Read churchill warrior: how a military life reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all churchill warrior: how a military life reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    bringg dispatch How to setup [For Panera Drivers]  2020-5-28 1:23
    [email protected]

    I the application ands it asks for my email and pads and I can’t see hint registration to use the application what’s their point no help page or nothing! Help me out

    1  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Churchill Warrior: How a Military Life Guided Winston's Finest Hours [Book]  2018-3-10 18:0

    Very amazing and interesting book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Churchill Warrior: How a Military Life Guided Winston's Finest Hours [Book]  2018-3-10 18:0

    So much I didn't know about his military background.

    0  


    Add your opinion on churchill warrior: how a military life or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Churchill: A Life [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    This is a massive, one volume biography of one of the twentieth century's real Titans The book encompasses Churchill’s youth, education and early military career, his journalistic work, and his political leadership. As one would expect, the narrative peaks during WWII. Churchill's leadership during this dark time was superb. He was one of those historic characters who was EXACTLY the right man, in the right place, at the right time!! His imprint on globe history and Amazing Britain is indelible. The span of the man's life and his accomplishments in several diverse fields is absolutely astonishing. All of this is driven home by the author's perfect prose. The narrative is augmented by Churchill's own speeches and excerpts from his writing. The man's words leap off the page and engross the ever, I was disappointed and I fully recognize that my rating and my opinion runs counter to the vast majority of other reviews posted here. My concerns are as follows:- I thought method too much trivial detail was spent on Churchill's youth. While I understand how necessary youthful experiences are in shaping and defining later attitudes and motivations, I came away with small insight into young Churchill's soul. I was disappointed that not more effort was spent on sharpening the focus of his relationships with his parents and family. Less zone taken up with Churchill's report cards and more attention to the "inner" youth would have been, I believe, more profitable for the reader.- My major problem with the book is that it is in no method objective. Churchill's every move, every phrase, every political position, every forecast is treated as outright success or draped in positive connotations. Failures that are attached to Churchill's name are actually the fault of others or unavoidable circumstances. There was no "what if"analysis. No discussion of alternatives. Everything Churchill thought or did was presented with such certainty and from doubt. Frankly, half method into the book I really got sick and tired of reading about the multiple unbroken successes that an larger than life portrait that the author presented.- I didn't feel that I obtain to know Churchill "The Person" His fears, doubts, motivations, feelings, themes and emotions were presented, but not fully developed. Churchill is depicted in almost mythic proportions I didn't obtain to know Churchill as a true living creature, beset by doubts and emotions. It was like looking at a coloring book....images are presented in outline, you obtain a reasonable idea of the subject, but it is still an outline, not fully developed by color and shading.I greatly have fun non-fiction that is balanced, objective with sufficient discussion to provide the reader with perspective, insight and thought provoking scenarios. After I finished this book, I learned what Churchill did, what he accomplished but not who he was.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Churchill: A Life [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    Martin Gilbert provides a detailed and thoroughly enjoyable book on Winston Churchill and the role he played in the historic happenings of the first two-thirds of the 20th century. I really didn't wish this book to end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Churchill: A Life [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    Martin Gilbert is Churchill's authorized biographer. I learned the history behind the man. I read a lot of biographies. What I found with this book that the author method too much detail in telling the story of the prime minister. The book much praise for the prime minister while exploding Churchill's his enormous ego. For those who like to read about every detail of the man, this is the book for you. The author has presented his whole research in the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Churchill: A Life [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    This book is a detailed look at the life and times of one of the greatest men of the twentieth century. It defines the amazing victories and defeats that Churchill had to live through, as well as the unfair criticism that all successful politicians have to obtain through. The author provides both sides of the stories and the happenings to present the situation as well as the alternatives to support shape the decisions taken. In particular, the author brings out the foresight and perseverance in his political and military views which were unrecognized at the time to illustrate Churchill's primary philosophies. While at times dwelling a small too much on his vacations, tours and paintings - making some parts of his life seem dedicated to himself - it also presents the wonderful work ethic and vigor that defined Churchill's political and literary career. All in all, a very long, but deeply interesting and enlightening look at a amazing man.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Churchill: A Life [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    Clearly a seminal piece of work. Sir Martin Gilbert has an exceptional grasp of history and a talent for making those who were participants on the globe scene come to life. One of the best biographies I have read in a long, long time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Churchill: A Life [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    I have to rate this book up there with one of the best I have read, in spite of the fact that there was a point in the book, about a fourth of the method through, when I wondered if I would [email protected]#$%!. I struggled a bit, reading about Churchill as a boy, and also his early political life. He was an odd child, and not having a amazing understanding of the British Parlimentary system, it dragged on some. That being said, in the end, I would not remove any of that from the book if I were editing it, which I clearly don't have the qualifications to do. Without them, it would be hard to fully understand the life of this special and magnificent man. I don't believe there is a more significant hero in the 20th century than Winston Spencer Churchill and without an understanding of this man, it is impossible to understand Globe Battle II and why the allies won the rtin Gilbert does such a unbelievable job of weaving the narrative of, not only Churchill's life, but the multitude of happenings in the 20th century that he played a role, that even though I knew the outcome, I couldn't place the book down. In the end, I came away with not just a deeper admiration for WSC, but a greater understanding of the history of his era. Churchill is one of the heroes of history, and Gilbert does an admirable job of proving that point. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Churchill: A Life [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    I am still reading this book - so far it is very amazing and the characters come across well. I am hoping that as I obtain further into the book Mr. Gilbert will begin talking about his person life with his unbelievable wife and children.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Churchill: A Life [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    I read Sir Martin Gilbert's History of the Holocaust. It took me 3 months to read it because it was so horrifying. "Churchill" is as well written and not horrifying and an 1100 page synopsis is his 7 volume work. It is an inspiring work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Churchill: A Life [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    As influential as any figure of the 20th Century, Churchill was simply an wonderful human being. Gilbert does an perfect job of telling the story of Churchill and his key role in a lot of of the happenings that shaped the globe as we know it. A bigger than life mind and personality, Churchill was like no one else. If you'd like to learn about Churchill ... or have any interest in 20th Century history, including both globe battles and the Cold War, you will very much have fun this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Churchill: A Life [Book]  2017-11-24 18:0

    Amazing detail of a full life. An simple read with much info especially for a reader with any interest in history,i love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Warlord: A Life of Winston Churchill at War, 1874-1945 [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    A terrific volume of incidents that truly create Churchill a master of leading others into war. The info would do soliders, engineers and teachers amazing lengths to training others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Warlord: A Life of Winston Churchill at War, 1874-1945 [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    Warlord is a classic that provides a background to the one man who was indispensible to Europe and likely the globe in the 1940s

