Read christian adventures in south africa reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all christian adventures in south africa reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living in . . . South Africa []  2020-1-29 17:53

    AMAZING! My son and I absolutely enjoyed this book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living in . . . South Africa []  2020-1-29 17:53

    Unbelievable bonuses for mates who are South African for their children/grandchildren!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living in . . . South Africa []  2020-1-29 17:53

    These books are simply amazing. My daughter is absolutely addicted. We are planning to EVERY book in this series! :)

    0  


    Add your opinion on christian adventures in south africa or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living in . . . South Africa []  2020-1-29 17:53

    This is a unbelievable book to introduce a child to the various cultures

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living in . . . South Africa []  2020-1-29 17:53

    Follow small David around on his typical day in South Africa and learn about his country's history, culture, and favorite past-times.Another amazing one from Living in... Unbelievable intro to the people and culture of South Africa. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living in . . . South Africa []  2020-1-29 17:53

    I bought two children's books on South Africa this month and both were great! I pre-ordered this one got it on its released date, which is always awesome. "Living in...South Africa" is amazing for teaching early learners about the people and history of South Africa. It's beautiful informative, but not so much that it would go over a child's head. It reads more like a teaching tool than a bedtime story, but that's amazing for families who travel a lot or for parents who just wish to teach their kids about another country and culture. The other title, which I'd also recommend, is about a small girl named Keesha and her two moms who go on a 7-day South African Adventure. Both of these books would create perfect additions to any library. Recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living in . . . South Africa []  2020-1-29 17:53

    This series is amazing. We ordered through Scholastic at school. My 7 yr is totally hooked on to this series. Who knew South Africa has 3 capitals? Now I do, Thanks to reading this book with my son. The best part is I have learnt so a lot of fresh things by reading this series with him. This series is a amazing bonus option for 7/8 yr olds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Living in . . . South Africa []  2020-1-29 17:53

    This book is absolutely gorgeous! As a South African living in the US, I really wanted to search a amazing selection of books relating to South Africa for my 6 year old daughter. This book does not disappoint! A++

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in Africa []  2020-1-25 17:37

    I ordered two copies for bonuses and one for myself to share. For the travler on the street or simply in life, that understands that often things are beyond our control but that does not have to be a poor thing. A mini vacation for an older travler on a Montana winter night, making longing for the next adventure somehow more appealing and a plesant method to drift off for the evening, quiet and safe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in Africa []  2020-1-25 17:37

    In 1997, Gianni Celati, well-known Italian literary figure since the nineteen sixties and author of fiction, essays and translations, embarked on a journey into West Africa, accompanied by his friend, the movie maker Jean Talon, with the intention to research the work of the traditional Dogon healers, based in the Malian "Centre for Traditional Medicine" in Bandiagara. Traveling unaccompanied into a globe they did not know much about, not able to communicate except in the lingua franca of the educated, French, they negotiated their method through the country with local people for transport, tutorials and accommodation. It is as Celati confesses "a comedy of errors, delays, misinformation, and wandering about, as contacts are unfindable, means of transportation are unreliable, and complications arise at every turn". Celati's observations and musings have been published as "Adventures in Africa", based on a series of notebooks (nine altogether) that he kept like a travelogue during the trip that took them beyond Mali also to Senegal and across the border to took me quite a while to obtain into the spirit of Celati's writing: jottings also in terms of unfinished sentences and thoughts... much is left to our own knowledge or imagination. His description of everyday info of their first days of wandering through Bamako, Mali's capital, and traveling to other cities en route to Bandiagara, the centre of the Dogon region, can be anything from tedious to repetitive to slightly funny and ironical. Only when they finally reach their intended destination do the short info snippets unfurl into a more comprehensive acc of their experiences and encounters. Even then, Celati is more concerned with his "stinginess" and his frustrations with the people around him than much else. Still, amidst all these ramblings we can detect gems of observational clarity, astute depiction of individuals and their demeanour in their Dogon context. While the original objective of the trip, to prepare for a documentary on the Dogon healer, does appear to become questionable, the visit itself is extended beyond Mali's borders. Eventually Celati relaxes into the local rhythms and attitudes that create him feel closer to the locals than to the other tourists they encounter... and he has unbelievable comments about those as well as the would-be experts expats and anthropologists. Celati gives a detailed caricature of the "tourist", somebody innocently bumbling along in a foreign environment where he perceives everybody as a kind of trader, "starting with less than ten years old". He also gives himself the aura of the "writer on vacation", writing in more or less hospitable surroundings, losing himself in the colours and atmosphere of the locale, losing his sense of time...While I found "Adventures in Africa" overall, despite its weaknesses spelled out above, a worthwhile read, I cannot really recommend it highly to readers who are not already familiar with this region of Africa, unless they are willing to undertake much background research themselves first. Other than the interesting introduction by Rebecca West into Celati's writing history and some context for the book, the reader is left very much to his own devices to follow the itinerary, put the towns and villages, visualize the people and landscapes. There are no maps, no explanation of local terms, no background info to historical and socio-political context, no photos of what the book is describing. [Friederike Knabe]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in Africa []  2020-1-25 17:37

