come with me to namibia Reviews & Opinions


Submit come with me to namibia review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:6

    When I create a payment it says sorry can't process at this time test again later but then it takes the cash from my bank acc but the application shows I never did. Fraud is what that is!!! Then I wait a few days to see if it shows up on the application and nothing so I create another payment and it takes that as well but never shows it was paid. I've called my bank to dispute and now the application reversed both amounts stupid application

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:6

    From the beginning I have not been able to sign on. Yes my screen name and password are correct. The notice it keeps giving me tells me to test back later because of some difficulties. This is over the past month, I've reinstalled it and still the same.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:6

    This application used to work but can't create a payment from it anymore... It's frustrating especially when a computer is not available at all times to create the payment! Seems everyone is having the problem since about June... I did the reboot and cache thing that you suggested and it still doesn't work...

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on come with me to namibia or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch come with me to namibia video reviews and related movies:

    See Namibia 2018 - Come with me to the journey of your life on youtube.

     related image

    See COME WITH ME SHOPPING TO THE GROVE MALL OF NAMIBIA. on youtube.

     related image

    See TRAVEL VLOG: Come with me to Botswana, Namibia, Kenya and Uganda on youtube.

     related image

    See COME TO LUDERITZ WITH ME 🌊🦋Day1& Day2|Waterfront Beach|Namibian Youtuber| on youtube.

     related image

    See Come With Me - Northern Namibian Wedding on youtube.

     related image

    See Traveling to Namibia from Botswana. (Oh BOY) here we go on youtube.

     related image

    See pack with me for a 17 HOUR road trip| Namibian YouTuber on youtube.

     related image

    See Come With Me To Dakar | Travel Vlog | Namibian Youtuber on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:6

    Same as others... The application worked until 3-4 months ago. Since then, it will not even allow me login even though I can login to the www service fine with the same login information. I just obtain some generic error about technical difficulties. Edit: I have done as they requested and emailed them on the same day that they responded. I have not heard back so far. Modernize - As of today, the problem is resolved for me. I can now access the application normally again. For me, it was an problem with linked Comed accounts. I've updated my rating to 4 stars. The application doesn't do anything amazing. But, it is a convenient method to access your acc info and settings.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:6

    Was working just fine and now that I was forced to modernize it I can't even connect to my account. Everytime I test I obtain an error. Not satisfied at all!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:6

    Keeps getting an error trying to login. Better off using the web. Even after the update. It gives me the same error on Apple devices.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    Using Android device 5.1.1 on Galaxy Grand Prime. ComEd application always crashes when "My Usage" is clicked. Previous release did not do this. Uninstalled and reinstalled did not fix the problem. Why don't they fix this??

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    I have fun the report an outage feature. Have had problems with setting up auto pay through the app, however call customer service and they helped me out right away.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    The application works fairly well but the outage map does not load fresh data. You have to use ComEds www service to obtain updated outage map info.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    Works really well to report outages and pay bills. It's never failed on me. More than I expected from ComEd. Lol

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    Got it to work...once. Every time since the first, it just says Error 605. I tried an uninstall/reinstall as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    It do what it should do, but overall application is beautiful outdated for 2017

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    It's a amazing tool to support me track my bills and to pay in time avoiding penalties. I can print to the Bill whenever I want.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    It works to pay bills and to report outages.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    Works well for me. Not too fancy and beautiful straight forward.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    This is a amazing method to view and manage your electricity bill but the application will not allow you Create payments

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    Still can't use the application to create payments, just force closes when scheduling echeck.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    I search this application very convenient. It makes it very simple to manage my acc and create payments. Amazing app.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    Its ik. Might have to workout a couple of bugs

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    Works now. Very useful to determine if you are in a huge outage.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    Don't allow me pay from app. What's the point

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    Amazing app, does exactly what I need, and very fast and user friendly

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    Amazing application , very simple and convienent to pay your monthly bill

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    Closes when paying bill.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    Amazing application gives me everything I need from com-ed

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    I am able to see my usage, and pay my bill.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    I like being able to pay my bills this way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    It does it's job just fine. Easy to use and convenient.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    I do like the fact that it auto logs you on

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    Multiple Hospitals -- simple to use and manage -- amazing ! AWESOME !

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    Simple responsive No issues so far

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    Makes it simple to see how much I owe

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    Simple to use and pay my bill!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    Thanks you

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    Simple method to pay love it!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    Amazing method to pay the bill.😊🤗🤗

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    Amazing app. Hold it up.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    amazing app!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    Amazing and works amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    ComEd review [App]  2017-11-18 13:7

    Interface is great.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come Rain or Come Shine (A Mitford Novel) review [Book]  2018-3-29 18:0

    I am an avid reader of Ms. Karon’s novels. As a matter of fact, in the past six months I have read and re-read the entire series at least 4 times while waiting not so patiently for the release of Come Rain or Come Shine. There is a reason for this. I have had a very stressful year and I search visits to Mitford very relaxing. Every hero in this series is complete; there isn’t a one-dimensional body in the bunch. Even the nodding acquaintances have a special and full put in Ms. Karon’s stories. These books create the excellent escape. I love them dearly. Reading these novels makes me feel like I’m going home.But, her writing is also a joy to read. Her descriptions are special and folksy, and fit perfectly with each stage and character. She weaves minor story lines through the major plot so well that, like a braided rope, the main story line is stronger, better, because it is the sum of all its parts.Which leads me to wonder, did Ms. Karon really write Come Rain or Come Shine? Although I loved attending the wedding, from the very first page I could not shake the feeling that this was not typical Jan Karon writing. Perhaps it is the transition from Father Tim to Lace and Dooley as the main characters, changing the voice of the narrative, that bothered me. It just seemed to me that the story was superficial, the characters flat; this book seems to skim the surface of the characters’ emotions. For example in the previous books, the story of Pauline’s apology would have been much more important, given more room to breathe, more of a lead up. Here, it seemed weak and watered down. It wasn’t given enough zone for the reader to really connect, to feel Pauline’s struggle, or Sammy’s struggle. A number of stories hinted at here were nothing more than a tease. In the earlier books, the subplots would have been fully realized, satisfying. Here, I was left wanting more.And Lace. There is small remnant there of the girl she used to be. I was waiting for an outburst of Creek-speak from her, something to allow us know that she is still Lace. Or some other connection to her past life. Although her history is talked about, it is only that, talked about. There is small evidence of the Lace that we love. Yes, she has grown into a unbelievable woman, and she “talks” a lot about her change and growth, but we would have “seen” more of this if it had been written as the earlier novels were.I know that because of time – we are all getting older – the story needs to be passed to Dooley and Lace. But I feel cheated. There are 8 years unaccounted for in this novel. Sammy’s story, Father Brad’s story, Coot …. Oh, and Barnabas. Heartbreaking that we were not there with Father Tim at Barnabas’s passing and Barnabas gets such backhanded treatment.Father Tim’s voice was missing. He was there, inserted just enough times to perhaps convince the reader he was still there, but he and Cynthia were side stories. I know it is time for him to move on, I know it is time for Dooley and Lace to take over. But Father Tim is not dead yet!And we can’t go back now, we can only move is isn’t a “Mitford Novel.” It is a “Meadowgate Novel.” The writing is weaker, lacking the attractive literary devices that Ms. Karon usually wields so deftly, and the plot lacks the depth of the previous novels.I enjoyed being at the wedding, but I felt like a distant relation instead of part of the family.If you love Mitford, you will love this novel anyway. And that’s okay. It is worth the read. But it isn’t typical Jan Karon.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come Rain or Come Shine (A Mitford Novel) review [Book]  2018-3-29 18:0

    I once prayed, Lord, please allow Jan Karon live long enough to obtain Dooley and Lace married. The respond to that prayer was a whelming flood; I started crying on page 32 and sniffed and sobbed my way—punctuated by laughs—to the final page. Redemption, benediction, healing, holy amazement, connection. Reading this brings the satisfaction of resolution, the “two bits” after the “shave and a e focus of Come Rain or Come Shineis on the month before and the day of The Huge Knot. Dooley and Lace wish a small, intimate ceremony at Meadowgate Farm. Karon enjoys poking fun at the myth of a ‘simple country wedding.’ There are obstacles and annoyances. There are secrets and surprises. There is the unrelenting pressure of diminishing time to obtain the put e main hero is Lace Harper. Her journals reveal her heart, her hopes, her fears, her loves. She wants to search a wedding dress for under $100; she is thankful for the callouses which document her hard work. She wants to obtain it—this whole starting a fresh family—right. I appreciated the ways Dooley and Lace honor the memory of Sadie Baxter (benefactor) and Russell Jacks (Dooley’s grandpa) in their wedding.Jan Karon and Wendell Berry are both skilled at portraying a community where giving, helping, and reciprocating are the norm. In their novels they don’t cover up the hurts, the anger, the tensions, the troubles. Weddings can be awkward with family drama. Karon handles the presence of Dooley’s birth mom, Pauline Leeper, in the same room as his siblings with utmost care. There is no simple resolution, no instant reconciliation, just baby steps, little beginnings towards the on-ramp to is book and Somewhere Safe are Karon's two best novels. A fitting benediction on the entire Mitford series. But if she wanted to write another Mitford novel, I'd be eager to read it. Perhaps this is the first of the Meadowgate novels. Please, Lord!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come Rain or Come Shine (A Mitford Novel) review [Book]  2018-3-29 18:0

    have been a fan of Jan Karon and the Father Tim/Mitford books for years, so I eagerly awaited the newest one "Come Rain or Shine". If you haven't read her books, the main hero is Father Tim, a middle-aged single Episcopalian priest in a little city in the mountains of North Carolina, who suddenly finds himself the owner of a dog as huge as a Volkswagen, father of an adopted teenage son, and husband of a charming children's books author. Karon's books are full of well-developed characters who may be funny, lovable, quirky, cantankerous, self-righteous, or annoying, like all little towns."Come Rain or Shine" is about the wedding of Father Tim's son Dooley and his long time girlfriend, Lace. It was disappointing. Rather than being told from the point of view of Father Tim, like most of her books, it is told from the viewpoint of a lot of characters, in short snippets. A lot of times the speaker is not identified and sometimes I wasn't sure who was speaking. A fresh hero is introduced by name only early in the book, in such a method that I wasn't sure if it was a fresh hero or a hero I had forgotten. When that hero is finally brought into the action, it was implausible, and the dialogue attributed to that hero wasn't realistic (I don't wish to give away too much in case anyone is planning to read it).I think I read somewhere that Karon plans to create this the latest of the Father Tim/Mitford books. If so, the series is going out with a whimper, not a bang.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come Rain or Come Shine (A Mitford Novel) review [Book]  2018-3-29 18:0

    This is truly an perfect book by Jan Karon - about a modern couple!! I've seen some derogatory reviews here - and now that I've read the book, I'm wondering why they were posted??!! I have read and loved all of the Mitford books, and my response to this one is no various - I loved it!!!The characters have grown older (or Dooley & Lace wouldn't be getting married!) and they have moved into a modern time - where character's communication may vary - and some of the style of writing may (very appropriately) be a reflection of that fact. As the Los Angeles Times review states: "Jan Karon reflects contemporary culture more fully than almost any other living novelist." Thankfully, she has done that without losing the charming Mitford flavor, catching us up on all the characters we have grown to love, and retaining the faith and values of those ease don't be place off by negative reviews - I was nearly misled. I found this to be a amazing read - I'm certainly glad I didn't miss it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come Rain or Come Shine (A Mitford Novel) review [Book]  2018-3-29 18:0

    I do not read Karon's novels because I am a Christian who wants to read "clean" books. I can't really recall how I read the first one but since, I have read them all, at least the fictional ones, for one reason: because she is a amazing writer. The characters she paints are, usually, well-developed and interesting, and her plots are hopeful yet realistic. Some of them are sappy, and some of them are almost gristly ("Home to Holly Springs," for instance, which I would say is her best).And then there is this one. Frankly, it reads like a Danielle Steele novel, and if you like that kind of thing, well and good, but if you have developed a relationship with the characters in the book, you will be disappointed. Dooley is his usual one-dimensional self: he has a negative Emotional I.Q., and everyone in his globe compensates for him, counting on him to use his cash and education to fix their lives. Father Tim and Cynthia are barely present, as though whoever wrote the book (and I am not convinced it was Karon) utilized their overall profiles to stand in for their presences. The other characters are roughly analogous, but the one I was most disappointed in (and the one who typifies the Danielle Steele flavor most) is Lace. What a pity. There are only tips of what went into making her the person she is, and instead she is painted as a sweet, shallow small person who just wants everything to be okay and Dooley to love her. She has small my opinion, the only hero who has anything going for him is small Jack Tyler. He is depicted as a clear and interesting developing child, yet a completely unrealistic one, as if the author (who?) has no true concept of what could reasonably be expected of a kid who has been through what he has been through. Perhaps successive books will depict him more realistically, but at this point, JT meets her needs more than she, his.If you have enjoyed Karon's books, read this one: it has a certain charm, the plot is fun, the vast amount of detail is helpful, and it does have its comedic moments and even its moving ones. But I continue to be unconvinced Karon wrote it, and I do think it is far too shallow for what she is capable of...and what Lace is capable of.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come Rain or Come Shine (A Mitford Novel) review [Book]  2018-3-29 18:0

    A collage of anecdotes, like the snippets of memory we piece together as we reflect on our collective pasts, 'Come Rain or Come Shine' is a masterfully woven tapestry, spun from the yarn of people's lives-- people we would like to have as neighbors. Like true folks, our mates experience the roller coaster of highs and lows, thrills, worries, excitement, and discouragement that reflect the stories of any metimes baffling, sometimes humorous, often poignant, and always real to life, the anecdotes wander around the basic theme of preparations for the wedding of Dooley and Lace-- with enough diversions and complications to touch the heart of anyone who has planned a wedding. And the wedding itself is a real piece of art. If you normally cry at wedding, you will weep through your smile at this one. If you normally do NOT cry at wedding, hold your tissues handy anyway. Anyone who gets through the Huge Knot with dry eyes is either stony of heart or not paying attention.Jan Karon gets another five-star thank you!This can be a stand-alone read, but it's better if you are familiar with Father Tim and the history of Mitford.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come Rain or Come Shine (A Mitford Novel) review [Book]  2018-3-29 18:0

    Just finished reading "Come Rain Or Come Shine" by Jan Karon published by Putnam>Jan Karon's Mitford series has long been a favorite of e daily life of Episcopal priest Father Timothy Kavanah in the little city of Mitford nestled in the mountains of Tennessee is endearing with all the human foibles and frailties that go with when Karon's recent novel was available for pre-order on Amazon, I eagerly added it to my basket."Come Rain Or Come Shine," which focuses on the happenings Dooley's and Lace's wedding is not a poor novel in the Mitford series; but it's not the amazing novel I suspect it could have been because it jumps forward in time from the latest Mitford novel - "Somewhere Safe With Somebody Good."Karon's recent foray to Mitford is more like looking in a satisfied occasion as an individual who has been absent from family and mates for years without reason - an outsider looking it. Recommended for faithful Mitford ree Stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come Rain or Come Shine (A Mitford Novel) review [Book]  2018-3-29 18:0

    I liked a lot of it! The idea behind this book is amazing - what Mitford fan hasn't looked forward to this wedding? And clearly, Dooley and Lace have thought and considered and prayed about all this so thoroughly. If all young couples did this, there would be fewer divorces, and more couples could obtain through the tough items that comes of marriage. Father Tim's homily was perfect. The country wedding setting was just right for these ever: I question the wisdom of dumping quite so much on this couple all at once, and it is A LOT! Was this really an effort to tie up some loose ends because this is the Latest Book Ever? Does anyone know if Jan Karon is done? Clearly some editing errors (roommate is Laura or Laurel, and why mention her if she didn't come; Jessie was 13 in "Somebody Amazing and should now be 17, but Poo is 17 instead and I thought Jessie was the baby? - distracting stuff). The wedding ceremony is particularly confusing as far as point of view. Would have preferred Dooley and/or Lace's points of view to dominate that scene. It's their wedding, after all! So a lot of other scenes use just "he" or "she" and it took a bit of reading before I could say, "Oh! It's about so-and-so!" A number of threads were left hanging - Pauline's regrets dumped at the end (adding some sour to a attractive day. and the day was so NOT about her), there required to be a stage with Olivia presenting the dress (after all the worry over it), then only a brief mention of the missed years where Sammy got it together, etc. Would like to have seen more of the old Lace - the feisty, intelligent girl who appears only when yelling at Harley. She seemed a small watered-down, although Dooley's overwhelmed bridegroom terror was captured stly, I had a sense that there was an inspirational romance in this book that was just dying to bust through! Some zip and zing and tingles and passion between this young couple would have been wonderful! Granted, they've known each forever and each has been through really tough stuff, but they've also spent considerable time apart, and THEY'RE YOUNG - if you obtain what I mean! :) It could have been done, and still have been clean! Would anyone else liked to have seen some pillow talk? Just sayin'!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come Rain or Come Shine (A Mitford Novel) review [Book]  2018-3-29 18:0

    Jan Karon's writing does not permit the reader to stop. Such a travesty never crossed my mind. The voice which won so a lot of to the Mitford story has returned. I am so glad.Was the story more about Lace and Dooley? Was Father Tim more of a secondary character? I respond "yes" to the questions but I found the background voice of Father Tim supportive, humorous, and a device which would successfully begin a Meadowgate ch an artful, satisfying ending befitting a Karon novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come Rain or Come Shine (A Mitford Novel) review [Book]  2018-3-29 18:0

    I was so looking forward to this book. I've been a fan of the Mitford books since the first was issued, but this was a disappointment. There were too a lot of things event at the time of the wedding that I thought were distracting from what the focus should have been - the committment of Dooley & Lace to each other. Choo Choo & Jack Tyler could have been saved for the next book.I know Karon usually has several years to have gone by as a method to move the plot forward in a fresh novel, but it felt like too much was missed when this book began. Barnabas was a main hero because of Father Tim's relationship with him, yet here his death is beautiful much just mentioned as a detail. And while Dooley & Lace always had a relationship I found it a small hard to grasp how Lace went from still not trusting to being so deeply in love. I want how their relationship evolved would have better detailed in a previous e constant switching between characters, but only identifying the person as "he/she thought" was confusing. I constantly had to skip ahead to search out which hero it was supposed to be. Ultimately I'm glad we finally reached the point where this couple married, but I don't feel that it was as well written as the original Mitford books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come As You Are review [Book]  2018-4-16 18:0

    Flynn Parker is the fresh tech "it" man. He is a handsome, charming, rich math nerd who created amazing as an internet superstar and visionary. Everyone seems to wish a piece of him. They wish him to fund their projects, or women wish him for cash or what he can give them. So it is hard to trust brina Granger's life is not going so well. She was left at the alter, lost her job, and is struggling to figure out how to pay her bills. She is a funny, creative, quirky, but guarded and anxious. Her life is at a crossroads, and it looks like things might be finally shifting her night at a masquerade party they collide and share an exciting, passionate experience. They can be whoever they wish without expectations or history and just allow go. But they soon realize that true life is not like a fairy tale and the excellent night might have to be the end rather than a beginning.I loved both of these characters. They were just so likable. Their rapport was flirty, dirty, and witty. They shared common interests and senses of humor. But they are also opposites in how they were raised and their life styles. And they both have trust issues. The situation they search themselves in makes a relationship forbidden. They both have responsibilities that create taking the risk difficult. They both have fears and insecurities. But it is so hard for them to resist the pull they have towards each ey were totally adorkable with him being a math geek/Renaissance man and her a grammar nerd. I loved their dynamic. Their chemistry was hot, but their connection ran even deeper. She's independent minded and does not like asking for help. He gets her need to take care of her own life, but has the ability to create things easier if she would just allow him. Things could be excellent if....But it seems to be one of those cases of right person, wrong time perhaps...or is it?This was such a perfectly paced and engaging read that I could not place it down. There was just enough conflict, angst, and drama to hold it interesting, but not take away from the sweet romance. I was totally invested in Flynn and Sabrina. It was even more exciting to me because Flynn is a twin! Yes, there are two of these hot, rich, lovable nerd-men. We got to know his twin brother, Dylan and his love, Evie, and their sister, Olivia in the novella Stud Finder. But this can be read as a total stand-alone. I also really liked her younger brother, Kevin, and outgoing bestie, Courtney. I felt like I became part of their globe while reading is book brings together all of the things I adore about Lauren Blakely's books. It has the romantic element of exploring a town and interesting history while also being funny, emotional, sexy, and sweet. Flynn is a perfectly swoony-licious character and Sabrina's tenacity and spirit create you wish to root for her. I absolutely adored them!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come As You Are review [Book]  2018-4-16 18:0

    Ahhhmazing! Loved this book! Sabrina and Flynn are just too cute! I couldn't but this book down! If you love dorky jokes, masquerade parties, and Fresh York, you will love this book! And let's not forget the super hot chemistry!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come As You Are review [Book]  2018-4-16 18:0

    Loved the witty banter and passion for life. Read this in one day and couldn't place it down. This one will capture your hearts desire and more.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come As You Are review [Book]  2018-4-16 18:0

    I absolutely DEVOURED this book! It was the excellent amount of sweet and sexy, with a pinch of taboo for amazing measure. No one writes sexy romantic comedies like Lauren Blakely! Come As You Are will have you laughing, swooning, and grinning like a fool!It's rare when I like both the character and heroine equally. Usually one will stand out more than the other, but this time around, Flynn and Sabrina were the excellent pair. Flynn is one of the most adorkably sexy heroes ever and Sabrina was fantastically quirky. Both were intelligent, loyal, loving, and driven individuals. They both have some romantic baggage in their pasts, but it's clear from the moment these two meet that they just e connection between them was jumping off the pages and I could not obtain enough of their sexy banter and adorable nerd speak. Yes, their meet cute wasn't exactly conventional and showcased their chemistry more anything (scorching hot by the way!), but it's the time afterwards that really exemplifies their wonderful connection. Their awesome and off the beaten path adventures around Fresh York Town allows their relationship to organically grow and flourish. The build-up between these two was so delicious and was the excellent amount of will they/won't they. I also appreciated that there was no unnecessary angst or other man/woman drama, but rather just our two characters navigating this path together.I absolutely loved this one and my heart was so full as I turned the latest page. Come As You Are is my fresh Lauren Blakely favorite!*I voluntarily read an advance reader copy of this book*

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come As You Are review [Book]  2018-4-16 18:0

    Reviewed on behalf of The Book Boyfriend Addict. A complimentary copy was provided in exchange for an honest review.4.5 Stars“Okay, you’re too tempting. You practically seduced me with a pineapple and the Fibonacci sequence.”I pump a fist. “Nerds for the win.”Here we have yet another wonderfully addictive story from Lauren Blakely! I was excited to see that this story took put back in the same Fresh York Town “world” as a lot of her other books. I just love the vibe of those books and this one definitely gave me those same feelings. This particular story is about Flynn Parker, who you may remember as Dylan Parker’s twin brother from Stud Finder. He’s equally as successful as his brother and is proud of his hot nerd status. But he’s tired of people, women, in particular, only wanting him for his money. For once he wants to search someone who likes him for who he is rather than the size of his bank account. The first time he meets Sabrina Granger is at a masquerade party where they totally hit it off, created even better by the fact that both of their identities are taken out of the equation. Things obtain complicated, however, when they agree to meet again and reveal their real identities. It turns out that Flynn is the one thing standing between Sabrina and the job of her dreams, one that she very much needs to create ends meet. Is a fairy tale ending in the cards for Sabrina and Flynn or will their one stolen night be all they are granted?Lauren Blakely has some of the best characters you’ll ever find. They are all so various and special with their quirks but they are all relatable and realistic. Either Lauren Blakely is an expert in tons of various professions or she is a master researcher because no matter what her hero does for a living they are always so fleshed out and believable. I thought Flynn was fantastic. He may be a multi-millionaire but he’s still just a nerdy guy who loves to geek out over math and science. He’s very down to earth and was so incredibly sweet. Sabrina was delightfully quirky and I admired her dedication to her work and her resiliency in dealing with all the curveballs she’s been thrown in her life. These two were awesome together. If you love smart, flirty banter then look no further! These two can create the nerdiest things seem sexy. This story was very low drama and that’s just what I was in the mood for when I started it! I’ve said it a dozen times by now but you seriously can’t go wrong with a Lauren Blakely book and Come As You Are is just one more in the ever-growing library of books from her that I loved!“I’m glad you were the only one who figured out my costume.”“I’m glad you twisted my arm and convinced me to escape to the library with you.”

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come As You Are review [Book]  2018-4-16 18:0

    My love for a Lauren Blakey read expands every time I read her work whether I re read a book or read a fresh book! And this one does not brina Granger has a bout of not good luck. Her fiancée leaves city and calls off their wedding two days before their huge day, her job is downsized and she’s out of work, and the consignment store won’t even take her wedding dress that has never been worn because it’s cursed. But her mate talks her into going to a masquerade party where she meets mystery nn Parker has jaded to women. However, after expressing his feelings to his sister she tells him “to obtain a face lift.” He takes this tip in the form of a costume. At the masquerade he be someone else. And only one person understands him and his costume. So after special night of anonymity, they create plans to meet up. However, their worlds collide when each other learn who they really are and that Sabrina has been hired to write an article on Flynn. He suspicious and does not trust her of this coincidence and she has to face the ethical dilemma of writing on the man she the interviews take put they really learn so much about each other. And all the hidden quirks the Fresh York has for the people to uncover.But they must hold it professional! I loved this flirty romance. 

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come As You Are review [Book]  2018-4-16 18:0

    For me, diving into a Lauren Blakely novel is unlike any other reading experience. Whether it’s one of her authentic feeling male point-of-view romcoms or one of her sexy, swoony contemporaries, there are a few things that always happen for me whenever I pick up one of her novels. I learn cool fresh things that I didn’t know before I started, her attention to detail never fails to impress me, and I fall helplessly in love along with the characters. I consistently obtain lost in her stories, wrapped up not only in the romances, but also in the worlds she builds. Her red-hot, heart-racing love affairs are engaging on their own, but she takes these stories to another whole level by layering fascinating tidbits of information, vividly depicted scenery and charismatic characters that all blend perfectly with the core love plot into a magical adventure for a romance e as You Are takes a completely new approach to the workplace trope with a romance between a word-nerd reporter covering a topic in what she hopes will become her fresh beat and the hot-nerd, tech genius CEO focus of that story. Blakely further distinguishes this story by giving it a modern-day Cinderella spin and setting it in quintessentially romantic Fresh York City. Instead of the typical coworker clash, she poses an ethical dilemma to this couple that turns what had been a very promising, fairytale worthy begin into a bittersweet memory and an opportunity that, unfortunately, must be passed on. Chemistry is a strong thing, though, and these two were so combustible, it was exploding off the page. But it wasn’t just physical attraction between them. Flynn and Sabrina were kindred spirits, connecting on so a lot of various levels and fitting together in exceptional, once-in-a-blue-moon ways—not just versus a wall in a library during a masquerade ball, although they fit rather well there, too.Blakely delivers a steady stream of feels here, only they’re not the angst-fueled, gut-wrenching emotions romance readers are accustomed to experiencing. This author’s writing is more of a hopeful, feel-good style, with just enough conflict to challenge the couple, and that is a rare combination in this genre. It’s even more rare to pull that off as consistently as she does, and it’s what makes her stories addictively light-hearted, pleasure reads—a quality that is pure Lauren Blakely and speaks volumes about her approach to romantic storytelling. Create no mistake, though, I soared high with Sabrina and Flynn during their initial encounter and was staggered by the same disappointment they suffered the next day when realization dawned as a effect of their identities. I felt their wistful longing for each other while they worked together during their frequent “not-date dates,” and I shared their genuine excitement over the mere promise of this relationship, something that they both tried desperately—and failed—to bury. I was right there with them, frustrated that something with so much private potential was also fraught with such professional peril. I marveled right along with Flynn and Sabrina at each fresh discovery about the other person and their beloved city.Speaking of discoveries, Come as You Are was filled to the brim with quirky and fun facts that added depth and originality to the story while also forming the foundation of this couple’s shared history. Events, landmarks, games, inside jokes—these are some of the things that give Blakely’s couples their own distinct identities and personalities. These small surprise info added so much charm to the fabric of Flynn and Sabrina’s story, and Blakely is a master at not only finding this intriguing material but also weaving it into her e as You Are was enchanting and entertaining, and I was utterly charmed and thoroughly captivated by Flynn and Sabrina’s sweet, sexy romance. I positively devoured this book, happily swooning on my sofa the entire method through. Five smooches from me for Lauren Blakely’s Come as You Are!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come As You Are review [Book]  2018-4-16 18:0

    4.5 Stars!“Once upon a time, there was a woman at a party who wanted to be kissed,” I say, walking to her, the pages e angel raises her hands to her hair and sweeps off the headband that holds her halo. She tosses it to the desk. “That sounds like a very scintillating tale.”Full of humor, heart, and heat, with lovable characters and an entertaining storyline, this book is a winner. Together, multi-millionaire Flynn Parker and journalist Sabrina Granger will give you butterflies. Add in hidden identities and a smoking hot sexy stage and you will be itching for more Flynn/Sabrina nn, twin brother of Dylan from Stud Finder, is the CEO of his high tech company who is about to begin his newest baby, Haven, a home automation system. Burned in the past by women who only see him as dollar signs, he wants to search someone who wants him for him. When he meets a woman at a masquerade ball who has no idea who he is, he can’t support but take a possibility on her. One interaction isn’t nearly enough though, and he wants brina is a journalist down on her luck. When she gets a call from Up Next magazine to interview Flynn, she knows this could be the huge break she has been looking for; however, it turns out that Flynn is the mystery man at the ball and the one she cannot stop thinking about. Sabrina can’t risk the job so Flynn is now nn is a amazing person through and through. He’s a hard worker who cares about his employees. The cash is amazing but it’s not the only reason he works and you can see it through his actions. He is sweet, sexy, and a total nerd and I adored him. I love that he is confident but also unsure, especially when it came to Sabrina. It makes him vulnerable, realistic, and brina is gorgeous inside and out. She loves with her whole heart and cares deeply for the people in her life. She takes on huge responsibilities and puts her whole self into them. Her life isn’t simple yet she doesn’t regret a thing and it created me admire her. She is smart, witty, and sweet with a sexy side thrown into the mix and I loved her.I really enjoyed the plot and the method Flynn and Sabrina meet at a masquerade ball. Masks hide their faces and the inability to see what the other looks like gets the imagination flowing."You can allow down your guard, talk freely, tease. It’s so much easier to be who you are when no one knows who you are."I loved the role playing and their flirty banter, and they are so freaking hot together, a excellent combination of sweet, sexy, and swoony.When they search out exactly who the other is their reactions are realistic. I felt the disappointment with the unlucky turn of events. The frustration was palpable as was the sexual tension surrounding them as they hold their relationship strictly ever, Flynn and Sabrina are just too amazing together and they can't stay away. As they obtain to know each other I felt like I was right there with them. I became quickly invested in their lives and happiness. They created each other laugh and love, and they couldn’t support but crave each other. Along with the sweet, swoony stuff, they were serious too. I love that they were mature and realistic when it came to life decisions."Wanting is such a painful emotion. It aches and throbs and hurts even as it asks for more of the torture. More of the things that I can’t have. A true possibility with this man. A true date. A true love."I understood their reservations about starting something and what was at risk. I loved that they accepted their feelings even if they thought they couldn’t pursue them and they respected each other’s decisions. When they are finally able to be together, they dive in completely and I couldn’t stop the warmth that filled my heart. This story left me giddy with a smile plastered on my face, and I loved it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come As You Are review [Book]  2018-4-16 18:0

    Originally posted on Undeniably Book Nerdy book blogFirst of all, thank you to Come As You Are for curing me of my poor reading slump. I've said it before and I'll say it again: Lauren Blakely's books are excellent for getting out of a reading slump because they're fun, extremely readable, and equal parts swoon-y and heartfelt without all the angst and drama that bog down a book. Come As You Are was no different. It was pure rom-com gold and I ate it Come As You Are we have hot tech nerd Flynn Parker and journalist Sabrina Granger. Flynn and Sabrina met at masquerade party and ended up hooking up as anonymous strangers. But, neither wish just a one-night stand kind of thing. They both created an impression on the other and wish to see more of each other. On what would have been their first "real" date where they plan to properly introduced themselves, Sabrina was surprised to see the tech multimillionaire she was supposed to be interviewing (for what could be her gateway to her dream job at a tech magazine) walking toward her. Turns out her masquerade party hook-up and her interview topic were one and the same brina wanted bemoan fate. Flynn was the dirty prince charming of her dreams who texts her grammar riddles that fired up her nerd-girl heart, who charmed her with his witty banter and pineapple math, who had become her partner in discovering hidden gems in Fresh York City, but alas how can she write an objective piece about Flynn for the tech magazine if she gets into a relationship with him. As for Flynn, he finally found in Sabrina someone who didn't see him as their food ticket and he found himself falling for the quirky, intelligent, and independent woman who was his excellent match. But, like Sabrina, he also knew he couldn't begin anything with her since he's just about to roll out his fresh tech project and he required all the positive PR he can get, which included Sabrina's article for the famous tech magazine.I loved Sabrina and Flynn! They were so perfectly matched, in that they're both nerds in their own way, and they both place the people they care about first before themselves--for Flynn, his employees, and for Sabrina her younger brother she raised on her own after their mother abandoned them. They're both amazing people, and they belong together, but it seemed the obstacles standing in the method of their HEA were too big. My favorite thing about the two of them were their banter and conversations. The two of them couldn't act on their attraction, but they fell in love with each other through their a lot of conversations and exploring Fresh in Lauren's previous release where the characters explored hidden gems around Paris, Sabrina and Flynn explored untapped locations and oddities around Manhattan, and I was in heaven! I loved learning fresh and unusual things and locations about one of my favorite cities in the world. Also, if you're a long-time reader of Lauren's books she also included fun small easter eggs that will create you go "oh! I know that woman who sold Sabrina that cupcake" or "hey! that's where so-and-so works!"If you're in the mood for a rom-com read, you can't go wrong with Come As You Are. A amazing heroine you wish to be best mates with, a tech nerd who can quote romantic poetry and dazzle you with pineapple math, chemistry that sizzles off the page, a swoon-worthy romance that will bring a smile to your face, and Fresh York City. What's not to love?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come As You Are review [Book]  2018-4-16 18:0

    Come As You Are by Lauren Blakely is a contemporary romance novel about Flynn Parker, twin to Dylan Parker whom we met in Ms. Blakely's Stud Finder. I have been excitedly waiting for Flynn's nn Parker, is a high-tech CEO after founding and selling his first tech start-up with his brother Dylan. Now, he is stopped everywhere with people pitching ideas left and right, which he is always willing enough to listen to because who knows where the next best idea will come from. However, he's not only pitched business ideas, but he's also pitched marriage proposals and people asking for money. So he's not entirely trusting when it comes to people especially after being burned by his ex. However, the opportunity to dress up and hide behind a mask during a masquerade party is entirely too enticing to pass brina Granger has been working hard to help herself and her brother Kevin. She needs to land a job as a journalist and to do that she has to network. Luckily, her mate takes her to a masquerade party where she can network with different tech publications and she is able to land a meeting. Not only is she able to obtain a possibility at a job, but the party also opens the door for a wordsmith and tech nerd to meet.Fate loves to play android games though, when after a magical night, Flynn Parker and Sabrina Granger meet again only to realize that the mystery person from their fairytale evening is now that person holding their future in their hands. Flynn needs Sabrina's publication to write the feature to support promote his fresh business venture, while Sabrina needs Flynn's interview to earn her dream job as a full-time journalist. So both have to kiss the fairytale versions of themselves goodbye as they focus on staying professional. Easier said than done.I enjoyed Come As You Are by Lauren Blakely. Related to Stud Finder, we obtain to follow along Flynn and Sabrina's growing relationship and watch them fall in love with each interview meeting/date, as well as each text. Each meeting built upon the other as they opened up and showed a small more of themselves and how they were each falling for the other. Also, I enjoyed the info about Fresh York. For a reader who has never been, reading about the areas and learning about little, hidden and not so hidden, info that are woven in, like the numbers on the lamp post, are so interesting and create me wish to see it for myself someday. There was some outside tension from "evil" Kermit and Sabrina's mother, but no other drama to test to ruin what was building to be a attractive relationship.I also really liked Sabrina's relationship with her brother Kevin. They're very close and supportive of each other. The secret he reveals to Flynn about them at them was so cute! So were the epilogues.Overall, Come As You Are by Lauren Blakely was a witty, funny, and absolutely romantic story with relatable and engaging characters. I easily fall in to Ms. Blakely's novels and I enthusiastically recommend that you do to.(I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book I received for free in exchange for my begin and honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.)

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Where Did I Come From? review []  2019-12-21 18:52

    My 7-year-old daughter had some questions about bodies and babies, so I bought this book based on it's perfect reviews. I read it alone to review the content, and ultimately decided not too read it to my daughter. I ultimately ended up using her copy of "National Geographic Children Ultimate Body-Pedia" to present her diagrams of the reproductive system and explained the basics using those (and sonogram pictures from when I was pregnant for her to talk about pregnancy)."Where Did I Come From" is very cleverly written, and I love it's description of conception and pregnancy. The description of sex was too graphic and lovey-dovey for what I thought was a amazing explanation for a seven-year-old with divorced parents. It goes into several pages of descriptions of kissing, thrusting, erections, the male orgasm, and ultimately makes sex sound like a very male-centric act (and always, curiously, in missionary position).On the bright side, it did allow me collect MY thoughts and gave me the confidence to explain things to my child with the level of detail and context that I felt was appropriate. Yes, it was an awkward conversation, but there were lots of laughs and amazing questions. We focused more on "this is what happens when an egg and sperm obtain together and this is actually how it got there" and a discussion about making healthy choices and less on schmoopy descriptions of "what happens when mommies and daddies really love each other".So my recommendation (if you are like me)? Just listen to your children questions and respond them. Obtain the Ultimate Body-Pedia or a related atlas for kids. Pull out some sonograms. If you really feel like the discussion needs more audio-visuals, pull up some nature videos. Talk about experiences with pregnancy and a few memories on the day your child was born. Just remember, it can, and should be, an evolving conversation. My child doesn't need overwhelming detail in one go. She needs someone to listen and to provide amazing info as she grows.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Where Did I Come From? review []  2019-12-21 18:52

    I love this book. It opened the door to an easier-than-I-thought-it'd-be conversation for my husband and I to have with our two daughters. For us, the conversations that have stemmed from this book have ranged from puberty and our changing bodies, to pornography (good pictures, poor pictures), to inappropriate touching/looking, to showing affection in a loving relationship.A mate recommended this to me as I was struggling with a very curious 3rd grade daughter and an extremely modest 5th grade daughter. The two of them knew some general info already, it takes a man and a woman and they need to be naked, but I didn't know how to explain more of the info of intercourse in a method they would understand but wouldn't shock them either. I felt like my girls were ready (and needed) to husband and I read it together with our daughters and it made an necessary level of confidence and comfort and trust in our relationship and for this topic. It opened the door to NOT EMBARRASSING conversations and further questions my girls had. I think this is an perfect resource to start the conversation of sex and understanding that intercourse is for a loving relationship and for creating is book explains intercourse in a kid-friendly, yet still accurate way...from an erect penis entering the vagina to ejaculation...then onto fertilization and progression of a fetus to birth. **I especially liked the explanation that when two people love each other they wish to be as close to one another as possible, and the man's penis in the woman's vagina is as close as you can be.**

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Where Did I Come From? review []  2019-12-21 18:52

    I was going to give my 10 year old daughter the birds and the bees talk and I opened the book to a picture and was immediately disgusted. This is not something I would ever wish my daughter to envision that kind of initimate items to look like.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Where Did I Come From? review []  2019-12-21 18:52

    Answers the questions! And, it goes beyond sex into baby development. It recognizes that the parent isn't necessarily comfortable having the conversation, too!Our children were 5 & 6 when we read this to them. Both found it enlightening without being weird or uncomfortable. We bring this out for an introductory reading or two, then it gets hidden away until there are future questions.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Where Did I Come From? review []  2019-12-21 18:52

    I bought this book in hardback about 20 years ago when my daughter started asking the question 'how are babies made'. This book tells the correct story, using correct terms, but in a more understanding method for young minds to comprehend. I am now purchasing another copy to give to my daughter for her children.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Where Did I Come From? review []  2019-12-21 18:52

    I had this book as a kid and it did cause lots of giggles and jokes for us kids, but I had to obtain it when I had a baby. While not 100% accurate and definitely not commiserate with today’s types of families, there is some amazing info about the “birds and the bees.” At the very least, it will stimulate the conversation. And even after all of these years, I remembered the pictures and saw the correlation when I got pregnant.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Where Did I Come From? review []  2019-12-21 18:52

    8-year-old was red-faced enough that I knew he understood, but not embarrassed enough that he didn't wish to talk about it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Where Did I Come From? review []  2019-12-21 18:52

    I read it to my 7&8 yr olds at the same time and despite a bit of chuckling and red faces it was actually very easy, painless, and they now KNOW THE FACTS! This book anticipates that the conversation is awkward and attacks that head on, by acknowledging that it can be difficult and that they went out and asked children what they knew (or believed) as a major part of the research. It’s illustrated in a very natural and appropriate manner that helps the dialogue and took me an hour to go through, including plenty of Q&A.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Where Did I Come From? review []  2019-12-21 18:52

    SO inappropriate and far too a lot of info to be a children’s book! They don’t need a “how to” tutorial to sex with gross details. Never ever read this to your kids.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Where Did I Come From? review []  2019-12-21 18:52

    ...but I didn’t. I bought it when my 5 year old son began asking questions about how babies are made, remembering What’s Event to Me? from my own youth. Unfortunately, I found the info dated—this was written in the ‘70s, after all—pre-sonogram, etc. There are better books out there, my favorite now being It’s Not the Stork! I think it may have been geared for a kid slightly older than him as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On the Come Up review []  2019-12-26 18:59

    I'm a school social worker at a juvenile detention center, and I commonly bring books (usually high quality YA Lit) for the children to read when they are not in school. A lot of of our children are not amazing students and few were readers before they came here, but a lot of children read for pleasure now. Latest year alone, well over 30 children read "The Hate U Give" and a lot of were eagerly awaiting "On the Come Up." When I brought it to school latest week, a lot of of the kids' faces absolutely lit up, and they are now engrossed in the novel. When I arrived today, one of the children told me he was done and asked for "another Angie Thomas book." I laughed and explained he's already read them, so I'd have to bring him something any case, it is another fantastic, relatable book, especially for the children I have here at the JDC. They can relate to the themes, characters, and experiences, as most have grown up in complicated family systems and in communities not dissimilar from Garden Heights. Thomas is a amazing writer, and with "On The Come Up," I think she captured the language (her characters sound like my kids--even more so than in THUG). Well done, and we'll be eagerly waiting her third novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On the Come Up review []  2019-12-26 18:59

    I actually liked this book a lot better than The Hate You Give. The Hate You Give was an necessary book, but there were a lot of unnecessary scenes and even unnecessary characters. The pacing was slow at times, and the story seemed to drag on. I still liked that book, but it wasn't my is book shows the author's growth. The charactes are all gripping and there is not a dull moment. I read the book in two days. The notice of the story will stick with you. This is definately worth the read and one I will probably return to in the near future.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On the Come Up review []  2019-12-26 18:59

    Honestly, I wasn’t that blown away by this novel. It holds your interest but it’s simply not as amazing as THUG. My feelings may be due in part to the fact that I’m simply not a large fan of hip hop. I also wasn’t so keen on all the profanity in the book especially for young readers. I want rappers could obtain their point across without all the cussin smh. It would’ve also been nice to see Bri excel academically and actually take her education more seriously. We can be more than rappers.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On the Come Up review []  2019-12-26 18:59

    Reading this young-adult novel, I realized that -- likely since I'm now much older and a bit more jaded -- I'm not as prone to simply assume (as did some characters in this story) that hip-hop incites violence. Granted, I'm not an ardent fan of that melody genre. Yet I'm more willing to see it as poetry addressing social injustices and real-life inner turmoil. The story called to my mind how such lyrics may be disquieting to mindsets in the U.S. that are more suburban, conservative, and (if I may phrase it so) , high-school student Bri's passion to perform is tested by the pressures of her deceased dad's rap legacy, as well as the melody industry's own demands (along with its misogynistic attitudes), and Bri's own preparations for college entrance exams. As the story progresses, Bri's lyrics vent versus campus racism. But will this effect in her melody being censored, and her being virtually labeled a hoodlum? More urgently, will a melody career prove a ticket for her family to escape compounding financial hardships?While I more strongly favor the author's first novel, don't misunderstand -- this book, too, turned out enjoyable for me. The ending here may have seemed a bit ideal, but real to life, not all turned out rosy for everyone. I felt grateful to obtain acquainted with Bri's family and each of her closest peers. I grinned at some lyrical "sick burns" and I laughed seeing how gossip was prized at the church that Bri's family attended. I welcomed the implied ties to "The Hate U Give" and even a nod to a certain Becky Albertalli novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On the Come Up review []  2019-12-26 18:59

    Fantastic. I’m not gushing, but it’s really, very i is, as she says, brilliant, and as a character, one of the most special and complex I’ve ever read. She’s tough and vulnerable, talented and sensitive, yet hot-headed. I love her voice, and being taken on the ride of her confusion feels genuine and was so much fun.I love how Thomas doesn’t shy away from so a lot of social lessons with this novel, more so than with THUG. Gun violence, racial stereotypes, welfare, systemic poverty, drug abuse, drug distribution, police brutality, and so much more are all discussed while also weaving in a bit of romance and the right amount of family is is a fast-paced read and I really wish Trey to be my huge brother, too. I just felt like it wasn’t as tight as I’d like it to be, and the pacing was off at times. Minor issue.An wonderful story. My children will love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On the Come Up review []  2019-12-26 18:59

    Another inspiring, magnificent story.I fell in love with ANGIE THOMAS’S Writing when I picked her debut novel, THE HATE U GIVE which I read latest year, twice. I been excited about ON THE COME UP from the moment that she announced it on twitter. How could I not? Considering how much her debut novel affected me. When I started reading ON THE COME UP I was instantly hooked, to both the story and the characters. I had feeling that it would be a story that I would fall in love with. I did. I even recommended to a few of my mates as well. ON THE COME UP was various on THE HATE U GIVE and in the amazing way. I loved how Bri kept on fighting, despite what others said about her, to her. Not once did she give up on her dreams, and to me that’s dedication, courage. You cannot support but love Bri, and I know that she is type of person that I would love to be mates with. I don’t rap and only listen to rap melody sometimes, and I thought that Bri’s rap that she came up with was catchy, and I actually found myself singing along with it few times, while I was reading the book. I hated how others started treating her afterwards, I understand that they thought the notice that she was sending to others, but that gives them no right to assume what that song was about. I don’t know how she did it, how she handled it for as long as she did. If it was me in that situation, I wouldn’t be able to. That was one of the things that I loved about Bri, and how she kept going after her dream, no matter what was said about her song.What I loved the most about this book was how realistic it was. Poverty. Addiction. Gang is something that actually happens, and I am sure that it is what a lot of people can relate to. Bri, she dealt with so much in this book. Besides Bri, her mother was my second favorite hero in ON THE COME UP but then how could she not be? She’s recovering addict and just by reading this story, I saw how much she changed, and how hard she worked to provide for her family. She even gave up her education. I felt proud for her, and at same time I felt sorry, how hard she had work to provide for her family, and yet sometimes that wasn’t enough. I knew that Bri and her mom had their moments, especially when it comes to Bri;s rap, but I feel that was because she was afraid that she might lose her, the method that she lost her husband. She was trying to protect her. Despite their arguments, I knew that in the end they would be there for each other. Like Bri’s mother was when she found out what the guards at the school done to her, how they treated her. I knew that they would deny it, but I knew what they did was wrong, and that they shouldn’t been allowed back in school afterwards. I smiled, I cried, I got mad and I got scared while I read ON THE COME UP . It was as if I was feeling the emotions that characters were feeling in the story. It was…spectacular.Just like THE HATE U GIVE , ON THE COME UP will be a book that you will be thinking about long after turning the latest page, the story that you will be talking with your mates about. I did. I thought about the story, and the impact that this book had on me, days after I finished it. I fell in love. I am already eager to see what ANGIE THOMAS will come up with next. Highly recommended. A must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On the Come Up review []  2019-12-26 18:59

    Angie Thomas knocks it out the park again, y'all! This book was so good! I am so ready for this movie! The whole time I was reading, I couldn't stop thinking about how lit this soundtrack is gonna be. Black. Girl. Power! Bri steps up to the mic and slays as a female rapper, and I haven't even heard her yet. This book was very empowering, but also shines some serious light on how the media likes to control everyone's photo and mold you into what *they* wish you to be. Thomas did a unbelievable job with this in THUG, and now she comes around with it from another angle. There's also a lot about family and economic disparity and man, this book was just so true and wonderful. I loved it and I'm crazy excited for the film and any other books Thomas might send our way!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On the Come Up review []  2019-12-26 18:59

    The author of The Hate U Give, Angie Thomas, has written another YA hit in On the Come Up. 16 year old Bri's father was a hip-hop legend, killed by gang violence when she was young. She's hoping her rapping skills can obtain her a record deal and support her family (mother Jay and brother Trey) out of poverty. Keeping gas and electricity going, and meal in the fridge, is a challenge, and her mother is determined that Bri will do well on the ACTs and go to college. Bright Trey has dropped out of college to work at a pizza put to bring some cash The Hate U Give, this one is set in Garden Heights, a mirror of downtrodden urban locations across the country. Thomas is so amazing at capturing realistic dialogue and everyday dilemmas, including the risks of choice and the costs of poor choices. Sometimes a poor choice seems like the only choice there is.Race, gender, class and poverty problems all affect the characters' everyday lives. Bri is a battler, which often gets her into problem her white classmates don't experience, even for related behavior. Her mother is an ex-drug addict who loses her job, and has to scramble to create ends meet. At the same time she's working to restore her daughter's trust from her time of despair and may sound like a grim book, but it's actually the opposite. There's hope and humor and love and romance, even amid dire circumstances. Bri is a dynamic rapper, and we experience the excitement of her first competitive bout, and all that comes after. The end seemed a bit "tidy" to me, but this is a YA book. Bri is a wonderful, imperfect hero learning what's necessary to her, and how to live with integrity in a difficult world. Another winning book from Angie Thomas.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On the Come Up review []  2019-12-26 18:59

    I enjoyed this novel. IAngie Thomas is an exciting writer. I don't know a lot about hip hop and reading this sent me googling and youtubing. I think it would be amazing reading for teens. There is a lot of profanity but that is the method teens talk. I hopr people don't allow prudishness and rigidity stop them from taking in the notice that this novel delivers or stop them from allowing young people to experiencing the novel. The messages regarding education, family, religion, knowing who you are and surviving are powerful. I am over 60, a Motown child of the 70s and I found this novel upl iiftig and positive.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    On the Come Up review []  2019-12-26 18:59

    For me the book was split into two rt One: the musicPart Two: the life of BriThe Melody part, with that I mean the lyrics and rapping, was eye-opening. It’s no surprise that I know nothing about rapping. It's not a genre I'm listening to. But the method Bri rhymed those verses on the spot, with barely any time for preparation was AMAZING. Now, I just wish to know if these rapping competitions are really a an adult I saw some of the plot already written on the wall. I’m more aware of what’s to come by just having life experience. Some things are just too amazing to be true. The promise of a better life versus staying real to oneself. Not selling yourself short. Taking the hard method instead of the simple , about Bri’s with The Hate U Give, the author writes not only about a teenager so very various to my own teenage self, but also about an problem that needs to be addressed. And if it’s just to allow everyone know that this is still a issue in a lot of locations of the US and probably worldwide. And I’m not talking about skin colors, it’s about gang violence, drug distribution, children afraid of going to school, and discrimination. Moreover Bri’s entire life is the very opposite of everything I experienced myself growing up. Because of it, the plot is captivating, thought provoking but never more than what it’s supposed to be, a story.I really enjoyed Bri’s interaction with her friends, family and adults. She always stays real to herself, even when she navigates this fresh exciting melody opportunity. Although not all of her choices are the right ones. More than once I wished she had an adult to tutorial , after finishing this book it’s confirmed that I’m a BIG fan of Angie Thomas. It doesn’t matter what she writes, I’m going to read it. Her books are well written, thoughtful, and eye opening. The characters are interesting, entertaining and always engaging. I’m definitely looking forward to her next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come on In review []  2020-1-17 5:32

    Sorry TobyMac but these guys are my fresh favorite band. love Love LOVE this album. Toe tapping, satisfied music, but also thoughtful tunes about wish and need and the human condition and separation from the love of God. The notice is in the melody and the melody gets deep inside you. Come On In is amazing for country fans, hip hop fans, and those who know a down-home party when they hear one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come on In review []  2020-1-17 5:32

    I love country, and hip hop and this group found a brilliant method of Combining them both on top of maintaining a faithbased overtone. My 14 & 11 year old girls really love it as well. Amazing buy!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come on In review []  2020-1-17 5:32

    Love this album. Amazing rap meets south style with a total Jesus flair.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come on In review []  2020-1-17 5:32

    My wife loves this Hick Hop.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come on In review []  2020-1-17 5:32

    Hold it coming, I'm in.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Come on In review []  2020-1-17 5:32

    Love the mix of modern and old southern blues country music. Amazing sound for dancing and driving down the road.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Coming review []  2020-1-21 21:55

    Over the years, I've read a lot of Mr. Haldeman's novels. I've enjoyed nearly all of them, truely thought a few were amazing literature (Forever War, Mindbridge). When I picked up The Coming, I'd just finished reading Camoflage and thought it was is was a deeply various tone but not an inauthentic one. Haldeman does write politics sometimes, usually (apparently) as an extension of his wartime my opinion, The Coming was a terrific story that got bogged down by its backstory. It had a amazing setup in the first twenty pages or so and then it was all hero for the next couple hundred. Then the alien story took center scene and the setup went unfulfilled. Even the surprise at the end wasn't that much of a surprise. It telegraphed itself fairly early on in the story and, once exposed, the surprise could have used the same depth of backstory granted each of the main felt like Mr. Haldeman spent time building his people up and then failed to structure an ending that satisfied. Now I've got all these characters in my head and I don't know where any of them wound up...I was a bit disappointed in The Coming but the writing is superb. If there was a sequel tomorrow, I wouldn't wait for paperback but I would hope from more than I got from the first one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Coming review []  2020-1-21 21:55

    I'm a large fan of "first contact" books, and I like Joe Haldeman's books. I really, really like them. So it was with considerable anticipation that I ordered "The Coming" from Amazon and waited for it to arrive. It did, I read it, and it was a puff pastry.A puff pastry of a book is one you bite into and search there's small there but air. Others have described the story here, so I won't bother you by repeating it. I will say that if you like hero development, you'll probably like the book. If you like to see a veiw of the future, you may like this, 'tho much is left unexplained, as Heinlein would have done, but less well.And if you're looking for a conclusion, well, you won't search it here.I'm really at a loss to understand why someone of Haldeman's reputation would have published this fairly short novel in the shape it's in. Perhaps he had bills coming due. Perhaps he thought this would be the excellent begin to a multi-volume future history. Maybe he thought that this was just a very amazing book as it e narrative changes almost with each paragraph. Someone in one paragraph is often the narrator in the next. This works with movies, but is a fresh - and not-quite-succesful experiment in this book. Changes in viewpoint can round out a story nicely, but in "The Coming" they are often just impediments to a free-flowing summary: If you like Haldeman, wait until your library has a copy of the book. If it doesn't, wait until it's remaindered or comes out in paperback. It's not a real first contact story, a time-travel story (!), or a psychological study done well. It's a minor offering from a major talent.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Coming review []  2020-1-21 21:55

    Amazing read. Sure, it doesn't have the same feel as the classics Haldeman has already penned, but Ive got those to return to. These are words from a fresh chapter in his body of work and a shift of perspective is always appreciated.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Coming review []  2020-1-21 21:55

    I gave the book a couple of stars because the presentation is very original -- we obtain to hop around between different persons and their points of view as the alien visitation is approaching. It creates a dynamic flow that keeps you with the story. However, the story itself is lacking. It's bigger on sex and blackmail than it is on science. I was hoping for something that discussed more of the characters feelings towards the alien arrival, but what you obtain is just a bunch of uninteresting private side-stories about who's had affairs with who. The book also loses a star for having the characters speak a dialog that is a mixture of spanish and english. The author probably has a point here -- English will continue to absorb spanish words, but the result is distracting and just didn't work for me. Lastly, the ending seemed rushed and poorly thought out.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Coming review []  2020-1-21 21:55

    Recommended . All of Haldemans work is recommended. Especially Forever War. His stories are scientific ways looking forward to his next work.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Coming review []  2020-1-21 21:55

    If you're a fan of Joe Haldeman and his style of science fiction, I think you will have fun "The Coming".I am primarily a fan of "Military" Sci-Fi, and this novel is definitely not that, but all in all, Idid have fun it very much. It is very well written, with enough plot twists and turns to hold you readingpage after page.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Coming review []  2020-1-21 21:55

    The plot is well thought out and executed, I should have seen the ending coming - but I didn't. Nice twist!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Coming review []  2020-1-21 21:55

    There is no option to cancel this. When you think you are ordering a book, you obtain internet reading.WRONG!Bad choice to read on an iPhone!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Coming review []  2020-1-21 21:55

    I expected more of a story from the mighty Haldeman, this was slow and anticlimactic. If you just wish to read something I suppose its better than nothing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Coming review []  2020-1-21 21:55

    Mildly disappointed, enjoyed it nonetheless.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Best of Polish Fairy Tales: What Is Destined to Come Shall Come review []  2020-1-3 23:5

    My History professor told me a true story from the 1860s which had a lot to do with these fairy had an wonderful satisfied end. I was taking notes so I was able to translate the story for this feedback. Here it our Polish village, there was a man named Jerzy, who collected Polish fairy tales. I think there was literally not a single Polish folk tale that he didn’t know. Children loved him because he was so amazing at telling stories.(Now the best of Polish fairy tales that Jerzy would tell back in the 1860s have been translated into English and are presented in this book.)In 1863, Jerzy joined the Polish liberating rebellion versus the unfair regime that the Russian Empire had imposed on Poland. When the rebellion had been suppressed, Russian soldiers were to arrest him. He expected to obtain a death sentence—unfortunately, about 400 rebels were eventually sentenced to death by the Russian government.But that’s where the story ssian soldiers caught Jerzy and battered him. They were taking him away from his village when he was able to escape for a moment. He ran towards a small wood with probably several tons of trees to shelter him. The soldiers were drunk and fell behind for a ey finally reached the wood and searched every inch of it but couldn’t search a trace of Jerzy. They spent half the day looking for him. The soldiers dug the ground with their bayonets, yelling with rage, for there was no put for the Pole to hide. Yet, they never found him. He disappeared into thin air, just like they do in fairy tales. The guards had to leave go empty-handed.What do you think was his secret?That’s how Jerzy explained it:“So I ran away from the soldiers and was able to break loose. As I reached the grove, I stopped to rest behind a tree, for I couldn’t run any more. The soldiers had wounded my right leg really badly, and the pain was more than I could I stood leaning versus the damp bark. There’s no method you can climb a wet tree that’s over a meter wide. I prayed to be I pressed my forehead versus the trunk in despair, I felt something which turned out to be the rusty head of a really thick nail that was almost invisible behind the bark. There was a small of the nail protruding from the trunk.I looked up to see a series of barely noticeable nails leading up into the at moment I knew what to do. I climbed the trunk in no time to search some kind of a hut hidden among the branches. I think it was rather a poorly created treehouse.I got inside and held my breath. The soldiers kept looking for me in the wood. It never occurred to them that I might be up in the foliage as the wet tree with no low-hanging branches looked absolutely unclimbable. So they left without finding me. I was then able to escape abroad. I do think the tree that saved me is still esn’t this story sound like characters of some fairy tale came true to save Jerzy the tale-teller?P.P.S.Unfortunately, haters tend to search fault with decent books, whether it’s Christians or the Polish nation that they hate. Besides, rival publishers who are also trying to sell fairy tales might employ trolls to criticize a work like a teacher I search the book very appealing because it’s so special, easy and candid. I even like the awkward wording that seems to be typical of Polish ’s like a sweet wooden figure that your dear Grandpa created for you. It can’t look like a standard made-in-China plastic is is a collection of old folk fairy tales. It’s only natural that it differs from today’s Disney style stories that sound all the same as their only purpose is to meet the consumer demand.P.P.P.S.Let me quote Albert Einstein: “If you wish your kids to be intelligent, read them fairy tales. If you wish them to be more intelligent, read them more fairy tales.” I’m sure that guy wouldn’t give useless advice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Best of Polish Fairy Tales: What Is Destined to Come Shall Come review []  2020-1-3 23:5

    Absolutely adorable.I think the best bonus which the parents can do to children.Was purchased as a bonus for a mate who loves children's books. He is very much into this kind of me of the stories are charming, such as THREE though I am getting into "advanced years", I am still a kid at heart who is delighted and entranced with fairy tales of all is is a glimpse into the history of the globe and one very well worth remembering.I was surprised at how various the original tales are from what we generally hear today or see on TV and in movies. It also was awesome to read tales from a various culture other than my ing "52 Fairy Tales" is like paying a visit to old friends, all the heroes and heroines we remember from childhood. They take you to locations so 's a comprehensive and affordable compilation, suitable for both casual readers and folklore is book includes a huge assortment of heart warming stories, that also teach life lessons.Well... This was not easy, but the authors of this book did a amazing job interpreting the tales.I would definitely recommend it to any lover of fairy tales. The reason it is the best is because of the sheer number and authenticity of the stories. It brings back memories of when I was a child.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Best of Polish Fairy Tales: What Is Destined to Come Shall Come review []  2020-1-3 23:5

    -the book has no misprints except for those created deliberately. That is, the kid is to compete in finding misprints in a number of easy words. Indeed, the book includes several “misprints” to check if the young reader can spot them. It was a tournament mentioned on page 224. I think it’s unbelievable that kids are encouraged to be attentive and go hunting for “misprints”;-besides, Polish letters “with tails and strokes” (these are actually called diacritics) are used in the names of characters and cities. Those contribute to better representation of Polish proper names but may look like misprints to the untrained eye as the automatic spell check can’t cope with the symbols. This doesn't mean the text is wrong;-this book is a famous bonus for those of Polish descent, which is in particular due to the beautiful cover and charming illustrations. It also has huge print, making it simple to read even for short-sighted elderly grannies. I think it’s Virgin Mary on the cover. Another possible interpretation is that the woman stands for Poland, which has been surrounded by rather troublesome neighbors;-what makes this book unique is the latest translation that it is not in the public domain and is very unlikely to be found on the web. The fairy tales appears nowhere but in this edition because the translation was created in 2016–2017. The translated Polish fairy tales in other books are old public domain tales translated before 1926, which you can actually access online;-a Polish radio station raffled off the book in 2016. A lot of listeners called trying to victory it. I was glad to purchase the book here because I’d failed to obtain through to the radio station;-the price is quite moderate for a book like this. 99 cent is not much for an e-book that took hundreds of hours of illustrating, translating, and makeup to create. The price for the hard copy is quite low as for fifty original fairy tales as well. I think it’s rather a show for the readers than a business project;-the book has become a classic; universities rely on it as the best collection of Polish folk fairy tales in English. Professors say it is the first translation of Polish folk tales into English to appear since 1926. This seems only natural because the country was seized by Globe Battle II in the 1930s, and the Soviet control over the publishing of translated Polish works in Poland, which lasted until 1991, was rather unfriendly. The fact that it is the first translation after the long hiatus (since 1926!) makes it even more delightful. I believe that the work behind this book does deserve to be praised. To the best of my knowledge, the ver of late 2017 is the LATEST (revised) edition, where the minor flaws of the first edition of 2015–2016 were eliminated. That is, the publishers reckon with readers' feedback to gradually improve the translation until it’s impeccable.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Best of Polish Fairy Tales: What Is Destined to Come Shall Come review []  2020-1-3 23:5

    This book is really necessary to the Polish culture. From my research, only two compilations of Polish fairy FOLK tales have previously appeared in English:- Polish Fairy Tales (1920) - not folk ones but authored by J. Glinski (1817–1866), translated by A. Maude. Those edition contained as few as 7 (!) tales.- The Glass Mountain and Other Polish Fairy Tales (also titled Polish Fairy Tales, The Polish Fairy Book) followed in 1925, containing 6 (!) e two compilations, dated 1920 and 1925 respectively, have actually appeared in numerous editions. It was not before 2016–2017 that this fresh authentic compilation of 50 Polish folk tales was published. In fact, it was the first translation of Polish FOLK fairy tales into English to appear after 1920–1925. Moreover, it includes as a lot of as 50 (!) tales. It’s only natural for books to be revised to eliminate misprints and the like. The current ver of this book doesn’t include the dedication to Lech Kaczynski that appeared in the 2016 edition. All misprints were corrected in February is book is the best purchase I have ever made.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter