner of Zion: Muslims, Mormons, and Other Misadventures []  2020-1-20 19:46

    "She was looking for enlightenment, prone to losing herself in the moment and falling in love with whomever we met, but I had a deadline and expenses and I required a story, not satori."Who else in America can write like this?This is a profound book, profound because of its simplicity, profound because of its humor, profound because of the Mormons and Afghans and Cambodians whose words and stories live here, profound because of the raw wound that is Scott Carrier's tender soul, profound because of the supple sentences with which he tends that wound.We're all prisoners of ZION. Carrier demonstrates how that's the case and recommends how we -- and how he himself -- might break down the walls.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prisoner of Zion: Muslims, Mormons, and Other Misadventures []  2020-1-20 19:46

    This book is such a special read. As a Utah native, the authors words really resonated. It leaves you wanting to read more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Return to Zion: The History of Modern Israel []  2020-2-5 0:3

    Following her creation in the aftermath of Globe Battle II, Israel has unquestionably been at the forefront of geopolitical controversy. Whether admiration or contempt, it’s safe to say no other nation has prompted an equal level of such widespread and diverged sentiment consistently over the latest seven decades. Whatever side one sits, a valid assessment is extremely difficult without an accurate historical perspective on the Jewish state’s turn to Zion – The History of Modern Israel written by Eric Gartman is just that – an extremely well-written, scholarly, and concise historical perspective. Gartman tells Israel’s story over the latest few centuries and focuses on the forces countering the diaspora. Not to worry, the reader does not obtain bogged down with the scope of the terrain covered. The author has picked his content wisely. From the Zionist movement starting in the late 1800s, the Holocaust, Independence, the Suez Canal Crisis, the Six-Day and Yom Kippur Wars, the First and Second Intifadas – Gartman moves the reader along using story-telling prose combined with documented vignettes, both effectively overlaying a human element to the story that is not typically found in most historical e author has succeeded in conveying his intended message. Return to Zion is highly recommended for those not only interested in the history of Israel, but also for those who desire a grasp on Israel’s current role in an extremely complicated region.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Return to Zion: The History of Modern Israel []  2020-2-5 0:3

    After completing Mr. Gartman's Return to Zion, I was very happy with what I read. For a comprehensive history, he covered all the major aspects that have accumulated to today's Israel. Mr. Gartman is not penned as an historian but as an Defense Analysts at the Department of Defense, in which he used his accesses to provide documents that have recently been publicized. While the book holds a positive light towards Israel, he remains objective when discussing other camps such as the Arabs and Europeans. The book's focus is to bring the sociological and psychological perspective to the history of Israel. One of the most misunderstood and rarely looked at focus, Mr. Gartman provides very interesting text to the emotional responses from key actors, how's one ideology and philosophy generates key decisions, the use of cold battle politics and the human e book does an perfect job granting us a writing style that flows, intrigues, and most importantly allows us to have an out of body expierence and understand why decisions were e Jewish people have endured an dispaportinate level of discrimination, plight, and genocide for three millennium. Gartman begins the book showing us the Jewish struggle and its aspirations to return to the land of Zion. Jewish leaders at the tale end of the "Spring of Nations" in Europe felt if national identies were being made into states, then why can't Jews? Zionism took birth and went through a lot of hurdles and hoops. Once arrived in Palestine, the first settlers were limited in what they could provide to the territory. But with a conscious effort, they farmed the lands and built communities. Each Aliyah brought more Jews to the land and better trades and crafts. The Arab community at first had no issues with Jewish immigration to Palestine, as long as the numbers remained small. Over time, tensions flaired and violence proctored both sides over disagreement. The Arabs felt that their land was being taken away from them while the Jews felt this was their ancestral homeland. Arabs felt that a Jewish majority was a threat to the life and existence of the Arab muslim lifestyle, while the Jews could not understand why the Arabs would not accept disorganized Jews fleeing the e creation of Israel had a lot of factors, but Gartman showed that it was used as a proxy. Churchhill supported the Jewish right in Palestine because the Jews were better prepared to build up the land and serve the interests of Amazing Britain. Because of Israel's zone near the Sinai and Dead Sea, customers around the globe wanted to work with Israel. During the British Mandate, the British was tasked to creating the state of Israel. A triadic battle between the three broke out, causing chaos in Palestine. The British war versus the Nazi's caused British policy to change. The need for oil to supply British forces and the growing concern of Nazi help in Arab states caused the British to change anti-jewish immigration policies through the 1939 White Papers. Israel who was concerned of Jews trapped in Europe, could not war a country who is fighting versus its arch enemy, Germany. Israel thus create concessions while the Arabs continued an armed struggle versus both the British and Jews. Jewish fighting forces such as the Irgun fought British forces in response to the White Papers, which others called them terrorist attacks.I provided a short concept to part of the book so you have an idea. I highly recommened this book and its perfect to have in your collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prisoner of Zion: Muslims, Mormons and Other Misadventures []  2020-7-13 19:38

