classic readings and cases in the philosophy of law Reviews & Opinions


Submit classic readings and cases in the philosophy of law review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Philosophy of Law (Oxford Readings in Philosophy) review []  2020-1-22 1:52

    The book was a bonus for a student, and he stated that it was what he needed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    International Law: Classic and Contemporary Readings review []  2020-1-22 1:50

    This book is very useful for those who are studying or test to study and understand Law role in International Relations, I bought it to use one of its chapters regarding the Responsibility to Protect, and was very anks

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    International Law: Classic and Contemporary Readings review []  2020-1-22 1:50

    The shipment was very quick, and tho book conditions were exellent. I bought it as u used book but to me it seems brand new!

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on classic readings and cases in the philosophy of law or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch classic readings and cases in the philosophy of law video reviews and related movies:

    See Justice: What's The Right Thing To Do? Episode 01 "THE MORAL SIDE OF MURDER" on youtube.

     related image

    See Jurisprudence - Natural Law on youtube.

     related image

    See Lena Salaymeh | The Beginnings of Islamic Law on youtube.

     related image

    See The philosophy of Stoicism - Massimo Pigliucci on youtube.

     related image

    See Aristotle & Virtue Theory: Crash Course Philosophy #38 on youtube.

     related image

    See 17. Punishment I on youtube.

     related image

    See Philosophical School of Jurisprudence | Natural Law School | Legal Theory | In Hindi on youtube.

     related image

    See Bioethics Principles Issues and Cases on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Case Law and Conclusions: A Fathers Rights Guide (Case Law and Conclusions for Fathers' Rights Book 1) review []  2020-1-17 21:51

    Amazing info

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ThinOptics Reading Glasses + Universal Pod Case | Camouflage Collection, Classic Woodland, 2.00 Strength review []  2020-1-6 18:11

    This is the tirth I like but after 3 moths the nose clip is broken but this stile cost more cash now they don’t wish to take my cash back

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ThinOptics Reading Glasses + Universal Pod Case | Camouflage Collection, Classic Woodland, 2.50 Strength review []  2020-1-21 18:23

    As advertised. Very amazing product. Practical and convenient, I carry them in my wallet.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Read a Book: The Classic Guide to Intelligent Reading review []  2020-1-16 9:55

    I first read this book 50 years ago and then took from it one primary idea that has guided my reading ever since...That one idea was that every amazing non-fiction book deserves 3 readings. The purpose of the first rapid read is to obtain an overview of the general thrust or central thesis of the book. The second reading involves digging in, an attempt to understand and analyze the author's central argument or thesis, and the third reading is for the purpose of argument, i.e., of reflecting on where we agree with the book and where we disagree, and why...50 years after that first reading, i still test to follow the tip (above), and search it as helpful and real today as it was back , what in particular did I gain in from my current reading of this fine book, this gem? Three or four things, all of which are, at least to me, rst, re the value of reading the intro or the preface in which the author often says specifically and explicitly what his central thesis cond, re the value of reading the latest chapter or even the very latest 8 to 10 paragraphs in which the author may, once again, summarize the whole central purpose and argument of the book, which gives you a key to understanding the work in its entirety.And, third, don't start arguing with a book until you are certain that you have understood it as well as you possibly tom-line, I'm satisfied that I went back to reread this fine book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Read a Book: The Classic Guide to Intelligent Reading review []  2020-1-16 9:55

    I have always had a nagging feeling that I didn’t know how to read well. This book showed me that I was right. But it also showed me that I wasn’t expected to know how to read well (not with the kind of education most of us receive) and that I wasn’t alone in my ignorance. Reading well involves hard work and precise skills. This book provides the latter — the former is up to us.We take reading for granted because we are supposed to be fully alphabetised at around tenth grade. We are not told that this is just the first level of reading — Elementary Reading (Part 1, Ch. 3) — when you learn to recognise the written symbols and to convey meaning from them. You learn how to grow your vocabulary on your own and to transfer and compare concepts from various reading materials. But most of us stop there. And from there we live the rest of our lives treating books in undeserving ways, wasting too much time on the poor ones and granting so small time to the amazing ones. The amazing ones, we hardly read, because they scare e issue of wasting time can be drastically diminished by applying the second level of reading — Inspectional Reading (Part 1, Ch. 4). This level means “skimming systematically” to grasp as much as you can from a book in a limited time-frame (possibly just a few minutes). That was an necessary skill on Adler and Doren’s time when libraries were the norm, but it is even more necessary now when you have digital previews of a plethora of books in services such as Amazon. If “Customer’s Review” sections existed during their time, I am sure they would also have devoted a portion of Chapter 4 to provide insights on how to better profit from e issue of spending small time on the amazing (or great) books can only be solved by the third level of reading — Analytical reading (Part 2). Without it, you either refrain from reading a amazing book altogether (specially a amazing one) or you read it badly. “Reading badly”, the book explains, is to read passively. Reading analytically is very active and it is hard work. To support us in this endeavour, the book provides extensive tip on how to physically tag the books we read (Part 1, Ch. 5). These note-taking techniques are indispensable to read well and the reader is advised to experiment with them and adapt them to his own style of understanding and to the fresh types of media now read analytically you have to ask yourself a number of questions while reading and you must create your best to respond them yourself. The authors show these questions in sequence, but they are fast to explain that in practice (and with experience) we should test to respond them mostly rst, you need to know what the book is about as a whole (Ch. 6 and Ch. 7). This means first categorising the book, then expressing its unity in as few words as possible. You should then proceed to outline its main parts, each of which should be treated as a subordinate whole and have its unity also expressed. This process could continue ad aeternum, but “the degree of approximation varies with the hero of the book and your purpose in reading it”. At the end, you should have identified what questions the author wants to respond ter this more “descriptive” stage, you should now test to grasp the author’s notice (Ch. 8 and Ch. 9). This means first reconciling the grammatical and the logical aspects of what he writes by matching his chosen words with the terms they express. Only then you can identify the necessary sentences and paragraphs (the grammatical units) in order to establish the author’s leading propositions and arguments (the troops of thought and knowledge — the logical units). Once you have reached actual understanding by identifying and interpreting the author’s terms, propositions and arguments, you can now evaluate if the author has answered the questions (the problems) you identified and the author are now peers and the best thing you can do now is to praise him by criticising his book (Ch. 10 and Ch. 11). However, in order to do so, there are rules, just like there are rules to reach understanding — there is an intellectual etiquette grounded on rhetorical skills the reader must possess. You should understand first and only then criticise, but not contentiously or disputatiously. You may disagree based on the author’s lack of information, misinformation or reasoning fallacies. You may also judge the author’s completeness as faulty. But the most necessary maxim is to do so with the sole intention of conveying and discussing knowledge, not opinions. “Knowledge consists in those opinions that can be defended” and “opinion is unsupported judgement.” You must be sure to distinguish between you have described the book, you have understood it and you have criticised it — now what? This is the latest (and possibly most important) question you should make. If the book has enlightened you, even if just a little, you must go further — you might even have to act upon it. I like what the authors say about this question applied to historical books: “The respond to the question lies in the direction of practical, political action.” History shows what has been done, so it is a lesson of what we can do or avoid doing. In the same way, whatever the kind of enlightenment you had by reading the book, you have had a glimpse of truth — you can’t ignore it now that you know rt 3 is useful in that it provides some interesting aspects of specific types of reading material, namely practical books, history (including biographies and current events), imaginative literature (including plays and poems), science and mathematics, philosophy and the social sciences. While a pleasure to read, it is not imperative that you do so if you have fully grasped the analytical reading process. There is, however, a lot of value in this part of the book, specially in the later chapters, and the reader is strongly advised to read it. One thing I should say is that, while they detail interesting aspects of reading imaginative literature, their techniques mostly apply to expository works. I think their best tip with respect to the former is “don’t test to resist the result that a work of imaginative literature has on you”. This means allowing the work to present you “a deeper, or greater reality”. And this reality is “the reality of our inner life”. We don’t need any more rules than this e latest part of the book presents the fourth (and highest) level of reading — Syntopical reading — or reading two or more books on the same subject. By reading syntopically you are not concerned with understanding each book in all its info — in fact, you won’t read any of the individual books analytically (not at the show syntopical reading effort, at least). Here you are reading each book for what it may contribute to your own problem, not for the book’s own sake. Furthermore, you are not reading to search the truth or to establish your own voice — you would be only one more voice in the conversation. You are simply trying to understand the controversy itself, to establish the a lot of voices you hear in a pure exercise of dialectical objectivity. This is a unbelievable topic, which the authors have materialised in their greatest contribution to mankind, in my opinion — the Syntopicon, volumes II and III of the Great Books of the Western World. The reader is very much advised to check it e book ends with two appendices. The first one provides a fascinating list of amazing books — the “endlessly readable” books. The list may seem overwhelming at first glance (and it is!), but the authors are prompt to address the reader and explain that the list does not have any time frame attached to it. I say it should just be begun — even an ignorant reader like me will be so flabbergasted by what he will learn that he will never stop reading it. This is a project for your life as a whole — to never stop reading these books. For a much more restrictive (but also magnificent) reading list, the reader is referred to the 10-year-reading plan provided in Adler’s Amazing e second appendix provides exercises and tests on all four levels of reading. I must admit that I hadn’t read them until I got this far in my review. I then decided to do it and now I tell you this: just read it. If you have had literature classes as an undergraduate or graduate student, you might search it slightly commonplace. But if you haven’t, like me, you will be glad you read it. Like they state at the beginning of the appendix, the selected texts are "themselves worth reading", so you can’t lose much by doing so. It is a delightful taste of what awaits you in your future exploits of the Amazing Books — if you do well and accept the challenge, of course.On my part, simply put, this book has changed my life. It not only showed me "how" to read a book, but it also showed me "what" to read. I’ll be forever in debt with two of the greatest absent teachers I’ve had, Dr. Mortimer J. Adler and Dr. Charles Van Doren.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Read a Book: The Classic Guide to Intelligent Reading review []  2020-1-16 9:55

    Apart from my school and college, I never spent much time in reading books. I hate reading novels, work of fictions, etc. Also, when i read, I read from first to last, trying to remember what I read and the success of the book is limited by the memory capacity of my brain. But this book, changed that all. The analytical reading way opened my eyes to a whole fresh globe of opportunities. These days, i am purchasing two book every six months. I am love philosophy and psychology. So These expository works are respected by me as a reader as advised in this book. Now after reading a book, I have a small notebook that includes my interpretation of the subjects and this gives me a whole fresh insight and intellect to what was discussed. Every schools and colleges should first teach this to students before recommending papers for sememsters.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Read a Book: The Classic Guide to Intelligent Reading review []  2020-1-16 9:55

    I have fun reading for self-directed educational purposes and for entertainment purposes. But this book is too much. I found it redundant and that created me feel like I am wasting my time. Perhaps it was my personal school education and the methodology we were taught or perhaps it is just my natural reading style, but I didn't take much away from this book. I forced my method through as much as I could. I couldn't support but be beckoned away by other books on my book shelf waiting to be read. If you know you are stuck in elementary level reading maybe this book will support you. For anyone capable of actively reading a book, bringing their wandering minds back to the content, analyzing what they are reading, and taking time to understand something does not need to bother with this.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Read a Book: The Classic Guide to Intelligent Reading review []  2020-1-16 9:55

    The author explains his outlook on four levels of reading: elementary reading, inspectional reading, analytical reading and syntopical e vast majority of people read at an elementary level, if they read at all. Newspapers, magazines are geared to this first level, that of seventh grade. Reading at this level is easy and unsophisticated you just look at every word until you've seen them e second level of reading is inspectional where the reader skims, or pre reads the preface, table of contents, index, and a few chapters. You should read the entire book superficially without regard to whether the reader understands it or not, the author explains. The authors believe  that this kind of superficial reading can prepare a reader for enjoying of more substantial books. They also claim, and I found this to be true, that this way should be used for amazing works first, then go back later for in depth reading for better understanding and enjoyment. I remember reading classics in school slowly and in depth, and like the authors say, you forget the beginning and meaning of the book before you even finish with these amazing classics. What's worse is you don't have fun reading them at that point, and it's more ler and Van Doren then show how to classify books, and the approaches to take for each kind. This is a very in depth and thoughtful process that will greatly benefit true readers in multiple capacities. 

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Read a Book: The Classic Guide to Intelligent Reading review []  2020-1-16 9:55

    This book will totally revolutionize how you read. It is packed full of practical tip for reading all kinds of literature. Some of the things I got out of it that I didn't already do was pre-reading, x-raying a book, and speed-reading. Back in the 90’s I was reading a lot of paperback fiction, and I hated to read any blurb or anything about the plot because I wanted to be surprised. So would skip any preface or blurb, back cover, inside fold, etc, and just read form Chapter 1 until the end. And for some types of books this works well.But this carried over into expository works which I started reading a small bit later on in life. This proved to create the reading a bit more laborious and tedious. And when I got lost I would just shelf it for another day. And although I still managed to read quite a amazing number of books using a poor reading technique, I’ve already gone through a couple of books and gotten a lot more out of them in just a fraction of the time.He gives amazing tip on understanding an author before criticizing one, something we need to practice in life anyway, and desperately lacking in todays culture.I had already read on a synoptical level by nature. I suppose because I’m always trying to figure things out, and I like to see how unlikely ideas that don't normally go together can work together and inform each other or feed into another narrative. This is a lot harder to do unless you read a lot, and actually take time to digest and think about what you read. Learning how to read fast, then slow down to digest things, taking your time to re-read, then discuss what you think you learned. Until you can state the contents in your own words you probably don't understand what an author is saying.On the flip side, there is plenty of painfully tedious chapters and sections. Mr Aldrer or Van Doren go into amazing detail and digress quite often. Feel free to skim over some paragraphs and sections if you feel its getting bogged down. I know I did. But I feel I got the main points of what they were teaching. I almost took off one star for this, but I feel the benefits far outweigh the negative, and working through some of the chapters is actually part of the process of learning to read better.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Read a Book: The Classic Guide to Intelligent Reading review []  2020-1-16 9:55

    Some people read for entertainment. Others read for info (they're on the memorization and robotic, follow instructions "level"). Others read for full understanding, where they have critical thought on the subject, which can take them to the level of DISCOVERY and fresh epiphanies in their thinking, and even further development of the studied topic itself. I didn't know what I didn't know about true study!At first look, this best selling book's title doesn't do it justice. It reaches into the core of how to master any subject, with principles that not only apply to reading, but any media of self education. This book is mind-blowing to me on the topic of learning. For all the time this book has been around, I'm disturbed that it's not needed study in public schools. For anybody who wants to have the freedom to learn anything they want, on their own, you will not be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Read a Book: The Classic Guide to Intelligent Reading review []  2020-1-16 9:55

    Reading is something a lot of people search valuable, whether it be for recreation or education—most people in today's globe know how to read. Loads of people are likely happy with their current reading abilities, and perhaps even more do not have any intention to increase the amount of reading nor the intensify the difficulty of the books that they choose to read. In fact, a lot of people have the ability to read but simply choose to not exercise it. However, for those of us who have fun reading and want to improve our reading skills, I cannot recommend How to Read a Book: The Classic Tutorial to Smart Reading highly e book was originally published in 1940, and the most latest edition was published (with updated and timely content) in 1972. It aims to provide a tutorial for comprehensive reading for the general reader—"from elementary reading, through systematic skimming and inspectional reading, to speed reading. You learn how to pigeonhole a book, X-ray it, extract the author's message, criticize. You are taught the various reading techniques for reading practical books, imaginative literature, plays, poetry, history, science and mathematics, philosophy and social science." (From the publisher's blurb.)The authors, Mortimer J. Adler and Charles Van Doren, introduce the concept of four levels of reading: elementary reading, inspectional reading, analytical reading, and syntopical reading. The levels are cumulative, which means that each gradation contains the techniques and skills of the lower levels.Elementary reading is essentially the baseline ability to read that is taught at the pre-school/kindergarten, elementary and junior high school levels. These reading skills contain reading readiness, word mastery, vocabulary growth and the utilization of context, and the ability to read almost anything (albeit in a relatively unsophisticated manner). This is the level of reading that perhaps the majority of the population has achieved. What is truly outstanding about reading is that once one has developed the elementary reading skills, she can teach herself to learn the skills involved with the higher levels of spectional reading involves two main concepts: systematic skimming or pre-reading, and superficial reading. Skimming or pre-reading involves looking at a book's title page, preface, table of contents, index, publisher's blurb, apparently-pivotal chapters, and real skimming of its content. Superficial reading is comprised of trudging through a book's content in its entirety for the first time, without ever stopping to look up or ponder the things that one does not understand right away. At this point in reading a book, one should begin asking herself the four primary questions of reading:What is the book about as a whole?What is being said in detail, and how?Is the book true, in whole or part?What of it?These questions are thoroughly fleshed out in the book, and I do not want to focus too much on them in this review. It would be much better for you to check out this book for yourself, although I must warn you that to read it honestly is more like working through a workbook than an simple read. It takes a fair amount of effort on the part of the reader, but she is handsomely rewarded at the end of her ing on, the book discusses note-taking techniques, which were very lacking in my own private wheelhouse—it had been since my days at university that I regularly took notes in books, and even then, I didn't have an efficient education that demonstrated how to tag a book so that I would increase my level of understanding and retention. However, How to Read a Book certainly fills in where my formal education was lacking in this department. Even this brief section alone was worth reading the entire book, for e next section of the book—the main bulk of it, in fact—covers the third level of reading: analytical reading. This part is incredibly valuable for readers wishing to improve their overall skill set, including full chapters on the following topics: pigeonholing a book, X-raying a book, coming to terms with an author, determining an author's message, criticizing a book fairly, agreeing or disagreeing with an author, and aids to reading. Again, I do not intend this review to fully discover the book's contents, and will leave it at llowing the section covering analytical reading, the authors discover another tangent: the different ways to approach various types of reading matter. From practical books to imaginative literature, history to science and mathematics, and a few more, this section adapts the four questions that must be asked when reading anything so that they are more applicable to specific types of reading. It was quite interesting for me to consider different types of books and reflect on my reading history and consider what I would truly like to spend my time reading in the future. The final chapter in this section discussed the reading of social science, which often requires reading multiple books about a topic. Because that is essentially the concept behind syntopical reading, it serves as a excellent segue into the next section of the e final section of the book, "The Ultimate Goals of Reading", focuses on syntopical reading and the concept of reading and the growth of the mind. Syntopical reading is truly an interesting concept for me. It involves creating a tentative bibliography (generally including hundreds of books) of a central subject, quickly inspecting each book, re-inspecting all of the books that are specifically pertinent to the subject to identify the relevant passages within, creating a neutral terminology that can be used to discuss the opinions of multiple authors, establishing a set of neutral propositions by framing a set of questions to ask each author, defining the major and minor problems and assigning authors to the different sides of each issue, and providing an analysis of the discussion of the topic. This is a highly-advanced level of reading that one would embark on to do real work in a field, with the hope of providing an unheard analysis of a topic's discussion that a lot of authors have participated in over time. It is possible that one's syntopical reading of a subject could culminate in a book that would push the discussion of a subject even further—in fact, this is indeed often the ultimate goal. The final chapter of the book offers a recap of the previous sections and discusses what amazing books can do for us, the different classes of books (with regard to what one can obtain out of reading and re-reading them), and the growth of the ere are two appendices included, the first being an extremely valuable "Recommended Reading List". I must admit that this list makes my mouth salivate in anticipation of a lot of more years of reading perfect books and the chance of furthering my private reading ability. The second appendix contains exercises and tests at the different four levels of reading. This is the one section of the book that I have yet to read—I may choose to discover these exercises in the future, although it will involve reading several other books from the aforementioned reading list, so it is likely to be a longterm project.Overall, this is one of the best books I have read in the past several years. I am confident that the tip contained within it will support me improve my reading skills while simultaneously increasing the level of enjoyment that I obtain out of my reading practice. I must admit that when I first started reading the book, I was a bit disappointed that it is heavily biased toward non-fiction reading, when in the past I have reaped so much enjoyment from reading fiction. However, the skills that I have learned from How to Read a Book will only serve to improve my relation to non-fiction books, something that has been somewhat lacking for me previously. This is one book that I do plan on working with further in the future, whether it is simply picking it up from time to time to skim through the notes I took on its pages, choosing my next book from its impressive reading list, or working through the second appendix's reading exercises and tests.5/5 stars. 424 pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Read a Book: The Classic Guide to Intelligent Reading review []  2020-1-16 9:55

    I purchased H2RB many, a lot of years ago. I saw it in a bookstore, and the title rang a bell. I suspect one of my undergraduate English teachers mentioned it. For a long time, it sat on my shelf unread ( I always have a 2+ year reading backlog). When I finally read it, I was in nirvana. If you have fun reading deeply, it will give you an appreciation for being very selective about the books you read. It will also support you see that most books aren't worth your time and effort. I'm reading two of the books it recommend for the third time. As H2RB indicated, both book have given be more insight with time and maturity. These types of books will change your life. They will give you wisdom. However, you must have a android game plan for reading them which H2RB will provide. Unfortunately most readers "simply" wish to pass the time; they wish to be entertained. This type of person will search H2RB boring.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    How to Read a Book: The Classic Guide to Intelligent Reading review []  2020-1-16 9:55

    I'll be honest, this is one of the few times in my life that I simply couldn't finish a book. Lord knows I tried. I felt like I was doing penance. Maybe more philosophical types will have fun it but most people will wonder why the author didn't take his own tip and write something readable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lawfully USCIS Case Tracker - Predict USCIS Cases review [App]  2019-11-23 21:39

    Finally, the excellent application to hold track of all of your immigration similar cases. I've tried several apps out there. However, nothing compares to this app. Thank you for developing the most convenient, user-friendly app, and also thank you for coming back to the android device platform.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Lawfully USCIS Case Tracker - Predict USCIS Cases review [App]  2019-11-23 21:39

    One of the best case tracking application I've ever used!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Heaven and Earth Are Not Humane: The Problem of Evil in Classical Chinese Philosophy (World Philosophies) review []  2020-1-15 22:42

    Sometimes, poor things happen to amazing people. You can suck it up, hope that it will all work out in the end, test to stay calm and carry on or tell yourself that you will be satisfied in the next globe if not in this one. Susan Neiman's Evil In Modern Thought: An Alternative History of Philosophy argued that this was a central issue for all early modern European philosophers, thus providing a new perspective on a period of philosophy that is well known to most philosophy anklin Perkins takes Neiman's questions and applies them to Chinese philosophy in the Warring States period. If you don't already have some familiarity with Mozi, Mengzi (Mencius), Zhuangzi, the Dao De Jing and Xunzi, this is not the put to start. It is not an introductory book. But if you already have some familiarity with ancient Chinese philosophy, Perkins offers a fresh and interesting interpretation. Chinese intellectuals, he argues, were unable to sustain the idea that Heaven is a loving protector of humanity. This is the reason why it was so necessary for Mengzi to emphasize the goodness of human nature. For Zhuangzi, on the other hand, embracing the method of heaven means we can shed our moral inhibitions as part of a merely human perspective.I don't have anything like the level of expertise needed to be able to evaluate the accuracy of Perkins' interpretation of ancient Chinese thought, but he certainly has done his best to hold up to date with latest discoveries. What I can say is that he does a amazing job at building bridges between Chinese and European thought on the issue of evil. You never forget that these people lived in a culture based on a very various set of assumptions, and yet at the same time - and here I search myself agreeing with Mengzi - their reflections on human nature tell us something about ourselves. A book like this reminds us that philosophy is a global enterprise.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    No More Fake Reading: Merging the Classics With Independent Reading to Create Joyful, Lifelong Readers (Corwin Literacy) review []  2019-12-23 19:36

    I purchased this book because I wanted to read a book that would support me improve my implementation of independent reading with my sixth and seventh grade students. Small did I know that I was purchasing a treasure and quite possibly the most practical book out there for anyone interesting in getting students of any age to just...read and actually have fun it! Gordon expertly anticipates the pitfalls and hiccups that occur with students in a language arts classroom and provides realistic and innovative solutions for each one. Every time I read one of the tactics she offers in the book my teacher brain would think of ways it could go wrong in the classroom; by the time I got to the next page or section, it almost felt like she read my mind because she addressed the problems I thought of each and every time. She also offers dozens of resources in the appendix to support teachers implement the tactics offered in each chapter. This is the best cash I have ever spent and cannot stop recommending and raving about this book. If you are a Language Arts/English teacher of any grade level looking to take your students' reading motivation to the next level and obtain them truly invested in reading, this is the only book you'll ever need!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    No More Fake Reading: Merging the Classics With Independent Reading to Create Joyful, Lifelong Readers (Corwin Literacy) review []  2019-12-23 19:36

    As one writer place it, it's the 800-pound mockingbird in the ELA classroom (see William J. Broz). English teachers know that it's a problem, yet too often it is disregarded. Our students are not reading assigned texts, and even those who do only do so to preserve their "A" without gaining a genuine appreciation for the text, much less growth in their ability to think critically about a text. We dismiss the issue claiming that it is an problem that is to be solved by our elementary teacher colleagues. "It is too late by the time they obtain to me," some teachers say. Still, we achieve nothing by settling with the issue in our rit Gordon offers one of the most practical approaches to start solving this issue. I should emphasize the practicality that you'll search in this book, for a lot of have written on the subject, and, yes, they offer tactics to overcome this amazing dilemma. However, Gordon's book, from beginning to end, is full of step-by-step instructions on how to war versus the fake-reading rit takes readers through the process, from building up your classroom library with high-interest texts to reforming your instructional tactics with approaches that bridge student-interest reading and classical texts.Any teacher who can accept the reality of the literacy environment that our students inhabit needs to buy this book. Perhaps like me, you are aware of the issue but feel helpless when faced with the challenge of changing the reading lifestyles of 100+ teenagers. As impossible as the task may seem, there is a lot that can be done, and Berit offers amazing ideas in her ter implementing her tactics in my class, I've seen students joyously return to reading. Yes, return, because a lot of reflected on how much they missed reading. I think about my student who is working his method through his 6th book this school year after not reading a single book all latest ow that it can be done! If you're the teacher who's been looking for help, this book is for you. Buy it and say no to fake-reading in your classroom!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    No More Fake Reading: Merging the Classics With Independent Reading to Create Joyful, Lifelong Readers (Corwin Literacy) review []  2019-12-23 19:36

    This book is a must read for ELA teachers. While targeting middle and high school teachers, this book offers tactics that can be utilized in any ELA classroom. In order to become better at anything - you need to practice it. Our students aren't reading. Gordon's book offers practical, ready-to-use tip that will transform your class into actual readers. Her experience in coaching teachers and working in classrooms makes the book practical and authentic - not just full of theory. And what's best? Gordon's book is simple to read - as though a trusted colleague or mentor was sharing her best tips. The book is filled with lots of ideas for charts, record-keeping, as well as unit and lesson-planning. A amazing method to energize your teaching!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    No More Fake Reading: Merging the Classics With Independent Reading to Create Joyful, Lifelong Readers (Corwin Literacy) review []  2019-12-23 19:36

    This book's title is what grabbed my attention, and the book's content met me right where my teacher heart is now. Berit Gordon does a fabulous job of walking the reader through the steps of creating a culture of reading in a secondary classroom. Her wit, expertise, and realistic understanding of tween and teen readers is inspiring. I will be using this text for professional development with teachers in my district. It is truly a handbook that will support us fix the brokenness of our current reading practices in middle and high school and instead cultivate independent readers who love books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    No More Fake Reading: Merging the Classics With Independent Reading to Create Joyful, Lifelong Readers (Corwin Literacy) review []  2019-12-23 19:36

    I could not place this down. I found myself having aha moments on practically every other page. It created me wish to immediately revamp my entire curriculum. For years I've been "teaching novels" and feeling like I'm not reaching all my students. This book gives practical suggestions for how to teach strategies, expose students to classics through mini- lessons, and obtain them to apply those tactics to texts of their choosing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    No More Fake Reading: Merging the Classics With Independent Reading to Create Joyful, Lifelong Readers (Corwin Literacy) review []  2019-12-23 19:36

    No More Fake Reading is a bonus to teachers! How can we obtain children to really become readers? Give them opportunities to read what excites them. Yes, it's that simple. Berit Gordon's book offers an ingenious (and practical) approach for increasing kids' reading and making it more authentic. It is a MUST read. Buy it today and obtain one for a friend! It's a terrific book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    No More Fake Reading: Merging the Classics With Independent Reading to Create Joyful, Lifelong Readers (Corwin Literacy) review []  2019-12-23 19:36

    I really like this book. Plenty of practical advice. Perfect questions to ask students about their reading experience. I read this in a day and a half and dog-eared half of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    No More Fake Reading: Merging the Classics With Independent Reading to Create Joyful, Lifelong Readers (Corwin Literacy) review []  2019-12-23 19:36

    I've been doing independent reading in my high school English class for years, but I've already gotten several amazing ideas from this book. I will definitely be implementing some of them as soon as we return from break.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    No More Fake Reading: Merging the Classics With Independent Reading to Create Joyful, Lifelong Readers (Corwin Literacy) review []  2019-12-23 19:36

    A useful and practical tutorial to obtain students to actually have fun and engage in reading. Also relevant to a parent who is struggling with getting my own teen to embrace reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    No More Fake Reading: Merging the Classics With Independent Reading to Create Joyful, Lifelong Readers (Corwin Literacy) review []  2019-12-23 19:36

    It is necessary to realize that one cannot teach the same method she was taught. Gordon gives ideas and allows a person to realize the method to create sure the students are reading. The number of resources she gives are fantastic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    50 Philosophy Classics: Thinking, Being, Acting Seeing - Profound Insights and Powerful Thinking from Fifty Key Books (50 Classics) review []  2019-12-20 18:34

    This reads like a simplified 'report' written and narrated by a college sophmore. It even has the balls to introduce itself with one of those, "the webster dictionary defines philosophy as..." Ugh. All the worst papers started with a crappy introduction like that. I just sounds like a completely disinterested essay that someone had to write to finish a class. You're much better off reading about each philosophy on it's own from someone who cares - for example, Stoicism explained by William B. Irvine in his book, The Ancient Art of Stoic Joy. This is a lazy summary by someone who wanted to money in on a growing trend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    50 Philosophy Classics: Thinking, Being, Acting Seeing - Profound Insights and Powerful Thinking from Fifty Key Books (50 Classics) review []  2019-12-20 18:34

