ethics in forensic science Reviews & Opinions


Submit ethics in forensic science review or read customer reviews:

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fundamentals of Forensic Science review []  2020-1-15 21:5

    Content is fine but front cover arrived falling apart

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fundamentals of Forensic Science review []  2020-1-15 21:5

    It was so nice to be able to obtain the book so quickly and for so much cheaper than my school. I saved $56 by buying this book from kindle instead of my college.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fundamentals of Forensic Science review []  2020-1-15 21:5

    Amazing product. I ordered this book from my school bookstore 2 weeks before class was supposed to begin and I was still waiting on it because it was on backorder. I ordered it from amazon and it can In Within two days like it said it would. Thanks!!

    0  


    Add Your Opinion on ethics in forensic science or Continue Reading Reviews Below ↓

     

    Watch ethics in forensic science video reviews and related movies:

    See 2.3 Ethics in Forensic Science on youtube.

     related image

    See Ethical laws and duties of forensic science on youtube.

     related image

    See Ethics in Forensic Science on youtube.

     related image

    See Forensic Science History, principles, Division and Ethics in Forensic Science on youtube.

     related image

    See Ethical Practices in Forensic Investigations on youtube.

     related image

    See The Dookhan Affair: A Relationship between Ethics and Forensic Science on youtube.

     related image

    See | Important concepts of ethics in forensic science. | on youtube.

     related image

    See Ethics in Forensic Psychological Practice Online Training Program on youtube.

     related image

    Scroll down to see all opinions ↓

  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fundamentals of Forensic Science review []  2020-1-15 21:5

    Amazing book. quick shipping.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fundamentals of Forensic Science review []  2020-1-15 21:5

    Pages of the book were brand new, however the cover was destroyed.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fundamentals of Forensic Science review []  2020-1-15 21:5

    Content is fine, book came falling apart.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fundamentals of Forensic Science review []  2020-1-15 21:5

    Amazing introductory book into Forensic.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fundamentals of Forensic Science review []  2020-1-15 21:5

    the book is in 100 % excellent condition. Amazing buy for a amazing price. def recommend!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Fundamentals of Forensic Science review []  2020-1-15 21:5

    When I got this book I thought it was going to be a pain. But it is actually really well written and super simple to read!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic Nursing Science review []  2020-1-16 16:28

    The book gets 1 star SOLEY based on the create up of the book. Was a must purchase for grad school, includes some phenomenal contact and is extremely helpful for my classes and professional practice, however, it's falling apart in less than six months. I have since called and complained to Amazon and they are sending me out a replacement copy and I am praying the same things does not happen again. I did not expect this especially with a hardcover huge and the price I paid either and with another year of classes only God knows what would be left! I would ABSOLUTELY recommend this book to others I am hoping this is a one off and maybe I was just unlucky. Virginia Lynch is so knowledgeable in this field and I have referenced her books and articles in a lot of of my pieces of work for graduate school, so this review is not at all meant to be a negative towards her or her work!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic Nursing Science review []  2020-1-16 16:28

    As a expert victim of hate crime similar to terrorism, who is also a Registered Nurse, it's nice to finally see a publication that properly addresses victim ctim services are most commonly provided by local or federal government departments, however these services are severely lacking when it comes to conducting a comprehensive assessment and plan for those affected, especially in complex cases in which there is more than one criminal and/or more than one victim, and in simultaneous occurring crime issues. Trust me, the authors of this book are much smarter than any victim service coordinator who works for the government. This book addresses both the criminals and the victims and their interrelated components. Therefore, the reader is able to develop a sense for what kinds of services a victim might need now or in the future; very much like addressing actual and potential medical issues for patients, (basic nursing practice).A perfect read for anyone who is looking to learn more about the topic of crime from a comprehensive holistic approach, or considering expanding their professional nursing practice to support crime san Knisely B.S.N., itical Care & Emergency Room NurseExpert Victim of Terrorism/Hate Crimes[...]

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic Nursing Science review []  2020-1-16 16:28

    This is a amazing beginning read for those looking into Forensic Nursing as a career. It is actually helping me in my DNP program right now, and isn't a needed or recommended text book. (but It really should be). It is also helping me with my Clinical inquiry project. Virginia Lynch is my theorists, and it breaks down the framework she made for Forensics nurses to use in any situation.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic Nursing Science review []  2020-1-16 16:28

    It has everything a forensic nurse needs

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic Nursing Science review []  2020-1-16 16:28

    I mean its a textbook lol

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic Nursing Science review []  2020-1-16 16:28

    This book is used as a textbook for the online program Forensic Science for Nurses at the University of Florida. I am the course instructor. I recommend this book to any nurse considering incorporating forensic nursing science into her practice.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic Nursing Science review []  2020-1-16 16:28

    Perfect buy

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic Nursing Science review []  2020-1-16 16:28

    I am currently taking a forensic nursing class this semester and have found this book to be interesting and very helpful in my class.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic Nursing Science review []  2020-1-16 16:28

    Used for school. Clean, amazing condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic Nursing Science review []  2020-1-16 16:28

    It's a amazing text book - lots of pictures and simple to read. Some of the information may be outdated soon but that's to be expected in a science field as quick moving as forensics.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminalistics: An Introduction to Forensic Science review []  2020-1-15 22:41

    Some of it was hard to understand. It was just bland. I've seen so a lot of other better text books about this subject. Some of the chapters just dragged on as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminalistics: An Introduction to Forensic Science review []  2020-1-15 22:41

    It was perfect

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminalistics: An Introduction to Forensic Science review []  2020-1-15 22:41

    School book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminalistics: An Introduction to Forensic Science review []  2020-1-15 22:41

    EXCELLENT BOOK . CLEARLY ILLUSTRATE AND PERFECT TO READ

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminalistics: An Introduction to Forensic Science review []  2020-1-15 22:41

    Required it for a class

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminalistics: An Introduction to Forensic Science review []  2020-1-15 22:41

    the book is a amazing and simple read however the book had some water hurt at the bottom.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminalistics: An Introduction to Forensic Science review []  2020-1-15 22:41

    Amazing experience

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminalistics: An Introduction to Forensic Science review []  2020-1-15 22:41

    This was very helpful for my class and also handy incase you don’t like carrying massive books. This book ebook was amazing overall

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminalistics: An Introduction to Forensic Science review []  2020-1-15 22:41

    Appears to be a amazing used book and fast delivery.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminalistics: An Introduction to Forensic Science review []  2020-1-15 22:41

    It did not support with the class at all.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic Science Laboratory Manual and Workbook review []  2020-1-15 23:49

    I bought this to help with my lesson plans for my high school forensic medicine course and it has some amazing crime stage labs in it! Being a fresh teacher for this course, this kind of resource material is a wealth of help! Simple to read, simple to search the stuff required and amazing selection of various labs.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic Science Laboratory Manual and Workbook review []  2020-1-15 23:49

    I am adapting some forensics labs for a college intro chemistry/biology course and I found this book to include really nice ideas for both disciplines. I especially like the extra section on more advanced techniques (instrumental analysis) which can be adopted for higher level courses or institutions with the instrumentation (UV-Vis, GC-MS).Overall I was very happy with the materials presented in this workbook.I highly recommend it as a resource for teachers who are considering inserting some forensics into their science courses.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic Science Laboratory Manual and Workbook review []  2020-1-15 23:49

    Thanks!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic Science: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-15 23:36

    I bought this book knowing full well ahead of time that the author, Jim Fraser, is a highly experienced and well renowned expert witness and forensic criminal scientist in the U.K., whilst I am a easy forensic engineer in the U.S., who absolutely loved the method he writes what he thinks unrestrained by famous convention. Unabashed, Jim takes on the contemporary aspects of forensic science with glee and, like a masterful medical examiner, performs an Oscar-worthy autopsy. re-painting the forensic science landscape in the process. If not for the locked-in precedence already established by the "Very Short" series, this book could have also been titled: "A Very Condensed Handbook of Forensic Science". (Here, I am paying homage to the book "Handbook of Forensic Science", also authored by Jim Fraser and co-authored with Robin Williams; a wonderfully written treatise on the subject.) If forensic science is your passion, only your failure to buy this book, study and understand it, would be the crime.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic Science: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-15 23:36

    It lives up to its title, A Short Introduction. An introduction to forensic science. You learn the terms and obtain an idea what the field is all about

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic Science: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-15 23:36

    Necessary vocabulary, brief history of the field, discussion of problems and contentious positions; ideal for an Advanced Placement High School or 100, 200 level college course

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic Science: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-15 23:36

    Studying writing so handy insight into forensics!!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic Science: A Very Short Introduction (Very Short Introductions) review []  2020-1-15 23:36

    As advertised

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminalistics: An Introduction to Forensic Science (12th Edition) review []  2020-1-16 5:17

    Some of it was hard to understand. It was just bland. I've seen so a lot of other better text books about this subject. Some of the chapters just dragged on as well.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminalistics: An Introduction to Forensic Science (12th Edition) review []  2020-1-16 5:17

    It looked fresh but had white sticky powder around it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminalistics: An Introduction to Forensic Science (12th Edition) review []  2020-1-16 5:17

    It was perfect

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminalistics: An Introduction to Forensic Science (12th Edition) review []  2020-1-16 5:17

    School book

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminalistics: An Introduction to Forensic Science (12th Edition) review []  2020-1-16 5:17

    EXCELLENT BOOK . CLEARLY ILLUSTRATE AND PERFECT TO READ

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminalistics: An Introduction to Forensic Science (12th Edition) review []  2020-1-16 5:17

    Required it for a class

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminalistics: An Introduction to Forensic Science (12th Edition) review []  2020-1-16 5:17

    the book is a amazing and simple read however the book had some water hurt at the bottom.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminalistics: An Introduction to Forensic Science (12th Edition) review []  2020-1-16 5:17

    Amazing experience

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminalistics: An Introduction to Forensic Science (12th Edition) review []  2020-1-16 5:17

    This was very helpful for my class and also handy incase you don’t like carrying massive books. This book ebook was amazing overall

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminalistics: An Introduction to Forensic Science (12th Edition) review []  2020-1-16 5:17

    Appears to be a amazing used book and fast delivery.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Science of Science Fiction: The Influence of Film and Fiction on the Science and Culture of Our Times review []  2020-1-1 18:1