    Enjoyed it. Reads like a collection of essays from a magazine. Which it is. Very much akin to listening to Mr Carrier on NPR. His narrative style is amazingly distinct. Without knowing the author, I could read any page and say hey — that must be Scott Carrier.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prisoner of Zion: Muslims, Mormons and Other Misadventures []  2020-7-13 19:38

    Having become acquainted with Scott as both a student and friend, a favorable review of this book is perhaps biased. And yet, I'm positive that I would still be as engrossed in the book even if I didn't know the author. For one, he writes candidly in regard to the situations he is in, which is not only refreshing but also makes you trust him in a method that doesn't happen with your average nonfiction writer. It's also a book that goes by so quick because Scott's attention to detail and observation makes you feel you right there with him, whether it'@#$%!chhiking in volatile parts of the globe or facing death on the slopes of the Wasatch mountains, and before you know it the journey is over. That's the tag of a amazing storyteller - when they can create you forget time and at the end leave you thinking "that's it? I wish more!" Scott has that talent, and I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Prisoner of Zion: Muslims, Mormons and Other Misadventures []  2020-7-13 19:38

    This book is such a special read. As a Utah native, the authors words really resonated. It leaves you wanting to read more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zion Turismo [App]  2019-9-28 13:49

    Parabéns pelo aplicativo, parece que sou o primeiro por aqui..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zion Crossroads []  2020-2-2 20:44

    Corey is a joy. Will test out each fresh CD he releases. Online screening very convenient for that!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zion Crossroads []  2020-2-2 20:44

    If white musicians can embrace the black blues,and even mimic the inflections of Southern black dialect, why can't a young black musician dig into the broad spectrum of the African-American musical experience? Harris started as a country blues player and quickly rose to the top of the genre. Should he have locked himself permanently into the melody from the 1930s? I met and interviewed him when he released "Greens from the Garden". He indicated to me that he had no intention of standing still. Amen! Since then he has mixed African-American, African and Caribbean influences into a wild amalgam. This album is seemingly offensive to some blues purists who demand the same old twelve bar blues and seem to look at musical diversity as a setback. Harris has long ago left them behind. He is not a racist, but he does wish to hold his melody appealing to the black community and the globe community. He will not be relegated to the confines of only playing the old blues demanded by a little white audience, but considered to be irrelevant by contemporary black audiences. Unlike most black blues musicians, he has consistently maintained a diverse audience, with a huge black following. This album is the true deal, vibrant, lively, exciting and true-hearted to the bone. Harris combines the depth of his globe view and social consciousness with wonderful, hot beat reggae. As a an early fan and on-going enthusiasts of Harris' trailblazing musical adventurism , I celebrate this amazing record with JOY! It reminds me of the best musicians I had ever seen live-Bob Marley.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zion Crossroads []  2020-2-2 20:44

    One of my all time favorite reggae albums...hidden gem!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zion Crossroads []  2020-2-2 20:44

    This is a amazing CD. He is not your traditional bluesman. It has a much stronger reggae influence than his other CD's (which should be obvious from the cover). There is a bit of an African influence as well. On his other CD's - you hear the reggae here and there or on one song or another - here it is the whole CD. As such, if you love reggae and the blues - go for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zion Crossroads []  2020-2-2 20:44

