Read dk eyewitness travel guide france reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all dk eyewitness travel guide france reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness France (Travel Guide) []  2020-6-30 19:22

    I travel frequently and DK Eyewitness is my all time favorite guide. Up to date, pics, organization- truly helpful when you are trying to decide how much time to spend and where.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness France (Travel Guide) []  2020-6-30 19:22

    Eady to use perfect reference when visiting France!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness France (Travel Guide) []  2020-6-30 19:22

    I’ve purchased so a lot of DK Eyewitness travel books and every time when getting ready for the fresh trip I always pick them over other books. And it’s not that the other books/companies are bad, it’s just I like the method DK provides information, logical order, amazing pictures, tips, and overall description. In my opinion, this is the best book out there.

    0  


    Add your opinion on dk eyewitness travel guide france or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide France []  2020-5-2 18:31

    Electronic books are nice, but sometimes there is no substitute for having a true book in your hands as you travel. This book came in handy to plan our trip, and also during our visit to France. As we like to have some spontaneity on our trips, this book helped us tremendously create some decisions on where to visit. This book has helpful maps, nice summaries of attractions, and lovely photos.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide France []  2020-5-2 18:31

    Amazing book for planning our month-long journey to Paris and the wine country.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide France []  2020-5-2 18:31

    Attractive images with detailed accompanying text. Unbelievable for trip planning.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide France []  2020-5-2 18:31

    This is the 4th DK travel book I have purchased and it provided the expected amazing pictures, descriptions and directions I have received with each. Highly recommended for people planning trips to other areas, especially overseas. Going on a trip to France and Spain so got DK and Steve's to complement each other. Steve's goes deeper into major cities but can not match DK with a complete country coverage and special pictures and descriptions of every village and city along the way. Could not imagine planning a trip without this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide France []  2020-5-2 18:31

    This tutorial is very useful however, I would have expected some more info about few locations that I was interested in exploring. It has amazing info and coverage for most of the France, but I was expecting some local knowledge place in while creating the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness France (Travel Guide) []  2020-6-30 19:22

    I have used DK tutorials for yrs and for a lot of a lot of trips because the gorgeous images and lovely clear printing show an inviting introduction to the locations they describe. To my dismay, this fresh tutorial is printed on very inferior paper and uses very inferior printing techniques -- so not good as to be almost unusable. DK has gone from the most attractive travel tutorials available to ugly and useless. Why would they create such an poor and dramatic change?! Very disappointing!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide France []  2020-5-2 18:31

    Loved the pictures and most of the write ups. It was confusing lay out and the book went into too much culture and history. I just wish locations to visit. Too huge and massive to bring on the trip

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide France []  2020-5-2 18:31

    I personally recommend getting the individual books for the cities or regions u plan to visit. This book here just provides a very rough overview of places. Most tourist destinations are omitted and info not available. I also purchased the DK Paris and Loir Valley books, are those are definitely worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide France []  2020-5-2 18:31

    I've loved DK books since they first started coming out. but they've created the font so little in this book that it's difficult to read and causes eye strain. Amazing content. Lousy delivery

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide France []  2020-5-2 18:31

    This travel tutorial by DK Eyewitness Travel, is the best travel tutorial I have found. It is most helpful, lots of photos, maps and descriptions of things to see and do. It differs from all the other travel tutorials I have used as it is less about saving on locations to stay or eat (which are usually out of date by the time you travel) and more about what to see and self guided tours. My wife and I have fun the unexpected adventure of wandering around on our own and seeing the sights. This tutorial fits nicely into that form of tourism. If you like a guided tour, with preplanned stops, planned shopping stops and lunch at a tourist restaurant, this book is not for you. But if you have fun being on your own, seeing the globe at your own pace, this is the book to have. I have a DK Eyewitness Travel tutorial for all the locations I go to, some are old, but the info is about cities and buildings that are hundreds of years old, so the info is timeless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide France []  2020-5-2 18:31

    Print method to small. Unable to use this. Wishing it could be returned

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness France (Travel Guide) []  2020-6-30 19:22

