Read do you believe reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all do you believe reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Do You Believe?: Big Questions About Religion []  2020-1-16 8:42

    As an atheist that believes religious literacy is crucial, I wanted a book for our younger kids that would give them a broad perspective of how various people worship (or don't) and the various roles faith play in this world. This book delivered that and method more. It was concise yet thorough, well laid out, and very readable and included not only religion but philosophy, spirituality, historical perspective, even a mention of science and evolution. Perfect book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Do You Believe?: Big Questions About Religion []  2020-1-16 8:42

    This is a valuable book: it has a lot of info and it is quite well done in its choice of subjects and the accuracy of the information, as far as I can tell. Unlike so a lot of reference and introductory books for children, the writers and editors appear either to be, or to have worked very closely with, topic matter experts. (And if not—hats off.)The difficulty is that the scattershot approach of the "encyclopedia/reference book spread" format means that the narratives that create up the background info about all religions are given very short shrift. In short, there's only so much info that can be conveyed in boxes and lists and tables and timelines. Sometimes you simply have to write long strings of connected paragraphs, or the story isn't told, the doctrine isn't explained, etc. That's the case sically, this book took the format about as far as it can go.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Do You Believe?: Big Questions About Religion []  2020-1-16 8:42

    This book is incredible. In a sensitive, comprehensive, entertaining, informative, and intellectually honest way, it covers the basics of the world's major religions and belief systems, and a lot of others. It also delves into philosophy and gives a nice treatment of nontheism, atheism, and agnosticism. We learned A LOT (Did you know devout Jains are vegan, and don't even eat root vegetables because digging them up could hurt insects?).One of the best features of the book is it addresses head-on those pesky questions thoughtful children are likely to ask, like "Why do poor things happen?" and "Can all religious be right?" and "What does God look like?". And it does it in a method that is accessible and respectful!You can't go wrong with this book! Highly recommended for kids, and really everybody.

    0  


    Add your opinion on do you believe or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Do You Believe?: Big Questions About Religion []  2020-1-16 8:42

    My son has read this book cover to cover more than once. He loves learning about other countries and cultures including religions. At the then age of 7, he decided he is a Humanist and Buddhist after reading the info about those ideals. I love how empowered he has felt since reading this book the first time. Very informative book! I learned about religions I’d not heard of before!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Do You Believe?: Big Questions About Religion []  2020-1-16 8:42

    I think this does a amazing job of outlining the major religions and giving an overview of social and historical context. Based upon the description, I expected more content on various philosophers, but there was very small - just single quotes scattered throughout. I also have problems with the method certain opinions are presented as facts. Most of the book clearly states that the various beliefs are just that... BELIEFS of certain people. But some sections, such as the "What IS God" page, have lines like " God is unlimited - far greater than anything humans can truly understand or describe." Lines like this obviously indicate the author's assumption that there is, in fact, a God. This goes versus several of the beliefs discussed in the book - such as Atheism, Agnosticism and even Buddhism. It's subtle, but it's definitely enough to influence young readers. I do still search it valuable, and I haven't found a better compilation of information for this age group, but there's room for improvement.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Do You Believe?: Big Questions About Religion []  2020-1-16 8:42

    I got this book when my 6 year old daughter came home from school talking about Jesus and God. I'd never talked to her about religion (I'm Atheist) and wanted to be able to talk to her about religion without letting my own (admittedly negative) views of it color the discussion. I read it all the method through before sharing it with her and wasn't 100% sure if she'd be old/mature enough for it, but felt comfortable to show it to her. We didn't read the book straight through, she just flipped through it and asked what certain pictures were about and what some of the paragraphs said. We mostly read about Christianity (what her other mom and grandma believe) and Islam (what her best mate believes) to hold the focus narrow enough. I also pointed out some interesting parts of the other religions. I don't know if she'll wish to read it again any time soon, but I know eventually she'll pull it out and ask questions.I like the method differences and similarities between the religions are shown with charts and pictures and even a couple comics. There's a section on "Hair do's and don'ts" and "Why do you wear that?". I thought these were amazing to have since the first method a lot of children encounter another religion is through distinctive hairstyles or clothes.I highly recommend this book, especially for children who have suddenly "discovered" religion or who have general questions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Do You Believe?: Big Questions About Religion []  2020-1-16 8:42

    If you are a secular parent looking for a kid's book that provides an overview of the most common religions, this one is only 'partially' ok: selected parts and pictures can be used to present primary aspects of certain religious practices; however, it is very biased, as explained. - The book almost exclusively presents positive aspects, practices and consequences of belief systems. The history of problems and dangers of religions are not included: the negative is only superficially mentioned and sugar coated in this book, from subtle justifications of detrimental religious practices to a brief "..why is everyone fighting". If you wish a kid to develop a balanced and factual understanding about religion, omitting necessary historical facts and failing to expose the negative side is surely not the method to do it.- The book asserts god exists. There is a chapter (What is god?) dedicated to the 'fact' that "...God is unlimited - far greater than anything humans can truly understand or describe". The contents also often presents the assumptions from each religion as 'truths', and not as what they are, assumptions.- It presents atheism and agnosticism as 'belief systems'. Requiring evidence to justify extraordinary claims is not a 'belief system', much less a religion. In fact, most religious individuals are atheists when it comes down to someone else's religions - except their own. This is a not good method to teach children about intellectual honesty and critical summary, although this book is an illustrated overview of different religions, it presents a biased and false rosy picture of the topic for children and adults.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Do You Believe?: Big Questions About Religion []  2020-1-16 8:42

    I am a teacher and college professor and am used to evaluating books in different various genre. Anything DK puts out seems to be of the highest quality, and this book is no different. I bought it to teach my grandchildren, but don't intend to do so until they begin asking me. That will probably be when they see the book lying somewhere in the living room. This book contains not only religious and philosophical information, but also touches on what we wear, what we eat (I'm vegetarian), why poor things happen to amazing people, and more. It does not condone any particular life style over another. I love this book for a number of reasons including being a spring board for educational discussions with the small people I love the most. It really is an perfect book for a number of various reasons.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Do You Believe?: Big Questions About Religion []  2020-1-16 8:42

    First allow me begin by tooting my own horn a little, because I think it adds merit to my review. I have 3 degrees (History, Religious Studies, and History Education), I teach social studies in (which we cover a lot of of these religions), and I am an atheist.I think this book is a amazing tool for kids, young adults, and even adults to learn some of the most primary and necessary aspects of different religions. It is essentially a child friendly coffee table book that is simple to consume (you could begin to any page and quickly search an interesting fact) and a fairly fast read if you chose to sit down and go from cover to is real that when it comes to religions very small is chop and dry/black and white, because when studying a lot of religions what is myth and what is historical can be hard to separate. Still, this book does a amazing job of representing a "birds eye view" of these religions without pandering or being overly bias.I think the best aspect of this book is that it is informative enough to use as a teaching tool to a student or the casually interested without overwhelming the reader with the grittiness of a detailed scholarly work. At the same time I hope it encourages readers to ask questions, begin conversations, and seek out more information.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    What Do You Believe?: Big Questions About Religion []  2020-1-16 8:42

    My kids have been really interested in religion since I explained to them that not everyone believes in Christianity. I wish to expose them to a lot of various beliefs and develop their own theories about their faith (or lack there of). My husband & I are atheists but encourage our kids to have begin minds & this was an amazing book to begin with. The book is very detailed, full of pictures and interesting enough for adults to read along too. Our children are aged 5-8.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Can You Believe It!? []  2020-1-17 2:34

    Hillsong Children has recently released a brand fresh DVD entitled, “Can You Believe It?”. The film is geared towards ages seven to fifteen years old. The DVD features a few melody videos to go along with Hillsong Children brand fresh album. The film includes Funny Man Dan which included two hosts who interviewed some of the unique singers who are in the melody videos. They also play a few fun android games to support children understand some of the concepts of Christ. They also included unique lyrics videos to some of the songs where listeners can sing along with. The DVD also included live in studio of the various songs where listeners can experience the song live and actual see the singers behind the vocals. The film is only about 30 minutes.I would recommend this DVD to anyone who enjoys Hillsong and they love their music. The vocals from the singers featured kids and teenagers where children can relate to them. The melody videos included children acting, singing, and dancing. I liked how the songs and melody videos was all child friendly and they displayed children enjoying their life and they appeared satisfied and filled with Christ’s love. I also liked how clear the video was and how bright they created the set to support capture children attention. They showed breathtaking nature scenes throughout the melody videos to present God’s creation and to support listeners to worship God. I think this DVD film would create a amazing bonus for kids and I could see it being used in a youth group setting to encourage our youth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Can You Believe It!? []  2020-1-17 2:35

    Hillsong Kids, Can You Believe it?, is a melody dvd that focuses on what we believe the Bible is about, What we believe God is Like, who is Jesus and why do we need him, living for God, Gods house and the church and the best is yet to come. The dvd includes a 26 min video presented by Funny Man Dan that goes over these six points. It also includes melody videos of four of the songs, melody videos live from the studio with the bands preforming the songs as well as lyric videos to sing along with. This is Hillsong Children seventh album and includes 14 songs, nine of those fresh original songs and five classic worship is is a amazing dvd to use with kids in a classroom setting to support them learn praise and worship songs that teach them about God and Jesus. The songs are uplifting and fun to listen is appears also to come in a cd format. For me that would have been a better choice as this dvd did not automatically run so I had to hold the videos playing for my grandson, who enjoyed it. However, for a classroom setting, this is preferred to learn the songs.I would highly recommend this dvd for anyone who works with school age children.I received a copy of this dvd from Capital Christian Melody Group. This is my honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Believe In You []  2020-6-12 18:22

    I loved how this story flowed. From page one until its ending, it was an intense must finish feeling. Brianna and Jessica had such commanding chemistry. You couldn’t support but root for them and that is what created this story exciting. I love Chloe Peterson’s writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Believe In You []  2020-6-12 18:22

    It was a well written and interesting novel but it just ended, it feels like the latest few chapters were chop somewhere. There is an HEA and there was a amazing plot but things were not really tied up unless there is another novel in the works.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Believe In You []  2020-6-12 18:22

    The author rendition of behind the screens of Hollywood. An actress who now has multiple scars is asked to come back after a five year hiatus and shows her audience that she does have a backbone. Enjoy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Can You Believe It!? []  2020-1-17 2:34

    CD case was cracked and CD skips

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Can You Believe It!? []  2020-1-17 2:34

    This Hillsong Children DVD is a mixture of music, interviews, teaching moments and humor. Meant to explain the notice of the Bible and the importance of church, subjects included are the Bible, Church, living for God, and your need for a Savior. The material seems suitable for elementary school kids (7 - 11 years old). Of course, the melody is unbelievable for all age groups. I preferred the more well-known songs like "Oceans" and "What A Attractive Name," but there were others that were enjoyable. I'm not a fan of some of the more upbeat pop type that would be more appealing to a child... but this is meant to be for be honest, I would have loved this as a CD or even if it had a 'Music Only' option on the DVD. Some parts of the adult interactions simply did not work for me, and the more teachable moments, while good, are not something I would listen to repeatedly. For a classroom setting, this is great, but I can't imagine wanting to hear the entire DVD frequently. Overall perfect material but not something I would watch often. The kids in my life are all preschoolers and they lost interest whenever the melody stopped also. So, definitely consider the age of the kid when purchasing this product.Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): A lot of thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Believe In You []  2020-6-12 18:22

    Unbelievable story of love and support. Brianna truly believe d in Jessica and helped her through a few emotional moments. A sweet and tender mate to lovers take. Short but packed with feeling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Can You Believe It!? []  2020-1-17 2:34

    My church junior Pastor Pals class loves this cd

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Can You Believe It!? []  2020-1-17 2:34

    The melody and videos appear to be aimed at elementary through high school aged kids. I had originally thought to use it with my Sunday School class and while the songs are amazing for that, the videos are a small old for my pre-school and ere are melody videos for some of the songs, song videos with lyrics displayed in eye-catching fashion, and live studio videos. In addition to these, there are a few videos with Funny Man Dan (FMD) which are silly, but not crack up and laugh out loud (at least not to this adult!) The focus of the FMD segments are teaching some truths about God in a fun way.While the videos feature children who appear to be in the eight to thirteen age group, the musicians look to be adults and high-schoolers with a backup chorus of younger teens. In listening to the songs, I can't tell that the singers are not adults except in certain locations where the younger voices stand out a small e quality of them melody and videos on the DVD are exactly what you would expect from Hillsong, excellent. Some of the songs are familiar to me and some are new. All are catchy and worshipful. Some of the songs are ones that are part of the adult Hillsong worship collections, others appear to be written specifically for children.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Believe In You []  2020-6-12 18:22

    An outcast film star and her fresh agent search each other and eventually even search a method to communicate their feelings. An entertaining and fast read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Believe In You []  2020-6-12 18:22

    Actress Jessica is rather a wounded soul who has not created a movie in five years after a vehicle accident with her co-star, but her best friend, Maggie, is determined to change that and has landed her a fresh role. She sends Brianna, as her fresh agent, who is not only amazing at her job, but is a very compassionate young woman. Almost everyone on the fresh set is welcoming to Jessica.I loved the unconditional belief, acceptance and help given by Brianna and the spontaneous and infectious friendships from her co-star Ryan and small Jack. As a matter of fact, I'd like to adopt Jack. He's just a bundle of love!Although the story was so enjoyable and well-written, I felt it ended too quickly. I feel like Jess and Bri are just getting together and their story is still to come!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Believe In You []  2020-6-12 18:22

    Ms. Peterson’s book is uplifting and endearing. Jessica is a wounded soul needing a loving push to give her the confidence she needs to live her life. The belief & faith Brianna has in Jessica is admirable and beautiful. I enjoyed reading this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Can You Believe It!? []  2020-1-17 2:34

    Everything

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Can You Believe It!? []  2020-1-17 2:34

    This is a really fun DVD that brings worship to life for children. You'll recognize a lot of these songs as favorite Hillsong worship songs. They are geared toward children, though, and it encourages them to sing along and obtain to know the Lord through the words of these worship a rule, I really don't have fun hearing kids CD's or DVD's but this DVD is so well done and I found myself singing along while watching. The kids really do a attractive job and there is definitely a feeling of worship from them. My favorite song from Hillsong right now is Oceans (Where Feet May Fail) and they do such a lovely job of singing is would be a unbelievable bonus for any kid or grandchild. Excellent stocking-stuffer! You could pop this into the DVD player at any time while your kid is cleaning or as a fun time with your kid and their friends. I think it would also be amazing for the children's church situation or in any group setting.I really enjoyed this DVD and I love that it encourages kids to worship God! It would be amazing for any child. I give it 5 out of 5 stars.*Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): A lot of thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did keep a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Will You Believe []  2020-6-29 19:59

    Well, I must say, for a composer who is climbing slowly but surley, Adrian delivers. For those long trips on the lonley Highway, well, I recomend this CD. Your imagination along with Adrian's melody will create the drive one to remember.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Can You Believe It!? []  2020-1-17 2:34

    “Can You Believe It!? - Songs of Truth” is both a question and a challenge... a statement of gratitude to a loving God and an invitation to discover the very foundations of faith.  This is Hillsong Kid's seventh album containing 14 songs.  There are nine completely fresh original songs and five classical worship songs like "Oceans" and "What a Attractive Name" so even you will be singing along while your kids watch.Each song has a lyric video so that your children can sing along and there are four melody videos for selected songs featuring the musicians from Hillsong Young and Free, too.  Plus, there's 25 mins of fun with Funny Man Dan (FMD) presents "Can You Believe It!?" live in the studio with Dave where they have lots of good, clean Christian entertainment for your kids.  There are jokes, interviews, and lot of behind the scenes info about the ics discussed are the Bible, God, separation and a Savior, living for God, God's house and the church, and the best is yet to come.  The truth of the Gospel is explained and the notice of the Bible is given so your children can understand in a entertaining y thanks to Capitol Christian Melody Group and Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing me a copy of this DVD in exchange for an honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Can You Believe It!? []  2020-1-17 2:34

    MY THOUGHTS ON THIS DVDAgain, Hillsong does what it does best, creates a DVD geared especially for children around 8-15 years of age. I love that “Can You Believe It” it for this age group because so often it seems this age doesn’t obtain the attention they should. This DVD is wonderful. Funny Man Dan was a focus on the video that created sure the children would have fun everything about the video. The songs were beautiful, some I knew well, some I didn’t know but enjoyed listening to, as well as listening to the interviews of those singing the e main focus of this DVD is to teach children about Jesus, using special ways to teach, such as android games and the songs. And everything is upbeat, to capture the children attention! And even adults can have fun this DVD with your child, and certainly the songs can be enjoyed by everyone.I also went to the Hillsong www service and they have a wealth of info about this fresh DVD, so I highly recommend that you check out the information. And this would create an perfect Christmas gift! I have a 9 year old niece that will be enjoying “Can You Believe It” when she comes to visit!Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did keep a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Believe In You []  2020-6-12 18:22

    Jessica and Brianna were so amazing together and such a unbelievable couple once they finally got together in the latest four chapters of this story. This book gave Jessica's two bullies method too much time and power in making her life miserable. Jessica was so sweet and kind and she didn't deserved what happened to her life and career because of a accident and two bullies. Jessica and Brianna deserved a true love story and romance without letting the bullies steal their joy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Believe In You []  2020-6-12 18:22

    Jessica's return to the screen was accomplished by the fresh people around, led by Brianna. The movement of time in the book was helpful, not getting bogged down in the 'day-to-day' of movie making. The love building between Jessica and Brianna was effectively written and progressed well from their initial meeting. Jessica's handling of the press was spot on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Believe In You []  2020-6-12 18:22

    Jake - what a cutie. Ryan was a amazing guy. Maggie was a saint. Enjoyed & loved the relationship with Jess and llian needs to be taken out back, along with the guy whose name I forgot, and be horse whipped!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do You Believe in Magic?: The Sense and Nonsense of Alternative Medicine []  2020-9-28 18:24

    Dr. Offit spoke volumes and these few pages. I’ve long been frustrated by the alternative medicine movements for the very reasons he described in this book. A close relative of mine was obscenely bilked by naturopaths as she desperately fought terminal cancer, so I have problem being objective with the alternative medicine community. This was an perfect read showing the research why some things work, why some don’t, and how to avoid being taken by a

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do Pets Go To Heaven? Now there's biblical proof you can believe in (revised and expanded) []  2020-11-30 20:22

    This book gives hope to see our babies in heaven..loved it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crazy Stuff Dictators Do: Insane But True Stories You Won't Believe Actually Happened []  2020-12-6 21:5

    Back in the days when I went to high school, history had been my best subject; I had a 93 average for all of the history classes I took. I went to high school in NYCity from the 10th to the 12th grades.While the teachers did cover the historical periods' main points they taught us, they didn't delve into the amazingly fascinating stuff that the author of this book, Bill O'Neill, has investigated for his 's enough that when we think about dictators, we usually look at their dictatorial behavior as being cruel and inhuman, and their reasoning for doing the things they did at times illogical; it doesn't start to cover any of the outrageously bizarre things they did during their lives.Women like Imelda Marcos would love having a husband like Marcos, who loved making sure she always had enough designer shoes while not caring about raising his people out of poverty. Interestingly, Marcos didn't control his country through any coup like other dictators usually do; he got elected in reality. Yet, he did plunder this country and its inhabitants to a despicable me of the dictators Mr. O'Neill covers in his fascinatingly enlightening book had been looked at favorably because of their political stance versus Communism, and others with hatred regarding how they treat their r having his readers, an incisive look at some of the world's most notorious dictators they'd never had would have known; otherwise, I've given Mr. O'Neill 5 STARS for his endeavor here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crazy Stuff Dictators Do: Insane But True Stories You Won't Believe Actually Happened []  2020-12-6 21:5

    t's enough that when we think about dictators, we usually look at their dictatorial behavior as being cruel and inhuman, and their reasoning for doing the things they did at times illogical; it doesn't start to cover any of the outrageously bizarre things they did during their lives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do You Believe in Magic?: The Sense and Nonsense of Alternative Medicine []  2020-9-28 18:24

    This is a well doented book. The bibliography is as long as the text of the book. It goes through the history of snake oil past and present, attempting to explain why and how human beings are tricked into giving away their cash and their health. He rightly explains that complimentary and alternative medicine is nothing more than unproven and wishful medicine. As soon as scientific studies are done it becomes part of mainstream medicine if it works, or should be discarded as garbage if it does not work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do You Believe in Magic?: The Sense and Nonsense of Alternative Medicine []  2020-9-28 18:24

    Score another for science over superstition and pseudo science. This is a clearly written, well-researched book that gives us some straight talk on certain spurious health claims. It focuses mostly on the science behind supplements (which is not much science at all). People rail versus the huge pharmaceutical companies while unaware of how claims about supplements are often dead wrong, and in a lot of cases criminally misleading. Your tap water is more highly regulated than the vitamins you buy. This book reveals a vast corporate empire-not around pharmaceuticals, which are, ironically, highly regulated and subjected to rigorous scientific testing, and describes the political machinations of the nutritional industry to hold us from learning that-in the case of most supplements-the emperor has NO clothes. The truth is beautiful clear but the supplement industry does not wish you to know it. Read this book to search out how and why

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do You Believe in Magic?: The Sense and Nonsense of Alternative Medicine []  2020-9-28 18:24

    Recovering from a tick-borne illness for the latest two years. This is the most necessary book I have ever read, and I have read an embarrassing number of books in my lifetime.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do You Believe in Magic?: The Sense and Nonsense of Alternative Medicine []  2020-9-28 18:24

    Mostly what’s right with alternative medicine is the placebo result or that they work as well as placebo and as long as it doesn’t cost you a lot of cash or makes you ignore medications or procedures that would support you better then they have a use for minor ailments although they would probably fix themselves in the long run but if the placebo result can support you through then that’s OK

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do Pets Go To Heaven? Now there's biblical proof you can believe in (revised and expanded) []  2020-11-30 20:22

    I really wanted to appreciate this book. I only got through the first two paragraphs and scanned through the rest of the book. Although I am highly spiritual, this book seemed to preach far too much and too much bible talk. Just not for me. Sorry.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do Pets Go To Heaven? Now there's biblical proof you can believe in (revised and expanded) []  2020-11-30 20:22

    Putting my 17 year old girl to sleep today. I read this book, and I couldn't support but stop crying and begin praising God.Out of all books about losing pets, buy this one. He does a WONDERFUL job of listing Bible verses and also showing the Hebrew words to be more clear.Did you know the SAME word to describe a human soul is the same word to describe an animal soul (in Hebrew)? Yep, I double checked, it is true. How amazing!!! We will for SURE see our pets again :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crazy Stuff Dictators Do: Insane But True Stories You Won't Believe Actually Happened []  2020-12-6 21:5

    Author Bill O’Neill has authored a lot of books on Trivia and stands as somewhat of an expert in this field! His subjects contain movies, football, baseball, wars, rock music, simply random trivia facts and US States. Now with a nod to providing interesting reading material while passing the time at home, Bill offers a plethora of stories that provide not only entertaining but also so educational subjects – the actions of some of the world’s dictators! Excellent timing for this book…(wink!)Providing an overview of the subjects of interest in this book, Bill outlines his content in the Introduction – ‘In this book you’ll read about some of the world’s most notorious dictators, most of whom you’ve probably heard of before or even know a small bit about, but not in the method we’re going to look at them. All of these dictators were poor and a lot of would say evil, but they also did some truly crazy things…and in most cases, the crazy items done by these dictators led to their demise. All of our dictators are from what is considered the “modern” period of globe history (post 1600)…we’ve narrowed our list down to ones who were notorious AND did some truly crazy sh*t that had some long-lasting and usually negative effects…Soviet dictators Joseph Stalin and Nikita Khrushchev both came up with outlandish ideas about their country’s agricultural tacking Russia also seemed like a amazing idea to dictators Napoleon and Hitler, but the attempts were major factors in both of their downfalls. Someone should have sent both men the memo it’d been tried before, and failed miserably!’Bill accompanies his crazy wild tales with fine drawings of the dictators surveyed and stars his survey with the comment: ’If there’s one thing that all of the dictators in this book have in common; it is grandiosity and hubris that can’t be contained (sound familiar…?). The stories contain the acts of Pol Pot, Pinochet, Idi Amin, Stalin, Kim Jong-Un, Gaddafi, Juan Perón, Robespierre, Castro, Mussolini, Khomeni, Franco, Ferdinand Marcos, Mao Zedong, and more. Each dictator is outlined in history, his crazy deeds underlined, and a series of perfect ‘Did you know? questions create each zany tale a fine lesson in t only is the book entertaining – it is also very instructive. For those familiar with Bill O’Neill’s talent for tickling the brain, this book is a must read – one of his best. For those who are simply looking for solid entertaining reading to while away the hours, welcome to the field expert! Highly recommended – especially during these times… Grady Harp, November 20

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crazy Stuff Dictators Do: Insane But True Stories You Won't Believe Actually Happened []  2020-12-6 21:5

    When this topic came out, I wasn't sure if it would be as entertaining as this author's previous books , but I was wrong. Very enjoyable. I've read other books on this topic and that have took themselves method too serious , but Bill keeps the topic matter lite and entertaining and his does it. with every book. Looking forward to the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do You Believe in Magic?: The Sense and Nonsense of Alternative Medicine []  2020-9-28 18:24

    Alternative medicine happens at the hinge of distrust and wishful thinking. There are amazing reasons to distrust parts of the scientific establishment; the corporate manipulation of research in tobacco, climate change and sugar, or the misrepresentation of clinical trials by the perennially enigmatic pharmaceutical industry, have created this even easier. Add to this how the aloof, impatient attitude of physicians contrasts with the charming and candid alternative healers, offering all forms of natural remedies that feel right, and you have a troubling brew.Homeopaths, ayurvedic healers, TV doctors and even Nobel Prize winners often go the method of promoting alternative medicine. The issue is, as Offit remarks, "There’s only medicine that works and medicine that doesn’t" (p. 6).The misplaced trust in alternative medicine is not difficult to understand, and it blossoms in an age of scientific malpractice and mass media. What is surprising is that the harms it causes, besides wasting resources, are as serious as they are unknown: acupuncture treatments that cause sepsis, expensive and unnecessary vitamin supplements that increase the risk of cancer, the delay of proper treatment until is too late, a narrow understanding of the placebo effect, and the decline of vaccination rates from fear-mongering are all tragedies with alternative medicine written all over. The measles outbreak in Minnesota in 2017, after anti-vaxxers targeted distrustful Somali-American families, or the drop in the uptake of the HPV vaccine in Japan from 70% to 0% are only two manifestations of this it does a unbelievable job explaining and describing alternative medicine -and the people who [email protected]#$%!. He describes eloquently how a regulatory gap in the US, born from an unruly coincidence of interests between a Republican and a Democrat, pumped air into the lungs of so a lot of charlatans. In telling the story of Linus Pauling, he shows how a brilliant mind can go awry and set the globe on a crazy equilibrium intake of vitamin C, summarizing that the vitamin craze has a stark conclusion: "Of the 51,000 fresh supplements on the market, four might be of benefit for otherwise healthy people: omega-3 fatty acids to prevent heart disease, calcium and vitamin D in postmenopausal women to prevent bone thinning, and folic acid during pregnancy to prevent birth defects" (p. 103).Also, Offit has no hope for departments of alternative medicine, which he sees as dangerous: "Encouragement of scientific illiteracy— or, beyond that, scientific denialism— can have a corrosive result on patients’ perceptions of disease, leaving them susceptible to the worst kinds of quackery." (p. 252)Dishonest, risky peddlers of alternative medicine will only scurry away with the arrival of informed consumers. Unfortunately, healthcare is the epitome asymmetric market, so this will never happen; there will always be room to fool some people all of the time. Offit's respond is an unrelenting demand for science: "[…] we need to focus on the quality of scientific studies. And where scientific studies don’t exist, we should insist that they be performed. If not, we’ll continue to be deceived by therapies whose claims are fanciful" (p. 256).Informative book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do Pets Go To Heaven? Now there's biblical proof you can believe in (revised and expanded) []  2020-11-30 20:22

    I thought the reading was good, over all, even created me weep in the first two chapters. But than there were parts in the book that I felt were totally inappropriate! Why talk about losing ones salvation to someone who is obviously mourning their pet?? I felt the author was being very callous in giving his obvious denominations perspective. The author than again and again does this towards the latest chapters. All I required was the assurance my pet is in heaven and it was a amazing idea to give out the plan of salvation, but than he goes past that. By the method I am a born again believer and believe in the total and complete salvation of a person through the Grace of God and in his beloved Son Jesus Christ who did it all for us.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do Pets Go To Heaven? Now there's biblical proof you can believe in (revised and expanded) []  2020-11-30 20:22

    A amazing book that I would recommend to everyone to purchase to read as soon as they have the time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do Pets Go To Heaven? Now there's biblical proof you can believe in (revised and expanded) []  2020-11-30 20:22

    Loved it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crazy Stuff Dictators Do: Insane But True Stories You Won't Believe Actually Happened []  2020-12-6 21:5

    I found the book quite entertaining, and depressing. Depressing because these people are/were real, and not some made-up character. There are several people discussed, from Mao to Amin, to Hitler, and a lot of others. Most of the people discussed are from the 19th or 20th century, and recent. I like the layout of the book, in that you are introduced to the person, and there is a "did you know" section afterwards, that gives more facts about the person. Overall, if you wish to read about the darker side of human leadership, control, and destruction, this is the book for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crazy Stuff Dictators Do: Insane But True Stories You Won't Believe Actually Happened []  2020-12-6 21:5

    This book is the most fascinating book of trivia. There are so a lot of things and questions answered in a way, in this book. It is a fun read and a amazing method to obtain to know history's unpublished stuff. You will love it if History buff or just curiosity seeking. I love this book and I recommend it to everyone. The author does a amazing job on these out of the method facts. Hold the trivia coming. Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do Pets Go To Heaven? Now there's biblical proof you can believe in (revised and expanded) []  2020-11-30 20:22

    This book is very close to my heart due to the fact I lost my dog Prince several weeks previously ! It was a genetic defect in the Maltese line , ( Meningitis ) that caused my dog prince to die at only 5 years old it really sucked ! He was misdiagnosed and they thought it was due to herniated discs small did I know the true culprit ! In any case since I'm a christian and the author is quoting from scripture I will differentlysee Prince again with out the pain we all shared !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do Pets Go To Heaven? Now there's biblical proof you can believe in (revised and expanded) []  2020-11-30 20:22

    A couple weeks ago, my 13 yr. old yellow lab, Bristol, passed away in my arms. She had been with me during the worst and best times of my life. She saved my life. I am still not over losing her, but I read multiple books about dogs/pets going to Heaven. This book gave me such a sense of peace about it. I have NO DOUBT now that I will be reunited with my baby in Heaven. I gave this book 5 stars because that's the most it will allow me give. A MUST READ FOR ANYONE WHO HAS JUST LOST THEIR BEST FRIEND.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do Pets Go To Heaven? Now there's biblical proof you can believe in (revised and expanded) []  2020-11-30 20:22

    Amazing book. Really helped me a lot. Amazing seller, arrived very quickly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do You Believe in Magic?: The Sense and Nonsense of Alternative Medicine []  2020-9-28 18:24

    Of course you can't just take an herbal supplement like Ginko Baloba and then ear KFC and McDonald's 5x a a week and expect to obtain better. Your meal is your medicine. Second comes supplements...smh commom sense M.D.s don't like alternative medicine .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do You Believe in Magic?: The Sense and Nonsense of Alternative Medicine []  2020-9-28 18:24