    The tone of this book is revealed early when the author describes his childhood fascination with what he considers science and science fiction. He wants a drink to give him superpowers, and his mate convinces him that he has everyone (yes, including me) has believe foolish things at times without thinking them through, what's significant is this is the author's starting point. I would have expected tales of building crystal radios and reading classic science fiction, sending up rockets, learning chemistry, observing nature; and of using observation and theory to come to deeper understanding of speculative stead, this book discusses almost all famous comic book and zone opera stories, rarely anything without pictures; the kind of thing that a lot of people call "science fiction." I happen to like comic books and well-made zone operas, but I never confuse them with serious science e issue with trying to explain the science behind, say, Spiderman or Guardians of the Galaxy, is there is no consistent fictional phenomena to explain. The writers of these entertainments created items up as they go along for the convenience of the plot, not within a coherent or even possible spite this problem, a competent scientist could extract some entertaining lessons from comic books and comic book movies. However, this author is not a scientists. He bases his explanations on famous science writing only a level or two above the comic book. Those explanations are often entertaining, if seldom enlightening, but the summaries in this book are stilted and boring.If you are looking for interesting science or speculation inspired by true science fiction, look elsewhere. If you wish your comic books explained to you by someone who reads Gizmodo but lacks its flair, be my guest.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Science of Science Fiction: The Influence of Film and Fiction on the Science and Culture of Our Times review []  2020-1-1 18:1

    Interestingly shelved by me as literary, nonfiction and sf, at the same time, this book looks at the history, progress and show of science fiction, affecting science in our civilisations. And perhaps at its future. We can't be sure. Things om ancients who looked at the moon and created up stories, to 2001 A Zone Odyssey, and different stops in between, we obtain a lot of namechecks and some revisiting of tales. They are somewhat jumbled, though, apparently random titles of books and movies on a particular topic, not necessarily in date order. I am also a bit peeved that every four or five page chapter has one or two pages of quotes at the start. A lot of of these quotes are from Stanley Kubrick or Joss mention that I saw of Arthur C Clarke's inventing telecommunication satellites in geosychronous orbits. For that the book loses a the chapter headed Jacking In, about The Matrix or Ready Player One immersion in an alternate reality, we begin with several quotes from Ready Player One (in which the character does not jack in). No quote from Neuromancer, which invented the term, and no description of what is physically involved in that book; it was namechecked in an earlier section on cyberpunk. This leads me to suspect that the author hasn't read Neuromancer. Nor Snow ofreaders, please correct the spelling of the woefully underused Ursula K Le Guin. Apart from herself and Mary Shelley, I just plain didn't see a lot of women authors. Anne [email protected]#$%!&y had genetically modified the native fire lizards of Pern into fire-breathing dragons to aid human partners as telepathic fighters; no mention. Nor is she in the section on cyborgs and bionics; The Ship Who Sang gave a person born with severe disability the possibility to live in control of a spacecraft, published in short stories 1961 - 1969 and as a book in 1969. While we are not there yet, zone travel gave us telemetrics, and the late Prof Stephen Hawking controlled far more from his wheelchair than people did in 1969. JK Rowling gets a glance with one quote about long life and her magic flying e author has assembled a lot of material on different SF and philosophical subjects including alternate reality, time travel, the world's end, zone travel. He sounds enthusiastic and leans more on philosophy than action. No Warlords of Mars, more about The Battle of the Worlds reflecting the barbarity of colonisation. SF fans will be interested; but then, they'll have read the books and seen the films. So I am not sure at whom this work is aimed. Maybe at a fresh generation turning away from the internet for a moment to explore how we got to e book is crying out for an index, and there may be one in the final version. Lacking this in my ARC, I was unable to count easily how a lot of women's names featured. I counted the quotes instead: 40 chapters, each prefaced by three to five quotes from anyone from HG Wells to Carl Sagan to Tim Goodman to Robert Oppenheimer to Kiera Knightley. Five women were quoted.I downloaded an e-ARC from Net Galley. This is an unbiased review.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Science of Science Fiction: The Influence of Film and Fiction on the Science and Culture of Our Times review []  2020-1-1 18:1

    This book grew on me. The reason I didn’t like it at first has to do with how the title sells the book in the wrong direction. When one sees the title “The Science of Science Fiction” one expects a book like those by Michio Kaku (e.g. “Physics of the Future” or “Physics of the Impossible” – or perhaps like Kakalios’s “The Physics of Superheroes.” In other words, one is expecting a book that teaches one about science through examples of science fiction, i.e. using science fiction to create science interesting and relatable. If you are expecting that kind of book, I suspect you’ll be e book doesn’t go into any depth on scientific issues. Instead of a book about the nexus of science and science fiction, one gets a book about the nexus of the history of science fiction, the history of science, trends in scientific progress, and trends in science fiction. (The confusing title is a small bit justified, therefore, given the broad location of the books “niche,” but it could lead to confusion.) If you are interested in questions such as which came first the fictional atomic bomb or the true one, you’ll be reading the right book. If you are interested in whether or not quantum entanglement can be used for an ansible (faster than light communication) or how quick Superman has to jump to orbit the planet, you’ll search this book a e book is divided into four parts and has a lot of brief chapters in each. Most of these chapters take as their lead a latest work of science fiction (usually a movie) though the book is at its strongest when it’s teaching the reader about the history of science fiction and how that history was influenced by – and influenced – true globe e first part is about space. It considers such questions as whether we will see alien visitor or invaders, the likelihood of parallel universes, and when we can expect to colonize other e second part is entitled “time” and it considers the a lot of ways time has been explored through science fiction. The time machine is considered from several dimensions and through films such as the “Terminator” series and “Looper.” However, other time-related plot devices are also given scrutiny, such as e third part is about machines and the interaction between man and machine. What can we expect from the rise of artificial intelligence (AI) and robots? The reader learns about the earliest use of the term robot and how historical science fiction compares to the realities coming to e fourth, and final, part is entitled “Monster” and it investigates the realm of biology. Can creatures or supermen be made through super-serums or genetic modification? What are the limits of the human body and mind? These are the type of questions that are ere are no graphics, notes, or back matter in this book. However, I did read a review copy, so your results may vary.If you are interested in the history of science fiction and how science fiction relates to scientific progress and the result of science on culture, then I recommend this book. As I said, if you’re wanting to learn about science through the lens of examples from science fiction, then this is probably not the book for you. As I said, the book is at its strongest when it explores the history of science fiction.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Science of Science Fiction: The Influence of Film and Fiction on the Science and Culture of Our Times review []  2020-1-1 18:1