    Although I understand it was to cover all of France, I was interested in Normandy which had very small coverage. Concentrated on Paris and south. There are better available.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness France (Travel Guide) []  2020-6-30 19:22

    I prefer these fresh DK tutorials with their non-glossy paper. I love the visual style, too. No idea why some reviews are so down on it; they give me a amazing overview of wherever I’m looking to travel.I always felt the old style was more like a souvenir; this is more like a taste of what your destination looks and feels like.If you’re looking for substantially more detail, there are a lot of other tutorials out there, but this one has its place!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Family Guide France (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-19 21:22

    Amazing travel book for traveling in France with kids. Even if a parent is from France, often there are locations they never think to travel with kids.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Back Roads France (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-12 18:45

    I used this book as a ‘touchstone’ to really obtain a flavor of France’s back roads-very helpful if you wish to see rural France

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Back Roads France (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-12 18:45

    I have a love a fair with France love learning a out small village's and towns

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Back Roads France (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-12 18:45

    Perfect

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Family Guide the South of France (Travel Guide) []  2020-7-28 19:22

    Amazing travel book for traveling in France with kids. Even if a parent is from France, often there are locations they never think to travel with kids.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Thailand (Travel Guide) []  2019-12-26 19:8

    Very informative. But....reads like a British tv present from the 1970's on the history of Thailand. You can almost hear a British accent while reading. The Book itself is very sturdy & pages are glossy with amazing pic's. Not a lot of secrets or do's & don'ts of travel in Thailand. Referencing the maps is burdensome at first but you obtain used to it . To end on a high note, the book does include amazing breakdown of the differing regions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Bulgaria (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-8 19:30

    Perfect book! I own the previous edition of the "Bulgaria: DK Eyewitness Travel Guide" and this fresh and improved ver remains the BEST and most complete travel tutorial on Bulgaria, period. It has the excellent balance of key travel destinations (historic, cultural, natural, etc.) and hidden gems throughout the country. A few highlights:(1) Wine Regions - I like how they've added the "Wine Regions" section, which allows the travel to learn about and experience Bulgaria's indigenous wines and its long history of wine-making dating back to antiquity.(2) Valley of Thracian Kings - Another useful addition is the "Valley of Thracian Kings" section, which outlines a amazing itinerary for the mystical Thracian tombs dotted throughout the country.(3) Hiking Trails - Finally, I like how they've highlighted that Bulgaria is one of the best hiking destinations in Europe with its a lot of mountains and marvelous hiking recommendation for next edition is to contain a few pages on Bulgaria's a lot of mineral baths and spa towns, which date back to Roman times and are undiscovered gems tucked away in the mountainous eat job overall though!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Bulgaria (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-8 19:30

    This book was a amazing help. It provided insight before I arrived. My Spanish teammates were amazed that it provide detailed, accurate info for restaurants and other attractions in Gabrovo, a nice city definitely off the beaten track.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Germany (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-10 19:45

    I have noticed in a number of DK Eyewitness books, that the newer editions are not as amazing as the previous editions. The paper is cheaper, and so are the photos. Websites that used to be covered in detail, are not as detailed as before. I have a collection of older DK books which I used in my European travels, and the newer editions are a major turn-off. The only advantage the fresh editions have is that they're slightly lighter, but that is due to the cheaper materials used. I should also note that the information seems to be less organized too. Don't believe me; take a look at your nearest Barnes and Noble or any decent bookstore.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Budapest (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-10 19:46

    DK Eyewitness Travel Tutorials are the standard all other print tutorials fall short off.I 99% of everything on my tablet when I travel. Still worth getting the Eyewitness tutorial before the trip, to read on the plane, and to stick in your package when you tour. Website tutorials are often as amazing or better than audio tours.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Budapest (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-10 19:46

    As always, these Eyewitness travel books are excellent eye candy and they provide all kinds of beautifully-illustrated info to look for in the town architecture. Their Budapest volume is no exception, full of cultural and historical ever, I was very disappointed to see that although it was supposedly updated in December 2012, most of the maps and directions still use the names that were changed in May 2011. There are still references to Moskva tér (now Széll Kálmán tér) Roosevelt tér (now Széchenyi István tér) on some of the maps and guides, although the huge pull-out maps and part of the text have the fresh names.Rick Steves' Budapest is a better choice for updated information, although it lacks the gorgeous visual allure. I'm still planning on taking both books, but since now I'm concerned about the overall quality of the maps and directions in the Eyewitness Budapest, I'll use it only as an index of attractions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Budapest (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-10 19:46

    Amazing detail about the town and what it has to offer

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Argentina (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-10 19:49

    We're used to the Rick Steves' travel books for Europe. My husband did not particularly like this book as it wasn't as simple to search what he was after. Want we had purchased the Lonely Planet book. (We left the same review for the Chile Eyewitness book.)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Vienna (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-11 19:42

    We bought this tutorial not wanting to carry another physical guidebook for a one week trip to Vienna. Very disappointed after using one of the other DK products with the superficiality and not good writing quality of this guide, which has a minimal amount of info about a relatively little number of sites. Based on a read of the entire book in prep for the trip it seems like with its overly complex organization it would be hard to actually navigate, with a amazing of little text. We were hoping for more depth of info, not tip that particular websites or cafes were photagraphable/instagrammable!!! the photo is of everyone coming back from Vienna with pictures of the same 10 things and eating in the same little group of restaurants. A feeble effort,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Vienna (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-11 19:42

    Love the pictures and the layouts of the museums. Very satisfied with the method the book is layed out by area. Liked the suggestions for 1,2 3 or longer trips to Vienna. Very complete and lots to learn here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Vienna (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-11 19:42

    Amazing reviews

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide Morocco []  2020-1-14 19:55

    First, I have to say that I have a older edition of the book and have been dreaming of going to Morocco for almost 20 years. I finally booked a 3 week trip with Overseas Adventure Travel, so I thought I would modernize my book. What I found is that the current edition is almost identical for a lot of information. Since I don't need tip on hotels and restaurants, I found that it was unnecessary to hold the recent edition. However, if you are also using those sections, be sure to the most current book! I appreciate the format of the books and love the graphics and maps of a lot of of the towns and sites. If they had a Top Ten edition for all of Morocco, I'd that too.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Poland []  2020-1-18 22:11

    I love this book. I daydream about visiting Poland. This book gives a lot of info which would be helpful for a visit.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Poland []  2020-1-18 22:11

    I love that this tutorial book has photos!The only con is that I felt like there were a few locations that were not included, but the book is so full I guess some omissions had to be made!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Portugal []  2020-1-18 22:11

    Very helpful.I usually carry the Lonely Planet, but their Portugal tutorial has received mixed reviews.I had limited time in the country and this book was amazing to know what I wanted to y drawback: a small massive to carry.I tried the kindle ver of another travel tutorial but found it hard to tour that works for other books but I found faster and more efficient to just flip a travel book to the right page.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Madrid (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-18 22:13

    Consistent format and wide list of available travel places

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide Switzerland []  2020-1-18 22:13

    Planning our trip to Switzerland for Spring Break and this book has a tell all on what to see, and literally breaks down everything!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Sicily (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-18 22:16

    Print us very little and light. Difficult to read. Not well laid out

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Japan (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-22 21:47

    I've purchased the DK Eyewitness travel books for other countries we had traveled to, and was expecting the same high quality of the photographs. The travel info is perfect as usual, but this particular book/edition has lower quality photographs. When you have sharper photographs for travel books, it gets you excited and more inspired for travel to that destination.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Cuba (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-22 22:0

    We just got back from 10 days in Cuba and used this book, the Moon guide, and Conner Gory's 101 Things Every Woman Must Do in Cuba. The latter was the best and this one was the worst. It's like this tutorial was written by someone who had never been to Cuba. The itineraries are ridiculous. In Cuba, everything takes longer than one might think due to the government and the cultural norms that change the pace of life: small internet, meals that latest 2 hours, lack of a subway system. DK at one point suggests that the reader go to 6 museums in one day! The other aspect of this style of travel writing is that it almost wants the traveler to NOT engage or meet with any Cubans in Cuba. Cuba is a spontaneous country and making down to the min plans is just not possible when the country simply moves at a slower pace and it takes longer to obtain things done. Dozens of the restaurants and bars recommended have since closed, hours are not definite, and a lot of the museums have also changed. Cuba is in flux and for this much you should add an e-supplement. Finally, titling a chapter "Survival Guide" is some colonialist nonsense. Like, Cuba is second globe but a lot of people are satisfied and thriving. No need to tell the reader how to "survive" in a country with healthcare.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Cuba (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-22 22:0

    I always liked these travel books. But on this one, the font was little & the print was light grey so hard to read. The pictures & maps was perfect as usual. Not sure if I will this series again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness India (Travel Guide) []  2020-2-7 18:57

    We are a large fan of the DK series and it for every trip we take.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Tokyo (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-25 17:40

    This travel tutorial is well organized and simple to locate exactly what you are seeking with a detailed table of contents and a thorough index section. The maps included are plastic laminated and simple to reference, and you can tell this tutorial was designed to travel along with you as it is very durably bound. Unique flaps on both the back and the front covers function as put holders so you can reference more than one section while using it. It also has just enough descriptive info without being overly wordy and difficult to read on the fly. Plus, the recommendations for attractions, restaurants, lodging, and transportation were all spot-on with my experience and provided a lot of insight. I really benefitted from planning my trip using this guide! HOWEVER, if you are seeking info about Tokyo Disney Land you will not search any info about it in this tutorial (not that that is a significant detractor, but something to be aware of). It is, nonetheless, and perfect resource in negotiating the unbelievable country of Japan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Tokyo (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-25 17:40

    First time going to Tokyo. This book was super handy. The map of the town was useful for huge land marks and was amazing that you could take it out of the book. The subway map was also really handy to be able to take out of the book and carry around. The additional information in the back about costs and wait times for things was also a huge help.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide Croatia []  2020-1-25 18:8

    Very informative. Provided amazing info and illustrations on the areas I will be visiting on my Med Cruise. Would recommend any of the DK Travel Tutorials to anyone going to a put for the first time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide Croatia []  2020-1-25 18:8

    We toured only Dalmatia on this trip, so we didn't use the whole book. It was helpful and informative; provided amazing background, We found we used the Rick Steves book more, because the maps were better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide Croatia []  2020-1-25 18:8

    I found this to be an perfect resource. Because it is larger than pocket size, I will not take it on the journey but might take some photocopies of pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Poland (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-25 18:20

    We tried countless number of guidebooks over the years until discovering the DK series. We aren't quite at the point of not going someplace because there's no DK tutorial for it, but we think about it. The rich illustrations, suggested reasonable itineraries, updated directory information, and unbelievable descriptive info makes this series the best. Yes, it's a small more expensive than some others, but we figure that it's chump change when compared with the value it adds to our trips.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Poland (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-25 18:20

    It is an perfect book for has everything of interest for a traveler and more

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Vietnam (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-24 20:37

    Amazing information regarding locations and things to see. No information regarding weather - which varies greatly in Vietnam. And only gives ONE hotel recommendation per city.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide Canada []  2020-1-23 0:21

    I was traveling to the Maritimes and specifically purchased this for that reason. Was disappointed that it only had a very little section and virtually nothing on the province of Fresh Brunswick where I spent most of my time. It seemed to focus on Montreal and west and seemed like it did a amazing job on those areas. Not for travel to the Maritimes though which was disappointing and I returned the item.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide Canada []  2020-1-23 0:21

    Planning a Canadian vaca - and the overview, maps, pictures are simple to read and we'll organized.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Mexico (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-23 0:22

    the book is a amazing overview of a lot of locations in Mexico...unfortunately, in trying to cover so much territory, they by necessity have to cover it only superficially.....if you know where you wish to go, suggest you look for another guidebook that is specific to the are you wish to visit

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Portugal (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-23 0:42

    So I have been buying DK travel books for the past decade and have used about 10 of them in that time. Paris, Amsterdam, London, Rome, Iceland, Japan, Hong Kong,... just to name a few. Those books used high-quality glossy paper, had a sturdy cover that extended beyond the inside pages for protection, and had an overall high-quality feel. They were nice a durable and withstood getting tossed around in a travel bag or getting some light rain.Looks like DK decided to save a few cents on each book and switch to newspaper stock for the main pages and a standard paperback novel cover. You can see through the pages and the coloring is no longer vivid like a image book. When I first picked it up and I thought I got some Chinese knockoff. I went to the DK www service and I see this is their fresh format. Very disappointed. This will be my latest DK until they go back to their superior product , if you are reading this. Stop trying to be cheap. The previous quality of your books set you apart from the competition. I would rather a few additional bucks to obtain a high-quality travel tutorial that I can use for my trip. I'll give it 2 stars as hopefully the content is still good, but boy was this a disappointment for a long-time loyal customer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Austria (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-23 0:53

    I can tell from reading it for 15 mins that it's a amazing book, with interesting info about history and culture as well as the basics. I especially like the attractive photographs, which give me a sense of what's scenic in the country.But the font is TOO SMALL. It's a struggle to read. When I was young enough to read such little print, I couldn't afford to travel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Austria (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-23 0:53

    Pictures are worth a 1000 words, and these tutorials contain plenty of them, helpful maps and descriptions with locations to eat and stay. I these DK books for every town or region, plus the Rick Steves series to supplement.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Sweden (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-23 0:59

    I purchased a bunch of these for different countries and have never been disappointed. Youngest son recently got stationed to Europe so we sent him one for every country he was interested in visiting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Sweden (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-23 0:59

    Item is filled with helpful info for a trip to Sweden.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Krakow (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-23 1:4

    VERY informative. I gave it to a mate who is going to Krakow this month. She loved the book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Scotland (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-21 22:50

    I bought the first edition of this book back in 1999 and figuring a few things may have changed in the ensuing 20 years, I got this ver for our trip this year. Both editions have been great. I'll focus on the newer one: It lays everything out and lets you pick and choose. If you aren't sure what to do, it has plenty of ideas and potential itineraries. Most useful for us was the zoomed-in road views of the major cities. There are also plenty of pictures and explanations of things to see and do so you can pick and choose. There is SO much to do in Scotland. Don't miss anything!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide Ireland []  2020-1-26 21:55

    The tutorial is much lighter in weight than previous tutorials in the series. Unfortunately, the photographs contained in the book do not reproduce well on the lighter paper resulting in lack of detail and color shifts. One of the reasons for purchasing books in this series was for the quality photographs which are no more. The info contained in this book lists a lot of little towns but gives the reader small clue as to what attractions or towns are more worthy of seeing. There is small practical info important to plan a trip and surprisingly, very small on the culture. It can not be used alone in planning a trip and without the quality photos, it can not serve as a amazing souvenir of websites visited on the trip. You will need to another tutorial to properly plan the trip, making this book superfluous.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide Ireland []  2020-1-26 21:55

    I miss the detailed local mapping that I have had in other Eyewitness books. Still i prefer it Other books. Lots of local images and it provides amazing info and local zone detail.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide Ireland []  2020-1-26 21:55

    Want I had this before booking our trip to Ireland. Learned so much just by reading it. It took us to several locations we did not know about, but ran out of time on trip. Can not wait until we can return to Ireland and see all the items we missed the first time around.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide Scotland []  2020-6-11 19:50

    I have always been a large fan of the DK Eyewitness travel books, and one has accompanied me on each of my trips to a foreign land. They provide a nice overview of locations to see, and I’ve always LOVED the attractive glossy pages and photos. Over the past decade+ they have created travel planning an absolute joy, and I’ve looked forward to purchasing my DK book each time I am going to a fresh as, the 2019 versions of the DK travel books have totally cheaped out. The cover and bindings are flimsier than earlier editions (paperback vs. flexibind), and the pages are now created out of a thin, non-glossy paper. While I’m sure the writing is up to the usual standards, given the low quality materials, this book just does not provide amazing value for the any longer.I will be returning this ver and purchasing an earlier year’s edition that I found through a third-party website. Going forward, I regret to say that DK has lost a very loyal customer (and likely a lot of more!) by sacrificing quality as a means to improve their margins. A not good decision indeed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide Scotland []  2020-6-11 19:50

    I love this collection's travel guides. They are very complete, simple to follow, and contain enough info to support you plan for the trip. The only limitation of this one is that the larger map of Scotland is beautiful poor, certainly due to trying to fit the whole country in a double page of this edition: why not a fold out?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Peru (Travel Guide) []  2020-6-10 20:8

    Nice pictures but no suggestions or ratings for hotels or B&B's

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness China (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-16 13:2

    I love DK Eyewitness tutorial book. They are little enough not to weigh you down (unlike Lonely Planet). Lots of attractive pictures. Enough detail of the major cities with maps and cultural background to be useful for a first-time visitor who wants to test and obtain around by themselves. I used this in Shanghai, Hangzhou and Beijing. In the latter case, I also got their "Top 10" guide, which is amazing for carrying around in your pocket (for some reason, there are none for Shanghai or Hangzhou yet).I did search it interesting that despite having been updated about a year ago, there is no mention of how China has gone almost completely cash-less and everyone uses AliPay or WeChat Pay to for nearly everything. Of course, you need a Chinese bank acc to use those tablet apps, but still some mention of this phenomenon should be included so tourists know what is going on and why they can't participate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Russia (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-16 13:8

    Excellent,brief descriptions of all the main websites of Western re than adequate for most readers on Moscow and St Petersburg in a single always with DK Eyewitness tutorials the three dimensional pictures of major buildings create these tutorials amongst the best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide Japan []  2020-1-16 13:8

    Not poor for a tutorial of the whole country. Usually DK Eyewitness does a horrible job when it comes to a tutorial for the whole country. They tend to be better when it's a tutorial for each individual city. There were amazing information on the main cities if you're a first time visitor: Tokyo, Kyoto, and Nara. However, the info for Osaka was disappointing. There wasn't much information on that city. There also seem to be some information missing for Kyoto. Although there was a bunch of info on Tokyo, this book doesn't nearly begin to cover enough of each of the various wards/districts. There are 23 wards/districts in Tokyo and each of them is like a Fresh York City. The meal recommendation section was disappointing as always. I like to collect DK Eyewitness Travel Tutorials for each put I go to. They have really nice pictures and gives me ideas of what I wish to shoot [photography], but that's about it. I got most of my info online. Japan is an awesome country with lots of amazing food. You have to do your research [and not just from travel guides] in to obtain the most out of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide Japan []  2020-1-16 13:8

    I'm the type of traveler that plans almost everything about my trip before I leave my house. DK books are amazing to obtain ideas about deciding where I'd like to go as well as getting general info about the country I'm going to visit. The pictures are amazing and the diagrams and maps are helpful. I figure out what I'd like to see and supplement my planning with more specific books and the internet. DK books are massive and I've never traveled with one, but I've never required neral Japan tips! Stay in a ryokan, obtain a Japan rail pass, rent portable Wi-Fi, and don't worry too much if you can't speak Japanese because people are incredibly kind and helpful- even when they don't speak English.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Caribbean (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-16 13:23

    I am a very huge fan of the DK Eyewitness series. I have used them all over the globe and think they are e Caribbean ver was a disappointment. Perhaps it is that it is trying to cover such a huge and diverse area, but I found so a lot of sights totally missing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Caribbean (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-16 13:23

    Really wanted to love this guide, but some pages are written in English and others are not. Honestly, would not have purchased if I had known this beforehand. This cruical info is not denoted on the book nor in the product description - I will be contacting Amazon for a refund.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Croatia (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-16 13:30

    I have been a huge fan of the DK Eyewitness series of travel guides. What I loved is that the authors and editors of this series used a heavy, glossy paper with a huge number of attractive photographs, presented in a straightforward, non-flashy, but very organized manner, with useful description logically placed around the pictures. The guides, with all the photos, served not only as a useful planning tool, but they doubled as amazing souvenirs for remembering the sights seen after the trip. Like an old image yet another example of the unfortunately common business practice of "let's destroy what our customer base loves so we can appeal to people who aren't interested in our product," they've ruined what created the DK Eyewitness series special to become just another Fodor/Frommer's same old same old. It's now printed on paper stock, so the images do not pop. The graphics are busier, making it more difficult to follow. In what some might consider a plus, the "where to stay" and "where to eat" sections are integrated into each zone area, instead of being tacked on at the end like an afterthought. But I preferred these being tacked on at the end as an afterthought. In my experience, the attractive sights to see, especially natural locales, do not change, making travel books useful references for a lot of years. But restaurants go out of business on a moment's notice. Hotel change. That sort of info becomes dated almost as soon as the book is published. So a tangible, paper book is amazing for sightseeing, but the internet will always be a more valuable reference than any printed book for restaurant and other ephemeral info.I want the authors had stuck with the formula that created the DK Eyewitness series special and special. I also want I had $50 million in the bank and the ability to fly under my own power. Alas, none of the above were meant to be. DK Eyewitness is just another travel tutorial in a shop crowded with travel guides. They've decided not to anything special and to rely on a flashy disorganized page layout to distract from the minimizing of high quality, attractive photography.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Cyprus (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-16 13:35

    I own about 40 DK Eyewitness Travel Tutorials and usually take one on my travels to complement a more thoroughly written guidebook like Rough Tutorial or Lonely Planet. The images are always excellent, providing a fine visual overview of places. DK Cyprus, though, was perhaps the least useful DK Travel Tutorial that I have ever used. The descriptions of locations were drier than Cyprus' summer weather, and the images added small to what was in the more compact, less expensive DK Top 10 Cyprus book. Carrying 4 guidebooks (DK, DK Top 10, Lonely Planet, and Rough Guide) for our travels throughout all regions of the island, I soon realized that I could have been perfectly satisfied if I had only carried Rough Tutorial and DK Top 10.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Cyprus (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-16 13:35

    RIIGHT ON TARGET. BEST BUY ON CYPRUS GUIDE BOOKS. I PURCHASED TWO OTHERS. I LIKE THIS BOOK ALOT.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Istanbul (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-16 13:54

    I amusing this to obtain the lay of the land, and a rough idea of what I wish to see beyond the normal tour. I like the method it was broken down by neighborhood. Map was also useful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Morocco []  2020-2-1 5:24

    Always DK tutorials unless you can't search one of them for your destination. I have 40 or 50 for all over the world. Accurate, complete, simple to use once you learn the system. I never any other brand unless I have to.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Budapest []  2020-2-1 6:42

    I am in Budapest as I write this review and the Eyewitness Travel guidebook has been invaluable. Perfect job with accessing info about using public transportation, perfect easy-to-read maps. I followed the recommendation for the Boscolo Residence Hotel on Osvat Ut. and didn't regret it. Unbelievable apartment at reasonable price- amazing location, clean, in-unit clothes washer, ironing board, kitchen with stove and microwave, dishwasher, fully equipped. It has saved me so much to do my own breakfasts mornings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Budapest []  2020-2-1 6:42

    Of all the tutorial books this company provides the best images and detailed info for sightseeing. Sometimes I think they provide too much information. Sometimes excellence is more than you wish when you are planning your day or walking down the street. Rick Steves is a simpler more cook book style tutorial that is easier to use

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Sydney (Travel Guide) []  2020-2-1 7:9

    The print is TOO small. I am older and wear glasses but this was ridiculous. I ended up getting a on my IPad. The map was amazing if you plan in advance but there are better books. I am used to Rick Steves.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Sydney (Travel Guide) []  2020-2-1 7:9

    EXCELLENT

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Brittany (Travel Guide) []  2020-2-1 7:10

    Perfect tutorial to the zone with a succinct history, and detailed touring guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Ireland (Travel Guide) []  2020-7-5 19:13

    I bought this for my mom for her upcoming trip to Ireland and so far she loves it. She thinks it is giving her a ton of insight for a fresh traveler (she hasn't been outside of the states)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Ireland (Travel Guide) []  2020-7-5 19:13

    GATHER INFORMATION FOR A FUTURE TRIP I ALWAYS USE USE DK BOOKS

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Ireland (Travel Guide) []  2020-7-5 19:13

    Contenido adecuadoPapel de peor calidad que versiones anteriores

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide Denmark []  2020-7-3 19:23

    The standard of all of these DK tutorials remains the same, and they are excellent.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Norway []  2020-7-3 19:26

    Numbers of reviewers have praised this volume as the best tutorial to Norway. They must have never used it! My wife and I bougtht this volume (and several others) to prepare for a long-awaited two-week vacation in Norway. As always in every DK book, we found the illustrations attractive and certainly they whetted our desire to see any number of the sights that were described. Oslo and its environs are well-discussed but, sadly, there is small more of any depth and the book is almost worthless for traveling outside the capital region. Other locations obtain short shrift. Stavenger in the south and Tromso in the north, for instance, both obtain only 2 pages (out of almost 300); Trondheim, one of the most significant tourist attractions, gets but 4. (In contrast, the recently published Moon Norway devotes 15, 18, and 26 pages respectively to those three cities). For us, as we traveled, we soon found this volume tucked in our suitcase most of the time. If anyone wants depth over “prettiness,” just about any other tutorial book woud be any improvement.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Norway []  2020-7-3 19:26

    Were planning onb going this year, but our Iceland trip keeps becoming of longer duration. Our planning for this trip has the same problem with the fact we hold adding time to our stay. We will use it to plan for a trip next year.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Switzerland []  2020-7-6 19:41

    DK tutorials are the best travel guides. I've used others, but none are as simple to figure out, and as detailed. Amazing maps, lots of detail, amazing pictures, durable. I particularly like the detailed "neighborhood views" for locations with a lot of attractions. DK typically updates their tutorials every 2-4 years making them beautiful accurateSometimes the restaurant suggestions are a small out-of-date, but that occurs with anything topic to printing lags.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Switzerland []  2020-7-6 19:41

    This is a excellent handbook for travelling with an overview of cities, their history and facts, including sights not to miss. I now have a little library of DK books. It also helps me identify images of locations visited.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Slovenia []  2020-7-6 19:40

    Third trip to Slovenia, finally got this book. Compared to other guides, this is the best to have. Points out off-the-beaten-path towns and things to see that we had missed on previous years. Amazing city/town tutorials and maps.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Sardinia (Travel Guide) []  2020-7-6 19:43

    It is simply the best tutorial out there for Sardinia. There are few other guides. However, the eyewitness tutorial does an perfect job.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Sardinia (Travel Guide) []  2020-7-6 19:43

    Like all DK lovely pictures,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Morocco (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-17 20:56

    I ordered this book, because it was the most current. The book has amazing pictures, and lists a lot of cities, must see sights, lodging, eateries, and other information. You do have a reference to do more research. I would prefer more detail, and I am going to another book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Switzerland (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-17 20:59

    I love Eyewitness tutorials for solid, thorough info on what to see. Plenty of graphics--photos, drawings, and 3-D maps with walking tours--always support me plan my travel. I used the Switzerland tutorial to plan a short trip to Lucerne and Lausanne. It gave me perfect info to plan a walking tour of the historic districts of both cities. I never use Eyewitness tutorials as my sole source for planning a trip, but I couldn't plan a trip without them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Egypt (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-17 22:43

    Exactly what I expected

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Australia (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-17 23:53

    heading to Australia in April-these books are very helpful prior to travel

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Australia (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-17 23:53

    This tutorial was a bonus to a granddaughter but every other DK Eyewitness Travel Tutorial i've ever used has been first rate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DK Eyewitness Kenya (Travel Guide) []  2020-1-18 0:5

    Amazing info and pictures. Very impressed A small bit of everything’s from habitat to sayings. Amazing purchase

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386