Read content management systems reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all content management systems reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Web Content Management: Systems, Features, and Best Practices []  2020-10-8 19:27

    If you wish a general introduction to CMS, some of the more famous packages, and to learn how to use them and what they can do - this isn't the book for you. Unfortunately, I'm in that category, so this book was not very useful for me. But for the target audience, organizational stakeholders in the decision to implement CMS, then this book is for you. Whether you are a technical lead/director, or anyone in the organization who will be affected by an implementation of CMS, you should read this book. That goes even for people who control the purse strings. How else will they be able to fully understand the potential ROI?Even if you have peripheral involvement, but you have to attend meetings on the topic for situational awareness, you wish to know what's in this book. The writing is straightforward and concise, the coverage not too deep, but it touches on everything.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Web Content Management: Systems, Features, and Best Practices []  2020-10-8 19:27

    The book is very informative...........I like it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Web Content Management: Systems, Features, and Best Practices []  2020-10-8 19:27

    If you are ever tasked with building a www service of sufficient complexity that you are hiring a squad to build it, you need to read this book. You will be able to better anticipate issues, make realistic plans, and work better with both the CMS vendor and your implementation partner.If you are in the business of helping people build websites, read this book. More importantly, give it to your clients. When you keep a Request for Proposal (RFP), send them a copy of this book immediately. Then begin working on your ane has written a amazing resource distilling hard-won experience that is simple to read. Do yourself a favor and read it yourself.

    0  


    Add your opinion on content management systems or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Web Content Management: Systems, Features, and Best Practices []  2020-10-8 19:27

    This book is a well rounded overview of online (web) content management for the different stakeholders within a company who will be involved with it at various levels. This is not however a technical how-to type of a book. It focuses at a general level, not the Xs and Os. It only occasionally mentions actual systems by name, and that's by r a technology book, it is quite readable, but it won't flow like a thriller or a page-turning book of fiction. There are different down to earth practical examples, and occasional goofiness with Mike Tyson and Rumsfeld's popular knowns and unknowns quote. It is mostly text but there are some diagrams and tables and screenshots, so consider this if you are deciding whether to read this on an e-ink e-reader (tablets should be fine).There is also a 193 word glossary available online, referenced in the latest page of the Afterword at the back of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Web Content Management: Systems, Features, and Best Practices []  2020-10-8 19:27

    In my 40 years of reading survey-type of technical books, this author is the best stylistic writer. It’s crystal clear, light-feel t, I don’t know who this book is written for. Its 340 pages is filled with substance and is too detailed for a typical buyer of a CMS. Such buyers, in my opinion, needs a framework so as to ask questions of vendors or builders. This is such a framework book, but too e book is also too broad or not detailed enough for builders or workers on is an perfect primer for someone who wishes to become a comparative CMS consultant. Or for an experienced CMS consultant to ask questions of other CMS systems. And it is perfect for the super-fast reader who wants to read a detailed book and then do detailed ping instead of simply finding a comparative CMS consultant for answers.Overall a 5 star book—the author wrote excellently on a subject he knows expertly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Web Content Management: Systems, Features, and Best Practices []  2020-10-8 19:27

    I don't often say "if you can only read one book on subject X, this should be the one" but found myself thinking this as I read Web Content Management. The author has managed to explain the principles behind content management to the audience that I often encounter - the non-technical people with recommendation or budget influence who know enough to be risky but not enough to be helpful in decision-making. I'm hoping that these are the folks who will read the book and then have more productive and informed discussions when making decisions about the CMS they have or need. And for those who do have the same depth of technical knowledge as the author, this is a helpful book to use to frame problems and discussions with colleagues or clients. It's got a prominent put on my bookshelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Web Content Management: Systems, Features, and Best Practices []  2020-10-8 19:27

    This is a technical overview of the entire Web Content Management System (CMS) ecosystem . It is targeted towards readers who wish to understand what a CMS is, how it might work in a larger context, and any underlying issues that a CMS will need to resolve. If you are looking for a technical programming manual, or a user tutorial of a particular CMS implementation, such as Drupal or Joomla, this book is not for e book has a in-depth coverage of the basics, functions and modules of CMS, as well as the scope and structure of a CMS implementation project. It is designed to be language and platform independent. Readers will learn how to create decisions about features, architecture and implementation that will provide the right solution to their specific problems.Overall, the book does a amazing job of providing a technical overview of CMS in general, without pushing a particular technology, platform or methodology. If you are either a manager, designer, developer or a contributor in a CMS similar project, this book will provide you with the knowledge and perspective to create your project successful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Web Content Management: Systems, Features, and Best Practices []  2020-10-8 19:27

    This book offers a very thorough look at the globe of Web Content Management. As a www service owner, I'm always trying to learn more about how to improve the user-experience and functionality of my is book is fairly technical, so it's helpful to have at least a small bit of a background in content creation and Web development.I've been using WordPress as my platform for the latest few years, and I felt like this book helped me learn how to best utilize the resources and content that I have available to me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Web Content Management: Systems, Features, and Best Practices []  2020-10-8 19:27

    Deane Barker is a hero. He has tackled an zone – Content Management Systems – that has long been the province of tool publishers, marketers, platform zealots and the well-meaning, but ignorant. To the detriment of many, Content Management Systems is one of those locations where everyone has an opinion, but every opinion must be carefully scrutinized. Tool publishers boost their platform. Zealots laud their favorites and denigrate others because – well, just because is often the limit of their rationality. Those familiar with one CMS will slam others they know nothing about. Barker moves from begin to finish, topic by subject, subject by subject across 338 well-written, amply illustrated pages. This is the book that may obtain me to venture beyond WordPress as my CMS of choice because I really didn’t understand why others would be a better fit for even my small league efforts. Seriously, if you have anything to do with development of www services that go beyond the simplest needs, you wish to add this book to your library. Very well done, Mr. rry

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Web Content Management: Systems, Features, and Best Practices []  2020-10-8 19:27

    This is a nicely written tutorial designed for project managers, developers or anyone considering a CMS similar project. It is well organized and divided into three parts: The Basics,components of Content Management Systems and Implementation. You con't have to be a tec hie to understand it and it reminds me stylistically of the better offerings of the Dummies series. That being said, if you are looking for a programming manual, you will not search it here. I think it is a valuable resource, well researched and accessible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Safety Management Systems in Aviation []  2019-12-24 20:16

    Perfect condition! Perfect. Thank you

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: Design, Implementation, & Management []  2020-1-15 18:1

    A WORD OF CAUTION: You must be enrolled in an instructor led class to obtain access to this book's appendices and data files from Cengage. This makes purchasing this textbook a poor idea for those who are self-study unless you are OK with not having these. Not having access to these files is a significant learning handicap. Apparently this is the case with all Cengage books when part of a book's contents are stored on their website. This is very unfortunate because this textbook looks like an perfect one otherwise. Limiting access to all the learning material seems like an idiotic business model, but that is how it is. If someone can correct me, please do. LESSON LEARNED: If you are not in an instructor led course do not purchase a Cengage book unless you are OK with not having access to all the material required to learn from a book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: Design, Implementation, & Management []  2020-1-15 18:1

    Perfect condition quick arrival! Thank you will definitely be back.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Safety Management Systems in Aviation []  2019-12-24 20:16

    I passed my class- enough said! :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Safety Management Systems in Aviation []  2019-12-24 20:16

    Amazing value!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: Design, Implementation, & Management []  2020-1-15 18:1

    Its the book I required for my class and its nice to have it digitally rented.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: Design, Implementation, & Management []  2020-1-15 18:1

    Amazing book for my son's class!! Saved me $$$

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: Design, Implementation, & Management []  2020-1-15 18:1

    I love this textbook and enjoying it so far!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: Design, Implementation, & Management []  2020-1-15 18:1

    Am I the only one who has loved Cengage lately? Amazing book so far. If the later chapters are as detailed as the first few, then amazing!"Vocab" words are highlighted, and then a section on the side of the page has the definition too. "Large" words (eg. ubiquitous) have definitions. Amazing work Cengage!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: Design, Implementation, & Management []  2020-1-15 18:1

    It was used for a college course. It was a kindle rental and worked for my course. I passed :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Safety Management Systems in Aviation []  2019-12-24 20:16

    should be used in conjunction with other of the same type.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Safety Management Systems in Aviation []  2019-12-24 20:16

    Amazing rsearch doent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soil and Water Management Systems []  2020-7-1 20:5

    The book is in beautiful amazing condition which is plenty amazing enough for me. Saved me a lot on books this semester.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Safety Management Systems in Aviation []  2019-12-24 20:16

    Binding was broken and the book fell apart within 5 days of actually using it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Safety Management Systems in Aviation []  2019-12-24 20:16

    very helpful for aviation majors on safety

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: Design, Implementation, & Management []  2020-1-15 18:1

    The book is in excellent condition, as to be expected with a fresh book. There are no access codes for Cengage products included, but that is because all of those cost much more than this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: Design, Implementation, & Management []  2020-1-15 18:1

    In some of the figures, the text is blurry so it's difficult to tell what is listed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soil and Water Management Systems []  2020-7-1 20:5

    I purchased this book which was mandated for a college course I am taking at North Carolina State University. The book is simple to understand and has been written to a broad audience to contain specialists in the water management arena. It has some amazing concepts which support the reader to understand the practice of water management, principles thereof and expounds upon terminology and methods of service, enables one to understand some of the intricacies involving water management, the science behind it and the methods e author or composer(s) of the book Do Not however do a very amazing job at providing enough info within the chapters to aid the reader in understanding the a lot of functions involved and the appropriate usage order of mathematical equations (formulas) in order to reach an respond for any given e book leaves a 'lot of holes' in this area....it does not expound on the important steps required to reach an respond for different scenarios such as water runoff rates, sediment delivery ratios, soil loss rates, etc;. Although it states the equations, it just does not reveal the steps in an simple to understand format such as first step, second step and so at info simply is not there....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: Design, Implementation, & Management []  2020-1-15 18:1

    It presents as "light" in content but is actually a very robust and accessible text for a first database class at almost any level.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Safety Management Systems in Aviation []  2019-12-24 20:16

    Required for school

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Safety Management Systems in Aviation []  2019-12-24 20:16

    This book was written several years back but is an perfect book for anyone interested in Safety Management

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Soil and Water Management Systems []  2020-7-1 20:5

    Book delivered had correct cover but book inside was community organizing and community building for health. Not a amazing surprise when my son required the book for a try for the first time 6 weeks into the class

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geographic Information Systems (GIS) for Disaster Management []  2019-12-24 19:46

    Beautiful amazing book. A recommendation for a newer edition is to connect disaster management (preparation oriented) with emergency response (routine, little scale). The case studies are cutting edge. My favorite one was the use of self report 911 is GIS textbook does not require a technical GIS background, instead it takes a middle and upper level management approach. This is a amazing read. As for academic purposes, only a few books top it. I am waiting for Dr. Dean to publish his own GIS book not focused on nuclear waste effects to compare the two.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Elegant Puzzle: Systems of Engineering Management []  2020-5-11 18:0

    Very prescriptive. To me, seemed applicable especially to higher management rather than immediately applicable to my day-to-day as a line manager, but still valuable, I 's presented as advice, not argument. The author relies mostly on his own private experience at successful tech companies as the main source of authority, not data. Seems like sensible advice, as far as I can tell. Also, the text is rich with references, which I intend to be exploring soon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Elegant Puzzle: Systems of Engineering Management []  2020-5-11 18:0

    An Elegant Puzzle is to date the most hands-on perspective on engineering management within a high-growth, tech-first organization, that I have read. It's a long overdue book for engineering managers and leads. I like how it takes an engineering-focused view on management, instead of taking a management-focused view on software engineering, that other books on this subject have.Having read a lot of management and engineering management books, what set Will's book apart is it starts right where the others end. An Elegant Puzzle wastes no time - especially not in the beginning - on covering the generic manager's toolkit, [email protected]#$%!&[email protected], giving feedback, squad building, which a lot of other books devote a amazing chunk of their content. Instead, it talks about the engineering pain points that come with a high-growth organization and team, once management fundamentals are in place. What to do when our systems are slowing us down, but we have too a lot of migrations? What's a amazing method to pay down tech debt? How do we say no, when there is so much work, but not enough people? How do we grow seniority evenly across the team?The tone of the book is casual: it feels like we're sitting with Will, having coffee, while he talks about issues he's faced at various companies, systemic approaches he's seen work best, then giving examples of things that worked for him, in the past. I like how the book rarely presents "best" approaches, instead, Will shares what worked for him - with a healthy dose of systems thinking - and approaches he recommends to his peers and managers on his e book is a amazing read for product managers and engineers working at high-growth companies will search it a amazing read. Other disciplines working with engineering - such as recruiters or operations - can obtain more empathy towards engineering, when reading it. The head of product at a huge startup recently told me how she was devouring over the book and a recruiting manager, who read the book, shared how he thought the book translates well to managing people in his field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Identity & Access Management: A Systems Engineering Approach []  2020-11-27 19:51

    I was looking for a book on IAM that is not focused on a particular set of products and/or implementations, since I just wanted something as a reference for the IAM model in general. This book turned out to be the best choice for this. It explains the fundamentals and mathematical principals of IAM in a very concise method and therefore delivers timeless answers to the fundamentals of IAM. In addition the author provides some useful examples for the underlying theory of IAM. While I had to brush up on my high school math for some parts of the book I don't think it should be a deterrent for anyone that wants a clear and concise introduction into IAM.I bought the Kindle ver of this book and the only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is the formatting of the Kindle version. Some of the mathematical formulas are not correctly rendered on the Kindle. For example: Matrices are not displayed correctly with a proper bracket to the left and right, but rather you see some unique characters displayed. In addition on some formulas the indices appear too little to read on the Kindle/iPad Kindle app. Labels on the diagrams in this ver of the book are also too small. It would be amazing if the next, revised edition could have an option of zooming into the diagrams. Once these nuisances are fixed I would no doubt give this book five stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Management Information Systems: Managing the Digital Firm []  2020-11-9 19:23

    First and foremost, as a slow reader and an extremely auditory learner taking an online course with no audio lectures, I was extremely disappointed that the book does not come with a read out loud function, and locks out the user's ability to begin it on any type of OCR compatible device or r those thinking you would be able to copy and paste the content to obtain read out loud functionality, think again, as there is a copy restriction that limits how much you can copy (no doubt to combat piracy - which is completely acceptable, but also annoying simply because it was the only method to obtain any type of text to speech capability that I've found). As I tend to retain the things I hear better than the things I read, being able to listen to the book would have created my learning experience much better. Luckily, I don't necessarily need that functionality but this etextbook would have been completely useless for someone with major visual r such an expensive textbook, there were also quite a few annoying spelling and weird formatting issues. Sadly, this is needed reading for a class I am taking so I guess there is no choice but to grin and bear it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Management Information Systems: Managing the Digital Firm []  2020-11-9 19:23

    As advertised and like the ability to rent the book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Management Information Systems for the Information Age []  2021-1-5 19:30

    amazing information, simple to read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Management Information Systems for the Information Age []  2021-1-5 19:30

    As expected

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essentials of Project and Systems Engineering Management []  2021-4-9 20:24

    The title says it all. College is expensive enough so to obtain a book from the bookstore at school that cost twice what this one did is just poor cash skills.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Health Care Operations Management: A Systems Perspective []  2020-1-25 0:24

    Very helpful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Geographic Information Systems (GIS) for Disaster Management []  2019-12-24 19:46

    Very Informative. Sale was speedy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Elegant Puzzle: Systems of Engineering Management []  2020-5-11 18:0

    I bought this book without too a lot of expectations: most management books are usually either poorly written, either full of bities, either too ever, this book is one of the rare perfect ones, and most probably a must-read for any manager (probably even outside tech).I'm a junior manager and I initially thought the book was not a amazing fit for me as I started to read the first chapter: this book is written by an upper-manager and talks about a lot of issues similar to upper-management that a junior manager does not encounter himself, especially in the first two ever, I kept reading and it was the right thing to do: the book is incredibly complete and covers everything. A lot of points are actually relevant whether you are a junior manager or a more experienced one. For the other parts more similar to upper-management (for example, restructuring a department), those are still very interesting and eye-opening to read for a junior manager: you obtain to better understand what your own manager is doing now, or what challenges he will face soon. It truly allows you to connect the dots and reflect more about your own company sides that, this book is very practical. It's very simple to understand each point and how to approach each problem. Of course, each company is various and you can't have a cooking-recipe that works everywhere: you still need to adapt based on your environment, but you are much clearer on how to do it, and what should you pay attention to. This is much better than most other books out there that focus on bities everyone already knows, or only stick to an abstract level such that you don't know much more than when you started reading them.I can't recommend enough that book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Management Information Systems: Managing the Digital Firm []  2020-11-9 19:23

    I was sent the Indian Subcontinent version. There's a label on the cover that states that "distribution outside of India and Sri Lanka is unauthorized," so this book violates publishing laws. The case studies are various and I got screwed on the first quiz in the class. There's a reason it's so cheap. Don't obtain this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Management Information Systems: Managing the Digital Firm []  2020-11-9 19:23

    Used this book for a class and while I already had the book apparently the book I ordered was the international edition. I required a fast book to reference for the case studies and this one did the trick. Rental. Worked as it was meant to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Management Information Systems: Managing the Digital Firm []  2020-11-9 19:23

    This is the wrong book it is not working for me, I dropped the class after receiving it too late and it is the wrong book , the ISBN number is not the right one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Identity & Access Management: A Systems Engineering Approach []  2020-11-27 19:51

    This book demonstrates a high level but very useful mathematical approach towards Identity & Access Management (IAM). Starting with the generalization of concepts of users, authentication and authorization and expressing these primary IAM functions as multiplication of matrices, the author in subsequent chapters extends this approach to the role-based access control, risk and trust. Although not very useful for the practical implementation of IAM systems, this books provides a level of generalization of IAM entities, processes and issues that enable IAM discussions in mathematical terms.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Management Information Systems for the Information Age []  2021-1-5 19:30

    Management Info Systems for the Info Age

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Management Information Systems for the Information Age []  2021-1-5 19:30

    Informative book. Will tear in the binder FYI, so obtain some of those ring protectors

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essentials of Project and Systems Engineering Management []  2021-4-9 20:24

    Book was water damaged when I received it. No issues with the content of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Elegant Puzzle: Systems of Engineering Management []  2020-5-11 18:0

    The content is perfect for anyone who is interested in the subject of software engineering management.I think it is *most* useful to non-managers, proto-managers, newly minted managers, (and, well, poor managers) as a survey of contemporary thinking about engineering management in startup-like, growth-oriented technology companies. With one exception, I found the content uniquely accessible from the lens of a software engineer (or other individual contributor) who has problem relating to the managerial lens without suspicion (which I once was).I'd recommend it to seasoned managers on a case-by-case basis (e.g. moving from a bureaucratic enterprise IT to a contemporary startup-y company).Speaking of large, bureaucratic enterprise IT : If you're reading this review and you're working in an organization with a bureaucratic enterprise IT culture—which contains plenty of software companies producing B2B and B2C software, not only enterprise IT —some of the suggestions in the book may feel distant or out of reach—and, therefore, less immediately useful—as they'll implicitly challenge some cultural norms which are common and often fairly well-entrenched in such environments. The book does cover some suggestions for approaching the general case of bootstrapping difficult changes (e.g. begin small, demonstrate success, expand out gradually), but much of the content seems to presume a fairly high-autonomy / low-bureaucracy only "complaint" is the method it is organized, which I imagine is a side result of most, if not all, of the content having been incorporated largely unchanged, with a bit of intro/glue text, from the author's blog. The book is a collection of blog posts, grouped into categories with some intro/glue text, which, for me, left transitions between essays feeling less fluid/natural than I'd hoped.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Elegant Puzzle: Systems of Engineering Management []  2020-5-11 18:0

    Beautifully organized, printed, well written. Diagrams are a 80/20 mix of thought-provoking and instructive. Perfect effort, thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Manufacturing Execution Systems: An Operations Management Approach []  2020-8-20 18:32

    I found this book to be quite comprehensive of the topic, especially illustrating the various views of MES by the floor/operations spets. The book doesn't go too deep into the nuances of various modular functionalities, but I don't believe that was the authors intent in the first place. It's a amazing intro into the subject and it's also very handy as a refresher for seasoned professionals. Personally, I like the writing style, which makes the material simple to read and comprehend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Identity & Access Management: A Systems Engineering Approach []  2020-11-27 19:51

    It is a fake book. Doesn't buy it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Management Information Systems: Managing the Digital Firm []  2020-11-9 19:23

    I absolutely hate Pearson textbooks but Professor's seem to sold on them. Oh wait, because they obtain paid to write them and all the supplemental hand outs are done for them! Well, yet another example of a poorly written and organized Pearson textbook. Maybe the authors are a touch ADD. Book jumps all over the place. If it was not the needed textbook for my class, I would have never purchased this book! If I could give it a negative number I would, but hey it still wont change lazy Professors from using it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Management Information Systems: Managing the Digital Firm []  2020-11-9 19:23

    for a needed reading material, this was actually very good! I learned alot from this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Management Information Systems for the Information Age []  2021-1-5 19:30

    Delivered a day earlier than expected. Quality exactly as described.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essentials of Project and Systems Engineering Management []  2021-4-9 20:24

    Amazing project management book for quantitative/engineer project managers. More advanced concepts such as the use of statistical ysis (ex Rayleigh Distribution Functions and Schedule Reliability Determinations) to determine the most probable project outcomes in terms of Cost and Schedule is well explained. In addition the typical concepts and tools such as Critical Path ysis and Earned Value (BCWP, SV, CV, BCWS etc) are reviewed in amazing detail.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Health Care Operations Management: A Systems Perspective []  2020-1-25 0:24

    Amazing book! A lot of amazing material

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Elegant Puzzle: Systems of Engineering Management []  2020-5-11 18:0

    This is one of the best texts on organizational design and praxis I've ever rson's earned wisdom is presented as practical but not overly prescriptive as he encourages readers to filter his insights through their own context. The humility is refreshing and strong in zone dominated by "thought leaders" who have done small of the work themselves. Larson speaks with the measured qualification of someone who has earned their knowledge on the ground, and it makes the book both an enjoyable read and imminently useful, even for those building, managing, and guiding squads far outside the realm of engineering.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Elegant Puzzle: Systems of Engineering Management []  2020-5-11 18:0

    This book will surprise many! Will Larson has done a superb job in putting this bible for success together for anyone who is leading an organization through transformation. Though it is written from the lens of IT/Engineering Management practices, the approaches, tools and tactics described can be applied in any part of the organization. For me, this book was very timely! I will be able to use the guidance immediately and see results. Glad I pre ordered it! Also, the book binding is attractive and very elegant! Thank you !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Elegant Puzzle: Systems of Engineering Management []  2020-5-11 18:0

    If you are in the software engineering field at a leadership/managerial position and looking to advance your career - this is a must read! Some of the tools and approaches descried here will be very useful on a everyday basis.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Management Information Systems: Managing the Digital Firm []  2020-11-9 19:23

    This textbook isn’t worth the price. I bought it for a college class and I used it once.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Management Information Systems: Managing the Digital Firm []  2020-11-9 19:23

    Bought this book for a class. I like that this was offered as a kindle ver because other websites only offer a web browser reading option.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Management Information Systems for the Information Age []  2021-1-5 19:30

    Reading sucks,but other than that worth the money

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Management Information Systems for the Information Age []  2021-1-5 19:30

    This is a very well written book. If you like to make databases in Access this book is surprisingly very helpful. This book also includes web websites for multiple MIS, and I found this info very valuable. There are cases that go along with the text on a website, as well as in the back of the text. I highly recommend this book, even if you are not taking the class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Management Information Systems for the Information Age []  2021-1-5 19:30

    Nice book, simple read for masters course. Some of the information, well most is out I'd date since it's from 2012

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essentials of Project and Systems Engineering Management []  2021-4-9 20:24

    it's a book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Electronic Doent Management Systems: A Portable Consultant []  2020-11-26 19:31

    This book is amazing enough that it should be updated to contain the major enterprise initiatives; e.g., ecommerce, the role of eforms in doent management, etc.. In the rapid evolution of doent automation technologies, 1995 was a very long time ago.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Management Information Systems: Managing the Digital Firm []  2020-11-9 19:23

    Perfect book. So much cheaper than the college book stores. It is a amazing primary info technology book. You can’t go wrong purchasing this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Health Care Operations Management: A Systems Perspective []  2020-1-25 0:24

    I can't tell if I dislike this book simply because of the course I had to take or because I don't feel like it pertains to me. As a healthcare provider who doesn't really deal with the business aspect of things this book was just a bore and annoying to read. Seemed awfully repetative too. I'm sure to people who are into this items it's a amazing book. As a medical student it stunk. I had to buy it for class and hope to never have to see this book ever again. With that being said it might be a important evil for education and others may have fun it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Management Information Systems for the Information Age []  2021-1-5 19:30

    If you have small experience working in or with info technology, then this is a good, primary overview. However, it's being used as an MBA text and for readers who have experience it is painfully primary and completely overlooks the chance of an audience with experience. The saving grace to it are the case studies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Management Information Systems for the Information Age []  2021-1-5 19:30

    Concepts not well explained. Very few online resources and the excel sheets referred to in textbook were nearly impossible to search online.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Elegant Puzzle: Systems of Engineering Management []  2020-5-11 18:0

    I recently completed a read of this on my Kindle, and promptly bought three physical copies to share with other leaders within my workplace. Page for page, this is the best contemporary IT management book I've read in the past year. That the author (as of this review) works at Stripe, and that the company saw fit to publish this book, is one of the best bits of endorsements for a company I've encountered in quite a e author and their editor have done a superb job of distilling a significant amount of value into a brief and accessible text. Included within are recommendations on everything from organizational design, tools to improve the act of engineering management, higher-level approaches to tackling common issues within the field, and specific methods by which you can shape an organizational culture. I was also pleasantly surprised to explore more than a token acknowledgement of the importance of creating and fostering a diverse workforce, something too easily overlooked in the tech industry. Finally, there are a wealth of extra book recommendations (thoughtfully re-listed in the appendix) to further your own learning.I have worked in management roles within the tech startup stage and in more traditional enterprise IT environments. Of the recommendations found within this book that I've personally implemented or seen in my career, I agree with the author's perspective on their value. Of the ones I haven't, this gave me the vocabulary and a framework to explain how they can address issues of which my current workplace is suffering. I look forward to trying them out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    An Elegant Puzzle: Systems of Engineering Management []  2020-5-11 18:0

    The book takes you through Will's lessons learned while managing engineering squads at hyper-growth companies.Will's systems approach to management is truly fascinating and well articulate. His experience and perspective is extremely valuable to anyone interested in management. I want I had read this book sooner!If there is one part that is perhaps missing, it is Will's thoughts on scaling smaller companies (those that are less than 8 people). Regardless, this book is a must-read for any engineer, product manager, or founder.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Enterprise Content Management with Microsoft SharePoint []  2020-12-26 19:51

    A long overdue review. This is a really amazing book for anyone from beginner to advanced. I was learning something fresh in each chapter, however my favorite was the tip the authors give about using the term shop to aid in taxonomy building. Read this book and have a better implementation next time around.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Enterprise Content Management with Microsoft SharePoint []  2020-12-26 19:51

    Thank you from Vast Array Corporation!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Enterprise Content Management with Microsoft SharePoint []  2020-12-26 19:51

    There are a host of technical books about SharePoint bells and whistles. This one is various and ought to be mandatory reading for the Microsoft channel and for those on the user side who are trying to figure out what comes next with their SharePoint implementation. Our (AIIM) research suggests that users are at an inflection point in terms of thinking about SharePoint, and are seeking to move beyond their initial file share replacement implementations and into serious governance and process. This book is a amazing hn Mancini, President, AIIM

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Enterprise Content Management with Microsoft SharePoint []  2020-12-26 19:51

    Two of the most knowledgeable experts on Enterprise Content Management took time out of their busy lives to write the definite book about meeting today's ECM challenges and applying true globe solutions to any is book is a tremendous resource for people fresh in the field and a must-have for everyone dealing with SharePoint in their organization on a everyday rmative, with lots of examples and case studies and a clear and concise structure to cover all necessary locations of ECM.Highly recommended resource!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Enterprise Content Management with Microsoft SharePoint []  2020-12-26 19:51

    One of my major gripes when you begin talking about SharePoint Governance is you typically spend the first half of the conversation trying to decide on what exactly you are talking about and then the second half talking about why it is important. This book does a really nice job of focusing in on a very specific zone within SharePoint, the content management aspect. By saying content management I am not focusing on the process for getting data into SharePoint - setting up Publishing rules, workflow, etc. (Though this book does cover some of that)Chris & Shadrach describe establishing a blueprint for when your bosses give you the green light to begin pumping data into your brand fresh SharePoint environment. Set up the mind maps to establish your info architecture, the planning of content types (with examples) for how to describe your data. I have Post-It notes on pages 100 & 111 exclusively for an incredibly helpful diagram for how to tutorial your users to describing their data to you, so that you can ultimately being developing your MMS term shop along with the appropriate terms, and ultimately content types for describing your e only knock that I could possibly give is it would be nice to see some extra examples beyond the classic Finance/Accounting Department but regardless it was a fun & simple read which I pulled a lot of amazing ideas from.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Enterprise Content Management with Microsoft SharePoint []  2020-12-26 19:51

    I wish to know how to move my company files into the "cloud" using Sharepoint, so I bought this book. I was expecting down to earth guidance on the practical ways to modernise a business electronic filing system. Instead I got page after page of condescending lecture about how nobody has every done it right except the author. I thought that a bit rich, but toiled on on the basis he must know whats he's talking about if he is this arrogant. 20% of the method into the book and still cant search the gold. Best of luck to those dear readers who toil on past 20%.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Enterprise Content Management with Microsoft SharePoint []  2020-12-26 19:51

    These guys know what they are writing about. Very simple read but covers a beautiful complex subject. Any just getting started in SharePoint would benefit greatly by reading this book. I have been working in this zone for years and still found the book very useful and full of insight that I can share with my clients. Really impressed with this production, I'll definitely recommend this to anyone who wants to setup SharePoint for real ECM. You could save your company a ton of cash and frustration by reading this book before starting your SharePoint Journey.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Enterprise Content Management with Microsoft SharePoint []  2020-12-26 19:51

    Experienced managers know that the best software pack doesn't always lead to a successful system--good planning and taking into acc cultural considerations are what effect in a amazing implementation. In fact, studies present that most SharePoint projects fail not because of the software, but because of not good M with MS SharePoint goes beyond the "how to" of configuring SharePoint and shares practical guidance on how to ensure that a system is well designed and has powerful user adoption. As a effect it has tip you can use in content management projects on platforms other than is tutorial is practical and has a amazing balance between planning, implementation, and end user adoption. Learn from the true globe experience of White and Riley and avoid costly mistakes. Obtain the most out of your content management software.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Enterprise Content Management with Microsoft SharePoint []  2020-12-26 19:51

    This book is an introduction to Enterprise Content Management (ECM) with Microsoft SharePoint 2013 with emphasis on governance. The book is well-written and simple to read but gives a slight oversimplified view of using SharePoint as ECM as I will go through. The book is not an introduction to SharePoint and assumes solid SharePoint knowledge. For instance, on page 15 is written "...the use of proper metadata in content types instead of folders allows a user to slice and dice contents on any number of combinations..." To 'fully understand sentences like that, I recommend to first read one or two other books about SharePoint before reading this one. On page 38 the authors mention that Name and Title are the only user editable metadata default fields. One of the problems in SharePoint is that you can't rename a doent when you use groups with "Contribute - without delete" permission levels, the permission level to be used in a lot of ECM systems that have to comply with a lot of regulations. The implication of this is not discussed and then, of course, neither how it can be solved. One method to work around that is to have an identity from a formal doent identification series as name for doents (and doents without a title in the title property can have their previous name copied to the SharePoint title column). Then you run into the next SharePoint issue: The SharePoint doent ID system is discussed on a single page without any tips about its limitations and how to implement multiple doent identification series that works across several website collections in a web application. In depth discussions are missing of approve workflow requirements and where SharePoint fails to help a correct formal approve process; a nasty SharePoint problem never talked about. Doent Property Promotion/Demotion with Fast Parts is never mentioned and hence there is no info at all about the problems you run into using Fast Parts. Info about find set up is minimal. It is mentioned that SharePoint 2013 supports find on PDF doents; only one other SharePoint 2013 book I have read gives that small vital piece of information. Neither in this book nor in any other book I have read is mentioned why the find results don't present the title of Word doents. Isn't the title of the doent, the author and, if used, the special doent ID what you would like to see when doing a doent find in an ECM? In summary, the authors write on page 219 "...that ECM and records management features in SharePoint are fantastic." The authors hesitations about SharePoints capabilities only appears in the section about system integrators on pages 256 and 257 and in the final thoughts on page 261: ".. it might take several topic matter experts who are familiar with different aspects of SharePoint facilitates to learn what is required for your ECM solution." That is certainly true! The second line in the introduction mentions that "When you have completed reading the book, you will have the comfort level to know how to implement ECM inside of SharePoint and to understand why you are doing so." As should be obvious from my review, I'm not convinced that this book is enough for that, but it is still a readable book with a lot of useful suggestions and well worth its price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Enterprise Content Management with Microsoft SharePoint []  2020-12-26 19:51

    This has a lot of "best practices" we've used in our EDRMS project. I refer to it often.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    System Engineering Management (Wiley Series in Systems Engineering and Management) []  2020-1-8 18:35

    Excessively verbose to the point of absurdity, flowcharts are littered like rotting corpses about the pages. Any semblance of meaning they had in life is gone. Very few examples are provided throughout the book. This is the lowest grade of needed textbook and I will attempt to return it once I'm through just so it doesn't burden my shelves with the weight of its jargon.Blanchard and Blyler need to sit down and think about what they've done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    System Engineering Management (Wiley Series in Systems Engineering and Management) []  2020-1-8 18:35

    Overly complicated, not clear, a lot of drawings and photos with info that aren't necessary. I'd say it's one of the worst texts I've ever had to use.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Medium/Heavy Duty Truck Engines, Fuel & Computerized Management Systems []  2019-12-23 20:18

    Sean Bennett is arguably one of the most knowledgeable equipment technical author/educators in North America. This edition is his best; buy it, hold it in your tool box/shelf, and be satisfied with the cash well spent. He's one of the rare guys that writes from a mechanics perspective; savvy with the most advanced technology but knows the legacy platforms as well. He knows what he's talking about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Medium/Heavy Duty Truck Engines, Fuel & Computerized Management Systems []  2019-12-23 20:18

    For the price it was worth every penny!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Project Management: A Systems Approach to Planning, Scheduling, and Controlling []  2019-12-24 19:39

    Rental amazing condition some marks and writing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Airport Systems, Second Edition: Planning, Design and Management []  2020-1-4 20:27

    this can be a Amazing book for my graduate studies, it comes in hard cover and amazing quality... perfect reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Airport Systems, Second Edition: Planning, Design and Management []  2020-1-4 20:27

    The best one

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems Design, Implementation, & Management, Loose-Leaf Version []  2020-1-31 3:11

    Am I the only one who has loved Cengage lately? Amazing book so far. If the later chapters are as detailed as the first few, then amazing!"Vocab" words are highlighted, and then a section on the side of the page has the definition too. "Large" words (eg. ubiquitous) have definitions. Amazing work Cengage!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems Design, Implementation, & Management, Loose-Leaf Version []  2020-1-31 3:11

    Perfect condition quick arrival! Thank you will definitely be back.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: A Practical Approach to Design, Implementation, and Management []  2020-1-23 2:28

    It came with a bit more wear and tear than it seemed to have advertised (which is also a bit subjective I will admit) but all in all the pieces I need to read are in decent shape so that's all that matters. Based on what I've looked over with a glance this book seems beautiful in depth so I'm excited to read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Database Systems: A Practical Approach to Design, Implementation, and Management []  2020-1-23 2:28

    I just opened my noon for the first time and the pages are literally falling out. I can’t believe the quality is so not good for the price!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Information Systems for Healthcare Management, Eighth Edition (AUPHA/HAP Book) []  2020-1-27 0:19

    Had to have it for a class but was able to supplement a lot of info with other books I already had. So if you have to buy it for a class, do - otherwise don't.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Information Systems for Healthcare Management, Eighth Edition (AUPHA/HAP Book) []  2020-1-27 0:19

    Is a very, VERY, superfitial book, that wastes pages on explain what is a computer, a keyboard and amouse. There is another chapter for explaiing how the internet works. What the book says about health it is very general and not very useful for professionals. If you considere what information this books gives you, it should cost no more than 25 bucks.I'm not from the USA and I also have to pay importing fees, so this book was a huge dissapointment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Information Systems for Healthcare Management, Eighth Edition (AUPHA/HAP Book) []  2020-1-27 0:19

    This is a text for a doctoral class. It is simple to read and understand.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386