Read chronicles of the kilner family reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all chronicles of the kilner family reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chronicles of the Kilner Family []  2021-4-6 23:3

    The story and plot are solid, written with an enjoyable flow, and the editing is just about excellent so I was able to read without distractions. I blew through it all in one sitting, and now am sad that there isn't more of it to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2020-2-7 18:0

    I was so satisfied to see the Kent Family Chronicles (or better known as the Bicentennial Series in the 1970s) on Kindle. I absolutely loved this series and remember reading it when it first came out. I couldn't wait for the next book to be released. Now that my eyes aren't as amazing as they used to be I am not able to read the little words on the book. I haven't read the series since they first came out. I just saw them on Kindle and ordered the whole set. Now I will sit down and once again read about a family's journey growing with America.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2020-2-7 18:0

    Is always a blast. I have loved this series for years. I'm glad it has been place into Kindle format, because I remember carrying these books to school, to squeeze as much out of them in a day as possible. And so it is here. Just a unbelievable series. If you missed them in 75-76 when they came out, read them now. If you read them then, read them again. For sure, they will support people remember what our country used to be, and how we've moved away.

    0  


    Add your opinion on chronicles of the kilner family or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2020-2-7 18:0

    Mr Jakes has written a large series that historians may deliberate over. Not the general history, but how he makes one family meet so a lot of necessary people. Teachers who want students to obtain the general timeline and the names of so very a lot of of the people who gave us, in the US, our so precious liberties at a rather high cost, ( as it still rates) will be satisfied to recommnend these books. I truly loved the info of life in the times Mr Jakes shared with us in his so lovely descriptive books. Occasionally a small slow in movement, but picks up each ane every time I seem complacent. Thank you Mr Jakes for so descriptive and interesting historical perspectives a lot of I never had before! DKW

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2020-8-2 18:0

    Lots of books occupy this genre - the factional, or fictionalised fact, historical novel. But this series is one of the best. It is pointless to say that this is history romanticised beyond belief - Jakes has such a compelling, misleadingly simple, writing style that one is swept along in the story. There is enough historical verisimilitude around the central characters to create it feel as if one is watching history unfold. Completely and utterly readable. It is nice to read this book alongside a history book, and look up the historical happenings as they play out in the story, to see how closely Jakes sticks with fact (very close indeed, by the way), but it is the fictional characters and the fictional storyline that gives the story its impetus. Highly, highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2020-8-2 18:0

    This is the second time around for the reading of The Kent Family Chronicles. My considerable library holds all the works of John Jakes. I only want I had the entire set on CD's and audio books for when my eyesight or hearing fails me. This series not only entertains but provides the history of America's coming of age in such a method that the reader is so engrossed he does not even think about these books as history, but oh, how much he learns or so I have found it to be true. I have expounded the worth of Mr. Jake's writings to everyone I come in contact with that even lightly mentions reading to me. Even told John Grisham that he was a amazing second to John Jakes. He replied he was glad to be in the same company as Mr. Jakes. I hope someday to travel to Hilton Head to experience attending a summer theatre performance of a play and to meet Mr Jakes. As I am rapidly approaching the twilight years, I must create that trip soon!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2021-3-20 18:0

    John Jakes’ books were very famous in the 1970s and 1980s. In my 20s, I tried reading the first book in the North and South series and just couldn’t obtain into it. Further, while hero development and historical detail were good, I found the plot and pacing left much to be ess what? Now in my 60s, I search that The @#$%!&?, the first book in the Kent Family Chronicles is much the same. In fact, I think the title should be changed to A Story About a Boy Who Can’t Catch a Break or Create Up His Mind Told Very Slowly.” Fortunately, the latest 5 chapters or so finally add exciting pacing and edge-of-your-seat tension as the first spark of the American Revolution is lit. Up to that point however, for the reader, it’s a forced march thru deep mud to obtain there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2021-3-20 18:0

    This is the second time around for the reading of The Kent Family Chronicles. My considerable library holds all the works of John Jakes. I only want I had the entire set on CD's and audio books for when my eyesight or hearing fails me. This series not only entertains but provides the history of America's coming of age in such a method that the reader is so engrossed he does not even think about these books as history, but oh, how much he learns or so I have found it to be true. I have expounded the worth of Mr. Jake's writings to everyone I come in contact with that even lightly mentions reading to me. Even told John Grisham that he was a amazing second to John Jakes. He replied he was glad to be in the same company as Mr. Jakes. I hope someday to travel to Hilton Head to experience attending a summer theatre performance of a play and to meet Mr Jakes. As I am rapidly approaching the twilight years, I must create that trip soon!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2020-2-7 18:0

    Lots of books occupy this genre - the factional, or fictionalised fact, historical novel. But this series is one of the best. It is pointless to say that this is history romanticised beyond belief - Jakes has such a compelling, misleadingly simple, writing style that one is swept along in the story. There is enough historical verisimilitude around the central characters to create it feel as if one is watching history unfold. Completely and utterly readable. It is nice to read this book alongside a history book, and look up the historical happenings as they play out in the story, to see how closely Jakes sticks with fact (very close indeed, by the way), but it is the fictional characters and the fictional storyline that gives the story its impetus. Highly, highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2020-2-7 18:0

    this is one of the best series i have ever read. I have read all 8 of books. They just obtain better with each book. The violence is actually historical, everything is well checked out. You think things like like that couldn't happen in this country but they did. the civil battle was poor in a lot of ways. The books are about several generations of a family. You can obtain very involved with a family. You love , hurt, have sorrow and joy with them. you will not regret getting this series. Ebbie

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2020-8-2 18:0

    Please hold in mind that John Jakes is writing fiction and “The @#$%!&?” might be classified best as fiction, historical rather than the inverse. Why the distinction? As others have noted, there are some “liberties” taken with the strictest tenets of historical factoid. What’s in put of that erudite emission is a finely crafted, engaging saga that will hold you coming back for 7 extra volumes.Originally, what is now sub titled as “The Kent Family Chronicles” was known as “The BiCentennial Series” and was published in the mid 1970’s. It was then I read it and loved it for the first time. How unbelievable to search the entire series on Kindle! 40+ years later, Jakes’ writing is still full of action, adventure, amazing dialogue and a parade of historical characters that is soap opera convenient. It’s all contrived but really, you won’t mind because it’s amazing fun and Jakes doesn’t test to hide it from you. He’s blatant about the name dropping and at least his history is TRUE; not that nonsense the schools are trying to pass off as American History these days...🤬!Speaking of 🤬, “The Bastard” earns itself an R rating on a lot of fronts or should I say every front: language, content and violence. The only redeeming quality about it is that it’s really not gratuitous. For the most part, the incidences are appropriate for the story or hero and not excessively descriptive. That said, sensitive folks will be offended and these books are not for kids under 16, imho. The rougher aspects can be skimmed or flipped by without loosing track of the story.Jakes is unbelievable at creating characters and building families. “The Bastard” is the 1st in an 8 book series that is an large family saga. He provides family trees for the 2 main families and you’re going to need them; they’re huge trees with lots of leaves and lots of fruit. The dialogue is comfortable and moves this huge book (545 pls) along at a fast ly, the prose is also well written. Regardless of wether he’s writing about France or the Fresh World, John Jakes is able to bring the sound, smell, flora and fauna to life on the pages of his “fictorical” gem, “The Bastard”. Read it again for the 1st time, this century ❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2020-8-2 18:0

    After I had read the Century Trilogy by Ken Follet, I was looking for more historical fiction and this series was recommended to me. I'm not even through the entire book yet, but I'm hooked and have bought the second one. Jakes' writing is masterful and he's made a page-turner with this book. His descriptions are precise and I feel almost like I'm drawn back into living where the main hero Philip is. While telling Philip's story, Jakes manages to capture the essence of what I imagine what it would be like to live in those times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2021-3-20 18:0

    This is my second time reading the Kent Family series, the first time was in my early 20s and now I am in my late 30s so a long time between reads. The first time I read through the books did message all of the scenes but they weren't that huge of a deal since I didn't have children coming in and out of the room all the time. This time I do have 4 children and since they are all in school I got the audio version. There are a lot of scenes, a lot, and graphic ones at that. I love the Historical aspects of the series, Jakes is amazing, well researched but I could do without all of that will he wont he tension.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2021-3-20 18:0

    The headline is not meant as a pejorative. One can read about history in its staid, very informative, prosaic style like that of a textbook or a scholarly thesis. Or you can read about history in a dramatized, serialized, overly romantic style of which a lot of of our televised, dramatic programs give us like TurN, Roots or even Shōgūn.Whichever style compels you to be wish to be engaged with an epoch then read it. If it compels someone to wish to know more about an era then I say that book or drama has done its is series brings to life all the books I read in high school and college regarding the revolutionary war. It gave a heartbeat to a time that sometimes felt like a a Frankenstein creature in its mundaneness.I've known about John Jakes Kent family chronicles for decades but never read them. I'm thrilled to have an exciting eight book (now seven) series to read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2021-3-20 18:0

    Taking the reader from France to England to America, from November 1770 to April 19th 1775 and the War of Concord leading up to the American Revolution. The novel was created into a unbelievable 4 hour created for TV 4 hour film of the same name.I read this as a fresh teenager, when it was first published in 1974, it was a prelude to the excitement generating for the nation's bi-centennial in 1976. I was utterly consumed with the story telling and eagerly awaited the sequel to what would become an 8 novel series (The Kent Family Chronicles or the American Bicentennial Series) stretching to Christmas in Boston Massachusetts 1890, 5 generations of the Kent family to Philippe's 48 year old amazing amazing grandson Gideon and his grown family.17 year old Phillipe is living with his mother in France, she tells him his father is the 6th Duke of Kent and he was the effect of a brief affair when she was an actress and the duke a callow youth. the Duke has now married with a 16 year old son however he has provided for Phillipe through the years. They leave for England to collect half the estate now that the duke is dying. I am amazed that I never questioned this catalyst, I can't imagine a commoner of the time would think the estate of a duke was attainable by an illegitimate son when a perfectly legitimate son was in place, but clearly I bought it hook line and sinker. The rest of the story is fabulous, mixing historic happenings and people with Phillip's day to day lifelike:>Marquis de Lafayette>Lord North, the British Prime Minister>Benjamin Franklin>Samuel Adams>Paul RevereI loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2020-2-7 18:0

    Please hold in mind that John Jakes is writing fiction and “The @#$%!&?” might be classified best as fiction, historical rather than the inverse. Why the distinction? As others have noted, there are some “liberties” taken with the strictest tenets of historical factoid. What’s in put of that erudite emission is a finely crafted, engaging saga that will hold you coming back for 7 extra volumes.Originally, what is now sub titled as “The Kent Family Chronicles” was known as “The BiCentennial Series” and was published in the mid 1970’s. It was then I read it and loved it for the first time. How unbelievable to search the entire series on Kindle! 40+ years later, Jakes’ writing is still full of action, adventure, amazing dialogue and a parade of historical characters that is soap opera convenient. It’s all contrived but really, you won’t mind because it’s amazing fun and Jakes doesn’t test to hide it from you. He’s blatant about the name dropping and at least his history is TRUE; not that nonsense the schools are trying to pass off as American History these days...🤬!Speaking of 🤬, “The Bastard” earns itself an R rating on a lot of fronts or should I say every front: language, content and violence. The only redeeming quality about it is that it’s really not gratuitous. For the most part, the incidences are appropriate for the story or hero and not excessively descriptive. That said, sensitive folks will be offended and these books are not for kids under 16, imho. The rougher aspects can be skimmed or flipped by without loosing track of the story.Jakes is unbelievable at creating characters and building families. “The Bastard” is the 1st in an 8 book series that is an large family saga. He provides family trees for the 2 main families and you’re going to need them; they’re huge trees with lots of leaves and lots of fruit. The dialogue is comfortable and moves this huge book (545 pls) along at a fast ly, the prose is also well written. Regardless of wether he’s writing about France or the Fresh World, John Jakes is able to bring the sound, smell, flora and fauna to life on the pages of his “fictorical” gem, “The Bastard”. Read it again for the 1st time, this century ❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2020-2-7 18:0

    Taking the reader from France to England to America, from November 1770 to April 19th 1775 and the War of Concord leading up to the American Revolution. The novel was created into a unbelievable 4 hour created for TV 4 hour film of the same name.I read this as a fresh teenager, when it was first published in 1974, it was a prelude to the excitement generating for the nation's bi-centennial in 1976. I was utterly consumed with the story telling and eagerly awaited the sequel to what would become an 8 novel series (The Kent Family Chronicles or the American Bicentennial Series) stretching to Christmas in Boston Massachusetts 1890, 5 generations of the Kent family to Philippe's 48 year old amazing amazing grandson Gideon and his grown family.17 year old Phillipe is living with his mother in France, she tells him his father is the 6th Duke of Kent and he was the effect of a brief affair when she was an actress and the duke a callow youth. the Duke has now married with a 16 year old son however he has provided for Phillipe through the years. They leave for England to collect half the estate now that the duke is dying. I am amazed that I never questioned this catalyst, I can't imagine a commoner of the time would think the estate of a duke was attainable by an illegitimate son when a perfectly legitimate son was in place, but clearly I bought it hook line and sinker. The rest of the story is fabulous, mixing historic happenings and people with Phillip's day to day lifelike:>Marquis de Lafayette>Lord North, the British Prime Minister>Benjamin Franklin>Samuel Adams>Paul RevereI loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2020-8-2 18:0

    Is always a blast. I have loved this series for years. I'm glad it has been place into Kindle format, because I remember carrying these books to school, to squeeze as much out of them in a day as possible. And so it is here. Just a unbelievable series. If you missed them in 75-76 when they came out, read them now. If you read them then, read them again. For sure, they will support people remember what our country used to be, and how we've moved away.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2021-3-20 18:0

    I was so satisfied to see the Kent Family Chronicles (or better known as the Bicentennial Series in the 1970s) on Kindle. I absolutely loved this series and remember reading it when it first came out. I couldn't wait for the next book to be released. Now that my eyes aren't as amazing as they used to be I am not able to read the little words on the book. I haven't read the series since they first came out. I just saw them on Kindle and ordered the whole set. Now I will sit down and once again read about a family's journey growing with America.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2020-2-7 18:0

    The headline is not meant as a pejorative. One can read about history in its staid, very informative, prosaic style like that of a textbook or a scholarly thesis. Or you can read about history in a dramatized, serialized, overly romantic style of which a lot of of our televised, dramatic programs give us like TurN, Roots or even Shōgūn.Whichever style compels you to be wish to be engaged with an epoch then read it. If it compels someone to wish to know more about an era then I say that book or drama has done its is series brings to life all the books I read in high school and college regarding the revolutionary war. It gave a heartbeat to a time that sometimes felt like a a Frankenstein creature in its mundaneness.I've known about John Jakes Kent family chronicles for decades but never read them. I'm thrilled to have an exciting eight book (now seven) series to read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2020-2-7 18:0

    After I had read the Century Trilogy by Ken Follet, I was looking for more historical fiction and this series was recommended to me. I'm not even through the entire book yet, but I'm hooked and have bought the second one. Jakes' writing is masterful and he's made a page-turner with this book. His descriptions are precise and I feel almost like I'm drawn back into living where the main hero Philip is. While telling Philip's story, Jakes manages to capture the essence of what I imagine what it would be like to live in those times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2020-8-2 18:0

    The headline is not meant as a pejorative. One can read about history in its staid, very informative, prosaic style like that of a textbook or a scholarly thesis. Or you can read about history in a dramatized, serialized, overly romantic style of which a lot of of our televised, dramatic programs give us like TurN, Roots or even Shōgūn.Whichever style compels you to be wish to be engaged with an epoch then read it. If it compels someone to wish to know more about an era then I say that book or drama has done its is series brings to life all the books I read in high school and college regarding the revolutionary war. It gave a heartbeat to a time that sometimes felt like a a Frankenstein creature in its mundaneness.I've known about John Jakes Kent family chronicles for decades but never read them. I'm thrilled to have an exciting eight book (now seven) series to read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2020-8-2 18:0

    Taking the reader from France to England to America, from November 1770 to April 19th 1775 and the War of Concord leading up to the American Revolution. The novel was created into a unbelievable 4 hour created for TV 4 hour film of the same name.I read this as a fresh teenager, when it was first published in 1974, it was a prelude to the excitement generating for the nation's bi-centennial in 1976. I was utterly consumed with the story telling and eagerly awaited the sequel to what would become an 8 novel series (The Kent Family Chronicles or the American Bicentennial Series) stretching to Christmas in Boston Massachusetts 1890, 5 generations of the Kent family to Philippe's 48 year old amazing amazing grandson Gideon and his grown family.17 year old Phillipe is living with his mother in France, she tells him his father is the 6th Duke of Kent and he was the effect of a brief affair when she was an actress and the duke a callow youth. the Duke has now married with a 16 year old son however he has provided for Phillipe through the years. They leave for England to collect half the estate now that the duke is dying. I am amazed that I never questioned this catalyst, I can't imagine a commoner of the time would think the estate of a duke was attainable by an illegitimate son when a perfectly legitimate son was in place, but clearly I bought it hook line and sinker. The rest of the story is fabulous, mixing historic happenings and people with Phillip's day to day lifelike:>Marquis de Lafayette>Lord North, the British Prime Minister>Benjamin Franklin>Samuel Adams>Paul RevereI loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2021-3-20 18:0

    Lots of books occupy this genre - the factional, or fictionalised fact, historical novel. But this series is one of the best. It is pointless to say that this is history romanticised beyond belief - Jakes has such a compelling, misleadingly simple, writing style that one is swept along in the story. There is enough historical verisimilitude around the central characters to create it feel as if one is watching history unfold. Completely and utterly readable. It is nice to read this book alongside a history book, and look up the historical happenings as they play out in the story, to see how closely Jakes sticks with fact (very close indeed, by the way), but it is the fictional characters and the fictional storyline that gives the story its impetus. Highly, highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2021-3-20 18:0

    After I had read the Century Trilogy by Ken Follet, I was looking for more historical fiction and this series was recommended to me. I'm not even through the entire book yet, but I'm hooked and have bought the second one. Jakes' writing is masterful and he's made a page-turner with this book. His descriptions are precise and I feel almost like I'm drawn back into living where the main hero Philip is. While telling Philip's story, Jakes manages to capture the essence of what I imagine what it would be like to live in those times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2020-2-7 18:0

    This is the second time around for the reading of The Kent Family Chronicles. My considerable library holds all the works of John Jakes. I only want I had the entire set on CD's and audio books for when my eyesight or hearing fails me. This series not only entertains but provides the history of America's coming of age in such a method that the reader is so engrossed he does not even think about these books as history, but oh, how much he learns or so I have found it to be true. I have expounded the worth of Mr. Jake's writings to everyone I come in contact with that even lightly mentions reading to me. Even told John Grisham that he was a amazing second to John Jakes. He replied he was glad to be in the same company as Mr. Jakes. I hope someday to travel to Hilton Head to experience attending a summer theatre performance of a play and to meet Mr Jakes. As I am rapidly approaching the twilight years, I must create that trip soon!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2020-8-2 18:0

    I was so satisfied to see the Kent Family Chronicles (or better known as the Bicentennial Series in the 1970s) on Kindle. I absolutely loved this series and remember reading it when it first came out. I couldn't wait for the next book to be released. Now that my eyes aren't as amazing as they used to be I am not able to read the little words on the book. I haven't read the series since they first came out. I just saw them on Kindle and ordered the whole set. Now I will sit down and once again read about a family's journey growing with America.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2020-8-2 18:0

    John Jakes’ books were very famous in the 1970s and 1980s. In my 20s, I tried reading the first book in the North and South series and just couldn’t obtain into it. Further, while hero development and historical detail were good, I found the plot and pacing left much to be ess what? Now in my 60s, I search that The @#$%!&?, the first book in the Kent Family Chronicles is much the same. In fact, I think the title should be changed to A Story About a Boy Who Can’t Catch a Break or Create Up His Mind Told Very Slowly.” Fortunately, the latest 5 chapters or so finally add exciting pacing and edge-of-your-seat tension as the first spark of the American Revolution is lit. Up to that point however, for the reader, it’s a forced march thru deep mud to obtain there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2020-8-2 18:0

    this is one of the best series i have ever read. I have read all 8 of books. They just obtain better with each book. The violence is actually historical, everything is well checked out. You think things like like that couldn't happen in this country but they did. the civil battle was poor in a lot of ways. The books are about several generations of a family. You can obtain very involved with a family. You love , hurt, have sorrow and joy with them. you will not regret getting this series. Ebbie

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2021-3-20 18:0

    Please hold in mind that John Jakes is writing fiction and “The @#$%!&?” might be classified best as fiction, historical rather than the inverse. Why the distinction? As others have noted, there are some “liberties” taken with the strictest tenets of historical factoid. What’s in put of that erudite emission is a finely crafted, engaging saga that will hold you coming back for 7 extra volumes.Originally, what is now sub titled as “The Kent Family Chronicles” was known as “The BiCentennial Series” and was published in the mid 1970’s. It was then I read it and loved it for the first time. How unbelievable to search the entire series on Kindle! 40+ years later, Jakes’ writing is still full of action, adventure, amazing dialogue and a parade of historical characters that is soap opera convenient. It’s all contrived but really, you won’t mind because it’s amazing fun and Jakes doesn’t test to hide it from you. He’s blatant about the name dropping and at least his history is TRUE; not that nonsense the schools are trying to pass off as American History these days...🤬!Speaking of 🤬, “The Bastard” earns itself an R rating on a lot of fronts or should I say every front: language, content and violence. The only redeeming quality about it is that it’s really not gratuitous. For the most part, the incidences are appropriate for the story or hero and not excessively descriptive. That said, sensitive folks will be offended and these books are not for kids under 16, imho. The rougher aspects can be skimmed or flipped by without loosing track of the story.Jakes is unbelievable at creating characters and building families. “The Bastard” is the 1st in an 8 book series that is an large family saga. He provides family trees for the 2 main families and you’re going to need them; they’re huge trees with lots of leaves and lots of fruit. The dialogue is comfortable and moves this huge book (545 pls) along at a fast ly, the prose is also well written. Regardless of wether he’s writing about France or the Fresh World, John Jakes is able to bring the sound, smell, flora and fauna to life on the pages of his “fictorical” gem, “The Bastard”. Read it again for the 1st time, this century ❤️

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The @#$%!&? (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 1) []  2021-3-20 18:0

    Is always a blast. I have loved this series for years. I'm glad it has been place into Kindle format, because I remember carrying these books to school, to squeeze as much out of them in a day as possible. And so it is here. Just a unbelievable series. If you missed them in 75-76 when they came out, read them now. If you read them then, read them again. For sure, they will support people remember what our country used to be, and how we've moved away.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chronicles of Neffie []  2020-1-27 23:3

    I have chosen a fove star rating because this book to riveted me to every page. Well written and executed in a manner consistent with the modern black view on slavery on the south. Isply loved this book and wish more about Neffies life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chronicles of Neffie []  2020-1-27 23:3

    This was a really amazing book on slavery before the civil battle told almost in journal form from a young teenage girls view. It tells how slaves were just as intelligent as their masters, if not smarter, except they had to play the part of ignorant and dumb, so as to not obtain punished or sold. The begin of what I hope is a amazing series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chronicles of Prydain []  2020-5-18 19:3

    I recently re-discovered these after having read them as a child (in my late 40s as I write this). They are full of standard tropes (the Dark Lord, the Unlikely Character from a backwater, the Feisty Princess) and pitched for a pre-teen audience, but I still found them very enjoyable. They are a bit sneaky, too. The plotting is simple, breezy, and fun, but there is amazing emotional depth here, too, with amazing coming-of-age lessons. The fourth book, Taran Wanderer, in which the main character, Taran, sets off ostensibly to figure out who his parents are, but really to search himself, especially has some incredible, poignant moments as Taran is forced to confront things about himself that he finds shameful. The coming-of-age lessons for Taran are show in the other books, but are the focus of the fourth ere are also a bunch of fun, sharply-drawn characters, especially among Taran's recurring companions. The series also features an oracular pig, so what's not to like? The combination of the group of distinct characters and breezy, adventuresome plotting seemed very D&D-like to me, and I found lots of inspiration for items I will be putting into my D&D android games in the future.I don't give out 5 stars lightly, especially for stuff of art like books and movies. To me, 5 stars means not just amazing or very good, but among the best. It is even harder objectively judging a series clearly written for an audience one-third my age or less. But the bottom line is that I became very emotionally invested in the characters, and thought Taran was a amazing model for transitioning into adulthood and the responsibility for self and others that ensues. I cannot discount that investment as a sign of skilled writing, however breezy the books were on the surface. I am also a sucker for the sorts of lessons of self-sacrifice that recur in the series (this is also why A Tale of Two Cities is my favorite ens). Hence, I felt justified in giving this series 5 stars.If you are a young reader, I would highly recommend this series. But I'd still recommend it for older readers such as myself, if you're looking for a quick, light read that just might sneak up and punch you in your gut emotionally. The coming of age lessons in Prydain are not as subtly or sublimely written as, say, LeGuin's A Wizard of Earthsea, but are highly effective nonetheless. They can be a tutorial to younger readers, and a reminder to older ones.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chronicles of Prydain []  2020-5-18 19:3

    The 5 books that create up the Chronicles are quick paced tales that center on Taran the Assistant Pig-keeper, an orphan, and his growth to manhood and the pursuit of his identity. He hopes to explore that he has royal blood so that he can be worthy of the hand of Princess Eilonwy. Throughout the tales he is pitched in wars versus evil in the form of Arawn, the Lord of Annuvin, the Land of the Dead. Magic and myth give the tales their appeal yet there are lessons about life interspersed through the tales that are relevant to the modern globe that readers inhabit. The tales will appeal to readers of all ages. The writing is admirable and crisp and conjures up scenes vividly and economically. Highly recommended by this reader who has now re-read the tales for the third time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chronicles of Prydain []  2020-5-18 19:3

    In my adolescence, I was a huge fan of J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis. I came from a very little city and it was simple to miss hearing about other authors who wrote young adult fantasies. It wasn't until over 30 years ago when I was taking a college class about the selection of children's literature that I discovered Lloyd Alexander. The college where I went to school kept a collection of the best children's literature (especially Newbery Award winners). Rather than just having the "High King" in their collection, my college had all five books. I was trying to familiarize myself with any Newbery award authors that I hadn't read in my youth. That is how I first read this series.I'm not going into the same detail here that you will search in other reviews. However, I recall that my college roommate at the time was also a Tolkien and Lewis fan. I told her that she had to read Alexander, but she didn't wish to waste the time on a YA fantasy. We were roommates for more than one semester. At least a year after my recommendation of Alexander, I came into our dorm room and she was bouncing on the bed saying, "I did it! I did it!" She finally had read this series and loved it as much as I ever, my fondest memory of Lloyd Alexander is how unbelievable a person he was. I don't very often indulge in writing fan letters to authors, but I had always wanted to write to him. As a librarian, I was familiar with a children's authors source book called "Something About the Author." The book had mini-biographies and works listings of living children's authors, and gave contact info for the authors. Most authors' contact info was via their agent or publisher. Alexander was the only author I ever heard of who listed his home address.I wrote him a letter to his Drexel Hill, PA, residence and received a private letter in return. He also confirmed my suspicion that Fflewddur Fflam, in both appearance and as an amateur musician, is based on himself (Alexander was an amateur classical violinist). He had also sent me a brochure with a picture of himself that was autographed to me from him and from Fflewddur.I had written Alexander about 10 years before he passed away, and I am so glad that I didn't hold putting it off. I want I had had the possibility to meet him when he used to come into the Manhattan children's bookstore "Books of Wonder." My hardback set of the Chronicles are autographed copies from that store, but I had purchased them already signed by e one thing that I can recommend is that parents and kids should read this series together. It may be written for young adults, but as I learned for myself, it can be enjoyed at any age. I've lost count of how a lot of times I've re-read this timeless classic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chronicles of Prydain []  2020-5-18 19:3

    To be honest I read these books for the first time in my twenties, a mate recommended them so I thought I'd give it a try. They are now one of my favorite series of all time (even better than Harry Potter) and I plan on reading them to my daughters when there a small older. The books are filled with unbelievable and colourful character's and adventures throughout every page and I would highly recommend them to anyone of any age.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chronicles of Neffie []  2020-1-27 23:3

    Author A.L. (Anita) Gibson has published five books to date, POKA CITY BLUES was her well-received debut. Now she is writing a series - THE CHRONICLES OF NEFFIE – of which this is book 1. In addition to novels she also writes short stories and poetry.We know from the synopsis the overall flow of this series set in 1837 – ‘The Chronicles of Neffie is the first of six novel series centered around Neffie, a fifteen year old slave girl growing up in the Deep South. Loosely based on real life events, Neffie takes readers on a tumultuous journey as she navigates her day to day life as a slave in Colbert County, Alabama. Told from the perspective of a fifteen-year-old slave girl, Neffie’s experiences are heart wrenching and compelling. What will come of Neffie? Only time will tell. This is only the beginning. Allow the journey begin.’From this overview we are introduced to the atmosphere of The South in a well-formed Prologue to this initial volume – ‘The South. Some folks say it’s the greatest put on earth. Other folks say it’s a tough put to be. To be free that is. I’ve heard plenty of folks say that the South is on the rise again because of all the Southern hospitality and that amazing ole Southern charm. I guess that all depends on who you ask. I myself wouldn’t know anything about all that because my life here in the South is much different. You see, I was born in eighteen thirty seven as a slave in Colbert County, Alabama, so my life here in the South ain’t all that great. For you folks that ain’t familiar with Colbert County, Alabama, it’s a part of the Muscle Shoals and Florence zone and it’s not too far off from the Tennessee River. There’s a lotta land to be had out here, but there’s more fields and water than anything else. Manors and plantations are just about everywhere and they’re filled to the brim with slaves. Massa Piero Sanderson is the man who owns me, my Mama, my Papa and my three older brothers. Together we all live in one of the a lot of slave cabins on Massa Sanderson’s sprawling Oak Manor. Neffie is the name that was given to me by my Mama because that was the only name she could think of at the time when she gave birth to me. Massa Sanderson likes to call me sumthin’ else. Ragazza Nera is what he sometimes calls me which means Black Girl in Italian and I can’t stand it. No, I absolutely hate it. For the life of me, I can’t understand why this man hardly calls me by my name. Sometimes I think he does it on purpose because he knows it ruffles my small feathers. I like the name Neffie and I feel it suits me just fine. That’s what my folks call me and that’s what I’ll only respond to. I flat out refuse to respond to anything else. Massa Sanderson, my slave Massa, is the chile of an Italian mother from Sicily, Italy and an English bred father who hails from Bowling Green, Kentucky.’That is the flavor that exudes form this period piece that is told with a degree of honesty and simplicity that makes the reader identify with the plight of slaves in the nineteenth century – and in turn, to appreciate the current focus on racism that plagues our nation at present. There is considerable action and happenings that propel the story forward and create us grateful that there are more volumes to follow. Grady Harp, March 18

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chronicles of Neffie []  2020-1-27 23:3

    The author seems to think her readers are a bunch of ignorant juveniles. This book is one of the most simplistic narratives of slavery I have ever read. Not at all worth my time. I kept reading only because I thought that as Neffie matured her thoughts and her experiences would become more complex however they did not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chronicles of Neffie []  2020-1-27 23:3

    Neffie's, story is getting interesting. reading the story from the view point of a slave child, actually created me feel even more compassion for what they went through. I can't imagine what it was like for someone to be degraded in all types of ways, without snapping. I felt for those young girls, men, and women. To be treated like an animal and less than avery is one of those subjects that people don't wish to talk about, much less read about. But it is history,and like all other stories should be told. This book is one that I would recommend to schools. Have the students read and discuss it. Discuss the break down of the Afro-American family and the systematic division that was deliberately done. I would read part two to see what Neffie, has to do to save herself, and her family.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chronicles of Neffie []  2020-1-27 23:3

    A amazing education there life as it was for a young black women before the Civil War. Surprising how much independent her thoughts are. Enjoyed her "sassy" attitude under the cirtances she was in.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chronicles of Prydain []  2020-5-18 19:3

    The Chronicles of Prydain was my first introduction into the globe of literary fantasy, when I was a child. I still remember reading the stories over and over again as a boy. Before I read the Chronicles of Narnia, Lord of the Rings, and long before Harry Potter even existed, I loved these books. Now, I have my own kids, and am thrilled to obtain to have fun them all over again with them.I bought this set to replace the long since destroyed books I read as a child. They were old when I got them, and couldn't survive repeated readings and the ensuing 25 years. The books are a amazing quality, with lovely cover artwork. They are sitting on my bookshelf, alongside the other fantasy series, and they are a amazing visual addition. Also, as a bonus, the books come with a nicely drawn map of Prydain, which is likely to end up hanging in my son's bedroom , if you are a fan of fantasy series, and you haven't yet read The Chronicles of Prydain, you need to. You will love the stories, the writing, the characters, and the settings. And, if you are going to give it a read, you might as well obtain a set that looks amazing too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chronicles of Prydain []  2020-5-18 19:3

    A favorite when I was 7. Now my children love it. I read it at 7, but probably better suited for about 10 years old. The vocabulary is a bit esoteric, and I suspect I missed quite a bit. And I saw my 7 year-old going through the same thing. I did a lot of reading it to my kids, and pausing frequently to explain a word or a passage. Also, they obtain more complicated and sophisticated as they go up in number. Book 1 and 2 are just exciting adventures, but we abandoned half-way through reading book 3 (except for me - I couldn't stop myself.) And book 4 really has adult themes - not and violence, I just mean lots of self-introspection and soul-searching. Themes that are bewildering to the too-young. I'll bring the whole series back out in a couple years when I think the children will be more ready for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chronicles of [email protected]#$% [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:48

    The film could be about anything and I would like it. It is Vin Diesel!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chronicles of Neffie []  2020-1-27 23:3

    This started out interesting and was developing into what I thought would be a decent story. Neffie told of life as a slave and of her hopes for the future. Then the entire story shifted to her having to avoid her master as she was a "budding" girl. The dialogue became very repetitive and nothing fresh was happening. This could have ended at about 60%. The end was very lacking as well. All in all this was a major allow down. One thing I found very annoying was the fact that Neffie repeatedly told of her being able to read and write, but it was never told who or why she was taught. I would have thought that more background would have been given into what was repeatedly mentioned throughout the story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chronicles of Neffie []  2020-1-27 23:3

    Neffie is just this ball of feisty energy. She is a warrior and hates slavery. All Neffie wants is her freedom and to be able to live a normal life. She created me laugh she created me think. Thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chronicles of Prydain []  2020-5-18 19:3

    I first read these books when I was ten, and I immediately loved them. Now, more than twenty-five years later, I search them even better than they were then. While other books considered to be "for children" become shallow as the reader matures, these books instead take on greater depth. An adult's understanding unearths levels of wisdom hidden behind the page and sees what "nobility" really is. The foundling Assistant Pig-Keeper Taran dreams of being a hero, though he hasn't the least idea what it takes to become one. The five books in the series are his adventures as he tries to support Prince Gwydion protect the land from Arawn, Death-Lord, and in the process learns what both real manhood and heroism require. Along the method he is continually confused by the talkative and hot-tempered Princess Eilonwy, helped by the furious dwarf Doli, encouraged by the impetuous and exaggerating bard Fflewddur Fflam, and served by faithful Gurgi of the poor, tender e stories are highly enjoyable, the characters both likable and recognizable, the action gripping, and the whole pack masterfully written. This Kindle copy is quite good, with only a few typographical errors (like naming a chapter "Raw" instead of "Kaw,") but they are actually fewer in number than my paperback copies. This copy contains the maps of Prydain at the beginning of each book which are found in the hardback versions but which are not in my paperbacks, and which I had sorely missed these twenty years. This compilation is well worth the money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chronicles of Prydain []  2020-5-18 19:3

    Childhood favorites; I read them again this summer. Perfect works of young adult ough there are a lot of battles, Mr. Alexander doesn't dwell on the gory details. And when a death occurs, there is honor, respect, and remembrance. It's refreshing to read such well-penned adventures in an age of Y/A books that value human life no more than that of other animals and the taking of it ere are a lot of other themes at work in the Chronicles. The whole series is a bildungsroman (coming of age) of Taran. Along the way, there's magic and mystery, battles and misery. And some special characters that I was delighted to visit with again 40 years after my first read.Every kid ages 8 - 14 will search something to love in the Chronicles.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chronicles of Neffie []  2020-1-27 23:3

    The Chronicles of Neffie is one of those books that will touch your heart. The story will stay with you every time you close the book, not leaving your mind. And it doesn’t leave once it’s over.A.L Gibson wrote a attractive and touching story about a fifteen-year-old girl. A black girl in the heart of Alabama in 1837. We are the witnesses of her life and struggles as a slave. We are taken through her own journey of understanding why she is in that situation, why the globe treats her like she’s an animal simply because of her skin color. The book is splendid, with marvelous descriptions and being narrated through Neffie’s point of view it only makes it more private and hard. The author does a amazing job introducing the story and the characters and getting us involved in those tragic events. I can’t wait to read the rest of the series and search out more about what will happen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chronicles of Neffie []  2020-1-27 23:3

    I really liked this book,the history,the fear and feelings of the slaves. The method of life and entitlement of the whites and the attitude of some blacks towards their own race.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chronicles of Prydain []  2020-5-18 19:3

    Alexander wrote these Chronicles for older kids and I first read them over thirty years ago when my kids were reading them. I purchased the series and reread them to see how they stood the try of time. Taran's journey from boyhood to manhood, and fighting to defend Prydain versus the enchantments of evil indeed has much to say to today's children. Like the modern films in the How to Train Your Dragon series, Alexander does not resile from tragedy and sorrow as part of life. I wouldn't be surprised if Alexander was writing today if Eilionwy was even feistier today, though she is independent and fighting gender stereotypes from the beginning. It's a rollicking amazing yarn for both genders, but with maturity and wisdom distiller for younger readers. There are Dwarves, zombies by another name, enchanters, fighters and heroes. Beautifully written, crafted with grace and humour, I'm looking forward to introducing the series to my grandchildren.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chronicles of Prydain []  2020-5-18 19:3

    I read these witty, magical adventures years ago, and enjoyed them so greatly I bought this set as a Christmas gift. December 26, I was invited to dinner with the family, and when I arrived there, the 10-year-old recipient had his nose buried in the first book in the series, but had to break from it to tell me exactly how amazing it was. At the end of the week, he asked if the film of "The Black Cauldron" was anywhere near as amazing as the book (he borrowed it from the library; it wasn't). He is now hoping to search every other book Lloyd Alexander wrote, so he can read those, too. Meanwhile, he's letting me borrow this set so I can refresh my memory…

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chronicles of Robin Hood []  2020-7-22 19:44

    of all the versions of Robin Hood I've read, this is by far the best. Rosemary Sutcliff approaches the story with her usual grace and common sense, bringing the characters to life and drawing the reader into their e story is the classic tale of Robin Hood, related to J. Walker McSpadden's and Howard Pyle's retellings, but told so elegantly and originally as to be entirely its own. the forest and its outlaws come to life in a globe full of fierce loyalties, powerful friendships, and uncompromising love. although this book surpasses all other Robin Hood stories in a lot of ways, perhaps the most notable is the sincerity of the romance between Robin and Maid Marian. Sutcliff's Marian is a powerful character, neither a princess in an ivory turret or an Amazon, but a woman with a woman's strength. although the romance takes a backseat to the rest of the story, it is no less strong for l in all, a joy to read. and re-read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chronicles of the Crusades (1903) []  2020-7-8 19:6

    I wrote a separate review of the fourth crusade. The Joinville chronicles is an acc of the Seventh Crusade written by Jean de Joinville, who was close to the French king Louis IX, who in turn was later created a saint. Basically, the crusade aimed to take pressure of the crusaders in Palestine by attacking Egypt. They took the port of Damietta, but then seemingly did very little, and eventually they were defeated. The most interesting thing about this book is the acc shows very small evidence of any clearly thought-out strategy. The crusaders turned up, they fought, they got bogged down, and they sustained very serious losses such that when the critical war turned up, they were in no position to war it anyway. Basically, they had no replacements for losses. There followed a ransom once captured, and about a third of the total income of France for a year was handed over. The surviving Crusaders then went to Acre, and we see what was going on there, which was not much, then they return to France. There, Louis got around to some presumably highly required reform, and he issued edicts designed to eliminate corruption. We don't search out whether they worked. Louis was very devout, and Joinville shows this clearly. A very interesting acc of the times, but there is a small reading "between the lines" required.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chronicles of Robin Hood []  2020-7-22 19:44

    I have just re-read this book, not for the first time but for the first time in a lot of years, as I am in possession of what may be one of the first published as I had it before June 1951 and I think it first appeared in 1950. The author has a magnificent and descriptive method of relating the zone and events. Despite this perhaps being intended as a likely children's book it is still full of interest to adults with a sense of feeling and historic affairs. Much of this is centred around South Yorkshire and Nottinghamshire with a lot of local put names in the text. It is also a book written with much feeling - both joyous and sad at times. I delighted in the book all those years ago, as I have done now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chronicles of the Crusades (1903) []  2020-7-8 19:6

    This is a wonderful, action packed real story of the medieval French, organizing farmers and lordlings to war the Muslims to test to victory back the Holy Land for the Christians.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chronicles of Robin Hood []  2020-7-22 19:44

    Most of the stories about Robin Hood deal only with his love for Marian or about his war with the sheriff of Nottingham, however, The Chronicles of Robin Hood takes us through to his death. Very interesting simple read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Warriors (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 6) []  2020-7-27 18:0

    Like all of John Jakes historical novel, although fiction, it include historical fact. This story holds the reader where the reader can't place the book aside easily. Amazing reading, JAKES paints a picture of an necessary era of American history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Warriors (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 6) []  2020-7-27 18:0

    I've read all the Kent Family Series of books. Jakes is a very amazing author that weaves a tale with both historical and fictional parts. This series takes a person fresh to our country in colonial times into the show through a lot of generations of one family. Jakes, through his writing, shares the American Dream of prosperity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Americans (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 8) []  2020-8-28 18:0

    I very much enjoyed the entire Kent Family series and the a lot of stories of told throughout American history. Though I definitely enjoyed some of the books better than others, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this series to another. I honestly did not wish this series to end and, as a result, had a difficult time finishing the final e sole reason for giving this volume 4 stars instead of 5 is the fact that it seemed to test to fit too much into one book. The storyline follows 4 various characters and there loves over a significant period of time and it felt like some of hero development was brushed over in order to continue other storylines. Despite this, the book was a unbelievable read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Seekers (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 3) []  2020-10-6 18:22

    Mr. Jake's has a method of holding a readers attention from the first words to the last. His descriptions are so vivid that a person feels show with the characters. Mr. Jake's is a superb story teller.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Seekers (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 3) []  2020-10-6 18:22

    You learn to appreciate what our fore father's endured for freedom and survivalI will hold reading John Jake's books

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Furies (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 4) []  2020-11-24 18:45

    One of those "I can't place it down books." Starting with the Alamo (a significant historical event), to the California Gold Rush (another significant event), to the eastern US pre-Civil Battle atmosphere, and the Underground Railroad, this book touches on an unsettled time in American history. But Amanda Kent has an obsession, to regain ownership of her family's book printing business stolen from her mother and stepfather by a Fresh England industrialist named Stovall. But she goes about it with small message to the hurt it causes to her son. Unbelievable story, as are all the Kent family chronicles. I read them 40 years ago and have begun now reading them over again, in order, on my kindle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Furies (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 4) []  2020-11-24 18:45

    I can't believe I am just now discovering this series. Each segment thus far has been next to impossible to place down. The characters are so well developed it's a if they're flesh and blood. The plots are believable and the historical background and areas are relatable and enlightening.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Chronicles of Robin Hood []  2020-7-22 19:44

    love Robin Hood!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Warriors (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 6) []  2020-7-27 18:0

    I've been reading this saga of the Kent Family Chronicles from book 1. Some book series begin out good, but then become dull and uninteresting. This series, however, has been most enjoyable and interesting from the beginning. The historical aspect is great! I've learned a lot of historical tidbits from Mr. Jakes unbelievable research.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Warriors (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 6) []  2020-7-27 18:0

    The Fighters is number 6 in the Kent Family Chronicles and history of the West beginning to begin up and the railroad trying to obtain from east to west coast and what all happened trying to obtain it there. John Jakes has a method with the method he lays out the history is a method it's not boring but brings it to life. I would recommend this series to anyone that enjoys a amazing read that you just can't place down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Americans (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 8) []  2020-8-28 18:0

    Enjoyed all eight books just as i did the first time. And as the first time think it ended too soon and rather abruptly. No clue as to who will carry on unless its Rafe Martin. Who is after all not a Kent. I am an admitted history addict so appreciate all the history. I am sorry to leave the Kents again..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Americans (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 8) []  2020-8-28 18:0

    This series about America and the Kent family. Beginning before the Revolutionary Battle until 1896, The happenings that formed our Nation amazing or bad. Skillfully and with amazing detail to our History, we are as readers drawn into our past. Outstanding series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Seekers (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 3) []  2020-10-6 18:22

    If you don’t mind reading a long novel, and like learning some history, this book is for you. Even though it’s third in the Kent Family Chronicles, it can be read alone, because the author mentions some happenings that occurred earlier in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Furies (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 4) []  2020-11-24 18:45

    This is the first Kent Family Chronicles series that had me crying at the end. Amanda's story and role as the heroine was inspired! Jake's novel's historical accuracy has turned me into an American history addict, and this by far is no exception. The writing is as raw and attractive as real history is.I'd recommend this whole series to anyone. This particular book will always be my favorite.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Americans (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 8) []  2020-8-28 18:0

    Enjoyed the different stories concerning the 3 kids from their childhood until they were adults. The younger son and daughter grew up learning what was really necessary in life and went on to become solid citizens. Unfortunately, the older son only believed in how much cash he could acquire and trying to become an necessary person, even though he had very small character. It was a amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Americans (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 8) []  2020-8-28 18:0

    The whole series, from The @#$%!&? forward, some his best works! Hard to wait to obtain to the next volume. You search by the latest book you are as involved with the story as if they were family, and just as familiar. Definitely recommend you read the whole sries

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Furies (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 4) []  2020-11-24 18:45

    This is my second John Jakes novel...but it won't be my last! As a historian, I can appreciate the amount of time Jakes spent on research! As a reader, I found this book hard to place down. I read before going to sleep, but this book kept me up late because I couldn't search a moment 'slow' enough to place the book down for the night! As the book cover indicates, the story begins at the Alamo, but the action keeps going for decades.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Furies (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 4) []  2020-11-24 18:45

    Well written historical fiction. To have the best experience, read all 8 volumes in the series. You'll need some time. Each book is around 700+ pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Seekers (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 3) []  2020-10-6 18:22

    In this third installment of the Kent Family Chronicles, a lot of family ground is covered. We see the end of the life of the patriarch, Phillip Kent, the lives of sons Gilbert and Abraham, Abraham's son Jared, and Gilbert's daughter Amanda. Nobody does as Phillip wants (although Gilbert comes close), but they each test to search their niche in the globe of early America and each seems to be drawn away from ems the west is the magnet that pulls on the Kents.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Warriors (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 6) []  2020-7-27 18:0

    In this 6th installment of the Kent family history, the Civil Battle soon comes to a close, and we see that both sides of the conflict still test to wage their battle with the other side and cannot sit back into being Americans, at least not just yet. Jephtha is barely mentioned, as is his cousin Louis, although their actions had much to do with the story. Most of the book was about Jephtha's sons and about Michael Boyle, who's dedication to the Kent family has resulted in him being seen as an 'adopted' Kent. It certainly makes you look forward to reading the next installment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Warriors (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 6) []  2020-7-27 18:0

    I have read all of the 7 Kent Family books twice. 20 years apart. It is very informative and although I almost become depressed along with the Kent themselves as I read along. Anyone familiar with the western expansion of the country will have fun this book. I just hold hoping for the Kents' to search some happiness without having to war and scrap for every inch of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Family Oath (Chronicles of an Urban Druid Book 3) []  2020-11-30 18:45

    I really like this series! The family values combined with the druidic values create for an enthusiastic over plot, along with amazing characters. I highly recommend this book and series. In my opinion, you need to read the books in order.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Family Oath (Chronicles of an Urban Druid Book 3) []  2020-11-30 18:45

    ...They at one had me laughing hysterically. And the rest of the book is the same. Allow some dire situation come up. The characters look around and think " hey you know what would create this better" and proceed to issue solve with the maximum amount of so points for the best use of street slay ever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Warriors (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 6) []  2020-7-27 18:0

    When the series of Kent books were published a lot of years ago I read then and I enjoyed them very much. Reading the books again after nearly 35 years I've enjoyed them even more. Covering all the major stages of the growth of America experienced through the lives of one family is so fascinating. For lovers of historical fiction you'll have fun John Jake's attention to info of all the necessary stages of the development of America. It's well researched and for the most part accuratee.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Warriors (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 6) []  2020-7-27 18:0

    The Fighters covers several things that were event in America; the battle was ending, the tracks for the railroad were being laid and people were trying to begin over again. Any history fan should have fun this book as well as the other books in The Kent Family Chronicles.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Americans (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 8) []  2020-8-28 18:0

    I really love all this set of books, John Jakes always kept me looking to see what was going to happen next, I hated to see the Americans come so soon I knew it would be the end, and I wish to know how the next generation turned out, especially Carter he would be the rebel, Will, will carry on the family values just as Phillip started them, and Eleanor will also hold the family values on the straight and narrow course. I hope someday John Jakes starts again where these books left off and allow us see what happens to the family as time goes on. Unbelievable books I recommend the entire set for a really amazing read that you will have to turn around and read again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Americans (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 8) []  2020-8-28 18:0

    Fascinating reads if you like historical fiction. This is a part of an 8 book series and it was hard to place down. Historical happenings are true and the come alive through the Kent Family starting before the revolutionary battle and ending late 1890s. My only complaint is I want the author didn’t stop but kept going to the 1900s. Very amazing read but you might wish to begin this series during winter weather

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Seekers (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 3) []  2020-10-6 18:22

    Why haven't I found this author before? I missed out. I am now compelled to read the whole is novel, about Boston's prestigious Kent family, was not only historically accurate but insightful, and imaginative as well. There are several powerful lead characters as this novel begins right after the Revolution, and ends in about 1814. Each of these powerful characters are believable, as along with their strength comes the fear that their own often deep flaws will be their downfall.Jared's father fought the War of Fallen Timbers before returning to Boston where he was expected to take over his fathers printing house. Instead, he and his fresh wife rebelled. Willing to give up wealth and comfort, they voyage to land along the Ohio River. What they soon discovered was the amount of work and cash it took to survive.Jared fears he will become like his father. Time and again he proves his strength, wit, and endurance...still, he is haunted by those anda, Jared's small cousin, thinks Jared hung the moon. She is sweet, smart, and knows nothing but a comfortable life.What will happen to these two youngsters when the challenges they face become astronomical? Read to search out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Seekers (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 3) []  2020-10-6 18:22

    He could be a amazing author, but he has a major fetish for brutal kidnap/rape themes. I somehow got past the kidnapping and horrible rape/bondage of a kid that was the main story in the first of his books I read (The Seekers), but once he returned to the same sort of thing as his main theme in this book (The Rebels), I was done! I quit right there in the middle of the book. There's something wrong with this man (and maybe some of his readers who created him a best-selling author). Think about it, dear reader, and create a conscious decision about whether you wish to encourage this kind of "literature." It took a long time to obtain those nightmare photos out of my mind, so John Jakes is not getting another dollar from me or another opportunity to create me sick. Lest you think I'm some kind of goody-two-shoes, that's not the case; it's just that I can tell the difference between and violent exploitation and I know which one I wish in my life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Seekers (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 3) []  2020-10-6 18:22

    If you like historical fiction you will love this series. I have read the full series at least 4 times and am in the process of reading the series for the 5th time. I search fresh things in the series every time I read them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Seekers (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 3) []  2020-10-6 18:22

    i love this historical era and you cannot support but be pulled in by the Kent e writing is easy to read (maybe 5th grade level) so even though it's a long thick book it's a fast read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Furies (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 4) []  2020-11-24 18:45

    I first read this book in the 1970s, and recently decided to re-read the entire series. I had given away my paperbacks, so as these books went on sale, I re-purchased them. They are still as tumeless and engrossing as they were ther first time around.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Furies (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 4) []  2020-11-24 18:45

    I read the whole series and loved each and every book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Family Oath (Chronicles of an Urban Druid Book 3) []  2020-11-30 18:45

    Amazing characters, fun premise. Enough balance so the heroine and family have challenges, but not totally dark. I look forward to more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Warriors (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 6) []  2020-7-27 18:0

    Another amazing book about a fictional family and actual historical events. The author has worked his magic once again and brought history to life again. I highly recommend the reading of all books by the author John Jakes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Warriors (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 6) []  2020-7-27 18:0

    John Jakes is an perfect writer. Whether you read this as a stand alone book, or as one of the series, you Will have fun the journey thru the book. Do yourself a favor and read it. Jakes does a unbelievable job of showing the reader a touch of the past

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Americans (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 8) []  2020-8-28 18:0

    Disliked stopping! As it was with each of the previous seven! novels, there remained much more to tell. But stop he felt he had to do and write another three, this time concentrating on the Civil War. I read, and recommend, those, too. I was an English major and neglected history, but after I retired and moved to Williamsburg, Virginia, I thought I should address the education I neglected. And learning history by reading John Jakes is method better than sitting in classes! Amazing stories. I learned a lot. Amazing literature? Well... He did it well, but in each book there's a need for backstory, which detracts a bit from the narrative flow. That's my only quibble. Well, that and the fact that book eight, in my opinion, just up and quits. But overall the stories are highly readable, enjoyable, and informative. You don't have to be retired to read 'em. But there's a lot to read. So it sure helps. But then a lot have been created into films and multi-part TV programs as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Americans (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 8) []  2020-8-28 18:0

    John Jakes wraps up this heavy history with this, the longest volume of the series. Gideon worries the Kent legacy will come to an abrupt halt as his life begins to wind down. Perhaps Eleanor, but tragedy on the street brings Eleanor's life to start to mimic her mother. Carter will create a name for himself, but it seems that name will have tarnish on it. Will, living in the shadow of his mother's taunts, must gain the confidence to figure out his method through life, and a trip out west may provide the answer. Super end to the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Americans (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 8) []  2020-8-28 18:0

    I bought these books for my husband,as I had previously read them( all eight volumes) I thought he would also!The only method to read this family saga is to continue one volume after another as each book is a continuous hn Jakes is amazing in keeping the attention of his readers throughout eight volumes of reading,you can't justnot continue the story! That in itself is a difficult job for an author!! My husband enjoyed them as much as I had,thanksfor making them available on Amazon!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Seekers (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 3) []  2020-10-6 18:22

    The Kent family continue their struggles in the fresh country and seem destined to always search the most difficult situations.I like it that the author doesn't always create life simple as he winds his characters through actual events. It does seem that at times though he contains actual characters along side his fictional ones more for the sake of drama than of the story of the main characters. But that is method historical fiction is.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Seekers (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 3) []  2020-10-6 18:22

    I enjoyed this story. I had the audio copy. The reader had amazing changes in his voices to separate the charactors. This is the first Kent family saga story I've read. ( I believe it was the third installment). The ending kind of leaves you hanging but it does create you wish to obtain the next installment. A warning for readers... It does obtain a bit graphic at times with one very disturbing incident involving a rape. Other than that I do recommend the book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Furies (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 4) []  2020-11-24 18:45

    One of the outstanding books in the Kent Family Chronicles.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Furies (The Kent Family Chronicles Book 4) []  2020-11-24 18:45

    I usually don't entertain the idea of reading a 650 plus page book. The reviews of this book sold me and the writing and story held my attention all the method to the end. Highly recommend.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386