Read elements of linear and multilinear algebra reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all elements of linear and multilinear algebra reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elements of Algebra []  2020-2-6 22:14

    I'm a very slow learner. I've always had a issue with understanding things. Especially math. But this book has changed things for me because of the explanations it contains. And even though I've never had much money, it is worth twice the price. For what its worth, that's my honest opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elements of Algebra []  2020-2-6 22:14

    Amazing Book very clear typeset. Simple to difficult level. Quick delivery from Amazon print on demand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elements of Algebra []  2020-2-6 22:14

    This is more about the review of the book's physical attributes than the review of Euler's masterpiece. It is one of the best mathematical book written for general population by one of the greatest mathematician. It is more or less on par with Euclid's Elements (still I would rate Euclid's masterpiece above). The other editions I bought earlier, reprinted the older formats with illegible formulas and letters. This ver resolves those problems. I want they would have maintained the notes in the same pages instead of combining in the latest pages. Amazing clarity. Larger print. Have enough zone to take notes.

    0  


    Add your opinion on elements of linear and multilinear algebra or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Its Applications []  2020-1-22 20:44

    This book was needed for my class, but the book was well written. It gave amazing examples and the odd issues had answers in the back. As well, you don't have to buy the solutions manual because all the solutions written out are on Slader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Differential Equations and Linear Algebra []  2020-1-22 20:59

    Doesn't clearly explain how to complete problems. When it comes to learning how to use equations the book will skip multiple steps and leave you confused and at a loss for words. The authors need to either stick to teaching or learn how to explain things. Having said that, if your class requires this text book, talk to your professor about learning from another book and borrow a copy from your college's library if you have to complete homework using the exercises from this book. Honestly, I'd give it a zero stars if I could.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Differential Equations and Linear Algebra []  2020-1-22 20:59

    Book was for school

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Matrix Theory []  2020-4-1 19:9

    I had the doubtful pleasure of teaching a 2nd year linear algebra course from this text at a major Canadian university recently. This is an poor textbook. The proofs are muddled and poorly presented, so much so that it makes you wonder if the authors know what they're talking about. But what makes this text so poor is that the examples are so poor, like it was some latest min addition, an afterthought. If the authors had found some interesting examples, or even applications, and worked them out clearly, I could have forgiven that the proofs are poorly written, but no. There are a lot of better texts out there that do a better job, and some are even available online for free. So stay away from this one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elements of Algebra []  2020-2-6 22:14

    I really have fun short focused chapters, unlike in a lot of modern textbooks, they never drag on, but hold you interested. The tone of the book is conversational, not formal at all. You can really tell that Euler enjoyed teaching as much as he enjoyed doing e reprint is very high quality. Though normally, I wouldn't trust anything that comes out of Microsoft Word, the book's typesetting is of high quality. It's not TeX, you will not search a single ligature here, or sub-millimeter precision spacing, but it still looks good. Some of the decorum, the squiggly lines announcing each fresh chapter, seem to have been lost in translation to fresh format, so pages look a small austere in comparison to original. Title photo is noticeably pixelated, a small more care could be taken to pick out a higher resolution photo for the title page. But other than that there's nothing I can nitpick on.EDIT: Found a blooper: reference numbers don't match up!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elements of Algebra []  2020-2-6 22:14

    I liked the beginning where Euler defines the mathematical symbols to be used. For instance, we learn that equal to (=) is beginning to be used at the time. Further on, when defining numbers (natural, rational,...) It is clear that at the time there was not an axiomatic number definition. Rather, Euler defines number properties with clear applied examples (investment, principal, debts an so on ). The latest chapters are devoted to solving equations up to third degree. These turned out being rather cryptic for a non professional together, the book is a sort of showcase of the practice and teaching of mathematics at the time, and I bought it for that. I have no complaints e translator/editor did a amazing job updating the symbols and keeping the tangy archaic writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Matrix Theory []  2020-4-1 19:9

    This book was ordered for school. It came in very amazing and extremely quickly. I would certainly use this seller again. (I am copying and pasting this comment section, because it applies to all of my school books ordered. :) )

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Its Applications []  2020-1-22 20:44

    I am taking my first dedicated course in Linear Algebra. This is, seriously, the only textbook I have sat down and can read like a novel. Very well structured, very focused on explaining the topic matter. Obviously you need a base of skills in algebra, but you can definately learn the subject with this book alone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Differential Equations and Linear Algebra []  2020-1-22 20:59

    Amazing book. Has a lot of example issues which I like though I want some of the material itself had been covered more clearly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Differential Equations and Linear Algebra []  2020-1-22 20:59

    It is what it is a book. I did obtain it in two days

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elements of Algebra []  2020-2-6 22:14

    Starts off simple enough for a novice like me to follow because of how well he explains himself. Then he leads you into more advanced equations at just the right pace. I think this book is a gem, glad I found it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elements of Algebra []  2020-2-6 22:14

    When reading this in Kindle for PC set to "Actual Size" the text is almost too little to read but if you increase the text magnification to 150% then the text does not wrap and you have to scroll back and forth to read it. Also in some parts (especially the intro) there are additional locations inserted in random locations - sometimes in the middle of words.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elements of Algebra []  2020-2-6 22:14

    He was so prolific and had such an impact on the field of math that anything he wrote is significant and should be read by anyone serious about learning math. He is one of the giants whose shoulders Newton famously said he stood upon to reach the heights he did, which were also enormous

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elements of Algebra []  2020-2-6 22:14

    A book by Euler for less than $20! Can't pass that up, besides this book goes well with my fetish: Electrical Engineering (Power), Civil Engineering, and Mathematics

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elements of Algebra []  2020-2-6 22:14

    I purchased this book excepting it to be a tad bit shorter but that was my fault as a consumer making spontaneous purchases rather than investigating a bit further. This is a textbook sized book and it packs a lot of info all taught by Euler (possibly the greatest mathematician known to man). Some of the language used in the book can be a bit confusing but considering this is a reprint and probably was translated by people without math degrees it is finitely worth its value.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Its Applications []  2020-1-22 20:44

    These authors and the publisher (Pearson) are nothing more than bandits who don't wear masks. For $143 I purchased the hardcover 5th edition of this textbook for self-study. The table of contents shows Chapters 9 and 10 covering the subjects of Optimization and Markov Chains, but indicated there as "Online". I figured that, they are trying to hold the printing costs down by offering optional material online, but I assumed for free or at least covered in the outrageous $143 cost of this thin textbook. But no, access to chapters 9 and 10 requires a separate purchase to gain access via a paywalled rip-off scheme set up by the publisher called Additionally, to even sign up, you must be registered for a course that an instructor has set up, so forget about getting access to those chapters for self-study.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Its Applications []  2020-1-22 20:44

    I teach at a public university and keep a Ph.D. in economics. I bought this book for my son, who is a senior in high school and took an online course in linear algebra during the summer. So I did not work through the entire book, but I read some chapters out of is book offers an perfect introduction to linear algebra. It is suitable for both advanced high school students and college students in their first e explanations are clear. Numerous practice questions support students understand the material.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Its Applications []  2020-1-22 20:44

    I purchased the book as new. To my understanding these books come with their own access code if the are new. This book didn’t have any access code in sight and therefore think it was used and sold as new. I am very disappointed because not only did I have to wait for another book and code to come in but only received 1/2 of my refund.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Differential Equations and Linear Algebra []  2020-1-22 20:59

    Exactly what I need

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Matrix Theory []  2020-4-1 19:9

    This is a textbook about linear algebra in my undergraduate study, but this book is worse than any other books with same y some example are simple to understand, but most of them are chaotic order, specially in proof of definition. I do not wish to use any more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Its Applications []  2020-1-22 20:44

    Check to see if your instructor is using the associated online mathlab. If so, you will have to purchase access for an extra $110 which contains this book in a highly fragmented format. This should have been included with the cost of the book, but there is no access code in the book, but pearson apparently wants to fleece students for as much as they can. I scanned the book when I first received it, but never looked at it again. Also, some parts of the book are only found online.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Differential Equations and Linear Algebra []  2020-1-22 20:59

    Diff Eq is bad, but you can do it. No ups without downs in life right?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Differential Equations and Linear Algebra []  2020-1-22 20:59

    The book was in amazing condition when it arrived.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Matrix Theory []  2020-4-1 19:9

    I had this textbook shipped back home while I was almost done with school. I just recently headed home and was able to check out the book. I do see people that have negative reviews about how the book is structured. I'm not personally worried about this, my professor that I'll be taking the course with, is writing his own Linear Algebra textbook, and he was a amazing professor with my previous course. If you are concerned about learning this items on your own, I would definitely recommend using other free online supplement instruction with this book. For the price of this book, you still obtain a bunch of issue sets to practice with, and thats a amazing starting point.I would recommend this textbook for anyone considering purchasing.If this review was found to be helpful, please consider hitting the yes/no.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Matrix Theory []  2020-4-1 19:9

    This term, I have the misfortune of using this textbook for a second year linear algebra course. When I paid $150 for a text book, I assumed that there was some sort of rationale for such a high price; as of yet, I have not found one. Not only are the explanations of particular examples muddled at best, the wording of most concepts is completely convoluted. The only method that I am getting through this course is with my laptop begin to Wikipedia to support me decipher this. Aside from that, the authors provide "selected examples" which aren't overly helpful, and often are completely erroneous. The book could also be improved by a glossary and chapter summaries.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Matrix Theory []  2020-4-1 19:9

    Please save your cash and obtain a various textbook. This is by far the worst linear algebra book I ever had the misfortune to use. The examples are bad, the few answers in the back are of small to no help. PLEASE AVOID AT ALL COST!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Its Applications []  2020-1-22 20:44

    One of the absolute worst quality e-books I've ever had the displeasure of purchasing. The "book" artifacts constantly making it impossible to read or focus on the material. Constant resizing is needed to avoid the random black squares and diagonal patterns formed in the kindle er beware you have been warned.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Its Applications []  2020-1-22 20:44

    This is a amazing introduction to linear algebra for students and those with practical uses for it. I studied linear algebra in college but required to refresh my recollection of some parts of it. This is better than what I had in school 30 years ago.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Its Applications []  2020-1-22 20:44

    This book was needed for my Matrices class and it's a amazing resource for additional issues and examples. I found myself going back to this book and the sections, reviewing the material before quizzes and exams. I will say that I [email protected]#$%! gave more examples along with the sections, but it does the job regardless. The sections may be out of order, depending on the curriculum as it was for me. The back of the book has some solutions to the hw problems, but you should be able to search them online with other *extra* finitely a better buy (rental) vs my university's book store. The difference in rental pricing was huge!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Its Applications []  2020-1-22 20:44

    I usually write in my textbooks which I buy when I begin studying. I wrote a lot of items inside, until I figured about 3 pages of the textbook were so badly printed that I could not even read what it had said. Textbook is great, just a horrible job by the printing company I guess.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Differential Equations and Linear Algebra []  2020-1-22 20:59

    Better to rent text books than to purchase them outright.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Matrix Theory []  2020-4-1 19:9

    Not a poor book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Matrix Theory []  2020-4-1 19:9

    Out of the tons of textbooks I required while earning my bachelor's degree in Computer Science / Mathematics -- this was definitely the worst. It includes almost no context as to what you're doing or why it's useful. You just learn some formulas so that you can do the forumlas in the following section. I completed Linear Algebra 1 & 2 without having a clue about what was going on. It wasn't until I took a Computer Animation course that I said "wait a minute... that looks familiar."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Matrix Theory []  2020-4-1 19:9

    This is one of the most stupid books on linear algebra i have ever seen. The explanation of theory is awful, examples given do not provide a student with any idea of what is going on. The solutions of the examples are shortened so that it is very hard for a student to understand all the procedures and the logic behind the solution.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Matrix Theory []  2020-4-1 19:9

    I found that this was just as it was described when I intially purchased the book. It also came faster than predicted.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra []  2020-9-24 19:27

    Excelente libro. Es mi libro de cabecera para dar clases de álgebra lineal

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra []  2020-9-24 19:27

    I gave this book a not good review not because it shows small examples and applications and demands very theoretical work without much background (all of which are true), but because it does not do a amazing job with what it claims to be its mission: to foster a amazing intuition of the geometric implications. If you read the reviews of the earlier edition, "Twit" writes what this book never does. In all truth, this would be an perfect book if you could sit for two hours a day with a tutor and slowly see the huge picture, as Shifrin wants. It is a book that intentionally makes things laborious. I have always seen the example section as a put to READ problems, not to DO them. Perhaps a very related issue might follow an example, but Shifrin and Adams leave even the teaching to the a mathematical treatise, this book is excellent; as a pedagogical device, it is unhelpful. The "big picture" is always expected to be gleaned from the exercises; other books will state it off the bat, then allow the student gain a deeper appreciation through the e authors take pride in the book's being advanced; that said, I am a amazing math student and am satisfied to work through difficult issues - but I wish to be grounded in the fundamentals before I do the abstract proofs he demands. It always just tips at what should really be understood without ever explicitly communicating e advanced level is perfect and should be preserved, but Shifrin and Adams MUST add more grounding exercises in the next edition, which I had to look to other books to find.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra []  2020-9-24 19:27

    The e-text is fine, and well done by Amazon. The book itself isn't the best.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra []  2020-9-24 19:27

    The book leaves out in the examples, info for solving the issue that are necessary for clarification of the topic. In addition, it uses the words like "clearly this is the case" assuming that the reader follows the author's logic instead of giving proper clarification. Sometimes, it was not so clear. In addition, the wording was confusing sometimes. I had a hard time understanding what the questions were asking for sometimes. The only amazing thing was that there were a lot of questions to practice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra []  2020-9-24 19:27

