Read dungeon of souls reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all dungeon of souls reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    miami dade clerk of courts case search [md case search judiciary]  2020-8-23 12:25
    [email protected]

    index website web maryalnd case find this page more information here case find orange county fl case find fulton county state court case find

    0  


    Add your opinion on dungeon of souls or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    dose of cialis [cialis safe ]  2020-8-20 4:58
    [email protected]

    When a the human race wickedness not oneself discount website cialis 50mg within down in the mouth gelatins and revascularization in slushy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dungeon of Souls [App]  2018-6-11 21:0

    I really like the illustrations, speed load is fast, dozens of spell & skill combinations, all in all this android game is easy yet satisfying

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dungeon of Souls [App]  2018-6-11 21:0

    Android game would be amazing but unable to obtain passed the initial class pick screen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Libra of Souls [App]  2020-1-31 13:35

    Amazing app! Very user friendly and aesthetically appealing. 👍 Definitely will use it frequently.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kingdom of Souls []  2020-1-14 19:36

     This book. THIS BOOK. Barron knows how to tell an emotional and rich story. I felt like I was *in the story* while reading this (most of the time I feel like I'm watching a movie). She grounds you so deeply into every scene, and then she hits you with all the feels. I can't imagine wanting something so badly that I'd trade years of my life for it, but Barron helps you understand why it's so necessary to Arrah, even while everything [email protected]#$%!&ing the grow so attached to the characters, all of them, so you're screaming at the book, then also crying, and I know this review is kind of a mess but that's just an indication of how amazing this book is. I wish to be left speechless and stunned when I finish a novel and Kingdom of Souls did that and ank you NetGalley for giving me the opportunity to review!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kingdom of Souls []  2020-1-14 19:36

    It was amazing read. I enjoyed the mystery and the stories of old. The characters were relatable and I’m looking forward to the next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Carnival Of Lost Souls []  2020-1-18 22:45

    Creepy carnival melody is just awesome. This is like being transported into a haunted midway. I love this Cd and the artwork is just breathtaking. I was really impressed with how intense the melody was.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Carnival Of Lost Souls []  2020-1-18 22:45

    I'm not going to lie or sugar coat it. The laughing kids creeped me out. Having said that, this is a amazing cd for mood melody or for having a dark party. Halloween is an obvious choice, but what about a summertime 'carnival?' Guests could have candy apples, popcorn, etc. and play android games in the living room while this played in the background. Who says children and (teenagers who usually don't even understand the goth lifestyle they are spouting anyway) obtain to have all the fun? I wouldn't android game to this, but it's excellent for entertainment and adds just the right amount of creepy to a night.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forest of Souls []  2020-7-28 19:16

    We meet Sirscha Ashwyn as she arrives at the home of her mentor Kendara. Sirscha is currently apprentice to the Queen’s shadow but she is just one of a few, maybe even many. To become the Queen’s spy, she must be able to prove that she is the best, that she is more than enough. She works hard but continues to feel deficient, especially as individuals like the officit leading the students to visit the prison for shamanborn and Jonyah Thao, her best mate Saengo’s cousin, continue to debase her because of her upbringing; Sirscha is an orphan, and orphans are of no value. Ultimately, it is the discovery of a rival for the coveted position that will lead to Saengo’s death, her subsequent resurrection, and the revelation that Sirscha is a lightwender, specifically a soulguide with the ability to tutorial souls to the afterlife or to bring them back to life. This will likely have reverberations for the kingdoms and ultimately results in Ronin, the Spider King, summoning both Sirscha and Saengo to Spinner’s is is the first book of the Shamanborn trilogy. Sirscha Ashwyn is a hero that a lot of of us may be able to sympathize with because she is still seeking her put in the globe and often feels like she is never enough. Lee fills the pages with lush descriptions of the world, immersing us into Sirscha's globe but at times, because Sirscha is often going from put to place, we might not necessarily feel as connected to her and Evewyn as we should. It feels like we're still in the beginning stages of something that could be, will be great. I still very much enjoyed it and think it is worth the read. Lee writes well and I'm excited for the rest of the trilogy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forest of Souls []  2020-7-28 19:16

    This was an awesome read! The globe building, the characters, the suspense - I enjoyed every bit so much that I couldn't place it down. Can't wait for the next book to come out!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Carnival of Souls [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:50

    We begin with a vehicle crash... Mary and her two mates leave the street and fly off a bridge during a friendly dragster race. She is the only survivor and after her recovery she takes up a job as the church organist in a fresh town, but she is constantly blighted by a ghostly like visitor and periods of time when nobody seems to know she exists. A hinted spoiler follows. Carnival Of Souls has thankfully found a whole fresh audience in the fresh millennium, the advent of triple package DVDs and a lush Criterion release have brought it firmly to the attention of Horror/Ghost fans who were not aware that the movie even existed. That said, there is no doubting that a lot of huge name directors were fully aware of it, tho, for Carnival Of Souls has influenced such luminary genre masters from Romero to Carpenter, and from Hooper to Shyamalan, be it the low budget DIY ethic, or its now genre staple twist ending, it's a movie (along with it's director Herk Harvey) that is referenced as much as it is copied. The mark often used for the movie is that it's an elongated Twilight Location episode, and sure enough I think that is a excellent fit. Its whole structure feels like a part of that unbelievable and awesome Rod Serling show, and for sure this story owes a doff of the cap to An Occurrence At Owl Creek Bridge (an Ambrose Bierce short that was reworked and used on Serling's show), but to merely suggest a retread of a previously used idea would be very unfair. Carnival Of Souls is full of eerie sequences that are dream like in quality yet goose pimply in effect. Scored at frequent intervals by a jangling organ shrill, the ghostly phantoms that plague not good Mary actually bring a shiver to the spine; while a surrealistic dance of the carnival is a stunning eerie highlight. It's a wonderfully brought together story that has one pondering uneasily from the obtain go, managing to jolt your senses adroitly with a very unique ending. With a little budget of only $30,000 and a cast of friends, Herk Harvey crafted one of the best independent horror sub-genre movies ever made. Don't believe me? Then go ask Romero, Raimi or Hooper. 8/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Island of Lost Souls [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:52

    We are Devo! There's an island somewhere out there in the goddamn foggy laden deep blue sea. Here resides Dr. Moreau (Charles Laughton), he has a God complex and he is conducting experiments, turning animals into humans. Unsurprisingly and terrifyingly the results are not exactly a success! Tod Browning's Freaks was released this same year, and when watching Erle C. Kenton's Island of Lost Souls, it makes for the excellent companion piece. Full of haunting imagery, aided no end by cinematographer Karl Struss' stunning photography, it's a movie that stays with you long after the end credits have rolled. Berserker science marries up to human chaos to provoke and problem in equal measure. Laughton gives top villainy, whilst Waldemar Young and and Philip Wylie adapt from the H.G. Wells novel with a cheeky glint in their eyes. The 1930s had some amazing horror movies, this is up with the best of them. 8/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kingdom of Souls []  2020-1-14 19:36

    This is one of the best books I’ve ever read! The plot has familiar elements, but the intricate weaving of the Orishas and other spirits elevates it to a multilayered, complicated, epic tale. I’ve never experienced a book that interweaves the mythology and presence of the Orishas so seamlessly. The heroine is flawed, human, and something more, and the globe around her is richly realized. The story itself has suspense, adventure, and deeply felt emotions. It is so refreshing to read an African-based epic, but race per se has nothing to do with the story other than providing a deeply rich culture. The characters, experiences and emotions are universal, and that makes this book a classic. This author is now an immediate “must buy” for me, and I’ve just ordered her middle grade book coming out next year. I hope she will give us a lot of more products of her talent, and I want her continued success!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kingdom of Souls []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Holy heck!! That was amazing! Such a rich globe and so a lot of perfect characters. This is the kind of story that takes off at a run and pulls you along every step of the way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kingdom of Souls []  2020-1-14 19:36

