Read claude fontaine reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all claude fontaine reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Chalhoub []  2020-3-29 20:33

    I bought this album after hearing it on National Public Radio, and was disappointed. The parts of the cuts they played were the exceptional parts of the album. As mentioned in the liner notes the album had been in progress for a very long time, but had to be recorded in a hurry - and you can tell that it was. This man has amazing promise, especially when one considers how young he is - but just as impulsiveness swindles a lot of a young person of their self and wealth, the feeling that an album must be chop at any cost still boils down to impulsiveness. And the album suffers. A fan of Globe Melody of all kinds which contains a fondness for Fusion Music, it hurts me to say that this album does a amazing disservice to a very talented man. The musicianship is fair, the spirit exceptional, and the mixing very poor, almost crass. Three stars because two are unfair, and four would reward not good engineering and mixing. The man has amazing talent and vision. Perhaps his next album will present better judgment in understanding the process of recording. The compositions are good, the recording is poor. And it is a shame that the artist must suffer because the impulse to record forced a not good rendering amazing melody and amazing talent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Chalhoub []  2020-3-29 20:33

    We seem to be experiencing a profusion of brilliant East meets West discs lately. One thinks of the glorious Safa and Nascer, Dhafer Youssef's mind-blowing Digital Prophecy, Karsh Kale, the estimable Intercontinentals, Omar Sosa's wonderful catalog of jazz beat discs, Amos Hoffman, Anthony Brown and the Asian American Orchestra's spectacular Monk's Moods, Malicool, Ben Allison's brilliant Peace Pipe, Pharoah Sanders's wailing With a Heartbeat, the Go: Organic Orchestra's wonderful In the Garden, Kali Fasteau, and a lot of others. Claude Chalhoub continues this trend with his fabulous eponymous release. Doing something that hasn't often been tried, and hasn't usually succeeded--that is, blend East and West classical musics (John Mayer's Indo-Jazz Fusion, Yo-Yo Ma's Silk Road, and the Indica Project come to mind)--Chalhoub's approach succeeds mainly, I believe, because he has such deep roots in both, because he has huge ears, and because he took unique care to assemble just the right musicians.What really makes this melody unique is its ability to be new and ancient, accessible and arcane, traditional and innovative, hidden and translucent, dark and light, Romantic and Neo-classical, serene and street-wise, all at once. In a move related to what some of the better practitioners of what I call Nu Jazz have done, Chalhoub combines traditional materials (in this case primarily Lebanese musical sensibilities) with South Indian percussion, synthesizers, jazz improv, Western classical music, and ambient sounds to achieve a special soundscape. The more western-influenced classical pieces strike me as the weakest, seeming almost naïve and static (although there are some lovely moments in "Two Angels"). The true action takes put on the more sonically rich and diverse palettes, such as "Red Desert," featuring nine instruments plus string octet, "Melancholia," with its incredibly atmospheric, mesmeric sound signature, and the two takes of "Don't Wake Me Up," with their brilliant melding of East-West classicism, flamenco guitar, drone, ambient sounds, and insistent rhythmic figures.I agree with others that the production is not the best, though I wouldn't go so far as some have and regard it as trash. Yes, there is a regrettable and annoying loss of detail, clarity, and sound image. It would be something to hear what Jan Erik Kongshaug and Manfred Eicher, or François Houle and Tony Reif (the producers of Safa), could've done with this music. I am not a fan of producer Michael Brook, and wouldn't have bought this disc without the further info that is provided by the reviews. Perhaps Tchad Blake, who performed sonic wonders on the Poor Plus's These Are the Vistas, was brought in to do what he could with what was obviously an inferior production job. Brook's notes about the production, which he describes as "fresh, raw, energetic, slightly chaotic," sound like trying to create a silk purse out of a sow's ear. His further defense, that a lot of in the melody business bemoan the fact that more melody doesn't retain a demo-like sound that would give it the emotion and excitement which obtain lost as melody is refined and perfected to create it a professional product is simply pathetic. The very successful ECM label, which specializes in ravishingly refined and perfected music, gives the lie to this nonsense.Which brings up another annoyance--the almost complete lack of info as to what style of melody this is on the outside of the CD package. Why didn't Teldec provide customers with a clue about this music, such as who plays on it and some description of the type of melody offered. As it is, from the packaging alone, one has no idea whether this is classical, fresh age, Bulgarian wedding music, ambient, drone, trance, or solo violin. One wonders if Chalhoub is the fresh Nigel Kennedy. Or perhaps a disciple of John Blake or Jenny Scheinman or Rob Thomas or Mat Maneri or Yehudi Menuhin or L. Subramaniam or . . . ? Really, people, how are we supposed to create an informed buying decision? Just trust Teldec? What if, like me, buyers have never heard of Teldec?But forget these minor annoyances. Something very unique is going down here; something that not even less-than-perfect sound production can vitiate. Don't miss out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Chalhoub []  2020-3-29 20:33

    I got this because I heard the track "Gnossienes" in some film, and he does that old melody by Satie true credit. Awesome violin player. We have here a lot a various styles of Middle Eastern jazz.

    0  


    Add your opinion on claude fontaine or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Chalhoub []  2020-3-29 20:33

    Claude Chalhoub gracefully melds the traditional and classical melody of India with the European classical tradition he was trained in, peppering it with a small jazz and rock influence, and the effect is a style of melody all it's own with the best from each tradition. The Indian instruments contrast and yet blend with the violin, sometimes driving the lead instrument and sometimes e pieces here vary from the meditative, sometimes melancholy, to the energizing, and the dozens is very listenable. I do admit that my ears are untutored. I have listened to Ravi Shankar and other exponents in Indian music, but I am not expert. I just know what sounds amazing to me, and yze only to the extent that I hope will support you to judge whether or not to give this CD a ere are excesses here and maybe some rough edges. For me, this makes the melody more accessible than it would be if it were polished to perfection. I give it four stars because it seems to me that it does lack that polishing. However, the melody reaches out and should please those like myself who answer to the energy and not the precision of the performance.Even if you're not used to the sound of Eastern music, the western influence is powerful enough that I suspect you'll be able to relate to this sound. It may take several listens so that your ears are more accustomed to the sound, but the enjoyment to be gained through a small effort is worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Chalhoub []  2020-3-29 20:33

    When purchasing this album from Amazon I didn't know quite what to expect. I'll be honest and say that I got it mainly for the performances featuring percussionist Ronny Barrak.If you've purchased any melody of this type before you may have found some forms at both ends of the spectrum (Good & Bad) This one is good! The opening song is just right as it sets the feel for the whole album rather well and can even stand on it's own. This album features songs that groove, occasionally bounce, and that even give help to a melancholy mood. I'm sure you'll search at least one thing you can obtain from this album. And if just that '"one thing"' can create a whole book worth reading then surely that would keep real for an album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Chalhoub []  2020-3-29 20:33

    A mate turned me on to this Cd and I really do love it. I bellydance and I especially love violin taqsim, and Chalhoub provides several moody, hypnotic set-pieces ranging from dramatic ( Red Desert) to light-hearted ( Don't Wake Me Up). Don't Wake Me Up is my favourite, because in 4 short mins it moves through a range of rhythm changes and layered intrumentals, including tabla and guitar. I dance to this one a lot. I hope Chalhoub is planing a fresh release... I'd also love to hear him live!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Chalhoub []  2020-3-29 20:33

    Looking for something exotic, mysterious, reflective, and oddly enticing? This CD manages to incorporate classical style with boldly arabian themes and a touch of modern mixing technique. It seems to respond the question, once and for all, of whether or not pre-fabricated boy bands can actually be considered "music". It may not have sequins or come wrapped in a snake at the MTV video melody awards, but it puts on a present nonetheless. The imagery that this masterfully composed CD evokes completely removes you from your office, your home, or your vehicle and takes you to the far away and long ago locations only hinted at in 1001 Arabian Nights. It conjures dreams of desert journeys, forbidden love, the brazen sun at noon above the marketplace, a secret midnight rendevouz. I've listened to this CD roughly 1001 times since I've purchased it, and it's still as original and compelling each time. "Red Desert" and "Baddour" are absolutely awesome tracks. If you feel considerably spicier than the vanilla globe around you, this CD is a must have. Rarely have I heard so much talent and potential on one CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Chalhoub []  2020-3-29 20:33

