Read doorways of paris reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all doorways of paris reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Portals Through Time: Irish Doorways & Windows: Mystical Moods of Ireland, Vol. VI []  2020-2-6 23:4

    Attractive pics. Love this photographer.

    0  


    Add your opinion on doorways of paris or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Portals Through Time: Irish Doorways & Windows: Mystical Moods of Ireland, Vol. VI []  2020-2-6 23:4

    This is a book you may choose to sit for a while, have a cup of tea and a biscuit and just yearn to be in Ireland! The vistas are sights you may never message if just walking about, but James Truett certainly has an eye to never miss a attractive sight! If you have been to Ireland before, this book will create you wish to go again to see what you have missed! This is definitely a keeper to go to again and again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Portals Through Time: Irish Doorways & Windows: Mystical Moods of Ireland, Vol. VI []  2020-2-6 23:4

    The beautiful, ancient doorways create you feel like you could just be drawn into the magical globe on the other side, filled with brilliantly colourful flowers, rainbows, Connemara ponies, and welcoming pathways. Ireland has a magic all it's own, and James A. Truett captures it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Portals Through Time: Irish Doorways & Windows: Mystical Moods of Ireland, Vol. VI []  2020-2-6 23:4

    Words cannot describe this book because the pictures are vivid and you feel as though you are in the Irish countryside! I want I was back in Ireland and this book makes me feel like I am there visiting all over again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Portals Through Time: Irish Doorways & Windows: Mystical Moods of Ireland, Vol. VI []  2020-2-6 23:4

    Your gorgeous composite images are works of art along with the musings. I am sure my brother In law will have fun the book as a belated birthday gift. I enjoyed looking at each page and each image showing more of the beauty of Ireland. It is a book you won't place down, and is in an simple to read format. It will take my brother in law back to fond memories of Ireland where he just finished working. As I read the book and enjoyed the images it brought me back to the terrific memories of my September 2017 trip to Ireland. From Dublin, to County Kerry, to meeting cousins who live in County Cork. This book will entice the reader to visit all the beauty of Ireland as much as it has created me wish to return again soon to see the beauty of the land and the people that live there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Portals Through Time: Irish Doorways & Windows: Mystical Moods of Ireland, Vol. VI []  2020-2-6 23:4

    If you have been to Ireland these image compilations will take you back to the beauty and history you saw. If you have never been there these photos will transport you to the sights and textures of this ancient land and it's beauty and history. Handcrafted archways appear to let the viewer to step in and almost touch the green growth and almost feel the rough texture of the ancient stones. Brilliant, artful and pure magic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Portals Through Time: Irish Doorways & Windows: Mystical Moods of Ireland, Vol. VI []  2020-2-6 23:4

    Loved it. The pictures were beautiful. Really captured the beauty of Ireland. 💚🍀

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Portals Through Time: Irish Doorways & Windows: Mystical Moods of Ireland, Vol. VI []  2020-2-6 23:4

    As I opened James A. Truett's fresh book, I knew I was going to have fun my stroll through some of the most lovely countryside scenes in Ireland. James did not disappoint. It was so fitting that the first stage was the sun rising over Ireland's Shannon Estuary through a window of the 17th century ruin of Paradise House in County Clare. We have had remnants of Tropical Storm Gordon slogging through my corner of the World, and that sunrise was much required this morning. From the most attractive rainbows and sunrises over County Clare to the flowers gracing each page; Amazing Willowherb, cherry blossoms, tulips, iris and daffodils greeting Spring mornings in County Clare; each page brings more beauty. The wild Irish roses are attractive versus the backdrop of Ireland's 40 shades of green in County Galway. The woodland paths draw me in; especially the "Faerie Forest" at Thor Ballylee. Some of my favorites are in this book; The Tranquil Irish Path, The Medieval Arch and High Cross, County Clare with bright yellow daffodils peeking around the corner, The Secret Irish Garden, The Magical County Clare Countryside all abloom with spring flowers, The Summer Sunrise at Clare Abbey viewed trough a window of the ruins at Clare Abbey is one of my very favorites. The glistening stones used on those windows and doorways shine. I can imagine the people that helped build them and how hard they labored to obtain those structures built. I have fun reading the history behind every photograph.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Girls of Paris []  2020-1-30 22:52

    This author has written women as silly girls who create ridiculous mistake after ridiculous mistake, all in the name of love. They give up secrets to the Nazis, not out of fear, but for a man. This book does a disservice to the incredibly brave women who gave their lives for what is right during WWII.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Girls of Paris []  2020-1-30 22:52

    Linda Zagon's review Jan 20, 2019 · editit was amazingLindas Book Obsession Reviews “The Lost Girls of Paris” by Pam Jenoff, Park Row Books, January 29, 2019Pam Jenoff, Author of “The Lost Girls of Paris” has written a captivating, enthralling, suspenseful, intriguing, intense, emotional, edgy and thought-provoking novel. Kudos to Pam Jenoff for her awesome well written novel that vividly describes the characters and landscape in the story. I appreciate the historical research that went into this story. The Genres for this story are Historical Fiction, inspired by real events, Partial Fiction, Suspense and Espionage. The time-table for this story is 1946, and just during the battle and after the war. The author describes her dramatic and colourful cast of characters as complex and is just after the war, and Grace Healey, now a widow has come to live in Fresh York, while dealing with her loss. A tragic vehicle accident forces her to go through Grand Central to obtain to work. She trips over a suitcase. Grace sees a name on the outside, and curiosity gets the best of her, and she opens it up. She cuts her hand on something and sees that it is an envelope with pictures that are in lace. They are young women , some dressed in uniforms. Grace tries to see if someone is looking for a suitcase or pictures. Short on time, Grace puts the pictures in her pocket-book and heads for ace learns that the suitcase belonged to a woman named Eleanor Trigg, the leader of recruited females in England used as spies that were sent to France during the war. Twelve of the women disappeared and never came home. Grace, with the support of her deceased husband’s mate begin to look for more the pictures are young women named Marie and Josie, amongst others. They were a group of women operatives working for Britain’s Unique Operations during the war, stopping and sabotaging efforts of the German as much as they could. It was extremely dangerous, and could mean these young women’s death. Some handled the radios transmitting information, and others blended into the French countryside getting information. Some would blow up things to stop the seems that these women had a friendship and sisterhood that kept them going. They were brave and courageous. Unfortunately their positions were compromised by betrayal from possibly someone in London. Why are these girls missing?Grace wants answers as to who, what and why this happened. This novel has twists, and turns. There is danger, murder, betrayals, and heart-break. This is an intense and edgy novel that I would highly recommend for those readers who have fun a thought-provoking novel. I received an ARC from NetGalley for my honest review.6 likes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paris. Portrait of a City []  2020-1-30 21:5

