Read classic snake adventures reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all classic snake adventures reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Classic Snake Adventures [App]  2021-4-13 14:1

    Superb!!! Best snake android game I have ever played. The 4K graphics are awesome!! Controlling the snake has never been easier and I have really enjoyed every scene I have played. The 'Boss' every 10 rounds is a clever addition to the game. Little staff as the 'turbo lakes', the 'clock', the 'bonus' and the 'near miss' create the android game hard to obtain bored with. Hope to see more soon! Kudos

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Classic Snake Adventures [App]  2021-4-13 14:1

    Love this game! Bought it for my children on ps4 now I'm addicted to it. Just wondering how you speed the snake up on the application though

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Classic snake [App]  2021-1-17 16:0

    so-so

    0  


    Add your opinion on classic snake adventures or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Classic snake [App]  2021-1-17 16:0

    Nice android game :D

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Classic snake [App]  2021-1-17 16:0

    So much interesting game, recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Classic snake [App]  2021-1-17 16:0

    amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Classic Snake Game Gold [App]  2018-4-17 13:0

    Amazing game!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Super Dragon Boy - Classic platform Adventures [App]  2019-11-12 13:33

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Super Dragon Boy - Classic platform Adventures [App]  2019-11-12 13:33

    This is a true amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Super Dragon Boy - Classic platform Adventures [App]  2019-11-12 13:33

    Mario ripp off lol

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Super Dragon Boy - Classic platform Adventures [App]  2019-11-12 13:33

    Ioko

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    So much nostalgia This has a few variants that i had not seen before on my various Nokia phones. I love the handset models to, with the scuff marks included. Really have fun this on my Nokia 6.1

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    Nothing like old times back when phones were easy and still entertaining! Reminds me of when I've had my first Nokia.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    this android game will not obtain past the offline box when i am online

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    amazing android game even though havent figured out how to complete some of them lol

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    brings back memories when I had the Nokia 3310 brilliant

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    nostalgia nailed!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    blast from the past! love this game, and how true it is to the original ...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    reminds me of old days amazing game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    Notalgia blast

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    it sucks that you can't victory the game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    Awesome,love the vintage phone. Takes me back to my early HS days from 99 when we would gather around and compete

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    Snake 97 Just like it was when I played on my old Nokia phone

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    muy buen juego, algunas veces se realentiza.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    Makes me nostalgic, classics are always amazing fun!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    So awesome! Brings me back to my childhood!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    amazing application takez me back to the 90's!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    So simple. Exactly what mobile android games should be.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    deleting again. updated stuff, it worked. turned on wireless connection it wont load again. sorry but ill search another now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    Excellent. Works just like the classic retro game. It even has an old school keypad for thay retro feel. Sweet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    i love this android game eversince.....i'm so glad that i have app....it brings back the memories 😉

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    love this android game miss it glade to see it again.💖#90skids #firstcellphonegame.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    Best nostalgic android game ever! Detailed graphics 😉

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    Perfect game. Brings back memories of Nokia 3310.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    I forget how to play. But it's still fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    very fun nad easy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    Overall, amazing app! However, every once in a while, it lags on my Moto G5+. If you can fix that, totallly 5 star app!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    love this old classic! looks amazing on my samsung. A must have android game :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    Not poor could do with having options like the actual android game of removing the border etc

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    IT'S NOT EVEN PLAYING

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    reminds me of 2003

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    retro classic! very amazing recreation of all the oldskool versions. loves it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    best keeps your mind always alert

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    relax and play

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    I really have fun this application! I really like how you can choose various cell phones to play the android game on as well (via the menu). Snake '97 is all around a true fun game. 5 stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    the android game does not work at all

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    use to love this android game glade i found it for the fresh phones never thought id see it again

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    Like old times

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    The best application fir snake game, so close to original

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    Love it. Looks and plays exactly as I remember snake.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Snake '97: retro phone classic [App]  2019-4-3 13:50

    This is literally my favorite application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (Harper Perennial Classic Stories) []  2020-1-3 22:52

    A foggy night in London as smoke and rain emanate from the beehive of Victorian London. A hansom cab is inhabited by consulting detective Sherlock Holmes and his chronicler hn H. Watson. The creator of the Holmes canon is Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (1859-1930) who gave up his medical practice for professional writing. Doyle wrote fifty-six Holmes short stories and four Holmes novels. The first two collections of Holmes stories are included in the The Adventures and Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes. Among the a lot of hours of reading pleasure found in this book are such classic stories as":The Speckled Band-Helen Mason loses a sister and wonders what evil lurks in the old estate in which she e Engineer s Thumb-Reminiscent of the Pit and the Pendulum this story will hold you on tenterhooks of e Five Orange Pips-The KKK strikes at its enemiesThe Yellow Face-A newly married woman has her past intrude on her satisfied marriageThe Blue Carbuncle-Not a wild goose chase!The Noble Bachelor-Weird disappearance at a society wedding.A Scandal in Bohemia-Irene Adler foils Sherlock HolmesThe Final Problem-A due to the death between Holmes and the Napoleon of Crime the malicious and brilliant Professor MoriarityThe Copper Beeches-A nice young lady is called upon to pose as another woman in an evil e Greek Interpreter-A popular interpreter is dragged into a hostage e Man with The Twisted Lip-Holmes and Watson are called upon to locate a missing e Beryl Coronet-A popular jewel disappears with international consequences to followSilver Blaze-A dog does not bark in the night as a popular racehorse is stolenThe Naval Treaty-A young man s career is in danger after he loses a vital treaty between Amazing Britain and ItalyThe Red Headed League-Jabez Wilson has flaming red hair and is elected to copy an encyclopedia. Why is he selected and what secrets are behind his employ? These and the other stories in this volume are perfect short stories. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle is among my favorite authors! Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tintin and Alph-Art (The Adventures of Tintin: Original Classic) []  2020-9-8 18:54

    A fascinating and adult Tintin book, well worth reading for Tintin fans. Tintin takes on art forgers, and Herge takes on fake art lovers. As other commenters have said it's very interesting to see the process behind the making of a Tintin book.Herge spends the first 10 pages re-introducing all the main characters from past books and having them interact with each other. These introductory pages, despite being mostly plot-less, are amazing fun to read. I think this is because as you obtain older the things most interesting from childhood books like Tintin, Asterix, and The Lord of the Rings, are not the plots but how the characters act. How Rastopopulous will always return to being evil for example, or the shamelessness of Alcazar.If you're into Tintin because of its action, this book might not be fun. Castafiore again is central to what annoys Herge, and generally this book is about fakes. Here fakes are people who like the idea of themselves being into art rather than liking art itself. It's funny and interesting, and more like watching the TV present Absolutely Fabulous than reading other Tintin e book continues the cynicism of Picaros and Castafiore, and the method he mocks some of the characters is more obvious than in the other books. This is probably the sort of thing that would have been removed over rewrites and editing, which he unfortunately wasn't able to do.Everyone is taken in with the Alph-Art, including the Captain who buys one. When Tintin is in trouble, it's either Snowy or luck that saves him. It's not a very hopeful book, but a funny and interesting one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tintin and Alph-Art (The Adventures of Tintin: Original Classic) []  2020-9-8 18:54

    This book is more a bunch of sketches and ideas for Herge's final unfinished book. Interesting for collectors, but not if you wish to read Tintin for fun. Has some interesting detailed sketches, and you can kind of read through the drawings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (Harper Perennial Classic Stories) []  2020-1-3 22:52

    Everybody knows him -- the pipe-smoking detective on Baker Road (with or without the movie-added deerstalker), who is able to deduce all sorts of things just by glancing at a person.But never have Sherlock Holmes' mysteries been as gripping or intricate as in the original tales by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, who made the hero in the first place. "The Complete Sherlock Holmes" brings together the tons of Sherlock Holmes short stories and full-length novels, full of bizarre puzzles that only Holmes has the psychological adeptness and logical deduction to unravel (with the ever-valiant support of Watson, that is).Having done his duty in the army, John Watson returns to England and starts searching for a put to live in London. A mate steers him to 221B Baker Street, home of the eccentric detective Sherlock Holmes, who is searching for a roommate who won't mind his strange habits -- and fortunately, he immediately dazzles Watson with his deductive abilities and the breadth of his knowledge. When a poisoned corpse is found, Watson gets to see Holmes' astonishing detective skills in ong the a lot of stories that follow: a blackmail letter, a blue jewel hidden in a Christmas turkey, the "speckled band," an ancient riddle that only Holmes can solve, a young woman given a surreally weird job, a spectral dog haunting the moors, shattered Napoleonic busts, a string of stick figures, a boy kidnapped from his school, the disappearance of a race horse, a "vampire" woman in Sus, a rare tropical illness, a stolen treasure in India, and of course Holmes' bloodcurdling encounter with the malevolent Professor Moriarty and his equally cruel erlock Holmes mysteries come in two types:1. The case is completely baffling, and Holmes is required to unravel the knot of obscure clues.2. The case seems straightforward, but Holmes is required to connect seemingly unrelated clues to the crime in order to search the REAL ere are plenty of both kinds in "The Complete Sherlock Holmes," with tons of cases that require Holmes' special detecting skills -- it can be something as easy as locating a letter, or something as complex as foiling a years-long pact of revenge over the course of an entire book. Doyle's stately, dignified prose is heightened by moments of excitement or horror (" It swelled up louder and louder, a hoarse yell of pain and fear and anger all mingled in the one dreadful shriek"), and he wove in a lot of human psychology into Holmes' cases.Holmes himself... is Holmes. Doyle didn't like his detective much, but Sherlock's knife-edged intellect and fascination with puzzles and esoterica are strangely hypnotic -- even if you wouldn't like to be roomies with the guy, it would be awesome just to sit and watch him work. Watson is the excellent counterpoint for Holmes: he's not a genius but is definitely intelligent, warm-hearted and capable, and we see his own deductive abilities develop as Holmes tutors erlock Holmes is perhaps the best-known detective in the world, and "The Complete Sherlock Holmes" is an perfect method to obtain to know the Amazing Detective. Spellbinding, intelligent and gripping.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (Harper Perennial Classic Stories) []  2020-1-3 22:52

    I ordered this set as it seemed the most practical. I read most of the Sherlock Holmes stories when I was 12 or 13 and now required to read some of them again for my book club. Author of the month was Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. The local library only had 1 or 2 books by Doyle which were checked out. This was a amazing addition to my library and I was able to reread the stories I'd read a lot of years ago.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (Harper Perennial Classic Stories) []  2020-1-3 22:52

    The book "The Complete Sherlock Holmes: All 4 Novels and 56 Short Stories" by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle is a excellent Christmas 2014 show for my nephew. He has acted in Agatha Christie's drama "The Mousetrap" and is really interested in British detective and crime stories. The Sherlock Holmes book will really suit his taste and expand his knowledge. My nephew is now an English major at Carleton College in Northfield, Minnesota, U.S.A., and is really interested in classic British fiction and drama. This Sherlock Holmes book will fill up a significant gap in his reading. Our whole family is very fascinated by Sherlock Holmes, Dr. John Watson, and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle since we are avid fans of "Elementary" the current tv present on the Columbia Broadcasting System (CBS) network. We love to follow Sherlock Holmes, Dr. Joan Watson, and Kitty Winter's crime-solving work as sleuths in Fresh York, Fresh York, U.S.A. They have come up versus the master criminal mind Moriarty in the "Elementary" tv series. My nephew will really like reading about the original Moriarty in London, England, United Kingdom, in Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's original British Sherlock Holmes novels and short stories. Thank you so very much for making "The Complete Sherlock Holmes: All 4 Novels and 56 Short Stories" by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle available to send to my nephew for his show for Christmas 2014.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tintin and Alph-Art (The Adventures of Tintin: Original Classic) []  2020-9-8 18:54

    Just enough content to create a Tintin size book, a lot less art than you're hoping for. But very amazing if you're an adult and you're interested in the process they used for writing a story. Would be probably boring for kids.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tintin and Alph-Art (The Adventures of Tintin: Original Classic) []  2020-9-8 18:54

    This isn't so much a story, as a look into Herge's creation process. We don't even obtain a proper ending, allow alone finished pages. Think of this as a sketchbook with someone else's notes penned in.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tintin and Alph-Art (The Adventures of Tintin: Original Classic) []  2020-9-8 18:54

    as promised

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chasing Gold: Classic Western Adventure (The McIntyre Adventures Book 2) []  2020-12-17 21:6

    This was very well written and edited. This is the second book I have read from the author and I can assure you it won't be my last. I give Chasing Gold a FIVE STAR review and rating. Don't miss the journey with young Gus McIntyre. I highly recommend it to my fellow western readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (Harper Perennial Classic Stories) []  2020-1-3 22:52

    The picture does no justice. I really like this product and have uploaded 2 pictures to present what it really looks like. It has that fresh book smell, thin pages, and it feels nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (Harper Perennial Classic Stories) []  2020-1-3 22:52

    I'm not exactly certain how a lot of of us are reading these stories for the first time. Holmes & Watson form a most engaging pair as they set about solving mysteries. As always, these are mostly ever, since I read Holmes' & Watson's adventures back in school, certain things can definitely be seen in a fresh light. And this bit is not the bit about unraveling mysteries - this is the bit about learning about Holmes as a character, learning about London, in particular, & all the nuances that went into making the English, at the time. Either because you'd remember something from your earlier reads, or because the tricks of a detective novel aren't exactly novel anymore, the mysteries themselves aren't quite as puzzling & the factor of awe is, at least for me, diluted.Learning of these nuances of hero - for example, between a Poirot & a Holmes - was for me the essence of this re-read. While Poirot's eccentricities created him, say, ridiculous, our man Holmes is downright nasty & as stiff & pompous [email protected]#$% as you're likely to encounter. Fascinating too are the characters in the story & what their behavior has to say about English values, at the time - for instance, the relationship between a parent & a kid is clearly not egalitarian, not even when the kids are of a fairly advanced age. The hierarchical British society manifests itself time & again, & pound sterling, more valuable then, could buy you so much yes, the mysteries are an enjoyable but it is what you learn of the context that in my mind makes this read invaluable & definitely worth a lot of [email protected]

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tintin and Alph-Art (The Adventures of Tintin: Original Classic) []  2020-9-8 18:54

    Oh how I love Tintin and this would have been unbelievable had it been finished. I think it is fabulous that whoever decided to release this for the Tintin fans. Wonderful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (Harper Perennial Classic Stories) []  2020-1-3 22:52

    I love Conan Doyle and in 51 years, I have probably worn through more than a half dozen sets of paperbacks. This purchase was necessitated by the age-old issue of "the book with legs." It was time to revisit my old friend, but as I searched from shelf to shelf and bookcase to bookcase in my library, I could not search Volume I of my two-volume Bantam Classics paperback set. "No problem," thought I. "I can search another Volume I on Amazon. I'll bet I can even search one from Bantam Classics." And, I was correct: I found it, I ordered it and it was ridiculously reasonable in price for a fresh volume of a classic. I looked forward to seeing my old mate within a couple of days. When the pack was delivered and I opened it, I was amazonazed despite the fact this was NOT my first rodeo. I thought I ordered and paid for one volume of Conan Doyle. HOWEVER, I GAZED UPON THE TWO-VOLUME BANTAM CLASSICS SET. The books were nestled in a cardboard case related to the packaging used on certain set of DVDs. The books are in pristine paperback condition and it is the same set of books as my most latest set where I was simply trying to replace one volume. (Estleman even wrote the introduction) and the only difference is the book covers on this set are lighter in color. I am very, very satisfied with this purchase. Amazon Prime has struck, once again, and hit exactly the right chord!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tintin and Alph-Art (The Adventures of Tintin: Original Classic) []  2020-9-8 18:54

    Herge died while working on this book. It is not a comic book as such but a collection of his sketches and notes created while creating the final book. It should be of interest to all Tintin fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tintin and Alph-Art (The Adventures of Tintin: Original Classic) []  2020-9-8 18:54

    It's nice to take a look behind the curtain and see how Tintin books are made from the initial sketches. There is no finished art in this book, and not even a finished story, but I found it very interesting nonetheless, as will other Tintin fanatics. Casual readers probably won't search much to interest them however: This is strictly for people who can't obtain enough Tintin.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tintin and Alph-Art (The Adventures of Tintin: Original Classic) []  2020-9-8 18:54

    All children should read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (Harper Perennial Classic Stories) []  2020-1-3 22:52

    I am no expert but I have read all of Conan Doyle's Holmes novels and short stories plus a number of pastiches of Sherlock Holmes. I recommend The Adventures Of Sherlock Holmes to anyone who has never read this material. Much like wading into the ocean (instead of running and diving), the Adventures offer little samplings of Conan Doyle's work without intimidating the reader. Considering how well-deservedly popular they are, I do not intend to insinuate that these stories are lesser than the novels but that they offer a simpler and quicker tasting of the material. The Adventures are well-written but in smaller form and easier to digest. The stories are indeed mysteries but their topic matter and length do not lend themselves to a long denouement or extensive flashback as in A Study In Scarlet or The Sign Of The Four. Sampling these shorter works might encourage a fresh reader to venture further into the canon and educate his or her literary palate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (Harper Perennial Classic Stories) []  2020-1-3 22:52

    Some 560+ pages in length, encompassing 12 adventures and 11 memoirs, this is a unbelievable book. The hardback ver from Sterling Classic has a nice dust cover and a sash built into the spine to use as a book nan-Doyle is a master with the pen. His command of the language is both quaint, witty and somewhat verbose. It's excellent given the backdrop of Victorian England. London of the time would have us experiencing Hansom cabs clippety-clopping along cobble stoned roads awash with the glow of gas lamps. Conan-Doyle makes the smell of the air and the noise of the times leap out the text and place the the reader right at the scene.Dr. Watson serves as both narrator and "straight man" as he recounts the adventures. Watson is the hero Holmes uses to bounce his ideas off and, in turn, Watson asks the questions that we, the reader, would ask. It's amazing stuff. Holmes is usually sought after by people who search themselves in cirtances baffling to both themselves and the police. Holmes with his razor sharp focus and other-worldly insight muses and wrestles with the minutia of the case until he reaches a plausible explanation. Watson accompanies Holmes on his adventures and serves as both narrator and witness. I'm a large fan of this work and, after reading, I'd assume most will be e amazing thing about short story compilations is that break points are plentiful as each adventure averages about 25 to 30 pages each. I found myself enjoying one or two stories at a time then putting the book down whilst I read another novel or text. Upon picking it back up, there was no need to read back a page or two to recapture the thread. So is the strength of short story compilations.If quaint, witty, Victorian England type text is appealing, you might wish to pick this book up. If you wish to improve your vocabulary, read a classic, or just drift away in wondrous prose, pick this one up.Excellent work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (Harper Perennial Classic Stories) []  2020-1-3 22:52

    This Kindle freebie is amazing for readers who are only keen to read the adventures of Sherlock Holmes. The stories contained within this title are:A Scandal in BohemiaThe Red-Headed LeagueA Case of IdentityThe Boscombe Valley MysteryThe Five Orange PipsThe Man with the Twisted LipThe Adventure of the Blue CarbuncleThe Adventure of the Speckled BandThe Adventure of the Engineer's ThumbThe Adventure of the Noble BachelorThe Adventure of the Beryl CoronetThe Adventure of the Copper BeechesThis Kindle freebie does NOT contain "The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes", "The Return of Sherlock Holmes", "His Latest Bow", "The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes", or the novels, i.e. "A Study in Scarlet", "The Sign of Four", "The Hound of the Baskervilles", and "The Valley of Fear".It is an perfect "purchase" for readers who would like to have fun reading about the intrepid Holmes and Watson on their adventures. The formatting is okay, i.e. not perfect but not overly annoying either. As is the case with a lot of other Kindle titles, the Table of Contents is not one which is reader-friendly - one cannot simply click on a particular story to obtain to it, but has to manually scroll through. I hope this is addressed as more books become available as Kindle titles. On the whole, I have small to complain about, except for the lamentable lack of illustrations. To those who love Sherlock Holmes, I would recommend getting not just the complete stories and if you don't mind a truly bulky (yet attractive set), I would suggest the annotated set by Leslie S. Klinger,The Fresh Annotated Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Short Stories (2 Vol. Set) and The Fresh Annotated Sherlock Holmes, Volume 3: The Novels (A Study in Scarlet, The Sign of Four, The Hound of the Baskervilles, The Valley of Fear) (non-slipcased edition).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tintin and Alph-Art (The Adventures of Tintin: Original Classic) []  2020-9-8 18:54

    Unbelievable artwork. You can't go wrong with Tintin.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Business Adventures: Twelve Classic Tales from the World of Wall Street [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    Brooks is a amazing business writer. Gets beautiful indepth with the tales he talks about but is very entertaining and simple to hop around between chapters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robin: Lady of Legend (The Classic Adventures of the Girl Who Became Robin Hood) []  2020-1-11 19:30

    Reader thoughts:I love, love, love Robin Hood retellings. Most of the time. That said, I can obtain beautiful is book was phenomenal. It definitely has powerful ties in Howard Pyle's epically amazing The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood. It pulled some of the stories and conversations straight from that tale, and this was a better book because of it.I had some misgivings that Robin was a girl. It wasn't that she could plan brilliantly or shoot so well, but that she was such a amazing leader. She could joke with the guys and was always so merry. Yet, it should be feasible for a woman to accomplish all that. I'm still not sure why I was I've read A Daring Sacrifice, which basically has a lady Robin, but it wasn't as well done. The Outlaws of Sherwood had a girl dressed as a boy, too, but she wasn't the band's leader. Rowan Hood is a leader, but she can still turn to Robin (her father) for e language was fun. I kept running into words I didn't know (yay for Kindle's dictionary!), and I liked the possibility to expand my vocabulary. I noticed, though, that it could be nobles or peasants using such unknown words, and I wished there was more of a distinction between classes. Some of the peasants had thick accents (like Will Stutley), which were fun to ere were so a lot of references to classic Robin Hood adventures, and it shows how a lot of people thought Robin and Maid Marian were sweethearts (though they were actually sisters). There were a few tales I loved and missed in this book, such as meeting Friar Tuck or helping Allan-a-Dale. But we still obtain to see Small John and Guy of Gisbourne and Sheriff of Nottingham and David of Doncaster. Robin leads well, puts on disguises that really shouldn't work, and uses trickery and cunning and honor to war versus injustice.I loved the ending. Superb. I had wondered what could tie up this tale well enough, and I was glad it concluded the method it did, especially because some Robin Hood tales don't end well. (Killing off an MC is a huge no-no for me.)Writer thoughts:I wished to be inside Robin's head more often. It would have created the book longer (by a amazing 5%) to flesh out the characters a tad more and present me in detail what was going through Robin's head, but then I realized I didn't need those details. RMA showed the readers just enough of the characters' personalities for the readers to figure out what the characters were thinking without being me of the story was told rather than shown in "real time," but that created the action quicker and the necessary scenes stand out more. This book covers 3 years, and it flows well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robin: Lady of Legend (The Classic Adventures of the Girl Who Became Robin Hood) []  2020-1-11 19:30

    I love Robin Hood! Just the entire idea of this fairy tale makes me smile. Of course I've said this before in a lot of of my past reviews. I've recently reviewed Scarlet, and Lady Thief which is another Robin Hood series that I've been reading lately. I'm beautiful sure this book is a stand-alone though - so don't think I'm getting you wrapped up in another three-year long series! (yes, even I am relieved sometimes when a book is...just a book!) And though I always knew there were books depecting Robin as a girl, this the first one I have ever picked up.I found Robin: Lady of Legend in one of those Amazon emails - Young Adult books. This book was listed as an emerging book, or break through book, something like that. Given that, and the amazing reviews, I decided to give it a go.I loved how the author worked in all the pertinant characters, and quirks and characteristics everyone knows and loves about the Robin Hood stories. I especially liked how, though she was a girl, Robin came off as not only an inspirational leader, but she also had that quirkly, slighly sarcastic, witty personality. Honestly, her dialogue is probably what I enjoyed the most about this book. That, and the fact that despite the obvious, the author did not really change too much about the book. (I, of course, kind of like the opposite when it comes to the Scarlet series, so apparently it doesn't matter as long as the overlying theme is there!) This light heartedness, and "merry-ness" is something I really, REALLY loved. While the characters are oppressed, and outcast, they are satisfied and have found a life, and a sense of purpose in this book, which is kind of a relief from some of the other depections (books and films alike). They obtain angry, of course, and desire justice, but the book as a whole is not painted in this meloncholy light as others have been.Another amazing point in this book is that while Robin is excellent, she was not completely and utterly awesome, the best ever ever! She was beautiful humble, and even had doubts on her own abilities. She had short comings, and required support (though she wasn't overly amazing at asking for it.) She was a leader, so there was an air of arrogance, but it wasn't overwhelming; in fact I loved her half-smiles of confidence when she knew her plan was unfolding just as she'd planned. This, in my mind, makes her even stronger than the characters who just happen to be the best at everything and barely have shortcomings to speak of.I felt like this story got long in some areas, and in other locations I wanted more. There is a bit of romance (which I will not reveal much about in this review), and I want a bit more time was taken in formulating this side of the relationship. A small passion, maybe? I also would have liked to have seen more heists; stopping of the rich in the streets, etc. We only were "there" for a few of them - although my favorite was when the sherriff himself was taken!All-in-all, I did really have fun this book. It is very tame on the violence, and nothing inappropriate to speak of at all. Very clean, and yet, entertaining. Proving to the globe that cussing, gory blood, , , alcohol (oh wait...there was a bit of that! But this IS a Robin Hood book.) really aren't important to create a book entertaining! I would let even a younger teenager pick up this book, should they want!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robin: Lady of Legend (The Classic Adventures of the Girl Who Became Robin Hood) []  2020-1-11 19:30

    Apparently, I'm a sucker for the old created fresh again - which I could have realized from an objective look at my shelves, but self-ysis isn't really my style.ANYWAY, to the point. I really, really enjoyed this book. My little daughter is on a kick of watching the Robin Hood Disney film over (and over and over), so it was rather odd but amusing to be reading this at the same time.I was impressed that the author created this plausible, or at least plausible enough. Robin doesn't really set out with a goal to do anything in particular, things tend to just happen. The stage where her first "Merry Man" joins up was quite funny, as was the subsequent "They followed me home, can I hold them?" scenario. For a while, at least, she's reactive rather than proactive, and her reactions obtain her attention and e dialect in the book was handled with a light touch. It added a tip of "flavor," if you will, without overpowering the story or becoming so noticeable that it detracted from the story nically speaking, the writing was a pleasure to read and at several points, I was able to create the transition from "reading words" into "reading a story." The words "fresh" and "light" came to mind; not "light" in the sense of trivial, but in the sense of lighthearted, lively. The current of humor winding through the book is enjoyable; sometimes it is the focus of a stage and others more of a background, but even at the darkest points, there is some light.I did message a few typos and errors here and there, but they weren't distracting enough to tag and did not mar the enjoyment of the story.I didn't realize until the end of the book that the author had written another story I had enjoyed, "The Stepmother's Tale." It is possible I knew that at the time of download, but I've slept since then.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tintin in the Land of the Soviets (The Adventures of Tintin: Original Classic) []  2020-9-14 18:57

    For a long time I owned all the Tintins depicted on the back cover of âaeThe Adventures of Tintinâ and thought I had it all, until I learned about the existence of 3 other titles: âaeTintin in the Congo,â âaeTintin Et Lâ(tm)Alph-Artâ (his very latest unfinished work), and this one, which happens to be his very first Tintin Adventure. Naturally, I quickly obtained all is being the very first Tintin ever, it is a remarkable work and is a must have for any Tintin lover. However it is not the Tintin you would expect. First of all, this hardbound edition includes a photocopy of the original black and white strips. There is no color edition. It includes almost twice the number of pages as regular Tintins, so it is a amazing deal for the money. The Tintin and Snowy look somewhat various from the ones we know. In fact, Tintin starts out this adventure without his popular tuft of hair, so you need to read it to search out why his hair sticks up like it does now. The artwork is less detailed and less elaborate than weâ(tm)re used to. Nevertheless it retains a air of elegant simplicity that makes it a masterful work of art.Another major difference is the rapidity of the action. At that time, Herge was writing this adventure strip by strip for a weekly Belgian newspaper, unlike later adventures when he made it page by page. The adventure therefore moves much more quickly in order to hold readers interested in getting the next edition. Because of this some of the action appears unreal and much is left to impossible coincidences. Nevertheless, nearly all the action âaetricksâ that Herge uses to rescue Tintin in later adventures can be found here. Police chases, encounters with trains, mobsters, etc. are also prevalent. In fact a lot of of these action incidents are reworked almost exactly in Tintin in far as the content, one must hold in mind that this Tintin was written in the 1920s â" a time when Europe felt threatened by Communism, and also written for an anti-Communist church-run newspaper. The Russians are therefore depicted in the most unfair way, a bias that Herge had to apologize for later in life. Unlike his thorough research for later adventures, Herge bases Tintinâ(tm)s Soviet experiences on just a single book he had read, written mostly for propaganda purposes. Despite this major weakness, I would highly recommend this Tintin adventure. The political views therein are merely a sign of the times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tintin in the Land of the Soviets (The Adventures of Tintin: Original Classic) []  2020-9-14 18:57

    It is the first ever Tintin book, so it has historical importance. The story is quick paced and holds your interest. The illustrations are more free flowing, almost newspaper strip type, unlike the more controlled and definitive illustrations of the later books. It is much better than the second book.. Tintin in the Congo. But it does present glimpses of amazing things to come - there is adventure, action and a touch of humour. For a casual reader this book might not keep amazing interest, but for collectors, it is. I would like to add here, that it is unlike the books that followed this book is in Black and White like "Congo" and is published the method it first appeared. Amd it definitely is an indication of greater things that Herge had in shop for Tintin.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Business Adventures: Twelve Classic Tales from the World of Wall Street [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    I read this book because I liked the idea of a collection of Fresh Yorker articles from the 1960s and because of Bill Gate's blurb ("John Brooks is an wonderful business writer"). And the best essays in the collection are indeed excellent. Brooks is at his best when he can tell stories through the experiences of a little number of people involved, and when he can maintain an tone of detatched amusement as he describes things going wrong. This contains the piece about Texas Gulf and advances in insider trading case law and the piece about Piggly Wiggly and stock corners, and the piece on Goodrich, Latex and intellectual property law. The wholly (or nearly wholly) respectful pieces about the Ford Edsel and the history of Xerox were also excellent. A couple of the pieces were, for me, clinkers. Unless you have a unique interest in the topic matter, you may search yourself skipping the article about the history of the U.S. income tax and, similarly, the closing article about the 1964 devaluation of the British Yorkers in the 1960s were, perhaps, smarter than me. Brooks casually uses words like mulct ("to extract cash from somebody via taxes or (especially) fines."), reticulated ("having the shape or appearance of a web"), gelid ("extremely cold, frosty"), expatiate ("to speak or write at amazing length on a topic"), ukase ("originally, an edict from a Russian tsar having the force of law, now more generally an arbitrary command"), can easily imagine how much John Brooks would have loved writing about the abuses of modern modern structure, such as the 2008 corner that Porsche ran on the shares of Volkswagen, or about LIBOR manipulation by huge banks, or Harbinger capital and its disastrous investment in Lightsquared Inc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Business Adventures: Twelve Classic Tales from the World of Wall Street [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    Well written, educational and entertaining. That more books were like this one. Edsel was just an abstract word meaning "clunker" to me and to learn the info of that fiasco was fascinating. Trivia like that the name "Xerox" was supposed to suggest "Kodak" (two syllables that start and end with the same letter) was interesting. The tongue-in-cheek tone created me laugh at times—not loud laughs like when reading THE VERY MINUTE MANAGER, but laughs nonetheless—and created the book an enjoyable journey. I can see why Warren Buffett sent Bill Gates his private copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robin: Lady of Legend (The Classic Adventures of the Girl Who Became Robin Hood) []  2020-1-11 19:30

    Robin of Locksley does not wish to marry the Sheriff of Nottingham. Her alternative choice is to run away to her cousin, the king, palace and ask to be a lady in waiting- nothing she really wants either, but better of the two choices. Unfortunately along the method she becomes an outlaw and a legend at the same time everyone thinks she is a is story combines all the elements you expect in a story of Robin Hood. While Robin was a girl the rest were just as you remember them from your childhood. Each with their own personality and background that the author gave them, but all there none-the-less. It was a very creative read.I did not like the ending- without telling or giving it away, it was left on a bit of a cliffhanger, and I hate that when it is done in books. I would have much more liked the ending if it ended at the wedding. If the author started the second book off at the wedding and continued it, I would have read a second book. The dangling endings is as poor as dangling prepositions in my mind and soooooo overused in YA lit. I found it intersting that the author did not intend to write a sequel but now is. I really thought this was all a set up to a fresh warned the ending is a bit of a letdown (or rather a cliffhanger) but otherwise it was very well written and an enjoyable read. I would recommend it. I will read further to see that the author didn't intend to create a sequel which makes the ending even more confusing. I guess she is now after people asked for more, but the ending was just not an ending to me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robin: Lady of Legend (The Classic Adventures of the Girl Who Became Robin Hood) []  2020-1-11 19:30

    I picked this book up from through Pixel of Ink's website. I was hesitant to obtain this since I have read re-makes if classics before, to only be disappointed. However, since I had never read the Robin Hood story, I felt I would be safe. (I know, I know, I am reading Robin Hood now!) My prior knowledge of Robin Hood had been from movies. So, I am no authority for what the actual book ere was so much about this story that I loved. First was how the author spun the story of Robin Hood into a tale of a female. Having to be forced into a marriage to a man she didn't love and despised, Robin runs away to live in the Sherwood Forest. We learn how Robin, being the tom boy that she is, transformed herself from the life of a noble to a life of an outlaw, master archer and perfect swordswoman.While living in the forest, she starts to collect this motley squad of friends... Will, Small John, David and a lot of more. Throughout the story, Robin struggles to hold her identity hidden from the men. Knowing that the men would not be too keen on taking orders from a woman, for 2 years she portrays a man. Then one day everything turns Robin's life upside down. Only issue is, will the Robin of the Hood's Merry Men be willing to accept the truth?This was an perfect book. The story never left you with a dull moment. The writing was vivid; you could have sworn you were in Sherwood Forest. The method the author gives the info of the sky, the smell of the venison cooking on a spit, the method the river ran or the leaves crunched under foot. I was only disappointed to search that there was not a follow up book. Oh but to want upon a falling star!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tintin in the Land of the Soviets (The Adventures of Tintin: Original Classic) []  2020-9-14 18:57

    It was exactly what i expected. It's the first comic book drawn (1929) and may not be acceptable to those not familiar with Herge's work. I'm happy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PAYBACK: Eye for an Eye: Classic Western Adventure (The McIntyre Adventures Book 1) []  2021-1-1 20:54

    Amazing reading!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Business Adventures: Twelve Classic Tales from the World of Wall Street [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    A amazing collections of some awesome business happenings from the 1960's. Truly timeless in their appropriateness in a business context. I highly recommended this book to anyone interested in business and ethics to a huge degree.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Business Adventures: Twelve Classic Tales from the World of Wall Street [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    I read Bill Gates's July 12, 2014 review of this book in The Wall Road Journal, and watched the embedded video, just as I was deciding what book to assign my undergraduate business ethics class, consisting mostly of seniors majoring in management. I read the Xerox essay that Mr. Gates created available on his www service before the book was republished in August. That convinced me that this was the right e essays are exceptionally well-written. Yes, they come from a various era, and not all of the essays were usable for my purpose. But most of the essays focused on problems that are very much with us today. With small effort, I was able to bring the lessons to life in my interactive class by drawing connections to current problems in the business press, sometimes simply by referring to latest developments in the companies covered in the e Xerox essay was useful to illustrate the role of corporations in politics and public policy. I updated the discussion of that company by addressing the company's 2014 report on Corporate Global Citizenship. We discussed the Xerox essay not long after The Fresh York Times reported on the relationship between state attorneys general and companies under investigation. One of the companies in the Times article was 5-Hour Energy Drink -- a company to which any undergraduate can relate.Other current hot subjects covered in the book contain the ethics of corporate communication (enabling the class to compare the GE wink in the "Impacted Philosophers" essay, on the one hand, to the GM nod and salute now in the news, on the other hand); insider trading; the use of trade secrets by former employees; and the role of the shareholder gadfly in corporate governance. I sometimes used published obituaries of those profiled in the essays to present how the behavior Mr. Brooks chronicled affected the individuals' ethical e point is that the core lessons in the essays transfer nicely and practically, even if a lot of of the info of the stories are bounded by the time in which they e cost of the book is about $15. As a tutorial to the 21st century business student or the 21st century businessman or businesswoman of any age, the book is priceless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robin: Lady of Legend (The Classic Adventures of the Girl Who Became Robin Hood) []  2020-1-11 19:30

    I'm glad I came across this book a day or two ago because it's a delightfully clever and new twist on an old classic tale.Take everything you know about Robin Hood and his Merry Men and turn it on its ear. What if Robin weren't a young man, but an 18 year old girl?In order to maintain and strengthen his position in the land, Lord Robert Locksley arranges a marriage between his eldest daughter Robin Ann to one Phillip Darniel, the sheriff of Nottingham! Robin, who's always been headstrong and much more interested in male pursuits such as going out into the woods and archery, will have none of it and would rather leave everything she knows and loves, including her younger sister maid Marian, behind and fend for herself in the woods. Slowly but surely her sense of honor and natural leadership has outlaws and the downtrodden of Nottingham flocking to her like moths to flame. They don't know Robin is a young girl though, as she's disguised her voice and is never seen without her is is such an interesting twist on the old tale, and told in such a amazing method that it's like being introduced to these classic characters for the first time. Twists on Will Scarlet and Small John as well as Robin herself makes this a fun and exciting read from the first word to the last. It also introduced a globe of possibilities and issues for the characters. Will Robin ever reveal her secret, her real identity? Will she ever see her family again? When she starts developing feelings for one of her Merry Men who still thinks she's a boy, how will she handle this? These are the types of clever alterations that create this novel new and fresh even though most people are already beautiful familiar with the legend of Robin Hood whether it be from the literature or the score of movies that have been created over the e only complaint I have is that it has to end! Getting into the characters that ArceJeager has breathed fresh life into, I would love to see what other adventures they obtain into as they obtain older and obtain into more hijinks.A amazing and fun work that's exciting, entertaining and heartfelt, I would love for this to be a series but if not, I'm still glad I got a possibility to read this unbelievable fresh take on well established characters. This author is now on my radar!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robin: Lady of Legend (The Classic Adventures of the Girl Who Became Robin Hood) []  2020-1-11 19:30

    Robin's globe changes forever when her father informs her she must marry the evil Sheriff of Nottingham. Leaving her comfortable life behind, she runs away and builds a home for herself in Sherwood Forest. There, she will search a fresh path to her life and become the outlaw Robin is action-packed tale twists the original stories of Robin Hood, giving us a female Robin to lead a band of merry men. The men are not aware of this, however, because Robin has taken on the guise of a young man. They accept her with ease, and she becomes an perfect leader and an advocate for y of our favorite characters of legend appear in this story including two versions of Will Scarlet, Small John, Maid Marian, and Alan-a-Dale. The author has clearly done her homework in reading Robin's legends. I don't wish to give away the subtleties that will bring a smile to the readers' faces as they explore just how close to the original this book truly is. I appreciate these minor info being included, as I love all things Robin Hood, even Mel Brooks' Men in Tights.I was a small unsettled with Robin's romantic feelings for Small John. She is leading such an androgynous lifestyle that it's simple to immerse yourself and forget that she is, in fact, a woman. It would create sense for her to have feelings for someone at some point, but with so much work to be done robbing the rich and giving to the poor, there is small time for romance. Of course, it would not be fitting for her to fall in love with Marian, since Marian is her sister. I do understand why the author chose to contain this, since some of the Robin Hood tales do contain a romance.I was surprised at the number of proofread errors in this story. They are minor, but there are several of them. With a book that is so famous (over 400 reviews at the time of my writing this), I would expect the book to be clean. This book is excellent, and it deserves to be error free.I found myself glued to this book as Robin's adventures continued. I do love Robin Hood and Sherwood Forest, and I will give just about anything similar to that a try. This book did not disappoint. Keeping it real to the nature of the old tales really goes a long method with me. I love reading fresh adventures, especially ones with a twist (such as using a female for Robin). I am begin to fresh takes on old legends, and if you are as well, you will love this book. Even those who are purists might at least give this book a try. It really does ring real with the old tales, and even though Robin has changed a bit, it still has that classic heroic feel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robin: Lady of Legend (The Classic Adventures of the Girl Who Became Robin Hood) []  2020-1-11 19:30

    I was very excited to read a story with Robin Hood as a girl, but also not sure if I'd actually like it. I'm a large Robin Hood fan since I was a child, and there have been incarnations of the story that I just didn't like. It has to remain real to the original story at its core for me to love it. I loved Robin: Lady of Legend. It felt like the author took a story I was very familiar with and just shifted it so that I could see inside from a various most all of the best elements of the Robin Hood story were there, and the reader is created to understand and believe how the Robin Hood she has always known has been a girl all along. The relationship between Robin and Small John was compelling. I've always loved the friendship between them, and the male-female dynamic created it even better. There were two things that I didn't love. One: the lack of attention to the Friar Tuck character. I always felt he was right up there next to Small John as necessary supporting characters, and in this book he was barely even mentioned. Two: the abruptness of the ending bothered me a little. I would have liked to have seen more of Robin and Small John living as Robin Hood and "his" right hand man for a small longer. Also, the "happy ever after" wrap-up at the end didn't have the same powerful flavor as the rest of the book.Overall, though, I loved it. I would love to see what else this author has that might turn my favorite stories upside down or sideways. I'm off to check out her Cinderella story now. If it's as amazing as this one, I'll be expecting more to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tintin in the Land of the Soviets (The Adventures of Tintin: Original Classic) []  2020-9-14 18:57

    As a collector's book, this is a must have. But if you wish a story for a child, forget this volume. All it is is a series of events, of misfortunes. There is no story. There is a political theme, however, which for a children's book seems out of place.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tintin in the Land of the Soviets (The Adventures of Tintin: Original Classic) []  2020-9-14 18:57

    This early example of a graphic novel is not only an interesting and entertaining read by itself, but it also, perhaps unintentionally, reveals the author's, and beautiful much all Western ideas, thoughts and fears of Communist, Soviet dominated Russia. It cynically, critically and entertainingly illustrates the folly inherent in a government run bureaucracy that claims benefit and celebrate the common man, but instead runs roughshod over all the hopes, dreams and freedoms that are primary rights of every human being. The reader is taken on a delightful visual journey that reveals the early artistic efforts of Herge, and tips at the direction and heights that his brilliantly artistic efforts would take him in the future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chasing the Past: Classic Westrern Adventure (The McIntyre Adventures Book 3) []  2021-1-5 19:3

    This is the fourth book I have read from the Gus McIntyre series and it just keeps getting better. This action-packed, page-turner will hold you entertained from the beginning to the very end. A amazing story of our forefathers. I highly recommend it to any western fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    PAYBACK: Eye for an Eye: Classic Western Adventure (The McIntyre Adventures Book 1) []  2021-1-1 20:54

    This western is a amazing read. One of those books you can't place down once you have started. I intend to read more from this writer. I've read two books and both have been five-star reads. Enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Robin: Lady of Legend (The Classic Adventures of the Girl Who Became Robin Hood) []  2020-1-11 19:30

    This is a attractive retelling of the classic Robin Hood story. Set in the luscious forest of Sherwood, Robin: Lady of Legend is a unbelievable fairytale adaptation of the legend with a surprising twist – Robin is a kick arse female warrior. It all starts with a betrothal to the Sherrif of Nottingham by her well meaning father, but her betrothed is a ruthless Lord a twisted thug of a ruler who raises taxes in an effort to remove poorer land owners from their titles. Robin refuses to sucb to the clutches of the older brigand and runs away dressed as a boy and armed with her long e ends up accidentally killing one of the sherrifs men and escapes into hiding in the forest of Sherwood. A lady of title who was raised with moral and duty finds that the only method she can hide and escape capture is to pretend to be a boy and hide deep within the forest. And thus the legend is born.I loved this adaptation so very much. It really was one of the earlier fairytale adaptions that I read the I thoroughly enjoyed the female substitution for the original male lead character. It was a surprising recreation that trilled my heart and opened a globe of wonder with the method the author retold the story so venture, trilling escapes, kick arseriness, archery – Robin: Lady of Legend is a thrill retelling that anyone who loves fairytales will e only thing that I found disappointing was the reveal of her gender to those who had lived, fought, and sacrificed their lives for the legend that is Robin of the Hood. The action, adventure, heroics and relationships that are interwoven throughout the story line give the story so much weight but when Robin finally reveals who she really is – this leaves me wondering what the author was thinking.I'd give this book a 4 star review, loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tintin in the Land of the Soviets (The Adventures of Tintin: Original Classic) []  2020-9-14 18:57

    "Tintin in the Land of the Soviets" was Belgian artist and storyteller Herge's first adventure for his cartoon character Tintin, published in 1929. In the story, Tintin, a young Belgian reporter, is dispatched by his newspaper editor to doent the goings-on in a fresh and chaotic Soviet Union. Accompanied by his faithful fox terrier Snowy, Tintin finds the shattered country under the thumb of a collection of murderous Communist secret police thugs. Forced to go on the run, Tintin and Snowy survive one death-defying situation after another before finally escaping."Tintin in the Land of the Soviets" is drawn in black and white and much longer than the standard adventures that came later. The artwork is rather primitive; the storyline is a series of cliff-hangers mingled with fierce satire of the then-Soviet Union, and lacks the meticulous plots of later adventures. Snowy plays a prominent role as commentator and rescuer of Tintin. Tintin himself is an unfinished character, although the resourcefullness and bravery of the mature Tintin are already rhaps alone among the Tintin adventures, Herge never went back to modernize the artwork and story. Michael Farr, author of "Tintin: The Complete Companion", suggests Herge was embarrassed by the quality of this first effort. Nevertheless, "Tintin in the Land of the Soviets" is highly recommended to diehard Tintin fans of all ages, who will search this first adventure an interesting introduction to the early Tintin.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tintin in the Land of the Soviets (The Adventures of Tintin: Original Classic) []  2020-9-14 18:57

    This is the First TinTin Book so you still see signs of it being new of the block, and its even colorless. The whole thing is in black and white, the drawing no where near what we see in Herge's other books. But since this is his first, you can expect him still trying to master story telling, and drawing illustrations. But if you forget about it and read the whole thing, then this is truly a unbelievable classic that one should keep.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Business Adventures: Twelve Classic Tales from the World of Wall Street [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    I had heard, as I think everyone else has, that Business Adventures was a favorite book of Bill Gates and Warren Buffet. I read the ebook, and I understand a print ver will be forthcoming in is book makes me feel as though I'm sitting at the knee of my grandfather, listening to wise recollections.A writer of articles in the 1950's and 1960, a lot of for the Fresh Yorker, the author intelligently and thoughtfully steps through 12 events, one per first I thought perhaps I was particularly dense and wasn't getting the message. What held these stories together? Eventually, I realized that the author is not driving home a point, selling anything, or giving advice. His observations leave room for the reader to consider events, their connections, their parallels to today, the importance of character, and the question of morality in business. It was refreshing not to be told what to think.I enjoyed the stories of Ford's Edsel, Piggly Wiggly, Xerox, Goodrich versus e chapter on the federal income tax is particularly relevant, given the wide-spread debate about taxes and modern conversations about the 1%.John Brooks' perspective is firmly rooted in the past, when the book was written, and provides readers opportunity for a sense of omniscience since we can consider ramifications the author himself could not be aware of, at that time.Times may change. People do not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Business Adventures: Twelve Classic Tales from the World of Wall Street [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    A favorite of a lot of business leaders with a lot of timeless lessons for business people. Well worth a purchase and read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Business Adventures: Twelve Classic Tales from the World of Wall Street [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    I just received this book and haven't finished it, but so far it is living up to its high accolades. Engaging and charming writing style, from another time, but still deeply relevant today. Simple to see why it's a classic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Business Adventures: Twelve Classic Tales from the World of Wall Street [Book]  2017-10-23 18:1

    Exceptionally well written tome of short stories covering companies, people and geopolitical happenings in the mid 20th century. Amazing detail on each of these 12 classic business stories.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386