Read dim sum asylum reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all dim sum asylum reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dim Sum Asylum []  2020-2-2 8:51

    I loved the setting, a San Francisco that is both familiar and casually weird. Guys Ford has a bonus for description and paints a Chinatown that is attractive and corrupt. The fantasy elements are so well woven into the story that they become reality. The characters are complex and intriguing. Roku, a part Fae cop, is pure honor and recklessness. His family is Yakuza, and their actions have scarred him deeply. He still manages to live on his own terms and has a core of hope and strength. His partner Trent is a rookie with a it to learn, he's ex military with plenty of secrets of his own.I really enjoyed the plot twists, they were realistic and created me unsure of my deductions as I navigated the plot. At times I had three suspects for the poor guy, and didn't know if they were victims or villains. The adversary, when finally revealed, was obvious in mind right. Of course I had my on another character, so I was surprised. The stage at the climax didn't go the method one would expect. Around Roku strange things always happen, usually caused by is book was delightful. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dim Sum Asylum []  2020-2-2 8:51

    I voluntarily reviewed an advanced reader copy of this book provided by the author.Once again, Rhys Ford catapults the reader into a quick paced, emotionally complex world; this time, a globe full of literal as well as figurative magic. Rhys Ford uses her own wizardry with words to bring to life aspects of both this reality’s San Francisco and her reimagined ver for the reader. You can almost smell the meal from the vendors and hear the creaking gates that the dragons rest on, and it is this vividness and juxtaposition of the unbelievable and mundane that create the world-building in this book so great. Moreover, this attention to detail is apparent in all the characters, not just the MCs, adding vibrancy to all aspects of the book and the interactions that the MCs have with garding the MC Roku MacCormick, I’m not sure how much more developed/complex a hero can get—a man with a fae cop mother, an absentee human father and a yakuza grandfather who has tapped Roku as his heir and refuses to take no as an answer. Roku has to navigate the politics involved in being a cop, his underground connections, his fae-human heritage, and learning to trust his fresh partner Trent Leonard, who seems to have a secret or two of his own, all while trying to track down a very strong murdering caster. Discovering who Roku and Trent are, their past pain and what drives them is as engaging as the otherworldly aspects of this story, which is what truly makes the book magical.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dim Sum Asylum []  2020-2-2 8:51

    I discovered Rhys Ford just thus year when I read her Kai Gracen series, which I loved. When I heard she is to publish another Urban Fantasy novel, I just had to read it. And I was nor disponed. I love the method Ford writes, with so much humor and wit. I adore her globe building skills. In this she made an intriguing world, where human and faerie worlds blended for some reason. I actually like that the author presents the globe as granted; only implying small tips here and there of the world’s origins. After all characters need to do is survive in their immediate reality. I loved Roku; he is cool and funny; and very various from Kai. The love interest not my type, but he is amazing for Roku, so it’s ok. Also the book less about romance and more about proper UF mystery. I really hope Rhys Ford will turn Dim Sum Asylum into series.

    0  


    Add your opinion on dim sum asylum or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dim Sum Asylum []  2020-2-2 8:51

    In an alternate San Francisco, the human and magical worlds have collided in a big, messy way. Fairies, dragons and other magical monsters mix with humans, and it's the job of the San Francisco Police Department's Arcane Crimes unit to create sure nobody misuses magic for nefarious purposes. The Chinatown headquarters, known by its officers as the “Dim Sum Asylum”, is where most of the action is, and where Detective Roku calls home.Right now, Roku has his hands full. First, he has to break in a fresh partner, having shot the latest one when he turned out to be dirty, then together they need to figure out who is animating temple offerings with murderous intent. Things obtain even more complicated when it appears the murders involve Roku's estranged grandfather, a strong yakuza chieftain.I suppose you could describe “Dim Sum Asylum” as a mash-up of the worlds of Blade Runner and Harry Potter. The fantasy, mystery and romance aspects of the story balance out rather well. The story may not be believable, but it paints a rather realistic picture of a globe where fairies and dragons exist alongside humans. I had a small problem at first trying to picture the San Francisco I lived in for a few years with the town described here, but after a while I just decided to go with ku is a rather classic anti-hero archetype. He comes from a background where he could have been a poor guy just as easily as a cop, and there is still the potential for him to cross over to the dark side. Although Roku is a hero type we easily recognize, he is still richly drawn as a full-fledged person that we can empathize with as he struggles to solve a case, and walk a fine line regarding his family ent, Roku's fresh partner, is a small more of a mystery, but that's what he is to Roku as well, so we obtain to know him as Roku does. He is definitely an interesting character, and one suspects there may be a sequel that tells us more about Trent's background.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dim Sum Asylum []  2020-2-2 8:51

    I first read the short ver of Dim Sum Asylum in Charmed and Dangerous. I loved it, but wasn't sure I should spend on the full length version. I am so satisfied I took a chance, it's absolutely worth your and time. It thought the short ver was good, but this full length ver absolutely blew me away. If you like Rhys Ford's stories, you're gonna love this one. Although it has dragons and fae, the story feels like how I imagine China City is (or could be) in the here and now, with insane traffic, a maze of little roads and shops, opposing Yakuz clans, little sweet but risky grandmothers, not so sweet and risky grandfathers, crazy but very loyal cops and dim sum, shiploads of dim sum! I really hope this story will turn into a series. I would love to read more about Trends old unit and Roku's family, mates and colleagues. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dim Sum Asylum []  2020-2-2 8:51

    The main characters are interesting but a more fully developed background would have been nice. If this were the first book in a series I could assume that we’d obtain more info, especially about Trent, in future books but that is not the case based on what I read e story is various as is the setting and the mystery keeps you intrigued but there is a lot of vagueness. The author throws items out there and then never explores it further or explains it further. Can’t give examples without spoilers but one of the questions they repeatedly ask about the animations is never answered satisfactorily, if at all. That’s really annoying. A twist at the end seems convoluted.If you aren’t one of those readers who perseverates on every detail (like I am...annoying but true!) then you will probably rathe this book higher. For me there were too a lot of things not fully explained and things just tossed in that I struggled to figure out why, especially for a one-off book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dim Sum Asylum []  2020-2-2 8:51

    Dragons, and faeries, and magic, Oh My !Senior Inspector, Roku MacCormick and his fresh partner Trent Leonard are a part of the Chinatown Arcane Crimes Division. Roku believes deeply in the motto "To serve and Protect", something his father, a crime lord, cannot reconcile. He believes Roku should take over his position eventually. Between Roku's father, the crazy magic that is plaguing Roku's beat,and his attraction to Trent, Roku is lucky to hold his head in all the my book everything that Rhys Ford puts out is golden. This was no exception. For me, it had overtones of some of my favorite films like, Dark Chrystal, Legend, Labyrinth, mixed in with a dash of Bruce Lee. I hope this will be a series, because I wish to visit again and again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dim Sum Asylum []  2020-2-2 8:51

    This book is an expansion from a novella in the Charmed and Risky kugi (Roku) MacCormick, Takahashi Rokugi to his grandfather, is 1/2 human, 1/2 fae naturally bred and born. He is a police inspector. The book starts with Roku chasing down his partner who stole some endangered dragon eggs. Roku ends up shooting his partner Arnett, because he shot a fae and wouldn't surrender. He gets place on suspension pending IA investigation. He's still in mourning for the loss of his husband and two daughters who were murdered. His mother was a cop too and was killed. His father is barely mentioned and isn't in the ent Leonard is Roku's fresh partner. His past is a small more murky. You search out he's a splice (1/2 human, 1/2 fae artificially made) and was left at a baby drop and raised an orphan. He was in the military and his unit was abruptly disbanded. He's a green, by the book cop who has a lot to e two begin their partnership chasing after an enchanted idol that's leaking a lust spell. More objects obtain enchanted with a killing spell and they are sent after Roku, his grandfather and others close to Roku. It's a hard case to solve but Roku keeps at it until he does. Roku and Trent are attracted to each other from the start. They have a slow build up to their is was a very well written book. Amazing story line, wonderfully descriptive globe building. Sometimes I felt like the descriptions dragged the book a little. There are a lot of words I didn't understand which I attributed to the cultural aspects since it's played out a lot in Chinatown. I got a flashback to when I lived in Pinole, CA (just north of San Francisco) and spent time in Chinatown, I didn't understand a lot then either. It did slow the story some trying to figure out what exactly was meant at times. I waffled between a 4 to 4.5/5 stars. Rhys has a method of describing things that are very vivid such as: cough drops that taste like roadkill, sorrow and hedgehog poop. Wow. It just makes your face frown and your lips pull in. Another funny description was: social skills of a stoned finitely worth the and time reading. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes M/M sci fi/romance. I'm hoping Rhys makes this into a series and the characters obtain flushed out a small more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dim Sum Asylum []  2020-2-2 8:51

