Read delphi 2009 handbook reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all delphi 2009 handbook reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Nation (Delphi in Space Book 4) []  2019-12-19 19:10

    Read all 4 that are currently out and loved them all. Cannot wait for the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Station (Delphi in Space Book 3) []  2020-1-6 18:51

    Allow me start by saying I like the book and search the series very readable. I will continue to read them as they come out. The are light escapist science fiction. I have fun the characters and am happy that at this point in the series the characters are trying to create the globe a better put for everyone rather than engaging in some endless dystopian battle with aliens. (That might come up later in the series.)Ok, now a few things that just irritate me. Amazing tech apparently can solve all the world's problems, or at least Marc, Catie and their mates are trying. Medicine is just simple with nanobots. It must be ey brought a few people in as guards and help staff in book one. Basically all of them are now functioning as very high level project managers for a complex international organization. Who knew that most any ground-pounding grunt could manage a multinational corporation? I guess you just need to hire the right people.Let's build a zone station! Apparently the author does not know any amateur astronomers. Marc and mates place it up in zone in the same orbit as the ISS but on the other side of the planet, and no one notices because it does not reflect much light. I call Bullsh^t! ISS is only 250 miles away and rotates around the Earth every 90 minutes. If you are looking at the sky, Marc's fresh GIANT zone station would pass in the same orbit 45 minute after ISS. Even if it absorbed NO light, it would still block out the stars it passes. Finally, they are manufacturing it in zone using plasma arcs, which would place out a ton of light. "Daddy, what is that bright light that is moving through the Lepus constellation? " "Don't worry dear, It is probably just a superheated asteroid approaching Earth. I am sure NASA is on it."I can give you an alien zone ship, a super helpful AI, and mind-blowing fresh tech. I am a bit irritated that everything they build works essentially the first time. That never works on my projects. However, I do not believe people successfully hiding giant zone stations in near-Earth is still a nice book and an enjoyable read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Station (Delphi in Space Book 3) []  2020-1-6 18:51

    In this recent installment we obtain to search out how weak all the male characters are. With a highly liberal feminist Ben’s this novel takes us through some excruciatingly silly and irrational scenes. From stage to10-year-olds be the first all female squad in space. To a female only police. Mark, Cal, and the other men in this novel become nothing but a 13-year-olds help characters in early release turned into nothing but horrible help characters.

    0  


    Add your opinion on delphi 2009 handbook or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi City (Delphi in Space Book 2) []  2020-1-6 18:52

    Fascinating story reminds me of the old masters Arthur C Clarke and Isaac Asimov. Interesting idea to have the teen daughter be an integral part of the squad and with her intelligence and creative thinking it feels natural. Amazing sci-fi with interesting characters and intriguing plot. I hope the next book is as amazing as the first two. In fact I wouldn't object of it turns out there are a lot of more books planned.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Alliance (Delphi in Space Book 5) []  2020-1-21 21:55

    Interesting had me hooked immediately and finished in one day due to my reading habits haha. Like it very much can’t wait for the next one. Need to search more stories like this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Alliance (Delphi in Space Book 5) []  2020-1-21 21:55

    This was exciting! I particularly looked how the author had them innovate on the fly. It's that ongoing innovation that keeps it alive and better with each book. I know I have to wait, and that's ok, I just wish the release date on my calender soon. Thanks Bob Blanton for your perfect work! You create this old guy (76) happy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Alliance (Delphi in Space Book 5) []  2020-1-21 21:55

    The story held my interest all the method through till the end. So far each novel has measured up to the latest one. The author at the conclusion gives just a tip of where the next novel will take us. But it's vague enough that there's a bit of a mystery to it. Definitely looking forward to the next chapter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Nation (Delphi in Space Book 4) []  2019-12-19 19:10

    I had a lot of a smile reading this. As I see the characters mature. The technology description is vivid. The speed and pacing were such that it was simple to read this and never place it down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Nation (Delphi in Space Book 4) []  2019-12-19 19:10

    Reading this series makes me think of all the amazing things I imagined as a child when dealing with zone travel . So far in these workbooks there has been a lot more action Earthside than in space. What, you have to lay some groundwork . I really do like the portrayal of the national leaders and the mindset of the major powers on this planet . Given the attitudes portrayed, I can't support but anticipate the fact that Delphi is going to have to "spank" a poor nation . What Delphi uses as a stick should be rather entertaining . It is remarkably accurate given the headlines of today . I cannot wait for book number five and hopefully some subsequent sequels . I did read this for book series using the Kindle Unlimited access . I do believe I might think about buying the whole series . Bill Hodges

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Station (Delphi in Space Book 3) []  2020-1-6 18:51

    Reasonably well written, reasonably well edited (mostly typos that should have been caught), well ebooked. Mostly targeted at intelligent young adult market. Home schooled preteen becomes a teen with a job.Warning: author is a major optimist who has strange concept of how long it takes to obtain physical things built.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Station (Delphi in Space Book 3) []  2020-1-6 18:51

    You do need to suspend disbelief quite a bit for this series, but it is still an simple and enjoyable read....and while most people hate cliffhangers, the end of this book had one of the best executed conclusions I have ever experienced. :-)P.S.: I love the cover artwork for these books. If I ever write a book, I am tracking down this artist!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi City (Delphi in Space Book 2) []  2020-1-6 18:52

    Well written, well edited, well ebooked. Target shop seems to be intelligent young adults but not offensive to adults.(Note: I've read all four books currently in ebook, expect to read the next book as soon as it's available.)Author is very optimistic, tends to use the left's disaster memes in his plots but doesn't test to flim-flam the readers. Warning: everything physical happens at an impossible pace. He collapses ten years to eighteen month.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi City (Delphi in Space Book 2) []  2020-1-6 18:52

    The series continues to keep your attention- as fresh characters are incorporated into the story line you are able to grow along with them. At times catie can be a small unbelievably, but as she continues to grow up I hope that changes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Alliance (Delphi in Space Book 5) []  2020-1-21 21:55

    Can hardly wait for next book in series. This one left us with only a small mystery. Keeps your attention from start.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Alliance (Delphi in Space Book 5) []  2020-1-21 21:55

    This was an extremely well written and thought out addition to the Delphi in Zone series. I love that the characters are all progressively developing in their own very special ways. The editing work was great, very few errors. TOP MARKS!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Alliance (Delphi in Space Book 5) []  2020-1-21 21:55

    Amazing fresh series with interesting characters and amazing plots. Each book draws you in and maintains your interest. These books are keepers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Alliance (Delphi in Space Book 5) []  2020-1-21 21:55

    Amazing story, well plotted, plenty of tension. The characters are people you can really like. I read this one straight through in one sitting. There is not really a put to just place it down and go to bed!! I can hardly wait for the next one to come out, and expect it to be just as amazing as the previous ones!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Nation (Delphi in Space Book 4) []  2019-12-19 19:10

    This series has been definitely a "guilty" pleasure for me. The characters after 13 year old Catie have enough personality to be interesting, but definitely don't meet my usual demands for development. The plot plays out as if the characters are risking everything (and in a method they are), but even with the happenings in this series actually including people getting hurt, there isn't a lot of risk in the tale and its starting to show.But its been a ton of fun, so I hold reading and look forward to the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Nation (Delphi in Space Book 4) []  2019-12-19 19:10

    The Delphi series is very very light sci-fi, a starship on the bottom of the ocean, awesome technology from deep space, that the lowly earthlings improve upon. Crisis of the month dominates, where book one had adults basically in charge, young teens now run the show, with the adults show as window dressing. The author wants to make a balance discrimination world, which was presented as pages and pages on the creation of e series is simple too read, but should be considered as YA for the general reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Station (Delphi in Space Book 3) []  2020-1-6 18:51

    My title kind of covers my feelings. The building of the zone station and the secrets involved were a ton of fun and interesting, but also played a bit to the largest flaw in the series in that the teenage girls were given far too much ability at times, especially our favorite savant who not only is the best pilot, but involved in just about every major development by now.But she's kept charming and I'll admit I've run into far more capable teenagers in tales recently.I still look forward to extra books, and I've enjoyed the series so it lands in the 4 star range.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Station (Delphi in Space Book 3) []  2020-1-6 18:51

    Anything I say will be received wrong, because your not in the same put as I am. I am 65.Why take a scifi book and create it about all about gender issues, WITHOUT STATING THAT IN THE FOREWORD OR TITLE!Make a book match it's title, that's all I ask. This book just wasted the readers dbye to this dishonest author!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Station (Delphi in Space Book 3) []  2020-1-6 18:51

    The Delphi series has been a amazing read for me and I will be a fan for as long as they come out. I like best the writers use of the medical techniques of stem cells that our own scientists have been looking at for solutions to repairing the human body in ways that improve the victims of injuries and even old age. On a private note, the author's description of the relationship between the body and the mind of someone suffering from depression sums the disease up in a method that makes helps create better sense of what they go through to someone who doesn't have it for me. I like this series!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi City (Delphi in Space Book 2) []  2020-1-6 18:52

    The story gets 5 stars. I gets more interesting as you hold reading definitely a amazing story. Will definitely the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Nation (Delphi in Space Book 4) []  2019-12-19 19:10

    Reasonably well written, reasonably well edited (spelling problems that should have been caught!), well ebooked

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Nation (Delphi in Space Book 4) []  2019-12-19 19:10

    I loved the book. I especially liked the relationships between the people on the Delphi team. And I liked how the young heroine is growing up, understanding that she has something to learn from less smart adults. I hope the author does not slay off the main characters I have grown to love!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Nation (Delphi in Space Book 4) []  2019-12-19 19:10

    I like this series because it isn't all about fighting and zone wars. It might obtain there, who knows. What it is about is the building up of a society that might eventually be able to protect the earth or trade with aliens on an equal footing. Not too deep unless I am missing something, just fun entertainment and a new method of looking at the possible future.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Station (Delphi in Space Book 3) []  2020-1-6 18:51

    The story line is exciting and continues in this book of the series. One of the best series I have read in the latest year.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi City (Delphi in Space Book 2) []  2020-1-6 18:52

    Wow I like the oft repeated ,"we found a spaceship and alien to support us!"However, after book 1 it seems the author turned the tale too much to the pre-pubescentgirl and her wants/fantasies EASE!! Nothing could ruin a descent book quicker and more thoroughly.I may look at book 3, but I see small hope for redemtion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi City (Delphi in Space Book 2) []  2020-1-6 18:52

    Mistakes: I found only ot: Town building, healing of military veterans and Alzheimer’s sufferers, spies, theft, retrieving stolen vehicle, and aracters: They kind of tend to blend together as the roster gets bigger, still enjoying them.8/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Alliance (Delphi in Space Book 5) []  2020-1-21 21:55

    I like the characters and general positive outlook to the books. Amazing story and the zone war is awesome. I don’t like the zone warriors being called jets. Jets need air to function, no air in space. I’m not thrilled at how honor less the President of the USA is portrayed, what an idiot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Alliance (Delphi in Space Book 5) []  2020-1-21 21:55

    Alexa amazing book I enjoyed reading it quite a bit can't wait for the next 1 in the series Hold up the amazing work

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Nation (Delphi in Space Book 4) []  2019-12-19 19:10

    I read book one on Thursday. I finished book 4 the following I will have to wait on book five. God I hope he writes faster than David Weber.I'm out of decent reading material.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Nation (Delphi in Space Book 4) []  2019-12-19 19:10

    I have always loved stories where ordinary decent and intelligent groups of people get advanced tech or abilities, and upset the modern balances of power and better the globe and build a powerbase. I love this series. I especially love the nation building and constitution and laws of the fresh nation-state. I want to God this was real. Our globe desperately needs outside intervention that cannot be resisted by modern force and the corrupted powers that be. I found these stories very cathartic. Particularly the respect and responsibility given to youth. I am anxiously awaiting the next installment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Station (Delphi in Space Book 3) []  2020-1-6 18:51

    I give the story 5 stars . I love the story and the characters I has the best elements of interesting story telling without the filler some authors have. I will the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Station (Delphi in Space Book 3) []  2020-1-6 18:51

    I burned through the three in a couple of days. It's simple to read and fun to cheer for the heroes. It reads like you might expect true life to unfold. Not major extremes every chapter like a lot of other books. Looking forward to the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi City (Delphi in Space Book 2) []  2020-1-6 18:52

    Its somewhat hard for me to parse out each book in this currently 4 book series. They are tightly written with each one flowing into the next and a powerful continuity throughout. So this tale which primarily follows the building of the floating town off one of hte Cook Islands is obviously just a step on the street to the author's final destination.And this book has all the strengths and weaknesses of the series. The characters are good, although there is a bit too much emphasis on the magical 13 year old prodigy daughter of the original MC. Yes, the girl is cute and spunky and reminds me far too much of Faith from the Dark Tide Rising series by John Ringo (and has a lot of of the same Mary Sue flaws.)If you can survive the slight misuse of characters, its still an perfect series. I choose to ignore the fact that we have a large Mary Sue issue and just have fun the tale. Somehow it doesn't ruin the story here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi City (Delphi in Space Book 2) []  2020-1-6 18:52

    I love the premise of the story line, and the author knows how to write a book that involves the reader right from the beginning. I love the characters in the book and the decisions they create in carry out the premise of the book. I have read all the books so far in the series and I can not wait for the next book to come out. Of the two hundred books I have read this year, this is the best series of books I have read. They are hard to place down and obtain some proper sleep.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi City (Delphi in Space Book 2) []  2020-1-6 18:52

    This is a amazing read for anyone who likes Sci-Fi. Amazing characters that are well developed in a plot that is fresh and fun. There is action to hold you interested and fictional technology that makes you think what if? Loved it and looking forward to reading the next book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi City (Delphi in Space Book 2) []  2020-1-6 18:52

    I love how this author writes the long me writers go for the flash and action. Mr. Blanton works to create his readers care about the day to day lives of his ing this series is like taking a nice relaxing adventure vacation. :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Alliance (Delphi in Space Book 5) []  2020-1-21 21:55

    Read the whole in one sitting, darn it, Now I gotta wait for the next one. Hold up the amazing work!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coding in Delphi []  2020-1-31 3:50

    Nick's book goes through Delphi language features which have been added in the latest 5-10 years, particularly Delphi XE2 onwards. It covers a lot of of the same language features described in the perfect Delphi XE2 Foundations book but with a rather various slant. Nick's main focus is on how to use these language improvements to implement modern programming concepts, in particular unit testing. In the process Nick covers fresh tools which are built on these same language features such as Spring4D, DUnitX and the Delphi Mocks e effect is an perfect and thought provoking introduction to fresh ways to develop in Delphi. Anyone who hasn't been keeping up with the recent in development theory and the similar Delphi advancements will learn a lot from reading Coding in why not 5 stars? After all I learned some things I didn't know and came to view several concepts in a various light as a effect of reading the book. The issue was that for me the book didn't dig deeply enough and I would have liked Nick to grapple more with some of the tricky questions. A lot of times while reading it I found myself thinking yes, but what about this problem, side result or catch r example Nick tries to build a case for using interfaces heavily for most, if not all, references because, as he points out, this makes for a decoupled design which is comparatively simple to unit test. The obvious issue is that interface and object references don't mix well and using both is likely to lead to AVs. Nick mentions this and suggests you never mix them. This is all very well but by necessity all components, including data access components, are object referenced and freed as objects. So what are we to do? Don't contain any components in our unit tests? Or use interfaces from these components to let simple mocking and just accept that we're going to have to be very careful to nil all interface references before we allow the components be freed?Most of my concerns were along related lines. It is simple to demonstrate interfaces, mocking, dependency injection, using a service locator just once at the root of the app to build all dependencies, etc in a easy example. It is another to then assume that all of these smoothly scale out to true globe complexity without the need for compromises or fresh r all that the book is clearly still a 4 star book and brings a lot to the table in its own right. Perhaps it just needs a more in-depth sequel by Nick or a similar party?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coding in Delphi []  2020-1-31 3:50

    Perfect book. Too small to be written on Delphi for past few years. The best practice helps me a lot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Cookbook - Second Edition []  2020-2-2 16:51

    Perfect coverage and examples of a lot of real-world issues solved simply and elegantly. I have used some of the recipes with amazing success.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Cookbook - Second Edition []  2020-2-2 16:51

    I am honored to be the techincal reviewer of the second edition. It was an exciting adventure to take a look behind the curtains of book publishing. And I have to say that Daniel did a amazing any cookbook, this book is a collection of recipes. It is exactly what a “cookbook” should be. Recipes are very various - from the use of VCL styles to the drawing on a FMX ListView component, and from examples of functional programming in Delphi to importing a Java-library interface in Android. Over 60 recipes, according to the cover :)Personally for me, the most interesting part of this book is not the essence of the recipes themselves, but the fact that the author uses all Delphi innovations when it's possible. This was very interesting to watch. Delphi has been developing very fast in latest years, and we are not always aware of how much is fresh in the latest versions.I therefore recommend Delphi Cookbook primarily for those who still works with older versions of Delphi and wants to take a closer look at the innovations. Although those who work with the recent ver will definetely search something to expand their horizons too. And it particularly useful as a reference book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi COM Programming []  2020-2-2 16:59

    Very well structured and complete. It has been really helpful to several Delphi developers I know, which had small or no experience with COM. With this book in your hands you will learn not only "how", but also "why". It covers a lot of concepts and explanations that usually Delphi programmers ignore or don't know. I particularly liked the DCOM topics. The examples are very amazing and well-chosen too. A amazing job, for sure...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi COM Programming []  2020-2-2 16:59

    This is not your typical 1200 page Delphi biceps-builder. This book is compact, well written and to the point. No filler, just meat. The chapters develop each subject with very amazing examples that illustrate COM and some amazing coding practices to boot. One caveat is that he does not always give each step if your working through the examples so you may have to do a small detective work to search out how a variable or interface showed up where it did. Take heart though, all the code can be downloaded"~ from the Fresh Riders web website and the examples run fine. He also affords you the curtsey of compiling the examples for you so you can run them even if you don't have the recent ver of Delphi. The book can be used equally well with Delphi 3 through 5."~ server by the second chapter!"~ done does not implement this interface directly. It is much more practical to allow COM do the marshaling for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi in Depth: ClientDataSets []  2020-5-22 18:29

    Jensen is one of the true pros in IT today going far beyond his extensive technical abilities and knowledge of contemporary programming. Jensen can actually COMMUNICATE clearly, effectively and thoroughly. His communication skills are outstanding and this combination of technical expertise and communication skills makes him special in the modern IT globe where it seems that all tutorials, demos and "white papers" are written for an audience with a nearly zero attention span. True, you have to stay awake and attention when you read Jensen's writing, but the rewards for your efforts are far greater than the effort it takes to gain them. We need more like Cary Jensen in IT; I want we could clone him.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi in Depth: ClientDataSets []  2020-5-22 18:29

    I bought this book after buying Delphi XE4 and finding very small detailed info on ClientDataSets on the web. It is a comprehensive book and covers a lot of subjects in a clear and concise manner. It helped me to obtain started with my one-to-many app and gave me ideas about how to structure future projects. It also caused me think "that's an amazing idea!". The book is obviously very specific (by the nature of its title), but if this is the zone you need to obtain stuck into, you simply cannot do without this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi in Depth: FireDAC []  2019-12-16 18:57

    Cary and Loy are amazing writers making it easy with vast knowledge on the subject.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coding in Delphi []  2020-1-31 3:50

    Nick Hodges has a clear and simple method of explaining even complex issues. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants to understand coding in Delphi.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi in Depth []  2020-2-1 12:17

    The book is written for the developer by experienced people who did not use worthless examples. The examples are what is needed in true globe programming. The book is perfect to learn from and also to use as a reference even though Delphi 2 was the recent release at the time of publication. I have used this as a reference in the majority of cases. I have been using Delphi for over 6 years now for desktop development.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Cookbook - Second Edition []  2020-2-2 16:51

    I just finished reading "Delphi CookBook Second Edition" and I'm really, really e style of the book is represented by a pragmatic approach, including solutions to true issues in the form of "recipes" (IMHO the best way, because it goes beyond what the normal documentation can provide).So it is possible to view the full power of Delphi and at the same time, see how it can place into practice for the solution of true is book is an advanced level tutorial that covers all the key parts of Delphi linked to programming. You will read about Style, RTL, RTTI, Firemonkey, PPL, HTTP Native Library etc.. but above all: how they can solve multithreading problems, how use specific platform features, how use it to query and build RESTFul services, etc...In conclusion, these recipes are huge treasures because they represent a excellent mix: a problem, a minimum theoretical to understand the underlying concepts and an elegant and efficient solution to the problem.Furthermore, most of the time, the solutions are enhanced by pattern and best practices in to be more generic and reusable as possible (like a pattern must do).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi COM Programming []  2020-2-2 16:59

    Definitely an improvement over the brief sprints through the topic found in other general Delphi guides, but... When I got my copy, I wondered if I got a various edition. My copy has a picture of ruins, not the elephant in the phone booth pictured above(NOTE: The cover image has since been changed on Amazon to the ruins.) I was also surprised when several examples from the book didn't work right on Delphi 3 or 5.(Surprised because previous reviewers commented on the examples being usable.) Several features discussed, including not needing to define functions that return HRESULT, would work when called by another Delphi application (only when using an Interface, not DispInterface or Ole Variants), but not from VBA. Changing back to the 'old-style' HRESULT code fixed that. Not only that, but the author seems to forget the names of the recently defined interfaces when referring to them later (ex: IAreaUnitConverter becomes IUnitAuto! ). When I checked the web website to the examples to test and compare with my code, I found that only selected examples were actually contained in the zip file. All I can figure is that I got a "beta" copy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi COM Programming []  2020-2-2 16:59

    A very interesting and worthwhile book, if you wish to learn about Interfaces, COM programming, Type Librarys, DCom and all that stuff. It provides a amazing set of examples, and some very fine sample code, such as a type library viewer, which is almost worth the of the book itself. Well worth a read if you wish to integrate COM into your delphi apps.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming Delphi Custom Components []  2020-2-2 16:59

    TComm: a very usefull component, but errors are invoked within WindowsXP..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi in Depth: ClientDataSets []  2020-5-22 18:29

    This book attempts a comprehensive look at ClientDataSets, but misses the tag for beginners. The first mistake the author makes is one many, a lot of Delphi books make. The issue can be summarized as follows: "BDE is dead and no one in their right mind would do database development work today using the unsupported dead BDE, but because Delphi has sample BDE databases, I'll use BDE examples throughout."This foolish idea of using a dead-end database structure sounds like a amazing idea when you hear the author describe it, but it doesn't translate to the fresh user. An experienced Delphi database developer would likely create the simple leap between how it is done with BDE as opposed to say dbExpress, but the beginner will not. This leaves the beginner lost right out of the gate. Trying to teach myself Delphi database programming, I wasted 20 hours tinkering just to figure out one easy mistake I was making while trying to recreate the books examples using mySQL and dbExpress. Granted the book cannot cover every database back-end and access way available, but starting with any of the non-dead options translates much easier to the other modern options than BDE. The author should have picked ADO, dbExpress, or even Interbase and used a true RDBMS e second mistake the author makes is relying too heavily on the downloadable code examples rather than placing code examples directly in the book. This not only wastes a amazing of time flipping back and forth, but the downloaded code often doesn't present enough to be useful. Practical examples would do things every database programmer would do in a primary database app. Instead a lot of of the downloaded code examples are simply 4 components strung together using their properties in an empty shell application. Yes the application displays data, but does nothing useful. Complete examples showing how to add, delete, edit, find for, lock, unlock, and avoid collisions with other users using more than dbGrid and a navigation bar would be extremely helpful. As it is, you'd think every database application revolves around dumping unformatted data into a dbGrid and having the end user cheat away at it like a glorified ain, for the advanced developer needing to fill in a few missing pieces about how ClientDataSets work, I'm sure this book is fine. For the beginner, the book is a nightmare until you've wasted hundreds of hours experimenting your method past primary r the beginner, I'd rate this book 1.5 stars. For the more experienced developers three stars, and for those already doing database work but just needing a few gaps filled in, perhaps a bit higher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi in Depth: ClientDataSets []  2020-5-22 18:29

    The book, in my opinion, was thorough enough to pull from it what I required in to utilize ClientDataSets correctly in a project in drastic need of client side tech.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coding in Delphi []  2020-1-31 3:50

    Too small has been written on Delphi, these past few years. To borrow from Sam Clemens, the death of the language has been greatly exaggerated. Nick presents a number of the more latest (and not so recent) additions to the Delphi language, and makes plain the advantages in using them. In the matter of interfaces, he harps (and admits it.)Full disclosure: I participated in the online review process during the writing, and proofread the first full draft. I'm a long-time Delphi developer, and yes, I am e worst I can say of this book is that I want Nick had gone a bit deeper in some areas. It should be in your library, and will amply repay your investment in and study.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coding in Delphi []  2020-1-31 3:50

    Nice very nice well done Nick

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi in Depth []  2020-2-1 12:17

    'Delphi in Depth' is the best book I have found on understanding Delphi. I have 14 books on Delphi and this book is a must have, for anyone serious about learning and using Delphi. It is useful for both the novice and expert programmer. The explainations and CD examples are easy and direct, showing you HOW, but also explaining in plain english WHY and WHEN to use properties and methods.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi in Depth: FireDAC []  2019-12-16 18:57

    Very detailed and practical, and with very useful and accurate background information. Worth reading repeatedly. Clearly the best source of info about Delphi and FireDAC. It is simple to understand. I also recommend it to people with the Professional SKU’s contemplating Enterprise make batter (assuming that the Proffessional SKU lacks FireDAC). The subject presentation is so clear and granular, that I did not need to use a computer with a running instance of the IDE to follow through.I just finished reading it again. This book is a gem! If you search the Livebindings treatise too terse, find for a 60 page white paper for Cary Jensen distributed by Embarcadero about Livebindings that was written in Feb 2012 for XE2, and which despite being outdated remains the best read on the topic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Cookbook - Second Edition []  2020-2-2 16:51

    One of the best Delphi books I've ever read through. Very useful and most are not.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Cookbook - Second Edition []  2020-2-2 16:51

    The book consists of well-contained individual chapters with clear, concise recipes for well-defined and useful tasks. The code is very simple to understand and follow, and the examples are chosen well. There is material here to create the book a worthwhile for even the most experienced programmers. No source code examples have (yet?) been released, but the book remains useful still. I purchased this book directly from the publisher (I have been waiting for its release) and I am in no method affiliated with the author or the publisher. I have the first edition of the book too. I am also very satisfied with the first edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi COM Programming []  2020-2-2 16:59

    I'm always suspicious of a book from an author I hadn't heard of before and ordering it online didn't help. Within the first couple of pages I was sure I had bought a rehash of everything I had read about COM in so a lot of other books during the latest yearand a half. Seeing the a lot of pages of printed code, while I 'fan previewed' the book convinced me that this was the 'filler' of a lightweight. But this was not so. By page 50 Mr. Harmon was clearly taking me locations I hadn't been and by the end of the third chapter, I knew that this book would fit nicely between Danny Thorpe and Ray Konopka on my programmers ic explains COM from a perspective familiar to a Delphi programmer and doesn't waste time teaching OOP 101 as so a lot of other books of the genre. He starts each fresh zone on friendly turf to a typical delphi programmer, creates a framwork, and builds on that structure to explain rather complex concepts quickly and effectively. I found his way of teaching comprehensive and thorough - yet demanding. If you aren't already reasonably comfortable with OOP than you still have a small more homework to do before you move onto COM. But it'll be here when you are. Even a general understanding of interfaces, com and dcom would be advisable though though he does review the basics briefly. But then he quickly moves through interfaces and drills down into levels that I hadn't encountered and I'm not yet at page 100. About a third of the method through chapter three and I knew I was on the clock - that this book would for itself in no time.I must admit that I am only into Chapter 5 now but did catch a peek of all to come. If you are a reasonably seasoned programmer and wish to move on to COM with the rest of the Windows programming community, this is how you do it. Simply begin reading at page one, do every example in the book as you go along, sometime before the appendix you will have your COM/DCOM wings. The embedded source code is there because it has to be there. Nearly every line is referenced in the narrative and the text depends on it. If you already have programmed some COM/DCOM experience as I had, you may still search the read worthwhile.I must caution that the book is exceptionally dry and without witticisms or amusing anecdotes. Mr. Harmon is down to business and makes no result to entertain the anyone that I can tell. You won't even search a jab at Microsoft here. But if you wish to learn COM/DCOM as a Delphi programmer, you have come to the right place. You can always go out to the club when you're done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi COM Programming []  2020-2-2 16:59

    This book has already added several nuclear warheads to my programming arsenal. It explained a lot of concepts I have struggled with in a very explicit manner. There is a severe issue with this book however. I have already found errors in the code examples that have hindered my learning. The top code example on page 24, and on page 26 are amazing examples. On page 24, TObject was not typecasted as a TFormattedInteger and thus could not be casted "AS" an IFormattedNumber. It generated the compiler error described on page 25 even though I had a GUID declared in the IFormattedNumber interface. On page 26, MyInteger is incorrectly declared as a IFormattedInteger, even though no such Interface is declared in any of his other examples. I do not wish to belittle this perfect book however. I just simply cannot give a book with these types of errors 5 stars when the writer obviously did not try every example he presents. It is definately still worth buying. I even suggest buying this in tandem with "Delphi4 Unleashed" by Charley Calvert because that book explains COM/Interfaces a small differently and can support you obtain the concepts faster by filling in some of the gaps. Hope this helps. Curtis S. Lead Programmer/Analyst Insurance Technologies Corp.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi COM Programming []  2020-2-2 16:59

    I search the book usefull for writing COM objects with delphi. This the only book I search at amazon writing COM objects with delphi. But I have a question about writing DCOM objects. At page 299 under the title "Creating DCOM client". The author says us to import b type library. But I cannot search this on neither my machineor anywhere else. Is it a standart Type library? It will be very amazing if you ilimunate us for this. Thanks You.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi in Depth: ClientDataSets []  2020-5-22 18:29

    It would be all too simple to overlook the value in the TClientDataSet. This book takes the reader through it in considerable detail. My only complaints are two: the decision to use the BDE, while understandable, was a not good one, and second, the book would benefit from careful proof reading and editing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi in Depth: FireDAC []  2019-12-16 18:57

    Cary Jensen is one of the stars of programming journalism, reading his text is a true pleasure. I hate to jinx him but I have never found a mistake in writing, extremely rare for a self-published book. I owned AnyDAC before the company was bought by Embarcadero and re-branded as FireDAC so I had some transactional knowledge of FireDAC but this book was exactly what I needed!Many times you a computer book, read the first 3-5 chapters and place it on a shelf until you need to look up something. Mr. Jensen's books are the exception for me, I tend to read them until the end.I love Delphi as a development environment (except for the cost!) and we have very few amazing contemporary books but thankfully we do have Nick Hodges, Marco Cantu, Chris Rollison and Daniele Teti. Their books are all extremely good, so Delphi programmers have perfect authors to depend on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi COM Programming []  2020-2-2 16:59

    Don't think what ver of Delphi this book was written for, I read this book and I found it very organized with a very amazing language, this book will tutorial you from a-z in a amazing discussion & info for learning and implementing COM programming in Delphi (3-5), allow say the kick of is using the Interface in Delphi through Programming the Windows Shell Extension. So, if you are a Delphi programmer doesn't waste your time looking for another book, just it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coding in Delphi []  2020-1-31 3:50

    I like this book, and I think it has gems and the content of the book deserves 4 star for the subjects it covered, which are not quite available from other Delphi books. It can be used as a reference book of Delphi for Spring framework as ms in the Book:- Amazing Design Principles, with thorough down-to-earth (sometimes, too lengthy) explanation- Delphi for Spring Focus (it does cover the RTL as well)- Dependence InjectionMy quibbles:1. Lack of Depth ( I concur with one of the reviewers in 2014). It does cover tricks and amazing practices relevant to the topics but more in-depth discussion on those topics seem missing. For example, I found "Delphi in a Nutshell" has more in-depth discussion about e book probably can be more concise (or more condensed). Personally I don't like blog-type of folksy narration (but, that is just my private taste) - and the book appears somewhat too folksy ("for-dummy style"?) in its writing. My favorite writing style is that of "Delphi in a Nutshell", concise and no-nonsense. Again, private taste.3. The book is too huge in its printed ver and typesetting. Don't understand why.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coding in Delphi []  2020-1-31 3:50

    Nick was a prior product manager for Delphi and is very well known in the Delphi world. There are amazing concepts covered here along with reasons to do things.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coding in Delphi []  2020-1-31 3:50

    Amazing book. Provides us with a lot of advanced concepts in delphi that i had never found in any other source.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi in Depth: ClientDataSets []  2020-5-22 18:29

    I left Delphi and C++ Builder long ago, then when I had to program an app resulted that BDE was no longer supported, and the documentation and examples I found at that time for dbExpress were so primary and did not solved master info issues I had. I bough this book to address all my doubts, and certainly I think it has helped me a is book does not only shows facts as in the product documentation, it relates the concepts and explain them in eat book, thank you to Cary Jensen

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi in Depth: ClientDataSets []  2020-5-22 18:29

    This is a amazing book on ClientDataSets. Even with FireDac more-or-less replacing ClientDataSets, there are enough similarities that this is a amazing foundation with which to begin your FireDac knowledgebase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi in Depth: ClientDataSets []  2020-5-22 18:29

    This book doesn't just cover the usual drop-a-component-on-a-form tutorial. It actually explains the inner workings of ClientDataSets. It covers the data resolving process, which is what I was most interested in.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi in Depth: FireDAC []  2019-12-16 18:57

    Illuminating through clear descriptions and many, relevant examples. I was instantly successful in applying each example to a snippet of my own code.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coding in Delphi []  2020-1-31 3:50

    This book collects a number of subjects that serve both experienced Delphi developers, and fresh ones. For experienced developers who got started with Delphi long ago, and who may not have been paying attention to more latest developments in the language, this book efficiently surveys some of the necessary developments that lead to better code, and shows in a practical method how and why they are useful. For the experienced developer fresh to Delphi, the subjects covered present the Delphi method of handling the language features and programming styles that may be familiar already from other languages. And for the fresh developer, the author's advocacy and clear demonstration of different valuable techniques will be welcome encouragement. The book is a useful complement to other broader sources, such as Cantu's Object Pascal Handbook, and the numerous Delphi videos on YT.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Coding in Delphi []  2020-1-31 3:50

    If you are looking for a true "hands-on" Delphi book, covering the locations of programming that need attention (best practice coding, etc.) this is a must have.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi Cookbook - Second Edition []  2020-2-2 16:51

    “Delphi Cookbook - Second Edition” is a really amazing and very useful book.I have to say that I am a fan of “academic books”, these lengthy tomes that introduce you to a programming language or a specific technology and tell you everything about it, starting from the very beginning and going deep and deep into the topic, giving you a full 360-degrees knowledge about lphi Cookbook does not belong to this category, but that is not a negative aspect: you have to consider that today time is a precious thing, and – especially developer tools – evolves really fast, so reading endless books does not always well because they need a lot of effort and you must obtain to work on your project as soon as possible or you will be late for lphi Cookbook is very handy to use: say you must tackle a issue about the app you are building, you can find the book starting from the index and obtain the bit of info that helps you begin getting your task done. If you are a intelligent developer, a hint is often all you need.But don’t obtain me wrong, this is not a bunch of old trivial hints and tricks that everyone already knows about: the book addresses up-to-date use cases that Delphi developers likely will have to with. Each recipe is like an extended design pattern that explains what you should do and especially why, so you can grasp the rationale behind ing the book, you will search out that a lot of of the proposed solutions leverage the actual Object Pascal language features and “out of the box” classes and components: this demonstrates how Delphi is a modern tool suitable for the needs of today’s development. Other recipes are full guides based on begin source projects, like Delphi MVC Framework, with a full explanation of how to use them, from installation to deploy, often covering what is missing from official will learn to use a lot of techniques ranging from the user interface (like theming and owner drawing) to the business logic (like meta programming using the RTTI), from exposing data through a Web server to consuming REST services, covering all the aspects of building a complete solution, for both desktop and mobile if you are a Delphi developer and wish to use the tool as it is meant to be nowadays, you must read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi COM Programming []  2020-2-2 16:59

    Until now the only decent Delphi reference on COM has been the two chapters by John Lam in Marco Cantu's "Delphi Developer's Handbook". This fresh book presents 500 pages of well written, focused coverage of the practicalities of Delphi's COM implementation. It is ideal for those with moderate Delphi skills who wish to come up to speed quickly in writing ActiveX Control or Form solutions, or who wish a amazing explanation of the usage of interfaces, variants, connection points, automation or though it goes into depth in a couple of locations - structured storage and property sets in particular - readers will still need to look to people like Binh Ly for advanced discussion of threading models and so forth. I was hoping to search detailed discussion of the internal workings of DAX, TOleContainer and the TComObject/Factory descendants, but most of the code in the book focuses on *using* the VCL framework rather than on its design and the different bugs and gotchas it works ose with C++ COM/OLE experience looking for Delphi solutions (eg those rolling their own OLE DB providers, windowless ActiveX controls or Active Document servers) may be disappointed: it's not "Inside ATL" for the VCL. However I think the majority of Delphi developers - who don't have time to read Brockschmidt or Box but just wish tools and solutions that work - will search the book a amazing time-saver and reference. COM newbies wanting Delphi guides need look no 's certainly an perfect contribution to the Delphi literature. I'll be buying a second copy for the office, but it left me thirsty for more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi COM Programming []  2020-2-2 16:59

    Found out about it, browsed it at bookstore, bought it. Excellent. This is the book Borland should have sponsored two+ years ago, so we could all create use of the elegant Delphi COM implementation!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Programming Delphi Custom Components []  2020-2-2 16:59

    Amazing older manual

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi in Depth: ClientDataSets []  2020-5-22 18:29

    Very informative and deep coverage of ClientDataSets. Everything from searching, filtering, and caching to saving the data locally is covered in this book. In this fresh globe of mobile usage where a connection to the datasource is not always guaranteed, saving the change cache locally, then persisting to the remote database when connected is something that is handled by default by the ClientDataSet. Wonderful and relevant technology for today even though it was made and first released in the mid-90's. This book explains ClientDataSets in an easy-to-read format, but it also has really amazing info that will be of amazing use to developers who have been using the technology for years. Thanks Cary for the insight and clarity into an awesome technology.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Delphi in Depth: ClientDataSets []  2020-5-22 18:29

    This is a reference that all Delphi database developers should take a look. It begins by explaining in a very direct method the ClientDataSets architecture and it's behavior in network environments. Further and very important, the object internal mechanism is well described so any developer can predict the object behavior in different systems.I would recommend database developers to spend some time with this reference.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Delphi Effect (The Delphi Trilogy Book 1) [Book]  2017-11-5 18:0

    I picked up this book mostly because I had read another series by Walker and loved it. I was very satisfied that I enjoyed this one as well. Anna, Deo, Aaron and Taylor are all such amazing characters. I'm scared and excited for their future all at the same time. Can't wait for the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Delphi Effect (The Delphi Trilogy Book 1) [Book]  2017-11-5 18:0

    So far, the psychic abilities are fairly mundane, but there are tip at other mutations. Main hero is a snarky teenager who channels dead people. Book is X-men meets Heroes meets spy novel. Amazing read, though there were a few inconsistencies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Delphi Effect (The Delphi Trilogy Book 1) [Book]  2017-11-5 18:0

    It's a amazing thing that the next volume isn't written yet- it's after midnight, but I would be downloading it now. This is a amazing book. Yes, very good. I'll be looking for more from this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Delphi Revolution (The Delphi Trilogy Book 3) []  2020-1-15 23:34

    As with the CHRONOS books, Rysa Walker has made a globe that is complex, but internally consistent. The characters are complex, and much of the text is devoted to understanding them and their relationships. The book gives necessary insights to empathy, as the lead hero carries other people's psyches-- for better or worse-- in her head. Her ability to experience their memories and emotions-- indeed, that she often cannot prevent it-- tutorials her actions and development. Bittersweet ending.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Delphi Revolution (The Delphi Trilogy Book 3) []  2020-1-15 23:34

    I do loved this trilogy of books. Such an interesting cast of characters. I loved them all, and their abilities.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Delphi Resistance (The Delphi Trilogy Book 2) []  2020-1-16 10:32

    I bought this IMMEDIATELY after reading "The Delphi Effect" because I HAD to know what happened next. And I was not disappointed. This book is just as amazing as the first one. The characters and the globe are so well-thought out, and the storyline is really well-paced and interesting. I read it in a day! Rysa Walker knows how to hold me hooked with an ending with the slightest of cliff-hangers to hold me coming back. (WHY? I NEED TO KNOW NOW!) The issue is the 3rd book doesn't come out until OCTOBER!!! Read this book (especially if you've read the first one) and then go read Rysa Walker's "The Chronos Files" trilogy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    INSIDE DELPHI 2006 (W/CD) (Wordware Delphi Developer's Library) []  2020-5-22 18:29

    This is a splendid book. It systematically reviews the BDS/Delphi programming framework, and is written in perfect English. In contrast to the flood of books available to obtain fresh and migrating programmers up to speed with Microsoft's languages, Borland has lacked anything equivalent until now. As the owner/reader of about 100 Delphi books, some of which contain more detail on much narrower subjects and most of which are less well written, I was happy to obtain and read this book. I learned things from it, even though I've been using Delphi since ver 1. If you are looking for a first book on Delphi, this is clearly the best, although its target audience contains not just neophytes but also those considering a language/platform transition (via its coverage of C# differences). We need more such books. The fact that this immensely readable book cannot be all things to all people and (coming out within a few months of the recent release) cannot comprehensively cover all the recent langauge developments, does not detract from its intrinsic value.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Delphi Effect (The Delphi Trilogy Book 1) [Book]  2017-11-5 18:0

    Rysa,I am a true fan of yours. I loved the CHRONOS FILES, could hardly wait from one to the other. This first of the Delphi Trilogy didn't grab me the same way, however, I'll sure be anxious to obtain into the next y my best wishes to you and yours always.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Delphi Revolution (The Delphi Trilogy Book 3) []  2020-1-15 23:34

    I’d give this book 3.5 stars, but am rounding it up for the series as a whole.I love Rysa’s globe building and search myself very engaged with her characters. Maybe it was because a fair amount of time passed between my reading the second book and this one, but I had problem connecting to the characters. I think this is in part because of what Anna is going through (trying to hold this spoiler free). I didn’t feel as close to her in this book and therefore felt removed from the story as a whole, since she is the terms of structure, I liked the continued inclusion of “press articles.” It was a amazing method to do an information dump and to present how the country as a whole perceived things. But I did have problems with the pacing of the book. I thought it took a bit too long for Anna to figure out what was up with her. I also felt that the highly anticipate ending confrontation, was very rushed and a small lackluster.Overall, I enjoyed spending more time in one of the worlds made by Rysa Walker. It wasn’t as engrossing as the CHRONOS series, but it was a amazing concept and overall well-executed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Delphi Revolution (The Delphi Trilogy Book 3) []  2020-1-15 23:34

    This latest book in the series had everything that I hope for in a finale. It was long, immersive and the suspense kept building until the final confrontation. I highly recommend this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Delphi Resistance (The Delphi Trilogy Book 2) []  2020-1-16 10:32

    Another unbelievable installment in the Delphi trilogy. Anna and Aaron don't disappoint as protagonists. This book is definitely darker than the first one, and as the author noted in her acknowledgements/ end note, today's current political atmosphere unfortunately makes this book less "fantastical" when it comes to the volatile political climate in he book being much more true than we would've expected even a year ago. However, this just adds to making the book more believable and to me, likable. I don't know yet what to create of Magda, whether to trust her or not. And the ending- woah! I have a feeling I know what it means, and if that's the case, it'll be a bid doozy! Can't wait for book 3.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Delphi Resistance (The Delphi Trilogy Book 2) []  2020-1-16 10:32

    I really do have fun reading this series. It is not necessarily a sustained white knuckle intense tale, but it does have moments where it gets too intense to hold reading without taking a short break.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    [email protected]#$% Delphi Programming: Cutting-edge Delphi Programming with an Attitude []  2020-1-31 3:51

    Much of the code was ommitted on the CD. The code that is there does not work. There are no updates on the publisher's website as specified in the book. One of the authors who replied to my emails was sympathetic, but was also dissatisfied with the publisher. The chapter on hierarchical databases was the worst offender - and the main reason I bought the book. So much promise, so small gain. However, it was written well and I like the explanations. Raymond Kennington

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    INSIDE DELPHI 2006 (W/CD) (Wordware Delphi Developer's Library) []  2020-5-22 18:29

    I have several years of experience with C/C++ using MFC and Borland C++ Builder, and I have long been planning to expand my knowledge to Delphi. To this end, I found this book extremely well written with plain, well orgnized and simple to understand English. Albeit English is not my native language but it took me just 3 hours to finish reading almost half of the book (near 300 pages) with much enjoyment and I feel I already have a amazing jump begin with Delphi. Of course, I guess the presented material might appear too fundamental to Delphi masters, but it is definetly a amazing book for someone who already have some experience with C/C++ but wish to learn me have complained .NET is only covered at the miminum. But to me this is acceptable since I can search info from other books once I obtain a keep of Delphi in general. In short, this is a very amazing book and I would happily rate it with 5 ntinued Comments by the same reviwer after one year:Delphi in a Nutshell by Ray Lischer, would be a very amazing subsequent reading after this so, this book doesn't touch on Web Services, XML programming, Refactroing, and Unit Testing. These items can be found from CodeGear www service --- they have very amazing Webinar series on the subjects that would compliment this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    INSIDE DELPHI 2006 (W/CD) (Wordware Delphi Developer's Library) []  2020-5-22 18:29

    There haven't been all that a lot of fresh Delphi books in latest years so it was pleasant to search this one. This book appears to be aimed at fresh Delphi programmers and it does a beautiful amazing job of bringing them up to speed. Advanced Delphi programmers will probably not search a amazing a lot of stuff of interest, but they might search a few. I've have used all ten versions of Delphi (and most versions of Turbo Pascal) and have about one hundred books in my library on Delphi. So, while most of the info was not fresh to me, I did run across one or two small gems I had not seen before.I'm glad I bought it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    INSIDE DELPHI 2006 (W/CD) (Wordware Delphi Developer's Library) []  2020-5-22 18:29

    If you're already an advanced Delphi programmer, you're not likely to search a whole lot "groundbreaking" in here. But if you're fresh to Delphi, or just wish to brush up on a few locations you may have missed, this is a amazing book.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386