Read cultivating a data culture in higher education reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all cultivating a data culture in higher education reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Data for Continuous Programmatic Improvement: Steps Colleges of Education Must Take to Become a Data Culture (Routledge Research in Higher Education) []  2020-12-24 20:7

    I created an error and thought I was purchasing the hard cover ease allow me know what I should do as I do not use kindle books anymore.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cultivating Humanity: A Classical Defense of Reform in Liberal Education []  2021-1-25 19:59

    Came fast. Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cultivating Humanity: A Classical Defense of Reform in Liberal Education []  2021-1-25 19:59

    I did not read this book as amounting to a bashing of the Enlightenment canon at all. Rather, it struck me as an all-too-uncommon commonsensical, middle-ground position, well articulated, on controversy over multiculturalism. Reading some of these negative reviews leaves me scratching my head wondering whether these reviewers and I read the same book. I understood Nussbaum to be offering a "both/and" approach that would retain teaching of the "dead white men" Western canon but add to it the best of voices from other e practical difficulties of doing this seem obvious enough: what to leave out, then? Unless she is advocating more time spent in college curricula on humanities studies and/or more needed courses than is the case in a lot of colleges and universities for undergrads these days. I did not see arguments for either of those points of view so one question would be how to implement her suggestions even if one agrees with them? There is only so much time in a day and so much zone in a curriculum. Passionate subject-matter advocates ultimately weaken their case when they don't say what should be taught ill, Nussbaum is asking strong questions and contributing what I see as all-too-infrequent well-stated middle-ground fodder to inform these discussions. So even if you search her case unpersuasive this book should support you clarify your own views on this subject.

    0  


    Add your opinion on cultivating a data culture in higher education or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cultivating Humanity: A Classical Defense of Reform in Liberal Education []  2021-1-25 19:59

    This book, like all of Nussbaum's is intelligent, well written and worthy of your time. But it is not without flaws. Cultivating Humanity: A Classical Defense of Reform in Liberal Education argues in favor of the current trends in eliminating the traditional "western canon" as it has been understood. Critics have come at Nussbuam from nearly every conceivable front, claiming that she argues that education is ultimately political, that she provides ineffectual anecdotal evidence from America's top-tier and well-funded universities, that she aims to destroy the western perspective and finally, that she is idealistic and unpractical. Each of these points is well founded but lack viable impetus unless one other element of Nussbaum's argument is noticed. Namely, that Nussbaum's book is a book about critical thinking skills and how they are taught in our nation's universities. The peripheral problems of gender, class and ethnicity, (where most of Nussbaum's critics attack), must been seen under the overall problem of education's basic purpose, namely, to produce rational thinkers. Thus, her thesis is much more about cultivating rationality and less about carrying a torch versus the Western Canon. To explain how rationality is to be cultivated, Nussbaum devotes much of her efforts to getting clear on what it means to be a "world citizen". This discussion is thoughtful and informative, even if you ultimately disagree with her. Yet, embedded in this detailed examination are serious assumptions about morality, which a lot of other critics have noticed as well. She breezes through claims about avoiding "retributive anger", being "empathetic" and being "non-violent"; which prima facie sound reasonable. However, it may create some nervous that she grounds her entire argument on a morality that is far from generally accepted among philosophers. Nussbaum is harkening back to her roots as an expert in ancient philosophy, and this Aristotelian bias must be remembered as one reads through her argument. If you are an Aristotelian, a Hippy, or if you accept the ideas of Natural Law, Nussbaum's argument will be more successful for you. Finally, as Nussbaum sets out her definition of what a Liberal Education is, she ignores the certain impact that her argument, if correct, will have on college instruction and pedagogy. While it may be possible to accept her implicit moral claims for the sake of an enticing discussion, I, like a lot of others, was disappointed that she failed to seriously acknowledge the practical implications her argument begets.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cultivating Humanity: A Classical Defense of Reform in Liberal Education []  2021-1-25 19:59

    I'm not enough of a scholar to evaluate Nussbaums's treatment of "The Clouds" or Rousseau (are you?) but her treatment of the major subjects is thought provoking -- and thus the book is well worth e only significant flaws I stumbled upon were her dismissal of the paradox of democratic change, and of the objections of e former: when is a minority (perhaps 'elite') position a legimate corrective/adjustment to a democracy, and when is it an extemist and illegitimate distraction? The astonishing fact is that the issue in distinguishing one from the other interferes greatly with Nussbaum's laudatory depictions of "diversity" education, without providing even a tip of the underlying dilemma. For instance, arguments versus racial bigotry are implicity conflated, in Nussbaum's book, with arguments versus homoity. Personally, I agree with this... but how is a *democracy* to arrive at such a conculsion? Any controversy must, inevitably, be advocated at first by a minority. When is such a minority to be granted the academic privilege (as Gender Studies have, in todays University) and when not (as the 'pro-life' or 'creationist' perspectives)? Nussbaum completely ignores the problem, treating the liberal perspective as the only rational is is similar to the latter problematique: sometime a "received" doctrine [...] discerns a threat in the argument for "diversity". To a liberal, this perspective seems absurd. But where is the line to be drawn? If an alien culture (or domestic minority) were to advocate something extreme -- perhaps human sacrifice or infant euthanasia? How are 'believers' to discern which moral positions are too extreme to be defenced (bias versus miscegenation; homo behavior) and which are defensible? (suttee? abortion?) Nussbaum provides no guidance; nor -- more importantly -- does she elaborate on how the academy is to answer to questions regarding such a delineation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cultivating Humanity: A Classical Defense of Reform in Liberal Education []  2021-1-25 19:59

    "Cultivating Humanity" is one of the most thoughtful examinations of the concept of a liberal education that I've read in a long time. Nussbaum tell us that Socratic questioning is still on trial, that becoming a citizen of the globe is a lonely business, and that a visceral and intellectual understanding of compassion is a key requisite. This book amounts to classical thought applied to the dilemmas of postmodernism. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cultivating Humanity: A Classical Defense of Reform in Liberal Education []  2021-1-25 19:59

    I have had the privelige of studying and discussing Matha Nussbaum's work for the past several years at the Thomas More Institute in Montreal, a unbelievable small think-tank dedicated to education and learning by the Socratic Questioning method; after learning a lifetime's worth from this one little volume, I want that the title of my review could be the sub-title of this book. Questioning this book has answered a lot of a question on a lot of levels allowing colleagues and I to piece together answers to life's most necessary questions on education, globe citizenship and what it really means to be is book has been especially necessary as reading and discussing it has answered any question or doubt that I might have had about the liberal arts education - experience. Through discussion this text has been brought to life and my choice of education thus makes more sense to me today than it did when the experience was begun several years ago.I want that there could be a method for every educator, legislator, parent and student to be exposed to this book and the philosophy behind it; anyone who picks it up, regardless of background, will search it enriching if not enlightening. One cannot read this work without wanting to strive towards becoming a real citizen of the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cultivating Humanity: A Classical Defense of Reform in Liberal Education []  2021-1-25 19:59

    The classical defense no longer applies to the 21st century human rights unless we wish to go back to being rules by kings. Humanity is not a crop to be cultivated.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cultivating Humanity: A Classical Defense of Reform in Liberal Education []  2021-1-25 19:59

    The dominant impression that I have of Martha Nussbaum's CULTIVATING HUMANITY is one of a continuing sense of irony, probably unintended that begins with the title and continues with a near comical misreading of some prominent Greek and Roman philosophers like Socrates, Seneca, and Cicero. It is her thesis that multiculturalism has unfairly endured some cheap shots from conservative writers and sees in the above mentioned Greek thinkers some help for the multicultural ethic. It is simple to point out the a lot of flaws of her book but the most striking belongs to her linking of twentieth century multiculturalism with Socrates, a thinker who was not happy with mere thinking. True, Socratic pedagogy involved the engaging of his listeners in abstract concepts that often infuriated the ruling Powers That Be, but the point that Nussbaum continually misses (surprising given her job as a college professor of classical literature) is that once Socrates created his point, he did not stop and go on to the next listener; rather, he exhorted that listener to do something concrete with that revealed wisdom. Behind her misreading of Socrates lie the different flubs inherent in MC in general. Nussbaum sees no discrepency in the irony of a philosophy that brags of begin diversity while practicing a ruthless denial of same to its opposition. Supporters of Nussbaum complain of the jargon in the comments of the anti-multiculuralists while at the same time writing books and articles praising it using an even more dense ver of prose. What emerges from CULTIVATING HUMANITY is that the humanity cultivated by the corrosively anti-Enlightenment miasma of multiculturalism is not humane at all even by the relative standards of its professors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cultivating Humanity: A Classical Defense of Reform in Liberal Education []  2021-1-25 19:59

    What should American students study in order to be prepared for informed citizenship? According to legal scholar and political philosopher Martha Nussbaum, they should study philosophy. She does not argue that they should major in philosophy, only that a sensible dose of philosophical study is the best curricular cure for an education that is overly narrow, that is not designed to prepare citizens to think carefully and critically about necessary issues, and, perhaps most importantly, that does not equip them to imagine the experiences of others, thus making it more difficult for them to develop the kind of sympathetic imagination that is important in the globalized globe of the 21st century with its intensity of cross-cultural contact. Heavily influenced by classical Stoic philosophers as well as by Harvard economist and Nobel laureate Amartya Sen, Nussbaum argues that the objective of universities should be to produce “world citizens.” By this she does not mean people who have place aside more local loyalties (including national loyalties) in favor of some cosmic connection, nor does she have a word to say about globe government (which people often think of when they hear the term “world citizens”). What she refers to are people who have loyalties at a dozens of levels, but who still understand that there are “common human abilities and problems” that connect them to people who are either very far away from them, or who are nearby but have very various backgrounds and beliefs from their own. If universities are to make globe citizens, then students need to study philosophy for two reasons: it provides training in rational argumentation that allows one to base decisions on reason rather than emotion, and it enhances the likelihood that students will develop the “narrative imagination” (that is, the ability to place oneself in the shoes—and mind—of another) that is crucial for understanding of, and positive engagement with, the modern ch of the book is a presentation of examples of how philosophy makes its method into the needed curriculum at a number of American colleges and universities. This is accompanied by a general discussion of the different ways in which Nussbaum believes the study of philosophy is required for all students. Some of it is along the lines of “the unexamined life is not worth living,” while some of it is concerned with the method in which the study of philosophy and rational argumentation will not only support students understand the complex problems they will have to deal with as citizens, but will also support them create sound decisions regarding those e book is not perfect. Far from it. One of its major weaknesses is that Nussbaum often makes conclusions about programs or even entire universities based on a very little sample of opinions and exposures. Certainly she knows well the little number of elite institutions where she has been a faculty member, and there are other universities with which it appears she has had some in-depth engagement. But in other cases, she seems completely comfortable making judgments based on few, selective, and second-hand reports. That may be unavoidable when you are trying to create broad statements about a large educational landscape, but it should be done with much greater caution than Nussbaum ill, there is much to agree with in Nussbaum’s defense of the value of studying non-vocational topics that have as their basic purpose the engagement of students with broad questions whose exploration can lead to a more intelligent, engaged, humane citizenship and a greater understanding of the complexities of the world. And without question, when a curious student and a committed teacher engage in real, open-minded, sympathetic pursuit of knowledge and understanding, strong insights can be gained by both. As Nussbaum writes, “no curricular formula will take the put of provocative and perceptive teaching that arouses the mind” (p. 41).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cultivating Humanity: A Classical Defense of Reform in Liberal Education []  2021-1-25 19:59

    Nussbaum makes several amazing points in her critique of the liberal education in her book Cultivating Humanity. She brings under the microscope such ideals as examing our own beliefs and how we must be globe citizens in order to fully understand humanity. An overall perfect book, Nussbaum makes a lot of amazing points and supports her idea well. Occasionally, we are lost in the wordiness of it. I feel that some of what she had to say could have been condensed, but it detracts nothing from the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Inside the College Gates: How Class and Culture Matter in Higher Education []  2020-8-7 18:25

    The author explores the differences in extracurricular participation among upper-class and low-income white college students. She compares these groups at one personal college and one state general, poorer students were involved in student groups less than their richer peers. Lower-income students had cafeteria and library work study jobs that don’t impress future employers while their richer peers have internships with law firms and governors’ offices that do. What is fascinating is how people may not be able to determine the class of people poorer than them, but both classes of students could readily point out individuals who came from more cash than them. Much is stated about how a person’s income limits support them to feel that they are morally superior to the filthy rich. I want the book said more about how exactly fraternities and sororities exclude low-income uber’s book suggests that the personal school tended to address class inequalities more than the public school. It just reminded me that I enjoyed attending a personal college, rather than the public grad school I attended. I knew a Latina who matriculated to Berkeley’s law school, even though she also got admitted to Stanford. As the first school lost its affirmative action and the second school still practiced it, her selection was jaw-dropping to me. But hold in mind: alumni of personal schools may have more educational debt. Public schools support faaaar more students to earn degrees and just don’t have the resources to pursue pie-in-the-sky endeavors. They are understandably sink-or-swim. People who have fun Dr. Stuber’s comparison of two colleges may also wish to read the studies “Opting Out” and “Acting Black.”As mentioned earlier, the author only interviews white students, maintaining that the difference between racism and classism can be too intertwined for working-class people of color. This is related to the text “Getting by on the Minimum.” There is an academic field called Critical Whiteness Studies. I think this book adds to that field. One of the most interesting parts was her discussion of two low-income white males who had a lot of Black mates and took several African-American Studies e author often refers to Quebecoise academic Michele Lamont. I love Lamont’s books on boundary work and how nationality, race, and manhood affect people’s sense of self. I highly encourage others to read her work. Professor Stuber briefly mentioned that she earned her Master’s from Brown University, my alma mater. Cain’t no 1 say anything poor about Brown, in my eyes. Thus, I admit, as soon as she stated she was an alumna, she place herself on my amazing one’s perfect; every book has a few typos. However, this book had far more than your average book. An editor should be taken to task for letting so a lot of mistakes slide. Although this is an academic book, it’s a rather fast read. I imagine that folk without a college background would understand it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Leadership in Higher Education: Practices That Make A Difference []  2020-12-19 20:14

    The Five Practices of Exemplary Leadership Model has been discussed in the leadership literature for more than 30 years. It is a proven model for organizational development leaders and educators. This book is filled with examples of the appplication of the five leadership practices (model the way, inspire a shared vision, challenge the process, enable others to act, encourage the heart) in educational contexts where change and innovation are paramount.I hope educators will read this book and apply the model to promote quality education in their institutions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Organizational Theory in Higher Education (Core Concepts in Higher Education) []  2019-12-24 19:18

    I actually had to rent this book because I was on vacation and had to write a paper and left my book at home. It was very helpful that it is available on kindle digital.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Organizational Theory in Higher Education (Core Concepts in Higher Education) []  2019-12-24 19:18

    Interesting book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Organizational Theory in Higher Education (Core Concepts in Higher Education) []  2019-12-24 19:18

    Amazing reworking of Birbaums classic text. Perfect insights into today's models, current theory and future needs within higher education today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Organizational Theory in Higher Education (Core Concepts in Higher Education) []  2019-12-24 19:18

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Working Hard, Working Happy: Cultivating a Culture of Effort and Joy in the Classroom []  2021-1-25 19:58

    This book is just what educators need for an perfect school! It is common sense ideas and is written by an author with a long list of credentials in various fields of public education.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Working Hard, Working Happy: Cultivating a Culture of Effort and Joy in the Classroom []  2021-1-25 19:58

    Reading this book I feel like I'm sitting next to Rita, enjoying a cup of coffee as she is talking to me, speaking from her experiences. I finish feeling inspired after talking to a amazing friend, colleague, mentor and coach.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Working Hard, Working Happy: Cultivating a Culture of Effort and Joy in the Classroom []  2021-1-25 19:58

    Very insightful book - amazing inspiration and practical hints for fresh and established teachers. This book is well written and the author's compassion and love for the vocation shows through!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Working Hard, Working Happy: Cultivating a Culture of Effort and Joy in the Classroom []  2021-1-25 19:58

    Rita has transformed the climate of our Elementary building by using all of the things covered in this book. I am honored to work beside such a valuable member in the educational community and completely agree - you can work hard and work happy, as I see it daily in our building!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Working Hard, Working Happy: Cultivating a Culture of Effort and Joy in the Classroom []  2021-1-25 19:58

    This book is a e author's philosophy of education is distilled into a concise, clear, conversational handbook filled with both instant ideas and the invitation to make your own solutions to the challenges of our profession.Well done, Rita Platt!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Artistic Literacy: Theatre Studies and a Contemporary Liberal Education (The Arts in Higher Education) []  2020-7-17 18:26

    I found this book exciting as well as innovative. Everyone in Theatre and the Arts should study these informed ideas about college curriculum.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Happy Teachers Change the World: A Guide for Cultivating Mindfulness in Education []  2019-12-18 20:39

    This attractive yet practical tutorial is a treasure for educators worldwide. There are a number of mindfulness books on the shop for educational settings, but "Happy Teachers" offers unparalleled depth and richness in highly accessible language. The step-by-step instructions are clearly laid out, yet highly adaptable across a range of classroom situations. The a lot of anecdotes from active teachers make a feeling of fellowship and familiarity that both reassure and inform the reader. What I love about this book on "mind"-fulness is that, at its core, it has heart: it is a balanced understanding of how mindfulness practices engage the whole person, both teacher and student. Can't say enough amazing things about it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Happy Teachers Change the World: A Guide for Cultivating Mindfulness in Education []  2019-12-18 20:39

    At the end of the school year, I saw a mate posted about this book. I was having a difficult time and decided to begin reading as soon as school ended. I'm so thankful that I read it. I can't wait to implement the tactics in my classroom. I've already started at home.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Happy Teachers Change the World: A Guide for Cultivating Mindfulness in Education []  2019-12-18 20:39

    Firstly, allow me agree that the binding of the book is not good quality, which does not reflect its content. It is written for an educator that is beginning mindfulness practice, but the practices are indispensable and a valuable resource for all!! It is the best book I have on teaching mindfulness to students!!! Thank you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Happy Teachers Change the World: A Guide for Cultivating Mindfulness in Education []  2019-12-18 20:39

    Are you interested in implementing mindfulness within your classroom? Do feelings of joy and happiness excite you? Thich Nhat Hanh and Katherine Weare thoroughly write about how learning how to relate to your emotions is fundamental. Learning how to support yourself initiate moments of mindfulness in your life and your practice as an educator, allows for you to support your students learn how to best implement moments of mindfulness within their lives and their academic journey. Mindfulness is critical in ensuring one’s mind and body is performing at their optimal potential thus let thinking, learning, and teaching to be the central focus within one’s classroom (Hanh & Weare, 2017). Learning how to practice varying techniques of mindfulness for as small as five mins each day, within the context of one’s classroom, can support ensure that you and all students know how to manage powerful emotions should they arise in any given moment. Through the practice of mindful breathing, you learn to connect both your mind and body, feeling what is feels to just be alive and present. This practice allows for feelings of happiness and joy (Hanh & Weare, 2017). Mindfulness allows for one to be fully show and aware. This book includes numerous mindfulness activities to implement within the classroom. Additionally, it is set up in such a method that each chapter includes a section about the purpose and benefits behind implementing each mindfulness practice. Following each explanation, each chapter includes a step-by-by core practice followed by reflections from teachers’ experiences from implementing the practice within their classroom setting. The book contained much beauty throughout both the written words and the context of the practices suggested. This book really was a great, joyous read that was practical and highly informative!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Happy Teachers Change the World: A Guide for Cultivating Mindfulness in Education []  2019-12-18 20:39

    An inspirational read; but since I already believe in the power of mindfulness- I was hoping to search something more helpful in sharing it with my students

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Happy Teachers Change the World: A Guide for Cultivating Mindfulness in Education []  2019-12-18 20:39

    This book by Thay is an wonderful resource for teachers!! It's a very special book in that it has short and easy instructions for the different aspects of practicing mindfulness for adults/teachers (i.e. Walking, sitting, eating, etc. meditations), amazing ways to teach students, and has input how teachers from around the globe have incorporated these practices into their classrooms demonstrating a wide dozens of creative ways to engage students of all ages. I have a lot of of Thay's books and other authors on teaching mindfulness to students but I think this book will be my go to book from now on. Unbelievable collaboration and a terrific resource!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Happy Teachers Change the World: A Guide for Cultivating Mindfulness in Education []  2019-12-18 20:39

     I was super excited to read this book, this review isn’t on the actual content in the book but the fact that the binding basically came undone from the cover. Literally the first time I begin it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Happy Teachers Change the World: A Guide for Cultivating Mindfulness in Education []  2019-12-18 20:39

    Thich Nhat Hanh is an inspiration, I have followed his work for years. This book is so important and required in today's world. It is filled with wisdom and practical ways to incorporate mindfulness in the classroom. I have been an educator for over 20 years and it is high time that Thay's (as he is known by his students) philosophy regarding education be implemented. We are working with spiritual beings and we need to honor that. This book beautifully shares how teachers who use his vision have transformed their lives and as a effect the lives of their students.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Happy Teachers Change the World: A Guide for Cultivating Mindfulness in Education []  2019-12-18 20:39

    This is a amazing book for anyone who wants to incorporate mindfulness in their classrooms and/or lives. Although it is written by a master, the book is simple to digest and has really amazing ideas for integrating mindfulness. I ordered several other books similar to this subject as potential book studies at my school and this was by far the best one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Happy Teachers Change the World: A Guide for Cultivating Mindfulness in Education []  2019-12-18 20:39

    This is a must have for teachers who wish to begin mindfulness or mesiatative practice with a class. I use it for adults and simple to follow as it gives you step by step instructions. Using and inviting a bell is unbelievable too and the master of all Thich Bhat Hanh gives us the overall practice! But it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thriving in Leadership: Strategies for Making a Difference in Christian Higher Education []  2020-7-28 18:37

    I hesitated in buying this book, but I am so glad I did. It is one to savor! I am looking forward to serving in higher education in the future, and this is a very helpful resource. Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thriving in Leadership: Strategies for Making a Difference in Christian Higher Education []  2020-7-28 18:37

    Got to the third chapter and one of the pages was completely disconnected from the binding. The book is amazing but the binding isn't great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Leadership in Higher Education: Purposeful Social Media in a Connected World []  2021-1-19 20:2

    I pre-ordered this book at the first opportunity and was not disappointed. In fact, it has not only exceeded my expectations but also those of the four other people with whom I have shared it (so far). It can be read holistically as a tutorial and comprehensive training tool, or in little bites to take advantage of tactical advice, suggestions, and experiments. That Josie included so a lot of basic sources in her research speaks volumes for this singular volume.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thriving in Leadership: Strategies for Making a Difference in Christian Higher Education []  2020-7-28 18:37

    The book itself is good, with diverse entries. But what's amazing is all the books referenced in this book. It's like getting multiple books in one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thriving in Leadership: Strategies for Making a Difference in Christian Higher Education []  2020-7-28 18:37

    As a lot of leaders have noted in their introductions to this book, Thriving in Leadership is the kind of resource which will provide support, encouragement, and valuable insights for Christian leaders in higher education. Thank you for this collection of contributions from dedicated leaders.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thriving in Leadership: Strategies for Making a Difference in Christian Higher Education []  2020-7-28 18:37

    Thriving in Leadership"The problem is not whether there will be challenges, but how the leader responds to those challenges."I have been a part of the higher education globe for nearly a decade. From the moment I first stepped onto a college campus I was encountering leaders. Since then I have been very fortunate to work under or to observe some amazing leaders. It was these leaders that inspired me to work in student life in higher education. As the years have progressed and I have attained experience and completed my graduate studies, I have become more and more enthralled with higher education leadership.Every university administrator I have ever known is on the edge of panic, only moments away from a mental breakdown. Their job always demands more time than they have, and constituents always require a small more patience than available. However, the one thing that is always true: they undoubtedly love their job. They will do anything possible to keep on to their job. Sometimes they must hand over the reins for the amazing of the school or their family or their health, but there is no mistaking their riving in Leadership are those stories. Each chapter is written by college or university administrator detailing her leadership experience. Some stories are sad, some are satisfied yet all are inspiring. Each administrator is honored for their experience yet very humble. This book is like having a private conversation with several awesome and passionate administrators.I wholeheartedly recommend this book to anyone interested in higher education administration (like myself). And thank you to my Vice President for loaning it to me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thriving in Leadership: Strategies for Making a Difference in Christian Higher Education []  2020-7-28 18:37

    Outstanding .,, Critical info ...Relevant ... Imperative for public / personal schools / institutions of higher learning... Tutorial to motivate, embrace, incorporate then transform ... Encourages cultural competency.... Amazing read for any organizations' Professional Deveopment ... A+ ... So appreciate having it available on ebook .... It's a keeper... Thank you Amazon for your perfect customer service!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Careers in Student Affairs: A Holistic Guide to Professional Development in Higher Education []  2019-12-24 19:24

    Fast delivery. Product as advertised.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thriving in Leadership: Strategies for Making a Difference in Christian Higher Education []  2020-7-28 18:37

    I just finished reading "Thriving in Leadership" a second time. It is a amazing collection of wisdom. My only frustration is that this book was not written 25 years ago :) I would have benefitted greatly - not that I haven't with the latest reading but I would have known much sooner! I just got done ordering 10 more copies to distribute to our faculty and staff who I perceive to be on a trajectory toward senior leadership in higher education. I believe a few of them will take me up on my offer of working through the book with them. What a unbelievable tool this will be for our private and professional development. Well Done! And Thank you. - Paul

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thriving in Leadership: Strategies for Making a Difference in Christian Higher Education []  2020-7-28 18:37

    At a time when there is so much discouraging news in higher education, Longman et al. provide examples of leadership sucesses that break through the muck and really create a difference. It lifted my spirit and gave me courage to forge ahead as a leader in Christian higher ed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thriving in Leadership: Strategies for Making a Difference in Christian Higher Education []  2020-7-28 18:37

    I work at a little Christian University in Residence Life, and I am also taking courses to complete a Master's program in Higher Ed. I read this book for a book report assignment. I found it extremely helpful! Some chapters were better than others, truthfully. However, as a whole, this book is refreshing and encouraging to those of us who wish to war the mundane routine of higher ed and look to the example of unbelievable Christian higher ed leaders. I especially appreciate how all the authors are women because it certainly sometimes feels this industry is dominated by men.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thriving in Leadership: Strategies for Making a Difference in Christian Higher Education []  2020-7-28 18:37

    The kindle ver lacks a table of contents and does not have links between chapters and biographical info about the contributors. Content is excellent, but Kindle edition is disappointing. I have recommended the book to colleagues

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Budgets and Financial Management in Higher Education []  2019-12-18 20:20

    Very short simple to understand textbook. Amazing introduction to budgeting and finance in higher education

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Restoring the Promise: Higher Education in America []  2020-1-3 21:34

    This is an necessary book by a prominent scholar of higher education in America. It is characteristically bold, honest and insightful. In order to appreciate it one must start with an awareness of our current situation. American higher education is ridiculously expensive (and was not always so) but it offers a debased product. Expectations have been lowered and grades inflated. Students are being sold an illusion. They are not in college; they are in 'college'. A lot of should not be (even) there. They are unprepared, underprepared or simply not up to the task. To accommodate them (and collect their tuition) they are given what looks like and increasingly feels like an extension of high school. When one contains the different venues for higher education the bottom line is that only about half of the students who matriculate will actually graduate and of those only about half will search jobs commensurate with an actual college education. This may be angry but it is the status quo and armies of administrators and politicians are invested in its ese are not precisely Professor Vedder's words. Full disclosure: his book overlaps with mine, which came out while his was already in press. Our conclusions, however, turn out to be nearly identical, though our words and orientation are different. While I am a literature professor and former dean (for 29 years) I tend to look at things at eye level while he tends to look at things statistically and financially. For example, he will look at a university's physical plant and compare its relative disuse to that of businesses. Faculty are seldom in their offices; classrooms are minimally used for over 20 weeks of the year. How could we change this and achieve economies that could be invested in core activities?The economist's eye is a clear one and enables him to chop through the political correctness that obscures statistical realities. For example, minority students (not including Asians) have lower graduation rates and higher indebtedness than their classmates. Giving them admission preferences is not helpful to them. (Thomas Sowell long ago suggested that financial support would be more helpful than admitting them to schools where their SAT scores are 200-300 points lower than those of their classmates.) This is the so-called 'mismatch' theory generally associated with the research of Richard Sander and Professor Vedder accepts its conclusions wholeheartedly and contains the abolition of affirmative action in its current state among a list of other recommendations (including the abolition of undergraduate colleges of education, the increase in faculty teaching loads, the end of grade inflation and speech codes and the reinstitution of a core curriculum that insures both cultural and civic literacy). One of the most fascinating passages is an ysis of research in the humanities which looks at the time and cash spent on the work, the likely number of actual readers of the work and the resulting cost (per published essay). Given the excessive specialization of contemporary 'research' and its often politicized nature, the cultural cost is even greater.He traces the bulk of our issues to the federal loan program and accepts Secretary Bennett's argument that it has materially contributed to the rise in tuition and a host of attendant problems.He is particularly critical of our system of so-called 'accreditation' which consumes resources but tells us nothing. What does it mean, e.g., when Framingham State is accredited by the same regional agency as Harvard and MIT and all three are 'accredited institutions'?He offers some striking ideas while recognizing the difficulty of implementing them. For example, students might take 40 courses from a multiplicity of institutions and then achieve certification of a baccalaureate degree by taking a general examination which (along with the coursework) would be underwritten by an independent agency. The effect would be a numerical score and a validation of the completion of substantive coursework. This could trump the claims of 'distinguished' universities which have no core curricula and graduate students with high, unearned grades. Such a system would also encourage individual institutions to craft solid courses at reasonable prices in order to attract the students. A voucher system (which he supports) would further engender l of his recommendations are thoughtful and interesting and they would remake an educational system that is now broken. My own view is that if we could return to the structures and expectations of postwar higher education we could avoid the wholesale reinvention of our current system, but that notion faces the easy difficulty of finding living faculty to teach in it. It is a issue that Professor Vedder also touches on; the graduate students in the humanities (the core zone of our problems) are unable to teach survey courses and they are certainly not interested in doing so. Their degrees and grades are as debased and inflated as those of their undergraduate students. In other words, any refashioning of our current system would have to contain the significant alteration of current Ph.D. programs. The junior professoriate knows no other system than the broken essor Vedder realizes that his proposals are principally economic and that they focus upon the financial aspects of higher education more than the 'developmental'. It was once the case that students living on campus together might contribute as much as 40% of the total educational experience. That assumed, however, that they were spending significant amounts of time studying and that lower tuition did not necessitate their spending 15-20 hours a week working. A colleague of mine once suggested that dormitories should be supervised by military officers in return for room/board, etc. I had much the same experience, but they were priests, not soldiers. Now the dorms are more likely to be supervised by college of education graduates who seek to develop social justice fighters rather than intellectuals (not that the two are mutually exclusive, but the official ideology of these help staff militates versus that, stressing the 'education' of the full person rather than the cultivation of intellect). One recommendation that we share is, I think, a very necessary one. Administrators and institutions should be evaluated based on their ability to move cash (in total dollars as well as as a percentage of the total budget) from bureaucracy, athletics, et al. to the instructional budget. This is a metric that both boards of directors and publishers of evaluative magazines could understand (once parameters were set to hold the administrators from falsifying the numbers and including 'other' activities as part of 'instruction').Bottom line: this is an interesting and engaging book that should keep our most serious attention.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Organization and Administration in Higher Education []  2020-7-20 18:27

    As advertised. No issues

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Budgets and Financial Management in Higher Education []  2019-12-18 20:20

    Simple to read and very informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Restoring the Promise: Higher Education in America []  2020-1-3 21:34

    Higher educationis a bit outside my fields of interest, though for the next five years I will be responsible for marshaling two young women through the highly inflated groves of academe. I graduated from college with more cash in the bank than I had when I arrived on campus, a feat beautiful much impossible today, when the cost of a year at an Ivy just about equals median family income. In Restoring the Promise: Higher Education in America, conservative economist Richard Vedder attributes the obscene cost of attending college almost entirely to the Federal government's attempts to lessen thosecosts. As Ronald Reagan was fond of saying, "The most terrifying words in the English language are, 'I'm from the government, and I'm here to help." Mr Vedder's book, amazingly, is an simple read. I recommend it to anyone trying to figure out why the United States does this thing so badly, selling an ever-less rigorous education to so a lot of youngsters at an ever-increasing cost. Will his ysis do the slightest good? I doubt it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Organization and Administration in Higher Education []  2020-7-20 18:27

    One of the most accessible books of grad school. This Book has true life examples and app which goes well with our classes and speakers that we have for different topics. Def worth the purchase!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Organization and Administration in Higher Education []  2020-7-20 18:27

    I bought this for a class requirement. It is very interesting and in amazing condition

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Organization and Administration in Higher Education []  2020-7-20 18:27

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of American Higher Education []  2020-1-11 18:28

    Purchased for a class, amazing info. lots of info on the actual history, not the false stories we grew up with.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of American Higher Education []  2020-1-11 18:28

    Book was just as stated and arrived within the stated timeframe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Higher Education: A Big Wall Manual []  2020-7-18 18:51

    As an aspiring huge wall theorist, I was excited when Higher Education showed up on my all books of technical nature, my first instinct is to quickly peruse the work from cover to cover. What am I getting into? Is this really going to be an improvement over the relatively petite works that proceeded this one?And with most printed material in this digital age, the most convenient put to do a fast perusal is on the throne while I complete my morning paperwork. Quickly it became apparent that this particular work by Andy is indeed the definition of comprehensive. The layout is well organized, the content current, and the writing amazing enough. But the depth is truly impressive, I can’t imagine what is missing here. Within minutes, I’d learned a thing or two. There is even a chapter on para IS THAT THOUROUGH!At this point in my first pass, I realized that a significant time had passed. Standing turned into a desperate act. My feet, completely useless, legs numb as if I’d been hanging in a harness belaying a marathon pitch. The realization I was facing a factor 1 fall onto the bathroom floor due to unresponsive legs was terrifying. What would Andy do? (besides not getting into this position to start with) Inaction was not an option, I quickly closed the lid and positioned myself back on the throne to regain my composure. I read about getting the squad to coordinate these activities as an efficiency hint as the blood flow returned to my lower , what was the point of all that? None really, other than search a comfy spot when you begin the book. The book is destined to have the staying power of the Freedom of Hills. It will be THE reference manual for years to come. Well done Andy. And thanks for sharing this wonderful amount of knowledge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Higher Education: A Big Wall Manual []  2020-7-18 18:51

    Encyclopedic knowledge contained within.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Higher Education, Second Edition: A History []  2020-8-20 18:25

    Perfect book and excellent for my class. Well written, interesting and simple to follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Budgets and Financial Management in Higher Education []  2019-12-18 20:20

    Yes. This book was needed for my Doctorate School Finance course. It includes current applications, and amazing support with my research and class assignments.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Budgets and Financial Management in Higher Education []  2019-12-18 20:20

    Very simple to read. Terms are clearly explained.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Restoring the Promise: Higher Education in America []  2020-1-3 21:34

    Ok

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Organization and Administration in Higher Education []  2020-7-20 18:27

    Boring. It was needed to buy but it wasn't riveting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Budgets and Financial Management in Higher Education []  2019-12-18 20:20

    Well written. Amazing resource.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Budgets and Financial Management in Higher Education []  2019-12-18 20:20

    If you are in need of a crash course or a solid overview of what you need to know, this is it. Very helpful in my opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Restoring the Promise: Higher Education in America []  2020-1-3 21:34

    More than just a complaint...but an ysis of the economic problems facing higher erucation

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Organization and Administration in Higher Education []  2020-7-20 18:27

    Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of American Higher Education []  2020-1-11 18:28

    It’s actually a beautiful decent reader to say it’s a textbook for my History of Colleges and Universities class

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Higher Education: A Big Wall Manual []  2020-7-18 18:51

    A very well written must have for any aspiring huge wall climber as well as seasoned veterans of the craft. Andy’s humor and attention to info in this manual is sure create it a huge wallers bible. 5 star all the way! Would be 6 if I could obtain it in hard copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Higher Education, Second Edition: A History []  2020-8-20 18:25

    History isn’t my thing but this was a needed book. It was beautiful amazing for its topic area.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Higher Education, Second Edition: A History []  2020-8-20 18:25

    Amazing history of American education.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Higher Education, Second Edition: A History []  2020-8-20 18:25

    If you have to own *one* history of higher ed. book, then this one is probably it. It is comprehensive and - despite the fact the author is a tenured professor - is readable. I think it is also better than another latest of history of higher ed. text by Thelin, which focuses mostly on the 30 or 40 most selective universities, paying small attention to the institutions that educate the vast majority of the rest of us.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    CORPORATE SUPERPOWER: Cultivating A Winning Culture For Your Business []  2019-12-18 20:39

    Corporate Superpower is a much required addition to the already existing shelves of business literature. As someone with a business degree, I’ve had to read my fair share books and hear about others that talk about necessary principles and how to take your company to the next level or how managers can support motivate their employees.Dr. Konovalov certainly does all of that. That isn’t what makes this book great. What makes this book amazing is the focus not just on the importance of the company’s culture or of the individual contributions of its members but of how these intertwine, how the culture and the individual make a feedback loop that reinforces behaviors, both amazing and bad. The author manages to do this in a method that isn’t patronizing or filled with jargon and buzzwords. He simply draws on his own experience as a businessman in multiple countries, working across various cultures and political systems, noticing the themes and behaviors that repeat from one group to another.Dr. Konovalov does not rely only on experience, however. He effortlessly quotes Cicero, the Bible, and Aristotle to and weight to his observations, interweaving the wisdom and intellectual tradition of the west with the modern business world.What truly sets Corporate Superpower apart though is its exploration of negative cultures, what the author refers to as Dark Kingdoms. These are companies or other organizations in which people tend to engage in back-stabbing, jockeying for position, or simply showing up for a paycheck. Not just one or two individuals, in these kingdoms this negativity is the culture as a whole. Such organizations chop corners, lean heavily on procedure and formality, and frankly are not likely to exist much longer without drastic change. I believe most of us have worked in a put like this and will recognize it in Dr. Konovalov’s discussion of the Dark lly, the author does not simply condemn these organizations as being beyond saving. He discusses ways to right the ship and to spot the warning signs so that you can take action to stop the darkness from spreading in the first place.If you think that you have read everything you need in the business globe already, I’m here to tell you that there is a gap in your reading and Corporate Superpower is perfectly sized to fill it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    CORPORATE SUPERPOWER: Cultivating A Winning Culture For Your Business []  2019-12-18 20:39

    I have spent more than 20 years helping businesses around the globe to be more successful and I have learned very clearly that one of the most necessary factors is the quality of the organizational culture. A phrase I use often is: Culture = Cash. This is an perfect book to give you examples, research, tools and action steps to support you improve the culture of your organization – regardless of whether it's a nonprofit, for-profit, association or governmental agency – every organization depends on creating a powerful and engaging culture and I highly recommend "corporate superpower" as a unbelievable resource to support you in that quest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    CORPORATE SUPERPOWER: Cultivating A Winning Culture For Your Business []  2019-12-18 20:39

    For anyone who wants some hints and tactics for making a winning business, I recommend Konovalov's work. This book, is a amazing read for anyone in the corporate globe environment, but even amazing for those looking to begin or who are in the middle of their own business. I search this to be a amazing tool and gives a lot of thought-provoking and innovative ideas and tips. I found Chapter Four "Energy Sources" and its sub headings to give a lot of information, especially about being positive, such as respect and self-respect. It's a well-written business tool that can be used for a lot of applications in business and even personally.I received this book free in exchange for an honest and unbiased review. ~Amy's Bookshelf Reviews

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    CORPORATE SUPERPOWER: Cultivating A Winning Culture For Your Business []  2019-12-18 20:39

    Corporate Superpower by Oleg Konovalov is an exceptionally valuable tutorial to culture management full of examples and practical recommendations. By looking into such critical factors as symbols, values, employee engagement, corporate ID, ideology, leadership, and other necessary factors this book keeps engaged from the first page. The view of cultural properties as metaphysical resources is is book is well-structured to let insights into various facets of culture and people-centered management as a property of the Knowledge Era. A Bible of Culture Management for modern leaders. Amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    CORPORATE SUPERPOWER: Cultivating A Winning Culture For Your Business []  2019-12-18 20:39

    Having participated in leadership and studying the topic for a lot of years, I am totally impressed with Oleg's fresh book, "Corporate Superpower: Cultivating a Winning Culture for Your Business" and recommend it as a top addition to every leaders library for 2018. However, the true power of this book is not in just adding it to your library but rather digesting the material and using the concepts to create changes in your organization.Often today, we talk about culture change a lot but I search too a lot of leaders are looking for a easy fix that can be copied and have it solve all their internal issues. This book describes that assumption can be deadly to any enterprise. It is a amazing combination of ytical examination and practical app in finding the balance that can create your business sustainable for the long term.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Budgets and Financial Management in Higher Education []  2019-12-18 20:20

    This is a amazing book for people that wish to learn more about higher ed budgeting. It was an simple read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Budgets and Financial Management in Higher Education []  2019-12-18 20:20

    Amazing book for class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Restoring the Promise: Higher Education in America []  2020-1-3 21:34

    Vedder is the go to expert for higher education reform. Bravo on another perfect read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Organization and Administration in Higher Education []  2020-7-20 18:27

    Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    CORPORATE SUPERPOWER: Cultivating A Winning Culture For Your Business []  2019-12-18 20:39

    I found Corporate Superpower to be an perfect book on culture management. The book provides answers to a lot of questions such as how to develop people, obtain them together and engage in achieving organizational goals, implement change, and create a company culture as a stronghold of people growth. The book is written in a clear style, logically structured, and supported with a lot of real-life cases, examples, and valuable practical hints and suggestions. In practical terms, Corporate Superpower shifts the paradigm of traditional thinking from managing people by rules to serving people and organization through value creation. This is the invaluable step-by-step tutorial to culture for daily use.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    CORPORATE SUPERPOWER: Cultivating A Winning Culture For Your Business []  2019-12-18 20:39

    Corporate Superpower is the fascinating instrument for all modern leaders. This book is very well written and structured and offers amazing insights into unexplored locations of this almost mystical factor, culture. Corporate Superpower is very practical for managing everyday issues, strategic growth, and releasing the full potentials of any organization. Every point is masterfully supported by examples and metaphors allowing a clear understanding of the complicated processes. Every chapter is eye-opening and valuable in terms of developing people-centered culture, where two chapters, Metaphysical Resources and A Winemaker's Checklist, stand as most valubale to me. This is so real that Oleg Konovalov explains what culture is and why it eats tactic for breakfast. A game-changing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    CORPORATE SUPERPOWER: Cultivating A Winning Culture For Your Business []  2019-12-18 20:39

    I had just read another book from this author and loved it, so I thought I'd read this one. He focuses on strategic needs for leaders to focus on to create the kinds of changes organizations need to survive. If leadership does not recognize the need to fix the culture, the company is doomed. This is a must-read for all leaders.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of American Higher Education []  2020-1-11 18:28

    The book is boring. I had to order it for masters coursework. I don't have fun reading textbooks, but it provided me with what I required to finish my signature assessment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Higher Education, Second Edition: A History []  2020-8-20 18:25

    This book was a journey through the origins of higher education. It makes sense looking at where we are today, and what directions we still need to go. Amazing book for every educator...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Higher Education, Second Edition: A History []  2020-8-20 18:25

    This second hand book was well preserved! It's amazing for me to read with some notes in this book by former owner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Higher Education: A Big Wall Manual []  2020-7-18 18:51

    Seems to cover all key aspects of huge wall climbing, while still being entertaining to read. Illustrations are very clear. There are only a few locations where an additional illustration might create the text more clear.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Higher Education: A Big Wall Manual []  2020-7-18 18:51

    I bought this book to present me all the mistakes I did when when climbing wall routes a generation ago. I found out that I was a regular caveman. Maybe I'll obtain in better shape and climb one or two more after I retire :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Higher Education: A Big Wall Manual []  2020-7-18 18:51

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    CORPORATE SUPERPOWER: Cultivating A Winning Culture For Your Business []  2019-12-18 20:39

    Dr. Konovalov has provided the compass that modern businesses need to follow for maximum success! Not a easy solution, nor a 12-step program, but an organic pack to support tutorial every manager and owner to the desired success. This is the fresh paradigm for the info age. The concept of the industrial baron has been eclipsed by the Faithful Servant, the person who can best ensure that success is achieved at every level in the organization.I enjoyed this book and award 4.7 stars; the score would have been higher except for the spelling errors that interrupted my reading pleasure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of American Higher Education []  2020-1-11 18:28

    This is a thorough examination of the entire history of higher education in America, broken up by time period. The writing is engaging and interesting, and I learned a lot of things that changed my perceptions. I did, however, search the groupings to be inconsistent and frequently overlapping.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of American Higher Education []  2020-1-11 18:28

    An perfect overview of American Higher Education. Simple to follow and full of very useful information. I would highly recommend it as a useful reference tool for anyone studying the Higher Education system.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of American Higher Education []  2020-1-11 18:28

    Very useful ysis. Thelin has a definite opinion that comes through in the text. His perspective pushed me to dig a bit deeper on a lot of fundamental subjects in higher education.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Higher Education: A Big Wall Manual []  2020-7-18 18:51

    This book was instrumental in helping me prepare for my first huge wall on South Face of Washington Column in August 2019.I can't stress enough how much this book has helped me prepare...from my mental android game to all the technical know-hows there's no other book on the shop right now that has the level of detail and depth of coverage for aspiring huge wall climbers like me. I'm going to create a fast comparison to Chris McNamara "How to Huge Wall" manual, which is short and leave much to be desired - it's a amazing fast visual tutorial but I wanted something much more comprehensive on the topic so I started looking for another book and stumbled upon this l of Andy's hints and suggestions are from his first-hand experience and he's able to distill complex subjects into simple and understandable bites, it's like having the grand master of huge wall climbing right there by your side walking you through everything you need to know. For example, I never would have thought to use a swivel as the connection point to the daisy chains, instead of girth hitching as per tradition, to reduce the inevitable tangle when aiding. Thanks Andy, having tested it on Washington Column, I can say it's ingenious!I also kept hearing Andy's voice (in my own interpretation as I've never actually heard him speak) in my head telling me to not bail and hold pushing when my partner and I starting running low on water a few pitches from the top and I'm glad we did because we finished in a 24 hour push on day 2 from dinner e contents are incredibly comprehensive and can seem textbook at times - this is by design as it's first and foremost a "manual" to reference and learn from a lot of times over. However, Andy's writing makes the reading easy, interspersed throughout the book are the stories of his a lot of near-death experience that have created this reading an an incredibly memorable ide from the text itself, there are a lot of clear illustrations that visually showcase the concepts being taught, I search myself consistently referring back to them and "seeing" them in my mind when I'm on the wall trying to recall how to do perform certain actions. The pictures in this book are also awesome - I think he could have compiled all the images in this book and published that by itself as coffee table reading, it's that final take: I would highly encourage any aspiring huge wall climber to obtain this and read it twice over, then go out and defeat the walls!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Higher Education: A Big Wall Manual []  2020-7-18 18:51

    Absolutely the best huge wall manual out there. Very pleasantly surprised by this masterpiece. Covers all big-wall subjects down to the microscopic level you need when first starting out. You will not be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Higher Education, Second Edition: A History []  2020-8-20 18:25

    The author, based on his background, is an education major attempting to be an historian. Amazingly, he proves himself incompetent in both fields. From his hilarious look at the ancient globe (my major was history, concentration on the classics, at Rutgers) to his opinionated ysis of the 1960s, Dr. Lucas presents a hodgepodge of factoids, rarely well linked, and with small attempt whatsoever to connect outside the globe of academia. I envision him sitting in an office, surrounded by stacks of index cards, grabbing one fact, one name after another and slinging them together. The book is not famous in format, as its turgid prose and overwhelming collection of factoids would scare off the average reader, but also lacks the proper doentation one expects of a scholarly work. I scratched my head and wondered, "What is evidence?" over and ly, the entire work is clearly influenced by the author's bias. He supports a liberal education based on classical traditions; that much is obvious. He is completely, and explicitly, Eurocentric in his fore this was written, there was a need for an accessible but scholarly, single-volume acc of American higher education. Following its publication, there was still that need.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    American Higher Education, Second Edition: A History []  2020-8-20 18:25

    a must for higher education majors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of American Higher Education []  2020-1-11 18:28

    I have really enjoyed that this book is simple to read and interesting. It is a needed text for one of my doctoral courses, but I have enjoyed reading it and have actually been known to ready ahead!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of American Higher Education []  2020-1-11 18:28

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading Thelin's research on the history of the American higher education system(s). His work dispels myths, which is intriguing and engaging. The work is organized well by historic periods. Definitely a must-read for higher education students, administrators, and student affairs practitioners!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of American Higher Education []  2020-1-11 18:28

    Very well written. I love his accounts of History that others don't write--the private stories that create things much more personal.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386