Read digital photography bible reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all digital photography bible reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Photography Bible: Exposure > Light & Lighting > Composition > Digital Editing []  2020-4-14 18:24

    Amazing book with lots of information. I found myself experimenting with all kinds of things.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Photography Bible: Exposure > Light & Lighting > Composition > Digital Editing []  2020-4-14 18:24

    Anything written by Michael Freeman is excellent!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Photography for Teens []  2020-1-25 16:27

    I purchased this for my granddaughter who is interested in photography. She loves it (12 years old), amazing for a creative person.

    0  


    Add your opinion on digital photography bible or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stunning Digital Photography []  2020-5-14 18:27

    No wonder why this book is the top rated photography book in the world. Ok my wife asked me to buy a camera for traveling but I purchased the canon T3i DSLR camera because it had a very amazing deal on it. I'm not a photographer whatsoever, I purchased this camera and it was intended to capture memories of me and wife. It was so hard to obtain amazing pictures with it and I read the camera's manual book twice page to page but I still couldn't understand how things work. I purchased this book and allow me tell you this. This book transformed me from a beginner to a professional photographer. I'm not kidding! I was competing in photography contests versus professional photographers and always be among the top. I became a landscape, cityscape, nightscape, astro, macro, portrait, product, animal or wild life photographer .. You name it! Well, to be honest I didn't learn everything from this book, off course I did my research online on some of the other stuff, but this book was the starting point for me. I'll post some of my awesome images that I captured but hold in mind that the quality of the images are not that amazing because amazon tends to lower the quality of the images. This book is a life changer and now I own a full frame Canon 6D. Thank you so much for this awesome book and videos. Your book is the best photography book in the world. Hold it up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stunning Digital Photography []  2020-5-14 18:27

    Best $20 i've ever spent! What I love about it is that when you buy the book you obtain access to community forum and the Fb page which is very nice, It has loads of useful info to improve your photography,I would highly recommend the book to anyone starting out in photography, very very useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stunning Digital Photography []  2020-5-14 18:27

    It's deceiving... The cover of the book states "14 hours of video."BUT, that video is just content on YouTube that you could have just searched for on your own.And the images in this book! They are terrible!You'd think that a photographer would have stunning pics in a photography book...But they look like they are from 1995, printed on a desktop printer. Amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stunning Digital Photography []  2020-5-14 18:27

    I am so-so on this book. I ordered it partly because of the thousands of 5-star reviews, believing it would be comprehensive and thorough; it wasn't what I was looking spends the first part of the book going over the absolute basics of photography, and any art school graduate or person who took a photography course in high school or college will be familiar with it. Then it goes into a break down on the primary rules of composition, then the basics of using your camera, and from there a short part on common issues you might e rest of the book is concerned with "types" of photography and how to "master" them - portraits, landscapes, bird-photography, etc. One actual example of advice, "Try using a decorative perch from which to photograph birds to change it up".Overall, it's a book filled with tip for achieving his sort of style, as opposed to an actual textbook on photography and learning the ins-and-outs so you can develop your own look for yourself. It's definitely not a course for "mastering" anything.If you're a total beginner and have never taken an art class in your life, this book is for you. If you're familiar with the rules of color theory, composition, and know what an aperture is already, I suggest you look elsewhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stunning Digital Photography []  2020-5-14 18:27

    This book stays on my nightstand next to my bed at all times! I’m going to create a list of everything I like about this book, hope fully it helps you with your purchase.1. How easy it is. Everything in the book is laid out in a method that it makes it super simple to comprehend.2. Each chapter has QR codes that you can easily scan with your cell phone and it takes you to a video that goes into further detail on what the chapter is about.3. One of the things I love the most is the online group page that you obtain access to. I obtain to interact with other photographers who bought this book and ask specific questions.4. I am a subscriber to Tony & Chelsea’s YouTube channel. They have dozens of educational videos as well as camera and lens reviews and primary discussion videos about news in the photography world.5. The book is laid out in a method that makes it simple for me to obtain fast answers, even in the field as I’m taking photos!6. Finally, I like that the book is constantly being updated. They’re always adding fresh info through the QR codes you scan and the videos you watch.If you’re on the fence about making the purchase, don’t me! No matter if you’re just beginning or you’re really skilled, this book will definitely serve a purpose. I hope this info helps, goodluck!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Photography for Teens []  2020-1-25 16:27

    Amazing bonus for teenager beginning photography.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Photography for Teens []  2020-1-25 16:27

    As a teacher (a true certified and licensed one) this book was rather disappointing. It glosses over the basics and treats image elements as being super important. Sorry, but most children I know don't own image elements. I was hoping this book would cover more of the history, development, and potential for photography. While a lot of children love point and shoots, the truth is if you're going to teach them photography they need to understand the fundamentals. The authors discuss megapixels and pro-sumers cameras beautiful much from the obtain go--what happened to the understanding the very basics of what a camera is in the first place? This book needs a heavy adays students can easily pick up a used DSLR for the price of a point and shoot (just look up prices for the D100, the D40, and the D50 cameras). A 50mm lens only costs $50-100. And that's all most children need to really obtain started. Starting at chapter 5 and continuing through chapter 12 the authors focus on computer software (namely elements). Why waste 7 chapters on software that gets updated so frequently? If they had chosen image and the basics I wouldn't be complaining, as the basics haven't changed in years. However, they go into some beautiful detailed things that children don't need to bother with, specially since they don't even have a fundamental understanding of the craft.Another example of how poorly organized this is...by chapter 3 the authors already mention color temperature. Hello? Very few art students even know what that is at the high school is is a very disappointing book, and the title and the cover are rather misleading. This book by Campbell and Long is too short on the necessary things, too long on one single software, disorganized, focuses method too much on the software, and is in desperate need of a major overhaul.If they ever got rid of the naked women then John Hedgecoe's book The Photographer's Handbook would be the best method to go to teach students photography.Avoid this book if you're a teacher or you plan to use it to teach your teen photography. There are better resources out there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Photography for Teens []  2020-1-25 16:27

    Nice book, but it does not cover as much as i would have liked. Still amazing for someone young though who doesnt really know much. Can always learn something.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stunning Digital Photography []  2020-5-14 18:27

    As one who accidentally stumbled into the photography world, this book was the tool that helped me to develop confidence in my technique and bridge the gap between english and photography-speak. I do not plan to sell images for stock, nor do I want to take images for a magazine or an art gallery; BUT I feel as if this book has given me the pathway should I decide to go that route in the future. Most importantly, the people in my immediate circle think I have developed some sort of magical "eye" for photos, when I have just soaked in a lot of of Tony's tips, techniques and "lessons learned".Since I am a gear-head that is prone to over-purchasing tech, some of Tony's tip has saved me from buying stuff that were technically not important for my skill teachers, the Northrups seem to be a very "down to earth" couple - challenging a lot of of the long standing photography standards. They provide sound, practical logic so that average people may get high-quality photographic results. They use easy-to-understand language, and they reference a lot of amazing internet resources to support enhance your learning ly, they do this for a living, so their opinions and approaches keep a lot of credibility with me. There are a few online personalities that are critical of some of their opinions - some downright attacking them. I am not at a level where I can confirm or debunk their critics assertions. I can "judge a tree by the fruit that it bears". My observation is that the Northrups produce a lot of high-quality content; they have a lot of customers; and a lot of people on the web are tuning in to them. They must be doing something right.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stunning Digital Photography []  2020-5-14 18:27

    I just had to jump on and hurry up and write a review. I got this yesterday, I only read the first chapter and a half and I am having a really hard time putting this down, forced to work :( unfortunately. I have had a fair amount of photography training a number of years ago and I have forgotten a lot of of the basics. Not only does this seem to be a amazing book for beginners but for others as well. I can not emphasize enough how much I have already learned. I ran across one of his videos on YouTube and after the short video I came here to order his book because I learned so much from that 7 min. video, I wanted more. Well I got it and I am not disappointed!. Cant wait to dive in on the rest!I love the fact that he says you don't need the best camera in the globe to obtain amazing pictures. It seems the push is for everyone to have a professional camera and lens, he hits the nail on the head when he says you only need decent items and can obtain amazing shots from a decent camera! We all wish the best but most of us can't obtain their hands on the best. I have a Sony A65 from 2011 and I obtain stunning results from this camera with a amazing lens. Someday I will make batter but I think it is more necessary to know how to use your camera, it's limitations and it's strengths which I certainly do. You can obtain some Awesome results and everyone will think you have a pro grade camera when you don't. I have had so a lot of Fb mates ask me what kind of Camera is that, is that a pro camera? Like he says in the book, it is not the camera that makes the shot. Its the person behind the lens.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Photography for Teens []  2020-1-25 16:27

    FIVE STARS. WHEN YOU ARE RETIRED AND HAVE THE TIME TO READ, GIVES YOU EASY TO UNDERSTAND TIPS.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stunning Digital Photography []  2020-5-14 18:27

    This book is freakin awesome! Tony Northrup is a unbelievable instructor. It's simple to follow, I love the videos that you can follow along with. I subscribed to his youtube channel as well. I love the fact that you obtain lifetime updates to this book if you register AND you also obtain a digital copy if you register. Tony explains things very well, especially for the beginner photographer, he does use the huge words, but he explains in detail what they all mean and it's very simple to follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stunning Digital Photography []  2020-5-14 18:27

    I just finished Tony Northrup's How To Make Stunning Digital Photography. I purchased the Kindle ver and read it on my PC and it was also available on my iOS ny and his wife, Chelsea, also an perfect photographer, have made an outstanding learning tool for budding (and intermediate) is book covers a large spectrum of photography with the first chapter introducing 6 "quick tips" that obtain you started on a unbelievable journey of discovery. My favorite hint from the first chapter is to take LOTS of images and delete most of them. With the advent of digital photography, you no longer have to wait for movie to be developed to see your results. And digital "film" is free so do lots of experimenting to really learn the ins and outs of your e next four chapters cover composition, lighting and flash, controlling your camera (this chapter alone is worth the price of the book!), and problem-solving which covers a wide dozens of techniques to solve those e rest of the book dedicates a whole chapter to each of the following subjects: Portraits, Weddings, Animals, Landscapes, Night Photography (including star trails!), High Dynamic Range (HDR), Closeup/Macro Photography and finally Underwater photography.What really makes this a stand-out learning experience is the included links to hours and hours of high-quality video that demonstrates the topic at hand. These videos average about 5-6 mins but can be as long as 30 mins when covering a more complex subject. The book is designed to accommodate various styles of learning so you can read the book then watch the included videos as you read or you can go to Appendix A which is an index for every video so you can watch all the videos and use the book as a the end of each chapter is a quiz to try your understanding of the subject. Each chapter also contains a series of suggested mini-projects or challenges for you to obtain hands-on experience with the ny and Chelsea are very down-to-earth and their style is not cold and sterile but very engaging and fun. They go all over the globe with a professional videographer and demonstrate techniques that really gives you an in-depth understanding of the topic. They joke and child around with you and each other which makes them more engaging and fun to watch while you are learning.While they also have a dedicated book for camera gear, Tony Northrup's Photography Buying Guide: How to Choose a Camera, Lens, Tripod, Flash, & More (Tony Northrup's Photography Books Book 2), there are lots of hints and gear recommendations peppered throughout the book. They will tell you when it is fine to purchase a cheaper, generic piece of gear and when it is better to stick with name-brand equipment. They demonstrate how to obtain the best quality images from budget gear and they also encourage you to search used gear. One of the lenses they discussed costs about $1300 new. But they showed me how to search the same lens "like new" that I purchased for $800!I was so impressed with this book that I also purchased their books Adobe Lightroom 6 / CC Video Book: Training for Photographers and Photo CC Essentials for Photographers: Chelsea & Tony Northrup's Video so they do video guides for just about every famous camera out there on their www service (you will search their www service with each link in the book). Each video is ~ 1 hour per camera and covers just about every knob, setting for that camera. Excellent! Their guides are far superior to the manual from the camera manufacturer.If you are fresh to photography or an intermediate level photographer, this book is a no-brainer. This book demonstrates how technology really can create a book better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Stunning Digital Photography []  2020-5-14 18:27

    I recently upgraded my Canon camera and self teaching myself how to use the features of my fresh camera. I stumbled across Tony and Chelsea on YouTube where I learned about this book. I felt their YouTube channel was relevant, engaging and funny at times. I've had the book for a few weeks and I really like how it is organized. I can jump to the chapter that interests me (landscapes, animals, composition, etc...). The QR codes are really helpful and easily begin a video where Tony demonstrates what is explained in the section or chapter. After I registered my book purchase on their website, I learned that I could download a digital ver of the book and it comes with free lifetime updates. There are also quizzes at the end of each chapter to try your learning. I'm really satisfied with this purchase and love their YouTube channel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Photography for Teens []  2020-1-25 16:27

    Nice bonus for a young person who shows an interest in photography. Starts with digital photography and unfortunately skips over movie I recommend this for young individule who has experience with original movie photography.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Photography for Teens []  2020-1-25 16:27

    I use the front portion of this book in my photography class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Photography for Teens []  2020-1-25 16:27

    This is a nice book, simple to follow but with amazing info and image examples. Bought as a birthday bonus for my 13 year old niece and she liked it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Photography: A Basic Manual []  2020-9-24 21:3

    I had to buy this for my college class and I feel it is all over the place. I have not got past chapters 2. I found a better book for the same cash and it doesn’t place me to sleep or confuse me like this one. I don’t recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Advanced Digital Black & White Photography []  2021-1-7 20:54

    What a amazing book for a first-timer into the unbelievable realm of attractive B&W imagery. The layout of the book is designed with simplisity in mind, yet it actually goes quite deep into several applications and their use with the conversion of colour photos into B&W. Each page is well presented so that the reader can follower can the easy tutorial into how to make perfect images. From beginning to end, the book is full of info that can support any photographer, novice or professional, in producing photos that will stand out amongst the 'average' B&W image. If you wish a book that delivers what it says it can, then this is the book for you . . it's definitely cash well spent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Advanced Digital Black & White Photography []  2021-1-7 20:54

    BRAND NEW BOOK ARRIVED PROMPTLY. ENJOYING READING IT , A LITTLE BIT EACH DAY. THANK YOU.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Photography: A Basic Manual []  2020-9-24 21:3

    I have a BFA in Photography from SCAD, and I've been an active photographer for more than 15 years. Recently a amazing mate of mine asked me to teach her about photography and make a image curriculum for her self study. Henry Horenstein authored a lot of of the books I referenced when I took intro classes a lot of years ago, so I was very satisfied to search this contemporary intro level text geared toward digital e book covers the primary intro level info that one would expect- lens focal length, aperture, depth of field, shutter speed, equivalent exposure, primary lighting principles, ect. The book omits movie and darkroom techniques, instead focusing on information relevant to digital photography- custom functions of the digital SLR, uploading and file management, editing, printing, with Horenstein's other books, the content was clearly written and simple to understand. If you are brand fresh to photography and are looking for a amazing overall manual that will teach you how to use your digital SLR and how to obtain out of the "P for Professional" mentality, then this book is for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Photography: A Basic Manual []  2020-9-24 21:3

    This is by far the most useful photography manual that I have read. I constantly refer back to it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Photography: A Basic Manual []  2020-9-24 21:3

    You will know all the primary info about a camera, but don't expect to learn too much from this book about techniques and useful tips.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Advanced Digital Black & White Photography []  2021-1-7 20:54

    I enjoyed this book and learned a lot from it. However, the newest ver of Lightroom (and probably Aperture, too, though I have no direct experience with this) can now do most of what Image can do for the vast majority of situations in black-and-white conversion and post-processing. Considering the large price difference between these software packages, I would've really appreciated it if the author paid more attention to the techniques of black-and-white post-processing for the rest of us, i.e. those of us unready to shell out $600 on a Image license. Maybe in the *next* edition....?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Advanced Digital Black & White Photography []  2021-1-7 20:54

    Well organized with step by step points for the numerous processes for converting color photos to B&W; and well illustrated. Illustration could have benefitted with larger images the size of the "Final Image" for comparisons. Also has recommendations for choosing particular processes. More than what is acceptable typos. And, what seemed like at least one misplaced image illustration, which a beginning digital photographer might have difficulty with.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Photography: A Basic Manual []  2020-9-24 21:3

    Perused the book. Offers a lot of info that should support in my picture taking.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Advanced Digital Black & White Photography []  2021-1-7 20:54

    I would like to share with another (even potential) customers my experience from the first reading of this book. It is very amazing and well positioned essential of everything most necessary about B&W photography, very transparent and helpful. Thanks Jiri Pavel, Czech republic

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Advanced Digital Black & White Photography []  2021-1-7 20:54

    In the past 6 months I have read over a dozen photography and image books. I would rate this amongst the best of the latter. The instructions for creating various techniques within image are well illustrated in step by step fashion (a huge plus for a newby to photo). It was definitely a small light on the overall theory behind B&W photography, so I would only rely on it if you have photo.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Photography: A Basic Manual []  2020-9-24 21:3

    This book was needed for my beginners photography class so I rented it for the class. I found it so helpful that I decided to purchase it once the class was over. It's a very useful resource. I like that it has pictures of how the image would turn out in different settings to accomplish specific effects. I'm glad it's a permanent part of my library now!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Photography: A Basic Manual []  2020-9-24 21:3

    Bought for my photography college class.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Photography: A Basic Manual []  2020-9-24 21:3

    Got for my daughter for her art class

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Photography: A Basic Manual []  2020-9-24 21:3

    Got it for school

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Advanced Digital Black & White Photography []  2021-1-7 20:54

    This is the one book you wish if you need a "software how-to guide" for all of the most famous methods used to make B&W photographs from color originals. Not only is John a very amazing photographer (and a amazing guy for any who follow him online), but he covers each technique in enough depth that you can understand which is going to be best for you or best for a particular situation. The usual suspects are here like the Image BW Adjustment and Channel Mixer Adjustment, but what I really like are the harder-to-find insights like using Lightroom's local adjustment tools to Dodge and Burn selective locations of a raw photograph. That's really amazing items you won't search in too a lot of other tutorials.Another amazing thing about this book that makes it stand above the usual Kelby fair is the production quality. Really nice quality paper, well laid out, simple to search what you need and simple to read. All in all this is the best BW resource I've found in book format and highly recommend it over other books that may be more "famous" but which give a superficial treatment to this necessary photographic process (now digitized).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Advanced Digital Black & White Photography []  2021-1-7 20:54

    The best book on Black and White conversions I have found.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Photography: A Basic Manual []  2020-9-24 21:3

    I have the black and white ver of this book when I took a various photography class and the digital class I'm taking now (different state and school!) have us reading this for our homework. Henry explains things very clearly and there are a lot of amazing photographs and illustrations that support you really understand a lot of the technical aspects of digital photography. I would highly recommend this book for any beginner or those who need a brush up on what F Stops are and all that technical stuff!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Advanced Digital Black & White Photography []  2021-1-7 20:54

    Got the book 5 days later, in excellent time. The book shows no wear which is great, as product states, used like fresh just shelf wear which is basically a fresh book. I've been wanting this book for a couple years now and I finally decided to obtain it. Thank you for selling it!Also, this book is a great, I highly recommend anyone to read this should they wish to discover into more digital black and white photography. Even if the images inspire you to take certain images that the photographers have provided, it has nothing to do with it digitally if inspiration is what you are looking for. This book has it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Advanced Digital Black & White Photography []  2021-1-7 20:54

    I have enjoyed Black & White Photography since movie days. I used to have fun shooting with Black & White Transparency movie with colourful is book teaches me the best method to achieve a related result in Photo.I guess the only criticism is that the book now needs updating for CS4.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black and White Digital Photography Photo Work []  2020-1-16 6:18

    I have not finished this book but I can say this would be a amazing book for those interested in doing exclusive B&W and for those older people, like myself, who have experience in working with and developing their own B&W negative/prints. It gives the primary properties of B&W themes such as composition and texture and goes on to explain the principles of applying color filters in order to achieve a desired effect. It starts out with primary info that some of us are already familiar with, but the reason I bought this book was to understand how to apply principles I used in movie processing by using modern day software om what I've reviewed so far this book will fit the bill and at the very least be a starting point for answering questions concerning the use of Aperture, Image and PS Elements as well as Adobe Camera Raw and their DNG file format. It also covers Lightroom and Canon's and Nikon's proprietary software for importing and working with Raw photo files. Note that instructions for using Camera Raw are referring to v 6.1 which I believe requires PS Element 8 or later. I use a Mac G5 desktop computer which runs PS Element no higher than ver 6 without giving any problems. But the primary principles can still be applied to older versions of the different applications while also giving me an excuse to make batter to a newer Intel based Mac. Its nice to know I can use my DSLR or P&S to go back to using B&W with the intensions I had when using Tri-X in bulk movie and exposing/developing for the Location System which is also briefly mentioned in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black and White Digital Photography Photo Work []  2020-1-16 6:18

    Although I have a ton of books on this subject,I've found this book has a put among them. the writer shares with you the basics,the advance technical info are great.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Photography Book, The: Part 1 []  2020-9-24 22:4

    This book beautiful much answered every question I had about my DLSR. I was planning a trip and wanted to create sure I got the best use out of my camera rig, which had always been a daunting prospect. After reading this book, I couldn't wait to test out all the various recommendations and scenarios that the author worked through in language that was direct, easy-to-understand and carefully walked the line between critical technical considerations and not getting so geeked out that it would frighten mere mortal photographers. My post-reading images are finally something I'm proud of. I'd frame them. People comment on them. And it really didn't take that much effort to obtain them once I had referenced this e one thing this book doesn't have that some readers might wish is a detailed explanation of photography terms, science and deep technical issues, and that was fine with me. There are plenty of books for that. What Kelby does is tell you how to obtain a amazing photo, especially in the most common settings (sunsets, weddings, landscapes, sports, portraits...). The logic is easy for each and he even provides easy setups for various types of photos. I used his small laundry list of settings for some sunset shots in Hawaii and they came out absolutely stunning. I was never able to nail that before reading this book.Highly recommended. Once you read it and apply the concepts, you'll suddenly realize how much further you can take your pictures when you decide to move beyond a mobile phone or a point-and-shoot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Photography Book, The: Part 1 []  2020-9-24 22:4

    Following this book's suggestions resulted in vastly improved images on my part. The book's style differs from the norm. It presents common situations and provides guidance on how to deal with them, not the usual suggestion on how cameras work. I tried four or five other photography books and this is the first to really help.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Wedding Photography: Capturing Beautiful Memories []  2020-11-27 20:34

    This book is well-written and simple to read. It includes so much helpful info that I found myself reading this book twice. Each time I read it, I gleamed more useful info from it. It's even got me thinking about trying my hand at photographing a wedding. I recommend it for anyone trying to learn something about wedding photography.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Wedding Photography: Capturing Beautiful Memories []  2020-11-27 20:34

    This book for me is a keeper.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Wedding Photography: Capturing Beautiful Memories []  2020-11-27 20:34

    Yes, this is a very helpful reference for any wedding photographer at any skill level. Glad to have been able to search it through Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital SLR Cameras & Photography For Dummies []  2020-10-10 19:25

    The author, David Busch, has done a unbelievable job in detailing this book for a "hobbyist photographer" like me. Years ago my first encounter with a DSLR was not one that I felt confident about, so I decided take a class. I found that the class was dedicated to taking pictures and not explaining the camera itself. I decided that I'd better stick to point and shoot. But more recently I have since learned that there are so a lot of types of photography which have captured my interest and a better understanding of the DSLR camera, how it works and what it can add to the enjoyment of working with such a multifaceted tool. Because of the 5th edition of David Busch's book I have found answers, photos and ideas that I can use to further my interest in using my DSLR to enhance my interest and understanding of photography that I wasn't even aware of. I am now a very satisfied "hobbyist".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital SLR Cameras & Photography For Dummies []  2020-10-10 19:25

    This book has a amazing amount of info on cameras and photography and I think it'd be amazing for someone who doesn't have access to the internet, but for someone who can use Google or YouTube, it's not worth buying. You can learn everything in this book in one sitting by watching a handful of videos on YouTube. It's amazing for reference but not worth buying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Digital Photography Book: Part 1 []  2020-2-1 20:51

    This is a amazing book and yes, obtain the whole series!!! Just enough detail to tell you what to do, without swamping you down... it's like a cookbook- like this shot? do this with your camera! Then it gives you more in-depth instructions for adjusting the camera to a various situation. It's NOT step by step begin from beginning to end, it's just like hanging with a photographer and they tell you what they're doing, with the promise of tell you why later when we've got more time...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Digital Photography Book: Part 1 []  2020-2-1 20:51

    Love this book! I got it for my photography class and was afraid at first that it would be an ordinary boring photography manual. To my surprise, it kept me awake and even entertained me. I definitely learned a lot of things from is book is written in a method that you don't feel like reading a book. Instead, you feel like you are shadowing Scott (the author). On top of that, he always add in some humor to spice things up and drop in a few you life hacks. I would love to see more pictures in it but overall it was great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Photo for Lightroom Users (Digital Photography Courses) []  2020-2-1 12:49

    As a long time purchaser Kelby products and follower of Scott, I have been hoping for just this book. For those of us who need to know "Just the Basics" this book hits the SPOT. I have suggested it to all of my photog mates who are afraid of Photo!This book covers:1. The basics "Tools" available in Image and how they work. Specifically the tools that are necessary to Photographers. Including essential Keyboard Shortcuts, Navigation and other techniques.2. How to do a "Round Trip" with your photo file from Lightroom to Image and back to Lightroom again. Which is very necessary for library and catalog management.3. Making Pano's and HDR pictures as well as using Intelligent Objects.4. Critical Primary "Re-Touching" techniques to clean up your pictures. Including Facial Symmetry, Eyebrow Control, Improving "Eyes", Skin softening and cleaning, Teeth whitening. All the most necessary pieces of "Airbrushing" a portrait.5. Blending and Combining Images. Including adding a logo or putting a picture inside a picture.6. Creating effects like Tilt Shift, High Contrast, Reflections, replacing Sky (Clouds), Typography Effects.7. How to Sharpen images, the right method (we all need this!)8. Other "Problem" locations we all need to know how to is is a purchase you will not regret and is a fast and simple FAST read. I burned through it quickly to see what it had to offer, and I Can't wait to dive into my library of photos and apply these techniques. This is the book we have all be waiting for!Way to go Scott!P.S. The kindle ver is absolutely useable on a iPad or Kindle for the computer. I know some times that can be a problem!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Photo for Lightroom Users (Digital Photography Courses) []  2020-2-1 12:49

    I am not very amazing at the use of Image but I do know how to do different things from reading books like these! It is very instructional & simple to learn the method Scott tells & shows you the "How To's" of Photo!I would recommend this to anyone that wants to obtain or has Photo, as it will support you do things that you wish & need to know!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Short Course in Photography: Digital []  2021-1-10 20:0

    Not a surprise or anything, it warns you right on the product page, and I didn't think it would be that huge a deal - I can just read it at my desk, right? But it was kind of a huge deal - and very inconvenient, and utterly unnecessary.I obtain why they did it. It has pictures, and, in this case, the pictures are kind of important, and - let's face it - most Kindles handle pictures almost as well as a monkey flinging poo... But it's rare that the image or illustration is so incredibly critical to the point being created that there's no value in being able to read the text - crappy images and all - while you have the time, on the train, in the waiting room, etc., and then just look at the photos/illustrations later when you obtain home.I've had textbooks for all kinds of graphics software in Kindle versions - and, as you might guess, the photos are kind of necessary in those cases, ween that, and the rental price being a joke in not good taste, nah... I'm gonna go with "Nobody should ever buy this book in anything but a used paper edition." The info is good, but the price and format restrictions are insulting and unnecessary. Buy a used looseleaf ver for the same price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Short Course in Photography: Digital []  2021-1-10 20:0

    I got this for my college class and it was exactly what I needed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Short Course in Digital Photography []  2020-1-30 21:3

    I have traveled around the globe and took lots a pictures as any tourist would do. I was tired of just taking blah pictures and wanted to take more exciting and professional pictures. I went out and bought a fresh DSLR Nikon D3100, the beginners model. I had no idea what I was doing. I went out and bought some books and looked at some videos on YouTube but nothing really helped. This book was the total answer. I liked the method it talks about why we take pictures and how to obtain the best out of you camera. The explanation of the various aspects of the camera and ideas of how to use them are great. This is an awesome book for beginners like me!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Short Course in Digital Photography []  2020-1-30 21:3

    I love this book, it's very helpful for a beginner!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Create Stunning Digital Photography []  2020-1-25 20:6

    Best $20 i've ever spent! What I love about it is that when you buy the book you obtain access to community forum and the Fb page which is very nice, It has loads of useful info to improve your photography,I would highly recommend the book to anyone starting out in photography, very very useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Create Stunning Digital Photography []  2020-1-25 20:6

    It's deceiving... The cover of the book states "14 hours of video."BUT, that video is just content on YouTube that you could have just searched for on your own.And the images in this book! They are terrible!You'd think that a photographer would have stunning pics in a photography book...But they look like they are from 1995, printed on a desktop printer. Amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Wedding Photography: Art, Business & Style []  2021-3-2 19:42

    Mr. Sint is a veteran of forty years in the industry. He provides practical info not the internet sales marketing books that are out there now. His book has a section on lighting and posing which is very good. A amazing book especially for fresh wedding photographers who need guidance on lighting and posing and instruction who how to develop you own shooting style.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Create Stunning Digital Photography []  2020-1-25 20:6

    I am so-so on this book. I ordered it partly because of the thousands of 5-star reviews, believing it would be comprehensive and thorough; it wasn't what I was looking spends the first part of the book going over the absolute basics of photography, and any art school graduate or person who took a photography course in high school or college will be familiar with it. Then it goes into a break down on the primary rules of composition, then the basics of using your camera, and from there a short part on common issues you might e rest of the book is concerned with "types" of photography and how to "master" them - portraits, landscapes, bird-photography, etc. One actual example of advice, "Try using a decorative perch from which to photograph birds to change it up".Overall, it's a book filled with tip for achieving his sort of style, as opposed to an actual textbook on photography and learning the ins-and-outs so you can develop your own look for yourself. It's definitely not a course for "mastering" anything.If you're a total beginner and have never taken an art class in your life, this book is for you. If you're familiar with the rules of color theory, composition, and know what an aperture is already, I suggest you look elsewhere.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Create Stunning Digital Photography []  2020-1-25 20:6

    Amazing book. Beginner or experienced, you're sure to search something useful in here, and the videos create a amazing supplement to the e book is a mixture of information, tips, and practice assignments. If you wish to learn or improve your photography, obtain this book. It does not matter what camera you have. Canon, Nikon, Sony, whatever, you will learn a lot from this book. It is all about digital, but much of what the book covers applies to all ny, and his wife Chelsea, have a very comfortable way of presentation that keeps you engaged and walks you through all the subjects in a friendly, informative (and most important, not boring) manner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black and White Digital Photography Photo Work []  2020-1-16 6:18

    I'm an amateur photographer. I've been shooting for about 2 years using a Nikon D5100. This is a very amazing book for people that have primary knowledge of photography or for beginners that are fast learners. He uses a lot of example images and gives the data for each shot taken. Reviews primary aperture / ISO / SS but ties it to B&W photography. Amazing review of lighting. Explains tonal values for B&W very well. He devotes one chapter to post processing (photo). It's really well thought out and I already believe I can take better pictures half method through the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black and White Digital Photography Photo Work []  2020-1-16 6:18

    My kid read this book and tried techniques with her own camera. One of her black and white images won in the youth division at the fair this year.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black and White Digital Photography Photo Work []  2020-1-16 6:18

    It created me begin looking at perspective and not at the colors again. Not to mention memories of when I first used B&W film. It's also a amazing refresher course in using filters and getting amazing pictures without all the colors. Plus you'll see shapes you might of missed otherwise. I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Photo for Lightroom Users (Digital Photography Courses) []  2020-2-1 12:49

    In few words this book is absolutely indispensable. It is very comprehensive covering virtually all of the a lot of subjects fully. And it is very well written by a author and his huge technical staff who actually have tried out all of LR 5 - Image Cs6 or CC features. I use it as a reference tutorial and encyclopedia. I use it so much and have learned so much that my edition is becoming dog-eared and I am going to need a replacement copy! Perhaps the most necessary feature of the book is advising when and when not to go from LightRoom 5 to PS 6 / CC . Truly impressive help from Kelby's huge squad of technical editors and advisors who obviously and painstakingly tried and honed all the steps in the a lot of hints and chapters of this book. It includes a lot of clever tips, that likely you would never explore or would take years of blind wandering around in the heavy pentagon-sized building that is Image today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Photo for Lightroom Users (Digital Photography Courses) []  2020-2-1 12:49

    I've been using Lightroom for a few years now, but I wanted to add Image to my editing repetoir and I was finding it a small bewildering. I decided to pick up this book mainly because of my previous Lightroom knowledge. After reading through this book and practicing along with the lessons I was able to successfully transition to Photo. Thanks Scott Kelby!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Digital Photography Book: Part 1 []  2020-2-1 20:51

    This book beautiful much answered every question I had about my DLSR. I was planning a trip and wanted to create sure I got the best use out of my camera rig, which had always been a daunting prospect. After reading this book, I couldn't wait to test out all the various recommendations and scenarios that the author worked through in language that was direct, easy-to-understand and carefully walked the line between critical technical considerations and not getting so geeked out that it would frighten mere mortal photographers. My post-reading images are finally something I'm proud of. I'd frame them. People comment on them. And it really didn't take that much effort to obtain them once I had referenced this e one thing this book doesn't have that some readers might wish is a detailed explanation of photography terms, science and deep technical issues, and that was fine with me. There are plenty of books for that. What Kelby does is tell you how to obtain a amazing photo, especially in the most common settings (sunsets, weddings, landscapes, sports, portraits...). The logic is easy for each and he even provides easy setups for various types of photos. I used his small laundry list of settings for some sunset shots in Hawaii and they came out absolutely stunning. I was never able to nail that before reading this book.Highly recommended. Once you read it and apply the concepts, you'll suddenly realize how much further you can take your pictures when you decide to move beyond a mobile phone or a point-and-shoot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Digital Photography Book: Part 1 []  2020-2-1 20:51

    I thought the book was mediocre. It didn't go into very much (technical) depth for any one subject and there were just a lot of jokes interspersed throughout the book just to add bulk. I believe the reason why the author recommends using aperture priority or shutter priority mode is because there isn't enough of a foundation given by this book to let a reader to know how to effectively take a amazing picture without the camera controlling 2 out of 3 settings for any given scenario. (ISO, Aperture, Shutter).I'm a huge fan of having info dense technical books and this isn't one of them. I've learned more from the internet than I have from the book. Everyone recommends to stop buying more gear and spend cash on photography books to become a better photographer, but this book didn't support me with that.I hardly leave reviews, but I definitely wish to warn other people like me to look elsewhere for other books to become a better photographer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Digital Photography Book: Part 1 []  2020-2-1 20:51

    The book is very simple to read and understand. Some books are written in techno geek speak - and if that is what you want, this isn't it. I am a beginner just starting out in photography, it was necessary that I search a book that explains the basics in comprehensible language. Scott did a nice job of suggesting useful hints that got me started taking photos. I enjoyed his use of humor and found it refreshing, evidently some readers found it annoying - or just didn't have fun it? I don't regret my purchase at all and received method more support than I expected. The author's goal was to hang out with me for a few days and give me some amazing hints like he would do for a friend, he succeeded!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Short Course in Digital Photography []  2020-1-30 21:3

    This book is well worth its weight in gold. Chalk full of info for any level of photographer! So happy my digital photography professor needed us to purchase and use this book! I've already recommended it to family members and friends, wanting to know more about their digital camera. Starts with basics but doesn't talk down to beginners. Makes it interesting, so you learn while being entertained!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Short Course in Digital Photography []  2020-1-30 21:3

    This book shipped quickly, It was an simple transaction where I could use e only thing with this listing was ...there is an access code for college students to use for on-line tests etc, for students and professors. I thought the access code was included in the price of the book. It is separate from the book. I later found out that there is a bundle which contains the access e listing really did not create it clear it was just the e book itself was great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Photography Book, The: Part 1 []  2020-9-24 22:4

    Amazing book, even if it's more than a decade old.And, his writing style is a bit corny -- the first five chapters are actually fake... The author laughs giddily to himself about this, which is his joke at our expense.But, he finally gets into the amazing stuff. The book is divided into chapters that cover1. weddings2. Sports photography3. photographing flowers (yes, a whole chapter on that)4. portrait photography5. Landscape photography.A amazing closing section is the "top ten things I want someone told me method back when."Lots of amazing info -- each page (accompanied by a huge photo) covers one subject within the chapter.I suspect that after reading all four books, you'd be beautiful well-informed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital SLR Cameras & Photography For Dummies []  2020-10-10 19:25

    Covers a amazing deal of information for anyone fresh to digital photography. A must read if you’re interested in taking the foray into digital photography. Explains the advantages of DSLR’s over intelligent phones and point and shoot cameras.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Wedding Photography: Capturing Beautiful Memories []  2020-11-27 20:34

    I found this a very informative book on the Art and Business of Wedding Photography and would highly recommend it for the anyone even thinking of entering the field. This book and making out to a WPPI happening somewhere and finding a mentor in the field if possible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Wedding Photography: Capturing Beautiful Memories []  2020-11-27 20:34

    This is a lovely book, filled with amazing one observation is that it highlights what appear to be very expensive weddings. Not all are so.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Wedding Photography: Capturing Beautiful Memories []  2020-11-27 20:34

    A very helpful book when I was organizing my thoughts and agenda for a latest wedding shoot.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Short Course in Photography: Digital []  2021-1-10 20:0

    Amazing book for beginners like me. A lot of simple to understand explanation and a lot of illustrations/ image from amazing photographers. Accessible to everybody and affordable. Highly recommended. Amazing index at the end and the chance to go and learn also online.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Wedding Photography: Art, Business & Style []  2021-3-2 19:42

    I have the original Wedding Photography Art Business and Style and although it was a small dated, it was one of my favorite books when it came to wedding photography. This ver is even better and beautiful up to date technologically. The author uses the same no nonsense style he did in the original, so its simple to stay focused instead of wandering or being taken somewhere you really don't wish to go. This book explains everything you need to become a wedding photographer pit-falls and all. There are a lot of pictures in this book, but unlike other books they are not the self-promoting type of pictures, or do they delve into specific styles and techniques. If you don't have a list of what equipment to bring to a wedding you will surely know what to bring after reading this book. If you don't know what pictures to take or how a lot of to take, you will search out after reading this book. This is the most necessary part of the book in my opinion, because if you don't know what the must-have pictures are or you forget you have to take them, your wedding albums are bound to fall short. All in all this is a amazing book, packed with info and simple to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Wedding Photography: Art, Business & Style []  2021-3-2 19:42

    this book really does a amazing job of helping to understand the business side of the photography business. the book explains the different expenses and costs of running a image business.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Wedding Photography: Art, Business & Style []  2021-3-2 19:42

    Always learning and this is a unbelievable resourse!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Digital Photography Book: Part 1 []  2020-2-1 20:51

    Amazing book, even if it's more than a decade old.And, his writing style is a bit corny -- the first five chapters are actually fake... The author laughs giddily to himself about this, which is his joke at our expense.But, he finally gets into the amazing stuff. The book is divided into chapters that cover1. weddings2. Sports photography3. photographing flowers (yes, a whole chapter on that)4. portrait photography5. Landscape photography.A amazing closing section is the "top ten things I want someone told me method back when."Lots of amazing info -- each page (accompanied by a huge photo) covers one subject within the chapter.I suspect that after reading all four books, you'd be beautiful well-informed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Photo for Lightroom Users (Digital Photography Courses) []  2020-2-1 12:49

    I agree with a lot of of the comments already posted. This is a guide and Scott Kelby provides a www service where one can download the sample files he uses. Download and go through the steps. I learned Lightroom 3 and Lightroom 4 via Kelby's manuals and this follows the same process. I have Kelby's Adobe Lightroom 5 Book and his Adobe Image CS6 Book, but have not worked through all of the tutorials. I purchased the Lightroom 5 make batter the month it was released and immediately began using based on experience with Lightroom 3 and 4 plus watching several Adobe webinars on the improvements in Lightroom 5. Most of the Adobe Image books ignore Lightroom and my amazing want has been for an instruction doent that approached Image from the perspective of the experienced Lightroom user. This is hard work! Read the entire book and then go back and do the exercises. There was one put where I did not follow what Kelby was saying, but after reading the next chapter I understood what was not getting through my thick head. One of the things I really appreciated was his writing that the required icon was the "third from the right" or "fourth from the top."The next time I have a specific project, I will first review the two pages in his book that are related to my project and save a lot of time and agony. I hold all of my books within simple reach and often flip to and review what Kelby comment: Watch the plethora of videos on the Internet but this feeds me the info at a speed I search most helpful as it gives me the actual keystrokes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Photo for Lightroom Users (Digital Photography Courses) []  2020-2-1 12:49

    Love Scott Kelby's books. I use Lightroom as my basic editing program and if I need extra editing or artistic flare, then I go to Photo. This book eliminates all those Image in between steps you will probably never use.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Create Stunning Digital Photography []  2020-1-25 20:6

    As one who accidentally stumbled into the photography world, this book was the tool that helped me to develop confidence in my technique and bridge the gap between english and photography-speak. I do not plan to sell images for stock, nor do I want to take images for a magazine or an art gallery; BUT I feel as if this book has given me the pathway should I decide to go that route in the future. Most importantly, the people in my immediate circle think I have developed some sort of magical "eye" for photos, when I have just soaked in a lot of of Tony's tips, techniques and "lessons learned".Since I am a gear-head that is prone to over-purchasing tech, some of Tony's tip has saved me from buying stuff that were technically not important for my skill teachers, the Northrups seem to be a very "down to earth" couple - challenging a lot of of the long standing photography standards. They provide sound, practical logic so that average people may get high-quality photographic results. They use easy-to-understand language, and they reference a lot of amazing internet resources to support enhance your learning ly, they do this for a living, so their opinions and approaches keep a lot of credibility with me. There are a few online personalities that are critical of some of their opinions - some downright attacking them. I am not at a level where I can confirm or debunk their critics assertions. I can "judge a tree by the fruit that it bears". My observation is that the Northrups produce a lot of high-quality content; they have a lot of customers; and a lot of people on the web are tuning in to them. They must be doing something right.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Create Stunning Digital Photography []  2020-1-25 20:6

    I just had to jump on and hurry up and write a review. I got this yesterday, I only read the first chapter and a half and I am having a really hard time putting this down, forced to work :( unfortunately. I have had a fair amount of photography training a number of years ago and I have forgotten a lot of of the basics. Not only does this seem to be a amazing book for beginners but for others as well. I can not emphasize enough how much I have already learned. I ran across one of his videos on YouTube and after the short video I came here to order his book because I learned so much from that 7 min. video, I wanted more. Well I got it and I am not disappointed!. Cant wait to dive in on the rest!I love the fact that he says you don't need the best camera in the globe to obtain amazing pictures. It seems the push is for everyone to have a professional camera and lens, he hits the nail on the head when he says you only need decent items and can obtain amazing shots from a decent camera! We all wish the best but most of us can't obtain their hands on the best. I have a Sony A65 from 2011 and I obtain stunning results from this camera with a amazing lens. Someday I will make batter but I think it is more necessary to know how to use your camera, it's limitations and it's strengths which I certainly do. You can obtain some Awesome results and everyone will think you have a pro grade camera when you don't. I have had so a lot of Fb mates ask me what kind of Camera is that, is that a pro camera? Like he says in the book, it is not the camera that makes the shot. Its the person behind the lens.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Short Course in Digital Photography []  2020-1-30 21:3

    This is a primary tutorial to digital photography for those who wish to learn how to take amazing images and take their digital photography to the next level. It was used in a fine arts photography course and covered everything from the basics of the camera through printing and matting your own images and was simple to follow with images and illustrations to present examples. As someone who hates to read technical guides, I found the book to be simple to navigate, understandable, and it held my interest. I bought it to have handy for my course and am glad I did. I'll keep on to it as a reference and recommend it to others who are interested in learning how to take their digital photography into a more professional realm!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Short Course in Digital Photography []  2020-1-30 21:3

    My daughter used this book as a text for her freshman comp class and loved it. The essays and articles are based in pop culture references that nearly any student can relate to. She actually enjoyed doing her homework, if you can believe it! Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black and White Digital Photography Photo Work []  2020-1-16 6:18

    Very amazing manual for B & W work i love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Photography Book, The: Part 1 []  2020-9-24 22:4

    This is a amazing book and yes, obtain the whole series!!! Just enough detail to tell you what to do, without swamping you down... it's like a cookbook- like this shot? do this with your camera! Then it gives you more in-depth instructions for adjusting the camera to a various situation. It's NOT step by step begin from beginning to end, it's just like hanging with a photographer and they tell you what they're doing, with the promise of tell you why later when we've got more time...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Photography Book, The: Part 1 []  2020-9-24 22:4

    I have to preface this review by saying that I'm a BIG Scott Kelby fan. I have a lot of of his Image books, and really love them. He has a amazing method of explaining things.I was first tempted to buy the four-book package, but decided to test #1 first. I'm glad that I did, because I don't think that I'll be buying the other three in the series. His style of writing is still great, but I thought the book was very shallow in content. Each page is divided into two parts: picture on top half, and a paragraph of writing on the bottom half. Somebody just getting into photography might search this book interesting, but I was disappointed in the content.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital SLR Cameras & Photography For Dummies []  2020-10-10 19:25

    This review is for Digital SLR Cameras and Photography For Dummies Kindle rmally when I purchase "Dummies" books I feel like they're written for true dummies, too much fluff and not enough content. This particular book I feel is written exactly in the opposite form, it seems a small more complicated than I expected. The book explains the difference between full frame and partial frame cameras, and how the focal length of a lens is various than its actual rating depending on the type of camera body you connect it to and whether it's full frame or partial. It then keeps bringing up all of these numbers in examples which quite frankly have be confused and overwhelmed. Yes, this is info which you absolutely need to know.. but the constant hammering on them right up front and the method they approach it.. to me is just awful.I found myself browsing YouTube for videos to see if I could search a more user-friendly explanation that I could understand so I didn't feel lost in this book. I came across a YouTube video from a photographer / author named Tony Northrup and his wife Chelsea. The videos were so user friendly, simple to understand, and referenced a book of theirs called "Stunning Digital Photography", so I purchased that book too and started reading it. It is WORLDS apart from this dummies book. The ebook ver contains imbedded videos and free updates, Tony is a genius. I suggest checking it out. If anything, read that book first and then go back to the Dummies book and you feel like you still need the info, it'll at least be a lot easier to understand at that point.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Wedding Photography: Capturing Beautiful Memories []  2020-11-27 20:34

    I searched diligently over a period of time before choosing this book to purchase. I am a photographer and passionate about what I do but my photography is not my "day job" or basic source of income, so I'm conscientious in my purchases such that they do not hint the scale between professional-on-the-side and...very expensive hobby. ;)What ultimately persuaded me to purchase this book before all others was the very detailed review by Paul Lehmann (...) in conjunction with the editorial reviews of the book. Thanks in huge part to Mr. Lehmann's review, I was reassured that this would be a useful basic resource as opposed to a primary checklist, a look down the nose ala jpeg versus RAW and private stylistic choices with small relevant information, or a very expensive advertisement for equipment that may be superfluous depending on so a lot of factors an author/editor might choose to ignore. This book really is just wonderful. It goes beyond its advertised "wedding" focus and gives clear, useful, and very relevant information. Within mins of flipping through random pages of this book, I found myself saying, "Oh, wow!" - not to a picture (though the author does a stand-up job of using his photos to illustrate his point & not just present off what he does) but to info that miraculously resolved a little but long-lasting irritation I've had with a bit of processing equipment, I knew I found a gem of a book. I am very happy that my cash was very well spent on something that will ensure my continued growth and success as a photographer. I am equally happy with how the author presents, supports, and approaches the info he provides in this book. If he leaves anything out, I don't have an argument with it as this isn't a "how to" & I'll take some exclusions or glossing over as an assumption that I've got the basics down. I'm satisfied dealing with any such omissions if it means there aren't three chapters dedicated to how to place the pieces of your camera together, an ego-coddling "don't expect perfection the first time around" section, is book will never obtain dusty!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Wedding Photography: Capturing Beautiful Memories []  2020-11-27 20:34

    Always a intelligent idea to stay refreshed and learn various techniques or ideas from any photography book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Short Course in Photography: Digital []  2021-1-10 20:0

    My final was Monday and yesterday I got an extended fee - unfair. I should be allowed to finish all my finals( which ended yesterday) before I have to return my book rentals. A not good college student getting fined - feel amazing about it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Short Course in Photography: Digital []  2021-1-10 20:0

    Bought this book for a class thinking it will be a waste of a book, but I was wrong I still use it. It helps me a lot when I forget things about Photography, even sometimes I forget about the basics. Sometimes I still use it for Inspiration, since it has lots of amazing photographs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Short Course in Photography: Digital []  2021-1-10 20:0

    Excellent for anyone learning photography

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Wedding Photography: Art, Business & Style []  2021-3-2 19:42

    Whether you agree 100% or not with all of Steve's private preferences, he carefully lays out the knowledge you'll need to be a successful wedding photographer. He has shot thousands of weddings and can probably do them in his sleep. His experience comes through in the text compared with certain other wedding photographer books where the author only started shooting weddings a few years ago. Steve has seen the field from every angle. His text (and perfect accompanying imagery) gives you both the breadth and depth of the field. Definitely one of the better (best?) books you can buy on this subject (and there are worse!). If you're deciding between books on this subject then this is definitely a safe one to choose.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Digital Wedding Photography: Art, Business & Style []  2021-3-2 19:42

    I'm a huge fan of book that are no-nonsense, no fluff, no BS... just the useful facts. This is one of those books. The shot list has amazing ideas. The posing guide, and even the equipment recommendations are just what you need to know. If you are a photographer that is THINKING about jumping into the wedding business, or if you are already doing weddings, but wish some new ideas, this is a amazing book to have. I'm shooting a wedding next week, and I'll be reviewing this book again a few days me of the other useful info is the business end of it. I'm a photographer, not a business guy... but this helped me feel a lot better about how to do marketing, and the business of wedding photography.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Photo for Lightroom Users (Digital Photography Courses) []  2020-2-1 12:49

    Given that essentially all of the "fixes" that one needs to do to a image (in terms of exposure, tone curve adjustments, white balance, lens corrections, spot removal etc.) are included in Lightroom 5, and that Lightroom also contains nice enhancement capabilities like vignettes, the fresh radial filter and book production, is there a need for Image for an amateur photographer?This book explains why and when extra editing in Image is required or provides nice capabilities that LIghtroom 5 cannot take care of. Even amateurs need to replace washed out skies with more compelling ones in otherwise beautiful photos, for e book deals with Image as a supplement and complement to Lightroom by jfocusing on required or useful incremental capabilities beyond, as opposed to a "from ground zero" treatment. Just what is required for those of us who do most of our editing and "fixing" in Lightroom.Kudos to Scott Kelby for another useful book - not only for the professional but also for the amateur who goes a bit beyond "point and shoot" in their hobby. Essential reference in my library which has lots of amazing other Scott Kelby material.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386