Read city of the dead reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all city of the dead reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Horrors of History: City of the Dead: Galveston Hurricane, 1900 []  2020-7-12 18:54

    Interesting children's book about the Galveston 1900 storm. The author added a black boy to the story.I am 1900 storm descendant. My family took in black families from the north side of Broadway during the 1900 storm. Black residents of Galveston were the latest on the list for aid. Clara Barton forced the town fathers to expand their aid to contain black families.

    0  


    Add your opinion on city of the dead or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Horrors of History: City of the Dead: Galveston Hurricane, 1900 []  2020-7-12 18:54

    Based on actual happenings and aimed at a YA audience, Town of the Dead is terrifying. It captures the dangers of hurricanes and dealing with the tragic aftermath of nature's poor boy of storms. Anderson skips the explanation for the lack of notification and preparation for the Amazing Galveston storm of 1900 and goes straight to the sudden terror from the point of view of daily people, struggling to survive nature's poor boy of storms. Anderson nails the stunning fear of finding oneself caught in the worst sort of nightmare, where pure "luck" determines if you live or die. Although I found myself wondering how historically accurate his protagonist's stories were, I was satisfied with the Epilog and Author's Note of explanation. Understanding Gulf Coast storms will not prepare you for the actual dangers of one, but this book will safely put you in the middle of this historical nightmare. This was one of the worst natural disasters to hit the U.S. and Town of the Dead will leave you shivering in shock, in the safest of all possible manners, through words that chop to the bone and chill the soul.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Horrors of History: City of the Dead: Galveston Hurricane, 1900 []  2020-7-12 18:54

    On the morning of Sept. 8 1900 a deadly hurricane whipped sown the coastal city of Galveston TX. In it's wake it left 8 thousand dead, a lot of thousand homeless and left a tag on the city that was never forgotten. This historical fiction book follows the lives of three people who's stories are told in the novel. Through this book we learn of loss as well as is book holds no info back. This storm was grisly and the author gives a lot of of the dark details. Recommended for mature readers only due to the topic matter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Horrors of History: City of the Dead: Galveston Hurricane, 1900 []  2020-7-12 18:54

    Young readers or anyone wanting a fast read on this disaster will benefit from this one. It's fiction, but gives a amazing feel for the hurricane and Galveston in 1900. There is no attempt to shield the reader from death, or sanitize the horror in any way. Galveston really does become a town of the dead.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Horrors of History: City of the Dead: Galveston Hurricane, 1900 []  2020-7-12 18:54

    This is a hard review to write, I like historical fiction. While I understand the enormity of the Galveston Hurricane on September 8, 1900 the fact that true pictures of people talked about in an historical fiction book are shown along with pictures of the town create me believe Mr. Anderson could have written a nonfiction book. Yes, perhaps not all the holes would have been filled in, but that is an necessary part of what happened. If this was to be a real non-fiction book, I believe the pictures of the people mentioned in the book should have been left to an index in the end along with their source. The line between fiction and nonfiction and fiction is blurred and I am not sure most kids will quite understand that concept. In itself the story moves along well, the fact that there was no warning system and no one expected a storm of this magnitude to hit Galveston is well portrayed through the characters in the story. The fact that most of the kids found it fun to play in the rising water without fear in the beginning, shows that these types of storms were not uncommon. The story of people seeking refuge in other's houses, with the idea that they would ride out the storm in a couple of hours, not bringing any provisions or clothes with them also shows that no one expected such a huge storm to hit their town and is well told in the story. There are amazing parts to this tale, but the line of fiction and nonfiction is just to blurred for me. I also am disappointed that so much work was done on a book and the author who claimed he would have liked to read this sort of book as a kid did not list other books to read on the topic. This book certainly peaked my curiosity and there are more books out there. Do not think that children will not go on a find for them, they will. They will ask their librarian or even go on an internet search. The other huge disappointment was the map of Texas. Aside from Galveston, San Antonio was also mention, yet it was not on the map, giving no indication as to its zone to the disaster that took place.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Horrors of History: City of the Dead: Galveston Hurricane, 1900 []  2020-7-12 18:54

    This is a faced-paced work of historical fiction, based on actual happenings surrounding the 1900 Galveston, TX hurricane. The author has made believable dialogue and story info to create the stories of victims and survivors come alive. Though this is listed as juvenile fiction, there are a lot of dead bodies, including images of the dead, so caution should be used with young readers who might be sensitive to such matter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of the Dead (The Alchemist Book #1): LitRPG Series []  2020-6-10 19:24

    Vasily does it again! Such a amazing story that incorporates a LOT from his Globe of the Changed series. This was a great, non-stop story. The Skill/Leveling system was fresh and interesting. Can not wait for the second book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of the Dead (The Alchemist Book #1): LitRPG Series []  2020-6-10 19:24

    If you like a stat massive book, with a slightly OP MC, and dungeon diving well dive right in. I loved this book. The story was intriguing and refreshing and I like the use of cards to cast magic spells. Can’t wait for book 2.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of the Dead (The Alchemist Book #1): LitRPG Series []  2020-6-10 19:24

    Once again the Russians have done it. They came, they saw, they conquered the whole genre. When ever a decently translated piece from the Russian [email protected]#$%!s the "shelfs" I'm first in line to it. This book was such a fun and satisfying book. It answers the question that I've asked my self, what happens thousands of years after the integration of a planet to "THE SYSTEM".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of the Dead (The Alchemist Book #1): LitRPG Series []  2020-6-10 19:24

     This is a story where a fantasy globe has inherent RPG mechanics. The globe is so used to the RPG rules that it’s become part of the culture. So much so that you can give your kid gifts by sacrificing or lives, though there are other dark consequences to doing e novel description does small to tell you what the story is about. After a series of tragic events, a father tries to give his latest infant son an advantage in a globe where stats mean everything. The main hero (MC) is given a large +32 by his father who sacrifices not only every gold coin he'd been able to save but also his life. The MC will grow up an orphan, but will have that advantage.Time skip to when the MC is 10 years old. He’s not treated well by the city and is considered a amazing for nothing, even though he does his best to support out. Another series of happenings lands the child in several harrowing circumstances but he comes out of it with an RPG advantage that will change the course of his life. There’s a lot of amazing globe building in the first half of the story and after about the 50% tag the story is full of action and wars and of course there are traditional Mahanenko twists along the method to the e android game mechanics are woven into the fabric of the globe with amazing respect for the god that sees all and rewards all with notifications and quest rewards. The MCs progression reminds me of the series Underdog, where an orphan with an inability to level instead gets other rewards that boost his potential power. The other aspects of the RPG system are original with spells cast via rechargeable cards. A skill and ability system that is powered by rare resources or quest rewards. At about the 50% tag you begin to see little connections to another story the author wrote.Overall, this is just a amazing story that had me up late at night reading till it was e: 8 out of 10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of the Dead (The Alchemist Book #1): LitRPG Series []  2020-6-10 19:24

    Since reading 'The Method of the Shaman' series i had hoped for more amazing books from this author. This book has an interesting story line (the good) but I would have to be generous and say something is being lost in the translation. No true huge editing errors, the writing just doesn't seem to flow (the bad). Rushed to publication? It almost feels like since "The method of the Shaman" his books are being written by someone else. Various translator? I would give it 3.5 gets lucky finding "a relic" of sorts which grants him a class which really doesn't play much of a role in this book.He gets relatively OP through luck rather than cleverness. His adventures drop a lot of XP in his lap with what seems like not much effort. Magic system is not completely novel, relying on cards.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of the Dead (The Alchemist Book #1): LitRPG Series []  2020-6-10 19:24

    In most books, when the change from reality to android game happens the MC is usually there experiencing day 1. Not in this book, the change happened over a thousand years ago. You obtain a few tips that the android game is one of this authors earlier work, just a lot later. The magic system is quite original I think and the method people has adopted the kinda strickt android game system as completely normal is well written and interesting. The history of the linx opponent is cool and you obtain the feeling that it's a lot of story there, and you will obtain a small of that history in this book. Very cool. I'm really enjoying the book. Highly Recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of the Dead (The Alchemist Book #1): LitRPG Series []  2020-6-10 19:24

    Mr. Mahanenko never disappoints. From the first sentence he got my attention and kept it to the very end. Instant pre-order

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of the Dead (The Alchemist Book #1): LitRPG Series []  2020-6-10 19:24

    As is usual with this author, super entertaining. Loved this book and have already preordered the second. Amazing system, amazing fresh IP.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of the Dead (The Alchemist Book #1): LitRPG Series []  2020-6-10 19:24

    Told mainly from the perspective of a 10 year old, somewhat naive, kid with several short perspective changes, this is a coming of age tale in a pseudo medieval environment. A basic quest provides much of the background e 10 year old is alone in a village, with very few friends. He survives by his own efforts, with no info about the globe and life given beyond the questions he asks.He witnesses an apparent murder, runs from the murderer, and the adventure begins.An interesting concept - a android game globe where the players have been gone for thousands of years, NPC's assuming player's roles, and the basic AI assuming the role of "God". Each has a hero sheet that expands as "players" or earn attributes and skills. Magic is performed via cards, and equipment is a basic enhancement stly action based, there are uneven points primarily because of pacing issues. The author has some difficulty portraying a 10 year old mindset. At times, he's an idiot kid - otherwise, an unwilling hero. Putting a 10 year old into a romance stage seems out of put - most 10 year olds are still in an "oh ick" scene with girls. Wavering between a crying 7 year old and a thoughtful 18 year old is problematic...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of the Dead (The Alchemist Book #1): LitRPG Series []  2020-6-10 19:24

    Gr8 read, can't wait to see what happens next. I liked the ending and I'm glad the next one will be out soon. Amazing plot and characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories of the Raksura: The Dead City & The Dark Earth Below: Volume Two: The Dead City & The Dark Earth Below []  2020-7-24 18:49

    This second volume of Raksura stories (actually two novellas and three stories) is a worthy addition to Wells' perfect series set in the Three Worlds. We see our protagonist Moon both before and after he found his put with the Indigo Cloud Court. "The Dead City" shows Moon, newly traumatised by his latest encounter with the Fell and still needing to hide his real nature to groundlings. And yet the Fell are not the only baddies around and Moon finds himself and others in danger of their lives again. In "The Dark Earth Below" we see Moon about to become a papa! We see more of the delightful Kek (who prove to be far from pushovers) and an insidious predator that threatens both the Kek and the Raksura. Icing on the cake are the three shorter stories, which provide more texture to the cultures and beings that populate the Three Worlds. Wells is such an adroit writer, because while there is danger and adventure aplenty in her novels and stories, there is also perfect characterisation and a snarky humour that makes us care about her characters, all of them, not just the major protagonists.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories of the Raksura: The Dead City & The Dark Earth Below: Volume Two: The Dead City & The Dark Earth Below []  2020-7-24 18:49

    The Dead Town & the Dark Earth Below is an embarrassment of riches: five full stories of the Three Worlds, chock full of fascinating globe and culture-building where we are gracefully clued into the societies, rules and norms of behavior of these various worlds without any clunky exposition. You don't have to be a shape-shifter like Moon or Jade to live unbelievable adventures here, either, which I found delightful. Another thing I found very interesting about Martha Wells' universe is the sentient beings that populate her worlds are not always the highest on the meal chain. Life is a everyday struggle for survival, yet her characters balance this with family and home and interacting with outsiders with agree-upon rules of polite behavior that cross wouldn't be fair for me to pick out my favorite story; I loved them all for various reasons. So I'll just say they are all meaty with amazing suspense and reveal fresh aspects of our favorite characters as well as introducing fascinating fresh ones. And there are some really perfect twists that are terrifically imaginative. Five stars from me, and seriously, how can I obtain a ticket to the planet of Three Worlds? Or, at least, pre-order the next book?Oh, and I'd be remiss if I didn't mention the gorgeous cover art, which is just breathtaking in detail.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories of the Raksura: The Dead City & The Dark Earth Below: Volume Two: The Dead City & The Dark Earth Below []  2020-7-24 18:49

    These stories created me go back to read the Raksura novels and Volume I all over again. They are actually a amazing introduction to Moon's globe of life in the shape-shifting dragon court -- you don't need to have read the novels to jump into the novellas! Moon is sensitive and fierce, wary but willing to take people as they come. One thing I love about Moon's adventures is that you can see how the people of his globe are used to meeting strangers from various cultures. There are protocols for behavior across cultures (as soon as you've determined the strangers aren't going to slay you, anyway) And people don't have to look the same or be able to speak the same language to treat each other with respect and curiosity. As I thought this over I realized I wanted to read all the rest of Wells' books which luckily are out on Kindle as well!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories of the Raksura: The Dead City & The Dark Earth Below: Volume Two: The Dead City & The Dark Earth Below []  2020-7-24 18:49

    OK, I am a giant fan of the Raksura books, but I think this volume may include the best of Wells' novellas. "The Dead City" is an in media res flashback, starting as a much younger Moon flees the doomed town of Saraseil in the wake of his fateful encounter with the Fell. This is not quite the hardened, mad Moon of the later stories, note, although this is the beginning of his hardening. Here one can still catch glimpses of the inquisitive, hopeful boy he used to be... and here we realize this was the moment when that boy died. But meanwhile, Moon meets the people of an isolated community who are being menaced by horrifying monsters called "Miners". I'm just gonna say it: SPIDER PEOPLE. It's a amazing thing Moon really really wants to slay something at this point."The Dark Earth Below" is less dark, since it takes put in the post-trilogy "present" and Moon is no longer a lonely, bitter outcast. In fact, he's about to become a fresh father -- so of course a mysterious hostile entity threatens the colony. Jade's not exactly helpless, but Moon's got a lot of new-papa jitters to work off, so the bulk of dealing with the threat falls on him. This one's worth it for all the layers of nuance that obtain added to the Raksura we know and love: we see Pearl and Stone showing obvious pleasure that Indigo Cloud is growing again; we see the Arbora go into "swarm" mode when something invades the tree; we see that Balm is suddenly very very glad she can't obtain pregnant; and we meet Jade and Moon's children! It's positively ere are some other short stories rounding out this volume, most of which are reprinted from other sources or Wells' website; I particularly like "Mimesis" since it's all about Jade saving the day (though it's hilarious to see that the Indigo Cloud fighters constantly worry that Moon will slay them if anything happens to Jade). But frankly it's the two novellas here that earn the of admission.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories of the Raksura: The Dead City & The Dark Earth Below: Volume Two: The Dead City & The Dark Earth Below []  2020-7-24 18:49

    Another installment in Ms. Wells' fabulous series. If you are a fan of the previous four books, obtain this one. There are two amazing novellas and a couple very short other stories. The Kindle ver has a few small punctuation mistakes, with quotes getting set pointed at the wrong words, but it's still very e two novellas--one before the book series during Moon's youth, and one after the book series at the fresh Indigo Cloud zone in the Reaches--are both enjoyable, but I especially loved reading the latter. There are some exciting happenings and more time spent with my favorite characters. I won't give away any of the details.I marked this "no content." There is some reference to and body parts, but no actual scenes. There is a birthing scene, but it is not graphically described at ere is violence: wars between fantasy creatures, including some descriptions of the fights, including the use of claws and jaws, but it didn't seem to be to be explicitly tom line: if you liked/loved the previous books, you should obtain this one. Newcomers to the series should begin with "The Cloud Roads."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories of the Raksura: The Dead City & The Dark Earth Below: Volume Two: The Dead City & The Dark Earth Below []  2020-7-24 18:49

    A very enjoyable collection of short stories in The Three Worlds - I wasn't sure about the story not featuring any of the characters from previous novels, but it was amazing fun. And of course, there's a large payoff in the latest story if you've read all of books so far.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories of the Raksura: The Dead City & The Dark Earth Below: Volume Two: The Dead City & The Dark Earth Below []  2020-7-24 18:49

    The lovely thing about this collection is that even if you have not yet discovered Wells’ magical fantasy adventures about the alien Raksura, you can fall in love with them here. Written with swift yet intricate grace, Wells gives you ground to stand on and begin skies for unexpected adventure. The Raksura are shapeshifting, flying sentients, their complex society matriarchal, their lives filled with danger around every turn. This globe has tons of disparate sentient peoples, most of them wary and interacting only for trade. The Raksura are among the few who are both cautious and yet begin to alliances and even friendship with fresh e collection contains two novellas as well as a scattering of short fiction. Both long stories feature Moon, the male protagonist of the Raksura trilogy; he’s a foundling who finally finds his put in the world. One novella, “The Dead City,” takes us back a few cycles when Moon is still very young, on the run, and has no idea what he is or what name his people use. In it we see him as he cannot see himself—curious, inventive, adaptable, strong. Also bitter, as winged he looks all too much like a species feared the length of his world. He can never stay anywhere for “The Dark Earth Below,” longtime readers finally obtain to see Moon handle impending fatherhood, as he is now consort to Jade, the Sister Queen of the Indigo Cloud court. We are given a many-layered tale that weaves together family, external threat, mystery, and claiming a home into one satisfying whole.I highly recommend starting with the novel The Cloud Roads, but there’s no reason not to test a taste of The Three Worlds through this collection. Looking forward to more Raksura!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories of the Raksura: The Dead City & The Dark Earth Below: Volume Two: The Dead City & The Dark Earth Below []  2020-7-24 18:49

    I loved the previous Raksura stories, so I was delighted to see another collection set in that fabulously alien world, and I wasn't disappointed. Moon, protagonist of the earlier novels, is back, and there are stories from both the beginning of his life, before he knew what he was, and from the period when he's established among his own people. Jade, the sister queen of Indigo Cloud, has a story all her own as well, and there are fascinating glimpses of fresh peoples and places. Wells's strength in the series is the method she combines exuberant world-building with powerful characters and plot - the world-building always serves the story, and indeed often turns out to be the key element. I tried to slow down and savor this volume, but devoured it in two nights. Old fans and fresh ones will do the same.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories of the Raksura: The Dead City & The Dark Earth Below: Volume Two: The Dead City & The Dark Earth Below []  2020-7-24 18:49

    This took me a long time to read. No fault of the book or the author. I have read every book Martha Wells has published on the Raksura and their remarkable globe in a very short period of time. I think I finally reached a saturation point during this book. I’m sure that I would have blitzed through this one like I’ve done everything else that Ms Wells has written. I’m equally sure that in a few more months I’ll be hoping for mor stories of the Raksura!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stories of the Raksura: The Dead City & The Dark Earth Below: Volume Two: The Dead City & The Dark Earth Below []  2020-7-24 18:49

    This book is a welcome addition to Wells' Three Worlds novels. The stories in this anthology present glimpses of time outside the three books of the trilogy. In the Dead Town we search out how Moon came to be suspicious and isolated. You don't have to have read any of the other books to understand this story and your heart will break for Moon as he struggles with the physical and emotional forces aligned versus e Dark Earth Below will be more meaningful for those who have read the trilogy but it's a pure delight to see these characters progress to the next scene of their lives as Jade and Moon become parents. Nothing ever goes smooth for these characters though so they have to with a potential invasion at the same ese stories could serve as an introduction to Wells' rich globe or deepen you appreciation of the trilogy. Either way, these stories will delight, enthrall and move you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zombie Age 2 Premium: Survive in the City of Dead [App]  2020-3-29 15:47

    amazing android game it is fun, but the controls somehow sucks, there should be a setting to change the movement control, if you can create its movement control a bit related to Soul Knights it would be great, hold improving your game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zombie Age 2 Premium: Survive in the City of Dead [App]  2020-3-29 15:47

    Love this Android games

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of the Dead (Gia Santella Crime Thrillers Book 1) []  2020-1-21 20:32

    Kristi Belcamino has whipped up a noirish, hardboiled “Who Are Those Guys” thriller that has all the standard-issue tropes and riffs of the genre, and yet always manages to surprise. (There’s a stage in the Alps, and our Gia has a quick car, and surely you’ll be thinking . . . but wait and see..)Anyway, Those Guys are messing with Gia and threatening everyone she knows and lives, and from her home in San Francisco she lights out for several locations in the Bay Zone and in Europe in to solve the mystery of her parents' death, and returns back where she came from, where we finally search out who Those Guys -paced, intelligent, and very suspenseful, you’ll search out what the Town of the Dead means at the reveal of this well plotted thriller. Of course, if you’re from the Bay Zone I suspect you already rst of TES AND ASIDES: Guns, knives, morgues, cursing, location, location, location.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of the Dead (Gia Santella Crime Thrillers Book 1) []  2020-1-21 20:32

    A fast-paced and thrilling first book in a fresh series! If you liked Gabriella, you'll love Gia too. She's a protagonist with a crystal clear mission and the skills to [email protected]#$%!. I loved the section in Sicily - it felt so true and gritty. Plus, I didn't see the twist coming, which is something I can rarely say about a book. Complimenti!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zombie Age 2 Premium: Survive in the City of Dead [App]  2020-3-29 15:47

    Amazing very amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of the Dead (Gia Santella Crime Thrillers Book 1) []  2020-1-21 20:32

    This fast-paced book held my interest and created me spend more time reading each day until I was done. Amazing characters and a tight plot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of the Dead (Gia Santella Crime Thrillers Book 1) []  2020-1-21 20:32

    I enjoyed the book. Enough to obtain the rest of the series. Gia does have some rough edges but she is a work in progress. There is more to her than just being rich and going from boy toy to boy toy. And that stops with the first book. She definitely matures, not just in this book but throughout the series. Gia is someone I could sit down with, over a glass of wine, and have a pleasant conversation with. I recommend, not only this book, but the series. I also recommend reading them in order.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of the Dead (Gia Santella Crime Thrillers Book 1) []  2020-1-21 20:32

    For a bonus book, I truly enjoyed reading it. The story was more than I expected and the characters are simple to identify with. Being Italian, One of my greatest memories is of family. So it's always fun to read about the culture. I'm looking forward to reading the next in this series. Thanks Kristi, amazing story that I hope to have fun more of.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of the Dead (Gia Santella Crime Thrillers Book 1) []  2020-1-21 20:32

    The Gia series from Kristi Belcamino combines the best of the thriller genre with a hero that can vacillate from caring to not giving a, well, I'll just say not caring quickly depending on the object of that attention. Yet this does not represent a person unsure of her beliefs, in fact, it is the opposite. She is so focused on doing what she considers the right thing that what she cares or doesn't care about makes excellent sense from her this, the first volume of the series, we are given more back story than absolutely important for this particular story but it all works very well to give us insight into her personality and establish who she is for the following e writing moves right along and you are swept up into the action. When something happens and she doesn't have time to do anything except react, you feel the same way. In some novels you understand a hero because you can ponder what they think about and even decide casually whether you agree or not. Here, you understand Gia because you feel like you're there and as you inhabit her mind (leave a trail of crumbs, trust me on this) what she does makes excellent sense at the time she does it. Later, well, time to unwind.I would highly recommend this book and the series to anyone who enjoys a fast-paced adventure with a powerful character. Gia is flawed, is more than one way, which really just makes her more human. The globe she lives in likely isn't like the one you live in, so have fun the scenery and the action. You can catch your breath when you've finished the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zombie Age 2 Premium: Survive in the City of Dead [App]  2020-3-29 15:47