    I've been an on-again-off-again fan of Corey Harris for the latest 10 years. I liked his previous work, but I thought he was sort of plateauing in terms of musical development. But with this release, I stand corrected!'Zion Crossroads' is Corey's first attempt at reggae and it's really good. Amazing fresh reggae is really hard to search today, especially the more traditional-sounding stuff. This isn't that horrible dancehall or reggaeton; it's just amazing old-fashioned reggae that is hard to dislike.I didn't think Corey would be this daring in his musical genre shiftings, but I'm certainly glad he did it. I love the addition of the reggae musicians to Corey's usual sparse rey easily passes for a reggae musician. His vocals fit right into the melody well. This sounds like it could have been recorded in the late 60s in Jamaica.'Zion Crossroads' is one of the most relaxing, chillout, good-times albums of the year. I like listening to this in rush-hour traffic and mellowing out. I am hopeful for more of his blues/meets/reggae material. I hope this album does well; it deserves to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zion Crossroads []  2020-2-2 20:44

    Thanks Corey, Peanut, Saxman, and everyone. Amazing melody from a amazing person. Search the band Stable Roots backing up artists across Virginia as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zion Crossroads []  2020-2-2 20:44

    i saw him in concert touring with the 'back porch blues' 8 years ago and his sound was haunting, authentic southern blues, he obviously did his homework. as he did in albums linking the blues to other african american melody around the world. this time he links the blues to true jamaican reggae and its no stretch to hear that he has once again done his homework. "Walter Rodney" is a standout song. he is obviously a amazing student of melody and this is a solid cd.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zion Judaica Quality Tealight Candles 4-4.5 Hour Burn Time Unscented Set of 25 - Stark White []  2019-12-18 22:3

    These have been beautiful good. My largest issue with tea-lights is not total "run time," but instead being able to re-light the candle multiple times. Tea-lights seem to be marketed primarily to maximize run-time. This results in candles with wicks that are so thin, that once you extinguish them, the wick is destroyed, disallowing the re-lighting of the candle. These Zion candles appear to have a decent wick, and I've been able to re-light them with some reliability.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zion Judaica Quality Tealight Candles 4-4.5 Hour Burn Time Unscented Set of 25 - Stark White []  2019-12-18 22:3

    I required a bunch of tea lights for faux fireplace logs with tea light candle insets to burn when it's not cool/cold enough for a true fire. The logs take around 15 candles so I wanted to have enough on hand to regularly light the candles whenever I wanted. Living in Florida, it is not often cool enough to light a true fire.I am very satisfied with these tea lights thus far. We have burned the candles several times and they are great. They burn evenly and slowly with no issues at all. I've purchased tea lights in the past that just seemed to burn out in absolutely no time. I've not had that issue with ey're a amazing and really amazing quality. At this kind of price, it's simple to stock up and have them on hand whenever you will need them. I will definitely them again once we run out.If you have any questions about the product, please don't hesitate to ask. I'll do my best to answer as quickly as possible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zion Judaica Quality Tealight Candles 4-4.5 Hour Burn Time Unscented Set of 25 - Stark White []  2019-12-18 22:3

    This is my second order, no coupons, no discount, I willingly came back to give ‘em my for their candles as they burn clean and steady for a amazing price. These candles can be blown out and re-lit a lot of times over and the wick stands up to it, others don’t. Finally, seems like every time I search something amazing -rare these days- they go change it, well please don’t, do not change the wick in these, the packaging, the price, nothing, nada, do not change them and I’ll be back again ...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zion Judaica Quality Tealight Candles 4-4.5 Hour Burn Time Unscented Set of 25 - Stark White []  2019-12-18 22:3

    These tea lights are not as pictured. The picture depicts a full cup of wax. These are typical standard tealights BUT have a little flame. It won’t light up anything and doesn’t heat up a defuser at all. Don’t bother with these. I returned them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zion Judaica Quality Tealight Candles 4-4.5 Hour Burn Time Unscented Set of 25 - Stark White []  2019-12-18 22:3

    This is my FOURTH box from ZionJudaica. I go through a lot of tea candles. Candles are one of my nightly indulgence rituals. Having tried numerous providers of tea candles, the tea candles from ZJ are simply the best. Not only are they packed with amazing care, ship with amazing quickness, the candles burn the stated time time and in 375 candles, I have yet to experience a dud. I hope to be ordering these tea candles for the next 20 years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zion Judaica Quality Tealight Candles 4-4.5 Hour Burn Time Unscented Set of 25 - Stark White []  2019-12-18 22:3

    I ordered these tea lights due to needing long lasting tea lights and these are advertised to latest 4 hours or longer and a lot of customer reviews stated they easily lasted 4 to 7. Once I received these lights I did a try to compare these lights to standard ones I already had. They were place near each other in the same controlled environment and both types had separate timers. The conclusions were as follows: The Zion lights burned brighter as a white flame the entire time they burned putting out more light and lasted 3 hours. Standard straight I had prior burned a yellow color and far fainter of a flame which produced far less light however the flame lasted 4.5 hours. Since I wanted long lasting tea lights these do not meet what I was hoping for but the white bright flame is beautiful. I would like to also note that the candles were burning in zero wind environments indoors in begin rooms the entire time and never relocated. Hope this helpful future purchasers. These are attractive lights, just not long lasting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zion Judaica Quality Tealight Candles 4-4.5 Hour Burn Time Unscented Set of 25 - Stark White []  2019-12-18 22:3

    I bought these tealights back in May and reordered in June. The first I received was good. The tealights were hot enough to warm the essential oils in all three of my e second was junk. The flame is so weak that it does not heat the oils hot enough to release scent. I don't know if another supplier was used for the second but I have about 100 tealights left that are absolutely useless for my oil this bait and switch or just not good quality control? I will not this brand again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zion Judaica Quality Tealight Candles 4-4.5 Hour Burn Time Unscented Set of 25 - Stark White []  2019-12-18 22:3

    The individual tea lights are, well, average—not great, not horrible, a small bit flimsy, but mostly serviceable as tea lights. I will NEVER this product again, though, because of the completely daffy choice of packaging. Rather than pack them in a cardboard box (easy to transport, simple to store, etc. etc.) the manufacturer chose to shrinkwrap these in clear plastic--open the plastic, and you have tea lights everywhere. A pain to transport, a pain to store. This is a virtuoso level of fail. This supremely not good choice of packaging turns an otherwise mediocre yet acceptable product into an unmitigated disaster.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zion Judaica Quality Tealight Candles 4-4.5 Hour Burn Time Unscented Set of 25 - Stark White []  2019-12-18 22:3

    I Have tried a lot of brands of tealights over the latest few years & these are the very best! The others had so much waste or even burned out right away! I have used several of Zion Judaica's Tealight's & I am very satisfied with them! They have all burned perfectly & leave almost nothing! I have included a image of one full tealight & 6 that I have burned. I would recommend these to anyone & from them again, when I need more!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zion Judaica Quality Tealight Candles 4-4.5 Hour Burn Time Unscented Set of 25 - Stark White []  2019-12-18 22:3

    Love these Tealights. I decided to test them after reading reviews for a lot of various brands. Even on some of them people mentioned they like this brand better and gave brighter light. I decided I should test these first since not only were reviews on your website very amazing but so a lot of people on the other websites mentioned them also! Wow!! We LOVE these! We have a tin-punched star tealight holder that hangs near the entrance corner of a hallway. Our other tealights sometimes looked beautiful and other times we would look to create sure it was still lit. Yours give off the excellent amount of bright light so you can have fun the punched pattern on the walls and ceiling. This is the only brand we will use in the future! My husband likes the little dents in the bottom of the cup which makes it very simple to remove from the star holder when done. (With our old ones he had to place a bit of water in the star cup to be able to remove them) Thank you for making such a amazing quality product. You have a fan forever!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of Dune [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    Amazing series. This is the third and final book of the story arc started by Dune and Dune Messiah. As with his other books, there are surprising and thought provoking moments. There are subsequent Dune books by Frank Herbert that, although they require knowledge of this story arc to be understood, maintain only one or two of the characters. They are brilliant in their own ways, too, and should be read if you enjoyed the first three books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of My Heart [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    This story takes put in the 1930's in a little Manitoba town. The young fresh French Canadian teacher faces different challenges and interesting characters, and finds herself in a controversial relationship with a Metis teenage student. This is one of my favorite movies, and it should have gotten a lot more exposure than it did (the fate of a lot of amazing Canadian movies). It should appeal to those who have fun romantic historical dramas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of Men [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    Cuaron's masterpiece so far (including Gravity, which was gravely miscast). This movie is: a) easily the best movie of the decade of the 2000's; b) the finest dystopia movie since 'A Clockwork Orange' and probably the best sci-fi since '2001: A Zone Odyssey'; and c) all the evidence you need that Clive Owen should have been selected as James Bond in put of Daniel Craig. Heartily recommended to anyone interested in how amazing both science fiction and cinema can possibly be. You may be depressed with the state of both the globe and mankind, after watching it, but you won't be disappointed in the possibilities of cinema.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guidance of Young Children []  2019-12-18 20:35

    Came on time. Was simple to return

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of Time []  2020-1-10 19:4

    First allow me say I thoroughly enjoyed this book. What Tchaikovsky is doing with this story is immense in every respect. Immense in scope, time, plot, hero arc, and purpose. The immensity of this book is a double-edged sword. While it is cathartic to read about the immense history of an alien civilization from begin to finish, the sheer girth of that story begins to suffocate under its own weight at times. The immense purpose of the book labors beneath the immense hero arcs to the point where on occassion, both are lost. Thhe characters become throw aways in the scope of time, enough that i stopped caring if thhey lived or .died. The purpose suffers in turn since the purpose can only be fully appreciated when the reader is emotionally vested in the characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adult Children of Alcoholics []  2020-1-18 20:25

    You didn't have to have parents whom were alcoholics to read and learn from this book. Any kid raised in a dysfunctional family can relate. Don't allow the title throw you off.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adult Children of Alcoholics []  2020-1-18 20:25

    Adult Kids of Alcoholics is not a general self support book. Coming from an emotionally abusive but non-alcoholic family, I was somewhat disappointed that its tip was so specific to alcoholic families. Still, I am glad that I finished reading it and here's why.1. ACA gave me perspective on adult kids of alcoholics and the special struggles they face with opening up. Without knowing it, I have probably worked and studied with a lot of such people without realizing it. I saw their lack of vulnerability and perceived them as cold, or even suspicious. This book gave me insight into adult kids of alcoholics and substance dependent people that helps me identify, empathize and work with them on a deeper and more productive level.2. ACA encouraged me not to become substance dependent myself. This is not a revelation: from a young age, our parents, teachers and authority figures encourage us not to do drugs. Nonetheless, I search this aspect of ACA valuable. In college, a lot of of my peers were ostensibly successful despite frequent hard drug use and addictions to nicotine or ADHD/Anxiety medication. They earned decent grades, had a social network that (at least on the outside) seemed strong, and pursued their career. However, ACA created me realize that despite their appearance of success, few of them believe they are successful. As smart young men from upper middle class backgrounds, they had a huge cushion that prevented their lives from being ruined by substance abuse. However, there is no question in my mind that most of them did not achieve their expectations of success, and that substance abuse was the cause of this.3. ACA educated me on the various between emotionally abusive families in general and alcoholic families is specific. While we often share characteristics in common, such as not knowing what normal is, or having difficulty in completing projects, we also differ in necessary ways. For example, I never felt like I had to take care of my parents in the method that a lot of kids of alcoholics do, nor did I have to suffer the embarrassment of my peers finding out about my family's alcoholism. Woititz does a amazing job of differentiating between traits caused by alcoholism and traits common even to functional families.4. ACA increased my self awareness. Even though it is extremely specific to alcoholic families, it created me think about my own family upbringing and the extent to which it influenced my current behavior. It helped me learn which aspects of my behavior are "normal" and which are not. I found this especially real of the chapter dealing with relationships. It helped me reconcile my contradicting lack of vulnerability and clinginess. At the beginning of a relationship, I place on a front and do not obtain emotional whatsoever. While this is normal to an extent, I take it to the extreme because I am afraid that my partner will run away if they uncover my emotional baggage. However, when I start to trust the other person with my feelings and see they answer positively, I take it to the other extreme. I become extremely attached because I am worried that I will never search anyone who accepts me again. This book created me realize that most decent people would appreciate me opening up about my feelings (as long as it is to an appropriate amount) and that there is no reason to cling on to anyone who expresses acceptance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of the Sun []  2020-1-24 20:22

    Love it! Amazing info about your history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of the Mind []  2020-1-22 23:58