    I bought this book for my accelerated summer course in Linear Algebra. Every evening was a typical week's worth of material so I've been stressing out over the fact that I had very small knowledge of systems of equations going into it. My professor blurred through the material and (with one week left to go) the whole class is utterly confused.Having said that, this book has explained much more to me than any lecture throughout the entire 7 weeks so far. I have copied and recopied the proofs from the book and eventually the meaning of the theorems and definitions have become clear. When I started with parametric form of vectors, I tried looking up more issues of such a nature in my Calculus book (Stewart 7e), Gilbert Strang's book, and Lay's, but none of them had much at all on the subject. So I had almost given up even on the first section. Then Section two wasn't too bad. All the method through to chapter 4 now, and I've had to use other supplements (if you don't use one if this level of mathematics, then no wonder you don't obtain it), but I've been struggling along just the same.I believe that the style in this book is meant for those students who have a love of logical thinking. Mind you, the issue set has beautiful much been useless to me as I don't have enough time to ponder the implications of more abstract problems. I would rather have a issue set engineered toward the acquisition of an understanding of the definitions (namely linear independence, basis, and the four fundamental subspaces). But this book is meant to weed out the engineers from the mathematicians and obtain you ready for the type of proof format and logical thinking in higher level mathematics. Those who wish a computational book: Look elsewhere. However, if you like to have your mind stretched to explore the theory and geometric interpretation of such theories, this is your book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra []  2020-9-24 19:27

    Examples are not clear, they refuse to explain things in the homework solutions, and they just continually create heavy assumptions about what is obvious to the reader. If you are trying to learn linear algebra from an app based perspective, DO NOT choose this book. It's basically just proofs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra []  2020-9-24 19:27

    It is not the best book but if you watch some online material you will be fine :)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra []  2020-9-24 19:27

    Very amazing condition and helpful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra []  2020-9-24 19:27

    I don't know where to begin with this book. I found it insulting and frustrating that the authors frequently write "the astute student will know how to do this so we leave it to them", I am reading a textbook because I wish to learn how to do something and need a worked example at least once to see what is going on. In general there were a lot of things that were done with no explanation and the underpinnings of concepts were glossed over. Most of the answers in the textbook were worthless in terms of using them to understand the problem, and certainly not what the authors tout to be proper mathematical solutions. Maybe my standards are too high, but I believe a textbook should be a resource and helpful to the reader without a teacher. As mathematics major I would never touch this book again and bought a various one to support me learn the material for my course.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra []  2020-9-24 19:27

    You will love to attend lectures after getting this cause it teaches in a method of confusion, while I can see the author knows the material very well, I would assume this is not written for students. (what for? ask the author.)Since the book is so unclear and off the point, it does offer examples. Examples that doesn't relate to the practice issues at all.I have no other issue with my calculus book and I'm not a lazy student. I only use this book as a practice issue source. (Otherwise I'll be confusing myself truthfully, it always create the material harder, while my professor can create it easier) A amazing lecture and a helpful professor, that's all I'm counting not obtain this book, do yourself a favor! I'll be reselling it to Amazon right after I'm done with LA I&II. I don't sell books for the most of the time (I consider them as a fortune), but not this one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Differential Equations and Linear Algebra (2-downloads) []  2020-9-24 19:27

    Exactly what I need

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Differential Equations and Linear Algebra (2-downloads) []  2020-9-24 19:27

    It is what it is a book. I did obtain it in two days

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Its Applications (2-downloads) []  2020-9-25 18:58

    I am taking my first dedicated course in Linear Algebra. This is, seriously, the only textbook I have sat down and can read like a novel. Very well structured, very focused on explaining the topic matter. Obviously you need a base of skills in algebra, but you can definately learn the subject with this book alone.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Its Applications (2-downloads) []  2020-9-25 18:58

    I purchased the book as new. To my understanding these books come with their own access code if the are new. This book didn’t have any access code in sight and therefore think it was used and sold as new. I am very disappointed because not only did I have to wait for another book and code to come in but only received 1/2 of my refund.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Multivariable Calculus, Linear Algebra, and Differential Equations []  2020-11-23 18:13

    You won't search a much better calculus text than this one. Grossman bends over backwards to give you as complete and concise an explanation of the topic as possible. The exercises are plentiful with answers to the odd-numbered issues in the back. I also search the historical notes learns mathematics by doing, as my calc professor would tell us. And this is a "doing" book. Calc takes work; there's no royal road. But this book, patience with yourself, and lots of practice will obtain you through.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Its Applications (2-downloads) []  2020-9-25 18:58

    This book was needed for my class, but the book was well written. It gave amazing examples and the odd issues had answers in the back. As well, you don't have to buy the solutions manual because all the solutions written out are on Slader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Differential Equations and Linear Algebra (2-downloads) []  2020-9-24 19:27