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Warlord: A Life of Winston Churchill at War, 1874-1945 [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    “Warlord: A Life of Winston Churchill at War, 1874-1945” is one of the most latest biographies of Sir Winston Churchill to have been written over the past three decades. It's also one of the best. Authored by distinguished military historian Carlo D’Este, and published in 2008, this fine biography focuses on Churchill as a military officer and battle leader, and locations specific emphasis on his five years as Britain’s Prime Minister during Globe Battle II.D’Este sets the scene for his story by covering much of his well-documented childhood and early career. The neglected son of aristocratic parents, Churchill was both troubled and troublesome. Always childish and petulant, he demanded his own method in everything, and usually got what he wanted by sheer force of determination. In a man less brilliant than he was, these traits might have consigned him to obscurity. But Churchill succeeded in spite of his a lot of amazing flaws (bordering on hubris), becoming, in turn,a decorated troops officer, battle correspondent, Member of Parliament, Minister of State in different government ministries, and ultimately Prime Minister.“Warlord” is a prodigious work of scholarship that clearly demonstrates D’Este’s exhaustive research and brilliant writing abilities. D’Este reveals much info about Churchill that I never knew before, even though I’ve read several other Churchill biographies. D’Este paints a portrait of Churchill that is, in equal measure, respectful and critical of its subject. Churchill is admired for his strength, stubbornness, courage, and indomitable will, and criticized for his childishness, petulance, impetuousness, and ill temper – even during his years as Prime Minister. Through it all, however, D’Este makes clear one point: without Winston Churchill, the Allies would not have been victorious in Globe Battle II.An exceptionally well-written and fascinating book, “Warlord: The Life of Winston Churchill at War, 1874-1945” gets my highest recommendation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Warlord: A Life of Winston Churchill at War, 1874-1945 [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    haven't finished this book buit it's a amazing insight into the man himself. From his stubborn upbringing to his arrogant, ungrateful, selfish yet occassionally compassionate ways, it's interesting but not surprising at azing read.....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Warlord: A Life of Winston Churchill at War, 1874-1945 [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    fresh book, as advertised, quickly shipped, slight packing hurt

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Warlord: A Life of Winston Churchill at War, 1874-1945 [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    A retired U.S. Troops Lieutenant Colonel, Carlo D'Este has had a second career as a historian. Using his military background, he has picked a narrow topic: the U.S. Troops in the European theater of Globe Battle II and written some of the most informative and readable accounts of the battle in print. His biography of General George S. Patton, Jr. is a work that anyone thinking of taking up this art form should read as an example of how to do it right.With "Warlord," D'Este has moved into fresh territory, British military history. The readers should know that the story that unfolds on these pages is primarily European in nature. Although over half of this book is about Globe Battle II, the author is examining the British experience and that is a various subject from what he has done in the past. Pearl Harbor does not take put until page 556 (out of 700 of text) and even then, only as a dependent clause.D'Este's research is extensive and creative. He has looked at Churchill's student records at Harrow and examined the papers of Lord Moran, the Prime Minister's private physician. In between, he hits all the necessary e quality of coverage that comes from this exploration of the historical record is uneven, though, ranging from brilliant to merely adequate. The book is extremely weak on the Globe Battle I years. Serious Churchill buffs/fans/students will be disappointed. With that point made, most Americans know small of Globe Battle I and the discussion of the Amazing Battle should be more than adequate for general readers. D'Este also builds on this material. The book is much stronger when it gets to the Globe Battle II years, and the author connects much of what Churchill did in the 1940s back to the happenings of the 1910s, something that is uncommon in American writing on the Prime Minister.A trait in D'Este biographies is that key figures other the principal topic have their moment to walk across the pages and voice their opinions and criticisms. The same is real here. General Dwight D. Eisenhower and Field Marshal Sir Alan Brooke, the head of the British Troops for most of the war, often clashed with Churchill. D'Este pulls no punches and avoids the mistake of a lot of biographers in siding with his subject, but he is better at narration than analysis in these moments. A number of other British generals, a lot of of whom have ended up as forgotten figures, also obtain their moments and a generally sympathetic hearing from Churchill's biographer.A clear strength is D'Este's efforts to develop Churchill's personality. He makes some keen observations, and the reader gets a amazing idea why Brooke found the man at times so infuriating and at others so ly--and this is no small thing--this book is an easy, simple read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Warlord: A Life of Winston Churchill at War, 1874-1945 [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    I am a WWII history buff and this the best and most definitive book on Churchill as Prime Minister and Warlord during WWII.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Warlord: A Life of Winston Churchill at War, 1874-1945 [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    A most informative book. I won't test to describe the individual because much of that has been done in a lot of volumes written before Churchill's influence in the affairs of WW II. He certainly was aware of the mounting threat of a Germany. He predicted it long before the blitzkrieg took place. He warned the globe of Hitler and no one was willing to listen After the pasting that the Allies suffered during WW I, the British, Americans and France were not anxious to enter the fray. Churchill's native land endured the German bombing for a number of years. The only thing that stalled Hitler's advance into England was the separation of the two powers by France and the effects such a move might have on America's interest. Churchill spent nearly a year shuttling between London and Washington soliciting munitions and funds. Lend lease was a success, but actual American involvement was never initiatedChurchill had to referee the political imbalance when France and its tow parties were at odds. He kept an eagles' eye on Russia and he quietly maneuvered America into the fray. If anyone was all necessary in the ultimate Allies victory, Churchill was the leading figure in my estimation. He was the glue who kept it all together.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Warlord: A Life of Winston Churchill at War, 1874-1945 [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    This is a well-written and engaging acc of Churchill's life as a soldier and military director. There are surprising info - such as his role as an active defender in the siege of Antwerp during the first Globe War, and the fact that he was the original inspiration behind the creation of the tank (already well known...) and also of the British airforce (I didn't know that!). His failings as well as his strengths are detailed with laudable amazing balance. All-in-all an perfect addition to the Churchill canon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Warlord: A Life of Winston Churchill at War, 1874-1945 [Book]  2017-12-27 18:0

    What created Churchill such a amazing leader was his military background, he was never a General or in command of a amazing army. It was the plain soldier in Churchill that created him great, the one who puts duty above self and serves the other in time of danger. That soldier in Churchill spilled over into his political life more than he thought and that created him the amazing man he became! Carlo D'Este has done a amazing job of portraying Churchill from early life to the end of WWII, he truly was the greatest figure of the 20th century.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond the Military: A Leader's Handbook for Warrior Reintegration []  2020-1-16 17:45

    Jason Roncoroni expertly navigates the frustrating, daunting and so often confusing subject of military transition from military service to civilian life in a method no one else can. If you are a transitioning military member, YOU NEED THIS BOOK!There are no substitutes to this book to frame your path after any length of time serving the nation. The outline and coaching he provides in “Beyond The Military: A Leader’s Handbook to Fighter Re-Integration” is essential to your next step, and does exactly what he sets out to do; “present an integrative tactic for civilian reintegration, continued growth, and lifelong success for both you and your family in civilian life.”With Dr. Shauna Springer’s astute observations and detailed navigational aids, this book helps “provide tactics to explore your fresh tribe and build healthy, meaningful relationships for continued growth and well-being as a veteran leader in society.” The military does a phenomenal job integrating our sons and daughters INTO the military, but has no commensurate program to ensure a smooth, stress-free transition from the military back to civilian life. “Beyond The Military” is the tutorial you need - but didn’t know it – when it comes to navigating this tenuous time in your yourself and your family a favor and GET THE BOOK!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond the Military: A Leader's Handbook for Warrior Reintegration []  2020-1-16 17:45

    A dear friend, who is a Korean Battle vet, shared his latest experience about meeting a stranger who he learned was a Vietnam vet. My mate described how there is a powerful connection that vets have with each other that cannot be explained,. Not only do they share military experiences, they also face related challenges of “life after the military.”More than just a book, Beyond the Military is a thoughtful, practical and encouraging navigation tutorial to support active military members, veterans and their families successfully reintegrate, after the military. Those who have served our country, at the very least, deserve the opportunity and help to successfully transition back to civilian life. Beyond the Military is such a important and life-changing book to support create that happen!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond the Military: A Leader's Handbook for Warrior Reintegration []  2020-1-16 17:45

    The release Beyond the Military: A Leader's Handbook for Fighter Reintegration came at an ideal time just weeks before my retirement ceremony and terminal leave from the United States Air Force after serving over 20 years. Jason Roncaroni and Dr. Shauna Springer have done what the DoD Transition Assistance Program hasn't done; discuss the full scale of military transition (not just employment and benefits). Their approach to finding fresh meaning and purpose with one's post-military career, addressing finding your fresh social sphere and healthy relationships should first be implanted into a servicemembers transition process well before the physical act of wearing the uniform for the latest time. Finding newfound meaning and purpose has been more necessary to me than acquiring immediate employment. Jason and Shauna's tutorial will ease the grief that comes with this eir Military Transition and Reintegration Process (MTRP) provides a logical framework that all military members, regardless of branch of service can relate to in well defined and thought out steps. The follow on activities provides a private touch to where a transitioning member could share their worksheets with mentors or other military is tutorial should be something that is used in transition programs offered within the current DoD Skillbridge internship programs, USO Pathfinder, US Chamber of Commerce Hiring Our Heroes and at each and every military transition assistance seminar.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond the Military: A Leader's Handbook for Warrior Reintegration []  2020-1-16 17:45

    This book is an incredibly refreshing, ground-breaking, clear and inspiring manual on living a purposeful life, “Beyond The Military.” Jason Roncoroni and Doc Shauna Springer, I commend you. This book is revolutionary, not only for those making the transition, but also deeply insightful and important for those of us who work with, love, hate, tolerate or have a calling to understand returning service-members. When mentioning this book to my closest Vietnam Veteran friend, he simply said, “Well it’s about damn time. I would even benefit from reading that.” This from a man who “came home” decades ago and learned “the hard way.” I am so grateful to have this as a resource and look forward to spreading the word.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond the Military: A Leader's Handbook for Warrior Reintegration []  2020-1-16 17:45

    Beyond the Military immediately addresses what we all think, feel, and want we could fix. This book is an easily digestible tutorial to navigating civilian reintegration from a psychological standpoint. As a recently separated military officer of eight years and someone currently searching for employment, I’ve found myself falling into the trap of prioritizing the WHAT over the WHY. LTC (R) Roncoroni and Dr. Springer explain why this is a common problem and large issue for our post-9/11 service members. It’s simple to give-up on finding a true purpose in civilian life because it’s natural to think that nothing will create you feel the method that uniform did. Beyond the Military will light a fire in you to believe it’s possible and give you tangible steps to create it happen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond the Military: A Leader's Handbook for Warrior Reintegration []  2020-1-16 17:45

    As someone who works closely with the military and civilian sectors, Beyond the Military is an invaluable resource that helps veterans and their loved ones be successful, happy, and productive as they leave the military and start their journey back into civilian life. For businesses supporting their internal veteran community, this is a phenomenal book to provide to veterans joining your team. Beyond the Military is hands down the most impactful, practical, and strong tool I’ve ever seen! - Program Director, Institute for Defense and Business

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond the Military: A Leader's Handbook for Warrior Reintegration []  2020-1-16 17:45

    I am newly transitioned. I only had a few months between wearing a uniform to being back in school, and I nearly lost my mind. I didn't know what I wanted to do with my life, I didn't know why my spouse couldn't be an emotional help to me. I had too much to think about and too much to worry about and honestly, no one seemed to care. I am truly grateful to Jason Roncoroni and Shauna Springer for bringing this book to print; it has been a slap in the face that I very much needed. So a lot of of the decisions we create are fear based and that can prevent us from becoming the people we wish to be. This book helps a person to begin their eyes to the possibilities and it really has created me think about what I wish to do with the next chapter in my life. One of the most interesting points created is transition stress is REAL. So if you are, or you know someone who is retiring or transitioning after more than 10 years in the service, RECOMMEND THIS BOOK! It is not a book for those that aren't interested in introspection, you have been warned. When I first received the book and did a flip through, I rolled my eyes at all the pages that you are supposed to fill in the blanks. After the first chapter I realized that every exercise has a purpose. Each page builds on the last. I am only 85 pages in, but so satisfied for this purchase. So Jason and Shauna, you are life savers!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond the Military: A Leader's Handbook for Warrior Reintegration []  2020-1-16 17:45

    It’s been five years since I transitioned out of the Troops through an MEB. As a 100% disabled vet I wondered if I would be able to search a career I could physically do that I loved as much as I loved the Army. I began in a field similar to my education and after about 3 years in I met Jason Roncoroni. Jason has been my Executive Coach for almost two years. Through this time I have had a lot of waves of highs and lows, from promotions at work to wanting to quit, as well as a very hard divorce. Jason helped me preserve my values through it all and continues to enlighten me each session we is book is mimics parts of the first 6 months of our coaching experience, and If you can obtain a part of his coaching program for the of a book, I would say you can’t go wrong.I would tell you two things if you are transitioning from the military and thinking about this book. The first is, this book will support you end up in a amazing place. To expand on that, I mean a put that matches who you wish to be, and what you what to do… even if you don’t know what that currently is. Getting YOU to identify the right question to ask yourself, and then getting YOU to respond that question using your real goals, values and hero is what Jason does e second point has more to do with the career side of the book, and it is real for every veteran at every level. Be relentless, and never settle. I see so a lot of veterans coming out of service and working dead end jobs because they don’t know what they wish to do or they don’t know how to apply their skills. I heard one buddy say he doesn’t see too a lot of companies needing mortormen. Remember the MOS or task you did is not important. If you served then you had the privilege of attending the best leadership school on earth even if you weren't an NCO or Officer. Go out there and use Leadership as the driving force for the career you want. No college compares in training leaders, and I have yet to search a company that dedicates as much leadership education and experience as I saw our service members of every branch obtain during my decade of service. The glaring fact in the civilian globe is most managers and supervisors suck at leadership. They just don’t know how to do it. They don’t support, they test to take. They don’t lead with accountability while still implementing compassion. Companies, government entities, and little business squads of all types crave amazing leadership. The kind WE have seen, in the method that WE take care of every aspect of every one of our squad members, and we forge powerful well trained squads that deserve amazing leadership. With that said, this book can support you pull that leadership mindset to the forefront and use it to land where you were meant to d Luck!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond the Military: A Leader's Handbook for Warrior Reintegration []  2020-1-16 17:45