    Maybe there are two ways of writing about travel. First, you write about startling things or things that other people normally might not notice. Second,you show a somewhat ordinary globe but you do so in high-flown prose that---because of the quality of the writing---carries the reader along no matter what. This journalistic travel book seems one that a publisher might have picked up ONLY because the writer is well known. It is neither well written nor particularly acute in what it sees and reports. Too often there is a grim habit of stereotype, and always there is a languid sense of a prose style that suggests small more than some jottings in a loose-leaf along the way. A Graham Greene brings heart, keen perception, and inspiration to his "Journey without Maps" into Africa, and may other writers encounter people who remain in your mind. Celati just putters along.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in Africa []  2020-1-25 17:37

    Very engaging book about all that is ordinary yet extraordinary in what to a lot of readers may initially seem exotic places.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Adventures in Africa []  2020-1-25 17:37

    After reading Adventures in Africa, we think that this book was not the best book ever. We thought that it was rather dull throughout almost the whole book. One reason that we might have thought that it was dull is because, the book is written like a journal. We haven't ever read a book written like a journal before, and I don't like that style of writing. That could have had an impact on us not liking the book, or just simply because we didn't like the method it was written. Also, the story line was not too interesting. Each journal that he would write each day would just tell about what he did that day. It is like reading a book about a person that sits at home all day. The main hero was a tourist in Africa, and would meet fresh people and travel to various places. Most of the day's he would do the same thing. We found this book to be very repetitive, and we search that beautiful boring about books. He would always tell about how he would go to this river and watch all the people bathe. He would do that daily for a long period of time, and it just got old. After that he would go to a cliff and climb it everyday. Most days though, he would take a tour bus somewhere. While he was in Africa he created a lot of friends, sometimes it was hard to hold them straight. His mate Jean, was his best friend, they went almost everywhere together. This book isn't the best book, and we wouldn't recommend it unless you like to read other peoples' journals. We just didn't search it interesting at all. It didn't grab my attention or create me actually wish to read the book. The only reason why we read it was because we had to for a grade.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cape Town to Kruger: Backpacker Adventures in South Africa and Swaziland (Round the World Travel Book 1) []  2020-1-21 22:43

    It was so nice to read a book that is well written and edited. Mr. Dwyer gave vivid descriptions of where he was and what he was seeing and doing. You can read about his adventures bungee jumping, swimming with the sharks, diving under a raging sea and setting Africa on fire. He threw in just enough history to create it interesting without being dry or boring. I was so interested that I did a “Google Drive” around South Africa and was pleasantly surprised by how attractive the country is. Of course there is the other side which the author described along with race and class distinctions that still exists. I would definitely read other books by Mr. Dwyer and would recommend this book to anyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cape Town to Kruger: Backpacker Adventures in South Africa and Swaziland (Round the World Travel Book 1) []  2020-1-21 22:44

    to read about the most unbelievable locations on earth, South Africa and Kruger Park

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cape Town to Kruger: Backpacker Adventures in South Africa and Swaziland (Round the World Travel Book 1) []  2020-1-21 22:44

    This book provided a special view into South Africa. John is a amazing storyteller and understands how to hold the reader engaged with just the right mix of history, culture and private insight. When I finished this book I felt that I had accompanied John on this awesome journey. Overall a very entertaining read and I look forward to the next chronicle of John's globe travels.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cape Town to Kruger: Backpacker Adventures in South Africa and Swaziland (Round the World Travel Book 1) []  2020-1-21 22:43

    I read this recently after returning from two weeks in South Africa. We visited family who have lived in Cape City for the past four years and then we flew to Sabi Sabi Android game Reserve, which shares a border with Kruger. I always debate about reading books about the zone I am going to visit - do I read them before I go to become familiar with the zone or do I read them after returning home so that I have a context in which to put it? This trip, I did a bit of both.I found this travel narrative to be a amazing read and very reflective of what I found after my own travels. I appreciated Mr Dwyer's writing in that he seemed to wish to share his experiences without making himself the center of the story, which often happens in this genre. He talks about his experiences without a obvious agenda which is another point in his favor. I also found his writing style engaging to read and one that allows the reader to draw pictures in the mind's eye of what is described in tom Line: If you have been in this area, I think you will have fun reliving some the beauty and splendor of the country. If you have yet to create it here, it may be what inspires you to move it up on your travel priority list. I actually want I had read it before I went AND upon my return. Two reads would have created sense.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cape Town to Kruger: Backpacker Adventures in South Africa and Swaziland (Round the World Travel Book 1) []  2020-1-21 22:43