    As a Counterstrike fan, I loved the gun sounds used in this game! It's a amazing time killer! Easy game!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zombie Age 2 Premium: Survive in the City of Dead [App]  2020-3-29 15:47

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zombie Age 2 Premium: Survive in the City of Dead [App]  2020-3-29 15:47

    Nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zombie Age 2 Premium: Survive in the City of Dead [App]  2020-3-29 15:47

    Exact same as the ver

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of the Dead (Gia Santella Crime Thrillers Book 1) []  2020-1-21 20:32

    Loved this book. Most stories about the Mafia are relatively predictable. This book was not. It hold my attention and, if I had to place it down for any reason, couldn't wait to obtain back to it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of the Dead (Gia Santella Crime Thrillers Book 1) []  2020-1-21 20:32

    Average girl kicks a$$ and takes down some really poor guys. Compare to the movie, The Rock. Definitely a thriller!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of the Dead (Gia Santella Crime Thrillers Book 1) []  2020-1-21 20:32

    When I read that Kristi Belcamino was releasing a book with a fresh hero I was taken a bit back. As a long time fan of her Gabriella Giovanni series, I thought she would never be able to top those books. I quickly discovered that she definitely could as I read Gia in the Town of the Dead. Belcamino's fresh book features a twenty three year old passionate, feisty and somewhat lost protagonist, Gia a is still grieving the death of her parents as a effect of a tragic fire in which they were killed and and their mansion in Switzerland burned to the ground. She is a not good rich girl drinking and partying too much. The only thing that kept her somewhat grounded was her commitment to Budo Karate, a form of self defense that stresses the melding of physical, spiritual and mental strength. Her time at the dojo and conversations with her sensei Kato seem to be sustaining e is summoned by her sick godfather Vito as he has a favor to ask her. When she arrives he informs Gia that her estranged brother Christopher is in the area, living basically on the street, thinking he is a vampire of sorts and is hurting young women. Vito wants Gia to tell him to stop his depravity or Vito would stop it for ristopher has always had problems and could be extremely cruel. As a young teen, he was sent to boarding school; he returned home for a time after the school's headmaster was mysteriously killed. Was he responsible? Their father tried to be strict, yet Gia's mother always stepped in defending and protecting him. Gia grew up thinking her mother loved her brother more than she did e day after the unpleasant encounter with Christopher in which Gia delivered the notice from Vito, Christopher was found dead from an apparent drug overdose. Gia knows Christopher had a powerful aversion to needles and would never inject llowing that tragedy Gia receives a letter from the wife of the pathologist who performed her parents autopsies, telling her that her parents did not die as a effect of the fire, they were murdered, each shot in the forehead.Hopefully this introduction to Gia in the Town of the Dead will pique your interest as those happenings are just the catalysts that spur Gia to search out what is event to her family. So a lot of questions to be answered! Was Christopher murdered? Why would her loving parents be killed? Is she also targeted for murder? Who is hurting people close to her?The storyline is compelling, suspenseful and finely crafted; once I started reading I could not place the book down. Gia has mates that will risk everything to support her and meets other people on her journey to search the truth- some good- some evil.I highly recommend Gia in the Town of the Dead, and I am looking forward to more books in what I hope will become a series. Kristi Belcamino is a superb writer with the ability to hook a reader from the first page to the last.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of the Dead (Gia Santella Crime Thrillers Book 1) []  2020-1-21 20:32

    I didn't wish it to end. It kept my interest all the method through. It needs some editing/proofreading, but the story was powerful enough to keep my interest. I loved the cast of characters that were the heroine's family.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Zombie Age 2 Premium: Survive in the City of Dead [App]  2020-3-29 15:47

    Loads of fun!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Symphony for the City of the Dead: Dmitri Shostakovich and the Siege of Leningrad []  2019-12-19 19:15

    M.T. Anderson is one of my favorite authors ever, young adult or otherwise, serious or silly. His "Feed" changed my entire perspective on our online globe — and I was 42 at the time — and his "Jasper Dash and Flame-Pits of Delaware" is still one of the funniest books I've ever read. When I saw that he had written a book about one of my favorite composers ever, I one-clicked that puppy faster than you can blink. I was not disappointed.I knew the general story of Shostakovich's 7th Symphony, of his composing it during the Siege of Leningrad and what a [email protected]#$%! created across the globe at the time, but Anderson presents an unbelievably detailed history of Shostakovich's early life in Leninist Soviet Union, Stalin's brutal reign, the battle and the siege, and through it all, Shostakovich's composition of his large 'war' symphony. It's a complete picture of an utterly foreign globe to us, and Anderson brings it all round to the importance of art/music and how it keeps us human even in the worst of times. I was very sorry to see the book end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Symphony for the City of the Dead: Dmitri Shostakovich and the Siege of Leningrad []  2019-12-19 19:15

    I am a classical melody lover and I thought this book was outstanding. The author provides the background of what is going on in Russia as it impacts on composer, Dmitri Shostakovich. I had no idea of the torments the Russian people went through as things in the country went from imperial rule to that of Lenin and then Stalin. In America, we hear much about the persecution of the Jews by Germany, but not about the thousands of Russians who were starved, sent to labor camps, tortured, shot, etc. The Town of Leningrad was under siege for over a year while bombed and blockaded by the Germans. Shostakovich's 7th symphony (the Leningrad) was played all over the globe and even by an orchestra of starving musicians within the city. It brought feelings of solidarity and hope to those who heard it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Symphony for the City of the Dead: Dmitri Shostakovich and the Siege of Leningrad []  2019-12-19 19:15

    Wow. Seriously. Wow. This is an exquisitely written book, filled with such power and emotion that it moved me to tears on several occasions. The depth of the research and the honesty with which it is presented is impressive, and kudos to the author for this. I'm not really a large non-fiction person, and I beautiful much never read about war, but this one blew me out of the water. I don't give out five star ratings very often, but this one absolutely deserved it. The proof? Not only did I actually go out and the book, but I also bought a recording of the complete symphonies of Shostakovitch. I can't stop thinking about this book, even days later. Read it. You won't regret it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Symphony for the City of the Dead: Dmitri Shostakovich and the Siege of Leningrad []  2019-12-19 19:15

    Ostensibly this is a book for younger readers, perhaps for High School Advanced Placement English, Melody or History students. This unassuming book however can keep its own in terms of pure scholarship. I am a subscriber to DSCH, and own every book I've been able to obtain my hands on on the life and melody of Dmitri Shostakovitch, beginning with "Testimony", as told by Shostakovitch to Solomon Volkov and and Fresh York Times journalist Harrison E. Salisbury's "The 900 Days:The Siege of Leningrad." A superb story teller, M.T. Anderson has made the most fully integrated book on Shostakovitch life & times thus far. There are those who consider Shostakovitch to be Gustav Mahler's heir apparent as master of the Symphonic form. We can only want that someday a writer will come to the fore such as Henri-Louie de LaGrange did for the life & melody of Mahler, & will write the definitive book(s) on Shostakovitch. For readers young AND old, Anderson's book will breath life into the story of this tormented soul who was the 20th Centuries most versatile composer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Symphony for the City of the Dead: Dmitri Shostakovich and the Siege of Leningrad []  2019-12-19 19:15

