Read cultural resistance reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all cultural resistance reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cultural Capital []  2020-7-25 20:15

    I love most of Mob's output but not this one. At all. Seems flat, uninspired, and very repetitive.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cultural Politics of Emotion []  2019-12-20 18:35

    One of the best books I've ever read. I hold referring to it and others to it over the years. Helped change/broaden my perspective on emotions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Polynesian Cultural Center - PCC [App]  2019-12-27 21:38

    The application is very slow. Bottom navigation is missing. Schedule shows the same activity. Useless if you're trying to plan your trip there.

    0  


    Add your opinion on cultural resistance or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Polynesian Cultural Center - PCC [App]  2019-12-27 21:38

    So far so good. Very thoughtful of the Center to support with my families experience. To support create it great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Polynesian Cultural Center - PCC [App]  2019-12-27 21:38

    really wished it worked, but trying to load any map data didn't (i.e. villages it happenings or such). at least the map+gps worked (not that the map had any labels).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Orchid: A Cultural History []  2020-5-27 18:19

    This is a well-written, attractive book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finland, Cultural Lone Wolf []  2020-1-28 20:29

    First of all, this is an entertaining and informative book. More importantly, however, it provides insight into one of the most successful societies on the planet. Every informed person should take note of Finland's accomplishments and be familiar with the people behind those accomplishments. From a brilliant defence of Finland in 1939 (the Winter Battle with Russia) to post battle rebuilding and current economic and educational excellence, Finland leads the way. The only comparable success story is that of Singapore.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finland, Cultural Lone Wolf []  2020-1-28 20:29

    I returned it. After reading it for 30 minutes, I decided this book was not well written and I would be better off just surfing the Internet. Recommend you pass on this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cultural Defense []  2020-1-15 21:20

    While some would explain away cultural defenses as "cultural excuses" for crimes, it is necessary to note (as Renteln's book repeatedly does) that American morals and values are not hegemonic throughout the world. This being said, Renteln's ideas are not without controversy, as providing parents who fondle their kids with a sound legal defense is likely to raise the eyebrows of even the most liberal of defense e very primary point of The Cultural Defense that I believe is often missed is it's indirect attack on the assumption that culture has been established in the United States. If one were to blindly follow the letter of the law as written in 1787, slavery, spousal-rape, and other current crimes would still be legal. The point is that the founding fathers were not representative of the social, economic and racial makeup of the United States at the time of it's founding, nor would they be representative of the US today. Thus, by following the ideals of culture that were set forth in the oldest laws of our nation by denying alternative cultural considerations, the US is placing itself on a risky path towards a cultural lag in law that does not represent what modern America needs or wants out of its government and its e Cultural Defense does not excuse those who commit crimes. It merely advocates understanding the background of those individuals who break the law. If a history of abuse or violence within a white family can be allowed into court, surely the cultural history of a racial or ethnic minority should be allowed as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    : A Cultural History []  2020-1-21 20:57

    This is a MUST READ for everyone. I am somewhat expert in the field, and I learned a lot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seattleness: A Cultural Atlas []  2020-2-1 16:59

    The visualizations in this book, as in the Portlandness book that preceded it, are rich, varied, and interesting for the most part. The method demographic and cultural representations are made, and the ways in which geographic and climatological features of Seattle are visualized, are highly e temporal anatomy of the Seattle downtown skyline, and the coffee density and the botanical maps of all Seattle's neighborhoods are of particular interest. They are particularly well thought out and well-presented in a spatially accurate manner. Some might search these maps quirky, however I search some of the 'shadowrun' fictional maps and pinball zone maps a small gratuitous. I appreciate that they have an audience, but believe that audience is limited. With the plethora on offer in Seattle, culturally and geographically, something more necessary was probably omitted in lieu of summation though, amazing value for money, an perfect display book, stunning graphic creativity, and a unbelievable keepsake for anyone in love the the Pacific-Northwest and its cities.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seattleness: A Cultural Atlas []  2020-2-1 16:59

    This book represents years of work, data ysis, and visualization. It is clear the authors devoted themselves to crafting in interviewing stories of a town they all love. Be you a map lover, a data fiend, a Seattlite or visiting I highly recommend

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cultural Locations of Disability []  2020-7-2 19:51

    This opened my eyes to how the disabled were treated in our society, so unfortunate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cultural Geographies: An Introduction []  2020-8-8 18:44

    Good!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cultural Geographies: An Introduction []  2020-8-8 18:44

    Amazing book; amazing seller.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cultural Defense []  2020-1-15 21:20

    The author believes that the rights of humans to follow their culture should trump animal rights, allowing horrific abuse of animals with the excuse that "it's their culture." She applies the same excuse for the mutilation of kids and the oppression of women. She even applies it to honour killings and kid brides. She justifies this cultural relativism by saying that U.S. culture, if such can even be said to exist, is not hegemonic in the e obvious flaw here is that just because various viewpoints exist, they are not necessarily all equally valid. Ayaan Hirsi Ali sums it up best: "Cultural and moral relativists sap our sense of moral outrage by defending the position that human rights are a Western invention. Men who abuse women rarely fail to use the vocabulary the relativists have kindly provided them. They claim the right to adhere to an alternative set of values - an "Asian," "African" or "Islamic" approach to human rights. This mind-set needs to be broken. A culture that carves the genitals of young girls, hobbles their minds, and justifies their physical oppression is not equal to a culture that believes women have the same rights as men."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Polynesian Cultural Center - PCC [App]  2019-12-27 21:38

    The application installed. I opened it and scrolled through the tutorial. Most functionality in the guide wasn't available in the application and it's scheduled was 50 instances of the same exact event. Same time, same info.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Polynesian Cultural Center - PCC [App]  2019-12-27 21:38

    Worked on 2nd try! looking forward to visiting!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Polynesian Cultural Center - PCC [App]  2019-12-27 21:38

    The application worked great. Loved the "my day" feature where I can plan out my day.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Polynesian Cultural Center - PCC [App]  2019-12-27 21:38

    Suggested itineraries are out of date and don't match actual show/demonstration times. Amazing idea but if it isn't accurate it isn't useful!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Polynesian Cultural Center - PCC [App]  2019-12-27 21:38

    Used this for our latest visit and found it to be beautiful helpful. The best aspect was the suggested itineraries as the park features so a lot of things to do, it's a bit overwhelming for first time visitors once you comprehend just how much there is to do. This will at least hold you on target to hit a amazing portion of the activities in a day. The application at first appearance isn't intuitive but once you understand how it's supposed to work, it works well enough. I did not have any problems with it crashing on my phone as some of the other reviewers seemed to have. We used both the application and paper map for our visit and the combination seemed to work well. We did not message any significant scheduling problems either. Overall, the application is worth a test if your planning a visit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    : A Cultural History []  2020-1-21 20:57

    This book is so strong and filled with useful information. Even if couples only read the second half, it may save a lot of marriages. But in its entirety it is history, anthropology, anatomy, biology, psychology all rolled into one book. I'm grateful Naomi Klein researched and wrote this book and that me and my book club took the time to read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    : A Cultural History []  2020-1-21 20:57

    I usually have fun what Naomi Wolf writes--her writing seems effortlessly narrative and informed, and I like her modernist feminist viewpoint (compared to my viewpoint, which, given my age practically dates from the E.C. Stanton era).Despite this book's title, it's a lot more than a compendium of dry biological info on a physical organ. It's also a look at the sort of treatment , and thereby women, are topic to. She hits up history, psychology, the industry, women's views of themselves. You name it, she takes you there through a lens you've probably never used before.I'd recommend this book to beautiful much any woman, seeing as every woman is equipped with a , but even more to men, for whom the concept and the physical reality is alien.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Orchid: A Cultural History []  2020-5-27 18:19

    Perfect seller; would use again. Far beyond just a picture book, this work goes deeply into the meaning of the orchid and its treatment in literature, film, and song; it's associations with the exotic, sophisticated, and mysterious. We gave this as a gift, but the lady's husband snatched it from her to read it first! A amazing addition to anyone's library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Impotence: A Cultural History []  2020-11-20 18:16

    As an everyman "hey, look at what people did in Ye Olden Times!" book, this is enjoyable and amusing. It is a excellent example of how to publish scholarship that will actually sell on a mass scale. As a "Cultural History," this book exemplifies the common complaints versus *some* works in Cultural Studies and Fresh r individuals interested in a vague overview of gender problems and ity through the ages, the book is fine (with a grain of salt). Its tendency to conflate hundreds of years of history into "one era" and "one viewpoint," to hand-pick stuff of literature that will prove a statement while ignoring several tons of stuff that disprove it, to overlook some *major* elements in the field, and to play quick and loose with info makes the book dangerous to use for any true scholarship. Its attempt to be the Reader's Digest of the subject makes it and its dubious veracity virtually uncitable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seattleness: A Cultural Atlas []  2020-2-1 16:59

    Loved this book! I received an advance copy from NetGalley, and enjoyed it so much that I ordered two extra copies to give to mates for Christmas!If you live in Seattle, or have any interest in visiting there, this book is for you. Chock full of interesting infographics about the city. Crazy charts about the rain, the mountains, the terrain, the streets, the explosion of construction, and on and on.I guarantee that you will return to it over and over, discovering something fresh every time you pick it up!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seattleness: A Cultural Atlas []  2020-2-1 16:59

    This book has some of the most interesting and attractive data visualizations I've ever seen! The info is interesting and weaves together the story of Seattle. If you are looking for a bonus for someone from Seattle this is an perfect choice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cultural Locations of Disability []  2020-7-2 19:51

    I purchased the book for my daughter who is a College Junior at Ole Miss. The book was for a Sociology class. According to her the book is very informative and a amazing resource for her class and future reference. It gives a historical background on how the disabled was treated in the past. I would recommend this book for anyone who is interested in law, especially in locations of discrimination.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finland, Cultural Lone Wolf []  2020-1-28 20:29

    Finland is truly a special put in so a lot of ways and Mr. Lewis captures the spirit of the put with insight and skill. By nature, Finns are very modest people so it takes an outsider to toot their horn. Lewis is well suited to the job as he speaks Finnish (that is quite a job!) and has spent a lot of years consulting there. The author rightly observes that Finland outranks all other advanced democratic nations on practically any necessary measure of development - literacy, economic competitiveness, equality (economic, social and gender), transparency, lack of corruption, low levels of crime, and high levels of technological innovation. He notes that while they do pay high taxes, they actually help these taxes because they ensure that everyone has high quality health care, education, and social help - no exceptions.But apart from their success in forging a wealthy and egalitarian nation, the Finns stand out in a lot of other ways. For one, they are not really all that Scandinavian. Their origins are obscure, but it is clear that their language and culture has roots outside of the Indo-European group. In some ways, like the Basques perhaps, they are a little and special nationality with a globe view that we should all admire. Among their virtues, Finns are extraordinarily honest, so much so that some see them as blunt. They can also be very taciturn. Indeed, the uninformed traveler to Finland may mistake their parsimonious use of spoken language as a sign of coldness or obtuseness. As Lewis points out, to the contrary, Finns are very intellectually inclined, but are deeply suspicious of wordy or flamboyant people. Also of interest, the author delves into why Finnish women have been so successful and have attained full equality in all spheres of life.Even if you don't have the possibility to visit Finland, this is a amazing book to read if you are interested in learning about a country that is getting it right!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finland, Cultural Lone Wolf []  2020-1-28 20:29

    A very well researched book about Finns, their history and personalities from an ytical perspective and very valuable for anyone planning to live or undertake business with Finns. It states that Finland has an incredibly rich artistic heritage, which I believe is true, but you'd still be none the wiser after reading the book. What role does art, music, dance and literature play in their culture? Perhaps it's time for an expanded reprint to complete this otherwise thorough picture?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seattleness: A Cultural Atlas []  2020-2-1 16:59

    An awesome combination of special info and imagery about Seattle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Lubbock Cultural Events [App]  2020-2-9 13:24

    Amazing method to hold up with downtown happenings and venues.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    : A Cultural History []  2020-1-21 20:57

    Every woman and man should read this to understand the challenges we have faced in explaining why does or doesn't feel like we hoped it would. Women, obtain your feelings validated. Men, learn what your partner actually needs to feel physically fulfilled and reap the benefits. We ARE different, and there are amazing benefits to be gained from understanding this. Read it and reap.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    : A Cultural History []  2020-1-21 20:57

    loved the connections she created between the science globe and the spiritual world. If we all understand the power and potential that "freeing the " can have on us as individuals and as a society, I think we would be one step closer to a better, healthier world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finland, Cultural Lone Wolf []  2020-1-28 20:29

    This book is a winner. Richard Lewis writes well and this is a solid book on Finland. His knowledge is broad and goes deep from having lived in Finland for a lot of years, working as an international consultant. I learned necessary aspects of Finnish history that built the dominant qualities of Finnish character, including among others, the communication style of Finns, a style unlike a lot of other cultures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finland, Cultural Lone Wolf []  2020-1-28 20:29

    This book provides an perfect insight into the Weltanschauung of the Finnish People. It is entertaining and interesting. My wife's side of the family is Finnish, and the book seems quite accurate based upon my limited observations.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cultural Defense []  2020-1-15 21:20

    Amazing book from a amazing professor :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Orchid: A Cultural History []  2020-5-27 18:19

    I was expecting more depth and research following the review I read in the RHS's monthly journal. This was a amazing read and I recommend it to people who like and/or grow orchids.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Radio Cultural TGN [App]  2019-7-6 13:15

    me gusta

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Polynesian Cultural Center - PCC [App]  2019-12-27 21:38

    This is great! You can see your ticket reservations, learn about the activities and presentations, and build an itinerary. There is an interactive map and schedule plus it even provides cultural info as you discover the 6 various villages. Very helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Polynesian Cultural Center - PCC [App]  2019-12-27 21:38

    Love this app!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Polynesian Cultural Center - PCC [App]  2019-12-27 21:38

    Very useful for visitors and worked well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Polynesian Cultural Center - PCC [App]  2019-12-27 21:38

    Amazing idea but not functional. Failed to load maps.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norway: A Cultural Guide []  2020-7-10 19:4

    Simple and pleasurable reading. Comprehensive and. Informative. My Norwegian family read portions of it and said it was accurate. It’s a breathtaking country on the same latitude as Anchorage Alaska. American people are welcome visitors to Norway. I’ve been there 6 times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norway: A Cultural Guide []  2020-7-10 19:4

    I found this book to be full of fascinating history and info on Norway, including customs and traditions. This is a must-read for anyone contemplating travel to Norway. Tusen takk!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cultural Locations of Disability []  2020-7-2 19:51

    I recommend this book to anyone interested in the history of ideas surrounding disability - it is not just an app of cultural or feminist theory to examine a grouping but the development of a whole fresh method of conceptualising disability. I would say it is one of the best books I have read on the topic - although I do also have to add it can tend to ignore the realities of disability and stretch some ideas too far, to be unable to meld reality and theory - but ignoring that it is a stimulating read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Impotence: A Cultural History []  2020-11-20 18:16

    "Impotence in an age that believed in witchcraft was quite various from impotence in an age that believed in science." So writes Angus McLaren in _Impotence: A Cultural History_ (University of Chicago Press). What's even more necessary than the differences, however, is that all cultures have fretted about not having sufficient lead in their pencils. We have _the_ solution now, a unbelievable , although like all the others, it is a solution linked with its own problems. McLaren's extensive history may be about impotence, but winds up being a history of all sorts of ideas, like understanding of conception, superstitions about , women's emancipation, and more. This is literally a vital topic, and in some ways it is dismaying that we have a long history of surrounding it with silly and illogical worries. That merely shows, however, that the topic is an necessary one, and McLaren's entertaining book puts it into proper historical perspective.Everything always seems to begin with the ancient Greeks, who started the long tradition of blaming someone else for the problem. A Roman man would fret if neither women nor boys prompted an , and not having an , not being able to penetrate, was a shame in itself. It had nothing to do with failing to please a partner, for a desire to please a partner was itself felt to be effeminate. The medieval church felt that a marriage was only a marriage if it were properly consummated, and as a result, there was the irony of nominally celibate churchmen having to debate and adjudicate the finer points of coitus. If a wife or her family claimed that a husband had not fulfilled his part of the bargain, he might have to present that he had the power to do so. Sometimes prostitutes would be hired so that the clerics might witness the resultant . The performance anxiety must have led to a lot of false positives. The issue has always been perceived as a true one, and so solutions were always there to be tried, even if they were not true solutions. Impotence then as now has been a boon for quacks. In the 1700s Dr. Brodum offered his Nervous Cordial and Botanical Syrup to obtain men ready for the rigors of the married state. Victorian doctors tried to cure the ailment, but they had small to offer to distinguish themselves from the quacks. They had tip on morals; don't have too often, and for goodness sake, don't masturbate. It would be nice to think that the twentieth century and its scientific and revolutions would have solved things, but such is not the case. There were nutty therapies involving the implantation of goat or monkey glands. (and the subsequent and Levitra) were supposed to take all the worry out of , but nothing performs that function. McLaren reports that female partners of users aren't nearly as convinced that the is a boon as those who swallow the are, and anyway, only half of the men who test it ever obtain their prescriptions would be nice to shake some sense into people, to have them see that are not all there is to , and that there is plenty of enjoyment to be had in lots of ways whether or not an can be counted upon. That's really the only sensible method to look at the issue, but McLaren's book demonstrates that we do not look at it sensibly. The best guess is that there will be even more advanced solutions to the issue a hundred years from now, and a hundred years from now, we will be fretting over the issue (or turning it into some fresh problem) just as every generation in history has.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Polynesian Cultural Center - PCC [App]  2019-12-27 21:38

    The portion of this application that builds your schedule just does not work. Frustrating, because going here is all about scheduling! Did not work for my Samsung 9+

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Polynesian Cultural Center - PCC [App]  2019-12-27 21:38

    very convenient when visiting pcc

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Polynesian Cultural Center - PCC [App]  2019-12-27 21:38

    Doesn't have any useful info in it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finland, Cultural Lone Wolf []  2020-1-28 20:29

    This book if for anybody who has been to Finland or has dealt with Finns or plans to do either of the above. The author is an Englishman who has dealt with Finns for years in business ventures. He is also somewhat of a social historian and that makes his book very enjoyable. The book is a quick read filled with anecdotes and jokes and also covers how a lot of othercultures do business in contrast to the Finns including Americans and Japanese. I have dealt with Finns in business and in teaching and this expained a lot of my observations and added some insights.If vacation or business brings you to Finland this is a must read.I immediately lent my copy to a mate who has been mystified by his occasionl dealings with this interesting culture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finland, Cultural Lone Wolf []  2020-1-28 20:29

    The author has a business which provides training in languages and cross-cultural communication, primarily to business persons. I can imagine this book stemming from a series of Powerpoint slides, with bulleted lists, from a course on doing business in Finland. It has a narrow agenda, focusing on patterns of communication and leadership. There is very small on Finnish life and culture - on marriage, family, religion, work life... You will come away from it with a lot of generalizations about the Finnish people but no clue as to how they live their lives. The book begins with a brief introductory sketch of the history and geography of Finland and the Finnish language. This is followed by a more detailed discussion of communication, leadership, national hero or identity, humor, and comparisons of Finns with other peoples. The author presents a very favorable photo of Finns and Finland. In particular, he ceaselessly cites ways in which Finland leads the world. One thing that annoyed me is an excessive reliance on stereotypes and cliches, which are confidently presented as facts, when in fact there are no citations or references to research to help them. Also annoying is the frequent reduction of complex patterns of behavior to simplistic diagrams and typologies (such as "linear-active," "multi-active," and "reactive cultures"). The book is simple to read but redundant and simplistic. I can't recommend it. Test Culture Intelligent Finland instead.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seattleness: A Cultural Atlas []  2020-2-1 16:59

    I bought this as a bonus for a Seattle native and the recipient was immediately floored (in a amazing way) by its gorgeous design, meticulous detail, and thoughtful writing. They loved pointing out all of the small esoteric info that makes Seattle the unique put it is.I, in turn, bought this glimpse into a foreign globe for my bookshelf as it exemplifies a buy-worthy book in today’s screen-heavy world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seattleness: A Cultural Atlas []  2020-2-1 16:59

    Seattleness is the kind of book you leave on the coffee table, kitchen counter or back of the toilet and noodle over small bits at a time. The photos are attractive and the narrative is fascinating, and together they make a very true picture of Seattle. I wholeheartedly recommend this book for everyone with a soft spot for Seattle, and I further suggest those people to bonus this unbelievable book to people they love.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seattleness: A Cultural Atlas []  2020-2-1 16:59

    Lots of versatile info that seems to be enjoyed by all visitors as a coffee table book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    : A Cultural History []  2020-1-21 20:57

    This is the first - and only - book I have read to date that seems to obtain it right about female ity. The strong mind-body connection between female genitals, expression, and our lives, thinking and emotions doesn't obtain the attention it deserves in our educations, our lives, or in medicine. Reading this book is not just one long 'aha!' moment, for me as a female person with a , but in some parts moves me to tears, feeling finally at long latest understood - and understandable. Finally - it's not that women are crazy; our complex ity interacts on multiple levels with our emotional experience, our cognition, and even our very physical health. This changes so much for me - from how I view my relationships, to how I select a physician in the future, how I treat myself as a human being, even to understanding why never ever carries the same strong delight and satisfaction that partnered activity can. I am moved, educated, reassured - and e holiday bonus giving season just got easier for me - anyone who doesn't own this book, and does know women, will be getting a copy of this for their next birthday, or gifting holiday.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    : A Cultural History []  2020-1-21 20:57

    I found the book very informative, although her anatomy is often weak, e.g. there is no’s such named nerve as the pelvic nerve, and there is no such vertebra as L6, but otherwise is a very thought provoking book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    : A Cultural History []  2020-1-21 20:57

    Did not quite understand the direction of the book. It started as a Physiological book about the woman’s body and how injuries can result a woman’s ability to have an , then for the next 200 or so pages it went over the historical oppression of women and how the revolution possibly created things worse (or something like that). I failed to see the connection between the two or the book did not create it clear.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Orchid: A Cultural History []  2020-5-27 18:19

    I was excited to read this but lost interest after the first chapter. There is a amazing deal of emphasis on the eroticism of orchids. It’s a strange book and I want I never bought it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norway: A Cultural Guide []  2020-7-10 19:4

    Informative, well written book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norway: A Cultural Guide []  2020-7-10 19:4

    Comprehensive, informative

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norway: A Cultural Guide []  2020-7-10 19:4

    Having been to Norway before, I still found the info just right for trip preparation and in presentation, lively .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cultural Locations of Disability []  2020-7-2 19:51

    I have a son with aspergers and am always looking for books to develop my perspective on his needs. This book changed the method I look at him so for that I give it five stars. One of the most interesting things I learned from this book is how much our cultures define the individual in general and moreso the individual who is different.I have read a lot of academic books for college and graudate courses and although I am smart, never enjoyed reading them like I enjoyed reading this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cultural Locations of Disability []  2020-7-2 19:51

    I have been a faculty member in the Disability Studies department at Eastern Washington University for four years and I have struggled in finding as method to support students understand how the history of disability is one of individuals. Cultural Areas of Disability has not only helped me provide that understanding for my students it has provided a powerful foundation for the social contract of disability and its formation in the US.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Chiapas Cultural Routes []  2020-9-12 19:8

    This book gets down to the specifics of cultural tourism in Chiapas , not just touching the high points. The translation is charmingly off in places, but entirely comprehensible. An indispensable starting place.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seattleness: A Cultural Atlas []  2020-2-1 16:59

    Even if you've never given Seattle a second thought, this book is full of interesting stories regardless of where they take place. However, the best part of the book are the STUNNING data visualizations and graphics that accompany each story. A truly gorgeous book that lets you discover everything from culture and history to climate and development. There's a spread that shows all the buildings by period of time and it breathtakingly shows the rampant growth of Seattle in an elegant graphic. A very rich and dense book to which I will hold coming back.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Seattleness: A Cultural Atlas []  2020-2-1 16:59

    After noting the previous Readers' Reviews I can only offer that the Word, Detailed, doesn't Start to Describe this ose three Authors are Terrific. My Thanks to Them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finland, Cultural Lone Wolf []  2020-1-28 20:29

    Finland, Cultural Lone WolfBought this to obtain a better undertanding of Finland and it's people to place in perspective the family stories of family members who emigrated to the US at the turn or the more than I asked for. I am beginning to understand why I obtain along with some people better than others. I also can understand why some do not like "Americans".This was written in an simple to read style. It was written by someone who likes and understands Finland and its people while not being Finnish.I would recommend it highly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Finland, Cultural Lone Wolf []  2020-1-28 20:29

    Richard Lewis has written just the kind of book I yearn for when I am about to visit a fresh country / people. He doesn't settle for the obvious, more superficial experience of a "dish" but explores deeper (succinctly and often with amazing humour) its hidden ingredients, which have melted and blended together, while cooking... This makes the experience of eating it so much richer !By the way: we shared a lot of of the book's insights with the Finns we met during our two weeks' visit to Finland -- and they were initially intrigued and ultimately AGREED with a lot of of them. They too were impressed with the authors' depth of familiarity and understanding.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    : A Cultural History []  2020-1-21 20:57

    This book validates so a lot of things I already knew from private experience, and revealed so a lot of explanations for my private preferred preferences. Lucky for me, I gazed into my soulmate's eyes when I was just shy of 15, and he was just shy of 17. I promptly broke up with my boyfriend (his best friend) because I knew this was "the one." I don't know how he learned so much about the importance of patience, foreplay, and pleasing his partner, at such an early age, but he never ceased to please, support, and amaze me. We were together for 55 years, until his death two years ago, and I was never tempted by another man. I treasured the one I had because he practiced what Ms Wolf is preaching in this awesome book. He fully supported me, not only ly, but in all aspects of our life together. He was mentally stimulating, surprised me with unsolicited gifts, planned unique time for just us two, helped with housework, kids, relatives, recognized my stress signals and did whatever he could to relieve me and please me. Lucky for him, I was begin to experimentation, and together we read, discussed, and exoerimented with a lot of of the tantric, and other methods discussed in this book. And yes, Ms Wolf, I can validate your findings about clitoral, l, blended, and transcendental . Still have them, thanks to a lot of unbelievable memories of making love with my husband. Thank you for the scientific and medical info explaining for me why I was so various than my sisters and most of my friends. You are the Goddess!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    : A Cultural History []  2020-1-21 20:57

    I came across this book as I was researching the negative affect of LEEP procedures online. I haven’t talked about it publicly before but I underwent a LEEP procedure in the early 2010’s and afterwards felt a profound disconnection to my ity. After being laughed at by doctors I decided to see if maybe other women had experienced this disconnection after this kind of is book created me cry, it also helped me to reconnect with ity. It was so profound to explore that I am not the only woman who has had the experience of loss of ity and encouraging to know that there is research that backs up my experience as well as a path to healing. Thanks Naomi for writing this book, it changed my life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cultural Politics of Emotion []  2019-12-20 18:35

    Wonderful book! It's an awesome read and it completely revolutionized my understanding and concepts on emotions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Cultural Defense []  2020-1-15 21:20

    Although Alison Dundes Rentein professes an interesting case for the validity of integrating cultural background into a defense in criminal court, and uses solid case law to defend her claims, there are a lot of problems about cultural pluralism and the power of a percieved American national identity that the author fails to ein argues that, instead of integrating cultural experience and upbringing into the realm of insanity defenses in criminal court, these preconditions should stand on thier own as valid, yet partial, defenses to serious crimes. She argues that, despite the presumption of most in the U.S. that immigrants should, "when in Rome do as the Romans do", this is an unrealistic expectation for a lot of immigrants who come to America with language barriers and powerful ties to thier respective cultures. She argues that predispositions made by a certain cultural upbringing are undeniable and should be admissable in criminal court to provide a partial defense in terms of though her arguments are unique, persuasive and offer insight into legal questions that are somewhat undeveloped, she does not sufficiently address the power and validity of a percieved American national identity and the sancitity of the American justice system. Further, she does not address the plausibility that the cultural defense would be accepted into any other international court of law, ignoring the responsibility of other nations with substantial immigrant populations to accept a cultural defense as the U.S. is supposed to do according to the author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Polynesian Cultural Center - PCC [App]  2019-12-27 21:38

    Does not offer the bottom nav as stated in the tutorial. Schedule shows the same activity. How does one use this application to plan a trip. Need more www service information listing activities instead.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Polynesian Cultural Center - PCC [App]  2019-12-27 21:38

    Nice to have map and happenings on phone. Nice to have itinery reminders but they disappear to quickly. Reminders need to be added to a list stack so they can be reviewed as history. Itinerary selection needs more clarity or description similar to getting the correct 4pm or 6pm liuou and how that affects the itinerary. Impossible to go from a notification to the map for a destination and back - makes the application less than helpful. Application needs to update for present changes on a everyday basis.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Polynesian Cultural Center - PCC [App]  2019-12-27 21:38

    Worked amazing for me. Present times were accurate and GPS tracking on their map worked great. I didn't check the sample itineraries.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Orchid: A Cultural History []  2020-5-27 18:19

    Orchid loving mate loves this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Orchid: A Cultural History []  2020-5-27 18:19

    I would highly recommend this book, not only to readers interested in botanical history but to anyone curious about how a single plant family came to intrigue and even obsess Mankind. This extremely well-written and researched book informs as well as entertains, and there is a rich mix of easy-to-understand technical information, historical anecdote, and discussion of the orchid's symbolic role in fiction and movies. This volume is beautifully produced, and it features a fine selection of black-&-white illustrations and colour plates.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Cultural Locations of Disability []  2020-7-2 19:51

    The book is very profound with lot of historical info and covers wide range of perspectives.I may use this as a reference book to fill in my research on the disability viewpoints or legal applications for the definition of the disability. Only one page mentions a discrimination by disability and the American Disability Act, which I was more interested in.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norway: A Cultural Guide []  2020-7-10 19:4

    Even though an older book, it's in amazing shape and gives enough of a vision of the country for remembering my trip!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Norway: A Cultural Guide []  2020-7-10 19:4

    very informative,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Support & Resistance [App]  2019-9-3 13:11

    very useful , into the point & friendly interface... an epic application.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Support & Resistance [App]  2019-9-3 13:11

    تحفة

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Resistance []  2020-7-28 21:29

    Before I obtain into my view, I need to specify... this is for the VINYL version, not a CD or digital download.I've liked Muse beautiful much from the first time I heard their music. This album is probably one of my favorites, and the vinyl ver is AMAZING! When played on a quality turntable with a decent sound system, this will probably be one of the best vinyls you've ever heard. Every detail can be heard in the recordings. You'll hear both the high hats and the bass guitars with no issues, even when they're going at the same ey don't tell you this in the description, but these records are a thicker, higher quality vinyl. Some might call it "audiophile grade." Whatever you call it, it seriously does sound amazing. Not a detail is lost in this recording!I must stress... if you really wish to have fun the vinyl set, you must have a high quality sound system. Create sure your cartridge and needle are up to par, because if they're not, the sound could easily be distorted.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Resistance (2020) []  2020-8-4 20:2

    This was a amazing film depicting heroic Jews illuminating the sanctity of life. While the Germans tried to tear the reason to live from us-they instead lit a flame in the hearts of our nation to bring Jews back to our homeland-sparking the Baal Teshuva movement where millions of previously unaffiliated Jews are loving living and learning the laws of the Torah. Not a lot of Nazi's left-while the Jews thrive. Jews are chosen to be a light unto the every generation our opponents rise up to destroy us. They perish and our nation lives and thrives-not as victims but as victors. Am Yisrael Chai. Shema Yisrael Hashem Elokeynu Hashem Echad!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Resistance (2020) []  2020-8-4 20:2

    I know this is based on a real story and that he was indeed a mime during his life. However, the endless mime parts killed it for me. It created it tedious and boring. They should have shown more of the very true danger they faced. At times I felt like they glossed over the danger instead of actively conveying it in a more serious tone. They were leading kids to safety, the life and death stakes could not be any higher. Upping the drama and having more action would have created it far less boring than the extremely boring move I watched.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Resistance (2020) []  2020-8-4 20:2

    I'm not a French mime fan, to be honest. But that an ordinary man, an actor, son of a butcher, risked his life to save to a lot of Jewish kids is inspiring. A couple of top-notch actors in this (some not so good). This is the second battle film I've watched recently--the other WW1--where there are scenes of soldiers with a few black faces among them in plain view. I know we all have to be super-PC now, but the US Troops was segregated in WW2, so let's not test and rewrite history. Segregation is bad. Inaccuracy in historical films is also bad, and unhelpful. The Nazis are shown at their very worst in this film discriminating versus Jews; let's not pretend the US was (and still is), regrettably, innocent of discrimination. Black lives matter, Jewish lives matter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Total Resistance []  2020-9-23 19:33

    I recall reading this book a lot of years ago. I was unable to locate the book on my shelves, so I ordered this one. It's an interesting view of postwar Swiss doctrine for civilian and paramilitary resistance to a foreign dly, this printing appears to be a facsimile. Nowhere is the print clean and simple to read, and on a lot of pages words are so blurry as to be nearly illegible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Freehold: Resistance []  2020-12-3 18:29

    FREEHOLD: RESISTANCELimiting this book to five stars exposes the low expectations of people who make such rating platforms.I am therefore giving this book 8 stars. By pure coincidence, I am the sole and uncontested authority of this review and cannot be outranked by a mere 5-star-capable computer programmer who isn’t me.And here are the facts:1) People who write reviews of books they have not read should be tossed into begin zone completely naked but enclosed in a giant, insulated, heated Ziploc baggie that by design fully protects them unless they begin it. Lock them in that baggie with only an oral pacifier you search in the mouth of an infant and a worn stuffed animal, pink in color, purchased from the local resale . Give them enough oxygen to match the amount of time it would take to read the book and also put the book in there with a battery powered light to give them something to do until they suffocate to death or choose a well deserved vacuum, either of which is inevitable but ideal.b. This book proves the valid and reasonable necessity of bringing back dueling to settle disputes that qualify enough to stake what matters on a resolution. First 3 stars are right there.iii: This book proves beyond any discernible measure of micro-doubt that only a complete jackäss would willingly choose to be helpless and unarmed. And only an ignorant dümbshît believes the government is here to support you. Two more stars right there. So we’ve already hit the ceiling of the programmers who say five stars is the ns, freedom, rights, courage, valor, risking it all for the right reasons and standing firmly in what means everything is why to devour this book and give it as a bonus to all teenagers.A novelist turned editor who is able to manage the production of globe class short stories from established writers into a cohesive, unified novel has now allowed other writers to support advance a fictional universe and timeline he created: The Freehold. Michael Z. Williamson is vying for Heinlein status in THIS universe.And if the Freehold universe is not the universe you would sell everything you have to relocate to, you don’t deserve the Freehold’s promise and should @#$% off right now and secretly be soaked in Reaper ok that and read this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Freehold: Resistance []  2020-12-3 18:29

    I've followed Angry Mike since I read Freehold the first time. Freehold is grand story but there were always parts that created you wish more detail on how certain things happened. This collection of stories written by amazing authors who know hard military sci fi like the ILOH (that's the International Lord of Hate for those of you in the know and a unbelievable writer who will be even better when he becomes a true author), Kacey Ezell (her other books are also great), Brad Torgerson and a bunch of others weaved together to tell you the rest of the story of Freehold that only got passing mention. It's amazing and it rounds out Freehold very well. You do need to read Freehold first, but this compilation wasn't just a set of disconnected stories-- it tells the rest of the story. Finished it very quickly and then I had to reread Freehold again. Angry Mike did search amazing authors and he weaved them together so it was hard to hold track of which author wrote what. I loved it all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Support & Resistance [App]  2019-9-3 13:11

    it recognises the points of help and resistance automatically and u obtain notified instantly. easy, quick and reliable amazing effort developers

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Support & Resistance [App]  2019-9-3 13:11

    Very amazing application .... I like it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Resistance []  2020-7-28 21:29

    I don't really like writing 'music reviews' as tastes just plain differ. Plus in this particular case, I know nothing about the band, and my age demographic (mid-40s male, I do rip all my CDs to a USB drive for use in my car, and to a media server for the home, but do not own nor wish to own an iSlave module that puts me in permanent donation status to the iTunes collective) might also be a large discriminating factor. So take all the following with that in mind.I bought this on a whim because I liked the song "Uprising" that was used in some TV commercials and was on the radio a while. I really have never heard of or sought out Muse before. So I went into it with lowish expectation, but lo and behold did search other songs on the album I actually liked as much or more, so the experiment was a success. (And yes, I'm thinking about picking up more of their albums).Not knowing anything else about the group but this album, I'd call it kind of "rock-operatic". The lead singer's range isn't that amazing (sounds a small flat at times) but has amazing power. The mix is amazing with vocals standing out from but not overpowering the melody itself. There's a lot of dozens here from percussion to massive bass lines, organs, violins, even some soft piano-ballady kind of notes. Interesting bridges and tempo changes during songs. Theres one almost blindingly in-your-face Queen homage in a song that actually created me laugh out loud on the first listen, and still cracks me up occasionally.Overall there's nothing I'd call groundbreakingly brilliant here, but neither is there anything I'd call tediously b. (OK, some of the lyrics are a small hackneyed, but this is entertainment, not necessarily "high art".)Makes for a amazing listen on the commute, or over headphones when the office gets noisy. And like I said I bought it for one song but 'discovered' a few others to like. In this day and age of instant gratification single-song downloads and Pandora radio...that alone says I got my money's worth, in my opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Resistance []  2020-7-28 21:29

    This album has absolutely rocked my world. I just recently rediscovered Muse among my vast melody collection, and realized that I had been missing out on a truly amazing band. Perhaps I wasn't ready for it when I bought it? Anyway, Muse in general is an awesome band, and I highly recommend them to anyone who is more... adventurous in their musical tastes. If you are just starting out with Muse, Black Holes and Revelations might be a better put to is particular album is a work of art. However, it is an ALBUM. It's not really for downloading single songs, as you will most certainly miss out on an integral part/feeling of the r those who are disappointed by The Resistance, I think this merely represents a private taste difference, because I have found this album to far surpass some of Muse's other work, at least musically. The songs here have some amazing lyrics, but I am more interested in the artful musical composition influenced by a lot of various styles (see also Absolution). Bellamy really shows the power and beauty of his vocals here, and I am supremely impressed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Resistance (2020) []  2020-8-4 20:2

    This is a amazing movie! My wife and I enjoyed and were moved by this film. The actors, adults and children alike are phenomenal. Jessie Eisenberg deserves unique mention, he's really a unbelievable talent and so impressive too was his mastery of mime in the representation of Marcel Marceau. It's amazing, and I feel for the producers of this film, that a theatrical release was prevented by the coronavirus crises. I certainly hope this film receives Academy Award nominations to enable it to be seen (and importantly for the producers) purchased for viewing. This is classic film making which deserves a broad audience. Well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Resistance (2020) []  2020-8-4 20:2

    Really amazing film about Marcel Marceau, one of the greatest mimes ever, and how he rescued Jewish orphans with the French resistance during the Holocaust. It's a amazing movie--it gets kind of choppy in the middle when they focus less on the kids and more on the resistance side of things (appropriate for a film entitled "Resistance"). It's heartbreaking at parts, funny at other parts. Eisenberg's accent, however, takes me out of the film a bit. His accent doesn't sound very French--it just sounds like an accent. Still, I recommend it! Amazing movie!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Total Resistance []  2020-9-23 19:33

    amazing info in part but lots of things were out of date. if you need something to read during your commute...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Freehold: Resistance []  2020-12-3 18:29

    First, this is set in Michael Z. Williamson's Freehold universe, during the Freehold / UN war. Fans of that series will love this addition, as it fills in a lot of what happened during the occupation / resistance. It references some previously known characters, but mostly relies on brand fresh ones. A downside to this is that if you're not already familiar with the Freehold universe you'll have a hard time picking up what's going on. At the least, read Freehold first. (Available at fine booksellers everywhere).Perhaps more importantly, it's really less of an anthology than a novel written by multiple authors. Mr. Williamson wrote three of the stories, but his most impressive achievement was in weaving the contributions of the other authors together so that all of the stories combine to tell one grand story of how one little planet can conquer the combined might of the UN. (OOPS - spoiler alert). This is not to downplay the job he did assembling a really impressive cast of writers. There really isn't a poor story in here.Highly recommended for fans of his Freehold universe, military SF, or just plain amazing writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Freehold: Resistance []  2020-12-3 18:29

    Wonderful Read!! You will NOT regret buying or reading this book! Amazing buy at 3 times the price! (Yes the other FREEHOLD and RIPPLE CREEK SECURITY books are likewise a triple price bargain) I have created a wager to over 100 people that they will like the first book in the series 'FREEHOLD ' THE WAGER BEING I WOULD BUY THE BOOK FROM THEM IF THEY DID NOT LIKE IT! BOOKS BOUGHT UNDER THIS WAGER? ZERO! SO BUY THIS AND ALL THE FREEHOLD AND RIPPLE CREEK SECURITY BOOKS! (( Beter To Beg Forgiveness is the first book in the Ripple Creek Security ones)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Freehold: Resistance []  2020-12-3 18:29

    If you are a fan of the Freehold series and its permutations during this time of mass stupidity in our country, I very strongly encourage you to buy and read Freehold Resistance. A caveat is that this is a complex, much interwoven and exceptionally well written addition to the Freehold series (i.e. don’t read after several drinks of exceptional bourbon as you will be completely the hell lost.) It adds a amazing deal of depth to the entire globe that Mr. Williamson has though I work in an “essential industry” I have a amazing deal of free time so given the challenge of seeing how Resistance fell within the Freehold world, I went back and read everything in the series. To my chagrin, I really, really looked for holes, and could not search even one that did not fit within the series.Whoever was the master behind keeping track of this is owed a drink by me when we meet as they pulled off a hell of a damn amazing job.I really look forward to whatever Mr. Williamson directs for the future in this series be it a book written by him alone or another where exceptional writers are allowed to play in his world.Without reservation, I do strongly suggest that this book adds much depth and understanding to the exceptional globe build by Mr. Williamson.I write few reviews and will not post one less than 4.5 stars and instead will contact the author directly to tell them that they are method off base. This book deserves a 5 star plus review. Amazing job all of you. And I will, if I haven’t already, am looking to read and review the other authors in this series.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386