Read energy in world history reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all energy in world history reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Energy In World History []  2020-5-22 18:15

    Lo compre para un regalo la chica le encantó

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Energy In World History []  2020-5-22 18:15

    Got this sooner than expected and in advertised.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Energy In World History []  2020-5-22 18:15

    As Director of the Graduate Course on "Energy Geopolitics" I found this book most interesting and useful for energy specialists and general public. Lots of info and fun to read. Amazing book. Thanks.

    0  


    Add your opinion on energy in world history or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mining in World History (Globalities) []  2019-12-23 20:36

    This is a amazing short history in mining and covers a lot of aspects. It goes into detail just enough to obtain you interested. My perspective of the globe has changed dramatically.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mining in World History (Globalities) []  2019-12-23 20:36

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. It should be created into a e book is more than about who discovered gold or some other mineral here or there but about the evolution of mining and refining techniques, the evolution of finance and banking and the evolution of the industries and empires and people that use the metals and how all the players have changed each other as they evolved. It's about the larger than life personalities, the historically neglected, the cheated, the lucky and unlucky. The book is so broad in its sweep through history yet so subtle and acute and personal. The countries that are or have been major players on the globe scene are duly documented and on occasion countries not recognized historically as major players in mining have a bright flash of light cast upon them by a single sentence or paragraph describing almost globe domination for decades in the production of particular metals or mining of certain come away from this book feeling you can understand where we came from and what drives our society and has driven our society for hundreds of years. Here in Australia a financial journalist recently said that the fortunes of the Australian share shop is defined by our largest bank and our largest mining company. I can now see why. These two industries, mining and finance, underpin all industrial societies of all political persuasions around the globe, and have a vast impact on societies not dependent on manufactured goods when minerals are discovered on their e book is not judgemental or political in any method and is not an advertisement for mining, doesn't gloss over, doesn't exaggerate, and doesn't bore with dry detail. I found the book entertaining and extremely well written and researched... not that I knew anything much about mining in globe history before reading this book. There are some maps provided in the book but a amazing atlas or world may come in handy to locate some of the areas mentioned that aren't mapped as I search seeing on a map where something is or something happened makes it somewhat more fulfilling. The only problem is having to interrupt you reading to look up the location!Not all mining has been covered such as the scarcer or obscure metals or minerals or the more latest but vast impact of the oil industry... considering oil reserves were the at stake in two globe wars... but I think the oversight of the oil industry was probably deliberate as oil in globe history would be another book in itself... you obtain the feeling the author would be able to write another 20 or 30 volumes... I'd certainly have a go at reading them if he wrote them!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mining in World History (Globalities) []  2019-12-23 20:36

    Probably a amazing book if you're interested in the financial history of mining. I was more hoping for a book on the actual nuts and bolts of the process of mining itself.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mining in World History (Globalities) []  2019-12-23 20:36

    amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mining in World History (Globalities) []  2019-12-23 20:36

    Mining in Globe History is a amazing acc of how minerals and their development and use advanced the history of the Western World. The author's background as a metallurgist slanted the book a bit toward the development of metallurgy processes but this was fair. A few minor glitches, but not serious or important.Excellent read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mining in World History (Globalities) []  2019-12-23 20:36

    This book talks about mining, refining, banking, etc. pertinent to precious metals and metal ores. This comprehensive analysis is a amazing starting put for anyone just figuring out their bearing on this complex topic. It also unpacks how nations rose and fell (in some senses) because of mining and its importance in the show day.I would love to see a documentary about this well-written and well-researched book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Iran in World History (New Oxford World History) []  2020-2-2 1:44

    This book is a beautiful amazing intro and overview into irans history. Doesn't cover everything (no 1 book could cover over 3000 years of history) and doesn't go into extreme detail but it's a amazing begin for people who are interested in a very misunderstood country.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Iran in World History (New Oxford World History) []  2020-2-2 1:44

    The book provided detail concerning an zone of the globe which was a nearly total void in my earlier education. The history suggests several possibilities concerning why the Middle East will remain a source of a dozens of issues for a lot of years to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Iran in World History (New Oxford World History) []  2020-2-2 1:44

    First rate, fascinating, lucid, and accessible scholarship, just as I would expect from Dr./Prof. Foltz. I read it in prep for a latest trip to Iran, which was a amazing method to obtain critical background for understanding the country.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mexico in World History (New Oxford World History) []  2020-1-24 20:26

    I happened to stumble upon this book while looking for something to read on Amazon. I was quite happy with the discovery given I studied under Professor Beezley over 40 years ago. Brought back amazing memories, and certainly the book was all I would expect from a unbelievable teacher. I highly recommend for those interested in Mexico.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Trans-Saharan Africa in World History (New Oxford World History) []  2020-1-26 21:21

    The title promises more than this slender volume delivers. The book is nonetheless a useful survey. It is academic in style, and so may not be of interest to some readers. I found it best on how the zone became Muslim, and on the slave trade. There is a tendency to ignore slave trades other than the Atlantic trade, but slavery over the centuries was very significant in this zone as well. Austen estimates that perhaps 4 million people were enslaved in this trans-Saharan trade (from 800 to 1900 CE); the trade was mostly to what is now North Africa. This compares, he says, to 2 million slaves going to Egypt (from Ethiopia and Sudan) and 4 million more going via the Red Sea to the Middle East and e book is thoroughly researched. It will interest people curious about the interactions over time between peoples connected by the Sahara. I found its discussion of the other slave trade to be the most significant part, but there's more to the book than that. It's a bit dry, but provides context that will support the reader better understand the muddled and chaotic region today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Iran in World History (New Oxford World History) []  2020-2-2 1:44

    This is a simply remarkable distillation. Foltz has written the best volume so far in this innovative series. This book is an extremely amazing introduction to Iran. It covers two thousand years of history of one of the world's amazing nations, a tangled and complex history, and does it very well. In addition, it covers latest decades fairly and without bias, covering the Islamic Republic (chapter 8) with flaws included. Readers interested only in current globe problems could read the latest three chapters and gain necessary understandings, although the deeper history will facilitate understanding. There are plenty of crucial facts--a quarter of the population is still Turkish and barely half speak the national language as a natal language. The origin and distinctive features of Iranian-style Islam ae covered very aspect of the book is that while Iran is a nation with definite borders, historic Persian culture extends well beyond Iran's borders and remains influential to this day. Historic Persia expanded and contracted, but often included huge locations of the Caucasus, what is now Afghanistan and Pakistan, and chunks of Anatolia (now the heartland of Turkey).The first three chapters discuss the rise of Persian culture and creation of the Persian empire and several dynasties, as well as relations with the Greeks and Romans. There was a lot of battle but also mutual cultural influence. The Parthian rulers used Greek for their coins and were influenced by Greek culture. In 529 when Justinian closed for amazing the Academy in Athens, a number of scholars sought refuges in Persia, setting up a long-lasting intellectual influence that lasted into Islamic times. There is also intriguing discussion of the rise of Manichism, and--later in the book--of the origin of the Bahais, and other religious matters. Zoroasterianism is also discussed at some apter 4 covers the arrival of Islam but note the title: "The Iranization of Islam." Persian culture has had large influence. These are complex and controversial matters, but well worth reading about. Chapter 5 covers the arrival of Turkish groups, of which one or another ruled Iran from the 1100s through the early 20th century. The book rather glosses over the Mongol era, which some books on Iran see as the most devastating happening the country has ever experienced. Also note: some of the names of tribal groups have changed spelling, reflecting latest scholarship, so they may differ from what readers apter 6 is important, covering European dominance (Britain, Russia primarily) 1722 to 1925. Some of the roots to current issues may be found here. Chapter 7 covers the Pahlevi years, and the latest chapter discusses the Islamic Republic. The closest the book comes to bias is describing the Shah, the Mosssadegh mess and the Shah's repressive regime.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World War One: History in an Hour []  2020-1-20 21:4

    I was really impressed I have always loved history but most books I read I never finish as they bore me to tears right from the start. This "History in one hour" - Globe Battle One by Rupert Colley was actually very good. And like it says you can read it in one hour.I really like how it is laid out and gets right to the point. From the begin you learn what started the battle to start with. Was I shocked that this battle was started all because of a 19 year old boy who killed two people, one of whom was at that time very necessary (wont give it away)And then to see how a lot of of the other major countries of that time were brought into or joined in on the battle was really fascinating. And to learn at the end that one injured soldier laying in the hospital mad at Germany's signing the treaty and their "defeat" turned out to be one of Germany's worst leaders ever (in my opinion).If you like history too but you don't know a whole lot about Globe Battle One - as what is in this book you don't learn in school - and you wish to know more about the war, more details, timelines, etc. Then this book will do all that and eat read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World War One: History in an Hour []  2020-1-20 21:4

    This work provides a helpful overview of Globe Battle I organised chronologically. The text contains the major wars with dates and areas and the is a fast read as advertised so, it does not contain info of the war, the role of help workers at home, or an analysis of could use some editing, but I did not search that a major distraction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World War One: History in an Hour []  2020-1-20 21:4

    "It all began with two deaths." So the narrative begins.I knew a small bit about WWI before I read this book, now I have a far better, and broader, understanding of it. Concise, in-depth, yet simple to follow and understand, this book is for anyone who wants/needs to learn about the battle "to end war" without having to wade through large tomes and political befitting a book about war, Colley ends with the poignant moment that brought about the latest death in the conflict. Even though this book is about "facts," it can still bring a tear to your a bonus, there is an appendix with a brief biography of key people.I would recommend this to writers of historical fiction. What a GREAT resource!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World War One: History in an Hour []  2020-1-20 21:4

    I have always thought of Globe Battle 1 as being a dress rehearsal for Globe Battle II but after reading this book I realized that WW1 was far worse in terms of death, destruction and the upheaval of countries, communities and families. I thought the first 2/3 of the book was amazing at conveying this sense but the latest 1/3 felt rushed as though the author was trying to create a deadline. This part of the book also had grammatical errors and wasn't very well written.What I liked best about the book were "Appendix 1: Key People" and "Appendix 2: Timeline of Globe Battle One." I don't understand why the former had listings for two women (Edith Cavell and Mata Hari) who were minor figures when compared to the major players of Globe Battle 1. In any case, if you already know something about the battle then these two sections would be very useful if you just need reminding of the key points.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World War One: History in an Hour []  2020-1-20 21:4

    Exactly what it is purported to be, a one hour history of Globe Battle I, it actually surpassed my expectations (although I will admit that it took me an hour and fifteen mins to [email protected]#$%!). I certainly did not anticipate this to be a definitive or detailed acc of the war. How could it be in so short a span of words or time? Still, I was pleasantly surprised by its compact, highly readable text and flow. The brief biographies at the end were an added bonus. Rupert Colley certainly accomplished his goal. For the more casual reader, this gives a amazing starting point. For the more serious student, is a amazing adjunct reference in a concise small package. Well done, Mr. Colley! Well done.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World War One: History in an Hour []  2020-1-20 21:4

    I thought the book was very well written and well done. My first issue was a lack of detail regarding US involvement, something I'd hoped to learn more about. My second issue was lack of clarity in battle aims and a visual of timelines. Discussions of the roles of Churchill were cursory in regards to his eventual transition to his pivotal and valiant role as the Prime Minister of the UK in WWII.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World War One: History in an Hour []  2020-1-20 21:4

    I picked up this book primarily as a "primer" on how Germany fared following the Treaty of Versailles verses that of a "one hour' history of WW I. But the detail to which this author goes caused me to read it much more slowly than I had anticipated. Obviously, not a "one hour" read for me. In fact, in locations the book got rather tedious due to the minutia of detail to which the author goes to explain what was going on during this time in history in Europe. No question, the writing was very well researched but it was method more info than I required in to obtain a better grip on post battle Germany leading up to the Rise of the Third Reich. I liked the time line at the back of the book and also liked the biographies of the principals, also in the back. So, if WW I is your interest, by all means pick this one up. But if you're looking for a fast read on the period, skim it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World War One: History in an Hour []  2020-1-20 21:4

    A very brief history of a complex battle that focuses mostly on a few key rsonally, I have always thought that the assassination of the arch duke that is generally regarded as having ignited the battle is given more importance than what it really earned. I suspect that any excuse would have set off battle eventually. The Austro-Hungarian Empire was collapsing in on itself and they were looking for any excuse at all to begin a war, as that is often seen as a method to stave off other disasters, although it does not usually work out that method in the e German Empire was looking for a war as well, and the French were in deep political trouble, and so were the Russians. It was just a poor time all did not provide much more than a synopsis of bits and pieces of what went on, but that is really all it promised. A freebie I got not long ago.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World War One: History in an Hour []  2020-1-20 21:4

    I have both Kindle and Audible versions, and this review is for both. This book is - obviously - a summary, not a detailed history. It is only 100 pages to cover the four years of the war, from the Archduke's assassination to the aftermath, so of course it does not go into amazing detail for WWI buffs. But if you, like me, have some knowledge yet wish a fast overview to tie it all together, this does that perfectly. I learned a lot of things that I didn't know or was confused about. Author Rupert Colley - who has a long series of these History in One Hour books - does a very concise job. He is English and so, yes, he has an English/Allies point of view, though there are interesting tidbits from the German and Russian view sprinkled in. There's small time for more. The Kindle ver has a image every 2-4 pages, so maybe 2-3 dozen. Most are portraits, but there are also some of things like planes, ships or women in armament factories. (You can easily enlarge little Kindle images with your fingers on most devices.) The Audible reader, English actor Jonathan Keeble, has done a lot of of these and other audios. He has a very clear, simple to listen to and understand voice, with a mild English accent. He does just the right amount of voice drama (he's amazing with irony) and accents without being distracting or attention getting. The Audible book is 82 minutes, so more than an hour. I have since bought others in the series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World War One: History in an Hour []  2020-1-20 21:4

    The book was what it claims: a primary history of WWI that can be read in about an hour. It's not poor for a fast reference, but the writing leaves a lot to be desired. There are grammar and punctuation errors throughout - not simply errors in transcribing for the e-reader format, as happens with some books, but mistakes that were clearly there from the start. I can see that the info would be useful in a lightweight sort of way, but the mistakes distracted and annoyed n't expect a very in-depth analysis of the military, political, or home-front aspects of the war, but if you wish a fast skimming over of the basics (and don't mind the writing mistakes much), it will give you that. Had it cost much more than the $1.99 I to obtain the Kindle version, I would feel that it wasn't worth the money. As it was, I guess it was worth $2 and an hour of my time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Energy: A Human History [Book]  2018-6-19 18:0

    Wow what a journey in time. I'm really enjoying reading this book. I will never think about energy the same.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    I like it, but there are a lot of typos

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Thanks for the reply. After the update, I accidentally discovered that it opens after precisely 150 seconds of blank screen . It must be an Asus compatibility thing. I don't care about that as I'm just satisfied that it actually works for me. Rating corrected. Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Nice application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Beautiful decent for an application that covers the ENTIRE HISTORY OF CIVILISATION. I believe all of the content consists of wikipedia articles, and they do quite a amazing job of explaning events/ ideas. However the interface is a bit slow and difficult to navigate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Rubbish Waste of money. Why do I have to redownload almost a gig of data which takes ages?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Maps Disappeared Hi - Bought this application latest year and it had historical maps linked to the timeline. Had to send my Asus smartphone off for repair 2 months ago and when I reinstalled this application the map function was no longer there. My son has the application on his Asus and the map function is still there., ver 1.12. Please advise. Thanks

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Awesome! ~10,000 years of Globe History, and all for under $2? Sold!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    best history application ever ❤

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    This is a very amazing app, with a 5 star rating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    First class offline reference tool. BUT ... I am unable to transfer the data from my internal storage to my SD card. In response to this difficulty being raised by another reviewer the developer stated that transfer is only possible in Android device 4.3 and above. However, my current ver is 5.x and the issue persists. I would really appreciate a fix if possible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Been reading history from this application for years. No other history application has come close to it's quality layout.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Love the app! Save me wasted time on train to work. I gave it 4 stars because i believe there are still lots of room for development but the application is awesome to me so far. Would be really cool if 1) you could begin multiple windows with the application so i can jump indepth into some popular wars while reading about Frederick the Amazing without having to bookmark him first, 2) the application is linked to map so i can on highlight locations and know where it is, 3) option to leave comments. Thanks and hold up the amazing work!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Could I give it more stars! That 's absolutely awesome with amazing features and contents. I highly recommend it to everyone who wish to learn more about history in such a fascinating way. Anyway worth every penny.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    No Amazing App is unbelievable but it doesn't give the option where to put the files. So instead to them to my external SD card it occupies about 1Gb on my internal one. Please fix it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Needs online option There should be an online option where you can access the data using web instead of downloading the 400mb to the phone. An option in settings would let people to choose either online or offline.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Can't modernize error 907 I have amazing Internet connection ... what gives?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Very well laid out which allows you to see overlapping happenings very clearly, such a heavy amount of information, photo's and illustrations and for not much more than the cost of a couple of newspapers. Just browse the centuries and touch any happening - I'm no history buff but this does makes history very interesting and simple to obtain into. Quite a huge which did crash a couple of times but well worth the wait as it all works offline. If only all apps were as amazing as this!. UPDATE - using this application since 2013 and 5 years on it's still as amazing as ever - definitely one of the best apps.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Hi, i have a issue with my data storage space. Because the full application use the phone storage and not the sd storage. How can i create for install the data app in the SD? . Thank you very much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    I have sent an email request link for data due my limited data carrier yesterday but no response until. I'll change my ratings if you give the links.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Super history app. Well worth the little charge. If you like reading up on history, you cannot go wrong with this. Simple to navigate through it. Best application I have purchased.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Brilliant accomplishment Fascinating , exactly what I was looking for. I love that the data is in the app. I tried another application and it just linked you out to Wikipedia. This is just such a more fluid and robust experience with multiple ways to navigate and view data. Along with the atlas extension this is a tremendous app and an impressive achievement.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    I for this app, and now it demands access to my pictures. What a rip off I wish my back. I will be in touch with google about this - could be the latest application that I buy. Can't use application now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Modernize I want that they would modernize to have modern history to

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Map? Amazing application but they removed the map option, which was basically the best part of the app. Ugh.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Hello. I am glad that I found this application and thanks for your excelent work, but I have one little problem. I installed the full ver with the hole data base, it worked fine for a while, but now I obtain a notice telling me that I have to reinstall the data base. I did it twice but still the same notice pops up. Do you have any idea about what's wrong? Thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Great. 100% satisfaction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Buttons don't work very well on phone but very interesting The buttons (icons) don't work very well (or some at all) for me on my S6. I bought a history book recently instead. Still worth buying as there is a wealth of information. Some words are missing in places. It works perfectly on my Tab S 10.5.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Unbelievable Search a better application on Google play? I doubt it. Worth every penny.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Awesome I recommend this application to everyone who likes history. Very promising. I am amazed how well written and complete it is. You have history from the beginning of the civilizations to the current time; general and isolated facts. Moreover, there's a large and fully written timeline which you can slide through. I would only criticise that the application needs to run more smoothly, 'cause sometimes it lags. And also that the date tool should not be over map or timeline as it is very helpful to watch changes over time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    WILL NOT INSTALL Data transfer failed!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Greatest history application I've ever come across. The timeline design makes it simple to cruise through millennia while not missing even the most arbitrary historical event. The designers are terrific in that I've owned this application three years and they still modernize it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Even though it takes forever to the data locally, the info provided with this application is invaluable. In just a little amount of time I've looked up information, I have learned some interesting info about the country I come from and why we have named certain cities a specific name. I was going to a history chronological book, but this is even better. Like I said before the data as well as the look and feel can use some TLC, but doesn't deter from the overall objective.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Amazing but - can be improved by having clearly various icons for Globe History application and Globe History Atlas related that they cause eloper should action this suggestion

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Amazing app, only found one glitch in dates of a specific period in history but use it all the time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Beautiful amazing application Only thing I would change is to create an easier interface. Current one is a small hard to use on intelligent phones. Still would recommend this application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    Best history Thus is the best history application I found.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    no pics Issue solved. Thanks for the tip and fast response. Perfect application !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    What is this It says 160..but I got sms from my bank of deduction of Rs 50 and then again Rs 150. Strange..! Can Google play explain it to myself? And since you say ur not google then how come you on google store?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    World History [App]  2019-2-1 13:34

    The greatest history timeline application ever!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ordeal of Elizabeth Marsh: A Woman in World History [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    Absolutely fascinating. The story was compelling and I actually learned a amazing about globe history. Hopefully, this genre will flourish in years to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ordeal of Elizabeth Marsh: A Woman in World History [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    Excellent. Very well written and educational.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 6 Glasses [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    This book is evidence of the power of a amazing idea to organize one's thoughts and arguments so as to create them compelling. Other than the air we breathe, which hasn't really changed all that much over the years, there is nothing so universally necessary as liquid refreshment. Mr. Standage's decision to structure his history of the globe upon beverages is brilliant. It is precisely because the drinks discussed remain so familiar to us that the history is so relevant and interesting. Though we understand quite well why alcohol has such a prominent put in history, who would have thought that water itself is only now just emerging as the drink of choice? or that the antibacterial properties of Tea supported the industrial revolution. True, the bias is towards Western history--but as that is my history, I'll take it.We are surrounded with objects that we take for granted and there are any number of amazing books that spin the historical tale around such objects; however, this work excels because of its brevity--the author manages to cover the subject without the pace of the book ever lagging. The lawyer in me appreciates a finely honed argument; Standage's book is so amazing that he makes the supremely difficult job of summarizing globe history look y authors of history are unable to prune the a lot of fascinating insights that history presents. And to be sure, I have fun a nice meandering presentation of interesting tidbits organized around a central theme, but it is always refreshing to search a history that has the same "can't place down" type of feel as a thriller or mystery. I can't think of a more perfect example of a history that is both appropriate for a younger student as well as an overeducated adult. Highest Recommendation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 6 Glasses [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    As the author points out, there’s a natural subdivision to the book, which is that the first three beverages are alcoholic and the latest three are caffeinated. There’s another method of looking at it, and that’s the means used to achieve a drink that wasn’t a health hazard. The first three drinks achieve germ-killing by fermentation, the next two by boiling, and the latest through e era of beer is associated with the Agricultural Revolution and the growing importance of cereal grains. Geographically, the region of focus is the Fertile Crescent and Egypt. Among the more interesting points of discussion is the role of beer (along with the similar commodities of cereal grains and bread) in the development of written e era of wine is associated with the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome. Readers of the classics will be aware that wine was much celebrated among the Greeks and Romans, so much so that they developed gods of wine in their mythologies (Dionysus and Bacchus, respectively.) Of course, wine played no little role in Christian mythology as well--e.g. Jesus turns water to wine.Spirits are similar to the Colonial period, though they were first developed much earlier. The author emphasizes that these were the first global drinks. While beer and wine were robust to going bad, they could spoil in the course of long sea cohol of all kinds has always attracted opposition. This conflict, of course, owes to the fact that people under the influence of alcohol frequently act like idiots. One might expect that the transition to discussion of non-alcoholic beverages would correspond to the end of controversy, but that’s not the case. Each of the beverages brought controversy in its wake. There were attempts to ban coffee in the Islamic globe where its stimulative result was conflated with intoxication. Coca-Cola became associated with capitalism and American influence, and drew its own opposition because of it. It seems there’s no escape from controversy for a amazing e most fascinating discussion of coffee had to do with the role of cafés as corollaries to the internet. Centuries before computers or the internet as we know it, people went to cafés to search out stock values and commodity prices, to discuss scholarly ideas, and to search out which ships had come and gone from e role of tea in globe history is readily apparent. Besides the aforementioned Boston Tea Party, there were the Opium Wars. This conflict resulted from the fact that the British were racking up a large tea bill, but the Chinese had minimal wants for European goods. Because the British (through the East India Company) didn’t wish to draw down gold and silver reserves, they came up with an elaborate plan to prohibited opium in China in to earn funds to their tea bill. Ultimately, Britain’s tea addiction led to the growing of tea in India to create an end-run around the volatile relations with e book lays out the history of Coca-Cola’s development before getting into its profound result on international affairs. A huge part of this history with the Cold Battle years. While Coca-Cola was developed in the late 19th century, it was really the latter half of the 20th century when Coke spread around the world—traveling at first with US troops. The most interesting thing that I learned was that General Zhukov (a major Soviet figure in the winning of Globe Battle II) convinced the US Government to obtain Coca-Cola incorporated to create him some clear Coca-Cola so that he could have fun the beverage without the heart-burn of being seen as publicly supporting an American entity (i.e. it would look like he was drinking his vodka, like a amazing Russian should.) General Zhukov was perhaps the only person to stand in opposition to Stalin and live (the General was just too much of a national character to screw with.)There’s also an interesting story about how the cola battles played out in the Middle East. Both Coke and Pepsi wanting access to the huge Arab market, and were willing to forego the little Israeli shop to pave the method for that access. When Coke finally had to relent due to public outrage and accusations of anti-Semitic behavior, Pepsi slid in and followed Coca-Cola’s policy of snubbing Israel in favor of the Arab world.I enjoyed this book, and think that any history buff will as well. One doesn’t have to have a particular interest in meal and beverage history to be intrigued by stories contained in this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Spread of Islam (Turning Points in World History) []  2020-1-28 0:29

    A GOOD introduction to Islam!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 500 Walks []  2020-1-20 0:33

    Absolutely amazing. When I bought the book I reckoned it would be walkable. Ain't. Even though it's unbelievable and at least moves one to track around time and history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 12 Maps []  2020-5-9 18:23

    afBottom Line First: 3.5 stars rounded up. Jerry Brotton’s A History of the Globe in 12 Maps (paperback edition) has an interesting but narrow hypothesis. His intent is to limit his discussion to just globe maps and thereby artificially promote his belief. I accept his argument that maps reflect the purpose of the map maker but I am not sure that his conclusion is as significant as he does. 12 Maps gave me a lot of history and a lot to think about. The writing tends to be ponderous. This makes it hard to be sure who he is speaking to. The style is not academic nor particularly inviting to a general reader. For me, tugging through Brotton’s book was worth it. I am not sure what readers will most have fun his e central thesis of A History of the Globe in 12 maps is that maps, and especially globe maps are heavily reflective of the times and purposes of the both the map maker and the spirit and philosophy of their times. The earliest Western maps, mostly represented by the mapaemundi can be thought of as maps created to illustrate the prevailing belief in the Holy Trinity as being mirrored by a cruciform photo of the earth. By the 3rd map we are introduced to the political map, drawn closer to a modern form but serving the imperial and diplomatic needs of the earth bound governments in Asia and later dividing the newly discovered lands between Spain and Portugal. Eventually map will be designed to serve commercial needs and even humanitarian the time Brotton discusses the necessary maps designed in France and the Netherlands, he concludes an earlier argument that there can never be a 100% accurate, flat, globe map and that the best humans can do is create and remake fresh maps as humans change the geography of the planet and fresh methods are developed to portray geography.If we strictly limit ourselves to globe maps produced for official purposes, to stand church based illustrations or submitted for government negotiations, it is not hard to accept that these maps have no day to day practical function. That they reflect prevailing beliefs and the needs of the institutions that sponsors them seems, if only upon reflection, obvious. Brotton makes no mention of the types of navigational charts that traders and sailors would have required to cross the Asians grasslands or the Mediterranean Seas. I do not remember much discussion of maps in the works of Cesare, but it is an old Troops truism that geography is fate. It is hard to believe that there was no one producing the kinds of maps that were designed to give navigators local or regional maps to serve the less exhausted purposes such as marking out the zone and frequency of safe water along desert trades routes or safe harbors for ships crossing the Indian Ocean.If we limit ourselves to just these maps, this question goes unanswered. The absence of this respond itself invokes a larger discussion that Brotton could have productively addressed. Initially Brotton gives himself an out by declaring his examples limited to globe maps. But a lot of of his maps are not. The unbelievable maps of Napoleonic France, reflecting Cassinni surveys and Capitaine skills are wonderful. But they were intended to be maps of France. They helped Napoleon’s General to plan their movements, if only those maneuvers conducted in France, again begs the question: what had been generals been doing before Cassinni?When Brotton discusses Mercator, we are suddenly presented with the fact that there had been a number of projections developed before the Mercator projection. When? By Who? For what purpose? Why are these maps not necessary if we are to understand the relationships between maps and the societies that made the need for them?In terms of the production of the book, there was a convention in book publishing that discussions of illustration in the book should be referenced. The description of the floor maps in the Amsterdam City Hall, should direct the reader to Illustration 37. The absence of this kind of support tends to create it hard to know that a particular map is illustrated in the book and where to search it. Too often necessary maps are not illustrated.A delicious speculation by Brotton is that the map makers of the time can to accept the name America as an act of political correctness. Brotton retells the issues with and the understanding of Amerigo Vespucci’s naming rights to the Fresh World. Almost every aspect of these claims can now be regarded as doubtful. His contemporaries were clearly not unanimous in there their help for his primacy, but they may have given over the argument rather than put themselves in awkward positions between rival religious and national claims versus naming rights.dg

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 12 Maps []  2020-5-9 18:23

    Lots of information. Well written

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Written in History: Letters That Changed the World []  2020-1-22 22:17

    I love learning about the history these letters reveal. When we first learn about history, we are young and really allow what we learn slip. As adults we appreciate it so much more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Written in History: Letters That Changed the World []  2020-1-22 22:17

    Written in History is a diverse collection of letters by painters, poets, politicians and even popes. Through the words of these notable figures we are given a glimpse of what life was like in a number of various eras , from ancient civilizations to the modern day, and since the letters are a mix of those intended for public consumption to those of a more personal nature , the cross section gives quite a diverse overview. The author has broken the collection down, not by chronology but into a range of themes like love, family, courage, discovery ,destruction, friendship, folly and farewell. While some of the letters are formal, such as the letter from Elizabeth 1 to her half sister Mary, others are almost shocking in their informality such as a rather ribald ditty from Michelangelo about his experiences painting the Sistine Chapel. Some are merely the brief snippets that remain of an ancient text, while others are examples of a more lengthy correspondence. Among the most touching and surprising was a letter from Gandhi to Hitler, written in 1940 and the truly attractive farewell note Leonard Cohen sent to his former love, as she lay dying in 2016. Before each letter included in the collection, the author explains both the historical context and the relationship between the correspondents in a clear and concise manner that greatly added to my enjoyment of the book. I would recommend this as a book to dip in and out of , rather than one to be read from cover to cover.I read and reviewed an ARC courtesy of NetGalley and the publisher , all opinions are my own,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 100 Objects []  2020-1-23 2:13

    Extraordinary. Everything: the format, the language, above all the content matter spanning all cultures, never boring, ever illuminating the immense shadows of ignorance around those glimpses of our own story that school managed to slip through, but never really taught. I know the author could not possibly fit in the whole British museum, but I miss one more single item I test and never fail to go and see again every time in London: the "Karissima Lepidina" notice on wood smartphone that from the marginal outpost in Vindolanda speaks of family life and value through about 18 centuries with an immediacy... that requires no mediation, almost no translation: women were writing, cursive handwriting was telling, postage was functional, time was set apart to hold in touch, leisure trips were planned... I would really like everybody to learn from the mastery of Neil Macgregor the details. May the next edition will be of 101 objects.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 100 Objects []  2020-1-23 2:13

    I don't think this replaces the pod cast series, but is a amazing addition. I would love to have had the series be visual, not just audio clips, and this book gives more photos that support understand the objects. While there are quotes from the audios in the book, it is not just a transcript, but has fresh info that adds to the experience. I think it will stand alone as well, but it's hard for me to tell because I have listened to (some of) the

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    28 Days: Moments in Black History that Changed the World []  2020-1-25 13:31

    There is so much to love about this book.I love each page's potential to be used as complimentary paired reading.I love that it doesn't have to be read all at once, and that skipping around is completely okay.I love that it goes in chronological order.I love the diversity of VIPs; battle heros, doctors, astronauts, explorers, athletes, political leaders, etc.I'm so glad I added this to my library.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    28 Days: Moments in Black History that Changed the World []  2020-1-25 13:31

    We had to return the first book because the pages weren’t separated so we could not turn them. The replacement book came quickly and was perfect. The content is alright.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    28 Days: Moments in Black History that Changed the World []  2020-1-25 13:31

    An essential addition to our classroom libraries

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ordeal of Elizabeth Marsh: A Woman in World History [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    Fascinating, but just a small slow for me. Probably amazing for someone who loves detail. Not my style. Have fun the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ordeal of Elizabeth Marsh: A Woman in World History [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    Professor Colley has done a lot of research on Britain's 18th century world, and this book has come out of that. She presents an extraordinary interweaving of naval history, commerce, the status of women, slavery, and the emergence of the USA, among other subjects. I like the method she is upfront about her speculation about Elizabeth Marsh. As she goes along she makes it clear what is in the record, what she believes would have been typical of the era, and what she is only guessing at. Very admirable. But I found the book dry in places. A small more scholarly than I was in the mood for.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 6 Glasses [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    My grandson was reading this book for his AP Globe History class. I started looking at the book and thought it looked beautiful interesting so I got it on my Kindle. Wow! What a amazing book! I learned so much about the history of all our well known beverages and how they tie in with globe history. I would never have guessed that it would turn out to be such an enjoyable read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 6 Glasses [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    I'm a homebrewer, and I have a fascination with how beer, being resilient to bacterial growth, has impacted societies throughout history. I picked this book up on the suggestion of a friend, expecting a amazing story about the history of beer in ancient it turns out the author (Tom Standage - Business Editor for The Economist), tells an interesting story of the origins of beer, but a far more interesting set of tales regarding other drinks that had significant societal and economic impacts on the Western world. The tea section specifically, was wonderful, articulating how sugar from the colonies and tea from the Far East drove the British Industrial revolution in the 19th century, impacted British/European politics, and lead to the Opium Battles in China.I read this book nearly two years ago, and I still search myself referring to it in conversation when nearly any historical subject comes up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Written in History: Letters That Changed the World []  2020-1-22 22:17

    This book is an insult to its readers (and another ugly kid of the internet). Leaving aside that a lot of inclusions are not really letters (sometimes just sentences), hardly world-changing and essentially the effect of a day or two of Googling, it is the fact that this text would/should have been seen/read by so a lot of before publication, yet it is full of the most primary errors. Amongst a lot of more: punctuation/misprints (p.93), inconsistent or incorrect spelling of words such as Kaiser, the fact that Theobald von Bethman-Hollwegg on page 117 becomes Bethmann-Hollweg 2 pages later... And worst of all, the reference on p.96 to the fairly common phrase 'la mot juste'... You would have thought that amongst the author and the tons of people he thanks for their contributions, there would have been at least one person who would have had the most primary knowledge of the French language... It seems the author required a fresh vehicle or something and decided to quickly dump this on ill-suspecting readers' tables.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Spread of Islam (Turning Points in World History) []  2020-1-28 0:29

    "The spread of Islam" is a sort of study tutorial under the "Turning Points on Globe History" collection. The book is a collection of essays by recognized journalists and historians, most of them not embracers of the faith. It is so advised in the foreword, and it is a amazing method for the reader to measure the degree of impartiality each author has on the topic - or not.What is particularly interesting about a book like this is the insight it provides in what is commonly known as "la petite histoire". Thus, on page 14 we learn that ..." Muhammad's first visitation by an angel terrified and revulsed him. Thinking he had been possessed by the jinn"... "Shaking, Muhammad crawled on his hands and knees until he reached Khadija (his wife), asking her to cover him and shield him from the presence. She held him in her arms, soothed him and tried to take his fears away, the comfort she offered each time Muhammad saw visions and heard voices." What a attractive example of a supportive cceeding articles emphasize the much-preferred westernized notion of Islam as a faith established rather by the sword than by the word. In fact, in a globe post-Osama Bin Laden, Islam seems to be a constant target for philosophers, historians and religious leaders alike to be blamed as a belligerent and intolerant faith, although in practice, its principles are openly conducive to peace. The deliverance of a fresh vision almost always generates controversy. In analizing the value of a doctrine, the general view of the historical context is vital. Prophet Muhammad (SAW) had a message. People could follow it or not; however, it was more than imperative that it be delivered. And it had to be delivered amidst a sociological system of usury and cruelty, where tolerance for various ideas was not only slashed, but it was also resisted to the extreme. What is a prophet to do, should we then ask, when he is not even given the option to be heard? Not only that, but he is prosecuted as a common criminal. The Gospels present us this almost constantly, to the extent that Jesus himself had to admit that "a prophet is never accepted in his own country". To paraphrase Gandhi (someone else worth listening to) first they hate you, then they laugh at you, then... you win.Central articles expound on the Golden Age of Baghdad from the 7th to the 12th century, during the period of the Abbasids. Those were the times for expansion of the arts on every level within the muslim world, the times that saw the construction of the Taj Majal in India, and the retelling of stories that would then become "The Thousand and One Nights"The book closes with articles referring to various political viewpoints within Islam, covering the Iranian Revolution of 1979, which deposed the Shah; and the plans for an Islamic Common Market, very much under the lines of the European Economic Community. These are all very scary ideas for the western world, where the typical idea of a muslim is equal almost always to someone born in any of the countries of the Arabian peninsula, who bathes once a week and has their neighbor for dessert. This perception is described on page 184: "...author Jack Shaheen provides examples of stereotyping. He notes the tendency to picture the Arab at various times as extremely wealthy, cruel, stupid, oriented toward the use of terror, and generally unattractive. The stereotypic pattern which categorizes whole peoples has thus place the Arab and his religion in the role of villain."The latest essay a perspective into the everyday life of a muslim woman living in America, and an Appendix, which provides further illumination with sides stories about verses of the Holy Qu'ran, poetry about the forbidden pleasures of drinking, a cooking recipe in the form of a poetical stanza, and other curiosities. Last, but not least, we search some very amazing tip from a long lost Persian King to his son: "Rather become known for veracity, so that if ever in an emergency you utter a lie it will be believed." (Page 210)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    28 Days: Moments in Black History that Changed the World []  2020-1-25 13:31

    This book isn't what I was looking for.. It is a nice book, but I was hoping for a small more 'meat.' Every page has a history fact presented in poem. Very brief. And truly VERY small info. There was also a strange picture of Oprah holding the earth.. It was just weird, like she had 'the whole globe in her hands' in a god-like way. Amazon was amazing to me and their customer service was awesome. **I HIGHLY recommend Heart and Soul by Kadir Nelson. It's stunningly attractive and turned out to be exactly what I wanted!**

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    28 Days: Moments in Black History that Changed the World []  2020-1-25 13:31

    Amazing book. Short stories, excellent for a everyday classroom read during Black History month. Also, amazing price!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 12 Maps []  2020-5-9 18:23

    First paragraph ... I winced at the author's overwrought narrative style ... too a lot of adjectives, adverbs and thesaurus derivatives ... too small Strunk & White editing. I'm perfectly comfortable reading overly complicated narrative but it wastes time wading through it ... I can't support being irritated by the style and so risk missing the substance.If you can obtain past the overwrought writing style, you might think that the cartographer author would have taken a lesson from his own history and replaced words with sketches and notes. Every map discussed would be improved by the authors own sketch rather than 1000 words. One would expect a map book to be well illustrated but this one is not. The 5' long Hereford Mappa Mundi for example is deconstructed in narrative fashion. If the author had photographed his chosen maps ... imaged them with the best camera available... and then described them with side by side sketches, translations and notes, the book would be 100% tography is a reading hobby for me and there are better books. The 12 maps the author chose are interesting, but by comparison, the author makes much ado ... method to much ado, over these.I $26 for the book expecting quality maps illustrations and drawings as Kindle doesn't do maps well. As there are so few maps in this hardback, and the few maps that are here are dark, illegible, and downright not good ... if you think that you must read the book, save the hardcopy money, the Kindle and use wiki to bring in the higher fidelity original photos this author should have included in his book.p.s. I write reviews to support consumers chop through the publishers representations and call the book as I see it. The "no" vote this review got the day after I wrote it is typical of the publisher/author making side of the transaction punishing a less than flattering review and hiding behind an anon "No" vote with no comments. These aren't going to create the work any better. I would have preferred to write a glowing review that might attract more readers to this arcane subject. But ... I said it's "OK" ... it' is just as easily tipped to 2 stars= I don't like it but give it the benefit of doubt because I wish to see more authors writing amazing books in this genre.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 500 Walks []  2020-1-20 0:33

    Giving this to my son who likes to hike - its a Christmas show - It looks very nice!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 500 Walks []  2020-1-20 0:33

    Unbelievable book that keeps the reader flipping from page to page; countries to continents; early historical eras to modern times. If you love someone with wanderlust for walking adventures, this is a amazing source.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 100 Objects []  2020-1-23 2:13

    Each of these BBC broadcasts, here in printed form, are absolutely brilliant. Mr. MacGregor has a rigorous and poetic grasp of these different and symbolic representations of the past. I have had the privilege of visiting the British Museum at least 8 times during my lifetime. I plan to visit it again, like a little child, and seek out the brilliant treasures Mr. MacGregor describes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ordeal of Elizabeth Marsh: A Woman in World History [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    You expect a biography to tell you about someone important, someone who has gained accomplishments in some field of human endeavor, and because of the accomplishments is worth coming to understand as some sort of outstanding example (good or bad) of humanity. Chances are you have never heard of Elizabeth Marsh, an Englishwoman of the eighteenth century, and it isn't that she has an undeserved obscurity. Her life was various in a lot of ways from those of her contemporaries, but she had no unique talents or accomplishments, and her life was not exemplary in any way. So it is in some ways odd that historian Linda Colley has created her the topic of a penetrating biography, _The Ordeal of Elizabeth Marsh: A Woman in Globe History_ (Pantheon). Colley has pieced together what can be known of Elizabeth Marsh's life from the spotty writings of Marsh and her family, but as an expert on globe history of Marsh's times, she has place the life in the context of the begin of globalization. It was a confusing age full of changes that no one knew were coming, and Elizabeth Marsh and her family, who had ties to the British navy and to seagoing trade, thus were in the middle of the changes. In this method Colley's book is history from the bottom up, an attempt to understand the lives of a few ordinary people caught up in larger events.Elizabeth Marsh got her beginning far from England, born in Jamaica in 1735. Her father was a ship's carpenter, and there is a surprising ease of access to shipboard travel throughout Elizabeth Marsh's life. Her traveling life, her true life, began in 1755, when her family sailed to Menorca, and later to Gibraltar. In 1756 she boarded the _Ann_, a merchantman full of a cargo of brandy, commanded by James Crisp, and thus that she began the prime adventure of her life. The _Ann_ was attacked by Moroccan pirates, and all those aboard were kidnapped and taken to Marrakech, where she had to confront the Sultan who may have wanted her for his harem; she was saved at least partially because she pretended to be James Crisp's wife. When they were released, they married for real. Crisp was involved in the nautical trades of tea, textiles, liquor, dried fish, and anything else. His trade was not always legal, but he had contacts worldwide and seems to have been energetic in his business dealings. His trade, however, did not go well due to global issues well above his capacity to predict or manage. He declared bankruptcy in 1767, moved with Elizabeth to India where he worked in the East India Company, but also failed there. The travels of the couple had worn them down; Colley writes that the fissures in the marriage were "due to the method in which she and he were repeatedly driven and chose to travel very huge distances on land and sea." She had left him, traveling ostensibly for her health, but in the company of an unmarried man, touring down the Indian eastern seaboard. She outlived her husband by six years, dying of breast cancer after a mastectomy at only age ere are few info and anecdotes to create Mr. and Mrs. Crisp fully rounded characters, but they are within these pages mere sport for larger historical and economic events. They are battered by battles between England and France, and then England and America, although neither of them saw a shot fired in either conflict. The opening up of globe markets, the changes in the slave trade, the conversion from agriculture to industry, and other revolutions all affected the couple. Colley's book succeeds in showing how these huge, sweeping forces affected a woman who could not have understood them and could have done nothing even if she had. Globalization meant, as Colley writes, that "the globe was both widening and shrinking" and thus the lives of Elizabeth Marsh and a lot of of the others detailed here were "twisted out of customary moulds in the process". Colley intelligently, but unforcefully, reminds us a lot of times in these pages that we are in the midst of fresh and even more strong globalization forces, and Elizabeth Marsh's "shock and wonder, entrapment and fresh opportunities, remain eloquent and recognizable."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Ordeal of Elizabeth Marsh: A Woman in World History [Book]  2018-2-5 18:0

    This is an interesting work for a Globe History class. Not a gender history in my opinion.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 6 Glasses [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    I got this book last-minute before a flight as reading material. It didn't quite latest me that long though as I kept reading it after arriving at my destination.I have read a decent number of books about meal and drink, but what sets this book apart for me is how it embeds itself into a historical context. Maybe it's just that I didn't take enough history classes in high school, but this book actually created me very interested in knowing about the history of the Persian empire, the different revolutions and monarchies in France. Did I learn how to create a amazing cappuccino or brew my own beer? Nope, but this is not a recipe book.Just to re-emphasize, I really dig how the book basically spans the entirety of human history from the dawn of civilization to modern day and beyond. The writing style is also interesting, entertaining, and at the same time historical/scientific. I'll have to check out his "Edible Hisstory of Humanity" next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 6 Glasses [Book]  2018-6-1 18:0

    This book takes a special view of history. It describes how six various beverages have influenced the world. Looking at it all from the point of view of beer, wine, spirits, coffee, tea and Coca Cola, this book is full of info about these drinks. I learned a lot from the book as it taught me more than I ever thought I required to know about the how beer has been around for centuries and how tea and coffee influenced globe history and the put that Coca Cola has taken in the past e book is full of facts and an simple read. I loved its point of view as well as the clarity in which the author described all these drinks. Every page is full of info and I appreciate the scholarship that went into explaining all the info of the manufacture of these drinks as well as describing the impact each of them had on history.I totally enjoyed this book. Not only was it interesting, I learned something as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    28 Days: Moments in Black History that Changed the World []  2020-1-25 13:31

    Got this book for my son. It’s a amazing material and info.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 100 Objects []  2020-1-23 2:13

    This is an perfect read. As usual, BBC does not disappoint. The book is compiled from transcripts of a 100-episode series on BBC Radio. One hundred objects are thoughtfully picked from exhibits at the British Museum to chronicle the history of mankind, from its earliest beginnings up to the 21st century. The 100 chapters are short, but solid, each corresponding to an episode on radio. The book is amazing for leisurely, but very informative reading. A definite advantage that the book has over the radio episodes is that it shows each of the 100 objects in full e book is highly recommended for any reader who is interested in understanding the development of mankind. It provides clear and useful background for reflecting on how we have come to where we are -- when and how we have progressed, as well as when and how often we have regressed.I read a Kindle version, which allows me to magnify photographs to look closely at the 100 objects. My only complaint is that, with Kindle, it has been rather more cumbersome for me to refer back to the page with the photographs in each chapter while I was cruising through.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A History of the World in 100 Objects []  2020-1-23 2:13

    When I began this formidably lengthy book I thought I would cherry pick among the 100 objects, choosing the ones that seemed interesting and skipping over others. In the event, I found it difficult to skip over anything, for each chapter seemed to include fresh and absorbing information. I thus wound up reading about virtually every one of the 100 stuff il MacGregor is a scholar of singular erudition who writes in a lively and engaging prose style. With the aid of numerous professionals whose commentary he invites, each of the 100 objects is brought to life by being placed in its appropriate geographical, historical, anthropological or archeological is is a truly unbelievable work of scholarship, one that is as pleasurable to read as it is didactic. Anyone interested in the history of art will not wish to miss it.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386