    I have loved Shostakovich's melody for years, but I had no idea the nightmare life that he endured for a lot of decades. I will certainly never listen to his fourth, fifth, and seventh symphonies the same method again!I found this book very difficult to place down. Other negative reviewers found it clumsy and laborious in detail. But I rather think of the pacing to be like one of Shostakovich's longer symphonies--dense, complex, and often grotesque. But the narrative is just "lyrical" enough that it kept me fully engrossed. It has been a long time since I could not place a book down. This was one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Symphony for the City of the Dead: Dmitri Shostakovich and the Siege of Leningrad []  2019-12-19 19:15

    We read this book prior to traveling to Russia this summer and really enjoyed the method it was written. Later, walking by the radio station in St. Petersburg and going to the Philharmony brought a sense of clarity to the characters and happenings described in the book. What created it even more true is attending a performance of the Leningrad symphony and a rendition of ballet based on melody scores Shostakovich composed for the movies. I would highly recommend the book and especially if you listen to the symphonies as they are introduced by the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Symphony for the City of the Dead: Dmitri Shostakovich and the Siege of Leningrad []  2019-12-19 19:15

    I was not really familiar with the works of Shostakovich, but having been to Saint Petersburg several times and speaking with people about the siege of Leningrad, I thought the book would provide an interesting read. It more than delivered on this and I found it hard to place down. The photographs contained in this book are truly unbelievable and not just a bunch of blurry indistinguishable ones. The story was both fascinating and moving, while at the same time giving me a fresh level of respect and appreciation for the residents of Leningrad, while showing how despicable the communist leaders truly were. It was also eye opening to learn about how this seventh symphony was played all over the globe and universally understood. Even the Nazi soldiers (some of them) when they heard this symphony being played on loud speakers throughout the town understood that they would never be able to victory this city, while also understanding that rather than the subhuman Slavs that they had been told lived there by Hitler that only the strongest and most human of humans could produce such melody after such a prolonged siege and period of starvation. I had a SPB resident tell me this past summer about her father as a kid and his evacuation from Leningrad during the siege. She spoke to me about the risky trip across the lake in the middle of winter. To then read about this "Road of Life" within the book in amazing detail, brought the earlier story I heard into much sharper detail. It was a amazing book that I hated to see end, although it is not a short one. After reading this book I bought the symphony to listen to and found the whole experience very enlightening after understanding the circumstances that surrounded its birth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Symphony for the City of the Dead: Dmitri Shostakovich and the Siege of Leningrad []  2019-12-19 19:15

    Originally, I bought this as a part of a reading list for a college class. The cover looked beautiful cool and drew me in. After we did more in-class discussions, I grew to like the book more and more and didn't it when the semester e author does a amazing job of making history sound really interesting and writing it from a various perspective than what you see in most biographical or autobiographical books. I enjoyed having the visuals inside to give me something to hold in the back of my mind while reading the various happenings Shostakovitch endured (which were very sad).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Symphony for the City of the Dead: Dmitri Shostakovich and the Siege of Leningrad []  2019-12-19 19:15

    A amazing and simple read. The parts about Leningrad and the German's siege of it are fascinating. The parts about Shostakovich less so. But worth reading simply to gain a better understanding about the Siege of Leningrad during Globe Battle II.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Symphony for the City of the Dead: Dmitri Shostakovich and the Siege of Leningrad []  2019-12-19 19:15

    This book is well written and very informative about both the early years of the German/Russian war, but also what the citizens of Leningrad went through during a two year siege. Shostakovich is one of my very favorite composers, and it was fascinating to learn what he went through during that time and how those experiences influenced the composition of his music, especially his fifth symphony. I highly recommend this read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shaun of the Dead [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    Fun and quite smart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dawn of the Dead [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    This is one of the finest sequels ever, in that it's both of comparable quality with the original, yet is fundamentally various from it at the same time. Marvelous stuff, with aspects copied thousands of times over the past two generations, with no end in sight. This and 'Salo, or the 120 Days of Sodom', from about the same time frame, would create one of the best double-bills ever on the evils of consumerism gone rampant...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Art of the Dead []  2020-1-16 6:14

    Superb! This is a fascinating, well-considered, and colourful exploration of the artistic aspects of the Grateful Dead. But, it is even bigger than that. It is also one of the most considered and insightful analysis of the whole psychedelic poster phenomenon thus far. Cushway's knowledge of the material is deep and thoughtful. It has the perspective of one who has been on the inside of the poster globe for decades. It also is smart and thoughtful, using this privileged perspective to insightful analysis. There is not a ton of text, but it is incisive and well-articulated in its brevity. It sets the context splendidly for the visuals - most of the tale is told through gorgeous color images. It is fun - visually stunning. Worth it for them alone. But, the text gives it just enough substance to create this interesting (and indeed necessary) reading for any and all interested in psychedelic rock poster art and/or the visual phenomenon of the Grateful Dead. Even those who know this items beautiful well will learn interesting things from this book. There are dozens of books out there on rock items - some good, some mediocre, some beautiful lame. This is one of the rare ones thatbare not just good, but actually great. .... Stop reading this review and just the book....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Art of the Dead []  2020-1-16 6:14

    Contains artist pages and detailed information on concert posters and album artwork.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Art of the Dead []  2020-1-16 6:14

    bonus to a deadhead mate .. he gave it two thumbs up .. i skimmed it and was impressed with the scholarly take on poster art .. it was like a mini art history class with a lot of references to classical artforms .. saitisfies on a number of levels ..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guardian of the Dead []  2020-1-21 22:26

    Ellie is attending a boarding school in Fresh Zealand as her parents travel in celebration of her mother’s recovery from cancer. While life at school seems fairly normal, there has been a series of murders in the area, with each victim having their eyes gouged out. She is convinced to obtain involved with a production of a play, helping out as a war coordinator by her mate Kevin, who starts to become obsessed with one of the cast members, a woman who claims to be “allergic” to the smell of cooked food. She has her own mystery man in Tag Nolan who suddenly is very show in her life. What starts out as a young adult romance/mystery is blended with Maori magic and mythology as a young woman finds out she has powers she never dreamed of and her globe is far various than she ever imagined.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guardian of the Dead []  2020-1-21 22:26

    This book was recomended on the web however It did not keep my attention and I feel it was a bit confusing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Academy of the Dead []  2020-7-12 18:57

    Scary, campy and engaging these stories are chock full of dark humor, memorable characters and unexpected twists!Especially enjoyed stories by Casey , Rue Volley,Sarah Davis-oh heck they all ROCK!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Academy of the Dead []  2020-7-12 18:57

    Snagged it the *second* it released and am NOT disappointed!The authors have done an awesome job and I absolutely could not place it down!I’m looking forward to reading more from everyone and already went and bought a few ebooks by some of these folks and even snagged a preorder.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dawn of the Dead [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    Come on, man. You must've heard the priest say something about life and death. George Romero fans feared the worst, another one of his sacred original zombie trilogy movies was being remade, this even though the remake of Night of the Living Dead didn't disgrace itself. As it happened, the fears were unfounded, for Zack Snyder and his squad crafted one of the best horror remakes going. The premise follows Romero's unbelievable version, a mysterious epidemic is causing the populace to turn into undead zombies, the bite of which transfers the illness to another. A little group of survivors create it to the Crossroads Mall and hole up there whilst trying to hold at bay the zombie hordes, but inner fighting threatens the group whilst they know they can't stay there for ever. Right from the off the movie grabs you around the throat, it's a blistering and terrifying opening which brings heartbreak and terror in equal measure. It also announces to us that these zombies are various to Romero's, these suckers can run, and run fast. After some chaos and blood, the introductions to our survivors is set up and the pic settles into a superb group dynamic situation, where machismo and brains meet dumb and dumber, all while small devilish moments trickle away in the background. It's the focus on the survivors that really lifts it to greater heights, how they variously react to their plight, there's amazing thought gone into the screenplay (James Gunn). The natural progression of this type of movie calls for horror moments, and Snyder deftly slots them in when the pic needs them, which again brings about scenes of terror and genuine heartbreaking moments. Some neat cameos will be cheered by fans of Romero's work, while the cast are superb here, with Sarah Polley the standout fulfilling the believable promise of the hero as written. A remake that is its own beast yet still pays homage to what inspired it, and amazing at both! Now that's a rare thing in horror! 8/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guardian of the Dead []  2020-1-21 22:26

