Read dust bowl children reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all dust bowl children reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of the Dust Bowl: The True Story of the School at Weedpatch Camp []  2020-1-19 21:44

    Much has been said about this book. All I can say is, "wow" what a book. I shed bittersweet tears as I read this unbelievable book. Although I never lived in Weedpatch, I was born in 1935 to migrant Arkies. We lived in the Linnell Camp near Visalia. This story is my life. Oh how I could relate. This book was like a motion picture, that I was in, and I traveled right down the street with it. I don't know if a person could relate if they haven't lived this life, but, I know that this book is so well written and illustrated that surely a person with a heart and caring spirit should be able to follow this book even if they could never imagine the deep down hardships, how the children and families stuck together, bonded and had a amazing time. A lot of us could add our names to the long list of Weedpatch children that became a success; it only takes hope, dreams, a longing for a better tomorrow, and a can do spirit. It is always an added benefit to have a man like Mr. Hart to believe in you. I loved this man and only want he were still alive so that I could thank him for caring and acting on those cares.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of the Dust Bowl: The True Story of the School at Weedpatch Camp []  2020-1-19 21:44

    Perfect companion book for Esperanza Rising unit as taught in EngageNY. My students loved reading from it and being read to from it. Pictures are amazing addition to a unit about immigration.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of the Dust Bowl: The True Story of the School at Weedpatch Camp []  2020-1-19 21:44

    The writing in this book is excellent, flowing evenly from page to page. A lot of of the photographs within are pure art, having been taken by Russell Lee, Dorothea Lange, and others. These two people are the Pieter Bruegel and Thomas Hart Benton (depicting plain, daily folk) of American photography. This book relates a little chunk of American history, to be sure, but more than that, it relates universal themes of the human condition. Overall, the book relates the brutal conditions of the dust bowl, the migration over the mountains and desert, taunting and prejudice from settled Californians, and eventual attainment of excellence, as revealed by the construction and maintenance of the Weedpatch School, which eventually became a model school in the community. My 5 1/2 year old enjoyed reading every page, and found particular mirth in the unusual everyday chore that the dust bowl kids did with their cows. The description of this unusual chore is worth the of the book. What was this everyday chore? One method to search out is to borrow or this book.

    0  


    Add your opinion on dust bowl children or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of the Dust Bowl: The True Story of the School at Weedpatch Camp []  2020-1-19 21:44

    As a teacher, it was thrilling to read about Leo Hart and his amazing compassion for the broken kids of the Dust Bowl. His innovative educational techniques combined with his compassion inspired young teachers to engage on the adventure of a lifetime for both educators and students. So much achievement of a lot of resulted from the heart of Leo Hart. Read it. Weep, then rejoice. Be proud to be a teacher!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of the Dust Bowl: The True Story of the School at Weedpatch Camp []  2020-1-19 21:44

    What an interesting, but depressing book. It accentuates how small human beings have evolved to this day. If not for the exception of a few amazing people, those less fortunate would be left to die. I’m not a huge history buff, but this book took me to the panhandle. I suffered along with the people presented in this tale and journeyed with them to what they thought would be salvation. I suffered their angst when they realized life was no better here for them and rejoiced when the superintendent took an interest in one group of migrants and helped them learn to better themselves and life around them. An awesome gentleman and amazing, hard-working, earnest migrants. Their unfailing determination in the face of poverty, illness, and bigotry is a lesson to us all to this day. Dozens of photographs bring the story to life and support break up huge chunks of text. Older kids will search this book fascinating!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of the Dust Bowl: The True Story of the School at Weedpatch Camp []  2020-1-19 21:44

    I found this book to be very informative and reflectiveof a extremely difficult time in American History. As myFathers family was from Oklahoma and migrated to Californiain the late 1920's I was very nsidering this book is geared toward kids or youngadults, I would think they would have to be very well readand lean a bit toward the mature e content is real and hard, and I would wonder how manyyoung people would be able to conceive of the hardships thatthe migrants from Oklahoma had to ildren today tend to feel entitled to all the wonderfulthings they have in their life. I believe it would be goodfor them to read about kids who wanted desperately to goto school and to be accepted and were in reality scorned bysociety...This book depicts that time in amazing detail and isvery "informative." I highly reccomend it...Children of the Dust Bowl: The Real Story of the School at Weedpatch Camp

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of the Dust Bowl: The True Story of the School at Weedpatch Camp []  2020-1-19 21:44

    Overwhelming! So a lot of things about this book stirred deep emotion in me. This story similar to the people who left the Dust Bowl in find of a better life during the Depression and traveled Route 66 to Southern California. The deprivations and discrimination they suffered touched me deeply. I was shocked to read of the hard-heartedness of a lot of Californians; I didn't wish to believe of the unbelievable things about this book is the story of one man who created up his mind to create a difference for the "Okies." Using the attitudes of the majority he found a method to acceptance and inclusion for those who had been rejected and parents were young adults during the "dirty thirties" and lived in the Dust Bowl. Since their destination was not California, but Oregon, this is a part of the story I had never heard. Thank you Jerry Stanley for telling this awesome story and including so a lot of revealing rjorie Eldred, Author of Seizing the Treasure: 101 Nuggets to Warm Your Heart, Journey From Addiction to Freedom, and Blooms, Blunders and Blessings.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of the Dust Bowl: The True Story of the School at Weedpatch Camp []  2020-1-19 21:44

    This history is not taught in schools and it should be. It is a story of prejudice and bigotry and a story of hardship and heartbreak. It is also a story of love and compassion and the difference one person can make.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of the Dust Bowl: The True Story of the School at Weedpatch Camp []  2020-1-19 21:44