    Loved the photos-- both current and historical--- but I didn't realize that the format was so little (approx 4" x 5"). This diminished the enjoyment of the book somewhat.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Girls of Paris []  2020-1-30 22:52

    Gooey, sentimental prose that telegraphs the "romantic" denouments a mile away; completely improbable plotting; and sloppy research (there is, for example, no "West River" in Fresh York City). I genuinely disliked this book, and quit reading somewhere in the middle in the firm conviction that life is too short to waste any of it reading sticky nonsense like this. The heroines of WWII deserve better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Girls of Paris []  2020-1-30 22:52

    The story had so a lot of coincidences as to be unbelievable. Really disappointing throughout. Didn’t feel anywhere close to a true depiction of battle time events

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paris. Portrait of a City []  2020-1-30 21:5

    Attractive small book I found in a bonus in Paris and regretted not buying! Love that it's half French with the Wnglish translated ver in the back. Images are sensational.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paris. Portrait of a City []  2020-1-30 21:5

    The book is lovely and has amazing photos. I just didn't realize that it was such a little format--only about 6" (that's an estimate). Don't be surprised by its little size as I was.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Girls of Paris []  2020-1-30 22:52

    This is a book purchased on Amazon.I have not finished the book yet. I am liking the story so far. There is one HUGE glaring historical error: Grace the American In 1946 goes into a diner and sees a news broadcast on television. Hardly anything or anyone had a TV in 1946! The first televised newscast was Jan. 12,1952!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Girls of Paris []  2020-1-30 22:52

    This was a very simplistic and elementary portrayal of significant WWII events. Please, if you are interested in related happenings and WWII, read something else. The Alice Network, The Nightingale, and Gone to Soldiers are all much better selections. I regret both purchasing this novel and spending my time reading it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paris. Portrait of a City []  2020-1-30 21:5

    I was in Lafayette galleries and my husband found this book and loved it!..I immediately started browsing Amazon and found it..I decided to it through Amazon to avoid bringing all that weight in my luggage and the was better. Amazing photographic portraits of the town and the roads we walk now but in the past. I found this book had iconic photos of Paris and is a amazing conversational piece if you put it in your coffee table!...This book is magnificent collection of images of all aspects of Paris life from the earliest days....a hundred percent recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paris. Portrait of a City []  2020-1-30 21:5

    I bought this as a Christmas show for me niece who wants to go to Paris. She loved it. It gives her a small bit of insight into the town she's dreaming about.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Girls of Paris []  2020-1-30 22:52

    The Lost Girls of Paris by Pam Jenoff is a compelling read that transports the reader to the days just before and after the end of WW2. Those who enjoyed the Alice Network, understand the dangers of thwarting the Nazis and are in the mood for another novel emphasizing the bravery and unknown service of women trained as spies to aid the resistance movement in France during the German occupation will search this story of behind-the-scenes radio operatives both nail-biting and sad. Even as Jenoff succeeds in creating a fast-moving tale that is one part mystery and one part investigation, I found that the writer's 2018 sensibilities and modern voice often times inserted themselves where perhaps the voices of the three women and their times should have been sufficient. It seems the modern trend in this sort of literature is to depict the female hero as someone on a feminist mission--someone who wouldn't think twice about leaving their jobs or family for a day to march on Washington. The women in this novel are from a various generation--their missions were bigger than personal--so much so that the concept of ME never entered into their decision making.With that said, the novel tells the story of three various women. Grace from Fresh York during the period after the battle before the Nuremburg trials were in full swing. Grace happens upon a valise in the middle of Grand Central Station on a morning when she's hanging her head in a bit of a walk of shame. After opening the bag to search a dozen photographs of young women, her curiosity is piqued, especially after she discovers that the woman who owned the bag was killed in a hit and run accident in the road just outside the e second voice is that of Eleanor, a woman working for the British SOE during the latest years of the war. Her job was to train women operatives to go to France undercover in to transmit detailed info about German troop movement and such to support speed up the D-Day invasion. Eleanor, an immigrant from Eastern Europe wants nothing more than to be a British citizen and support her country war the Nazi oppression of Europe. Of course, her 'girls' are regarded as secondary to the men who were fighting the battle on the ground and in the skies every day and Eleanor feels she must prove their worth to gain them the gravitas their bravery e third voice is that of Marie--one of Eleanor's girls. The reader goes through recruitment, training and eventual deployment with this feisty woman who puts everything on the line for her young daughter back in e story is told in an alternative chapter format where each woman is given her time in the spotlight. From Grace's perspective, the reader learns what paperwork and documents reveal and don't reveal; from Eleanor and Marie's, the story's dimension fully fleshes out to reveal the horror and disappointment of playing with danger, being caught, never finding answers and being dismissed--buried under paperwork, red tape and arson and never noff makes a point of showing how battle is run by governments willing to barter with individual's lives. Two mins after the armistice is signed, these governments must define fresh enemies. Ironically, the Russian allies are now Cold Battle Soviets and the German scientists who once produced gases to promulgate genocide are now wooed to support aid in the fresh scientist of the atom bomb. Sad, indeed and confusing to those who lost their family members to these changing o of the stories end happily, one does not. Nevertheless, all three women manage to achieve something private beyond the mere discovery of what happened to Eleanor's girls. These revelations begin each woman into the second half of the 20th century with more nuanced tom line? Even though I liked the Lost Girls of Paris, I found the storyline as well as the hero motivations predictable. Of course, the women are going to forge onward dauntless to threat of torture and death--what sort of Wonder Women would we be if we opted for conventional lives? There are countless women--and men--who work toward the common amazing without needing to be known or remembered on the front page of a newspaper or internet site. Think back to 9-11 when as we all felt that uncertainty, we naturally and instinctually banded together to mourn and work together. I only felt that spirit in this novel once--via the hero Josie--a spitfire of a girl who works as part of a squad without any need for self-aggrandizement. Nevertheless, I recommend the book as a page-turning read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Girls of Paris []  2020-1-30 22:52

    Thank you to all the reader reviewers who disliked this book. I thought it might be only my picky reading that found so a lot of inaccuracies and anachronisms, but it seems I'm not alone. I've only read a fraction of the book so far and it has me cringing a lot. ' Meticulous research' ??? No way! As others have said, don't waste your unless silly historical romances are your cup of tea.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paris. Portrait of a City []  2020-1-30 21:5

    A attractive book with lovely photographs a lot of of them of the Paris of long ago !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paris. Portrait of a City []  2020-1-30 21:5

    Attractive pictures of Paris covering the latest 100+ years. Really gives a sense of the history and beauty of one of the world's most attractive cities.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paris. Portrait of a City []  2020-1-30 21:5

    GREAT PHOTOS AND TEXT. NICE READ SHORT AND SWEET.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Girls of Paris []  2020-1-30 22:52

    To say this book is historical fiction is like claiming that Alice in Wonderland is about the natural habitat of rabbits. This was one of the most unrealistic books I have ever read. I read a lot. The fact that it has a amazing review by Glamour magazine and the author wrote for a strictly romance publisher should give you a hint. A woman is being tortured to death and she is worried about the "disgusting" lice in her hair. A boxcar of prisoners dying of heat and thirst but the heroine wets a rag to wipe the "fevered brow" of a mate who has managed to search and hide a grenade from her German captors over weeks of captivity and torture? These are but very little incidents I highlighted to amuse myself toward the end of the book that I read or slogged through only because it was assigned by my Book Club. How this came to be a best seller is a sad commentary on the reading public.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Girls of Paris []  2020-1-30 22:52

    Interesting, based on truth, but awkward writing style. Distracts from the narrative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Falling in Art 5lb Plaster of Paris []  2019-12-17 20:4

    Very easy to use and I have created a ton of crafts so far. Love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Falling in Art 5lb Plaster of Paris []  2019-12-17 20:4

    This is awesome l, I want I had taken pictures but it works amazing, we were able to make fossils:)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Girls of Paris: A Novel []  2019-12-26 18:0

    This author has written women as silly girls who create ridiculous mistake after ridiculous mistake, all in the name of love. They give up secrets to the Nazis, not out of fear, but for a man. This book does a disservice to the incredibly brave women who gave their lives for what is right during WWII.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Girls of Paris: A Novel []  2019-12-26 18:0

    The story had so a lot of coincidences as to be unbelievable. Really disappointing throughout. Didn’t feel anywhere close to a true depiction of battle time events

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paris: A Book of Shapes (Hello, World) []  2020-1-29 17:52

    I like the illustrations in this board book, but my 2 yr. old granddaughter wasn't impressed with the book. I don't know if it was too easy or what. The book just doesn't hold her interest to the end. She always gets off my lap and moves on to other things before I'm actually through the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paris: A Book of Shapes (Hello, World) []  2020-1-29 17:52

    We love this book. The artwork is especially beautiful. This was our first 'Hello World' book, but we ended up buying 2 more after we saw this one. We will probably the latest one, as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Falling in Art 5lb Plaster of Paris []  2019-12-17 20:4

    I guess this is a fine product, but it dries so quickly that it is almost unusable...within a minute.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Falling in Art 5lb Plaster of Paris []  2019-12-17 20:4

    Amazing buy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Girls of Paris: A Novel []  2019-12-26 18:0

    The Lost Girls of Paris by Pam Jenoff is a compelling read that transports the reader to the days just before and after the end of WW2. Those who enjoyed the Alice Network, understand the dangers of thwarting the Nazis and are in the mood for another novel emphasizing the bravery and unknown service of women trained as spies to aid the resistance movement in France during the German occupation will search this story of behind-the-scenes radio operatives both nail-biting and sad. Even as Jenoff succeeds in creating a fast-moving tale that is one part mystery and one part investigation, I found that the writer's 2018 sensibilities and modern voice often times inserted themselves where perhaps the voices of the three women and their times should have been sufficient. It seems the modern trend in this sort of literature is to depict the female hero as someone on a feminist mission--someone who wouldn't think twice about leaving their jobs or family for a day to march on Washington. The women in this novel are from a various generation--their missions were bigger than personal--so much so that the concept of ME never entered into their decision making.With that said, the novel tells the story of three various women. Grace from Fresh York during the period after the battle before the Nuremburg trials were in full swing. Grace happens upon a valise in the middle of Grand Central Station on a morning when she's hanging her head in a bit of a walk of shame. After opening the bag to search a dozen photographs of young women, her curiosity is piqued, especially after she discovers that the woman who owned the bag was killed in a hit and run accident in the road just outside the e second voice is that of Eleanor, a woman working for the British SOE during the latest years of the war. Her job was to train women operatives to go to France undercover in to transmit detailed info about German troop movement and such to support speed up the D-Day invasion. Eleanor, an immigrant from Eastern Europe wants nothing more than to be a British citizen and support her country war the Nazi oppression of Europe. Of course, her 'girls' are regarded as secondary to the men who were fighting the battle on the ground and in the skies every day and Eleanor feels she must prove their worth to gain them the gravitas their bravery e third voice is that of Marie--one of Eleanor's girls. The reader goes through recruitment, training and eventual deployment with this feisty woman who puts everything on the line for her young daughter back in e story is told in an alternative chapter format where each woman is given her time in the spotlight. From Grace's perspective, the reader learns what paperwork and documents reveal and don't reveal; from Eleanor and Marie's, the story's dimension fully fleshes out to reveal the horror and disappointment of playing with danger, being caught, never finding answers and being dismissed--buried under paperwork, red tape and arson and never noff makes a point of showing how battle is run by governments willing to barter with individual's lives. Two mins after the armistice is signed, these governments must define fresh enemies. Ironically, the Russian allies are now Cold Battle Soviets and the German scientists who once produced gases to promulgate genocide are now wooed to support aid in the fresh scientist of the atom bomb. Sad, indeed and confusing to those who lost their family members to these changing o of the stories end happily, one does not. Nevertheless, all three women manage to achieve something private beyond the mere discovery of what happened to Eleanor's girls. These revelations begin each woman into the second half of the 20th century with more nuanced tom line? Even though I liked the Lost Girls of Paris, I found the storyline as well as the hero motivations predictable. Of course, the women are going to forge onward dauntless to threat of torture and death--what sort of Wonder Women would we be if we opted for conventional lives? There are countless women--and men--who work toward the common amazing without needing to be known or remembered on the front page of a newspaper or internet site. Think back to 9-11 when as we all felt that uncertainty, we naturally and instinctually banded together to mourn and work together. I only felt that spirit in this novel once--via the hero Josie--a spitfire of a girl who works as part of a squad without any need for self-aggrandizement. Nevertheless, I recommend the book as a page-turning read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Girls of Paris: A Novel []  2019-12-26 18:0

    This is a book purchased on Amazon.I have not finished the book yet. I am liking the story so far. There is one HUGE glaring historical error: Grace the American In 1946 goes into a diner and sees a news broadcast on television. Hardly anything or anyone had a TV in 1946! The first televised newscast was Jan. 12,1952!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paris: A Book of Shapes (Hello, World) []  2020-1-29 17:52

    It's nice that you can teach shapes and have them learn about local monuments, but this whole 'Hello World' series just seems...lacking... leaving something to be desired. There's just not enough content and they're too short. The pictures and colors are beautiful and eye-catching, but have you ever read a book that's like three words and then over? That's what these feel like. There's board books like, Baby bear sees blue and The small house, that just feel more substantial and are actually cheaper. I don't know. Maybe I'm just cheap. Or maybe this book shouldn't be $8.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paris: A Book of Shapes (Hello, World) []  2020-1-29 17:52

    I am lucky that my son loves books, but after reading the words moo baa laa 900 times, sometimes your mind drifts off to Paris. Then to my surprise I found these awesome children's books that could teach my son while reminding me of the amazing old European days (pre children). This book is bright and colourful and shows all the landmarks of Paris while incorporating shapes. I recommend the whole collection!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paris: A Book of Shapes (Hello, World) []  2020-1-29 17:52

    Love this book. Excellent for learning shapes in s fun method and learning popular sights of Paris at the same time. And if you’ve been to Paris the book is even more fun for you as a parent. Has some shapes like the ARCH that other books don’t cover. Highly recommend this book!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paris: A Book of Shapes (Hello, World) []  2020-1-29 17:52

    Oh my heavens! This is such a easy but cute book! I love Paris and these books are excellent for slowly introducing various locations around the globe to out children.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Falling in Art 5lb Plaster of Paris []  2019-12-17 20:4

    as described. haven't used plaster in probably over 20 years. but i've tried to mix this a few times and every time I do, it seems to obtain hard method too quick and begins to clump before I can even obtain it poured. I have read it can be due to old plaster, but no clue!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Falling in Art 5lb Plaster of Paris []  2019-12-17 20:4

    Good

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Girls of Paris: A Novel []  2019-12-26 18:0

    To say this book is historical fiction is like claiming that Alice in Wonderland is about the natural habitat of rabbits. This was one of the most unrealistic books I have ever read. I read a lot. The fact that it has a amazing review by Glamour magazine and the author wrote for a strictly romance publisher should give you a hint. A woman is being tortured to death and she is worried about the "disgusting" lice in her hair. A boxcar of prisoners dying of heat and thirst but the heroine wets a rag to wipe the "fevered brow" of a mate who has managed to search and hide a grenade from her German captors over weeks of captivity and torture? These are but very little incidents I highlighted to amuse myself toward the end of the book that I read or slogged through only because it was assigned by my Book Club. How this came to be a best seller is a sad commentary on the reading public.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Girls of Paris: A Novel []  2019-12-26 18:0

    Thank you to all the reader reviewers who disliked this book. I thought it might be only my picky reading that found so a lot of inaccuracies and anachronisms, but it seems I'm not alone. I've only read a fraction of the book so far and it has me cringing a lot. ' Meticulous research' ??? No way! As others have said, don't waste your unless silly historical romances are your cup of tea.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Falling in Art 5lb Plaster of Paris []  2019-12-17 20:4

    Don’t follow the directions unless you wish a lump of hard plaster that you can’t use.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Falling in Art 5lb Plaster of Paris []  2019-12-17 20:4

    Simple to use

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Girls of Paris: A Novel []  2019-12-26 18:0

    Gooey, sentimental prose that telegraphs the "romantic" denouments a mile away; completely improbable plotting; and sloppy research (there is, for example, no "West River" in Fresh York City). I genuinely disliked this book, and quit reading somewhere in the middle in the firm conviction that life is too short to waste any of it reading sticky nonsense like this. The heroines of WWII deserve better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Girls of Paris: A Novel []  2019-12-26 18:0

    Interesting, based on truth, but awkward writing style. Distracts from the narrative.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paris: A Book of Shapes (Hello, World) []  2020-1-29 17:52

    I love this series of books for my small ones! It does a amazing job of combining learning about the globe and cities/counties in it, learning literacy, learning about shapes and colors, etc. It is such a cute book that everyone in our family enjoys reading to my daughter. I would definitely recommend this and will consider buying it again in the future for baby shower gifts, to welcome fresh baby, or early birthday presents. I love any method that I can introduce an early love of travel, culture, and reading to kids and this does all of that. It is so fun to read these books and remember going to Paris, Fresh York, etc. I hope they continue to expand the series and add even more cities and countries to the mix!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paris: A Book of Shapes (Hello, World) []  2020-1-29 17:52

    Such fun to read to my toddler! I bought the whole series. He is at just the excellent age to learn his colors and numbers. Soon he'll be ready for shapes and opposites. So glad I bought these books. I highly recommend them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Girls of Paris: A Novel []  2019-12-26 18:0

