Read crashed upon the shield reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all crashed upon the shield reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hilo Book 1: The Boy Who Crashed to Earth []  2020-1-30 21:57

    Taking Katherine Rundell's tip to heart. ⠀⠀DJ Kim is an ordinary boy living in a small, boring city where nothing ever happens. His family is full of overachievers, but he spends his days doing nothing much of note, especially ever since his best friend, Gina, moved away some years ago. His dull days come to an end, however, after Hilo — a mysterious and strong boy — falls from the sky, crash landing right into DJ's life. Hilo doesn't remember much from his life prior to the fall, but when strange, ominous things begin event around the sleepy small town, memories resurface, shedding light on his past and revealing his ultimate purpose.⠀⠀I've heard a lot of things about this series over the years, and while the premise sounded interesting, it also just didn't seem to be My Thing, you know? But then the first book showed up on Amazon's everyday Kindle for only a couple of bucks and, I thought, why not? Might as well check it out.⠀⠀I'm really glad I did. This book is just FUN. It's clever and charming and so full of heart. The characters likeable and refreshingly diverse. DJ, as a quiet and reserved child of color was immediately relatable to me, and I just wanted to see him happy. Gina is just cool and charismatic. And Hilo is the quirky, kinetic hero, in the same vein as Aang from Avatar: The Latest Airbender, which is a trope that is very hit-or-miss for me, but Winick manages to strike a nice balance between the earnest and the playful. ⠀⠀But this is still such a playful story. And the whimsical tone is carried over into the art style as well, which, to my eyes at least, is a curious mix between Calvin and Hobbes and Codename: Children Next Door. It works for me.⠀⠀In the end, I think I enjoyed this graphic novel so much because it simply reminded me of the Saturday morning cartoons of my childhood (albeit with an updated, Pixar-like sensitivity and flair). It created me feel like a child again, in the best possible, way. A light, breezy read, but after a week of somewhat intense private stuff, it's also exactly what I needed. (I've also been reading Daisy Jones and the Six, an emotionally draining book if there ever was one, so this provided a nice respite from that as well.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hilo Book 1: The Boy Who Crashed to Earth []  2020-1-30 21:57

    This series is so amazing I search myself waiting for the next book nearly as anxiously as my 7 year old son. He never tells me anything about his day at school beyond a easy "it was good", but the day Judd Winick came he was bursting with excitement and told me all about Hilo and could we please go them NOW? How could I say no? I was so glad we did, they are super well written and illustrated with the excellent combination of laugh out loud hilarity interspersed with tender moments and crazy adventures. We love Hilo and recommend the series wholeheartedly!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hilo Book 1: The Boy Who Crashed to Earth []  2020-1-30 21:57

    This is my favorite book in the WORLD! My favorite part was probably when they first meet Hilo.I think Hilo is HELLAREUS! my favorite charter is HILO. I have NEVER seen a charter so special as Hilo. if I could I would give this a 9,000 star for this book it. It's also been very amazing reading this book while healing my leg on the coach. This is why I suggest Hilo as a amazing book.

    0  


    Add your opinion on crashed upon the shield or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hilo Book 1: The Boy Who Crashed to Earth []  2020-1-30 21:57

    This is a GREAT ’s a comic book. It’s a super(hero) fun story. It’s got diverse characters. It has children dealing with emotions without violence! It has mates saving mates from evil alien robots and going to school and cheerleading practice and having meals together. It has humor. My children think it’s funny. I think it’s funny!I got it for oldest sons birthday. He read part of it before bedtime and FINISHED IT the next morning. THEN he started reading it AGAIN to his small brother during our morning commute. This NEVER happens. Then his younger brother decided to hold the book at camp to read some , if you’re looking for something new for your 5 to 8 year old kid... no... that’s not right. I’m hoping this book comes home from camp, because I wish to [email protected]#$%!. ME. I AM ENJOYING THIS BOOK - THE PARENT!So there you have it friends. My Amazon 5 star review. I highly recommend Hilo. #GetReading

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hilo Book 1: The Boy Who Crashed to Earth []  2020-1-30 21:57

    Amazing storyline and awesome art. My 4 year old sits on the couch pouring through this book over and over again. He now wants to read and is recognizing some of the smaller words. He likes to have his 7 year old sister (who loves it also) read it to him. The content is exciting without being scary. The Jaguars and concepts are good. I have bought a lot of other copies as bonuses for their friends. It's "outstanding" as holiday says.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hilo Book 1: The Boy Who Crashed to Earth []  2020-1-30 21:57

    My daughter really loves this book series, and she tends to be picky and somewhat of a reluctant reader! She read this beginning in third grade and has since read the next 2 books in the series! She has read it more than once, and even loaned it to her mate who also liked it even though she usually likes regular novels. Boys and girls would love this storyline! Highly recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hilo Book 1: The Boy Who Crashed to Earth []  2020-1-30 21:57

    Judd Winick is BRILLIANT!!!! I am an old fan of Bloom County and Calvin and Hobbes. Mr. Winick lists both as influences, and it shines through. He captures the expressiveness and dynamism of both cartoon series in his illustration. Mr. Winick also captures the wacky sense of humor and excellent comic timing. Our son loves this series, but so do Mom and Dad! It's so well-written and fun. I also appreciated Mr. Winick making DJ (one of the main characters) Asian American. I'm not sure whether his latest name (Lim) is meant to be Korean or Chinese (it can be either), but it's rare to see a leading Asian American child as a lead hero in a kids' book. I also love that DJ is searching for a sense of self, a sense of value, surrounded as he is by a bunch of over-achieving (if funny) siblings. The book's other major hero is Gina, an African American girl, who is wicked smart, but forced into cheerleading by her mother. The book thoughtfully but unobtrusively introduces ideas of diversity, friendship, loyalty, and character. LOVE IT!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hilo Book 1: The Boy Who Crashed to Earth []  2020-1-30 21:57

    My 5 and 4 year old boys love this graphic novel! My boys are into comic books and superheroes so my husband decided to obtain them this to see if they will like it. As soon as my boys got them, they couldn't stop looking at it. My 5 year old started reading and for him to see some simple words on Hilo, he is able to test and read them aloud. I love seeing how excited they were with this book!It's a amazing book for both boys and girls! They story is nice and funny! We like all the characters also. We enjoyed reading this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hilo Book 1: The Boy Who Crashed to Earth []  2020-1-30 21:57

    So much heart! My 5 and 7 year olds have read this twice in a row. A first for our family - starting a book over the moment you’ve finished. Thank goodness there are more in the series! Thanks Judd Winnick for a grand slam for young readers!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hilo Book 1: The Boy Who Crashed to Earth []  2020-1-30 21:57

    My kindergartner LOVES Hilo! We have read about a chapter per night and he can't obtain enough. We've actually purchased the entire series for him because he loves it so much. It's not scary, but it has some age-appropriate intensity. This is a unbelievable short graphic novel that makes my child work at his reading so he doesn't have to wait for bedtime to search out what's next. The huge themes from the book are bravery, teamwork, encouraging friends, self-confidence, and adventure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dance Upon the Shore []  2020-1-23 3:35

    I own three of Maggie Sansone's CD's...I like them all...my favorite of the three is Celtic Meditations. I like this one a lot too, although "Meditations" has a lot more songs (24 tracks.) This one features about three songs that are also on "Meditations." Bottom line, if you like dulcimer melody and/or celtic music, this one is really good!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dance Upon the Shore []  2020-1-23 3:35

    What a treat to hear the sweet tones Sansone lures from her hammered dulcimer. This is melody to contemplate by or to read along with or just to sit and absorb the soothing sounds of Sansone and her friends. You'll hear flute, fiddle and accordian blending in to strengthen the sound.Absolutely a delight for any acoustic melody fan and particularly for those who love celtic music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghosts Upon the Road []  2020-7-18 19:42

    This melody defines part of my lifetime. I was so satisfied to keep it from the seller quickly, in unbelievable condition, all with an e-mail from the seller as well...a school teacher like me! It is really helpful to know that used stuff will be quality purchases!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghosts Upon the Road []  2020-7-18 19:42

    It's not 'Blue River', but it's worthwhile for fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghosts Upon the Road []  2020-7-18 19:42

    This album--sorry, showing my age--cd release is simply excellent. Andersen's lyrics and melody are in top form. There's songs of his that may be better known from the folk days, but this 1988 collection is Andersen in complete control of his muse. His European connections, Boston and Fresh York experiences, and a memorable cast of characters (and references) create for an autobiographical and literate collection. At over ten minutes, the sustained narrative of the title track "Ghosts Upon the Road" would be a classic on any cd, but the rest of the material like the lovely "Irish Lace" (about two women from Andersen's past) and "Spanish Steps" (a Fresh York reflection on happenings and emotions in Rome), although of more standard length, are just as is isn't background music; it demands and deserves attention. John Levanthal shares credits on two cuts, but this is Andersen at his best.I've been waiting for this re-release for a long time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dance Upon the Shore []  2020-1-23 3:35

    Maggie Sansone transported us back to ancient celtic times in "Mist and Stone" (another 5 star recording) with a thoroughly riveting traditional performance; but in "Dance Upon the Shore," her arrangements are planted firmly in the show while the soul of her melody is drawn deeply from the past. The melody is at once thoughtful, yet light; running the gamut of emotions from meditative to e melody will capture you immediately. When I started the CD, my active 9-year-old daughter stopped in mid-bounce and said,"Wow, that's nice! What is that, Dad?" and proceeded to listen to the entire CD three or four times straight through. I did too. It is just that good."Dance Upon the Shore" and "Mist and Stone" are Sansone at her best, and you do yourself a disfavor if you don't have them both.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghosts Upon the Road []  2020-7-18 19:42

    I have only listened to the mp3 samples given here, so I cannot claim to know the album, but the impression I obtain is that it is sort of warmed over Eric Anderson and not up to his early albums, especially Blue River and the brown album with Time like a Freight Train. But it is a nice set of his songs, and I like him personally. I saw him in person when he was still young a long time ago at a student coffee house in Minneapolis. So, I approve, but I want he were up to his older work. If you like him you might like the solo albums by Nick Keir, a Scottish singer, now deceased, who wrote in the same genre and was quite amazing when he was good. But don't don't be discouraged by my impressions, Eric is still a amazing songwriter and singer, a voice from the sixties, I guess.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghosts Upon the Road []  2020-7-18 19:42

    IMHO, one of the greatest collection of songs ....EVER !!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dance Upon the Shore []  2020-1-23 3:35

    The melody is gently mystical and it flows nicely. This has been my favorite album of Maggie Sansone's for over 20 years. I especially love to listen to it when I am reading books by Stephen Lawhead like the Pendragon Cycle or other celtic-based stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghosts Upon the Road []  2020-7-18 19:42

    excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghosts Upon the Road []  2020-7-18 19:42

    I first heard some of the material on this album when Eric Andersen appeared at the now defunct Folkways Coffee House in Peterborough, Fresh Hampshire on Thanksgiving eve in 1992. Andersen is the true thing, a super talent who writes, composes, and performs mostly his own material. That night his rendition of a number of the songs here, including "Belgian Bar" "Spanish Steps", and "Irish Lace" brought oohs and ahs from the crowd. Yet his confessional retrospective by method of the truly magical "Ghosts Upon The Road' blew us all away, bringing chills, cheers, and a standing ovation from the hundred or so members of the audience, who were moved by his graphic, emotional, and deeply private evopcations of life early on in the folk years at the beginning of the 1960s.Andersen has long been a private favorite of mine, and is even better in person than on CD, which is no mean feat. Herein, from the opening bars of "Carry Me Away" to Six Senses of Darkness", he gives fresh credence to the idea that true talent can continue to grow and mature litteraly over decades and decades. Like James Taylor or Van Morrison, Andersen's melody is based on timeless melodies and lyrics, but unlike these other superstars, he imbues his songs with a gritty edge that reveal his insight into the nature of things. Most of the songs in this CD are written by Andersen, and the range of his writing and composition talent is apparent. His voice is at once sweet, mellow, and smoky, and his ability and arrangements based around his sparkling acoustic guitar work is marvelous to listen to again. Buy this album, listen to it, and be prepared to be entertained and amazed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghosts Upon the Road []  2020-7-18 19:42

    This is a magic album. I remember the first present on the international tour to promote this album. It was at the BackStage in a huge cellar in the Ballard section of Seattle Washington. I remembered Eric Andersen from his "Thirsty Boots" period in the 1960s. I remember seeing him playing with Debbie Green at meetings of the Philadelphia Folksong Society. The night in Seattle was thrilling; not only was Eric awesome but I vididly remember Ian Matthews (Matthews' Southern Comfort?) in the audience, leading versus the wall up front by Eric watching his every move.I can place on this album, close my eyes and see the club. That's what this melody is all about. Eric's photos are so amazingly vivid. Don't miss this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghosts Upon the Road []  2020-7-18 19:42

    This is one of the most rare albums of Eric Andersen and, at the same time, a "must" for any fans. This is real poetry immersed in unbelievable melodies. The second half of the eighties witnessedthe amazing return of this very talented artist. All these songs are worthy to be listened to both for the lyrics and for the music. If you have the opportunity, I suggest you to attend one of Eric concerts; I personally think that this is an awesome experience and if you are lucky you may hear him playing some of the songs from this album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ghosts Upon the Road []  2020-7-18 19:42

    Another fine singer/songwriter recording from one of the best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Stars Upon the Bridge []  2020-1-31 9:48

    A unbelievable all star tribute to aleah. I had to own this, the story of Trees of Eternity, how it intersects with Swallow the Sun and Amorphis makes this a fitting excellent tribute. My favorite song is Severed Eyes, and Tomi’s thundering vocals through out the album are excellent. He is a very versatile vocalist.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Stars Upon the Bridge []  2020-1-31 9:48

    Simply awesome and beautiful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Stars Upon the Bridge []  2020-1-31 9:48

    This album encapsulates Aleah's poetry with melody written by her partner, Juha Raivio, following her untimely death, in the heaviest of ways. One call feel the sorrow in each piece, it is a real testament to losing a loved one. "Melt" is my favorite, very hard hitting and emotional, followed by "My Mistake," featuring Heike Langhans. The ending song, "Dreams Burn Down" actually features Aleah and serves as a sort of break in the darkness, though it still leaves one with a tragic sense of loss. Doom at its best. Definitely an emotional listen, but one well worth it. Tomi and Gas amazing musicianship, just a really amazing album....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Stars Upon the Bridge []  2020-1-31 9:48

    Swallow the Sun, Hallatar...this man's mind. Aleah...Trees of Eternity. Her words, her visions, her passion. She would be proud of this and you will be thankful you own it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    No Stars Upon the Bridge []  2020-1-31 9:48

    Fantastic!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind the Shield Mobile [App]  2019-12-14 13:40

    I obtain going warner bros studio

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Behind the Shield Mobile [App]  2019-12-14 13:40

    The application always crashes when trying to access the studio map. This application can't do literally the one thing it's supposed to be most useful for.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    He Crashed Me So I Crashed Him Back: The True Story of the Year the King, Jaws, Earnhardt, and the Rest of NASCAR's Feudin', Fightin' Good Ol' Boys Put Stock Car Racing on the Map []  2020-1-18 19:19

    bought as a Christmas bonus for a large NASCAR fan and they love it. Seems to have a lot of information and amazing stories in it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    He Crashed Me So I Crashed Him Back: The True Story of the Year the King, Jaws, Earnhardt, and the Rest of NASCAR's Feudin', Fightin' Good Ol' Boys Put Stock Car Racing on the Map []  2020-1-18 19:19

    Bechtel has written what a I view is one of the top books ever written about NASCAR. A lot of not good ones have been published, and only a few are not only amazing - but also stand the try of time. This book is definitely a must read today - and I believe it'll keep up in the long run. Bechtel does a amazing job telling stories that haven't been told before or haven't been in massive circulation. I've followed NASCAR and the Pettys since the mid 1970s. And this book is full of all kinds of trivia nuggets about them I never knew. He also does a nice job of weaving in American society, economy, and politics of the late 70s/early 80s era into the book - and paints a picture of how they affected NASCAR. I only noticed one known factual error in the book. He says Cale Yarborough's Olds in the 1979 Daytona 500 was sponsored by Holly Farms Chicken (pg 116). Of course, its commonly known the #11 was sponsored by Busch beer in 1979-80. Beyond that though, the stories were fresh, well told, and well documented. Bechtel also does a amazing job distancing himself and the reader from inferring too much from interviews with drivers, owners, and promoters. Frequently, he interviewed more than one source for a story. Not surprisingly, he got multiple versions of a story from everyone who supposedly had a first-hand encounter with the story. All in all, a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    He Crashed Me So I Crashed Him Back: The True Story of the Year the King, Jaws, Earnhardt, and the Rest of NASCAR's Feudin', Fightin' Good Ol' Boys Put Stock Car Racing on the Map []  2020-1-18 19:19

    For fresh comers to NASCAR ( like me ) this is a Must Read Book .So much information presented in a non encyclopaedic method , I found it entertaining and educational .Reading about that year , I would like to turn back time and go watch the races and read the sports reviews .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One on the Ground: The Story of One Family Before, During, and After Continental Flight 3407 Crashed into their Home []  2020-1-7 18:52

    I am not sure I can write anything. My heart and mind are so consumed with love for Karen, Doug and their daughters and all the people who came together to help them, to remember Doug and to war for air travel safety. Thank you for sharing your story and your strength, the kind of strength that is found only through vulnerability.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One on the Ground: The Story of One Family Before, During, and After Continental Flight 3407 Crashed into their Home []  2020-1-7 18:52

    This book is a stomach churning, heart pounding, riveting story that makes you feel all the emotions and pain this author and her family has been through. I couldn't place it down because in 1972 a little plane crashed into 2 houses in Cheektowaga, NY where 6 people lost their lives. It brought all those memories back and Karen Wielinski told her story so passionately.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    He Crashed Me So I Crashed Him Back: The True Story of the Year the King, Jaws, Earnhardt, and the Rest of NASCAR's Feudin', Fightin' Good Ol' Boys Put Stock Car Racing on the Map []  2020-1-18 19:19

    Back when stock racing still resembled stock cars, and little squads still had at least an outside chance. The amazing old days indeed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Shield and the Sword []  2020-2-4 23:25

    Bradford’s work is an perfect primer on the history of the Sovereign Military and Hospitaller Order of St. John of Jerusalem, of Rhodes, and of Malta. It is concise, well-written, well-researched with a lot of quotes from other histories of the Order, engaging, simple to read and never boring (as a lot of older works of history often tend to be), and neither hagiographic nor disparaging. I want the author was still alive to write more such works. Requiescat in pace.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Shield and the Sword []  2020-2-4 23:25

    Bradford is a amazing writer. I devoured his book on the siege of Malta, and really enjoyed this history as well. He is for the most part very objective and his style is enjoyable and detailed. I think I liked his book "The Amazing Siege" better, but as a lover of Hospitaller history, this comes in close second.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sword and the Shield []  2020-1-19 23:27

    My first encounter with the KGB (Комитет государственной безопасности, or Committee for State Security) came a few days after we arrived in the Soviet Union. As a naval attaché, whose duty was to collect intelligence about the Soviet armed forces, the Red Fleet in particular, I was the target of surveillance whenever I left the embassy, particularly when we traveled around the USSR in the course of our duties. Although they never did anything to us that was even close to what they were capable of doing, I always had the most sincere respect for this large organization. I expect everyone has a picture of the KGB, but the book I have just read filled in the picture for me—tremendously. Christopher Andrew wrote this book, based upon large cases of KGB archives carefully gathered by Vasili Mitrokhin, from 1972 to his retirement in 1984. Mitrokhin was born in Yurasovo, (Ryazanskaya Oblast’) central Russia (140 miles SE of Moscow) in 1922. He began work as a foreign intelligence officer for the MGB (Ministry of State Security) in 1948. The MGB later became the KGB (Committee for State Security). He was actively involved in all the secret activity in an organization answering to the demands of the General Secretary, Josef Stalin. He was ordered to investigate “The Doctors’ Plot” in January, 1953. This “plot” was a manufactured anti-semitic scheme versus Zionists. Then, Stalin died in March of 1953, and that began a war to see who would replace him. Nikita Khrushchev was one of the contenders, and so was Lavrenty Beria, long-term head of the KGB. Mitrokhin was on hand to watch all the manipulation behind the scenes as Beria fell from grace and became “an opponent of the people”, executed in December of 1953. As the years rolled on Mitrokhin traveled outside the USSR enough to learn about the outside world, and to hear what that globe was saying about his country. He was also a reader of Russian literature, and admired the Kirov ballet in Leningrad. When he heard about how the KGB sent agents to maim a ballet star who had defected to the west, he was starting to obtain disillusioned with all that was event around him. About that time, in 1956, Khrushchev created his popular speech discrediting Stalin and blaming him for the country’s failings. The KGB transferred Mitrokhin from his intelligence collection duties to those of handling the KGB Archives. Mitrokhin then was in position to see every secret, every notice that was sent to be filed in the archives. He was able to read the messages and reports all the method back to the days of the Cheka, after the Revolution in 1918. And he was able to read the top secret files of Lenin and all that he did when thousands of Russians were being exterminated. His documents revealed torture like in Kharkov when prisoners’ skin was slowly peeled from their hands to create “gloves”, in Veronezh prisoners were rolled around in barrels studded with nails, in Poltava, priests were impaled, and in Odessa White officers were strapped to boards and fed into a furnace. In Kiev, prisoners had cages with rats in them strapped to their bodies; the cages were heated and the rats ate into the prisoners’ intestines. Mitrokhin’s archives clarify the fact that the terrors attributed to “Stalinism” began with Lenin: The infallible leader, the one-party state, the ubiquitous security service, and the ring of concentration camps and prisons to terrorize opponents. In the years of Lenin and Stalin western countries had small or no intelligence collection organizations, and certainly no “active measures”, but the Soviets always thought they were doing the same things they were. There were always campaigns to discredit and disown different long-term supporters and helpers. The long-running campaign to track down Trotsky and all his supporters, ended with his assassination in Mexico in 1940. Mitrokhin’s picture of Yuri Andropov began when he was Soviet Ambassador to Hungary. Andropov brutally suppressed the 1956 uprising, with hangings and shootings. The Hungarians today remember him as “The Butcher of Budapest”. Andropov went on to become head of the KGB until 1982, when, upon the death of General Secretary Leonid Brezhnev, he took his place. President Vladimir Putin in 2004, on the 90th anniversary of Andropov’s birth, dedicated a fresh intelligence school to his old boss, Andropov. He also began several scholarships for students wanting to train in the intelligence field in the name of Andropov. Mitrokhin was stationed in East Germany during the “Prague Spring” of 1968, when the Soviets forcefully suppressed an anti-communist uprising in Czechoslovakia, and he saw how brutally the USSR reacted to that, and he read all the plans for further actions, if needed. Bit by bit, he was growing more disillusioned with his country. In 1972, part of the KGB was transferred from the Lubyanka Prison in Dzerzhinsky Square to Yasenovo, southeast of the Kremlin, out beyond the Ring Road. By this time Mitrokhin found himself “a loner”, seeing the plight of dissidents, hearing more foreign news broadcasts, and exposed to the whole secret history of this communist state. Operating from offices in both Lubyanka and Yasenovo, he was able to handle hundreds of thousands of documents, and he began to memorize some and then go home and transcribe them. Then, when he saw that was too slow, he would create notes and crumple them up and throw them in the basket to be destroyed at the end of the day—but he would conceal them in his shoes and take them home. Mitrokhin had a dacha outside of Moscow and he took the documents there and kept them in an old butter churn, which he concealed beneath the floorboards. As time went on, and no one seemed to attention, he began to bring out more and more documents. He concealed them all under the floorboards of his dacha. Finally, in 1984, he retired, but he still didn’t know what he was going to do with all these documents. Finally, in 1991, Mitrokhin traveled to Riga, Latvia and went to the American Embassy there, showing some of his documents to CIA officers. They did not believe he was credible and turned him away. He then went to the British Embassy in Riga, and there a young diplomat listened and looked, and began the process of welcoming him to the West. A month later MI6 agents in Moscow retrieved the 25,000 documents Mitrokhin had stashed under the dacha, and shortly later he and his family arrived in Riga, Latvia, en route the United Kingdom and their fresh home. Over the decades since the Russian Revolution, different writers have detailed the grisly info of the running of the fresh Soviet Union. Our different intelligence collection services have added to this picture. The documents Mitrokhin provided confirmed suppositions and suspicions in thousands of various cases, they filled a lot of gaps, and as our FBI later said, this was “the most complete and extensive intelligence ever received from any source". The files confirmed what we had known about the leaders of the Soviet Union. Stalin was a brutal, heartless villain who was so suspicious that he would not believe his own intelligence reports. The Soviets went to amazing efforts to gather spies in the West; bright, well-educated men and women from the best families and best colleges could not wait to be a part of the dream of a Communist state. These men, like the “Cambridge Five” of Kim Philby, Donald Duart Maclean, Guy Burgess, Anthony Blunt and John Cairncross, are all identified with their secret KGB work-names. These men earned positions in His Majesty’s government during Globe Battle II, and passed loads of intelligence to their KGB handlers. Much of what they provided was not used, as was crucial intelligence provided the Soviets from other sources, because Stalin would not believe that it was valid. His psychotically suspicious nature insulated him from some of the most valuable intelligence, including the warnings that Hitler was planning to turn on his so-called “ally” in the Molotov-Ribbentrop Pact and attack the USSR. Kim Philby’s story was particularly poignant. After a life as a Soviet spy, stealing secrets from the British and Americans, while posted in different countries for the U.K., he finally defected to the USSR, and turned into a hopeless drunk in Moscow. He recovered from that somewhat to conduct seminars to prepare young Russians for learning to adapt to English society, and finally died in Moscow in 1988, a sad, lonely life. According to these KGB records, an agent could be honest, hard-working and loyal, and if his super paranoid superiors woke up on the wrong side of the bed, he could be stripped of his assignment, sent to prison, or to a camp in Siberia, or simply shot. When people up and down the chain of command were denouncing each other, you might feel the need to denounce someone yourself, pre-emptively. It might save you, or you could obtain killed anyway. One of the most remarkable pieces in Sword and Shield was the unveiling of Melita Norwood, who at time of publication of this book in 1999, was 87 years old. She had fallen in love with the idea of Communism and the Workers’ Paradise in the 1930s, and became a Soviet spy in 1937. She got a job in a defense plant, and passed secret info to her handlers all during the battle and into the Cold War. When she wasn’t spying, she carried signs to “Ban the Bomb”, opposing Trident submarines in the Royal and U.S. Navies, and handed out the Communist “Morning Star” in her neighborhood of Bexleyheath. According to the Mitrokhin archives, half the USSR’s weapons are based upon U.S. designs; the KGB tapped Secretary of State Henry Kissinger’s phone, and they had spies in put in almost all U.S. defense contractor facilities. Salvador Allende of Chile provided political intelligence to the USSR, and reorganized his own intelligence organization along lines suggested by the KGB. KGB financial help probably played a decisive role in Allende’s win in 1970, according to author Christopher Andrew. As the Cold Battle began, revelations in the United States showed America that the Soviet Union was on the march to defeat the world. It was a fearsome photo as the Soviets threatened to place all of Europe under the communist yoke. Communists were everywhere in France, and the United Kingdom, under Conservative rule all during Globe Battle II, suddenly swerved left with a Labour government, and plans to nationalize major industries. America’s firm grasp of military supremacy with the atom bomb was slipping, as spies who had stolen American atomic bomb secrets started to emerge. There was Klaus Fuchs, and Alger Hiss, and then Julius and Ethel Rosenberg. Just at this time, 1950, a little-known Republican Senator from Wisconsin began to create headlines with his call for investigations. Joseph R. McCarthy claimed there were hundreds of communists in the State Department. Americans began to see communists everywhere. In 1951 President Truman said that Sen. McCarthy was the Kremlin’s No. 1 asset in the United States, and according to the authors, that turned out to be true. It took a while for Moscow Center to understand what was event with the McCarthy Red Scare, but as they did, they began to strengthen their efforts to build up their illegal presence in the U.S. In 1957 Rudolf Abel was caught and convicted of spying for the KGB in America and sentenced to 30 years. However, in 1962 he was freed in a prisoner exchange with the captured U-2 Pilot, Francis Gary Powers, in a dramatic exchange in West Berlin at the Glienecker Bridge. The KGB and their Cuban counterparts supported the Sandinista movement in Nicaragua, blackmailed different western politicians, spread false info regarding the Kennedy assassination, attempted to incriminate E. Howard Hunt with Lee Harvey Oswald, spread rumors that FBI Director J. Edgar Hoover was a homosexual, and attempted to discredit Martin Luther King, Jr. by placing publications portraying him as an “Uncle Tom”, receiving government subsidies. They stirred up racial tension in the U.S. by mailing bogus letters from the Ku Klux Klan, placing an explosive pack in “the Negro section of Fresh York (Operation Pandora)” and by spreading conspiracy theories that M.L. King Jr.’s assassination had been planned by the U.S. government. The KGB and their Rumanian counterpart established close ties with PLO leader Yassir Arafat, providing and secret training for PLO guerrillas. Most arms supplied to the Palestinians were handled through Wadie Haddad of the PFLP, who stayed in a KGB dacha during his visits to Moscow. Haddad and Carlos the Jackal organized the 1975 attack on the OPEC Conference in Vienna, and Haddad organized the highjacking in Entebbe in 1976, as well as several other PLO highjackings. This book illustrated over and over how people in the west have been taken in by the allure of “the dictatorship of the proletariat”, “the Workers’ Paradise”, or the glorious idea of Communism. Some gave up everything to join the cause, even spying for the USSR, and dying for it. The KGB was absolutely essential to the totalitarian nation that was the Soviet Union, to protect it, and to terrorize its citizens and anyone who came too near. Could modern Russia return to the ways of the Soviet Union? Time will tell.-end-

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sword and the Shield []  2020-1-19 23:27

    This is an perfect review of KGB actions from its beginning to the 1990s. A lot of surprises. It's thoroughness makes it a long read. If you are interested in the topic matter, I recommend it. If you are just looking for entertainment, then I would pass. Of course, it was likely reviewed and edited by MI-6 and the CIA, but, considering the lives of our assets are involved, that is only fair. And, in fairness to the classified reviewers/editors, they did leave in material that is embarressing for both agencies. For as close a look as the public can get, it is a classic worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bread Upon the Waters: A Novel [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    I bought this book because I remember it from my parent's library growing up. I have to say it is worthy read. It always amazes me how much more substantive was the writing from a few decades ago. The story is rich and the characters riveting. It is such a pleasure to read something that has not been dumbed down as the more contemporary books. Highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bread Upon the Waters: A Novel [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    I have read Mr Shaws Rich Man books and very much enjoyed the. But I was not prepared to be captivated as I was by this book. I strongly recommend this to anyone who enjoys a story and characters who you really care about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Upon the Throne of Apocalypse (Reissue) []  2020-1-18 23:22

    this remastered cd sounds awesome . I always liked Mortal Throne but Upon The Throne sounds more cavernous and evil ...a excellent companion piece to Onward To Golgotha . The rough production makes it grimy ( kind of like an old Mortician album ) and the fresh remaster job lets you hear the nuances in Craig's assassin vocals , while bringing more clarity to the drums and guitars . Don't sleep on this limited edition release !!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Upon the Throne of Apocalypse (Reissue) []  2020-1-18 23:22

    For those of you who have never heard this, basically it is the Mortal Throne of the Nazarene cd, but the tracks are reversed and the mix is rough before the final editing. Personally, this one sounds better than the original because the guitars are completely separated into channels and fully audible. The double [email protected]#$%!&s harder and the drums sound tighter. If you can search this one, obtain this FIRST over MTOTN. Trust me, the high mark is worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Casting Your Care Upon The Lord []  2020-2-4 17:26

    This book tells the naked truth.I know it's hard to believe but you can not if you don't lieving is the only method to please GOD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts upon the African Slave Trade []  2020-7-28 19:39

    This ver must have been scanned from an original pamphlet and turned into text by a computer because it has so a lot of errors it is barely understandable. For example the letter s is often rendered as f or t or (. Some letters are rendered as numbers or symbols, and letters are missing making it guesswork to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts upon the African Slave Trade []  2020-7-28 19:39

    It is nearly impossible to read because the type is from that day and one has to translate continually. Editors should modernize the typeface to spell words people can read today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sword and the Shield []  2020-1-19 23:27

    I did have fun reading ,"The Sword And The Shield," I had read," American Betrayal" by Diana West and decided to read some of her sources. I was interested in the fact Roosevelt had took Harry Hopkins to Tehran instead of his Secretary of State, Cordell Hull. Harry Hopkins lived in the White House for three years and six months. He slept in the Lincoln bedroom and was FDR's closest advisor. An unelected man, living in the White House, seems very strange. Anyway, Christopher Andrew writes, Hopkins had established a remarkable reputation in Moscow for taking the Russians into his confidence. Earlier in the year he had privately warned the Soviet embassy in Washington that the FBI had bugged a secret meeting at which Zarubin ( apparently identified by Hopkins only as a member of the embassy) had passed to Steve Nelson, a leading member of the US Communist underground. KGB agents boasted that he (Hopkins) had been a Soviet Agent but Mitrokhin denies that Hopkins was an agent, after reading six or more books concerning communists in FDR's administration, I believe Hopkins was the most impotant Agent/Mole/FellowTraveler,Communist, it makes no difference what we call him, he was the most destructive of them all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sword and the Shield []  2020-1-19 23:27

    While western intelligences agencies have been rife with traitors and turncoats only too anxious to publish their stories, the Russians always seemed to hold their secrets well buried far behind the Iron Curtain. While spilling the beans in the west can lead to publishing profits, in Russia it leads to a fast and nasty death. Nevertheless Vasili Mitrokhin risked just that to spend years making secretive notes deep within the library of the Russian intel archives. A lot of years later the British SIS exfiltrated Mitrokhin along with five filing cabinets of notes (the American CIA was first but strangely said no). With Christopher Andrew, the former KGB officer wrote the first of this wonderful Russian intel service history from those notes. It is all here from the early days of the Cheka under Lenin, to the Stalin era to the modern day - a long awaited and revealing look into the actions and the mindset of the Russian and Soviet spymasters. Wow! Were these guys paranoid! The belief that you are constantly under attack breeds a very capable, determined and ruthless intelligence service. Amazingly, its efforts overt he decades since the revolution were aimed as much at the Soviet population as the true and imagined opponents abroad. There are a lot of shocking revelations in this amazing read - surprising a lot of did not create headlines in the west when the book was published. It can be massive (detailed) reading, but for the spy enthusiast to the student of globe espionage the book is a must read and must have.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sword and the Shield []  2020-1-19 23:27

    The Sword and the Shield is at times gripping, at times dry, and at times humorous... but always interesting.Andrew wends his method through the history of Soviet spycraft in chronological order, from the days of the revolutionary Cheka to the (almost) modern day. Every step of the method is fascinating and eye-opening from a historical perspective, especially if you -- like me -- wrongly assumed that actual Soviet cloak-and-dagger espionage in the U.S. was limited and rare.But if The Sword and the Shield reveals that Soviet espionage on U.S. soil was much more common that most people believe, it also reveals that the reality is a lot less romantic and more prosaic than you might have imagined. Interesting characters and motivations are few and far between -- most of the spies we encounter work for money, youthful beliefs, or simply as a career. And while there are dead drops, seductions, secret meetings, and assassinations, most of the secret operations (even the really huge ones) amount to patiently cultivating friendships and maybe asking for the occasional innocent-sounding favor.And therein lies both the strength and the weakness of Andrew's book. The constant conspiracies of the espionage trade eventually become repetitive, as repetitive as they must have to the hapless Soviet operatives tasked with chasing down imaginary American conspiracies for the hundredth time.If you wish to know what Soviet espionage was really like, warts and all, this book is an eye-opening, fascinating, invaluable read. If you're looking for salacious info and thrilling developments, you might search yourself bailing out after a couple chapters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Shield and the Sword []  2020-2-4 23:25

    This is a complicated compilation of the of the Knights Hospitaller of St. John of Jerusalem of Rhodes and of Malta from its origin in the eleventh century to close to the show day. It is very informative of the beginnings, in the year 1096, of the religious conflict between the crusaders of the Christian faith and people of the Moslem faith in the Mediterranean Sea region.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Shield and the Sword []  2020-2-4 23:25

    Very well written and entertaining to an historian like myself. I don't often search books this well spoken. In view of what is going on in Europe with West vs. Middle East, I wanted some more historical background. Now, I am planning a trip to Rhodes, Cyprus and Malta, mostly because of this book. He also wrote one about the German air siege in WW II that I found very amazing as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One on the Ground: The Story of One Family Before, During, and After Continental Flight 3407 Crashed into their Home []  2020-1-7 18:52

    An incredibly well-written acc of survival amidst an unfathomable tragedy. Karen Wielinski exemplifies strength and resilience during and after the crash of Flight 3407 into HER HOME; injuring Karen and her daughter, and killing her husband. A tragic love story.I found inspiration in Karen's strength, composure, and perseverance, despite extreme loss, grief, and daunting obstacles. She is truly an awesome woman!Hard to place down, and simple to read (even for me, who [ashamedly] tends to read articles and papers, rather than books).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    One on the Ground: The Story of One Family Before, During, and After Continental Flight 3407 Crashed into their Home []  2020-1-7 18:52

    This is an awesome story written by a terrific writer. I could understand exactly what she was feeling during all her trauma and the aftermath. Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bread Upon the Waters: A Novel [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    I doubt,despite perfect writing, that this book will resonate with anyone under the age of forty. Be that as it may, it is mandatory reading for any family man who conceives of himself as the head of his is is the story of a seemingly well balanced family that becomes the beneficiary of a grateful, wealthy and poweful persona who lavishes unselfish bonuses of money, and influence that disrupt the illusion of a harmonious e stress of fresh found wealth and opportunity causes the family to shatter along unseen, but pre-existing, emotional and intellectual fault one can aborb this novel without becoming the wiser for it-all without paying a for it beyond the cost of the victory Shaw is a genius at understanding life as it is lived by ordinary folks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bread Upon the Waters: A Novel [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    An perfect story of two families, a satisfied middle class family and a dysfunctional but very rich family, who attempt to blend together through an accidental meeting that creates a powerful friendship between them.A friendship that creates unexpected issues for all of them.Every hero in the book is well defined and an interesting contribution to the ere are no dull parts in this is totally enjoyable from the first page to the last. I want the story had been twice as long as it is. Irwin Shaw is definitely a master story teller.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bread Upon the Waters: A Novel [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    I'd never read Irwin Shaw. I had, of course, heard of most of the movies, and some of the plays, he' written. But for some reason, never read. How unbelievable to explore a treasure trove of writing, brand new, because like someone said, "If you have never read it, it's new." Bread Upon The Waters gave me everything I wish in a book. Never predictable, there was something around each corner fulfilling, or fun, or evoking some kind of emotion. I loved the family, the stranger who came into their lives and changed them forever, and enjoyed all the peripheral characters who rounded out this splendid tale. It's rare one can actually PROMISE a amazing read. This is one of those times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Upon the Throne of Apocalypse (Reissue) []  2020-1-18 23:22

    this is far there most brutal release i'm sure glad i got a copy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Casting Your Care Upon The Lord []  2020-2-4 17:26

    So thankful I push that clock now button. This has been something I haven been working on and Brother Hagins experiences have stretched me to know I CAN cast those cares, worries, etc.over to Him.Absolutely amazing. Love the Word of God. I am a hearer and A DOER!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Casting Your Care Upon The Lord []  2020-2-4 17:26

    Thank God for the life and teaching ministry of Kenneth Hagin. He had a amazing bonus of putting the Word of God into practice and helping others do the same!!.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Casting Your Care Upon The Lord []  2020-2-4 17:26

    I read this book when my 13 year old son was chronically ill, my 11 year old daughter was placed in the hospital for Behavioral Health, I was diagnosed with an Immune Disorder and my husband, and I were struggling financially. I thought I had plenty to worry about. What a relief to be reminded that I have nothing to worry about ever again! As a Christian God had taken it all away!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts upon the African Slave Trade []  2020-7-28 19:39

    I don't see how you can complain about something free, but I will say something. This was written by John Newton the slave trader captain who lived a redeemed life as a pastor. He is best known for writing Awesome Grace. I suspect if you are reading this you already know all that. They present a picture of the actual book. It has the very stylized print of the times. Unfortunately when they scanned the document the words are just about unreadable. It would be a relatively simple fix. If you could obtain it on some sort of editing program you could fix up about 95% of it. I think even I would be willing to give it a try.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts upon the African Slave Trade []  2020-7-28 19:39

    It's a amazing book, but for research only, not for reading pleasure. It does give amazing insight, however, into the life of John Newton (author of Awesome Grace) and his part in the Atlantic Slave Trade. "Who wudda thunk it?"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bread Upon the Waters: A Novel [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    This was a amazing read, one of those rare few that I found difficult to place down even when tired or sleepy. For me, the pace was just right. The characters are well developed, learn from their experiences, and it is simple for the reader to care about and be interested in the core of the story is the Strand family, a bit pinched financially but seemingly satisfied and harmonious, and enjoying a amazing and largely wholesome life. Through a fluke occurrence, they do a amazing turn for Russell Hazen, a man of wealth, and he returns the favor by inserting himself and his wealth into their lives. Hazen’s motives seem unselfish, and he no doubt believes that they are, but his subsequent involvement in their lives leads the Strands to discoveries about both Hazen and themselves that are not always positive. All of the Strands end up perhaps sadder and definitely wiser. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Casting Your Care Upon The Lord []  2020-2-4 17:26

    SHALOM GREAT TEACHING EASY TO READ AND UNDERSTAND DEFINITELY 5 STARS RNJOY SHALOM RECOMMENDED FOR ALL BELIEVERS GOD BLESS YOU ALL. SHALOM

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Upon the Throne of Apocalypse (Reissue) []  2020-1-18 23:22

    It is real this edition of the album is superior to MTON--it should have been the proper follow-up to Golgotha. Worth the (avg. $50) as only 1,000 were made.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Upon the Throne of Apocalypse (Reissue) []  2020-1-18 23:22

    This CD is great...much better mix. I got this when it first came out (im olde!) and I was shocked to randomly come here and see that it's going for at least 60 dollars and the highest being 283?? wow. I think i got mine for 10 bux...10+ years ago lol.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts upon the African Slave Trade []  2020-7-28 19:39

    These are John Newton’s own words testified before the English parliament about his direct knowledge of the slave trade. Informative and touching.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sword and the Shield []  2020-1-19 23:27

    Bought this book in two months ago and still working on it. So be prepared to spend some time on the Mitrokhin Archives. This is a fascinating and DETAILED acc of espionage strategies used by the Russians from 1917 to the present. I have been told that some of the exploits described in the book were used as source material and story ideas for the cable TV series "The Americans."The most awesome part of the archive info just how deeply penetrated the Roosevelt presidency was during Globe Battle II. Heck, the Soviets even had a Cabinet Secretary in their pocket and THREE scientists on the Manhattan Project.Lots of detail from the Soviet perspective on Kim Philby, Anthony Blunt, The Rosenbergs, Christopher Boyce, Aldrich Ames,and other major spies who we have heard about over the years, but getting the picture from the Russian point of view was interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sword and the Shield []  2020-1-19 23:27

    I would have rated this book as perfect if it was not for the fact that the author's obvious bias towards the British secret services (which should not come as any is is demonstrated by the fact that the author states that ULTRA was the largest intelligence success versus the nazis (and perhaps in the history of warfare).This is debatable as it is known that in the years before globe battle ii,the USSR penetrated the military,diplomatic and poitical establishments of all major globe powers,which has to rank as one of the greatest acheivements in the history of this to say that the acheivements of Richard Sorge,the Red Orchestra and the Lucy SPy Ring dont count?Mr.Andrews also downplays the role of the NKVD guerilla groups which is strange because they did contribute to the battle effort (especially during Operation Bagration).Apart from this,the author does an perfect job of listing the info of KGB operations worldwide listing its acheivements mainly in penetrating a large number of western establishments and its failings mainly in the field of intelligence analysis.His work teaches us two necessary info of ideological ,one party states:that they depend hugely on their intelligence apparatus to maintain domestic control and to promote their foreign interests and that their ideologies create for not good intelligence analysis.I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Shield and the Sword []  2020-2-4 23:25

    This well done chronology simplifies the history of the only existing medieval military monastic order. Midway into the book Bradford makes very clear the transition the Knights of St. John created with The Rhodian Siege of 1522 resulting into their forced displacement to Malta at the instigation of Suleiman the Magnificent. Following this happening he provides one of the best and concise accounts of the “Siege of Malta” in 1565, however, without maps of the island and Turkish force movements the unacquainted will have difficulty appreciating this amazing story. Having been several times to Malta and Gozo I am just starting to understand the siege on the multiple fortifications and am amazed at the conflict and its outcome. The splendor of the town of Valetta today is the direct effect of the Turkish assault of though much of Bradford's book is common knowledge for the medieval historian it is simple to read, comprehend, and very concise. However, as one reads the text a lot of editorial errors appear especially on page 47 which become annoying. The text has no illustrations or maps which is inconvenient and hampers the understanding of the reader, especially for the reader who has not been to the locations mentioned. However, the appendices in the back of the text are very helpful and particularly the military glossary is much is is a very inspiring book of an organization originally made to minister to the infirmity of humanity that continues to this day. Its added militarization in the 12th century provides for a unbelievable intriguing and special story. This would be a more effective work with the incorporation of illustrations and I would readily volunteer to do such in a fresh edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Shield and the Sword []  2020-2-4 23:25

    Perfect detail, and an simple read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bread Upon the Waters: A Novel [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    Absolutely one of the best and well written books I have ever read! I can see why Mr. Shaw is considered one of the best authors of the 20th century. If you like interesting and in depth characterization, and a quick moving story line this is a must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bread Upon the Waters: A Novel [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    Well written, interesting, wise. A small on the conventional path but fully enjoyable. Interesting to see that Shaw's insights in the method our globe goes are as right now as at the moment he was writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Upon the Throne of Apocalypse (Reissue) []  2020-1-18 23:22

    Upon The Throne Of Apocalypse is the follow up that I was looking for after Onward To Golgotha! This is the rough mix of the cd Mortal Throne Of Nazarene. This one sounds better in my e production on the Mortal Throne Of Nazarene sounded too clean and weak in my opinion. This rough mix ver sounds a lot darker and heavier and it has the added weight/muscle that I was looking for. The drums seem to sound a small better, especially the double bass drums, and the china crashes seem a lot more defined on this release. Also the guitars seem to sound a small a better too, and as for the bass massive unholy vokills, they absolutely still slay on this release!!The songs that create up this album are the same as MTON, and they are all awesome! Demonic Incarnate starts off quick and massive and then in the middle of this song it slows down to a classick Incantation jam session. Emaciated Holy Figure is where the china crashes really seem to come thru more clear on this release, but the weird ending that's on MTON is barely audible on this version. Next up is the classic Iconoclasm Of Catholicism, which is one of my favorite Incantation songs, and this song is a classick example of the Incantation tempo changes. Essence Ablaze is another classick and seems to have become a live favorite. Nocturnal Dominium is a slower song that seems to have really defined the trademark Incantation doom sound. Blissful Blood Shower is a amazing intro to one of the best Incantation songs, The Ibex Moon! Abolishment Of Immaculate Serenity finishes this amazing album off, and this is another slower, doom song and it's just amazing along with the rest of this cd!This is highly recommended to any Incantation fan or Death Metal fan. This ver can go up to 30 dollars on ebay but I have actually seen it for 10 dollars on so you might wish to look for it on both websites! Hail Incantation!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Upon the Throne of Apocalypse (Reissue) []  2020-1-18 23:22

    I like it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Casting Your Care Upon The Lord []  2020-2-4 17:26

    I have this read book a lot of times over the years, and each time it has been a real inspirational eye opener. I am so very, very thankful for Brother Hagin' s ministry. His teachings are second to none.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Casting Your Care Upon The Lord []  2020-2-4 17:26

    I recommend this book to anyone who desires to pray effectively and live worry free.I refer to this book as a refresher to renew my mind.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Casting Your Care Upon The Lord []  2020-2-4 17:26

    This is one of the best books I've ever read; it's actually a sermon preached by brother Hagin and then transcribed. There is support in these pages for the burdened soul. Full of stories and practical application- brother Hagin imparts faith with practical steps to victory the war over fear, anxiety, worry. Praise God. Phenomenal truth- phenomenal read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts upon the African Slave Trade []  2020-7-28 19:39

    Amazing in website on early slavery.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    He Crashed Me So I Crashed Him Back: The True Story of the Year the King, Jaws, Earnhardt, and the Rest of NASCAR's Feudin', Fightin' Good Ol' Boys Put Stock Car Racing on the Map []  2020-1-18 19:19

    This book follows NASCAR through one season and links some of the more dramatic happenings of the season to NASCAR's surge in poularity at the time. An enjoyable, well researched read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    He Crashed Me So I Crashed Him Back: The True Story of the Year the King, Jaws, Earnhardt, and the Rest of NASCAR's Feudin', Fightin' Good Ol' Boys Put Stock Car Racing on the Map []  2020-1-18 19:19

    Stunning book about American Vehicle Culture and Nascar in General

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    He Crashed Me So I Crashed Him Back: The True Story of the Year the King, Jaws, Earnhardt, and the Rest of NASCAR's Feudin', Fightin' Good Ol' Boys Put Stock Car Racing on the Map []  2020-1-18 19:19

    Amazing book on some fascinating characters. At times the authors style reminded me greatly of Wolfe's "The Right Stuff" in his ability to create you feel as if you were tight there watching the excitement happen. True edge of the the seat moments sprinkled throughout. I'm not a NASCAR fan at all other than the fact that I was growing up when much of this was event so the names and a few happenings were familiar. So giving this 5 stars means it's much more than a just a NASCAR history lesson, it's amazing entertainment, and it takes you back to when motorsports were not about sponsors dollars and PR opportunities and the right look. This is fistfights, dirty hands, hot motors, torn up fenders, little with huge dreams, and even bigger personalities. A+ !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    He Crashed Me So I Crashed Him Back: The True Story of the Year the King, Jaws, Earnhardt, and the Rest of NASCAR's Feudin', Fightin' Good Ol' Boys Put Stock Car Racing on the Map []  2020-1-18 19:19

    Being a relatively fresh NASCAR fan, I have become curious about the history behind the sport. This book certainly filled the bill.1979 was clearly a watershed year for this once-regional sport, and the author does an perfect job bringing it alive. He mixes the on-track action with behind-the-scenes stories (or myths, depending on your point of view) very well, and ties it all together with happenings event outside the sport. The latter gives what was occurring within NASCAR amazing context, making the book much more than just a victory-lane e only complaint I have - and it is enough to subtract a star - is an overload of obscure names. It got to a point where it became difficult to hold up who exactly the author was talking about, and why his/her name was important. While I can understand the desire to be as thorough as possible, so a lot of characters being mentioned created keeping up with the continuity of happenings a bit rmation overload aside, I really liked this book a lot, and feel comfortable recommending it for any NASCAR fan, fresh or seasoned.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    He Crashed Me So I Crashed Him Back: The True Story of the Year the King, Jaws, Earnhardt, and the Rest of NASCAR's Feudin', Fightin' Good Ol' Boys Put Stock Car Racing on the Map []  2020-1-18 19:19

    Be aware that this book is not about any current or recently current NASCAR racers. The book centers on the 1979 season, so we're talking Richard Petty, Darrel Waltrip, David Pearson, Bobby & Donny Allison, etc. I've been watching NASCAR for 25 years, and most of these guys were retired before I started watching it. There are some interesting or funny stories, but I didn't really have fun the blow by blow accounts of races that took put 36 years ago. It's not a poor book, and if you remember some of these drivers, or have fun the idea of racing history this may work for you. NASCAR was certainly more raw and intimate back then. Even when I first started watching, we didn't have all these super, multi-car squads that have taken some of the individuality out of racing. Today's drivers don't have the huge personalities of the likes of Earnhardt, Richard Petty, etc. This book does bring back some of the memories of the likes of Humpy Wheeler, Junior Johnson, and Waddel Wilson. I thought this book was okay, but if you're looking for today's racing, look elsewhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    He Crashed Me So I Crashed Him Back: The True Story of the Year the King, Jaws, Earnhardt, and the Rest of NASCAR's Feudin', Fightin' Good Ol' Boys Put Stock Car Racing on the Map []  2020-1-18 19:19

    He Crashed Me So I Crashed Him Back, book by Tag Bechtel, is a collection of short stories of things various racers have said or done. Very funny!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bread Upon the Waters: A Novel [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    Read this in two days. It is rare that I lose myself in a book. This was one of those infrequent times. The characters and their experiences are described by an author whose books in my opinion are written flawlessly. If you are a book junkie such as me and are constantly hoping to search a book that rises to the top of all the others you have read, this book is a must read. I also read The Man by Irwin Shaw which in my opinion is an absolute must read. Bottom line there is only one Irwin Shaw who proved to the literary masses that during his writing career wrote books that will never grow old and will always be remembered. It is somewhat difficult finding novels as meaningful and unforgettable as those written by Irwin Shaw. Test it and I think you will be as enthralled as I was. Amazing book to place on your book club reading list.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Bread Upon the Waters: A Novel [Book]  2018-2-18 18:0

    It is always amazing to go back to the old masters of storytelling, which is what I did with the reading of Irwin Shaw's book " Bread Upon the Waters". He writes so eloquently of the human condition, whether it be about battle or about a teacher in Manhattan. This is a poignant story of life in these United States, of the rich and the not good and of the joys and travails of both.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Upon the Throne of Apocalypse (Reissue) []  2020-1-18 23:22

    as a result, the end of EHF gets chopped. Otherwise, this kills.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Upon the Throne of Apocalypse (Reissue) []  2020-1-18 23:22

    1000 times better than MTON more violent, more rough, gory vocals and assassin drums if You can obtain this one test it, because are only 1000 copies so maybe I say maybe someone wish to it so amazing luck.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Casting Your Care Upon The Lord []  2020-2-4 17:26

    A very short small writing awesome info . I enjoyed it and learned from it. I highly recommend this book to anybody.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Casting Your Care Upon The Lord []  2020-2-4 17:26

    We all struggle with something. Understanding that God cares for us and wants to take care of us is part of our relationship with God. This is a tool to support mold our relationship with God as we trust Him with the things that concern us most and have Him carry them for us.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thoughts upon the African Slave Trade []  2020-7-28 19:39

    Waaaay too late to thank the author ... but amazing stuff, Captain John! (and to whatever lovely African voice provided the music to Awesome Grace!)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sword and the Shield []  2020-1-19 23:27

    The Sword and the Shield is quite the tome. It is a history of the KGB and NKVD, the Soviet Union's counterpart to the USA's CIA, taken straight from their own archives. Mitrokhin, the chief archivist for the KGB for decades, kept meticulous records on current KGB operations throughout the globe and kept them hidden in his dacha. He then defected in the early 1990s to the West, taking all of these notes with him. This is the record of the KBG's operations in the U.S. and Western Europe from the 1930s through the 90s. I have read a couple of reviews that say do not create this your first read on the subject, and I would agree. It reads very much like a textbook and can be quite dry for people unfamiliar with the topic matter. It is not really meant for entertainment, but more serious research. This is a very amazing research source. That said, the info inside blows away any Hollywood spy movie. The section on Kim Philby and the Cambridge Five alone would create a unbelievable Hollywood film with intrigue, sex, betrayal and danger. And it is all real. The necessary thing to note about this book is that it is from the KGB archives, not packaged for foreign audiences with propoganda galore. The effect is a fascinating and shocking acc of what the KGB and Soviet Union were up to in the 20th century. Among a lot of of the revelations to me was that while Joe McCarthy was quite overzealous, he was not as crazy as history has painted him out to be in relation to the scope of intentional Communist into American government and society. Quite a page-turner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Shield and the Sword []  2020-2-4 23:25

    Amazing history and acc of this very courageous and skillful of Christian knights and their critical wars versus the Turks. Author's style is very descriptive and readable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Shield and the Sword []  2020-2-4 23:25

    Excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Shield and the Sword []  2020-2-4 23:25

    Read it twice and felt like I was there in Malta cheering the Knights on. So I actually went to Malta.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Shield and the Sword []  2020-2-4 23:25

    An perfect history of the Hospitallers, I first became interested in them while visiting Rhodes while in the Navy Although both sides engaged in horrific actions, this is also looked at as a high moral period of time in fighting the forces of Islam (not much has changed there). While Bradford covers the a lot of century history of the Knights of Malta, as with any book cover a wide span of history, a lot of things are left out or given little notice. An perfect book on the siege of Malta is "The Amazing Seige of Malta1565' also by Bradford.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sword and the Shield []  2020-1-19 23:27

    The Sword and The Shield by Christopher Andrew is perhaps the most complete history of an intelligence agency ever written. Having first read the second volume The Globe was Going Our Way, The KGB and the War for the Third World, I resolved to expand my knowledge by reading the acclaimed first volume. There is no getting around the fact the The Sword and the Shield is an extremely tedious and somewhat cumbersome read. The author constantly exposes the reader to hundreds of sources, agents, and operations that are hard to hold straight. The author also expects that the reader will have a high degree of knowledge about the Cold Battle and the Soviet Union, and for that reason I do not recommend this book to readers unfamiliar with those topics. Because of the tediousness and seriousness of the subject I have only awarded the book 4 stars. That being said, for anyone interested in studying intelligence or the Soviet Union, this book is a must read. The author successfully promotes the claim that the KGB and the Soviet Security Apparatus was much more crucial to the survival and promotion of the Soviet State than latest experts on the Soviet Union have claimed. He does this by tracing the history of the Soviet Intelligence from the Bolshevik revolution until the dissolution of the Soviet State in 1991. Perhaps the most interesting part of the book is the early history of the KGB which is mostly unknown to students of the Cold War. The KGB from the 1920s until the mid 1950s and early 1960s was perhaps the most successful intelligence agency agency of its time. Achieving high level penetrations of government institutions in almost every western country, while at the same time assassinating and terrorizing enemies of the Soviet State both domestic and abroad. The earlier successes of the KGB did much to enhance the reputation of the KGB as the brutal and and brilliant intelligence service that it is often portrayed as in today's famous culture. The TV present The Americans as well as latest films such as Salt are current examples of the KGB's mythical status in famous culture. Despite the KGB's early successes the author portrays the KGB as much less efficient than the official histories of the KGB and its successor agency, The SVR, would suggest. For all the KGB's success western intelligence agencies, particular the agencies of the United States and Amazing Britain, had largely leveled the playing field by the 1960s. The KGB collected immense amounts of intelligence, yet often failed to produce objective analysis of the intelligence it collected due to fears of subverting the widely held beliefs and biases of senior party officials. The KGB also spend enormous amount of time and effort countering ideological subversion from dissidents in the Soviet Union, including Jehovah's witnesses, members of the protest movement Solidarity, and prominent intellectuals critical of the Soviet State. The author suggests that the pursuit of individuals who did not prove a serious threat to the Soviet State was a waste of time and resources. Perhaps the most frightening aspect of the book was the ingenious methods soviet intelligence used to convince individuals in positions of power to spy or work for the Soviet Union. Threats of violence, blackmail, harassment, "false flag" operations, and even love from spouses who were KGB officers were used to compromise and convince intelligence targets. In some ways the book could even be considered a manual of how the KGB compromised and recruited intelligence targets. The ruthlessness of KGB blackmail operations reached the point where targets sometimes committed suicide to escape the clutches of the r anyone interested in the history of the Soviet Union and the methods of the KGB this book is essential to understanding the role and function of the KGB in the Soviet Union.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386