    Doesn't clearly explain how to complete problems. When it comes to learning how to use equations the book will skip multiple steps and leave you confused and at a loss for words. The authors need to either stick to teaching or learn how to explain things. Having said that, if your class requires this text book, talk to your professor about learning from another book and borrow a copy from your college's library if you have to complete homework using the exercises from this book. Honestly, I'd give it a zero stars if I could.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Differential Equations and Linear Algebra (2-downloads) []  2020-9-24 19:27

    Book was for school

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Differential Equations and Linear Algebra (2-downloads) []  2020-9-24 19:27

    Diff Eq is bad, but you can do it. No ups without downs in life right?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Differential Equations and Linear Algebra (2-downloads) []  2020-9-24 19:27

    The book was in amazing condition when it arrived.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Its Applications (2-downloads) []  2020-9-25 18:58

    Check to see if your instructor is using the associated online mathlab. If so, you will have to purchase access for an extra $110 which contains this book in a highly fragmented format. This should have been included with the cost of the book, but there is no access code in the book, but pearson apparently wants to fleece students for as much as they can. I scanned the book when I first received it, but never looked at it again. Also, some parts of the book are only found online.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Its Applications (2-downloads) []  2020-9-25 18:58

    This is a amazing introduction to linear algebra for students and those with practical uses for it. I studied linear algebra in college but required to refresh my recollection of some parts of it. This is better than what I had in school 30 years ago.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Its Applications (2-downloads) []  2020-9-25 18:58

    I usually write in my textbooks which I buy when I begin studying. I wrote a lot of items inside, until I figured about 3 pages of the textbook were so badly printed that I could not even read what it had said. Textbook is great, just a horrible job by the printing company I guess.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Differential Equations and Linear Algebra (2-downloads) []  2020-9-24 19:27

    This particular "custom" edition for Villanova students just leaves out 300 pages of material- stops at p.480 and continues on p.709. Which is amazing if you class only covers ch. 1-7...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Differential Equations and Linear Algebra (2-downloads) []  2020-9-24 19:27

    Amazing book. Has a lot of example issues which I like though I want some of the material itself had been covered more clearly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Its Applications (2-downloads) []  2020-9-25 18:58

    These authors and the publisher (Pearson) are nothing more than bandits who don't wear masks. For $143 I purchased the hardcover 5th edition of this textbook for self-study. The table of contents shows Chapters 9 and 10 covering the subjects of Optimization and Markov Chains, but indicated there as "Online". I figured that, they are trying to hold the printing costs down by offering optional material online, but I assumed for free or at least covered in the outrageous $143 cost of this thin textbook. But no, access to chapters 9 and 10 requires a separate purchase to gain access via a paywalled rip-off scheme set up by the publisher called Additionally, to even sign up, you must be registered for a course that an instructor has set up, so forget about getting access to those chapters for self-study.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Its Applications (2-downloads) []  2020-9-25 18:58

    I teach at a public university and keep a Ph.D. in economics. I bought this book for my son, who is a senior in high school and took an online course in linear algebra during the summer. So I did not work through the entire book, but I read some chapters out of is book offers an perfect introduction to linear algebra. It is suitable for both advanced high school students and college students in their first e explanations are clear. Numerous practice questions support students understand the material.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Differential Equations and Linear Algebra (2-downloads) []  2020-9-24 19:27

    Better to rent text books than to purchase them outright.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Its Applications (2-downloads) []  2020-9-25 18:58

    This book was needed for my Matrices class and it's a amazing resource for additional issues and examples. I found myself going back to this book and the sections, reviewing the material before quizzes and exams. I will say that I [email protected]#$%! gave more examples along with the sections, but it does the job regardless. The sections may be out of order, depending on the curriculum as it was for me. The back of the book has some solutions to the hw problems, but you should be able to search them online with other *extra* finitely a better buy (rental) vs my university's book store. The difference in rental pricing was huge!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Its Applications (2-downloads) []  2020-9-25 18:58

    One of the absolute worst quality e-books I've ever had the displeasure of purchasing. The "book" artifacts constantly making it impossible to read or focus on the material. Constant resizing is needed to avoid the random black squares and diagonal patterns formed in the kindle er beware you have been warned.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Linear Algebra, Sixth Edition (Schaum's Outlines) []  2019-12-24 19:30

    Amazing coverage of LA topicsLacking insight(more breadth than depth)Very amazing supplemental text

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elementary Linear Algebra []  2020-1-21 21:39

