dawggy mountain breakdown Reviews & Opinions


Submit dawggy mountain breakdown review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    This book provides a glimpse not only into the medical and sociological challenges of Haiti and other impoverished regions, but into the culture of those who serve, help those who serve and in a lot of cases obstruct those who serve. Mr. Farmer's view of all human life being worthy of an opportunity to live is refreshing in an era of global narcissism. Mr. Kidder did an exceptional job capturing Paul Farmer's character, dedication, commitment and single-minded focus, but I still came away not fully understanding what drives him at his core. This lack of understanding my be my fault as I've been trained to seek a "root cause" when I analyze a situation, in a culture where everyone has an agenda. Regardless, I applaud Mr. Farmer and the thousands of other unnamed global servants who engage on a life level helping those who most need help.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    I had this book for a long time before reading it. When I would think of reading Mountains Beyond Mountains, I felt challenged. Actually that is a amazing thing as I understood how difficult Dr. Farmer's causes were and how dedicated and influential he was. I learned a lot about TB and other diseases prevalent in other locations and how difficult but important the treatments are. The broad funding requirements, the political dance, the education of others besides caring for patients created the PIH so crusty and difficult. Still with dedication and energy much has been accomplished is several critical places. The globe owes a amazing debt to Dr. Paul Farmer and others who dedicate their lives to caring for those who don't have the means or ability to support themselves.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    I finished this remarkable book a couple of weeks ago and have been too busy learning more about Paul Farmer and others who have been working for decades to improve the health, well-being, and living conditions for people in Haiti, Peru, and Russia to write a review. A co-founder of Partners In Health, Dr. Farmer and his cohorts continue to give of their time, money, talents, and just about all of their resources to support ease the suffering of the poor, hungry, sick, imprisoned, and dying.Until reading Tracy Kidder’s book, I didn’t know men like Farmer and his ilk existed. Someone asked me if he was a Christian, and I replied that he doesn’t talk much about his religious beliefs except for a frequent reference to the 40th verse in Matthew 25: “Verily, I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.” Farmer definitely walks the is is the second of Kidder’s books that I have read, the first being Strength in What Remains. His books are filled with fact after fact about things I’ve never considered. For example, I now know about Burundi and the genocide there, but until two years ago I had never heard of this small, incredibly not good country and Deo, one of its citizens who escaped the genocide and became a doctor after living as a homeless man in both of these books, Kidder’s stage descriptions of Haiti, Cuba, NYC, Burundi, and several other locales are so realistic that the reader can see, hear, and smell the environments. He’s also a master at hero description and in adding an encyclopedic array of facts while holding the reader’s interest (mine anyway). Although I knew economics and medicine were related, I now have a deeper understanding of the interplay between politics, poverty, wealth, and healthcare.If you wish to obtain out of your comfort location and learn more about the globe and some of its people, read Mountains Beyond Mountains.

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on dawggy mountain breakdown or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch dawggy mountain breakdown video reviews and related movies:

    See DGBX --dawggy mountain breakdown on youtube.

     related image

    See Dawggy Mountain Breakdown on youtube.

     related image

    See Dawggy Mountain Breakdown on youtube.

     related image

    See Dawggy Mountain Breakdown (Car Talk theme song) on youtube.

     related image

    See Dawggy Mountain Breakdown on youtube.

     related image

    See Dawggy Mt. Breakdown on youtube.

     related image

    See Dawggy Mountain Breakdown - Excerpt from the Custom Banjo Lesson from The Murphy Method on youtube.

     related image

    See David Grisman-Dawgy Mountain Breakdown 6/25/16 on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    Thank you Tracy Kidder. It was hard to place this book down. I felt as if I'd walked every mile with Paul Farmer through remote mountain villages where he helped people suffering from maladies that took root in the midst of poverty, isolation and lack of knowledge. Reading this story, my takeaway was this: When we do have occasion to meet people like Dr. Farmer, we are fortunate if we recognize we are in the presence of someone who is living out his or her mission without holding back. Passionately, tirelessly and with perseverance. Deserving of our gratitude and support. Kidder does an admirable job by providing an accurate and respectfully written portrayal of Dr. Farmer with the power to inspire others to follow in his footsteps.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    I had to read this book for school summer work so of course I went into it not having high hopes, but it ended up being one of the most educational and eye opening nonfiction stories I ave ever read. There were a lot of life lessons that I learned throughout the novel and a lot of lessons dealing with globe medical history, racism, diversity, politics, and the problem of poverty in the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    Tracy Kidder is the master journalist, like a clear window on the world. Long ago I read The Soul of a Fresh Machine and liked it, but didn't think too much about it. The brilliance of Kidder's style is so create you feel like you are there, really feel what the topic is about, without any distortion positive or negative.What an awesome topic for this work: Dr. Paul Farmer. This guy is just amazing! As a college student, he travels to Haiti to dedicate himself to the poor. He attends Harvard while spending 8 months a year in Haiti building his own hospital there. He gets a PhD in Anthropology at the same time he gets his MD, the latter not surprising given that he already has 6 years of intense clinical experience dealing directly with life and death situations. You would expect such a person to take on airs, maybe be a huge proud of himself, maybe even be motivated by the 'big bucks' so clearly available in a rich city. Dr. Farmer appears to be vying for a "saint" award. Kidder makes you feel like you are there sitting in the same room, and it is no huge say this book is inspiring is badly understating it. Look at what you can do if you keep real to your ideals! It is humbling as well. Dr. Farmer is my age, and I can't support drawing parallels with my own life, and there is no method I could do a fraction of what he is done. Yet I don't need to: it is satisfying to know that there are people like him in the ere is so much to learn from the book. Never give in, and never give up! His everyday accomplishments are so small, and yet at the same time so profound and consistent. It is all about "caring". If you care about your friends, your neighbors, your family, and - yes - the rest of the world, how can you not love a person who literally saves people on a everyday basis? Are we seeing a saint walking among us? One has to is is a story that needs to be told. It reminds me a lot of Three Cups of Tea. If only we could motivate others to do the same -- if only we could motivate ourselves to do the same -- the globe could be a better place. How refreshing to read about a true superhero.While continuing to work in Haiti, he started to investigate Lima Peru, where there was a disturbing trend: people with Tuberculosis that was resistant to 4, maybe even 5 of the top antibiotics. He goes there and finds that in general Peru is competently following a program in strict accordance to WHO standards. The issue was the WHO guidelines! How to raise this problem without alienating the world's most necessary health organization, or the officials in Peru. At the same time, what can be done about drugs with inflated costs putting them out of reach of these not good patients?His travels take him to the prisons in Russia, which has a an extreme issue with TB as well. Prisoners are simple to study and monitor. He points out that the prisons are like a pump that cycles TB into the general population with prisoners who stay a few years and bring the disease back with him. You almost cheer when he gets a grant from the Gates foundation to develop a modified procedure to war MDR-TB.He does not do any of this all by himself. There are a lot of truly dedicate people who recognize his talent and follow/help him all along the way. Kidder manages to capture a lot of of these people as well. At still, Farmer's true talent is to be the catalyst that makes it all come together. It might be better to say it all flows around him...In the end, his success is due to one easy talent, and he says it best in his own words: "I like people." It is hard not to like him back.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    Read either this book to understand why so a lot of Haitians have migrated to Chile! Read this book to understand how one person really CAN change the world. Read this book to see that there really are selfless people in the world. John Farmer has changed so a lot of people's lives, in spite of his modesty he had Tracy Kidder for follow him around the globe for about 3 years, that in itself must have taken a amazing deal of tolerance. The author portrays John Farmer as an inspirational driven figure that you would just love to meet. His way of dealing with the not good and sick people of central Haiti, is to improve their lives not only their health, facing up the world's health authorities methods and getting them to understand what is important to tackle not only TB and AIDS, but drug resistant TB. My only question is, why did not they not vaccinate the healthy Haitians versus TB? I know it is not one of the best vaccines, but it could have reduced the number of fresh cases. PIH does seem to have a vaccination programme now, though I am not clear as to whether this is versus TB. Having seen in Uganda, where AIDS was so rampant in 1992 and because the symptoms of the 2 diseases are so similar, people with TB would just give up as they thought they had AIDS. Haiti's issues come from being a French slave colony, Papa Doc's Tonton Macoute and the US building a dam, flooding the interior fertile valley, to suite US investors, and of course the usual corruption. John Farmer sees the reality but it does not stop him from dedicating himself to the lot of the poor. I loved the first half of the book, but got a bit bogged down with the large number of projects that he tries to cover, in the second half, but this is important to cover the number of projects that Farmer got involved with.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    Let's begin by saying that the author is a Pulitzer-prize award winner. He's a journalist who writes the most wonderful and inspiring works of non-fiction. So, it shouldn't be a surprise that Mountains Beyond Mountains fits this description. Tracy spent years following the works of Dr. Paul Farmer, focusing on his work in Haiti and the development of Partners in Health. This man has dedicated his entire life, so far, to serving the not good and medically underserved. Despite the consequences that his work has caused in his private life and the lack of sleep he gets, he gives unreservedly to others. Although Kidder often portrays him as a "saint", he ensures that the reader is also aware of Farmer's flaws. However, these flaws often spur him on to do even more for others. Once Farmer reaches a goal, he strives toward the next one, living out the Haitian proverb that "beyond mountains there are mountains". Mountains Beyond Mountains is a amazing read that flows well and takes the reader around the globe to locations where people struggle to get the easy necessities of life.... reminding us that there is much work to be done in terms of equality and health world-wide.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    Tracy Kidder's "Mountains Beyond Mountains" is the remarkable story of Paul Farmer. I knew nothing of Farmer before starting this book and left with a sense of awe and inspiration both for he has accomplished and how accomplished it. In an era where people bandy about the word character fairly freely, Farmer truly deserves that moniker. His selfless devotion to the health of those in extreme poverty and the work he and his organization, Partners in Health, has done in Haiti, Russia and Peru (what Kidder covers in this book) has saved countless lives of nameless and faceless people in environments words could hardly do justice. Kidder strikes the right balance about Farmer in this book. He doesn't exalt him to saintly status. He is able to marvel and chronicle the relentless work and insane pace that Farmer keeps while not glossing over hero traits that undoubtedly often frustrate Kidder and probably create Farmer challenging in the eyes of a lot of that deal with him. For instance, despite Farmer's success with Partners in Health, Kidder wonders whether it is sustainable without him and his force of will, perseverance and personality. Regardless of your political leanings, only the most jaded and negative person could read this book and not come away somewhat mesmerized by Farmer --- and feel a bit inferior at the same time. During this era of film star and athletic worship, Farmer is the type of individual we should be celebrating and exalting as a real character and I'm glad someone as accomplished as Tracy Kidder wrote such a compelling book about him.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains Beyond Mountains review []  2020-1-16 13:23

    It's rare that a book of nonfiction can keep my attention in the same method as fiction, but this real adventure had me enthralled. And even better it was full of hope and joy! And an audacity that got the impossible done! The globe needs a hundred, or thousands of Paul Farmers. Hopefully this book will search its method into the hands of those thousands of young people who wish to chsnge the globe but don't know how. Paul Farmer will present you the way.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Southern Journey V. 2: Ballads and Breakdowns -- Songs from the Southern Mountains review []  2020-1-17 5:20

    I have spent a fair amount of time recently reviewing, individually and on different artist compilations, performers from the 1960's urban folk revival. You know Bob Dylan, Joan Baez, Dave Van Ronk, Eric Von Schmidt and the like. I have also reviewed the earlier performers who influenced them on the more traditional folk side like Woody Guthrie and Pete Seeger. There was, however, another component of that find for roots that entailed heading south to the Mississippi Delta, the Georgia Sea Islands, and the hills and hollows of Southern Appalachia to obtain `religion' on the rural roots musical scene.I mentioned in a review of the performers who influenced the 1960's urban folk stage that it did not fall from the sky but had been transmitted by earlier performers. That, my friends, applies as well to the find for roots music. I also mentioned that we all, later when we understood things better, appreciated that John and Allan Lomax (in this series carrying on his father's work in the late 1950's) did yeomen's service to roots melody by their travels into the hinterlands in the 1930's and 1940's (and had Pete Seeger mark along for a year and thus serve as a small transmission belt to the latter generation) to search blues, mountain and other types of American traditional music. However, most of us got our roots melody infusion second-hand through our addiction to local coffeehouses and the performers who provided us entertainment. They, in turn, learned their material from the masters who populate this what sticks out here in this CD that concentrates on the southern mountain regions of Virginia and environs? I would first note the hard Protestant religioud spirit, if not flat-out Calvinism, of much of the music, as this compilation is about rural whites, their trials, tribulations and struggles to eke out an existence on hard-scrabble land. I would also note the fair amount of a cappella work here. And that, when used the instrumentation is easy and clean, especially on the ubiquitous fiddle and the occasional banjo. That said, a nice ver of "John Henry" works (a song that I have probably heard in twenty or so versions). As does a amazing rousing rendition of "Sally Anne" (also known under other names) and yet another variation on "The Banks Of The Ohio" (what doesn't change in the various versions is the murderous assault and the unrequited love of the story line). `The Small Schoolboy" by Hobart Smith, one of the stars of this CD is an interesting take on lost and death, a not infrequent theme is these ballads. If you wish to hear fiddling done old style and obtain a feel for an important, if somewhat neglected part of the American experience then listen here.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    A truly amazing ere are four absolute classics here, songs and performances so amazing that it just gives you chills: "I'm Still In Love With You," "The Mountain," "Dixieland," and "Pilgrim," along with two very amazing instrumentals and a batch of other fine tunes.Earle has said this was a work of inspiration, and it is a sustained inspritation at that. Like the best of Springsteen or Tom Waits, THE MOUNTAIN speaks of put and time without being a hokey concept album. The characters come from hard times and, like those on Springsteen's NEBRASKA, they sometimes fall--into dispair, drunkenness, jail.But unlike NEBRASKA, where some characters seemed to search no method out, Earle's coal minors and irish immigrants see a light on the horizon. They search pride and honor in their hard work, in their civil battle soldiering, in their lost e Del McCoury Band is rock solid, swingin' and singin' with a confidence you only search in a band that has played together for a thousand years. Iris Dement is perfect; her duet with Earle on "I'm Still In Love With You" is achingly sweet. Emmylou Harris appears here and there--I think there is some law that says Emmylou Harris must sing backup on every bluegrass record now--and a whole host of country singers join in the chorus of "Pilgrim."But this is Steve Earle's record. I had a lot of problem stomaching some of his earlier records, but THE MOUNTAIN is so amazing that I'm willing to rethink it all. Nobody could create a record this amazing unless they have real heart, real soul, and a real love for bluegrass, country, blues--American melody in is is, without a doubt, one of my absolute favorite records of the latest 20 years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    Though billed as a bluegrass album, The Mountain just as prominently showcases Southern string-band styles older than the melody Bill Monroe invented in the 1940s. "Harlan Man" sounds like an especially rousing agit-prop anthem from the labor battles that raged in the Kentucky coal mines in the 1930s (which produced the classic protest song "Which Side Are You on?"), and "Dixieland" could easily pass as an authentic Civil Battle ballad. "Carrie Brown" takes its inspiration from the Appalachian folk standards "Cindy," "Wild Bill Jones," and "Tom Dooley." The CD's most moving cut, the extraordinary "Pilgrim," weds a hand-me-down music to photos from a body of traditional songs and hymns, among them "I Am a Pilgrim," "Wayfaring Stranger," "This Globe Is Not My Home," and "Long Time Traveling." The bluegrass selections here mirror a sound more often heard in the 1950s than in the 1990s. This charmingly backward-looking collection underscores the genius of Earle's singing/composing and the McCoury Band's playing, of course, but it also reminds us that the well of American roots melody is well nigh inexhaustible.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    Unless you have never heard of Del McCoury or Steve Earle would probably not am appreciation for this kind of bluegrass/thumper/folk music. I've worn out one CD working on #2, amazing stuff.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    The combination of Steve Earle's songwriting and singing with the instrumental and vocal talent of the Del McCoury Band has produced a truly remarkable CD. As a longtime bluegrass fan, I was a small leery of this "bluegrass" CD with Steve Earle as the focus, but there are so a lot of amazing cuts here that it's hard to praise it too much. The mandolin and banjo work is first rate and never sounds out of put or cliched, but it's ultimately the songs themselves that create this CD great. Steve Earle really shines as a songwriter and plays and sings with amazing energy and enthusiasm. Del and Ronnie McCoury's harmony singing sounds just right with this varied but cohesive group of songs. This ain't all traditional bluegrass, but whatever you call it, I like it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    I bought this album after seeing it ranked #2 on Amazon's list of the best of 1999. I'm a large bluegrass fan, and was amazed I hadn't heard of it before. I listened to 5 seconds of the online clip from "Texas Eagle" and was immediately sold. The songs are, without exception, amazing bluegrass compositions, about trains and heartbreak and battle and poverty and coal-minin' and all that amazing stuff. Steve's voice isn't beautiful at all, which is as it should be -- his raw vocals fit the emotional content of the songs. Del and the band provide outstanding instrumental and vocal accompaniment for that true, high lonesome sound. Standouts contain "Texas Eagle," "Carrie Brown," "Harlan Man," "Connemara Breakdown," and "Dixieland." If you like bluegrass music, you will absolutely LOVE this album.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    Most likely the best Bluegrass Album/CDEver made!! I have on e every this as a gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    I like this album so much...and have for years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    Had this album on CD. Wore it out. Nice to have a digital copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    I listened once while I was working on something and it stopped me _ it was far more than background music. I listened again and loved it. And I've kept listening. Full of gems, not the least of which is a rare (only?) country ballad (OK, create it Irish), about a northern Civil Battle regiment, the 20th Maine, and Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain. And ... I was reluctant to buy it because it was advertised as bluegrass, a form I search monotonous. It's surpasses bluegrass, just as Alison Kraus does. Just amazing stuff.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain review []  2020-1-16 23:19

    Genius. Even got to see the tour for this record. Amazing. Do yourself a favor.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Baby For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Baby Suspense Thriller Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 1) review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    This is Leah Barnes and Kellen Mayberry 's story, where two people have been through some rough experiences, yet they are both attracted to each other and not so broken that they won’t eventually take a possibility on love. Kellen, a firefighter/EMT, has lost his best mate and blames himself somehow for not being able to save his friend. His friend’s pregnant wife is ready to deliver her baby and more tragedy strikes as she dies in childbirth. The blessing to come out of that sorrow is that the baby, Matilda, now has Kellen, the named guardian, as her daddy. Being alone and isolated is no longer what he needs, and changes for the better are inevitable.Leah is busy struggling with running her hotel with never enough cash to do what needs to be done for it. She meets Kellen initially under poor circumstances, yet realizes she otherwise could have found him interesting. But she has someone else watching her, waiting for his opportunity, and this stalker won’t back off. In addition, the city is experiencing an arson outbreak which could endanger everyone. Can Leah and Kellen have a possibility to obtain to know each other with so a lot of distractions? Can they search their HEA and have fun the family they were meant to have?There are so a lot of things going on in this book. The story line is well-paced, and the characters are likable. There is definitely suspense coming from multiple sources. Grab your copy and navigate the twists and turns as the mysteries finally resolve!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Baby For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Baby Suspense Thriller Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 1) review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    Two people, Kellen and Leah, living in a little town, Liberty, Utah, meet for the first time during a fast dispute in a parking lot. Leah has lived there all her life. Kellen is hiding out from life for different reasons. This steamy romance has some suspense, a stalker, and an unscrupulous developer, neither story thread that well developed. Most of the characters are likable. I’m a sucker for a baby-gets-saved story, so I enjoyed this fast read. But it really needs another editing for errors and story threads left hanging. It just leaves me with the impression of a rushed writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Baby For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Baby Suspense Thriller Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 1) review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    Kellan meet Leah on his method out of town, not knowing she would become the love of his life. Kellan became a parent with in hours of leaving town. Kellan did a lot of growing up in a matter of a few weeks. If not for Matilda, Kellan would still be wondering if he deserves to love again. This was such a unbelievable storyline it kept you going from the beginning to the end. It also should you that no matter what you go through that you still deserve to love. I was gifted this unbelievable Arc. So I voluntarily decide to a leave a review. I loved it.I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Baby For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Baby Suspense Thriller Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 1) review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    Wow searching for something to read and I can across this series. I read book 2 before book 1. Didn't realize it was a series. Was simple to follow the characters, but I would suggest you read it in order. 😉😉. The is Kellen and Leah's story. Kellen moved to Liberty to obtain away from all the pain and damage he caused, Leah had lived in Liberty all her life and her first time meeting Kellen had her seeing RED. This book had shady business men, vandalism, stalking, arson, kidnapping, this is a love story with a small bit of a twist. Kellen is a total poor a$$ when it comes to the people he love. Total sexy Alpha. Sex scenes between him and Leah. Wow!!!🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥 oh and there is a HEA.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Baby For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Baby Suspense Thriller Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 1) review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    Kellen is basically hiding out in this little mountain city with his woefully heartbreaking memories of the death of his firefighter friend. Unfortunately, the widow passes after baby Matilda’s birth. The couple had no family and named him guardian if anything ever happened to them, and it did. Now he returns home with an infant and no clue what to do with her. He has created a few mates that jump in to support him. Leah and her brother own a local hotel that they are renovating. Things are clicking with Leah but not without having to deal with a stalker and a pyromaniac developer. Nicely written.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Baby For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Baby Suspense Thriller Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 1) review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    Kellan couldn't lived in the city where his best mate died but he would be there for his pregnant widow. He moved to Liberty, Utah and created a amazing mate and business partner in Grant. But when he was on the phone with Alice when she was in labor he got in the first plane to help. Not he was a guardian to her small girl. Mom got to keep her once before she passed. Now Kellan is back and needs to obtain himself together. Thank goodness for Leah and everyone else.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Baby For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Baby Suspense Thriller Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 1) review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    Kellan and Leah's story is filled with drama, twists and turns, a attractive baby and ultimately their HEA. These two have both been through hard times and are immediately attracted to each other. There are a lot of obstacles in their method - a stalker, someone setting fires, their pasts, I could go on and on. Kellan and Leah's story is one that will grab you from the beginning and keep you until the very latest word. I received an advanced readers copy of this book and purchased it for my collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Baby For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Baby Suspense Thriller Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 1) review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    This was a very enjoyable story. The characters were interesting and kept my interest from the very beginning to the very end . The story was emotional and shows there’s someone for everyone. I loved the ending!I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Baby For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Baby Suspense Thriller Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 1) review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    Kellen is filled with guilt over his mates but he has to push forward for their small girl Matilda he gets to raise. She is only a few hours old when she is entrusted to his care for life. Leah has her hotel and charity she runs in honor of her departed sister. Then she has a poor encounter with Kellen, that turns into a true thing. He is also her brothers only friend. Add some fire and stalking drama and the scene is set for this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Baby For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Baby Suspense Thriller Romance (Mountain Men of Liberty Book 1) review []  2020-1-21 21:17

    Leah and her brother Grant ran a hotel in town. Kellen was in a cabin in the mountains, an ex firefighter, who lost a mate that died as a firefighter. Grant was helping his mates widowed wife that was due any day. He got the call the baby was on the method and off he went to be by her side, only to obtain there and she died shortly after childbirth. Matilda, the fresh baby was now his to raise. So much more amazing story to enjoy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountaineer review [App]  2019-12-16 13:41

    Promising start-up service. Slightly under-capacity for massive holiday crowds, but a small advanced (rider) planning solves this. Driver/owner Steve(?) is a super-nice guy. This Mountaineer is a capital idea and an indispensable service to the Valley.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountaineer review [App]  2019-12-16 13:41

    Awesome. Thanks @#$%!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mountain review []  2020-1-11 20:24

    A truly amazing ere are four absolute classics here, songs and performances so amazing that it just gives you chills: "I'm Still In Love With You," "The Mountain," "Dixieland," and "Pilgrim," along with two very amazing instrumentals and a batch of other fine tunes.Earle has said this was a work of inspiration, and it is a sustained inspritation at that. Like the best of Springsteen or Tom Waits, THE MOUNTAIN speaks of put and time without being a hokey concept album. The characters come from hard times and, like those on Springsteen's NEBRASKA, they sometimes fall--into dispair, drunkenness, jail.But unlike NEBRASKA, where some characters seemed to search no method out, Earle's coal minors and irish immigrants see a light on the horizon. They search pride and honor in their hard work, in their civil battle soldiering, in their lost e Del McCoury Band is rock solid, swingin' and singin' with a confidence you only search in a band that has played together for a thousand years. Iris Dement is perfect; her duet with Earle on "I'm Still In Love With You" is achingly sweet. Emmylou Harris appears here and there--I think there is some law that says Emmylou Harris must sing backup on every bluegrass record now--and a whole host of country singers join in the chorus of "Pilgrim."But this is Steve Earle's record. I had a lot of problem stomaching some of his earlier records, but THE MOUNTAIN is so amazing that I'm willing to rethink it all. Nobody could create a record this amazing unless they have real heart, real soul, and a real love for bluegrass, country, blues--American melody in is is, without a doubt, one of my absolute favorite records of the latest 20 years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mountain review []  2020-1-11 20:24

    Though billed as a bluegrass album, The Mountain just as prominently showcases Southern string-band styles older than the melody Bill Monroe invented in the 1940s. "Harlan Man" sounds like an especially rousing agit-prop anthem from the labor battles that raged in the Kentucky coal mines in the 1930s (which produced the classic protest song "Which Side Are You on?"), and "Dixieland" could easily pass as an authentic Civil Battle ballad. "Carrie Brown" takes its inspiration from the Appalachian folk standards "Cindy," "Wild Bill Jones," and "Tom Dooley." The CD's most moving cut, the extraordinary "Pilgrim," weds a hand-me-down music to photos from a body of traditional songs and hymns, among them "I Am a Pilgrim," "Wayfaring Stranger," "This Globe Is Not My Home," and "Long Time Traveling." The bluegrass selections here mirror a sound more often heard in the 1950s than in the 1990s. This charmingly backward-looking collection underscores the genius of Earle's singing/composing and the McCoury Band's playing, of course, but it also reminds us that the well of American roots melody is well nigh inexhaustible.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mountain review []  2020-1-11 20:24

    Unless you have never heard of Del McCoury or Steve Earle would probably not am appreciation for this kind of bluegrass/thumper/folk music. I've worn out one CD working on #2, amazing stuff.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mountain review []  2020-1-11 20:24

    The combination of Steve Earle's songwriting and singing with the instrumental and vocal talent of the Del McCoury Band has produced a truly remarkable CD. As a longtime bluegrass fan, I was a small leery of this "bluegrass" CD with Steve Earle as the focus, but there are so a lot of amazing cuts here that it's hard to praise it too much. The mandolin and banjo work is first rate and never sounds out of put or cliched, but it's ultimately the songs themselves that create this CD great. Steve Earle really shines as a songwriter and plays and sings with amazing energy and enthusiasm. Del and Ronnie McCoury's harmony singing sounds just right with this varied but cohesive group of songs. This ain't all traditional bluegrass, but whatever you call it, I like it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mountain review []  2020-1-11 20:24

    I bought this album after seeing it ranked #2 on Amazon's list of the best of 1999. I'm a large bluegrass fan, and was amazed I hadn't heard of it before. I listened to 5 seconds of the online clip from "Texas Eagle" and was immediately sold. The songs are, without exception, amazing bluegrass compositions, about trains and heartbreak and battle and poverty and coal-minin' and all that amazing stuff. Steve's voice isn't beautiful at all, which is as it should be -- his raw vocals fit the emotional content of the songs. Del and the band provide outstanding instrumental and vocal accompaniment for that true, high lonesome sound. Standouts contain "Texas Eagle," "Carrie Brown," "Harlan Man," "Connemara Breakdown," and "Dixieland." If you like bluegrass music, you will absolutely LOVE this album.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mountain review []  2020-1-11 20:24

    Most likely the best Bluegrass Album/CDEver made!! I have on e every this as a gift.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mountain review []  2020-1-11 20:24

    I like this album so much...and have for years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mountain review []  2020-1-11 20:24

    Had this album on CD. Wore it out. Nice to have a digital copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mountain review []  2020-1-11 20:24

    I listened once while I was working on something and it stopped me _ it was far more than background music. I listened again and loved it. And I've kept listening. Full of gems, not the least of which is a rare (only?) country ballad (OK, create it Irish), about a northern Civil Battle regiment, the 20th Maine, and Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain. And ... I was reluctant to buy it because it was advertised as bluegrass, a form I search monotonous. It's surpasses bluegrass, just as Alison Kraus does. Just amazing stuff.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Mountain review []  2020-1-11 20:24

    Genius. Even got to see the tour for this record. Amazing. Do yourself a favor.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains review []  2020-1-16 9:16

    These are very informational and excellent for kids. My 9 year old absolutely loves them! Some of the medical books (heart, bones, brain) are a bit out of reach for my 4 year old and 6 year old, but they still listen and love looking at the pictures. Great, great, amazing books!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains review []  2020-1-16 9:16

    Informational books—grandson loves it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains review []  2020-1-16 9:16

    Perfect!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains review []  2020-1-16 9:16

    Seymour Simon has a lot of very nice small books for children. This is one about Mountains. The images are stunning, well-chosen, and the lessons can be digested by early childhood children. It prepares them for 8th grade science, earth science/geology, and helps built in them appreciation for the earth, its formation, giving them insight into volcanoes as well, something most kids are fascinated with. It is a book that kids can read or just thumb through he pictures with. Recommended supplementary science book. Most of Seymour Simon's books are very good, as is this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountains review []  2020-1-16 9:16

    Amazing book, containing quality photos. If you have interest in photography and nature scenes ( mountains ) buy this book. The hardcover have a lot of quality , a must buy !

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climbing Washington's Mountains (Climbing Mountains Series) review []  2020-1-16 12:22

    Smoot bills his book as a "Selected Climbs" for the rest of us. I'm not quite sure I buy that, but I do think this book deserves a spot on the shelf nestled in between "Selected Climbs" and d to Goldman's "75 Scrambles", it is noticably better in some respects: it covers a wider range of climbing (all the method from class 2 to simple class 5); it covers a wider dozens of climbing (more snow routes); and it does a better job at providing and describing options beyond just the most famous route.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climbing Washington's Mountains (Climbing Mountains Series) review []  2020-1-16 12:22

    Smoot's "Climbing Washington's Mountains" is still the best guidebook available for a wide dozens of climbs across Washington state. The routes are thoughtfully chosen to provide a wide dozens of climbs from simple to very challenging, from afternoon jaunts to multi-day marathons in all regions across the state. I've done about 20 of his recommended climbs, and regularly climb with mates who have done more than half of his recommended climbs.Unfortunately, the book was published back in 2002 and is beginning to present its age. For example, I departed on his recommended route for Mt Hinman, only to drive three hours from Seattle to search the forest street permanently closed years prior, ruining my planned weekend ascent. My climb of Mt Chikamin was *much* longer than he described as it's degenerated into a 6 mile bushwhack (instead of the smooth approach hike he described). The approach street to the Monte Cristo peaks that he describes has been washed out for years that adds significant approach difficulty to the routes he describes.With that said, there are no guidebooks for Class 2-5 climbing printed more recently than 2003, so this is unfortunately a issue with any climbing tutorial currently available. Smoot's recommended climbs have given me a amazing smattering of adventures in all regions across Washington, his writing style is clear, and his descriptions (and alternate routes) are generally accurate and trusthworthy. A photocopy of his route description has become a 10th essential for all my Washington climbing.Another downfall of this tutorial is the lack of an index or info charts for quickly categorizing climb difficulty and ggy Goldman also has a very amazing book on Washington scrambles. I would recommend owning them both, but if I could only own one, I'd take Smoot's as it is more straightforward.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climbing Washington's Mountains (Climbing Mountains Series) review []  2020-1-16 12:22

    This is a comprehensive and accurate book on climbing the mountains of Washington State. I was however a huge disappointed by the lack of color pictures and current hiking trails.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Climbing Washington's Mountains (Climbing Mountains Series) review []  2020-1-16 12:22

    Has gotten me up quite a few to contain Rainier and Baker.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    About a Mountain review []  2020-1-19 20:10

    The author is somewhat popular for his arrogant disregard for the traditional standards of nonfiction that have given us works like IN COLD BLOOD and INTO THE WILD. Most of the quotes in ABOUT A MOUNTAIN have been altered, most of the statistics are misreported and/or misrepresented and the number of factual inaccuracies in this book run into the hundreds. I don't understand how D'Agata is able to keep down an academic job at the University of Iowa when he's violated and even mocked the primary ethical standards of nonfiction. His disregard for the facts, sophistry and general disregard for other people's stories are a matter of public record. In short, John D'Agata is a charlatan, a fraud, a writer who's been running a long con on American academia and publishing for a lot of years--just read The Fresh Yorker's review of his books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    About a Mountain review []  2020-1-19 20:10

    It's about a mountain. It's about Las Vegas. It's about language change and nuclear waste and semiotics and traffic patterns and Senator Harry Reid and disaster preparedness. It's about living in a fresh city and Mayor Oscar Goodman and Edvard Munch's The Shout and building demolition and bringing water to the 's about a boy. A 17-year-old boy who jumps off the tallest building west of the 's not simple to pin down what About a Mountain is about, despite the name. It moves quickly and covers a lot of ground. It never drags and I found that I was interested in everything author John D'Agata had to say.His explanation of the Yucca Mountain controversy was the most enlightening I have read, making a complicated political football perfectly understandable. The proposed nuclear waste website is about 90 miles from Las Vegas. The issue of storing nuclear waste safely is difficult, maybe impossible. In addition, transporting all the country's nuclear waste, a heavy amount, probably by truck, would keep its own set of dangers.But even if your eyes glaze over at the prospect of Yucca mountain, you might be interested to learn about the culture of building demolition as spectator sport in Las Vegas, and the unique complications of imploding a tall building like the 1,149 foot high Stratosphere. You might be fascinated to learn about the Boneyard, the dusty lot in Las Vegas where historic and not so historic neon signs are stored. Or about the remnants of the early days of Las Vegas that are being revealed as Lake Mead, the city's major source of water, drops to lower and lower levels.And then there's the boy (the title evokes that of Nick Hornby's book About a Boy), whose suicide D'Agata can't obtain out of his commentary, literary nonfiction, or Las Vegas memoir? In addition to not being able to pin down what it's about, I can't pigeonhole it into any one category. I don't even know whether it's a short book or a long essay. Never mind, it's a fast read that's fascinating now matter what you call s Vegas: The Social Production of an All-American CityNeon Metropolis: How Las Vegas Started the Twenty-First CenturySuburban Xanadu: The Casino Resort on the Las Vegas Strip and Beyond

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    About a Mountain review []  2020-1-19 20:10

    The author combines a lot of unexpected topics that somehow all work together.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    About a Mountain review []  2020-1-19 20:10

    Quite a feat of virtuosity, D'Agata managed to capture disparate parts of Las Vegas like in gossamer prose and instill a wonder for the town that is at once mysterious and haunting.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    About a Mountain review []  2020-1-19 20:10

    Perfect writing and purchased as a bonus for a mate who asked about it. He too enjoyed reading it and told me so.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    About a Mountain review []  2020-1-19 20:10

    The beginning of the book is slow and overwhelming with statistics and seemingly unneeded information, but a masterclass of truth and false truths brings it together in the end with a powerful message.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    About a Mountain review []  2020-1-19 20:10

    Challenging. Reads extremely well and questions our reliance on science to explain what may or may not be safe, or even true. A book that is useful to experience and fascinating to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    About a Mountain review []  2020-1-19 20:10

    Fantastic, despite the disputed facts. Beautifully written.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    About a Mountain review []  2020-1-19 20:10

    Came just as expected and very fast.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    About a Mountain review []  2020-1-19 20:10

    Everyone should read this book in order to understand the unintended consequences of our actions (particularly similar to nuclear energy). An engaging and fascinating story that really gets you thinking.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain Biking Missoula (Regional Mountain Biking Series) review []  2020-1-13 19:39

    Amazing book... a small outdated but still a amazing book for anyone wanting to ride around Missoula and the surrounding area

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lady and the Mountain Fire (The Mountain Series Book 3) review []  2020-1-22 19:17

    Why do we humans think we are so unworthy of our Grand Creator, Jehovah God's love?He and his Son, Christ Jesus made us all, he made us in love. If not then Jesus' selfless sacrifice was for nothing, he left his father and other spirit monsters in heaven to voluntarily give his life as a ransom for all of us so that we could have everlasting life here on the earth they made for t as the globe is now, but free of violence, badness of all kinds, sickness and the latest opponent of mankind, Death. We were meant to live forever in paradise conditions right here on earth. It will happen, and sooner than anyone thinks. I pray we are all ready.Misty this book was just fantastic! So very touching indeed. I'm on to the fourth book now, The Lady And The Mountain Promise. Oh I already know that Marcus and Lilly will fall in love and marry, so now I'll begin reading and search out if I'm right, oh by the method ... Claire is a much better match for Bryan, you chose well!Starr

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lady and the Mountain Fire (The Mountain Series Book 3) review []  2020-1-22 19:17

    Claire comes to Butte Town to support her grandmother, gets a job at the café, and has some heated encounters with Doc Bryan which turn from dislike to bits: Much of life in Montana is not what Claire expected, but she does a decent job of rolling with the punches and making it work. Claire has a need to create sure she’s always helping everyone, and Bryan similarly has a sense of always being found less than his brother or anyone around him. He has to learn that God wants him just as he is, and he doesn't have to change himself to create people appreciate and value him. Confirmation of this truth from several sources rings freedom through his soul. I love how independent and capable Gram is, and that she's courting. Lessons in forgiving ourselves, and surrendering who we are to God. We don't have to do everything, just the things God asks of us, and we don't have to prove ourselves to anyone but sues: Some typos and word errors. Again, specific dates and times are few and far between. I'm a bit disappointed that the "Gram is malnourished" conclusion is never reached, when it is set up when the docs wonder why she's healing so slowly. Bryan’s low self-esteem seems a small odd, since he comes off as the more put-together of the brothers in book 2.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lady and the Mountain Fire (The Mountain Series Book 3) review []  2020-1-22 19:17

    I am enjoying this series and the info of Gods touch in the lives of these characters. The setting my present a simpler time but God is always real to his people, even today. In this story, Claire shows her unwavering faith in God. This pulls others to see her value and how attractive her spirit truly is on the inside. One such individual, Doc Bryan, finds himself thinking of Claire long after their encounters. Finding love doesn’t have to be difficult. Boy meets girl, gets to know girl, falls for girl, marries girl. This is how life should be, easy simple love. Can’t wait to dive into Marcus and Lilly’s story!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lady and the Mountain Fire (The Mountain Series Book 3) review []  2020-1-22 19:17

    Book 3 in the series; I would recommend books 1 and 2 first though it is not important as there is enough background to know the characters and what is going on in Butte Montana. Some of the characters that figured prominently in the first two books are in the background in this one. We obtain know some of the minor characters from books 1 and 2 and also some newcomers to enty of action and some suspense keeps the reader engaged through the whole is refreshing to read good, clean romances with the bit of intrigue included in this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lady and the Mountain Fire (The Mountain Series Book 3) review []  2020-1-22 19:17

    The Lady and The Mountain Fire is another amazing book by Misty M Beller! She writes with such depth and understanding of her characters that you feel you really know them. Bryan and Claire's story shows that God has a method for true life to victory out over life and death obstacles. I also loved her grandmother's view of life.I would recommend any of Misty Beller's books. She depicts how God's love is true for all of us. Every book I have read so far has encouraged me to fully have fun God's grace and love!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lady and the Mountain Fire (The Mountain Series Book 3) review []  2020-1-22 19:17

    SWEET, LIGHT-HEARTED STORY. BEAUTIFUL USE OF SCRIPTURE AND CHRISTIAN LIVING IN THE LATE 19TH CENTURY. STEADY PACED BOOK THAT CAUSES AN EAGERNESS TO RETURN TO YOUR NEXT READING SESSION. APPRECIATE HOW EACH BOOK OF THIS SERIES PLAYS OFF THE CHARACTERS, SETTING, ETC... OF THE PREVIOUS STORYLINE. YOU COULD READ JUST ONE BOOK OF THE SERIES AND STILL FEEL SOMEWHAT INFORMED ABOUT WHAT YOU'VE MISSED NOT READING THE OTHERS. MY FIRST MISTY M. BELLER SERIES. WON'T BE MY LAST.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lady and the Mountain Fire (The Mountain Series Book 3) review []  2020-1-22 19:17

    I absolutely adored this book! One of my favorites of Misty Beller's books. That is saying a lot because I love all her books. It really is a attractive romance of Claire and Bryan and that God really does love us just as we are. I can't wait to begin the next book in the series!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lady and the Mountain Fire (The Mountain Series Book 3) review []  2020-1-22 19:17

    This exciting western adventure is set in a little Montana mining town. There was very small violence, and the only sexual content is one or two kisses. The story is about a young woman who comes to city to support out her grandmother who is blind. Her grandmother is a bit of a hero and probably perfectly able to take care of herself. The main hero interacts with grandmother's love story as well as her own evolving relationship. I enjoyed this title so much that I have purchased the other books in Misty Beller's Mountain Dreams series.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lady and the Mountain Fire (The Mountain Series Book 3) review []  2020-1-22 19:17

    I enjoyed the initial clash and the gradual deepening of Bryan and Claire’s relationship as the story progresses, and they explore one another’s heart. I also love the relatable notice about guilt, and God’s truth on the matter.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Lady and the Mountain Fire (The Mountain Series Book 3) review []  2020-1-22 19:17

    This is the third book in Ms. Seller's Mountain Dream Series, and the books only seem to be getting better with each installment. You certainly don't have to read the books in order, but it is slightly more enjoyable as characters from the previous novels do create some cameos.If you're looking for fast clean romance set in the old west (and seriously, what hopeless romantic isn't?), then you should definitely place this one on your shelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inner Ranges: An Anthology of Mountain Thoughts and Mountain People review []  2020-1-25 19:6

    Geoff knits together insight into the human condition with a deep mountain knowledge and joy. This collection was an absolute pleasure to read. I look forward to revisiting it throughout the years.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inner Ranges: An Anthology of Mountain Thoughts and Mountain People review []  2020-1-25 19:6

    I really enjoyed this collection of stories and I would highly recommend "Inner Ranges" by Geoff Powter to any reader who relishes amazing storytelling . The accounts of the author’s own adventures climbing in the mountains over almost 50 years are entertaining and thrilling; his profiles of Canadian explorers and virtuoso climbers such as Barry Blanchard, Sonnie Trotter and Earl Denman provide fascinating insights into their motivations and accomplishments; and his accounts of tragedies and controversial events, such as in “Death on the Wapta”, and “A Herd for the Killing”, are respectful to those involved while not backing away from potentially contentious e author’s introductory or concluding comments accompanying each story are almost as interesting as the narratives themselves. In his preface to "The Truth on Everest", he acknowledges that his interview with the Canadian member of one of the ill-fated 1996 Everest expeditions challenged his understanding of the happenings on the mountain, and that the story was one of the most difficult he had ever written. In "A Higher Education", he again shares with the reader the power of a story to alter preconceived notions, in this case of the process by which young men and women become professional mountain guides. His reflections on the difficulties of writing about complex issues, people and his own changing approaches and motivations are an intimate and refreshing addition to an already perfect compilation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Inner Ranges: An Anthology of Mountain Thoughts and Mountain People review []  2020-1-25 19:6

    “Inner Ranges” is the effect of a lifelong love affair between the author, Geoff Powter, and the mountains. It is a compilation of both autobiographical stories and articles Geoff has published about fascinating people and topics over the years, all of whom have had special relationships with the mountains and nature. Although much of the book focuses on climbing and climbers, to label it as just another climbing book would be a large disservice to both the author and the potential readership of this outstanding collection of thoughtful, reflective, passionate and often humorous stories. Several of the articles in the book have small or nothing to do with climbing, as other diverse necessary problems are addressed: the protection of our national parks and wildlife; the dangers and sometimes tragic consequences of outdoor adventure; and the inspiration of adventurers recovering from serious injury versus all odds. In the case of articles the author had written several years ago, he adds commentary about what transpired after the article was first published and updates his thoughts about a given story or subject. In several of these cases it is highly entertaining to search out who Powter angered as a effect of his writing (e.g., Jon Krakauer) and what dialogue ensued!As with any love affair between an author and his/her topic matter, the stories evoke a wide range of emotional outcomes, from the tragedy of death in the mountains to the exhilarating feeling of a successful climb and/or adventure in the for the stories and articles relating to climbing in this book, Powter focuses on several recurring themes. In several of his articles he tries to respond the question as to how and why some people can earn their put among the highest echelon of climbers in the globe (e.g., Sonnie Trotter, Barry Blanchard, Raphael Slawinski) and what distinguishes them from the masses of less-talented and less ambitious climbers. Climbing ethics/protocol is a theme that Powter confronts with tremendous insight, candor and clarity throughout the book, especially in his articles pertaining to climbing in the Himalayas. He suggests that finishing a difficult route and/or reaching a summit is not the most necessary aspect of climbing. Far more necessary are the manner and style in which one climbs and how one represents one’s climb to peers, the climbing community and the general is necessary to note that Powter chooses his topics carefully; the people he writes about are genuinely interesting characters. From self-taught climbers like Barry Blanchard to dreamers like Earl Denman hoping to be the first to climb Everest, Powter writes about people we either start to care greatly about and/or are just plain fascinating to us!In conclusion, I highly recommend this book! if you are interested in what motivates a fascinating group of diverse people to frequent the mountains and wild locations and embark upon varying types of adventures and activities (some of which are of the high-risk variety), “Inner Ranges” is for you!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Triplets For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Secret Baby Romance review []  2019-12-23 18:0

    A wellwritten book that held me captive from the start. I love the storyline and all the unbelievable characters. A true gem!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Triplets For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Secret Baby Romance review []  2019-12-23 18:0

    Felicity runs a restaurant called 'Smothered in Love' and her favourite customer Abe eats there regularly. Abe is the doctor in the little city of Liberty, so far all his relationship have left him feeling like he will never have any luck finding a amazing woman. His mother pointed out that he should probably give her grandchildren, and that there isn't a lot of in their family. Will Abe resort to surrogacy to give his mother the grandchildren she wants? There is one woman that has caught his eye, but he is about 20 years older than her, and they have some fiery chemistry. Can he obtain over the age gap? Felicity would love to claim silver fox Abe for her own, but will his plans for having a kid ruin her chances at forever? I loved this passionate alpha doctor, and the independent powerful woman he is attracted to.I am voluntarily reviewing a copy I received.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Triplets For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Secret Baby Romance review []  2019-12-23 18:0

    Forty-eight-year-old Able Hammond, a doctor in the little city of Liberty, comes from long family of doctors that is about to become extinct—he is the latest male family member and has a history of failed relationships. His mother is desperate to be a grandmother, and in truth, Abe wants to be a father. But, having created poor choices with women in the past, he doesn’t trust his judgment, so he is considering surrogacy as the best path to the desired goal of enty-eight-year-old native of Liberty, Felicity has credentialed herself as a chef and has returned home to bring her culinary skills back to Liberty. She wants to feed the body and soul, and she has started by meeting the needs of the community with good, affordable meal at her diner. And, in the future, she dreams of an upscale kitchen that will draw the wealthy vacationing visitors to enrich the community's economy. But right now, she needs cash to hold her little local diner compliant with the health inspectors’ requirements. And, she would like to reach a point where she could begin a family. She only needs cash and a man or a man and money—she wants both , when the eyes of the local doctor turn to the curvy form of the owner of his favorite eatery as she struggles with the challenges of business ownership, he begins to formulate a mutually beneficial plan. But, a mutual attraction complicates what should have remained a neutral business relationship. Abe can’t be around Felicity without dreaming of his future child’s creation, not through a clinical in vitro fertilization procedure, but naturally, up-close and in a very private interaction. And, when he’s not looking at her, Felicity is looking at him with longing and admiration.KC Crowne’s romances always provide a sweet, sensitive love story woven with tension and mystery that delivers a HEA ending. These romances also have several shared characteristics—they are located in or near Liberty, a little mountain community in Utah; they contain a collection of characters who are loving and supportive of their mates and family, and they focus on a vision of family that extends beyond easy e author has long explored the idea of the love given to kids who are not always of the body, but always of the heart. Now, she explores surrogacy—the willingness of unrelated individuals to provide a part of themselves, even the use of their womb, to help the hopes and dreams of another—to conceive and nurture a baby to delivery—and then, to give that kid to another’s care and love. Crowne is a sensitive, thoughtful author who nudges her reader to think of contemporary issues—adoption, surrogacy and family—with begin eyes, but most importantly, with an begin heart.I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review, but I also have Kindle Unlimited and will have fun accessing it again.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Triplets For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Secret Baby Romance review []  2019-12-23 18:0

    Felicity has been lusting over Abe for months, but he is wary of getting into a relationships from the two previous relationships he had with cheating women. He wants to hire a surrogate because it is just him and his mom and he has always wanted to have a family. Felicity agrees to the surrogacy and ends up becoming pregnant with triplets, created the old fashioned way. One min Abe and Felicity are together and the next they are apologizing for falling into each other‘s arms. Abe is not into commitment, but he wants Felicity. She’s agreed to be his surrogate and they are shocked when they search out they are having triplets. This book is so good. Abe is in love with her and everybody in city knows it except Abe. But after his failed relationships he doesn’t know if he can go through that again. Felicity is in love with Abe and everybody in city knows it except Felicity. There’s a lot of back-and-forth and damage feelings and wondering if they can truly be a family. An perfect story. So romantic but so heartbreaking at the same time because Felicity is so in love with him and is afraid she is going to have to leave the babies with him and not be their mother. She would not be able to deal with seeing her kids grow up without her. Excellently written and emotionally draining at times but their HEA is right around the corner. Trust. That’s what is holding them back. So wonderful.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Triplets For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Secret Baby Romance review []  2019-12-23 18:0

    Allison owns a diner in her home city after graduating from chef school. It needs a ton of repairs and fresh equipment she cannot afford. Abel is the city doctor who comes from a wealthy family. He goes into the diner every day. He is getting older and wants a child. He asks Allison to be a surrogate in exchange for a large amount of money. She agrees! They fix up her diner, and the two come together twice and she ends up pregnant with triplets. She has some problem during the pregnancy but is mainly healthy. Abel is trying to buy some ground for a fresh restaurant for her but comes across a stumbling block in another buyer. Now, they invaded his home and Allison and two caretakers and the babies are in danger. It causes her to go into labor early! Can he save them? Will he obtain to them in time? Who is trying to slay them or keep them hostage? They will explore what it is to mess with a mountain man trying to save his family~ I received this via Booksprout and am leaving a voluntary review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Triplets For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Secret Baby Romance review []  2019-12-23 18:0

    Not quite what I expected for a baby daddy book. The main characters are lengthily acquainted not just meeting and having a baby. There’s the concern of a sizeable age difference, but she is mature and very independent. She has dreams of an affordable, upscale restaurant in her town, but is struggling to stay ahead in her diner. He is a wealthy, successful, lonely doctor who has attained his dreams except for a family. He has deeper feelings for her than he realizes and she is very attracted to him. I believe she goes into the arrangement for various reasons than what he thinks. Plus she has another situation trying to force her to sell her diner for the commodity in the ground underneath. They lustfully overstepped and shorted out the whole process. Now, they are expecting triplets. The emotional feelings are not deeply revealed but inferred. It was different, but a good, enjoyable read.I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced reader copy of this book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Triplets For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Secret Baby Romance review []  2019-12-23 18:0

    Once again I am reading about those mountain men, in the little city of Liberty, Urah, this is another book by K. C. Crowne.FELICITY is own and operator of Smothered in Love diner, but lately everything in her diner is breaking down and living in Liberty where middle class people live, cash is in short supply. That when Dr. Abe came up with away for Felicity to obtain the cash she needs for her diner.ABEL is the doctor in Liberty and has no time for relationship or a family, but lately he been wanting a child. That's when he comes up with a thought, asked Felicity to give him a kid and he will pay her cash she needs for her diner. Once hearing this from Abe, Felicity goes into a rage and attacks him, but it turns in a very heated sex in his what will Felicity do, give Abe what he wants or will she lose her diner and her dreams of owning her own business.I am volunteering to leave a review for a ARC of this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Triplets For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Secret Baby Romance review []  2019-12-23 18:0

    Abe and Felicity will touch your heart in this story. Abe is a doctor who's biological clock is ticking. He wants kids and a family but he feels that he will never have them. When his mother suggests surrogacy he was getting ready to give an respond until Felicity approached their table and then he had another idea. Felicity is having her own issues with her diner. When he tells her about his idea, he first thought was no but after careful consideration it would be the excellent solution but someone out there has other ideas. Will Abe and Felicity solve their issues and can it lead to a happily ever after for them? This story has drama and suspense that will captivate and hold you turning the pages until the very latest one.I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Triplets For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Secret Baby Romance review []  2019-12-23 18:0

    First, allow me say that I just loved that Abe was a good, kind man. My God, that whole redeemable-broken-brute theme is so over-played that it was refreshing to have a character that struggled with minor but realistic insecurities without obscene personality e story was easy and clear and the Author did a fine job of telling her tale without dreadful repetition or ere were a lot of grammatical errors that continuously got on my nerves as well as a few structure and punctuation flaws. Usually these mistakes create me close the book, so to speak (seeing as how I read on my kindle 90% of the time now). The a lot of grammatical errors in this book were subtle, however, allowing me to easily overlook is was a fast read with a HEA and I’d recommend it to anyone whom enjoys the genre.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Triplets For The Mountain Man: A Mountain Man's Secret Baby Romance review []  2019-12-23 18:0

    This is one smashing Mountain man story. The characters were really amazing and the storyline was simply fantastically written. What I did not like this late in the android game were the myriad of little errors and typos, so in stead of getting the very rare five stars from me this one gets the fabulous four stars. This story is by far not a short one, but a full length novel and has a lot of various twists and turns in it, both for the amazing and the not so amazing and quite enough so that as I am a total wuss when it comes to sentimental things I could use a tissue or two on occasion. So the story was also quite heartfelt and just really good. I can at least recommend it to everyone who likes romances...I received a free copy of this book and am voluntarily leaving a review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Training for the Uphill Athlete: A Manual for Mountain Runners and Ski Mountaineers review []  2020-1-8 18:58

    These three extraordinary athletes have collaborated to make the best endurance training tutorial out there. It is chock-full of science, research, techniques, and tactics that can support you improve your rst, they begin with the Physiological Basis for Endurance, then move into Methods (120 pages, longest section of book), then they address Strength training, and finally How to Train which helps you develop your own customized ey give priceless tip about all the components that go into your endurance, which variables are easier to move, and how to move them (most efficiently). Then they present you how to make your own training private plan for optimal performance while minimizing the possibility of injury.If you are a trail runner, backcountry skier, mountaineer, hiker, or any 'uphill' sport, you'll search pure gold in this book. And it's extremely well-written.I think anybody reading this book would gain:* detailed techniques pertinent to their own strengths/weaknesses* detailed tactics to make your training plan* inspiration to pursue huge goalsPersonal stories from 20+ other top athletes enrich the book (and gave me further specific advice). My only suggestion, if I may be so bold, would be an expanded discussion for the older athlete -- maybe a subject for a future book?I have been a large fan of the authors for a lot of years, since House's "Beyond the Mountain." "Training for the Fresh Alpinism" helped me gain endurance to run a hilly 100K race latest year and (sort of) hold up with my teenage son multi-pitch rock climbing. This fresh collaboration with Kilian Jornet adds his extraordinary perspective - and provides even more specifics.I predict this book will be the best investment you'll create in your training this year.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Training for the Uphill Athlete: A Manual for Mountain Runners and Ski Mountaineers review []  2020-1-8 18:58

    The book "Training for the Fresh Alpinism" by Scott Johnston and Steve House set fresh standards for thorough, science and coaching-based training tip for alpinists and endurance athletes alike. Although focused on quick and light alpinism (aka "new" alpinism), Johnston's background as a coach in cross country skiing permeated the book and, as a result, much of the book could be easily applied to other endeavors- like cross country skiing, mountain running, and ski mountaineering (SkiMo). With help from Patagonia as publisher, a huge emphasis was placed on clear, high quality, information-dense graphics that were far superior to anything else available at the time. I highly recommended this book when it was published and continue to do so today.Enter this fresh volume from Johnston and co-authors Steve House and Kilian Jornet that is focused on mountain running, ultra running, and  SkiMo. Along with the same science and coaching-based guidance, similarly superior graphics, a special focus on strength development, and an perfect handbook to developing your own training plan, "Training for the Uphill Athlete" represents a fresh milestone in quality and thoroughness in a training tutorial for the endurance this book one will search a nicely presented approach to training for "uphill" endurance sports such as mountain running and SkiMo. Throughout, the authors provide a scientific and/or coaching-based foundation for the specific training programs being described. Of particular note are the sections on ATP production and lactate metabolism- the best presentation of this material that I have been exposed to. All of this gives the reader the basis for (or a starting point for) development of a private training "philosophy"- something that is critical to the success of any training regimen. As is pointed out frequently in the book, each individual presents a special combination of physiology, biomechanics, life situation, and personality. Provided with a primary foundational approach and the specific tools required to enable successful, progressive training , the reader is well positioned to be able to design and execute upon a training program that is aligned with his or her abilities, time, commitment, and e overarching mantras laced through the material are:aerobic base development, "progression, progression, progression", and the critical importance of substantial integrated strength training elementsToo a lot of athletes and recreationalists ramp training up too quickly, incorporate intensity too soon, suffer injury, and, potentially, burnout. By properly progressing training load and intensity and integrating strength sessions into the program such "training errors" can be largely avoided. These themes are regularly brought forward and discussed throughout the book and recommendations are provided to support the reader incorporate appropriate progressions and strength though of limited value, the book is punctuated by sidebar stories and opinions from representative uphill athletes- both elite level and some well-known sub-elite athletes. I search these individual essays to be more of a hinderance to the authors otherwise successful goal to provide clear guidance but I know that a lot of search such stories so included are "Kilian's Notes"- short sections where Kilian describes his training history, training methods, and some specific workouts. Again, I search these of limited value as they are coming from an athlete who has been in intensive endurance training since he was 13 years old, with a 90+ VO2max, mental fortitude that is similarly off the charts, and has raced thousands of times. Having trained with athletes with some of these attributes, I can say that what they do is not particularly relevant even to those with relatively high VO2max and long histories with training for endurance sport. If you have ever competed versus or trained with someone with a 90+ VO2max you will know what I mean. I suggest that one take these Kilian missives as just that- an entertaining peak into what such an extraordinary and accomplished athlete does and not a prescription for anyone else. Unfortunately there is no warning to this result in the book.I have found small to disagree with in this book with the exception of the science fiction provided on "fat adaptation" and a "hook-line-and-sinker" devotion to the persistent hunting theory as a basis for understanding human endurance abilities. But these are minor stuff and thankfully nutrition is not a focus of the book so it is simple to allow these go and concentrate on all of the truly valuable info and presentation in the book.I highly recommend this book for anyone who is interested in understanding fundamental endurance training concepts, evolving a private approach based on these concepts, and developing a reliable, flexible training plan that will, with consistency and commitment, lead to success and goal achievement in endurance sport.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Training for the Uphill Athlete: A Manual for Mountain Runners and Ski Mountaineers review []  2020-1-8 18:58

    Very amazing science and overview of training. There are nuggets of fresh info but by and huge it’s very related to other running books/training guides. If you haven’t previously read Daniels, Pfitz, Lore of Running, etc it will be very informative.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Training for the Uphill Athlete: A Manual for Mountain Runners and Ski Mountaineers review []  2020-1-8 18:58

    I am not into skimo or mountain races but as a casual hiker who enjoys challenges, including high altitude ones. I still enjoyed this book and learned some useful things from it. I would recommend for someone who has a casual interest in mountains and fitness. The pictures and private stories and enjoyable to look at too.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Training for the Uphill Athlete: A Manual for Mountain Runners and Ski Mountaineers review []  2020-1-8 18:58

    I really enjoyed this book. It offers a amazing mix of technical background, practical training tip and interesting stories by and about top athletes. This means that the book will appeal both to people that are serious about improving their performance as well as those that are interested to just hear how the specialists do e scientific and technical sections will support you to understand why training helps to improve performance as well as how the various training types affect your body. The practical sections of the book will support tutorial you to understand what sort of training you should do given your goals (or how you should adapt your goals given your level of training).I particularly enjoyed the athlete stories. I found them very inspirational. These stories highlight how competitive athletes approach training and racing and some of their motivations.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Training for the Uphill Athlete: A Manual for Mountain Runners and Ski Mountaineers review []  2020-1-8 18:58

    Solid training advice. Been using Kilian's tip for about 10 weeks now and seeing serious results. Able to knock out larger runs without getting my HR that high, and feel better afterwards too.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Training for the Uphill Athlete: A Manual for Mountain Runners and Ski Mountaineers review []  2020-1-8 18:58

    This book has been a large support to me in understanding the training process. I have read through certain sections multiple times and I continue to do so. I really enjoyed the sections that explain how the anaerobic and aerobic systems work together, and how various kinds of training affect these systems. This book strikes a amazing balance of explaining the science/biology in a easy method so that athletes can learn how to train correctly. If your training isn't paying off the method you expect, obtain this book and study it!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Training for the Uphill Athlete: A Manual for Mountain Runners and Ski Mountaineers review []  2020-1-8 18:58

    I have been doing it wrong. This book has challenged me to place in the time and dedication of establishing a amazing aerobic baseline. It has also helped me figure out where my limits are and when I am entering the danger zone.I really like the same training schedules for certain objectives. I am currently following the one for a ER BEWARE. Lots of technical details. You have to really wish to learn about this items to have fun the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Training for the Uphill Athlete: A Manual for Mountain Runners and Ski Mountaineers review []  2020-1-8 18:58

    Straight from 3 of the most accomplished and looked up to mountain athletes in the world. I study this book almost every night. It's exactly what a lot of of us mountain enthusiasts have been needing in our lives. I'm sure in the coming decades improved science will arrive but for now this is the best all in one put you'll search it. The science is dense but it's so necessary to understand. These guys break it down very well for us. The title is exactly what it is and there's nothing better out there as far as I safe out there!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Training for the Uphill Athlete: A Manual for Mountain Runners and Ski Mountaineers review []  2020-1-8 18:58

    I mostly trail run. I bought this book because I heard the authors talking on several various running podcast and because Killian in a beast. Anyway this book is unbelievable for anyone interested in endurance sports. Amazing info on the science of endurance and training all presented o thumbs up from this slow trail runner.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain Travel & Rescue: National Ski Patrol's Manual for Mountain Rescue review []  2020-1-12 18:44

    NSP's second edition Mountain Rescue is a amazing primer for those interested in surveying this topic. A lot of resources listed for more indepth study. Lists in appendix is comprehensive, I particularly liked the medical equip and sample forms and charts. This text is not just for Ski Patrollers. I recommed this text for anyone who is interested in a career in SAR as well as anyone who routinely spends time hiking, skiing out of bounds, camping in remote areas.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain Travel & Rescue: National Ski Patrol's Manual for Mountain Rescue review []  2020-1-12 18:44

    This book was needed for ski patrol training. It arrived in amazing condition and the contents are very well written. Amazing tutorial for being in the back country year round.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain Travel & Rescue: National Ski Patrol's Manual for Mountain Rescue review []  2020-1-12 18:44

    A must have for MTR class.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Mountain Travel & Rescue: National Ski Patrol's Manual for Mountain Rescue review []  2020-1-12 18:44

    Amazing reference for some of my teaching, I incorporate it into my classes. I teach find and rescue for fire service.

    0  





    Search Cloud

    ellenagax reviews avidlove women lingerie set with garter belts sexy bra and panty underwire lingerie sets reviews avidlove women lingerie lace babydoll strap chemise halter teddy v neck sleepwear reviews lace bodysuit for women sexy eyelash teddy christmas lingerie naughty negligee bodysuit reviews avidlove women deep v lingerie lace babydoll mini bodysuit reviews be kind t shirts women cute graphic blessed shirt funny inspirational teacher fall tees tops reviews allegrace womens casual scoop collar plus size t shirts summer tops tee reviews avidlove women teddy lingerie one piece babydoll mini bodysuit reviews iwollence womens waffle knit tunic blouse tie knot henley tops loose fitting bat wing plain shirts reviews durio baby hats newborn baby beanie knot baby boy hat soft baby girl beanies gifts for baby newborn fall winter caps reviews toddler baby boy clothes set bowtie romper suspenders ripped denim pants outfits reviews newborn baby soft fleece booties infant boy girl cozy socks with non skid gripper stay on slippers toddler first walkers winter ankle crib shoes first birthday shower gift reviews yoga sprout unisex baby cotton bodysuits reviews lonsoen toddler little kid boys girls soft slip on loafers dress flat shoes reviews boboking little boys briefs dinosaur truck toddler kids underwear reviews hudson baby unisex baby cotton coveralls and union suits reviews luvable friends unisex baby socks reviews hudson baby unisex baby long sleeve cotton bodysuits reviews 3pcs infant toddler baby girl clothes ruffle romper bodysuit floral halen pants headband outfits reviews hudson baby infant girl cotton headbands reviews

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter