Read drivexc.com/africa/view.php?gid=1&phid= reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all drivexc.com/africa/view.php?gid=1&phid= reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    All in 1 Africa [App]  2018-11-18 13:10

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Africa []  2020-1-23 3:50

    Product came as expected. Very satisfied.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Africa []  2020-1-23 3:50

    I like it. Thank you.

    0  


    Add your opinion on drivexc.com/africa/view.php?gid=1&phid= or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Africa []  2020-1-23 3:50

    AFRICA CD is a terrific collections of songs. We love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Africa []  2020-1-23 3:50

    Amazing CD, I grew up listening to this melody when my parents told me we were moving to Africa. They weren't kidding, and we eventually did, but this CD was certainly my absolute favorite first experience of African om upbeat bongo to slower more peaceful rhythms of life, this album is about as close to the continent as you can obtain without actually traveling there. Putamayo puts a great, true-to-life-Africa collection so recommend the album "Bongo Flava" if you like true upbeat East African hip-hop/rap.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Africa []  2020-1-23 3:50

    This album is a amazing one if you place it with others like it and place your collection on "shuffle" while you are working around the house. It's fun to dance to, and there is a amazing mix of various kinds of African melody here. Les 4 Etoiles "Doly" sounds like Tabu Ley, and Oliver Mtukudzi's "Adumi Ndapedza" is beautiful much a amazing representation of his overall sound, even though it's not my favorite song by him. Diaou Kouyate's "Gafale" grows on you, and I search myself humming the tune sometimes because it's catchy. Johnny Klegg has a song on here, as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Africa []  2020-1-23 3:50

    Attractive party music. Throw it on with a lot of other CD's for sophisticated background music, or whole house melody while you are cleaning the house. Gets you going

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Africa []  2020-1-23 3:50

    Satisfied music, amazing rhythms--great to listen to while driving.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Africa []  2020-1-23 3:50

    I love it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Africa []  2020-1-23 3:50

    Great!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Africa []  2020-1-23 3:50

    "Africa" was one of the first globe melody CD's I bought - I was involved in a present which included African and African-influenced melody and I wanted to do some first hand audio research. This CD is just amazing! One of the things which immediately struck me was the attractive and distinctive guitar work on a lot of of the tracks, particularly those by Oliver Mtukudzi, Habib Koite, and Les 4 Etoiles. Other noteworthy instrumental work contains the B-3 organ intro on the Soul Brothers' "Thandaza", and the accordion featured in Sam Mangwana's "Ya Mbemba". There are also soul-stirring vocals featuring gorgeous harmonies (like Oom's "Anoma") and alternating call-and-response type melodies, and best of all, a wide dozens of really cool grooves - each track has its own special flavor. My favorites are Johnny Clegg and Juluka's "Love Is Just A Dream", Samba Ngo's "Sa Ntima" and Ricardo Lemvo's "Manuela", but really, there isn't one track here I don't love - five years after buying this CD it's still one of my favorites! I have since gone on to more CD's by several of the artists featured here, as well as by other African artists. I've also bought a lot of of Putumayo's other compilations, which all serve as amazing introductions to a dozens of artists as well as to a lot of types of globe music. By all means I recommend buying "Africa" - you won't regret it, but I warn you, you won't stop here :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into Africa: 3 Kids, 13 Crates and a Husband (Africa Series Book 1) []  2020-1-19 21:16

    I have finished reading this book and here is my review. I found Into Africa a rather enjoyable and fun read full of adventure for this expat family. The flow of the narrative is easy, but quite slow. Patras’ clearly relates comedy into situations, and reading of life as an expat was interesting, and I gained a clearer vision of Zambia at the time frame this story is written from, circa 1980. I wonder how Zambia has changed since 1980? The meal and toiletry, not to mention clothing and toy shortages compound Patras’ and her family’s life. This book is well written and interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into Africa: 3 Kids, 13 Crates and a Husband (Africa Series Book 1) []  2020-1-19 21:16

    Would you move to Africa with three little - under school age - kids? Not just anywhere in Africa, but in a little city in the middle of nowhere? Well Ann and her husband Ziggy did. And this is the hilarious story of their exploits. From bugs to burglars, a fun and funny read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into Africa: 3 Kids, 13 Crates and a Husband (Africa Series Book 1) []  2020-1-19 21:16

    A fun, private acc of what it was like to be an ex-pat in Zambia in the early eighties. Anne Patras emphasises that this is a book of its time and having lived in Africa during the same period and having mates in a related environment, I could see the parallels. What really struck me was the litany of shortages they experienced in Zambia then. I lived in South Africa on a remote farm (with no electricity and often no water) at the same time as Anne was in Zambia, but we never had any meal shortages. I found these differences quite fascinating, as well as the long trips Anne and her family created to meat and supplies. For me, this book was really interesting when I compared how various our lives were at that time. I think it would also be amazing for anyone curious about what it was like to be there then.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into Africa: 3 Kids, 13 Crates and a Husband (Africa Series Book 1) []  2020-1-19 21:16

    Into Africa is the real story of an English family of 5 who moves to Zambia where the husband accepts a job offer. I found it interesting, but the author's very English expressions and "whilst"s got on my nerves after a while. I would, however, recommend it for the insight into what life is like for westerners attempting to adapt to such a various culture.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into Africa: 3 Kids, 13 Crates and a Husband (Africa Series Book 1) []  2020-1-19 21:16

    After I downloaded a sample of "Into Africa" I knew right away that I would have fun this memoir. Being an expat myself, I love to read how others have managed to settle in a foreign and often strange country . Ann Patras has a unbelievable sense of humour and a captivating writing style. She begins her chapters with letters to her family and mates at home in the UK , and then shares how she and her young family adapted to life in a very various and often trying fresh world. Besides her amazing sense of humour she also has a unbelievable talent to hold us in suspense when relating adventures of dealing with mad lions, lost children in blackouts, and being burgled while hubby refuses to wake up. I absolutely love this book and can't wait to read the sequel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into Africa: 3 Kids, 13 Crates and a Husband (Africa Series Book 1) []  2020-1-19 21:16

    Rather than learning to live like the locals, Brits develop their own British community complete with a pub, theater performances, pool swimming, parties and entertainments. All jolly amazing fun with the marvelous British sense of humor surviving all threats to life, limb, and lifestyle.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into Africa: 3 Kids, 13 Crates and a Husband (Africa Series Book 1) []  2020-1-19 21:16

    Knowing nothing about this author, her name appeared on one of my favorite author's facebook, Victoria Tweed. Boy am I glad I did! it's a unbelievable story about a British family picking up roots and moving to Africa. The trials and success they accomplished is a joy to read. MS Patras shares with us the difficulties and hardships she encountere with a unbelievable British sense of humor. Don't pass this book up. You will finish with a smile on your face.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into Africa: 3 Kids, 13 Crates and a Husband (Africa Series Book 1) []  2020-1-19 21:16

    This is an enjoyable read. It was an informative and interesting acc of time spent on the Copperbelt in Zambia in the 1980's and one learns a lot about expat life there but the focus of the book is more on daily family life and this I found a small bland. With a few exceptions, it is the story of any family anywhere - almost the publishing of a private journal. But read it with an begin mind and learn about a lifestyle that was adopted by a lot of in those years and of the challenges and differences they experienced.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into Africa: 3 Kids, 13 Crates and a Husband (Africa Series Book 1) []  2020-1-19 21:16

    I was captivated by the colourful descriptions of life in Africa, especially with 3 little children! Ann writes with a delightful sense of humor, even poking fun at herself. She has nerves of steel, that's for sure, and I enjoyed every heart stopping moment, especially the night of the huge break in with Ann's questionable choice of attire to give pursuit - what a visual photo that was!I searched to see if there was a sequel as it appears Ann and her family spent decades more in Africa, but to my dismay there were none.....A thoroughly enjoyable read, capturing the people, the country and how one copes when dropped into fresh surroundings...two thumbs up!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Into Africa: 3 Kids, 13 Crates and a Husband (Africa Series Book 1) []  2020-1-19 21:16

    I purchased this paperback book for my 80 year old Auntie and because it was a gift, I did not read it before mailing it off. I did however obtain her 30 min telephone review about just how much she did have fun this book. "Give her 5 stars!" she said adamantly. So, because I am a "good" niece... I shall pass on that my Aunt truly enjoyed it and say's everyone should "give it a go!"

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Flying in Africa: True Stories (Volume Book 1) []  2020-1-19 19:20

    Absorbing read. Well written, thoroughly enjoyed

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    On The Roof In Africa (Namibia & Botswana Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:52

    A fun read with lots of interesting info for travelers. Impressed with the couples calmness and sense of humor when dealing with some frustrating and somewhat scary encounters.Where are the follow up books? Can not search them and most definitely wish to read them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Flying in Africa: True Stories (Volume Book 1) []  2020-1-19 19:20

    A collection of stories mainly from the 60's of Jim's early flying career. All have previously appeared in the SA Flyer magazine but they are so funny, well written and (from a flying point of view) educational that they justify this separate magazine pieces, each chapter is short and eminently readable and they bring to life some of the most colorful characters in post-war Southern Africa's aviation scene. The lightness of touch means that even non-aviation buffs will have fun the stories and have a lot of a giggle, but for those interested in flying they will bring home the dangers of the pastime in a method it is impossible not to learn from.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Flying in Africa: True Stories (Volume Book 1) []  2020-1-19 19:20

    Very entertaining..vol 2 pleaseWonderful flying days .Free..and the spirit of flying alive . Landing a twin Comanche on a golf course !! Imagine the fuss today

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Flying in Africa: True Stories (Volume Book 1) []  2020-1-19 19:20

    Excellent. Did a bit if this in Africa in the early 60s myself so I really felt Jim's descriptions deeply.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Flying in Africa: True Stories (Volume Book 1) []  2020-1-19 19:20

    The author has a unbelievable method with words and l enjoyed every min spent reading this book. He has a amazing sense of humor and a writing style that makes you feel like you are a part of the adventure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Flying in Africa: True Stories (Volume Book 1) []  2020-1-19 19:20

    Amazing book - just finished too soon - couldn't place it down

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartprints of Africa: A Family’s Story of Faith, Love, Adventure, and Turmoil (East Africa Series Book 1) []  2020-1-21 22:42

    This true-life acc is about identical twin sisters born in 1960 to John and Martha Adams who were medical missionaries in Uganda during about 20 years. It was a fun and joy filled experience to read. I couldn't place it down even to eat. Cinda's telling is so vivid and true that the reader will hear, taste and feel it all in vivid, living color. Cinda relates their young years growing up in Africa villages with a lot of native mates but, mostly, having each other as best pals. Their experiences are pure adorable plus exciting and you will just wish to take them home and hold them at age six. I certainly forward: In August of 2004, Linda emails her twin and asks Cinda to " come to Africa" while she, Linda, is serving as a medical nurse in Kaabong, Uganda. As a result, Cinda and her husband, Stanley, book a flight to be with Linda and sip hot African chai tea and hopefully reconnect as sisters and just relax for a week. It is anything but what Cinda envisioned. After being there only three days, some tribal craziness happens and the rest is history. (You will have to read the book)These twin sisters are one in a billion with parents like very few of us ever enjoyed. Balancing life like a professional juggler, Martha Adams handled everything from her five lively, young children, to her chance-taking doctor-husband John, delivering village babies, baking her own sour dough bread ( I can relate to that) to performing surgery at the local village hospital and all with Christian grace. Are they true people? You can be sure they were and are. God shaped them into a powerful family so tightly knit that not even near-death experiences could jar them away of their calling from God. Only a civil battle was able to cause relocation to these dedicated Christians. This is must read for anyone who loves missions, adventures in Africa and family life in all its glory. Don't miss this one! Thanks to the Twindas.....who spent five years on this epic story with a promised sequel along with a lot of helpers and advisers. We wish to thank all of you as well!Bring it on ladies and may God bless you and speed it our nda B.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartprints of Africa: A Family’s Story of Faith, Love, Adventure, and Turmoil (East Africa Series Book 1) []  2020-1-21 22:42

    I have a passion for missionary books and have read a lot of of them. This book is a small various than others I've read in the past. This book info the story of a family in the 60's that sets out for Africa where the father will work in a hospital providing care in desolate locations and remote bush clinics. The story is told by Cinda, one of his twin daughters. She shares the day to day life of growing up in the wilds of Africa with a brood of brothers and her twin sister. This book reads like an adventure story. Cinda really captures what it was like to spend years growing up in a foreign land. The day to day nuances she shares makes you feel as if you are right along there with them traveling through the bush......bumping along while riding on top of the roof of the Land Rover......playing in dry riverbeds...staring down bison and lions while on safari....digging up chameleons and other insects....traveling to remote clinics to provide healthcare to those in desperate need....and on and on. This book shares the adventures of this family who left behind familiar shores in the 60's to move to Africa and embark upon a grand journey. It was fascinating to see this story told from the viewpoint of a young girl growing up and experiencing a childhood most of us could never imagine. The parents appear to be awesome people who instilled love, loyalty, strength, and a sense of adventure in the lives of their children. After reading so a lot of books written from missionaries....it was nice to read one from a kid who grew up in this e book goes back and forth between Cinda's childhood in Africa to show day Africa where her twin sister is living as a missionary with her family. It's amazing to see how her twin sister Linda is raising her own kids in Africa. Unfortunately, disputes between different tribes and the military leave the family in a precarious position....leaving them with the dilemma of whether to stay or evacuate. Cinda brings the past and show to life with an awesome tale of 3 generations of a family living and loving in the far off land of Africa. I highly recommend this book. Reading it is like going on an adventure along with a loving, adventuresome family to an exotic, far away land!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartprints of Africa: A Family’s Story of Faith, Love, Adventure, and Turmoil (East Africa Series Book 1) []  2020-1-21 22:42

    I have seen too a lot of fiction and non-fiction "reviews" and reviewers that unfairly reveal major plots points and secrets. (A "review" is NOT a "Synopsis") Authors work so diligently to build to these huge reveals and an insensitive reviewer spills the beans ... WELL, it ain't event this time! I am NOT going to deprive the reader of the thrill of discovery, the adrenaline rushes, the gut-clinching terror, the outrageous giggles, and the wonderful LOVE that is to be discovered in the pages of "Heartprints of Africa"!The author paints vibrant vistas and experiences with her words, one can truly imagine relaxing on the cool porch, morning light growing as one sips sweet chai tea. Or trying to sleep with lions roaring or artillery explosions not so far away. Gracefully and effortlessly the tome flows back and forth, a gentle ebb and flow that spans 40 years. The gossamer threads of thought, emotions, and experiences weave together in a attractive tapestry of e craftsmanship is exquisite! The voice change is wonderful ... seeing and hearing the impressions and perceptions of a 5-year-old, then that voice matures through time and experiences of life. Tight bonds of Love, Family, and Faith grow even stronger through the challenging times and wondrous adventures. It is ingeniously embellished by excerpts from the beautifully detailed letters written by Martha(Mother) and John(Daddy) ...Absolutely Masterful!I have read the book twice and am on my third reading (something I just don't do) .. and the discoveries hold coming!!!!This is Volume 1 .... Can't wait for Volume 2!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartprints of Africa: A Family’s Story of Faith, Love, Adventure, and Turmoil (East Africa Series Book 1) []  2020-1-21 22:42

    Cinda Adams Brooks’ memoir sizzles with the sights, sounds, and smells of her African childhood in the 1960s juxtaposed with a perilous return to that globe as an adult. Brooks describes living in a put where the local greeting translates into “Are you alive?” – a logical question in a land where a life’s focus is on survival. She writes matter-of-factly of nights punctuated by “the cough and deep resonating roar” of lions and a vast orchestra of other beasts. Her descriptions of local delicacies including a Masai cocktail (involving cow blood), warthog fajitas and fried grasshoppers bring them to life in a most visceral way. Throughout her story, her parents’ sense of duty and love for their kids provide an environment of safety in an unsafe land. Her mother’s motto of “doing what we have to do” is an echoing theme, and becomes a critical mantra in the Uganda of 2004 as the adult Cinda finds herself and her family members unexpectedly running for their lives. Reading “Heartprints of Africa” is an immersive experience, one that will not be easily forgotten.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartprints of Africa: A Family’s Story of Faith, Love, Adventure, and Turmoil (East Africa Series Book 1) []  2020-1-21 22:42

    This was a really amazing story of a powerful family that moved to Africa as medical missionaries in 1960. It is told by one of the daughters Cinda and her twin Linda as a is book goes between their life growing up with their parents at their various missions around Africa, to 2004 where Cinda who lives in Texas goes back to Africa, with her husband to visit her sister who has carried on the tradition of being a missionary with her husband and ey seemed to have had an Ideal life growing up, in the 1960's immersing themselves into a various culture and becoming invested in the lives of the people, they are working with and helping. Between their various missions in Africa, they were able to travel around the globe a bit, giving them a unbelievable education. Cinda and Linda also have 3 brothers, 2 who have stayed in Africa and one who lives in the United e trip back to visit her sister and which brings back her unbelievable memories of the life she had there, until all turns a bit scary with a conflict with Ugandan soldiers.Even though I am not really religious, I loved something her parents lived by. “Mother and Dad modeled how to live out faith, not just talk about it.”Beautifully told, with unbelievable descriptive writing, I am very much looking forward to a continuation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartprints of Africa: A Family’s Story of Faith, Love, Adventure, and Turmoil (East Africa Series Book 1) []  2020-1-21 22:42

    I love the method this story unfolds! The cover encapsulates the reach of this story from a deeply connected family to a broader sweep of a complex East African experience. There is an intimacy to her portrayal that gives it immediacy and makes this a compelling read.(The cover inset shows the author with her identical twin, a snapshot of that closeness.)In a sense, their family relationships are a cocoon in a land full of mystery, suffering, and joy. There is the recurrent theme of family and cultural connection transcending the author's religious affiliation and honoring indigenous people.Often missionaries are stereotyped as elitist and patronizing, "importing their religion and culture" in an arrogant method inherently disruptive to the native sees the converse play out in this family's experience. That legacy of living "close to the land" and culturally interconnected plays out across their family generations. There is a tenderness for the culture, playfulness, and insights when cultural contrasts may be startling or even e imagery with evocative language drove me to pause and re-read paragraphs. I wanted to absorb the scene, the experience, and the colors through the beauty of her descriptions. Part of what displays so clearly is her passion for a continent along with the remarkable bond of her family. She broadens the concept of extended family in interesting ways.I found it refreshing how she described the conflicts and idiosyncrasies of characters. Rather than glossing over, she depicts people frankly and with humor. It makes the story more compelling and authentic. I also found her tenderness moving and inspiring.I like how she maintained the suspense by alternating between the past and show in complex layers. She alternated back and forth in a dance that revealed nuance and trajectory. I found this particularly fascinating as I watched the kids evolve into ey matched a lot of of the strengths of their parents, independent, individualistic, funny, idealistic and profoundly compassionate. Oh, and did I mention the tenacity?There is something particularly inspiring about seeing the legacy of generosity and medical volunteerism transmit down to the next generation.I LOVE this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartprints of Africa: A Family’s Story of Faith, Love, Adventure, and Turmoil (East Africa Series Book 1) []  2020-1-21 22:42

    Having grown up in a related time and place, I was struck by the author’s thoroughness in describing her experiences. From the first impressions of a five year old girl in a strange fresh land, to the struggles of saying goodbye to a country that has left a permanent tag on her heart, I felt own heart saying “yes, exactly!” Brooks has managed to describe the grime, flies, perils and difficulties of a wild land in excellent balance with the breathtaking beauty of the landscape, wildlife, and people.I appreciated her ability to speak frankly about the struggles and conflicts that come with family life under the stress of a lot of inconveniences, illnesses and cultural adjustment, while showing honor and respect for her parents and siblings. Even as she describes the most difficult and heart wrenching experiences, she does so with a forgiving and an understanding is book resonated so strongly with my own African experience, that I found myself thinking, “The next time someone asks me what it was like to grow up in Africa, I am just going to tell him to read this book.” If that was all that was accomplished, it would have been enough for me.But that isn’t all! The adventures of the author’s childhood are tied together with a nail-biting acc of a modern day evacuation from political upheaval in rural Uganda. Interspersed in this intense narration are humorous interludes and observations, along with the attractive story of the connectedness of l this is tied up in a lovely packaged of the author’s description of heartprints, “life experiences, victories, struggles, and wounds are their ridges and valleys”. This theme is carried out in the book to support the reader contemplate how our past experiences inform our show of the best memoirs I have read. Looking forward to seeing what will come next for this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartprints of Africa: A Family’s Story of Faith, Love, Adventure, and Turmoil (East Africa Series Book 1) []  2020-1-21 22:42

    I left Africa in 2001 after growing up in Kisumu and going to RVA. I swam in the pool Cinda recalled at the club, and visited friends/family in Kaabong and a lot of other locations she described in this book. Reading this book created me smile as I recall a lot of fond memories with the Witte family, especially from the time we shared in Kisumu. I have not been back home in a lot of years but through the reading of this book, my memories resurfaced as sights and smells of my home in Africa were brought back to the forefront of my thoughts. Thank you, Cinda.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartprints of Africa: A Family’s Story of Faith, Love, Adventure, and Turmoil (East Africa Series Book 1) []  2020-1-21 22:42

    Some life journeys enrich us and take us to locations we would never go if we didn't hear them. Having written a memoir myself, I appreciated its transparency and enjoyed traveling through the pages of Cinda's life as the kid of missionaries with all its treasures about Africa, her bond with her family and her twin, Linda, and the diversity of the villages and peoples. The settings, the obstacles, the times, the family members and the family dynamics became relatable and true to me. I'm so glad they took the time to share those experiences with us. I especially enjoyed learning about the airlift rescue provided by Franklin Graham's organization, Samaritan's Purse. It shows how essential these outreaches are and the quality of those committed to serving in them. I am sure this book enlarges the hearts of its readers, regardless of upbringings or backgrounds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Heartprints of Africa: A Family’s Story of Faith, Love, Adventure, and Turmoil (East Africa Series Book 1) []  2020-1-21 22:42

    Aside from the fact that Cinda Brooks had told me that bullets are flying in the opening stage of her book, I wasn’t sure what to expect when I bought her memoir, African Heartprints. After all, it is about her experience growing up as a missionary child in Tanzania in the 1960s interwoven with an acc of a return trip to Uganda in 2004 to visit her identical twin sister Linda, who is living a remake of their mother’s life. Would Cinda’s memoir be filled with syrupy witness? Definitely not! Faith is witnessed by thrilling actions. The story testifies to the power of family bonds and the visceral appeal of Africa and her e theme is found in the title: Heartprints. “Like a thumbprint, a heartprint is unique. Life experiences, victories, struggles, and wounds are their ridges and valleys. Unlike footprints, swept away as a fading memory, they endure and connect across generations and cultures.” Her story is full of heartprints that contrast with candid accounts of seeming futility due to the East African cultural lack of accountability important for maintaininng bonuses of the western world. Unlike futile physical gifts, heartprints are ose bullets at the beginning set the story stage. The story line weaves across time, comparing missionary life as it was when the Twindas were young with tense conditions at the time of the return visit. I developed deep respect for Mrs. Adams, a real Proverbs 31 woman able to plan annual shopping trips for a year’s supplies, home school five children, house and cook for a little troops of visitors, and create rounds of the village – often while suffering bouts of malaria. Dr. Adams deepened the kids’ love of Africa with frequent safaris and cross-country trips in their Land sides tension and local color, the story is full of humor, sometimes unintentional. For example, after hearing about “colored people,” the twins expected to see people with skin colourful blue, green, or whatever. Months passed before they accepted the reality that “color” was limited to hues of brown. Clothing differences were another source of humor. “I could be topless, bare, and with boobs bouncing – no various from exposed elbows – but heaven forbid I should present my legs.”Cinda Brooks does a splendid job of laying out pictures of African missionary life back then and more recently, showing how it has affected three generations of Adams family members while leaving us to draw our own conclusions. While a bit ragged at times, the writing is true and authentic, and the story carries the day. I admire and respect her candor and feel it truly deserves five stars. I look forward to reading future volumes in this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa: South Africa Travel Guide: The 30 Best Tips For Your Trip To South Africa - The Places You Have To See (South Africa Travel Guide, Johannesburg, Pretoria, Cape Town Book 1) []  2020-2-7 18:57

    Very disappointed in this book. It starts out in the intro, “First, I wish to thank you and congratulate you for downloading...”. I immediately felt taken advantage of for buying the book. A map would support to plan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa, Lesotho & Swaziland 1:1,400,000 Travel Map, waterproof, GPS-compatible REISE []  2020-1-31 0:16

    It's a amazing quality paper so it holds up to repeated folding. I want there were insets with more detail of cities.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fodor's Essential South Africa: with The Best Safari Destinations (Travel Guide Book 1) []  2020-1-19 21:27

    Perfect travel tutorial for South Africa.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fodor's Essential South Africa: with The Best Safari Destinations (Travel Guide Book 1) []  2020-1-19 21:27

    Very handy for our unbelievable trip to Africa

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fodor's Essential South Africa: with The Best Safari Destinations (Travel Guide Book 1) []  2020-1-19 21:27

    amazing for travel

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Truth, Lies & Propaganda: in Africa (Truth, Lies and Propaganda Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:53

    Reading a memoir can be a hit or miss affair, for me. Very often I just don't search the person's life all that interesting and I walk away wondering what all the fuss was about. This book, however, was very entertaining, enlightening, and superbly written, by a woman who has clearly struggled and toiled for her writing ere are no spoilers here from me because I had the pleasure of reading all about this woman's life, from Libya to South Africa, from radio to the classroom, without knowing anything about her. You too will have to read the book and follow the journey, just as I e has such an engaging tone in her writing that I felt as though I was sitting having a cup of tea with her, listening to her chat about her ups and downs, and with plenty of humour, to for South Africa, I have visited. I can't say I was enamoured with the country. It is attractive to the eyes of a tourist, when being directed for tourism propaganda purposes. But I also saw locations that need a lot of attention, and people, who need a lot more consideration from their government. Lucinda E Clarke also highlights these problems in a most truthful way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Truth, Lies & Propaganda: in Africa (Truth, Lies and Propaganda Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:53

    Very much away from the normal type of book I would read, I found myself immersed into this autobiographical tale from the opening. I can't imagine writing a book like this. It reads like a fictional tale at times, that is to say I have often found autobiographical work to be more stilted which is not at all the case in this book. The sense of time and put is beautifully captured, as is the appreciation of what it would have been like for a woman working in a male dominated career in Africa. I enjoyed her reference to working on the scene in the Gaiety Theatre in Dublin as a child, a classic overstatement to secure success at an audition. Truly this is one of the more enjoyable books I have read this year. Do yourself a favour and pick up this lovely book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Confessions of a Sex Tourist-Motorcycling in Ghana, Africa-Part 1 []  2020-2-6 22:59

    I found this book to be informative and entertaining. He knows his topic matter well and his tip on how to stay safe in forgiven country is invaluable...interesting read mixed in with numerous antidotes..author is certainly a character...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Confessions of a Sex Tourist-Motorcycling in Ghana, Africa-Part 1 []  2020-2-6 22:59

    The author is a regrettable waste of the world's precious time, energy, oxygen, and travel miles.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa (including Lesotho and Swaziland) 1:1.5M Travel Map (International Travel Maps) (French Edition) []  2020-6-19 18:42

    This was very helpful for my visit to South Africa

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa, Namibia, Bostwana, Zimbabwe Nelles Map 1:2.5M WP (English, French and German Edition) []  2020-1-9 19:21

    I purchased the South Africa: Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe map. It had all the information on it that I wanted to help me in planning my 2 month street trip: campgrounds, fuel stations, safari parks, etc. The map seems durable and folds back up easily. I received it on time. I’m only surprised that the shipping cost of $3.99 was rather high. I’ve shipped media mail stuff larger than this map for about 20% less.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fodor's Essential South Africa: with The Best Safari Destinations (Travel Guide Book 1) []  2020-1-19 21:27

    Not intuitive. Maps are hard to use. Unable to quickly search necessary areas or find for things like "vegetarian restaurants in Johannesburg". I bought this because the Lonely Planet publication was from a couple of years ago whereas this is brand new. But this was not worth it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fodor's Essential South Africa: with The Best Safari Destinations (Travel Guide Book 1) []  2020-1-19 21:27

    The Gateway to Africa...if you haven't seen Cape Town, you haven't seen the world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Truth, Lies & Propaganda: in Africa (Truth, Lies and Propaganda Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:53

    Writers are not chop from the same cloth as most other people.I know engineers, for example, who, when unable to search work in their chosen profession, have done other things to earn their everyday bread. Some drive taxi cabs, others insurance, and a few have gone to law school and are now attorneys who specialize in arcane topics similar to their previous occupations.Writers, on the other hand, ey write regardless of what they are paid, regardless of the conditions they are often forced to work ey can't support it.(I know this first hand, having been a writer for most of my adult life.)Lucinda E. Clarke is a writer. Even early in her life as a working woman, when she was teaching school or running a riding academy, she didn't matter what: Radio dramas, tv scripts, documentaries, textbooks, magazine articles... if it involved putting words on paper (or on a computer screen) Clarke was willing to take on the challenge because, in the end, it meant that she could write.Just how necessary writing is to her comes through clearly in her memoir "Truth, Lies & Propaganda: In Africa." She writes, albeit with a light touch, of her adventures working in Libya and South Africa while raising two kids and coping with her ex-husband and his penchant for changing jobs with blinding speed. Those must have been difficult days but Clarke tells her story without complaint, reminding the reader often just how privileged she felt that she was able to help herself and her family by doing what she loves best.Writing.Her career and mine are various in a lot of ways. I spent most of my life as a journalist working for newspapers and wire services. Clarke spent most of her career working in radio and television.But we do share some common ground. Deadlines, bosses that never seemed to know what they wanted, and people who were reluctant to talk with us are just a re than that, however, we share one very necessary trait: The love of is that love that colors our lives in rich, rainbow shades and allows us to withstand the slings and arrows of low and everything else up to, and including, the less-than-enthusiastic response of family and mates when they explore that we are bound hand and foot to writing for a living. .(My father, for example, went to his grave wondering just when - or if - I was ever going to obtain a "real job.")Clarke recounts her adventures - both amazing and poor - with a clear eye for detail but does not bog her narrative down with unnecessary rambling. She also doesn't flinch when recounting the issues she faced as she undertook her assignments and she makes some sharp observations about life in South Africa both during and after apartheid. Her descriptions of the people she met and the locations she went place the reader "in the moment" and her narrative flows smoothly from chapter to comes down to this: "Truth, Lies & Propaganda: In Africa" is a well written look at what it takes to be a writer and it is a book that I highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Truth, Lies & Propaganda: in Africa (Truth, Lies and Propaganda Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:53

    Page 217 says it all: I was always ready for a fresh challenge. Lucinda Clarke's zeal for writing seems non-stop as she moves from radio, script writing, magazines, video and interviewing over the years to polish her craft of writing. Following her on the a lot of jobs she completed was exhausting for me and I marveled at her ability to do so. I laughed when she was given a contract to write about Maths, since I shared her non-Math brain but she did it. I was sick to learn about the ocean's garbage but do not wish to write a spoiler review, so if you wish to learn about this and the interesting people she meets on her writing journey through Lybia, Johannesburg and Durbin, you will need to read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Confessions of a Sex Tourist-Motorcycling in Ghana, Africa-Part 1 []  2020-2-6 22:59

    Typical

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa (including Lesotho and Swaziland) 1:1.5M Travel Map (International Travel Maps) (French Edition) []  2020-6-19 18:42

    This is the super detailed South Africa map. I obtain it because I was looking for a couple of dinky burgs which I couldn't search in the atlas or Google maps - and this map showed them. I've used ITM maps before and always been more than satisfied. This map is no exception. If you need a amazing map of South Africa, this is your first choice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Truth, Lies & Propaganda: in Africa (Truth, Lies and Propaganda Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:53

    You know sometimes people ask you, “If you could invite a guest to dinner who would it be?” Up until recently I couldn’t tell you – or maybe I would have said Channing Tatum lol - but now I unequivocally know, Owen O’Neill (another author who I have just had the pleasure of corresponding with) and Lucinda E Clark. What I wouldn’t do to have a food with this woman and spend hours listening to her stories about her is memoire had me completely fascinated and I couldn’t place it down. What an wonderful woman Ms. Clark is. As an indie author I often whine to myself about how difficult it is to crack the literary world. After reading Ms Clarks memoire I have realised that I have absolutely nothing to complain about.I don’t wish to sound like a star struck groupie here but honestly Ms Clark’s story has inspired me beyond words. From holding a radio broadcast at bayonet point to typing a 1 hour play without the letter ‘n’ on the typewriter this woman didn’t allow anything obtain in the method of her reaching her goal. Determined, ambitions and passionate are words I would use to describe this awesome author.I am from South Africa so there were so a lot of memories that cropped up when reading this story; from the Lion Park to adverts seen on TV, I felt as though I walked this journey with Ms Clark and her story has left me inspired beyond words. (I’m repeating myself here – see what I mean about the begin struck groupie stuff)I have no words except maybe, WOW

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Truth, Lies & Propaganda: in Africa (Truth, Lies and Propaganda Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:53

    First up, this a memoir of one remarkable woman's work in South Africa as, among other things, a TV writer. It starts with her work as a radio writer in Libya and moves with her to South Africa. This is a recollection, and a fascinating one at that, of what it was like and what she saw. At times you feel the author's frustration with the people she's dealing with and at others you wish to laugh out loud with her. I've been to a lot of various places, but never to Africa. In truth, the whole continent still holds an air of mystery to me. This memoir did a unbelievable job of pulling back the covers of South Africa and letting us see the people inside. It's eminently readable - a amazing thing to have in this genre - and fascinating at the same time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Libyan Air Wars: Part 1: 1973-1985 ([email protected] Book 19) []  2020-1-26 21:31

    I have fun the topic matter of this book and the info gathered and presented within it is excellent. However, related to Tom Cooper's other titles, the composition and grammar is really lacking. If it wasn't for my interest in the subject, I would have place it down almost immediately. That's exactly what happened when I handed the book to my wife, who is a professional writer, and asked her to critique the first two paragraphs of the first chapter. She couldn't obtain past the first paragraph. I understand Mr. Cooper is Austrian, so, if I had to guess, English is not his basic language. I think it would be highly beneficial for him to hire a amazing editor that can improve and finesse the composition and presentation of his writing and create it more readable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fodor's Essential South Africa: with The Best Safari Destinations (Travel Guide Book 1) []  2020-1-19 21:27

    I a Fodor's for every destination. It's always spot on. I want they had more restaurant and hotel recommendations

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fodor's Essential South Africa: with The Best Safari Destinations (Travel Guide Book 1) []  2020-1-19 21:27

    Amazing info on safaris

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa (including Lesotho and Swaziland) 1:1.5M Travel Map (International Travel Maps) (French Edition) []  2020-6-19 18:42

    This large, colourful folding map appears to be on amazing sturdy (synthetic?) 'paper', and has what looks like complete and detailed info on roads, useful for drivers. (However, a reviewer on another website who had actually used it on a driving trip in South Africa complained about some mistakes. Since I haven't had that experience, I won't rate the street information.)Unfortunately, while I did wish an overview of the entire country, what I was really interested in was the close-ups of 3 cities. While the maps of Pretoria and Cape City look "okay," and the one of Cape City does extend beyond the central city, the Johannesburg inset was disappointing because it covers only the downtown central business is makes it of almost no support in checking the areas of the greater Jo-burg zone hotels, shopping malls, restaurants and other attractions in the suburbs and/or townships, even though those locations are where a prospective tourist like me wants to now although I will hold this country map, I am ordering another one that is specific to Jo-burg. I hope it will provide the info I seek not only in downtown but also in locations surrounding the central city.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Truth, Lies & Propaganda: in Africa (Truth, Lies and Propaganda Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:53

    The author describes the book as a story of how she came to be a writer, first for radio and later for television. She shows you an inside look at both. However, the book is so much more than a look at the broadcast world. It gives you insight into the political world--where in Libya she had a bayonet next to her throat while she broadcast while Gaddafi was in the zone and in South Africa she had to one day write about how poor potatoes were and soon after tell the globe all their benefits. It wasn't all politics, however. A social element crept its method into her work as she wrote scripts intended for the betterment of the health and living of the l her attempts did not fare well. Even with the best intents, the author states "many instances demonstrated ignorance about other cultures." Even some of the government's attempts failed. "Clashes between the modern globe and the traditional African method of life, and it’s something a lot of of us were not even aware of." Most often, the author never knew the outcome of her attempts to improve the lives of the poverty-stricken.Her stories are as a lot of as the subjects contained within the Encyclopedia Britannica she bought when she had to learn about cows and chickens for an animal health program. The book is filled with humor, often tongue-in-cheek. I loved the line: "I thought was my best smile, but in return he looked rather startled, so perhaps it was more of a leer."This is definitely a book you'll wish to pick up if you have any interest in the broadcast globe or in other cultures.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Truth, Lies & Propaganda: in Africa (Truth, Lies and Propaganda Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:53

    How do you take the skills you learn from teaching and use them to develop your writing skills for a totally environment? Lucinda Clarke shares her adventures from teaching in a personal school classroom to radio stations in Libya and South Africa. What a method to obtain your feet wet while treading water as she begins a fresh profession. As one door in media closes for her, others begin that her opportunities for writing for radio, television, and magazines. Lucinda is satisfied to share it all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fodor's Essential South Africa: with The Best Safari Destinations (Travel Guide Book 1) []  2020-1-19 21:27

    I reviewed 5 or 6 options for South Africa travel guides, and found the Fodor's tutorial to be the best for our SA trip. Very satisfied we got it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fodor's Essential South Africa: with The Best Safari Destinations (Travel Guide Book 1) []  2020-1-19 21:27

    As described

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Libyan Air Wars: Part 1: 1973-1985 ([email protected] Book 19) []  2020-1-26 21:31

    Libyan air battles volume 1, Very well written book covering this part in history from the French in chad to the American navy off the coast of Libyan. A lot of pictures and line drawing support this book along the way. Simple to follow and understand book also shows the various countries that trained the pilots of this air force some of the countries did not do a amazing job according to the Libyan air force which the book tales about. Can’t wait for the next addition to arrive if like this volume well worth the wait. Still waiting for next volume

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Libyan Air Wars: Part 1: 1973-1985 ([email protected] Book 19) []  2020-1-26 21:31

    nice

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa (including Lesotho and Swaziland) 1:1.5M Travel Map (International Travel Maps) (French Edition) []  2020-6-19 18:42

    I used this map throughout my trip in South Africa. It was very helpful and I would recommend it to anyone else going to South Africa.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Truth, Lies & Propaganda: in Africa (Truth, Lies and Propaganda Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:53

    Lucinda E. Clarke sets up her writing studio with a desk rescued from the municipal dump and a used Remington typewriter with a missing n key. She looks out her window to see a solid brick wall.Her work zone is a metaphor for her life as a writer. She overcomes a miserable childhood in Ireland, family pressure to be a secretary, nurse, or teacher, her own queasiness about writing, unhappy years as a teacher, and an unsatisfactory marriage—to take charge of her in-born passion to write, removing obstacles brick by brick. Her narrative chronicles twenty years following her dream from radio announcing to scriptwriting for radio and tv to video she freelances her method through Libya, Botswana, and South Africa, Lucinda opens the reader to a globe of fresh experience, filled with both humor and pathos. Her gigs contain announcing at bayonet point for Radio Libya, scripting radio plays for the South African Broadcasting Corporation, writing weekly columns for freebie newspapers, shooting video about rubbish removal, prototype toilets, animal acupuncture, hostels for pregnant girls, and safety training for an electricity supplier.Her TV programs contain shoots about the nutritional virtues of potato chips, and a “get ahead” series about the owner of start-up company who makes asbestos pool pump rough the years, we see Lucinda’s shy self-image change from “a reliable cheat writer who meets her deadlines” to a skilled professional. She overcomes rejections to follow her passion to write, place meal on the table, and her maxed out ong the way, appalling situations appear during her assignments, both in organizations (“lies and propaganda”) and also in her field work, often set in urban ghettos or rural squatter camps. Wherever she can, Lucinda positively influences the people she touches with her work, and empathizes with the people of her adopted country. Along with what she observes to be a fatalistic acceptance of a tough life by a lot of South Africans, she celebrates their humor, cheerfulness, and cooperative spirit.Even though Lucinda is humble about her writing abilities (“my scribbling”), she writes brilliantly with heart, humor, honesty, and lots of spunk. This book stands on its own, but I am eager to read her earlier and later books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Truth, Lies & Propaganda: in Africa (Truth, Lies and Propaganda Book 1) []  2020-1-22 21:53

    Detailed, funny, and honest, this book is a fascinating book that takes the reader through the experiences of the author in the beginnings of her career. I don't know a lot about Libya and South Africa, so I was interested in those places. I also don't know much about radio and TV, and found it interesting to see it from a behind the scenes viewpoint. I loved getting the history elements, too. It's always interesting to learn about somebody's path in life. Overall, a compelling read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fodor's Essential South Africa: with The Best Safari Destinations (Travel Guide Book 1) []  2020-1-19 21:27

    I enjoyed and I found this travel book really useful. It is quite complete and it contains maps and amazing recommendations. Thumbs up!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Confessions of a Sex Tourist-Motorcycling in Ghana, Africa-Part 1 []  2020-2-6 22:59

    Mr. Scott has a amazing sense of humor and adventure. His colourful descriptions of life in Ghana created me feel like I was there! I think I will obtain a Motorcycle and test my luck in an equally risky local .... Chicago!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Confessions of a Sex Tourist-Motorcycling in Ghana, Africa-Part 1 []  2020-2-6 22:59

    This man, and the mere concept of this book are thoroughly disgusting. Peak example of white male American privilege and the seemingly ageless need for your kind to exploit. Parasite.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Confessions of a Sex Tourist-Motorcycling in Ghana, Africa-Part 1 []  2020-2-6 22:59

    Amazing book read it cover to cover. Very adventurous and surprising, a must read prior to travel or while traveling.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Barbot on Guinea: The Writings of Jean Barbot on West Africa, 1678-1712 Vol 1 & 2 []  2020-6-23 19:20

    Indispensable for the study of the Transatlantic slave trade at the turn of the eighteenth century. Tremendous detail on trading practices and the trials and tribulations of the European merchants as well as a better understanding of the motives of the African traders than is often seen in later accounts.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    South Africa (including Lesotho and Swaziland) 1:1.5M Travel Map (International Travel Maps) (French Edition) []  2020-6-19 18:42

    This is seriously water-proof. Even so, I've been able to use my highlighters to add notes (though it's taken two layers for the lighter colors due to the water-proof nature). Simple to fold. Seems accurate, though we haven't traveled with it yet.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tropical Africa [App]  2019-6-10 13:22

    fun and relaxing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tropical Africa [App]  2019-6-10 13:22

    fun fun fun

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Rubies Africa [App]  2019-5-25 13:34

    Waoh. This is awesome. The application is just the best. Giving us attractive stories about Africa, the people and their culture. None like it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Discovering Africa [App]  2019-3-4 13:16

    just installed.I like it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TopUp Africa [App]  2017-10-29 13:9

    Best paying app so far in the history

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TopUp Africa [App]  2017-10-29 13:9

    Failed login attempts and also the people I referred most are not reflecting in my earnings

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TopUp Africa [App]  2017-10-29 13:9

    I have referred a lot of users but I only obtain referral promo for few. Why?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TopUp Africa [App]  2017-10-29 13:9

    I love it.. Please u will surely earns

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TopUp Africa [App]  2017-10-29 13:9

    Very amazing application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TopUp Africa [App]  2017-10-29 13:9

    It's dope

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TopUp Africa [App]  2017-10-29 13:9

    Perfect application...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TopUp Africa [App]  2017-10-29 13:9

    Best

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Free Africa [App]  2019-3-11 13:8

    Pardon essayez de régler le problème d'images. On n'entend que le son. Sil vous plait. Le Cameroun me manque et j'aimerais suivre toutes les émissions ici au Ghana. Faites un effort. MERCI

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Free Africa [App]  2019-3-11 13:8

    Nice application but not on the line with the television

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Free Africa [App]  2019-3-11 13:8

    De l'excellence à la médiocrité On fait comment si on as oublié le mots de passe ? Quand vous voulez faire bien faites bien

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Free Africa [App]  2019-3-11 13:8

    Free Africa Very amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Free Africa [App]  2019-3-11 13:8

    Not amazing Not working

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Free Africa [App]  2019-3-11 13:8

    I love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Africa Legend [App]  2019-3-12 13:29

    love this Android game addicting

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Unwired Africa []  2020-1-23 3:44

    Unwired AfricaI love African Melody and this is my favorite compilation of it. The melody is more acoustic than you may search elsewhere, but the crisp strings sound like a symphony. This really brings you to Africa. It feels like you are on Safari, just hanging out with the natives at night. This was my introduction to African Melody and it is a amazing one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jammu Africa []  2020-1-23 3:51

    This album grows on you. It's not immediate, so at first listen not all the beauty and appeal are evident. But with every subsequent spin you'll explore more of its rich dozens which contains 3 distinct styles. The first is the catchy uptempo pop song of which Nafanta and Sofia are amazing examples; there is a resemblance to the soukous style of artists like Tabu Ley Rochereau and Ray Lema. The hit Dibi Dibi Rek is a tad slower but has highly addictive hooks whilst the rhythmic texture of Raciste is exceptional. Percussive tracks like Samba et Leuk and Takou Deneu represent a subgroup of the pop style possibly influenced by Nigerian melody like that of King Sunny e slow, often mournful, melodious ballad is the second type. All of these have attractive tunes and moving vocals. They contain the undulating Tajabone with its distinct country tones, the atmospheric Nabou spiced with synth and soulful female backing vocals, the melancholy Lotto Lo which has an introspective singer/songwriter air about it and Souleymane, the one with a pop-rock arrangement that starts slowly & gently before the tempo increases & the vocals intensify to transform it into a soaring power ballad. This "southern soul" is a staple of West African artists like Baaba Maal and Youssou N'irdly, there is the torch song with aching vocals over a meandering rhythm, represented by the title track, Khar and Without Blame, the devastating duet with Marianne Faithfull which is in a class of its own. Sometimes the voices are in harmony, then they diverge in a call & response style. Marianne's English lyrics are most poetic and Ismael's French lines sound equally so. Furthermore, a related timbre characterizes both voices for a stirring complementary effect. This tour de force ranks among my top 10 songs by Marianne and is the highlight on an album of soulful songs and attractive melodies that impressive stylistic variety.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jammu Africa []  2020-1-23 3:51

    The title track is truly a moving emotional track that can't be played less than a dozen times or more over and over. Other tracks are perfect and will draw you into this artists experience. Really liked Tadiau Bone as is album will move you, bring you to tears or bring bright smiles. Considering that I am a 37 year old white guy from Flushing who grew up on Black Sabbath, AC-DC, and Rush, you can bet that Ismael Lo is for a very wide audience of melody lovers. Search this album somewhere and it...it's hard to search nowadays.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Jammu Africa []  2020-1-23 3:51

    This is a deceptive album that may, at first, sound basic, but with each listen I hear something -- rhythm or harmony or a vocal line or a melodic run -- that I didn't hear before. The reason for the purchase, at first, was the duet with Marianne Faithful, a haunting melody. I didn't a amazing of attention to the rest. On second hearing I recognized how varied and complex his melody is in music and in rhythm -- from French ballads to Latin to African. It's a amazing listen, and amazing items to improve your spirits.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Africa Hunters [App]  2019-12-22 13:33

    The application is very well place together. I think this application will be amazing for fresh people who is getting into hunting. My private opinion is that a wasted my money. There is nothing fresh I learned from this app. I hope I victory a then atleast I will obtain my R189 back.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386