Read conspiracy theories and the people who believe them reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all conspiracy theories and the people who believe them reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Suspicious Minds: Why We Believe Conspiracy Theories []  2020-7-3 18:40

    Especially in today’s political climate, and magnified by the reinforcing and isolating nature of social media, those who believe conspiracy theories are often in the news. And just as often, they are blithely dismissed as paranoid kooks inhabiting the fringe in their bunkers, while wearing tinfoil hats. The author does his best to create it clear we are all, in some way, paranoid conspiracists. His point is that our brains have been shaped by evolution to take for granted the mechanisms, the neural pathways, that create paranoia an advantage for survival.“… the scientific way doesn’t come naturally to us. Our brain evolved to interpret patterns quickly and decisively.” And that comes into play as we muddle our method through a globe in which we are desperate to search meaning and surrounded by near infinite amounts of data begging to be sorted and, when possible, linked. Under those cirtances, “buying into a conspiracy is the cognitive equivalent of seeing meaning in randomness.” It’s a very advantageous trait that allows us to see, for example, the patterns of the face of hungry a tiger mixed in with foliage and create a fast turnaround.Equally important, conspiracies create those who harbor them feel like there is meaning in the universe because “It is supremely unsatisfying to think that our amazing or poor fortune is nothing more than blind chance…”I was especially struck by the examination of just how much credit conspiracy theories give to the other side. “… conspiracy theorists seem to have ‘startling faith in the capabilities of their enemies.’ At the very least, they propose that when the conspirators set happenings in motion they are able to predict how things will unfold with seemingly clairvoyant foresight.” It’s puzzling how much power is given away to the faceless Illuminati, especially given the evidence we have everyday of how blessed hard it is for humans to hold their mouths shut and cover up anything, really.He builds an interesting and very convincing theory, but one that is only ever treated at a superficial level. There are many, a lot of examples of often fascinating conspiracies from ancient days to the modern era (JFK, Obama birthers, 911, the moon landing), all presented in an engaging writing style. It’s fun, and fascinating and also a small unnerving — those who are most entrenched in the deepest conspiracies search reinforcement in the lack of supportive evidence — but I would have liked a bit more depth and rigor around the cognitive science the a lot of psychological studies quoted. Still, well worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Suspicious Minds: Why We Believe Conspiracy Theories []  2020-7-3 18:40

    This is an necessary work by a young psychologist who has not gotten trapped in the globe of Academia. He is able to communicate critical problems in a clear method with perfect support. We are all believe in conspiracies. We just need to exercise the correct tools within our society to assess and evaluate them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Suspicious Minds: Why We Believe Conspiracy Theories []  2020-7-3 18:40

    A must read in a globe infested by grifters!

    0  


    Add your opinion on conspiracy theories and the people who believe them or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Suspicious Minds: Why We Believe Conspiracy Theories []  2020-7-3 18:40

    Conspiracy theories are everywhere, now more than ever. Or so it seems. From JFK to 9/11, from Sandy Hook to the Soviet Union, from Alex Jones to Donald Trump, conspiracy theories are on the hints of people's tongues and the headlines of mainstream news. But, as this book shows, this is actually nothing new. Conspiracy thinking has always been with us and presumably always will be. What we need is a tutorial to support us understand why this is, and why there's more at work in our perceptions than merely gathering info and drawing an objective conclusion.I have been researching the Kennedy assassination for 25 years, with a fair amount of study of other conspiracy theories and similar subjects, like belief in pseudoscience and the paranormal. I started out as a conspiracy believer (at least as far as JFK was concerned), but ultimately I changed my mind. Ever since, one of the burning questions for me has been how I fell under the sway of that b Brotherton has done an perfect job of laying out the evidence that there are fundamental reasons we believe in conspiracy theories, and conspiracy thinking is anything but the irrational behavior of people on the fringe. Rather, we have psychological dispositions that create us hyper-vigilant versus threats and conspiracies, in reading patterns in the info we keep -- so much so, that we may see such patterns even when they aren't real. This is not just one author's opinion; Brotherton draws on scientific research to create his case. The results are illuminating and e book is not a private attack versus conspiracy theorists, as Brotherton himself insists. It very specifically and explicitly rejects the stereotype of the tinfoil hat-wearing conspiracy nut. He emphasizes the factors that makes conspiracy thinking very common and natural. He also does not attempt to debunk specific conspiracy theories (although he does single out a few that are of particular historical significance). The point of the book is to present that, while conspiracy theorists maintain that their theories arise from evidence, there's more at work in our brains than we are aware of. We need to hold these factors in mind as we evaluate the globe around us. Some things may be exactly as they seem, but sometimes our minds play tricks on us. It doesn't create us stupid or crazy; it makes us don't have to be a student of conspiracy theories or conspiracy thinking to benefit from this book. If you're curious about why conspiracy theories are so prevalent and why they're so compelling -- to John (or Jane) Q. Public, globe leaders, or, well, you yourself -- you'll search this both a lucid, well researched study, and an enjoyable read as well. I recommend it most highly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Suspicious Minds: Why We Believe Conspiracy Theories []  2020-7-3 18:40

    When I took English 1101 we had to research and write about rumors. It was surprisingly a psychologically complex subject that showed some strange workings of the human mind. This book covers related aspects of human cognition and behavior.EVERYONE should learn more about how the mind is wired to work and how this system can go is book was entertaining, well written, and heavily researched.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Suspicious Minds: Why We Believe Conspiracy Theories []  2020-7-3 18:40

    I had no idea how pervasive conspiracy thinking was and is. Everyone does it. We all look for ways to confirm our globe view. Conspiracy theories create living in an uncertain globe psychologically much easier.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Suspicious Minds: Why We Believe Conspiracy Theories []  2020-7-3 18:40

    This book tries to search the common psychological thread of people who are prone to conspiratorial thinking. It sees such thinking as a common human failure to a point and asks why are some people so much more prone then others. I take away from it that there are 6 things to guard versus in our thinking which are:1. proportionality bias2. Conformation bias3. Assimilation bias 4. compensatory control 5. False consensus 6. Intentionality biasBy taking these into acc in our thinking it should support us avoid conspiratorial ’s interesting to go through his small history of conspiracy’s, all in all an interesting read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Suspicious Minds: Why We Believe Conspiracy Theories []  2020-7-3 18:40

    Totally changed my conception of conspiratists. Always knew that everyone buys into some reasonable conspiracies, but didn't realize that the brain is wired to fall into that trap and how much effort is needed to dismiss them, which I generally do.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Suspicious Minds: Why We Believe Conspiracy Theories []  2020-7-3 18:40

    This book offers a scientific, heavily research based explanation of why people believe in conspiracy theories. Although it is research based, it does not have the feel of a technical, academic, or dry book at all. The author explains his concepts in very simple to understand the opening chapters it offers a look at some widespread conspiracy theories from earlier centuries. It discusses the book The Protocols of The Learned Elders of Zion, a supposed outline of a mass conspiracy of mysterious Jewish leaders, which was discredited and proven to be a fraud. Unfortunately, the fact that it was a fraud did not sway Adolph Hitler, who in it found inspiration and justification for his quest to carry out e rest of the book delves deeper into the subject, offering examples of conspiracy theories and explaining the psychological mechanisms behind them. You'll recognize the anti-vaccine movement, 9/11 Truthers, JFK's secret gunman, and quite a few more. This book has so a lot of interesting facts, like that showing people how their pet theory (theories) is false will quite often create them believe in it more. And that people who believe in one conspiracy theory are much more likely to believe in others. The converse is also said to be true, that is people who don't believe in a given conspiracy theory are much more likely to disbelieve almost any conspiracy theory. And the book lists out several cognitive biases that are a factor in why people believe in and concoct conspiracy theories.If you take interest in psychology you will really have fun this. I've been studying psychology as a hobby for about 22 years, and this book really enlightened me. I have known many, a lot of people who spout out conspiracy theories. Previously, I thought they required long-term psychiatric treatment. Now I feel like I understand them. I don't agree with them for a second, but some of the same cognitive biases that affect me and everyone else are driving their beliefs. This is the reason the book's subtitle is "Why We Believe Conspiracy Theories". We all share a related psychology with the tinfoil hats, and most of the people reading this, even those who are skeptical, will have believed in some sort of conspiracy theory at some point in their life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Suspicious Minds: Why We Believe Conspiracy Theories []  2020-7-3 18:40

    i liked it , bought 12 copies for friends

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Conspiracies & Conspiracy Theories: What We Should and Shouldn't Believe - and Why []  2020-1-19 22:11

    Michael Shermer does a amazing job defining the terms and giving amazing examples. His lecture on the JFK conspiracy was my favorite.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Nature of Conspiracy Theories []  2021-3-5 19:42

    This subject is appropriate these days; book is well-written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World’s Strangest Forgotten Conspiracy Theories []  2020-6-20 18:46

    Enjoyed brushing up on a few forgotten Theories but most Theories in this book are still in Twitter Globe nothing new. Amazing for beginners. Best part LARGE PRINT....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World’s Strangest Forgotten Conspiracy Theories []  2020-6-20 18:46

    Some very interesting examples. A fun short read. Nice writing style and the writer does not add to much of his on opinion and ideals to the theories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World’s Strangest Forgotten Conspiracy Theories []  2020-6-20 18:46

    I enjoyed this book because I have always found conspiracy theories fascinating. We don't truly know what happens behind historical happenings and they provide a amazing perspective in educating us with amazing research and honest writing. The author seems to be passionate about it as well, that is another reason I feel it is well worth the read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World’s Strangest Forgotten Conspiracy Theories []  2020-6-20 18:46

    The author seems relatively neutral regarding the theories that he is writing about and presents both sides. However, as is the case with a lot of self published books, use of a grammar checker, spell checker, and a amazing editor, prior to publication, would have created for better reading. If you can obtain by that, it's worth a read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World’s Strangest Forgotten Conspiracy Theories []  2020-6-20 18:46

    I'm a skeptic but I LOVE a amazing conspiracy theory. The title of this book enticed me. FORGOTTEN conspiracy theories? Since modern history is so full of conspiracy theories--from who "really" brought down the Globe Trade Center to Who "really" shot JFK, I was curious to know what some of the stranger conspiracy theories of the past were. And the writer both DID and DID not deliver. I've never heard of the "two Babylon" theory and I had no idea that there are people who see something sinister in jet plane contrails. (It's a government conspiracy to spread poor things among the populace.) But then the author got into the conspiracies I do know something about, the idea that the electric vehicle was "killed" by the vehicle companies and that AIDS was made as a biological weapon, and I found myself disappointed. Bauer really doesn't give readers much context. In the chapter entitled "The Lost Cosmonauts," for instance, he talks about some popular recordings created by brothers that purport to have captured the latest words of dying cosmonauts. These dubious audio recordings are available on the internet, and they are haunting. (Yes, I've listened.) But rather than develop any more information on that line, Bauer turns to the story that the man who was REALLY first in zone (not Yuri Gagarin) accidentally crash-landed in China and was held prisoner for a year. There's actually--according to the author--some evidence that this is real and I would have loved more. Like a image of the man? Ultimately, it felt like there wasn't as much in the book's chapter as you can search in the "Lost Cosmonaut" entry in so the title is a bit misleading. One of the conspiracies in the book revolves around whistle blower Edward Snowden. The PRIZM allegations and Snowden's allegations fueled a large paranoia spike--not that long ago. it's unlikely that it's been is is a brief introduction to a half-dozen conspiracy theories that has a curiosity value but doesn't delve deep enough. (And in at least one chapter, there's a distracting number of typos.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World’s Strangest Forgotten Conspiracy Theories []  2020-6-20 18:46

    This tells of some of the most famous conspiracy theories and where they might have originally sprouted from. A lot of are just that theories, but others are proven to be true. I discovered a few that I’d never heard about but prove to be interesting . I want that this book was a bit longer and that some of the theories could have been fleshed out more. But otherwise a very amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World’s Strangest Forgotten Conspiracy Theories []  2020-6-20 18:46

    This is a unbelievable book to read. Most of the conspiracy theories in this are kinda out there in terms of believable, but they are still very interesting to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World’s Strangest Forgotten Conspiracy Theories []  2020-6-20 18:46

    Wasn't sure how this was going to play out, but I was impressed with the tone and info contained in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World’s Strangest Forgotten Conspiracy Theories []  2020-6-20 18:46

    I have always been interested in conspiracy theories, as a lot of people are. They are usually interesting and thought provoking. The theories included in this book are of the same vein. I found the Phantom Time Hypothesis extremely interesting. I had never heard of it before reading this book. If true, imagine how it could change the globe as we know it! Of course, I had previously heard about some of the theories but it was a amazing method for me to obtain a better understanding of them. The info included and the info provided cleared up some of my understanding about the theories. And the ones I had not heard of before were fascinating!I appreciate the author's inclusion of the Further Reading section at the end of the book. For those of us who are searching for more information, it's a amazing put to e book was well written and organized. It even contains an excerpt from another of the author's books which I am very interested in reading.I recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The World’s Strangest Forgotten Conspiracy Theories []  2020-6-20 18:46

    This was written well, so I gave two stars. As a person who has been chasing "conspiracy theories" over 20 years, I found the book lacking cohesion. The author presents several conspiaries, yet the explanations are clinical. The section on chemtrails is downright condescending and insulting. There are better books for acquiring knowledge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free []  2020-1-16 15:32

    Amazing book about recognizing how sin creeps into one's life and how to use the Word to obtain set free!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Girls Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free []  2020-1-31 20:32

    My 8 y/o daughter and I cannot quit reading these books, both the girl's ver and the mom's guide. The content is OUTSTANDING, and the format is wonderfully engaging. This writing squad of Nancy and Dannah is perfectly suited to speak to the hearts of today's tween ... credible, thoughtful, rooted, fun. I texted all my closest girlfriend-mamas-of-tweens today and told them to GO BUY THESE BOOKS. I'm a homeschool mom who is *loving* being able to keep my kiddo's book hostage until she finishes math each day. The kid has never divided fractions so fast.Well done, Nancy and Dannah! Thank you for coming alongside us mamas of not-so-littles-anymore and loving us so well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Girls Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free []  2020-1-31 20:32

    Dannah Gresh has done a masterful job of adapting Nancy DeMoss Wolgemuth's book, Lies Women Believe for a middle school audience. Not only is the content sufficiently adapted for girls, but the graphics and illustrations are perfectly designed for a younger audience. The book is interactive, combining Biblical content with sections where the reader can answer and write in the book--a fact that greatly enhances comprehension and retention of the e book itself is gorgeous!! The pages are thick and glossy--truly a delight for the eye which ties in with the glitz and glamour of the apple on the cover. Centuries after Eve listened to Satan's lies in the garden, women and girls are still falling for the lies of the enemy. Gresh helps girls arm themselves with truth so they can live in freedom.I cannot recommend this book highly enough! You will also wish to order the companion tutorial for Moms to support their daughters navigate the book. What a unbelievable method to not only support girls pursue the truth, but strengthen their relationship with their mother at the same time. In drawing mothers and daughters together, hopefully girls will seek out their mom when they face future temptations to believe things contrary to Scripture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free []  2020-1-16 15:32

    This is a unbelievable book for a women's Bible study group. It brings out a lot of points in the book about how women can be deceived into believing all kinds of lies about themselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Girls Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free []  2020-1-31 20:32

    Wow! As a mother of two girls, I am so grateful for the wisdom and truth shared in this book. We just got both books (girls book and mom's guide) and we can't place them down

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Girls Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free []  2020-1-31 20:32

    Amazing book! I didn’t agree with everything said in it, But I would definitely recommend!! Dannah Gresh is very amazing at reaching the heart of her readers. This book talks about lies of friendships, boys, etc. SPOILER ALERT! At the beginning of each chapter, they have letters from this girl named Zoey, her actually name Isint Zoey, But it’s not fiction!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Girls Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free []  2020-1-31 20:32

    I LOVE this book and it's companion "A Mom's tutorial to Lies Girls Believe." A highly engaging, interactive book chocked FULL of biblical truth for girls ages 7-12 (and their moms!) I want I had a resource like this when I was a tween! My almost 12 year old daughter has really enjoyed each chapter and as her mom, I have been so blessed as she and I have had multiple opportunities to discuss the lies and Truth discussed! Subjects range from Truth/lies about: God/sin, being a christian, beauty/body photo issues, family relationships, friendships, boys/dating/gender and much more. I highly recommend this resource!! Thank you Dannah Gresh & Nancy Demoss Wolgemuth! Yet another unbelievable book in the Lies series!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Girls Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free []  2020-1-31 20:32

    My 9 yo daughter is excited to read it every night. That makes me happy. Lots of amazing tip about boys, self esteem, family, God. I think I might buy a copy for all my friend's daughters and my daughter's mates for their bday. Is that important.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free []  2020-1-16 15:32

    Every young lady and woman should read this!! It would prevent so a lot of hours, days, and maybe years from being wasted by wrong thinking and consequential wrong actions. "As a man [woman] thinks, so is he." The globe can lead us astray if we let our thinking to be led by it. Nancy Lee DeMoss Wolgemuth uses the Word of God to tutorial us back to wisdom.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free []  2020-1-16 15:32

    Does this woman think that she is God. Her views are one of a kind. I am a Christian and could not stomach her. She puts her parents above all. Everyone must do and raise their kids the method her parents do. We used this in a bible study in our church. I stopped this study. It outraged me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free []  2020-1-16 15:32

    Absolutely one of the greatest books I have ever read and still reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free []  2020-1-16 15:32

    Highly recommend this book to any woman who is seeking to grow in her spiritual walk. Points out a lot of problems that women have been led to believe by the feminist movement and/or the "world" as well as some so-called Christian churches. She is biblically correct in her writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free []  2020-1-16 15:32

    I'm a Christian stay-at-home mom and married for 25 years. I couldn't obtain past the first few chapters of this book for a couple of reasons. First, it's very primary as far as the biblical messages; those same messages we hear so often that they've lost their meaning: God loves you, you're made in His photo so you're wonderful, etc. I thought for some reason this book would delve a small deeper (given the catchy title) and give some fresh perspective. So maybe this book is for fresh Christians or non-Christians? I found it very dull and uninspiring. Secondly, the author locations herself into the text and stories so often that it seems to be more about her and how she played a central role in everyone else's experiences, letters and stories. Maybe I'm cynical, but it seems like so a lot of Christian women speakers and writers do this...it's more about them and how they're equipped to support others because they've got it all figured out. I'm all for people figuring things out or giving a fresh perspective, but the writer has to earn the status and not assume it for themselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free []  2020-1-16 15:32

    As I said on the study guide, this fresh revised edition is fantastic! Fresh subjects and old revisited. Nancy's writing style is conversational, yet has a spirit of teaching. I couldn't recommend this book enough! Using it with the study tutorial and not even quite finished. Loving it! I read her original "Lies" book and was quite pleased. This surpasses.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free []  2020-1-16 15:32

    I loved this book and think every woman should read it. I had never viewed things this method and I so think she is right on the money. We as women believe method too a lot of lies. Thank you for your wisdom

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Girls Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free []  2020-1-31 20:32

    I gave this to my daughter to read... she is 9.5 and has absolutely loved it! I shouldn’t have been surprised but I was! She has ADD and sometimes books don’t hold her attention but this one locked it in! She comes to me often after she’s been reading it and makes me sit down and listen to her read the parts she liked and similar to!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Girls Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free []  2020-1-31 20:32

    I want I had this book when I was young! I love Dannah's easy imagery of "Sticky Feelings". She explains that all emotions are amazing for us, they support us know how to answer to cirtances around us. The issue occurs when feelings "stick" to us and we think about them all the time, every day. Excellent method to support tween girls think through the heart of what is driving them to do e book features a young hero named Zoe who shares various concerns from her life that Dannah addresses - often there are blanks for the reader to share their opinions as well. A very interactive book for young girls to relate the the fictional character's problems and write in their own.Dannah interviewed a lot of girls so that she would write exactly about the problems that they struggle most with. All of her tip is practical, simple to follow, and most importantly based on Scripture.A unbelievable addition to the "Lies" series - I'd recommend these books to anyone!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Girls Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free []  2020-1-31 20:32

    I pre-ordered this book and the Mom's Tutorial to "Lies Girls Believe" after hearing about it on the program, "Revive Our Hearts." I'm not a wife or mom yet, but I purchased both books to use as a Bible study for a girls group at my church. I read the entire girls book latest night. It is full of Truth (God's Word), points wholeheartedly to Jesus as the Truth, and lifts up the soul as the Truth sets your heart free. I read "Lies Women Believe" latest year. After God used that book to set me free, I heard Dannah Gresh share at the Real Woman conference. She is full of grace and truth and is grounded in the Truth. I highly recommended this book and the companion book for Moms.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Girls Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free []  2020-1-31 20:32

    Was disapointed in the overly religious tone to this book. Was very excited because i think the ideas and intent are crucially necessary and signifigant for girls to learn and implement. But im not huge on the use of the devil and sins and satan stuff. Along with " Jesus" being in every other o intense!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free []  2020-1-16 15:32

    Very thought provoking and insightful. My ladies Bible study group is listening to the audio as we follow along in the book, also using the study tutorial questions for discussion. A amazing study for women of all ages. Life changing potential for participating group members or as an individual study.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Girls Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free (Lies We Believe) []  2020-1-23 1:39

    I want I had this book when I was young! I love Dannah's easy imagery of "Sticky Feelings". She explains that all emotions are amazing for us, they support us know how to answer to cirtances around us. The issue occurs when feelings "stick" to us and we think about them all the time, every day. Excellent method to support tween girls think through the heart of what is driving them to do e book features a young hero named Zoe who shares various concerns from her life that Dannah addresses - often there are blanks for the reader to share their opinions as well. A very interactive book for young girls to relate the the fictional character's problems and write in their own.Dannah interviewed a lot of girls so that she would write exactly about the problems that they struggle most with. All of her tip is practical, simple to follow, and most importantly based on Scripture.A unbelievable addition to the "Lies" series - I'd recommend these books to anyone!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Girls Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free (Lies We Believe) []  2020-1-23 1:39

    My 8 y/o daughter and I cannot quit reading these books, both the girl's ver and the mom's guide. The content is OUTSTANDING, and the format is wonderfully engaging. This writing squad of Nancy and Dannah is perfectly suited to speak to the hearts of today's tween ... credible, thoughtful, rooted, fun. I texted all my closest girlfriend-mamas-of-tweens today and told them to GO BUY THESE BOOKS. I'm a homeschool mom who is *loving* being able to keep my kiddo's book hostage until she finishes math each day. The kid has never divided fractions so fast.Well done, Nancy and Dannah! Thank you for coming alongside us mamas of not-so-littles-anymore and loving us so well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Girls Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free (Lies We Believe) []  2020-1-23 1:39

    Wow! As a mother of two girls, I am so grateful for the wisdom and truth shared in this book. We just got both books (girls book and mom's guide) and we can't place them down

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Girls Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free (Lies We Believe) []  2020-1-23 1:39

    Dannah Gresh has done a masterful job of adapting Nancy DeMoss Wolgemuth's book, Lies Women Believe for a middle school audience. Not only is the content sufficiently adapted for girls, but the graphics and illustrations are perfectly designed for a younger audience. The book is interactive, combining Biblical content with sections where the reader can answer and write in the book--a fact that greatly enhances comprehension and retention of the e book itself is gorgeous!! The pages are thick and glossy--truly a delight for the eye which ties in with the glitz and glamour of the apple on the cover. Centuries after Eve listened to Satan's lies in the garden, women and girls are still falling for the lies of the enemy. Gresh helps girls arm themselves with truth so they can live in freedom.I cannot recommend this book highly enough! You will also wish to order the companion tutorial for Moms to support their daughters navigate the book. What a unbelievable method to not only support girls pursue the truth, but strengthen their relationship with their mother at the same time. In drawing mothers and daughters together, hopefully girls will seek out their mom when they face future temptations to believe things contrary to Scripture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Girls Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free (Lies We Believe) []  2020-1-23 1:39

    I LOVE this book and it's companion "A Mom's tutorial to Lies Girls Believe." A highly engaging, interactive book chocked FULL of biblical truth for girls ages 7-12 (and their moms!) I want I had a resource like this when I was a tween! My almost 12 year old daughter has really enjoyed each chapter and as her mom, I have been so blessed as she and I have had multiple opportunities to discuss the lies and Truth discussed! Subjects range from Truth/lies about: God/sin, being a christian, beauty/body photo issues, family relationships, friendships, boys/dating/gender and much more. I highly recommend this resource!! Thank you Dannah Gresh & Nancy Demoss Wolgemuth! Yet another unbelievable book in the Lies series!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Girls Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free (Lies We Believe) []  2020-1-23 1:39

    I gave this to my daughter to read... she is 9.5 and has absolutely loved it! I shouldn’t have been surprised but I was! She has ADD and sometimes books don’t hold her attention but this one locked it in! She comes to me often after she’s been reading it and makes me sit down and listen to her read the parts she liked and similar to!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Girls Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free (Lies We Believe) []  2020-1-23 1:39

    Amazing book! I didn’t agree with everything said in it, But I would definitely recommend!! Dannah Gresh is very amazing at reaching the heart of her readers. This book talks about lies of friendships, boys, etc. SPOILER ALERT! At the beginning of each chapter, they have letters from this girl named Zoey, her actually name Isint Zoey, But it’s not fiction!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Girls Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free (Lies We Believe) []  2020-1-23 1:39

    My 9 yo daughter is excited to read it every night. That makes me happy. Lots of amazing tip about boys, self esteem, family, God. I think I might buy a copy for all my friend's daughters and my daughter's mates for their bday. Is that important.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Girls Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free (Lies We Believe) []  2020-1-23 1:39

    Was disapointed in the overly religious tone to this book. Was very excited because i think the ideas and intent are crucially necessary and signifigant for girls to learn and implement. But im not huge on the use of the devil and sins and satan stuff. Along with " Jesus" being in every other o intense!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lies Girls Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free (Lies We Believe) []  2020-1-23 1:39

    I pre-ordered this book and the Mom's Tutorial to "Lies Girls Believe" after hearing about it on the program, "Revive Our Hearts." I'm not a wife or mom yet, but I purchased both books to use as a Bible study for a girls group at my church. I read the entire girls book latest night. It is full of Truth (God's Word), points wholeheartedly to Jesus as the Truth, and lifts up the soul as the Truth sets your heart free. I read "Lies Women Believe" latest year. After God used that book to set me free, I heard Dannah Gresh share at the Real Woman conference. She is full of grace and truth and is grounded in the Truth. I highly recommended this book and the companion book for Moms.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escaping the Rabbit Hole: How to Debunk Conspiracy Theories Using Facts, Logic, and Respect []  2020-1-18 20:47

    A amazing resource on tactics to nudge your mates and loved ones into the light so they can pull free. Not only will you gain techniques to support others in need, you will also be challenged to evaluate your own beliefs. While not specifically a book on critical thinking, you will undoubtedly gain tools for your skeptical toolbox to support sort out fact from fiction. You will dive into some primary science education that isn't dumbed-down, nor too complex. You will finish this book as a better ambassador to lead your mates and family...and possibly yourself, out of the rabbit hole.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escaping the Rabbit Hole: How to Debunk Conspiracy Theories Using Facts, Logic, and Respect []  2020-1-18 20:47

    Must have if you know someone involved in conspiracy theories. Helps you understand their thinking and to communicate to them the realities of life that they're overlooking. Deals with 911, Flat Earth, Chemtrails, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Demented Agitprop: The Myth and Madness of Agenda 21 Conspiracy Theories []  2020-1-24 21:26

    That is what the name of this book should be. The author's so called defense of Agenda 21 is simply to say "All the critics are wrong because I said so". Amazing defense if I have ever read one. [sarcasm] The actual name of the book is a very amazing description of what is in it. The author uses smears, unsubstantiated accusations and even puerile name calling as a defense of Agenda 21. He never really references what is in the agreement but instead attacks the critics personally. I was actually surprised that this vile piece of swill masquerading as legitimate political opinion did not use the words krulak, bourgeoisie or evil capitalist sharks. It is agitation propaganda which Lenin, Trotsky and Stalin would have been proud to call their own. I am not sure what the 5 star reviewers found in this book that was of any interest other than the odd shapes that were placed together in small strings. Those are called letters and words; because if you are dumb enough to call this a 5 star book you don't actually know what words are.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Demented Agitprop: The Myth and Madness of Agenda 21 Conspiracy Theories []  2020-1-24 21:26

    Not sure what's scarier--the almost nonsensical conspiracy theories in this book or the thought of a nationwide movement that's quietly dismantling conservation efforts. This items is too wild to hold to yourself--you'll be reading the more outrageous passages out loud to mates in no time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escaping the Rabbit Hole: How to Debunk Conspiracy Theories Using Facts, Logic, and Respect []  2020-1-18 20:47

    This review comes with the caveat that I know Mick West and consider him a mate and a peer. Also, I am reviewing the advanced copy PDF that I was sent in June 2018 in order to be able to write a blurb for the book. I understand that he has created a few changes mainly in the final chapter that will appear in the final product.I loved the book, but probably for various reasons than what others are going to write, I loved the interviews with people who have been in the Rabbit Holes and managed to search their method out. Mick included a lot of of these cautionary tales, how they got in, where they drew the line with their conspiracy theories (there are levels apparently) and how and why they got out of that mindset. Mick explains that most of the time people obtain into it from a video. In the “old days” it was a VHS tape, then DVD’s and currently it is YouTube. The algorithm for YouTube keeps suggesting more and more videos for binge watching, apparently, they are all in the same vein of belief. This just encourages the viewer to fall farther and farther into the Rabbit Hole.Mick cautions the non-conspiracy theorist to always be kind. Almost everyone can fall for these compelling stories at some point in your life. Belief in conspiracy theories has nothing to do with intelligence. And helping your mate avoid the Rabbit Hole or helping them climb out will take healthy polite discussions. You will not reason someone out of this conspiracy thinking by telling them they are stupid or yelling at them. Throughout the chapters, Mick gives us talking points we can use to understand the more common conspiracy theories. I found that really helpful.Flat-Earth, Chemtrails and 9/11 were covered in detail, I can’t believe that in 2018 we are talking about the flat-earth and chemtrails, amazing. The chapter that affected me the most was the one on false-flags, it was just heartbreaking that people genuinely don’t believe that these tragedies didn’t happen, and that the government (or some other group) has hired actors and paid off people to create it seem like they happened, all because of some kind of agenda. Just this morning watching the news about the kids on the Mexican border being separated from their parents, MSNBC interviewed several fundamentalist pastors about their thoughts on the issue. One man stated that he doesn’t think it is really happening, those kids are all paid actors. I could barely believe what I was hearing. Not only was he proud of what he was saying, but he apparently has a congregation and is a person with enough notoriety that MSNBC would ask him for an interview, and he was satisfied with his name being on screen. This man probably thinks lots of the population believes in his method of thinking.I think that most thinking people will have fun this book, and not just because you love to debate strangers on social media (stop doing that, it’s a waste of your time) but because you probably have a family member, co-worker, school mate that you can see is slipping down into a Rabbit Hole and with this book you will be given some amazing talking points to divert them from falling into the Rabbit Hole and support others search the footing to climb out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escaping the Rabbit Hole: How to Debunk Conspiracy Theories Using Facts, Logic, and Respect []  2020-1-18 20:47

    Mick's calm approach destroys conspiracy and paranormal piffle. Unfortunately there is so much of that and only one Mick!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Demented Agitprop: The Myth and Madness of Agenda 21 Conspiracy Theories []  2020-1-24 21:26

    I found this to be a painful read. When starting with the premise that a group of people are engaging in madness, to then proceed to debate their points is to join them. I'm sure there is a story to be told on this subject, but it's the far deeper one of what drives people to seek certainty and meaning in vague absurdities.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Demented Agitprop: The Myth and Madness of Agenda 21 Conspiracy Theories []  2020-1-24 21:26

    A fascinating, well written look into a little-known threat to civilization. Who knows how far-reaching or special this threat may be. Perhaps, the author's insights can generate some useful formal investigation. It is certainly worthwhile reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Demented Agitprop: The Myth and Madness of Agenda 21 Conspiracy Theories []  2020-1-24 21:26

    The author gets to the bottom of a strangely persistant (and thoroughly strange) conspiracy theory that a rather innocuous UN Agenda doent proves the organization has insidious designs on our national sovereignty and, in particular, rural America, under the seductive guise of environmentalism. You will obtain a nice overview of the origins of this belief and its anticedents. You'll also obtain to meet (throught the safety of the printed word) the highly excitable people behind its development and promotion. Most importantly, you'll learn about the strong economic interests and their political fronts who cynically manipulate distrust of town culture and eggheads from beyond the sea in order to nab free or highly subsidized access to our country's natural resources. The book shows how a relatively little number of highly motivated conspiracy theorists allied with corporations looking for cheap land and resources can stop a sensible environmental initiative or even a run of the mill community planning meeting, dead in its tracks. I was most struck by how skillfully fear is manipulated in the movement - fear of town culture (which to be fair, works both ways), fear of outsiders, fear of changing culture or values, fear that makes it somehow more logical that the UN, usually characterized as inept and inneffectual, would be desirous or capable of taking and moving people in the US off their land, rather than the more obvious culprits, developers and resource extractors, actually financing this movement.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escaping the Rabbit Hole: How to Debunk Conspiracy Theories Using Facts, Logic, and Respect []  2020-1-18 20:47

    If you are trying to understand why some of your mates or relatives believe outlandish or unusual conspiracy theories, read this e basic benefit of this book, is for a private understanding of why they feel this way, and how you (as a mate or relative) can cope or communicate with them in a sane and polite manner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escaping the Rabbit Hole: How to Debunk Conspiracy Theories Using Facts, Logic, and Respect []  2020-1-18 20:47

    Perfect book giving the reader a lot of info to support combat conspiracy theories and those who believe them. Most importantly, the author presents his points in a method to support mates climb out of the "rabbit hole". I found a lot of useful techniques and ideas that I have incorporated in my own practices. I highly recommend this book to anyone that is remotely interested in conspiracy theories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Story of the Dinosaurs in 25 Discoveries: Amazing Fossils and the People Who Found Them []  2020-7-21 18:54

    what I expected, it's great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Story of the Dinosaurs in 25 Discoveries: Amazing Fossils and the People Who Found Them []  2020-7-21 18:54

    amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Story of the Dinosaurs in 25 Discoveries: Amazing Fossils and the People Who Found Them []  2020-7-21 18:54

    I'm an avid fan of the author, and this book endorses him even more. Nearly every human is familiar with the concept of dinosaurs, but most of us only think in terms of Tyrannosaurus Rex and Triceratops. But this book reveals so a lot of more and so much more about the life and times of those creatures. The fact that a lot of of the same type can be found on various continents reminds us of the original planet configuration of Pangea, and the wide-ranging herds of different groups. As interesting as the info about the dinosaurs, is the knowledge of the individuals who found, described, and named them. Some of those individuals were not the nicest of people, and some were incredibly amazing and noble. It was the first time that I also learned that the concept of a single asteroid's impact in the Yucatan was not the source of extinction of the entire nonbird population of dinosaurs. The reader will be delighted to learn all that is provided in this unbelievable book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Story of the Dinosaurs in 25 Discoveries: Amazing Fossils and the People Who Found Them []  2020-7-21 18:54

    I should mention that I was sent this book by the publishers to review, so I may not be listed as a "confirmed" purchaser, but yes, I really did read it!This book has a chapter devoted to each of the dinosaur discoveries featured by the author. The nature of the discovery varies, and the definition of discovery is, necessarily and helpfully, very wide ranging. In a lot of cases, the discovery, recovery, eventual reporting or publication, and integration of a dinosaur species is a long and drawn out process involving multiple field trips, a lot of various characters, and a lot of action. For example, the “discovery” of spinosaurus (from Egypt) comes to us as a story involving two globe wars, several expeditions, amazing human tragedy, and some cool dinosaur bones. Other discoveries are more about how we think about dinosaurs. This is especially real of the first few chapters, which serve to illustrate how clueless early researchers were about certain things, while being beautiful intelligent about other apter 6, on Eoraptor, focuses not on a specific discovery, but rather, on the question of what a dinosaur actually is, how taxonomy has changed, and on attempts to identify and define the basal dinosaur (which is not Eoraptor, but it kinda is). There are other related orienting pauses elsewhere in the book as though the chapters vary a amazing deal in the range of time, space, or fossil material covered, they follow a general pattern of putting together in one put most of the pertinent facts about a particular episode in the history of dinosaur research, and the pertinent facts about a particular part of the overall dinosaur bestiary. All in all, there is a amazing bit of history, history of the science, anatomy, evolutionary biology, scientific drama, greatness and tragedy of the act of discovery (or loss), and a lot of a lot of is necessary for you to know that Prothero brings the reader up to date on many, probably most, of the current dinosaur controversies and conundra. The Story of the Dinosaurs in 25 Discoveries: Awesome Fossils and the People Who Found Them is divided into four sections. The first is about early finds and early thinking, from the dark ages of dinosaur research. The second focuses on the long-necked giants, the third on theropods, and the fourth on the ornithischians (duck beaked, horned, and spiky armored dinosaurs). I’ve place a current draft of the TOC at the bottom of the post to give you an idea of the detail of coverage.I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Story of the Dinosaurs in 25 Discoveries: Amazing Fossils and the People Who Found Them []  2020-7-21 18:54

    I just read this book and Prothero did an outstanding job chronicling necessary dinosaur discoveries that have molded our understanding of dinosaur diversity and evolution as we know it today. Although the book encapsulates the earliest dinosaur discoveries, it also talks about the significance of the discoveries of the boneheaded dinos, Triceratops, Protoceratops. the feathered dino Sinosauropteryx, the raptor dinos Deinonychus and Velociraptor, and the giant sauropod Patagotitan. It's quite awesome that Edward Drinker Cope and Othniel Charles Marsh, by digging out of the ground critters like Allosaurus, Apatosaurus, Brontosaurus, Diplodocus, Stegosaurus, and Triceratops helped lay the foundations for knowledge of dinosaur diversity by making clear that Cetiosaurus and Pelorosaurus were terrestrial giants and not exotic marine crocs, while revealing the existence of horned and armored dinos.When explaining the inclusion of Deinonychus and Sinosauropteryx in this book, it is necessary to know John Ostrom, besides finally describing Deinonychus as a fresh species, helped lay the framework for modern-day knowledge of bird origins by comparing the hand of Deinonychus with Archaeopteryx to revive Huxley's hypothesis of a dinosaur origin for birds. Sinosauropteryx is necessary for reinforcing the birds-are-dinosaur-descendants theory by showing that little theropod had feathers, although we now know that ornithischians also had for Prothero's statement that politics gets in the method of science sometimes, it is noteworthy that Soviet influence in Mongolia in the 1930s precluded the AMNH from sponsoring further expeditions to Mongolia, so Soviet/Russian and later Polish scientists did fieldwork in Mongolia during the Cold War, but the end of the Cold Battle and Mongolia's transition to multiparty democracy created it possible for the AMNH to resume finding fossils in Mongolia. But the Cold Battle also created it difficult for people in West Germany, the US, and France to gain access to dinos and other fossils discovered in East Germany, Poland, the Soviet Union and Czech Republic. And Prothero is right to reasonably assume that the Amazing Proletarian Cultural Revolution hit China's scientific community hard, including paleontologists, because that period in late 20th century Chinese history saw a lot of Chinese intellectuals and professors purged and executed for treason and pro-capitalist garding Prothero's comment about huge sauropods in the chapter about Patagotitan, Amphicoelias fragillimus was renamed Maraapunisaurus by Ken Carpenter and re-assigned to Rebbachisauridae, its estimated size shrunken to 99 feet, so Prothero erred in saying that the Amphicoelias type species was named a bit later. But Don might agree more with Kenneth Carpenter that Maraapunisaurus isn't as preponderously large as previously thought because Diplodocus hallorum was thought to be 150 feet long before later work whittled it down to 110 feet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Story of the Dinosaurs in 25 Discoveries: Amazing Fossils and the People Who Found Them []  2020-7-21 18:54

    As in Prothero’s other books in his ‘25’ series, he does far more than explain a specific fossil or dinosaur. Prothero tutorials the reader into the people that created it possible, their foibles and quirks, and into the history these fossil discoveries occurred.I very much enjoyed reading about Barnum Brown, a man whose life reads like an action film (thankfully Prothero provides his source on Brown, a book I found on Amazon). The Bone Battles involving Marsh and Cope was also helpful in describing this 19th century tournament that sprung up in ; I like Prothero’s boos so much I purchased each of the ‘25’ series in both Kindle format (so convenient) and book format for my private library. Maybe I’ll obtain lucky someday and meet Prothero and manage to obtain the books autographed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escaping the Rabbit Hole: How to Debunk Conspiracy Theories Using Facts, Logic, and Respect []  2020-1-18 20:47

    This book is an exploration of how to constructively uncouple people from conspiracy theories. I enjoyed the book because it is relatable and useable. Mick uses famous real-world experiences and examples from his work which support the reader understand the inside-baseball of people and theories so they structure effective talking points and arguments while maintaining a amazing relationship with whom they are talking to. This makes it very thoughtful and relevant to anybody debating anything with anybody today. My only criticism is I want he would have dipped a toe into some of the bigger political conspiracy theories but this might be amazing for another book! I'm suggesting this book to everybody I know right now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escaping the Rabbit Hole: How to Debunk Conspiracy Theories Using Facts, Logic, and Respect []  2020-1-18 20:47

    I liked this book at first because I love to learn fresh things. I have up when I realized that I didn't to do that much arguing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Demented Agitprop: The Myth and Madness of Agenda 21 Conspiracy Theories []  2020-1-24 21:26

    I am very impressed that amazon offered this for free for kindle readers. It is so necessary to obtain the truth out there in this very clear, yet clearly losing, battle of info that we're in. It seems the need to be afraid all the time is blocking all attempts at logic and truth e author does an perfect job of debunking the Agenda 21 paranoia with clear and easy facts which can be easily verified. There are references at the back for further research, and throughout the short but effective read.I can't recommend it enough. We are losing our country to fear mongering and it's about time it ank you amazon for a unbelievable read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Demented Agitprop: The Myth and Madness of Agenda 21 Conspiracy Theories []  2020-1-24 21:26

    This is a must read. I highly recommend it. It is a well place together book about truth behind Agenda 21.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Story of the Dinosaurs in 25 Discoveries: Amazing Fossils and the People Who Found Them []  2020-7-21 18:54

    Each story about the discovery of each dino was uplifting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escaping the Rabbit Hole: How to Debunk Conspiracy Theories Using Facts, Logic, and Respect []  2020-1-18 20:47

    I've always been a fan of debunking since high school. At that age, when I had mates looking into witchcraft books, I was the guy asking what error tolerance spirits had for the angles in the symbols you were supposed to draw to summon them. When a mate read a book on Bigfoot, I wanted to know why a huge animal never seems to leave poop around, or hair samples are never DNA tested. These questions would often pull the rug out from my friends' fresh found (and to them, exciting) subject of interest. But what this never did in high school was provoke such mates to think more critically. I think back then, my delivery of valid questions and debunking was the flaw - I did it with a tip of ridicule. Since then, I've matured, and realized that if you don't approach such people with respect, the conversation doesn't go very far, and usually becomes a pejorative "@#$%for tat" format that goes nowhere r these reasons, when I saw that in the very title of this book the word "Respect", I was very interested in giving it a thorough read. I was sold. And Mick West definitely delivered. In this book, he info some of the larger, more widespread conspiracy theories (Chemtrails, 9/11 Truth) but also has time for the less pervasive and outlandish (Flat Earth). Still, at all times West maintains the point of view that no progress is really created if you don't first understand and present respect for the people who have bought into these claims, if you ever want to lend a hand and support them out of their private rabbit hole.West models in a masterful method that hardcore evidence can be presented to someone with a non-combative, friendly tone. Debunking need not be a tug of war, but rather, a method of reviewing ideas with a friend, both with the goal of examining things objectively, and exploring the implications of what evidence has to say about an idea or claim. In your debunking toolbox, you may already have a lot of tools, but West can present you how to more effectively use them. As an ogy, he can present you what to use when, so you need not bust out the welder when a dab of superglue is all that's needed.Who is this book useful for?1) Anyone who is a fan of debunking, be it as themselves a debunker, or just someone who enjoys examining claims with a more sober review of the evidence.2) Anyone who has started to examine different conspiracy theories, but wants to see a broader, more encompassing view of what evidence is out there. (Mick West has definitely done his homework.)3) Those who have mates or family members who have bought in (or are about to buy in) to some of the outlandish, yet sometimes believable, claims and conspiracies out there.4) Anyone who does firmly believe some of the conspiracies reviewed, yet is still willing to examine the weakest points of their pet conspiracy, and what evidence causes the general populace to reject their idea. (Hey, if you are into any of these conspiracies, shouldn't you be well versed with what holes, huge or small, exist in your claim?)Fully recommended. And in a lot of ways, could even be a preventative measure to hold the unsuspecting from being sucked into a rabbit hole. If they're already in there, this can be a definitely life line to support them begin to climb back out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escaping the Rabbit Hole: How to Debunk Conspiracy Theories Using Facts, Logic, and Respect []  2020-1-18 20:47

    If you are, or have ever considered yourself a conspiracy theorist, or truther, then you must read this book! This book is greatly required and should be shared far an wide! If you are searching for Truth, look no further than this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Demented Agitprop: The Myth and Madness of Agenda 21 Conspiracy Theories []  2020-1-24 21:26

    Tried a Kindle little purchase for first time, works as advertised... But not worth a $1. The author provides a amazing "Agenda 21 for Dummies"--the facts are good--but quickly allows liberal opinion to cloud the argument. Yes, I understand that outlier groups like Birch are pushing conspiracy theory, AND have been repudiated by mainline Conservative groups like Heritage Foundation for 50 years. Guilt by association is not good journalism.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Demented Agitprop: The Myth and Madness of Agenda 21 Conspiracy Theories []  2020-1-24 21:26

    Sneering agitprop in itself. A willow comes out of hiding when no one is around, leaves a stink, and then retreats into hiding,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Demented Agitprop: The Myth and Madness of Agenda 21 Conspiracy Theories []  2020-1-24 21:26

    This book appears to be based on careful research, and presents a frightening and yet quite believable view of reality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Story of the Dinosaurs in 25 Discoveries: Amazing Fossils and the People Who Found Them []  2020-7-21 18:54

    Very interesting material. Well written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    British Gardens in Time: The Greatest Gardens and the People Who Shaped Them []  2020-7-13 19:50

    Attractive book, vastly illustrated with amazing articles on the principles of gardening and landscape.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    British Gardens in Time: The Greatest Gardens and the People Who Shaped Them []  2020-7-13 19:50

    This is an beautiful book in your hands, hardbound and filled with colorful illustrations and garden photography. The text by Katie Campbell, especially the exceptional introduction covering the political and design trends of history leading up to the first distinctly English gardens, is generally a pleasure to read even though it wanders a e chapter on the Victorian gardens of gentleman orchidologist James Bateman in Staffordshire, for example, examines the a lot of and varied locations of Biddulph Grange with reference to the passions of the day, from evolution (Bateman was not a fan), to a fashionable interest in the Orient (he had Himalayan slopes and Chinese temples built). Other chapters wander off at times: the chapter on the Nymans estate devotes several pages to the changing fortunes and descendants of the Messel family who developed it, to the point where the reader is presented with potted biographies of offspring whose influence on either garden history or the design of Nymans is never established.Overall, though, the high quality of the photographs, including full-bleed prints over two pages, and the eclectic scholarship of the author is a rewarding and wonderfully detailed tour through its varied people, locations and times.Would create an perfect bonus for those with an interest in English history or garden design. The marriage of the two here is a fruitful one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    British Gardens in Time: The Greatest Gardens and the People Who Shaped Them []  2020-7-13 19:50

    Amazing history lessons through time and gardens.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bracing for Impact: True Tales of Air Disasters and the People Who Survived Them []  2019-12-23 20:8

    I'm interested in the technical causes and info of aviation accidents, but this was about the personal, human side of living through such incidents (primarily in little planes). It's unbelievable and awesome what people survive, but I felt like a rubbernecking voyeur to others' pain. Left me feeling sad and depressed because they often lost family members in the accidents they survived.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of Dogs: New York Dogs, Their Neighborhoods, and the People Who Love Them []  2020-1-25 5:10

    What a unbelievable book. Attractive stories about dogs and their people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of Dogs: New York Dogs, Their Neighborhoods, and the People Who Love Them []  2020-1-25 5:10

    You don’t have to be from or have lived in Fresh York to love this book. The stories of people and their dogs is universal and so relatable. Attractive images and thoughtful, well written prose create you wish to know these people and hang out with at least a few. It’s a attractive book that will look amazing on my coffee table, but I also look forward to reading and rereading the profiles. Some create me smile, some create me wish to cry, but all touch my heart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Miracle Medicines: Seven Lifesaving and the People Who Created Them []  2020-8-4 19:27

    even with expedited shipping, the book was not shipped immediately. then, pack was never delivered - tracking info said the pack was undeliverable. cash was refunded.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Miracle Medicines: Seven Lifesaving and the People Who Created Them []  2020-8-4 19:27

    I expected to be enlightened by this book, but I never expected to have fun it. I was in for a huge surprise. Author Robert L. Shook's writing is always first rate. However, in this book he has accomplished three rather remarkable things. First, instead of simply presenting well-researched and well-organized info - which could have created for a dull read - he has brought the info to life, creating seven intriguing stories about the dedicated and talented people who embody the pharmaceutical industry. I'll offer one example. Over a relatively short period of time we have come to accept AIDS as a (tragic) feature of contemporary society. I was fascinated to read about how, when, and where AIDS actually began; how it spread in this country; how physicians eventually identified HIV; and how pharmaceutical companies rushed to develop tools to diagnose and treat it. And, by the way, I found the profiles of the pharmaceutical companies quite inspiring - amazing things really can come from rather humble beginnings. Second, Shook takes technical info and makes it easy and simple to understand. This is no little feat. Finally, Shook helps the reader understand - yes, even appreciate - the contributions of pharmaceutical companies. In latest years, people have come to regard "Big Pharma" as they do "Big Oil" - i.e., as companies that exploit consumers who have no choice but to buy their products. Shook helps us to see pharmaceutical companies in a far more sympathetic light. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a amazing read and wants to learn about the ever-changing globe in which we live.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bracing for Impact: True Tales of Air Disasters and the People Who Survived Them []  2019-12-23 20:8

    I'm an air disaster junkie so when I ran across this book a few days ago I bought out. It is a compilation of stories from people who were in plane crashes and survived. Reasonably well written and informative, it was a fast and engrossing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bracing for Impact: True Tales of Air Disasters and the People Who Survived Them []  2019-12-23 20:8

    Bracing for Impact is a wonderfully written book that highlights the struggles of people who have been in airplane crashes. It is simple to search inspiration in these stories of such brave survivors and all that they have had to overcome. Robin Holleran and Lindy Philip did a unbelievable job of explaining the aviation portion, so that a layman could understand the implications and they were able to create each survivor's story come to life. Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of Dogs: New York Dogs, Their Neighborhoods, and the People Who Love Them []  2020-1-25 5:10

    Amazing bookExcellent photographySupports local town dog friendly , shelters and organization

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of Dogs: New York Dogs, Their Neighborhoods, and the People Who Love Them []  2020-1-25 5:10

    I liked everything about this book - images of the dogs and their owners, images of parts of Fresh York I've never seen, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Miracle Medicines: Seven Lifesaving and the People Who Created Them []  2020-8-4 19:27

    I took a lot of interesting courses in my early-1980s MBA program: tactic formulation, marketing, consumer behavior, and others. But the most exciting course was taught by Vijay Govindarajan. A star in higher education in India and later in the United States, VG (as we students called him) had us on the edge of our seats each and every class. Using the "case method," he embedded what he wanted us to learn inside interesting business problems, and he challenged us to solve them. My classmates and I energetically debated the cases both before and after class. The topic VG taught? might not expect the globe of disease and pharmaceuticals to be exciting, either, but Robert Shook does the same thing with and the people of the pharmaceutical industry that VG did with accounting. Each of the seven stories in Miracle Medicines describes a health issue that afflicts people all around us, perhaps family members - maybe even you. (Like the author, I suffer from asthma.) Shook introduces us to the people of Huge Pharma (as insiders call the industry) and vividly describes their struggle to develop an effective and bring it to market. It is not an simple process, and, after reading this book, you will understand why pharmaceuticals can be so is book is a must read for three groups: those who wish to know more about the they depend upon for health, if not life itself; anyone who wants to understand the business side of the pharmaceutical industry and how are developed; and readers who have fun amazing short stories, for Miracle Medicines is really a collection of fascinating tales with a common theme - how people working together bring life and hope to others.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of Dogs: New York Dogs, Their Neighborhoods, and the People Who Love Them []  2020-1-25 5:10

    Loved the stories and all the photos. Would recommend this book to everyone! Even non dog owners will appreciate it his book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    City of Dogs: New York Dogs, Their Neighborhoods, and the People Who Love Them []  2020-1-25 5:10

    A unbelievable glimpse into the diverse and unique globe of the canine-human bond in NYC! The heart and soul of each and every human and dog is perfectly captured, creating an inspirational and heartwarming touchstone to return to again and again. Seeing familiar faces from around the town is also a special pleasure!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bracing for Impact: True Tales of Air Disasters and the People Who Survived Them []  2019-12-23 20:8

    i met the author and would really recommend this booklots of short stories within it and yet it brings along a feeling that if you have even a little sense of control in your destiny in a disaster you are better off than if you feel helpless....great insights to both those with trauma and those overcoming the trauma to fly againthanks robin and contributors

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bracing for Impact: True Tales of Air Disasters and the People Who Survived Them []  2019-12-23 20:8

    A scary as the book sounds, it's focus is not just on plane crashes, it is more about the strength of the human spirit. Moving on after an happening as traumatic as a plane crash is very difficult, but these stories not only tell about moving on, but moving on with a greater sense of purpose, of joy and of love. A amazing book if you need some inspiration to accomplish the stuff you've allow languish on your bucket list! Bracing for Impact: Real Tales of Air Disasters and the People Who Survived Them

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Miracle Medicines: Seven Lifesaving and the People Who Created Them []  2020-8-4 19:27

    Corporate fawning of the worst sort. Smarmy. Repetitive. Inaccurate (for example, two huge errors about HIV in the very first chapter). The audiobook narrator mispronounces words, most annoyingly "genome," which he renders as "ja-NOME." There are better books available if you're interested in the development of various . This is the only book I've returned in latest years.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Miracle Medicines: Seven Lifesaving and the People Who Created Them []  2020-8-4 19:27

    Everyone lately has been attacking Huge Pharma and at latest an author has written a positive book about one of the world's most necessary industries. Robert L. Shook's Miracle Medicines discloses what every American needs to know about what our huge pharmaceutical companies do that results in saving millions of lives and relieves pain and suffering for still millions and millions more people. Yes, people complain about the high cost of medicines, but what's a worth that inhibits HIV or a not good cancer? Shook tells the story of Humalog, a manmade insulin produced by Eli Lilly that controls diabetes. This medicine costs only a couple of dollars a day, but without it, or another insulin, all diabetics would be doomed to suffer a horrendous slow death by eventual starvation. So for less than the cost of a Huge Mac each day, I think this is an wonderful value. Another medicine that's featured in this book is Remicade, a biotech medicine created by Johnson & Johnson. The story of this medicine reads like fiction. Versus all odds, its scientists and company executives refused to accept defeat. Remicade is truly a miracle medicine. It inhibits diseases that attack our immune systems. Taken by infusion, only a few times a year, it relieves the pain and agony of rheumatoid arthritis, and later it was approved for other indications including Crohn's disease, ankylosing spondylitis, psoriasis and ulcerative ere is also the story that the author tells about Gleevec, a that he calls a designer medicine that targets cancer cells. Yes, the scientists at Novartis figured out how to create a molecule that goes into the cell and hits a specific defective chromosome causes a rare form of chronic myeloid leukemia (CML). The story about Gleevec is one of the truly amazing medical advances in modern times. Most important, this breakthrough medicine will begin the door for other advances in the war versus cancer..After I read this book, I walked away with a fresh respect for Huge Pharma. So what if these companies create a lot of money. Considering the amazing they do for humankind, they deserve it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Miracle Medicines: Seven Lifesaving and the People Who Created Them []  2020-8-4 19:27

    Americans who criticize the pharmaceutical industry need to read this necessary book. Author Shook went behind locked doors to present us an insight on the tremendous costs and risks that these pharmaceutical corporations take. We all complain about the high costs of medicine, but Shook clearly describes the years of work and dedication by brilliant scientists as well as the a lot of millions of dollars that these corporations front to bring a fresh medicine to the shop place. I still may complain about the cost of my prescriptions, but I am now appreciative of the a lot of dedicated people in the industry who created my medicines available.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386