Read cold hand in mine reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all cold hand in mine reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    my case in gov search [broward county civil case search]  2020-9-3 1:23
    [email protected]

    see post miami dade criminal case find brazoria county case find website here her comment is here search more his comment is here kcoj case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best price for lasix in Albuquerque [where to buy lasix in UK online]  2020-9-17 13:34
    [email protected]

    best for lasix in Poland top 5 best locations to lasix in United States where to generic lasix where to lasix in Japan top 9 best locations to lasix in Israel buy lasix online with prescription lasix online pharmacy in Oklahoma cheap lasix in Indianapolis buy lasix in Portland

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Oakland online [how to buy lasix in Puerto Rico]  2020-9-17 7:28
    [email protected]

    lasix online from Seattle buy lasix online from UK how to lasix in Portland lasix from Los Angeles lasix buy lasix online from San Diego where to lasix in Kansas online buy lasix in Sweden lasix online pharmacy in United States

    0  


    Add your opinion on cold hand in mine or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Albuquerque online [best price for lasix in Netherlands]  2020-9-13 17:18
    [email protected]

    cost of lasix lasix online canada lasix in Omaha where to lasix in Austria where to lasix in Detroit where to lasix in Memphis price lasix purchase lasix from Fresh York where to lasix in El Paso

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to purchase lasix in Charlotte [purchase lasix cheap]  2020-9-14 2:9
    [email protected]

    where to lasix in Omaha online can u lasix over the counter top 11 best locations to lasix in Canada cost of lasix for dogs get lasix prescription how to lasix in Omaha cheap lasix in Fresno lasix dosage purchase lasix from Austin

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    how to buy lasix in Chicago [lasix rx in canada]  2020-9-17 5:31
    [email protected]

    who can lasix buying lasix in canada how to lasix in Norway best for lasix in Long Beach where to lasix in Washington how can i lasix best method to search lasix in Czech Republic where is better to lasix cheap lasix in Singapore where to lasix in Fresh Orleans online

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best price for lasix in Portland [best price for lasix in New York]  2020-9-14 1:55
    [email protected]

    where to lasix in Sweden buy lasix in San Francisco where to lasix in Baltimore online lasix 40mg cheap lasix in San Antonio top 7 best locations to lasix in Hungary top 9 best locations to lasix in Netherlands purchase lasix from Saudi Arabia buy lasix online from Washington buy furosemide

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Czech Republic online [how to buy lasix in Italy]  2020-9-13 21:51
    [email protected]

    how to lasix cheap lasix in Hong Kong discount brand name lasix where to lasix in France lasix online india lasix per pill where to lasix in Buffalo where to lasix in Columbus

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    top 7 best places to buy lasix in Finland [buy lasix in Toledo]  2020-9-14 1:27
    [email protected]

    lasix from Omaha lasix how much where to lasix in St Louis lasix online pharmacy in San Jose buy lasix online from El Paso how to lasix lasix online in india

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    lasix online pharmacy in Cleveland [buying lasix without prescription]  2020-9-17 5:15
    [email protected]

    lasix in Greece lasix comparison lasix in Puerto Rico lasix in Germany where to lasix in Japan online how to lasix in Miami cheap lasix in Spain

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best price for lasix in San Diego [where to purchase lasix in Charlotte]  2020-9-13 14:26
    [email protected]

    united healthcare lasix best for lasix in Buffalo where to lasix in Cincinnati online how to lasix in San Diego where to lasix in Sweden where to lasix in Tulsa buy lasix fedex shipping

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Greece [cheap lasix in New York]  2020-9-13 15:58
    [email protected]

    where to lasix in Phoenix online top 8 best locations to lasix in Omaha lasix online pharmacy in Denmark where to lasix in Tucson online best method to search lasix in San Francisco how much does lasix cost where to lasix in Austria best for lasix in Fresh York

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Denver online [best way to find cheap lasix in Long Beach]  2020-9-17 4:36
    [email protected]

    where to lasix in Boston canada lasix generic top 6 best locations to lasix in Los Angeles where to lasix in Toledo buy true lasix where to lasix in Greece online best for lasix in United Kingdom best for lasix in Austin best for lasix in Japan

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best way to find cheap lasix in Tucson [buy lasix online from Japan]  2020-9-13 22:54
    [email protected]

    lasix in Tucson lasix online pharmacy in San Francisco lasix online pharmacy in Kansas buying lasix best method to search lasix in Charlotte top 3 best locations to lasix in Indianapolis best for lasix in Norway

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best way to find cheap lasix in Netherlands [lasix medication]  2020-9-17 6:15
    [email protected]

    how to lasix in Detroit where to lasix online canadian lasix online lasix online from Canada cheap lasix 100 canada lasix online pharmacy in Seattle lasix by mail

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Cold Blood []  2019-12-24 20:52

    One of the most significant non-fiction writings of the mid-1960s that still holds an honored put today in American letters. In late 1959 the entire Herbert Clutter family of rural Kansas -- Mr. and Mrs. Clutter and their two youngest kids Nancy and Kenyon -- were slaughtered for no particular reason except that the two drifters who sought them out had received poor tip about the alleged riches Mr. Clutter kept in his office safe, but didn't. What might have been merely a downcast saga of the "outs" tangling with the "ins" becomes an amazingly gripping story in author Truman Capote's virtuoso writing, that took years to research, write and edit. In my opinion only purists quibble over whether this book should be classed as non-fiction or fiction; it IS non-fiction, but because some of Capote's narrative techniques were fresh at the time, IN COLD BLOOD ever since then has straddled "best-of" lists to its overall detriment. Ignore that chatter and read this masterpiece for what it te: Capote's research assistant out in rural Kansas was none other than (Nelle) Harper Lee, who wrote TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Cold Blood []  2019-12-24 20:52

    Everyone knows this book. It was the first of a genre and according to a lot of created Truman Capote a household name but also destroyed him. I cannot comment on either of those problems since I never knew Mr Capote personally and while I was around when the book was written and published I was too young to know about his celebrity at the time. But the book is well written and opens a door into a time period very various from the one we live in today. The book conveys the time period to us and the hero of these men and to a certain extent their victims. It shows the essential humanity of criminals involved here. One can only winder if perhaps things had been slightly various in terms of their lives, they might have never embarked on their lives of criminality. Not to mention one can ponder the context of the crime and had the quirks in these two men's characters had been slightly various the horrendous happenings which occurred that night may well not have occurred. The enormous waste of the life both of the victims but also two men who could have been quite various than the cold bloodied criminals they became.I have always been opposed to the death penalty for the easy reason I believe it is immoral but I can see how the participants here were condemned by the jury and how no one felt the slightest unease in hanging them. Having been an attorney for over 30 years I am also horrified by the depictions of the and the actions taken by the judge, district attorney and defense attorneys here in the conduct of the trial. While there is small doubt as to their guilt, they did not keep a fair which our Constitution provides to all even the most heinous of criminals. That justice as well was a victim of this crime is is book is not dated and well worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    KARECEL Hand Warmers Rechargeable, USB Hand Warmer Reusable 5200mAh Powerbank Portable Heater Battery Hot Pocket Warmer Electric Handwarmers, Great Gifts for Men and Women in Cold Wether Winter []  2020-1-5 19:9

    I was recently diagnosed itn Raynauld's syndrome and my fingers obtain cold easily, even inside. They then turn white and I need to warm them up. I was using warm water to test to warm them up, but that didn't work fast enough, and wearing gloves inside was not always practical. I had found another device and ordered it. It seems to do a amazing job but took forever to charge and the charge didn't latest very long. Found this gem and I have to say I want I had found it sooner. Doesn't take that long to charge, holds the charge for a lot of uses, and really heats up. I hear it to the hottest setting then turn it down once my fingers begin to warm up and regain their color. Then I use it on either the lowest or middle setting to hold my fingers warm . It has really been a life saver. I highly recommend this gem! In fact I may another so I can have one for each hand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    KARECEL Hand Warmers Rechargeable, USB Hand Warmer Reusable 5200mAh Powerbank Portable Heater Battery Hot Pocket Warmer Electric Handwarmers, Great Gifts for Men and Women in Cold Wether Winter []  2020-1-5 19:9

    Works very well and latest for a lot of hrs. I believe that they latest for around 10 or so hrs on medium. My wife bought me and my son one for Christmas. I have never used a hand warmer of any kind but in the duck blind I would place this in my fleece neck gator at my neck and helps greatly on those 20 degree days with the wind blowing. As a hunter, if I can hold my neck warm then it seems to create my upper body warm.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    KARECEL Hand Warmers Rechargeable, USB Hand Warmer Reusable 5200mAh Powerbank Portable Heater Battery Hot Pocket Warmer Electric Handwarmers, Great Gifts for Men and Women in Cold Wether Winter []  2020-1-5 19:9

    Years ago as a paperboy in northern Ohio I used a lighter fuel handwarmer when I delivered the morning newspaper on cold days. The handwarmer worked well but it was messy, a pain to refill, and the lighter fluid would occasionally irritate my leg if the handwarmer leaked. Once started, the handwarmer would heat until it ran out of fluid. The Karecel handwarmer is slightly smaller than the old lighter fluid handwarmer, about 3x2x1 inch. It has three heat settings and feels like the old handwarmer. When I am finished I can just shut it off. It looks attractive. Create certain you charge it properly the first time or you could be disappointed. The Karecel handwarmer comes with a felt bag to avoid direct contact with the handwarmer. I have not used the Karecel handwarmer as an electronic charger. I don't know how well that works. I am very happy and recommend the Karecel handwarmer at this point. I have used it about three times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Cold Blood []  2019-12-24 20:52

    After watching "Capote" I finally read In Cold Blood, Capote's masterwork. The story of a sudden and unexplainable multiple murder in a little city in the midwest, and the detective work and judicial workings that brought the assassins to justice was like an auto-accident where one cannot look away. I was enthralled from the beginning. Capote's poetic turn of phrase, his both cutting and tender reflections on the people who were pulled into this tragedy were simply mesmerizing. His own childhood and woundings become the structure through which he strives to understand the killer's motivations. I am glad I saw the film first, with Phillip Seymour Hoffman's stellar performance, as it imbued the reading of the book with a sense of omniscience that offered even more depth. Capote's revolutionary techniques of making a story of the non-fiction events were implemented seamlessly. From beginning to end, I remained fascinated and appalled at the workings of the heart and minds of the killers, and the community that was so deeply impacted by the murders.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold Day in Hell []  2020-7-18 19:42

    First off, the disclaimer: Otis Rush is my main man. A huge blues fan, I place Otis's playing and voice up at the top of my list along with a select few: Muddy, Buddy, Albert and Freddie King. As noted everywhere, his recorded output can be uneven, but I really like this set. Along with the Otis standard "All Your Love" (made popular when Clapton did it while he was with the Bluesbreakers) there's some hot licks on You're Breaking My Heart, Society Woman, and Part Time Love. If you wish to check out Otis Rush, this would be a amazing put to start!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    KARECEL Hand Warmers Rechargeable, USB Hand Warmer Reusable 5200mAh Powerbank Portable Heater Battery Hot Pocket Warmer Electric Handwarmers, Great Gifts for Men and Women in Cold Wether Winter []  2020-1-5 19:9

    This is an absolute life saver!!! I have season tickets for my local NHL squad and it gets so cold in the arena but I really don’t like to wear gloves so I figured I would give this a test and it’s amazing!!!! I can warm my hands and charge my phone. It’s absolutely perfect. It’s a amazing size and light weight. This would also be amazing to take when camping or hiking at this time of year! I may have to a couple more of these for gifts! Thanks so much!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    KARECEL Hand Warmers Rechargeable, USB Hand Warmer Reusable 5200mAh Powerbank Portable Heater Battery Hot Pocket Warmer Electric Handwarmers, Great Gifts for Men and Women in Cold Wether Winter []  2020-1-5 19:9

    I've been wanting one for a few years and finally got this one! This small bigger gets HOT! It's amazing! Even on low setting, it is so toasty! Has helped with my Raynauds so much!I've only charged it once, and have used it intermittently all week at work. It uses a C type charging cable (comes with one, plus an adapter for c type to USB for reverse charging you phone)The only this I don't like (the reason for 4 instead of 5 stars) is how massive it is, which limits my use of it. I can't carry it in my smock without feeling like a have a rock in my pocket (this is the only one I've had, so I can't compare if it is heavier/lighter than other hand warmers).Overall, BUY IT!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    KARECEL Hand Warmers Rechargeable, USB Hand Warmer Reusable 5200mAh Powerbank Portable Heater Battery Hot Pocket Warmer Electric Handwarmers, Great Gifts for Men and Women in Cold Wether Winter []  2020-1-5 19:9

    I been using this for 2 weeks now. I work in the cable industry and it has been cold. This thing has kept my hands warm very well. It will latest 2 days with massive use warming your hands. It is amazing for about one and a half full charge on a phone. The adapter to connect USB to charge a phone is well made. I will definitely be getting more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    KARECEL Hand Warmers Rechargeable, USB Hand Warmer Reusable 5200mAh Powerbank Portable Heater Battery Hot Pocket Warmer Electric Handwarmers, Great Gifts for Men and Women in Cold Wether Winter []  2020-1-5 19:9

    BACKGROUND INFO: I charged this product as soon as I received it to use the next day. I was using it the very next morning and there was a brief moment where it just turned itself off. After about 8 seconds, it turned itself back on. Slightly worried, I messaged KareCel about safety concerns, and they responded within 12 hours assuring me that everything was fine and they sent me another one without me asking completely of charge! I've been using this hand warmer for two weeks now, and that initial shut-off glitch hasn't occurred ever TTERY: The battery life is alright; I'm estimating around just a small above 2 hours over multiple days throughout the week. I [email protected]#$%! lasted longer. I guess generating heat beautiful quickly takes a lot of energy if you think about it. It takes over 3 hours to charge. I tried to watch it while I'm charging it at night to see when the charging indicators are all full, but I obtain home beautiful late and go to sleep fairly early. The manual states that the 3 lights indicate the battery life in 33% segments (1 light = 1-33%, 2 lights = 34-66%, 3 lights = 67-100%), but it usually drops to 2 lights after the first 10 mins of use. The indicator isn't really reliable, but at least you'll know you'll have to charge it soon when it sits at 1 light for a while.HEAT: I've read other reviews that say this product gets really hot, but I think it's all relative. I will say that it produces a sufficient amount of heat that doesn't damage but completely warms my hand. I alternative hands in about 10-second splits, and they're completely warm before 15 minutes. There are also 3 levels of heat; the heat indicator is red (unlike the blue light I failed to mention above) and stays lit while it's on. I honestly can't feel the difference between the heat levels; when your hands obtain warm, it's beautiful difficult to tell the difference between the various settings. However, I assume more energy is being used at the highest heat level. That being said, my big-brain tactic is to begin at the highest heat level for min 1, drop it to the middle heat level for mins 2-3, and switch to the lowest heat level for the remainder of the time! Regarding how long it takes to heat up, you can begin feeling it after about 15-30 seconds depending on the ambient STHETICS/FEEL: Honestly, the product looks beautiful cool. I ordered the black one, but it appears that all of them come with the light-blue-colored, felt-material carrying case. The texture is as expected; the heated part feels like a grip-y silicon, and the white part is just smooth plastic. The weight of the product makes it feel like a high-quality GGESTIONS: It'd be amazing if the battery life indicator was actually proportional in size, but it's not really a deal-breaker. My second suggestion is probably asking for a bit much, but a mechanism that stops the product from charging would be nice when it hits full charge. Of course, having that feature implemented would probably push the cost up. My final suggestion would be to have the case color match the product color. XDCONCLUSION: The product itself met my expectations for the most part; it keeps my hands warm. (I've used it in temperatures ranging from 37-55 °F so far.) I docked a star off just for the overall characteristics of the battery that I mentioned above. The customer service far exceeded my expectations. While their English wasn't perfect, the response time and quality of the response was phenomenal. The first response was within 9 hours, the next response within 6, and the successive responses after that were within minutes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Cold Blood []  2019-12-24 20:52

    I was a small worried about picking up this book- concerned that it would be lurid and create celebrities out of the killers. But I was surprised and immediately swept away- the writing is precise, clear, and lyrical. It rings like a bell calling you back for more. The depth of analysis, the sheer amount of work that went into this is stunning. And it is never lurid, never written to copy. The characters are richly drawn and fully realized. And it is the Clutter family that I remember most now that I've shut the book. As it should be. A secondary tragedy is that we don't see more of this type of reporting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Cold Blood []  2019-12-24 20:52

    I am more of a consumer than producer. However, even I know of Mr. Capote's work and reputation, though living in the Czech Republic my choice of reading matter pre-Kindle was more limited. I was therefore surprised at the depth and skill of his really feels that every strange , even good, aspect of -not only the two main figures, but those around them- is relevant and explained, so that the whole acquires a coherence and completeness never found in a work of fiction.I read mainly fiction but have now tried a fresh direction-non-fiction-and in my humble opinion its more interesting for being so as a picture of 1950's rural America the detail was as fine as that found in your ultra realistic painters' works, if a tad less uplifting!I shall be back for more, once I have finished my current read. I hope -as a criminal lawyer for 30 odd years, that books like this not only present the danger from criminals who are so because of the hurt they have sustained often at the hands of those who should love and care for them, but also how such behaviour MUST change as a effect of such England just now the behaviour of a lot of who were rich and popular is only a lot of years later coming into the public domain. Hopefully such revelations will at least encourage more "whistleblowers".Skeletons do not improve by being swept into cupboards! Sixty years have gone by since the vents described so graphically occurred bit the notice underlying same is still real today. "Your poor actions may make a creature which the State may kill." Is this what you wish for your child?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    KARECEL Hand Warmers Rechargeable, USB Hand Warmer Reusable 5200mAh Powerbank Portable Heater Battery Hot Pocket Warmer Electric Handwarmers, Great Gifts for Men and Women in Cold Wether Winter []  2020-1-5 19:9

    For photographers and everyone who spends time outside in below freezing weather—This small hand warmer (about the size of an old flip phone) was a unbelievable find. It lets me flip the fingers of my gloves off to adjust my camera and take images on the coldest winter days but then bring their temperature back up quickly. The handwarmer heats up quickly and can be adjusted from lukewarm to almost too hot. No pain from being too cold for too long when you hold these in your pocket. Plus it recharges quickly so is actually much less expensive than the one-use packets. I haven’t used it yet as a power bank—an added plus!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    KARECEL Hand Warmers Rechargeable, USB Hand Warmer Reusable 5200mAh Powerbank Portable Heater Battery Hot Pocket Warmer Electric Handwarmers, Great Gifts for Men and Women in Cold Wether Winter []  2020-1-5 19:9

    I originally bought this to use while ice fishing, but my wife got a keep of it and stole it to use on sore muscles so I had to a second one for myself. It heats up really fast, which is amazing because I expected it to take a while to warm up. Much better than I expected. The charge latest quite a bit longer than I expected as well. Will be amazing once winter kicks in and I can obtain out on the ice with it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    KARECEL Hand Warmers Rechargeable, USB Hand Warmer Reusable 5200mAh Powerbank Portable Heater Battery Hot Pocket Warmer Electric Handwarmers, Great Gifts for Men and Women in Cold Wether Winter []  2020-1-5 19:9

    So far, this works surprisingly well!!! I've used it on & off EVERY day since i got it. This is cheaper, easier, more convenient for everyday office, home or dog walking than HotHands (or similar), Zippo or other usb types I've tried. I like that it can be turned on or off as required whereas the others cannot. For an outdoorsman it may not work as well since you would need a power source for recharging. I've only used it on the lowest setting. My guess would be that it's lasting,ohhhh, maybe 4-7 hours on a charge. I ordered a second one for my senior Mom. Enjoy, & stay warm. :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Cold Blood []  2019-12-24 20:52

    I liked it at the start, but then it became something of a slog. The section about the Clutters themselves I found most interesting, but they were, of course, gone by the end of the first part. Also, there seemed to be quite a bit of incessant redundancy of facts, as though Capote had forgotten that he had added these facts earlier and just entered them again, and then never went back to see that he was repeating himself. Overall, it was a amazing book, but not as amazing as I hoped.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Cold Blood []  2019-12-24 20:52

    I've read several crime stories, private accounts with serial killers, etc. However, this was something that honestly bored me. This has been recommended to me so a lot of times over the years and unfortunately, I to test and read it. I should have just checked it out of the library. Over descriptive and slow, this book does a amazing job of recounting the events, but not much else.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold Day in Hell []  2020-7-18 19:42

    As a guitarist this is just another addition to my melody collection and truly enjoyable and inspirational.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Cold Blood []  2019-12-24 20:52

    In Truman Capote’s In Cold Blood, Capote wove a tale of deception and brutal killing. The author based his story off of the real-life murders of the Clutter family in 1959. The actual Clutters were slaughtered during a robbery gone wrong, which is also portrayed in the novel. The murderers, Richard Hickock and Perry Smith, spent five years on death row until they were hanged as punishment. Capote effectively transformed a horrific robbery/murder to a page-turning novel. The author managed to captivate his audience by shifting point of views from the victims to the murderers. Not only does he accomplish this well, he also incorporates stylistic elements to create the murders appear more like a plot rather than an actual pote shifts perspective from murderers to the murdered which allows him to convert this true life happening to a story plotline. As the reader, we see the murder occur from both perspectives which almost allows us to be separate from the happening since it leads to a weaker emotional connection to the story when reading. However, when the reader takes a moment to recall that this actually occurred, it opens a box of emotions. Capote wrote the plot so effectively, we automatically assume it is a work of fiction and forget the harsh pote’s well researched insight on the story lends the perspectives of both the Clutter family members and the murders, Perry and Richard, to communicate a clear plotline. He does well to tie up loose ends that may have resulted from the limited availability of knowledge about the murders-which may be the reason why this story seems so fictional. Blurred omniscience lets Capote lead the reader through the rollercoaster of both emotions and action, each page becoming another layer to the overall suspense. The book does justice not only to the victims but the murders as well. Instead of painting Perry and Richard as complete antagonists, capable of only crime , Capote add layers to their personality by explaining the background of each man. The heart wrenching pasts of the duo humanized them, creating an extra element of tension during the brutal slaying of the Clutter family.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Cold Blood []  2019-12-24 20:52

    I wondered how well this would keep up after having read it a lot of years ago. Fictionalized real crime stories are common now but not when this was published so I wondered if it's impact on me back then was because it had substance or because it was, at the time, new. It holds up more than well. There is grandeur in the storytelling, and a sweep of narrative that is hard to describe, epic in the method it info the arc of their lives. Really a unbelievable book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Cold Blood []  2019-12-24 20:52

    “The crime was a psychological accident, virtually an impersonal act, the victims might as well have been killed by lightning. Except for one thing: they had experienced prolonged terror, they had suffered.”In Cold Blood by Truman Capote had me captured from the first page. From what I have read about this book, it seems that this may be more based on a real story than complete real crime novel, but the writing was so enthralling and the case so interesting that I would still consider this a must read for fellow real crime readers. The method Capote delved into the psychological aspects of the crime, the investigation, and the criminals themselves was my favorite aspect of the novel. I was particularly interested in the perspectives of psychology in the criminal justice system at that time. A lot of which I was very unfamiliar with. This is not a book I will soon forget and I give it 4.5 stars and highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold Day in Hell []  2020-7-18 19:42

    Otis rush is equally as strong as Albert King and Buddy Guy to name a could of massive weights. This man has the power to blow the roof off your house. Very amazing music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold Day in Hell []  2020-7-18 19:42

    This was one of the first concerts I attended. Blew me away. Amazing stuff!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold Day in the Sun []  2020-1-14 19:37

    I loved everything about this book!!! The romance is oh-so swoony and heart-stingingly sweet! The characters are wonderful. I just finished reading, and I already miss them! I adored the setting! And there were some unbelievable and necessary messages about feminism and the inequality women face in sports. Officially my favorite book of 2019 so far!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold Day in the Sun []  2020-1-14 19:37

    Amazing YA romance. Written well and right amount of angst.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Cold Blood (Vintage International) []  2020-1-17 20:44

    I was a small worried about picking up this book- concerned that it would be lurid and create celebrities out of the killers. But I was surprised and immediately swept away- the writing is precise, clear, and lyrical. It rings like a bell calling you back for more. The depth of analysis, the sheer amount of work that went into this is stunning. And it is never lurid, never written to copy. The characters are richly drawn and fully realized. And it is the Clutter family that I remember most now that I've shut the book. As it should be. A secondary tragedy is that we don't see more of this type of reporting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Cold Blood (Vintage International) []  2020-1-17 20:44

    “The crime was a psychological accident, virtually an impersonal act, the victims might as well have been killed by lightning. Except for one thing: they had experienced prolonged terror, they had suffered.”In Cold Blood by Truman Capote had me captured from the first page. From what I have read about this book, it seems that this may be more based on a real story than complete real crime novel, but the writing was so enthralling and the case so interesting that I would still consider this a must read for fellow real crime readers. The method Capote delved into the psychological aspects of the crime, the investigation, and the criminals themselves was my favorite aspect of the novel. I was particularly interested in the perspectives of psychology in the criminal justice system at that time. A lot of which I was very unfamiliar with. This is not a book I will soon forget and I give it 4.5 stars and highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Cold Blood (Vintage International) []  2020-1-17 20:44

    In Truman Capote’s In Cold Blood, Capote wove a tale of deception and brutal killing. The author based his story off of the real-life murders of the Clutter family in 1959. The actual Clutters were slaughtered during a robbery gone wrong, which is also portrayed in the novel. The murderers, Richard Hickock and Perry Smith, spent five years on death row until they were hanged as punishment. Capote effectively transformed a horrific robbery/murder to a page-turning novel. The author managed to captivate his audience by shifting point of views from the victims to the murderers. Not only does he accomplish this well, he also incorporates stylistic elements to create the murders appear more like a plot rather than an actual pote shifts perspective from murderers to the murdered which allows him to convert this true life happening to a story plotline. As the reader, we see the murder occur from both perspectives which almost allows us to be separate from the happening since it leads to a weaker emotional connection to the story when reading. However, when the reader takes a moment to recall that this actually occurred, it opens a box of emotions. Capote wrote the plot so effectively, we automatically assume it is a work of fiction and forget the harsh pote’s well researched insight on the story lends the perspectives of both the Clutter family members and the murders, Perry and Richard, to communicate a clear plotline. He does well to tie up loose ends that may have resulted from the limited availability of knowledge about the murders-which may be the reason why this story seems so fictional. Blurred omniscience lets Capote lead the reader through the rollercoaster of both emotions and action, each page becoming another layer to the overall suspense. The book does justice not only to the victims but the murders as well. Instead of painting Perry and Richard as complete antagonists, capable of only crime , Capote add layers to their personality by explaining the background of each man. The heart wrenching pasts of the duo humanized them, creating an extra element of tension during the brutal slaying of the Clutter family.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Cold Blood (Vintage International) []  2020-1-17 20:44

    I liked it at the start, but then it became something of a slog. The section about the Clutters themselves I found most interesting, but they were, of course, gone by the end of the first part. Also, there seemed to be quite a bit of incessant redundancy of facts, as though Capote had forgotten that he had added these facts earlier and just entered them again, and then never went back to see that he was repeating himself. Overall, it was a amazing book, but not as amazing as I hoped.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Cold Blood (Vintage International) []  2020-1-17 20:44

    Everyone knows this book. It was the first of a genre and according to a lot of created Truman Capote a household name but also destroyed him. I cannot comment on either of those problems since I never knew Mr Capote personally and while I was around when the book was written and published I was too young to know about his celebrity at the time. But the book is well written and opens a door into a time period very various from the one we live in today. The book conveys the time period to us and the hero of these men and to a certain extent their victims. It shows the essential humanity of criminals involved here. One can only winder if perhaps things had been slightly various in terms of their lives, they might have never embarked on their lives of criminality. Not to mention one can ponder the context of the crime and had the quirks in these two men's characters had been slightly various the horrendous happenings which occurred that night may well not have occurred. The enormous waste of the life both of the victims but also two men who could have been quite various than the cold bloodied criminals they became.I have always been opposed to the death penalty for the easy reason I believe it is immoral but I can see how the participants here were condemned by the jury and how no one felt the slightest unease in hanging them. Having been an attorney for over 30 years I am also horrified by the depictions of the and the actions taken by the judge, district attorney and defense attorneys here in the conduct of the trial. While there is small doubt as to their guilt, they did not keep a fair which our Constitution provides to all even the most heinous of criminals. That justice as well was a victim of this crime is is book is not dated and well worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Cold Blood (Vintage International) []  2020-1-17 20:44

    After watching "Capote" I finally read In Cold Blood, Capote's masterwork. The story of a sudden and unexplainable multiple murder in a little city in the midwest, and the detective work and judicial workings that brought the assassins to justice was like an auto-accident where one cannot look away. I was enthralled from the beginning. Capote's poetic turn of phrase, his both cutting and tender reflections on the people who were pulled into this tragedy were simply mesmerizing. His own childhood and woundings become the structure through which he strives to understand the killer's motivations. I am glad I saw the film first, with Phillip Seymour Hoffman's stellar performance, as it imbued the reading of the book with a sense of omniscience that offered even more depth. Capote's revolutionary techniques of making a story of the non-fiction events were implemented seamlessly. From beginning to end, I remained fascinated and appalled at the workings of the heart and minds of the killers, and the community that was so deeply impacted by the murders.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold Day in the Sun []  2020-1-14 19:37

    Ths is the 2nd book by this author and I absolutely loved it! Although I didn't play hockey, I grew up in Minnesota in a hockey town. This story encompasses the love of the android game and the first love in high school. You will be pulled into the story and search yourself rooting for the main character. A light read to take you away.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold Day in the Sun []  2020-1-14 19:37

    Holland Delviss (hockey nickname, Dutch) is a tremendously talented, 16-year-old hockey player who lives in the fictional little city of Halcyon Lake, Minnesota. During her freshman year, she was the only girl on the boys’ junior varsity team, and she has remained the only girl on the boys’ varsity squad since her sophomore year. When she reached puberty, rather than transferring to the girls’ hockey squad as all the other girl players did, she opted to stay on the boys’ team. She didn’t wish to lose her close connection to her longtime male teammates, especially her beloved brothers.Holland’s entire family is hockey mad. She and her brothers all started playing hockey when they were only three, and they joined their first squad at age five. Holland’s brother, Hunter, is an 18-year-old freshman who’s on the men’s hockey squad at a nearby university. Her brother, Carter, is 17 and the co-captain of their high school’s varsity hockey team. Her younger brother, Jesse, is 14 and is destined to ascend to the varsity hockey squad by his sophomore year, as his siblings all did before him. Holland’s mother is a highly successful meal blogger with a unique angle—how to feed growing, hungry hockey players. But the most significant contributor to the Delviss family hockey mania is Holland’s dad. He played on a state championship hockey squad at their local high school in his teens, and he has continued to play informally as an adult. He is thrilled that all four of his children love the android game as much he does, and he has supported their hockey dreams to such an extreme degree that he has provided them with a state-of-the-art ice rink in the basement of the huge farmhouse in the countryside where they addition to her passion for hockey, inspired by her mother’s blogging success, Holland has made her own blog, which she treats like an online diary to record her thoughts about music. Her dream career is to be the founder and managing editor of a melody magazine, and her plan to achieve that goal is to be accepted into the journalism program at Hartley University in Duluth, financed by a full-ride scholarship playing on their outstanding women’s hockey team.Wes Millard (hockey nickname, Hot Sauce) is a gifted hockey player who transferred to Halcyon Lake from a school with a state-championship team. He is popular in Minnesota hockey circles for scoring the game-winning overtime goal that took his squad to the championship tourney when he was only a sophomore, and no one will be surprised if he is drafted onto an NHL squad the instant he graduates from high school. Holland encountered Wes for the first time the week before school began her sophomore year and his junior year, right after he moved to her town, and just before she officially joined the varsity team. It was not a promising meeting. Wes condescendingly remarked to her, “Don’t think anyone is going to give you a pass because you’re a girl. You have to earn it.” Such blatant provocation from an interloper on her squad justifiably incensed Holland, and she fired right back at him, giving as amazing as she got. The following year, Wes set a school record for goals scored in one season, was appointed co-captain for this current school year with her brother Carter, and as far as Holland is concerned, has had it in for her from the first. He’s never had a amazing word to say to her on the ice, and has constantly criticized her android game for well over a year.A major break for Holland’s squad occurs when it is selected to participate in HockeyFest (an actual, real-world event). Minnesota is famously known as the State of Hockey, and HockeyFest is a highly anticipated, annual affair which attracts college scouts from around the country, and sometimes NHL scouts as well. Holland makes an impressive showing during an interview with a sports reporter, and hers and multiple other interviews from the hockey squads of numerous contestant towns are televised all over the state via a Twin Cities news station. Five winning cities are determined, reality-TV-show style, by votes tallied from sports fans who view the interviews. It is apparent to everyone in Halcyon Lake, when their city is voted by a huge margin as one of the victorious cities in the competition, that this awesome feat is almost entirely due to their having “that girl player,” Holland, on their ough it’s a huge honor, Holland is feeling a bit overwhelmed by the HockeyFest spotlight glaring down on her when, out of the blue, Wes Millard, of all people, begins acting like a concerned mate instead of her main adversary. It’s a pleasant change of pace, but Holland can’t support being confused, and more than a small distrustful, of his motives. Why has this guy, who has always been harshly judgmental of her, suddenly turned into Mr. Nice?I am a large fan of YA sports romances in which the heroine is an elite athlete, and this is one of the better ones I’ve read so far. It is told entirely from Holland’s point of view (POV), which is not ideal for a romance novel, in my private opinion, because we only obtain to know Wes through Holland’s perceptions and, due to her longstanding resentment of him, she is a bit of an “unreliable narrator.” However, first-person POV is definitely a commonly accepted convention in YA, and it does provide an element of romantic conflict to the story, since Holland can’t read Wes’s mind and always assumes the worst of him. Fortunately, this author is skilled enough that she enables readers to come to know Wes over the course of the story almost as well as we understand Holland, by the same means, directly demonstrating their skill and dedication as elite athletes in the book’s hockey-action scenes, and presenting onstage their affectionate interactions with their friends, families, and teammates. As a result, we are left in no doubt that both Holland and Wes are intelligent, talented, hard-working, honorable, and loyal and loving to their mates and family. They are, in fact, some of the most endearing romantic protagonists I’ve encountered, to date, in a YA is book an perfect balance between the two main plots: First, Holland’s experiences as a skilled, female hockey player who is a vital member of her hockey squad and, second, her budding romantic relationship with Wes, which is very well done. Though I cannot claim to be an informed fan of hockey, the hockey scenes in this book feel quite authentic. Most importantly, they are fun, fast-paced, opportunities to vicariously experience from Holland’s perspective what it’s like to be a brilliant, female hockey ough there is plenty of sensual chemistry between Holland and Wes, their relationship doesn’t venture into actual sex, only kissing and some light “make-out” sessions. There is one stage of underage drinking, a bit of salty language, and some sensitive scenes about sexual-harassment type of bullying that Holland receives from a cruel player on an opposing hockey team. All of that together makes this book right on the cusp of G-rated and garding the bullying, I commend this author for making it obvious in her portrayal of bullying that it is a reprehensible act that is never acceptable—even in a hardscrabble, contact sport like hockey. In addition, the book sets an ideal example for how authority figures and peers should treat victims of bullying. Holland receives exemplary, nurturing care in dealing with her post-bullying trauma from her girlfriends, her parents, her coach, the boys on her team, and one of her teachers who used to play hockey at a level of skill related to Holland in high school and college, who had experienced bullying herself.I rate this book as follows:Heroine: 5 starsRomantic Hero: 5 starsSubcharacters: 5 starsRomance Plot: 5 starsHockey Plot: 5 starsSetting: 5 starsWriting: 5 starsOverall: 5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold Day in the Sun []  2020-1-14 19:37

    This girl-on-the-boy’s-hockey-team story is anything but fluffy. There’s a romance that’s 🔥🔥🔥, and it gets you right in the gut. I read this book in less than a day that’s how much it hooked me. Oh, and there’s an unabashed love for rock, so 🤘

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Cold Blood (Vintage International) []  2020-1-17 20:44

    One of the most significant non-fiction writings of the mid-1960s that still holds an honored put today in American letters. In late 1959 the entire Herbert Clutter family of rural Kansas -- Mr. and Mrs. Clutter and their two youngest kids Nancy and Kenyon -- were slaughtered for no particular reason except that the two drifters who sought them out had received poor tip about the alleged riches Mr. Clutter kept in his office safe, but didn't. What might have been merely a downcast saga of the "outs" tangling with the "ins" becomes an amazingly gripping story in author Truman Capote's virtuoso writing, that took years to research, write and edit. In my opinion only purists quibble over whether this book should be classed as non-fiction or fiction; it IS non-fiction, but because some of Capote's narrative techniques were fresh at the time, IN COLD BLOOD ever since then has straddled "best-of" lists to its overall detriment. Ignore that chatter and read this masterpiece for what it te: Capote's research assistant out in rural Kansas was none other than (Nelle) Harper Lee, who wrote TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Cold Blood (Vintage International) []  2020-1-17 20:44

    I am more of a consumer than producer. However, even I know of Mr. Capote's work and reputation, though living in the Czech Republic my choice of reading matter pre-Kindle was more limited. I was therefore surprised at the depth and skill of his really feels that every strange , even good, aspect of -not only the two main figures, but those around them- is relevant and explained, so that the whole acquires a coherence and completeness never found in a work of fiction.I read mainly fiction but have now tried a fresh direction-non-fiction-and in my humble opinion its more interesting for being so as a picture of 1950's rural America the detail was as fine as that found in your ultra realistic painters' works, if a tad less uplifting!I shall be back for more, once I have finished my current read. I hope -as a criminal lawyer for 30 odd years, that books like this not only present the danger from criminals who are so because of the hurt they have sustained often at the hands of those who should love and care for them, but also how such behaviour MUST change as a effect of such England just now the behaviour of a lot of who were rich and popular is only a lot of years later coming into the public domain. Hopefully such revelations will at least encourage more "whistleblowers".Skeletons do not improve by being swept into cupboards! Sixty years have gone by since the vents described so graphically occurred bit the notice underlying same is still real today. "Your poor actions may make a creature which the State may kill." Is this what you wish for your child?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MINE [App]  2019-11-12 21:50

    This android game is addictive! Also really fun to play with mates

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mine []  2019-12-31 18:47

    I liked the complexity of the characters. Hunter emanated how love is an action word. He showed how love can heal the broken. It was a amazing story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mine []  2019-12-31 18:47

    A amazing setup story, nice storyline to hold you engaged and guessing. Read it in a day. Teared a small at end because of this broken boy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mine []  2019-12-31 18:47

    Hunter and Zola's love was unlike any that I've ever considered before. She comforted him through his youth, and continued to do so as an adult. Baptiste's story is unlike any that I've ever read. I cannot imagine the depths of his despair. His faith in being reunited with Nakita was unshakable, which is admirable in an over-the-top kind of way. And BTW, we need more Mrs. Ellens in the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mine []  2019-12-31 18:47

    Hunter and Zola had amazing chemistry. It was nice that they finally addressed their feelings for each other. While it was simple to figure out the stalker, the story was still nter's constant worry over what the family would think was getting repetitive.While this wasn't my favorite book by this author, it was a nice e side characters were interesting. I want the story was a bit longer and had an epilogue.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mine []  2019-12-31 18:47

    This was a fun and suspenseful read. I could barely place this book down. Hunter and Zola are now one of my all time favorite couples.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MINE [App]  2019-11-12 21:50

    At first it looks beautiful bad. However the more you play the harder it is to place down! I'm still fresh and cant beat the harder levels of single player. It's super fun to play with mates too!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold Day in the Sun []  2020-1-14 19:37

    I adored Sara's debut, THE LAST THING YOU SAID, and I ~hoped~ her follow-up, COLD DAY IN THE SUN, would be equally fantastic. Wow, was it ever. I absolutely adored this YA hockey novel full of awesome melody references, yummy meal mentions, and steamy kisses. It puts its own spin on two of my favorite tropes (hate-to-love and secret romance) and its ending is incredibly satisfying, but open-ended enough to feel realistic. Holland is an awesome protagonist--a hockey [email protected]#$% with a passion for the Foo Fighters, blogging, and her family. Love interest and hockey squad captain Wes is super sweet, but also he swears all the time and accepts nothing but the best from the players on his team, including Holland. COLD DAY IN THE SUN was nearly impossible to place down; I think fans of YA romance will LOVE this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold Day in the Sun []  2020-1-14 19:37

    I basically gobbled this book up then promptly went online and ordered Sara Biren's other book!I love feel-good, cheesy, cute romances that also have a powerful notice behind them and a super cool, feisty heroine to boot!Holland is the only girl on an all-boys hockey team, and she's good. True good. She's earned her spot, and knows she's indispensable as a player on the team. That, however, has not stopped people from judging her, and her coach and the squad for allowing a girl to take a "boy's" spot on the team, that a boy is more deserving of her spot, that having a female on the squad is distracting to the other players and so on and so forth. She grew up having to prove herself constantly, which gave her a really tough exterior and reputation amongst her family and friends, especially as everyone was waiting for her to slip at 'slip up' comes in the form of a really cute, decent, smart and supportive fresh captain. Wes, a fresh transfer and captain of the squad does not chop Holland any slack. He gave her a nickname just like every other guy on the team, Dutch, and he is tough on her. He calls her out when she makes mistakes, [email protected]#$%!& her, tells her off, and is beautiful much the worst person ever as far as Holland is concerned. She cannot stand him. And yet...And yet...And yet...off the ice, Wes can't hold his eyes off her. He gives her method too much attention and is always trying to strike up a conversation with her. Holland, being paranoid and protective, keeps taking it the wrong way. She gets defensive and rude and wants nothing to do with him. And yet...And yet...And yet...she can't seem to stay away. But she can't be with the captain of the team! What will people say? They will judge her, she would prove them all right, and then her reputation will be in tatters.I loved the chemistry between those two characters. I loved the help Holland had from her family and her brothers and her friends. I loved how the squad stood together and were there for her through it all. I loved how supportive Wes was, how understanding and considerate. He was a really amazing captain, but also a amazing friend.I loved Holland, I loved her fierce hero and it @#$%ed me off that she was place in this position where she constantly had to prove herself, doubt herself, and live up to unreasonable ch a great, well-rounded book, that ticked beautiful much everything a YA romance needs to have.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold Day in the Sun []  2020-1-14 19:37

    One of the sweetest most realistic opponents to romance books I've read in a long, long time. Also, one of the best stories of how tough it is to navigate feminism and opportunity as a young (or even older) woman and coming to terms with how the globe see you a so Foo Warriors and there's never anything poor about that!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold Day in the Sun []  2020-1-14 19:37

    I LOVE THIS BOOK! The powerful female lead is both hard as nails and sugar as she falls in love and challenges the status quo. This book means a lot to me personally as the only girl in a family of all boys who has always worked to separate herself from what was expected of her to do what feel true. If you love deftly written romance, amazing dialog and an emotional, gripping story, you will love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Cold Blood (Vintage International) []  2020-1-17 20:44

    I've read several crime stories, private accounts with serial killers, etc. However, this was something that honestly bored me. This has been recommended to me so a lot of times over the years and unfortunately, I to test and read it. I should have just checked it out of the library. Over descriptive and slow, this book does a amazing job of recounting the events, but not much else.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mine []  2019-12-31 18:47

    Initially this story was compelling. I appreciated the characters and their histories. But as time went on, several problems reared up. One, repetition. The theme of being concerned about how the family would react to their relationship, the constant obsessive inner monologues, and especially the gratuitous use of the word "cock" started to grate. Not to mention the a lot of MISTAKES I encountered. It created me think that the author never bothered to proofread or have any editing done at all. The stalker was revealed beautiful early on, but it was still a surprise when it happened. After the 72nd "cock," I just wanted the story to end. So I skimmed to the end, even the smutty parts, and I love smut. I just left it at that. I think this story had potential, but it ended up falling flat in the end. I would hope that Ms. Kendra would take these reviews as constructive and use them to do better next time. Cheers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mine []  2019-12-31 18:47

    What a ride. A well written page is book had it all from beginning to end. Love, Tragedy, Suspense, Tragedy and back to Love. Hunter's relationship with his foster family and mates lead to unimaginable tragedy and love for him. He did obtain his HEA but it was a costly one for him. A definite 5 star read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    In Cold Blood (Vintage International) []  2020-1-17 20:44

    I wondered how well this would keep up after having read it a lot of years ago. Fictionalized real crime stories are common now but not when this was published so I wondered if it's impact on me back then was because it had substance or because it was, at the time, new. It holds up more than well. There is grandeur in the storytelling, and a sweep of narrative that is hard to describe, epic in the method it info the arc of their lives. Really a unbelievable book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold Day in the Sun []  2020-1-14 19:37

    I loved reading about Holland and Wes’s love story. The writing was witty, the storyline of will they/won’t they was engaging, and the tension high. Mid-way through the book, I went ahead and ordered the author’s debut novel (haven’t read it yet). I didn’t wish this story to end!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    MINE [App]  2019-11-12 21:50

    Ok android game fun to play versus friends!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mine []  2019-12-31 18:47

    I'll read any romance written by Kenya Wright, and even though "Mine" was was filled with tense and serious moments, some levity managed to slip through (at least I hope the finger breaking stage was supposed to be funny)! Anyway, I happily give Hunter and Zola's story five stars!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mine []  2019-12-31 18:47

    Mine, mine, mine was very intense, explicit, drama filled but not so erotic as I expected. This was my first experience with nya and I enjoyed the mystery tremendously and I couldn't believe baptiste went to such an extreme for love but Hunter did as well. I Will give this author another try👏👍😏😉😊😎

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mine []  2019-12-31 18:47

    Amazing story of love everlasting! Knowing immediately who the villain was created the story even more intriguing. The lengths someone would go to, just to be reunited with a loved one, was astounding. Amazing story from beginning to end!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    HOPE In Hand [App]  2020-4-28 13:11

    Amazing application for connecting to a critical resource to support with financial wellness

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hand in Letters [App]  2019-4-21 21:25

    interesting

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Galaxy Hand in Hand Romantic Love Theme [App]  2019-10-18 13:41

    This awesome ce.....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Cold Heaven: Seven Seasons in Greenland []  2020-1-10 19:46

    I very much enjoyed this book. It was a fascinating look at a land steeped in tradition and culture, and I feel I got to know the people and their lives.Ehrlich is a unbelievable writer who knows how to turn a phrase. But...but....but--why I am only giving this three stars? It's because I felt the book was too much of a amazing thing. While the stories of the people she met and the Inuit ways are fascinating, do I really need to read 356 pages of how attractive the ice was over and over and over and over? How a lot of times do I have to hear that "ice is chaos", "ice is time", "the ice was like newly shampooed hair", "the sun was like a flashlight", "the ice was like broken dishes", etc. This gets tiresome very fast. Enough already! I obtain it-the ice is attractive and it's cold. Too much of the same thing and too a lot of metaphors detracts from the power of the whole. I want Ehrlich would have place the metaphor-theasurus away for at least two consecutive pages.I'm sure that to Ehrlich all of her endless trips across the ice are individual, but to me, they all sound the same. She could have chop out the descriptions of about 10 of the trips she created on the ice, which would have chop the book by 50-100 pages, and had a much more strong account. Although I loved most of the book, I finally couldn't wait for it to end. She created something that was fascinating into an acc that was, ultimately, boring and endless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Cold Heaven: Seven Seasons in Greenland []  2020-1-10 19:46

    Another "travelogue for the soul." This author does these incredibly well. If you're into this kind of thing and don't like lightweight "new-agey" stuff, read Gretel Erlich.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold: Adventures in the World's Frozen Places []  2020-1-18 19:15

    This book is a refreshing blast of cold r someone who is familiar with much of both Arctic and Antarctic issues, I was impressed with obtaining more info on both supra and subnivean topics. Weather,climate,animal migration and winter habits,permafrost and different other sundry subjects polar and non- polar are touched warming was also addressed in a non threatening circuitous method as well as exploration past and show with some references to the giants of polar history and their work within the deep, cold, rticularly interesting was the discussion of the conquest of cold which is the title of another unbelievable book by the same name written by Tom Shachtman back in 1999 which I read and is referred to by reever several times and should be read after this one if your interest grows ld is well written by a scientist over the course of a years time with world trotting observations but always returning to his home state of Alaska in what appears to be a sort of grounding for e book itself imparts lots of facts and factoids that can only support not hinder one who studies the frigidly unbelievable subject of r those in the know this ground may have already been covered by you and some may search it lacking or just National Geographicalish in its approach. But sometimes old dogs can learn fresh tricks and books like this can generate fresh locations of inquiry and reference as it did for me. It helps hold it new to read fresh things even at the risk of going over old is recommended as a amazing primer for the novice to further ones' appreciation of the ice and its expansive history as well as the issues it can cause and may give you a better admiration of your refrigerator or air conditioner for without those people who did the work, those individuals in history who said, "Gee whiz, its hot in here, my meal is rotting and I'm sweating like a pig,what can I do about that"? Now you can erect an alter to the men who fixed that for you right in your own that as it may, I found it very enjoyable and breezed through it quite is written as if you were talking to a true lonely, arctic scientist who doesn't obtain out much and is both extremely satisfied and excited to search a willing, captive, listener as subjects tend to pop up and drift into another rather quick but you'll be able to follow his button up with confidence with some useful info on insulating fabrics,ours and the Eskimo'e mechanisms of frostbite or how the Bose-Einstein condensate, atoms that form at absolute zero,about 460 degrees F. may someday change the world. Read and learn about this facinating corner of science and warm up to the concept of cold.A cup of hot cocoa may be in order. Have fun the summer while you can, an ice age may be coming soon and just think, if it does, you'll be ready for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold: Adventures in the World's Frozen Places []  2020-1-18 19:15

    (Note: This review is of the hardcover edition.)"Take a pair of cotton jeans, throw them in a mountain stream or a pond or a bathtub full of water, and take them out. They are massive with water. Cotton kills because the fibers keep water. They will suck the heat right out of the unfortunate victim foolish enough to wear them in the cold. For survival in the cold, naked skin may be better than wet cotton jeans." - from COLDWith COLD, Biologist Bill Streever has penned another of those famous science books about the environment we live in that I personally search so informative and entertaining, especially since I'm not expected to be tested on the material twelve chapters sequentially entitled with the year's months beginning with July - "It is July first and fifty-one degrees above zero" - and ending with June - "It is June twentieth ... and 60 degrees Fahrenheit", Streever delivers a wealth of stories and info about cold and its effects on more things than you'll ever need to know to stay warm and snugly. Actually, it's an amiable jumble of anecdotes, historical references, and facts where the only connecting thread, besides "cold" itself, is the progression of named chapters and the vantage point from which the author generally observes and writes, which is Alaska where Streever lives (though he personally manages to obtain out-of-state some).The span of Bill's cold-related subjects is chilling, but not in the frightening sense. (Cold - chilling. Obtain it?) After beginning with accounts of the hardships and deaths of different arctic and Antarctic explorers just to establish the understanding that lack of heat needs to be taken seriously, the author ranges far and wide. Latest and long, long-ago glaciations, animal hibernations, bird migrations, frozen mammoth [email protected]#$%!&, the effects of hypothermia on humans, frostbite, permafrost, climate-determined tree lines, the scientific quest to achieve absolute zero, the cold-mediated deterioration of streets and buildings, cold-resistant clothing materials, igloo construction, Bose-Einstein condensates, cryogenic body storage, infamous blizzards of history, ice wedge formation, the evolution of refrigerators, the physiology of shivering, and so much more. And let's not forget the pet caterpillars Fram and times, as when Streever dwells on the heaviest hailstone (2 pounds), or the biggest snowflake (15 inches wide?), or the weight of quviut (underfur) shed by a musk ox each year (5 pounds), I feel like I'm being prepped for a trivia quiz. But it's all amazing LD includes no photographs; a couple here and there would've been useful. There are two maps in the back, one of the Northern Hemisphere from above the pole, and one of Antarctica from above the South Pole; the former illustrates the tree line, which is the most interesting feature of that particular st useful, perhaps, is a 35-page Notes section should the reader want to do further research on aspects of the overall a book about what is basically climate, it would be surprising if the author didn't touch upon the climate-warming controversy. He points out that geologists tend to be naysayers, but climatologists and biologists "tended to camp with the climate change kooks." Since the author is a biologist himself, it's not surprising which side he falls into. Happily, though, he doesn't obtain preachy about it so I'm not forced to deduct points for zealotry.I'm knocking off a star for the complete lack of images and the rather haphazard presentation of the material. Otherwise, COLD is an engaging narrative about what happens when it gets colder than a witch's ... well, you know.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bone Remains: Cold Cases in Forensic Anthropology []  2020-5-4 18:14

    Not as amazing as Jefferson Bass but still a amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bone Remains: Cold Cases in Forensic Anthropology []  2020-5-4 18:14

    Author appeared to be a small too enamored with themselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cattle In The Cold Desert, Expanded Edition []  2020-7-11 18:31

    Really remarkable and helpful research.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seven Seasons in Greenland - This Cold Heaven []  2020-8-19 19:43

    This awesome book opened my eyes to the Inuit culture and homeland in a most unexpected way. I really bought it hoping to learn something about Inuit kayak hunters, but that aspect of Inuit hunting life is not heavily covered in the book. Instead, the author takes us on a lot of unbelievable journeys by dogsled and gives the reader a most fascinating viewpoint - right behind the dogs. We experience the hard but thrilling life of the skilled Arctic hunter as described by an articulate passenger in the sled, and in that method we come to know the people of the north country in a most sympathetic way.I recommend this book to anyone who loves beautifully written adventures. They are here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold: Adventures in the World's Frozen Places []  2020-1-18 19:15

    Today is October 20, and it was 60 degrees in SW Wisconsin...... Well, that's MY story. In Bill Streever's book, he opens each chapter with a certain location, usually where he is at the time, and tells what the current temperature is at that location.I really loved this book! I like to read fiction, histories, and non-fiction. I like a healthy mixture of those genres, and with "Cold" I got a amazing dose of reality and also some hilarity. Streever not only tells us about the world's coldest places; he also delves into geology, biology, history, and anthropology, showing us how each of these sciences relates to cold temperatures. His writing style is informative, fluid, sometimes lyrical and sometimes r example, when discussing the damselfish and the effects of temperatures on enzymes he says, "........ It is not so much an problem of cold taking a single enzyme out of commission as one of cold disturbing the synchronous behavior of an orchestra of enzymes, leaving one playing too slowly, another too fast, and another barely playing at all, and in the end reducing the symphony of metabolism to the cacophony of malaise and death."When discussing Joseph Fourier, a learned Frenchman during the early 1800s, who knew a amazing about the chemistry and behavior of cold, he said, "Fourier harbored a powerful aversion to cold. He believed that wrapping up in blankets would improve his health. In 1830, wrapped in blankets, he tripped down a flight of steps. The fall killed him." There were a lot of other "deadpan" observations such as this.When discussing various ways in which people learned how to hold warm, he discussed angora rabbits, sheep's wool, and cotton. But he not only tells us how and when people started using these fibers, he also adds unbelievable tidbits about when the people in India first started using the spinning wheel, how wool is actually turned into a thread of yarn, and WHY certain fabrics are better insulators than ween the covers of this book we learn about permafrost, wooly mammoths, polar expeditions, inventors, the Ice Man found in the Alps in 1991, the not good US blizzard in the 1800's, often called the School Children's Blizzard because of the a lot of young kids killed by it, how certain monsters withstand the cold and how others succumb, plus much, much more. The scope of this book is amazing! I could not even start to list the varied and interesting subjects he covered on a world-wide basis. While reading it, I often wondered how this author's mind worked. Including so a lot of various topics on so a lot of various continents! Surely, he must hold notes or reminders to himself every time he hears of or learns something interesting, then researches it and adds it to his book notes.I am not a scientist. I am a retired history and Spanish teacher, so I really have no technical training in sciences, but I found this book very appealing and interesting. It was not written in a method that only scientists would understand. It was written in a method to appeal to the masses, although it was backed by solid only irritation, and it was minor, was bringing Al Gore and man-made global warming into the story, albeit briefly. I hold reading conflicting reports about the polar ice caps. They are shrinking or they are expanding. It all depends on which report or satellite photograph you see, I suppose. As far as man causing global warming, or the fact that the earth constantly goes through climate change, is, I imagine, going to be contested for years to come. The author is entitled to his opinion and if he worships at the altar of Al Gore and I don't, I can obtain over it. As I said, Al Gore was only very briefly mentioned, and the book was so amazing that I was able to easily obtain over my grumpiness about ch an interesting and well-written book! I will be reading his next one, "Heat: Adventures in the World's Fiery Places" very soon!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold: Adventures in the World's Frozen Places []  2020-1-18 19:15

    Despite only 3 stars, I found this book overall enjoyable. The info about hibernation and animal adaptations was interesting. The tales of cold climate exploration also were vivid. But at times I felt this book became repetitive. Some of the same stories kept being repeated. At other times I suffered from info overload. Too much too quickly to fully appreciate everything. Yet I have to say that I learned much about climate that I had never considered.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold: Adventures in the World's Frozen Places []  2020-1-18 19:15

    I really enjoyed reading the book. I will admit that some of it comes across disjointed at times and the author does not go into as amazing a depth as my curiosity would have liked, but the subject of Cold is really quite vast and in to hold the book moving and from turning into a 1,000 page dissertation, I think it was important to hold subjects brief.Overall, I give this book perhaps a star better rating because there are not a lot of books written on Cold as a whole and stand-alone subject that I am aware of and I think it deserves some for tackling the subject.I look at this book as a starting point for further exploration of the cold. Kind of a Primer on Cold.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Cold Heaven: Seven Seasons in Greenland []  2020-1-10 19:46

    This woman truly loves the high north, with all its paradox and ambivalence . . . Erlich paints the beauty and complexity of northern Greenland (before reading this book it never occurred to me to think of Greenland as HAVING a "north" and "south"!) and the struggle a little minority are having to maintain their ancient -- and sustainable -- ways of life. I'd classify this first of all as a love story between woman and land, but it is a love story in which the sentient observer is aware of the issues with the beloved, and yet still remains is is not a "been there, seen that, got the T-shirt" travel book -- Erlich is drawn to Greenland no fewer than seven times, in different seasons, and she lives with the people in traditional housing (including tents on the ice). She encounters the brutality of bureaucracy as well as the wonderful hospitality of the Inuit -- and at the same time she does not shrink from the pervasive alcoholism and domestic violence that are a sad feature of northern life, nor does she neglect to mention the impact even in Greenland of the growing pollution in "the south" (i.e. North America). Her thesis is essentially Romantic in a philosophic sense . . . subsistence living was/is hard but authentic. The coming of modernity, with its internet connection, TV, store-bought goods, etc., has removed both the means and the incentive for a life of integrity. She leaves it to the reader to see the Greenlandic experience as paradigmatic of the wider this book - it will lift your heart and problem your mind, and leave you wanting more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Cold Heaven: Seven Seasons in Greenland []  2020-1-10 19:46

    An amazing read. Exactly what I had hoped this would be. A unbelievable narrative of the lands I want I could visit (or even live in), despite the harsh climate conditions...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Cold Heaven: Seven Seasons in Greenland []  2020-1-10 19:46

    Really interesting book regarding the Greenlander Inuit and one woman's journey through the region. I particularly like the inclusion of previous author's and explorer's interwoven in the story, as well as the raw authenticity of the author in terms of her experiences with the people, land and culture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bone Remains: Cold Cases in Forensic Anthropology []  2020-5-4 18:14

    Ms. Manhein's third book is just as fascinating as the first two books. Ms. Manhein, also know as "The Bone Lady", is the director of the FACES lab at the Louisiana State University in my hometown of Baton Rouge. In this book, she describes several cold case subjects. Some of these cases, through a lot of twists and turns, were solved and some are still ongoing. The latest chapter of the book was very private to me. Ms. Manhein discusses some unsolved cases and one was the disappearance of the daughter of a family friend. Eleanor Parker has been missing since 1981 and has never been found.If you ever obtain the possibility to hear Ms. Manhein speak, you are in for a witty and informative talk. I've had the pleasure to see Ms. Manhein speak at book festivals here in Louisiana.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bone Remains: Cold Cases in Forensic Anthropology []  2020-5-4 18:14

    Book is a quick read of some amazing cases. A nice light read for arm chair detectives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bone Remains: Cold Cases in Forensic Anthropology []  2020-5-4 18:14

    Being from Louisiana, I am always interested in any La readings. This was very informative. I heard of some of the cases mentioned

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cattle In The Cold Desert, Expanded Edition []  2020-7-11 18:31

    Written by one of the most knowledgeable range scientists of our time. Amazing blend of history and science.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cattle In The Cold Desert, Expanded Edition []  2020-7-11 18:31

    excellant bok about the history of cattle growing in the amazing basin desert. More a like a text book but a amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seven Seasons in Greenland - This Cold Heaven []  2020-8-19 19:43

    This woman truly loves the high north, with all its paradox and ambivalence . . . Erlich paints the beauty and complexity of northern Greenland (before reading this book it never occurred to me to think of Greenland as HAVING a "north" and "south"!) and the struggle a little minority are having to maintain their ancient -- and sustainable -- ways of life. I'd classify this first of all as a love story between woman and land, but it is a love story in which the sentient observer is aware of the issues with the beloved, and yet still remains is is not a "been there, seen that, got the T-shirt" travel book -- Erlich is drawn to Greenland no fewer than seven times, in different seasons, and she lives with the people in traditional housing (including tents on the ice). She encounters the brutality of bureaucracy as well as the wonderful hospitality of the Inuit -- and at the same time she does not shrink from the pervasive alcoholism and domestic violence that are a sad feature of northern life, nor does she neglect to mention the impact even in Greenland of the growing pollution in "the south" (i.e. North America). Her thesis is essentially Romantic in a philosophic sense . . . subsistence living was/is hard but authentic. The coming of modernity, with its internet connection, TV, store-bought goods, etc., has removed both the means and the incentive for a life of integrity. She leaves it to the reader to see the Greenlandic experience as paradigmatic of the wider this book - it will lift your heart and problem your mind, and leave you wanting more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Cold Heaven: Seven Seasons in Greenland []  2020-1-10 19:46

    This awesome book opened my eyes to the Inuit culture and homeland in a most unexpected way. I really bought it hoping to learn something about Inuit kayak hunters, but that aspect of Inuit hunting life is not heavily covered in the book. Instead, the author takes us on a lot of unbelievable journeys by dogsled and gives the reader a most fascinating viewpoint - right behind the dogs. We experience the hard but thrilling life of the skilled Arctic hunter as described by an articulate passenger in the sled, and in that method we come to know the people of the north country in a most sympathetic way.I recommend this book to anyone who loves beautifully written adventures. They are here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    This Cold Heaven: Seven Seasons in Greenland []  2020-1-10 19:46

    I really enjoyed this book, Gretel takes you with her in her travels and experiences to one of the most starkley attractive locations in the eat book to read in the heat of summer.wonderful tales, unbelievable author.I could feel the ice, well reading this eat insightful book.....one you will wish to have on your shelves for ever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold: Adventures in the World's Frozen Places []  2020-1-18 19:15

    "Cold" by Bill Streever is a beautifully-written book, one of the best I have read in this reever goes on a year-long quest for cold, with a Chapter devoted to each month. In each month he discusses particular "cold events" that occurred in the month, such as the severe US blizzard of January 1888 - the School Children's ese examples are interspersed with private info of his own life and studies of cold as the year unfolds. In Streever's book this works well, and some of his descriptive passages are very evocative. This is a pleasant change from some other books in the genre that are simply cars for narcissistic display by the author. In "Cold" the topic enjoys the limelight, not the author elbowing the actors out of the me of Streever's anecdotes are truly surprising: lumps of ice falling out of the sky the size of a man in the 19th century, snowflakes 15 inches across. He explains how the Year Without a Summer (1815) contributed to the invention of the bicycle.He gives an perfect acc of hypothermia, and why some of its victims die soon after being reever lives in Alaska, and life there is very various to life in more temperate places. Houses sink as permafrost melts. People burn down their homes trying to un-freeze frozen pipes with blowtorches. Frost heave pushes posts out of the st living tissue cannot survive being frozen. Streever gives some graphic accounts of how freezing affects cells. So I am not too optimistic for the future of James Bedford, who has been stored in liquid nitrogen since 1967, awaiting a cure for markably, a surprising number of living monsters can survive freezing. There is a caterpillar in Alaska that routinely "hibernates" over winter by freezing solid, and thawing out in spring to go about its business. Some frogs freeze. The most striking example of cold tolerance is the African desert fly that can even survive liquid helium at -450 degrees F.When skiing I obtain ravenously hungry. Streever explains why this is so. Apart from the calories required to sustain vigorous exercise, we also need a remarkable amount of energy simply to counteract the effects of cold. Early Polar explorers did not appreciate this aspect of nutrition sufficiently when planning meal supplies for their expeditions and a lot of died because they simply did not have enough could go on listing the fascinating aspects of cold discussed in the book. Naturally, not everything can be included. But I would have liked some mention of cold-induced brittle fracture of Liberty ships in Globe Battle 2. Twelve Liberty ships broke in half without warning because the grade of steel used suffered from embrittlement. Ships in the North Atlantic were exposed to temperatures that could fall below a critical point and thus the hull could fracture relatively easily.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cold: Adventures in the World's Frozen Places []  2020-1-18 19:15

    During a long, snowy, dark, record-breaking cold Fresh England winter, this was just the book to indulge the science nerd in me. Understanding weather, climate, geology, historic geography and anthropology as it relates to a cold environment was interesting and informative. The author's first-person point of view and private anecdotes lent a human interest to the science. Well done. Now, on with Spring!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bone Remains: Cold Cases in Forensic Anthropology []  2020-5-4 18:14

    I highly recommend this book. The author presented a dozens of forensic anthropology cases that she worked throughout the years and explained the science behind each case in amazing detail.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386