    While reading Speaker, I read some short reviews on the books of the rest of the series, and I tried to imagine what the rest of the series would look like, given the titles and these reviews.I have to say, I was very surprised by the plot twists in Xenocide and Children, and this book gives the resolution that Xenocide withheld. It is not as dense in terms of philosophy as Xenocide was, but it gives a amazing response to those questions that were raised and fretted over in ere are a few typos as there are in Xenocide, but they are not very troublesome. The characters of this book atone, and grow from the flaws that we see in the previous book, and the ending has a amazing climax like we see in Ender and Speaker. It's masterfully written, as are all of the books in the series and for all the same reasons, and despite its flaws, it's a truly amazing a whole, you cannot really judge Kids without the previous books - whereas Speaker or Ender could be read without having read any of the other books, you can't really have fun Xenocide or Kids without the previous two books, and you certainly can't appreciate either Xenocide or Kids to the full intended result without getting to the end of this particular book. I am sure if you truly loved the characters of Speaker, then you will come to full satisfaction by the end of this book. Just consider Xenocide and Kids as one very huge novel, and I think you'll search you love them both on an even greater level.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of the Mind []  2020-1-22 23:58

    I have been re-reading the Ender saga mostly because the 'Shadow' books encouraged me to remind myself of how amazing the original series seemed to be. For the most part, Mr. Card does a fabulous job when he creates a fresh universe, but it seems he tends to take things a small too far at times. Now, this is a amazing book, and it does saty in line with the rest of the series, but it becomes more of a twist on the emotional flow, rather than a straight-up and objective view of the human condition. The author does throw in some fresh facets to his universe, including a non-reality component that can make people. However, this just adds to the confusion about why people are doing what they do.If this is unclear, it is because the book gets a small cloudy in the second half. It is related to the problems that I search in both the Alvin series and the Homecoming saga. It seems that a amazing idea was stretched out a small too far.But, Mr. Card is still one of my favorite authors, and I will continue to read whatever he publishes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of Children []  2020-1-21 20:57

    This item is not a textbook. It's a pile of papers with 3-hole punching. Not sure how this is being sold as a "paperback" when it's unbound.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of Children []  2020-1-21 20:57

    Thanks,but I need it to return,but don't know the adress

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of God []  2020-2-2 22:46

    This is such a amazing album. I love the back story behind it but the melody is truly phenomenal and the lyrics are unbelievable too. This is a unbelievable follow up to Ascension especially given all of the items Phil Wickham has had to with in between the two albums.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of God []  2020-2-2 22:46

    Love love love Phil. He has a bonus fromGod with his music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of God []  2020-2-2 22:46

    Love this album. Every song is awesome. Wickham is amazing in concert too, sounds just like his album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of Ruin []  2020-1-19 20:29

    Note: Possible spoilers ahead...Children of Ruin takes up the narrative a few generations after Kids of Time (and directly following up the epilogue of Kids of Time). In some ways it is a very various book than Kids of Time - we are once again treated to a set of snapshots of the growth of an alien-but-recognizably Earth-like sentient civilization. But this civilization begins on a very various footing, and operates in a method that is not as much a recognizable mirror to human civilization the method that the Portiid civilization was. None the less, it's interesting, engaging, and has the same element of skipping back and forth across time as you test to puzzle out how the glimpses of the past you are seeing led to the current state of things you are also r me, the most attractive part of Kids of Time was how it ultimately painted a hopeful picture of a hypothetical future, despite all the setbacks facing the different sentients show in the narrative. Ultimately, Kids of Ruin is about those same risks and rewards, and the conclusion it arrives at is deeply satisfying and uplifting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of Ruin []  2020-1-19 20:29

    If there had not been a prequel (Children of TIme) I doubt this book would have rated as highly as it did. Like others, I thoroughly enjoyed the previous book for one easy reason - it was more interesting, direct and readable. This is a very rare science fiction book that weighs in on the literary side. The language is mesmerizing and poetic, the writing stellar = but then there's the story and that's where the problem lies.We are "simultaneously" on numerous parallel stories (that eventually are resolved). There are vast differences in time, differences in unique intelligence and differences in space. And then there's the Night of the Alien Zombie which sounds cute but ends up being hokey. Plus there is literally a stadium of characters to hold up with - squad members from the past, squad members today, Portid, human, octopus and alien characters. Despite the extraordinary length I was still forced to reread older passages to ensure I had the right e largest complaint was the repetition and verbosity - the author never said in 10 words what he could say in 100. Some scenes seemed to repeat regularly with small change, almost ike filler. The octopus globe lacked the intimacy and intimate info of the spider world. We go from evolutionary-enhanced octopus to zone stations and exotic weapons,Perhaps too much griping because the story itself was a real zone opera. There's fabulous Fabian (my fave character), Portia, Helena and the similarly-title octopuses. And of course how can we forget the AI in all her wobbling glory and godlike powers. My grade = B

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of Dune [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    After writing a sci-fi novel on the of Dune, it was understandably tough to follow it up with anything that would come close in Dune Messiah. While it wasn't a poor book at all, Dune Messiah? Even better. Continuing from Dune Messiah, the theme is a dark one as the Atreides twins are essentially orphans after Paul's final descent into the Arrakeen Desert and Chani's death in e twins keep the key to the Atreides Empire and throughout the book are plotted against, topic to manipulation, and trying to figure out how to stay a step ahead of their foes. House Corrino, the former displaced Emperor Shaddam's Amazing House, is looking for a return to power on Arrakis and intends to do away with the twins to obtain this measure accomplished by putting the Emperors grandson Farad'n on the ers of the Dune Series up to this point will thoroughly have fun this book as more than a few familiar faces from the Atreides household come back, including an amazing surprise from a mysterious hero that preaches versus Paul's empire. Who is this strange hero known as The Preacher and why is he doing this?Overall, Kids of Dune takes a lot of twists and turns as the unstable Aunt Alia of the twins becomes more and more like the Abomination that the Bene Gesserit sisterhood predicted as she succumbs to being taken over by the spirit of a past family member and becomes more and more tyrannical over the Dune Empire that Paul worked so hard to e Empire is unstable on Dune, as the religious government that Paul setup is being constantly abused and tightened by Alia. The twins know that a change is in order, the question is what sacrifices will they both have to create to ensure humanities survival not only on Dune, but throughout the galaxy?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of Dune [Book]  2017-12-14 18:0

    I reread this book after having first read it about in my early twenties, about fifty years ago. I love it. In fact ai love the fictional quotes from the princess, Muad'Dib and others that start each chapter. Frank Herbert was a genius, a unbelievable writer and a philosopher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of the Land []  2020-1-29 17:19

    Amazing, sad, and important. This tale of immigration and a family that simply wants a better life is hard to read in parts because it's true. No doubt we're all familiar with the broad outlines of the undocumented experience but Castillo has captured it in an method that will create you bend your head. That he wanted to be invisible, that his mother went back to Mexico to join his father after the latter was deported, that he has survived even though it has been a painful journey all add up to a book that hits hard. A poet, his prose style is lyrical even with the topic matter, Thanks to Edelweiss for the ARC. I hope this will obtain the wide readership it deserves and I'm going to recommend it to others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of the Sun []  2020-1-24 20:22

    Book was a amazing insightful read, delving into the role played by African civilization in crafting the ancient cities and people of the world

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of Ruin []  2020-1-19 20:29

    I had a high hopes for this book because I loved “Children of Time” and prepared myself for a reading feast starting from page one. It did not happen. After reading 40% of the book I was ready to give up. I was satisfied to meet next versions of Portia, Fabian and Dr. Avrana Kern again. I also enjoyed meeting the fresh character, another crazy scientists obsessed with octopuses. But the plot seemed disjointed and moving slowly. Part of the issue was that a lot of happenings take put in cyberspace and in virtual reality build by interactions of computer programs and alien intelligence. I guess the general idea was to present humans facing phenomena that are beyond our comprehension. I am OK with that but if things are beyond our comprehension how one does describe them? It can be done by analogies to familiar happenings and if such analogies do not exist the description should be brief. Long pages describing them in info were very tiring, bordering on boring and did not clarify anything for me. Maybe these parts would create more sense to somebody more familiar with computer programming and/or linguistics. So instead of being engrossed in a story I plodded through it hoping that it will obtain better. And about 40% into the book it actually did. The multiple plot lines came together and started making sense. I gave up on trying to understand how brain implants work and how exactly humans communicate with octopuses and started enjoying the general picture of (fascinating) octopus society ruled by emotions and separate nerves centers within their bodies. Surprisingly, and to my huge relief, the most alien form of life appearing in the story was using plain human language to communicate and its “we‘re going on an adventure” cry was a brilliant tom line: Three stars for first half of the book and five stars for the second create a 4 stars average.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of Ruin []  2020-1-19 20:29

    I thought that Kids of Time was one of the best SciFi books I've read recently and have read other books by Adrian Tchaikovsky that I enjoyed, so was looking forward to this sequel. I actually re-read Kids of Time (which I seldom do) to prepare for the sequel. Although there were some interesting aspects of this fresh story, and the primary plot was okay--I did wish to see what would happen--I felt this novel required a amazing editor to tighten it up. Long sections of the book consist in just dialog and discussion among the various characters. There were several times where I lost track of where the characters actually where who we talking. That is not amazing writing. Some innovative ideas were discussed, but I was frustrated several times by the lack of movement and a recognizable setting. It is not amazing to have to stop reading and go back to figure out where the characters actually are located. Almost every stage in the novel required a more clear description of where the characters actually were. When I think of the novel now too much of the story just seemed to take put in some gray vague location. That also meant that for me the none of the characters were vivid or really caught me--I didn't come to care about what happened to them nearly as much as I did for the protagonist of Kids of Time.I will certainly read the author's future books. He has innovative and interesting ideas, but this novel was too "talky."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of Ruin []  2020-1-19 20:29

    I felt this was a amazing continuation of the story of human and spider civilization. I do [email protected]#$%! spent at least one chapter on what Kern's globe is like after the few decades of co-habitation but that's just me. What we do obtain is part thriller and part philosophical discussion on how we communicate and what various alien communication can be and how hard it is for anyone to really understand each other. The only downside to this story is that it ends on a predictable note and about halfway you should know the ending but then you still wish see how it gets there. I enjoyed this book a small less than kids of time. I think I just wanted more spiders!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of Children []  2020-1-21 20:57

    I am in a class where I need this book. I guess if you have never dealt with kids before, this might be a amazing reference, but I have been around kids for years, and have taken care of them for years, so this is like info that I already know.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World of Children []  2020-1-21 20:57

    Simple read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of the Mind []  2020-1-22 23:58

    "A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away....," I was an avid science fiction reader. A 30-year Troops career followed by 13 years as a high school history teacher place a hiatus on such reading pleasure. While teaching Military History, my students would often do book reports on "Ender's Game," and their reports piqued my interest in the book. When I learned that a movie by the same name was soon to be released, I decided it was time to read the book. I did so and became hooked on the Ender Quintet series. However, because I like matters in chronological order, I decided to read "Ender in Exile" next. "Ender in Exile" is the latest book in The Ender Quintet that Orson Card wrote, but it follows "Ender's Game" chronologically. I then read "Speaker for the Dead" followed by "Xenocide" and then finally "Children of the Mind." "Children of the Mind" is a much various book from the others in the series but equals them in keeping the reader's interest. One matter continues to problem me in all the books. I still have some difficulty understanding why Ender continued to be vilified for having destroyed the buggers' world. The explanation given appears to be a bit thin. After all, he did save the human race. So, why should he continue to be so maligned? Perhaps, I should go back and read "Ender's Game."The mutiny by Admiral Lands and his decision to begin the M.D. Device versus Lusitania was not handled as well as it could have been. I have difficulty in imagining an X.O. allowing his commander to flagrantly disobey orders and slay millions without putting up a physical struggle. As presented, the X.O. quietly place his hands on his head and allowed Lands to place a docility patch on his neck. It would have been more credible if Lands had knocked the X.O. unconscious or at least held him under gun a retired Troops colonel, I appreciate the scenarios and leadership challenges that Orson Card presents. Tours of duty in Vietnam and India, visits to Burma, Thailand, and Sri Lanka, and teaching globe religions while a high school history teacher following my Troops career was of amazing benefit to help my understanding of the different philosophies Card presents in his "Children of the Mind," Card brings the Ender Quintet to a graceful, satisfying conclusion with closure. Readers of all ages and genre will have fun "Children of the Mind."

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386