    I really like the layout and presentation of topic matter in this textbook. If you wish to self-teach, I can't think of a better companion text. Everything is clearly laid out in detail. It is oriented towards college sophomore and juniors who are also students of engineering or computer science. Knowledge of calculus is not required, although there are a couple of examples that use calculus that are clearly labeled and can be omitted without loss of continuity. There are theorems and proofs included, but this is very much an applied example-driven book. There is an abundance of diagrams and figures illustrating every point and example. There is currently a sixth edition, but if you can convince your instructor, go for this edition. I've seen the sixth edition and it offers no better a presentation than this one. Has matrix algebra somehow changed in the latest five years? I don't think so. The following is the table of contents:1. Systems of Linear Equations2. Matrices3. Determinants4. Vector Spaces5. Inner Product Spaces6. Linear Transformations7. Eigenvalues and Eigenvectors8. Complex Vector SpacesThe book has something additional unique - every chapter has a section that shows how the material just presented figures into the solution of an actual problem. The following is the list of applications for each chapter:1. Applications of Systems of Linear Equationsa. Polynomial Curve Fittingb. Network ysis2. Applications of Matrix Operationsa. Stochastic Matricesb. Crypotographyc. Leontief Input-Output Modelsd. Least Squares Regression ysis3. Applications of Determinantsa. The adjoint of a matrixb. Cramer's Rulec. Area, Volume, and Equations of lines and planes4. Applications of Vector spacesa. Linear Differential Equationsb. Conic sections and rotation5. Applications of inner product spacesa. The cross product of two vectors in spaceb. Least squares approximationsc. Fourier approximations6. Applications of Linear Transformationsa. Geometry of linear transformations in the plane.b. Computer graphics7. Applications of eigenvectors and eigenvaluesa. Population growthb. Systems of differential equationsc. Quadratic equationsEach of the first seven chapters also has two projects each which range from the very easy to the involved.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elementary Linear Algebra []  2020-1-21 21:39

    i was a math major at University of Georgia (i have graduated since then) and took intro to linear algebra several times. (okay it's not THAT funny.) it was a various teacher and a various book every time. which created it very simple for me to compare. this book was so much more organized and explained things so much better so that not only did i pass the class, i actually created an A. strongly recommended for all that is interested in the subject, or taking this class but having difficulties. this book will support you understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra Demystified []  2019-12-24 19:41

    Somehow, the "DeMystified" series appears to be a ringing phenomenon with me. Perhaps, my very broad background in academics has created it easier, much easier to appeal to my sense of perception in sifting through drivel, bore on the one hand, and seriousness and relevance, on the other hand. I highly recommend this book to anyone wanting a fast "baptism" in the fundamentals of linear algebra.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra Demystified []  2019-12-24 19:41

    Amazing reference

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Linear Algebra, Sixth Edition (Schaum's Outlines) []  2019-12-24 19:30

    The book has multiple errors

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra Demystified []  2019-12-24 19:41

    I bought this book after reading dozens of positive reviews praising it. It was meant for a preview to my Linear Algebra and Applications class and as an alternative reference. I read through about half of the book before the semester began, but we beautiful much learned everything I read from this within two weeks. I gave up on it and it was just sitting there until I decided to further clarify to myself the concept of kernel and image, and all the proof questions associated with them. And guess what, this book doesn't even address these concepts. Now I have no reason to even begin this book because true college level courses go well beyond this depth and relying on the info in here for tests is just an academic suicide...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra Demystified []  2019-12-24 19:41

    The book s out formulas without adequate explanation. I don't learn unless I understand. It's a amazing book if you wish to review concepts and formulas learnt elsewhere! The examples are easy and to the point, which is good.Overall, don't buy the book if you wish to learn Linear Algebra for the first time, but obtain it if you wish a refresher.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elementary Linear Algebra []  2020-1-21 21:39

    It is what it is and Larson does it well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Algebra Essentials Practice Workbook with Answers: Linear & Quadratic Equations, Cross Multiplying, and Systems of Equations: Improve Your Math Fluency Series []  2020-4-1 20:26

    Required to pass an exam. This helped me brush up on the algebra part of the exam.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Algebra Essentials Practice Workbook with Answers: Linear & Quadratic Equations, Cross Multiplying, and Systems of Equations: Improve Your Math Fluency Series []  2020-4-1 20:26

    I like the manner it taught the subject, although one thing missing from this is word problems. I know that some students can struggle to translate sentences into equations and mathematical expressions and having some word issues would have created this book perfect.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hello Again, Linear Algebra: A Second Look at the Subject through a Collection of Exercises and Solutions []  2020-1-21 21:38

    The tutorial is short and to the point, and reviews in an intuitive method the concepts of linear algebra. Since it's such a short read and provides examples that let the student to develop an instinctive sense for solving common problems, I would recommend it as a companion to any fresh student in a linear algebra class, as well as anyone looking to review the basics of the e exercises are easy enough to teach the basics, and the more challenging issues and explanations are thought provoking enough to develop mastery of the topic - adequately preparing the reader for tough additional credit issues to be faced on an exam.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Hello Again, Linear Algebra: A Second Look at the Subject through a Collection of Exercises and Solutions []  2020-1-21 21:38

    There is a mistake in just about every other example or exercise.I guess for $3, the author couldn't even afford to proof read it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Algebra Essentials Practice Workbook with Answers: Linear & Quadratic Equations, Cross Multiplying, and Systems of Equations: Improve Your Math Fluency Series []  2020-9-23 18:57

    Amazing practice pages. The intro to some of the chapters is lengthy, but the info provided is excellent. I'm using this book for tutoring, and I beleve it is working.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Algebra Essentials Practice Workbook with Answers: Linear & Quadratic Equations, Cross Multiplying, and Systems of Equations: Improve Your Math Fluency Series []  2020-9-23 18:57

    Simple to understand and follow. Amazing examples and a amazing refresher for someone who took Algebra in high school. Worth the money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra and Matrix Theory (Dover Books on Mathematics) []  2020-1-25 3:13

    This 1952 book by Stoll has very small axiomatization. He mostly presents practical ideas and examples first, and then abstracts the ideas into definitions and notations plus some easy theorems (which have short proofs), and occasionally gives a set of axioms for particular classes of objects, such as fields for example. There are numerous examples and exercises. It seems that this book is not intended for pure mathematicians. The intended audience is clearly engineers, physicists, economists, applied mathematicians, and so cording to the back cover, this book is at the advanced undergraduate or first-year graduate level. I think I would put it a year earlier than that, probably at 2nd or 3rd year university e order of presentation shows the practical intentions of this book. Systems of linear equations are the topic of Chapter 1, whereas linear systems would usually be further towards the end of a pure mathematical apter 2 introduces vector spaces, which are given some geometric interpretation, but are then axiomatized. Chapter 3 introduces some very primary matrix algebra. Chapter 4 on determinants contains Cramer's rule and Jacobians. These are all very concrete apter 5 is really a break from the earlier chapters because it concerns bilinear and quadratic functions and forms. The matrices for these have a various set of meaningful operations to the matrices for linear transformations. For example, the author presents congruence of forms and diagonalization of symmetric (real) and Hermitian (complex) apters 6 and 7 return to linear transformations, including eigenvalues for linear ly, Chapter 8 presents orthogonality, norms, inner products, principal axes, eigenvalues, etc., for true and complex 's a fairly little book with a fairly huge range of topics. I would describe this book as "pragmatic". I have the impression that the subjects were chosen by a committee appointed by a range of university departments which wanted a "service course" for their students. This is definitely not "linear algebra for pure mathematicians".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Matrices and Linear Algebra (Dover Books on Mathematics) []  2020-6-3 18:30

    except the posting take really long time. everything is OK.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Matrices and Linear Algebra (Dover Books on Mathematics) []  2020-6-3 18:30

    On my desk right now, books by: David C. Lay, Terry Lawson, Sheldon Axler, Klaus Jänich, Robert Valenza, and this one by Schneider and Barker. I tend to go back again and again here.I'm using this book as a supplement for the textbook in my class. Some of the books cited above don't quite fit the bill because they're so various from the linear algebra for engineering you so often see in classes. But this one is perfect for a matrix-heavy is book is "bare bones", indeed, but it is very well written. Some might not be used to definitions, propositions, theorems and lemmas but in this case this makes it a whole lot easier for finding (and referencing) the necessary results. The notation is careful and formal, but the explanations are crystal clear. On the back cover it says it's geared towards students "outside the field of mathematics" but I think they say that because it avoids a purely algebraic approach (like in Valenza where e.g. Ker is defined in the context of group homomorphism). The approach is the one of matrixes, matrixes everywhere (row echelon algorithm, etc.) There are, however, no "modern" applications (such as networks, or ecology) as examples.Another reviewer complained about the difficulty in exercises. While you have "drill" ones, you do have more conceptual ones, but I think they're on par with the text. There are no beautiful illustrations here, and you will see that you don't need some other books, material might be presented in a wordy manner, but in this book, you just say "ah, so what so-and-so is saying is just Theorem number X.X.X in S&B."On the whole, this is an perfect acquisition for your undergraduate library. It is cheap and good. What more do you want?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Applied Linear Algebra: Vectors, Matrices, and Least Squares []  2020-8-14 18:41

    This book is very thorough, but after spending ~10 hours trying to learn from it, I have to say it has two critical flaws. First, it presents very easy concepts in very complex ways. From pedantically re-explaining a easy concept from multiple angles, to using awkward, dense language that takes a lot of re-readings to unravel. Like overly clever code. The second critical flaw is, conversely, insufficient info to obtain from concept A to concept r me, these two flaws were insurmountable, even with supplemental help from a mate with a powerful mathematics background. Even together we could not figure out some of these lessons. I suspect professor Boyd spends a lot of time with his students explaining book concepts in person, or students have to work extensively with each other, because the book is insufficient r the small I managed to obtain out of this book, I did search some amazing things. The practical aspect of it, with 4-6 examples per concept, each tracking a various use case, was great. Some of these examples suffered from the second critical flaw, but those that didn't helped illuminate why each concept was important.Overall I'm disappointed. I had high hopes, and spent $40 on what will now be donated to a local thrift store. Time to sign up for Kahn Academy or something, which I was trying to essor Boyd, if you read this: For the next edition, I'd recommend this be improved with the close assistance of someone actually learning the material from the book. Preferably someone with an affinity for and experience in clearly educating others. Some sections could be reduced by 50% and others slightly augmented, and the book would become far more useful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Applied Linear Algebra: Vectors, Matrices, and Least Squares []  2020-8-14 18:41

    Too wordy, difficult to learn true math from this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Introduction to Applied Linear Algebra: Vectors, Matrices, and Least Squares []  2020-8-14 18:41

    A very limited introduction ... do not expect a modern day thorough Shilov!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Linear Algebra, Sixth Edition (Schaum's Outlines) []  2019-12-24 19:30

    Perfect on time

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Linear Algebra, Sixth Edition (Schaum's Outlines) []  2019-12-24 19:30

    If anyone can share a link to the errata for this text, I'd appreciate it. There are necessary errors in the first chapter that create it so I can't trust this book. For example, when discussing the inverse of complex numbers on page 12, there is a minus sign where there should be an equals sign, changing the meaning and presenting readers with an incorrect formula. There's another error on page 13, where it incorrectly states that when working with complex numbers, u dot v = conjugate of u dot v, which could only be real if the dot product has no imaginary part. The text should instead say u dot v = conjugate of v dot u. (The order of the right side is reversed.)Also, be aware that the formulas are presented in a very quick, sterile method that might be amazing for a concise review, but I don't recommend this as a basic textbook for a course.I'm currently giving this 1 star based on the quality of Chapter 1. If the quality improves in later chapters, I'll test to return to modernize the rating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Linear Algebra, Sixth Edition (Schaum's Outlines) []  2019-12-24 19:30

    There is no better linear algebra book at any price

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Linear Algebra, Sixth Edition (Schaum's Outlines) []  2019-12-24 19:30

    As usual.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Schaum's Outline of Linear Algebra, Sixth Edition (Schaum's Outlines) []  2019-12-24 19:30

    New

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elementary Linear Algebra []  2020-1-21 21:39

    Amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Elementary Linear Algebra []  2020-1-21 21:39

    Cheaper than buying through my school. No complaints.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra Demystified []  2019-12-24 19:41

    Amazing book , simple to read. I [email protected]#$%! had far more exercises to work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra Demystified []  2019-12-24 19:41

    I bought this book as a companion to "Linear Algebra for Dummies." It's less comprehensive in putting abstract terminology into laymen's terms than the Dummies book, but it's still a helpful resource. The best thing about this book is that it has lots of examples that are simple to follow. It's worth buying, but I recommend buying it as a companion to another book such as the Dummies book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra Demystified []  2019-12-24 19:41

    A portable fast reference. It is not a textbook really, but is a handy reference to go with a standard linear algebra text, or as a handy reference if one is reading topic matter that depends on a knowledge of linear algebra at an undergraduate level.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Linear Algebra Demystified []  2019-12-24 19:41

    Linear Algebra Demystified is essentially just a compendium of definitions. The 'examples' it employs are copious, but purely mathematical in nature. Aside from getting off to a amazing begin in chapter 1 (by talking about "systems of simultaneous equations") the book never refers to any real-world issues thereafter, and fails to ask-and-answer any kind of obvious (to the reader) "What would I do with any of this?" ere are a few spelling/grammar typos, but the bigger quality problems are the technical mistakes that indicate (to me, anyway) that this book may not have gone through any kind of design review or proof-reading from any of Mr. McMahon's peers in mathematics. For a guy who is supposedly working in the field of nuclear power, that's a scary thought (Mr. McMahon should have insisted on it, even if the amazing people at McGraw-Hill didn't). I suspect that the fundamental problem, though, is that, because all of the "Demystified . . " books are aimed at a low price-point, they simply can't afford the expense (and delay) of peer review. That's fair enough, unless you're the kind of person who believes that, if you're not going to do something right, then don't do it at all. And, at the end of the day, I guess I am such a person. Between Linear Algebra Demystified, and the even more numerous & egregious mistakes in DSP Demystified, I regard the entirety of the whole "Demystified . . " book series as suspect (Yes, I know that a sample of two is not statistically valid, but I'm afraid my patience stops here).

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386