    My ears detected something very fresh when I listened to this debut recording from Lebanese violinist Claude Chalhoub. And I liked assical undertones fused with Arabic overtures, leaning towards the abstract but never disjointed, sometimes dark, brooding, and melancholy, other times sophisticated and rhythmic, pave the method for intelligent listeners who are willing to appreciate something that is slightly off the beaten track in globe music.Heavy use of percussions from India are intermixed with his blended style which at times sounds more like classical with sprinklings of ethic tones and at other times the complete reverse. The more you listen the more you will appreciate his contribution and hopefully it will connect people across cultures. This is a really unbelievable mix of music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Chalhoub []  2020-3-29 20:33

    This Lebanese musician is certainly a virtuoso. This CD is worth every penny of the cash you shall pay. You won't regret it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Chalhoub []  2020-3-29 20:33

    i love this cd. i received an email about the release of this cd. i wasn't familiar with the artist but the description was just what i was looking for. i ordered it. i'm glad i did. i especially like 'Red Desert'. i hold this song on repeat mode. the others are amazing too. i must admit i dont like the vocals on track 3.i often skip that one. the talent is amazing but the vocals just tend to irritate me after a short while. my two favorites-red desert and oriental images.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Claude Monet? []  2020-1-31 20:29

    We absolutely love these books! My 6 years and 10 year old read them cover to cover, and, so do I! Simple to read and interesting facts about people we all should know something about, perfect!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Claude Monet? []  2020-1-31 20:29

    The book explains how Claude Monet didn't care about becoming rich, the only reason he painted was to become happy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Claude Monet? []  2020-1-31 20:29

    Really enjoyed reading about this amazing artist. Private life full of tragedies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Claude Monet? []  2020-1-31 20:29

    I just love Monet. What an interesting, ill-tempered, self-motivated man! This is a nice short small book that has some cool illustrations and amazing info for beginners looking for a brief overview of Monet's life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Claude Monet? []  2020-1-31 20:29

    I love Claude Monet so when my 8 yr old son had to write a bio for school we jumped on this book! It's an simple read, but filled with a ton of information I didn't even know!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Claude Monet? []  2020-1-31 20:29

    Grandson wanted to know more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Claude Monet? []  2020-1-31 20:29

    Well written. Clear and simple for student to understand. Held the students interest and they were able to take notes easily from text.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Martin Old Time []  2020-12-1 22:18

    I am at the point in my life where I am appreciating all things Americana and traditional. This CD is a amazing example of a fine American fiddler who appreciated traditional fiddle melody and could play it really well. A virtuoso, he had the old time sound down and he hoped to see the genre grow and be of interest to younger players. The melody is amazing and the CD pack is first class. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Claude Monet? []  2020-1-31 20:29

    Bought for a middle school student who loves art!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Claude Monet? []  2020-1-31 20:29

    Loved this book. Really helped me to learn more about Claude monet. Very simple to read and not boring at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Martin Old Time []  2020-12-1 22:18

    Exceptional album showcasing a talent gone far too soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Who Was Claude Monet? []  2020-1-31 20:29

    Love these books! We have bought several various ones and will continue to obtain them! I have children from 4-11 and they all have fun them. They are of course very easy reading for the older ones but give a amazing simplistic view into the awesome painter and support to obtain the children more interested!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Last Seen (Remy Fontaine Thrillers Book 1) []  2021-4-6 23:58

    Truly another amazing fresh series, and amazing cant place down read. The books hold getting better. I always think there should be the next in the series the minute I finish book 1 or? the waiting for next book always seems like an eternity but thankfully there is much thought and research place into the next must read this extremely hard to place down, cover to cover in 4 it you’re going to be glad you review, I don’t do ‘Book reports’ just tell you if it’s amazing and this is excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Last Seen (Remy Fontaine Thrillers Book 1) []  2021-4-6 23:58

    I voluntarily reviewed a copy of "LAST SEEN" Robin Mahle never disappoints with her books this is full of emotional turmoil, suspense, intrigue, deceipt, danger, secrets, lies, twists that create for a very addicting story from beginning to my Fontaine has served as a state trooper for 10yrs in Louisiana when she loses her partner Max Pena in a shootout he told her he'd loved her forever then closed his eyes tears streaming down her face she devasted at the rcus Hubert met with Remy you earned that medal today he tells her I know what led up to the happenings that saw your partner lose his life I read the file then you its my fault I don't see it that method there was another person in that apartment I know what happended that rcus why did you ask me here she gets offered a job with Fugitive Apprehension Unit FAU in Baton Rouge he wants her to work for him he leaves to think on it lost in thought Remy remembers Max Latest Words to her he loved her she never had the guts to tell him she loved him my went to visit her sister Clair her husband Billy Dupre answered the door they'd been married 5yrs. he was a Lawyer in Lafayette they had a 3yr old son Isaiah she asked Clair what she thought about taking the job offer she went see Marcus Hubert while there she met Alex Chasse he would serve as your mentor temporarily if you take the job.FAU Agent Alex Chasse is who Remy has to work with their on a hunt for a kidnapper that leads to multiple murders, they also learn its connected to a well respected businessman things obtain a complicated.I definitely recommend to obtain this book so very well written you can't enough the characters are amazing so much happens I thoroughly enjoyed the first book in this fresh series I can't wait to see what next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Last Seen (Remy Fontaine Thrillers Book 1) []  2021-4-6 23:58

    LAST SEEN.# 1 bin MahleGreat, fresh series, capturing you from the first, the emotion and heartbreak that Remy was feeling. A senior trooper losing her partner of ten years, and receiving a medal l for killing the fugitive. Now Hubert with LBI unit wants to talk with her, he read her file, how they went above and beyond the call of duty. He wants her to come join LBI..investigation for the state of st of what she did on a case working with her mentor Alex, wasn’t in her job description. She was staying, her past history, a lack of judgment may catch up with her someday. Amazing flowing plot, the hero of Remy is good, she has amazing instincts. Enjoyed the case of chasing the fugitive, was simple to follow Given ARC for my voluntary review and my honest opinion

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Last Seen (Remy Fontaine Thrillers Book 1) []  2021-4-6 23:58

    This book captures the reader with an excellently written story that is filled with emotions, hidden history, lies, and mystery. A amazing begin to a series!!! I have enjoyed reading a lot of books by Robin Mahle, and this one is not like her other books but in a really amazing way. I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Last Seen (Remy Fontaine Thrillers Book 1) []  2021-4-6 23:58

    I've just completed the ARC of “Last Seen”, the 1st Remy Fontaine thriller , by Robin Mahle. I can't place my finger on it, but this is somewhat various from Mahle's past novels. It seems that the first half of the book is a mystery dealing in hero development (which was excellent), laying out the landscape, and setting the scene for the coming drama. The 2nd half of the book is the real thriller. It has you sitting on the edge of your seat, biting your nails with my has been an with the Baton Rouge Police Dept (BRPD), for 10 years, and has just moved over to the Louisiana Bureau of Investigation (LBI). Remy is a fresh hero of Mahle's, and I love her! She's no superwoman; however, she has this intuition about people that hits the nail square on the head most of the time, She's cute, because she will create an error in judgment, catch herself, and then must dance to the fiddler of her own designs! lol She's tough – she;s like a bulldog, once she grabs onto a case, she finds it difficult to allow go until solved. Probably one of the reasons she gets along so well with her partner/mentor, Alex, so can't support but love this novel. It's huge town & intercontinental crime. The basic issues are built around the horrors of trafficking. It involved the Small guys & the Huge guys. You Think you know what's event – several times during the book, you'll swear you Know what's happening! But keep on to your pants! Until you obtain to the latest few pages, you don't know Anything! I did Not see This coming. It was delicious! Noooo, don't be a cheater and go to the back of the book first! Believe me, you'll have fun it more if you obtain to Know the characters Before you know the go out and obtain your copy of “Last Seen”, by Robin Mahle; the very 1st of the Remy Fontaine series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Last Seen (Remy Fontaine Thrillers Book 1) []  2021-4-6 23:58

    Enjoyed, book was well written, perfect plot, ands characters. Author, draws you in from page one. Remy, was grieving, she lost her partner, and boyfriend of 10 years, in a shootout. She, decides to move on to another career. Still police work, but in another agency. She, is partner with FAU Agent Alex Chasse, can they create a go of it, are will the hunters, become the hunted? Highly recommend, was very entertaining. Always obtain excited when I see book from author. Read, arc copy and this is only my opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Last Seen (Remy Fontaine Thrillers Book 1) []  2021-4-6 23:58

    I love this author and couldn't wait to read this one. I was not disappointed! Plenty of action, a few twists and a amazing lead into the next book....oh my, it will be hard waiting for that one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Last Seen (Remy Fontaine Thrillers Book 1) []  2021-4-6 23:58

    I reviewed an ARC copy of this fresh series from Robin Mahle, and I loved it. Already a fan of her Kate Reid series, I was curious about this fresh character, Remy Fontaine. She is a woman with a past that she is determined not to allow obtain the best of her. After years on the Louisiana State Trooper force, she is now with the FBI doing fugitive apprehension. Under the tutelage of Alex, she finds their first case a true chase, with them always 1 step behind their fugitive. As people with info hold dying, Remy tries to figure out the source of the leak. Could it be someone close to her? She also is mourning the death of her ex-partner and unproclaimed love of her life. It is an exciting story with love, violence, pain, and intrigue. I can't wait for the next book to see what Remy does next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Last Seen (Remy Fontaine Thrillers Book 1) []  2021-4-6 23:58

    Omg, I have read all of Robin's books. Each one is amazing ! I love this fresh series !I am never disappointed 😁

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Last Seen (Remy Fontaine Thrillers Book 1) []  2021-4-6 23:58

    Perfect begin to a fresh detective thriller series. Had my adrenaline going right to the latest page. Solid characters and wonderful is is one to watch - and read of course .I know it’s a short review but I’d give it 10 stars if I is series is simply one of the best out there. Please give it a try.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claire De Lune-Claude Debussy []  2021-2-11 20:12

    Lovely Lullaby.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claire De Lune-Claude Debussy []  2021-2-11 20:12

    I actually love this mp3 but in the beginning there is a flaw in the recording. It's a very little glitch but it's annoying nonetheless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Reader (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 1) []  2020-6-11 18:41

    This novel seems like two books in one. The first is a tightly written, thoughtful, and terrifying mystery. It is the story of a young woman kidnapped and held prisoner in almost total darkness for three years, her escape (enabled by her careful assessment of the clues available to her and aculated during the entire span of her captivity). She came out of the experience damaged but with the ability to read people's inner thoughts and feelings through careful ysis of quite little but significant behavioral indicators. I had thought that the author would continue to develop this situation, first in resolving the threads carefully laid out in the first part of the book. There are at least two or three more suspenseful stories here and I was looking forward to them as I approached the end of this part of the book.But that's not what happens. Instead, the second half of the book changes tone. It becomes a fairly conventional whodunit, complete with surprising plot turns and a lot of false leads. It's not a poor book but it lacks the power and interest of the initial story of the heroine's life and her slow recovery from the years of captivity, along with integrating and beginning to use her superpowers of observation to solve crimes (she's a detective).Both halves of the book are well worth reading. The author is clearly at her best when she explores the inner life of the heroine during and following her imprisonment. The second, action-oriented half of the book is more ordinary, but still holds the reader's interest. This is a talented author and I look forward to her future work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Reader (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 1) []  2020-6-11 18:41

    I'm always looking for something various to read and this book really hit the spot! The pacing was perfect and I found myself disregarding tv and video android games just to [email protected]#$%!! I even stayed late at work one day to read to the end of a chapter and then the next one just to search out what happened next. The author does a unbelievable job of making her characters memorable and relatable and I was glad to see that the main hero didn't just miraculously heal herself during the course of the book. What she went through left deep mental and emotional scars and the author used those building blocks to make a tortured and paranoid hero who has the ability to read people (both dead and alive) and yet still has compassion. Jude's partner had to grow on me like he also had to grow on Jude. He's a amazing guy who does what he thinks is right, but he doesn't always consider that he could be wrong. He also doesn't seem to question things or create logical leaps like a man in his job should. Consequently, he is surprised a lot. Still, these two seem to compliment each other and during the course of the book, developed an interesting and entertaining dynamic. I'm looking forward to the other books in this series!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Keeper (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 3) []  2020-6-14 18:25

    BOOK 43 of 2019: THE BODY KEEPER by @annefrasierYou know a book is amazing when you race through it but then you’re sad it’s at’s exactly how I feel about THE BODY KEEPER, the 3rd book in the Jude Fontaine this novel, Detective Jude Fontaine is working a case of a body found under the ice of a skating rink. It turns out that the body may be 20 years old. Meanwhile, a kid is left in a blizzard at Jude’s apartment building. Jude works to figure out both cases, which may be linked, while dealing with her own private issues.Jude Fontaine has become one of my favorite characters and Anne Frasier one of my favorite authors. This is definitely a series to read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Counter (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 2) [Book]  2018-6-16 18:0

    I love this series, I promised myself I would read the second book slowly and savior it, but couldn't place it down just lime the first!! Can't wait for more!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Counter (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 2) [Book]  2018-6-16 18:0

    With the first book in this series I was blown away if you haven’t read or listened to it you really must. The Body Counter is full of mystery around numbers and how the bodies add up and are displayed. Never in a million years would I have worked the meaning of it was. The author brings to life an awesome story of a serial assassin who leaves few clues and no rhyme or reason for the killings as well as some unbelievable characters on the hunt for a angry man before the bodies begin adding up. I really loved how the author laid this out, keeping you guessing, the mystery as well as how it twisted leaving you hanging on the edge. A amazing plot with some amazing characters, from the first moment that I picked this up I couldn’t place it down and listened to it at one setting. I didn’t feel the connection that I did with Jude in the first book in this series but I still was hooked from the first page. It was very hard to work out who did it but at the same time you work out people involved, there is mystery, danger along with a lot of excitement, thrills, a few chills that had my mouth dropping, a few shocking scenes, as well as an adrenaline rush that will hold you hanging on. It is a story you don’t wish to miss and one that will hold you guessing until the end.Emily Sutton-Smith does an outstanding job of narration. She pulls you in giving you unbelievable hero voices with outstanding emotions never leaving you guessing what each hero feels. Her tones are right on the cash giving you a power listen full of feeling. Not much has changed from the first time I have listened to her, she does an outstanding job on Jude’s hero giving you the flat voice you would come to expect of a woman who has been through so much. This is one narrator that knows how to give you an adrenaline hush keeping you spellbound until the end. Both her male and female voices are a delight really giving each hero the tones and emotions you would expect them to have. There are no background noises, no volume changes and no repeating of words, I could not tell when a break was taken it was just one smooth, clear audio that I got lost in. She gives just the right amount of pause so the story sinks in and holds you spellbound. Just as she did with the first book in this series she held me from the first word until the last.Jude is powerful she has to be to deal with all she has, but she is weak, she doesn’t like to present emotions of any kind and those she does present are real. She is complex but yet simple to obtain to know. She is special in so a lot of ways, she knows who she is but is still finding her way. The house she was kept in still plays a very huge role in her life. You feel sorry for her but at the same time she is your hero. There are so a lot of mixed emotions going through your head as you listen to this audio, but I still feel that she is the sanest of us all. The author gives you a well-balanced story of horror, shock, delight, laughs, smiles and sorrow than turns your globe upside down doing it all over again. It is well written and thought out leaving me in awe at how her mind works. The story moves around Jude touching on her past, I don’t feel you have to read the first book to know what is going on, but I am unsure why you won’t. It is the most strong story with a mind-blowing plot just as this one is. Her partner is a sweetheart with problems of his own, there are some very troubling characters that will pull you in and a few that will shock you. I know I set with my mouth hung begin more than once. There are no words to tell you just what a very talented author Ms. Frasier is and just how much this series has touched me. What an outstanding move this would create having you glued to your seats replaying it all over in your head again. It isn’t a book you will forget very easy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Counter (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 2) [Book]  2018-6-16 18:0

    This book was an perfect read!!! I couldn't place it down! Jude never gives up! I cant wait for more Elliott!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Reader (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 1) []  2020-6-11 18:41

    Three years ago, a young detective was abducted and kept confined in a small, dark room. Abused and starved, her only “tool” to survive was to “read” her kidnapper in order to “predict” his next step. After three long years she grasps an opportunity and escapes. Now Detective Jude Fontaine tries to search her footing but she and everything around her has changed.I liked the primary idea of the book very much - that's why I bought it. However, I'm a bit disappointed by the elaboration of the book. I think that the heroine’s ability to read bodies wasn't elaborated enough or not towards the direction I expected. In any case, this aspect remained underdeveloped and whenever reference was created towards this ability, it was done in such a method as to show her between sane/is was a slowly paced book, which would give enough time and zone to focus on details, which again would’ve given more depth to the book in general, but especially to the plot. However, a lot of zone was devoted to how Jude tried to integrate into her fresh globe and how she developed her fresh self. This was interesting to read about but didn't offer anything to the plot. Furthermore, this part of the book was very descriptive but again, didn't enhance the storyline, which allow the book appear unfocused.Unfortunately the suspense part of the book was disappointing. Completely predictable and rushed it just didn't live up to my rry, didn't like this book - although I really wanted to!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Reader (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 1) []  2020-6-11 18:41

    Escaping after 3years after abduction, Jude returns to the Homicide Department, in an attempt to normalize her life. But her newly acquired skills of body reading, and being certain her father, Governor Schilling, is a murderer, got her a 72- hour psychiatric keep and heavily medicated. Once her fog lifted, the find for Octavia, also missing for three plus years, led her back to the stage of her mother's murder. Her brother and her father, now both deceased by cop, created MN a tad safer for young girls, as the BCA unearthed a plethora of corpse and Octavia' s fetus. I hope she can readjust to life again?Amazing plot, and well developed characters. Vang needs to be placed in regular prison population with the harden convicts. Her brother and father got off too simple with death by cop. What does not slay you definitely makes you stronger. A MUST-READ!!09/29/19-09/29/19

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Keeper (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 3) []  2020-6-14 18:25

    I have always loved Anne Frasier. Have read all of her books and enjoyed every one. The fresh Jude Fontaine series, I believe is Anne Frasier at her absolute best. She has creates such an intricate hero and we are swept away with her trials and tribulations, her mod swings, her tragic history, her war for justice for the victims, her sense of right and wrong, her caring personality even though she rarely shows it and most of all how she struggled to come back to some semblance of life. This 3rd installment was chilling. It was dark, and mysterious and heart wrenching. We see Jude become someone who does have the emotional capacity to care not only with the Boy but also with Uriah. I truly could not place this book down. However, I am so sad that this is the end of this unbelievable hero and all of the stories that could be told about her and the rest of the characters that inhabit her world. Thank you Anne Frasier for a lot of awesome stories and the time spent enjoying them. Maybe if enough of your loyal fans tell you how upset they are about Jude not returning, you may change your mind. One can only hope!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Counter (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 2) [Book]  2018-6-16 18:0

    Anne Frasier delivers in a stunning sequel to The Body Reader. As a serious lover of books, particularly psychological thrillers, I have learned that there are "books" and then there are "reads". To me, a "read" means being completely sucked into a story that blocks out one's surroundings, and immerses them in the characters' worlds. Anne Frasier does that. You can't take this along as a "beach read" or any other way that involves fast small bits and pieces when you have time. This kind of story is a real literary experience. You become a part of Jude Fontaine. When you read the Body Reader, you met a hero so damaged, yet so powerful, that you felt like you were living her tragedy and ultimate comeback from being stripped of everything that holds a human together mentally. Frasier developed Jude so deeply in the first book in this series, and picks us up right where she left us in the e perpetrators of evil in this book are base, and gore filled in their work, but the real horror of evil is once again illustrated in the hurt to the mind. Personally, I think this is one of Frasier's greatest talents, taking the reader through the human condition that's been damaged. I have very rarely read books that capture that so well, and that is what makes this book a "read".I thoroughly suggest that you take your time with this book. If it's been awhile, I would suggest you re-read The Body Reader so you can revisit the horror Jude Fontaine has already endured, before embarking on this journey. Truly, sit back and allow Anne Frasier take you on a journey that can't be matched. I have never seen an author develop a hero so vividly as Frasier does with the characters in these books. You feel their desperation, their isolation in their war to survive, their will to live, not physically, but mentally. You feel their compassion that has managed to remain despite the evil they lived through.If you are the kind of reader that seeks the "read", then you cannot go wrong with anything Anne Frasier continues to place out. She is genius in her quest to provide an experience, not just an activity. And that is a real gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Reader (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 1) []  2020-6-11 18:41

    I liked this book. First of all I like dark and this is beautiful dark. Second I like tough chicks and she is a tough chick. The story starts off with a dark bang and does not allow up. Anne Frasier really does a amazing job of developing the two main characters, Jude Fontaine and Uriah Ashby. The both have dark histories but are fighting to hold above the water line.I am not going to obtain into the story as I did not have much of a clue what it was about but that created no difference. A couple of sleepless nights later I finished the book. Actually what I had to do, in order to obtain some much required sleep, was to stop reading this book and pick up where I left off reading Winston Churchills books on WW II (and a small Jack Daniels).This book hooked me so much I went out and bought all three books of the "Elise Sandburg" series. It was a amazing discount price for all three and I figured if she could write a really amazing book like "The Body Reader" then she could write other amazing books so here comes some more sleepless EAT READING!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Reader (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 1) []  2020-6-11 18:41

    A 5 star book that slowly fizzled out to a bewildering and head-scratching end. The Body Reader starts at the end of Jude's three year long imprisonment as a kidnappee. The story does a amazing job of balancing her mental instability with interesting plot progression. As the book continues we watch her reintegration into society and even winning her homicide detective job back. But her first case hits a small to close to home... will Jude be able to hold it together?Positives:+ Page Turner. The begin of the book is great, the writing is decent and the material makes it hard to place down.+ Characterization. Amazing look at Jude, her ups/downs and mental health utral:+/- Contrary to the title, there is very small "body-reading" in this gatives:- Ending. About 80% in the book takes a perplexing turn. The problems begin when Jude hits a 'low point'. While this portion seemed to drag it worked 'ok'. But then the book becomes extremely rushed. As soon as Jude goes on her 'trip', the plot falls apart. So why doesn't it work? What follows is 3-4 extremely obviously contrived plot advancing events. Follow that up with a bad-guy confessing everything at first contact, two rushed action sequences, a completely missing cop/shooter discipline problem and the end is total 'blegh'.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Reader (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 1) []  2020-6-11 18:41

