Read compressible fluid dynamics and shock waves reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all compressible fluid dynamics and shock waves reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fluid Dynamics via Examples and Solutions []  2020-1-30 19:17

    What makes this book standout among other fluid dynamics texts are the wide dozens of novel model issues and full solutions, applicable to true engineering and geophysical fluid dynamics problems, which create up the general body of the text. Such a layout enables the reader to yze the governing equations from a practical point of view from the very outset and relate the theory to real-life applications, something which most other general fluid dynamics texts are e issues are accompanied by a clear and concise introduction to each topic zone and the author provides references to extra classical texts for further reading on each subject. Having followed the lecture course and guides classes from which this book descends, I think it is an easy-to-follow text and the solutions to the issues are very well explained and beautiful to any undergraduate student wishing to develop his understanding of the topic. Any engineering or applied mathematics student should already have the prerequisite mathematics needed to follow the examples. The specific issues are conveniently listed in the table of contents, making it simple to choose one suited to your particular interest or field and easy diagrams support visualize the issue set-up. These will be of interest also to teachers of undergraduate fluid dynamics and the book could be used to outline one's own lecture course or exam paper.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Compressible Fluid Flow (Heat Transfer Book 6) []  2020-1-17 19:41

    better than I expected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Compressible Fluid Flow (Heat Transfer Book 6) []  2020-1-17 19:41

    GREAT PRICE GREAT PRODUCT

    0  


    Add your opinion on compressible fluid dynamics and shock waves or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Compressible Fluid Flow (Heat Transfer Book 6) []  2020-1-17 19:41

    Dozens of ideas and divertive principles and assumptions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Compressible Fluid Flow (Heat Transfer Book 6) []  2020-1-17 19:41

    I lectured in a University for a short while, and I have fun learning how people learn engineering. This book is an perfect example on how to teach an engineering course. I recommend using the software and the guide for the accompanying software to truly understand the concepts in the book. Additionally, obtain some old gas dynamics texts to support fill in any gaps. As little as they may be.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Compressible Fluid Flow (Heat Transfer Book 6) []  2020-1-17 19:41

    This text is just OK. There are a significant amount of errors in the text, including derived formulas. The examples are better, and Oosthuizen has a more fundamental approach to the continuity, momentum, and energy equations than Anderson provides.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Computational Methods for Fluid Dynamics []  2020-7-7 18:58

    Teaches several methods you can use to create your simulations some methods are quite easy and will let you to understand the mechanics of CFD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Computational Methods for Fluid Dynamics []  2020-7-7 18:58

    One of the best book I have bought in CFD !!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Computational Methods for Fluid Dynamics []  2020-7-7 18:58

    Ferziger's book does a not good job of covering concrete details. It's revealing to see that a lot of sections (and chapters) are simply long blocks of text, with no equations. The text gives a qualitative and fuzzy introduction to computational fluid dynamics, and leaves the reader wanting much more detail.With respect to applications: I used the book in a graduate-level computational fluid dynamics course, and when I was actually writing CFD code, I found the book to be of no support at all. I used Tannehill, Anderson, and Pletcher's "Computational Fluid Mechanics and Heat Transfer" to be very helpful with finite difference, and Ptankar's "Numerical Heat Transfer and Fluid Flow" and Versteeg's "Introduction to Computational Fluid Dynamics" to be far superior with respect to the finite volume approach (although finite volume is the main focus of the book). With respect to the "special topics", nothing is covered with any substance, everything is glossed over, and nearly half of the book is, in my opinion, a waste. Chung's "Computational Fluid Dynamics" is a much better all-in-one reference book that covers unique subjects FAR better - with enough detail that one could actually attempt to implement them in a code.With respect to the fundamental approach: I think Anderson's "Computational Fluid Dynamics" book gives a much better, more physically intuitive description of the governing equations and of finite volume discretization. Ferziger does a weak job of covering nearly everything in his book, and the finite volume introduction is no exception.Overall, this is a watered-down introduction to CFD. It does not to justice to any of the topics it covers, particularly the unique topics. It is a not good textbook for a CFD class, and although it has been sitting on my bookshelf for 3 years, I always pass it over in favor of other references (see above for list).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Computational Methods for Fluid Dynamics []  2020-7-7 18:58

    Incredibly comprehensive and well-written. Everybody who does CFD should be fluent (get it?) in this book. It does have a few notable mistakes, however, so create sure you look up the errata.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Computational Methods for Fluid Dynamics []  2020-7-7 18:58

    Fair Read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Computational Methods for Fluid Dynamics []  2020-7-7 18:58

    This is a very amazing book for learning the info of implementing the Finite Volume way in Computational Fluid Dynamics. I view it as very complimentary to S. V. Patankar's book, which is more general in nature. Both books are geared toward people who wish to write computer programs to solve fluid transport issues (heat transfer, Navier-Stokes, etc.) Both tend to focus on numerical problems (as opposed to the physics of transport phenomena). But while Pantankar's book provides a very easy, approachable introduction that is thin on the details, Ferziger & Peric have written a book rich in details. For instance, they devote an entire chapter to solving linear systems of equations. They compare all of the commonly used methods and contrast their rates of convergence for different try cases. This level of detail is amazing if you already understand the huge picture. I think it may be somewhat difficult for someone fresh to CFD to really understand the finite volume way from this book alone. I would recommend Patankar's book for a amazing intro and this book for the implementation details.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Computational Methods for Fluid Dynamics []  2020-7-7 18:58

    I agree with the reviewer that said this book is complimentary to an intro text such as Patankar. This is not a cook book for a first time coder. But it is a really amazing reference for the Finite Volume dilettante.I really appreciate that all numerical results presented are thoroughly doented. That ally, really nice chapter on iterative solvers....Good overall description on a lot of other subjects such as multi-grid methods, turbulence, grid geometry and PV is book really helped me speed up my homegrown quite a ey also have all kinds of items available by ftp....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Computational Methods for Fluid Dynamics []  2020-7-7 18:58

    Recommended for those just starting to use CFD, or for those using CFD but not making their own code or program.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Computational Methods for Fluid Dynamics []  2020-7-7 18:58

    The third solder always cannot help the tracking number, and it lead me cannot to check the exact delivery date.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Computational Methods for Fluid Dynamics []  2020-7-7 18:58

    I used this text as a part of an intro to CFD class I am taking. I wasn't very impressed by this book. There are a few amazing parts, but for the most part, the book is very much wanting. You have to trudge through some confusing text in locations because of the author's desire to be general. Several figures add nothing to the discussion. For all the algorithms discussed, there is not a single flow chart or chunk of pseduocode - leaving very long-winded text-heavy explanations of what should be easy e loss of Professor Ferziger was definitely to the detriment of the CFD field, but a lot of this book is the authors referencing their own work (this bugs the crap out of me). No offense, but their contributions thus far are not as necessary as they would have you believe by reading this book; they are not the only people to have papers in topics that run the gamut of CFD topics. Speaking of referencing papers, the authors treatment of primary subjects (numerical ysis, FDM/FVM, FEM, time integration methods) is very much lacking, while more "high brow" subjects like turbulence and multiphase flows have a reference every other sentence. I found the treatment of linear equation solvers and general NS-equations solutions to be very good. The turbulence chapter was also very clear. It was amazing to see efficiency and error discussed in the context of actually solving problems, but alas, their treatment did not really do this very necessary zone much justice.I don't know what book is amazing for learning CFD. If you were completely fresh to the field, I suppose this would be a reasonable put to start, but once again, I don't think the text is THAT chapters include: 1. Primary Concepts of Fluid Flow 2. Introduction to Numerical Methods 3. Finite Difference Methods 4. Finite Volume Methods 5. Solution of Linear Equation Systems 6. Methods for Unsteady Issues 7. Solution of the Navier-Stokes Equations 8. Complex Geometries 9. Turbulent Flows 10. Compressible Flow 11. Efficiency and Accuracy Improvement 12. Unique Topics

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essentials of Computational Fluid Dynamics []  2020-12-25 20:23

    I love this book. It is written in a clearly manner and gives a general overview on the numerics behind CFD, with some easy examples to allow you better understand what CFD is all about. I highly tip this book for every CFD beginner. It is a amazing starting point for those who wish to dive deeper in the exciting globe of CFD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Waves in the Ocean and Atmosphere: Introduction to Wave Dynamics []  2020-7-26 19:29

    I am always happy with my purchases from Amazon. the specified time is almost spot on perhaps a day late or so. this is a famous book for oceanographers and has been recommended by my peers (academic researchers and post graduate students at PhD level)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Applied Computational Fluid Dynamics and Turbulence Modeling: Practical Tools, Tips and Techniques []  2020-7-22 18:34

    This is a amazing resource for all individual performing calculations for both scientific purposes and commercial development. This book starts with the introductory theory and advances through to more complex topics presenting them in an interesting and intuitive way. This will support make a solid understanding of the phenomena occurring in the flow as well as in mathematical solvers employed in CFD ing able to efficiently search accurate and precise solutions is of utmost importance in engineering work and this book gives access to years of experience in the field. I have personally used the concepts conveyed in this book in my work and in my Ph.D. work to make better simulations that are accurate and stable. The concepts in the book also let for fast determination in where instabilities are made and what can be done to improve stability in my simulations.I would recommend this book as a resource to newcomers in CFD and turbulence modeling as well as experienced professionals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Applied Computational Fluid Dynamics and Turbulence Modeling: Practical Tools, Tips and Techniques []  2020-7-22 18:34

    As someone fresh to computational fluid dynamics, I found this book to be extremely helpful. It includes a wide range of info ranging from theoretical to practical, providing detail about current and anticipated future developments as well as a primary conceptual overview of e book gives an introduction to the major types of turbulence modeling, and follows the derivations of several mathematical models, to present what is going on behind the scenes in the CFD simulations. It points out the strengths and weaknesses of different CFD models and compares which models are best for which situations. The theoretical discussions are grounded with frequent references to case studies and real-world other sections, the book discusses setting up a reliable simulation. It contains simple to follow algorithms for calculating variables to set up the simulation or compare with the simulation results, guidelines for evaluating meshes, explanation of initial conditions, boundary conditions, and boundary condition combinations, codes for computing some variables, etc. I have found these sections consistently useful for setting up amazing simulations, and the book provides a lot of tools for evaluating whether or not simulation results are e book does not provide much info relevant to particular CFD software, though it does occasionally reference some. Specific info about a lot of minor configuration options are not included, and this may also vary with the software used.Overall, I found this book to be a amazing introduction to the globe of CFD and a helpful reference. The author’s fascination with the topic matter clearly shines through.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Applied Computational Fluid Dynamics and Turbulence Modeling: Practical Tools, Tips and Techniques []  2020-7-22 18:34

    As expected, the book is well researched as it includes extensive resources to provide credibility and reliability of the methodologies used. It also contains clear and well-formatted visuals to aid readers in understanding certain concepts and experiments. The book also includes sample problems, which can support the readers familiarize themselves with CFD and turbulence modeling applications.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Applied Computational Fluid Dynamics and Turbulence Modeling: Practical Tools, Tips and Techniques []  2020-7-22 18:34

    Amazing book with lots of examples for performing state-of-the-art reliable computational fluid dynamics (CFD) and turbulence modeling.If there is someone who really knows about Advanced Computational Fluid Dynamics and Turbulent Flow Modeling is Dr. Sal.I've been anxiously waiting for Dr. Sal to write a book like this and he finally did it!I know Dr. Sal is currently a Principal Member of the Technical Staff at Sandia National Laboratories (SNL) and a Research Associate Professor at University of Fresh Mexico with a BS in Nuclear Engineering, MS in Mechanical Engineering, MS in Applied Mathematics, PhD in Nuclear Engineering, and a PhD in Philosophy and Apologetics.Every engineering student or professional should read it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Geophysical Fluid Dynamics: Physical and Numerical Aspects (ISSN Book 101) []  2019-12-26 18:51

    Excelent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Geophysical Fluid Dynamics: Physical and Numerical Aspects (ISSN Book 101) []  2019-12-26 18:51

    If you wish to understand how the ocean & atmosphere work and how to model them, this book is what you need!. This book is about physical intuition and mathematical provides readers with profound physical insight into the equations governing the planetary fluids and the art of resolving them numerically, together with a series of exercises (various numerical applications with the computer codes) and biographical notes of notable scientists putting the science in historical perspective. Thank you Benoit & Jean-Marie for this fascinating textbook, which will certainly inspire the fresh generation of Earth System Scientists.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Applied Computational Fluid Dynamics and Turbulence Modeling: Practical Tools, Tips and Techniques []  2020-7-22 18:34

    The author packed decades of experience into the computational fluid dynamics (CFD) modeling guidance provided in this book. The text is very adept at explaining the scientific theory in a remarkably understandable and memorable (e.g., the LIKE acronym for turbulence parameters) manner. He has compiled the guidelines that CFD practitioners need to know to successfully model practical systems and obtain their work published. Guidelines are given for meshing, reducing computational time, sub-model selection and more. This book is recommended reading for students, as well as practicing engineers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Geophysical Fluid Dynamics: Physical and Numerical Aspects (ISSN Book 101) []  2019-12-26 18:51

    It is a amazing one and a right choice for me. I also recommend everyone to purchase for this item if you need it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Geophysical Fluid Dynamics: Physical and Numerical Aspects (ISSN Book 101) []  2019-12-26 18:51

    This 2nd edition of the book offers an outstanding introductory level course in GFD, expanding the content of the 1st edition to similar computational methods, useful code examples and other very interesting material such as issues and exercises. The authors have mastered the delicate balance between theoretical aspects and practical applications, scientific info and intuition, emerging challenges and the recognition of seminal and reference works. I want this book had been available when I was a student!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Geophysical Fluid Dynamics: Physical and Numerical Aspects (ISSN Book 101) []  2019-12-26 18:51

    the book is brand fresh and pretty. the book lacks example problems.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Geophysical Fluid Dynamics: Physical and Numerical Aspects (ISSN Book 101) []  2019-12-26 18:51

    This book is really an necessary addition to the rapidly growing library of Atmosphere-Ocean-Climate + Geophysical Fluid Dynamics literature. Its novel approach is to combine and integrate the physical and numerical aspects of the field. The former are essential to the understanding of the processes & phenomena, the latter to manipulating the large data sets and very huge numerical models that support advance the theoretical understanding.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Geophysical Fluid Dynamics: Physical and Numerical Aspects (ISSN Book 101) []  2019-12-26 18:51

    Excellent GFD book for beginner or advanced user! The Matlab functions associated let us to quickly visualize and "play" with the physical principles developed throughout the book. A must have for students, instructors, or anyone interested in understanding Geophysical fluid Dynamics

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Geophysical Fluid Dynamics: Physical and Numerical Aspects (ISSN Book 101) []  2019-12-26 18:51

    Disclosure: this is a review / complaint about the paper edition, not about the contents of the ntent-wise the book is fantastic. The author remains one of the clearest writers in the field. It is one of the best introductory books on EVER, the printed (paper) edition does not have color! The figures on p. 719 (comparison between 20 model outputs for ENSO prediction, there is no difference in grey scale between a blue line and a green line!), or pp. 707-708 (what's the difference between dark red and dark blue in grey-scale, ey?) are not in color. There are a lot of other examples (pp. 491, 492, etc). A lot of info is lost!May be the kindle edition, viewed on KindleFire would have proper images.Update (April 1st, 2016):High quality color figures are available online (...)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Geophysical Fluid Dynamics: Physical and Numerical Aspects (ISSN Book 101) []  2019-12-26 18:51

    DON'T BUYThe book is an perfect textbook but the quality of the printing is extremely bad. A lot of information in the figures is lost due to the low quality of the printing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Fluid Dynamics (Schaum's Outlines) []  2019-12-24 20:7

    Book as described in ad. Arrived within estimated time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Fluid Dynamics (Schaum's Outlines) []  2019-12-24 20:7

    Perfect reference for post-graduation work

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Finite Element Method for Fluid Dynamics []  2020-10-31 18:43

    Awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Fluid Dynamics (Schaum's Outlines) []  2019-12-24 20:7

    It is a amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Fluid Dynamics (Schaum's Outlines) []  2019-12-24 20:7

    Amazing quality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Fluid Dynamics (Schaum's Outlines) []  2019-12-24 20:7

    Amazing product

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Fluid Dynamics (Schaum's Outlines) []  2019-12-24 20:7

    This book is useful for fast references but I wouldn't depend on it to pass a Fluid Mechanics course.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Computational Fluid Dynamics: A Practical Approach []  2020-1-3 22:3

    The book falls apart immediately after opening

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Fluid Dynamics (Schaum's Outlines) []  2019-12-24 20:7

    Well doented text for Fluid Dynamics. Thank You

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Fluid Dynamics (Schaum's Outlines) []  2019-12-24 20:7

    Used this as a supplementary text to test and bring in an alternative perspective to the material for my Thermals & Fluids class. I didn't actually use it during the time I was taking the class but after I skimmed through the text and it had more in the method of content then my actual textbook for the course had. I would recommend this to people who either wish it to support them when learning the material or for specialists who just need a casual reference text for when they are working.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Fluid Dynamics (Schaum's Outlines) []  2019-12-24 20:7

    Amazing book, in fresh condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Fluid Dynamics (Schaum's Outlines) []  2019-12-24 20:7

    Fluid mechanics is a vast field. It can be considered a branch of applied physics. Highly mathematical, as can be seen in the issues given in this book by Hughes. He takes you through the field, giving the salient equations used to describe different fluid remost amongst these is the Navier-Stokes equation. A nonlinear partial differential equation that describes the balancing or conservation of momentum and energy in a fluid. Most of fluid mechanics builds on Navier-Stokes. So you need to obtain your understanding of it down pat. The issues given for these should be tackled and hopefully solved by you, before going onto later sections in the book. You need a solid grasp of this. It can create the rest much easier.Other chapters describe different necessary unique cases. Like incompressible flow. Or one dimensional flow of a fluid that is compressible. Then expanding this discussion into 2 undary layer issues are also heavily studied. Necessary in practice, because these relate to the designing of surfaces of planes or boats or missiles. Which leads naturally into issues of en what if the fluid is charged? Electromagnetic effects [currents] then come into consideration. So Hughes devotes a chapter to magnetohydrodynamics. Students of nuclear fusion or stellar evolution may search this chapter germane.Overall, Hughes gives a broad span of the field. A lot of issues to sharpen your understanding.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Finite Element Method for Fluid Dynamics []  2020-10-31 18:43

    More of an overview than a teaching/learning manual. This is a 7th edition. Fresh chapters have been added but apparently references have not been updated since the original publication. In this sense it is grossly out of date. Disappointed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Finite Volume Method in Computational Fluid Dynamics: An Advanced Introduction with OpenFOAM® and Matlab (Fluid Mechanics and Its Applications Book 113) []  2020-12-1 18:37

    This book has a amazing introduction in either CFD or numerical methods. And I high recommend this book for both beginner and professional

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Finite Volume Method in Computational Fluid Dynamics: An Advanced Introduction with OpenFOAM® and Matlab (Fluid Mechanics and Its Applications Book 113) []  2020-12-1 18:37

    You can neither learn finite volume way from this book nor OpenFoam. To learn finite volume method, use Versteeg and Malalasekera; andto learn OpenFoam use OpenFoam doentation. The book strongly fails in explaining the conecpts, algorithms and giving fully worked r example, Chapter 16 on SIMPLE and other algorithms seem simply like a copy-paste of material from papers and very hard to follow. On top of these, too a lot of typos in the book. I do not know why people do not check their books before publishing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Finite Volume Method in Computational Fluid Dynamics: An Advanced Introduction with OpenFOAM® and Matlab (Fluid Mechanics and Its Applications Book 113) []  2020-12-1 18:37

    The book is partially amazing in explaining finite volume method. However, openfoam discussions, numerical solver discussions are reover, there exist significant amount of typos, errors, reference to wrong equations and figures in the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Finite Volume Method in Computational Fluid Dynamics: An Advanced Introduction with OpenFOAM® and Matlab (Fluid Mechanics and Its Applications Book 113) []  2020-12-1 18:37

    Amazing book. A "must have" for anyone willing to learn FV and OpenFOAM. Chapters are very clear and well structured, with a lot of pictures and "computational pointers" to reveal how each of the discussed subjects is actually implemented in the opensource library. Not familiar with C++ or OpenFOAM? Is the implementation (or the topic) still unclear? Do not panic. The authors also provide and describe in detail a Matlab academic code. Thorough all the text, this code is somehow parallel to OpenFOAM so that you can just forget about one or the other (a kind of safety redundancy). But let's focus on OpenFOAM: the book follows quite rigorously the original source code, but it departs from it when describing pressure coupling algorithms. Overall, the book is a rare and awesome tutorial to the OpenFOAM source code. Also, it delivers the best description of the Rhie-Chow interpolation I ever seen, together with detailed implementation in OpenFOAM.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Fluid Dynamics (Cambridge Mathematical Library) []  2020-6-10 18:56

    This is the best presentation of primary fluid dynamics I have seen. I used this book in grad school and enjoyed its easy and clear approach. Some modern textbooks distract you with excessive graphics and create me feel like I have ADD when reading them. This text is straight and to the point yet very clearly worded. The paperback ver is a steal and should be in anybody's library who is studying fluid or aerodynamics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Fluid Dynamics (Cambridge Mathematical Library) []  2020-6-10 18:56

    Book is one of the best for any student of fluid mechanics - issue is that I planned on a digital copy but Amazon could not deliver it to my Android device tablet. So I had to cancel digital order and order a paper back. So much for the digital revolution!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Fluid Dynamics (Cambridge Mathematical Library) []  2020-6-10 18:56

    I highly recommend this book for anyone wanting to learn fluid dynamics at a very deep level. It's a dense read, but well-written and has a lot of gems in there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Fluid Dynamics (Cambridge Mathematical Library) []  2020-6-10 18:56

    What I expect. In excellent conditions. Recived at time. Primary for your commended for all who wants to learn the basis of fluids.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Fluid Dynamics (Cambridge Mathematical Library) []  2020-6-10 18:56

    I want I had been able to purchase a copy with less browning (decay) of the paper.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Fluid Dynamics (Cambridge Mathematical Library) []  2020-6-10 18:56

    I not recommend the book for beginners, reading is very massive and boring, but there are some interesting chapters. I suggest looking for other options if you wish faster introduced in the globe of fluid mechanics

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Computational Fluid Dynamics: An Introduction (Von Karman Institute Book) []  2020-6-3 18:30

    I have used this textbook at the Graduate level in pursuit of my M.Eng in Aerospace Engineering. It was a reference textbook for our "Finite Difference Methods in Computational Fluid Dynamics" course. It was invaluable! It provides a clear, comprehensive review of the Fluid Dynamic Equations including an perfect discussion of their mathematical properties. This is followed by a detailed development of the Finite Difference Way as applied to the computational solution of fluid dynamic problems. Included are discretization techniques, transformations and grids, stability ysis, and boundary layer solutions. Finally, the Finite Element Way is introduced and developed in detail. Although not directly applicable to my course, the FEM discussion layed in the ground work for further study. This book really is the excellent reference for both the undergraduate and graduate level CFD course.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Fluid Dynamics (Cambridge Mathematical Library) []  2020-6-10 18:56

    Detailed introduction. Some of the physical science explanations are a small naïve; but an perfect detailed mathematical review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Fluid Dynamics (Cambridge Mathematical Library) []  2020-6-10 18:56

    If you are interested in fluid dynamics and you don't wish to deal with a lot of complicated formulas this is the book. If you're doing research that involves fluid flow, you can search your type of flow here and obtain a qualitative, if not enough quantitative, feeling about it. I generally recommend this book for any physics and mechanical engineering graduate, advanced undergraduate students, and whoever does research in fluids.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Fluid Dynamics (Cambridge Mathematical Library) []  2020-6-10 18:56

    Book was delivered in fairly amazing conditions. It is paperback and not hardcover as described.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Introduction to Fluid Dynamics (Cambridge Mathematical Library) []  2020-6-10 18:56

    I remember being introduced to this book by my PhD advisor a few years ago. I asked for an itroductory course in Fluid Mechanics, and he simply said "We'll, that oughtta be Batchelor! It's an unmatched classic". Purchasing my own copy was just a matter of time. If you ever wondered how to familiarize yourself with the field, your find is over - this is a definitive, high-level, brilliantly written course with amazing mathematical background and a certain charm.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Statics and Dynamics Demystified []  2020-1-29 2:32

    I think this book has some amazing coverage of basic topics, but is missing a lot of necessary stuff. It does a amazing job of illustrating those subjects it does cover, but watch out for the numerous mistakes scattered throughout the entire book, especially in the quiz answers and even some of the example problems. It needs to be corrected because it caused confusion in several areas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Statics and Dynamics Demystified []  2020-1-29 2:32

    This is amazing value. However if this is a review from long ago, consider complementing with "Forgotten Calculus" (also amazing value).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Statics and Dynamics Demystified []  2020-1-29 2:32

    Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Statics and Dynamics Demystified []  2020-1-29 2:32

    Starts with a useful revision of vector calculus, with clear explanations and step-by-step examples. Then shifts into applcation of the math to stat/dyn problems. Turned out to be much better that I expected from the cover art.If you have never had vector calculus before it may be tough, but as a review/refresher (I was coming back to the topic after 20 years) this was a amazing buy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Statics and Dynamics Demystified []  2020-1-29 2:32

    very bad

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Statics and Dynamics Demystified []  2020-1-29 2:32

    This book is amazing as a refresher or a crash course, but I would not recommend it to anyone trying to teach themselves statics or dynamics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tire and Vehicle Dynamics []  2020-8-9 18:30

    Massive reading, but absolutely the best reference on tire behaviour.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Statics and Dynamics Demystified []  2020-1-29 2:32

    BOOK DOES NOT De MYSTEFIE, IT ONLY ADDS TO THE MYSTERY AND LEAVES ONE WONDERING WHY THEY EVER BOUGHT THE BOOK.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Statics and Dynamics Demystified []  2020-1-29 2:32

    Only amazing for people in an intro level physics r an actual statics and mechanics of materials class is terribly es not even include information on trusses or torsion,or really any subject more advanced than moments and torque.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Statics and Dynamics Demystified []  2020-1-29 2:32

    This book had more things you learned in physics 1 than in statics. covered maybe the first chapter or two of my statics book, but after that, it didn't have anything.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Statics and Dynamics Demystified []  2020-1-29 2:32

    Useful reference tool for college students. My daughter has used to complete homework assignments since the purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lagrangian and Hamiltonian Dynamics []  2020-7-7 18:58

    I got this book in paperback from a mate as a present. The only thing that I have been doing with this book is reading it alongside working through Taylor's Classical Mechanics. This book was wonderful in the sense that it explains graduate level L&H mechanics in a very friendly way, also the issues are interesting and very special to say the least, this book would be really amazing to go through as a preliminary for something like ytical Mechanics by Lemos (I consider Lemos better than Goldstein) or Goldstein (he never gets to the bloody point, it's like walking through 5 feet thick snow) or alongside either. The mathematics is concrete with their being plenty of vector calculus and partial derivatives (I think I noticed one typo on equation 1.3.5 where there is supposed to be a closed paranthesis before the dt') so one doesn't have to worry about that, diagrams are beautiful, the section on preliminary mathematics is actually very good, one shouldn't be surprised that at this point so a lot of authors botch the appendix section, this guy doesn't, he actually dedicates a lot to the appendix and ironically enough, considering that the author in question isn't even a university professor, he makes a really amazing detailed actually helped me a lot when it came to the conceptual questions portion on my physics exams (the chapter summaries at the end of each chapter helped out with this) for ytically mechanics, i got them all completely correct, full points and everything, others couldn't even explain the items but they knew how to calculate for these is book is beautiful amazing if you wish a nice comprehensional and conceptual introduction to langrangian and hamiltonians as long as you know your vector calculus, but primarily know your partial derivatives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lagrangian and Hamiltonian Dynamics []  2020-7-7 18:58

    I have read several mechanics books throughout my life, from very primary to advanced (i.e. Marden's books). I can say this is a very original and very complete book, with several interesting applications, some unusual subjects for primary mechanics texts such as Dirac brackets, the interface with statistical mechanics, path integrals, and an introduction of the modern geometric formulation of mechanics. For this reason I highly recommend this book for anyone who has a genuine interest and wants to learn the topic beyond what is needed in exams. It can also serve as an introduction advanced subjects such as geometric mechanics and classical field theory that can be a helpful before embarking on more advanced texts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tire and Vehicle Dynamics []  2020-8-9 18:30

    Pacejka is the one to read for all your tire engineering. My only beef with the book is that it is far more theoretical where a pinch of practical ysis would be handy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Physics of Shock Waves and High-Temperature Hydrodynamic Phenomena (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-8-26 19:2

    Thorough treatment of subject

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Physics of Shock Waves and High-Temperature Hydrodynamic Phenomena (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-8-26 19:2

    Satisfied with purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Physics of Shock Waves and High-Temperature Hydrodynamic Phenomena (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-8-26 19:2

    This is the best written physics book I have ever seen, perhaps the best that has ever been produced. It can be compared perhaps to Feynman's "Lectures in Physics", but that is a textbook for students, not a full treatment of an necessary technical topic in e writing is wonderfully lucid, and the treatment of the subject outlined in the title complete. You can literally read the book, cover to cover, and come away with a deep understanding of the topic matter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Physics of Shock Waves and High-Temperature Hydrodynamic Phenomena (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-8-26 19:2

    I've wasted a lot of credit hours taking physics courses all the method up through grad school and never learned a damned thing! This book reignited my interest in physics. It explains how to think about the physics and what things mean as opposed to the typical nonsense of here's the equation and the solution (solution obtained by some absurd change of variable or transformation that you will never be able to guess if you lived a 1.0E12 years!) Gives amazing insight on physical modeling. This is one of few physics books I cannot live without. This is one of 3 books that allowed me to obtain a Ph.D!However, it is not for beginers. You must have some experience in fluid mechanics and quantum mechanics in order to appreciate the material. The book is not going to tell you how to solve problems, but focus on the meaning of results.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Physics of Shock Waves and High-Temperature Hydrodynamic Phenomena (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-8-26 19:2

    This book is a real classic, written by the amazing Zel'dovicha long time ago. Dover's two-volumes-in-one book fresh editionprovides an perfect opportunity to enrich every physicslibrary, personal or institutional.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Physics of Shock Waves and High-Temperature Hydrodynamic Phenomena (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-8-26 19:2

    This majisterial work by the popular Russian physicist/astrophysicist Yakov B. Zeldovich is the first and latest book to refer to when studying the hydrodynamics of compressible fluids at high temperatures. The author's basic goal is to describe (as well as possible in a roughly 1000 page text) the physics, chemistry, and radiation diagnostics (i.e. radiative transfer) of a 20 kt thermonuclear explosion in the atmosphere. This book will be of use to a wide range of physicists and astrophysicists in other locations of research as well, though. The book begins with a (brief) discussion of the basics of the physics of shocks (and the hydrodynamics/thermodynamics of supersonic flow in general). More detailed subjects contain a detailed discussion of the ionization of the air (i.e. a change of adiabatic index from 7/5 to 5/3), the broad band spectrum of the explosion, and a lot of others. Any absolute must have for any scientist studying compressible/supersonic flows.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Physics of Shock Waves and High-Temperature Hydrodynamic Phenomena (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-8-26 19:2

    The fields of shock waves and high temperature hydrodynamics have been exhaustively examined in the literature and, while more latest treatments exist, there is still no better introduction than this enduring classic. The mathematically correct presentation of most of the relevant physics quickly enables applied mathematicians and engineers working in these disciplines to achieve the level of understanding important to begin producing useful results. It can be read in its entirety as a solid introduction to more speed subjects or simply serve as an perfect reference. And the price of this beautifully reprinted volume from Dover is irresistible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Physics of Shock Waves and High-Temperature Hydrodynamic Phenomena (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-8-26 19:2

    The author is the "father" of high temperature, high pressure physics. While not discussed directly, clearly this book is a data dump of the knowledge in the USSR developed during their nuclear weapons programs..... a lot of of the physicist that developed the Soviet nuclear capabilities were Jewish and this book should be a tribute to their contribution (in particular in light of Stalin's purge of the Jews from all high positions).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Physics of Shock Waves and High-Temperature Hydrodynamic Phenomena (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-8-26 19:2

    You only have to read a couple of chapters from this book if you are a beginner in shock wave science to gain a primary undestanding. This is an perfect book together with Courant's book  Supersonic Flow and Shock Waves (Applied Mathematical Sciences) (v. 21)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Physics of Shock Waves and High-Temperature Hydrodynamic Phenomena (Dover Books on Physics) []  2020-8-26 19:2

    The republication by Dover Publications of this masterwork by Ya. B. Zel'dovich and Yu. P. Raizer will be welcomed by all workers dealing with high-temperature (radiating) flows. This book is a virtual "Bible" for studies of shocks and radiation fronts in high speed aeronautics, astronautics (re-entry), astrophysics, fireballs, shock tubes, and very intense explosions.Zel'dovich was a physicist of extraordinary breadth of interests. The style of this book is to give heuristic explanations followed by rigorous ysis. It is insightful for both beginning students and researchers in the field. This book is an ABSOLUTE MUST for anyone working on the topics listed e Dover edition binds both original volumes as one, and is based on the very scarce second printing, in which most of the typographical errors in the first printing were corrected. All other errors noted over the years since the original edition went out of print have been collected and corrected in this version, which should be virtually error free.I URGE anyone working in astrophysics and high-temperature flow physics to buy, read, enjoy, and be enlightened by this masterpiece.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Process Dynamics, Modeling, and Control []  2020-11-25 18:55

    I thoroughly enjoyed my process controls class and this text is one of the reasons why. The professor was hard to follow, but I found if I read the chapter covering the lesson ahead of the lecture, I was able to easily follow the professor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Process Dynamics, Modeling, and Control []  2020-11-25 18:55

    Helpful textbook for my class. It's a bit huge though, and the binding seems a bit weak.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Process Dynamics, Modeling, and Control []  2020-11-25 18:55

    its book is very amazing to study or teach dinamics and control process. is recomended to university and control engenereeng

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Process Dynamics, Modeling, and Control []  2020-11-25 18:55

    unbelievable book by a coupe of people well versed in the subject

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Process Dynamics, Modeling, and Control []  2020-11-25 18:55

    All good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Process Dynamics, Modeling, and Control []  2020-11-25 18:55

    Essential

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Process Dynamics, Modeling, and Control []  2020-11-25 18:55

    great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Process Dynamics, Modeling, and Control []  2020-11-25 18:55

    This book is designed to be used in a first undergraduate course in Process Dynamics and Control. Most of the examples in the book are taken from the chemical process industries, which makes this text an ideal tool for the chemical engineering student. Additionally all of the important mathematical tools are reviewed on the text itself, which also makes this book a complete reference considering the limited mathematical background of a lot of undergraduate e book is organized in six parts. Part I (chapters 1 to 2) provides introductory material that gives a practical perspective and motivation. These contain examples to illustrate the primary concepts and the importance of process control in industry, practical examples of modern process control schemes, description of control systems hardware, primary measurement and computer data acquisition technology, fundamentals of digital computer and interfacing technologies, and finally a discussion of final control elements, as actuators, , pumps, valves, heaters, rt II (chapters 3 to 11) yzes and characterizes the different types of dynamic behavior expected from a process. These contain discussion of different representation and approaches for the formulation of dynamic models, with emphasis on how to select the model formulation most appropriated for the issue at hand. Then comes discussions of the fundamental dynamic response of different model types (Processes with time delays, inverse response, and nonlinearities, among others), and fundamentals of process stability ysis and its applications to the models rt III (chapters 12 to 13) discusses methods for constructing process models and determining parameters for the models from experimental data. Both theoretical and empirical models are discussed and contrasted, complementing the material on identification methods, with a treatment of parameters estimation. The text provides sufficient examples to illustrate how each way works in rt IV introduces the treatment of control system design. Part IV-A (chapters 14 to 19) deals with single loop control systems and introduces the primary principles of controller structure and controller tuning methodology, for processes having the different types of process dynamics. Physical examples are used to illustrate the control system design in practical engineering terms. Part IV-B (chapters 20 to 22) introduces control systems for multivariable processes having interactions. Methods of characterizing loop interactions, choosing loop pairing, and designing different types of multivariable controllers are presented and illustrated through physical process examples, providing approaches for control system design that will work adequately for the overwhelming majority of practical multivariable control issues encountered in practice. Part IV-C (chapters 23 to 26) introduces the principles of sampled-data process control. These contain modeling and ysis of discrete-time systems, stability ysis tools, and control system design methods for these dynamic rt V (chapter 27 to 30) provides an overview of necessary unique topics, too advanced for an in-depth coverage by an introductory book. These contain Model-predictive control, statistical process control, state estimation, robust control system design, control of spatial profiles (distributed parameter systems), on-line intelligence and computer aided-design of control systems. The latest chapter in part V consists of a series of case studies where the reader is led through the steps of control system synthesis for some representative chemical processes and then shown the performance of the processes after employing the rt VI provides the Appendices, where substantial material is presented to complement the book.Even though the book is designed for Chemical Engineering students, this text would also be suitable for students in mechanical, nuclear, industrial, and electrical engineering. I am an Industrial Practitioner of Process Measurement & Control who has been working in the Process Industries for more than 16 years as an Automation, Instrumentation, Process Safety and Process Control Engineer. My academic background is in electrical and electronics engineering (I am an Electronic Engineer), not in chemical engineering as might be the case of the usual reader of this book, but working in the Oil & Gas Industry all this time, I have been dealing with Chemical-Process Control problems in a day-to-day basics. I found this book to be a very useful reference and refresher to gain a better understanding of Modern Process Control Applications.If you are a practitioner of Process Control you may wish to consider also "Instrument Engineers' Handbook, Fourth Edition, Volume Two: Process Control and optimization" by Bela Liptak, for its practical and comprehensive coverage of Process Control.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Process Dynamics, Modeling, and Control []  2020-11-25 18:55

    came on time. Needed for ASU Rivera, not so much

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Process Dynamics, Modeling, and Control []  2020-11-25 18:55

    A complete book about dynamic and control of systems of chemical engineering. It has a amazing orden for a academic goal. It contains several specific stuff of very much importance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Mathematical Fluid Dynamics (Dover Books on Physics Book 24) []  2019-12-24 20:8

    Note that my training is in pure mathematics and not in engineering, so what I say has small to do with the engineering side of things. Also, I am currently reading this book during my free time. It's topic matter, personally, is really interesting to me as someone interested in ysis and who has some physics is book seems to be a amazing fit for any graduate student who is interested in ysis. The book does not pull any punches when it comes to using tools in pure mathematics, so the math is advanced enough for a graduate student to not bore them with the basics. I would say the book is probably a bit mathematically theoretical for engineering students and the like, however, unless you are willing to take some things for e book doesn't spoon feed you either. You should expect to have to go line by line in some parts to really understand what's being done, which is exactly what I was looking , I would say this book is amazing for a first year graduate student in pure mathematics who is interested in seeing a really cool side of ysis.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Mathematical Fluid Dynamics (Dover Books on Physics Book 24) []  2019-12-24 20:8

    Perfect mathematical book on fluid mechanics. Engineers and scientistis beware! Some topology required. There will not be much physical insight on fluid mechanics in this book but the mathematics is explained in gorey detail.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Mathematical Fluid Dynamics (Dover Books on Physics Book 24) []  2019-12-24 20:8

    For engineering students and mathematicians, i got small out of it but that's my fault not the authors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Mathematical Fluid Dynamics (Dover Books on Physics Book 24) []  2019-12-24 20:8

    I bought this book because I was interested in the topic and the price was good, but as somebody who is fresh to the subject, I found this book very difficult to follow. The initial level of abstraction is very dense, and even after a couple of tries over the years, I've not been able to obtain very far.I have what I'd consider to be a decent level (engineering undergrad) of mathematics and physics preparation, but have not been able to obtain much use out of this text. Perhaps this book would potentially be used by somebody who already knew some fluid dynamics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    and pharmacy uiua [ vjet]  2020-10-16 3:45
    [email protected]

    - canadian pharmacy [url= in united states of america pharmacy[/url] canadian pharmacy com india pharmacy canadian pharcharmy [url= pharmacy - [/url] us pharmacy london pharmacy canada [url= pharmacies without prescription[/url] canadian online pharmacy for legitimate online pharmacies india

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mechanisms and Machines: Kinematics, Dynamics, and Synthesis []  2020-8-21 18:33

    This is a beautiful amazing text book. It was converted from course notes into a text. There are a few typos in the book, and a few of those typos are in example problems. Typos in example issues create it a small difficult to create sure you are on the right track sometimes, because there were a few times that my understanding didn't line up with the text but my understanding was correct. (This only happened once or twice though). Although there are some typos the math and equations are right when it is first explained and the textbook is written so that it is beautiful simple to understand. Every book has some typos so I wouldn't allow that stop me from buying this book

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386