Read computational fluid dynamics for engineers and scientists reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all computational fluid dynamics for engineers and scientists reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Performance Computing for Scientists and Engineers (Chapman & Hall/CRC Computational Science Book 7) []  2020-1-29 2:19

    This book assumes you have a lot of background knowledge in CS both in coding and hardware makeup of a computer.And it is written in a method that is so much denser than it needs to be. For example, it is very annoying how uses vocabulary like buses before he defines them and doesn't write about paging in any sort of illuminating method at all, but still goes on to talk about the issues with it. The concepts themselves are very simple once you slowly obtain through the passage. It's no calculus for first time learners or 5 star sudoku logic, but I wonder if it is the overabundance of jargon that obfuscates or his extremely dry writing style (as opposed to something like Griffiths texts).It's the first time I have read such a book, and it is okay. I learned something, but there is something to be said about his writing style if online resources were significantly more illuminating using related amounts of jargon for different people who had/have currently varying degrees of knowledge of general programming/HPC knowledge as well as myself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Performance Computing for Scientists and Engineers (Chapman & Hall/CRC Computational Science) []  2020-5-19 18:30

    There are not a lot of books available on the topic of high-performance programming, but this is the best of them, in part due to it being up-to-date. I also own Introduction to Parallel Computing (Oxford Texts in Applied and Engineering Mathematics),High Performance Computing (RISC Architectures, Optimization & Benchmarks), and Performance Optimization of Numerically Intensive Codes (Software, Environments and Tools), all of which I like, but none of these address the current generation of computer is book should be needed reading for anyone who programs supercomputers or needs to write performance-critical scientific code. I search the examples to be relevant and well-written; I currently use them in workshops at the Argonne Leadership Computing e subjects covered contain serial optimization, OpenMP programming and MPI programming. I search the serial optimization and treatment of memory hierarchies to be the most useful. The OpenMP coverage is also amazing and not duplicated elsewhere. There is nothing wrong with the treatment of MPI other than it is too short to be useful for is book intentionally overlooks performance problems similar to programming language, particularly C++, so if that is your interest, there are plenty of other amazing books. Most of the examples are in Fortran but I have no problem reproducing them in C.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Performance Computing for Scientists and Engineers (Chapman & Hall/CRC Computational Science Book 7) []  2020-1-29 2:19

    I would give this 4.5 stars if I could. I search it to be beautiful well written but not always organized the greatest. This means if you wish to study a certain concept (e.g., OpenMP) you need to hop around the book a lot. This is a stylistic thing -- clearly the authors just think of organizing things differently than me, but I would prefer a various ordering. Having said that, all of the material is there and helpful.

    0  


    Add your opinion on computational fluid dynamics for engineers and scientists or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Performance Computing for Scientists and Engineers (Chapman & Hall/CRC Computational Science Book 7) []  2020-1-29 2:19

    Perfect overview on a lot of relevant aspects of HPSC, including hardware, algorithm design, and parallel processing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Performance Computing for Scientists and Engineers (Chapman & Hall/CRC Computational Science) []  2020-5-19 18:30

    I have read a lot of texts covering high performance and parallel programming, but none of them provides the fundamental coverage of the core concepts as well as this one. The authors' emphasis on maximizing performance of serial programs _before_ applying parallelization tactics is something drastically missing from every other text on parallel programming I have read. Additionally, their discussion of ccNUMA was a breath of new air. Most texts never mention it, but this one has a whole chapter! Each chapter also has a set of questions that extend the concepts covered therein. The solutions are in the back, so it may not be best suited as a classroom text (although it certainly could) but it makes self-study very e choice of using FORTRAN for most of the code examples is, in my mind, unfortunate but understandable as the array syntax in that language does simplify demonstrating certain programming features. There is also C++ code sprinkled here and there, but includes disproportionately more issues than the FORTRAN code (e.g., the use of static_cast instead of reinterpret_cast in the discussion of allocators and placement new). It would have been nice to see a deeper coverage of SIMD programming, as well. However, my largest complaint is that "classical" coverage of OpenMP for shared memory programming and MPI for distributed memory programming. Indeed, these two technologies are ubiquitous in the HPC world, but there are a lot of amazing technologies that provide several fresh features and fill in the gaps left by these classic tools. Yet small to no mention is given to them (e.g., Intel's TBB, Cilk Plus, C++11's threading library, etc.).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Performance Computing for Scientists and Engineers (Chapman & Hall/CRC Computational Science) []  2020-5-19 18:30

    Thanks! Arrived as advertised.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Performance Computing for Scientists and Engineers (Chapman & Hall/CRC Computational Science Book 7) []  2020-1-29 2:19

    I have read a lot of texts covering high performance and parallel programming, but none of them provides the fundamental coverage of the core concepts as well as this one. The authors' emphasis on maximizing performance of serial programs _before_ applying parallelization tactics is something drastically missing from every other text on parallel programming I have read. Additionally, their discussion of ccNUMA was a breath of new air. Most texts never mention it, but this one has a whole chapter! Each chapter also has a set of questions that extend the concepts covered therein. The solutions are in the back, so it may not be best suited as a classroom text (although it certainly could) but it makes self-study very e choice of using FORTRAN for most of the code examples is, in my mind, unfortunate but understandable as the array syntax in that language does simplify demonstrating certain programming features. There is also C++ code sprinkled here and there, but includes disproportionately more issues than the FORTRAN code (e.g., the use of static_cast instead of reinterpret_cast in the discussion of allocators and placement new). It would have been nice to see a deeper coverage of SIMD programming, as well. However, my largest complaint is that "classical" coverage of OpenMP for shared memory programming and MPI for distributed memory programming. Indeed, these two technologies are ubiquitous in the HPC world, but there are a lot of amazing technologies that provide several fresh features and fill in the gaps left by these classic tools. Yet small to no mention is given to them (e.g., Intel's TBB, Cilk Plus, C++11's threading library, etc.).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Performance Computing for Scientists and Engineers (Chapman & Hall/CRC Computational Science Book 7) []  2020-1-29 2:19

    Thanks! Arrived as advertised.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Performance Computing for Scientists and Engineers (Chapman & Hall/CRC Computational Science) []  2020-5-19 18:30

    This book assumes you have a lot of background knowledge in CS both in coding and hardware makeup of a computer.And it is written in a method that is so much denser than it needs to be. For example, it is very annoying how uses vocabulary like buses before he defines them and doesn't write about paging in any sort of illuminating method at all, but still goes on to talk about the issues with it. The concepts themselves are very simple once you slowly obtain through the passage. It's no calculus for first time learners or 5 star sudoku logic, but I wonder if it is the overabundance of jargon that obfuscates or his extremely dry writing style (as opposed to something like Griffiths texts).It's the first time I have read such a book, and it is okay. I learned something, but there is something to be said about his writing style if online resources were significantly more illuminating using related amounts of jargon for different people who had/have currently varying degrees of knowledge of general programming/HPC knowledge as well as myself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Performance Computing for Scientists and Engineers (Chapman & Hall/CRC Computational Science) []  2020-5-19 18:30

    Very amazing introduction book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Performance Computing for Scientists and Engineers (Chapman & Hall/CRC Computational Science Book 7) []  2020-1-29 2:19

    I have learned some basic, fundamental facts from this book, despite the fact that I've been producing (good) code for some 30 years. For instance, that the leading consideration in optimization is memory management--- getting data from RAM to the CPU--- this is orders of magnitude more necessary than number of mathematical operations. I also learned that while the CPU does its best to cache and pipeline operations by guessing what I'm going to call next, the compiler doesn't support as much as I thought it did. (For instance, loop unrolling is considered an advanced optimization, not usually performed). This book has effectively suggested a few experiments I can perform with my code to see if I can obtain it more into a form that the CPU expects and maybe gain a factor of 10 or 100 on tight loops. (Plots of throughput in the book have sharp edges of at least that magnitude.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Performance Computing for Scientists and Engineers (Chapman & Hall/CRC Computational Science Book 7) []  2020-1-29 2:19

    There are not a lot of books available on the topic of high-performance programming, but this is the best of them, in part due to it being up-to-date. I also own Introduction to Parallel Computing (Oxford Texts in Applied and Engineering Mathematics),High Performance Computing (RISC Architectures, Optimization & Benchmarks), and Performance Optimization of Numerically Intensive Codes (Software, Environments and Tools), all of which I like, but none of these address the current generation of computer is book should be needed reading for anyone who programs supercomputers or needs to write performance-critical scientific code. I search the examples to be relevant and well-written; I currently use them in workshops at the Argonne Leadership Computing e subjects covered contain serial optimization, OpenMP programming and MPI programming. I search the serial optimization and treatment of memory hierarchies to be the most useful. The OpenMP coverage is also amazing and not duplicated elsewhere. There is nothing wrong with the treatment of MPI other than it is too short to be useful for is book intentionally overlooks performance problems similar to programming language, particularly C++, so if that is your interest, there are plenty of other amazing books. Most of the examples are in Fortran but I have no problem reproducing them in C.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Performance Computing for Scientists and Engineers (Chapman & Hall/CRC Computational Science) []  2020-5-19 18:30

    I would give this 4.5 stars if I could. I search it to be beautiful well written but not always organized the greatest. This means if you wish to study a certain concept (e.g., OpenMP) you need to hop around the book a lot. This is a stylistic thing -- clearly the authors just think of organizing things differently than me, but I would prefer a various ordering. Having said that, all of the material is there and helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Performance Computing for Scientists and Engineers (Chapman & Hall/CRC Computational Science Book 7) []  2020-1-29 2:19

    Very amazing introduction book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Performance Computing for Scientists and Engineers (Chapman & Hall/CRC Computational Science Book 7) []  2020-1-29 2:19

    This is a amazing tutorial for someone looking to optimize code. I search that their method of presenting the material is great: they begin off with primary performance optimizations that can be applied to serial code and then go on to address parallel code. Even computer scientists who are already familiar with the relevant computer architecture problems can benefit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Performance Computing for Scientists and Engineers (Chapman & Hall/CRC Computational Science) []  2020-5-19 18:30

    I have learned some basic, fundamental facts from this book, despite the fact that I've been producing (good) code for some 30 years. For instance, that the leading consideration in optimization is memory management--- getting data from RAM to the CPU--- this is orders of magnitude more necessary than number of mathematical operations. I also learned that while the CPU does its best to cache and pipeline operations by guessing what I'm going to call next, the compiler doesn't support as much as I thought it did. (For instance, loop unrolling is considered an advanced optimization, not usually performed). This book has effectively suggested a few experiments I can perform with my code to see if I can obtain it more into a form that the CPU expects and maybe gain a factor of 10 or 100 on tight loops. (Plots of throughput in the book have sharp edges of at least that magnitude.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Performance Computing for Scientists and Engineers (Chapman & Hall/CRC Computational Science) []  2020-5-19 18:30

    Perfect overview on a lot of relevant aspects of HPSC, including hardware, algorithm design, and parallel processing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to High Performance Computing for Scientists and Engineers (Chapman & Hall/CRC Computational Science) []  2020-5-19 18:30

    This is a amazing tutorial for someone looking to optimize code. I search that their method of presenting the material is great: they begin off with primary performance optimizations that can be applied to serial code and then go on to address parallel code. Even computer scientists who are already familiar with the relevant computer architecture problems can benefit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Physics for Scientists and Engineers []  2020-1-19 20:13

    They skip too a lot of steps. The method they explain things are very unintuitive and lacks clarity. It is like the authors assume you already know how to do this items and are just refreshing your memory. I have no idea why my physics professor would choose this horrible book for students learning this items for the first time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Physics for Scientists and Engineers []  2020-1-19 20:13

    Product was in perfect condition as described. Price can't be beat. Other students three times as much for the paperback edition with just the first section. I got three semesters' textbook for a third of the others for one semester's book. I have fun very much that the book has been rebound.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Physics for Scientists and Engineers []  2020-1-19 20:13

    I purchased this textbook for my college level Calculus based Physics course. I was initially excited and looking forward to diving into this textbook. When I reviewed a few pages, I felt like I was so lost. It is a difficult read that's for sure. I recommend a study tutorial from Barron's to help with this textbook!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Physics for Scientists and Engineers []  2020-1-19 20:13

    Looks like it was done via OCR and there was no editing. It's not usable in its current Kindle format.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Physics for Scientists and Engineers []  2020-1-19 20:13

    Book of a amazing quality. Not to hard to read, if you know physics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Physics for Scientists and Engineers []  2020-1-19 20:13

    This book must be sent back to the 1200s, where it clearly belongs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Physics for Scientists and Engineers []  2020-1-19 20:13

    It is a very huge text book, but the best thing is it comes with a disc that has the book on it. It does have some additional examples but like the study guide, really doesn't support much.Another amazing thing is that the text is usable over the physics requisite!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Physics for Scientists and Engineers []  2020-1-19 20:13

    The book is very helpful and has sections in each chapter that lists and reviews the relevant formulas for that chapter. The book was a small more worn down than I expected; but, nonetheless, it was a amazing for what I needed! Also, I did not know this when I rented it but this book includes VOLUME 1 AND 2 in it (i rented volume 2 before receiving this book and realizing it had both already in it).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Physics for Scientists and Engineers []  2020-1-19 20:13

    This is the previous edition used by my university. It worked to obtain me through the course but it is lacking in thorough explanation at times such as skipping not one but two or three steps in the worked out problems.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Physics for Scientists and Engineers []  2020-1-19 20:13

    The book is okay. It doesn't break down the subjects enough, and the end of the chapter issues really require you to create a leap in intuition to be able to solve the harder problems.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Computational Fluid Dynamics: A Practical Approach []  2020-1-3 22:3

    The book falls apart immediately after opening

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vector Mechanics for Engineers: Statics and Dynamics []  2020-1-29 20:2

    Horrendous book, it is completely overpriced and lacking in terms of clarity and organization. Instead of redesigned the vague and arcane question system, the only changes created from the 10th edition to the 11th appear to be shuffling the of the questions. I pity anyone who is needed to use this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vector Mechanics for Engineers: Statics and Dynamics []  2020-1-29 20:2

    Solid book, professor kept confusing me about wanting the twelfth ver but we used this one the whole semester.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vector Mechanics for Engineers: Statics and Dynamics []  2020-1-29 20:2

    This book was very poorly designed in my opinion. the authors could have done a better job organizing sections so that ALL the issues from a chapter were together, and not spread 10 pages apart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vector Mechanics for Engineers: Statics and Dynamics []  2020-1-29 20:2

    received and it is just as expected. Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vector Mechanics for Engineers: Statics and Dynamics []  2020-1-29 20:2

    Literally decades of undergrad engineers-to-be have studied vector mechanics from the different editions of this book. Why continues to baffle me. Besides being severely overpriced for a sophomore-level book, the authors seemly ignore the math notation formats taught in every modern university calculus and linear/matrix algebra class.If your class requires the textbook, you don't have much choice. Keep your nose any it. OTOH, if you're looking for a private enrichment book on the subjects, continue looking unless you really dig dozens of colourful diagrams making it more like a high school physics l that said however, it is a amazing intro statics & dynamics textbook once you obtain past the authors' idiosyncrasies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vector Mechanics for Engineers: Statics and Dynamics []  2020-1-29 20:2

    School book, what can I say....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vector Mechanics for Engineers: Statics and Dynamics []  2020-1-29 20:2

    This is a massive 2-1/8" thick book, but it will save you if you have to take both statics and dynamics! Does not contain access to McGraw Hill online material (activation code). I already have an acc with MH Connect from other books I've owned, but it seems I can't obtain access to the engineering content without some kind of instructor invite first, then probably an activation code. So unless your instructor specified you will be using online content, don't sweat it, just obtain the book. It's beautiful decent from what I've seen so far anyway.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vector Mechanics for Engineers: Statics and Dynamics []  2020-1-29 20:2

    No review

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Electronics and Communications for Scientists and Engineers []  2019-12-24 19:56

    This book was written to support the reader attain a broad-based understanding of modern electronics and communications devices, however it needs to have a base knowledge to understand this book, I seen other reviews on the book claiming errors and so, ... all I can say is " go back and learn the basics".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vector Mechanics for Engineers: Statics and Dynamics []  2020-1-29 20:2

    This book seems eh..okay. For $255 the pages aren't exactly glossy. The content of the book might be fine, but I wanted to review this product to warn people about one thing in re and more professors are asking people to log on using the publisher's proprietary homework system, in this case McGraw Connect. For this amount of it certainly seemed like this book would contain some time using that system. Usually they come with a code that you tear out, which is the only reason you'd a fresh book instead of an old one. This did not contain a code. The code costs an extra $120 for a year of access. That is beyond crazy. This is why people pirate textbooks or at the very least don't fresh ones. I just thought people should know, I returned this book as soon as I got it. Statics and Dynamics haven't changed a bit in probably 30 years, and poor on my professor for being complicit in these schemes to require fresh books and editions. Education is expensive enough as it is.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vector Mechanics for Engineers: Statics and Dynamics []  2020-1-29 20:2

    Exactly what the professor ordered!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Electronics and Communications for Scientists and Engineers []  2019-12-24 19:56

    I will use this book for my classes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Electronics and Communications for Scientists and Engineers []  2019-12-24 19:56

    This book introduces you to diverse subjects in electronics. It starts with primary circuit fundamentals, circuit analysis, analog electronics, and goes all the method to digital electronics. I particularly like the section on "Semiconductor Diodes and Transistor," including BJT and MOSFET.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Electronics and Communications for Scientists and Engineers []  2019-12-24 19:56

    I have a BS in EE, pursuing a teaching degree in Physics. This text is being used for a Physics undergrad course in Electronics. It has several typographical errors in both the text and end of chapter issues in the first two chapters. In addition, the explanations are dense and unhelpful, and the derivations skip steps without explanation. This text should not be used; there must be several better written texts, even if you need to delve into those meant strictly for Electrical Engineering coursework.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Electronics and Communications for Scientists and Engineers []  2019-12-24 19:56

    Had Martin Plonus spent more time proofing his text he would not have wasted so much of mine. My class found errors in the abbreviated derivations, examples, homework problems, and even one conceptual error. This book has far too a lot of errors to be of much quantitative use. I would wait for a corrected edition to become available or simply use another text.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Electronics and Communications for Scientists and Engineers []  2019-12-24 19:56

    The book is laid out in a in an incoherent manner consistently assuming you have already read things in following is also riddled with a few hundred errors through-out, you can look up errata for this book on google for verification.I highly recommend avoiding this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Electronics and Communications for Scientists and Engineers []  2019-12-24 19:56

    This is one of the worst textbooks I have ever encountered. Explanations are verbose and unclear. Errors abound. Stay away from this travesty.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential MATLAB for Engineers and Scientists []  2020-1-23 2:26

    Primary and simple to follow along.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quantum Mechanics for Scientists and Engineers []  2019-12-24 19:57

    Super book, but it to know something about quantum physics first since the "key" algebra can be quite involved. As D. Miller said in online course lecture, your need to be reading 5 or 6 books at once to create more sense out of the topic matter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quantum Mechanics for Scientists and Engineers []  2019-12-24 19:57

    This book takes step by step from the classical physics to quantum mechanics, very didactic approach and also complete content.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quantum Mechanics for Scientists and Engineers []  2019-12-24 19:57

    This is a textbook like no other: Clear. Honest. Eloquent. Thorough. Typo-free. ing Quantum Mechanics for Scientists and Engineers feels like nothing more than a friendly chat with Dave Miller about the nature of the universe. This year, as an undergrad EE major at Stanford, I took the quantum mechanics course from which this book emerged, using the book as a basic textbook and reference. You can pick up this book with nothing but a primary linear algebra background--the easy math relevant to QM is reviewed in the appendix--and immediately dive in, learning from cover to cover without ever feeling lost in the vast globe of QM. A unbelievable teacher and writer, Prof. Miller devotes particular attention to practical methods for using quantum mechanics in engineering (e.g., transfer matrix, perturbation theories, different approximation methods). That said, he never fails to discover and explain the theoretical and philosophical aspects of QM, giving a satisfyingly honest sense of certainty to an inherently uncertain field.Without a clear guide, learning (and using) quantum mechanics can be a frightening endeavor for students and experienced researchers alike. With this book in hand, you'll quickly search that David Miller is the right man for the job.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quantum Mechanics for Scientists and Engineers []  2019-12-24 19:57

    This is a very approachable and easy-to-read introduction to a difficult topic. The graphics are helpful, and there are issues included after nearly every section which generally tutorial you through the concepts quite well. Overall, an enjoyable no-stress textbook!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Turbulence: An Introduction for Scientists and Engineers []  2019-12-24 20:8

    Comprehensive approach to turbulence, complementary to Turbulence from Stephen Pope. Intends to be less mathematical and more physical.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential MATLAB for Engineers and Scientists []  2020-1-23 2:26

    Not sure how people rated it 5 stars. It'very not good written and illustrations. Not for engineers and Scientist as Title said. It should be titled "Essential MATLAB for beginners". I returned.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential MATLAB for Engineers and Scientists []  2020-1-23 2:26

    great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quantum Mechanics for Scientists and Engineers []  2019-12-24 19:57

    I have more books on QM than on any other discipline. Along with Zettilli, this is among the top of the field in terms of clarity, abundant amounts of worked examples. Targeted for an undergrad, but is of use to a graduate student who wishes to quickly go over some fundamentals (and more) of QM before or during a graduate class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quantum Mechanics for Scientists and Engineers []  2019-12-24 19:57

    For engineers and applied physicists especially, this finely-crafted, comprehensive description of quantum mechanics (QM) and it's app to a lot of real-world problems, especially in photonics - is a true is beautifully written, with crystal-clear explanations of the concepts and basic-math involved, unlike a lot of dry and mostly-advanced-math texts on the ful explanations of all the key primary concepts in QM, well-chosen words describing the essence of nearly every equation - together with different highly-relevant and useful worked-examples - really set this book well above the rest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Turbulence: An Introduction for Scientists and Engineers []  2019-12-24 20:8

    Very well written and illustrated. If I only had a few years to sit down and read it entirely!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential MATLAB for Engineers and Scientists []  2020-1-23 2:26

    Amazing reference book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential MATLAB for Engineers and Scientists []  2020-1-23 2:26

    Really amazing book to learn the basics of matlab.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quantum Mechanics for Scientists and Engineers []  2019-12-24 19:57

    The book is a very useful text for those doing the online course. It is also a very well organized standalone text for those wishing to work independently​ of the course. It also includes useful summaries of the background mathematics needed to understand quantum mechanics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Turbulence: An Introduction for Scientists and Engineers []  2019-12-24 20:8

    The book itself is really amazing and physical. Just got the second edition, haven't read it, I base my impressions on the first edition. However, I have to tell that the typesetting of the second edition (hardcover) is awful, moreover compared with the nice layout of the first edition (paperback). Just seems to be some crappy standard layout. Oxford university press did a very not good and job, shame on them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential MATLAB for Engineers and Scientists []  2020-1-23 2:26

    One of the amazing MATLAB reference books to be added to your programming book collections!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quantum Mechanics for Scientists and Engineers []  2019-12-24 19:57

    A lot of textbooks, in general, suffer in readability due to the author assuming the reader thinks just as he or she does, or knows a sufficient amount of info prior to reading. David Miller is one of those authors that is just the opposite: he never assumes you know anything that isn't in his book (other than that you know how to read and do primary math). In addition, Miller has the special ability to relate complex and complicated concepts to common examples. You will search that reading through this text is much smoother than with other textbooks. There are also solutions to certain issues and viewgraphs available for e subjects in the book cover the primary quantum mechanical scenarios, such as easy 1D/3D potentials, operators, the uncertainty principle (taught in two ways...Griffiths provides a third), matrix formalism, Dirac notation, angular momentum, spin, and the Hydrogen atom. In addition, more advanced topics, such as perturbation theory (time independent and dependent), the density matrix, and approximation techniques. Miller also relates much of the material to photonics topics, such as absorption, Fermi's Golden Rule, non-linear effects, refractive index, and much more. As an EE professor, he also covers some band theory of crystalline solids.I feel that this book is extremely complete and will be extremely useful for anyone wanting to learn Quantum Mechanics. I've also used Griffiths and Singh, which are also perfect texts. I feel that Griffiths accompanies this text very well (so having both is more than complete). I have yet to search an error in the text, and this is most likely because Miller wrote this originally as a course reader that was published through Stanford. The course reader has been used by other professors and hundreds of student prior to publishing. This means that your learning won't be plagued or interrupted with errors, or with the need to a fresh edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quantum Mechanics for Scientists and Engineers []  2019-12-24 19:57

    I agree with most of the reviewers that gave this book high marks. The book is simple to read and well written, and at the same time it gives you a amazing and accurate representation of QM (ie, its not too watered down). I found it a amazing background book that allows me to move on to more advanced books when e old Kindle ver had horrible formatting, you could barely read the equations. But the fresh Kindle ver of this book, as sold here, reads very well on a Kindle for PC. Equations are very readable, as is the graphical material. The equations are still a small little on a Kindle Fire HD, but they are readable. Not sure how the equations would be on a larger smartphone like an iPad or something.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Quantum Mechanics for Scientists and Engineers []  2019-12-24 19:57

    The topic of Quantum Mechanics has been created very simple even for people with elementary mathematics knowledge. I like the Authors approach to this topic and once started you cannot lay this book down. It stimulates reading and imparts knowledge. I hope other authors follow this author in writing books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Turbulence: An Introduction for Scientists and Engineers []  2019-12-24 20:8

    amazing supplement to Hinze's 1975 "Turbulence".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential MATLAB for Engineers and Scientists []  2020-1-23 2:26

    This book is not meant for a person trying to learn MATLAB. Not good program compared to Mathcad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vector Mechanics for Engineers: Dynamics []  2020-1-13 19:0

    Aside from the fact that this book is overly priced and zero things have changed from the previous edition. This book is not very helpful in learning dynamics. It's not very organized.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vector Mechanics for Engineers: Dynamics []  2020-1-13 19:0

    Amazing item. Exactly as described. Would again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vector Mechanics for Engineers: Dynamics []  2020-1-13 19:0

    Amazing price! Much cheaper than found anywhere else.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vector Mechanics for Engineers: Dynamics []  2020-1-13 19:0

    I rented this book for a summer course that needed it. It came in excellent condition, looked brand new. Lessons were very simple to follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vector Mechanics for Engineers: Dynamics []  2020-1-13 19:0

    Although the item appears to be sold as new, it does not come with the University needed access code for online supplementary material. If you are buying this book fresh assuming it comes with the Connect Classic Access Code, DON'T!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vector Mechanics for Engineers: Dynamics []  2020-1-13 19:0

    good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vector Mechanics for Engineers: Dynamics []  2020-1-13 19:0

    This is one overpriced and incomplete text book in Dynamics I was FORCED to buy(rent) for a semester . It is infested with unrigorous and mind numbingly boring pages of pure tragedy. Amazing luck learning dynamics via hand waving--impulse-momentum diagrams. Amazing luck developing tolerance for confusing oxymoron ideas--Dynamic-Equilibrium...Yep, this thing has its own "Klingon" inspired language. And, If you are hoping for a sane alternative approache(s) for solving issues forget it--Lagrange is the name of the condition you will develop from getting stressed out by what is lacking from this text book. So, I can in confidence tell you I did not acquire a single useful info from this book . Mid term I switched to Applied Mechanics Dynamics (1959) by Housner G & Hudson D and Aced the life out of the class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Vector Mechanics for Engineers: Dynamics []  2020-1-13 19:0

    Book isn't that great. Needs more examples that are similar to the homework section. Stick with hiebler, this book is not worth the price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C++ and Object-Oriented Numeric Computing for Scientists and Engineers []  2020-1-31 3:49

    Although it was used one but the quality was good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C++ and Object-Oriented Numeric Computing for Scientists and Engineers []  2020-1-31 3:49

    If you are already a c++ expert and only looking for knowledge about numeric computing, this book is not for you because 80% of the book is about c++ rather than numeric computing. However, if you wish to learn c++, you picked an perfect one for that matter. The author did a very amazing job to introduce c++ step by step. Every example is precise and right to the point. There is no garbage but full of useful information. That's why although the book is not big, the contents of the book covers almost all the necessary c++ features.While I still believe c++ Primer and The c++ Programming Language are the best c++ book for reference, I would rate this one as the best c++ introduction book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C++ and Object-Oriented Numeric Computing for Scientists and Engineers []  2020-1-31 3:49

    I was needed to read this book for a class, and am quite glad I did read it. It proviedes a very amazing introduction to C++ for those who aren't familiar with it. Even more importantly, however, are the amazing examples of how to use C++ for Numerical Methods, which makes it a amazing book for more experienced programmers as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C++ and Object-Oriented Numeric Computing for Scientists and Engineers []  2020-1-31 3:49

    The book is a concise texbook for engineers and it is very good! The organization of the book is amazing and the language and examples used in the book are terse and simple to understand. It also includes some useful mathematical and numerical applications. However, you may need some other classic C++ novice textbook (like Issue solving with C++, the object of programming by Walter Savitch)in to obtain a amazing understanding in C++.The book does not include all the info as in other C++ books for CS major and also doesn't have as much engineering applications as in Rojiani book ("programming in C with numerial methods for engineers"). The book is trying to you the minimum but adequate knowledge in C++ so that you can begin programming as quick as possible. The format(printing style) of the book could be better to create it more readable however it is better than Deitel's book (C++, how to program).In general, the book is an perfect book for engineers and novice programmers in engineering major.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C++ and Object-Oriented Numeric Computing for Scientists and Engineers []  2020-1-31 3:49

    The "introduction" to C++ is done in stages as each primary feature of the language becomes relevant for numerically intensive computation. But the explanations are very brief -- accurate but with limited explanation. These ares of the book might be best for someone who knows C++ basics or is using a companion text for learning C++. The app of C++ to useful computational problems and algorithms is perfect - starting with easy examples and building logically to more complex methods and issues. The exercises are useful. Even easy issues are not that easy and very illustrative when the user gets the exercise "solved" with a working program. The C++ programming style is acceptable and clear but sparse rather than elegant. I think that instructors who teach C++ would wish some style changes in the code and more annotation. However I don't think those improvements are important for the problems and methods being explained by the author. The book seems to be what it says it is -- a very amazing introduction to numeric programming using C++. The author says that using C++ may be clumsy at first, but pays off handsomely in the long term. You will eventually gain efficiency in coding and speed of execution that surpasses other programming languages. There are some approaches to complex issues that you can use with an OOP language that would be much more tedious in older languages like FORTRAN, Algol, C or PL-1 (which I used years ago). A prime example is that a way for computing a solution using integers can be "inherited" by a way for true numbers, additional precision computation, complex numbers, etc. Each "new" way requires only modest additoins/changes from the "parent" way instead of a whole fresh "subroutine" with all the equations done again from scratch. So far (about the first 25% of the book), it looks like he is right..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C++ and Object-Oriented Numeric Computing for Scientists and Engineers []  2020-1-31 3:49

    Amazing addition to a C++ library!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C++ and Object-Oriented Numeric Computing for Scientists and Engineers []  2020-1-31 3:49

    As a C++ programmer, familiar to both numeric programming and RAD programming, I must say that this book is the best choice for anyone searching for a clear introduction to C++, OOP focused on numeric programming. A lot of books lack of numeric examples or OOP concepts, while Yang's book manage to balance them with uncommon sucess. A amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C++ and Object-Oriented Numeric Computing for Scientists and Engineers []  2020-1-31 3:49

    If studying computational engineering, this book is a nice addition to one of the standard Deitel texts or similar. It maybe isn't quite as comprehensive on all C++ features as a 2000 page text, but it nice insights/ examples from a more engineering-oriented perspective. I read both and obtain a lot out of the combination of the problem is that the accompanying code could be more well put-together. Some of the code in the book is not provided online and overall it would be nice to be able to quickly run the code shown in the book without having to type it all up and write your own dependent header files and such. This book might also be out of date with the 2011 C++ standard, which may or may not be an problem to some people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C++ and Object-Oriented Numeric Computing for Scientists and Engineers []  2020-1-31 3:49

    There is widespread agreement that Kernighan & Richie's introduction to C is one of the best books on any programming language ever written. Sadly, no book on C++ has achieved this distinction. The complexity of the language is mostly to blame. Personally, I am averse to any 1000-page "primer" that aims to explain C++ from scratch up to intermediate level, with plenty of diversions, illustrations of secondary language features and a menagerie of typographic symbols, all the same getting to discuss classes at page 500. Those are better thought of as bloated references. Instead, C++ a third language, and C a second if only because a) C is not for absolute beginners and b) C programming style is often found in C++ legacy code. But if this is the case, the reader can read and understand succinct explanations of the fresh features of C++, and be quickly reminded of its similarities with C, or warned of the differences.If you agree with my own preferences, this book is for you. It goes to the point and follows a linear, focused thread. Knowledge of C is not strictly required, but I can't see how can you accept double pointers as your private saviours if you haven't seen them before. It's rather complete, but not all-encompassing. Subjects are discussed clearly and the organizing principles are emphasized first, with the inevitable exceptions coming later. Examples are many. They are sometime thought in C but written in C++, which is no mortal sin. Because of the plain, assured style, and the approach to its subjects, the book reminds me of K&R. Not a little compliment to e book also tip on programming style, mostly with an eye on numerical computing. It can be used a very high-level reference, to be complemented by a comprehensive one (my favorite is C++ in a nutshell). And each advanced topic of C++ deserves its own book, especially templates and metaprogramming. Avoid the "primers".Summing up, this is not a book for complete beginners, but more a textbook for a course or self-instruction. It's by no means a first and latest book on C++. Such book has not been written yet. Know your needs and what you get.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    C++ and Object-Oriented Numeric Computing for Scientists and Engineers []  2020-1-31 3:49

    It's a large subject and the book does a promising title. But it doesn't deliver, at least it confused about what is object-oriented.Writing items neat and reusable is not quite OO; when you are talking about a field, ex. numeric computing, framework or the concept of organzing that much of items depend on for the rest of your life is more necessary than some specific subject like vector, matrix, etc and their implementation. They are dead objects, at most you can call them numeric computing, but no OO far I havn't seen any decent OO numeric computing book, 'cause most of these numeric items was first used by fortran ppl for long long time without any OO used. IMHO, fortran should be dead 5-10 years ago, but it's not, such a shame.I think one feasible method to begin OO computing is to learn using the recent c++ tools (ex. boost, blitz, loki) to develope your own framework for your computing eviorment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Applied Numerical Methods with MATLAB for Engineers and Scientists []  2020-1-22 23:40

    Excellent!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Applied Numerical Methods with MATLAB for Engineers and Scientists []  2020-1-22 23:40

    As described

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Applied Numerical Methods with MATLAB for Engineers and Scientists []  2020-1-22 23:40

    I had to this book for my class. This book doesn't instruct how to input equations. Not enough example respond codes for each problem. Less visual and tedious to follow all words.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spirituality for Scientists and Engineers: A Travel Guide []  2019-12-23 20:30

    Worlds Collide and ConnectAn incisive and heartfelt exploration of the method that science and spirituality both intersect and seemingly feudwith one another. It is also a field tutorial for scientists and engineers who seek to understand how the knowledgeof both the spiritual globe and the scientific globe can unblock fresh pathways of understanding for both addition to Hammer’s thoughtful analysis, it is liberally sprinkled with quotes from poets, scientists, philosophers and mystics. With valuable suggestions for further reading. This is a book suitable for private reading as well as for group makes an necessary contribution to seeing the globe in all its a lot of dimensions.A rich and rewarding read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Spirituality for Scientists and Engineers: A Travel Guide []  2019-12-23 20:30

    The book is the product of a private journey by one who began speaking only the somewhat precise language of the physical sciences and mathematics and one who, along the way, acquired the rich languages of psychology, philosophy, metaphysics and spirituality. It is apparent that Hamer is eager to share this experience with others of related upbringing. As an engineer and an educator in the heart of the Silicon Valley, Hamer finds among his coworkers, students, mates and others in his community not being able to take in the rewarding scenery in their respective life journeys for wish of preparation. In life, we keep messages of deep meanings that we cannot decipher without the proper state of mind or the proper language, whether in euphoria or crises, such as in marriage or divorce, in the births of our kids or in the death of a loved one, with or without words. This work is motivated by Hamer's generosity. It should be read not only by those who heretofore speak only the language of the scientific method, but also those who wish to reach them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Signal Processing: A Practical Guide for Engineers and Scientists []  2020-1-10 18:52

    Even though I already have the predecessor to this book described on [...] I purchased this 2003 ver to stay current. What makes this book amazing are how clear the explanations are to a number of core DSP locations that are often poorly explained like overlap-add quick convolution while still covering some unusual things that are rarely discussed (neural net filter design?!) along with practical cookbook techniques. And all this with charts, graphs, and clear-as-ice examples in BASIC, hoorah! Steven is egoless in terms of presenting the useful items - he's not trying to present off his math, he's just trying to support you understand. :D

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Numerical Methods for Scientists and Engineers (Dover Books on Mathematics) []  2020-5-19 18:15

    This is a textbook rather than a reference source. Some critical programming formulations I required that I bought the book for (Radau integration, for example) were homework problems. I'm at work, I don't need homework, I need well-documented solutions I can work from. This isn't a fault of the book, and it would have created an perfect textbook for a course 35 years ago. It's just not a reference source, so hold that in mind before you buy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Numerical Methods for Scientists and Engineers (Dover Books on Mathematics) []  2020-5-19 18:15

    Numerical methods for scientists and engineers is a unbelievable textbook. I've always been interested in numerical analysis. Numerical analysis to me is the excellent combination: it has both mathematics and programming. A amazing example of this idea is Numerical Recipes in C, where you have both algorithms and their implementation. That being said, this book delivers where Numerical Recipes misses. It provides insight and understanding and explains the algorithms, not in a cookbook fashion, rather in a linear progressive method. There's not a single piece of code yet the algorithms are clearly expressed. It provides a clear understanding of methods I've used but didn't truly understand. It adds by discussing subjects that aren't usually discussed in regular Numerical analysis textbooks, such as universal matrices, Stirling numbers, and Bernoulli numbers, generating functions, Riemann zeta function, Hermite interpolation, Chebyshev approximation, Adams-Bashforth and Milne methods and much, much e book can be read by anyone with graduate level math background: calculus, linear algebra and ordinary differential equations. Previous knowledge of numerical analysis is not required, the first chapters cover the basics extremely well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Numerical Methods for Scientists and Engineers (Dover Books on Mathematics) []  2020-5-19 18:15

    Bought this book to replace hard cover textbook I somehow lost a while back. Serves as both a guide and reference and is well written. Classic book which is still relevant today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Principles of Plasma Physics for Engineers and Scientists []  2019-12-24 19:50

    I am currently working on my phD thesis on astrophysics .My thesis is on plasma instabilities around Accretion disks and obviously , a knowledge of plasma physics is crucial.I search this book an perfect source to begin getting involved in deep on plasma particular , the kinetic theory ( which is usually hard to grasp ) is very easily presented .Many issues are left at the end of every chapter though , there are no respond for ever , the suitable amount of examples illustrated in every chapter , create very accessible the solutions of those issues at the end of every fore going to Landau or Bittencourt , go to this attractive book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Optical Measurements for Scientists and Engineers: A Practical Guide []  2019-12-24 19:57

    Outstanding microscopy book that contains sections on app and techniques for specific samples. Very clear and concise. A amazing book for anyone working or learning this field. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Signal Processing: A Practical Guide for Engineers and Scientists []  2020-1-10 18:52

    Steven W. Smith has updated his previous book, "Scientist and Engineer's Tutorial to DSP", with a bit more material, better typesetting, and an added section with program listings and also a CD.I went to the technical section of the best bookstore in my area, and looked through several books on this topic. Without a doubt, this one was the most clearly written and technical background is that I have a bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering, my native language is English, and I have never taken a course on DSP's. I have read a bit about digital signal processors, and used some electronic equipment (lock-in amplifier) that was DSP-based. I am interested in learning about processing video photo arrays, and audio and true time instrumentation signals. (I am including this info so that you can obtain an idea of whether your impression will be related to mine.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Applied Numerical Methods with MATLAB for Engineers and Scientists []  2020-1-22 23:40

    This text was just what my son required for his class, prompt shipping.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data Science with Java: Practical Methods for Scientists and Engineers []  2020-5-21 18:42

    A table of content in the preview would be helpful for potential purchasers...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Numerical Methods for Scientists and Engineers (Dover Books on Mathematics) []  2020-5-19 18:15

    I have been teaching numerical analysis for a long time now. I bought this book based on the author's name. I was not surprised to search out that my decision was totally correct. The book provides a clear and deep perception of primary concepts and techniques of numerical analysis that I hardly can search in texts on this topic matter.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386