    This was a very enjoyable book of this authors travels in South Africa. He takes us through the attractive coastal towns of South Africa and into Swaziland. He has a very natural method of talking to us and drawing us into his adventures. He giving us unbelievable descriptions of the zone and some interesting history of the locations he passes through, and of the people he meets..He will quite often recite a saying from Nelson Mandela's book, Long Walk to Freedom, which gave us even more insight into the feel of the country and it's people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cape Town to Kruger: Backpacker Adventures in South Africa and Swaziland (Round the World Travel Book 1) []  2020-1-21 22:44

    A watered down travel log by a tourist with his rather boring visits to the standard tourist attractions in S Africa rattling on with detailed accounts of the wild animals he saw from the protection of a tour bus. A total waste of time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cape Town to Kruger: Backpacker Adventures in South Africa and Swaziland (Round the World Travel Book 1) []  2020-1-21 22:44

    I received this ebook via Kindle through a promo by the author. More of the private reflections with this travelogue narrative would have created it a richer experience. It all happened so fast, from one zone to the next with occasional glimpses of the terrain and inhabitants. The history pieces were helpful and I enjoyed the geographic descriptions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cape Town to Kruger: Backpacker Adventures in South Africa and Swaziland (Round the World Travel Book 1) []  2020-1-21 22:44

    amazing resource

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cape Town to Kruger: Backpacker Adventures in South Africa and Swaziland (Round the World Travel Book 1) []  2020-1-21 22:43

    John writes well, and as a white South African it is always interesting to see your country through the eyes of a tourist! I must congratulate John on his spelling of put names or the occasional quote of a local word. Some writers are very shoddy about spelling in another language. I am sorry for the few outspoken racists you came across -- we are certainly not all like that! My feeling is, however, that you need a return journey, because you missed so much of interest. What about our west (Atlantic) coast, who is the complete and total opposite of the east (Indian Ocean) coast. You circumvented the entire centre of SA (okay, it's often very flat ...), but meeting more local people might have been interesting. You were in Cape town, but you didn't mention visiting the Winelands, which is really not to be missed! You should maybe also have done more hopping from one coastal village to the other. Oh -- one mistake had me laughing -- you tell about the mischievous monkey in St Lucia, and called it a "verdant" monkey! The type of monkey is actually a "vervet monkey"!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cape Town to Kruger: Backpacker Adventures in South Africa and Swaziland (Round the World Travel Book 1) []  2020-1-21 22:44

    This is informative, well written, and interesting. The book tells of the author's journey on his long awaited trip to travel the world. This segment is from Cape City to Kruger. He tells of awesome locations and the people he met along the 's a amazing method to learn about these locations as they really are, and not in a fictional setting. An simple read that moves right along.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion in South Africa (1894) []  2020-1-17 22:42

    This book written by African hunter and naturalist FC Selous prior to 1900 and describes his numerous encounters with wild lions. It is written in first person and reads lous describes several encounters with the lions and notes that as far back as the 1890's, the lions were becoming noticeably fewer from over hunting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion in South Africa (1894) []  2020-1-17 22:42

    As advertised

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa: History in an Hour []  2020-1-22 22:11

    Amazing overview of South Africa. I bought the kindle edition, and felt the length and style of this book were excellent for the kindle format. I would read other books in this series. Reading this won't create you an expert on South Africa but will give you enough context to be able to dive deeper into other books.I bought this to support me write a paper on South Africa history, and felt it was worth the investment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa: History in an Hour []  2020-1-22 22:11

    Short and crisp. Just a dip into the history of SA after the first Dutch colonists arrived till the abolition of apartheid and formation of the republic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa: History in an Hour []  2020-1-22 22:11

    Unbelievable fast summary to read on the plane en route. Very clear and simple to understand

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa: History in an Hour []  2020-1-22 22:11

    While on a three week visit latest year to South Afrika I read the long walk to freedom by Nelson Mandella. This and being from the Netherlands now living in the USA, lead me further my knowledge about the history of this country. Anyone who is gong to visit South Afrika should read this book first and will understand and appreciate this fascinating country.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa: History in an Hour []  2020-1-22 22:11

    Unfortunately the Kindle edition does not contain 2 appendices, so you don't learn anything after 1994. It suddenly ends at 64%. That is something that Amazon should advise the reder before ahe buys the book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion in South Africa (1894) []  2020-1-17 22:42

    "A Hunter's Wanderings in Africa" by the same author is a far better for your buck than "The Lion in South Africa." The "Wanderings" book is far longer and therefore tells you far more about the hunter-writer and his vast experience big-game hunting in Africa. "The Lion" is amazing but it came to an abrupt end, disappointing to me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion in South Africa (1894) []  2020-1-17 22:42

    F. C. Selous writes well and spins a amazing tale. Amazing info on lion size and behavior with a fine adventure thrown in. A read will work the time but a short time. Makes one clamor for more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion in South Africa (1894) []  2020-1-17 22:42

    slow moving

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion in South Africa (1894) []  2020-1-17 22:42

    Very interesting book well written and very descriptive. Not much book through. Took less than an hour to read. Could have been twice as long.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa: History in an Hour []  2020-1-22 22:11

    Amazing book for fast history lesson on South Africa. Sums up the history of South Africa very well, and audio is better to read the book. This bool i would recommend if you need to know fast history on South Africa. Very interestimg and keeps you wish to read more. Simple Read and audio makes it even easier.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion in South Africa (1894) []  2020-1-17 22:42

    Amazing boat about bygone era.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion in South Africa (1894) []  2020-1-17 22:42

    The book arrived in amazing time but I found it not very entertaining and short. I read it in an afternoon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa: History in an Hour []  2020-1-22 22:11

    I had no idea that South Africa had such a very interesting history I just didn't know and I was satisfied to read the history in an hour so now I'm going to research other history books about South Africa and the folks mentioned in the book..It is such a shame our school system is so lacking and our kids have no knowledge of the past....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa: History in an Hour []  2020-1-22 22:11

    Brief but thorough history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion in South Africa (1894) []  2020-1-17 22:42

    A short story which told a part of the life of one man and hunting skills. Not overly inspiring but this man was a character in Southern Africa, that story should have been told.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lion in South Africa (1894) []  2020-1-17 22:42

    A amazing book on hunting history. This man knew Africa in the glory days.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa: History in an Hour []  2020-1-22 22:11

    A brief review. Probably sufficient for some one who wants to know a small bit about the history of this country for some one visiting, just like me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa: History in an Hour []  2020-1-22 22:11

    A concise survey of So. Africa history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Best of South Africa: Top Visitor Attractions in South Africa []  2020-4-1 19:50

    It's amazing for the (free), but beautiful sparse and superficial. A few decent pics though, and recommendations for websites

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Life and Adventures in South Florida (1885) []  2020-1-22 21:2

    I ordered this book around the 1st of e copy was totally unreadable.I applied for a replacement and one came today,equally fouled up .I compared the 2 copies and realized the IS PRINTING .whether by person or program was improperly collated,there are NO ODD NUMBERED PAGES.I would suggest taking it off the shop until this issue is addressed.I can mail both copies back but I consider it a waste of my time and your .As I payed this with cc points I DON'T NEED A REFUND ,but I AM NOT AUTHORISING ANOTHER CHARGE IF I DON'T SEND THIS TRASH BACK.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Life and Adventures in South Florida (1885) []  2020-1-22 21:2

    Half the pages were missing. I returned it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empire, War & Cricket in South Africa: Logan of Matjiesfontein []  2020-1-18 19:22

    I was given a copy of “Empire, Battle & Cricket in South Africa” for a gift. As an American I’m not familiar with South Africa or cricket so I was intrigued. This is the story of James D. Logan a Scotsman who brought his culture, politics and cricket to South Africa. Mr. Logan was a person that didn’t have much when he arrived in South Africa. Over several decades he built the community Matjiesfontein, by building political mates and introducing the android game of cricket to the area. The book talks about how working with the railroad system and restraunts along the way. How he got involved with politics and his contributions in the Boer an Allen has written a fascinating book that touches on so much of the happenings of the time. While reading it I wanted to understand more of that era. I looked up how cricket was played, the story of the Boer Battle and what was event in South Africa. I highly recommend this unbelievable book and you’ll search the multiple images fascinating .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Queen's Cowboys: Travels in the New South Africa []  2020-1-17 22:42

    I found this a very disappointing piece of work and possibly one of the dullest works about Africa

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One Young Fool in South Africa (Old Fools Book 8) []  2020-1-22 21:45

    We got to know Joe through his wife Victoria's delightful memoirs about their expat life in Spain. Joe's memories about growing up in kids and boys homes in South Africa was captivating and endearing from the first page on. He shares with a refreshing honesty some dark, a lot of satisfied and often bitter sweet recollections of reaching adulthood without the help of a family. My heart went out to the small boy who didn't have the best begin life, but proves that no matter what one is handed, one can create the best out of it . Congratulations Joe to a amazing begin in a hopefully flourishing writing career.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One Young Fool in South Africa (Old Fools Book 8) []  2020-1-22 21:45

    Perfect insight into life in South Africa through the ryes of a 'white' boy who spent all of his growing up years in an orphanage in the 1950's and 60's. The individuals private growth & development takes center scene in the surreal globe of a racially divided country. The writers private experiences are eloquently shared and are funny, sad and overall uplifting. The innocence of a child, always seeking the best options on a day to day basis, in a globe that is both frightening and insecure.I enjoyed the book immensely and it gave me a very various and private perspective of what it must have been like living in South Africa without the overtones of political ideology.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    African Ways Again: More recollections of life in South Africa []  2020-1-22 21:53

    Have fun Val's books thus far however, just sampled Watery Ways and am beyond confused as to how this would be the next? in Val's series of memoirs. She skipped the return to Africa and what the heck happened with her marriage? I may be missing something, but I wish to know what happened after African Ways Again. African Ways Again really showed the strength Val has as a woman making the right decisions for her children, who seem to thoroughly have fun their life. Would like more info on how does she feel around some of the difficulties she has gone through.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    African Ways Again: More recollections of life in South Africa []  2020-1-22 21:53

    I loved this book. It brought back so a lot of memories of my life in South Africa, and so a lot of of the locations that Valerie writes about. I only want the book lasted a lot longer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One Young Fool in South Africa (Old Fools Book 8) []  2020-1-22 21:45

    Joe gives us a glimpse of life without parents. He lives in an institution that has strict rules and structure. He shows the interactions between residents and staff in a realistic and somewhat shocking way. He reveals his propensity for violence to hold tomaintain survival and acceptance with his peers. One wonders if he will used this as a means to succeed through life in the future. Hopefully he will explore more diplomatic methods to succeed. Joe is an perfect writer and his descriptions certainly draw the reader into an intimacy with life around him. Very well done first novel and I am looking forward to a sequel. I have learned to understand a small of what motivates him to be who he is. I do,wonder what he did not like about Billy Graham or what interpretations he gave to the gospel accounts of the Bible as he did not elaborate. I’m amazed at his ability to write so well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One Young Fool in South Africa (Old Fools Book 8) []  2020-1-22 21:45

    Joe Twead, my hat's off to you, sir. I finished your book at two this morning, and wanted to allow you know that. You've lived a hard life, and are much the better for it. In fact, I hope you are working on a sequel. I wish to know more about your life in Britain and in its military service, how you met Beaky, and your lives together. So, off to the computer with you!!! LOL

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    African Ways Again: More recollections of life in South Africa []  2020-1-22 21:53

    Val Poore takes us on another warm adventure of her South African years in the mid-80’s. Her family moves from the peace of the farm to Byrne and ultimately on to Richmond. Every word makes us feel the vibrations of daily life on the countryside from the antics of using an antiquated phone to the break–down of old vehicles as she courageously transports her girls from put to place. I could see the shopping sprees in the local village at Speedway and visualize the Zulu mothers balancing their sleeping kids along with their groceries on top of their heads. I could feel Val’s anxiousness as she interviewed for her first full-time job in Richmond after becoming a single parent and I felt her embarrassment when her small girls decided to break and enter into a locked-away room to discover their landlady’s secret treasures. There are so a lot of astonishing pieces to this sequel to African Ways yet as in life, all amazing things must come to an end. There were signs that this cycle of peace was about to change and Val and her family read the warnings and moved on while they were still filled with a lot of precious memories of South Africa!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    African Ways Again: More recollections of life in South Africa []  2020-1-22 21:53

    I love all of Val's books. I've read all her Watery Ways books, and was curious about her life before she moved to the Netherlands. Well, African Ways filled in a lot of the gaps, and now we obtain a sequel to continue her African adventure. Life has moved on, away from the farm where she and her family spent their first few years. As the kids are growing up they move to a little city which has a lot of the conveniences we take for granted - plentiful running water and electricity - which they didn't have on the farm. But the drawback is moving away from the close mates they had created there. This is a delightful book, I really love Val's writing style, and you can imagine the life she describes so well. I'm hoping that we will obtain to share another slice of Val's life very soon. I recommend this book to anyone interested in Africa, and anyone who really enjoys a good, well written story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    African Ways Again: More recollections of life in South Africa []  2020-1-22 21:53

    Loved reading about Valerie and her family in Richmond. So a lot of stories that I could relate to. An simple read and I will definitely be moving on to her next one

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    African Ways Again: More recollections of life in South Africa []  2020-1-22 21:53

    Loved writing style and content. Valerie makes her verbal pictures vivid and her characters come alive. I intend to read more of her books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Queen's Cowboys: Travels in the New South Africa []  2020-1-17 22:42

    A well written and informative read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Queen's Cowboys: Travels in the New South Africa []  2020-1-17 22:42

    I was a Boy Scout, so I researched Lord Baden Powell, the founder of the Scouting movement and learned a bit about the Anglo-Boer War. Later, I read a number of Winston Churchill's books on the battle and amazing fiction stories written by G A Henty about the Boer War. On Amazing Reads, I saw this book and purchased it in the Kindle ver to learn more about the Canadian soldiers who fought in this war. When I started reading, I discovered that this was not just a history, but an in-depth review of the political situation in South Africa up to 2010. It is also a journey of remembrance of the author who grew up in South Africa and retraced some of his boyhood memories. It is also a picture of the decline of South Africa due to government corruption and incompetence under the fresh regime. It is a view through the eyes of the citizens currently living and working there. This book is troubling, informative, educational, entertaining, and an perfect read! I found an perfect website, anglo-boer war, and used the maps of the country in 1899 to 1902 as well as google maps to follow the travels of the author and his son. This is not a history, a travel guide, or a rememberance, but all of that and more!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empire, War & Cricket in South Africa: Logan of Matjiesfontein []  2020-1-18 19:22

    Fascinating insight into the life of a Scotsman who made a town, Matjiesfontein, in the remote Karoo, South AfricaBy Jacqui TaylorWell researched, highly readable and entertaining story about an enterprising Scotsman, Lord Logan, who made a 'Garden of Eden' health resort and town, Matjiesfontein, in South Africa's Karoo. Full of interesting historical stories of the Anglo-Boer battle which started just after the Lord Milner Hotel was built, and cricket, the first match in South Africa was played here! This book brings to life this unbelievable town's story! Buy the book and then visit the town, special in South Africa's rich historical past.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunters Three: Sport and Adventure in South Africa (1895) []  2020-1-16 2:46

    a beautiful amazing book,it is a small dated but still a very enjoyable e women who are in this book are actually hunters,although a few rescues do occur.if you just can't decide go ahead,i think you will have fun it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunters Three: Sport and Adventure in South Africa (1895) []  2020-1-16 2:46

    Faster paced than most old Africa works. The addition of women hunters was fresh adventure also. Enjoyable book for your Kindle

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Queen's Cowboys: Travels in the New South Africa []  2020-1-17 22:42

    Really long winded

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Queen's Cowboys: Travels in the New South Africa []  2020-1-17 22:42

    A history of the Boer Battle one can understand without going to sleep. An unvarnished non politically correct real view of SA today. Black rule ruins the best country in Africa. Just like all the rest have gone down the tubes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empire, War & Cricket in South Africa: Logan of Matjiesfontein []  2020-1-18 19:22

    The story is a fascinating one and has parallels with our modern times - jobs for pals, corruption, arrogance in politics, business and sports administration. Unfortunately, Allen goes on far too long. I found myself skipping chunks of text. However, it's worth a read, especially if you've been to, or intend going to Matjiesfontein

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One Young Fool in South Africa (Old Fools Book 8) []  2020-1-22 21:45

    Lots of us were waiting on Joe's book. It was interesting reading it because he would write about his life and then he would have an zone in italics where he was talking to his wife. Joe grew up in South Africa and as his mother wasn't able to take care of him he was place in three various homes. The first one was horrendous for a boy who was allowed to roam free, then a amazing one and then the one that he stayed in until he was 18. While horrible things happened to him this isn't just a sad book but he shares some unbelievable stories of camping and finding other people to love him. Victoria was correct Joe--sometimes there was just too much "architect" info and I had to skim. But when the book ended it was like--what!! I need to know the info going forward from there!! I recommend this book and hey Joe--get busy we need the sequel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    African Ways Again: More recollections of life in South Africa []  2020-1-22 21:53

    I loved this sequel. Like all her books, Valerie doesn't lose focus on the topic matter which is the put or travel experience. We obtain an inside view peppered with colourful selections from her me travel memoirs completely focus on the author's emotional state which is usually some type of running anxiety sharing every worrying thought. Valerie is quite different. She might mention her feelings at times but it is only to give context and understand better what she was experiencing. This balance is what distinguishes her from the pact.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunters Three: Sport and Adventure in South Africa (1895) []  2020-1-16 2:46

    Not to exiting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunters Three: Sport and Adventure in South Africa (1895) []  2020-1-16 2:46

    Enjoyed the book. It was true interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Queen's Cowboys: Travels in the New South Africa []  2020-1-17 22:42

    African travelGreat book on African adventure. If you like this book you will wish to read the following 99 cent classics of African travels:1. Alone Among the Zulus: The Narrative of a Journey Through the Zulu Country, South [email protected]#$%!&[email protected]#$%!&[email protected] Footsteps in East Africa or, An Exploration of Harar [Illustrated] (1856)3. Tropical Africa (1889)4. A Camera Actress in the Wilds of Togoland (1915)5. The Life and Exploits of Hugh Clapperton the Distinguished Voyager, Adventurer, and Discoverer (1840)6. Scouting for Stanley in East Africa (1890)7. Through the Kalahari Desert (1886)8. Lassoing Wild Animals in Africa (Illustrated) (1911)9. Stories of the Gorilla Country (1870)10. The Unknown Horn of Africa (1888) (With active table of contents)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One Young Fool in South Africa (Old Fools Book 8) []  2020-1-22 21:45

    This book captures your heart and soul. The author has climbed from relative obscurity as the beloved husband in the mule series to a full blown author in his own right with the same astounding sense of humour as his wife. I fully expect this book to join those of Victoria Twead on the Fresh York Times best seller list. He took me back to my own boarding school days in 50s and 60s England and elicited both laughs and tears. I hope Joe will share with his readers his thoughts and feelings about his time in Spain. Being someone who constantly has to struggle with word counts (why not use 100 even if one or two would do) I did have fun the descriptions of architectural info of the home. Lastly the interplay between two fabulous people who I have come to love and respect ties together so well the chicken series to date. As always I eagerly await the next installments of their life story. Well done Joe......no longer one author living under your roof