    I am on page 32 and oh my...what a unbelievable book...I'm underlining, asterisking, and commenting in the margins as there is so much I wish to remember. Offit has a method with words but mostly he offers valuable info and insight in an simple to understand manner. This is a very smart doctor, and having viewed some of his videos on virology, I can attest to his brilliance I the field, but although he has allowed his brilliance to shine, he has created his work understandable to us lay folks. I have purchased several other books by Dr. Offit and I can't wait!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do You Believe in Magic?: The Sense and Nonsense of Alternative Medicine []  2020-9-28 18:24

    This is one of the best books I've ever read. Brilliantly written, well-researched, and heartbreaking. If I had the time, I would take a stack of these books and stand in front of the vitamin section at my local pharmacy, demanding people read this before they buy snake oil.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crazy Stuff Dictators Do: Insane But True Stories You Won't Believe Actually Happened []  2020-12-6 21:5

    This is an perfect book about some of the craziest things and some of the evil things that some dictators have done throughout history. Some of the interesting examples that the author of the book mentions in this book contains the following: Hitler's brash decision to invade the Soviet Union was one of the major factors in Hitler's demise. Hitler felt that the USSR and Stalin stood in the method of Hitler's believed to be utopia. Hitler created perhaps the most foolish decision of his life when he ordered the invasion of the Soviet Union. Ultimately, it was what brought down Hitler's regime. Francisco Franco's decrees kept women out of a lot of professions, outlawed their political activities, right to vote, and even limited their abilities to have bank accounts. A lot of pregnant women had their newborns taken away from them. Divorce wasn't an option for women in Spain until the end of Franco's regime. Franco's beliefs and activities set Spain back decades behind the rest of Europe. I recommend this book for people who wish to learn more about some of the crazy actions and foolish actions of some dictators that have existed throughout history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crazy Stuff Dictators Do: Insane But True Stories You Won't Believe Actually Happened []  2020-12-6 21:5

    The book is well organized telking how dictators mostly keep their power. They do it by licking up and killing off the opposition!! Reading about the latter got uncomfortable particularly with the holidays coming up and living with the threat of covid-19 that apoears to be killing 2 to 3% of the exposed population within the U.S. and more so in other countries. Maybe the mystery if the Covid-19 can be added to Bill's fresh book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crazy Stuff Dictators Do: Insane But True Stories You Won't Believe Actually Happened []  2020-12-6 21:5

    Having majored in History in college, I was somewhat familiar with some of the horrendous antics implemented by some of the maniacal dictators in Mr. O'Neill's recent book. However as always, his piercing research revealed a lot of info that was previously unknown to me. I applaud his efforts of being wrap up this info into a nice, neat bundle. Look forward to the next one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do You Believe in Magic?: The Sense and Nonsense of Alternative Medicine []  2020-9-28 18:24

    Amazing read if you've been confused about all the hype concerning taking multiple supplements. This comes from a doctor, who isn't selling snake oil and has no ax to grind but just wants to allow the public know how much cash is being flushed down the toilet in our quest to live forever in virtual youthfulness. Obtain educated and begin saving your money. If some of these "natural" supplements really worked, don't you think Huge Pharma would have jumped on it by now????

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do Pets Go To Heaven? Now there's biblical proof you can believe in (revised and expanded) []  2020-11-30 20:22

    It brought me amazing comfort after just losing my 13 year old beloved pet. I know I will see her again someday.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crazy Stuff Dictators Do: Insane But True Stories You Won't Believe Actually Happened []  2020-12-6 21:5

    I truly enjoyed the method Bill wrote this book, and I look forward to more. The info was concise, written in an simple to read format, and flowed nicely even from chapter to chapter. I look forward to reading more of Bill’s books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Si lo crees, lo creas [If You Believe, You Believe] []  2020-1-19 22:24

    Excelente libro.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Si lo crees, lo creas [If You Believe, You Believe] []  2020-1-19 22:24

    Perfect

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Si lo crees, lo creas [If You Believe, You Believe] []  2020-1-19 22:24

    Lo mejor que he leído este año 2019. Perfecto para hacer auto análisis

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Si lo crees, lo creas [If You Believe, You Believe] []  2020-1-19 22:24

    Excelente

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Si lo crees, lo creas [If You Believe, You Believe] []  2020-1-19 22:24

    I love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Si lo crees, lo creas [If You Believe, You Believe] []  2020-1-19 22:24

    Berry intresting audio book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I'd Rather Believe In You []  2020-12-6 21:22

    Love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    I'd Rather Believe In You []  2020-12-6 21:22

    Melody for the Soul. This is classic "Imperials" music. I first heard of the group in the early 80's listening to KYMS (Radio with Love) in Southern California. I picked up this MP3 single to complete my collection of Imperials music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    After You Believe: Why Christian Character Matters []  2020-2-1 15:44

    A more appropriate title for "After You Believe" would be "Spiritual Formation/Discipleship Teachings of Dallas Willard Restated." I didn't search anything fresh or various here, or as well presented as Willard did it for a long time in books and garding NTW's 'new heaven and fresh earth' and the hope of 'life after life-after-death': A spiritual body in a spiritual heaven is amazing enough for me. I don't expect to be there (in the Most Holy Place) longing for a physical add-on. Of course, if that's what God wants to do, I'm all for it. I would point out, though, that when a nation is conquered and destroyed by a foreign army, the Bible will regularly portray this tragedy in the highly figurative apocalyptic language of the destruction of heaven and earth. The fall of Babylon (Isaiah 13:9-13), Israel (Jeremiah 4:23-26), Egypt (Ezekiel 32:7-9) and Edom (Isaiah 34:4-5) in the sixth century B.C. are all depicted together with the destruction of heaven and earth.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    After You Believe: Why Christian Character Matters []  2020-2-1 15:44

    I don't argue with Wright's point. It's well argued and theologically sound. But the book is badly structured, the argument wanders, and it seems like Wright is in love with the sound (or in this instance, sight) of his own voice. He could have said the same thing more effectively using half the pages.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If You Believe In Having [Explicit] []  2020-12-3 20:56

    Sounds Great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Believe []  2020-1-18 23:44

    There are several tracks on this CD which didn't create it on the Decade CD's. In particular, I think this is the only put you can search "Sailing" which is a unbelievable track. I have fun every track on this CD. It is like a subset of the "best of's".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    After You Believe: Why Christian Character Matters []  2020-2-1 15:44

    What happens after you believe?Since the beginning, there have been two, great, warring factions within Christendom seeking to respond that demands obedience to a list of rules: e other claims that grace makes all rule-following null and void: lawlessness.And then there is a middle road: the via is isn't the easiest path to take. It's effortless to simply run off into the ditch of legalism or would be easier for me to hand out a list of rules when someone comes to faith in Christ: "Do pray, do read your Bibles, do come to church when the doors are open. Don't drink, don't smoke, don't chew. And don't date folks who do. Follow these rules and you'll be A-Okay!"Or, it would be just as simple to tell those who come to faith: "You're saved and nothing will change that. Even if you completely quit believing in God or become a mass murderer - don't worry. It's all under the blood."It's easier to maintain the extremes. That's why they're so popular. Unfortunately, neither of the extremes are real - or what is?N.T. Wright paints a picture of the middle method between legalism and lawlessness in his book, After You Believe: Why Christian Hero Matters. Wright notes the two extremes we've already mentioned and he's upfront throughout that he points to a middle the very first chapter, he observes that "many Christians have so emphasized the need for conversion...that they have a huge gap in their vision of what being a Christian is all about." I couldn't agree more with this sentiment if I o a lot of Christians - especially in revival traditions - view the ultimate moment of the Christian life as the moment they first bowed their knee to Christ. But this is like watching baseball and getting all excited - shouting until you're hoarse - the first time your squad gets a hit. Hitting the ball is great. But if he's out before he gets to first put - or really, if he's out before he gets home - then all of the excitement and joy is e ultimate moment of the Christian life isn't the first moment we bow our knee. It's the latest breath we take, in union with Christ. It's the moment we cross 'home plate'.And yet, for most of us, there's a large gap between that first bowed knee and that latest breath in Christ. What happens in that time? What should be taking place?Legalism says that this time is taken up with keeping all of the right rules (though most legalists can't even agree on which rules are the 'right' rules).Lawlessness says that this time is taken up with waiting for heaven and, perhaps, telling others about God's amazing grace.But is that it? Are those our only tasks on this earth between conversion and death?God didn't make us merely to follow rules. Neither did he create us to simply have fun his gifts. When God formed Adam, he gave him a job."Be fruitful and multiply, and fill the earth, and subdue it..." (Genesis 1:28).God made man as a Wright writes, "God placed Human in the garden to reflect his photo into the fresh globe he was making - that is, to be the means, show and visible, whereby his own care of the garden and the animals would become a reality" (pg 75). This royal-priestly role for man is found scattered throughout the scriptures - in both Old and Fresh r example, when God delivers Israel from Egyptian bondage, he tells them, "you shall be to Me a kingdom of priests and a holy nation" (Exodus 19:6). Later, Peter picks this verse up and applies it to the Church (1 Peter 2:9). And Revelation tells us the same thing: "He has created us to be a kingdom, priests to His God and Father" (Revelation 1:6).So, to be human means something. It means being made in the photo of God, and with a particular task. And ultimately, that's what Christ is redeeming us sus' didn't die just so we could go to 'heaven'. He died so that we, as human being, could be what God is is why Paul writes, "But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same photo from glory to glory, just as from the Lord, the Spirit. Therefore, since we have this ministry..." (2 Corinthians 4:1).God has restored our capacity to photo him rightly. And he has given us a ministry - a service - a task: the role of royal-priest.A fast aside: I probably should have mentioned this sooner but this book is not filled with 284 pages of practical hints on growing in virtue or holiness. Wright penned this book to lay a theological foundation for understanding why we should wish to grow in virtue and holiness in the first place. So if you come to it looking for practical advice, you won't obtain much. The latest chapter is the only put in the book that deals heavily with practice. But that doesn't mean this book isn't worth reading. It is. If you closely follow the argument that Wright constructs, your understanding of the why will be deepened. And as the why is deepened, your desire for the what will grow as well."God's future is arriving in the present, in the person and work of Jesus, and you can practice, right now, the habits of life which will search their goal in that coming future" (page 103). This is the heart of Wright's thesis. And I don't know about you, but it excites sus has inaugurated the Kingdom. And he's calling all people, everywhere, to enter and live in it today. But how do we become Christ-focused people? Without Christ, we're hopelessly lost in pride and idolatry. And going to an altar - bowing my knee for the first time - doesn't excellent me. Old habits need killing. Unhealthy desires need eliminating. And attitudes that used to be acceptable are not any longer.We need to learn the language and culture of our fresh nation: the Kingdom of God.If Wright uses the first half of the book to explain what we're called to, he spends the second half of the book discussing how we live into that these chapters, he examines Paul's understanding of the spiritual-transformation created possible through Jesus' death and resurrection. He sums up a lot of of the ideas here when he compares cultivating the fruit of the Spirit to gardening."The key is this: the 'fruit of the Spirit' does not grow automatically...Oh, there may well be powerful and sudden initial signs that fruit is on the way...But this doesn't mean it's all downhill from there. These are the blossoms: to obtain the fruit you have to learn to be a gardener. You have to explore how to tend and prune, how to irrigate the fields, how to hold birds and squirrels away. You have to watch for blight and mold, chop away ivy and other parasites that suck the life out of the tree, and create sure the young trunk can stand firm in powerful wings. Only then will the fruit appear" (page 195-196).Throughout these latter chapters, he highlights the importance of the three Christian virtues (faith, hope, and love), the fruit of the Spirit, and the necessity of unity within the body. These create up the Kingdom of God's basic language and culture. Our life on this earth - between now and eternity - consists of growing in these own description of the Church as a 'laboratory of love' fits nicely with the method Wright describes the Church in these chapters. We learn Kingdom-culture there. And we practice the things that we will spend an eternity engaged in.Wright also stresses the twin foci of worship and mission. We need to return to these again and again because we tend to move to one extreme or the other.Wright ends the book with a chapter entitled, 'The Virtuous Circle'. Here, he delineates the five activities that he believes will contribute to our growth in Christian virtue and e five contain scripture, stories, examples, community, and is chapter is helpful and provides a required practical viewpoint. However, the scripture/stories/examples all sort of flowed into one another. A lot of of the stories he mentions are stories from scripture. Though he does stress the value in other stories as well - including those that have no Christian background. I tend to agree with him here (though I can imagine others wouldn't). I would also contain the telling of testimonies in this category though Wright doesn't explicitly mention that.Wright's focus on the community of faith is a important prescription for the anti-establishment movement that has swept so a lot of people into thinking they can live as Christians alone. The issue isn't 'church'. The issue is that too a lot of churches aren't acting like churches.Wright makes a valuable statement about what church should be here: "a community that is practicing the arts of being a royal priesthood, a working and worshipping fellowship for whom faith, hope, and love are being learned and exercised in the service of God's kingdom" (page 275). If Christians would all catch a vision like that (and then live into it), people would be clamoring to join in what God is his section on practices, Wright notes the primary activities of the Christian life: communion, baptism, prayer, giving, and the reading of scripture. Amen and amen. I can't say more on that ere may have been a few things I disagreed with as I read but they were incidental to the main thrust of After You Believe (for example, replacing 'man' with 'human' in a lot of scripture references; nothing wrong with it, it just sounds weird).A month or so ago, I finished reading Matthew Bates's Salvation by Allegiance Alone. After You Believe is a amazing follow-up to that book since a lot of of the threads there weave throughout Wright's book as is usual, I love Wright here. He's a gentle tutorial who takes your hand and walks you through the scriptures, one thought at a time. Like a pyramid-builder, Wright lays down one idea after another, until he finishes his task. And once finished, the reader comes away with more than just a few hints and tricks for greater spirituality. He comes away with why spirituality is worth pursing in the first place.God calls us to so much more than mere rule-keeping or basking. He calls us to live in eternity e question for us is, will we respond the call?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    After You Believe: Why Christian Character Matters []  2020-2-1 15:44

    Early in the book, Wright retells the story of the pilot who successfully landed an airbus in the Hudson River in 2009, after both engines had become disastrously crippled by flying into a flock of geese shortly after takeoff. Capt. Chesley Sullenberger III and his copilot had, in the 2–3 airborne mins they had remaining, created instant decisions that, versus all odds, enabled them to land the plane safely in the river with no loss of lives. While Wright would agree, on one level, with those who called it a miracle, and acknowledges that it was also a matter of "right habits," the power of a lot of years of training and experience, on another level, he uses it primarily as an illustration of "character" — right behavior that has been learned and practiced until it becomes "second nature."In this book Wright explores the process of getting from the scene of consciously making right choices in day-to-day life situations to that of appropriate behavior that has become second-nature, for which he uses the ancient term "virtue" more or less synonymously with "character"; but he also compares and contrasts Christian virtue with the pagan virtues praised by Aristotle. Wright, a renowned Pauline scholar, reminds me of the Apostle Paul in the method he presents his arguments, beginning at a point already familiar to his readers, carefully building his case from there in little steps and from different angles, and recapping often along the way. Wright delves deeply into his subjects, often referring to the original Greek terms used in scripture, and tends to write in long, complex sentences. In light of that, I found his repetitive style helpful, so that I never got lost in the details... well, hardly ever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    After You Believe: Why Christian Character Matters []  2020-2-1 15:44

    Why Christian hero matters, as opposed to Aristotelian virtue, secular humanism, or a host of other self centered philosophies, is the subject N.T. Wright envelopes us with thoughtful consideration. Aristotle's four cardinal virtues were deemed important for an individual to reach happiness and become a useful member of the polis. Dr Wright emphasizes the outward reach of Christian hero and virtue for the benefit of others; a sorely required commodity in this post-modern era of egocentrism and dualism. However, having faith does not bring immediate institution of this character. One can spend a lifetime trying to aquire those virtues that create us truly human. Those virtues Paul describes as the fruit of the spirit. Wright emphasizes that we must practice these virtues daily, as if in training for an athletic event. When required the most, training comes in and the reaction through those learned virtues comes as second nature. I found this book insightful for it truly points out the healing nature of Christian character.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    After You Believe: Why Christian Character Matters []  2020-2-1 15:44

    My take away from this book is . . . After you believe, after you join GOD's family, it becomes important to practice being a family member. We love GOD, we love our neighbors in the same method we love ourselves, and we love GOD's family; and that takes practice. Paul then tells us to place off the old man and all the baggage that man carried, and the fresh man who walks in the Spirit will place on the different Christ-like virtues that every family member is asked to practice. Practice makes living for Christ not just second nature, but the most natural thing. Takes practice to live a virtuous godly life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Believe []  2020-1-18 23:44

    Would have given this 5 stars, however the sound engineer almost robbed the whole thing. Delicate vocals are over modulated, and distorted beyond reason. For a group that tends to go over the top with costumes, imagery, themes, and talent this is truly a shame. I most certainly am not willing to pay full price for anything else produced by this group now, no matter how much I like the music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Believe []  2020-1-18 23:44

    I have been a fan ever since their first unique on PBS. This release does not leave you disappointed. Their angelic voices couple with the orchestra to deliver pure magnificence. Whether you are driving, washing dishes, exercising or meditating this melody will move you every time. I have even used this to mellow out my fighting children after a week of rain and broken computers. Their enchanting voices are of a power not to be underestimated. Blessed be!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Believe []  2020-1-18 23:44

    Love Celtic Woman!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    After You Believe: Why Christian Character Matters []  2020-2-1 15:44

    Everyone should read this book! A very necessary redirection for Christians today. Though I wanted to address something I disagreed with Wright about, and that is COMMANDMENTS. I wish to address the intriguing notion by Wright that the commands given by Paul and others in the NT are more or less guidelines to obtain them started on the right path of what Wright calls “habits of the heart” (198). Wright also sees the commands in the NT to be concerned with some imminent threat or immoral practice he sees about to happen in the church and puts rules in put (200). He would also say rules are more for the immature or newbies.I am intrigued by it because I have thought that this might be real of what Paul is trying to say as well. Though now I am not so sure. If one reads Psalm 119 one sees that one should seek for God’s salvation and hold his commands. Verse 166 – “I hope for your salvation, O LORD, and I fulfill your commandments” (NRSV). 1 Corinthians 7:19 says that keeping the commandments of God is everything! But key to what is event with Paul I believe is that 1 Cor. 7:19a says that circision is nothing! So obviously Paul is not here referring people back to the OT law. What is real of all believers is that we are “bought with a price”. Psalm 119:166 applies no matter what covenant we are under. It is the apostles who have authority and keys of the kingdom.Wright underplays the authority of the apostles in this instance. The commandments of God are now, apostolic teaching. We can search in a lot of locations where obedience is a theme. “Romans begins and ends with the theme of ‘the obedience of faith’…Paul’s notice has to do with obedience from the heart (Romans 6:17) to the truth (Rom 2:8, Gal 5:7), the gospel (Rom 10:16, 2 Thess. 1:8), or Christ (2 Cor 10:5,6)” (Rosner 129).Wright does not need to talk about the idea of the commands in the NT being only guidelines, because for Paul if the “obedience under the old covenant was meant to lead to life, obedience under the fresh is the fruit of fresh life in Christ” (Ibid 130). All Wright required to say about the difference between the old and fresh was what he said earlier on pages 46 and 47. The OT law was “designed to be restrictive”. It is just the opposite for the NT law. It is designed to be freeing. Gal 5:1 – “For freedom Christ has set us free”. Paul says this because some in the church wanted to run back to being slaves under the OT law. In fact Paul uses “obedience” to describe what they were doing right. Gal 5:7 – “You were running well; who prevented you from obeying the truth?” (NRSV).The OT law is summed up by loving God and loving neighbor as well as the new, but the difference comes in the fresh maturity wrought by Christ. This fresh teaching has transformed the thinking. The Spirit is on all God’s people. So it is not “guidelines” vs “rules”, it is “liberating rules” versus “restrictive rules”. Romans 14:17 – “For the kingdom of God is not meal and drink but righteousness and peace and joy in the Holy Spirit. The one who thus serves Christ is acceptable to God and has human approval. Allow us then pursue what makes for peace…”(NRSV).Rosner, Brian S. Paul and the Law, Fresh Studies in Biblical Theology (Downers Grove, IL: Intervarsity Press 2013).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    After You Believe: Why Christian Character Matters []  2020-2-1 15:44

    First off, I must note (because I bought them both without realizing this) - this book is the same as "Virtue Reborn." I don't understand why publishers think it's important to retitle everything for US consumption.I always appreciate NT Wright for his depth and breadth of knowledge, his writing style (which often makes me smile with his wry asides) and his web of intellectual and spiritual connections. He is also much, much more concerned with the core problems than with painting a thin veneer atop a rotted board, so while a lot of others may simply test to provide a "how to" book, a surface tutorial to actions that are "virtuous" or a thinly veiled attempt to defend some "virtuous" stand or other, Wright lays out an argument why the idea and practice of virtue is appropriate in the first .. if you wish to lay a foundation for virtue and morality and ethics and obtain your Christian walk off in the right direction, this book will be a amazing compass. If you wish a easy list of "Five Simple Ways to the Virtuous Life," you'll be (and rightfully so) disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    After You Believe: Why Christian Character Matters []  2020-2-1 15:44

    Wright has written a compelling book about the importance of hero development. This book is not about how to work to gain more stars for your crown, but about the importance of becoming a Kingdom Dweller, that is being someone who shows what it is like to be a transformed human being. The first step is to accept Jesus, but it doesn't stop there. The Kingdom of God is all around us, but too often we fail to recognize I spoke with a woman who has experienced twenty miracles this week. She has not only connected people with people who had a need and it was filled, but she was able to support diagnose her own disease because she wasn't willing to allow the "experts" continue to be confounded about her symptoms. She never stopped her research and inquisitive mind to test to connect the dots. She was high on life, though currently her body is being pumped full of steroids to deal with the paralyzing result of her disease. She can hardly sleep and just can only stop talking with effort. Yet she knows God is with her and will hold her safe and bring her health in the midst of her debilitating e is living in a Kingdom which will never allow her lose hope and she speaks of God as her ally not her sergeant, who commands her to do extraodinary things and punishes when she does wrong. She lives in the freedom knowing God walks beside her through the thick and thin and stays with her through the "Crosswalks" of life.Wright reminds us that God wants the best for us and that best is here on earth as well as the put hereafter, allow us not fail to seek a hero that is worthy to be called "Christian."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    After You Believe: Why Christian Character Matters []  2020-2-1 15:44

    N.T. Wright is author I have been meaning to read for a long time. I've heard a lot about him especially his book "Jesus and the Win of God" (which is probably next on my list) and I'm an anglophile at heart so I'll give any british writer/theologian a chance. When this book came on sale for the Kindle I immediately got it and I am very thankful I did. Admittedly the book was much more theological and philosophical than full of "practical advice" but it gave me a lot of meat to chew on that I believe will lead to much practical action. Passion that lasts comes more often from knowing deep down something is true. What we believe determines how we act. Anyway, the book does begin off a small slow with Wright's talk about Aristotle's view of virtue and the idea of virtue out in the world. They were some amazing anecdotes demonstrating how virtue is something developed beforehand that reveals itself in difficult situations, ex. one of the pilot who landed the plane in the Hudson river recently, but I wasn't completely drawn in to the book yet. However, I was sucked in once I hit Chapter 3: Priests and Rulers. The eschatological idea that Christians are going to be priests and rulers in the fresh creation is something that I often completely lose sight of. It's rarely taught in churches I've been too and it was incredibly intriguing to see Wright lay the biblical foundations for it. As he showed how the theme appeared through out the whole of scripture it was another "ah-ha!" moment for me as the Bible came together once again as coherent connected book that I really can trust. Also I learned a lot from Wright's elaborations on the idea that virtue is really just the hero of the fresh humanity. So when God is calling us to act a certain method it is in light of the future, how things will be in the fresh creation. This really revolutionized the method I think about my hero and is incredibly practical and encouraging. Act this method because that's how things are meant to be and will be! Its not just some random rules that God coming up with; it's the hero of the fresh humanity which was ushered in by Jesus. Wright ends the book with a small more practical chapter, The Virtuous Circle, detailing five practices that support us develop virtue: scripture, stories, examples, community, and sacraments. My only criticism is sometimes the book is a small repetitive. Wright really wants to drive home the point that virtue is something that is a choice but its not just about following certain rules. He again and again shows how it is not legalism or spontaneity that is the solution. We create the choice to renew our minds with the scriptures and do what the scriptures command and slowly our hero is changed and virtue comes more naturally. While I certainly will remember this he could have shorted a few passages and still had the same effect. In conclusion, if you are looking for a book that will give you amazing biblical, theological, and philosophical foundations for what you are supposed to do as Christian on earth this is the book for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    If You Believe In Having [Explicit] []  2020-12-3 20:56

    the begin of Miami booty shake music. they created it fun to do things you were not suppose to do in the bedroom and out side the bedroom.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Believe []  2020-1-18 23:44

    Just love this singing group, amazing relaxing melody compared to the melody stage today. I can almost see the women performing by listening to the music.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Believe []  2020-1-18 23:44

    another of their amazing compilations of wonderful, individual and combined notes you wont hear this side of heaven. you don't have to be Irish toappreciate the traditional instruments used and the honest renditions of some old ballad songs as well as some more modern reproductions of some amazing modern songs. a must-have

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Believe []  2020-1-18 23:44

    Lovely women with attractive voices.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Believe []  2020-1-18 23:44

    I like to immerse myself in my Celtic heritage every so often. I had seen a flyer for the group, but had never heard it. I chose the album at random while browsing my local library. Immediately, I was hooked. I immediately went to Amazon to purchase my own copy. It has been a long time since I have had melody running through my head that I actually enjoyed, instead of wishing I could obtain it out. I hear various songs from this album all day long.I know that what we call folk and country melody originated from the Appalachian Highlands originally settled by Scots-Irish, and listening to the album, I detect some of those roots. Each of the artists on this album is a renown singer in Europe, and, I hope, soon to be renown in the United States. If you wish to hear crisp, clear voices singing haunting melodies, Celtic Woman is certainly worth a listen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Believe []  2020-1-18 23:44

    Perfect listening very good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Believe []  2020-1-18 23:44

    Heard the whole thing on youtube but liked it enough to buy from s I could listen to all day: The Foxhunter, Teir Abhaile RiuSongs that are very, very good: Awakening, Nocturne, Sailing, Bridge Over Troubled Water, Black is the Colour, Follow onSongs that are Beautiful Good: Ave Maria, You never walk alone, A Woman's Heart, From the Heart..., The Parting GlassSongs that are all right: The Water is Wide, A Spaceman Came TravelingMost are hauntingly nclusion: Perfect choice. Even if you search the full ver on youtube, buy your own copy, it's well worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    5cd Original Album Classics (Do You Believe In Magic\Daydream\Hums Of Th E Lovin' Spoonful\Everything Playing \Revelation: Revolution'69) []  2020-2-2 3:22

    For a moment in time, this is an perfect retrospective of a wrongly-treated band. With the exception of their soundtrack albums (you’re a huge boy now/what’s up tiger lily) it’s all included herein

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do You Believe in Magic?: The Sense and Nonsense of Alternative Medicine (Vitamins, Supplements, and All Things Natural: A Look Behind the Curtain) []  2020-12-5 18:37

    This is a well doented book. The bibliography is as long as the text of the book. It goes through the history of snake oil past and present, attempting to explain why and how human beings are tricked into giving away their cash and their health. He rightly explains that complimentary and alternative medicine is nothing more than unproven and wishful medicine. As soon as scientific studies are done it becomes part of mainstream medicine if it works, or should be discarded as garbage if it does not work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do You Believe in Magic?: The Sense and Nonsense of Alternative Medicine (Vitamins, Supplements, and All Things Natural: A Look Behind the Curtain) []  2020-12-5 18:37

    Recovering from a tick-borne illness for the latest two years. This is the most necessary book I have ever read, and I have read an embarrassing number of books in my lifetime.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    5cd Original Album Classics (Do You Believe In Magic\Daydream\Hums Of Th E Lovin' Spoonful\Everything Playing \Revelation: Revolution'69) []  2020-2-2 3:22

    I don't care what anybody else says. The Lovin' Spoonful was among the best bands of the sixties. Not just because of the incredibly prolific John Sebastian (yes he could be overly sugary, but he always created me believe he meant every word, if you listen, you can hear him smiling) but the under appreciated brilliance of Zalman Yanovsky on guitar. Add the rhythm section of Steve Boone and Joe Butler, and you got yerself a hell of a band. You got blues (Ya gotta love twenty something white guys singing "This Sportin, Life" ) Jug band Music, Country, Folk, Rocknroll you name it. All with a sense of humor that allow you know they didn't take themselves too seriously. This is a amazing collection, almost excellent except the 2 film soundtracks "What's Up Tiger Lily" and "You're A Huge Boy Now", (you can obtain 'em here at Amazon) which contains what I consider one of the best loove songs ever, "Darlin' Be Home Soon". What's not to love???

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    5cd Original Album Classics (Do You Believe In Magic\Daydream\Hums Of Th E Lovin' Spoonful\Everything Playing \Revelation: Revolution'69) []  2020-2-2 3:22

    Herein you obtain most everything recorded by The Lovin' Spoonful, a delightful melody band of young Fresh York lads who played catchy rock, pop, blues, folk, and country under the banner "Good Time Music." John Sebastian and the boys play bouncy originals and cover some classics from earlier days. There is abundant humor, as in "Did You Ever Have to Create Up Your Mind," about a guy smitten by two lovely sisters. How well I remember roasting on the bus stop during the Summer of 1966 when "Summer in the City" was a Number One Hit for weeks. Oddly, by 1969, only Joe Butler was left to place out the very un-Spoonful sounding album "Revelation: Revolution '69." Otherwise, I recommend this small box set with mini-album covers to fans of 60's music, especially those who like a cheerful, satisfied sound with lots of guitar picking and lush harmonies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    5cd Original Album Classics (Do You Believe In Magic\Daydream\Hums Of Th E Lovin' Spoonful\Everything Playing \Revelation: Revolution'69) []  2020-2-2 3:22

    Perfect album

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do You Believe in Magic?: The Sense and Nonsense of Alternative Medicine (Vitamins, Supplements, and All Things Natural: A Look Behind the Curtain) []  2020-12-5 18:37

    Of course you can't just take an herbal supplement like Ginko Baloba and then ear KFC and McDonald's 5x a a week and expect to obtain better. Your meal is your medicine. Second comes supplements...smh commom sense M.D.s don't like alternative medicine .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do You Believe in Magic?: The Sense and Nonsense of Alternative Medicine (Vitamins, Supplements, and All Things Natural: A Look Behind the Curtain) []  2020-12-5 18:37

    Score another for science over superstition and pseudo science. This is a clearly written, well-researched book that gives us some straight talk on certain spurious health claims. It focuses mostly on the science behind supplements (which is not much science at all). People rail versus the huge pharmaceutical companies while unaware of how claims about supplements are often dead wrong, and in a lot of cases criminally misleading. Your tap water is more highly regulated than the vitamins you buy. This book reveals a vast corporate empire-not around pharmaceuticals, which are, ironically, highly regulated and subjected to rigorous scientific testing, and describes the political machinations of the nutritional industry to hold us from learning that-in the case of most supplements-the emperor has NO clothes. The truth is beautiful clear but the supplement industry does not wish you to know it. Read this book to search out how and why

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Do You Believe in Magic?: The Sense and Nonsense of Alternative Medicine (Vitamins, Supplements, and All Things Natural: A Look Behind the Curtain) []  2020-12-5 18:37

    This is one of the best books I've ever read. Brilliantly written, well-researched, and heartbreaking. If I had the time, I would take a stack of these books and stand in front of the vitamin section at my local pharmacy, demanding people read this before they buy snake oil.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386