    Linda Zagon's review Jan 20, 2019 · editit was amazingLindas Book Obsession Reviews “The Lost Girls of Paris” by Pam Jenoff, Park Row Books, January 29, 2019Pam Jenoff, Author of “The Lost Girls of Paris” has written a captivating, enthralling, suspenseful, intriguing, intense, emotional, edgy and thought-provoking novel. Kudos to Pam Jenoff for her awesome well written novel that vividly describes the characters and landscape in the story. I appreciate the historical research that went into this story. The Genres for this story are Historical Fiction, inspired by real events, Partial Fiction, Suspense and Espionage. The time-table for this story is 1946, and just during the battle and after the war. The author describes her dramatic and colourful cast of characters as complex and is just after the war, and Grace Healey, now a widow has come to live in Fresh York, while dealing with her loss. A tragic vehicle accident forces her to go through Grand Central to obtain to work. She trips over a suitcase. Grace sees a name on the outside, and curiosity gets the best of her, and she opens it up. She cuts her hand on something and sees that it is an envelope with pictures that are in lace. They are young women , some dressed in uniforms. Grace tries to see if someone is looking for a suitcase or pictures. Short on time, Grace puts the pictures in her pocket-book and heads for ace learns that the suitcase belonged to a woman named Eleanor Trigg, the leader of recruited females in England used as spies that were sent to France during the war. Twelve of the women disappeared and never came home. Grace, with the support of her deceased husband’s mate begin to look for more the pictures are young women named Marie and Josie, amongst others. They were a group of women operatives working for Britain’s Unique Operations during the war, stopping and sabotaging efforts of the German as much as they could. It was extremely dangerous, and could mean these young women’s death. Some handled the radios transmitting information, and others blended into the French countryside getting information. Some would blow up things to stop the seems that these women had a friendship and sisterhood that kept them going. They were brave and courageous. Unfortunately their positions were compromised by betrayal from possibly someone in London. Why are these girls missing?Grace wants answers as to who, what and why this happened. This novel has twists, and turns. There is danger, murder, betrayals, and heart-break. This is an intense and edgy novel that I would highly recommend for those readers who have fun a thought-provoking novel. I received an ARC from NetGalley for my honest review.6 likes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Lost Girls of Paris: A Novel []  2019-12-26 18:0

    An intriguing, emotional story of a group of young British women recruited by the SOE in the months leading up to D-Day they worked as radio operators and couriers getting messages from and to the Allies in an attempt to disrupt the Germans and to aid the resistance. In 1946 in Fresh York Town Grace finds a suitcase under a bench in Grand Central Station, in it are photographs of 12 young women in uniform. When Grace learns that Eleanor Trigg, the owner of the suitcase has been killed in a vehicle accident just outside the station she sets out to learn what she can about Eleanor and her girls. Told in alternating points of view and moving seamlessly between 1943 and 1946 we become a part of the lives of these girls and the dangers they faced. This is a fascinating, albeit painful, story that grabbed me and held on until the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Falling in Art 5lb Plaster of Paris []  2019-12-17 20:4

    I didn’t even obtain it out of the bowl into my cast and it dried up! You need to be really fast with this stuff. Doesn’t give you a lot of time to stir it.I had to do layers to my cast to fill it. Hopefully the results are okay. :/

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Falling in Art 5lb Plaster of Paris []  2019-12-17 20:4

    Parents have fun my students' fossils.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paris: A Book of Shapes (Hello, World) []  2020-1-29 17:52

    I bought this board book for my sister who is pregnant and decided to add another of the "Hello, World" series, after seeing how cute this one e illustrations are absolutely adorable - it's not often that you search such attractive stylized art in a children's e only thing is, the parent reader will need to brush up on a few French words (patisserie, Louve, etc) before attempting to read this out loud to their kid ;)The physical quality of the book is great, too - the board pages are thick and high quality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Paris: A Book of Shapes (Hello, World) []  2020-1-29 17:52

    Not what I expected. No words in French at all. Just shapes to search in a picture and all in ould Not be listed with Elementary French Books or French / English Translation Books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Streetwise Paris Metro Map - Laminated Metro Map of Paris, France (Michelin Streetwise Maps) []  2020-1-23 0:55

    The map is small, which is amazing for traveling. Laminated and thick so it won’t rip. The print is a small small, but it’s not hard to see.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Streetwise Paris Metro Map - Laminated Metro Map of Paris, France (Michelin Streetwise Maps) []  2020-1-23 0:55

    This is my third map, mates have borrowed my previous maps and never returned it. We have used this map for different trips to Paris and the map is covered in vinyl, which created it excellent with my markers or my stick it notes. This beats the paper maps for sale.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Streetwise Paris Metro Map - Laminated Metro Map of Paris, France (Michelin Streetwise Maps) []  2020-1-23 0:55

    Print very small...no detail or too much detail to search anything.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Streetwise Paris Map - Laminated City Center Street Map of Paris, France (Michelin Streetwise Maps) []  2020-2-1 4:50

    Was very useful during our few days in Paris, where we did a lot of walking. I found it much more useful than zooming in and out of our tablet map apps' images--gives you an overview, with Metro map and road index. Websites of interest clearly marked with 3-D images. And very durable, pocket-sized (or as a bookmark in your guidebook, if you have one of those). Well worth the price.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Flâneur: The Art of Wandering the Streets of Paris []  2020-2-10 18:59

    Probably inspired by Walter Benjamin's studies about flânerie, this is a well-written and entertaining tutorial about how to become a real flâneur. A must read for the anti-tourist travelers. Worth the purchase.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Flâneur: The Art of Wandering the Streets of Paris []  2020-2-10 18:59

    Enjoyed seeing parts of Paris I know well through someone else eyes. At times a bit massive on the academic research is my only complaint.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bistros, Brasseries, and Wine Bars of Paris: Everyday Recipes from the real Paris [Book]  2018-7-14 18:0

    This is a fine collection of simple,reliable recipes from the bistros in Paris. The recipes work and are not particularly complicated. A amazing introduction to bistro fare as well as a amazing method to relive that unique trip to Paris. the author has another volume devoted to Paris' cafes...it's in the mail as I write this. Hoping that it will be equally as good.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Streetwise Paris Metro Map - Laminated Metro Map of Paris, France (Michelin Streetwise Maps) []  2020-1-23 0:55

    The print is very, very small. The lines are all so close together. As a navigation helper, it is null. I will turn it into a collage, rather than use it for support in Paris.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Streetwise Paris Metro Map - Laminated Metro Map of Paris, France (Michelin Streetwise Maps) []  2020-1-23 0:55

    I like printing but the map is so tiny. Would be more useful if it were larger.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Streetwise Paris Map - Laminated City Center Street Map of Paris, France (Michelin Streetwise Maps) []  2020-2-1 4:50

    To plan my first family trip to France, I bought a few tutorials and maps to have a broad resource while making choices that all of us would approve. I returned some of them and this map was in the bag to be returned. I took a latest look before returning it, and changed my mind.While in Paris, I couldn’t leave the hotel without it. I kept it in my day bag for the whole week we stayed in Paris. I loved it.I’m so glad I didn’t return it. I’m sure you will love it also.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bistros, Brasseries, and Wine Bars of Paris: Everyday Recipes from the real Paris [Book]  2018-7-14 18:0

    amazing reference material to use when in Paris

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bistros, Brasseries, and Wine Bars of Paris: Everyday Recipes from the real Paris [Book]  2018-7-14 18:0

    I came across this book in the library and while it was an enjoyable and somewhat informative read, I was sorely disappointed when I tried two dessert recipes--Lime Custard and Orange Tuiles. The measurements given didn't seem quite right to me but I followed the recipes to the letter anyway. It wasn't a case of the recipes just not quite working or simply not tasting all that good. They failed miserably; the custard tasted poor and the batter for the tuiles was method too thin.I couldn't support but question the accuracy of these recipes from the outset simply because most chefs of the caliber/type in this book oftentimes can't give you exact measurements for their dishes. Also, why would they wish to give away their trade secrets?In the end I'm left with the sense that this book is more style than substance and I'm so glad I didn't shell out any for it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Streetwise Paris Map - Laminated City Center Street Map of Paris, France (Michelin Streetwise Maps) []  2020-2-1 4:50

    Central Paris is on one side; that's ok. On the other side, SOUTH of center is a strip on the TOP. There's a dividing line and then NORTH of center is at the BOTTOM. Seriously, who did this??? The back side is very confusing. HATE IT!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Streetwise Paris Map - Laminated City Center Street Map of Paris, France (Michelin Streetwise Maps) []  2020-2-1 4:50

    This is a one-star map. Parts of Paris were left out of the map. It literally cuts out whole neighborhoods -- the north end of the 18th, most of the 19th and 20th, the 12th arrondissements(including Belleville, Menilmontant), most of the 13th, 14th, 15th arrondissements including Montparnasse, the Cite Universitaire, etc. This map was a total waste of money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Streetwise Paris Map - Laminated City Center Street Map of Paris, France (Michelin Streetwise Maps) []  2020-2-1 4:50

    Be prepared to carry a magnifying glass around Paris with you! I returned the item.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Dream of Paris: A Personal Paris Travel Memoir (Travels in France Book 3) []  2020-1-21 22:49

    Atherton’s narration is quite pleasant, useful for the reader planning a trip to Paris, nostalgic for the reader who’s been. But the Kindle edition that I’m reading is woefully under-edited, if it was edited at all. Spelling errors in English and French, grammar errors, subject-verb agreement errors, run-on sentences, missing punctuation...it’s kind of a mess.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Streetwise Paris Metro Map - Laminated Metro Map of Paris, France (Michelin Streetwise Maps) []  2020-1-23 0:55

    As some stated, the print is very small. Even with reading glasses, it is difficult to figure out the print. My largest problem is that it should be a tri fold map. It came to me folded in half. Yes, it is still usable but careless packaging.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bistros, Brasseries, and Wine Bars of Paris: Everyday Recipes from the real Paris [Book]  2018-7-14 18:0

    The carrot with cumin soup recipe from this book was choosen to test for my club's Paris Bistro gourmet dinner. The book also includes an interesting discussion of the difference between a Paris bistro, a wine bar and a brasserie.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bistros, Brasseries, and Wine Bars of Paris: Everyday Recipes from the real Paris [Book]  2018-7-14 18:0

    I picked this book up expecting the recipes to be a bit out of my humble culinary grasp, and to mostly obtain a feel for daily French foods and how the flavors and textures interact. I love to read books like Peter Mayle's A Year in Provence and to have fun fresh experiences and locations through is book surpassed my expectations. The recipes are simple, yet are not things I would have ever come up with on my own. The steps to make the dishes here are very simply laid out, and require daily ingredients that I can obtain at my local supermarket, yet use combinations that are intriguing and fascinatingly foreign.Each recipe has the French name written below the dish's title, and then has a paragraph or more describing how the flavors mingle and work together, with hints for substitutions, and background info on how/ where/ by whom the dish is usually enjoyed.I was thrilled by this book - I expected it to be a fun diversion with a few inspirations, but the easy appetizers and little meals in this book are just the kind of simple to create but quality fare I most like to cook. This has earned a permanent put on my shelf.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Streetwise Paris Map - Laminated City Center Street Map of Paris, France (Michelin Streetwise Maps) []  2020-2-1 4:50

    I'm really disappointed in this map. I love having a map when I travel to have a sense of security at knowing where I am at all times. I guess this will do but why not a full square map that you don't have to pull out a magnifying glass for. I hate the horizontal layout, it makes the map little and too small. The Bangkok map is a full sized map that you can fold how you like. Please redo this map for full size. We all know how to fold a map to center on the part we need so we don't need you to create a little incomplete map of Paris. Now I will just have to pick up a map when I land.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Streetwise Paris Map - Laminated City Center Street Map of Paris, France (Michelin Streetwise Maps) []  2020-2-1 4:50

    Just returned from our first trip to Paris and this map created traveling simple. It has all of the metro stops and transfer stops clearly marked. Roads near the metro stops, even the smaller ones are also marked, so you can easily search your way. We took the metro all over Paris and it created our travels very convienent. Our hotel have us a map, but it did not have all of the metro stops indicated. I almost never write product reviews here, but this map turned out to be so useful that I wanted others to know.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Dream of Paris: A Personal Paris Travel Memoir (Travels in France Book 3) []  2020-1-21 22:49

    Enjoyable reading. His stories, adventures, humor, and discoveries create me wish to return to Paris and trace some of his steps...in some parts I feel like I am there with him. I’ve read some of his other books about travels through France and search them truly enjoyable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Streetwise Paris Metro Map - Laminated Metro Map of Paris, France (Michelin Streetwise Maps) []  2020-1-23 0:55

    These maps are dead useful. I Purchased a fresh one each year before I travel to Paris because the metro system has minor changes each year. This fits nicely in the pocket of my purse or in the pocket of my jeans. The only negative is that as my eyes obtain older it is getting harder to see the little print. My mom, is 78 years old, stores hers in the pocket with her reading glasses so this is an issue.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Streetwise Paris Metro Map - Laminated Metro Map of Paris, France (Michelin Streetwise Maps) []  2020-1-23 0:55

    To plan my first family trip to France, I bought a few tutorials and maps to be have a broad resource while making choices that all of us would approve. I returned some of them and this map was in the bag to be returned. I took a latest look on it before returning it, and changed my mind.While in Paris, I couldn’t leave the hotel without it. I kept it in my day bag for the whole week we stayed in Paris. I loved shows every single put we wanted to visit: museums, parks, monuments, subway stations, subway map, road map,... everything in just two foldable and laminated pages. I’m so glad that I didn’t return it. I’m sure you will also love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Streetwise Paris Metro Map - Laminated Metro Map of Paris, France (Michelin Streetwise Maps) []  2020-1-23 0:55

    if you wear reading glasses, this map is useless. The print it too little to read. Also, this same map is included on the Streetwise Paris town map.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Flâneur: The Art of Wandering the Streets of Paris []  2020-2-10 18:59

    I really appreciated this book. It's at once lyrical and scholarly. Not a book for tourists, and it's not only about Paris.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Flâneur: The Art of Wandering the Streets of Paris []  2020-2-10 18:59

    Loved his languid language. Evokes Paris beautifully. Was disappointed in the end but the journey was wonderful. It is a town to walk and you walk it through his eyes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Flâneur: The Art of Wandering the Streets of Paris []  2020-2-10 18:59

    Flaneur: The Art of Wandering the Roads of Paris, is a marvelous book for those who love Paris (as I do). It gives a clear and artistic description of a "flaneur", who wanders the roads of Paris with an begin mind and with a view that combines art, history, food, architecture, sociology, and poetry. It also tells of what is not of interest to a flaneur as well as what does interest him or her. In that regard, the book tells of what is amazing in Paris and what is poor -- and I agreed with those conclusions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Flâneur: The Art of Wandering the Streets of Paris []  2020-2-10 18:59

    I hold going back n forth to this one but I loved it on my plane ride to Paris.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bistros, Brasseries, and Wine Bars of Paris: Everyday Recipes from the real Paris [Book]  2018-7-14 18:0

    Book is a generally primary introduction into the most common dishes served at bistros, brasseries, and wine bars in Paris. Always wanted to know how to do a authentic French Onion Soup and finally created it and it in itself was worth the of the book. Also they do have some history written about some dishes and popular eateries in Paris which I enjoyed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Bistros, Brasseries, and Wine Bars of Paris: Everyday Recipes from the real Paris [Book]  2018-7-14 18:0

    This book provides a look into several restaurants that are part of a not too fresh trend in dining in Paris- the (around) 30 euro three course prix fixe with two seatings each evening(referred to by some as bistronomie.) I enjoyed seeing recipes from one of my favorites- L'Ourcine - which are not likely to be found in other French cookbooks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Streetwise Paris Metro Map - Laminated Metro Map of Paris, France (Michelin Streetwise Maps) []  2020-1-23 0:55

    This is a little map. When they say pocket size they mean without even knowing it's in your pocket.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Streetwise Paris Map - Laminated City Center Street Map of Paris, France (Michelin Streetwise Maps) []  2020-2-1 4:50

    This map is only useful for the tourist section along the Seine River, I was trying to see more of Paris than was offered here and didn't have coverage for my phone to use Google Maps. I ended up using a local Metro map and it was better for all sights not offered in the Streetwise Paris Map as well as getting around the city.I did like that this was laminated so that it felt like it would latest a lot longer, but that was the only benefit.If you are only planning on seeing the sights along the Seine, this would work for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Streetwise Paris Map - Laminated City Center Street Map of Paris, France (Michelin Streetwise Maps) []  2020-2-1 4:50

    folks this would of been an perfect map if it were not so bulky and you did not have to flip it over to test and obtain from one point to another. skip the lamination and create it more user friendly. It does give all surface roads so that is amazing but hard to follow if you are not super close to the town center.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Streetwise Paris Map - Laminated City Center Street Map of Paris, France (Michelin Streetwise Maps) []  2020-2-1 4:50

    It is amazing for trip planning. I bought it so that we could circle websites or locations that we wish to see on our trip. It helps you see where these websites are so you can plan our sightseeing in a more effective manner. Then after your trip you can use hand sanitizer to wipe it clean.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Flâneur: The Art of Wandering the Streets of Paris []  2020-2-10 18:59

    Expected a book about wandering the roads to contain maps. No darn maps!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Flâneur: The Art of Wandering the Streets of Paris []  2020-2-10 18:59

    Given as a bonus for someone going to Paris.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Flâneur: The Art of Wandering the Streets of Paris []  2020-2-10 18:59

    Flaneur. I like the word. I like the concept. It carries the connotation of those seemingly endless days of summer, of one’s youth, school break, no electronic devices, an opportunity to simply walk around and discover the globe around one, to avoid getting bored, sitting at home, waiting for something to happen. You have ALL DAY to simply wander around. And what better put to do it than Paris, and Paris again, noticing the changes from year to year. So, I bought the book based on the title alone. A serious mistake.Early on, I am confronted with this statement from the author: “…you must first of all move randomly. This is the founding dogma and I would dare say, the ‘gnoseological principle’ of flânerie.” Dogma! ? How can “dogma” and “flânerie” be linked? Yet this is a dominant theme that permeates this book. Castigliano takes his “dogmatic” “true believer” approach, castigating the “mere tourists” and the flaneur wannabes. To be in the Real Church of flânerie, of which one suspects the total membership is ONE, there is the checklist of X, P, and Q that must be rigidly observed. Consider the following bit of religious hyperventilating: “He is the man who has relinquished his self, all ambition of wealth and success, in to consecrate himself fully to the cult and the celebration of the city. True flânerie elevates the quotidian to the sublime, renders the moment eternal.” Unless… of course, it is all a joke and he is putting us on… which, I simply don’t think is true.‘Tis a pity, too. For Castigliano is very well read. He references and therefore reminds us how much has been written on this subject. There is Apollinaire’s “Le flaneur des deux rives,” Balzac’s “Facino Cane,” Baudelaire’s “le spleen de Paris” and on and on. Amazing stuff, and suitable quotes. The author reminded me that I HAVE to read Rousseau’s “Les reveries du promeneur solitaire” this year!... and thus, it is now on my , how well did the author do observing his own “dogma”? In his first example, he sets off with a specific objective: to see Tintoretto’s painting “The Latest Supper” in the church dedicated to Saint-Francois-Xavier in the 7th arrondissement. An objective? Not very flânerie, it would seem. But he gets lost, wandering along the way, and is in the Luxembourg Gardens, watching the pigeons eat some grain (!), observes that-ever-so-elusive woman of one’s dreams, reading a book whose title he cannot create out, sitting on a bench, follows her scent into the cinema, but passes by the Café Flore on the way! Banal, and rather touristic… and sure enough, he misses the painting due to closing time. Or, how about another “true believer” example: going to a tie (which he cannot place on himself) at the biggest shopping center in France, near La Defense, “Les Quatre Temps.” The reader learns that “…shopping is an art, that some have developed the knack of ‘knowing how to shop’ to the extent that they are summoned as ‘coaches’ or experts for whoever has neither the time nor the ability to on their own.”Ugh! Oh well, at least Rousseau is now high on my list. As for Castigliano possible put-on, 2-stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Flâneur: The Art of Wandering the Streets of Paris []  2020-2-10 18:59

    An inspiring book to read before you leave on your travels. No matter where you plan to go I found here amazing suggestions about how to approach a town in a anti-touristic autifully written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thirteen Doorways, Wolves Behind Them All []  2020-1-14 19:34

    I found the descriptions of the locations to be so amazing that I felt like I was there with the characters. There is much to ponder in the stories of this book. It is based on a real story, and I found that especially interesting. I especially liked the story of Frankie and how her relationships with her family evolved. I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Thirteen Doorways, Wolves Behind Them All []  2020-1-14 19:34

    Reading this book was painful. Every part of it created my heart ache. But oh my god how badly I loved it. This entire book was perfection. It ruined me. And my heart is still racing after having finished reading it. It was simply every kind of good. Horrible but so amazing. I am giving five stars to this beyond wonderful cause there is so much I have to share about this story. The writing was all kinds of perfect. I loved being able to connect to the story and this world. And gosh, the setting. I just cannot. So good. It takes put in Chicago during WW2, from 1941 to 1946. Reading about this was so very painful. It was all written so well.I must say that contemporary books are not really my thing, but I have to test a few at times. And I already adored Laura. I'm so so glad I gave this book a try. Because I loved every moment of it. It is contemporary but also historical and also full of ghosts. Which I loved too. There was not a single part of this book that I found boring. Not a single part I hated reading about. I mean, my heart was breaking most of the time, but I loved it even so. There was one death I want had not been true. As it ruined me the most. Yet it was done so well too, and so I cannot complain too much. Sigh. I simply loved this book to pieces. All the various characters were so amazing to read about. Gosh. I loved all of them so much. Okay, I fully hated one of the nuns, but she so deserved is book tells the story about Frankie. And is told through the eyes of a ghost named Pearl. Which was all kinds of various and exciting. Even though we do not read the book fully through the point of view of Frankie we still obtain every part of her thoughts on most things. Because of how the ghost is watching her, reading her thoughts and feelings. The book begins when Frankie is fourteen years old. It slowly goes on until she is nineteen. Which I liked a bunch, as we learn so much about her, and nothing felt rushed at all.But where do I start to describe Frankie? Hmm. She was the most adorable girl. I loved her to pieces. She has lived at an orphanage for years now with her younger sister and her older brother, though she almost never sees him. Because of the girls and boys being kept apart, since this orphanage is run by nuns. Which I would never have been able to survive. Gosh. The whole religion thing is not for me, but I did not mind reading about it at all. Everything was interesting and exciting and so I loved this orphanage.We learn so much about Frankie in this book. Her mom died years before and her father left his kids at this orphanage. He visits once every two weeks, always bringing meal and gifts. But it is not the same as living with him. Then he marries someone else. And comes to visit with her, letting his girls know that they are moving away. And only taking their older brother with them. And all five kids of his fresh wife, leaving behind Frankie and her sister. And gosh. This ruined my heart. It was fully cruel and evil. first I had so much problem with Toni, Frankie's sister. They argued so often. But near the end she did something else. And I started loving this girl something fierce. Which I'm so thrilled about. But ha. Their father. I never grew to care for him. I only began hating him more and more. Oops. The older brother was sweet, though, but almost never there. Frankie and Toni spend so a lot of years at the orphanage. It could be horrible there, with the nuns being so strict, and the meal being very terrible. But still. They were from the battle and safe from their father's evil fresh wife. Reading about life at the orphanage was all kinds of fun, to be honest. Frankie had some really sweet mates and I adored those girls beyond words. They were amazing. And she had a boy too. And it was beyond sweet reading about her first love. It hurt. But it was so good. Sam was the best. Some of the nuns were kind. But one of them was not. And I hated her with such passion. A punishment she created near the end of the book created me cry. It damage soso is book was a small about the battle too. Which was also heartbreaking to read about. It was also about how women were punished and treated. That damage to read about too. But was so necessary as well. And everything was written so good. Sigh. But this story was also a ghost story. Being told from the point of view of Pearl. It is the story of Frankie, which was so amazing and heartbreaking, but it was also the story of Pearl. And oh my gosh how badly I loved Pearl. Getting to know this dead girl ruined me the very much of her life was a secret. So a lot of things we did not learn until closer to the end of the book. And everything fresh learned ruined my heart even more. My gosh. This girl went through a lot. And it damage so badly to read about. But so good. Yes. So good. This ghost do a lot of things as well. She visits a bunch of places, which I loved. She meets a ghost friend, whom I adored too. Getting to slowly learn her whole story, why she was dead, how she had lived, was beyond incredible. I very much loved reading about her.I have already written so much about this book. Yet not nearly enough. Most of the story takes put at the orphanage. And not one single part of this story was boring. Frankie was a girl who followed the rules. Sometimes, haha. I adored her to pieces. Pearl was awesome too. Everything about this book created my heart race. In fear, in pain, in hope. The ending was a small bittersweet, but mostly sweet. This book was also filled with history. And most of the book was true too. And I loved all of that so much. Sigh. So ere are so a lot of parts of this book I wish to write about. I think I have gotten most of it down. Okay, I'm far from having written down all my thoughts about everything, but gosh. I have to stop sometime, haha. This book was just so good. And I cannot stop writing about it. Sigh. You all need this book in your life. I'm so glad that I decided to read it. It damage me. So very much. Not always a amazing hurt. Yet I adored every part of it. Which is the very best feeling, to be honest. This book was fully rude. But fully perfect. I loved it irteen Doorways, Wolves Behind Them All was everything I wanted it to be and so so much more. It ruined every part of my heart. And I loved it even more because of it. This is a book I know I would read again. It is a book I know I will think about for a long time. It is a book I will not forget. Everything about it was perfect. Heartbreaking, but so good. And beyond important. I need you all to read this book too. You will not regret it. Large thank you to a unique mate for trading me the ARC. I must obtain the hardcover too.---This review was first posted on my blog, Carina's Books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Sacred Doorways: A Beginner's Guide to Icons []  2020-1-18 21:57

    its great

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386