    I read the original story that this book was built from and I have no qualms in encouraging you to this book, no matter if you read the original or not. This story is much more than the first ver was, I remembered a lot of the first part of the book but after that it either was mostly fresh or my memory is really bad. The expanded ver of this story is exciting, with lots of intrigue and a lot more hero and relationship building. You learn a lot more about our MCs making them more 3 dimensional characters. I really enjoyed the original ver of this story, this one was even better. I’ve never read anything Rhys Ford has written that I didn’t love, and this book is no exception. She will forever be on my autobuy list. I hope we hear more from Roku and Trent.*I voluntarily wrote an honest review of this book after receiving an ARC.*

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dim Sum Asylum []  2020-2-2 8:51

    One thing I love about Rhys Ford books is her characters. I always feel so connected with them. She has a method of making you feel their emotions so strongly it makes you feel like you are part of the story, and her characters are such decent people, unless they're the poor guys, then they are really bad. In this book, like so a lot of others of hers the leads are people that care about others and do everything they can to create the globe a better place, it's purely a fictional globe but, it has a lot of of the same issues we live with e globe building is beautiful, I felt like I was in a whole fresh magical world. There were times, especially in the first half of the book that I got pulled from the story and had to look up quite a few words and names of foods that may have been Chinese or Korean or something else, but I live in rural Pennsylvania and don't have much culture in my life so I have to rely on books for that.I believe Roku and Trent will be a amazing couple, I would have liked to see more of their relationship and interaction between them while they weren't being blown up or shot at but, one thing you can't say about this book is that it dragged along. Roku is a detective who is half fae, he comes from a crime family and his grandfather wants him to take over someday. Trent is his fresh partner who has possibly as a lot of secrets as Roku, throw in some dragons, magical statues causing all kinds of issues and magical killers and you obtain one explosive story. And then there's Bob the Cat!I can't wait to see what's next for Roku and Trent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dim Sum Dumpling Keyboard Stickers for Gboard [App]  2019-8-7 21:34

    disappointed. I have purchased this stickers via the application shop and can only use 4 stickers. even it said the stickers have been added to the gboard, I still won't be able to apply any of those.... waste of my money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Wok Cookbook: A Simple Chinese Cookbook for Stir-Fry, Dim Sum, and Other Restaurant Favorites []  2020-1-28 0:52

    If you are looking for a cookbook for traditional Chinese cooking, this is NOT the book for you. If you wish to learn to cook Chinese American cuisine (Egg Drop Soup, Moo Shu, General Tsao's Chicken), read on! The book begins with a brief history of Chinese American cuisine in America, beginning in the 1800s when Chinese cooks made recipes based in part on the vegetables, condiments, and spices that they could get the US and its evolution through subsequent waves of Chinese immigration. The recipes are simple, simple and delicious. I found most of the condiments I required at local Asian markets but will be ordering Xiao Shing Rice Wine through Amazon. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Easy Chinese Recipes: Family Favorites From Dim Sum to Kung Pao []  2020-1-28 0:52

    A few things create this an outstanding cookbook. The first is the quality of the book. Its a generous sized, hardcover cookbook; the pages are created of high quality paper; it includes huge full color pictures; the contents are very organized and simple to read and understand. Bottom line, its really a nice looking cookbook. The second are the intro and hints at the beginning of the book which were invaluable for me. This book takes the huge array of chinese sauces, veggies, spices, and ingredients and breaks down the most common ones and provides clear pictures and explanations of each. As long as you have access to a decent asian grocery store, you should be able to get most if not all of the ingredients. You literally will be able to search the exact same brands in the book at the asian grocery store. The gem for me were the hints around stir frying and preparation of meats, poultry, etc. What I liked were that the hints and explanations were not overly wordy or complex. They were short, concise nuggets of information that you can apply immediately to almost any dish. The third amazing thing about this cookbook are that the recipes are simple to understand and prepare. I have a few chinese recipes from my mom and they are beautiful consistent with whats in this cookbook. Some people may be concerned about whether these are "authentic" chinese recipes and I would say that you will search some of these dishes in alot of chinese family dinner tables here in America. I think real authentic would be outside of the adventure location for most American palates but I'll allow others debate what is real authentic versus not authentic. All I know is I really like this cookbook and have gotten some amazing results from it. It should be especially amazing for those that wish to be introduced to chinese cooking and equally amazing for those beginners who are looking to expand their chinese cooking repetoire.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Wok Cookbook: A Simple Chinese Cookbook for Stir-Fry, Dim Sum, and Other Restaurant Favorites []  2020-1-28 0:52

    Unbelievable book for first time and seasoned cook. It tells you what tools you need and meal stuff that you need for your pantry. It also has a lot of recipes with detailed descriptions . The amazing part about cooking Chinese is that you can control what you place in your recipe and experiment to your own taste.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Wok Cookbook: A Simple Chinese Cookbook for Stir-Fry, Dim Sum, and Other Restaurant Favorites []  2020-1-28 0:52

    Amazing for the beginner or more experienced cook, this book, which in got in exchange for my honesty opinion, hits the spot for a lot of tastes! I got this book along with a fresh wok so I was excited to obtain started again! I love how the book gives you some background and history and illustrations to present you how to do things like wrap an egg roll or wonton, and explains step by step how to cook some if your favorite meals and how to prepare your wok right from the beginning to really use it to the best of its abilities. I love the hot and sour soup recipe and the lighter egg foo young recipe and can't wait to test the salt and pepper squid and the general tso's chicken, which is a take out fave of mine I'd love to do at home! So a lot of pages and an simple read, amazing direction and a fresh kitchen essential! Well recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Easy Chinese Recipes: Family Favorites From Dim Sum to Kung Pao []  2020-1-28 0:52

     Easy chinese recipes: family favorites from dim sum to kung Pao, beautiful much says it all. This cookbook is full of the kind of recipes one would obtain out in a restaurant, from egg drop soup to orange chicken, only you, yes you, can create these at home. Low has demystified the sauces, the ingredients, and the techniques to create the recipes achievable, and yes, easy. This isn't a large cookbook but the recipes included are the ones most people do seem to favor. When I read the recipe for shrimp toast I was thinking that no method would this taste like anything I'd obtain in a restaurant, it was too easy. As my sons and I chowed through the toast I kept thinking, wow, I created this! wow! and it was as good, if not better, than any restaurant.We have a put here, pushcart dim sum, that is delicious (and fairly pricey) At home, from this cookbook so far, I've created the ribs, the black bean clams, and the pork bun filling, and it's all been really doable. I am not a stranger to Chinese cooking, I've been doing it for a lot of years, but I still like to eat out because restaurant meal is just different, and now I am making meal that tastes like I ordered it from our favorite Chinese take s:well laid out recipes with ingredient list and directions that are simple to read and followPictures of every recipepictures of some of the trickier techniquesa amazing primary explanation of techniques and ingredients in the front of the bookdelicious simple recipesCons: none that I've found. quibbles- I like plain white background paper but that isn't really star reduction worthy.*ETA April 12, 2012. I can't tell you how much I love this book. Everything comes out delicious and looking beautiful much like the picture. Out of 14 chinese cookbooks this has become my go to book. I recently did a cook book purge and got rid of over 300, including several Chinese, I just didn't need them anymore because this is the book I turn to. I create something from it weekly, and it's such a winner. Create this your fist Chinese cookbook, or your last, either method you will be satisfied you bought this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Wok Cookbook: A Simple Chinese Cookbook for Stir-Fry, Dim Sum, and Other Restaurant Favorites []  2020-1-28 0:52

    I bought a wok and wanted to learn how to use it, so I bought some Chinese cookbooks. What I liked about this book is that all of the recipes include primary ingredients,have clear instructions, and are simple to fix. Authentic Chinese cuisine is incredibly complex with a host of ingredients unfamiliar to most Westerners. I am learning to cook Chinese food, but I have enjoyed this cookbook for making quick, simple recipes that taste good. It's well written and simple to use. If you wish to test something various without investing in a lot of things you will need to at an Asian market, this is a amazing put to start. It's fun. It's easy. I've enjoyed the recipes and I'm glad I bought the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Wok Cookbook: A Simple Chinese Cookbook for Stir-Fry, Dim Sum, and Other Restaurant Favorites []  2020-1-28 0:52

    This book has all your wok favorites from Dan Dan Noodles to General Tso's Chicken to Lemon Chicken to Hoisin Chicken. It even has your traditional soups like Wonton Soup and Egg Drop soup. Newer favorites like Pineapple Fried Rice are also listed. All of the recipes are budget friendly which is why I love Asian wok food. Most of it is gluten also which seems to be a unbelievable plus these e book doesn't fall short of it's title The Essential Wok Cookbook. I know it is a handy small favorite now in our kitchen. We just pop up the table and bring out the wok. One dish we are planning to test next is the Hot and Sour Vegetable Soup. We love Hot and Sour soup but, I can be kind of picky so I hope this lives up to my standards and I am able to play with it to obtain the excellent soup.I would highly recommend this book if you would like to learn how to create Asian meal as it a well written front log of info on products.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Easy Chinese Recipes: Family Favorites From Dim Sum to Kung Pao []  2020-1-28 0:52

    Got this for my wife a couple of years ago. It's a amazing book. The recipes are good, it's simple to follow, and the book is well illustrated. Okay, here is what you do for the chef in the family (this is what I did for my wife). You obtain a nice wok and fill it up with all of the spices and sauces that are in the recipes in this book. Toss in the book, obtain a clear bonus basket bag, tie with a bow, and voila, you have a nifty bonus basket. For minimal effort, I have reaped a lot of tasty rewards.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Easy Chinese Recipes: Family Favorites From Dim Sum to Kung Pao []  2020-1-28 0:52

    Not poor at all!! Her techniques (towards the beginning of the book) and recipes were great! Out of the several cookbooks I own, this is one of the best. My favorite recipe, Kung Pao chicken, tastes very related (and perhaps better) than the one I obtain from restaurants. She's the true deal. Her recipes are not watered down like in most other cook books. Her book is one of the few that's actually worth getting if you love Chinese food. Follow all her tips, including how to tenderize meat. It's worth the additional steps. My husband and I loved the recipes--I've prepared several from this book. All were good. Thank you for writing a well thought out book!! Lots of ingredients but yummy results!! This foodie appreciates it! I love Chinese meal even though I'm not Chinese. ;)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Easy Chinese Recipes: Family Favorites From Dim Sum to Kung Pao []  2020-1-28 0:52

    I was prompted to this cookbook when I moved from a town of over a million people to a city of just over 30,000--not surprisingly, the number and quality of Chinese restaurants suffered with my move. Now, my options for Chinese are beautiful much Panda Express or a handful of shady buffet-style locations guaranteed to leave you with an upset stomach in a few hours. I love Chinese food, however, so I wasn't going to give up easily. Looking on Amazon, "Easy Chinese Recipes" was one of the top Chinese cookbooks, so I bought it on the spot.I've had this cookbook a few months now, and have tried making a lot of of the dishes. They are not only easy, but wonderfully delicious and quick to make. I cannot vouch entirely for their authenticity, but having traveled throughout China a bit and eaten at authentic Chinese restaurants throughout the U.S. and Asia, to my palate they seem quite authentic as well. They are also very quick to prepare ... a lot of dishes take about 10 mins prep time and just a couple of mins in the wok. And, once you have the fundamental ingredients, a lot of the time you just need to go out and some veggies and a protein and voila, you're ready to in a little city with no amazing options for Chinese, "Easy Chinese Recipes" is a lifesaver. However, even if you live in a bigger locale, you're missing out if you don't have this book. These dishes taste just as amazing if not better than a lot of I've had at amazing Chinese restaurants, are quick and simple to make, and are likely quite a bit healthier in most cases than what you'd from a restaurant. My hat is off to the author, who's done a fabulous job at making Chinese cuisine accessible to a wide audience.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Wok Cookbook: A Simple Chinese Cookbook for Stir-Fry, Dim Sum, and Other Restaurant Favorites []  2020-1-28 0:52

    This Christmas I received a wok. Cooking is an absolute passion of mine, and I was so excited to obtain a traditional style carbon steel y, I had only one or two recipes in my arsenal, certainly nothing worth noting. I required more and I searched amazon for a cookbook that had authentic style recipes that would still be affordable. I landed on this has some authentic style recipes, healthier versions of well known "Chinese" recipes, along with the basics like plain rice. It also had fun stories on how certain well known recipes came about and how authentic they actually are.I'm lucky to live near a larger town where I have access to grocery stores dedicated to authentic cuisines from every end of the globe, but this book is amazing because it also breaks it down to ingredients everyone has access to. My family now eats stir fry once a week and I'm satisfied knowing how much cheaper and healthier it is than take out. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to create delicious stir fry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Wok Cookbook: A Simple Chinese Cookbook for Stir-Fry, Dim Sum, and Other Restaurant Favorites []  2020-1-28 0:52

    I like this book. I have a lot of Chinese cookbooks. This book has amazing easy recipes. I bought both the kindle and hardcover versions. I like to have a lot of versions of traditional Chinese dishes so I can then develop my own final recipe to my taste. There’s always some fresh thing to learn from every amazing Chinese cookbook. China is a huge country. Every region has its own style. There are no pictures to speak of but that does not bother me. I have a bunch of pictures in the other books I own. What you wish here is another decent ver of primary recipes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Easy Chinese Recipes: Family Favorites From Dim Sum to Kung Pao []  2020-1-28 0:52

    I am a stir fry fanatic and have been making Chinese meal for close to 20 years now. I have developed my own recipes over the years through and error and discovering private preference, but am always on the lookout for fresh ideas and techniques. The recipes in this book are exactly what I would expect for quality stir fry dishes, and some are even quite close to the recipes I have developed over the years. On top of that she shares a lot of amazing hints that it would take a long time to explore on your own (such as how to properly treat shrimp before stir frying). Even with my stir frying experience I still found this book to be quite useful, and for someone just getting starting I would dare say this is THE book to obtain you started on your journey.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Easy Chinese Recipes: Family Favorites From Dim Sum to Kung Pao []  2020-1-28 0:52

    We love Chinese food, because it’s so healthy and I wanted to learn to create some of our favorites. This cookbook helped me understand how to chop and tenderize meats the proper method for Chinese dishes. Also the various noodle products, how to create them new and what dishes and sauces to use with them. There are a lot of recipes included from appetizers like soups, pot stickers, egg and spring rolls to main dishes using poultry, beef, fish and pork and rice dishes, deserts are also included. I am so happy with this purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Easy Chinese Recipes: Family Favorites From Dim Sum to Kung Pao []  2020-1-28 0:52

    Love this book! Love it so much, I might need the Kindle ver to accompany my book. Book to read leisurely in my couch, and the Kindle edition to use in the kitchen while cooking.Have created the Fried Wontons (Excellent), Scrambled Eggs with Shrimp (Excellent), Mongolian Beef (VG), Black Pepper Beef (VG), Beef and Broccoli (VG), and the Chinese BBQ Pork aka Char Siu (Double up on the sauce. Had amazing flavors but not wild about the cooking method).I'll be tackling the Sweet and Sour Pork, Spring Rolls, Mapo Tofu, Shrimp Fried Rice, Shrimp and Yellow Chive Dumplings ry satisfied to be able to re-create the tastes of my childhood.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Wok Cookbook: A Simple Chinese Cookbook for Stir-Fry, Dim Sum, and Other Restaurant Favorites []  2020-1-28 0:52

    I had not realized before buying this that the content was focused on healthy versions of American Chinese food. What a pleasant surprise! I am fresh to Wok cooking and this book has been amazing explaining the various kinds of Wok's, where to asian spices and what substitutes to create if you can't search specific stuff at the grocery shop (for example they mention using Mexican Red Chilies if you cannot search Chinese Red Chilies)So far we've created General Tso's Chicken and Dan Dan Noodles. Both of them have been hits with the family. If your fresh to Wok cooking or wish a healthy ver of your favorite take-out. This is your book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Wok Cookbook: A Simple Chinese Cookbook for Stir-Fry, Dim Sum, and Other Restaurant Favorites []  2020-1-28 0:52

    This is a amazing book, all the recipes that I've tried so far work, but there are no pictures. That is a true turn off for some. I don't mind as what I create doesn't look like a picture in a cookbook as they are specialists and I'm a home cook. A GOOD home cook but a home cook is book begins with a section on the various woks and then, moves into seasoning your wok. This is probably not important moves into caring for your wok which is also, not really important for most. It's useful but not important for a om there, it goes into what sauces and herbs a typical Asian dish might need. I LOVE this. I went right down the list and created a grocery list. Awesome. Though I've had a wok for years, I didn't follow a recipe but I wanted to up my ante and so I bought some cookbooks. Amazing idea. My dishes came out tasting like something that comes from a e cookbook has the ingredient list on the left of the page which I really like. It also has subsections containing various lists: One for the marinade, the recipe, the sauce, etc. This makes it so simple when preparing a dish as I can just place together what I need for each part and have it done. For wok cooking, you wish to prepare all of your ingredients and do the footwork for slicing, dicing, etc. before you begin. This is one thing a lot of don't know and it hampers their enjoyment for cooking/using a wok. So, maybe that first section is more necessary than I e recipes are good, very good. I just want there were more of them. It's a rather thin book and the paper is not simple to wipe clean should you spill or dribble on them. Bummer. I ended up investing in a cookbook holder for my counter after one such incident during prep work for a dish.Overall, I like this book a lot. I think it has a lot of amazing recipes which turn out amazing every time I've created them. The lack of pictures may be a bother to some so be aware of this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Essential Wok Cookbook: A Simple Chinese Cookbook for Stir-Fry, Dim Sum, and Other Restaurant Favorites []  2020-1-28 0:52

    I am going to obtain the poor news out of the method first....it's only one sentence anyway: There were not enough pictures. I don't own a Wok and am not true sure I will obtain one (simply due to storage space) but I WILL be trying SEVERAL of these recipes! My husband and I love Chinese meal and this book is full of old time favorites as well as some unfamiliar but tasty sounding ones! Not only do the recipes contain the serving size, prep/cook times, gluten status where applicable, but some actually say "Under $10" although I'm not sure how confident I would be in putting that in print. ;) Most recipes also contain a hint which might tell you what ingredients could be swapped out for each other, or the various ways that it could be prepared! The book begins with "the basics" and explains the advantages to preparing at home vs take out (YOU can control how healthy and the cost!) but my very favorite sections were the "Origin Stories"! Who knew that Fortune Cookies aren't even made, served or eaten in China! It's purely an American tradition! The more I think about it, I believe I would use a Wok more often than I use my Quesadilla maker! If you love Asian meal you need this cookbook!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Easy Chinese Recipes: Family Favorites From Dim Sum to Kung Pao []  2020-1-28 0:52

    It has a lot of appetizing pictures, and most of the recipes are fairly easy. There are descriptions of each dish with an appealing flavor profile and usually some degree of history or interesting info in case the recipe is an unfamiliar one, though most of your restaurant favorites are in here. It does also have a few "unusual" dishes, such as squid or duck not as common on a Westernized Chinese menu, and most of the recipes can be adapted around other basic meats or even tofu, though for tofu you should probably be aware of various cooking times. However, if you have access to more uncommon meats, such as squid, duck, etc., the dishes' sauces and seasonings will substitute well.If there's a downside, the worst thing would be some of the dishes (Hunan Beef) came out a small salty for my taste as written, and I don't search fast-food Chinese "salty," so that may be saying something. The rest of my family loves the dishes I think are too salty, e best thing the cook in the family liked about this book was the beginning section that info a lot of of the ingredients special to Chinese cooking, with flavor profiles and pictures. It allows her to experiment more with Chinese flavors when she knows what adds what and what to look for.Ultimately I'd say it's a amazing book for people who don't cook much, or people who are amazing cooks but not familiar with Chinese cooking who wish to learn the tastes and techniques to add to their repertoire. Even if you know how to stir-fry, the basic way (though not the only method; there's a soup and dessert section), it's also amazing for learning the flavor mixes that create Chinese cooking unique, and hints and tricks for Chinese style springy shrimp and such.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Easy Chinese Recipes: Family Favorites From Dim Sum to Kung Pao []  2020-1-28 0:52

    Full of amazing recipes and detailed pictures still cant cook but that's cuz I cnt cook but book is great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Essential Wok Cookbook: A Simple Chinese Cookbook for Stir-Fry, Dim Sum, and Other Restaurant Favorites []  2020-1-28 0:52

    If you are looking for a cookbook for traditional Chinese cooking, this is NOT the book for you. If you wish to learn to cook Chinese American cuisine (Egg Drop Soup, Moo Shu, General Tsao's Chicken), read on! The book begins with a brief history of Chinese American cuisine in America, beginning in the 1800s when Chinese cooks made recipes based in part on the vegetables, condiments, and spices that they could get the US and its evolution through subsequent waves of Chinese immigration. The recipes are simple, simple and delicious. I found most of the condiments I required at local Asian markets but will be ordering Xiao Shing Rice Wine through Amazon. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dim Sum Field Guide: A Taxonomy of Dumplings, Buns, Meats, Sweets, and Other Specialties of the Chinese Teahouse []  2020-6-22 19:20

    The author sure knows what she is talking about with the different Chinese cuisines. Bought her cookbook "All Under Heaven" too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Essential Wok Cookbook: A Simple Chinese Cookbook for Stir-Fry, Dim Sum, and Other Restaurant Favorites []  2020-1-28 0:52

    I had not realized before buying this that the content was focused on healthy versions of American Chinese food. What a pleasant surprise! I am fresh to Wok cooking and this book has been amazing explaining the various kinds of Wok's, where to asian spices and what substitutes to create if you can't search specific stuff at the grocery shop (for example they mention using Mexican Red Chilies if you cannot search Chinese Red Chilies)So far we've created General Tso's Chicken and Dan Dan Noodles. Both of them have been hits with the family. If your fresh to Wok cooking or wish a healthy ver of your favorite take-out. This is your book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Essential Wok Cookbook: A Simple Chinese Cookbook for Stir-Fry, Dim Sum, and Other Restaurant Favorites []  2020-1-28 0:52

    Unbelievable book for first time and seasoned cook. It tells you what tools you need and meal stuff that you need for your pantry. It also has a lot of recipes with detailed descriptions . The amazing part about cooking Chinese is that you can control what you place in your recipe and experiment to your own taste.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Essential Wok Cookbook: A Simple Chinese Cookbook for Stir-Fry, Dim Sum, and Other Restaurant Favorites []  2020-1-28 0:52

    I am going to obtain the poor news out of the method first....it's only one sentence anyway: There were not enough pictures. I don't own a Wok and am not true sure I will obtain one (simply due to storage space) but I WILL be trying SEVERAL of these recipes! My husband and I love Chinese meal and this book is full of old time favorites as well as some unfamiliar but tasty sounding ones! Not only do the recipes contain the serving size, prep/cook times, gluten status where applicable, but some actually say "Under $10" although I'm not sure how confident I would be in putting that in print. ;) Most recipes also contain a hint which might tell you what ingredients could be swapped out for each other, or the various ways that it could be prepared! The book begins with "the basics" and explains the advantages to preparing at home vs take out (YOU can control how healthy and the cost!) but my very favorite sections were the "Origin Stories"! Who knew that Fortune Cookies aren't even made, served or eaten in China! It's purely an American tradition! The more I think about it, I believe I would use a Wok more often than I use my Quesadilla maker! If you love Asian meal you need this cookbook!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dim Sum Field Guide: A Taxonomy of Dumplings, Buns, Meats, Sweets, and Other Specialties of the Chinese Teahouse []  2020-6-22 19:20

    Ridiculously adorable and so helpful. A amazing breakdown of a dim sum menu and all the options! I love dim sum and this is amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dim Sum Field Guide: A Taxonomy of Dumplings, Buns, Meats, Sweets, and Other Specialties of the Chinese Teahouse []  2020-6-22 19:20

    It a nice and interesting book about chinese snacks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Essential Wok Cookbook: A Simple Chinese Cookbook for Stir-Fry, Dim Sum, and Other Restaurant Favorites []  2020-1-28 0:52

    This book has all your wok favorites from Dan Dan Noodles to General Tso's Chicken to Lemon Chicken to Hoisin Chicken. It even has your traditional soups like Wonton Soup and Egg Drop soup. Newer favorites like Pineapple Fried Rice are also listed. All of the recipes are budget friendly which is why I love Asian wok food. Most of it is gluten also which seems to be a unbelievable plus these e book doesn't fall short of it's title The Essential Wok Cookbook. I know it is a handy small favorite now in our kitchen. We just pop up the table and bring out the wok. One dish we are planning to test next is the Hot and Sour Vegetable Soup. We love Hot and Sour soup but, I can be kind of picky so I hope this lives up to my standards and I am able to play with it to obtain the excellent soup.I would highly recommend this book if you would like to learn how to create Asian meal as it a well written front log of info on products.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dim Sum Field Guide: A Taxonomy of Dumplings, Buns, Meats, Sweets, and Other Specialties of the Chinese Teahouse []  2020-6-22 19:20

    Amazing reading and reference

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Essential Wok Cookbook: A Simple Chinese Cookbook for Stir-Fry, Dim Sum, and Other Restaurant Favorites []  2020-1-28 0:52

    I bought a wok and wanted to learn how to use it, so I bought some Chinese cookbooks. What I liked about this book is that all of the recipes include primary ingredients,have clear instructions, and are simple to fix. Authentic Chinese cuisine is incredibly complex with a host of ingredients unfamiliar to most Westerners. I am learning to cook Chinese food, but I have enjoyed this cookbook for making quick, simple recipes that taste good. It's well written and simple to use. If you wish to test something various without investing in a lot of things you will need to at an Asian market, this is a amazing put to start. It's fun. It's easy. I've enjoyed the recipes and I'm glad I bought the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Essential Wok Cookbook: A Simple Chinese Cookbook for Stir-Fry, Dim Sum, and Other Restaurant Favorites []  2020-1-28 0:52

    I like this book. I have a lot of Chinese cookbooks. This book has amazing easy recipes. I bought both the kindle and hardcover versions. I like to have a lot of versions of traditional Chinese dishes so I can then develop my own final recipe to my taste. There’s always some fresh thing to learn from every amazing Chinese cookbook. China is a huge country. Every region has its own style. There are no pictures to speak of but that does not bother me. I have a bunch of pictures in the other books I own. What you wish here is another decent ver of primary recipes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dim Sum Field Guide: A Taxonomy of Dumplings, Buns, Meats, Sweets, and Other Specialties of the Chinese Teahouse []  2020-6-22 19:20

    I bought this book for a little bonus and before I gifted it I flipped through the book and it’s got some really unbelievable DimSum dishes from Breakfast to Dinner and Desserts. I’d it again for anyone interested in learning some Asian cooking techniques and dishes and may myself a copy as well. The book is affordable and it’s a amazing begin for those fresh to Dim Sum and Chinese cuisine. I’ll have to say, that while there are more expensive books with color pictures and lots more fluff, this book cuts to the chase and doe the trick! I’ll give this a: Buy, Buy, Buy rating. It’s amazing out of the gates and to the finishline.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dim Sum Field Guide: A Taxonomy of Dumplings, Buns, Meats, Sweets, and Other Specialties of the Chinese Teahouse []  2020-6-22 19:20

    Did not like was looking for a dim sum cookbook.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dim Sum Field Guide: A Taxonomy of Dumplings, Buns, Meats, Sweets, and Other Specialties of the Chinese Teahouse []  2020-6-22 19:20

    Handy for those who wish to know more.....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Essential Wok Cookbook: A Simple Chinese Cookbook for Stir-Fry, Dim Sum, and Other Restaurant Favorites []  2020-1-28 0:52

    This Christmas I received a wok. Cooking is an absolute passion of mine, and I was so excited to obtain a traditional style carbon steel y, I had only one or two recipes in my arsenal, certainly nothing worth noting. I required more and I searched amazon for a cookbook that had authentic style recipes that would still be affordable. I landed on this has some authentic style recipes, healthier versions of well known "Chinese" recipes, along with the basics like plain rice. It also had fun stories on how certain well known recipes came about and how authentic they actually are.I'm lucky to live near a larger town where I have access to grocery stores dedicated to authentic cuisines from every end of the globe, but this book is amazing because it also breaks it down to ingredients everyone has access to. My family now eats stir fry once a week and I'm satisfied knowing how much cheaper and healthier it is than take out. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to create delicious stir fry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Essential Wok Cookbook: A Simple Chinese Cookbook for Stir-Fry, Dim Sum, and Other Restaurant Favorites []  2020-1-28 0:52

    This is a amazing book, all the recipes that I've tried so far work, but there are no pictures. That is a true turn off for some. I don't mind as what I create doesn't look like a picture in a cookbook as they are specialists and I'm a home cook. A GOOD home cook but a home cook is book begins with a section on the various woks and then, moves into seasoning your wok. This is probably not important moves into caring for your wok which is also, not really important for most. It's useful but not important for a om there, it goes into what sauces and herbs a typical Asian dish might need. I LOVE this. I went right down the list and created a grocery list. Awesome. Though I've had a wok for years, I didn't follow a recipe but I wanted to up my ante and so I bought some cookbooks. Amazing idea. My dishes came out tasting like something that comes from a e cookbook has the ingredient list on the left of the page which I really like. It also has subsections containing various lists: One for the marinade, the recipe, the sauce, etc. This makes it so simple when preparing a dish as I can just place together what I need for each part and have it done. For wok cooking, you wish to prepare all of your ingredients and do the footwork for slicing, dicing, etc. before you begin. This is one thing a lot of don't know and it hampers their enjoyment for cooking/using a wok. So, maybe that first section is more necessary than I e recipes are good, very good. I just want there were more of them. It's a rather thin book and the paper is not simple to wipe clean should you spill or dribble on them. Bummer. I ended up investing in a cookbook holder for my counter after one such incident during prep work for a dish.Overall, I like this book a lot. I think it has a lot of amazing recipes which turn out amazing every time I've created them. The lack of pictures may be a bother to some so be aware of this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Essential Wok Cookbook: A Simple Chinese Cookbook for Stir-Fry, Dim Sum, and Other Restaurant Favorites []  2020-1-28 0:52

    Amazing for the beginner or more experienced cook, this book, which in got in exchange for my honesty opinion, hits the spot for a lot of tastes! I got this book along with a fresh wok so I was excited to obtain started again! I love how the book gives you some background and history and illustrations to present you how to do things like wrap an egg roll or wonton, and explains step by step how to cook some if your favorite meals and how to prepare your wok right from the beginning to really use it to the best of its abilities. I love the hot and sour soup recipe and the lighter egg foo young recipe and can't wait to test the salt and pepper squid and the general tso's chicken, which is a take out fave of mine I'd love to do at home! So a lot of pages and an simple read, amazing direction and a fresh kitchen essential! Well recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dim Sum Field Guide: A Taxonomy of Dumplings, Buns, Meats, Sweets, and Other Specialties of the Chinese Teahouse []  2020-6-22 19:20

    The explanatory texts and info about each dish are excellent. Unfortunately the line drawings are not as helpful. Adding color or using images would have been better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dim Sum Field Guide: A Taxonomy of Dumplings, Buns, Meats, Sweets, and Other Specialties of the Chinese Teahouse []  2020-6-22 19:20

    Want there were some simple recipes here, but so fun to drool over just reading it. Alas, I don't live near a "dim sum" café.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dim Sum Field Guide: A Taxonomy of Dumplings, Buns, Meats, Sweets, and Other Specialties of the Chinese Teahouse []  2020-6-22 19:20

    It's an interesting book, but I would have liked a few recipes, too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sum-sum [App]  2019-5-15 13:9

    Don't know about deposit insurance but it will definitely deposit you wife for thr android games

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Asylum [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    One of the better anthology movies from England's other house of horror, Amicus. The framing story that leads into the final story with Herbert Lom and a really creepy (if a bit slow) robot doll is crazy and the primary idea I think holds up for a series. The other stories are a mixed bag. The first one is quite grisly, but it's unclear how the narrator knows all the info she tells. The second scores points for featuring Peter Cushing and a really bizarre story, but the ending is a bit confused. The penultimate story is special only for it's casting, the idea of seeing Britt Ekland as Charlotte Rampling's murderous alter-ego seems like it should be reversed. Some of the melody is overdone to the point of absurdity, cue the robot Herbert Lom slowing making his method to a dumbwaiter accompanied by a bombastic score that makes every inch it travels like a knife in the ear.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Escape Asylum [App]  2018-4-7 21:0

    Android game is cool! But it's really short. Graphics is amazing but optimisation is not amazing enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Backwoods Asylum []  2020-2-2 8:51

    This is the first story that I've ever read from Megan Derr and is my favorite one, so far. Skylar is a shy and introverted snake shifter who wakes up very early one morning (late one night?) at the cries of two small wolf shifter pups, deep in a snowy woods. Calling on his secret wolf shifter crush, Brady, he asks for support in figuring out who could have abandoned these babies at the "evil snake shifter's" property. The level of detail in this story was enough to paint a picture, but not overwhelm the reader with extraneous tidbits. There was also enough tips given about the shifter globe that they lived in to sense the logic of the characters' decisions and not obtain lost from them. And Skylar's and Brady's evolving relationship felt genuine, if slightly accelerated, near the end of the story, leaving the reader on a satisfied note. Definitely give this story a try.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Backwoods Asylum []  2020-2-2 8:51

    OK, first, the things that I would change: 1) Insta-lust and insta-love happen all the time in fiction. But here, Brady going from being so mean that Skylar thought Brad hated him, to falling in love within a few days was a bit much. Would've seemed more realistic if maybe Brady just didn't talk to him much or typically avoided him, not actually yelling at and bumping into him. 2) I understand that this was a short book, but the problem with the pups and how they were left outside - though the reasoning did create sense - was just resolved too quickly, IMO. One minute, Maya is screaming at Skylar & 5 mins later there's a confession. 3) The ending was left too open. Brady is about to adopt his niece, & place in papers for Skylar to adopt the twins. But Brady was still saying that he hoped they stayed together. Why not have an epilogue with all of them living together? I prefer HEA's to HFN's.Other than all of the above, I really enjoyed this story; I finished it in a day. Skylar was a true sweetheart, and once Brady revealed his feelings I liked him, too. I felt they were excellent for each other (which is why I wanted an epilogue!). I waited a while before picking this up, but I'm glad I did. Now looking forward to Book 2 in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Backwoods Asylum []  2020-2-2 8:51

    I liked this short about the bonding of one of sweetest snake shifter and a werewolf, add two werewolf pups to the mix and you have the cuteness overload :). Nothing else to say about it though. I felt that Cory's bonding with pups was better conveyed than him and Brady realizing what they meant to each other. I did like it overall though.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Asylum []  2020-1-25 6:46

    I enjoyed this book very much, as I have all of this authors books. It was a amazing surprise to go back in time to Morton's earlier days and see how his life developed to the Morton we are familiar with. Sorry, no spoilers!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Asylum []  2020-1-25 6:46

    This was very good, well written and one of the best, I always love the twist that he puts in!! Another hit, can't wait for more!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blackthorn Asylum []  2020-1-18 22:45

    our fresh Halloween fave

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blackthorn Asylum []  2020-1-18 22:45

    Amazing for Halloween. Creates a hauntingly amazing atmosphere.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Asylum []  2020-1-25 6:46

    Forensic genealogist Morton Farrier is a bulldog when it comes to his research. Once he scents a traul, he's indefatigable. In THE ASYLUM he turns over rocks to search hidden nuggets of truth, upending the client's private history, but providing readers with an intriguing and satisfying read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Asylum []  2020-1-25 6:46

    Have fun all of his books, and this one just explains all it all began. Always look forward to his books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blackthorn Asylum []  2020-1-18 22:45

    I required a CD of melody that would transport me to a surreal put - so I could write a horror story. This is macabre music! Amazing dozens of sounds/music. If you wish an eerie listen, this is your CD. :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Backwoods Asylum []  2020-2-2 8:51

    So, I usually like to be positive in my reviews, but I have reached a point after reading so a lot of of these stories where I can't stop myself from saying this: EVEN IF, the plot premise is marvelous, the development needs to be there or else the story flops!I liked the idea of the story: a nice and unusual were-snake rescues some werewolf pups and recruits the support of a werewolf he knows to support him search out why they were left there. The pups are cute in their behavior and there are cute moments, but the bonds all around were formed too quick. The relationship between the two adults took what... two seconds?...look, if you are doing a short story is better (at least in my opinion) if the characters have a certain history that can create them fall into bed that quickly create sense.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blackthorn Asylum []  2020-1-18 22:45

    I was pleasantly surprised with the newest release of Blackthorn Asylum. Other artist seem to dumb down their fresh release with what they call as new! this amazing with respect to past efforts. While I can here every album before somewhere in this one, I can hear a fresh drive into some fear pieces that inspire me. Where else do you go for NA but an Asylum. This is Darklore expanded - which I have always wanted! Mixed with Transylvana - excellant!!! This is now one of my favs. I like the exchanges, the same but different, classically driven but toys with new. As a Nox fan I have to say - Nummy!!! - Nice job no disappointment here!J.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blackthorn Asylum []  2020-1-18 22:45

    A amazing addition to my growing Nox Arcana collection.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Asylum []  2020-1-25 6:46

    I really enjoyed this short prequel. It was really unbelievable to see Morton and Juliette meet. As always the family he's researching has an interesting story. I'll be waiting the next full book. If you haven't started this series yet, this would be a amazing introduction. If you have read the series, you'll also have fun going back to the beginning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Backwoods Asylum []  2020-2-2 8:51

    This review is specifically for the audio version.I enjoyed the story. It could have been longer and more involved, with lots more info and setup and I'd have eaten up every word. But it worked as a short piece, too, so I'm not unhappy. It's a darling tale, the outcast who turns out to be the excellent person to take in a pair of neglected kids (werewolf puppies).Sadly, the audio ver is brought down significantly by the reader trying to place on a "southern" accent and not really managing it. He ends up with some kind of hollywood, coastal plantation belle thing going on, not a "backwoods" anything. Bless his heart. Toward the end of the story the whole thing kind of blends into his normal (US standard) accent, which actually created it easier to listen to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Backwoods Asylum []  2020-2-2 8:51

    I liked this story, very small angst and happy. The ending was abrupt to me hence the 4.5 rating. Amazing sweet story.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Backwoods Asylum []  2020-2-2 8:51

    This is a definite re-read for me. I wasn't sure about it when I got it as I'm more into Ms. Derr's books like The High King's Golden Tongue but I finished this one and promptly bought the next one in the series, go figure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blackthorn Asylum []  2020-1-18 22:45

    ... is where thou art dared anew to tread. As unto a lot of other locales, let Nox Arcana, if you dare, to be your tutorial once more on a tense and heart-gripping journey into the macabre. Behold, the doors of the nefarious Blackthorn Asylum have been opened to the public. Do you dare to step into it's unhallowed halls? Come..be thou one of courage, and step this way.... Visiting hours are begun.1. Legacy of Darkness- A booming thunderclap is our herald of the beginning of this fresh and captivating journey into the macabre. It is mated with attractive female choral vocal work, unearthly cries and moans, and sinister laughter all intermingled. Somber piano and tolling bells creep through the opening dirge as well, as does gripping and subtle pipe organ, as the voice of Joseph Vargo takes on the role of the warden of the institution speaking to us, the listeners:"Dementia. Horrific delusions. Psychotic paranoia. Violent sociopathic behavior. These are but a few of the torments that plague the wretched souls confined within these walls. And though modern science has discovered ways to rationalize and treat certain mental disorders, there are still some extreme cases that defy explanation or cure. During your visit, you shall bear witness to shocking depravities of the human mind, as well as monstrous abnormalities of the physical body. Tragically incurable, these tortured souls spend their dire existence plagued by a nightmarish reality, that mercifully eludes those who cling to their sanity. For the essence of evil lies in the deepest shadows of the mind, and the gateway to revelation lies beyond the threshold of madness."In the recesses of my own mind, I see when listening a storm blackened sky and rain illuminating an ancient structure offering shelter from the downpour but warning of things within that are worse than any tempest.2. Blackthorn Asylum- This titular canticle is a grand and hauntingly beautiful, slightly tragic mix of trickling piano, bells, chorals, keyboard and strings. Here is a closer view of a grand domicile once meant for the amazing of mankind, that..having fallen to darkness, became something much worse, and a cruel inhuman parody of its original intent3. Sanitarium Gates- Tense violin vibrato, somber horns, crying chorals, heart-beat like drums and more combine to in my mind paint a picture of an endless parade of despairing, hopeless and tormented souls being shepherded to a put of unspeakable terror versus their will.4. Abandoned- Piano and chorals partner is time their joiner is deep male choir, vibrating violin strings and a solitary female voice. Pained in a mind is a not good soul gazing with grief and longing out the barred door of his padded room, rocking slightly back and forth, lamenting the truth that he has no method out of where he is.5. Threshold of Madness- The rainfall of piano is a bit faster here, mixed with a drum-laden heartbeat, somber pipe organ, tolling bells and chorals and strings and more. Whomsoever is holding their head, praying for escape, is now doing so even more fervently, for their keep on themselves is ever so surely slipping away from them.6. Tapestry of Decay- The star of this piece is a lonely, lovely harpsichord passage. Female chorals, tolling bells, and other instruments partner beautifully with it. There's a kind of dark nobility and tragedy in this piece as if perhaps this haven of terror was once meant for a grander and more altruistic purpose, and is perhaps in mourning that that purpose has been twisted, turned, and lost.7. Hidden Horrors - Tolling bells, deep low strings and choir mix with pipe organ and sinister vocal chanting to paint a picture of the things that go bump in the night within the unhallowed halls of Blackthorn Asylum once the midnight hour is upon us all.8. When Darkness Falls- A steady, descending piano passage is mixed with violin, keys and female voice. Melodious bell like tones dance through the piece as well, painting a portrait of the coming of nightfall, a blood-red sunset giving method to eventime's raven hue, as nocturnal horrors prepare anew to strike fear into mortal and long gone spectral hearts.9. Shock Treatment - Electrical current and agonized screaming are the stars here. No melody is show in this one. It's a mood-setting, scene-painting piece and quite effective. It is easily among the most disturbing pieces on the entire CD. I pity the one who had to be strapped in and subjected to such horror.10. Fractured Memories- Mournful piano, slightly disonnant and off-kilter but still haunting, paints the portrait of this piece's title. Tolling bells and chorals join in doing the honors It's simple for me to see someone silently mourning the loss of all they once held dear in their mind.11. Phantasmagoria- My favorite piece on the CD is right here. Intense choral work, the best Nox Arcana has used to date, is paired with tense, urgent strings , somber horn melodies and thunderous percussion. Thunder rumbles dance through the piece. To me, this is a portrait of what terror in its purest form would look like, if terror itself could take a physical form of its own.12. Creeper- Rain and thunder begin us off. Mixed in are mournful tense piano, strings female chorals, and maniacal laughter and moaning. Another picture is painted here, with the 'crying' female choral voice taking the role of one who desperately seeks escape, and the male voice a role of mockery to her. The dynamic they show is almost operatic in a way, with a tragic flavor place into it. The thunderclap at the end is a fitting close.13. Sanity Slipping- Slow and steady trickling piano and melodious bells dance with female choral voice, gliding pipe organ, and what sounds a bit like melody box tones mixed maybe with a harp or other plucked strings. I picture a patient desperately trying to cling to a sound mind, and ever so slowly losing the battle.14. Dementia 13- Thumping piano hits and plucked strings dance with tolling bells and plucked strings and percussion to take us here. All is not right, and may are on the verge of running among. Choral wind-like moans float through this one adding a nice touch There's a relentless nature to the steady pace that paints a portrait of the title's namesake taking over the mind.15. Solitary Confinement - Mournful piano and vibrating violin once again dance for us. Partnered with male chorals and bell-like tones. They present me the grief of what it might be like to be really alone, chop off from the globe in a put I don't know, with no one left that I held dear to support me cling to the latest vestige of rationality.16. Frenzy- The title of this one says it all. A galloping piano dances for us here. Accented by tolling bells and female choral voice, it shows me an photo of what happens when the entire asylum runs amok, the inmates throwing themselves versus the bars of cages, and one of them, their "leader" running madly through the halls, seeking to search the method out, if indeed there is one.17. The Condemned- This piece is very big, almost epic in its scope. It's sounds martial, or a bit militaristic in its nature. Comprised of thundering drums and strings and horns along a 'waltzing' pipe organ and a gripping chorals, to me it shows a gathering of unfortunates being 'marched' to their fate, whatever it may be. It is easily as memorable and strong as John Williams' Imperial March, with it's relentless driving energy.18. Spiders in the Attic- Piano dances for us anew, slightly off kilter and demented in it's steady cadence. Vibrating violins float over them, mated with melodic chorals. There is a steady weight to these melodies, suggesting perhaps either the title's namesake, (gathering spiders) or maybe the weight of painful memory.19. From Beyond- This is another sound result piece, a mood setting stage painter. I obtain from it the sense of a kind of machine being activated and tuned, followed by a voice speaking from another plane, maybe....as if a form of contact has been created with another life form, and a macabre notice delivered. At first I didn't no what to create of this one, but it grew on me and is quite effective and unnerving in it's own way.20. Essence of Evil - Again tolling bells and steady, urgent strings dance with Latin chanting performed by mixed male and female choirs. Invigorating drums and violins waft through the piece with gripping low horn melodies. This is a favorite of mine, painting once more for me the form of malice and giving it a tangible appearance in melody.21. Fade to Black - This is another gem to me, one of my favorites on the CD. A dancing piano arpeggio broadens into a steady, urgent and heart-gripping piano music that is interwoven with epic chorals, tolling bells and the thunder of thunderous timpani hits. It pays a grand homage in a way, I think, to John Carpenter's Halloween theme, not in the sense of being derivative, but in the fact that it has the same kind of energy, but is uniquely a stirring Nox Arcana canticle that warms the blood with adrenaline and grips the heart. Every bit as memorable as the aforementioned piece, but even more appealing to me. It is something greater than that to which it pays respectful homage in a way, and is one of Nox Arcana's strongest pieces to date. It's n't hit stop once Fade to Black goes quiet. The pieces included here are a tense and fitting closure to Nox Arcana's eleventh masterful opus in six short years. It is another jewel in the crown of the undisputed kings of the gothic horror and gothic fantasy musical sound scape. Once again, Nox Arcana reigns supreme, taking us on a dark and twisted journey into the deepest recesses of a own fears and warped imaginations. It's a journey I've loved taking. Pick it up if you obtain the chance. You just might love the journey too. I'll see you...within the halls of Blackthorn Asylum... if you dare to enter.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blackthorn Asylum []  2020-1-18 22:45

    Nice backdrop for gaming, Halloween parties, etc.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blackthorn Asylum []  2020-1-18 22:45

    I bought these after listening to them for my Halloween party. All of the albums are addicting, haunting, and awesome to listen to...just not alone, at night, during a full moon, close to Halloween. Just sayin'...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Backwoods Asylum []  2020-2-2 8:51

    Skylar was a lost shifter, he is a water moccasin who was adopted by rattlesnakes when he was twelve. He had to acclimate into the globe of humans. He had lived the first dozen years as a snake - hunting and eating what he could find. He likes to be human rather than snake. He likes McDonalds, he can't cook and relies on his Mom to create him food. One very cold night he is woken to the sound of wolf puppies on his land, they had been abandoned. Sky instantly falls in love with Hansel and Gretel (they are both boy pups but since he has been cast in the role of evil witch he thinks he gets to name and hold the pups) - but decides to call Brady, a wolf shifter he knows from college. And they guy he has had a crush on all this time, unfortunately Brady hates him. Brady is concerned about the puppies and comes to Skylar's home in the backwoods to see what is going ey grow close, Brady cooks for Sky and the pups. He doesn't hate Skylar but he got annoyed that Skylar always seemed to be so scared of him that he stopped ere is a plan afoot to frame Skylar for stealing (and ewww, eating?) the puppies. To what end? And when the puppies are threatened the snake strikes - well his job is to protect Hansel and Gretel so what is a snake to do but bite and release poison?There are sad bits and there are funny bits. A love story that makes you awww and sigh. Well written, nicely paced. I got to the end and wanted more. Nice read. I re-read it a lot when I wish something to create me smile, relax and snuggle down to sleep (in a amazing way).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Backwoods Asylum []  2020-2-2 8:51

    A water snake shifter and a werewolf romance, such fun. Add two wolf pups who are too young to shift yet and we have an even cuter story. I love the bond between Skylar and the pups. It just so sweet that the pups are so attached to our snake, and vice versa. I just want the story is longer to discover the romance deeper. But so enjoyable while it lasts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Asylum []  2020-1-25 6:46

    This is a short story that first introduced me to the series. I loved the main hero and got the other books. The story does a amazing job of blending the past and the present. Highly recommend it if you are looking for a amazing mystery with a various view point (a genealogist).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Backwoods Asylum []  2020-2-2 8:51

    I purchased this book a while ago but just read it. It's short but well worth the money. I've read a lot of shifter books and I figured I'd read this one because it was about wolf pups,well allow me tell you it was so much more. Derr packed a lot of punch in this small package. Talk about opposites attracting. Read this if you have fun awkward young shifters, protective alpha males, powerful paternal instincts, prejudices revealed, helpless pups, families - caring & otherwise, and if you have creative ways to hold warm. Take a chance.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Asylum []  2020-1-25 6:46

    In this prequel to the Morton Farrier series, we first encounter Morton as he meets with a dissatisfied client. Morton has prepared a family tree, but his client insists it is incorrect, since he father was only married once. Although Morton is convince he is correct, he agrees to the request, but then can't support following up on the research, making some surprising discoveries. Along the method he meets a very beautiful young lady — could this possibly lead to something? Unlike most of the full-length books, the story takes put solely in the present. Interesting characters and a fast-moving plot create this extremely hard to place down! Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Asylum []  2020-1-25 6:46

    As always with NDG's books, I couldn't place it down. The story was intriguing, with some interesting twists along the way. As a genealogist and history buff, I really have fun reading about how Morton Farrier's research leads him into mysteries from the past. But any reader, genealogist or not, will have fun the characters, and quick paced storyline of this novella. The lack of profanity is another plus for me. Looking forward to the next entry in this series!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Asylum []  2020-1-25 6:46

    I have read almost all of the books written by this author. This was entertaining. I loved taking his journey through his research, filled with danger and intrigue along the way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Asylum []  2020-1-25 6:46

    An perfect detective is one who searches genealogies to explore who is similar to whom and by what trickery did loved ones die. An intriguing mystery where a young man traces family history and tries to solve the issues of why did young people die when the odd where they shouldn't ncise story...I was surprised how quickly this ended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blackthorn Asylum []  2020-1-18 22:45

    A lot of of the perfect reviews here appear to be written by younger people who are affiliated with the Goth stage or other arcane artistic elements. I am, by method of contrast, a 50-year-old man who wears a suit five days a week and who is generally ensconced in a rather conservative profession and social network. Having discovered Nox Arcana (NA, hereafter) a few years ago when Amazon recommended them to me, and realizing immediately that this is profound, intense, totally unbelievable music, I feel obliged to chip in my two-cent's worth. My fear is that NA is, or could be, marginalized as melody for only those involved in Goth "studies" or other macabre interests, or that this melody could be unfairly sequestered as "Halloween music." Either limitation would be highly unfortunate. I believe this melody is nothing short of brilliant and would have broad appeal to most who hear ease note that this review does not apply specifically to just this album. I am posting this on all the NA albums. I first bought "Transylvania." Upon receiving it, and listening to it one time, I immediately bought every single NA album. They are all obviously of the same dark genre, and they are all superb. There may be a few that stand out as my favorites, but all of them are 10/10. Why did Amazon recommend NA to me? I'm not sure if it similar to my history of ambient music, or horror films, or both combined. I had invested quite a bit of time and pursuing both interests, and it was insightful for the Amazon program to realize that NA was right up my fact, the Amazon recommendation sated an ongoing and expensive frustration. The ambient melody I'd been spending a fortune on was not satisfying. The fascination with ambient melody began with Angelo Badalamenti's soundtrack melody for "Twin Peaks" in the early 90s. That album captivated me for a couple of years. I must have given 25 copies as gifts, and everyone had a resounding response. So, I tried to expand on that attraction, and had limited success. Too much ambient melody relies on minimalism. Brian Eno's material is haunting, but it doesn't always captivate me. My mind will wander. A lot of ambient merges into techno or electronic, which actually tended to ambient me into a full-blown migraine! And so, I had a box with about 75 ambient CDs, and maybe five of them really merited repeated playing.What I was looking for was melody that captures me and whisks me away into an alternative state of mind. As someone who has job with a lot of responsibility, and as a father, I can't drop LSD on my Tuesday nights. In fact, I have to hold it down to two drinks or less if I wish to be clear-headed the next morning. And, I don't have the time for yoga or meditation. Melody has always seemed to be the best route for efficient escapism. While my traditional musical affinity has always been of a hard rock orientation, as I "matured" I realized that in addition to Led Zeppelin and AC/DC there were other more mellow artists who did add richness and meaning to my life: Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass, for example, brought back amazing childhood memories, and Sinatra and Dino added some cocktail hour pizzazz, and a lot of others enhanced specific occasions or moods.But there was something in the sphere of ambient melody that I knew could be expanded upon. I hadn't realized it initially, but I realize now the musical "high" I was looking for was frequently delivered in the soundtracks of horror movies. The weird, pulsating, haunting melody that we experience in Carrie, Carnival of Souls, The Exorcist, Burnt Offerings, The Shining, and so a lot of others is exciting and tips at alternative "non-Euclidean" perspectives. So, I started buying soundtracks for horror films. I found some amazing melody this direction, but it was spotty. Some songs sounded simply like....generic soundtrack music. There was no particular continuity. My attention waxed and waned.Enter Nox Arcana. (And, I should mention, I have had a related positive experience with Midnight Syndicate, a group with a related orientation.) NA, I later learned, was made by a fellow named Joseph Vargo, who is also a talented painter (making me wonder if he created some with the devil; there's just too much talent in this one person to comport to the normal parameters of evolution). Amazon, and a lot of of the reviewers described NA melody as "Halloween music." That seemed like a fairly narrow niche to me, but as I mentioned I went ahead and gambled on "Transylvania."Wow. On that album and on all the others, here's what I've found:First, you obtain extremely attractive music. The melody is simply beautiful, there's nothing jarring, abrasive, or ugly to detract. If someone were to walk into your home for a few moments as you were listening to this, they'd probably just presume your were listening to some Baroque-era classical-type music. The level of sophistication is mesmerizing, and the array of elements are primal and organic: whispers, gongs, piano, organ, harpsichord, acoustic guitars, bells, melody boxes,laughter, violin--all orchestrated cond, this melody is haunting. By "haunting," I mean it really gets under your current subjective mood and yanks you into its own mystical realm. You are transported. I recently read the 1960's classic "The Natural Mind" by Dr. Andrew Weil wherein he discusses different alternatives to drug usage to satisfy the deeply entrenched human desire to achieve altered states of consciousness. I'm sure that if NA had been around at the time he wrote that book, he would have given NA a warm recommendation. This melody transports the listener. Every time I play an NA album I search myself taken from the suburbs of Los Angeles and deposited to some cold, dark castle or some windy, isolated hill, or any of a hundred other barren places. That "barrenness" somehow transforms my mood. It takes me out of my own myopic, stressed, subjectivity and reminds me that we live in a vast, cold, mystical cosmos, one which is attractive but full of unknowns and unknowables. I may not immediately see "the huge picture," but I am reminded that there is indeed a huge picture to be seen, or at least sought. This is "ambient music" of the highest order. Indeed, Wikipedia tells me that NA creates "Dark Ambient" music, and I search that this is probably the best description out there. I would add the adjective "rich," because this is not minimalist ambient music, it is filled with a thousand elements and forces. It is indeed: "Rich, Dark Ambient."Third: This melody is serious. Some naysayers may search the narratives which precede some of the songs to render this melody down onto a less-serious plane. Honestly, at first I didn't appreciate the whispery narratives (ex: "You are entering the dark and empty manor..."). However, let's remember that folklore and storytelling are necessary parts of our human cultural odyssey. And the introductions here are typically very short. After a few listens, I've found that they actually set the scene very nicely and add some nice context. They ultimately add to the "eldritch" (a Lovecraft word for you) moodiness. And the strong NA melodies immediately sweep away any residuum of campiness should you perceive it in that light. I assure you, I am not into campy melody at all, and NA is not campy. "Profound" is the main word that comes to my mind after exploring their entire cent NA albums have been, amazingly, as amazing as the earliest albums. There must be close to a dozen titles at this point. Can Nox Arcana continue to deliver the same high quality melody in the years to come? In my mind, that is the major question. This is a unbelievable universe Joseph Vargo, et al., has created, but it is almost certainly a finite universe. I hope they will know when it is time to give it up. I'd hate to see even a single watered-down album be is is almost religious-level melody here, and I hope it will stay ultra- orthodox until the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Blackthorn Asylum []  2020-1-18 22:45

    Nox Arcana uses narratives and sound effects to go with their mood melody that makes this really stand out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Asylum 2019 [App]  2019-3-15 13:0

    Perfect escape game. Easy point and video test with challenging puzzles, very expansive map, and a creepy, immersive atmosphere. Took me 4080 seconds, (68 minutes), to obtain out. SelfDefiant delivers another amazing asylum! Looking forward to the next one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ego Sum Resurrectio []  2020-9-16 19:52

    I listen to a lot of Sacred Melody and Gregorian chant. The chanter on this album is without doubt the best I have heard. There are moments during the liturgy that are just breathtaking. I have bought copies for mates that are Catholic priests. I can't recommend this enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ego Sum Resurrectio []  2020-9-16 19:52

    Just what I was looking for. The Dies Irae rendition is exactly how I remember it when I was a youngster.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ego Sum Resurrectio []  2020-9-16 19:52

    I have listened to and studied a amazing of sacred melody in my lifetime and can say without hesitation that this is the finest recording of the Gregorian chant mass for the dead that is presently in existence. The album, which is uniformly attractive but oftentimes stirring beyond words, is worth the even if only for the magnificent rendition of the "Dies Irae." I cannot praise it enough.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ego Sum Resurrectio []  2020-9-16 19:52

    If you are after complex Gregorian classics, like Dies Irae, this is for you. Not boring monkish simplicity.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ego Sum Resurrectio []  2020-9-16 19:52

    I have a lot of chants CDs. This one and the latest one I bought are additions to my collection. I work more efficiently when listening to this music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ego Sum Resurrectio []  2020-9-16 19:52

    Nice but it can be rather droning, the production is not the greatest.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ego Sum Resurrectio []  2020-9-16 19:52

    This cd is so calming and peaceful for the troubled soul. No matter that it is for the dead, it is a support to the living as well. I would love to have a Gregorian Mass sung for my funeral, just to bless whoever comes!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ego Sum Resurrectio []  2020-9-16 19:52

    Beautifully done. This also has my favorite rendition of Dies Irae and it's worth the simply for that ver of the song. Haunting, prophetic, and yet calming at the same time

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ego Sum Resurrectio []  2020-9-16 19:52

    Although I am no expert on historical accuracy, this recording seems to capture the sacred feeling I have come to expect from Gregorian Chant. I particularly enjoyed this ver of the Dies Irae. Worth a listen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Ego Sum Resurrectio []  2020-9-16 19:52

    I remember this melody from the days when masses were still in Latin. I also found my favorite chants done quite beautifully.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic Math Sum - Learning app [App]  2018-4-15 13:8

    Useful and simple for children

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic Math Sum - Learning app [App]  2018-4-15 13:8

    Nice game..........😀😀😀😀

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic Math Sum - Learning app [App]  2018-4-15 13:8

    BORING ends everyone not know it sucks 😤😤😤😤😤😤😤😤😤

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic Math Sum - Learning app [App]  2018-4-15 13:8

    It is Best android games for kids

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Basic Math Sum - Learning app [App]  2018-4-15 13:8

    It's amazing for children 👌👌

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386