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One Young Fool in South Africa (Old Fools Book 8) []  2020-1-22 21:45

    As a huge fan of the Old Fool series I didn't know what exactly to expect from this book. I need not have worried as the book was brilliantly written in a style that while various from the other "Fool" books still retains some of the same flavor. The beginnings of Joe and Vicky's powerful bond are seen here. There is a lot of detail in Joe's writing but it enhances the vividness of his memories as we are transported back to a very various time that wasn't so long ago. I have to mention that I did cry at several points but overall Joe's optimism and no nonsense view of the globe come shining through. Thank you Joe for sharing your story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    African Ways Again: More recollections of life in South Africa []  2020-1-22 21:53

    I absolutely adored African Ways so was very satisfied when the author wrote a follow up.I often wondered what happened after Val, her husband and two daughters moved off the mountain down into the little city of Byrne.I loved how easily the author eases you through the roller coaster of what happens in her life, and this part of Africa, after life on the mountain. You can't support but feel somewhat sad for Val, but she pulls herself up by the bootstraps and carries on through the 'muck' .Told with warmth , charm and rich descriptions of the 's been a dream of mine since I was a kid to visit Africa and reading Val's love for KwaZulu, I can see why I have felt the yearning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    African Ways Again: More recollections of life in South Africa []  2020-1-22 21:53

    well written and entertaining.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa: The Best Of South Africa []  2020-2-2 14:52

    Amazing info on the main websites to visit in South Africa. However, I want the book would have had more practical information, such as items/clothing to take and more info on possible hidden problems such as incompatible electrical outlets for some travelers like Americans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa: The Best Of South Africa []  2020-2-2 14:52

    Could have looked up all the info using Google. Poor black and white photos. Spelling mistakes. Not worth the money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empire, War & Cricket in South Africa: Logan of Matjiesfontein []  2020-1-18 19:22

    Very informative and engaging. A look into an element of the time period that isn't widely written about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Queen's Cowboys: Travels in the New South Africa []  2020-1-17 22:42

    In "Searching for the Queen's Cowboys" Tony Maxwell takes the reader on a journey as he and his son travel across South Africa documenting the role of Strathcona's Horse, a Canadian Regiment in the " first large- scale modern battle between an advanced military power and a little backward nation of people of European descent." Intermingled with info of their journey and descriptions of major wars are Tony Maxwell's private experiences growing up in South Africa.Fascinating and often filled with humor, "Searching for the Queen's Cowboys" gives a special insight not only into the exploits of the Canadian squadron but into the modern-day issues of South Africa, a country still impacted by its violent and turbulent past.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hunters Three: Sport and Adventure in South Africa (1895) []  2020-1-16 2:46

    I enjoyed this book tremendously. A various time but it makes one think of how it would have been living in those timed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One Young Fool in South Africa (Old Fools Book 8) []  2020-1-22 21:45

    As a South African I really enjoyed this book. What could have been a sad story (no spoilers here) actually turns into a not-at-all-bad childhood and schooldays story. Yes, it has pathos and sadness, but it's also funny. One thing I would have liked is a more chronologically told history. Joe does jump from nine year old to high school boy and back, and to ages in between. Victoria is right when she tells Joe that he gets too long-winded with some descriptions, but we'll forgive that! I was very relieved that he did not delve into South African politics -- at that same age I knew and understood very small of the politics if the day, as all youngsters then, and I was terrified he'll fall into that trap so beloved of people writing about South Africa: vastly exaggerating the political situation for the sake of sensation and because it seems a "popular" thing to do. But he never discusses politics and give us an honest story of his youth and high school here. It's not a story with wild ups and downs and wonderful adventures, but it's enjoyable. Just one thing, Joe, we do have Google to support -- and you should not have spelled the names wrong of those two well-known camps in the Kruger National Park -- it's Skukuza and Pretoriuskop ....!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One Young Fool in South Africa (Old Fools Book 8) []  2020-1-22 21:45

    After reading all of his wife's memoirs and being entertained by their semi-retirement in Spain, I was interested to read about Joe's background. From such an abandoned, lonely, brutal, deprived background, it is awesome that he was able in the end to obtain an education, work successfully in a profession (engineer?) and have a long-lasting marriage. We commend the man, but found his writing style beautiful boring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One Young Fool in South Africa (Old Fools Book 8) []  2020-1-22 21:45

    I would venture to say that those of us who have enjoyed the books of this very competent author's wife (Victoria Tweed) will have purchased this book because of that very fact! However, Joe Tweed has written a very amazing interesting and quite fascinating memoir of his wonderful childhood in South Africa which stands alone! I have no issue with my feeling that this book deserves a 5 star rating but one thing that did not sit well with me was the inclusion of the discourse between Joe and Victoria throughout, I had a small niggle in my head about the fact she should be letting him fly alone. That said this book is not at all dark as some say, instead it is an honest and unvarnished acc of a an unusual childhood.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    African Ways Again: More recollections of life in South Africa []  2020-1-22 21:53

    I was really satisfied to see that Val Poore had published her sequel to the perfect “African Ways”. The format has changed with each chapter being a separate memory of the family’s life in rural Natal, South Africa. Val has continued with her detailed, humorous and sometimes sad life of day to day life in a changing, domestic, political and work life for the family including the pet animals. The book is quick flowing and I felt I was a family mate watching from the sidelines the ups and downs, likes and dislikes of the family friends. Well done Val, I thouroughly enjoyed your book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa: The Best Of South Africa []  2020-2-2 14:52

    This book is the most helpful, informative book I've read in my quest to emigrate to south africa! As a loan UK woman wanting to begin a tourist business over there safety & ways of getting around & where might be suitable are very high on my list of things I need to know, fan book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa: The Best Of South Africa []  2020-2-2 14:52

    I do like to travel but have not considered putting South Africa on my list of put I wish to someday visit. I’m changing my mind about the place. I knew very small about the put except for Apartheid and the birthplace of Nelson Mandela but I have not because of this book placed Cape City on it. I didn’t realize it was considered arguable the most attractive town in the world. Gary Jones, the author contains many, a lot of links in this travel book and pictures of the beach along with links to maps. Restaurants are listed, coffee shops, bars and clubs, hotels, shopping, and some of the interesting towns in the Cape City ere are nine locations covered in the book which cover such things as weather and safety, lots of links to maps, etc and Cape City is just one of the locations that resonated with me personally.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa: The Best Of South Africa []  2020-2-2 14:52

    This book covered each location and hot linked the web websites of key sites, hotels, etc. I would have liked a small more information on the top things to do in each area.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa: The Best Of South Africa []  2020-2-2 14:52

    I loved this book on multiple levels. It is filled with attractive pictures from South Africa. This magical and mystical land is amazing. I haven't ever visited, but checked out this book because I wanted to know more and after previewing the book I could see it would be excellent to learn more. It covers the history of South Africa and the problems they have faced. It also shows you things you aren't going to wish to miss when traveling around the country. I can't wait to travel there!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa: The Best Of South Africa []  2020-2-2 14:52

    Valuable information

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa: The Best Of South Africa []  2020-2-2 14:52

    have only had the book for an hour or so but has lots of access to www services etc. thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa: The Best Of South Africa []  2020-2-2 14:52

    If you need a compendium of www services punctuated with "!" this is the book for you.I wasted my money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    BOOMER: ON THE ROAD IN AFRICA: BOOK ONE: Mali to South Africa (BOOMER ON THE ROAD) []  2020-1-16 12:57

    A amazing read for anyone thinking of doing a related trip. This enjoyable book is written with honesty and has some interesting background detail on the African countries visited. Definitely shows the good, the poor and the ugly of African overland tours!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    BOOMER: ON THE ROAD IN AFRICA: BOOK ONE: Mali to South Africa (BOOMER ON THE ROAD) []  2020-1-16 12:57

    A well written acc of the ups and downs of overland travel. Gives a realistic idea of what to expect. Africa is a diverse and unbelievable put to visit and by travelling overland you are exposed to locations and people you would never see or meet otherwise. However, conditions can be tough and relationships with other travellers can be difficult. Sometimes there is too much detail.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Insects of South Africa [App]  2019-12-2 21:33

    Amazing application but all my information on my private list is lost after recent modernize

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Wildflowers of South Africa [App]  2019-12-1 13:32

    This application has very few plants in not helpful for id on the fly i will stick to my handbooks.. would like a

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa Birding Checklist [App]  2019-11-13 21:34

    This application would be amazing really struggling to transfer the pictures and sounds to my phone so not much support at the moment. They have been downloaded to my PC but I have no idea as to how to transfer them to the application on the phone

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa, Lesotho & Swaziland []  2020-1-16 12:45

    This travel book is definitely NOT your grandma's travel guide. The authors recently traveled the length and breadth of post-apartheid South Africa and obviously loved it. I found out so a lot of delightful things that I did know about my own country. The authors traveled both on and off the beaten track. The book combines geography, anthropology, history, sociology, helpful tip and wise suggestions into one book. There are delightful images too. I take it with me when I visit South Africa from the US where I now live and feel excited by their new and invigorating views and tip for visiting and learning about one of the most attractive countries on earth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa Breaking News [App]  2019-4-17 13:22

    👌

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa Breaking News [App]  2019-4-17 13:22

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa Breaking News [App]  2019-4-17 13:22

    Alot of news that you dont always hear or see on tv.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386