    Beyond the Military is timely, relevant and provides much required info to veterans transitioning into the personal sector. I’ve had the distinct honor to work with Jason over the latest few months as he and Dr. Springer place the finishing touches on their military transitioning handbook “Beyond the Military”This handbook “applies the Military Decision Making Process to support you navigate transition.” Jason and Dr Springer support tutorial military members through their process of transition with an eye towards private transformation.Whether you are just beginning your transition process, are in the middle, or have already completed it— this book is for you. Their comprehensive approach to whole health, social reintegration, cultural assimilation, economic stability, long term development, close relationship and family adjustment are conversations that are missing in the veterans zone right is book is timely. It is relevant. And you should read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Beyond the Military: A Leader's Handbook for Warrior Reintegration []  2020-1-16 17:45

    A book a.k.a. Manual like this that provides a comprehensive tactic to tutorial military members through the both the personally and professionally challenging process of transitioning out of the service was so overdue. This book should be a needed reading for every service member, and their spouses, who are transitioning from the military or even working through their decision of when to retire/separate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forty Ways to Look at Winston Churchill: A Brief Account of a Long Life [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    A fascinating look at the a lot of facets of a person's personality and actions, taken as either profoundly awesome or inept. We see the strengths of weaknesses of a person that was a major historical figure--a man who created a major impact on his beloved England when they required him most as a leader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forty Ways to Look at Winston Churchill: A Brief Account of a Long Life [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    Amazing - both sides of opinion. Notes sources, Shows several views of a complicated person. Very well written allowing for individual judgment to be created by the reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forty Ways to Look at Winston Churchill: A Brief Account of a Long Life [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    Fun read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forty Ways to Look at Winston Churchill: A Brief Account of a Long Life [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    It's a various approach, as the author states...haven't been all the method through it, but feel there's a lot of redundancy. Not a page turner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forty Ways to Look at Winston Churchill: A Brief Account of a Long Life [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    Brilliant about a amazing man.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forty Ways to Look at Winston Churchill: A Brief Account of a Long Life [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    Amazing book, reflective views on Churchill.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forty Ways to Look at Winston Churchill: A Brief Account of a Long Life [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    This is the first time I've known an author before I knew the book. I've been following Gretchen Rubin's "Happiness Project" throughout the writing, publication and now it's phenomenal success. I love her style! I have a mate who has read just about every book ever written about Winston Churchill, but I was able to surprise him with a fresh one by an author I know (and he doesn't). Score!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forty Ways to Look at Winston Churchill: A Brief Account of a Long Life [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    The home library I discovered this terrific book in has now been destroyed by the Boulder, Colorado fires just now! This is possibly the best biography I have ever read-short, balanced in praise and cricism and darned fun to read. I've passed it on to my son, and will recommend this book to a lot of as soon as he returns it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forty Ways to Look at Winston Churchill: A Brief Account of a Long Life [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    Amazing Read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forty Ways to Look at Winston Churchill: A Brief Account of a Long Life [Book]  2017-10-23 18:0

    The book arrived quickly. It was in amazing shape and I learned a lot from reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Road Warrior Physician: Locum Tenens a How-to Guide []  2020-1-21 20:24

    A thoughtful look at the locum tenens lifestyle and a thorough explanation of the options available. Dr. Lumpkin who has "been there done that" is the excellent tutorial to walk you through - 1) the process of deciding to go with an agency or not, 2) how to prepare for your first day on a fresh assignment and 3) how to prepare for life on the street as a medical cluded in the book is a amazing set checklists and resources to support you hold track of all the info this style of career necessarily includes. This is a not miss section since contains things you might not even think of!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Road Warrior Physician: Locum Tenens a How-to Guide []  2020-1-21 20:24

    This is a well written, simple to read tutorial for any doctor intending to do locums in the US. There are a lot of very practical suggestions covering everything you would need to know including getting your paperwork sorted out, choosing an agency or going it alone, being polite, what to pack, www services to support organise your life and much more. Tutorials like this, written by someone who actually knows what they are talking about, is worth their weight in gold.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Road Warrior Physician: Locum Tenens a How-to Guide []  2020-1-21 20:24

    This is a concise, easy-to-read, well organized tutorial to working as a Locum Tenens physician. While it is geared more to someone just getting ready to create the plunge, there are certainly hints here that would be helpful even to physicians already doing Locum Tenens work. Dr. Lumpkin has some perfect lists to refer to (I've bookmarked those pages!) I also appreciate the description of some of the electronic "aids" that she uses to hold organized - computer programs and apps that she has found helpful to hold the myriad info organized that she has required to function well in her professional travels. If and when I take the plunge and do Locum Tenens work, I'll definitely be referring back to this guide!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Road Warrior Physician: Locum Tenens a How-to Guide []  2020-1-21 20:24

    Super short and very small original would obtain more detailed and current info doing a google find and reading a single article

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Road Warrior Physician: Locum Tenens a How-to Guide []  2020-1-21 20:24

    This is a amazing read for super positive people who are looking for a pat on the ose looking for answers to a lot of of the troubling issues facing locums will search a couple of reasonable answers here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Road Warrior Physician: Locum Tenens a How-to Guide []  2020-1-21 20:24

    What an informative and entertaining read!! As a lay person who had/has medical family and mates with the VA and Indian Health Service where use of locum tenens is a standard practice, I especially enjoyed this book and now know what the practice entails. This is an perfect tutorial for the locum tenens and for anyone starting a fresh position in a medical facility.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Road Warrior Physician: Locum Tenens a How-to Guide []  2020-1-21 20:24

    This is a must read for all resident physicians and all physician employers in addition to everyone who is thinking about or planning on doing locum tenens work. I especially have fun the part about etiquettes and general principles for physicians who are applying for jobs and medical staff privileges. Having dealt with physician credentialing as a department chair for 8 years, I definitely appreciate Chapter 4’s content which is very necessary for all physicians. As a street fighter physician, the author also much valuable insight and recommendations on traveling. Again, this is a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Road Warrior Physician: Locum Tenens a How-to Guide []  2020-1-21 20:24

    I'm not a physician, but I wanted a small peek into true traveling doctors lives . This was a well written, brief, and informative look at what locum doctors experience. It would be a very amazing book for a physician newly considering going into this field. It was a bit dry and factual but I found it intriguing and interesting. I am glad that I read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Road Warrior Physician: Locum Tenens a How-to Guide []  2020-1-21 20:24

    If you wish to learn how something, anything, works, then there's no better avenue than getting tip from somebody who's been in the trenches, mapped out the terrain, and returned with a full report. Elizabeth Lumpkin demonstrates in this brief but detailed book that she understands every little detail of her field, and anybody who wants to understand Locum Tenens must add this indispensable asset to their libraries. It won't disappoint!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Road Warrior Physician: Locum Tenens a How-to Guide []  2020-1-21 20:24

    As a Physician Recruiter with 23 years in the Industry I loved this book. Dr. Lumpkin a concise view into what it takes to be a highly successful Locum who has their choice of assignments. I especially appreciate the section on credentialing and love the hints she provides for what to take on the road. I will be recommending this book to any Physician considering Locums, as well as veteran Locum Physicians. Clients will also gain insight on courting Physicians who are a amazing fit for their Practice and how to prepare for the temporary Physician.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Churchill Woman: A Novel []  2020-1-20 18:52

    This is a well written book of fiction based loosely on the facts of the life of Jeannie Jerome Churchill. Of course we can never obtain fully into the heads of historical characters, so poetic license where emotion and motive are concerned is enjoyable and makes the history go down more easily. Where I want the author had improved was in the actual history. Syphilis, the presumed cause of Lord Rdolph's death, and given as a motivator for a lot of of the main characters actions, is today known to be an unlikely cause of his demise. Modern doctors, scientists and historians all agree that syphilis was heavily over used as a diagnosis in the late 19th century. Both Churchill boy's look too much like Churchills to be other than Randolph sons, as claimed by the author. Neither Lady Churchill nor her son' showed any signs in their lifetimes of the disease. So the central tenant of the book, the motivator, doesn't hang together. After a while I found this fallacy to be grating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Churchill Woman: A Novel []  2020-1-20 18:52

    I'm a major Churchill Buff. From the first ones rewarded with Blenheim, to Pamela Digby Churchill Harriman, the family has created waves on both sides of the Pond for over three hundred years. Winston, Jennie's son, gave the British Lion its roar, and for much of Globe Battle Two, that was all England had going for is novel was based on some spectacular facts, but I never allow facts obtain in the method of a amazing legend. Jennie Jerome Churchill Cornwallis-West was a legend.I found this book entertaining as only Stephanie Barron can do. She captures "Voice" -- whether it is writing in Jane Austen's voice in her Jane Austen Mysteries, or here. She tells a fabulous to one of her books I've not read: Jack 1939.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Churchill Woman: A Novel []  2020-1-20 18:52

    Loved it! I know this is fiction based on a true person, so I don’t know what was true or purely entertainment, but it was a fabulous and fast read! This was a woman before her time! Powerful and independent and a loving mother! You won’t go wrong with this one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Churchill Woman: A Novel []  2020-1-20 18:52

    Absolutely loved this book - explains a amazing about her childhood, married life and her children. Winston's upbringing and personality are among the things revealed very well. The details, from clothing, to politics, to historical speeches, music, art and clothes are all fascinating and beautifully told. An outstanding read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Churchill Woman: A Novel []  2020-1-20 18:52

    A very amazing read, especially to those who knew small about Winston Churchill's family.I found some of the story a bit cumbersome, but kept on to complete the book.I came to the conclusion that his mother took on a poor but created it r her and the Churchill family.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Churchill Woman: A Novel []  2020-1-20 18:52

    I really have fun Stephanie Barron's historical fiction novels, but this manuscript fell flat for me. In part, I feel as if historic biopics are unfair to their protagonists, even though I realize that Jennie Jerome/Churchill is public domain at this point. The story's speculation, which is based on fact, about her life and marriage almost seems intrusive since she still has living relatives. (Not that this book, or American Duchess, or A Well-Behaved Woman will sway public opinion since generally, no one cares about these women/families much any more). I'd have enjoyedThat Churchill Woman more had Barron created it straight-up fiction about a fictional character, and I'd have bought it simply on the strength of Barron's other it is, although Barron's writing is as clear as ever, I didn't relate to any of the characters, most especially "that Churchill woman" herself. After That Churchill Woman, American Duchess and A Well-Behaved Woman, it's as if authors have discovered a formula: write about a privileged American woman who marries into wealth or aristocracy, throw in some (lurid) info about parties, clothes, marriage/s, and transgressions, then call it a novel.I'm ready for this trend—and time-traveling, and bouncing back and forth between historic periods, and dystopia—to end, and for authors I have fun to revert to their imagination and talent to make stories again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Churchill Woman: A Novel []  2020-1-20 18:52

    Some readers love novels and other books about celebrity culture, jet-setters, the ultra-rich, royals, duchesses. I’m not one of them. I do have fun a carefully researched, compelling historical novel, and this novel about Winston Churchill’s glamorous mother Jennie does seem carefully researched. Too often, though, it reads more like one of those fluffy Regency romance novels (late Victorian in this case, I suppose) than a historical novel. Never a scene—love, politics, private anguish, whatever—without an elaborate description of the clothes the people are wearing. The clothes often seem to be the point, in fact. I think by contrast of Edith Wharton writing about Gilded Age America ( scenes of that in this novel, too). Yes, we obtain descriptions of clothes and furnishings, but in Wharton, they are always in the service of plot and especially character. Here, plot and hero seem like clothes-horses. Toward the late pages of this novel, we do obtain some inkling of a true and very complicated woman in true and very complicated times. Too small too late. The writing is beautiful straightforward. If you like this kind of gussied-up story, you’ll probably like this book. I didn’t. Not much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Churchill Woman: A Novel []  2020-1-20 18:52

    I am halfway through and am enjoying. In the beginning you have to read it very carefully as I obtain the feeling the author is trying to send a notice that she is not a romance history writer, but a serious writer. Her prose requires more thinking. However, that changes quick and the story gets to you. I knew the story of Jennie Jerome, as there was a biography of her I had read years ago. I also knew of the not good story of Randolph Churchill. If you watched the film THE FAVORITE and saw the first Sarah Churchill this is 170 years later all linked

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Churchill Woman: A Novel []  2020-1-20 18:52

    I loved this beautifully written story of Lady Randolph Churchill nee Jennie Jerome. Ms Barron captures the times in which Jennie Jerome lived and her impact on the globe she inhabited. Other books about Winston Churchill's mother have portrayed her as wanton, ambitious and a not good mother but Ms Barron gives another ver of this independent, smart woman stuck in a thankless is is a highly readable book filled with interesting facts about the Victorian and post Victorian era. I highly recommend this perfect book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    That Churchill Woman: A Novel []  2020-1-20 18:52

    Barron's has written an intriguing tale of a woman struggling versus the confines of her own time to live a life on her own terms. I loved the info woven so carefully into the story. For a middle-class American woman living now, it was a foreign world. Not without its glamour, for sure, but the social constrictions would have been hideous. Who can blame Jennie for her choices?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Clementine: The Life of Mrs. Winston Churchill []  2020-1-16 5:7

    Loved this book. Very amazing info on the remarkable Mrs Winston Churchill. Does not whitewash her charecter flaws. She was very critical of her mother in law, Jenny Churchill for her nglect of her children. But she herself was a distant and aloof mother of all of her older children, who all had major issues with alcohol, drugs, depression, mental illness and suicide. She did obtain it right with her latest child, ementine was a devoted and diligent advocate for her husband, Winston. It is hard to imagine that he could have overcome the obstacles he placed in his own way, without her help. Winston was notoriously oblivious and obtuse about the feelings of others. This would have been a career assassin if he had not had a wife who was able to influence and obtain him to become more self rangely enough her friendship with Eleanor Roosevelt, was reflective of two women who had a lot in common. Both women came from arisocratic families. Both had were troubled with severe insecurity that tthey overcame to become major personalities in their own right. Both women were also the "Conscience" of their husbands. The difference between them is that Clementine's relationship with Winston was a love match. Eleano'rs relationship with FDR's was notably a platonic friendship after his affair with Lucy Mercer. Winston remained devoted to Clementine and quite dependent on her for the rest of his life. Winston would have driven most women crazy, he was a very difficult man, and it was probably the best decision he ever created to marry Clementine.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Clementine: The Life of Mrs. Winston Churchill []  2020-1-16 5:7

    She place Winston before everyone, including kids and her own health. This perfect book focuses on Clementine's family, origins, marriage, and her interactions with the political elite between the globe wars. Highly recommended biography!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Clementine: The Life of Mrs. Winston Churchill []  2020-1-16 5:7

    I found this biography of Clementine Churchill fascinating, not only because I learned so much about her life and her contributions to the battle effort during Globe Battle II, but also the insight into that period of British history, the politics, the British aristocracy , the relationship with the United States, and most fascinating, her influence on Winston Churchill. She was the only person who could soothe "the savage beast" when he fell into a rage or a deep depression. The author used a lot of basic sources, especially their letters to each other that were both love letters and letters of counsel from Clementine regarding his political career, and yes, even his wartime decisions. She was privy to all the critical battle plans and even accompanied Winston on trips to inspect war ships or land troops, a completely unheard of role for the wife of a member of parliament or the wife of the Prime Minister. I am glad she has finally gotten some recognition through this excellently written and meticulously researched biography. The only challenge of an otherwise amazing read was keeping the a lot of social mates and relationships straight.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Clementine: The Life of Mrs. Winston Churchill []  2020-1-16 5:7

    Couldn't rave enough about this biography of the woman who shared Winston Churchill's life and really became his mainstay in all things. This book really fleshes out the life of this beautiful, aristocratic, well-intentioned woman, who nevertheless had true human frailties (for example, difficulty bonding with her own kids and life-long insecurities about financial instability that came from a bohemian upbringing with small family money) and who struggled through all, ultimately successfully, to be "useful" to her husband and to her country. Very nicely written, quite informative and, surprisingly, a rather quick read for a book totaling approx. 400 pages. I would say this is among the top best five or so books that I have read in the latest year. One of the few books I was really sorry to see end. Very highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Clementine: The Life of Mrs. Winston Churchill []  2020-1-16 5:7

    Amazing read about one of history's most remarkable couples. The struggles, setbacks, losses, weaknesses and sacrifices in contrast with a seemingly inexhaustible energy, strength and raw courage, due in huge measure to the indomitable will of both Churchills, is simply amazing. The weight of the globe lay on his shoulders and Clementine was his brace, his anchor, his confidant, his love and his strength. Their unfailing leadership through private actions,whether from Downing,St, Checquers or out in the road with the people the Churchills brought hope, comfort, courage and instilled within the people a real belief that win would be theirs Not stopping at the waters edge these sentiments transmitted to battle weary millions around the paraphrase Winston, "Never has so much been owed by so a lot of to so few! " Thank you Winston and Clementine!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Clementine: The Life of Mrs. Winston Churchill []  2020-1-16 5:7

    This was a book club selection -- I like historical biographies and found this one to be interesting to see the prospective of the woman behind the man. I did search the writing difficult at first because of the sentence structure. But after several chapters got used to it. I appreciate the method the author brought various people's point of view into the description of the times. Every time I read a book about WWII, I am amazed at the tenacity of the people of that time to emotionally and physically survive the horror of that war. This book shares some of those thoughts and emotions from one close to a major participant in the decision making process.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Clementine: The Life of Mrs. Winston Churchill []  2020-1-16 5:7

    After seeing the movie, The Darkest Hour, about Winston Churchill, I was enchanted by the hero of his wife, Clementine Hozier Churchill. I picked up Clementine: The Life of Mrs. Winston Churchill by Sonia Purnell to learn more about the wife of one of Britain’s most popular prime ministers. I found the story of Clementine (pronounced Clementeen) truly ementine was born into a socially prominent by cash-strapped family. Both parents were sexually promiscuous and it is rumored that Clementine and her three siblings are not the biological kids of her father. This biography takes you from her birth, her childhood and info her fascinating life. Her marriage to Winston was especially interesting and she is said to have managed Winston in the same method that Edith Roosevelt managed Theodore. Clementine’s control was done behind-the-scenes with grace and tact. Winston would have probably not been the amazing leader he became without Clementine by his was especially thought-provoking to read the comparisons and interactions between Clementine and Eleanor Roosevelt, wife of US President Franklin D. Roosevelt. Clementine preferred to work in the background, although at least on one occasions, Eleanor pushed her to the forefront. But I did feel that Purnell was unfairly critical of Eleanor and downplayed her talents and contributions. Clementine also info the heart-breaks in the lives of the Churchills—especially when it came to their e story of Clementine Churchill is one that should not be lost to history. Thanks to biographies like this, as well as films like The Darkest Hour and even the tv series, The Crown, Clementine Churchill is getting renewed and much-deserved attention.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Clementine: The Life of Mrs. Winston Churchill []  2020-1-16 5:7

    I received my book at the appointed day which created me quite satisfied however, when I carefully removed it from the box I looked it over and noticed the bookcover had a tear on the upper spine. I removed the cover to check for any defects along that zone of the spine and to my dismay it to had a tear. I purposely bought a fresh book rather a used because I love books and don't like damages on the books that I for my home library. Since this is a biography of an interesting hero in history I am heartbroken as this is my first time of a book from Amazon. I normally from Books-A-Million. 😥

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Clementine: The Life of Mrs. Winston Churchill []  2020-1-16 5:7

    Mrs. Winston Churchill - "she is so elusive that views differ on such primary questions as the color of her eyes (gray, blue or hazel-brown?) and hair (ash-blond, brown or red?)". She is often rather disparagingly described as the woman who stood beside Winston Churchill - kept the home fires burning and the drinks fresh, so to speak. After reading this book, I have a more ambivalent view of Clementine Churchill. Yes, she always stood by him. She endured financial hardships of his making - frequent moves because they could not afford the upkeep of the house they rented. Always meticulously turned out, she provided a amazing foil for him. Winston came first, even before the kids - his needs, his desires, his career, his reputation always dictated what happened. Why do we not know more about her efforts during WWII on behalf of suffering Londoners or collection efforts for starving Russians? On the one hand, Clementine was very progressive and helped Winston understand (almost) non-Victorian women; then, she was rigid in her class consciousness; and she was unforgiving. This book looks at material from a dozens of sources and incorporates remembrances by family members such as her daughter Mary Saomes or her daughter-in-law Pamela Harriman. It is a revealing book about a woman who has been in the shadow too long.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Clementine: The Life of Mrs. Winston Churchill []  2020-1-16 5:7

    While her husband, Winston Churchill, saved Western Civilization, was in Parliament for 60 years, and had won glory as a soldier as well as being one of the most prolific and well-known writers in the world, Clementine Churchill played an immense role as a counsellor in a lot of locations (one of the few he would listen to). She was a keen judge of people, a brilliant political adviser, and someone who leapt to his defense no matter what. She kept his life organized, his beloved Chartwell running, arranged his hundreds of dinner parties with just the right people and gave him immense emotional help when he most required it. She chaired numerous committees, was an honorary member and chairman of numerous organizations, the most necessary being the St. John's Ambulance brigade. She was brilliant, funny, sparkling, and devoted to Winston even though he often drove her crazy. A magnificent biography.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Murder Your Life: A Memoir [Book]  2017-12-15 18:0

    This is a raw look at the narcissistic, self destructive life of an addict. Cat Marnell does not sugar coat or prettify her addition. It is painful to read but utterly captivating. I was fully pulled into her story and rooting for her the whole time. If you like addiction porn, it's a amazing one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Murder Your Life: A Memoir [Book]  2017-12-15 18:0

    Cat really let's you in. Brutally frank. A mentally ill person struggling with her disease & talent. Unexpected ending. I really enjoyed reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Murder Your Life: A Memoir [Book]  2017-12-15 18:0

    Loved! A intelligent girl with an addiction anyway. Fascinating story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Murder Your Life: A Memoir [Book]  2017-12-15 18:0

    Bold. Gritty. Honest. Fearless. Fascinating. I couldn't place it down. This is by far one of the best memoirs I've ever read. Hang in there Cat! You're amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Murder Your Life: A Memoir [Book]  2017-12-15 18:0

    Very descriptive!! An honest memoir!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Murder Your Life: A Memoir [Book]  2017-12-15 18:0

    Her life is a total mess, she acts out , does crazy drugs. But I couldn't support but root for her the e tire time. May not be for the faint of heart. It touches on several abortion issues. I really enjoyed the book. A lot of girls need to know because you may look glamorous, you could be falling apart on the inside.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Murder Your Life: A Memoir [Book]  2017-12-15 18:0

    Wow! What a ride. Highly recommend Marnell's memoir on addiction

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Murder Your Life: A Memoir [Book]  2017-12-15 18:0

    Poetic. Purposeful. Magnificent. Chisels context where there was nothing but dark space, where blind ambition awakens to physically see the vibrant fabric which it has spun. Cinderella looks drop dead gorgeous.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Murder Your Life: A Memoir [Book]  2017-12-15 18:0

    I really had a hard time putting this book down. I love to really obtain inside someone's head and wow, what a trip.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Murder Your Life: A Memoir [Book]  2017-12-15 18:0

    Cat is my total girl crush and this book and its a wonderfully trashy amazing read that I haven't been able to place down. I'm also a fan of the fashion industry so that helps, but it would be a amazing read for anyone interested in addiction/family trauma as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Flying Warrior: My Life as a Naval Aviator During the Vietnam War []  2019-12-24 20:16

    Lt Harper writes a amazing book. For a 80 year old retired Naval Aviator, it brought back memories. Jules and I were neighbors on the Kitty Hawk. My two-man room was at 03-69-3L, just down the passageway (hallway) from him. I was a Catapult Officer on the Hawk. We had 5 Cat Officers. Most Likely I shot (Catapult Launched) Jules at least 50 times and the Cubi O’Club was my headquarters ashore. My Naval Aviation background included flying the P2V around the Atlantic, Mediterranean, & Caribbean. Much less exciting than flying combat in Vietnam. Jules’ airplane the A4 was the work horse of the Vietnam war. I could not believe a little airplane could actually fly with a large bomb-load that they strapped on the A4. Seeing a 24,000 lb A4 taxi up to the Catapults with so a lot of bombs they were almost scraping the flight deck. I want Jules or one of his squadron friends would post a picture here of a fully loaded A4. And the A4 was structurally limited to 400 PSI of Super Heated Steam Pressure for it’s Catapult Launch. The engineers were afraid any more steam pressure would rip the airplane apart. The F4, A5, A3 could take up to 1,,000 Pounds of Steam Pressure for their launch. On some really hot days on Yankee Station we could barely obtain the airplanes airborne when they were fully loaded. But with amazing caution we managed to begin 23,000 aircraft during the first 6 month WestPac line period. I only flew the 2-seat A4 with mates and the back seat of the F4, A3 and the E2. Our Carrier Air Group Commander wanted all the Catapult Officers to be familiar with all the airwing aircraft. As Catapult Officers we were needed to know the limits of each airplane we shot. We had a couple of mishaps but never lost a airplane or pilot. I was being qualified to begin airplanes from the waist catapults when a A4 pilot was at full power but would not look at the catapult officer, LCDR Flanerty. After a strange hesistation the A4 pilot gave his salute and braced for the cat shot. When Art signaled the shot everything went normal and the A4 began to climb but then suddenly pushed the nose over and according to the videotape of the begin flew from an estimated 150 ft into the water. The pilot and airplane were lost. Subsequent investigation revealed the pilot had received a ‘Dear John’ letter from his wife informing him she was in love with another pilot and had filed for divorce. The accident board speculated the pilot flew into the water purposely, committing Suicide.I was plagued with F4 structural hurt by the Jet Blast Deflector striking the tail of a VF-213, F4 while preparing to launch. The JBD operator was instructed to follow the aircraft as they came up on the shuttle to shunt the exhaust from the F4 preventing hurt to aircraft and personnel by the exhaust. The JBD operator struck the tail as it was being launched for a Night practice cat shot and arrested landing. Then, the JBD operator was transferred to the Waist Cats from the Bow and he was errantly assigned to operate the Waist JBD. So that when he was raising the JBD for the number 3 catapult he struck the tail again. This would have been a routine mishap. Written up, investigated and forgotten except I was the catapult officer for both incidents and the F4 pilot was the same person, both times. And we had just left Hawaii where he and I had exchanged words over a young lady. It took me flying his back seat for 3 missions for he and I to be mates again. The JBD operator was transferred to the arresting gear division. In fairness to the JBD operator, he was a draftee and wore very thick corrective lens and should never have been trained as a Catapult Squad e bravest pilot I met when I checked aboard the Kitty Hawk the first day. After reporting to the ship’s admin dept and getting a room assigned I went to the formal dining room for dinner. Entering the wardroom, there were a amazing number of officers eating their food and most seats were taken. But at one table there sat a commander alone. I asked if I could join him and he invited me to sit. After I was settled the commander explained he was being shunned by the Ship and Airwing officers. I had never heard of that event to anyone in a squadron and said that we had something interesting to talk about over dinner. I wished I could remember his name. He said that during the ship’s latest line period on Yankee Station off Vietnam, he had refused to send his young pilots on their combat missions. He said too a lot of of his young officers were being killed in combat and he did not feel the battle was worth their sacrifice. He had been a commanding officer of a A4 squadron, possibly Jules squadron, and once he refused to send anymore pilots on combat missions the Commander CTF77, Admiral Ralph Cousins, relieved him of his command and assigned him to the ship till he received orders to report to the Bureau of Naval Personnel in Washington, D.C. for disciplinary action. He sacrificed his career to save some lives of his young pilots. I believe my memory is correct that he had commanded a A4 squadron. If anyone reading this remembers his name please leave it in a comment or email it to me at davew26 at MSN dot rty-years later, it was revealed WHY we were losing so a lot of pilots flying combat in Vietnam. General Piotrowski, in his Amazon Book, “Basic Airman to General: The Secret Battle & Other Conflicts: Lessons in Leadership & Life” revealed that our own president Johnson and secretary of defense Robert Mcnamara were betraying our Navy and Air Force pilots by sending the assigned list of targets, 72 hours in advance of the assigned mission to the Swiss embassy in D.C. with instructions to pass the target list to the N. Vietnamese government. Our own government was conspiring to shoot down our Navy and Air Force airplanes. I watched and heard former Secretary of State Dean Rusk admit they were passing the list of assigned targets to our opponent in to “save N. Vietnamese lives.” They were doing so at the expense and the safety of their own pilots without informing our pilots. Secretary Rusk created his admission on Ken Burns Canadian production, “Vietnam: The Ten Thousand Day War”. The video clip has been removed from Youtube to protect the politicians. The U.S. release of the Ken Burns production has also been cleansed of this admission. Censored and not protested by YouTube or producer Burns.Our pilots were betrayed by our own administration. I wonder if Admiral Cousins or General Westmoreland knew of this betrayal and kept it secret. It was a conspiracy between our President, Defense Secretary and Secretary of State to slay our pilots. It is time someone from the Johnson era explains. Lt Harper never knew of this betrayal and he loyally and with amazing skill flew his combat missions and survived despite the betrayal by his own leaders. Navy Carrier Pilots are the finest in the globe and should never be betrayed for someone's political anks Jules and I ordered your video of flight operations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Flying Warrior: My Life as a Naval Aviator During the Vietnam War []  2019-12-24 20:16

    as a naval aviator at the end of the vietnam battle i found the book to be factual and an perfect read..took me back 45+ years

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On The Cobbles: Jimmy Stockin: The Life Of A Bare Knuckled Gypsy Warrior []  2020-1-31 18:44

    Amazing Book and amazing Shape

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Grim Reaper: The Life and Career of a Reluctant Warrior []  2020-1-19 23:26

    I’ve read tons of hockey autobiographies and this may be my favorite of all-time. Epic storytelling from a whole fresh perspective. Must read for a hockey fan!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Grim Reaper: The Life and Career of a Reluctant Warrior []  2020-1-19 23:26

    Stu Grissom was a tough guy on the ice but a compassionate, thoughtful person off of it. This conflict of emotions provides a thoroughly enjoyable reading experience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Flying Warrior: My Life as a Naval Aviator During the Vietnam War []  2019-12-24 20:16

    I can only give this book three stars. I have problems with the manner in which the author relates his experiences The book is geared towards an audience with small to no aviation experience. Carrier operations are only briefly mentioned, and I would have appreciated more detail on the A4, in combat, rather than copies of the authors award citations. There is a better book out there about Navy A4 squadrons in Vietnam. I'm continually looking for "EVERYDAY HEROES" on Kindle. That Australian published book makes Flying Fighter seem almost juvenile.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Flying Warrior: My Life as a Naval Aviator During the Vietnam War []  2019-12-24 20:16

    Simple and interesting read regarding the life aboard USS Kitty Hawk and VA122 during the Vietnam War. Brings back also 50 years of memories. Enjoyed reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Grim Reaper: The Life and Career of a Reluctant Warrior []  2020-1-19 23:26

    very amazing book. not what you think you'd fing about the grim reaper and not able to place it down. worth the money

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Grim Reaper: The Life and Career of a Reluctant Warrior []  2020-1-19 23:26

    Honest autobiography, not afraid to talk about his mistakes , a rarity today

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Grim Reaper: The Life and Career of a Reluctant Warrior []  2020-1-19 23:26

    Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Flying Warrior: My Life as a Naval Aviator During the Vietnam War []  2019-12-24 20:16

    Jules Harper has place together a very amazing story of his flight training and overseas deployment as part of a Navy attack squadron aboard the USS Kitty Hawk operating on Yankee Station in the Tonkin Gulf during the Vietnam war. This book is a fast read and provides some interesting stories which contain his encounter with Capt. Thomas Hudner who earned the Medal of Honor for his heroism in attempting to rescue his wing man, Jesse Brown, in December 1950 during the war at the Chosin Korea. We are fortunate to be able to read about and appreciate the service and sacrifices men like Jules Harper created for our country.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Flying Warrior: My Life as a Naval Aviator During the Vietnam War []  2019-12-24 20:16

    Very well written autobiography, enjoyed every page! Thanks Jules for hanging your butt out there on those 200 sorties! I will hold you and all your squadron buds who didn't create it back in my thoughts and prayers!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Grim Reaper: The Life and Career of a Reluctant Warrior []  2020-1-19 23:26

    Growing up in Hartford it was a pleasure to see the Whalers obtain Stu. Man I can still hear the fans yelling Stuuuuuuu whenever he came over the boards. Always classy and never a dirty player. This book is amazing. It’s ending was unexpected. Stu has been a lot of things throughout his career. You can add writer to the top of the list. He has written an exceptional book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Grim Reaper: The Life and Career of a Reluctant Warrior []  2020-1-19 23:26

    Love Stu. Amazing book. Took away a star because he talks about the Whalers for less than a paragraph. Created me sad.:(

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Grim Reaper: The Life and Career of a Reluctant Warrior []  2020-1-19 23:26

    Well written from a special perspective. Puts you on the ice and gives a inside view in the life of an NHL enforcer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Armchair Warrior: How a Country Lawyer Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Law []  2020-2-4 5:38

    John Stonebraker's book is a must read for the young legal practitioner, seasoned veteran and anyone interested in studying law or is just interested in what lawyers do in the practice. It is packed full of interesting and entertaining anecdotes of cases handled and tried by a master lawyer whose wide and varied experiences during his thirty years in the business is sure to teach and entertain. I can say as a fellow lawyer with almost four decades of experience and author in my own right that John is an perfect story teller, teacher, and scholar of the law. His insight and practical suggestions as to what should and should not be done in a wide dozens of cases is a unbelievable primer for the novice lawyer and a valuable refresher for the veteran litigator. I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Armchair Warrior: How a Country Lawyer Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Law []  2020-2-4 5:38

    Whether or not you have a burning desire to learn more about the practice of law, you'll search author Stonebraker's unaffected, autobiographical, often humorous case by case approach enlightening as well as interesting. Armchair Fighter reads like a amazing novel, holding your interest as it reveals how a smart, charming and resourceful mid-western lawyer of principal wins his cases. Strongly recommended.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386