    Okay, I bought the book and listened to the audio book. It's good. Nothing crazy, nothing earth shattering, but nice executive summaries on necessary books - including some gems you have probably never considered. It's superficial, which is to be expected, but it was nicely written and I liked that he included folks such as Chomsky and Taleb as part of the 50 classics. Although, I think the Unabomber Manifesto probably should have been included as well. As abhorrent as his acts were, the Unabomber Manifesto is one of the most lucid descriptions of the faustian bargain of progress I have ever had the fortune to read. But I liked this book, it presented amazing "wikipedia-style chunks" so I can refer to the book as required in the future. Well written and good.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    50 Philosophy Classics: Thinking, Being, Acting Seeing - Profound Insights and Powerful Thinking from Fifty Key Books (50 Classics) review []  2019-12-20 18:34

    I love this book. I ordered it because I also have another book in this series called 50 Psychology Classics which is also fantastic. On each classic, you obtain a super short overview called "in a nutshell" which incredibly (in usually one easy sentence) sums up the essence of the work being described. Then you obtain a straight forward break down of the work's most necessary ideas. Interestingly enough, the descriptions are beautiful simple to understand. There is also a section called "In a related vein" which helps you to group together related works. This is very useful for cross-referencing. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    50 Philosophy Classics: Thinking, Being, Acting Seeing - Profound Insights and Powerful Thinking from Fifty Key Books (50 Classics) review []  2019-12-20 18:34

    Cannot place this book down. If I had to write a book, I'd do it exactly in this manner. Everything is in bite-sized pieces so that someone interested in philosophy does not have to read extensive books by these 50 authors. He boils their ideas down to about three pages, then spends one page for the biography of them, and one page discussing the strengths or weaknesses of their theory. Just awesome the method this is laid out, and has all the amazing philosophers. I could go on and on about all the mind-blowing lines in this book - if I were highlighting, my marker would be dry lol - but you should just read this for yourself. I rarely ever read books twice, but this will be one of them. After getting my hands on this, I immediately bought the 50 Spiritual Classics book and plan to purchase a few more by this author eventually. Just a brilliant guy who did his homework and gives every theory in a nutshell for us. This book will create you think. If you love philosophy, you need this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    50 Philosophy Classics: Thinking, Being, Acting Seeing - Profound Insights and Powerful Thinking from Fifty Key Books (50 Classics) review []  2019-12-20 18:34

    This book is awesome! It's basically 4-5 page summaries of 50 various philosophers' works. It's a really amazing starting point for all kinds of ideas, and if one of the philosophers here interests you then you can always go more in depth by ordering the book that was summarized. This is one of those books that everyone should read, regardless of age, and it would go amazing in any intro to philosophy class.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    50 Philosophy Classics: Thinking, Being, Acting Seeing - Profound Insights and Powerful Thinking from Fifty Key Books (50 Classics) review []  2019-12-20 18:34

    This provides a two page summary of the thoughts of some major (and minor) philosophers. It is well written and useful in leading you to works for deeper study.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    50 Philosophy Classics: Thinking, Being, Acting Seeing - Profound Insights and Powerful Thinking from Fifty Key Books (50 Classics) review []  2019-12-20 18:34

    Bring not just your best magnifying glass but also your microscope!The only amazing thing about it is that the books on other topics in this "50 Classic" series by the same author and the same publisher can be readily avoided for the same reason.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    50 Philosophy Classics: Thinking, Being, Acting Seeing - Profound Insights and Powerful Thinking from Fifty Key Books (50 Classics) review []  2019-12-20 18:34

    A really interesting introduction to many, a lot of wonderful minds and works. I’d say this is a fundamental book that will set you on a large path of learning.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    50 Philosophy Classics: Thinking, Being, Acting Seeing - Profound Insights and Powerful Thinking from Fifty Key Books (50 Classics) review []  2019-12-20 18:34

    This is like holding a philosophical library in your hand. Read this book and you will know the most necessary info from 50 philosophy books. What better leverage of your time can you get.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    50 Philosophy Classics: Thinking, Being, Acting Seeing - Profound Insights and Powerful Thinking from Fifty Key Books (50 Classics) review []  2019-12-20 18:34

    This collection of summaries of 50 Philosophical classics is a fascinating read and a amazing conversation starter. The skillful summaries include sufficient info to give the reader a working understanding of the key ideas in each volume, as well as a feel for the life and times of the author. I've found that the clever "In a nutshell" section captures the thesis of each book in a single sentence, and serves as a useful hook to begin a discussion with like minded friends. Tom Butler-Bowden is using a very effective formula for his series of "50 Classics" and this recent example is highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ThinOptics Reading Glasses + iPhone 8 or iPhone 7 Fortify Case | Black/Blue Case, 1.50 Strength Readers review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:32

    This about my 4th pair and first time for the fresh improved iPhone case. This phone case is much more substantial than the 1st version...it’s a small too smooth for my liking though. I’d like a liittle more grip. The optics I’ve had tend to lose the nose piece....I may have to call in that warranty on the next break.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ThinOptics Reading Glasses + iPhone 8 or iPhone 7 Fortify Case | Black/Gray Case, 1.50 Strength Readers review []  2019-12-9 18:11

    I'm an office worker chained to my work intelligent phone. At my desk my usual readers (+1.50) are close at hand, but throughout the day I'm away from my desk and often need to actually read the fine print. Gone are the "dangit, I forgot my readers" and take-a-picture-with-the-phone-and-zoom-in-to-read-the-text moments. Can't read the restaurant menu? No more "honey, can I borrow your glasses, I forgot mine again". It's so simple to have these at hand and pop them out when needed.I've only had this for one month but am satisfied with it. The case fits snugly on my iPhone 8 and has protected my phone from impact hurt several times on concrete and tile. It has a smooth feel to it, almost slippery compared to my Magpul case. The glasses bend easily to fit into the case, then bounce back to original form once removed. They secure to your nose with tension. I wouldn't wear them all day as they would be uncomfortable to me, but they're fine for short-term use.If someone took these away from me I'd buy them again in a heartbeat!EDIT 3/26/2019: After 6 months of everyday use I'm purchasing replacement lenses due to scratching. It's not poor enough to prevent their use, but they're scratched enough to bother me. I second Jim S.'s suggestion of a lined case to prevent scratching. Still search these indispensable!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ThinOptics Reading Glasses + iPhone 8 or iPhone 7 Fortify Case | Black/Gray Case, 1.50 Strength Readers review []  2019-12-9 18:11

    Everything is wonderful, makes as it says. It’s discrete and fits perfectly in the nose. If it’s a thing that you use everyday, the flexible part will break. I just buy multiples because I like it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ThinOptics Reading Glasses + iPhone 8 or iPhone 7 Fortify Case | Black/Gray Case, 1.50 Strength Readers review []  2019-12-9 18:11

    Amazing idea and I had high hopes, but glasses completely scratched after 2 days from placing in/out of compartment. Unfortunately returning.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ThinOptics Reading Glasses + iPhone 8 or iPhone 7 Fortify Case | Black/Gray Case, 1.50 Strength Readers review []  2019-12-9 18:11

    They are a small delicate. We had the bridge on one snap. Once I contacted Amazon, they were immediately replaced.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ThinOptics Reading Glasses + iPhone 8 or iPhone 7 Fortify Case | Black/Gray Case, 1.50 Strength Readers review []  2019-12-9 18:11

    Love the case and glass. They are excellent for those time you need to quickly read something but you don’t have your readers with you.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ThinOptics Reading Glasses + iPhone 8 or iPhone 7 Fortify Case | Black/Gray Case, 1.50 Strength Readers review []  2019-12-9 18:11

    Amazing idea. Nice, durable case. Only complaint is that the lenses scratch due to taking them in and out of the case. Suggest they line the inside of the case to prevent scratching.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ThinOptics Reading Glasses + iPhone 8 or iPhone 7 Fortify Case | Black/Gray Case, 1.50 Strength Readers review []  2019-12-9 18:11

    What an amazing product and experience with Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ThinOptics Reading Glasses + iPhone 8 or iPhone 7 Fortify Case | Black/Gray Case, 1.50 Strength Readers review []  2019-12-9 18:11

