Read conspiracy of lies reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all conspiracy of lies reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conspiracy of Lies []  2021-4-6 23:35

    Completely absorbing from the opening pages through the ending, the story follows Claire from the beginning of WWII, smoothly moving in time to its finale and then to our time. Stubborn, courageous, resourceful, yet feminine, Claire is sent by SOE to war among the French Resistance and she does so, risking her life even when destiny gives her a possibility to step inting an accurate picture of the time and events, this deeply felt tale carries readers along with the multifaceted, flawed characters as they move through and deal with life full of hardships and war versus ruthless occupiers. It harbors a lot of surprises and shadings, clarifications and corrections of misconceptions, offering a deeper understanding for the reader.I will avoid revealing the central intrigue (yes, there is love in this story), but I can’t support but mention the suspense at times was hardly e novel makes for an enthralling read, and I highly recommend it for readers who love historical fiction and stories b with tension.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conspiracy of Lies []  2021-4-6 23:35

    I thoroughly enjoyed book!! The characters and the story were so interesting I couldn't place it down !! Truly awesome story!! It is a must read!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conspiracy of Lies []  2021-4-6 23:35

    Kathryn Gauci has an interesting story that certainly sparked my interest. That enthusiasm waned, however, when I got into the novel and encountered historical inaccuracies. Then there is the method in which the plot is handled. I am not a amazing fan of WWII novels whose characters are young women accompanying their mother or grandmother to revisit the scenes of the older woman’s youthful exploits and heroism in wartime Europe. That the young woman is almost invariably seeking a change after a messy divorce renders this element a tired cliché. This novel has a amazing plot, but it is not a page turner. Warning: scenes, graphic in an amateur historian with a passion for WWII in Europe, the read was enjoyable enough, until I had to check a fact, then another. There are a lot of inaccuracies. Why didn’t Kathryn Gauci obtain language experts to check the French and German expressions she uses? Just two examples: at the restaurant: ‘Va falloir soupe de palourdes à la fleur de thym, s’il vous plaît,...’ Va falloir means absolutely nothing in this context – she is ordering from the menu. And ‘...and the Germans called it a Sitzekrieg –...’ It should read so a small research would have avoided the characters going to an elegant restaurant, where an evening gown and gloves are a must, and choosing Le Saint Pierre restaurant. There are a lot of popular ones such as Maxim’s, La Tour d’Argent, Fouquet, Ritz, etc. Le Saint Pierre was a cheap hotel for students in the Latin Quarter back in 1940. Hardly chic dining.A small research could have avoided the telephone inaccuracy. Kathryn Gauci’s characters are telephoning right and left. In occupied France, the few people who had a telephone or those who used a public phone at the post office had to call the operator. A German technician stood behind every operator to approve or deny the request. And, resistants did not use the phone for obvious safety reasons. This is why the role of the couriers in the Resistance was so this novel the characters drink a lot of tea. French people drink coffee first and foremost, not tea. During the occupation, coffee was unobtainable, except on the black market. Only an ersatz coffee created from roasted roots and chicory was available.I won’t dwell on the "electronic" gates. The author’s characters travel by vehicle or taxi. Personal vehicles were not allowed, only doctors could run one. Due to gasoline restrictions, doctors’ vehicles and commercial truck ran on gazogène, produced in an ungainly, attached contraption. The Maquis stole cars and gasoline but not to drive around, only for ambushes or other maquis work and avoided both the Germans and French civilians.‘Henri wired to say he’d arrived back in England.’ Firstly, communication with foreign countries was prohibited and impossible. Secondly, England was the opponent in the eyes of the Germans. The only method Henri could communicate was to send a private notice that only his group would understand, via the BBC Les Français parlent aux ere’s also the matter of the Breton language. ‘It was now a requirement for every school to teach the Breton language’....‘In 1941 the ban on teaching Breton in the schools was lifted.’ The author didn't understand the sources. The only language in state schools in France was, and had always been, French. Minority languages were banned and kids derided if they spoke the patois in school. Although during the occupation, the Vichy government allowed one school in Brittany to teach the Breton language. The school had five students whose parents were from the Breton Nationalist Party. It was closed in 1944. Only after 1977 did personal schools, called Diwan immersion schools, began to teach the Breton language. In state schools the language of instruction is still is off-putting to read a historical novel where the author employs words that were not in use at the time. ‘...my hand reached up to touch the cream fascinator with a single grouse feather...’ Fascinators were little hats famous until the early twentieth century. By 1920 the word had fallen out of use. It saw a revival about 1990, thanks to a certain British e SOE radio operators, parachuted into France, were trained by the SOE in England. The SOE was adept at recognizing the operator’s touch and idiosyncrasies, and their private code. Radio operators were never trained in the field. Radio operators did only radio transmissions, they wouldn’t be trained as couriers as well. Claire could not have been aire gives a show to a mate ‘...three metres of apricot polyester,...’ Polyester? Dupont (U.S.) explored artificial fiber in 1921 but had only developed nylon by the time the battle broke out. Only after the battle did Dupont introduce Polyester. In France, the occupying Germans bought (read: requisitioned) luxury fabrics, such as silk, finely woven wool and pure y of these inaccuracies may be small, but their frequency reveals an insufficient research that undermines the story. Readers of historical fiction are often themselves well versed in the history of the period and keep their authors to a high standard.

    0  


    Add your opinion on conspiracy of lies or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conspiracy of Lies []  2021-4-6 23:35

    Another amazing read by Ms Gauci. Amazing characters, and a plot that held my interest from beginning to end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conspiracy of Lies []  2021-4-6 23:35

    Loved this quick paced book of love, drama, history, resistance warriors and ruthless SS men. The author is amazing at helping you know the characters and feel attached to them. The scene was set for the book and story of Claire’s life in the first 1/2. Suddenly it dramatically picked up and was quick paced and kept me turning pages and my heart pounding with each fresh turn of events. I liked how the author carefully reminded the reader of who some characters were if they were mentioned earlier yet it was done naturally and not redundantly. This book is very well written and all brought together in a unbelievable way. There are so a lot of twists and turns you will search unexpected. I suspected somethings but when they turned up there was a various twist than what I expected. It was a fun read but also serious, heartbreaking and nerve wracking. I loved it all and didn’t feel bogged down at all in any part of the book. People you love, and care for and people you love to hate! Also those you feel you should despise but somehow like in spite of themselves. It was a unbelievable and believable story. Very realistic. I think everyone interested in this time will have fun this book!!pamarellaPRCS

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conspiracy of Lies []  2021-4-6 23:35

    This was a very exciting book taking put in WWII, my favorite genre. The story is a amazing one and kept me going to the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conspiracy of Lies []  2021-4-6 23:35

    Today I finished this brilliant historical fiction. Claire Bouchard is the protagonist who joined the French Resistance in 1943. Despite an unmitigating love for her country, she kept her past well-hidden for most of her life, due to another allegiance by the man she loved. The story starts with her daughter Sarah giving her perspective of her elderly mother. When Claire began sharing her shocking truth with Sarah I was on the edge of my seat - then welcomed moments of respite from the battle as mother and daughter enjoyed clam soup on their holiday in show day Brittany - and then back on the edge with galloping heartbeat again as the history unfolds further! The book is beautifully descriptive in every way. The opulence of the Nazi commanders and their families contrasted with the squalor of the French families under occupation creates a striking visual that brings the injustice of all battle into a sharpening focus. Thoroughly researched, absorbing, and wonderfully written, Conspiracy of Lies is a novel I can recommend without hesitation to all adults.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conspiracy of Lies []  2021-4-6 23:35

    A really gripping and moving story set in WWII Brittany. I enjoyed it very much once I got past the opening chapters which I wasn’t as keen on and which nearly place me off. I’m glad I kept going, though. The whole WWII background with the Macquis and the occupation in Brittany taught me so much, and the characters were completely believable, so I was caught up in the plot very quickly. It was just a shame that the formatting of this Kindle ver was quite bad, as it created reading a bit confusing at times. It’s possible it wasn’t formatted for an ebook.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conspiracy of Lies []  2021-4-6 23:35

    Conspiracy of Lies awesome spy thriller set in Globe Battle 2 France. As I started reading the book I really thought I had the ending figured out but I was actually wrong! The story takes you up and down emotionally. I felt like I was there. The ending was bittersweet and had me thinking about the book all her previous book The Embroiderer, Conspiracy of Lies was full of passion, romance and heartbreak. My only regret is that I didn't have time to finish the book sooner. Thank you again for a attractive story! Can't wait for the next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conspiracy of Lies []  2021-4-6 23:35

    Kathryn Gauci's second book was one I couldn't place down until it was reluctantly finished. It held me in it's grasp with each of the interesting characters within this story of Claire Bouchard, and her brave mission in occupied France, being recruited by the Unique Operations Executive and involvement with the Resistance during the second globe war. Her entanglement with a Gestapo Commandant became dangerous, but this book is not only one of romance, but thriller, and for me, part suspense. I fully recommend this book as a very enjoyable and worthwhile read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Republic of Lies: American Conspiracy Theorists and Their Surprising Rise to Power []  2020-1-24 20:27

    If you are fascinated/freighted about the sudden uptick in conspiracies, this is the book you need to read. I have read a LOT of books about wacky thinking (Michael Shermer's "Why People Believe Weird Things" and parts of Kurt Andersen's "Fantasyland: How America Went Haywire" to name a few) but NONE seemed to capture the show moment like Anna Merlan does in this one. You can tell she is a kid of the internet and truly UNDERSTANDS these NEW implications. She weaves everything together in such a brilliant cogent 's funny. All of this items SCARES ME but reading this has honestly created me feel safer in a way. I think UNDERSTANDING these boggymen takes away some of the fear. Maybe this is just a "me" thing though. :)But yes. Obtain this book. Trust me. Don't be deceived by the few poor reviews on amazon here. It JUST came out and I honestly wouldn't be surprised if the negative reviews were from some in the conspiracy community that the book shines a bright light on(Look at me...with my OWN conspiracies! :) .But yes. I can't say enough about this title. Please comment if you have any questions. I feel passionate about this content getting out there and will support in any method I can!Lots of love,-Dan

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Republic of Lies: American Conspiracy Theorists and Their Surprising Rise to Power []  2020-1-24 20:27

    Republic of Lies covers a lot of ground but zeroes in on the most necessary and influential conspiracy theories of the latest several years. It's an necessary read for understanding the Trump era and an exploration of the current weird media moment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Republic of Lies: American Conspiracy Theorists and Their Surprising Rise to Power []  2020-1-24 20:27

    If you are questioning #fakenews, this book is for you.If you've recently begun to choose to know the truth, this is the book for ain and ss it peat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Republic of Lies: American Conspiracy Theorists and Their Surprising Rise to Power []  2020-1-24 20:27

    This book covered material that has the potential to be very disturbing, but the sense I came away with after reading it was respect for the author. She was able to see the members of these groups as human beings rather than caricatures, which cannot have been simple when at least some of them were advocating for her death right in front of her. She manages the difficult balancing act of listening to views that are repulsive or factually incorrect, being clear about her own position on these issues, and letting the individuals she interviews tell their own stories so that the readers can create their own judgment. It might have been simple to turn this into a screed but she did not. The narrative is engaging--as though your wittiest mate is telling you about the wild weekend she had meeting the most unusual people--without losing track of fact-checking. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Republic of Lies: American Conspiracy Theorists and Their Surprising Rise to Power []  2020-1-24 20:27

    "The Republic of Lies" is articulate, courageous journalism at its best. In chapter after chapter, Merlan excavates the insular beliefs of conspiracy groups who thrive on labyrinthine constructs of reality. I found her review of the history of conspiracism fascinating; it originates, as she shows, deep in our American bones. A beautifully written, captivating book arriving at a crucial moment in our times. Highly recommended reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    SUMMARY Of Catch and Kill: Lies, Spies, and a Conspiracy to Protect Predators []  2020-7-15 18:30

    Too condensed...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Republic of Lies: American Conspiracy Theorists and Their Surprising Rise to Power []  2020-1-24 20:27

    Anna Merlan’s book Republic of Lies is a well written, even-handed, and thought-provoking look at the cause and effects of conspiracy theories. Being perhaps the most recognized victim of one of the most prolific conspiracy theories, Sandy Hook, it can be simple to focus on the horrible results of hoaxer’s beliefs, which have included stalking, harassment, and death threats. While acknowledging the tremendous hurt that conspiracy theory causes and the threat to both personal citizens like myself and to the community and even democracy as a whole, Merlan peels back the layers of cirtances that make conspiracy theories and discusses why they happen and how easily they can consume people. This book is an necessary read for anyone interested in understanding what is quite possibly the greatest threat to society; disinformation, misinformation, and the monetization of lies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Republic of Lies: American Conspiracy Theorists and Their Surprising Rise to Power []  2020-1-24 20:27

    This book did a unbelievable job of addressing a lot of problems similar to conspiracy theories and how they have creeped from the fringe of society slowly into the mainstream. In a lot of cases, we dismiss such theories as harmless fantasies, but Ms. Merlan does a amazing job of showing the true globe impacts that the spread of these theories can have, especially in the internet era. She also presents the historical context of CTs and how that can lead to acceptance by people who may have been burned before by true conspiracies and cover ups.I learned a lot from this book and at the same time never felt bored or overwhelmed. Ms. Merlan did a amazing job of writing with just the right amount of detail and context to hold you engaged and learning but not bogged down.I would highly recommend this to anyone curious about CTs or anyone who has had to deal with countering some of the false narratives that derive from them. I often search myself trying to argue with some of the theories cited in her chapter on health as a public health professional and this book gave me a bit insight into why people may think like they do and hopefully will support me be better at communicating with people moving forward.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Republic of Lies: American Conspiracy Theorists and Their Surprising Rise to Power []  2020-1-24 20:27

    I have only begun to read the book; so far it is an interesting overview of strange conspiracies that are apparently widely believed by some people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Republic of Lies: American Conspiracy Theorists and Their Surprising Rise to Power []  2020-1-24 20:27

    I had really high hopes for this book but was left disappointed. The editing was sub-par, there were several names of groups or regional organizations (easily verifiable) that were misreported or misspelled, which created me question much of the overall text’s authenticity. I agree with the author’s aim that our current moment is an apt one to re-evaluate the put that conspiracy and conspiratorial belief holds in our society now, and to ask blunt questions about what the (particularly American) allegiance to those beliefs suggests in a broader way. It is truly a rich zone of thought and social theory, but unfortunately this books falls extremely flat as a shallow and surprisingly unempathetic text.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Republic of Lies: American Conspiracy Theorists and Their Surprising Rise to Power []  2020-1-24 20:27

    This book has been one of my favorites this year. Merlan does a amazing job of weaving what seem like separate events/issues into a narrative about the stories Americans tell ourselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conspiracy of Silence [Book]  2018-3-22 18:0

    Conspiracy of Silence is a murder mystery with a fresh romance thrown e characters are wonderfully drawn. The events, food, and culture bring hero to the story, telling us a bit about the area. Bed-racing? Now that sounds st of the mystery itself was solid. What was up with Olli and his sister's strange relationship? The ending was a bit 's when the romance is introduced that brings about a change to the story from decent to less-than. While some readers like detail, I don't happen to be one of them. Unless the info support the reader understand the story. Info of patching up a dog's boo-boo or an adult's is, well, too much detail which bogs down an otherwise amazing story.And you know? That's just my opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conspiracy of Silence [Book]  2018-3-22 18:0

    I did have fun the book and would recommend it. Be advised the story would probably be best enjoyed by a female reader... which I am not. Still the story line and plot were interesting. I found the book was simple to place down and then start reading again even after a few days. The book works well to fill in gaps in a busy schedule which was a plus for me. Some books have plots so complicated even a day away can leave you confused. This was not the case for Conspiracy of Silence. Ending was predictable and a bit abrupt for my taste. Without revealing a spoiler I do think the author included one 'not believable' part to the conclusion which was disappointing to me. A bit too satisfied of an ending... but still a thumbs up book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conspiracy of Silence [Book]  2018-3-22 18:0

    We meet Clare who just discovered that she is adopted from her Doctor who thought she knew. The women who has raised her has passed away and had never told her. Clare finds an old class ring in her mother's possessions, which leads her to Grand Rapids, Minnesota. Clare has decided to test and search her birth parents. This leads to a lot of twist and turns along the method to explore who she really is is a book I didn't wish to place down. With a lot of puzzles to be solved.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Conspiracy of Stars []  2020-1-18 19:41

    This story takes you to a completely various place, yet has you searching things within yourself. The main hero Octavia's explorations bring the inner adventurer out of you, in all senses. The thick themes within this book are crucial during this time.I am not a traditional Sci-Fi reader but Olivia A. Cole makes Sci-Fi accessible. She helps us see how close Sci-Fi is to our reality. This book will hold you engaged, fill your Sci-Fi needs, and leave you feeling more fulfilled.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Conspiracy of Us []  2020-1-30 20:24

    This created me feel so a lot of emotions! From suspense to a small bit of romance, this book has it all. Add that to a small bit of conspiracy theory and you've got one amazing book. I seriously could not place it down. If you are debating getting this book, allow me tell you, it is completely worth it. This story is about a girl named Avery who has moved so a lot of times she has come up with a plan she calls The Plan (catchy right ;)) If she doesn't allow anyone in then she won't obtain damage when they have to move again for her mom's work. This works fine until she meets Jack, the fresh kid. He may be the only person who really gets what she's going through. But when he tells her that he had info about her father, she jumps at the chance. She goes on so a lot of adventures, through so a lot of continents in two weeks than most people go through in their lifetimes. I really liked Avery's character. She had just the right amount of spunk and wits that created her more than just a beautiful face, sadly like a lot of other female protagonists. She was intelligent and could handle herself around the twists and turns that her adventure brought. I don't know about you but that's something I look for in a main character. Jack and Stellan. What is their to say about Jack and Stellan? Stellan is this gorgeous boy she meets at her prom, and he definitely wasn't supposed to be there. She honestly doesn't know what to do around him, and to be honest neither would I. Next is Jack. He is the boy she meets at her school, but he has some hidden secrets and she doesn't know if she can completely trust him. With his gray eyes and espresso colourful hair, he is a knock out and her whole school thinks so. Things are changing in Avery's life faster than she could ever imagine. I would totally recommend this book. It was great!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Conspiracy of Us []  2020-1-30 20:24

    I normally shy away from writing reviews, but i savoured every word which drove me to wish to share how amazing it is with the world! It really deserves to be highlighted; I finished it in 7 hours -- straight!Everything about this book kept me engaged (pace, plot, environment, etc). I am so looking forward to the sequel and am bursting at the seams with anticipation! I fervently hope it comes out sooner than later!There is a part of me that wishes I discovered the trilogy when they are all out--it was that engaging!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Conspiracy of Truths []  2020-7-3 18:59

    The worldbuilding in this book is SO GOOD. I wish to discover this globe with the same fervency I have generally reserved for Pat Rothfuss’s fantasy world. Can I just live in Alex’s globe forever and hear lots of amazing stories?GOD give me all the folk tales and all the cultures and customs. They’re all so distinct and unbelievable and I’m sitting here pouting like a toddler because I wish MORE. I found everything super charming, especially the idea of a fantasy bureaucracy. The characters were awesome and even though the narrator was a dude, there was a bounty of awesome women in this story which is so hard to search in most fantasy novels. I love me a amazing creation myth and this book gave me everything I could think to wish from a fantasy novel and more. DUAL MOONS Y’ALL!!!!Chant is a grumpy grandpa and I immediately liked him because he reminded me of my own family, who’ve never allow the truth obtain in the method of a amazing story. (Ylfing has done nothing wrong in his life ever, and I wish that known.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conspiracy of Silence [Book]  2018-3-22 18:0

    It is such a relief to obtain amazing mystery, subtle clues that require true intelligence and not just dumb luck in a captivating novel that exposes all kinds of human emotion without super-powered, fantasy heroics, plus the gift that there is no smut or immorality, plus no foul language! I thank the author and look forward to more (dialogue-driven, for sure) reading from this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conspiracy of Silence [Book]  2018-3-22 18:0

    Although not intentional, I seem to have been reading a number of stories of adoptees who didn't know they were adopted until their adoptive parent(s) died. This one differed from others in that Clare learned her biological mother had been murdered, and the main suspect was her father. When Clare learned more info about the murder, it became obvious to the reader who the assassin was. Yet neither Clare or any other hero questioned why a certain person would have appeared at the murder stage to support clean up the mess and hide the crime. A lot of seemingly smart characters were awfully dense about that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Conspiracy of Stars []  2020-1-18 19:41

    I have been reading fantasy since discovering A Wrinkle in Time at age 12, 50 years of diving deep into fresh worlds. I search I have very small patience for authors who don’t take time to build language, culture, and a sense of put in their world. Olivia Cole does just that. In addition, her hero development is golden. I read as much for hero as for plot, and both were very satisfying. After reading only a small while, I started looking around for the characters, as though they were true people. That is the sign that I have become truly immersed in the world. I am delighted to have another author to seek out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Conspiracy of Stars []  2020-1-18 19:41

    A well written, well-paced book with a main hero who engages me from the first...That's true, but cliche. I search it difficult to write reviews, but I can present you the tweet I sent to the author:"I just finished A Conspiracy of Stars. I feel breathless and energised. I'm not exaggerating. Thank you for writing it...I loved the ride!"A book that gets that kind of emotional AND physical reaction from me gets all the stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Conspiracy of Us []  2020-1-30 20:24

    This book is bright. Lively with culture, intriguing history, and a treasure hunt. I am a huge fan of stories like this were history and historical locations are taken and twisted into a attractive adventure. I love the idea of clues left for hundreds of years, and the unbelievable chase that ensues when multiple parties are searching for the same treasure. I thought this was an interesting conspiracy theory for the families ruling the world. Initially I was a small perplexed when Avery went off with Jack right away; however, they address than flaw later on in the story. So rather than glazing over this large hero flaw, it is added in as a part of her personality. I can't wait to read more about the adventure and the rest of the clues in future books. My main problem with an otherwise awesome story is actually with the title. The Conspiracy of Us makes it sound more like a cheesy romance than an action packed adventure and puzzle solving treasure hunt. I realize that the title is a line in the book, but I think a more intriguing title drawn from the historical elements in the book would better reflect the amazing story inside.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Conspiracy of Us []  2020-1-30 20:24

    I was excited to read this book. The synopsis was intriguing and I read a few reviews and they were all positive. Unfortunately, I wanted to stop reading by chapter 3, but I hate not finishing a book, so I sucked it up and kept reading. It got worse. The characters are so easy and one dimensional. There is nothing interesting about any of them. The story line was obvious and the writing itself wasn't great.I don't think I enjoyed anything about this book and I will not be continuing with this series, sorry:(

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Conspiracy of Truths []  2020-7-3 18:59

    Marion: We never know the name of our first-person narrator in Alexandra Rowland’s 2018 novel A Conspiracy of Truths. People call him Chant, but that is his vocation, not a name (he abandoned his name when he became a Chant). Chants gather stories and retell them. They go from put to put pursuing their craft, and in the isolated and insular country of Nuryevet, Chants offends the wrong people, and is place on trial for soon as he opens his mouth to defend himself, Chant makes things worse, and he’s imprisoned and facing a death sentence. His publicly appointed advocate, Consanza, is a reluctant helper at best, and certainly not an ally. Worse, Chant has come to the attention of several of the Primes, the elected rules of Nuryevet — in particular, the Queen of Pattern (think CIA). He uses the only tool available to him, his skill in telling stories, in increasingly desperate attempts to regain his ant’s vocation stems from an ancient group who functioned as priests for a trickster god named Shuggwa, and Chant functions in this story as a trickster. He uses stories to manipulate people, often with (at least seemingly) unintended consequences, but at the same time he reveres stories and sees story collecting and storytelling as a solemn, sacred duty. In contrast, there is small sacred about the stagnant, bureaucratic government of Nuryevet, with its five Primes: Order, Justice, Law, Commerce and Pattern. Although each “Prime” goes by the title of King or Queen, the positions are elected, for different durations. Consanza, a cynical and jaded member of this society, points out that the people of Nuryevet are luckier than other countries, even if their rulers are terrible, because the people obtain to choose them. It is clear the government is imploding, ruling the country in a method that is inequitable and toxic, but Chant insists that’s not his concern. He yearns to search his apprentice, Ylfing, and escape, but what he sets in motion is much bigger than om the opening lines, it’s clear Chant is telling a story. At first it seems that the “you” to whom he is telling the story is a general listener (reader) audience, but as the story goes on, we learn he is talking to a particular person with a vested interest in the outcome. Chant is a classic unreliable narrator (even to himself at times) and a classic trickster. Chant, an old man, insists that his eyesight is “as amazing now as it ever was,” and that the pangs in his chest and moisture in his eyes after certain interactions with Ylfing are not from deep emotion, but probably just mild heart attacks. Chant is even less reliable, however, when he interacts with the Queen of Pattern, the Queen of Coin (Commerce) and the Queen of Order. He soon gets the measure of each of them and begins influencing them with his r a story that takes put mostly within prison cells, where it seems beautiful likely the first person narrator has not been executed, A Conspiracy of Truths becomes surprisingly suspenseful. Partly this is because there are characters at risk, particularly Ylfing and Consanza, but the suspense comes also not from “what will happen,” but “how will it happen?” And the book allows time for thoughtful moments when Ylfing and Chant talk about the nature of stories, human nature, and “shared hallucinations,” like is is not a excellent book for me, because I did message that I was not easily engaged, no matter how grimly funny the first few pages were. I was amused when Chant’s fulsome apology to the court, evoking a fabled mariner as a metaphor, blew up in his face, but I still could have place down the book at that point. I wasn’t truly hooked until Chant confronted the Queen of Pattern. Terry, what is your impression of the book? You also mentioned that it started slowly for you.A Conspiracy of Truths by Alexandra RowlandTerry: I almost gave up on this book entirely after about the first 50 pages, because it seemed like a jokey book to me with nothing to keep my interest. (Note that I dislike “funny” science fiction and fantasy, having been spoiled on the notion by reading too much Piers Anthony in my youth.) Once the Primes started visiting Chant, though, A Conspiracy of Truths became considerably more interesting to me, and as the political aspects of the book ramped up, it became fascinating. The more Chant became revealed as something more than a foolish old man who had lost his internal censor and therefore gotten himself in trouble, the more I enjoyed it.What did you think of the stories Chant told? I generally liked them, though I was disappointed that they didn’t play more of a role in the development of Chant’s own story. They served about the same function as a palate cleanser does in a multi-course food — pleasant but not, ultimately, what I was there rion: I thought the discussions about the stories were more necessary than the stories themselves.Terry: Yes!One of my favorite moments is the debate Chant and Ylfing have over whether people are all the same, or all different, when Ylfing states that anyone recognizes a love story, and Chant agrees, but then says that depending on your culture, you will take a various lesson from the love story.What did you think of the blackwitches?I enjoyed the fact that Rowland never entirely commits to whether blackwitches actually have magical powers. Sometimes it seems that they absolutely must, but I was place in mind of Arthur C. Clarke’s popular Third Law, “Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.” It doesn’t seem to me that anything that the blackwitches do is impossible to explain as either a bit of technology that Chant doesn’t know about or a figment of his imagination (especially in light of his harsh imprisonment).Really? I had a various take. I thought they were quite true because of Chant’s physical reaction to them (even before he knew what they were) and the smell. Which still doesn’t preclude technology. It allowed Rowland to make a nice ironic twist with something Chant makes up about one of the Primes — or thinks he’s making up at the this really a story about storytelling? Certainly Chant gets himself both into and out of problem with his tales, and his whole approach to the Primes seems to be to invent a story in which he is a prisoner trying to obtain out of problem — he’s making his life into a story, so to speak. He uses his storytelling not just to create people feel better (though there’s plenty of that), but also to manipulate others, and sometimes it seems as if he is even manipulating himself. But ultimately I did not see this as a recursive novel. The tales don’t nest in any way, and mostly have small result of the basic story, and there is small discussion of the importance of storytelling in any culture, including the one Chant finds himself in. Instead, I see this as primarily a political novel. Of course, politics has a lot to do with story; think of the stories we’ve built up around JFK, Obama and Trump, from both ends of the political spectrum. But that’s not the goal of politics; the story serves the purpose, rather than being the point.I think at this point you don’t have politics without story — even though the buzzword is “narrative.” And the stories that drive this book aren’t the “classics” that are broken out; they are the stories Chant creates, starting with that apology — the stories that blow up in his face, or work far better than expected. It was an interesting note to me that none of the propaganda Chant writes for the Queen of Coin ever appears in the book. I don’t think stories have to follow a specific formula for a work to be “about” story. Message how a lot of of the “classic” tales are unfinished. To me A Conspiracy of Truths is clearly a book about story, wrapped in a story. I also have no problem seeing it as a political novel, or even a jailbreak story in the tradition of The Shawshank Redemption if it comes bottom line is that A Conspiracy of Truths is a amazing read, especially for a debut novel. I’m glad I didn’t quit early on, and I encourage readers to hold going through the sluggish opening section. I don’t think it’s one of the best novels of 2018, but it’s definitely promising; I’m looking forward to what Rowland comes up with next.I think we’re agreed that Rowland is one to watch!Written with Marion Deeds. 4.5 stars rounded up to 5.0 for Amazon's system. Originally published at the Fantasy Literature website.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Conspiracy of Truths []  2020-7-3 18:59

    A really delightful read with a special point of view. I didn't know anything about the story going in and honestly it's a excellent method to experience this book, since the globe builds out quite naturally. The method the fantasy globe is discovered is an perfect subversion of tropes; rather than an epic journey over magical lands, the narrator learns everything while held captive in one city. Everything is tied together through stories, folk tales and fairy tales and memories all mixed together. The characters are very well developed and they all have their own charms. I liked that the characters have various ities and it's just how it is, completely accepted in this world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Conspiracy of Truths []  2020-7-3 18:59

    I've been trying to avoid buying books, lately, for a number of reasons. However, five mins into reading this, I was hooked and have no buyer's remorse. It's a MUST have for your private collection, and your friends, and probably your public library. It's a one of a kind book, with queer people, poly-amorous people, queer poly-amorous people, all in a fantasy political setting. No really, you should check this out!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Conspiracy of Truths []  2020-7-3 18:59

    The worldbuilding, the various cultures seen through the commentary of a wandering storyteller...it's a wonder I was ever able to place this book down. I especially love the framing, where the "you" to whom the story is being told isn't some nebulous reader, but is in fact an actual person within the story world, about whom the reader learns in bits and pieces as the story progresses. If you have fun fantasy, this book is a must-read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conspiracy of Silence [Book]  2018-3-22 18:0

    This book has a special storyline. It also flowed quite nicely. There was enough suspense to hold it interesting , but it wasn't filled with too a lot of twists and clues as to create it confusing. The characters were like able. None really stood out or had any above average abilities, nor did anyone have any serious hero flaws, well, until the end. Though someone does die, it is not a murder mystery.A few minor flaws kept this from being a 4 star book. Every chapter ends with a short sentence or paragraph that comes from out of the blue to pique the readers interest for the next chapter. This sounds like a technique one would search in a creative writing class at adult education. The other technique I didn't care for was using snippets of an old recurring dream to provide some psychological suspense. Personally, I search this a simplistic way to provide intrigue when style fails the author. The ending was contrived but acceptable, but if I told you why, you'd guess the ending.Except for those few defects, I found this to be very readable. If you like a mystery that has a amazing practical story and flows nicely, that has characters that you can relate too, then. I would recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conspiracy of Silence [Book]  2018-3-22 18:0

    Sometimes you just obtain lucky and pick up a good, simple reading and interesting is is what I just did. After a lot of that have been only OK or one where I just started flipping pages - I found this. I will leave the story line to others. I will say I am very satisfied and happy with this author and will look for more of her work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conspiracy of Ravens []  2020-1-16 8:9

    Conspiracy of Ravens is a beautifully illustrated book with a easy style that introduces a group of young girls whose mysterious connected past is the centre piece of a magical mystery. The adventure is an origin story that highlights teamwork, the embrace of your full potential and becoming an individual. The relationship of Anne to her parents is particularly amusing and is likely to fill older readers with a certain fond e manner the book is written in suggests more stories to come, but more importantly it acts as kind of a kit for the imagination (as other books have as well) in which young readers are likely to develop their own imaginative adventures.A reservoir of creativity I have no hesitation recommending this book to young women for its youthful themes and embrace of a magical reality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Conspiracy of Us []  2020-1-30 20:24

    I feel like I've read so a lot of YA fiction books that they're not having the same affect on me as they once did. Nevertheless, this book is a amazing read overall although I found myself bored at times and wanting to read it over true fast so I could know what was event next. The ending chapters were definitely the best part I found must hooked and wanting to see how it would end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Conspiracy of Us []  2020-1-30 20:24

    I won't tell you what happens in the end, but let's just say it absolutely sucks that the next book isn't e characters were wonderful, the plot was juicy, the writing was quick paced and intriguing. I absolutely love the premise of this book and the only reason it isn't getting five stars is because at times I feel like the book went too quick and I lost track of where we were. Like when I thought we were on an airplane and then realized we had gotten off the airplane and into a car. Otherwise, I can't wait for the next book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Conspiracy of Truths []  2020-7-3 18:59

    This is a fantasy novel about the power of storytelling--the main character, Chant, is a wandering storyteller who gets wrongfully arrested and then sets about bringing down the government of the entire country from inside his prison cell. The narration is wry and engaging, the characters are complex and real, and I loved all of the embedded tales. The worldbuilding in this book is absolutely so, one of the embedded tales has a central plot point about historical phonology, and that won my nerd heart forever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Conspiracy of Stars []  2020-1-18 19:41

    One of the elements that pulled me into A Conspiracy of Stars is Octavia's voice. She's intelligent and perceptive, yes, but also impatient and reckless. In other words, she's a teenager. It's difficult to write teenagers so deftly, but Olivia Cole has that gift, that excellent ear. A Conspiracy of Stars is more than a sci-fi thriller; it's also a coming-of-age, pro-science story with uncomfortable but important parallels to America's racist past and present. Ms. Cole doesn't shy away from the explorers' depiction of indigenous people as the dangerous, unpredictable 'other' in order to rationalize the exploitation of the planet's resources. She refuses to preach, instead letting Octavia's realizations unfold with all of the emotion and pain a young person experiences when the globe she thought she knows comes into sharp, clear focus. Octavia is an extraordinary heroine for the ages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Conspiracy of Stars []  2020-1-18 19:41

    Olivia is, without a doubt, a writer on the rise. Her books just hold getting better! I’ve read every one that’s been published so far and have so thoroughly enjoyed them all. Her lead characters are inspiring, written with depth and amazing care. And she pays attention to info through the use of engaging phrases and unbelievable descriptions. The story in this book is fascinating, and I can’t wait for a sequel. While this book is aimed towards young adults, I think people of any age would have fun this book. Kudos to you, Olivia!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conspiracy of Silence [Book]  2018-3-22 18:0

    Overall, interesting and entertaining, with building suspense as the story develops. The relationship part was a small too predictable, but the mystery from the past had some amazing t so amazing on motive, etc -- as is common in murder and suspense stories, that is manipulated to serve the plot...Dragged a small at times, but maybe that was my mood -- it did hold me up too late reading!I would say the author needs to work on developing people with more depth. She has the plotting down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Conspiracy of Us []  2020-1-30 20:24

    Overall, I give this book 4 1/2 STARS! But I'm leaning closer to 5 than 4, so that's how I'll rate it on Goodreads. The story and plot were exciting and held my attention, the two male characters were fun, funny, and also held my attention, but I hesitate to give the book five stars because of the main character. This was a amazing read and felt like watching a film in my head. I highly recommend addition to the story overall, Maggie Hall is an author to watch. This debut is unlike anything I have read currently in YA books, and she bridges a lot of gaps. She is an author who isn't afraid to allow her plot be the most necessary part of the story, and still writes romance and everything else most of us love to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Conspiracy of Us []  2020-1-30 20:24

    It’s been a long time since I’ve read a book that’s left me wanting to crawl into bed and cry once it’s over. I loved it. Loved everything about it. The characters, the plot, the settings, the mystery, the edge-of-your-seat action… this book had me from the first page, right to the end--where I kept flicking, hoping for more. And did you see that cover? Stunning!Avery was a amazing MC--I loved watching her grow and eventually begin up; Stellan was a handsome mystery; and Jack… *sighs.* He’s hot with a British accent, that’s all I need to say. Luc was also one of my favourites and I hope we obtain to see more of him in the next book.And love triangle? Pfff, no way. There was one clear-cut romance and it was ohhh so swoon-worthy *dies.*This is an impressive debut for Hall, and I can’t wait to obtain my hands on book 2!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Conspiracy of Stars []  2020-1-18 19:41

    Perfect read with amazing world-building as well as a attractive tribute to Octavia Butler. I often wonder at the "YA" label, in that my nearly-40-year-old self enjoys just as much "YA" as I do any other type of fiction. Don't allow labels deter or distract you from an perfect read.I hope Ms Cole doesn't hold Part Two from us for too long; leaving us with such a breathless final 20-30 pages as she did, she better be sitting at her laptop polishing a draft as I write this review!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Conspiracy of Stars []  2020-1-18 19:41

    I loved this book! Right from the first page I quickly began to appreciate the rich globe of Faloiv that this author made so vividly. I enjoyed the full development of the beautifully diverse characters; I felt as though I was sharing every experience right alongside of Octavia the heroine and her mates Alma and Rondo. The monsters on the globe of Faloiv are written with such imagination and special design that I could easily envision them on a huge screen! The parallels to a lot of of today's challenges in our own globe are compelling and thought e villains in Octavia's life display an astonishing lack of empathy and compassion for other people and monsters on their globe of Faloiv. In their quest to return to the days (planet) of earlier times they choose to disregard nature, science and fresh truths all in the name of is book flows easily and the suspenseful and enthralling plot makes it a true page turner. I hope the sequel is right on the heels of this amazing read because it is a cliffhanger of the best kind!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Conspiracy of Stars []  2020-1-18 19:41

    For the community of N'terra, this is the mantra of the scientist elite. For Octavia English, what she learns turns her globe completely upside down.Octavia is a student and future scientist, daughter of highly respected scientists, granddaughter of highly respected scientists. Faloiv is the only home she has known but she she soon learns she knows as small about it as she does about the mysterious Origin Planet her parents and grandparents came from. And she learns that she is connected in a risky method to her adopted homeland, not just because she was born is is a rich story of scientific- and self-discovery that explores so a lot of subjects in a layered and narrative that never loses sight of the central thread. To say more would be to give away a revelation best left to the be experienced through reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conspiracy of Ravens []  2020-1-16 8:9

    “There is no older nor purer form of magic than that of birds.”Anne is just trying to create her method through high school: the gauntlet of tests, cliques, and friends… All that is upended when in the middle of class, she’s called to office and finds out a previously unknown aunt has passed away. With the death comes an inheritance of Ravenhall, an aging mansion, and a locket with a curious provenance. Anne slowly learns of the power of the piece of jewelry, and finds that there are others out there who share the same lineage. A lineage connected by the power of birds. Jackdaw! Jay! Crow! Magpie! Raven! A dissimulation of birds and t, with these powers come threats, people who wish the stones for themselves. The mystery of the magic lineage is just as amazing as the brisk and lively action. From the boarding school culture to the magical system to the familial stress and struggles, this graphic novel covers a lot in only 150 pages. And it does it all well. Also of note, I think readers will definitely be satisfied with the number of fun literary allusions created over the course of the ld with humor, stylishly drawn illustrations, and inclusivity, Conspiracy of Ravens is a graphic novel that should search its method into a lot of hands. I found enjoyment in this novel as would a lot of of my students. The narrative is left open-ended, and my hope is that Moore and Reppion continue the “conspiracy” story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Conspiracy of Truths []  2020-7-3 18:59

    This book is a its simplest, it's a funny, compelling tale about an itinerant storyteller who gets wrongfully arrested and retaliates by gossiping so hard he disrupts an entire government. Beyond that, it's a story about stories and it reaches well beyond the walls of the cell we spend a amazing chunk of the book in. It'll probably also reach into your heart and squeeze right until the very end.I loved beautiful much everything about this book: myths and folk tales, political intrigue, a cantankerous but loveable narrator, really creepy magic, top notch worldbuilding. It's got it all.But of everything, I loved the characters most. They're diverse and distinct and so thoughtfully drawn. I could come up with something I liked about each and every one of them, even if it's just how believably poor they are as people. And they are, undoubtedly, people. They have their own voices and motivations and they just breathe so convincingly it's impossible not to either relate to them, or fall in love with them. Or both in some unique riously, do yourself a favour and read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Conspiracy of Truths []  2020-7-3 18:59

    I just finished this book five mins ago. This is a story that goes 's got that genius quintessence, that capital-m Magic that bridges the gap between 'almost' and 'perfect.' It's the type of tale that makes you cry tears of searing contentment, that imbues your spine with atavistic shivers and the skin of your shoulders with goosebumps; that created me, out of nowhere, grin, then laugh, then dance for joy at its mere thought.I need to think on it some more, and sleep besides. I'll flesh out this review exandra Rowland, you've won yourself a convert. I'll be on the lookout from now on for anything you make.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Conspiracy of Truths []  2020-7-3 18:59

    This book grabbed me from the begin and create me keep on like I was riding a tiger. Not an simple read by any means, but it kept me fascinated by the twists and turns and just how was the main hero going to obtain out of *this* mess. It works so well that when I finished reading it I had to just sit and allow the experience sink into me. I look forward to reading more by Alexandra Rowland!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Conspiracy of Stars []  2020-1-18 19:41

    Olivia Cole has produced a science fiction novel that is a very amazing introduction for her to the YA format. I enjoyed it and could think of four or five people I would recommend it to right away. That is my highest e plot is varied, covering a lot ifinteresting topics, including budding romance and parental approval, imaginative, and compelling. The pacing of the plot is good. The reader sees things gradually unfold at a logical and measured rate that does not become aracters are very well rounded. There are no stock characters that the writer has fallen back on. The main characters are not excellent and also arenotine-sided. The reader connects with Cole has made a believable globe for her story. There is enough description to engage the reader but does not bog down the pacingFirst person show tense is simple to write in but hard to write well. Ms Cole has done well. She does not force readers to feel artificial or forced emotions through this choice of style and l in all, I think this book is a amazing addition to my library and I will be loaning my copy out several times. Amazing job!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Conspiracy of Stars []  2020-1-18 19:41

    The book is written in gorgeous prose and the world-building is intricate, to say the least. However, the pacing was simply too slow for my tastes. All of the action happened in the latest 10% of the novel. Prior to that, the protagonist, Octavia, spends the entire novel stumbling upon conclusions that the reader figured out right away. I would have rather spent that time watching Octavia develop her abilities, build relationships with creatures, try her strength, etc.Ultimately, I enjoyed the premise but got a bit bogged down in the execution.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Conspiracy of Truths []  2020-7-3 18:59

    What was amazing about the book:- Delightful, well-written characters who feel like true people, with quirks and flaws- All the women are glorious in their own method (and all the men too, but also the women are amazing)- Perfect world-building; the globe feels fantastic, but also like a true globe that people live and breathe and have regular mundane lives in- Such a thoughtful exploration of the power of stories, of why people love them and hate them and the ways we use them- There is a side hero who is a soft, sweet, queer boy who is an utter joy to behold (and he gets his own book next, I cannot wait)What was poor about the book:- Nothing, it's absolutely a fresh favourite- If you're looking for a classic high fantasy novel, this is not it. If you're looking for the next Lord of the Rings, or American Gods, this is not it. But give this book a shot anyway, it's great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Conspiracy of Us []  2020-1-30 20:24

    Just by the synopsis, this book promised a amazing deal. Conspiracy, romance, mystery, political intrigue, attractive locations, and an adventure worthy of glorifying in addition to a comparison to Ally Carter. All of my favorite things in the world, and this book gave it to me in e Conspiracy of Us spins us a tale of one girl caught up in the tantalizing what if, where the globe is controlled by those who keep the puppet strings behind the globe leaders and politics, one that harkens back to Alexander the Great. (cue the mini-shriek from my ancient history loving self. And it is something I had never heard of, refreshing to read about compared to the more prevalent historical tangents that have been used too often in books.)First and foremost, the conspiracy. Avery is introduced to the all-powerful Circle of Twelve, a set of twelve families that control everything, or at the very least, keep the strings to do anything with the world. Bloodlines that run back eons, to the ancient times of elaborate tombs and whatnot. The same families that believe Avery is a very deadly piece in the chess android game of globe tting caught up in the whirlwind of Avery's quest to explore just what she is a part of was an exhilarating ride. Seeing Paris and Istanbul was another bonus, and I loved reading about the cities. And of course, meeting the equally charming and deadly members of the Circle as well as mysterious foes completed the merry the blurb suggests, there is the simmering question of a love triangle. We're introduced to two swoon-worthy boys, as far as looks go. Thankfully, they're both vastly various from each other, and we're not thrown into a pseudo-argument between them about Avery. That's not to say that there isn't any biting banter, because who doesn't have fun subtle subtext behind pleasant politeness. (Excuse the alliteration, I wanted to feel fancy.) Both show interesting pieces to the puzzle that encompasses the book. I have a fondness for one over the other, since objectivity is something I have never quite mastered, but both are rather appealing, in case you must ggie has an effortless method with words that is both attractive and easy-to-read, simply delectable."If it was, it was a shade of toshka. A craving for something you couldn't possibly understand. A craving I was finally letting myself feel, only to want I hadn't."While it's not a excellent book, because there were certain instances of things that maybe should have stretched believable limits for some, but overall this book was an adventure that touched my particular tastes, and I adored it. And, the ending stage was brilliant, the method things fold together—I cannot wait to see where Maggie takes us in the second book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Conspiracy of Us []  2020-1-30 20:24

    Enjoyable, just the right amt of intrigue and romance without spoiling the story line. Wouldn't say the ending was a cliff hanger, but it definitely leaves you ready for the next chapter of this story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conspiracy of Silence [Book]  2018-3-22 18:0

    I found myself racing through this book for two reasons: the plot was truly compelling, and the dialogue was truly bad. Nobody talks like that. The dialogue was so stilted that it created me cringe, so I read just enough of that to see what was going on and tried to focus on the action so I could figure out why nobody wanted to talk about what happened twenty-some-odd-years ago. The author repeated the expression “conspiracy of silence” far too a lot of times. We obtain it, we obtain it. Powers has the ability to construct a amazing plot; she just needs to search out how to write dialogue that sounds natural.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conspiracy of Silence [Book]  2018-3-22 18:0

    Some stories, especially mysteries, obtain you thinking about half method through, who done it. The culprit is not someone introduced at the 11th hour, but usually the most unlikely member of the we have a narrator who finds out, as an adult, that she was adopted. She not only wants to search out who her mother was, but also why her father murdered the e has only her own childhood dreams to lead her to the answers, but there are twists and turns she, and the reader, never e culprit is a surprise, yet logical solution. But what we obtain along the method is an even more strong back-story. What it means to be a girl, how a father is a father―not only in her case but also for the daughter of a man, Nate, she becomes close mates with.I have to tell you I was turning pages right until the end. The title (though appropriate) didn’t grab me, but the roller coaster of a story sure did. -J.Lehman,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sea of Lies: Nemesis [App]  2019-5-18 13:50

    Too a lot of bugs I paid over $5 for this application and it doesn't work! This is shameful and I deserve my cash back. Bigfish needs to obtain it together and create quality product.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sea of Lies: Nemesis [App]  2019-5-18 13:50

    Liliana I chose to play at highest level. Does create it slightly more difficult compared to Expert. No technical issues ..so far.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sea of Lies: Nemesis [App]  2019-5-18 13:50

    Other than poor acting, android game ok until it refused to allow me past the chili peppers. Requested refund.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sea of Lies: Nemesis [App]  2019-5-18 13:50

    Amazing Amazing game. Hogs, puzzles etc. Amazing story. Lots of end android game play after gift chapter. Still not worth $7 tho. No android game is... l pay because lm hooked on this type of android game 😣

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sea of Lies: Nemesis [App]  2019-5-18 13:50

    Android game glitched out at the dock with the HOG after already having completed it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sea of Lies: Nemesis [App]  2019-5-18 13:50

    Amazing android game but crashes a lot!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sea of Lies: Nemesis [App]  2019-5-18 13:50

    amazing android game and to hard,good graphics n android game

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Depth of Lies [Book]  2017-12-22 18:0

    EXCERPT: 'It was the excellent opportunity to mention Shea's call, but Kat's guilt was like a gag. She hadn't even told Mack about it. Every time Kat thought about how she had ignored that call, tossing the phone aside as if Shea were a nuisance, her heart ached. She had died the next day. Alone in a bathtub. Far from home. Leaving a husband and children and an entire community baffled and heartbroken. She'd obviously required her friend. She'd reached out to Kat and Kat had tossed her aside. 'THE BLURB: “A brilliant examination of the shadows lurking in every relationship and what happens when you step into the darkness.” —Mindy Mejia, author of Everything You Wish Me to BeWhen Shea Walker, a sunny, easygoing mom, is found dead in a bathtub with a stomach full of booze and , the shocking discovery shatters the complacency of her comfortable suburban community.Kat Burrows, Shea’s longtime mate and former neighbor, [email protected]#$%! hardest. How could a woman she thought she knew so well come to such a sordid end? What could lead happy, well-adjusted, responsible Shea to accidentally overdose on alcohol and narcotics? Or, worse, drive her to suicide?Compelled to uncover the truth of Shea’s final months, Kat delves beneath the orderly surface of her familiar globe to explore a web of thwarted desire, shameful secrets, and shocking betrayal that suggests a scarier explanation for what happened to Shea. As her carefully constructed reality begins to crumble, Kat must question every reassuring assumption her life is built upon to solve the mystery…and summon the courage and resourcefulness to survive COMMENTS: Secrets, lies and friends. An intoxicating combination in the hands of author E. C. Diskin. We all lie, to our friends, for our mates and sometimes about our friends. We all have secrets, with our friends, and from our friends. But ultimately the secrets Shae kept and the lies she told are what killed pth of Lies by E. C. Diskin is told in two timelines, 'now', when Shae is dead and Kat is trying to search out why, and 'then', as we follow Shae to her death. Did she slay herself, was it a not good accident, or was she killed?Diskin ratchets up the tension and suspense as the book progresses. We see behind the facades that each of the women show to each other, to their husbands, to the globe at large. They might think that they know everything about each other, but they only know what their mates wish them to pth of Lies is compelling reading. It is a deftly written, unpredictable journey through the emotional entanglements of a group of women in their early 50s, women who have raised their families together, who have been there for each other in sickness and in health. Will Shae's death bind them even closer together, or will it be the catalyst that rips them apart?A very enthusiastic ank you to Thomas and Mercer via Netgalley for providing a digital copy of Depth of Lies by E. C. Diskin for review. All opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own. Please refer to my profile page for an explanation of my ratings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Depth of Lies [Book]  2017-12-22 18:0

    DNF @ 25%I just can't do it anymore and I have too a lot of other reading is book is about a group of mates in their fifties that obtain together after one in their group supposedly commits suicide. Kat doesn't believe it and has decided to investigate the matter. Nothing about this story rings true. These women are in their fifties but they act like teenagers. I love unlikable characters IF they are interesting but these women are anything but interesting. Not to mention there is just too a lot of characters and it was hard to hold up with who was ank you to NetGalley for providing me with a digital ARC in exchange for my honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Depth of Lies [Book]  2017-12-22 18:0

    Women strive to be a part of a community with best mates thinking they know each other even one another's deepest secrets. Then splash!! Shea Walker is found in a bath tub dead; an apparent suicide caused by an overdose! Curtain opens with chums attending the funeral of Shea all riddled with questions of "How could this have happened?" A obtain away to Put-in-Bay, the stage of this tragedy, leads former neighbor Kat Burrows puzzling with mates all looking for closure. Diskin has us following Kat while she investigates those close to her while dealing with her own secrets. Having visited Put-in-Bay it created the story more interesting on a private basis. Time lines were narrated before and after Shea's passing in an simple to follow way. "A copy of this book was provided by Thomas & Mercer via NetGalley with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read and the comments here are my honest opinion."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    FLOOD OF LIES []  2020-1-28 21:6

    James Cobb not only tells the real story of what happened at St. Rita's Nursing Home during Katrina and the public vendetta and legal hell the couple who owned it, the Manganos, went through after, he weaves his own family's struggles to come to grips with the devastation of Katrina into a manic, breathlessly-paced, sometimes horrifying, sometimes hilarious page-turner. You won't believe what almost everybody in this book goes through, and there are some info you never knew and will never forget, like the animals fleeing in advance of the 6-ft. wall of water racing toward the nursing home. A remarkable read, with absolutely no slow parts-even the courtroom scenes are dynamic and immediate. If you know the story of the Manganos and St. Rita's, maybe remember the outcome of the trial but still think something was amiss, you need to read this. Better yet, if you just wish to read the most gripping, exciting, non-fiction roller coaster book of the year, obtain it. Oh man they have GOT to create a film of this...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    FLOOD OF LIES []  2020-1-28 21:6

    Loved the book. So typical of people being influenced by the media. Now I know the true story. The owners of the nursing home were amazing people that genuinely cares for the residents. Such a sad story. I also admired the lawyer who stuck by the owners so they could tell them true story. It was a heartbreaking story that resonates that youve have to have been there to understand the crisis they were faced e water came in so quick that they're wasn't enough time to save everyone. Although they tried and that's what we need to remember out of this tragedy. So sad.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empire of Lies []  2020-1-25 17:49

    Bravo, Raymond! Once again, your unctuous prose conveyed a most fascinating and well-researched story. Your forays through time travel--both past & present--and their inevitable alternate reality repercussions, were a delight to read and experience. Throughout, it is quite evident that your empathy for the Human Condition knows no bound. This globe of ours would be a far better realm if only there were more people reflecting you values and ethics. Thank you for bringing it to our attention and...please never stop writing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empire of Lies []  2020-1-25 17:49

    This is an action packed time travelling adventure story that deals with what the globe have been like if the Ottoman empire had won a pivotal war in Vienna in 1683. It is interesting to read how a Muslim rule would have impacted the world. They would have controlled Europe and America would have apparently evolved into a fundamentalist Christian country with no minorities. Then in 2017 a tattooed man drops into a hospital apparently from nowhere badly in need of medical care. Ramazan Hekim is a member of his medical squad and after helping to save his life spends time discovering the mystery of the tattoos, a very rare thing in this time. It turns out that it is the secret of time travel and when he confides in his wife, Nisreen, she immediately wish to go back in time and change things allowing for more freedom. His brother, Kamal, a member of an elite police unit gets involved. They must decide if they go back to correct history changed by the tattooed man or let things to say the same. I got confused with all the dates because they jumped around time a lot and some of the dates were in Arabic times so I was not always sure when and where they were. It wasn't consistent. I am also not familiar with Ottoman history at all apparently and a lot of happenings and people had no context for me. I felt lost a lot of times. Also, I found Nisreen very unlikable. She was shrill and so convinced that she was right in everything that she got them in problem time and time again. As the only woman, basically, in the book she was not really well written and there were times I just wanted to slap her. Still as an action paced novel that is pure escapism then this kept the pages turning. I did learn a lot about Ottoman history that was interesting. It was OK.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Color of Lies []  2020-1-4 20:48

    Wow this is a amazing read. I've never done so much goggle on a book. This is a must read for the everyone. Really makes you think 🤔

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Garden of Lies []  2020-2-2 21:42

    This is one of the best books I've read in a long time. It's filled with unbelievable bits of history over several decades starting in 1943 and going up to the mid 70s, which is an era I've not read much about before. The story starts with a young woman named Sylvie, who takes a lover and becomes pregnant. Her husband was much older than her and while she loved him, she wasn't attracted to him physically. Nikos was their handyman and Sylvie's husband lets him go and shortly after that she finds out about the baby. When she goes into labor, she goes to the hospital in her old neighborhood to have the child, during a fire, she ends up with a various baby and since her kid looks like Nikos, she claims another woman's kid as her own. She lives with this not good lie all her adult the story progresses, the lives of the daughter she raised and the one she gave away are intermingled in a method she never imagined. The story follows both girls into adulthood, through shared loves and the building of careers. Rose, the daughter Sylvie gave away, lives most of her life filling unloved and unwanted by the family she was raised with. Rachel, om the other hand is raised by Sylvie and her husband Gerald, in a priviledged life style.When Gerald, Sylvie's husband dies, Rachel, who has just been through a horrible relationship, decides to go to Vietnam to serve as a civilian doctor. Happening unfold, which ties these two women together. I won't say more because I don't wish to give anything is is a story about the love of a woman for her husband, the love of a mother for her daughter and how the decision Sylvie created in 1943 effects and colors so a lot of lives. This is a book that you'll cry through and laugh with. Your heart will be touched and torn with loyalties for all the main characters. This is a story that will linger in my mind for a long time. The amazing news is that there is a sequel, and I can't wait to read it. I highly recommend this deeply passionate story. If it were possible to give it a higher rating than 5 stars, I would have rated this a 10 star.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Garden of Lies []  2020-2-2 21:42

    This isn't a book that I would usually pick up, but I'm glad I did. The author's voice is very particular and feels exactly in vein with the time she's writing about. I love the juxtaposition between the two main leads, what they wish from life, and how everything could have been various without the switch. My absolutely favorite hero is the mother by far. Just how delicate she seems, but actually very powerful beneath it all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Color of Lies []  2020-1-4 20:48

    This book was intriguing at first but lost its steam about 1/4 method through. It’s method too far fetched and the “plot twist” was so ridiculous. Someone else said there was barely any lead up and everything happens so quickly which is true. The tone of the writing was very depressing. It was an simple read due to short chapters but I’d definitely have to say you can skip this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Color of Lies []  2020-1-4 20:48

    I usually really have fun CJ Lyons but this seemed a small on the young side for me. It was a amazing story and I feel that the author played out both sides of synesthesia, those with it and those proclaiming to have it. It was a beautiful amazing twist to it that I didn’t necessarily see coming (at least not all of it). The only thing I really didn’t like was how obsessive Alec was in his find for what he thought of as the truth of the mystery to be solved. He also wasn’t very likable through most of the book, he was too busy apologizing for all of his screw ups. It also kind of slowed down for a while but I finished it and was happy with the ending and found it believable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Color of Lies []  2020-1-4 20:48

    The Color of Lies is a very clever mystery, in which Ella had to re-learn everything she thought she knew about herself and her family. When Alec showed up in her life, she got a huge shock, but her family and her best mates are there right beside her.Well-written, and with exemplary hero growth, this story is one I can't wait to share with my students.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Garden of Lies []  2020-2-2 21:42

    This is a book from the 80's. I meant to read it long ago after learning the reasons the author was compelled to write it. I actually went to purchase it the other day and Amazon told me I had purchased this item in 2012. I can't believe that I left it for so long. I read it in 3 days. Absorbed it, actually. Smooth flow and every question answered. So rare these days. You won't be sorry you purchased this book. Timeless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Empire of Lies []  2020-1-25 17:49

    I expected a easy alternate reality story but got a deeper more complex story that really hooked me in. It went in directions I didnt expect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sea of Lies: Nemesis [App]  2019-5-18 13:50

    Perfect graphics and in depth story line. Length of it was hella impressive and I loved the extras menu, especially the Xtra additional gift stage for finding all the chests. Only issue I had was trying to play the HO android games in the extras menu...I'd select one and when it came up it would present me a gold cup between the silver and bronze, say 100%, load the screen that it was representing, then boot me back to the HO menu. It did that on all of them so I'm guessing since I played those android games in the main android game I couldn't in the extras menu?? Still would've been fun to play because I saw the hourglass and was wishing to time my searches. But, overall I really enjoyed playing that hero and delighted in the small plot twists. Hold them coming like that one! Just stellar!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sea of Lies: Nemesis [App]  2019-5-18 13:50

    I have always enjoyed these games. Amazing storyline and hidden object puzzles. However, since few of the android games got stuck and I couldn't obtain it to work. I had to skip those puzzles.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sea of Lies: Nemesis [App]  2019-5-18 13:50

    This was proving to be an perfect android game but I am now stuck as I cannot obtain the letter to move out of the inventory. I would like a refund please.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sea of Lies: Nemesis [App]  2019-5-18 13:50

    I've only just bought the android game and it is stuck! I'm unimpressed! As I paid to play the full android game but no amount of force stopping is making any difference!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sea of Lies: Nemesis [App]  2019-5-18 13:50

    Nemesis Beautiful amazing game. It's long, challenging, and has a lot of various things you have to complete.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sea of Lies: Nemesis [App]  2019-5-18 13:50

    Froze up wish cash back

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sea of Lies: Nemesis [App]  2019-5-18 13:50

    Nemicis sea of lies Amazing game! Would like to play more just like it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    FLOOD OF LIES []  2020-1-28 21:6

    To evacuate or shelter in put when a hurricane is predicted is a very difficult decision for residents. Hospitals and nursing homes face an even harder decision since their residents are more likely to exhibit worse physical symptoms during an evacuation. This acc of a very sad and tragic happening following Hurricane Katrina presents the thoughts of the Manganos during the preparations for the storm. If the federal hurricane protection levees along the MRGO had not broken, their plans would have gone as expected and those residents who did not evacuate with their families would have survived at St. Rita Nursing Home just as they had during previous Cobb's Flood of Lies reads like fiction, but those of us who lived through Katrina's wrath and devastation know how factual the book is. His private thoughts give a real picture of some of the hardships an evacuation family encountered.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    FLOOD OF LIES []  2020-1-28 21:6

    Jim Cobb is an perfect legal thriller author. He inserts the reader into the drama with him, describing his internal feelings and what he had for lunch alongside descriptions of people involved in this real story, and transcripts directly from what was an emotional roller-coaster of a trial for all involved. The story was engaging and instructive, and Mr. Cobb's genuine concern for his clients inspiring. I look forward to reading more from him, and I would love to be a student in one of his classes!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Depth of Lies [Book]  2017-12-22 18:0

    This book is well written and there were a lot of plot changes as to who killed Shea... I had previously read Ms. Diskins other books and loved both of them... I just did not like any of the characters in this book.. they seemed to be shallow, gossipy and mean old women... I didn't hate the book but I was really glad when it ended.. I did not think there was any depth to any of the characters.. .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Depth of Lies [Book]  2017-12-22 18:0

    What a guilty small pleasure this book was!! I felt a small like I was watching a Desperate Housewives rerun!!! Drama with moments of friendship, backstabbing and some seriously well kept secrets. SO. DARN. JUICY!SYNOPSISThe book opens with Shea (mother, wife, friend, life of the party) drowning in a bathtub at a B&B in Put-in-Bay, Ohio (a famous vacation destination with her set of friends). Her husband was extremely shocked to obtain the call especially since she had told him she was in Grand Rapids staying with her sister. Why was she hundreds of miles away from where she had told him she was going? Why would she travel to Put-in-Bay?Oh, there's much more. There was an empty bottle of in her room and reports of her drunk, leaving a bar with a strange man. Did she take her own life? Was is an accident? Was there someone else in the room with her?To add to the mystery of her drowning, it seems her life was spinning out of control. There were rumors of financial trouble. Her husband was acting strangely and had recently lost his job. In latest months she had told her mates she suspected her husband was having an affair AND some people suspected she was having an affair. Starting to feel a bit Wisteria Lane???Shea and her husband had lived in the tight knit neighborhood of Maple Park, IL for over 20 years. They raised their kids there and had solid roots in the community. Her death, particularly under these cirtances, rocked their community. Her long time neighbor and BFF, Kat, had recently relocated to Houston. Gone only three months when she heard the news of Shea's mysterious death, Kat drops everything to come back for funeral.Unsatisfied with the vagueness and lack of answers surrounding Shea's death, Kat starts poking around for clues. Kat discovers some super juicy gossip worthy secrets and begins to wonder if she ever even knew her mates at all. Luckily, we have a front row seat to all of it.WHAT I LOVEDSo much to love!!!!! With so a lot of secrets sed and so a lot of motives revealed, I suspected EVERYONE at one time or another. Everyone had something to hide and more than one person had something to gain with Shea out of the picture.I loved the scenery. The two main settings were Maple Park, IL, a Chicago suburb filled with Victorian homes, children playing outside and friendly neighbors. Zone number two, Put-in-Bay, is a lovely city on an island on Lake Erie, on the Ohio side. The descriptions of the island created me actually go to VRBO to look for a rental house for my family's summer vacation.I loved the plot with all its twists and turns! The reader never knew what was going to happen next.WHAT I DIDN'T LOVEThere were so a lot of characters, some of whom didn't really play any role role to the plot. It became hard to hold track of who did what. Also, since there were so a lot of characters, only a few were developed enough to feel three dimensional. But there was very small to dislike.OVERALLLoved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Depth of Lies [Book]  2017-12-22 18:0

    Depth of Lies is perfectly titled! It is the excellent suspense mystery who-dunnit! My favorite type of book! Thank you to Melissa for recommending it!A group of women who have been best mates for years! I felt like they could have all been in my own circle of girlfriends. Housewives meets Angela from Murder She Wrote with Kat playing the role of leading detective!Shea is the loving mate and mom who is found dead in a hotel bathroom under suspicious cirtances. Kat is her BFF with detective instincts and is determined to obtain to the bottom of Shea’s demise! It was ruled a suicide, but Kat is not buying it! The other women in the circle are also not convinced Shea would take her own life.Written in past/present with a few various viewpoints from some of the characters. I was changing my mind alongside Kat as she ponders and digsDepth of Lies is perfectly titled! It is the excellent suspense mystery who-dunnit! My favorite type of book! Thank you to Melissa for recommending it!A group of women who have been best mates for years! I felt like they could have all been in my own circle of girlfriends. Housewives meets Angela from Murder She Wrote with Kat playing the role of leading detective!Shea is the loving mate and mom who is found dead in a hotel bathroom under suspicious cirtances. Kat is her BFF with detective instincts and is determined to obtain to the bottom of Shea’s demise! It was ruled a suicide, but Kat is not buying it! The other women in the circle are also not convinced Shea would take her own life.Written in past/present with a few various viewpoints from some of the characters. I was changing my mind alongside Kat as she ponders and digs to reveal what happened to her beloved friend!Who is lying? Who has a motive? Who can be trusted? Who is having an affair? Why was Shea calling? So a lot of questions, so a lot of lies…

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Color of Lies []  2020-1-4 20:48

    I really didn't know what to expect when I started reading this book. It definitely exceeded my expectations! I loved the characters from the obtain go. They were real, with imperfections & totally relatable. The story was suspenseful , thought provoking & the descriptions and word building Were incredibly vivid.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sea of Lies: Nemesis [App]  2019-5-18 13:50

    Finally a android game that has a amazing length and a amazing story. I got it on sale and it was worth the price! Teleportation map, treasure chest collectibles, amazing length, gift android game as well. The story did obtain a small lost with all of the characters and there was a slight tapping glitch where I would hit the tip button more than once or tap an item within a HOG more than once.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sea of Lies: Nemesis [App]  2019-5-18 13:50

    I couldn't obtain past the grate you dust for fingerprints. Very glitchy.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386