    This is an inspiring story about a real-life character from the amazing depression. Not only did he support "Okies" obtain an education in California, he did it so brilliantly that my 4th and 5th grade gifted students wanted to build a school just like the one he and his students built in California. This is a MUST READ for everyone...but be sure you have some Kleenex handy for the tears...A harbinger to the Civil Rights movement, this book shows that discrimination is not necessarily color-based...it is "different than us" based. It also shows the steps required to overcome such discrimination and how one person can change an entire ildren of the Dust Bowl: The Real Story of the School at Weedpatch Camp

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Children of the Dust Bowl: The True Story of the School at Weedpatch Camp []  2020-1-19 21:44

    For those of us interested in the Dust Bowl's history and legacy, this book info and examines the kids of this well-known migration from the Plains to the West in find of food, work, and onically, if you watched the Grapes of Wrath where you would see for yourself how they portrayed the kids in the camps as forgotten, ignored, discrminated versus for being Okies. They were all called that while their parents searched for jobs in the e Weedpatch Camp in Bakersfield, California is an example of how a government run camp was various where it allowed all the migrants to live more like human beings. The book builds up to the school where it was in existence for five years. It was so impressive to the community that non-residents wanted their kids to attend is book is a amazing read for kids and adults about the Dust Bowl, the migration, and California living in the 1930s. You would be very impressed to obtain it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great American Dust Bowl []  2020-1-30 23:35

    It is hard to create the dust bowl interesting to today's students, but this is a attractive and compelling book. The reader really gets an idea of the despair of the times and the dangers of living in the dust bowl. The book is graphic novel format and the reluctant readers at my school even have fun it. Did I mention that it's also fairly short? This one is a huge hit- well done!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great American Dust Bowl []  2020-1-30 23:35

    Very easy read that shows the devastation! Excellent method to teach/show students what the Dust Bowl was like.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great American Dust Bowl []  2020-1-30 23:35

    Unbelievable -love the sepia tone to it - and did not know the "dust bowl" lasted that long. Hunh, I guess human beings CAN affect climate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great American Dust Bowl []  2020-1-30 23:35

    Purchased for an elementary gifted unit. Arrived on time and met buyer expectations. A very informational book that was presented in a special way. One student asked if they could have the book for their collection!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great American Dust Bowl []  2020-1-30 23:35

    Really shows the plight of what it was like in those days of the Amazing Depression and Dust Bowl era. That helped create works like John Steinbeck's Grapes of Wrath possible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great American Dust Bowl []  2020-1-30 23:35

    I found this book to be written in a method that was informative without being too wordy. The photos compliment the author's words. They support tell the story just as much the words. This book is worth purchasing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great American Dust Bowl []  2020-1-30 23:35

    I've had this book on pre-order forever with fingers crossed. I really wanted a book that was middle school appropriate and engaging for students. I am over the moon happy. The book is written as a graphic novel and the illustrations will grab students' attention. The facts and quotes that are in the book are a unbelievable references to the sources listed in the back of the book. The quotes add to the human side of the experience, while the illustrations support understand the enormity of the disaster. I especially liked the picture that had ocean liners in the sky and the fact that the dust would have filled 1500 modern ocean liners. Amazing visual for students to understand.I'll be ordering a class set of this book for our middle school. Thank you Don Brown for such a attractive book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great American Dust Bowl []  2020-1-30 23:35

    Texas Bluebonnet book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great American Dust Bowl []  2020-1-30 23:35

    I didn't take time to read this book, but it appeared to be for education of children

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Great American Dust Bowl []  2020-1-30 23:35

    Perfect story. Enjoyable reading with child. Ar book level 5

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust [Book]  2017-11-7 18:1

    very amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust [Book]  2017-11-7 18:1

    This is the first time I have read this author. The book is well written and I was drawn to [email protected]#$%!, but I did not have fun how far fetched the story is. Kept hoping it would start to create sense. If you have fun fantasy fiction you will probably have fun the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust [Book]  2017-11-7 18:1

    amazing writing skills. Kept my attention. Quick read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DUST [App]  2020-1-22 13:41

    amazing service love the sci-fi content

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DUST [App]  2020-1-22 13:41

    Love it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust [Book]  2017-11-7 18:1

    I almost didn't finish this book after a small boy was taken away by a stranger. Those types of things upset me, but for some reason I wanted to search out what happened. I'm glad that I kept on reading. Because of the faith of an eleven year old boy things were created right. The author has a amazing imagination and was able to share it beautifully with the reader. It wasn't what I expected, it evoked a lot of emotion and left me wanting more. It's one of those stories where amazing triumphs over evil. I'd recommend the book to others, hopefully you will be as pleasantly surprised as I was.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust [Book]  2017-11-7 18:1

    and creepy at the same time. A young hero, but how? A strange story that is hard to place down and gives you chills at the same time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DUST [App]  2020-1-22 13:41

    My favorite Roku app. Very happy that it is now an android device app. If you are a sci fi fan this is as amazing as it gets.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DUST [App]  2020-1-22 13:41

    So far I have really enjoyed it seems to have lots that I'm interested in

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DUST [App]  2020-1-22 13:41

    Absolutely amazing. I've never found such a collection of cool Sci-Fi films and shorts, all for free! This application is a Sci-Fi lover's dream!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust [Book]  2017-11-7 18:1

    Dust is an intriguing and well written book. I won't bother with a synopsis as others have given a primary plot summary--and yes, the storyline may drag a bit in the middle and go a bit wicky-wacky at the end. That said, however, it's necessary to point out that despite the problems with plotting, Arthur Slade's language, imagery, and characterization are interesting enough that they compensate for plotting weaknesses. Rarely does a book make such vivid photos in the readers' minds--I was absolutely taken away!I should say too that as a mother, I search it very disturbing to read about lost children, and generally I would place a book aside as soon as I realized its topic matter dealt with abduction. I couldn't stop reading Dust, though. The oddness of the situation compelled me to e one question I have is about the ending. (SPOILER ALERT) It seemed too simple for the kids to be returned to their original form. I understand the writer's impulse to create the kids fine and whole, but I distrust it.Overall, I found Dust engaging and well worth reading. I will be looking for more from this author.