    Purchased these directly from the manufacturer, and also a few pairs here on Amazon. I really like these glasses, and initially I loved this phone case. I always have my phone with me, which means I always have a pair of readers.Unfortunately, as another reviewer noted, the case scratches the lenses over time from taking them in and out. After about a year of use, the lenses were scratched enough that they're not really usable any more (see attached pic). It's a amazing idea, but I'm not buying a fresh pair of glasses every year to use this case. I'd pass on this until they excellent the design.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ThinOptics Reading Glasses + iPhone 8 or iPhone 7 Fortify Case | Black/Gray Case, 2.00 Strength Readers review []  2019-12-9 18:11

    I had used the smaller 'pod' ThinOptics cases just stuck to the back of my old phone case. The adhesive never lasted long and so I usually ended up using epoxy or some other powerful glue to attach it more permanently. Then, the glasses themselves were always falling out of the 'pod'. I upgraded my phone and decided to test this integrated case. Wow! Obviously, no adhesive important and the design of the case keeps the glasses firmly in until you need them. Love it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ThinOptics Reading Glasses + iPhone 8 or iPhone 7 Fortify Case | Black/Gray Case, 2.00 Strength Readers review []  2019-12-9 18:11

    these are amazing, the best bonus I could have given to my husband. he just love them

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ThinOptics Reading Glasses + iPhone X Or iPhone Xs Fortify Case | Black/Gray Case, 2.50 Strength Readers review []  2019-12-11 18:11

    fits Perfectly, Highly recommendable

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ThinOptics Reading Glasses + iPhone X Or iPhone Xs Fortify Case | Black/Gray Case, 2.50 Strength Readers review []  2019-12-11 18:11

    Perfect quality amazing fit

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ThinOptics Reading Glasses + iPhone X Or iPhone Xs Fortify Case | Black/Gray Case, 2.50 Strength Readers review []  2019-12-11 18:11

    compre para iPhone X Plus y me mandaron para X

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ThinOptics Reading Glasses + iPhone X Or iPhone Xs Fortify Case | Black/Gray Case, 2.50 Strength Readers review []  2019-12-11 18:11

    It was cool

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ThinOptics Reading Glasses + iPhone X Or iPhone Xs Fortify Case | Black/Gray Case, 1.50 Strength Readers review []  2019-12-13 18:10

    good

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ThinOptics Reading Glasses + iPhone X Or iPhone Xs Fortify Case | Black/Gray Case, 1.50 Strength Readers review []  2019-12-13 18:10

    Glasses slipped out of the case the first week and were lost. Cannot search a replacement pair of frames that fit into the case without buying an entirely fresh set.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ThinOptics Reading Glasses + iPhone X Or iPhone Xs Fortify Case | Black/Blue Case, 2.50 Strength Readers review []  2019-12-27 18:11

    Unbelievable useful, fits perfect

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ThinOptics Reading Glasses + iPhone X Or iPhone Xs Fortify Case | Black/Blue Case, 2.50 Strength Readers review []  2019-12-27 18:11

    Always have my phone and now my glasses.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ThinOptics Reading Glasses + iPhone X Or iPhone Xs Fortify Case | Black/Gray Case, 1.00 Strength Readers review []  2019-12-28 18:10

    Outstanding quality and support. I own several thin optics glasses

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ThinOptics Reading Glasses + iPhone X Or iPhone Xs Fortify Case | Black/Gray Case, 2.00 Strength Readers review []  2019-12-30 18:10

    Amazing when I need a pair of reading glasses. Very convenient, don’t have to carry a full size pair.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ThinOptics Reading Glasses + iPhone 8 Plus or iPhone 7 Plus Fortify Case | Black/Gray Case, 2.00 Strength Readers review []  2019-12-28 18:10

    I hold getting a case for an iPhone 8 / 7, not the offered iPhone 7 Plus. The case is too little to fit my iPhone 7 Plus.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ThinOptics Reading Glasses + iPhone 8 Plus or iPhone 7 Plus Fortify Case | Black/Gray Case, 1.50 Strength Readers review []  2020-1-14 18:8

    Very convenient, and amazing for occasional usage.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Verso Kindle Case - Scholar Classic Black Composition Book Folio Style Protective Case for Amazon Kindle (fits Kindle Paperwhite, Kindle, and Kindle Touch), Black review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:5

    While the look of this case is so cool, it is garbage. It lasted about one month before it started peeling and falling apart. It was only taken off the nightstand to read at night, so it wasn’t misused...just not durable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Verso Kindle Case - Scholar Classic Black Composition Book Folio Style Protective Case for Amazon Kindle (fits Kindle Paperwhite, Kindle, and Kindle Touch), Black review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:5

    Awesome case. Looks like picture. I am into fake trash like this, and it met my needs. Fit my Kindle paperwhite, 5th Generation. Has no-slip elastic tabs that keep in kindle. Smaller than you would think, but that's ok. Can tell that case will obtain worn down after much use, but that makes it look realistic. I think it is a amazing case, and will fit a lot of various sizes of kindle paperwhite (I think) because of elastic tabs instead of set size case. I love this kindle. Amazing quality. Doesn't have auto sleep/wake, but that is not important since you can push the bottom. I wanted that feature, but its just as amazing without it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Verso Kindle Case - Scholar Classic Black Composition Book Folio Style Protective Case for Amazon Kindle (fits Kindle Paperwhite, Kindle, and Kindle Touch), Black review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:5

    I love the case. Looks like the old fashioned composition book. Been using it for awhile and it’s a nice addition

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Verso Kindle Case - Scholar Classic Black Composition Book Folio Style Protective Case for Amazon Kindle (fits Kindle Paperwhite, Kindle, and Kindle Touch), Black review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:5

    I love this case. I obtain so a lot of compliments on it and because it is not an "automatic case" it does not drain my Kindle battery. It is very comfortable to keep and is created of thick material. I think my Kindle will survive a fall if I it drop in while in this case. It feels really sturdy and holds my Kindle well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Verso Kindle Case - Scholar Classic Black Composition Book Folio Style Protective Case for Amazon Kindle (fits Kindle Paperwhite, Kindle, and Kindle Touch), Black review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:5

    This is the second one that I have purchased. I have used the first one everyday for a couple of years. The binding loosened latest year but all I had to do was add black electrical tape and -- amazing as new. The interior began to fray on the edges in the past couple of weeks but it is still usable. I like that the elastic holding the Kindle in put doesn't place pressure on the Kindle itself. I also bend the cover back while reading in order to create the Kindle feel thicker and easier to hold.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Verso Kindle Case - Scholar Classic Black Composition Book Folio Style Protective Case for Amazon Kindle (fits Kindle Paperwhite, Kindle, and Kindle Touch), Black review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:5

    After just a week the elastic strap that held down the cover broke. It was not even used much during that week...very disappointed!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Verso Kindle Case - Scholar Classic Black Composition Book Folio Style Protective Case for Amazon Kindle (fits Kindle Paperwhite, Kindle, and Kindle Touch), Black review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:5

    the design is cute, but i've had it for only a month and it's already peeling and cracked. satisfied that it was inexpensive.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Verso Kindle Case - Scholar Classic Black Composition Book Folio Style Protective Case for Amazon Kindle (fits Kindle Paperwhite, Kindle, and Kindle Touch), Black review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:5

    Appealing design, light yet offers amazing protection.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Verso Kindle Case - Scholar Classic Black Composition Book Folio Style Protective Case for Amazon Kindle (fits Kindle Paperwhite, Kindle, and Kindle Touch), Black review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:5

    Very cute and absolutely love it but the binding part is already getting worn out. For the cash I'd hope it kept up longer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Verso Kindle Case - Scholar Classic Black Composition Book Folio Style Protective Case for Amazon Kindle (fits Kindle Paperwhite, Kindle, and Kindle Touch), Black review [Book]  2019-12-6 18:5