    This was a really amazing read. I really liked the fact that Ellie wasn't your typical girly girl who is a stick. She a really war with her tae kwon do skills. I will say I had to stop reading 3 chapters in due to the fact this book has a lot of ties to Māori mythology and I wont lie, I had no clue about any of it. I do suggest if you read this book and you don't know about the Māori culture do some research first, you'll have a far better understanding of the words used and story that way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guardian of the Dead []  2020-1-21 22:26

    It is not even a book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Art of the Dead []  2020-1-16 6:14

    "The posters were true things in a true time, and a really far out time." Alton 's been a long time since a book on 60's poster art has had anything remotely fresh to present fans (like me), and with amazing reproduction values to boot. This is that book. Is every poster fresh to viewers? No. But the approach by the editor (who's involved in the poster field and knows what he's talking about), and his choices of posters is top notch. Plus, editor Phil Cushway takes a various path-rather than simply reproducing posters, he goes into some historical detail about the poster making process. Overall this is probably a 5 "star" book, but for me, it's closer to 4 1/2 "stars"-but who's quibbling over 1/2 a "star"?This coffee table size book is full of amazing period poster work by a lot of of the greatest artists of that era, and some lesser (or completely) unknown artists, along with essays by Greil Marcus, Mickey Hart, and Peter Coyote, who were there when all this was happening. Don't think that the title means this is nothing but Grateful Dead posters-it's not. The band is used primarily as a jumping off point to anchor the story of poster art in this specific period. But you'll message that the band figures in a lot of of the posters, which is fine. But what's various (and beautiful cool) about this particular book, is that the history of poster printing and manufacturing is also here-not in any amazing detail, and primarily limited to the "Grateful Dead era"-but enough to form a foundation for later artwork. Included are preliminary work sketches, printing plates, etc. But don't think this is some dry treatise on poster history/making-it's not. If (again like me) you already own books like "The Art Of Rock", and "The Art Of The Fillmore", etc., you should probably think about adding this book to your library. The inclusion of a number of rare posters or even some that are small seen by fans makes this book worth pouring over. The reproductions are crisp and clean, with a lot of close to full page size-as they should shway also contains a few paragraphs (some with quotes from the artists and himself) from a number of the major artists, along with examples of their work. My only complaint (and it's totally self-serving) is that I want a lot of of the smaller reproductions could've been full page size (or close to it) to bring out the real beauty and wonder of each piece of art. The full result of these posters can only be truly appreciated (and felt) at a larger reproduction size. But I realize doing so would've created the book prohibitively expensive, and/or unwieldy. Of course, nothing beats seeing these posters tacked onto telephone polls, fences, buildings, and taped to the occasional VW bus as it chugged by, in all their mind-numbing glory. I can remember seeing someone putting these posters up, and then noticing that they had disappeared a small while later-fans loved either the bands advertised and/or the poster itself-so a lot of were taken down the same is book can easily sit next to other amazing poster books, along with the amazing rock poster book "Classic Rock Posters" (which I just finished reading but continue to look at the attractive poster reproductions), edited by Mick Farren. I came across this beautifully done hardcover book as a "remainder" book at a chain book store. It's still available on-line. This is another amazing book with amazing reproductions, laid out chronologically, with informative captions, and essays on each loosely defined period of posters, beginning with early posters and continuing up through the punk era and beyond. If you haven't seen this book either, I suggest you check it out as well. Hopefully Cushway will publish a second volume, filled with even more amazing examples from that long ago era, that can still bring that exciting period back to life when looking at these unbelievable pieces of art.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Art of the Dead []  2020-1-16 6:14

    Nice book. Though I don't really care for the layout and design much. Still a amazing volume to add to your library if you are into this O BAD, however, that Amazon cannot, it seems, figure out how to ship a fine book like this without is one was just thrown into a huge box, to bounce around and hurt the dust jacket and bump the corners of the book.A shame to do that to a nice art book. I'm about to give up on Amazon for books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Art of the Dead []  2020-1-16 6:14

    75% of the "art" is just little 1"x1" pictures on a giant page.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Diary of the Dead [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    A solid and contemporary shift to Romero's template of his magnum opus. Just right for the times. ...Hoping the bizarre ways of these strange days will encourage Romero and other filmmakers of his ilk to create further installments in their franchises, and at least obtain SOMETHING amazing from all of this crap 2016 America finds itself in...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Shaun of the Dead [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    Shaun of the Dead-If U like Romero/Python Pick This Up:D This was one of the best films I saw in the latest year or two. The acting was good, the plot was fairly well thought out, and it was very funny. It helps if you are a zombie movie(i.e. G. Romero)fan and have fun British type humor(like the Monty Python troupe), but if you are neither it will not stop you from enjoying this movie. It is a weird mix of several genres(coming of age, buddy movie, comedy, love, horror)but it definitely works on all levels. The main characters(Shaun and Ed)will definitely remind you of some slacker you knew(or know) The facial expressions, dialogue, and general behavior of these two create for some of the best scenes in the movie. There are also some very amazing make-up effects, and a decent amount of gore. This is definitely one worth owning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Art of the Dead []  2020-1-16 6:14

    amazing collection of art, nicely published

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guardian of the Dead []  2020-1-21 22:26

    This was a slow starter, for me. VERY slow. It took me almost a week to obtain through the first half of the book, I just didn't feel engaged to read it. However, once things finally got going, this was a amazing MANCE: I've found that most authors are amazing with the slow, tense, on/off, will they/won't they build up to a romance, and then once everything is out in the open, the spark fizzles. Karen Healey, I feel, does the opposite. I didn't really feel much regarding Ellie/Mark until after that point, but when I did, I absolutely loved them, truly. I wasn't feeling very engaged with any of the characters, really, until Ellie/Mark, and then I felt like they were acting relatably. So, for that alone, this book is special and will garner fond memories when I think on ORI ELEMENTS: First, I loved, loved, loved that this book featured a cycle of mythology that I was completely unfamiliar with, so that was ose two things are what I really found special about this book. Other stuff...Iris stood out as a wonderful, not-quite-main character. The pacing was very off in the beginning, I think, it was so hard to obtain into, but things smoothed out into a natural engaging pace, halfway through the book. I'm not sure I would recommend it. It's simple to say, now, having finished it, that you should totally slog through the beginning to obtain to the really amazing ending, but it wasn't so simple to spend a week kind of avoiding this book.I'm debating between 3 or 4 stars. I would give the first half of the book 2 stars and the second half 5 stars. I would recommend this book, but tentatively. Consider reading a few chapters of this then reading something else until you obtain to the amazing parts, maybe? I don't know, the second half was just so good, but I don't wish you to go into it expecting greatness and then be bogged down by the pacing of the first half. Allow me place it this way: I bought this used for $5.75, if I had anymore, I would have been very frustrated.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guardian of the Dead []  2020-1-21 22:26

    Ellie Spencer is barely getting by. It's her latest year of high school, but instead of living at home on the North Island of Fresh Zealand, she's enrolled at Mansfield College, a posh boarding school on the South Island. Her parents have left for a year-long trip to celebrate her mother's recovery from cancer. Ellie doesn't even really miss her mates from home since she had drifted apart from them during her "Mum's Cancer Year". She has exactly one mate at her fresh school, Kevin, but Kevin has a secret that he's just revealed to her, and she has a hopeless crush on the mysterious Tag Nolan. She's also been recruited by Kevin to support with the war scenes in the local university's production of A Midsummer Night's Dream, which requires her to resurrect the tae kwon do skills she's neglected since starting at so, people are being murdered, and the assassin is taking their of the Dead was unlike anything I've read before, and I loved it. The novel is set is Fresh Zealand, and draws upon M'ori mythology. One drawback to a lifetime spent studying and teaching literature is that I almost always know what is going to happen, but because this book is based on a mythology unfamiliar to me, I could not predict what would happen in this story. That gave this story a freshness that other books often lack for me.Another amazing thing about this book is the main character, Ellie. I like that Ellie is so tough, and that she is sometimes selfish like a true teenager. Ellie feels awkward about her size and often describes herself as heavy, but she's also powerful and fierce. In a fair fight, Ellie wins, and though I usually don't condone violence, I loved it when Ellie used it to test to explore the truth. One of the joys of this novel lies in watching Ellie grow more comfortable in her own skin, and that's something any young person (of any age) can is novel is also, at time, really scary, like freaking-out-in-fear-even-while-surrounded-by-my-students scary. Like I'm getting the chills right now just thinking about ly, I have to confess that personally, I've grown a small tired of sequels and series. It seems like every YA book now is part of a set, and as much as I love the books, I'm left constantly feeling unfinished. However, I'll create an exception for Guardian of the Dead. Though it's a stand alone as far as I know, I would love to read more of this story. More Ellie Spencer, please!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guardian of the Dead []  2020-1-21 22:26

    This book was slow to begin but it was a amazing twistAnd lots of things I'd never even heard of!! VeryUnique!! Can't wait for #2!!Ending was unexpected !!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    House of the Dead [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    The dialogue is laughable, the acting is horrible, and the only thing worse than these two things is the direction. But I'll be damned if there isn't some genuinely fun practical effects sequences set to melody on offer. _Final rating:★★ - Had some things that appeal to me, but a not good finished product._

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guardian of the Dead []  2020-1-21 22:26

    So...first off, I started this book with no prior knowledge of Fresh Zealand (aside from its beauty and proximity to Australia) and in all truth, I didn't originally even realize the book was set in Fresh Zealand. So what did I know? Well, the fast cover sleeve summary mentions: high school kids, mythology, serial killings and even some kind of a Bible reference and soul saving... oh and Mâori (not that I knew what that was). So going off all that, plus the books title GUARDIAN OF THE DEAD, I thought cool, I'll bite...A fresh paranormal/supernatural read of some kind, from a fresh author, lets give `er a shot. And I am happy to report that my gamble ARDING OF THE DEAD was a very amazing read.. Did it "HOLY COW!" blow me away? I really wanted it to but it came up just shy of that; although it was an intriguing, solid and special story that held my attention with a cast that I actually cared about. More of a quite champion, starting off by grabbing my interest with the characters themselves; then by the time we got to the actual "otherworldly" stuff, I was already so enthralled by Ellie that I was flying through the story. Basically weird items happens and we the reader, obtain to figure it all out alongside our charmingly less than typical protagonist. And though it did take a small time for me to puzzle-out the supernatural origins and where things were headed for our heroin; it may become clearer faster for those with some background knowledge of Fresh Zealand fairy tales and Mâori mythology. Either way, Karen Healey's somewhat creepy and definitely unique debut, GUARDINAN OF THE DEAD is one I'd recommend to anyone looking for something "new" in the globe of mythology and spooky folk lore.*Bonus Time!* For those going into this read naive to anything Mâori (like I was), Ms. Healey was kind enough to provide a Glossary of some of the Mâori names/terms that are used throughout the story... unfortunately, the Glossary is at the very back of the book and went unnoticed by me until it was too late. So be sure to place it to use, if you begin to obtain a small lost in the language.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guardian of the Dead []  2020-1-21 22:26

    I won't say this book was bad. I'll only say it was not for me. I wasn't a fan of the story, the characters or the writing. The more I read the more implausible and confusing the story became. I think this book had some amazing ideas and reasonably likeable characters but failed when it came to execution.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Art of the Dead []  2020-1-16 6:14

    This book is thorough in covering Dead art and includes attractive illustrations. Amazing coffee table book/conversation piece too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Day of the Dead [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    Zombezi I'm on my way. A city is infected with a virus that turns the populace into flesh eating creatures. A hardy band of survivors war to stay alive... Regardless of comparing it to the Romero movie that shares the same name - since not all remakes suck - this is just a poor film. OK! It can maybe be argued that the makers here tried to reimage Romero's zombie formula, by having the zombies here be supernatural in style, rage like in execution, and the gore is impressively shed. But sadly the characters are uninvolving and annoying, with actors either sleepwalking through their roles (hello Ving Rhames), or badly miscast (hello Mena Suvari). It's a drunken one night stand of a movie, it looked like it might be fun at the time, but come the morning there is just headache and shame. 3/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Land of the Dead [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:47

    Romero lines up the Bush administration for à la carte eats. Land Of The Dead is directed & written by George A. Romero and it's the fourth movie in his Zombie based series of films. It stars Simon Baker, John Leguizamo, Dennis Hopper, Eugene Clark & Asia Argento. Human society has regrouped and formed a fresh community in a sealed off section of America. Run by a feudal government headed by Paul Kaufman (Hopper), the state survives on supplies garnered from the outside globe by Riley (Baker) and his "Dead Reckoning" team. But during one of their raids they message that one of the Zombies, Huge Daddy (Clark), is starting to present signs of human awareness. After the emergence of the Dawn Of The Dead remake in 2004 and the plaudits heaped upon zom-com Shaun Of The Dead also in 2004, one question immediately sprang to the minds of zombie fans, "could Romero, the don of the dead, be stirred into a fresh entry in his already heralded series?". Yes was the joyous respond to that, and although a torn ligament down from previous instalments, the amazing news is that Land Of The Dead rocks with gore and politico fervour. Naturally a lot has changed in the globe of zombiedom since Romero's latest venture in 85, but he manages to tonally hold the old fashioned feel while observing the unsteady social climate that was seeping from the wounds in 2005. By his own admission he is taking pot shots at the Bush administration, while Hopper, on delightfully excessive form, deliberately channels Donald Rumsfeld. From fireworks in the sky bringing conformity, to class division down on the turf, Romero as always has something to say. The cast are a solid and energetic bunch, with Baker pleasingly coming up trumps as a character type, while gore hounds are very well served here as George finds fresh and inventive ways of delivering the ick (one "head" sequence is genius). Sure there's a suggestion that the central idea of the zombies getting smarter is kind of going off tangent, but since he wrote the rules, he's also allowed to change them. But with this ending here it hope, not just in this skew whiff globe he's created, but also of further film's to come. And that maybe is a touch too far? 7/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Guardian of the Dead []  2020-1-21 22:26

    It's nice on occasion to see well-executed urban fantasy that steps well away from Western European tropes. Ellie Spencer is a amazing heroine, and I'd love to see more from her. While the plot is sluggish at first, it picks up steam later on with reasonably amazing pacing once you obtain into the second half of the novel. I must also say I'm not a large fan of paranormal romance, and the romance here doesn't quite work for me because the massive conflicts of betrayal and having various backgrounds seem to be brushed away without much true work. But I will suggest that it does better than most other romance narratives in developing the core relationshipBut all in all, it's a amazing if not astounding read. Healey is on my list of authors to watch based on this. If you're not already a fan of urban fantasy featuring young adults, it might not work for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Art of the Dead []  2020-1-16 6:14

    Amazing pictures send sturdy hard cover. A book to read or just flip through all the decades of grateful dead pictures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Art of the Dead []  2020-1-16 6:14

    Bought this for my deadhead bestie and she loved it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finn McCool's Football Club: The Birth, Death, and Resurrection of a Pub Soccer Team in the City of the Dead []  2020-7-26 21:36

    Stephen Rea's book, Finn McCool's Football Club, is one of the best reads I have purchased this year. I'm from the same neck of the woods (sort of) as Stephen, so I understood a lot of of the football (soccer) references, but it really doesn't matter if you have never watched a Chelsea match. The soccer is used to bring the story together, and what a story it is. I have read a few books that with Hurricane Katrina, but this one does so with a rawness that makes it hard to set aside until the latest page is we read about the struggles of the pub soccer squad in the aftermath of the hurricane, we feel what they felt, their hopes and fears. These are ordinary people caught up in an extraordinary, and frightening, situation. One can't support but wonder how we would have fared under such nn McCool's Football Club is a well written page turner that delivers from begin to finish.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finn McCool's Football Club: The Birth, Death, and Resurrection of a Pub Soccer Team in the City of the Dead []  2020-7-26 21:36

    Beautiful awesome story! Well-written, yes, but more than that, it shows the power of soccer to be more than just a game. I brought the book along to read on the plane enroute to Fresh Orleans. I felt compelled by the time I'd read the first 50 pages to visit the Pub, and when I walked in i felt like I'd been hanging out with old mates there for years. Doesn't obtain much better than that. Well done Mr. Rea, and thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finn McCool's Football Club: The Birth, Death, and Resurrection of a Pub Soccer Team in the City of the Dead []  2020-7-26 21:36

    Very well written and compelling acc of life during Katrina. Interesting perspective from a group of ex-pats living in Fresh Orleans. Would highly recommend even if you're not a huge soccer fan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finn McCool's Football Club: The Birth, Death, and Resurrection of a Pub Soccer Team in the City of the Dead []  2020-7-26 21:36

    It's a special view of a special sport in a special town at a special time in its history. A amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finn McCool's Football Club: The Birth, Death, and Resurrection of a Pub Soccer Team in the City of the Dead []  2020-7-26 21:36

    As someone who only experienced Katrina on my couch watching news coverage from half method across the country, this book was a very amazing insider's acc of what the people of Fresh Orleans really went through during this not good natural disaster. Intertwining his Katrina story and the stories of his mates from Finn McCool's with the story of the Pub soccer squad created for a fascinating read. I was also fortunate to obtain to meet the author this past summer in NYC during the Chelsea Football Club US summer tour. We are both Chelsea supporters, so the bits of the story where he talks about trying to catch Chelsea matches after being evacuated was especially neat for me as I could sit back and recall where I was for those particular matches.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finn McCool's Football Club: The Birth, Death, and Resurrection of a Pub Soccer Team in the City of the Dead []  2020-7-26 21:36

    Story line and backdrop are a amazing topic, but the book is disappointing. Reads like a football diary and only occasionally lifts itself above that format when on the subject of Katrina.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finn McCool's Football Club: The Birth, Death, and Resurrection of a Pub Soccer Team in the City of the Dead []  2020-7-26 21:36

    An awesome take on an outsiders view of the enigmatic characters in Fresh Orleans and the absurd aftermath of Katrina.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finn McCool's Football Club: The Birth, Death, and Resurrection of a Pub Soccer Team in the City of the Dead []  2020-7-26 21:36

    As a survivor of Katrina, it was interesting to see how other people captured the essence of the storm, the loss, and the rebirth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finn McCool's Football Club: The Birth, Death, and Resurrection of a Pub Soccer Team in the City of the Dead []  2020-7-26 21:36

    I was very excited when I ordered this book from Amazon as it promised a combination of things I love- an Irish pub, soccer, history, and a comeback versus overwhelming odds. With the sort of reviews I had never seen on Amazon- 73 out of 74 rated it as 5 stars- I knew I had a 'can't miss" book in "Finn McCool's".Sadly, I was very disappointed. I really tried hard to like this book but it never clicked. I found the story disjointed and meandering. I never got a true feel for the characters who frequented Finn's and so it was hard to obtain attached to them. You really need a scorecard to tell who is who. The author will briefly introduce a Finn's regular/team member and then 60 pages later bring up the person again by first name like he's an old mate of ours (the reader's). Actually, you have to go back and remind yourself just who this person is.A few other irritating things:1. Rea frequently identifies- correctly- what he sees as racism, particularly versus African Americans, and then becomes Exh B by himself stereotyping Hispanics at several points in the book.2. His exasperation as he describes trying to obtain sports bars in the U.S to place on Premier League soccer matches gets tiring. An American trying to do the same in England- prodding a bartender in a London pub to switch one of the TVs to a Fresh Orleans Saints android game when Manchester United is playing Chelsea- would be labelled an Ugly American.3. His comments on the United States in general I found very sophomoric. I have no issue with a writer making observations on his adopted country- I just found that Rea was not very perceptive or insightful.4. And, yes, I obtain it that his wife is always cold but do you have to beat us over the head with that small tidbit?5. and, finally, we can handle the F word. You can spell it out instead of using the F_ _ k.I am obviously am in the minority as 99% of the readers loved the book.I did have fun the first hand accounts by the survivors of Katrina.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finn McCool's Football Club: The Birth, Death, and Resurrection of a Pub Soccer Team in the City of the Dead []  2020-7-26 21:36

    As a Katrina survivor who lost almost everything, including nearly all of my couple of thousand books, I search it difficult to read accounts of the storm and its aftermath, because they tend to bring back the pain. But Stephen's book is both serious where it needs to be and highly amusing, so I both laughed and cried. The necessary thing is that his story highlights the post-Katrina resurrection of Finn McCool's, the football club, and the city, ending on the hopeful note that we all need to hold on keeping on. I'll be reading it again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Names of the Dead []  2020-1-2 18:0

    Got this as an Amazon Prime book and read it in one evening. An unconventional thriller/ex-spy story.... Clean. No and lots of quotes from God's Word. Doesn't quite glorify killing and has a surprisingly accurate view of human depravity. I expected small and was surprised to search the book interesting and well-written. Usually Prime books aren't worth your time--its children's book selection is the only one worth considering most months. Not this time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Names of the Dead []  2020-1-2 18:0

    Kevin Wignall continues to write amazing action novels. I have read them all. After you read this one, obtain The Traitor Story. This is his best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Names of the Dead []  2020-1-2 18:0

    I started this book thinking there was no method I would like it, I was so wrong! What a incredibly amazing storyline! I wanted a bit various ending, just because I love romance, but loved it so much! Maybe there is a series starting here? Hope everyone enjoys as much as I did!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Names of the Dead []  2020-1-2 18:0

    An entertaining and well written Kindle First book; what a rare treat!Memorable, special characters support the story move along at a amazing pace. The main character, released from prison early due to the death of his wife, manages to outwit the squad of assassins set to pick him up. He is “rescued“ by the strange daughter of one of his former prisoners. Together they travel Europe hunting for a lost kid and ultimately finding something e writer does an perfect job of creating a sense of put from France across the Iberian Peninsula into Croatia and ultimately to Italy. The hotels come to life as do the little quiet places. The supporting characters all add to the story and each have logical connections to the main characters. The quest itself makes a few leaps that don’t always add up but all in all, the story holds together well.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386