    The Body Reader follows our main character, Jude, as she escapes from a cell where she's been held captive for the latest 3+ years. Prior to being abducted, she was a detective on her local police force, and after a few months of rehab, she returns to work. Her fresh partner Uriah isn't thrilled. He doesn't trust that she's ready to be back working on murder cases after such a short time being back in "the true world". Despite his protests, they are partnered, and start working a case regarding a string of murdered girls.Having been held captive for so long, Jude has perfected the art of "reading" facial expressions and body movements, and uses this to her advantage while working these cases. As she continues to investigate, the danger around her grows.I did have fun this book, but not as much as I was hoping I would. I was hoping for more "body reading" going into it, given the title and description, and I found that aspect of it lacking. I do think it set the base foundation and understanding for the reader, so that if the author chose to write sequels with the same characters, it would be set up nicely. I'd love reading more about what Jude can learn and understand from people (and even victims) using that particular skill of hers.Otherwise, I felt like Jude and Uriah both were well developed characters, which I loved. I liked that the book jumped between Jude narrating the show and the past while she was held captive. I loved the twists the book took, and I thought the ending was great! I will say that I didn't feel a whole lot of tension as I was reading the book - that "oh my gosh, what's going to happen" feeling was lacking for me, though that's not necessarily a poor thing. If you're looking for that heart pounding suspense, you won't search it here. If you're looking for a more gradual build with amazing hero development and a surprising ending, this is the book for you!I'd definitely read more by this author, and would love a sequel with the same characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Keeper (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 3) []  2020-6-14 18:25

    I'm a small sad that this is the end, I'd definitely read more Jude books! I don't know if I'd classify it as a truly satisfied ending for Jude (is that possible with all that she's been through?), but I'm happy with the method things were was kind of nice reading about a heavy blizzard while I'm sweltering in 90 degree heat. I love how Anne Frasier makes the setting a true part of her e story is as horrible as it is bizarre: a body frozen beneath a lake is determined to have been dead for 20 years, kid trafficking, a four year old boy with no name abandoned in a blizzard. They're all connected, and as each layer is revealed the story becomes more twisted. The villains in this book are truly poor people.Jude continues to makes strides in her private life. She and Uriah are as much mates as partners, and Uriah's health issues create Jude see how much he means to her. She comes to depend on Elliot a amazing deal as well, though there's still and undercurrent of suspicion there. The bombshell about him that was dropped at the end of book two didn't affect Jude to the degree I thought it would, and I think that's progress on her part. Jude taking care of the small boy tugged on my heartstrings, they turned out to be really amazing for each is has been a unbelievable series, and I can't wait to read what Anne Frasier writes next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Keeper (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 3) []  2020-6-14 18:25

    I can remember thinking, when this series began, that I would prefer that she would have written another Elise Sandburg novel. What a mistake. It's very possible that these 3 books surpass that series. My only disappointment is that it appears Frasier feels that this is the end of Fontaine's story. I believe a writer has the right to determine that, but I sure will miss Jude and the other cast of characters. One interesting thing is that, at the end of the novel, they have possible questions for a reading group and one of the questions is.."If the books were created into a TV series, what actors would you like to see play Jude and Uriah?" Could be nothing, but wouldn't that be something?? :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Keeper (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 3) []  2020-6-14 18:25

    The third installment of the detective Jude Fontaine series is the best of all. A gripping story, quick paced, it will hold you glued to the book. The characters have developed nicely through the series, and I certainly hope we obtain more of Jude and Uriah

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Counter (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 2) [Book]  2018-6-16 18:0

    Amazing book! I am already waiting for the next one :)The characters are will developed - I like the main characters , Jude and Uriah - I can;t wait to hear more about themIn this book, someone is murdering people in a sequence - bigger numbers all of the time. A retired mathematician gives them a clue that may support solve the ere is also a "twist" at the end - to hold you curious

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Counter (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 2) [Book]  2018-6-16 18:0

    I've been eagerly awaiting this book after reading the first two. There's nothing boring about these book she keeps things moving. Hoping there will be more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Counter (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 2) [Book]  2018-6-16 18:0

    Our two broken detectives are back with a dark and twisted tale of a assassin using the Fibonacci sequence - the sequence goes 0, 1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 13 and so on.. So as you can imagine the body count – hence the title of the book – is beautiful high in this suspenseful thriller. There are lots of twists and turns throughout the book – both with the investigation and with the introduction to a fresh hero who should create future books very interesting.Homicide detective Jude Fontaine is still dealing with emotional trauma of past. One on hand she is a tough, motorcycle riding perfect detective – on the other hand she wakes up every night screaming from nightmares. The author chooses a very unorthodox method for Jude to deal with demons in this book but yet you can understand her reasoning.Her partner Uriah Ashby is also still trying to obtain over the grief and guilt of his wife's suicide. Even as hard as it is for him he is helping the community to begin a fresh program for suicide prevention. He and Jude's bond as mates and partners also grows stronger everyday. These two broken halves fit perfectly together and keep the other up when is author has a amazing voice in the suspense/thriller genre and I can't wait to see where she is going to take these characters next and what twisted assassin she will next have Jude and Uriah tracking down in future books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Keeper (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 3) []  2020-6-14 18:25

    I am very impressed with this book. Ms. Frasier led me through a harrowing experience one doesn't wish to believe exists, and added twists I didn't see only complaint about the story is in the beginning; the nurse in Ms. Perkins's room would not have created that phone call on front of Ms. Perkins.I'm looking forward to reading more of her stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Keeper (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 3) []  2020-6-14 18:25

    Wow oh wow! Where to start. This was one series I wanted to go on forever. The characters were fully drawn and by the end of the third book they were all family warts and all. I hate leaving them and would beg Anne Frasier to continue but hey she's the author and does what she does best so I'll not nag. Our heroine, Jude Fontaine, has suffered untold horrors at the hands of a kidnapper in the first book. She manages to escape and resume her life as a detective in homicide, but at what cost. She is paired with Uriah Ashby as her partner, a man with his own demons. To continue would be spoiler after spoiler so I will just say if you miss this trilogy you will have missed one of the finest police procedural series out there in these three books, The Body Reader, the Body Counter and The Body Keeper. Thank you Anne Frasier for hours of suspense, angst and total entertainment!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Reader (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 1) []  2020-6-11 18:41

    Merriam Webster defines depravity as “a very evil quality or method of behaving”. You won’t know the real meaning of the word until you have reached the end of “The Body Reader”. As a voracious reader, this is not the first book I’ve read that describes what it’s like to be held captive by a madman. But it IS the first book I’ve read with that theme that makes every one before it seem trite and lackluster. Anne Frasier manages to take the reader into the dark with Jude Fontaine, and search out what it is like to be stripped of every part of humanity a person can possess. I have always been a fan of Frasier’s deeply developed characters, and Jude Fontaine is no exception. She triumphs over insanity in the physical sense, but Frasier shows us the long term effects of being stripped bare of everything but the most primal of instincts. I don’t like to write my reviews like a synopsis of the book, to me that steals the joy of the story from the reader. Instead I like to strongly urge readers to allow an author take over their soul for a brief while, and for those of us that glean amazing joy from exquisitely written psychological suspense, we know that is the result of a finding a masterpiece like “The Body Reader”. Leave your soul in the darkness for awhile. Feel what it’s like to be held captive physically and spiritually. Listen to this tale of pain laced with gut wrenching glimpses of what was stolen from Jude Fontaine. Worry that it could just as easily be stolen from you. Cheer for her as she tries to escape the fear and inability to function. Wonder if YOU could test that hard to live. Cry with her as she fails to overcome the trauma to her mind. Understand what it’s like when death would be a welcome release from the torture of being kept alive. If you are already a fan of Anne Frasier, this will be a fresh treat to be savored. If this is your first Anne Frasier book, you will be in a rush to read all the others. Five star seems inadequate to rate an experience that will leave you breathless and afraid of the evil in the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Reader (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 1) []  2020-6-11 18:41

    Abducted by a psychopath and held in a fortified basement for three years, Jude Fontaine developed a heightened sensitivity to little changes in her captor and her environment. She was deprived of human contact, except for her captor’s visits to hold her alive with meal and water and to satisfy his physical urges. Then Jude manages to escape. She was, after all, a detective in her former life before her abduction and still has a powerful instinct to survive. Jude shoots her tormentor in a tussle and flees wandering the roads in a fugue state before appearing on the doorstep of the house she shared with her boyfriend. He looks at the door with his fresh e visits her former precinct office where a fresh detective Uriah Ashby recognizes her. Jude’s miraculous survival and reappearance stun her coworkers. She then begins months of treatment for her physical and mental injuries. The only thing that keeps her going is the prospect of returning to her former job and ensuring the man she thinks she killed is dead.Jude gets her want of getting her job back and is assigned to Uriah as his partner, not her previous partner. Chief Ortega, the detective’s boss, has doubts about Jude’s abilities even though she has recertified in all the necessary areas. Uriah is told to hold a close watch on her. Jude and Uriah are assigned to go to the stage where the body of a teenage girl has been pulled out of a lake with rocks in her nightgown pockets. A preliminary review of the evidence suggests suicide. Jude senses it was a homicide and autopsy results present that the girl’s lungs were filled with chlorinated water. As the detectives unravel the dead girl’s past, Jude is triggered by happenings of her own history involving her estranged and influential family. Uriah is also dealing with his own demons.Anne Frasier creates a story of unrelenting suspense. She takes you back and forth between Jude’s find for a assassin and the scenes of another captive female being held by the same predator. There are a few incidents that may stretch your credulity, such as Jude being reinstated in her old job after such a horrendous ordeal, but you’ll search yourself flying through the pages to search out who is behind the crimes. Thriller and mystery readers are in for an exciting read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Counter (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 2) [Book]  2018-6-16 18:0

    I don't remember learning about the Fibonacci sequence in high school or college math, but it's certainly a special murder method. The sequence goes: 0, 1, 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 13...and so on, so the killer/s are aiming for a high body count. The murders are grisly, and seem to obtain more so with each crime scene. I did appreciate that it was specifically pointed out how the brutal crime scenes affected the investigators/first responders, I've read other books where the characters are hardly fazed and it seems unrealistic to me.Jude's hero growth is slow but steady, she's not healed, but she has moments of normalcy. Her abduction experience seems to have created her more sensitive and empathetic. But she's still battling her demons (she can't resist returning to the house where she was held captive), she isn't able to place the past behind her yet, though she does take some steps. She and Uriah create a amazing team, they depend on each other a amazing deal, but at the same time don't expect more from the other than they're willing to give.While the book doesn't end on a cliffhanger, there's some very interesting info revealed at the end, and it has me anxious for the next installment!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Counter (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 2) [Book]  2018-6-16 18:0

    I was fascinated by the first book in this series and was delighted to know there were more books coming. This story didn’t disappoint! And thank heavens there is another book to come - I can’t wait to search out what happens next!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Counter (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 2) [Book]  2018-6-16 18:0

    The Body Counter is intense, action-paced thriller/mystery that is the second book in the Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries. The lead characters are often intense and tragic but always engaging. Jude Fontaine is a unique, memorable lead for any mystery story. Abducted and escaped after three years, Jude brings a special perspective to any case with her ability to interrupt body language. Her partner, Uriah brings his own tragedy with him into every case and the friendship blossoming between the two is the dynamic that really drives the mystery. A spree assassin keeps murdering random people and the only link seems to be a mathematical series of numbers called the Fibonacci sequence. As the violence ramps up so does the adrenaline that keeps you on the edge of your seat. High octane and chilling the story unfolds sometimes unexpectedly and definitely twisted for an easily addicting series. My voluntary, unbiased review is based upon a review copy from Netgalley.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Reader (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 1) []  2020-6-11 18:41

    Powerful start, weak [email protected]#$%!&’s a crime and suspense story about Jude Fontaine, who tries to rejoin society after three years of captivity from a rapist. She gains her old job back as a homicide detective and is partnered with Uriah, who is a broken as she is. Together, they investigate a series of murders of teenage girls in a troubled town in Minnesota. What I love about this book is how the author fleshed out Jude as a victim of rape and torture. She struggles to search normalcy even in small things (getting a plant or not, attending a cookout with colleagues), and her only coping mechanism to “normal” is doing her job. While the characters were strongly written, the development of the plot slowly gets weaker as it goes on. The climax is anti-climactic, and the revelation of the assassin was abrupt (more telling than showing, which is disappointing). Despite my ho-hum reading experience, I’ll still test to read more from this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Keeper (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 3) []  2020-6-14 18:25

    Not being a writer myself, it is difficult to place into words just how much I love this series, and I believe this book is the best. That says a lot in that the other two were hard acts to follow, and the three should be read in succession to obtain the full impact of this complex hero who I have grown to love. I didn't think Anne could top her Dead series with Elise and David, but she did. Hoping that this is not the latest we see of Jude!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Keeper (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 3) []  2020-6-14 18:25

    THE BODY KEEPER [2019] By Anne FrazierMy Review Four Stars****I finished the third installment of Frasier's trilogy featuring Detective Jude Fontaine the end of latest month. I had read THE BODY COUNTER earlier in the month of May, and frankly was so riveted by the indelible hero of Fontaine that I was both impatient and sad to read what was clearly the final chapter of her fascinating and heartbreaking story.Anne Frazier was a "new-to-me" author despite her success in a number of arenas. That said, she created a fan out of me with one book, namely THE BODY READER. There aren't sufficient superlatives to bestow upon the debut novel introducing the unforgettable fictional hero of Detective Jude Fontaine. Frazier allows, no forces, the reader to experience the globe through the eyes and impressions of the emotionally damaged psyche of the tortured and victimized Fontaine. Her prose is naked, raw, and unapologetic. I found myself mesmerized by the method that Jude viewed and experienced the people and the environment around her following her escape from hell. She became a fictional character that I would always remember, or perhaps a hero made with such emotional depth and sorrow that reading her story would stay with me always. THE BODY COUNTER continued Jude's journey on a long street toward normalcy in a globe that had become alien and hostile to her. Frazier continued the story with allowing the reader a voyeur's view into the heart and soul of Fontaine. It was sad and shocking at times, but always raw and real. I had high expectations about the final installment entitled THE BODY KEEPER, at the same time I was already experiencing anticipatory grief that the riveting story of Fontaine's travels was coming to a some semblance of at said, the "final chapter" did not overall disappoint. Frazier's sprawling yet complex story line went back to the very beginning of the evil that spawned Jude's capture and depraved captivity by a sadistic predator for years. The genesis of evil is inevitably the key to Jude's ultimate salvation. The surprising revelations that continue to yield knowledge of blood ties in the final ysis helps Jude on the unsteady bridge back to feeling and relating to the people who genuinely care about her. The book finds her partner Uriah in a vulnerable position with the health concerns that were partially revealed in the previous book. This vulnerability and the very uncertainty of Uriah's future presence in her life jolts her psyche into accepting that he is in fact necessary to her reality and that she very much cares about the outcome of the health challenges that face him. The author does a unbelievable job crafting an intricately complex plot with an wonderful chain of happenings that are ultimately believable in light of Fontaine's father's proclivities and her brother's complicity. It is a bloated spider's web of lies and deceptions with a chilling depth of evil that impacts generations in its might be a amazing time to mention that Frasier is astounding when she applies her talent to lifting the veil on a number of remorseless sociopaths that we encounter in the course of the story line. We see their behaviors but far more chilling is "hearing" the thoughts inside their heads, the depth of the darkness in their souls, the chilling narcissistic rage that fuels their violence. I've said it before, and I'll say it again. Karin Slaughter isn't the only talented thriller writer out there that "writes with a razor".This was an outstanding novel overall, and a worthy conclusion to the story of the jaded Jude Fontaine, both feet planted on the street to opening her heart, lowering her defenses of steel, and allowing the ice around her emotions to melt a small at a time as she embraces life at said, I just can't bring myself to award a rating of another 5-Stars on this one. I rarely read Customer Reviews, and if I do it is after I have read the book. However, I happened to spot a review that summed up just perfectly how I feel and why I am allotting 4-Stars. I was dumbstruck when Jude (armed, hyper vigilant, and already suspicious of her surroundings) was easily taken down and subsequently immobilized by a female sociopath who possessed no known fighting skills and was hobbling around with a healing fracture of her lower leg after a vehicle crash. I can only speculate that Frasier had her own reasoning as to why that this occurred. I could hazard a guess, but No Spoilers (and I could be wrong anyway). Fact is, I didn't search it plausible and it didn't work for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Body Keeper (Detective Jude Fontaine Mysteries Book 3) []  2020-6-14 18:25

    Anne Frasier has truly outdone herself with this one! Truly a page turner, with reveal after reveal. I really hope this series continues, as the super surprise ending left me with more questions! I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves reading amazing crime novels.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Monet: His Complete Art Works []  2020-3-30 18:56

    Amazing love Monet. This is a comprehensive books with all works. Nice images of his art.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Rains: An Actor's Voice (Screen Classics) []  2021-4-6 22:1

    This is a well written and researched biography of an acting genius who deserves more recognition today. Rains was outstanding in so a lot of movies that his high standard is taken for granted. The book is full of surprises not the least of which is that he was an acting teacher whose students included Sir John Gielgud and Sir Charles Laughton. Best reason to read this book is to follow the life of a highly moral and disciplined man in the ethically challenged entertainment industry. This is a real rags to riches story well worth reading!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jean-Claude Van Damme (Martial Arts Masters) []  2020-1-16 12:7

    Perfect

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Monet: His Complete Art Works []  2020-3-30 18:56

    I downloaded this book hoping for Monet's full catalogue of work...there are none of the Japanese footbridge or waterlilies paintings plus several others that are missing. Disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Christo and Jeanne-Claude: In/Out Studio []  2020-7-2 18:59

    Very amazing reference of their wool - nice design.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Rains: An Actor's Voice (Screen Classics) []  2021-4-6 22:1

    This is a beautiful amazing biography that could have been much better. Rains' early years are given perfect coverage, but his movie years are given very small coverage aside from complaints about Warner Brothers not sticking to the terms of his contract and his dislike of certain co-stars (I've seent he comments on Paul Henreid attributed to others too). Small is said about his becoming an American citizen or a Fresh York Times report in the late 1930's regarding a hospitalization, though it goes into perhaps too much detail about his later health issues. While some of the info has been around in assorted books for years having it gathered in one put with the fresh info is a plus, and the stories from his early years fill in quite a few gaps only touvhed on in standard movie references. The images are a mixed bunch, again the early ones are perfect while the movie ones were not the best scenes to use. His private life was far from perfect, he certainly could have handled wanting out of marriage number five better than he did, but there are plenty who have done worse than changing the locks on the house. I've admired him as an actor for a long time and this book does nothing to change that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Rains: An Actor's Voice (Screen Classics) []  2021-4-6 22:1

    Rains childhood and family is so sorrowful and interesting that I just couldn't understand why they were never mentioned again after he began acting. They must have still been trying to create cash off of him but who knows? There were scenes in his life that whiped by so quick I thought I'd skipped a page. I'm not even sure why he divorced most of his wifes. A biographer should know what is the amazing items and give it more time. Like his poor father! I'd like to know if Rains continued to help him after he became famous. That is a very necessary relationship that should have been seen through to the end by the writer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jean-claude Van Damme (Martial Arts Masters) []  2020-1-16 12:7

    Perfect

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Monet: The Truth of Nature []  2020-1-31 23:59

    The pictures ie reproductions were amazing but being a semi artist who loved Monet I’d like to hear mo about technique. Am going to the exhibit!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Rains: An Actor's Voice (Screen Classics) []  2021-4-6 22:1

    Although I would have appreciated more detail, this is far and away the biography on Claude Rains, treasured by movie fans but not attracting the attention of writers on the medium. He has always been one of my favorite actors, possessed of what I think was the finest actor voice of the Golden Age of Hollywood. I don't think any other actor stole so a lot of movies from the starts, and indeed I think he can be considered one of the creators of what we would now call the hero lead, not a film star type, and yet the star of the show. The book gives a amazing view of his youth and how he became Claude Rains, and although it's a small skimpy on production info and his life in Hollywood, there is a amazing filmography in the back (Though I would have appreciated plot summaries in addition to the other information). My other complaint is the lack of photos, at least in the digital edition that I purchased. But the book is well worth the purchase price, for anyone interested in Rains and his films.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Rains: An Actor's Voice (Screen Classics) []  2021-4-6 22:1

    so much amazing research to enjoy. I did feel that I met claude rains then heard much of him from his mates and those he worked with. a amazing well paced read. thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Monet: The Truth of Nature []  2020-1-31 23:59

    It is a terrific companion to the Monet exhibit in Denver, with amazing photos and essays. However, the book was packed in a larger box with no protection for the corners, and as a effect they were bent. Would have been simple enough to add sturdy corner protectors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Christo and Jeanne-Claude: In/Out Studio []  2020-7-2 18:59

    One of those must own art books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Debussy: Piano Works, Vol. 2 []  2020-7-3 19:40

    Amazing Artist

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Rains: An Actor's Voice (Screen Classics) []  2021-4-6 22:1

    I'm really enjoying this Claude Rains biography! It's well written and greatly informative. He is one of my favorite hero actors from Hollywood's Golden Age and I never tire of watching him play beside the amazing "Bogie" or the Devine Bette Davis! "Now, Voyager" is my all time favorite Bette Davis film from the 1930s, and Claude Rains is a huge part of the reason why.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Rains: An Actor's Voice (Screen Classics) []  2021-4-6 22:1

    The "ensian childhood" of this distinguished actor is the best part of the book .In the latter chapters there is a lot of listing of theatre and film work without enough detail. However, his five marriages add spice owing to the diversity of personalities of the women.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Monet: The Truth of Nature []  2020-1-31 23:59

    Fabulous - followed the exhibit beautifully executed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Debussy: Piano Works, Vol. 2 []  2020-7-3 19:40

    Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Rains: An Actor's Voice (Screen Classics) []  2021-4-6 22:1

    Quite an extraordinary glimpse into the life of one of the real consummate actors of this ry well written! The author has obviously familiarized himself with Mr Rains, having apparently used extensive resources, some of which were a prior biographer's hundreds of transcribed conversations between Mr Rains and the biographist first hired to write his biography (he died before he could write the Rains story, beginning with his poor, lonely, friendless, cruel childhood, You will search yourself caught up in his pain, despair and stuttering problems, which were very humiliating to t, it takes years before the kid finds its "niche" in the world, even though he began working for London Play House s very that time you search him somewhat satisfied being near the theatre, you will still search yourself cheering him on to not give up.I found it unfortunate that his first wives, each in the same method humiiated him horribly, which would have created most men and men to give up on having any trust left to risk another serious relationship.I found him to be as he appeared to us through his first love, the stage, as well as in most of his films - highly intense, intolerant of those who did not take the artful craft as seriously as he did.I do believe that he was a genius when it came to his pereparation for his lines, as well as learning everyone else's as well.I will say no more, except for his amazing intensity you search in him in whatever medium of entertainment he applied his masterful craft.I was both satisfied and surprised with how respectful and enamored Bette Davus was with him. She never spoke ill of him or his acting, which, as everyone knows, is not usual for our dynamic Bette Davis!This book will NOT disappoint. However, you may be like me - I had no clue that he overcame sometimes insurmountable odds throughout his entire life.,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Rains: An Actor's Voice (Screen Classics) []  2021-4-6 22:1

    I did have fun this book, a biography of Claude Rains, featuring recollections of his daughter, interviews with actors with whom he worked, notable Bette Davis, and a description of his early years of poverty. Also, Mr. Rains own recollections were drawn upon for much of this book. The successful scene career is yzed and the years in Hollywood where Rains appeared in such classic movies as The Invisible Man, Now Voyager, The Adventures of Robin Hood, Casablanca, Juarez, Anthony Adverse, Deception, and Lawrence of Arabia. The author info his turbulent personal life and six marriages, the longest lasting was his fourth marriage to Frances Propper. I agree with another reviewer that not much info is given re: his wives, particularly to Frances Propper--she disappears for a time in the narrative. It would have been helpful had their daughter Jessica discussed more about her mother and what happened to her after the divorce. Also, it would have been interesting to learn more about Jessica and what she is doing today.Overall, a amazing biography but I was hoping for more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Rains: An Actor's Voice (Screen Classics) []  2021-4-6 22:1

    I enjoyed this book because I was able to get interesting info on Claude Rains. I would have liked it to have gone more in depth. Well written and a quick read. I would say that is was entertaining and a must read for any film fan of the 30's and 40's ( and a bit beyond).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magical Garden of Claude Monet (Anholt's Artists) []  2020-11-23 19:15

    I gave this as a bonus to a 9 year old girl who loves art. We had a amazing time reading the book together. She especially loved the colors in the book as did I. The colourful fold-out of Monet's water garden is very nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Bolling: Suite for Flute & Jazz Trio 2 []  2020-12-1 22:22

    Bolling's first suite for flute and jazz guitar will always be regarded as his best, and is one of my all-time favorite recordings. So how's the sequel? It is not merely "more of the same," but a melodic, relaxing, creative continuation of the distinctive Bolling style. I love classical and jazz, and Bolling takes the best of both in a musical marriage. You do need to like both styles. I played the first suite for a classical lover who hated it. Some may call this "crossover" but I see it as a excellent pairing of styles. I have all the recordings, and I want there were more (oboe, clarinet, bassoon, why not?).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Bolling: Suite for Flute & Jazz Trio 2 []  2020-12-1 22:22

    Love this pair. Unbelievable melody for relaxing, dinner, keeping focus on work, and any other background music. I first heard these guys at a amazing small restaurant. I created the server search out what melody they were playing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Bolling: Suite for Flute & Jazz Trio 2 []  2020-12-1 22:22

    Preferred to search Suite 1.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Bolling: Suite for Flute & Jazz Trio 2 []  2020-12-1 22:22

    Peppy, snazzy, sublime, urbane, ethereal all in one album - Rampal Bolling perfection. Love it. Minus -1 perhaps for the recording, the flute sounded metallic in certain parts of 1 or 2 tracks.Where can one search so a lot of flute moods and colours woven into an album? Amazing arrangment by Bolling. A triumph of sorts that should be rediscovered and played more eat background melody from the seventies peppered with baroque fusion that is in my opinion ageless.Every piece is a e only question tag is, Volume One CDs came with accompaniment tracks but Suite No 2 CD does not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Bolling: Suite for Flute & Jazz Trio 2 []  2020-12-1 22:22

    One of my all-time favorite pieces of music! So satisfied to finally search it again!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Bolling: Suite for Flute & Jazz Trio 2 []  2020-12-1 22:22

    My kind of music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magical Garden of Claude Monet (Anholt's Artists) []  2020-11-23 19:15

    I can't say enough amazing about this series. It is a creative method to introduce children to these artists. They are written to be children stories and entertain while throwing in some info about who the artist is, to present the artists' general style and introduce some specific works by the artist. My daughter is 5. She soaks this items in. I think she would have been able to be as receptive to the stories at age 4 and maybe just earlier than that but it would have been pushing the envelope. I suspect she will have fun the stories for another couple has lead us to google some of the actual artists' works. My daughter now wants to search some museums that have some of the pieces that are addressed in the books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Orenco Originals Impression Sunriseby Claude Monet Counted Cross Stitch Pattern []  2020-12-22 19:34

    This is not a poster but a cross stitch pattern of Claude Monet's popular painting. Orenco Originals is a fresh company and has made (probably by computer?) hundreds of fresh charts based on classical and other art. I am almost done with this: I am Half Sick Shadows Said the Lady of Shalott inspired by John William Waterhouse Counted Cross Stitch Chart and if it finished up as nicely as it's gone so far, I'll begin on this one: Pea Butterfly by Naturalist Archibald Thorburn's Bird Counted Cross Stitch Chart This reviewed picture being too light or dark is...um...neither here nor there as far as your decision to wish to the stitch it or not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Bolling: Suite for Flute & Jazz Trio 2 []  2020-12-1 22:22

    Brilliant

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magical Garden of Claude Monet (Anholt's Artists) []  2020-11-23 19:15

    Homeschooling art has been one of my greatest homeschool successes. Specifically, we instituted “Artist of the Month” as part of our homeschool curriculum. Info learned stayed learned (always a victory).First, I bought the "Getting to Know the World’s Greatest Artists" book about our Artist of the Month. We own 22 of these. They are uniformly excellent. Photos featuring the artist’s most popular work are interspersed with the artist’s life cond, I bought poster board and those small Dover booklets of postcards featuring art by our Artist of the Month (where available - and Dover does carry a lot of them). I allow the children go to city on making a poster of the Artist of the Month using these supplies. The necessary point here was process not product, to obtain them to interact with the images, not to obtain them to produce the excellent poster. This poster would then be on display throughout the month.(Previous months’ posters landed under my daughter’s bed. One day, she showed one of these posters to a friend. I heard from the mom shortly thereafter. “Raquel says your daughter has pictures of naked ladies under her bed?” Picasso, I think.)Third, I bought more books!We were fond of the "Smart About Art" series. Each book also features just one artist. We have 8 of those. These books are at a slightly higher reading level than the "Getting to Know the World’s Greatest Artists" books, but only very slightly. Colourful pages are even more eye popping than those in the "Getting to Know the World’s Greatest Artists" r Pablo Picasso and Leonardo da Vinci, the children really liked the Ibi Lepscky books. The titles are the same as the authors’ names. The Picasso book is a particular favorite because of an photo in which Picasso, devoid of art supplies as a child, paints his younger sister with egg yolk just before the family is due to leave for church orybooks featuring the artists were always a huge hit. I can specifically recommend the following to round out your curriculum:Laurence Anholt’s books feature a story in which the artist interacts with a child. There are vibrant images, but I wouldn’t count on these books alone to provide an education about any one artists. The books we own and love include:- Matisse: The King of Color- Cezanne and the Apple Boy- Degas and the Small Dancer- Camille and the Sunflowers- Leonardo and the Flying Boy- Picasso and the Girl with a Ponytail- The Magical Garden of Claude MonetAlso consider Anholt’s marvelous book Anholt’s Artists Activity Book.James Mayhew wrote an perfect series in which our girl Katie interacts not with the artists but with the topics of the paintings! Outstanding storytelling, clever images. Again, these books are a amazing supplement to a homeschool art curriculum, but I would not use them as stand alone books. We own and love these:- Katie and the Sunflowers- Katie and the Mona Lisa- Katie and the British Artists- Katie and the Starry Night- Katie and the Spanish Princess- Katie Meets the ImpressionistsGood Luck and Satisfied Homeschooling!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magical Garden of Claude Monet (Anholt's Artists) []  2020-11-23 19:15

    I would give this 10 stars if I could. You would be doing yourself and your kids a favor by purchasing this! I learned more than what I thought I knew, and my 8 year old ate it up. I love that this book can connect with adults and kids alike. A must buy for anyone wanting to expand their children's knowledge of an wonderful painter!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magical Garden of Claude Monet (Anholt's Artists) []  2020-11-23 19:15

    Magical book about a magical garden. My 6 year old loved it and it makes her excited about going to Giverny

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Magical Garden of Claude Monet (Anholt's Artists) []  2020-11-23 19:15

    This is a amazing story, also contains a unbelievable bio in the back. Beautifully colourful pictures, this really opens up your kids to learning more about the greatest impressionists.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Claude Bolling: Suite for Flute & Jazz Trio 2 []  2020-12-1 22:22

    Please see my review of the first "Suite for Flute and Jazz Piano," which I also greatly liked. I feel that both suites carry a tremendous energy and humor with them. I love them as an ameteur flute player, and, if you have one in your family, you should get these suites, first on CD for listening, and later the sheet music. In terms of sheer listening, to brighten a duill day, listen to these two suites, and after that you'll probably wish to obtain some more of Bolling's music. Enjoy!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386