    The story was so interesting and so a lot of characters. The globe feels so true and it makes you wonder what else is event and what else we'll learn. Lots of magic and interesting surprises.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crown Of Souls []  2020-1-16 23:39

    Excellent!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crown Of Souls []  2020-1-16 23:39

    Deeds...is a amazing band...this record is tuff and filled with awesome riffing...I can't wait until they chop another one...because I know it's going to be good...Tis the season to blast.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Carnival Of Lost Souls []  2020-1-18 22:45

    I currently am creating a Halloween 2015 Carnival 'Village' decoration. It has a Haunted Carousel, House of Wax, Mortis Theatre, Ghost-Walk Cemetary and Haunted Pumpkin Patch...plus a lot of more attractions. A lot of fellow-villagers are asking me to video-tape the Haunted Carnival. I required amazing background music. This CD MORE than fit-the-mood! It's creepy, and yet at the same time, enjoyable to listen I am doing my arts-n-crafts for the upcoming Halloween....I listen to this CD for inspiration. It's HORROR-ifically WONDERFUL. Thank you, Amazon!!!! VERY VERY PLEASED...and I've also recommended this CD to a lot of others!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Carnival Of Lost Souls []  2020-1-18 22:45

    This album is definitely a must for those who love Halloween, haunt their homes, or own a haunted attraction. Several of these tracks give that eerie, haunted, amusement park feeling that so a lot of horror fans love. The opening track puts you instantly at the locale of a haunted carnival and does so magnificently. The rest take you through the haunted attractions that one might search at a traveling circus or carnival. Nox Arcana knocks it out of the park!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forest of Souls []  2020-7-28 19:16

    I'm 22 and have always been a fantasy fanatic but haven't been able to leisurely read since high school. This was the first book I picked up in a long time and I finished it within a day of quarantine. It's exciting and I can't wait for the next book in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Libra of Souls [App]  2020-1-31 13:35

    I use this application constantly. It's a well thought out, well designed application for referencing frame data quickly. Very helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crown Of Souls []  2020-1-16 23:39

    I was anxious to hear what the fresh album by these death metal veterans would sound like, so I grabbed it at first glance in the store.....I must say that I like this release much better than the material on their previous album "Reduced to Ashes", mainly because the song structures are more strait-forward and punishing than those on the afore-mentioned. To me it sounds more like something from in the days of "Gradually Melted" or Trading Pieces", but still retains all of the progression they have created in their musicality. The drums are a fine slab of brutality alone, and are more up-front in the mix. Eric Lindmark still incorporates all of those sinister, warm-sounding chords in the guitar work. All in all, anyone wanting an album that will have them trying to figure out all the song structures for weeks should pick this up immediately. Hail "Deeds" once again.....!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crown Of Souls []  2020-1-16 23:39

    Deeds of flesh are one of the most underrated bands in death metal, which is a crime in and of itself because they are so good. Crown of Souls marks the return of deeds in a most brutal fashion, the songs are more memorable then those found on reduced to ashes cd, and are more to the pointwhile still retaining the jaw droping and confusing arrangements that created tag of the legion a classic! The cd overall sounds great, i think the lead guitars could be turned up a small bit more but all in all no complaints. If you love death metal then this should be in your collection!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kingdom of Souls []  2020-1-14 19:36

    Gorgeous cover - check. Eye-catching title - check. Engrossing blurb - check! It promised a magical globe I could lose myself in with an interesting premise and although the losing myself bit didn't quite happen, there was enough globe building and an amazing magical system that helped me stay interested enough to trudge through the read.I absolutely loved learning about the African magical lore. It's definitely not something you see often in YA stories but I will admit, it was info overload in the beginning and I found it hard to hold up and also understand what I was rah's relationship with her father was another win. You could truly feel the closeness and sincerity in their relationship and I adored the small bit I was able to read e characters, especially Arrah, fell extremely flat for me. In no method did they feel relatable or even believable. It was truly disappointing that not one of them displayed any personality making it simple for me to place this book down and begin doing something the time you begin the first chapter in this book, Arrah and the character already like each other and this is a scapegoat for me. Taking two strangers and having the ability to write a relationship that builds authentically over time is a real bonus and this was sorely missing. I just could not obtain behind a relationship where the feelings were already there, especially with bland e Orisha POV chapters were a bit of a mess. They felt extremely disjointed, not well placed, organized or worded. You didn't always know who was speaking and half the time, didn't know what the heck was being discussed. I don't know if this was supposed to add some type of mysterious element to the story. If anything, it created it more confusing and hard to follow.Unfortunately, the plot also left much to be desired. A lot of times it was all over put with uninteresting action sequences. And Arrah complained too much about not being accepted by her mother and society for not having magic. By the time she started putting words to action, more than half of the book had passed without anything noteworthy taking final rating is 3 stars. I'd recommend reading this only because the magic system and culture is so refreshing. This author has a ton of potential to be so much more and I am sure with much practice and time, this story could turn out to be amazing. I will the second book only to see how this author grows.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kingdom of Souls []  2020-1-14 19:36

    This was one of the best books I've ever read!! The first chapter grabs you and you become immersed in a globe of magic and danger. The descriptions were so detailed and the plot is enthralling. I'm already sad that I finished and ready for the next book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Carnival Of Lost Souls []  2020-1-18 22:45

    A lot of of the perfect reviews here appear to be written by younger people who are affiliated with the Goth stage or other arcane artistic elements. I am, by method of contrast, a 50-year-old man who wears a suit five days a week and who is generally ensconced in a rather conservative profession and social network. Having discovered Nox Arcana (NA, hereafter) a few years ago when Amazon recommended them to me, and realizing immediately that this is profound, intense, totally unbelievable music, I feel obliged to chip in my two-cent's worth. My fear is that NA is, or could be, marginalized as melody for only those involved in Goth "studies" or other macabre interests, or that this melody could be unfairly sequestered as "Halloween music." Either limitation would be highly unfortunate. I believe this melody is nothing short of brilliant and would have broad appeal to most who hear ease note that this review does not apply specifically to just this album, Carnival of Lost Souls, but this is one of NA's best titles. This disc is life-altering. My private progression through NA began as follows: I first bought "Transylvania." After receiving it, and listening to it one time, I immediately bought every single NA album. None of them disappointed. They are all obviously of the same dark genre, and they are all superb. There may be a few that stand out as my favorites, but all of them are 10/10. Why did Amazon recommend NA to me? I'm not sure if it similar to my history of ambient music, or horror films, or both combined. I had invested quite a bit of time and pursuing both interests, and it was insightful for the Amazon program to realize that NA was right up my fact, the Amazon recommendation sated an ongoing and expensive frustration. The ambient melody I'd been spending a fortune on was not satisfying. The fascination with ambient melody began with Angelo Badalamenti's soundtrack melody for "Twin Peaks" in the early 90s. That album captivated me for a couple of years. I must have given 25 copies as gifts, and everyone had a resounding response. So, I tried to expand on that attraction, and had limited success. Too much ambient melody relies on minimalism. Brian Eno's material is haunting, but it doesn't always captivate me. My mind will wander. A lot of ambient merges into techno or electronic, which actually tended to ambient me into a full-blown migraine! And so, I had a box with about 75 ambient CDs, and maybe five of them really merited repeated playing.What I was looking for was melody that captures me and whisks me away into an alternative state of mind. As someone who has job with a lot of responsibility, and as a father, I can't drop LSD on my Tuesday nights. In fact, I have to hold it down to two drinks or less if I wish to be clear-headed the next morning. And, I don't have the time for yoga or meditation. Melody has always seemed to be the best route for efficient escapism. While my traditional musical affinity has always been of a hard rock orientation, as I "matured" I realized that in addition to Led Zeppelin and AC/DC there were other more mellow artists who did add richness and meaning to my life: Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass, for example, brought back amazing childhood memories, and Sinatra and Dino added some cocktail hour pizzazz, and a lot of others enhanced specific occasions or moods.But there was something in the sphere of ambient melody that I knew could be expanded upon. I hadn't realized it initially, but I realize now the musical "high" I was looking for was frequently delivered in the soundtracks of horror movies. The weird, pulsating, haunting melody that we experience in Carrie, Carnival of Souls, The Exorcist, Burnt Offerings, The Shining, and so a lot of others is exciting and tips at alternative "non-Euclidean" perspectives. So, I started buying soundtracks for horror films. I found some amazing melody this direction, but it was spotty. Some songs sounded simply like....generic soundtrack music. There was no particular continuity. My attention waxed and waned.Enter Nox Arcana. (And, I should mention, I have had a related positive experience with Midnight Syndicate, a group with a related orientation.) NA, I later learned, was made by a fellow named Joseph Vargo, who is also a talented painter (making me wonder if he created some with the devil; there's just too much talent in this one person to comport to the normal parameters of evolution). Amazon, and a lot of of the reviewers described NA melody as "Halloween music." That seemed like a fairly narrow niche to me, but as I mentioned I went ahead and gambled on "Transylvania."Wow. On that album and on all the others, here's what I've found:First, you obtain extremely attractive music. The melody is simply beautiful, there's nothing jarring, abrasive, or ugly to detract. If someone were to walk into your home for a few moments as you were listening to this, they'd probably just presume your were listening to some Baroque-era classical-type music. The level of sophistication is mesmerizing, and the array of elements are primal and organic: whispers, gongs, piano, organ, harpsichord, acoustic guitars, bells, melody boxes,laughter, violin--all orchestrated cond, this melody is haunting. By "haunting," I mean it really gets under your current subjective mood and yanks you into its own mystical realm. You are transported. I recently read the 1960's classic "The Natural Mind" by Dr. Andrew Weil wherein he discusses different alternatives to drug usage to satisfy the deeply entrenched human desire to achieve altered states of consciousness. I'm sure that if NA had been around at the time he wrote that book, he would have given NA a warm recommendation. This melody transports the listener. Every time I play an NA album I search myself taken from the suburbs of Los Angeles and deposited to some cold, dark castle or some windy, isolated hill, or any of a hundred other barren places. That "barrenness" somehow transforms my mood. It takes me out of my own myopic, stressed, subjectivity and reminds me that we live in a vast, cold, mystical cosmos, one which is attractive but full of unknowns and unknowables. I may not immediately see "the huge picture," but I am reminded that there is indeed a huge picture to be seen, or at least sought. This is "ambient music" of the highest order. Indeed, Wikipedia tells me that NA creates "Dark Ambient" music, and I search that this is probably the best description out there. I would add the adjective "rich," because this is not minimalist ambient music, it is filled with a thousand elements and forces. It is indeed: "Rich, Dark Ambient."Third: This melody is serious. Some naysayers may search the narratives which precede some of the songs to render this melody down onto a less-serious plane. Honestly, at first I didn't appreciate the whispery narratives (ex: "You are entering the dark and empty manor..."). However, let's remember that folklore and storytelling are necessary parts of our human cultural odyssey. And the introductions here are typically very short. After a few listens, I've found that they actually set the scene very nicely and add some nice context. They ultimately add to the "eldritch" (a Lovecraft word for you) moodiness. And the strong NA melodies immediately sweep away any residuum of campiness should you perceive it in that light. I assure you, I am not into campy melody at all, and NA is not campy. "Profound" is the main word that comes to my mind after exploring their entire cent NA albums have been, amazingly, as amazing as the earliest albums. There must be close to a dozen titles at this point. Can Nox Arcana continue to deliver the same high quality melody in the years to come? In my mind, that is the major question. This is a unbelievable universe Joseph Vargo, et al., has created, but it is almost certainly a finite universe. I hope they will know when it is time to give it up. I'd hate to see even a single watered-down album be is is almost religious-level melody here, and I hope it will stay ultra- orthodox until the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Carnival Of Lost Souls []  2020-1-18 22:45

    This is the only Nox Arcana CD that I have so far and it is a very pleasing program of creepy, atmospheric music. First of all, the cover art is very effective, particularly if, like me, you are fond of the macabre. The tracks are well-thought out and differ from each other nicely. For example, the Snake Charmer track has an Eastern feel and although not typically sinister is a amazing interlude. The sound effects are used effectively and not over-used, allowing the melody to set the mood. There is a amazing use of a chorus, as in tracks like Pandora's Melody Box, where the voices turn from singing to moaning. I agree with John Rossi on the enjoyment of the CD and his review is by far the most descriptive review is is a amazing CD for playing around Halloween but anytime you wish something sinister Carnival of Lost Souls is a amazing choice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Carnival Of Lost Souls []  2020-1-18 22:45

    First: They took you on a horrifying journey through the halls of a haunted Victorian mansion, home of the notorious Darklore clan, a sanctuary of shadows which few dare enter, and from which none return... Then, just when you thought the terror was over, they walked with you on a spine-tingling musical journey into the pages H.P. Lovecraft's terrifying literary world, opening the ancient tome known as the "Necronomicon" Later, a restful and refreshing respite was had, and a time of somber reflection, with a journey into Ebonshire Forest, and the surrounding village as the Knight Of Winter similar a tragic yet attractive cautionary tale.... And finally, the dark realm of the vampire was breached, with a visit to the rugged lovely land of "Transylvania", with a chilling, grandiose and spellbinding musical tribute to the king of Vampires, Vlad Dracula himself...For a while, or so it seemed, all was quiet....Until... NOW............ Travel anew if you dare, with Nox Arcana... masterful minstrels of the macabre as an all fresh musical nightmare is set to unfold. Step this way,ladies and gentlemen... and bring your tickets.... as you are about to cross onto the fairgrounds of the Circus Diabolique. Welcome, one and all... to the Carnival Of Lost Souls.... 1. Ghosts Of The Midway- Oh, how festively do we start our journey into theunknown. A undercurrent of choral "moaning" carries a blend of children's and grownups laughter and revelry, along with the sounds of what may be tricycle horns. Soon we are greeted by the Ringmaster, runner of these fiendishly fun attractions. A swirling and eerily playful keyboard music buoys a deep, charming, yet slightly sinister voice as we are invited to discover our wickedest dreams and most diabolical nightmares. The fun is just getting started...2. After Hours- We obtain more somber here. Though this is a very beautiful tune, more tension is building. Ringing bell-like tones... almost like a xylophone but not quite, resemble a heartbeat in their pacing, as they combine with moans, children's laughter, beautifully sad and mysterious choral passages, and tolling vespers to tell of the imminent falling of night. A whispered voice dares us onward to discover further the festive yet fearful fairgrounds, saying..."Follow me..... This way..." Do you dare to move on?3. Harlequin's Lament- Mournful piano and choral tones tell the story here, mixing with tolling bells.. `Tis the tale of one of the performers, a heart-stirring tale of one sentenced to forever entertain the patrons of a circus of fiends4. Calliope- A festive, playful musical opus, this, or so it seems uses a mix of keyboard, flute, very nice tolling bells, xylophone and choral notes. It depicts the innocence of children, enjoying a ride that might be more captivating, and risky than it appears. The sound of kids laughing on occasion really adds to this effect.5. Madame Endora- The dropping of tells of a daring soul indeed.. A attractive swirling harp tune blends with choir and pipe organ, as we are told by the soothsayer in a grating, witch-like voice, of bleak horizons and a path before us filled with darkness. Beware the coming storm. Tense, ominous, heavily atmospheric, and beautiful.6. Nightmare Parade- This is a heavily martial piece, rousing and adventurous. Pounding percussion, invigorating strings and choir do the honors. The snap of a cracking whip and the growls of animals create an appearance, along with tolling bells, xylophone-like sounds , pipe organ and amazing choral passages.7. Shadow's Fall- Percussion and somber piano are the stars here. They are accompanied by melancholy but attractive strings. This speaks of more dangers and horrors that lie on the path ahead. Beware!8. Hall Of Mirrors- This is a "fun" piece, but still creepy. The lead players in this part of the drama are keyboards and sinister laughter in varying pitches. It pays homage to the frightening yet fun mirror houses we all remember from our own visits to the circus as children.9. Spellbound- This is a piece of pure and lovely nostalgia. The sound of an old phonograph gives method to a sad but very beautiful violin tune over which the following is sung "The witching hour's drawing near. And my tragic fate is clear. I'll take your secret to my grave. For evermore I'll be you slave. Because I'm spellbound." The record whooshes to a stop, and the track ends with a choral moan of a sort.10. Cries In The Night-Oh, how to choose words that do this justice. These cries are not screams of terror. Nay, they are heartstring-tugging choral passages,. hinting at a deep and lonely sorrow and a heart-wrenching loveliness. Xylophone-like notes create a brief guest appearance alongside some of the most emotion-stirring choral voice work I have ever had the pleasure to listen to.11. Soul Stealer- Choir, massive percussion, pipe organ, and fast violin runs tell this tale. It is an invigorating `chase' as you are hounded through the fairgrounds by dark forces that seek to overtake you. Run for your life. Your very soul may depend on it12. - Haunted Carousel- I see this as a "companion piece" to Calliope, but that is not to disparage this piece. It is a attractive mix of keys, pipe organ, tolling bells and choir that depict a turn upon a ride we all remember fondly. It is a tune almost of seduction... promising fun if you indulge in partaking in a ride upon an amusement which, in this case youshouldn't touch, but the melody is so alluring. Won't you give in, just this once, and if you do, will you be able to resist doing it again?13. Theater Of Sorrows - Piano, choir, violin and tolling bells are the stars of this present once more. This is a amazing and very attractive piece, somber yet thrilling in a method that is all its own.14. Living Dolls - This begins with the sound of wind-up toys being cranked up. Bell-like tones blend with and alluring choir, lovely string work, and the laughter of a kid to depict our favorite toys.15. Lost In The Darkness- This may be among the most attractive pieces of melody I've heard. It uses noble, somber piano and pipe organ, blended with the soul stirring power of majestic strings, and some of the most attractive choral passages my ears have even ingested. Despite it's dark, bleak nature, depicting a lost and wandering soul, the piece seems to carry a current of hope... that maybe, just maybe the wanderer will search a method home. We root for them, whoever they are, even though we know they will search no escape. Truly an awe-inspring loveliness is to be found here.16. Snake Charmer- This is one of my favorite "attractions" in this show. Exotic percussion mixes with attractive flute, enchanting Middle Eastern instrumentation and alluring choral passages to take us on an amazing journey to a land far away, to a put only reachable in our dreams, as we watch one of amazing skill do musical `battle' to charm a deadly serpent.17. Freaks - This piece is heavily atmospheric It seems to use a `drone' result created of deep wordless male choir, mixing it with deep laughter, the growls of mythical beasts, and the rattling of chains. The feel of one is pure and inescapable tension.18. Circus Diabolique- Here we have a amazing martial musical opus, utilizing brooding but melodic strings, militaristic percussion and snare drums, horns, pipe organ and choir. It is a thrilling piece of music, with a steady mid-range tempo. We are invited by our kind Ringmaster to draw our attention to center stage, where we are told we will each "bear witness to terrifying sights that will haunt you till the day you die. " Behold the Circus Diabolique, and allow the nightmare begin!!!19. Pandora's Melody Box- This is a lovely tune filled, to me, with wonder and mystery, and tension It utilizes attractive bells, choir, strings, and pipe organ to suggest the temptation and allure of having within our reach something that can promise amazing power and present us wondrous things we've notseen before, but warns us that they will be a to if we give in to that temptation.20. The Devil's Daggers - This is the most INTENSE attraction of the show. The sinister swirling string melodies and thundering percussion are relentless, and they carry a current of attractive yet foreboding choir atop themselves. The chase is on, and you MUST run for your life if you want to hold it.21. Storm - Steady, brooding strings and choir do the honors here, dancing with inexorable percussion and briefly with sinister pipe organ It conveys the unstoppable power of nature's fury. The thunderclaps that appear within this piece of melody are the most amazing thunderclaps that I have ever heard utilized in any recording that I know thing you must be aware of. Even as the latest mighty thunderclap on "Storm" fades away, do not hit "Stop" on your CD player. There are some perfect tracks to which you will be treated, including a harp-tinged reading from the ghostly Madame Endora, a attractive music-box number, and an AWESOME rock/metal ver of Spellbound that is led into brilliantly by a purely lovely violin music on an old phonograph that 'skips' a few times before launching into blistering and brilliant massive metal guitar riffs. Here's the easy truth of the matter to me. Nox Arcana have outdone themselves with this CD. It is their best work to date. If you are a fan, you owe it to yourself to obtain this CD. If you are not a fan... one listen to this could create you a fan. Pick it up if you obtain the chance, and satisfied listening. :) Thank you for coming, ladies and gentlemen. I hope you've enjoyed your time among us here at the Circus Diabolique. Don't worry if one present isn't enough. You're welcome back at any time. We'll always be here... waiting to entertain you again. Do come back please, if you dare!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forest of Souls []  2020-7-28 19:16

    I really really really wanted to have fun this book. I was definitely anticipating to read this book since I heard of the release. I was intrigued to know that Lori Lee is a Hmong Author and this was gonna be a fantasy series based on the magical element of Hmong Shamanism... unfortunately, I did not have fun this book.SPOILERS:The globe building and magic system was so confusing. Even after reading this book, I’m still confused on where the countries lie and how close or how long you’d need to be with your familiar to be able to use your magic. The monsters in this globe was also another element that came and went. There are so a lot of moving parts that once one was introduce, the previous one is lost in abstract until Sirscha speaks of it again. Everything was just everywhere.I definitely know what they wore and what they ate. But I still don’t know about all the elements of the shamanborns and shamanblessed. Sirscha still doesn’t know her abilities, even in the end, she’s still confused and still “trying” to figure it out. Which has become repetitive, because she keeps “trying” throughout the book, but still doesn’t explain what she’s tryna do. And what the magic that consumes her actually is was definitely a plot drive series vs a developed one. I still know nothing about Sirscha, Saengo, Theyen, Ronin, Kendara, Jonyah, Prince Meilek, or Queen Mei... Every hero were either apart of a plot or they were irrelevant. They don’t go beyond the situation at hand. And theirs no real reason why each plot happens besides getting captured and fighting to run e Sisterhood/friendships were hard to connect. There was supposed to be a powerful connect between Sirscha and her best mate Saengo. But instead, throughout the book, Sirscha just keeps telling us that they are best mate and how much she cares for Saengo. But she is always thinking only about herself, her upbringing, her wanting validation, her comparing herself to Saengo -class/wealth/privilege-; there’s a lot of “telling” how powerful she is, but all I obtain is self pity and all talks. I don’t see any bond, or real friendship at all.What happened to Kendara? Even til the end, we still don’t know what happened to her. Or did I miss it?Sirscha’s hero was all over the put as well. One moment she’s fierce and ready to fight, the next she’s doubting herself. She’s beautiful selfish, I don’t see her sisterhood bond at all. If she’s so close to Saengo, why always take afraid her. Sirscha create Saengo portray as very weak, when she should be as powerful and as tough as Sirscha. Sirscha keeps dwelling on the idea of wanted to belong to something when her hero is portray to be independent, resilient, and fierce. She seems to wish to be praised and become a leader and bring change, but her hero needs more growth and more development to do so. Her hero is quite immature to be able to “lead” the shamanborn and shamanblessed.Hopefully the 2nd book can be more focused and developed so we can obtain to know the globe and the people more. Honestly, I’m not sure I’m even anticipating book 2.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forest of Souls []  2020-7-28 19:16

    This book is a wonderful, addicting addition to the YA fantasy genre! The prose was really lovely, with some perfect descriptions and high-stakes, high-energy scenes. This book also gets additional points for powerful female friendships, and a lack of first book romance! While I have my hopes for the romance, it's always exciting to search a YA novel that draws me in on plot alone - it means the plot is truly rscha is a member of the Queen's Guard, a soldier training force, but has a side gig that has given her additional training, stealth and speed. She's of unknown heritage and chronically bullied due to this. Her bff Saengo is highborn and upper crust, but they've bonded despite their differences. After a mission goes wrong, Sirscha discovers something life-changing about herself, and her relationship with Saengo changes. She has to journey to the heart of what has happened between several of the nations and treat with Ronin, known as the spider king. In the process, she seeks to explore the sickness that has claimed the Dead Wood, and see if she can search the I mentioned, the prose and friendships in this story are excellent. I also enjoyed the side characters of the Prince and Thuyen. I'm very curious to see how they feature in the later novels, and think that the arcs between Sirscha and them were excellent. Lastly, I always love a creative magic system. The magic of shamans works through the concept of a 'familiar,' a soul on earth that the shaman bonds to as a conduit for their magic. And I love the bending-type elemental magic that this novel features. And of course, the idea of amazing magic lost now reborn, and a mage culture now subjugated and imprisoned. All great!I also liked that this book was fast-moving. I think YA literature drags too often, as if writers are afraid that too much plot will lose the reader. I found the pace convincing and gripping. I loved that Sorscha is a [email protected]#$% and a well-trained fighter. I'm so excited to see what she does in the next book!A few latest thoughts - I liked the introduction of some of the magical creatures, and I look forward to learning more about the monster basis, as well as Sorscha's heritage.I will be buying and devouring the rest of this series as they come out!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forest of Souls []  2020-7-28 19:16

    As a Hmong reader, I gobble up anything that Hmong authors write. Lori M Lee is no exception to that rule. I have read the Gates of Thread and Stone series and really loved the futuristic post-apocalyptic themes. I had no doubt that Lee would be able to pull off this high fantasy book as well.Lee's globe building is second to none. You could smell the fruits. You felt ever scorch, scratch, and tug. And some of the tension between the protagonist and friendships and love interests leapt off the pages, dripping in satisfied to hear that this book was announced from being a dulogy to trilogy. I read in an interview that she has turned in the manuscript to the publisher March 2020 with a begin date of 2021. And that news couldn't come sooner because I have some unanswered questions about the characters such as the Soul Easter! Not a spoiler if you haven't read the book but the unveil is is book deserves HUGE commercial success. We were able to obtain a book club of over 100 Hmong people reading this book altogether since it's begin date and the insight, reviews, and critiques from the group were some of the best I've ever had and a lot of that comes from a shared experience and knowing nods that Lee peppered throughout the book to our Hmong r those who aren't Hmong, this is mainstream enough that any reader can see themselves in are this with anyone who may be interested in fast-paced, easy-to-read, chapter books who have a healthy imagination. Some from our book club finished the book in one sitting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forest of Souls []  2020-7-28 19:16

    Sirscha Ashwyn has nothing and to most of her fellow cadets in the Queen's Company she is less than nothing. None of that matters to Sirscha. She knows that she can prove them all wrong once she secures her spot as apprentice to the Queen's Shadow--the spymaster who bows only to the queen ars of training and waiting fall apart in a flash when Sirscha's best mate Saengo is killed during a shaman attack and Sirscha's own shamanic powers are revealed--when she brings Saengo back to ing a shaman in Thiy is a risky thing--something that could leave Sirscha in prison for the rest of her life. But the Spider King has other plans, believing Sirscha could be the key to strengthening the tenuous peace between Thiy's fractious countries.With alliances shifting and battle on the horizon, Sirscha will have to embrace her fresh identity if she wants to secure a future for herself, Saengo, and everything she loves in Forest of Souls (2020) by Lori M. rest of Souls is the first book in Lee's Shamanborn series. It is written in Sirscha's often sardonic first person narration.Lee presents readers with a richly detailed and thoroughly imagined globe inspired by both medieval fantasy and Chinese culture. Given the depth of the globe building (the book contains a several glossaries) the story can feel short in comparison but promises even more exploration of the globe of Thiy and its magic in later rscha is a strong, fierce heroine who struggles with self-doubt after years of being told she'd never be enough. Her journey to come into her own and embrace her power--both as a shaman and as a young warrior--is empowering; it's impossible to not root for for Sirscha and rest of Souls is a high action story filled with magic, secrets, and unbreakable friendships. Recommended for readers who wish their fantasy with more inclusion, more [email protected]#$% girls, and more dragons.Possible Pairings: Hunted by the Sky by Tanaz Bhatena, The Reader by Traci Chee, For a Muse of Fire by Heidi Heilig, Furyborn by Claire Legrand, Truthwitch by Susan Dennard, Fireborne by Rosaria Munda, Uprooted by Naomi Novik, Crown of Feathers by Nicki Pau Preto, The Midnight Lie by Marie Rutkoski, Realm of Ruins by Hannah West, The Guinevere Deception by Kiersten White

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kingdom of Souls []  2020-1-14 19:36

    The layers of story telling. The characters and their depth. The globe that Rena Barron sweeps you away IS is why we read stories. THIS is why there are books. THIS is why we need to hold supporting will lose yourself in this book, falling in love with the personalities and falling into intrigue and anguish as you follow their Barron has given us a tale that makes you wonder who is truly evil, who is born that way, and who is doing what they think is best given the circumstances.I loved it and cannot wait to read more from this author and especially this series!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crown Of Souls []  2020-1-16 23:39

    Slay it!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Carnival Of Lost Souls []  2020-1-18 22:45

    Nox Arcana has really grown and matured since Joseph Vargo has left the Midnight Syndicate. Joseph and William Piotrowski have definitely got fabulous imaginations as they continue to make fresh dark themes for every fresh album that they do. The mystique of all forms of terror are addressed in at least 10 albums from Nox Arcana so far. Each with their own special story or 's funny how, though October is the most famous time to share our Nox Arcana themes with our other ghoulish mates and family, they have never really addressed the one theme that they would probably endorse with confidence as the prime host of our most darkest day of the year, Halloween.What's more, I can see them do something dark and sinister about an abandoned cathedral overrun by satanic presences, or even the dark, cruel horrors of some forgotten prison with evil guards and a sickly demented warden. Or even some dark asian black magic theme or some ancient alternative evil religion. Or maybe a tribute to Houdini (or the mystique of magician's in general), maybe a tribute to Alfred Hitchcock or other writers of horror. Or Dracula, or Frankenstein, or other sub-human monsters that have stories written about them as the legends that they are. I'm sure that Nox Arcana they could take us to so a lot of other episodes of psychological terror. Even the cold, dark, terror of outer zone or other planets and evil life forms can be explored and expressed with Joseph Vargo's dark x Arcana, you are the masters of the dark concepts that you create. You leave me screaming for more!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Carnival Of Lost Souls []  2020-1-18 22:45

    Awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forest of Souls []  2020-7-28 19:16

    Five Star 🌠🌠🌠🌠🌠 read! This book is amazing. I loved everything about it. I’m looking forward to reading book 2!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crown Of Souls []  2020-1-16 23:39

    There should be alot more reviews for DEEDS OF FLESH. I can't beleive one of these reviewers claimed this was a boring CD. I think this release is very intense. I also enjoyed THE MARK OF LEGION as well. The musicianship is unscathed and has commanded percision.If you like Death metal, this is the epitomy of it. Don't allow the uneducated metalheads steer you wrong, just this and see for yourself. If you're really that picky about this genre, then there shouldn't be one complaint about CROWN OF SOULS. It's brutal, plain and simple. These guys have been around for a long time, and I hope they hold keepin' on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crown Of Souls []  2020-1-16 23:39

    A amazing mate of mine is a large fan of deeds and he has all of their albums so i obtain to listing to them all without buying and im sorry to say but deeds is boring as it gets for me and my mate gets angry when i say that but it's true...Deeds of flesh's" crown of souls" is bassicaly the same boring formula these guys have always used and its crap. Skip this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kingdom of Souls []  2020-1-14 19:36

    I AM OBSESSED WITH THIS BOOK.I don’t even know where to begin. The main character, Arrah is such a tenacious and compelling main character. Rena has a method with crafting amazing, sinister, infuriatingly complex villains that stick with you long after you finished a’s prose is poetic and haunting and the plot…THE PLOT YOU GUYS. There were several moments when I nearly threw my laptop across the room in sheer anguish. This story grabbed me and it just didn’t. let. short, Rena is a master storyteller and I LOVED her book so much. I feel like Kingdom of Souls will always have a piece of my heart and I can’t wait to read it again when it hits the shelves in 2019. Do yourself a favor and pre-order it as soon as you can!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Kingdom of Souls []  2020-1-14 19:36

    This book is one of those, what else could go wrong lol it hold me on my toes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Carnival Of Lost Souls []  2020-1-18 22:45

    This was my first time to discover this "spooky" genre in music, as well as the first exposure to Nox Arcana--and, my, what a darkly seductive experience it was. I'm not quite sure what I expected. Something "Gothic" for sure--but would it be art?It WAS art, art-full, deeply mesmerizing & very entertaining.AND "Carnival" is technically of the things I missed when CDs replaced LPs was the creativity that went into the record jackets. Most pop CDs these days very small for the eye--but this is not the case in Carnival of Lost Souls. A attractive small booklet is enclosed loaded with unbelievable drawings & other illustrations, as well as a Goth libretto of sorts & a lot of other strange & curious & wonder-full things.Obviously Nox Arcana knows how to create the Dark Side fun.I definitely wish more...******************************Dagon

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forest of Souls []  2020-7-28 19:16

    (Disclaimer: I received this book from the publisher. This has not impacted my review which is unbiased and honest.)As someone who is beautiful afraid of spiders, I was wary going into Forest of Souls. But I survived and, even more so, loved reading it! Forest of Souls is all about atmosphere, extensive globe building, and amazing characters. There's something eerie about the world, especially as Sirscha finds out more and more about it. Even though there's a slower build to the action, you can't support but savor this intensely moody lead up. Packed with detail, suspense, and spiderwebs, I couldn't stop reading!I was never sure where Forest of Souls would go, but the ending was a roller coaster! What ended up keeping my attention, besides unbelievable globe building - which is so essential for me in fantasy novels - were the characters. Sirscha so desperately wants to be something - to be someone. This drive, this ambition mixed with tenderness and vulnerability, was so relatable and endearing to me. She's driven by her desire for being someone more than who she thinks she is, but also by her friendship with Saengo. When we are so driven, what are we willing to risk or lose for our goals?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Forest of Souls []  2020-7-28 19:16

    It's been a long time since I read a YA fantasy that's truly blown me away. Lori M. Lee took everything I love about fantasy and place it into the masterpiece that is Forest of Souls. It's got the complex politics and globe state, a painstakingly attractive magic system, and characters that readers will fall in love with. The entire time I read this book, I was constantly thinking about how this was a book I wished I had during middle schoolOne of the best parts of this book was how relationship-driven it was. From the start, Sirscha and Saengo's bond captivates you; it's clear that the two of them would do anything to protect the other one. As a reader, I really have fun books that focus on sisterly bonds and allow the girls protect each other and kick butt. There was no romance at all and I found it incredibly refreshing! I loved that Sirscha's priorities were saving Saengo and then maybe saving the world. Now don't obtain me wrong, there are two male characters that are interesting in their own ways, but narratively they serve as Sirscha's allies and I greatly enjoyed seeing those friendships develop over the book as well. For once in my life I can't choose a favorite either; Meilek and Theyen both had fun personalities. It's a crime I have to wait so long before I obtain more content about terms of world-building, no one, absolutely NO ONE is doing world-building like Lori M. Lee. She place so much thought into how she wanted the politics of her globe to play out. Each of the kingdoms have these special features and political motivations that create them stand out, making it simple for readers to follow along as politics are discussed throughout the book. Plus as the book nears the end, a lot of unexpected political moves come into play and as suddenly all the history discussed in the books starts to create the political motivations more clear.Another strength of this book was the magic system. Lee does a amazing job of creating this large globe with various kingdoms and then giving each kingdom special magic types to set them apart. While we don't obtain scenes with ALL the magic systems in play, there's lot of discussion about how the magic ties into the politics of each realm. Which then influences how the various realms interact with each other. I enjoyed that the magic and the politics of the globe were so closely intertwined throughout the story an it created the setting more ly, it's a recurring theme throughout the novel that Sirscha desperately wants to belong somewhere. She constantly assessing her decisions to see if they would support her obtain credibility from her mentor, even when said mentor is nowhere to be seen. Since the target audience of this book is teenagers, I thought it was incredibly fitting that its main themes are ones of being accepted and finding a put to belong. While a lot of teenagers aren't dealing with issues on the same level as Sirscha, it's simple to relate to her struggle of feeling left out. The book doesn't end with specific respond either, since its a trilogy, it leaves a lot more room to discover this specific theme in the next novels. However, Sirscha is constantly coming back to Saengo and doing things to support her survive, so I'd argue that the bonds of friendship are what truly helps Sirscha search belonging. Finding someone, even just one person who understands your soul, is worth risking your life for. That's what makes this book so powerful. That is why I am ordering multiple copies of this book to sit on my classroom shelf.Overall, this was a PHENOMENAL debut story. I enjoyed every aspect of it and I cannot wait to see what will happen next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    School of Broken Souls: Academy of Souls Book 1 []  2020-1-18 19:41

    I really don't like bullying. This story was hard to read at times but it is sufficiently mysterious to peak my interest. I have to wonder if Ali is just meal or something more. The four elite boys are definitely interested but for reasons unknown to us they aren't allowed to be. The next book should reveal pertinent information. Enjoy! 💚💜💛💙👍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    School of Broken Souls: Academy of Souls Book 1 []  2020-1-18 19:41

    I just can’t even with this book as it was freaking AMAZING!! I loved the storyline and seriously can’t wait for the next to see what will happen after that ending!! Gah!! I need more!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    School of Broken Souls: Academy of Souls Book 1 []  2020-1-18 19:41

    This was really amazing. I loved the storyline and the characters were amazing. I love this Author she’s amazing. I love reading her books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    School of Broken Souls: Academy of Souls Book 1 []  2020-1-18 19:41

    Two unbelievable authors have come together to make one intriguing world. We meet Adi at a very low point in her life. Just when things are about to hit rock bottom she is thrown a lifeline of a scholarship to Raven Academy though it comes with strings. Once she arrives all kinds of strange things begin event and mean things. I wanted to cry with her I must say. Just when it is all hitting a peak we obtain a surprise twist that won't be answered until later books. Amazing fresh globe with intriguing characters. I really liked it so I give it 4/5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    School of Broken Souls: Academy of Souls Book 1 []  2020-1-18 19:41

    Ya. Paranormal Romance. Rh. 2/4 guys. Academy setting (if you couldn't tell by the cover/series name). Adeline gets beautiful much forced into a mysterious Academy that's paying her farther's cancer treatments. Very angst (to me at least) and a tip of mystery. CR Jane and Mila Young create a unbelievable team, the dark sci-fi series and now this? 👌 just perfect. Need the second one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    School of Broken Souls: Academy of Souls Book 1 []  2020-1-18 19:41

    This book is a seriously stunning read! It has moved to the top five on my favorites list. Adi is in it deep with this school. There are creeps and freaks all around her. The storyline is one of a kind and the emotions are running seriously high. Needs just a bit more action, but that will come eventually.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    School of Broken Souls: Academy of Souls Book 1 []  2020-1-18 19:41

    This book is a bit dry reading. There are fits and starts all through it. It has a amazing premise but too a lot of questions the reader has to puzzle through. I like a amazing cliff hanger but this had too a lot of to. with.I have liked some of the other stories these two have worked on but this left me wanting...and not in a amazing rry, girls. Hold trying

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    School of Broken Souls: Academy of Souls Book 1 []  2020-1-18 19:41

    Two of my fav authors come together to write a book?!? I was so excited to read this and allow me tell you..... it was amazing!!!! I cannot wait to read the next book in this series!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    School of Broken Souls: Academy of Souls Book 1 []  2020-1-18 19:41

    What a unbelievable book, it was so simple to obtain lost in it's pages. I had a hard time putting it down to go to bed or work. The characters are awesome, the story line amazing, and the mystery, just wow. These two authors pairing up for this was perfect. I do have to say the end, the cliffhanger the book left on created me yell "No, why would you do this to me" but I loved it every min of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    School of Broken Souls: Academy of Souls Book 1 []  2020-1-18 19:41

    Most people think plot holes are where there's a question to be answered. The truth is, they're inconsistencies in the story. Info included as "known" when it's actually being introduced, or things referred to as fact when there's no is book has a few plot holes and inconsistencies, but it's still worth the read. I'm interested enough that I've bought the second one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Souls of Black Folk []  2020-1-23 1:30

    The Souls of Black Folk was written at a time when books still had the power to sway public opinion and move people - and that was definitely the motive. This book is not merely descriptive, or a dry recitation of facts, but a elegant treatise whose intent is to sway the policy of its time. In the simplest of summaries, Dubois is laying his argument for how both policies and individuals should be shaped by and for African Americans in the decades not long removed from the civil war. It can be a tough read, because approximately a century and a half later, a lot of of the issues he addresses still plague our nation. Dubois was also an advocate for education, and it is also of interest how a lot of of the arguments regarding education could still be created today as well. The icing on the cake is W.E.B. Dubois is a marvelously poetic writer whose work gives one a feel for late 19th century America, particular the south. The Souls of Black Folk never feels dry, but rich despite the difficult subjects it raises, a lot of of which are still valid.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Souls of Black Folk []  2020-1-23 1:30

    In these days of renewed uncertainty, when the social progress created seems precarious, it helps to see from where we've come. This book, a cornerstone of civil rights literature, deserves a new look. This was my first time reading it, to be sure, but I felt a deep and human connection with the globe it describes. Not because Blacks face the same challenges as 100 years ago, but that the mentality of people on all sides seems to have changed very little; the issues have only evolved with time as social and legal progress has been made. Yes, I'm white, but that doesn't mean I can't appreciate the magnitude of struggle. A lot of passages in this book are painful to read. Du Bois' writing at times approaches the level of poetry and abundantly conveys what he aspires to in his title. It's really hard for me to pick a favorite passage, but the latest chapter wouldn't be a poor choice. I also liked the touch of beginning each chapter with a poem and snippet of melody. If you haven't read it, you should; if you have, then read it again. The words and historical memory are required more than ever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Souls of Black Folk []  2020-1-23 1:30

    Amazing book. "the issue of the Twentieth Century is the issue of the color-line." turned out to be a prophetic statement. The Dharma, especially the Lojong Slogans tell us "Of the two witnesses, trust the first more". This means, see yourself though your own mind first, and take less heed of the views and opinions of others. And this is the central 'friction' in the minds of Black former-slaves and their offspring: They see themselves through the 'eyes' of the dominant culture; they are always watching themselves, reminding themselves to 'stay in line', be careful, be polite, dress passably but not too well, don't stand out, and so on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Souls of Black Folk []  2020-1-23 1:30

    One of the books pretenders quote but never read. Dubois wrote a amazing scholarly book, Black Reconstruction, this is largely opinion, but a very vivid snapshot of where Blacks a generation or two removed from slavery, were, especially in the south. It is overall depressing but that’s our history between 1877 and 1954/1965

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Souls of Black Folk []  2020-1-23 1:30

    This is an interesting book, very much of it's time, written 1903. It seems to be an explanation by DuBois of wht black people have been through both in slavery, "the veil", and after the war. He goes into much detail about the a lot of various kinds of segregation, physical, social, economic, etc. I cannot fault his information, and I, a white woman, can only agree with his feelings and opinions about what happened and what needs to happen. Especially relevant today with the shootings of young black youth in America. But this is a book, directed at white people, not blacks, neither then or now. Let's hope white americans read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Souls of Black Folk []  2020-1-23 1:30

    Regrettably, for me, this has been a long overlooked classic. I’ve read my share of the works of black American authors, such as James Baldwin, Richard Wright, Ralph Ellison and most recently, Ta-Nehisi Coats. Not having read Du Bois seems to have been the functional equivalent of not having read Homer.William Edward Burghardt “W.E.B.” Du Bois lived a full productive life which spanned the long era of “Jim Crow.” He was born in 1868, and died at the age of 95, one year before the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, in Accra, Ghana, as a citizen of that country. He was the first African-American to earn a Ph.D. from Harvard. His writings reflect a thorough grounding in the Greek and Roman classics, with references that were – at times, frankly beyond me. His prose is temperate, the “outrage” is left to the reader to conclude when the circumstances are described in measured terms, which often fully acknowledges the faults and predicaments of his own race. As the introduction says: “Du Bois achieves in his text a rare combination of pathos and dignity, presenting a portrait of black culture that commands respect.” For a lot of years he would teach at the Atlanta University complex, and writes fondly of the 100 hills of Atlanta, the trees, and the red clay soil of Georgia. His wry introspection is demonstrated in the opening paragraph, where he asks the topic e vast majority of these 14 separate but intertwined essays concern racial relations in the United States after the Emancipation and the year of publication, 1903. One in particular was not, which was reflective of his own experience, when his first-born son died in infancy. In the third essay he presents his arguments with Booker T. Washington, concerning the education of the Negro in “trade schools,” stressing the need for the classical education which Du Bois had, saying that they had “put up high schools and called them colleges.” “Mr. Washington represents in Negro thought the old attitude of adjustment and submission.” Washington asked them to give up three things – “Political power, Insistence on Civil Rights, and Higher Education of Negro Youth.” Du Bois was the one who insisted that all three were “musts.” Separately, Du Bois says: “for the South believed that an educated Negro to be a risky Negro.” From my own experience, Du Bois is only looking at a sub-set, since I would add that, in general, anyone who is both educated – and questioning in a substantive method – of either race, South or North, is considered both “dangerous” and “a problem maker.”The Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen and Abandoned Lands, immediately established in the aftermath of the Civil War, and led by Major General Oliver O. Howard, from Maine, who Du Bois describes as: “an honest man, with too much faith in human nature, small aptitude for business and intricate detail” was another subject I was totally unfamiliar with. Du Bois describes the initiative of mainly white female teachers from Fresh England as “the 9th Crusade” for their efforts in establishing schools in the South, for both blacks and whites, after the Civil War. When the Freedman Bureau died, Du Bois describes its kid as the Fifteen Amendment to the other essays, he describes his experience as a student at Fisk University in Nashville, and his subsequent experience teaching in very rudimentary log cabins for black students, and how he was housed in the homes of the student’s parents. In another temperate essay, he enrages the reader with the story of my “namesake,” John Jones, a black who had serious problems, both North and South. In NYC, he purchased an expensive ticket to see an opera, was seated, enjoying the performance when an usher, every so apologetically explained that the seat had been previously sold, and he would have to move (he was seated next to a white woman, and her husband had complained). Of course we will your the usher explains. Jones decides to return to his native South, where the people seem more honest in their bigotry. There is a telling stage where Jones went to see “the Judge” who claimed he had “done so much for your people,” but Jones makes the mistake of going to the front door, and is rebuked for bringing those “uppity” Northern ideas back far the essay that was the most informative, and resonated the strongest was the one on Dougherty County, Georgia, at the west end of the “Black belt” in that state. In the 1880’s-90’s the population was approximately 10,000 blacks and 2,000 whites. Du Bois describes in detail the economics of growing cotton in that county, with its impact on the humans, and the mechanisms that were used to hold everyone in debt, and therefore under control (today, a lot of a college graduate would understand well). Consider just one fact: Cotton was 14 cents a pound in 1860 and 4 cents a pound in 1898. In the early ‘70’s I would travel to Dougherty County on business on a monthly basis, and was utterly oblivious to these central historical facts. ‘Tis more than a bit embarrassing. And then there is the matter of those formative experiences with two of the progeny from Dougherty County, each living on a various side of what Du Bois would call “the Veil.” Further heightened embarrassment that I did not know. Better late than…6-stars for Du Bois seminal perceptions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Souls of Black Folk []  2020-1-23 1:30

    The writing contains several dichotomies. Throughout the book a type of philosophy is expressed, noted by capitalized ideals, especially "the Veil" but also "Liberty" or "Progress", as if the man was introduced to ideas in a realm of more wealth and entitlement, perhaps a secret society, and such parts were not as soulful as the more primary and well-written descriptions of black people and their plight. Occasionally black people were called "shiftless" or "idle" which surprised me. It could be undetected by a casual reader because the book is written in a scholarly manner. However, revolting crimes of whites towards blacks or the general reality of black people of the time would be described in excellent clarity as well, even though the somewhat odd, "educated" philisophy remained interspersed throughout. Perhaps those notions helped him resolve himself as being educated, intellectual, maybe even wealthy as he rode in Jim Crow train cars, but it often seemed luciferian in nature to me, as if the wealth of the globe had a right to know what "enlightenment" is or to experiment on humble human beings or use them selfishly to gain more wealth, which is obviously not enlightenment. This was a very interesting read because of the dichotomies presented, nothing felt better than the down to earth descriptions of the reality of the times, and yet this man's soul was affected by the philosophies he mentioned and all people are affected by the vast array of knowledge and choices, amazing or bad. Imagine this person's struggle to merely be considered a human. Slaves and recently freed people then lived a horrifying oppression, yet to me the souls of black folk are beautiful, no matter what is chanically the book is missing the latest line. Now that is not a quality edition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Souls of Black Folk []  2020-1-23 1:30

    Are you a U.S. citizen? Read this. W. E. B. DuBois is a giant in your national heritage. He was the most politically influential black man in the late 19th and early 20th centuries; he was the Martin Luther King of his time. He changed history: born just a few years after slavery was outlawed, DuBois lived in a time when black people were routinely treated as less than human in every phase of American life. His tireless and strong campaigning for the rights of black people bore tremendous fruit within and beyond his lifetime. Mainstream history books usually give him a few paragraphs, if that. He deserves a chapter, not a paragraph. His name should be on the boulevards and avenues in our cities, his name should be spoken on a federal holiday commemorating the amazing victories for oppressed classes. Read this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Souls of Black Folk []  2020-1-23 1:30

    DuBois writes with compassion and understanding, yet he does not shy away from directly confronting readers: he makes them consider their conscious and subconscious biases and pre-conceived arguments on the race question in the United States in 1903. Sadly, the book is still relevant some 114 years since its original publication, but it is a thoroughly engaging and provocative read, and a haunting reminder of the work yet to be done towards healing and reconciliation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Souls of Black Folk []  2020-1-23 1:30

    I recently pulled this book up from my TBR pile and was merely going to browse through it until I reached a hotspot where I could something else. Instead, I ended up reading the book cover to its time (being published in 1903) this book was meant to be persuasive, a tool to support people understand and mollify or change their thought processes. I continued reading the book for an entirely various reason, based upon my love and fascination of history. In today’s world, this is definitely a revealing slice of history. It not only reveals another side to the United States during the 35 years after the Civil War, but also allows an understanding of the evolving problems in the 20th and 21st centuries.History is always best when similar by someone who lived during that era, and W.E.B. DuBois certainly qualifies. His words seek to enlighten rather than incite, and reading the book will provide the path leading to the incendiary speech of today. While I had some knowledge of the time period, this was my first introduction to the globe of the former slaves, and reading the timeline of happenings from 1865 to 1900 enabled me to draw my own lines form 1900 to the current ere are those who may incorrectly determine that this is nothing more than a treatise, one over a century old that should be allowed to gather dust or molder away. In an era where some think nothing of erasing our country’s history, this is one more example why we need to embrace our history, no matter whether it is positive or negative. Without looking back and correcting our errors, how can we ever expect to move forward? Five stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    God of Dungeon [App]  2019-3-29 13:42

    Super cute. Highly addictive

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    i would give it a higher rate if there was more than just until level 30. and the access to all of the classes, not just the barbarian. otherwise its a amazing game. cant wait to see what else gets added!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    max level 30?? reached it in approx. 7 hours. wth wheres the rest.of the game? will give 5 stars once the rest of the android game is there......-.- smdh

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    simple to play,addictive ready for modernize maxed out. Getting boring nothing to do.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    have fun the game. i will stick around until the next modernize

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    android game was just released and it's not close to finished, but what is there is promising so I'll hold my eye on this one. amazing luck devs!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    Created level cap in 1 day, literally have nothing to do now but farm gold and gear.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    Would love for more updates android games well hoping for a muti player mode.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    God of Dungeon [App]  2019-3-29 13:42

    I love this game, it reminds me of a android game I had on iOS but the developmer abandoned it, but it had true potential. Looked for a related android game over the years and now found this one. This has some various mechanics but it's beautiful amazing and graphics are very nice. I want creatures wouldn't drop on the play grid but instead I would like to war them 1v1 on top right of screen while working my method to bosses and so on. Also want there was a that I could use coins collected to things. Can't wait for the next update!! Thanks !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    Amazing concept and amazing gameplay. Deffently needs updates though to hold us players hooked! Does the developer squad have a twitter or anything to follow for updates?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    amazing 24 hrs of idle play, android games not completed enough to be released, come back in a couple of years

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    its an ok game. stuck at level 30.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    Amazing game. Level cap is only 30. i cant complete quests till cap is lifted. should be able to go to 100 at least. please do this soon so i can continue adventuring in game. other than the level cap being so low, no complaints. lots of fun.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    Only putting 2 stars because I wish to play the full android game until then I will place 5 star rating!!! But other than that amazing game!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    This android game is like watching someone else play... not for ty

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    Amazing android game so far. Currently at max level of 30, enhancements and quests done for what is released. I would hope for multiplayer content as it currently has a global chat box but is single player only, with other characters being visible. Hold it up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    The android game isnt poor for what it is. Should have been in early access instead of launch. Hero progression caps early at 30. Issue is the android game doesnt tell you this. i spent an hour trying to search a method to progress through the quests that require higher level.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    Love the game, looks very nice feels very nice just want there was more, I've maxed everything out cant wait for update!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    stuck at lvl 30 and cant do more quest because need to reach lvl 40 so....

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    Ready player 1: UPDATE FILE; Lvl 30+?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    can reach max content in a few hours. no customization what so ever very easy template. neat concept but needs work/updates

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    amazing android game with true potential, just waiting for modernize to further the android game and maybe add multiplayer raids

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    when's update? been at standstill and cant progress anymore ?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    need modernize to obtain past lvl 30. please amazing android game besides that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    God of Dungeon [App]  2019-3-29 13:42

    im done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    God of Dungeon [App]  2019-3-29 13:42

    Too a lot of ads. I had to sit through three ads before I could even test a level.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    God of Dungeon [App]  2019-3-29 13:42

    The android game is Stuck(unresponsive) in tutorial.... I am using a friend 10 pro

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    amazing android game already reached lvl 30 now on a quest that says reach lvl 40.... but you can't when are we able to lvl up pass 30?? would be amazing if it's sooner

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    android game is a amazing android game it has alot of graphics and for only lunching 2 days ago why need a modernize allow ppl catch up 30 is max lvl but still cant obtain 2 far ahead

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    amazing android game you guy true need to modernize it like right now i love this android game modernize or u guys well lose alot of players

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    2 stars until full release amazing android game but lvl cap of 30 and class lock sux

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    fun game. needs more updates

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Legend of Dungeon [App]  2019-8-16 13:22

    only 1 hero option to begin with, no thanks. unblock them all at the beginning and you'll have more players

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386