    0  


  • 1

    Useful review?

    DUST [App]  2020-1-22 13:41

    So excited for this, a long time coming! If you love Sci fi, you need this app, PERIOD!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DUST [App]  2020-1-22 13:41

    Nice Collaboration!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Worst Hard Time: The Untold Story of Those Who Survived the Great American Dust Bowl []  2020-1-5 18:29

    As someone who's lived on the East Coast my whole life, a continuous forest with ideal farmland, I took for granted the hardship that settlers faced as they moved out West and decided to settle. However, it was also baffling how incompetent the government was in not only supporting the destruction of natural habitats without repercussions, but also the sheer idiocy they fell back in in dealing with the situation.Timothy Egan's dive into the Amazing Dust Bowl is superb. His precise, narrative writing does much to draw the reader in and create its real-life characters easier to relate to. He gives personalities to these people who refused to bow down to nature and for that they were punished, in a way. But punished not only by the land, but also by their own government. Egan info the slow spiral of the Amazing Plains from lush prairie land to desiccated, desolate hardpan without a tip of green. He compliments the private narratives of these farmers with in-depth historical analysis of the towns and the governments working behind the scenes, while also providing a sort of biological analysis of the ecosystem and how it rapidly fell apart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Worst Hard Time: The Untold Story of Those Who Survived the Great American Dust Bowl []  2020-1-5 18:29

    I was blown away by the intensity and persistence of these storms, and the families who toughed it out, even though I had seen the documentary years ago. Were these farmers and their families so strong, with so much perseverance, that they just didn’t wish to see the truth, or were they simply rather foolish for not realizing that, after two years, nothing would change, at least not quickly enough for them? That it was a time to move on? Fine powdery sand everywhere, everywhere. Who could live like that and not travel to insanity?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dust Bowl Through the Lens: How Photography Revealed and Helped Remedy a National Disaster []  2020-1-6 18:57

    I liked it very much, some various images of that time and place.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust Bowl Girls: The Inspiring Story of the Team that Barnstormed Its Way to Basketball Glory []  2020-1-16 1:6

    Dust Bowl Girls is a well-written, well-researched book. The story line is very interesting and flows smoothly. The author included a lot of history about women's sports during the depression era; however, the history does not take away from the story. I highly recommend this book. I especially think it would be a amazing read for high school and college girls.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust Bowl Girls: The Inspiring Story of the Team that Barnstormed Its Way to Basketball Glory []  2020-1-16 1:6

    This is a perfect story of women's basketball that is compelling to read. These women played and worked hard as they struggled versus people that felt basketball was NOT for women.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Flower for Martha: A Dust-Bowl-Days-Novel (The Cole Family Series Book 1) []  2020-1-16 2:4

    Engaging story, gives you the feeling of being in the middle of it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Flower for Martha: A Dust-Bowl-Days-Novel (The Cole Family Series Book 1) []  2020-1-16 2:4

    This is a page-turner novel of how life was during the dust bowl days in Oklahoma through the eyes of a young girl and her family. I not only learned a lot about how difficult those days were, but was drawn into the story of this approximately 12-year-old girl as she comes of age. It portrays how a romance can be with amazing morals and rvin is a very amazing writer. I hope he writes more books. These type of books for this age group on the young side are very rare. I am giving three of them to my grandchildren for Christmas.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust [Book]  2017-11-7 18:1

    I started this book this morning, and finished it this evening. I've never read a book quite like this. What a special read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust [Book]  2017-11-7 18:1

    A beautiful amazing read for the ~10 age range. I enjoyed this as an adult.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DUST [App]  2020-1-22 13:41

    Discovered on Roku. Subscribed on YouTube. Downloaded the app. If you're into short movies and scifi this the put to be. So a lot of various stories while the application has a few documentaries and older scifi shows.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DUST [App]  2020-1-22 13:41

    Amazing for watching sci-fi movies, series, and shorts. If you think you seen it all stop and download, you shouldn't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust Bowl Girls: The Inspiring Story of the Team that Barnstormed Its Way to Basketball Glory []  2020-1-16 1:6

    not a basketball fan, but i am a fan of history and i could not place this book down. very well written and i highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust Bowl Girls: The Inspiring Story of the Team that Barnstormed Its Way to Basketball Glory []  2020-1-16 1:6

    This is an awesome story of grit and determination. What these young women and the coach and families had to do just to obtain them into school, practice, travel to android games and eat and stay warm should create every modern-day pampered athlete stop complaining. The obstacles, suffering and sacrifices everyone associated with The Girls is described with compassion and determination. Thanks for including images that clearly present how far the android game has come since the 1930's.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dust Bowl Through the Lens: How Photography Revealed and Helped Remedy a National Disaster []  2020-1-6 18:57

    The Dust Bowl was the other disaster that happened during the Amazing Depression. It led to the migration of thousands of families from the Southern Plains to California. The book is more focused on how the photography captured the heartbreaking photos of families and dust bowl survivors as well as the destruction of dust along the way.If you are interested in the Dust Bowl, this book is aimed at kids readers but I found some of the writing to be a small difficult even for myself. I still admire the photographs especially the migrant mother whose face captured the globe about the Dust Bowl is book a fine format, attractive photographs, and a brief explanation as to why it happened in the first put especially with focus on causes of the Dust Bowl and it's disastrous effects.Even the Okies and others who fled the Dust Bowl with their families and belongings for a fresh life in California, they didn't keep such a welcome reception there.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dust Bowl Through the Lens: How Photography Revealed and Helped Remedy a National Disaster []  2020-1-6 18:57

    This book includes a series of short, interesting articles with accompanying photographs regarding different aspects of Dust Bowl history. Each subject covers exactly two facing pages in the book, with the text on the left side and a main image on the right. There are other images "sprinkled" on the two pages, as appropriate. I love this format because it is easy and simple to digest the information. No matter where you begin the book, there is something interesting to read and look at. A amazing coffee table or bonus book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dust Bowl Through the Lens: How Photography Revealed and Helped Remedy a National Disaster []  2020-1-6 18:57

    I am going to use this book with 7th and 8th grade middle-school students. It is cross-curricular, and all of its components are moving.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Worst Hard Time: The Untold Story of Those Who Survived the Great American Dust Bowl []  2020-1-5 18:29

    Amazing background read on the Dust Bowl, why it happened, and the people it e Dust Bowl was a completely preventable American tragedy, born from arrogance and ignorance. Land speculation, not good farming tactics, and poor policy caused the Dust bowl, and a lot of Americans had to struggle to survive the black storms that ravaged the drained lands. While other droughts have hit the plains since the 1930s none have been as bad, due to the policies of the Fresh Deal. I recommend this to anyone that enjoys American history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust [Book]  2017-11-7 18:1

    Unbelievable story full of magic and visual imagination. Amazing story for young adults or old children. Nice to have a satisfied ending.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust [Book]  2017-11-7 18:1

    I'm not sure what drew me to this book, but upon reading the opening chapter I immediately downloaded it and was engrossed. In the Dustbowl days in Canada, Robert's younger brother Matthew has gone missing. When a mysterious stranger appears in city and makes miraculous promises, Robert is the lone skeptic. Driven to search his brother, he continually searches for answers.While the prose was attractive and the characters were vividly painted, it was the element of mystery that created it such compelling reading. I really enjoyed this book and will look for more from this author.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DUST [App]  2020-1-22 13:41

    I've been watching Dust on my intelligent TV. There are some very amazing short movies to be found here. The acting is decent. The unique effects can be film quality. To me the story matters more the the effects. There a also some feature movies, and famous TV shows available too. Such as Saturn 3, Capricorn 1, Alien Nation the series. I like this app, and I'm looking forward to exploring more of the stories (films) to be told here.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    DUST [App]  2020-1-22 13:41

    OMG.... THIS IS TRULY AMAZING!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dust Bowl Through the Lens: How Photography Revealed and Helped Remedy a National Disaster []  2020-1-6 18:57

    I had hoped it would provide more insight. however, the photographs that are included are nice, but the book lacks true insight.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dust Bowl Through the Lens: How Photography Revealed and Helped Remedy a National Disaster []  2020-1-6 18:57

    The Dust Bowl: possibly one of the United States's greatesttragedies, in which the entire bread basket of the nationceased to exist. The Dust Bowl: Through the Lens, visuallychronicles the lives of the inhabitants of the Amazing Plainsas they test to obtain back on their feet. Mind-boggling photosof once-fertile lands reduced to dust inhabit each page,along with highly explanatory, well written captions tofurther explain occurrences. The beginning of each passagecontains a quote from a local, some expressing sadness,others hopefulness for the future. The final entriesexplain the resolution of the nation after the Dust Bowl'send to prevent such an happening from occurring e choice to use more pictures than words in the work create itmuch more of a sensual experience for me. From the photos,I could feel rub of dust on my hands and neck, and imaginedthe broiling hot sun beating down on my back. Factual andsemi-stoic narrations separated the fact from the fiction,however the quotes from inhabitants of the zone brought theentire act into perspective. The Dust Bowl is painful formany to remember, but Martin Sandler creates an atmospheresuch that the pain is still there, but knowledge stilltakes the upper hand. Although this was my first "Throughthe Lens" experience, it will most certainly not be mylast; to use the old cliche, "I laughed, I cried." Istrongly recommend this book to high school students, aswell as adults. Although it is extremely factual, it iscertain that no reader will be ed by a young adult student reviewerFlamingnet Book ReviewsTeen books reviewed by teen reviewers

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Worst Hard Time: The Untold Story of Those Who Survived the Great American Dust Bowl []  2020-1-5 18:29

    I don't normally much attention to the title of a book. The title's basic purpose to me is to catch my attention when I'm in a book shop browsing. After it catches my eye I immediately resort to the GR scan feature to learn what GR members have to say about the book. In the final analysis what I remember about a book is what's behind the title. Frequently, when speaking about a book I've read with a mate I will be completely unable to recall the title. This book and its title are entirely different. I can't recall a more appropriately titled book than this one, "The Worst Hard Time".My parents were kids of the of the Depression. During my childhood they told us stories of how that national tragedy affected their childhoods and that of their mates and neighbors. We all probably have read stories and seen images of the Depression and a lot of of us have read "The Grapes of Wrath" or seen the movie. This book is not about any of that. This book is not about the people that fled the Dust Bowl. This book is about the people that stayed and attempted to exist on next to nothing, literally. Pride and independence prevented them from seeking aid until things went beyond desperate, method beyond. What is also remarkable about this book is to read it now in a time when we live among people that for selfish and political reasons are adamant in their rejection of science and in climate change. The book makes clear that after the government finally addressed the crisis following FDR's election that the cause of the Dust Bowl was man and his ignorance and his greed. Sadly, the people that need to read this history never will as it fails to affirm what they want to believe and profit by. What this book does affirm is the consequences of man's ignorance and greed when dealing with the forces of nature. To this day the zone afflicted by these vices of man has not e author's story spans primarily the '30's but he delivers a important background to set up his story and the lives of those he uses to illustrate the scope of the Dust Bowl tragedy. In his telling of this history he employs the lives of several local residents in and around the Texas and Oklahoma panhandles. The stories of these people really humanizes the narrative and magnifies its impact. While weather reports, crops statistics, land cultivation data etc are all helpful and place a scale on the disaster it's reading about the everyday lives of people that lived through it that give this book its wow factor. The impact this disaster had on the health of the people living there was something that I never considered. I always thought the limit of the tragedy was in the fertility of the soil blowing away. I did not know that these winds were an almost everyday occurrence and that breathable air was a precious commodity and "dust pneumonia" was a virulent killer. Who would ever think a person walking or working outside could be suddenly caught in one of these dust storms and suffocate to death. That the detrimental affect of the Dust Bowl on the health of residents was something that would have needed a career of coal mining yet these folks were being afflicted within a few years. This is an extremely compelling history whose worth today is enormous and we should all learn about the Worst Hard Time. I highly recommend this book. (less)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Worst Hard Time: The Untold Story of Those Who Survived the Great American Dust Bowl []  2020-1-5 18:29

    This book is so amazingly timely, not just for the aspect of the man-made contributions to natural disaster event at a time of economic hardship, but also for a lot of the political aspects of it, and of course for the human aspects. People don't change so much.I did watch the Dust Bowl miniseries first, and they do cover some of the same ground, though with various focuses, but I feel like you obtain more info from this be fair, it is rough. There are a few main people that you follow and they are constantly defeated by the land, dying broke, or physically broken, and any chances for renewal and success have to wait for the next generation. Even as things obtain better, there are indications that we are on the same path, not just in other places, but even right there with the demands on the at's why it is so timely, and so important. Humans don't change much, and they will hold making the same mistakes over and over again unless information, and education, can change that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Worst Hard Time: The Untold Story of Those Who Survived the Great American Dust Bowl []  2020-1-5 18:29

    Reading about the hardships endured by people who lived, or tried to live, in [email protected]#$%! by the Dust Bowl provides meal for thought about the trivialities we complain about now. I can’t imagine living we less than minimal food, money, in housing conditions not suitable for animals. It seems that man finds a method to destroy the bonuses of nature, by the arrogance of believing that the supply will satisfy the endless is is a mind-blowing acc of a period of sustained tragedy. I’d heard of the Dust Bowl, seen some pictures too, but the detail in this narrative allows me to better comprehend the horror of it, as well as the resiliency of humans to endure extreme hardship. This is a very good, worthwhile story to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust Bowl Girls: The Inspiring Story of the Team that Barnstormed Its Way to Basketball Glory []  2020-1-16 1:6

    Nowadays, it is seldom that a book pulls me in and forces me to continue turning the pages. “Dust Bowl Girls” was one of those Lydia Reeder tells the story of the Oklahoma Presbyterian College Cardinals and their magical year in 1932. The book almost reads like a novel, as Ms. Reeder takes us deep into the history and personality of a lot of of the players and people connected with the school’s female basketball team. Readers are also treated to in-depth histories of the players as well as info of the country’s landscape at that time, including some attitudes towards women’s athletics. While these viewpoints might seem laughable when compared with today’s world, it is interesting to learn how fervently a lot of people fought for these alternate beliefs.During a long vehicle ride, I listened to the audible ver for the first half of this book and finished by reading the second half. Narrator Virginia Wolf kept the story interesting, keeping my attention through both the storyline as well as the historical Reeder is a excellent person to retell the tale of the Cardinals. Her uncle was Sam Babb, the dedicated coach of the Cardinals. She relates an emotional, inspiring story of a group of women who strove to achieve something special. The author’s notes at the end of the book provide a detailed acc of the work she performed to bring this book to fruition. The numerous pictures throughout the book are a excellent accompaniment to this five-star effort.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust Bowl Girls: The Inspiring Story of the Team that Barnstormed Its Way to Basketball Glory []  2020-1-16 1:6

    How was women's basketball played in the early days? How did they schedule enemies and who did they play? How did the end of the year competition work? The answers to these questions are answered as the story is told about the woman's basketball squad of Oklahoma Presbyterian College and their coach in the early 1930's. The book was informative and told in a method that you felt like you were getting to know and understand the players and the coach. This book was recommended by a friend. Having two daughters who played Middle School Basketball this year I took them up on the recommendation and I am glad I did. I plan to read it with my daughters this summer so they can better understand the history of women's basketball, what dedication looks like and how drastically the android game has changed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust Bowl Girls: The Inspiring Story of the Team that Barnstormed Its Way to Basketball Glory []  2020-1-16 1:6

    I liked the story of the women, it is now and then bogged down a small with history of the dust bowl and the depression of the 1930s. Not sure every reader will wish that. We really obtain to know these girls and I was happy with the pictures and the final chapter that followed up on the girls and what they went on to become.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust Bowl Girls: The Inspiring Story of the Team that Barnstormed Its Way to Basketball Glory []  2020-1-16 1:6

    I am not a sports fan. However, this book is more than sports. It is a well told story about women and men, education and sports, poverty and solutions. It was very readable, and I skimmed the android game details, which another person might like.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Worst Hard Time: The Untold Story of Those Who Survived the Great American Dust Bowl []  2020-1-5 18:29

    I was born in 1935 and lived in southern Kansas until 1955. I remember some of the dust storms as if it was yesterday. I recently read my mother's 1935 diary and she frequently mentioned the not good dust storms. I was very young during the Amazing Depression, but I still remember Mills, which were ten to equal one penny. I was listening to the radio when Franklin D. Rosevelt announced the attack on Pearl Harbor and December 7th, 1941 as a day that will live in infamy. My grandparents lived on a farm in northern Oklahoma. To visit there was a trip into the past. They had no electricity, no running water, an out house, kerosene lanterns, kerosene stoves, and a true ice box. They are all gone now and I can no longer ask what the conditions were in their early years. This book helped me see into the past of my own relatives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Worst Hard Time: The Untold Story of Those Who Survived the Great American Dust Bowl []  2020-1-5 18:29

    Coming off of a couple of boom years in wheat production in the High Plains lands of Colorado, Kansas, Oklahoma, Texas, and Fresh Mexico, farmers in 1930, were plowing under amazing swaths of grasslands in anticipation of making a amazing living and comfortable homes. Not much thought was given to the fact that this country was previously only considered prime land for grazing cattle. Advertisements blanketed other parts of America promising those down on their luck or wanting to create a new begin a put to call home with their own land for farming. These "nesters" unwittingly set into motion, one, if not the most monumental ecological disasters in the history of the United e fates of several families are revealed as the tragic years of 1931 to 1939 unfold in this book documenting the crisis. The bravery of the farmers who refused to give up and leave was heralded by the editor of the Dalhart Texan, John McCarty as "Spartans." McCarty started a Latest Man's Club of which he was a charter member to demonstrate the nester's vow to not give up on the land. He curiously was to leave in 1937 after the relentless dusters, grasshoppers, and drought proved too e descriptions of the blowing dust, the starving people and animals, and the kids afflicted with dust pneumonia underscore the overwhelming devastation of the area. All of this was because men decided that millions of acres of grassland which fed roaming animals for thousands of years could be plowed under for growing wheat. Some environmental "authorities" insisted that the dry country, which only enjoyed 10 to 12 inches of rain a year, would become lush if e Dust Bowl calamity remains a prime example of hubris and a warning to those who seek to create radical changes to the environment without considering consequences. The story is well-written and a timely subject. I recommend the book to those who read history, are interested in conservation and don't require a satisfied ending.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dust Bowl Through the Lens: How Photography Revealed and Helped Remedy a National Disaster []  2020-1-6 18:57

    A attractive book that detailed info about the causes and conditions of the dust bowl. The a lot of images bring about a factual yet emotive truth about the era. A amazing bonus for someone who grew up in that zone during the depression or has a private interest in the history of this difficult time for the midwest. Ordered for my mom, now 82, she has since mailed it on to her sister, who enjoyed it immensely. Her sister said it gave her a whole various perspective of the times and a much more generous forgiveness toward her parents, who she now realized were doing the best they could in a time that proved too difficult for words to explain.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dust Bowl Through the Lens: How Photography Revealed and Helped Remedy a National Disaster []  2020-1-6 18:57

    The book contains an interesting collection of period photos. I found the collection to be broad, and really provoked some conversation around the coffee table.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust Bowl Girls: The Inspiring Story of the Team that Barnstormed Its Way to Basketball Glory []  2020-1-16 1:6

    I never dreamed girls were playing basketball in high school, college and professionally in the 1930's because by the time I was a teen , girls were in the drill squad or cheering squad, not on the field or court. Reading this book helped me to understand how attitudes changed from allowing girls to play to requiring more lady-like behavior and then back to encouraging girls playing a wide dozens of sports both as students and as professionals. Sometimes it takes a book like this one to create us examine our history. I was fascinated by the stories of the individual girls on Babb's team. I knew about Babe Dedrikson as a golfer, but didn't realize she was an All-American basketball star as well as an Olympic track and field star. The Dust Bowl Girls played well before my time, but I've lived in Texas and Oklahoma. Reeder is faithful to the sense of put and pride in one's home state that continues today, both in and out of sports. Sometimes I wanted the book to read more as a novel (and much of it does) and less like a history. I loved reading about Coach Babb and the quiet, persistent method he chose and developed his players.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust Bowl Girls: The Inspiring Story of the Team that Barnstormed Its Way to Basketball Glory []  2020-1-16 1:6

    Thank you Lydia Reeder for this labor of love. The story of the Cardinals combines so a lot of necessary problems of then = and now = such as racism and the destruction of the Native cultures; economic insecurity and widespread poverty due to ignorant and greedy men who did not protect American citizens by appropriately regulating banking and finance; blatant sexism fueled by the pervasive hatred and mistrust of women; the destruction of the environment that goes hand in hand with allowing a few men who just aren't ever wealthy enough, to decide outcomes for all of us. Even the divisiveness and hostility between politicians that led Hitler to some interesting opinions about Americans. What a amazing story! And through it all, a few heroes. One or two real leaders who set the example of respect for self and others. Some very unique ball players and their coach. A brave story about a few brave people.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Flower for Martha: A Dust-Bowl-Days-Novel (The Cole Family Series Book 1) []  2020-1-16 2:4

    Fine

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Worst Hard Time: The Untold Story of Those Who Survived the Great American Dust Bowl []  2020-1-5 18:29

    An amazingly strong book about the 1930s dust bowl, how we got it, and what was done about it (often, very little). In my opinion it excels over earlier works because it gives causes for the phenomenon that plagued the Central States for years over and above the usual "dry weather and powerful winds." I won't deny the book has its more pedantic aspects when it gets into climatology and such, but otherwise it's so amazing I would recommend it for high-school history courses -- the advanced ones, anyway. The paperback has been sharply reduced in at Amazon and other vendors.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Worst Hard Time: The Untold Story of Those Who Survived the Great American Dust Bowl []  2020-1-5 18:29

    I'm already in the latter half of my life and, yes, I'd heard about the dust bowl and I knew it was a not good time of crop failure and blowing dust and poverty. But, at my daughter's recommendation, I decided to read this book. I'm glad I did. I learned a much about what the dust bowl REALLY was all about. I was hesitant to read what I thought would be too depressing for me, but though there's amazing detail in the book, the author's factual style and historical, authenticated happenings created the reading interesting and bearable and I wanted to continue reading to see how people survived these times. It also made in me an appreciation for my comfortable lifestyle and surroundings, a greater respect for the land and nature and our natural resources. I also learned more about the Ogallala Aquafir, that so long ago I remember was briefly mentioned in my Jr. High School days. While some of the reading seemed repetitive, still, it laid a groundwork for greater understanding of the situation--how happenings transpired to make the dust bowl and what was done about it. My thought is: yes, much of history is sad and downright depressing, but if you don't know about it how can you stop a future repeat of the scenario, how can you truly appreciate those who have gone before you, valuing their strength of character, and/or conversely, how do you recognize their disastrous, often fatal flaws. Read the book. You might be surprised at what you don't know.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dust Bowl Through the Lens: How Photography Revealed and Helped Remedy a National Disaster []  2020-1-6 18:57

    This book is over designed to the detriment of the subject, ostensibly the photography. There is a wealth of unbelievable photographs from the period, but one wouldn't know it from this collection and their manner of presentation. Apparently the author thought the photos were not compelling, not strong on their own as he has tinted each one and surrounded them in saturated color. There is as much text as photographs. Each two page spread is an art deco extravaganza and another excuse to rummage pantone's favorite complimentary color schemes. The results prettify but jar for sure. It cheapens the legacy of the artists who captured the Dust Bowl. But the true travesty is that it misses the spirit of the time, the people, the very happenings themselves. How is that possible?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Dust Bowl Through the Lens: How Photography Revealed and Helped Remedy a National Disaster []  2020-1-6 18:57

    I was rather disappointed with this book as it really doesn't live up to the title: Dust Bowl. Only the first thirty pages cover these extraordinary times in the southern Plains states, the remainder of the book with the Depression in the rest of the e photographic aspect of the Dust Bowl is no more than twenty or so specific photos. Others are captioned to give the impression that they relate to the book's title but don't: page five has a whole page of Dorothea Lange's popular Migrant Mother photo, she was called Florence Thompson and left Oklahoma for California in 1925; a Ben Shahn image on page thirty-two was taken in Arkansas; John Vachon's unbelievable image of four kids and a baby on page forty is from 1940 in Missouri; page fifty-five has a young boy in a field, photographed in Oregon, 1939; the elderly laughing couple on page eighty-three was taken in Connecticut in 1940; a color image of contour ploughing was taken in Tennessee. All these images are from the FSA collection in the Library of Congress and they were meticulously captioned yet the author has chosen to leave out where they were taken and the dates. On page thirty-four there are four little reproductions of Norman Rockwell's 'Four Fredoms' paintings, the copy suggests they were inspired by a thirties speech given to Congress by President Roosevelt but they were painted in 1943, long after the Depression (and especially the Dust Bowl) had faded away and the Nation was back to full employment with a wartime economy.Another disappointment with the book is the presentation. No doubt the editors thought a book for a young audience should look as colourful as possible but unfortunately here it means that a lot of superb images have been printed in a color rather than leaving them as the black and white originals. Images printed in green, blue or brown just lose their impact (and in several examples their detail). The book's format of having just one photo on the right-hand page with the text and smaller images on the left-hand page is rather restrictive to obtain the best out of the images throughout the book. Oddly the latest page in the book has a graphic map of the US and a shape on the relevant States to present the extent of the Dust Bowl, surely this should have been in the front a possible educational title I think this one is rather lacking and doesn't create the best use of strong images that captured the feel of the Depression thirties.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TLHOME Baby Placemat - Multifunction Security Food Baby Silicone Placement With Bowl and Groove For Children []  2020-2-2 10:37

    This would be 5 stars if it had suction power lol can obtain beautiful messy w/ an independent small one decides they’re finished eating and relocates this to the floor. The edges of the bowl are nice and sturdy so she’s able to push her meal up versus the edge to maneuver it onto her utensils.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TLHOME Baby Placemat - Multifunction Security Food Baby Silicone Placement With Bowl and Groove For Children []  2020-2-2 10:37

    I actually think the design is petty awesome. Not big, so it can fit everywhere, the silicone is and therefore can be moved by smaller kids...So better for toddlers than infants probably. However depends on a child. I liked the idea of having a mat with endless, with handle and with the front part -food catcher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TLHOME Baby Placemat - Multifunction Security Food Baby Silicone Placement With Bowl and Groove For Children []  2020-2-2 10:37

    We use this with the Inglesina Table Chair and it works well. It is cheaper than buying the tray that comes with that high chair and it is more versatile. Since the arms of the high chair hold this tray in place, it doesn't matter that the suction is not strong. I wouldn't recommend this if you wish it to suction to a surface and not have the kid pull it off.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TLHOME Baby Placemat - Multifunction Security Food Baby Silicone Placement With Bowl and Groove For Children []  2020-2-2 10:37

    Are you kidding me??? I opened it up and there is some sort of animal hair all over the mat. This is obviously a used or returned item. Beyond furious

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TLHOME Baby Placemat - Multifunction Security Food Baby Silicone Placement With Bowl and Groove For Children []  2020-2-2 10:37

    This was definitely a returned item or something. There was black dog hair all over the back of the mat (I saw another reviewer had this issue too!) and the box was squashed and opened even though other stuff I had ordered in the amazon box were fine and not squashed, so clearly it was just this mat. I place it in the dishwasher to clean it, but was a small tempted to return because it grossed me out a bit. Also the meal catcher is beautiful flimsy, so meal rolls out like it’s on a slide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TLHOME Baby Placemat - Multifunction Security Food Baby Silicone Placement With Bowl and Groove For Children []  2020-2-2 10:37

    This is an perfect product. Sticks to the top of a table and the bowl in the center provides a amazing spot to place finger food.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TLHOME Baby Placemat - Multifunction Security Food Baby Silicone Placement With Bowl and Groove For Children []  2020-2-2 10:37

    My son did figure out that you can lift up the corners, so you still have to watch them. But it's a million times better than any suction cup plate or bowl we've tried. And the small channel that hangs over the edge of the table is surprisingly effective. I honestly expected that feature to be a gimmick but it works REALLY well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TLHOME Baby Placemat - Multifunction Security Food Baby Silicone Placement With Bowl and Groove For Children []  2020-2-2 10:37

    It doesn't stick to the table like I thought it would. The under 2yr old is able to still lift it off the table and still spill her meal down the front so if you are purchasing it to avoid that don't waste your money. But is still serves the purpose of the tray catching some of the meal and it provides a platform to put meal on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TLHOME Baby Placemat - Multifunction Security Food Baby Silicone Placement With Bowl and Groove For Children []  2020-2-2 10:37

    This placemat is amazing for taking to restaurants. It's the excellent size for baby and the part that hangs over the table edge really does catch a lot of the meal that would otherwise land on the floor. It's simple to clean and I can fold it up so it fits in the diaper bag. My only complaint is that it doesn't actually suction to the table at all. My baby pulls up the edges and folds it over every time. I think he has actually created a android game out of seeing how a lot of times I will tell him no, remove his hands and smooth it back down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    TLHOME Baby Placemat - Multifunction Security Food Baby Silicone Placement With Bowl and Groove For Children []  2020-2-2 10:37

    Doesn’t suction but works amazing for my twins. I was worried it’d warp in the dishwasher but it’s totally fine! Love the meal catching tray

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust to Dust []  2020-6-10 19:16

    The book kept my interest from begin to finish. I hope there will be another sequel

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust to Dust []  2020-6-10 19:16

    I dont even know where to begin. Just read it. It is such an awesome book. I fell in love and wasnt able yo place either book down.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust to Dust []  2020-6-10 19:16

    This book was quick paced and well written. The plot showed immense imagination and was never dull.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust to Dust []  2020-6-10 19:17

    I love these books! I finished them both in one day couldn’t tear myself away from them. It makes you wish to consider dying after surviving

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust to Dust []  2020-6-10 19:16

    Bonus for Grand Daughter and she liked it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust to Dust []  2020-6-10 19:16

    Loved both books! Ashes to ashes and dust to dust. Both fast reads.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust to Dust []  2020-6-10 19:16

    Thank you....great book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust to Dust []  2020-6-10 19:16

    This is the sequel to the first book Ashes to t to finish this book had me on my toes, a lot of adventure. I tell everyone it's like Buffy the Vampire Slayer but with Ghost. Very amazing read, so amazing I finished it in 48 hours. ENJOY!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust to Dust []  2020-6-10 19:16

    4.3 stars!Death and life in the afterworld are a large part of the duology. Interesting plot filled with ghost, romance and edge of seat narrative kept me wondering what would happen next. Emotional and truly captivating. Callie's powerful help system from her dad, best mate and boyfriend is really great. Even though the novel ends with a shocking twist, the second novel concludes nicely. A amazing read for paranormal fans.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dust to Dust []  2020-6-10 19:17

    The story was amazing! Both books are definitely the excellent stories to read over the summer. I fell in love with them

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brown Dust [App]  2019-3-7 21:22

    keeps crashing on me .theres a notice that says loginbygameplayidguestcache and it just crashes

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brown Dust [App]  2019-3-7 21:22

    Amazing art, amazing tactic but I personally dont care for the forced auto play while convenent I'd like the option for manual play

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brown Dust [App]  2019-3-7 21:22

    Seir is legendary ,,,, simple play if u have seir , dev not care about buff/debuff seir , never nerf .. amazing dev ..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brown Dust [App]  2019-3-7 21:22

    Amazing Strat Android game lots to do an plenty of f2p rewards.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brown Dust [App]  2019-3-7 21:22

    5 stars for thicc anime girls

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Brown Dust [App]  2019-3-7 21:22

    amazing

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386