    Tag Brake’s “The Science of Science Fiction” is a book chockful of thoughts and ideas. A lot of of the author’s chapter titles are in the form of questions, to which he responds with ideas based upon books and movies.While the discussions are interesting, this book feels more like the begin of a journey rather than a series of destinations. Just as each thought teetered on the edge of deep thinking, the chapter would end and I would be pulled onward, willing or not, into a various network of t that there is anything wrong with this. Mr. Brake approaches the topic from an smart viewpoint, and backs up his points with references to the aforementioned books and movies. I liked the splitting of this book into four parts: Space, Time, Machine, and Monster. This worked well in separating four major subjects and then breaking down each into manageable bites. I also enjoyed the multiple quotes that introduced each chapter, similar thoughts that opened the doors to a fresh tom line: This is an inventive book, filled with rational and at times humorous thinking. Recommended to sci-fi fans and to those who simply have a curiosity about the subject. The short chapters, while limiting deeper analysis, let the book’s pacing to flow easily (in other words, if one chapter isn’t your cup of tea, don’t worry, it will end soon). Satisfying, illuminating, and fun. Four thanks to NetGalley and Skyhorse Publishing for an advance complimentary ebook copy of this title.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Science of Science Fiction: The Influence of Film and Fiction on the Science and Culture of Our Times review []  2020-1-1 18:1

    Thank you NetGalley and Skyhorse Publishing for this ARC."The Science of Science Fiction is the story of how science fiction shaped our world. No longer a subculture, science fiction has moved into the mainstream with the advent of the info age it helped is book will begin your eyes to the method science fiction helped us dream of things to come, forced us to discover the nature and limits of our own reality, and aided us in building the future we now inhabit."I think this is mostly why I felt a bit allow down by the content. From the description I thought this would be about the progression of science through the influence of science fiction. It does have some of that in there, but a huge portion felt disorganized and off topic.I expected he would be bringing his professional training as a science professor and his passion for science fiction into a unbelievable mashup love story of how the two mediums connect and influence each ybe my own expectations hindered me in that respect.I think it was too vast a subject and may have been better served in a segmented series of smaller books by ere were a lot of interesting tidbits to be had in this book and I would still recommend it, I would just be advising them beforehand what the actual content is so they have the right mindset going fact:Sections of 2001: A Zone Odyssey were used in training NASA astronauts.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Science of Science Fiction: The Influence of Film and Fiction on the Science and Culture of Our Times review []  2020-1-1 18:1

    There are a lot of perfect books on the science of science fiction (and fantasy) such as “The Physics of the Buffyverse” by Jennifer Ouellette and “The Physics of Superheroes” by James Kakalios, which explain the science behind the stories. This book is different, in that it looks at how science and science fiction have influenced each other and how the science fiction of the past is the science of today. Tag Brake place together an interesting collection of stories about science, science fiction, and culture that was fun to read. There was even considerable history of SF. I recommend it for anyone who likes to read science fiction.Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book via Netgalley for review purposes.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sorting the Beef from the Bull: The Science of Food Fraud Forensics review []  2020-1-5 18:28

    Sorting the Beef from the Bull: The Science of Meal Fraud Forensics by Richard Evershed and Nicola Temple. London, Bloomsbury Sigma. 2016 320pp. ISBN 13-978-1472911339The authors create clear that this is not a book about poor eating habits or the evils of corporate capitalism in terms of agribusiness. It is about covert practices that are applied to meal that gainsay the label. It is mostly about how we are not necessarily buying what we intend to buy and consume. Some times our meal and potables are not what they claim to be and we are cheated out of some of our money. Sometimes we are poisoned. It is about meal security, an often used but typically misunderstood concept. The general public that reads this book will obtain a clearer understanding of that term. It is about the intentional altering of meal purely for ey provide methods to try our purchases based on known chemistry which identifies types of structures that can only apply to certain products. It is written clearly and in a style that is readable but…most of us do not have a laboratory or the scientific background to examine the contents of what we eat. Really, we are not going to do that anyway. The science that they show does appear to be beautiful sound though. The appendices do provide the chemical structures for those skilled at understanding eir approach to getting what you pay for is very much as my own is and it comes from the meal philosophy (if such a genre exists) of Michael Pollan. If you are shopping at a grocery store, as much as possible avoid the interior aisles. Stick to the periphery where the meal is all less processed and in some cases not processed at all. In the typical grocery the jalapenos might have been gassed into ripeness but they at least are a product that grows in the e book cites two sources of info that are begin to the public and those who wish can discover the info of meal security practices at the Codex Alimentarius web site. There is a broader scientific website called the Barcode of Life which contains a lot of species including edible ones. These are both info packed areas to obtain dirty with the science of the author’s premises. They are not needed reading to understanding this book however. A brief aside here. I contracted with Safeway Stores in the early 1990s to write job descriptions and a lot of of those occurred in a regional warehouse. This is where all produce and otherwise lands prior to being distributed to local stores. I watched the process of ethylene gassing of produce in order to enhance coloration and shelf life. The gas chamber is like one imagines after seeing a film such as I Wish to Live with Susan Hayward. No one wants a leaky door is better as they claim, to buy locally from farmers that one gains a rapport with. This is easily done most anywhere in America today with Farmer’s Markets and roadside stands thriving. Having worked as a produce seller for several years at Farmer’s Markets it became incumbent on me to know the product I was selling and to speak frankly with inquisitive customers. About half of the questions asked were reasoned and I wanted to ensure the customer that they were being answered correctly. (The other half of the questions included the likes of “Is this a tree grown apple?”)The authors describe several foods that are prone to adulteration. Honey is a amazing example for starters. If you venture into middle aisle of your grocery shop and select the shop brand ver you are likely to obtain a product that is a mix of a lot of honeys all accumulated in a vast container at a warehouse and then this mixture is poured into the bottle that you will keep in your hand. The label will lack any sort of info that is useful as to the provenance of the honey. That is not fraud and there is nothing illegal with this practice nor is there anything illegal about related practices regarding the ground meat that becomes the quick meal delectable that advertisers create us wish so much. The issue is when something goes e meal supply chain for most processed consumables is vast. The network is diverse and each part of the processing is special to all of the others. Specific fraud can occur a continent away from where accidental tainting happens and another continent away from the vendor or grocery store. The more complicated the system of getting from farm to table becomes, the more likely that fraud will be involved. The book describes this often and it becomes particularly concrete to the reader when the discussion was of cidental or deliberate adulteration of a product can be disastrous for consumers and financially catastrophic for the company. This is due to that expansive nature of the meal chain, one encouraged by huge companies. When there are too a lot of players in the mix, a issue product goes undetected. There might not be actual fraud involved and there might. The issue is resolving the issue by finding out where it stemmed from. Of late we read and hear of the woes of the Chipotle chain that cannot be solved because of the heavy number of involved farms producing meal for the gardless of how the contaminated produce is involved in the process of meal scandals, there often is a type of fraud involved in the laying of blame. When suppliers are numerous then all players can point a finger elsewhere. Lines such as “the buck stops here” are rarely used. Companies go out of business anyway, stock prices drop and people obtain sick and sometimes for the latest e authors show that as well as so a lot of other notions about how fraud can occur and why. Follow the money, no one required to tell you that. If a product can be provided that is reduced in quality, how a lot of of us really know? Are consumers experts on the quality of the additional virgin olive oil they consume? That is one example that the authors discuss and it has been in the media for several years. While I like to think I have a palate for finer foods this book convinced me that I probably really e story becomes dismal and the methods that consumers use to confirm that they are getting what they paid for so weak that it is disheartening. It is for me anyway. So I return to what was written a few paragraphs ago. Whenever possible, buy meal from farmers that you can talk to and only store the periphery of your grocery stores if you consumers we are not blameless in all of this. We have proven to the grocery business that we wish specialty products and we wish them at our fingertips at any time. Likewise we are artful in our pretense. We are willing to buy the olive oil that has a convincing label and we really cannot tell the difference. This lends itself to the Red Queen consumers we demand sophistication in much of our meal and frauds are prepared to give us what they imagine, that we need to satisfy our tastes. There are taste experts and they are rarely us. Our vanity drives us to discuss the provenance of some meal based on a fraudulent description on a label. It makes for interesting dinner ese amazing ideas really only apply to those who can do that. I can drive to someplace where I can improve my chances of getting amazing food. A lot of people cannot. It is those most burdened by lack of resources that are most likely to be buying meal that could be most anything. Years ago I found a can of “potted meat product” at a suburban grocery store. It cost about 45 cents and the label told the reader of all things involved in this product they dared not call meat. I bought it, not to eat but to display on my ledge of hard to believe products that I collect and are designed to be eaten…by not good people.Another fast aside. Campbell’s has cans of broth amongst their a lot of products. Nothing wrong with that though maybe an examination of the contents is worthwhile. I have no beef with Campbell’s (heh-heh) but on a can of yes, beef broth the label declares that it is “Great for Cooking”. I have a can in my collection. Had they not pronounced a use for this product I may have washed my hair with in general I thought this to be an informative work but one that left me feeling beautiful cold about my prospects of getting what I pay for. It is hard to be enthusiastic about what is sold for meal these days. The consumer who is diligent in their choices is still stuck with the prospects of what is actually involved in what they are eating.I also was left disappointed about their lack of discussion about the Nestles fraud in their tainted baby formula sold in third globe nations some 20 years ago. The only mention of that company was a short tribute to something ethical they did, it was a tribute albeit brief

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sorting the Beef from the Bull: The Science of Food Fraud Forensics review []  2020-1-5 18:28

    Interesting book. I got bogged down with all of the chemical references, but I have a small difficulty with technical descriptions. I ended up skipping over those parts. But the other info is really eye-opening. It certainly makes me read labels more and pay attention to what's in season. Without the chemistry...5 stars.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sorting the Beef from the Bull: The Science of Food Fraud Forensics review []  2020-1-5 18:28

    Amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sorting the Beef from the Bull: The Science of Food Fraud Forensics review []  2020-1-5 18:28

    Incredible, in depth look at the pitfalls of the modern meal industry. Definitely a must read. I had no clue about these widespread practices that affect us all as consumers!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sorting the Beef from the Bull: The Science of Food Fraud Forensics review []  2020-1-5 18:28

    Amazing book. Reminds me of Upton Sinclair's The Jungle. Let's hope it has as much impact as The Jungle.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sorting the Beef from the Bull: The Science of Food Fraud Forensics review []  2020-1-5 18:28

    Informative. Simple to understand.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sorting the Beef from the Bull: The Science of Food Fraud Forensics review []  2020-1-5 18:28

    In a book with such a catchy title, one would expect a certain element of tongue-in-cheek flavor to its prose. Well, although a few very clever and occasionally humorous passages can be found, this book is extremely serious about very troubling activities event worldwide in the meal industry – meal fraud. Essentially, this is advertising some meal as one thing when in fact, it is either clandestinely mixed with something else or is something else entirely. And this something else is much cheaper and often risky to human health. The book’s authors, both scientists, explain what is being done to search meal fraud through different scientific testing methods as well as how countries/organizations are trying to at least discourage it from happening. The foods that are focused on include: honey, vegetable oils, fish, chicken, beef, milk, spices, fruits and vegetables, beverages and more. Guidelines are also given to support the reader minimize exposure to meal fraud.I found this authoritative book to be very well written in a clear, lively, mostly accessible and engaging prose. Several organic molecules are mentioned as are some of the dynamics of chemical reactions. Some of the passages containing these may be more easily grasped by science enthusiasts than the average general reader. But these passages are relatively minor in comparison to the book’s main message. And I also found the stories recounted to be immensely captivating.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sorting the Beef from the Bull: The Science of Food Fraud Forensics review []  2020-1-5 18:28

    "Sorting the Beef from the Bull" describes different types of meal fraud and what scientists and consumers can do about it. While there is some "science talk" when describing how meal fraud can be detected, the authors did a amazing job of explaining those tests in a method that non-scientists can follow. If you can follow a CSI-type show, then you can follow this e authors started by giving an overview of meal adulteration, then they described the origins of meal fraud detection and compared it to what's currently being done about it. Next they looked at specific categories of meal and described past methods of adulteration, what scientists can do to detect that adulteration, and what the consumer can do to avoid e categories they covered were vegetable oil (including rapeseed, maize, and olive oil); fish; beef; milk, butter, and cheese; spices (including pepper, paprika, cayenne, chillies, cinnamon, coriander, cumin, ginger, nutmeg, saffron, salt, turmeric, and vanilla); beverages (including juice and wine); and whole fruits, vegetables, grains, and e cases came from all over the world, but they mainly looked at cases in the UK, USA, and China. I appreciate that the authors gave tip on how the average consumer can test to avoid or detect adulterated products. I'm glad I'm informed now, and I'd recommend this book to anyone who wants to know more about meal fraud.I received an ebook review copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sorting the Beef from the Bull: The Science of Food Fraud Forensics review []  2020-1-5 18:28

    You may be forgiven for never wanting to eat again when you’ve read this book and learnt about some of the attempts to rip off the meal customer over time. Meal fraud is sadly huge business and despite scientific advances and greater observation it is still taking place, each and every e author serves up a comprehensive look at what some of us have been eating and it is very unpleasant, concerning reading. In a lot of ways, we are allowing ourselves to be taken advantage of, since we are increasingly further and further away from the source of meal and we don’t necessarily really know what happens along the meal chain. Maybe a small additive falls into an oil to increase the profit margin for someone, maybe meat is “refreshed” to create it eatable or usable within bulk production or maybe what we think is a premium product has more humble is is though a fascinating read. The authors explain how meal frauds have been detected and how there can be a bit of an arms race between those who will rip us off and those who are charged with detecting such is unbelievable yet it can have some less-desirable attributes too. Everyone knows what happens to a chop apple, for example, within a short time; yet chemical additives apparently can create a one-week chop apple seem like new… as long as you don’t mind a deceptive chemical cocktail as a side-serving. How would you know if your vegetable oil has been adulterated short of drinking it…? Vegetable oil is a commonly adulterated product and whilst it might do the job it is intended to, maybe it is not as pure and clear as you think but obtain it wrong and it can be l of this is before the clear scandals that achieve national and international news, such as the horse meat scandal in the United Kingdom or the addition of melamine into milk powders in China. This is a comprehensive read that will hold you focussed. You will be amazed, appalled and intrigued at the same time. Essential reading, whether you are a curious reader or working within the meal industry.Will you look at meal again in the same way?

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Sorting the Beef from the Bull: The Science of Food Fraud Forensics review []  2020-1-5 18:28

    Sorting the Beef from the Bull by Richard Evershed and Nicola Temple covers different meal frauds perpetrated around the globe. Evershed is a professor of biochemistry at a British university and Temple is a biologist and science writer. The book covers a number of such frauds such as the substitute of fake eggs for true ones, the Chinese melamine scandal in which some 300,000 kids became ill, fish and beef frauds, improper oils and a dozens of other fraudulent practices that have harmed people all over the world. This book is interesting and useful in that it provides a clear warning that the meal we buy may not be healthy or even what the label claims it is. At the same time American readers may not be very interested in the issues that occur in other countries. For that reason I rate it at three stars, not because of the quality of the research demonstrated, but because of the limited interest any particular audience might have. This rating should not be construed as a criticism of the contents of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic and Legal Psychology: Psychological Science Applied to Law review []  2020-1-16 5:16

    If I could I would tag this as half a star or below. Unlike some, I rented mine. I started reading it using my kindle when I started noticing pages were missing. Turns out this thing has an error when it comes to font size and the format of the page. I had to move over to my laptop, BUT even then I'm still having issues! It's ridiculous and having to play around with the text size. It's not worth your time, money, or the hassle. If I could I'd ask for a refund.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic and Legal Psychology: Psychological Science Applied to Law review []  2020-1-16 5:16

    Amazing book and amazing content

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic and Legal Psychology: Psychological Science Applied to Law review []  2020-1-16 5:16

    Amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic and Legal Psychology: Psychological Science Applied to Law review []  2020-1-16 5:16

    This book came in better than expected condition! It is perfect, like brand new! And the info inside is amazing also!

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic and Legal Psychology: Psychological Science Applied to Law review []  2020-1-16 5:16

    Well written and simple to follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic and Legal Psychology: Psychological Science Applied to Law review []  2020-1-16 5:16

    Bought for school and love it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic and Legal Psychology: Psychological Science Applied to Law review []  2020-1-16 5:16

    It served it's purpose.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic and Legal Psychology: Psychological Science Applied to Law review []  2020-1-16 5:16

    Book was sufficient. By far the most boring thing I've ever had the misfortune of reading though.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic and Legal Psychology: Psychological Science Applied to Law review []  2020-1-16 5:16

    I'm currently taking PSYC 225 (psychology and the legal system at my community college. It's a very interesting textbook. It's simple to understand and isn't the least by dry.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Forensic and Legal Psychology: Psychological Science Applied to Law review []  2020-1-16 5:16

    Liked product. Need for school

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Benzodiazepines and GHB: Detection and Pharmacology (Forensic Science and Medicine) review []  2020-1-16 16:45

    This book presents in a clear method Scientific Results , with rigor; you can read it easily, and will understand Technical aspects

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Benzodiazepines and GHB: Detection and Pharmacology (Forensic Science and Medicine) review []  2020-1-16 16:45

    Just a few word, to say that since a long time I was looking after a book about the benzodiazepine is book is very useful, well written, simple to my every day work, as a forensic toxicologist, this book is a amazing tool.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Ethical Self: Using the Ethical Lens Inventory to journey toward ethical maturity review []  2020-1-17 19:13

    Ugh, just a bunch of fluff

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Inheritor's Powder: A Tale of Arsenic, Murder, and the New Forensic Science review [Book]  2018-6-6 18:0

    Arsenic poisoning becomes the creature in the closet in 1833. England endures a crime wave of nefarious poisonings. Framed in the case if the poisoning of George Biddle, a wealthy, older farmer, this book explores the hype and the fact of arsenic poisoning in 1800' England. Arsenic is famously the weapon of the weak and subjugated, Women going back to Lucretia Borgia are known to choose poison. Wealthy men considered their wives, servants, and hind the paranoia are a relatively little number of cases considering the population. Still the fresh scandal papers, prompted by a growing literacy, highlighted each case. This book follows a handful of the most visible trials of the time. Interspersed are the stories of scientists pursuing a definitive try for the presence of arsenic. These men in turn served as minor stars and were much seen with apparatus in tow in popular e book has some fascinating vignettes. Unfortunately, the author doesn't edit enough info for my taste. The trials can lag at times. However the portrait of the times is entrancing. The prose can be sharply witty. At one point a hero vanishes " like a dividend." A victim fed little doses over time suffers a death " to frighten the horses." In addition, a mini course on the types and actions of various classes of poisons serves as a useful closing, if you are rich or obnoxious, and your hands tingle, check your food. Otherwise, check out this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Inheritor's Powder: A Tale of Arsenic, Murder, and the New Forensic Science review [Book]  2018-6-6 18:0

    I found the book--including its level of detail, which seems to have place off a number of reviewers--quite interesting, but this audio ver was serioiusly marred for me by the reader's performance. He can't go more than a dozen pages without mispronouncing a not-that-uncommon word.If you pronunce "contiguous" as "contijus" and t hink that the popular Italian family of poisoners were the "Medeesus" you shouldn't be a professional narrator of books.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Inheritor's Powder: A Tale of Arsenic, Murder, and the New Forensic Science review [Book]  2018-6-6 18:0

    I really wanted to like this book, but found myself skipping ahead at points. It begins excitingly enough with the happenings leading up to the arsenic poisonings in the George Bodle family in 1833. I found the description of life back then and of the family members and servants to be enlightening. Who knew coroner's juries met in pubs? How was physical evidence handled? What kind of work did servants do?However, the author would then chop back and forth between this main story and the story of the science of arsenic and the development of testing procedures. Perhaps this didn't keep my attention as well because I own and have read the books The Elements of Murder: A History of Poison and The Poisoner's Handbook: Murder and the Birth of Forensic Medicine in Jazz Age Fresh York. Along the method were a lot of other interesting cases similar to the subject. I found some of them interesting, and others method too drawn out. I kept wanting to skip ahead to wherever the Bodle family story picked so, I didn't feel that, overall, the Bodle incident was much of a tragedy. Maybe I've read too a lot of real tragedies and am jaded! After all, John Stark Bellamy II relates the killing and pain of scores of people in his Cleveland series of books. At home we refer to them as "the death and destruction" books. They Died Crawling: And Other Tales of Cleveland Woe One local person in the book I'm reviewing said he couldn't look at the house where the poisonings happened without shuddering. I thought that was an overreaction. What makes me shudder? Seeing Anthony Sowell's house in person or driving by a particular building downtown where a lot of people burned in a fireworks started fire.Overall, this was a amazing book, however, especially if you're interested in a look at life in England in the 1830s and you don't know much about arsenic poisoning.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Inheritor's Powder: A Tale of Arsenic, Murder, and the New Forensic Science review [Book]  2018-6-6 18:0

    The book is well written, and is mostly interesting, but there simply isn't sufficient story to fill 248 pages. So the author goes off on EVERY possible tangent, like page after page on the info of the lives of individuals who have very small to do with the murder or forensic science. And equally so on other subjects. Several times I almost tossed it aside because I was tired of yet another page of barely relevant material.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Inheritor's Powder: A Tale of Arsenic, Murder, and the New Forensic Science review [Book]  2018-6-6 18:0

    The interesting story of attempted murder is swamped with excessive detail. Who cares about the coroner's resume or the police officers' political leanings?! Tighter writing and editing could have create this a amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Inheritor's Powder: A Tale of Arsenic, Murder, and the New Forensic Science review [Book]  2018-6-6 18:0

    Subject was very interesting and all the research was there but was presented rather disjointedly and was a small hard to follow.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Inheritor's Powder: A Tale of Arsenic, Murder, and the New Forensic Science review [Book]  2018-6-6 18:0

    Amazing book. Read about what happened in the olden olden days with a widow's divorce that becomes permanent

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Inheritor's Powder: A Tale of Arsenic, Murder, and the New Forensic Science review [Book]  2018-6-6 18:0

    Oh wait, it was an episode of American Experience on PBS. The content was stretched out and over written. Interesting subject but now a full booksworth.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Inheritor's Powder: A Tale of Arsenic, Murder, and the New Forensic Science review [Book]  2018-6-6 18:0

    Well written researched and interesting, takes you back to a time where values were very different, and availability of harmful substances commonplace.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    The Inheritor's Powder: A Tale of Arsenic, Murder, and the New Forensic Science review [Book]  2018-6-6 18:0

    Delightfully wicked.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Techniques of Crime Scene Investigation (Forensic and Police Science Series) review []  2020-1-1 18:20

    Perfect book! I used this for a crime stage investigation class. The book is well written and it covers a lot of topics!They contain images from actual crime scenes which can be gruesome- so if you are sensitive to graphic content, be warned.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Techniques of Crime Scene Investigation (Forensic and Police Science Series) review []  2020-1-1 18:20

    Book came in bubble wrapped envelope. Book was in amazing condition. I have only skimmed over. A few pages and pictures, but so far it looks like it has intersting techniques I would like to share with my unit.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Techniques of Crime Scene Investigation (Forensic and Police Science Series) review []  2020-1-1 18:20

    Very informative and one of the easier text books I’ve had to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Techniques of Crime Scene Investigation (Forensic and Police Science Series) review []  2020-1-1 18:20

    Amazing condition

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Techniques of Crime Scene Investigation (Forensic and Police Science Series) review []  2020-1-1 18:20

    Very detailed book. I'm sure anyone, fresh or experienced in the field can take away something from it.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Techniques of Crime Scene Investigation (Forensic and Police Science Series) review []  2020-1-1 18:20

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Techniques of Crime Scene Investigation (Forensic and Police Science Series) review []  2020-1-1 18:20

    I really like the content inside the book, however, even though I know this book is a rental, it’s practically falling apart at the bind of the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Techniques of Crime Scene Investigation (Forensic and Police Science Series) review []  2020-1-1 18:20

    Simple reading. Very informative. Could use more pictures.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Techniques of Crime Scene Investigation (Forensic and Police Science Series) review []  2020-1-1 18:20

    Bought it for school, is simple to read and has amazing info in it

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Techniques of Crime Scene Investigation (Forensic and Police Science Series) review []  2020-1-1 18:20

    Amazing book and amazing experience

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Ethical Practice in Forensic Psychology: A Guide for Mental Health Professionals review []  2020-1-22 1:49

    Not all books are worth reading cover-to-cover, but some are. This one is a cover-to-cover read. The authors modernize their pragmatic discussion of the dark ethical corners of forensic psychological/neuropsychological practice, which is extremely helpful, since these problems are not static or entirely cut-and-dried. Gotta have this book if practicing forensic psychology/neuropsychology! A unbelievable resource.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Psychology & Personality Profiling (Solving Crimes With Science: Forensics) review []  2020-1-22 21:28

    I enjoyed this book because I would like to study Psychology and become a behavioral analysis. The book's content is simple to understand and right to the point. At some points it becomes repetitive and a small boring but it gives enough info to comprehend for an age group of 16 years or older. The book provided me with a perspective to begin my mind up to the globe from the minds of various people and to be aware and cautious about the certain things I chose to do. Lastly, this informed me on how to read the personalities of individuals.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Psychology & Personality Profiling (Solving Crimes With Science: Forensics) review []  2020-1-22 21:28

    The book has amazing and useful information! The only thing that would need improvement is the writing style.

    0  


  • 0

    Is this review useful?

    Criminal Psychology & Personality Profiling (Solving Crimes With Science: Forensics) review []  2020-1-22 21:28

    Horrible presentation very low quality product not worth the price

    0  





    Search Cloud

    About Us

    We deliver reviews of items/services from multiple category. Find and read opinions on clothes, Tv Shows, ebooks, video games, meals, gadgets, services or household items. Would you like to rate your recent purchases on Amazon or Ebay? Or maybe something was not good enough and would you like to express your sadness? Do not wait and do this here! We give you the opportunity to attach URL going to item/service you want to review.

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com
    [email protected]
    [email protected]
    P: (123) 456-7890

    Newsletter