    I’ve had this for about two months and I’m not a product abuser but I did message that the edging is like paper tape (?) and has started to crack. I plan to fix it with a cloth type tape but it’s still annoying for the price I paid.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Verso Kindle Case - Scholar Classic Pink Composition Book Folio Style Protective Case for Amazon Kindle (fits Kindle Paperwhite, Kindle, and Kindle Touch), Pink review []  2020-1-2 18:5

    While the look of this case is so cool, it is garbage. It lasted about one month before it started peeling and falling apart. It was only taken off the nightstand to read at night, so it wasn’t misused...just not durable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Verso Kindle Case - Scholar Classic Pink Composition Book Folio Style Protective Case for Amazon Kindle (fits Kindle Paperwhite, Kindle, and Kindle Touch), Pink review []  2020-1-2 18:5

    Awesome case. Looks like picture. I am into fake trash like this, and it met my needs. Fit my Kindle paperwhite, 5th Generation. Has no-slip elastic tabs that keep in kindle. Smaller than you would think, but that's ok. Can tell that case will obtain worn down after much use, but that makes it look realistic. I think it is a amazing case, and will fit a lot of various sizes of kindle paperwhite (I think) because of elastic tabs instead of set size case. I love this kindle. Amazing quality. Doesn't have auto sleep/wake, but that is not important since you can push the bottom. I wanted that feature, but its just as amazing without it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Verso Kindle Case - Scholar Classic Pink Composition Book Folio Style Protective Case for Amazon Kindle (fits Kindle Paperwhite, Kindle, and Kindle Touch), Pink review []  2020-1-2 18:5

    I love the case. Looks like the old fashioned composition book. Been using it for awhile and it’s a nice addition

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Verso Kindle Case - Scholar Classic Pink Composition Book Folio Style Protective Case for Amazon Kindle (fits Kindle Paperwhite, Kindle, and Kindle Touch), Pink review []  2020-1-2 18:5

    I love this case. I obtain so a lot of compliments on it and because it is not an "automatic case" it does not drain my Kindle battery. It is very comfortable to keep and is created of thick material. I think my Kindle will survive a fall if I it drop in while in this case. It feels really sturdy and holds my Kindle well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Verso Kindle Case - Scholar Classic Pink Composition Book Folio Style Protective Case for Amazon Kindle (fits Kindle Paperwhite, Kindle, and Kindle Touch), Pink review []  2020-1-2 18:5

    This is the second one that I have purchased. I have used the first one everyday for a couple of years. The binding loosened latest year but all I had to do was add black electrical tape and -- amazing as new. The interior began to fray on the edges in the past couple of weeks but it is still usable. I like that the elastic holding the Kindle in put doesn't place pressure on the Kindle itself. I also bend the cover back while reading in order to create the Kindle feel thicker and easier to hold.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Verso Kindle Case - Scholar Classic Pink Composition Book Folio Style Protective Case for Amazon Kindle (fits Kindle Paperwhite, Kindle, and Kindle Touch), Pink review []  2020-1-2 18:5

    After just a week the elastic strap that held down the cover broke. It was not even used much during that week...very disappointed!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Verso Kindle Case - Scholar Classic Pink Composition Book Folio Style Protective Case for Amazon Kindle (fits Kindle Paperwhite, Kindle, and Kindle Touch), Pink review []  2020-1-2 18:5

    the design is cute, but i've had it for only a month and it's already peeling and cracked. satisfied that it was inexpensive.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Verso Kindle Case - Scholar Classic Pink Composition Book Folio Style Protective Case for Amazon Kindle (fits Kindle Paperwhite, Kindle, and Kindle Touch), Pink review []  2020-1-2 18:5

    Appealing design, light yet offers amazing protection.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Verso Kindle Case - Scholar Classic Pink Composition Book Folio Style Protective Case for Amazon Kindle (fits Kindle Paperwhite, Kindle, and Kindle Touch), Pink review []  2020-1-2 18:5

    Very cute and absolutely love it but the binding part is already getting worn out. For the cash I'd hope it kept up longer.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Verso Kindle Case - Scholar Classic Pink Composition Book Folio Style Protective Case for Amazon Kindle (fits Kindle Paperwhite, Kindle, and Kindle Touch), Pink review []  2020-1-2 18:5

    I’ve had this for about two months and I’m not a product abuser but I did message that the edging is like paper tape (?) and has started to crack. I plan to fix it with a cloth type tape but it’s still annoying for the price I paid.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Reading Comprehension: How To Drastically Improve Your Reading Comprehension and Speed Reading Fast! (Reading Skills, Speed Reading) review []  2019-12-18 20:13

    This book offers perfect hints on how to improve reading comprehension while still being cognizant to reading level and how to improve it. The analysis offered in the book goes deep into the stages of reading and decoding as well as post reading aspects to ensure understanding. Also, you search the tactics in Chapter 3 and 4, particularly patter identification as useful technique in reading and comprehending fiction. There is really nothing left out of this book and the Author succeeds in offering tactics and hints for anyone regardless of reading and comprehension level. Perfect resource and a recommend for anyone looking to improve or support someone else improve comprehension.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Reading Comprehension: How To Drastically Improve Your Reading Comprehension and Speed Reading Fast! (Reading Skills, Speed Reading) review []  2019-12-18 20:13

    This book has a lot of solid, valid recommendations to improve your reading comprehension skills. Reading comprehension is of course something that would ideally be taught in younger schooling years, but unfortunately some of us never mastered the skill. This book points out the most primary steps to improving your reading comprehension, like pre-reading tactics to increase your enthusiasm for whatever you're reading and to prepare your mind for what is to come so that you can better comprehend it. Another very necessary component is reducing distractions- this means turning off the TV, putting your cell phone on silent, etc. To me, the most necessary part is the post-reading suggestions- here you will search out where you lack in interpretation skills and will then be able to improve with the ultimate goal being 100% comprehension while you're reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Reading Comprehension: How To Drastically Improve Your Reading Comprehension and Speed Reading Fast! (Reading Skills, Speed Reading) review []  2019-12-18 20:13

    This book is designed to support people with issues in comprehension. It aims to help these people in developing reading tactics and techniques to become more proficient readers. This book also aims to create the reader aware of how reading comprehension happens and how to improve this ability as quickly as possible. You will search tactics and skill-building techniques after the reading process has been explained. It will support you develop skills that improve comprehension when reading any type of text.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Reading Comprehension: How To Drastically Improve Your Reading Comprehension and Speed Reading Fast! (Reading Skills, Speed Reading) review []  2019-12-18 20:13

    Reading comprehension is one of the most necessary skills in life! This book has step by step instruction on how to increase your reading comprehension. This book should be a must read for all parents, educators and students!I love the idea of "Daily Habits that Improve Comprehension." Success, like everything else in life is a habit. The more you read & comprehension the better you will be. I enjoyed this short read and hope you do too!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Reading Comprehension: How To Drastically Improve Your Reading Comprehension and Speed Reading Fast! (Reading Skills, Speed Reading) review []  2019-12-18 20:13

    I'm an avid reader always seeking to increase the speed with which I can finish books. Unfortunately, an increase in reading speed is frequently accompanied by a corresponding decrease in reading comprehension; what's the point of reading faster if you don't understand what you're reading?! I figured I would give this book a shot. It turned out to be well worth it. It was honestly worth it for the section on reading tactics alone. I can now maintain my reading speed AND comprehension. Win-win.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Reading Comprehension: How To Drastically Improve Your Reading Comprehension and Speed Reading Fast! (Reading Skills, Speed Reading) review []  2019-12-18 20:13

    Perfect tips! It gives me the best tactics to improve my reading comprehension. Now all I need to do is to place thoseknowledge into practice. I loved how the author encouraged everyone to create reading a habit. It boosts a certain level ofconfidence in yourself when you know you can comprehend effectively. If you're having challenges with reading, this is absolutelythe best book to read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Reading Comprehension: How To Drastically Improve Your Reading Comprehension and Speed Reading Fast! (Reading Skills, Speed Reading) review []  2019-12-18 20:13

    This is a very amazing starting point for improving your reading skills. The content is amazing and well organized. I would recommend this book for anyone wanting a few amazing tools for improving their skills in this area. My only complaint is a few formatting problems and a statement at the beginning about not using the principles in this book without consulting a professional.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Reading Comprehension: How To Drastically Improve Your Reading Comprehension and Speed Reading Fast! (Reading Skills, Speed Reading) review []  2019-12-18 20:13

    I love reading and writing and languages. I'm trying to impart my love for these to my six-year-old child, and learning in this book how one learns to read and how to read better is definitely useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Reading Comprehension: How To Drastically Improve Your Reading Comprehension and Speed Reading Fast! (Reading Skills, Speed Reading) review []  2019-12-18 20:13

    Needless to say - this is one of the most required skills out there, in this era of is book is the excellent tutorial for developing this skill.Highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Reading Comprehension: How To Drastically Improve Your Reading Comprehension and Speed Reading Fast! (Reading Skills, Speed Reading) review []  2019-12-18 20:13

    This series is proving to be quite helpful in my life! This book quickly proves itself as you can apply the principals in this book as you're reading! Another amazing hit!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Case Law Journal review [App]  2017-10-31 13:11

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Case for Classical Christian Education review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    There was much in this book I liked. Wilson makes a amazing case versus government education, which he demonstrates is both failing our children and indoctrinating them in things that are contrary to Christian beliefs at the same time. He also does a amazing job of showing us the history of Christian education as it emerge from the monastic system when all education was religious in nature to the inclusion of the liberal arts and finally to the progressives who hijacked classical education in order to promote their own e authors approach is a kind of 95 thesis for public education, that is, he is not interested in repairing public education but rather in building a Christian education that is in keeping with the best of educations of the past. As a matter of fact, what he calls for is a Christian 'paideia' or Christian upbringing that would involve not just the schools but all of society. That isn't likely to happen anytime soon, though he makes the case for it being the ideal. To be fair, he suggests that the first Christians were too busy dodging persecution to worry about a 'paideia of God' but as they grew in power, they eventually earned the luxury of being able choose the kind of education everyone received. Clearly, today's leaders in education do not have Christian values in mind; quite the opposite is true, so does that mean we are more like those being persecuted than those who got to choose? The author would suggest we begin our own schools where we have control over pedagogy. His assertion is that history has taught us how to teach effectively, but we have abandoned it in favor of progressive ideals that simply have not produced results. Educators have been promising fresh and better results for decades in spite of the fact that scores and our ranking in the globe continue to drop. At what point do we abandon progressive ideals and go back to what works? If there is any hope in fixing public education, that is a question we will have to address.Overall, there are a number of points where I disagree with this author, but his argument versus the current state of education, as well as his history of the development of education from the time of the Greeks, was extremely informative and well worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Case for Classical Christian Education review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    Point: Education is moral at its foundation, which explains why our current system is failing, and where we have to begin to change th: Wilson explains the current situation of education in the States, worse than you may imagine. He then explains how we have gotten there, divorcing facts from morality. At this point he gives a possible solution, returning to a classical education based upon God and His revelation to man. This does not mean that all that is studied is the Bible, but that all things studied are taken in relation to the urces: As noted in his preface, his citations of his other works “were included in an attempt to tie different strands of this work together, and not because I really wanted to increase my footnote appearance batting average” (11). Needless to say, he quotes himself quite a bit. He also regularly references C. S. Lewis, John Milton Gregory, and Dorothy reement: I agree that much of our current educational system is a joke. I agree with his desire to address all topics with a view to Scripture. His canonical book list was helpful. His view on extracurricular activities and education was valid. There was much in this book that I whole heartedly agreed with - and most of it was delivered with his usual wit.Disagreement: I don’t believe that all parents who send their kids to public schools are idiots or heretics. I don’t agree that dyed hair is of the Devil, or portable cd players for that rsonal App: I have been given the responsibility to educate my child.Favorite Quote: “On the other side, equally extreme, are those who are dangerously close to sacrificing a heifer to the amazing god Football in their next halftime celebration. Given the quasi-religious fervor that grips a lot of of these people, it is surprising that the Supreme Court has not yet struck down high school football programs as a clear violation of the so-called separation of church and state” (163).It would be worth another read and I would recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Case for Classical Christian Education review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    Douglas Wilson's The Case for Classical Christian Education is one of the best available books on Christian education. Wilson is a Presbyterian pastor and author of a lot of books on family and education. He is considered one of the leaders of the classical Christian school movement, helping found the Logos School and the Association of Classical Christian the first part of the book, Wilson shows the issues of the modern public education system and argues for the need for Christian education. Wilson's arguments are potent, and they ought to be dealt with by all defenders of the public school system. Wilson's prescribed solution to the issue is not just Christian education—it is classical Christian education. Yes, every topic should be taught in submission to Christ and should start with the fear of the Lord (Prov 1:7). But Wilson also argues that we must rethink how we do education, and this should lead to a return to the classical model. Wilson defines "classical education" as following the methodology of the Trivium and focusing on the heritage of Western civilization (p. 132).The Trivium consists of three parts: (1) grammar, (2) logic, and (3) rhetoric. Grammar is the basics of each subject; logic (or dialectic) is the sorting out of the data of each subject; and rhetoric is the presentation of what has been learned (speech, debate, writing). The classical model of education is superior because it goes "with the natural grain." Young kids are best equipped to learn lots of info about each subject. Middle school aged kids have developed the ability to reason, and so they are taught logic and start to debate problems in class. High school aged students finish the process by polishing their communication assical education also focuses on the heritage of Western civilization. This means history classes should cover ancient Greece and Rome, as well as medieval and modern Europe. Literature classes should study authors such as Homer, Plato, Aristotle, Augustine, Dante, Shakespeare, and John Calvin. And, of course, Latin should be studied, as it "promotes mental discipline; it encourages literary appreciation; it leads to a mastery of English; it provides a solid foundation for preparation for Christian ministry" (p. 139). Latin helps one master English, as over 50% of the English language comes from e Case for Classical Christian Education covers a host of other issues, including a chapter on school clothes and a chapter on necessary books to study. Whether one is a teacher, administrator, or parent, this book is a must-read. The 30 short chapters are well-written and will leave you thinking about a number of problems relating to education.I received no compensation for this review but wrote it for my education www service

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Case for Classical Christian Education review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    I was hooked from the beginning. The author does a amazing job of explaining just what is wrong with our public school system. As a former school teacher, I can tell you that he is spot on. There are so a lot of reasons to homeschool, but our #1 reason is that we wish our son to value God's Word and follow Jesus. Giving our kid a Classical Christian Education is what we know will set him on the right course. He wants to be a preacher one day. A classical education provides the skills required for this life. His education will be well-rounded with the correct subjects, speaking soils, leadership skills, and the ability to be a lifelong learner. The mission is to know God and to create Him known.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Case for Classical Christian Education review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    This is a unbelievable overview of the reasons for pursuing classical Christian education. Actually, Wilson helped me to understand things about Christian life overall that I hadn't yet grasped.But do know that this isn't a manual about how to begin a school--it's a case for why classical schools are crucial in the kingdom of God. That said, there are a lot of practical passages for starting and running a school as well. This is a amazing book that I highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Case for Classical Christian Education review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    Well Written.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Case for Classical Christian Education review []  2019-12-18 20:25

    The author clearly makes his point, is well informed and cites his e tried and real method of classical education which reigned for millennia is the superb and effective method to a public school teacher, I can attest that his points are valid. Who would ever believe that 20% of our students are on prescribed psychiatric drugs which are so dangerous? A must read for parents and educators who wish a real solution.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter