Read coal miners daughter reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all coal miners daughter reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coal Miner's Daughter - 25th Anniversary Edition []  2020-7-13 21:0

    Reviewed in the United States on December 8, 2019Format: DVDVerified PurchaseSissy Spacek and Tommy Lee Jones were just excellent in their roles. I have watched it more times that any other movie. Sissy won a well-deserved Oscar for playing Loretta Lynn.Loretta grew up in Butcher Holler in Kentucky. Hollers are not towns, just locations where people decide to live who have so very little. Her family was an perfect one with a lot of kids and two unbelievable caring parents. Her father, played by Levon Helm, worked in the coal mines and her mother was a stay-at-home one.When Loretta was still in her teens she met a man who had jest returned from serving our country. He was considered wild by some of the townsfolk and, particularly, Loretta's parents. His name was Doolittle and he spotted beautiful Loretta very soon and she noticed him in the same ey were soon married with her parent's reluctant permission. They had six kids and while raising them, Loretta learned how to play the guitar and write country music. Doo, had, bought her a guitar for their anniversary. She was very amazing and Doo encouraged her to play one night in a club nearby. Initially, she was afraid to sing in front of people but she soon overcame that fear and sounded unbelievable on scene for the very first time. It was one of my favorite scenes in the at was the beginning of her career which spans from the beginning singing to her kids to the Queen of Country melody and to a put on the Grand Ole Opry which to this day has a program every Saturday night in Nashville, the end of the film There are interviews with the stars. Today I watched an interview with Tommy Lee Jones who said he enjoyed working in the film and the results. He answered a lot of questions and they were all positive. I enjoyed that portion and I don;t remember seeing it in the past.If you have never seen this film and like the actors, Sissy and Tommy Lee Jones, you will be glad that you read this e is truly The Queen of Country music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coal Miner's Daughter - 25th Anniversary Edition []  2020-7-13 21:0

    Had to have it in my collection! The main reason for the star subtraction is for Amazon not the movie!!!I just want that Amazine would allow me custom arrange my Video Library instead of only offering by date purchased or alphabetical order. I would prefer to arrange by genre, episode, number in franchise so that I could group my films together instead of having a hodge podge to sort through!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coal Miner's Daughter - 25th Anniversary Edition []  2020-7-13 21:0

    This is my third time watching this movie. I love the story and the music. Sissey Spacek is a unbelievable actress. The story unfolds well and worth spending a Saturday afternoon binge watching even when you have seen it before.

    0  


    Add your opinion on coal miners daughter or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coal Miner's Daughter - 25th Anniversary Edition []  2020-7-13 21:0

    This was the second time I've watched this but my boyfriend had never seen it. Enjoyed it very much the second time around as well as the first. He was very impressed when I told him that Sissy Spacek sang all her own songs in the movie. I didn't realize until I read the credits this time around that Beverly D'Angelo (Chevy Chase's long-suffering wife in the "Vacation" movies) also sang all her own songs as Patsy Cline in this movie. Sissy Spacek is an wonderful actress and she played this part very well. Tommy Lee Jones was also cast well as her ambitious and adventuresome boyfriend/husband/manager, Doo.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coal Miner's Daughter - 25th Anniversary Edition []  2020-7-13 21:0

    So well done with amazing cast! Loretta Lynn always truthful in her songs she wrote just as with this movie; a amazing insight into her life in Appalacia hills as a girl and street to stardom being just who she is. Moments of amazing humor as an innocent, awesome life on the street entertaining. A love story with her husband; her trials pushing herself too hard for her fans she genuinely loved. Sissy Spacek's and Beverly DeAngelo's singing terrific as were their performances as Lynn and Patsy Cline. Tommy Lee Jones is incomparable!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coal Miner's Daughter - 25th Anniversary Edition []  2020-7-13 21:0

    OMG, Fried Green Tomatoes and Coal Miners Daughter are two amazing QUALITY movies. Smokey and Bandit is really fun. Amazing group of films for the price.P.S. Smoky and Bandit and Best Small Whorhouse in Texas are both on the third disk. Don't think your missing one just by opeing the case.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coal Miner's Daughter - 25th Anniversary Edition []  2020-7-13 21:0

    Sissy Spacek and Beverly D’Angelo were amazing here. Yes, each did their own singing in this movie and did it well. I never had the sense that I was watching a film. It was more like watching the lives of these talented people unfolding in front of me. It was so realistic. This is one of the better autobiographical movies I’ve ever seen, especially about the melody business. It was exactly like watching Patsy Cline and Loretta Lynn. Uncanny performances by everyone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coal Miner's Daughter - 25th Anniversary Edition []  2020-7-13 21:0

    I like 3 of the 4 movies! Coal Miner's Daughter, Smokey & The Bandit & The Best Small Whorehouse In Texas are all amazing timeless films in my opinion! I have no interest in Fried Green Tomatoes - they should have place 9 To 5 as the 4th movie! 4 films on 2 disc!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coal Miner's Daughter - 25th Anniversary Edition []  2020-7-13 21:0

    Sissy Spacek deserved the Oscar for this performance. Loretta Lynn's life story is awesome and Spacek channelled Lynn's voice, demeanor and looks like she was made for the role. A amazing movie if you are a Lynn or country melody fan, but equally amazing if you have fun films based on a true person's life. This is a movie I can watch every year.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coal Miner's Daughter - 25th Anniversary Edition []  2020-7-13 21:0

    All these films are good, that is why I ordered it. Pictured on cover and printed on pack was that there were four films included. When we opened it, there were only three DVD,s, and one was missing. The missing one was "THE BEST LITTLE WHOREHOUSE IN TEXAS", which was what we really wanted. Very disappointed, and hoping we can obtain it replaced. otherwise i would give a 5 rating. I hope i can hear from Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spirit of Springhill: Miners, Wives, Widows, Rescuers & Their Children Tell True Stories of Springhill's Coal Mining Disasters []  2020-2-6 18:53

    I really enjoyed the Song of Springhill. It was a amazing love story and the info showed the time frame and what was around in those years. It was also perfect in sharing how the miners and their families lived, how they responded, felt and dealt with all that happened. I wanted to finish the book to see how it ended. However, I didn't wish it to end because all the characters felt like family and friends. I highly recommend this book. Amazing job Cheryl. Rita Richard

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spirit of Springhill: Miners, Wives, Widows, Rescuers & Their Children Tell True Stories of Springhill's Coal Mining Disasters []  2020-2-6 18:53

    This collection of interviews from those who lived through one of the worst coal mining disasters in history makes for fascinating and moving reading. It puts you inside the minds and hearts of not only the trapped miners, but also helps you understand what it felt like to wait those torturous hours for word if loved ones survived. My favorite part is the author's private connection to this town, through her grandfather, a Springhill miner. The spirit of Springhill shines bright in this very worthwhile read. It makes me hope that the companion novel the author mentioned, Song of Springhill, comes out soon. I'd love to read that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spirit of Springhill: Miners, Wives, Widows, Rescuers & Their Children Tell True Stories of Springhill's Coal Mining Disasters []  2020-2-6 18:53

    Upon reading the stories, the determination and resolve of the members of the city was very inspirational. Through all the tragedy, they bounced back & rebuilt their town, their lives. The people of Springhill are a special people. There was no one in that city who was not affected in some way. This book gets to the heart of the people. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spirit of Springhill: Miners, Wives, Widows, Rescuers & Their Children Tell True Stories of Springhill's Coal Mining Disasters []  2020-2-6 18:53

    I enjoyed the novel, Song of Springhill, so much that I simply had to this companion book. It must have taken a tremendous amount of effort to compile all of the interviews, but I loved each and every one. My dad grew up in a mill city - quite various but still around the same time period and the same sort of reliance on your neighbor and God - so I connected deeply with the private tales that were shared. Not to be missed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spirit of Springhill: Miners, Wives, Widows, Rescuers & Their Children Tell True Stories of Springhill's Coal Mining Disasters []  2020-2-6 18:53

    Wow ... was very interesting reading these actual, true stories!! thank you, Cheryl, for your talent that you share with us!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spirit of Springhill: Miners, Wives, Widows, Rescuers & Their Children Tell True Stories of Springhill's Coal Mining Disasters []  2020-2-6 18:53

    Boring! I thought it would be good, but it wasn't! Sorry!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spirit of Springhill: Miners, Wives, Widows, Rescuers & Their Children Tell True Stories of Springhill's Coal Mining Disasters []  2020-2-6 18:53

    Read it after reading Song of Springhill. It was amazing to meet the true life people about whom "Song" was written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spirit of Springhill: Miners, Wives, Widows, Rescuers & Their Children Tell True Stories of Springhill's Coal Mining Disasters []  2020-2-6 18:53

    Could not place it down until I read every interview, kept me interested throughout the book's entirety. I then read Cheryl McKay's romance novel inspired by these interviews. Her development of the characters and city was awesome and the characters were so simple to connect with. I recommend both books for good, clean reading and very interesting historical facts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spirit of Springhill: Miners, Wives, Widows, Rescuers & Their Children Tell True Stories of Springhill's Coal Mining Disasters []  2020-2-6 18:53

    Very interesting and well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spirit of Springhill: Miners, Wives, Widows, Rescuers & Their Children Tell True Stories of Springhill's Coal Mining Disasters []  2020-2-6 18:53

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I saw another review of this book, with a rating, I believe, of one star as the reader found it "boring", and found myself offended for the author, the victims and survivors. This book is the entire city of Springhill's history, where a lot of lives were lost (and a lot of rescued) in the one industry town. The interviews with the family members and survivors growing up and or working the mines, were so descriptive I could vividly picture them in my mind, it seemed like a wonderfully close knit community. Unless having known, or lived the life of a miner family, one can never imagine the acceptance, the fear, the bond that mining produces. I personally loved this book, kudos to Cheryl McKay, and a lot of prayers for all the men and their families.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Loretta Lynn ‎– Coal Miner's Daughter Exclusive Edition Marbled Blue Vinyl LP []  2020-7-28 21:41

    LOVE HER, A MUST HAVE

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Loretta Lynn ‎– Coal Miner's Daughter Exclusive Edition Marbled Blue Vinyl LP []  2020-7-28 21:41

    Like played for relaxation

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Didn't understand the not good reviews until I had played it for a couple of days. I really don't like that the android game freezes every time I test to reset a level. Easier to just uninstall than obtain @#$%ed off by a stupid game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Having issues with the level and can't move past level 4...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    I loved to play Miners4k by Notch Markus Person, the creator of Minecraft. This android game has the same mechanics, with more challenging but fair levels. Almost every level brings a fresh element. The challenge is based on tactic but also on your dexterity. This is a android game special and if you are bored with the 1000th clone of candy crush saga, or the 1000000th clone of temple run, this android game is for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    It seems like this android game will have a lot to while I complete it with a lot of challenges that will force me to obtain creative. I love that the miners speak and that various types have various personalities. It makes it even more enjoyable :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Love this game. It gets challenging beautiful quickly. Had to do first levels several times to develop skills required to advance. (I'm not a "gamer").

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Love it!!! PS: The back button crashes app.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Crash on Nexus 4(4.4 ART)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Amazing small android game if you like this sort of puzzler. It does obtain a bit addictive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Definitely worth the 99¢.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Really cool concept. I have fun this android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Incredibly innovative!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Lots of fun

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Android game hangs on begin

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    need a fresh ver of this android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    I used to like DigDug as a child, this kind of reminds me of it. You devs should consider a very huge random map, of player chosen difficulty, as another video test option. I'll hold it installed, in case you do. 5 stars when...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    It's a amazing android game really but the small guys are so stuip "oh we are going down let's climb up and not go down" is mostly what they are like the ai needs to obtain better

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    I downloaded this android game a coupke of hours ago. I didn't like it. It would be better if you controlked the miners instead of makibg their path. Uninstalled. Amazing thing the android game was only $.99.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    What a gem of an idea and game. Someone or body will no doubt use tgis idea to further it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Pushing the back button causes the android game to crash amazing android game otherwise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    nice android game that you can just relax to

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Cute, fun and trickier than it looks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Fun challenging cute and entertaining.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    aber ganz schön schwer

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Love my microminers...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    The only thing is I went through it to quick need more levels

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    If you look pass the graphics it's actually a really amazing game. I think I've played it end to end more than 5 times in the past 5 years. Wish more like this! Completely various to 'miner' games.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    GREAT AWESOME EPIC android game 10/10👍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    My android game doesn't save progress, no matter what.. I signed in with my Google account, but after closing a android game and signing in I had to begin over from level one.. After closing and running it again, it was the same.. I didn't sign in than but my progress wasn't saved again.. I already started from level 1 for the fourth time but I lost my patience even though the android game seems superfun.. How to fix it?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Some of the level layouts and mechanics are a bit frustrating, but overall I don't regret the purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Amazing game, smooth android game play. Can be very obsessive, in a amazing method heheh

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    My previous problem has been fixed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Android games really boring. Stupidly annoying

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Very fun and various android game to play. Don't hesitate to test this android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Fun, engaging and unique. Boss melody as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Once it started working it was a amazing android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    No in android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Played it through atleast 5 times. Need fresh levels

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    However a fun game. Sometimes the controls mean that the tunnels end up in the wrong put but it is worth persevering.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Amazing game, it starts simple then it becomes more diffcult.. You have to think and act fast. And I love the method the miners interact when u touch them but sometimes u test to dig and it happens then its not funny xD

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    This android game is actually hard, like old school android games used to be. Lots of challenges. Having a really pointy finger would help.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Back button = crash. And some graphical glitches in Samsung Galaxy S4. Other than that, nice game. Any plan for endless mode?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    I have fun these mining android games but I dont have fun the method the android game scrolls down, I like playing at my own pace

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Why do blobs have to be ugly?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Screen just freezes on begin with S5

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Not enough battery life to play this android game sooo much fun

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Just started, amazing challenges, new I hope it doesn't obtain old too soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    its enjoyable mindless fun

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Amazing again Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    samsung nexus (At least the dev contacted me...) 3/5 for help effort.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Doesn't load just plays annoying melody and has a picture of a miner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    there's a few bugs that have to cleared out. Constant blinking of the screen, chop out tool hint windows, endless maps and a android game that gets stuck at the losing loading screen. You fix this and I will obtain you all five stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Would change nothing this android game is so fun . Only hope for more and to thouse who say its not hard only played the first level. bonous levels and notch's level were fun ! Plus it gets harder . Love diolauge with poor language on lol child level for daughter poor language off ofcourse then . 10 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Much like Lemmings Love the nostalgia and the challenge but dont like the two finger scroll as I usually obtain it wrong and end up with random tunels or blocks still frustratingly fun Fun but frustrating

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    A cross between Lemmings and Where's my water. Loads of levels including some hidden in the options like a children level. Has the charm and randomness of lemmings that I had been missing. Unbelievable technique demos.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    This is a really fun and challenging game. A few touch ups and I say a Google play hit!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Never worked from day one. Can't obtain

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    It is fun but after awhile the android game gets boring so it needs more entertainment to it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Noodlecake strikes again. Amazing game.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    The levels are challenging, and are also a lot of fun would recommend for anyone who likes games.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Yes!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Micro Miners [App]  2019-9-30 14:8

    Its intertaning

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coal River []  2020-1-15 21:29

    Oh, what a disappointment! The premise of this novel, which takes put in 1912 in the fictional mining city of Coal River, Pennsylvania, is not only solid, but also important: illegal and often deadly kid labor in the coal mines. Unfortunately, author Ellen Marie Wiseman turned this vital historical topic into a pitiful soap lled with grief after her parents' gruesome death in a Manhattan theater fire, 19-year-old Emma Malloy has reluctantly come to Coal River to live with her Aunt Ida, who views her niece as labor, and Uncle Otis, who is a bigwig with the local mining company. Because Emma's younger brother, Albert, died in a horrific drowning in Coal River nine years earlier, Emma is viewed as a curse among the superstitious townspeople. Meanwhile, Emma is appalled at the frightening conditions in which boys as young as five and six toil in the mine, as well as the a lot of unscrupulous and risky policies of the mining company—done all to create for the owners. And she is determined to war it. The plot's twists and turns are utterly ridiculous. Such things could never happen!As I said, the premise is solid. But the writing is abysmal. The author uses a technique that I will call the "what if soliloquy." Action occurs in the plot, and then Emma has long, drawn-out and tedious thoughts analyzing what just happened by asking herself a lot of pointless "what if" questions. This doesn't further the plot; it bores and frustrates the reader. If this happened on a stage, the actors would all freeze except for one, who would talk to the audience. It's fine once in a while…but this happens over and over and over again.I will give Ellen Marie Wiseman kudos for the extensive research and authentic historical info she provides in the book. It's just a shame that the story wasn't told as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coal River []  2020-1-15 21:29

    I was born and gre up in a coal town. My father, a miner often spoke of life in coal camps. This book protrays them accurately. My grandfathers worked hard to obtain safety standards improved through supporting the United Mine Workers union. One granddather worked in the mines the times of mules and kids being used. Book written very well, I felt I was there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coal River []  2020-1-15 21:29

    The premise of the book is intriguing and it is certainly well-written and well-researched. It may be cliche, but the setting and history come to life. I learned a lot about coal mining and the working conditions of miners, and it's brutal. The only negative is an necessary one: I wanted to love Emma, the protagonist, but sometimes she was hard to believe. It's as though someone from the 21st century was suddenly plopped into 1912 Coal River with the intention of reforming the backwards ways. Considering all the times she puts herself in harm's method only to narrowly escape, she is extremely lucky. Of course, it helps that the mill owner and her uncle are such not good people that even their sons and Frank swoop in to protect her from them. I found myself shaking my head in disbelief a lot of times, but on the other hand, I did finish the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coal River []  2020-1-15 21:29

    UPDATE: Someone suggested I place "spoiler alert" on this review because of the latest sentence of this review. I don't really consider it to be a spoiler but I don't wish to ruin anyone's story.Emma Malloy ends up back in Coal River, Pennsylvania after nine years away. Her and her parents left Coal River after the heartbreaking death of her younger brother and ended up working in the theatre business in Fresh York City. After the tragic death of her parents, she ends up living with a mean-spirited aunt and uncle in Coal River, having to work away the "debt" of their supporting her.Bleak Mountain Mining Company is in Coal River and it doesn't take Emma long at all to see the not good injustices being perpetrated versus the miners and their kids by the mine owner and the supervisors, including her is is a rich historical tale, making the reader really feel what life was like in this little mining town. There are a lot of passages in the book that are difficult to read because of the kid labor and harsh working conditions.Emma is 19 years old (a young 19 at that) and acts like it in this story, being very impetuous and not necessarily thinking before she speaks. That was frustrating at times. I felt like reaching into the pages of the book and clapping a hand over her mouth.I enjoyed and appreciated the story up until the very end and then there was an abrupt ending that didn't fit with the rest of the story. Disappointing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coal River []  2020-1-15 21:29

    The premise of the book is a very amazing one. However, it somehow became lost in the ever predictable romance and the inevitable sappy twist at the end. The coal mines were horrific locations for adults and children. Greed overcame the need for safety and the miners were considered as chattel to be used until they were used up or dead. This was the story that began the book. Then, the author decided to interject the same cloyingly sweet 'my heart goes pitter pat' items that you read in all the romance books on the market. What a shame to ruin what could have been a amazing story of a powerful woman who wanted to create a difference in the lives of the ide from the predictable plot changes, a issue with errors interrupts the reading. Misused words, not good punctuation and misspellings cause the readers to lose focus. This book should have been properly proofread prior to publication.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coal River []  2020-1-15 21:29

    The history of coal mining is a topic that is fascinating to me. I read very quickly through the first half of the book, but became bogged down with the unnecessary and sometimes jarring plot twists in the middle. The romance did not need to be thrown into this story, and I feel it would have been better off without it. The ending of the book was very predictably wrapped up, and seemed to just gloss over some of the plot points I would have liked to had fleshed out a small more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coal River []  2020-1-15 21:29

    This was a heartfelt, gut-wrenching, wonderful story about how, versus all odds, one person can bring about change under the most horrifying conditions. It is 1912' and Emma Malloy is 19, recently orphaned after a tragic fire which killed both of her parents. When she recovers from her own injuries, she faces a life of destitution, and returns to Coal River to Iive with her aunt and uncle. She stayed with then when she was a child, and she has nothing but poor memories of Coal River. When she returns, conditions are even worse than she thought. Coal River is a mining town, and the miners live and work in deplorable conditions, poverty-stricken, starving, and always beholden to the mining company. What really matters to Emma, though, are the children, in particular the breaker boys, boys as young as 6 who work long hours doing extremely risky work. Despite the fact that her uncle is one of the supervisors at the mine, Emma is determined to support the families in any method she can. This sets in motion unfolding happenings that could prove as risky to Emma as it is to the kids she is trying to save. This book pulled at all my heartstrings, and was a fascinating and sometimes disturbing acc of coal mines in the early 1900s. The characters in the book are all complex and interesting. The author does awesome job describing the setting of the story, so much so that you will be able to taste the coal dust in the air. I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coal River []  2020-1-15 21:29

    I really enjoyed this book. I learned so much about this particular time in history and the coal mining industry, for all my love of history, I wasn't prepared for this book. The working conditions of miners angered me, kids in mines really @#$%ed me off and the fact that mine owners could be so greedy as to not care for the safety of their employees was really something that pushed my buttons. I loved this book, I love how it created me research this particular time and learn more about it. As human beings we have never been very kind to one another. Im glad this book taught me a small more about the importance of love and fairness and helping your fellow man regardless of social is is my first book by this author and I look forward to more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coal River []  2020-1-15 21:29

    First off, Ellen Marie Wiseman's What She Left Behind is one of my most favorite books ever. I did not expect Coal River to top that, but it did. This is one absolutely wonderful book , cover to cover , and although it is a true page turner, you must read it word for word and slowly to absorb all of the info and descriptions that Wiseman weaves into the story. Ellen so easily transports the reader to a time and put that most of us have small concept of. She vividly describes the people and the locations so the reader feels that they are actually there. The book is chock full of history, but there is romance and so much mystery too. The book is as frightening as it is fascinating, the story keeps the reader totally captivated. The main hero Emma is young and broken, yet so strong. I loved every single page in this book!! The first pages created me just wish to read more and more, and when I finally got to the latest pages, I was so overwhelmed. The ending did not disappoint!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coal River []  2020-1-15 21:29

    "Coal River" by Ellen Marie WisemanI wanted to give this a 5-star rating, but just couldn't do it. And I might have created the mistake of comparing the quality and enjoyment of this novel to "The Plum Tree", which I really enjoyed e author's stage descriptions were numerous, with vivid mental images. It was sometimes simple to obtain lost in the stage descriptions. But... perhaps too much? Perhaps too long and involved? I often skimmed some of the long descriptive passages, but then sometimes required or wanted to go back and read them. But still,.... Perhaps too much?I don't like to complain too much, but others might wish to know. The ending? For my taste, it was method too long and drawn out. It was okay, but could have been done with less and still been l that said, and even with a 4-star rating, I'm most definitely going to read her next novel without much thought to it. She's a amazing writer and I hope she continues to write such amazing trick

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Miners Need Cool Shoes [App]  2019-8-28 13:39

    Hate the website, Hate the application too!! This application sucks Also, I had to for this crap! You can just go on the crappy www service with crazy people like: WarriorCat87, Dwayne2, Minepaige, PinkVanillaCoke, Ringwormsherm25. And all those other idiots! Nice People: SKINGUY PinkCreeper. Now never this or go on the website!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Miners Need Cool Shoes [App]  2019-8-28 13:39

    Clone tool No clone tool so it's hard to obtain the colors back, can you please fix this?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Miners Need Cool Shoes [App]  2019-8-28 13:39

    Not amazing Payed 1.99 for this, and it doesn't even l e t me my skin! Thanks dude. Thanks alot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    When Miners March []  2020-6-9 18:24

    Bill Blizzard is a hero!. There is no question in my mind. His recall of the happenings of the early 1900ss defines the reality of what culminated in the Blair Mountain War. Perhaps the stain of Constitutional law violations by the Mine owners, and the corporate moguls who tried to rule the coal fields of southern West Virginia was so amazing that the true story never created it to the front pages of the Nation's newspapers. Their could all the "rights" in the world. Bill Blizzard has set the context of the injured parties who were denied their Constitutional rights to freedom of speech, Freedom of Assembly, fair trials, a fair days for work performed, a safe environment to work in and not enslaved by Government to the Mine Operators/Owners. This book is well written and covers aspects not reported in the news, but recorded in the journals of the UMWA.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386