Read eyes of the emperor reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all eyes of the emperor reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    the original source [osceola county case search]  2020-8-27 9:48
    [email protected]

    why not check here this over here now maryland case court find superior court for the district of columbia case find go right here Www service read the full information here over here

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


    Add your opinion on eyes of the emperor or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Get the facts [hop over to this site]  2020-8-27 7:23
    [email protected]

    this link maryland jud case find continue reading florida court records case find case find ny www oscn case find pima county court case find his response

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    miami dade clerk of courts case search [md case search judiciary]  2020-8-23 12:25
    [email protected]

    index website web maryalnd case find this page more information here case find orange county fl case find fulton county state court case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    buy lasix over the counter [best price for lasix in El Paso]  2020-9-13 19:32
    [email protected]

    top 10 best locations to lasix in San Jose buy lasix in Buffalo lasix from Portugal where to lasix in Pittsburgh online purchase lasix from Belgium purchase lasix from Buffalo buy lasix in Germany where to lasix in Saudi Arabia online furosemide purchase lasix from Portland buy lasix in Denmark

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    dose of cialis [cialis safe ]  2020-8-20 4:58
    [email protected]

    When a the human race wickedness not oneself discount website cialis 50mg within down in the mouth gelatins and revascularization in slushy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eyes of the Emperor []  2020-1-29 10:35

    I recommend this to anyone interested in WW II stories, and particularly people from Hawaii, or of Asian ancestry.A thoroughly engaging book. I live in Hawaii, and I know lots of people just like the men described seems laughable now that smart people once thought that Asians smelled various that Caucasians, but here's the story, folks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eyes of the Emperor []  2020-1-29 10:35

    About a third of my method through but felt confident that my review would be valid. Very well written bringing out the essence of people's thoughts and feelings in that timeframe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eyes of the Emperor []  2020-1-29 10:35

    This is a amazing book however it starts getting boring towards the end at least in my opinion

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eyes of the Emperor []  2020-1-29 10:35

    Very interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eyes of the Emperor []  2020-1-29 10:35

    Eyes of the Emperor by Graham Salisbury is the novelized ver of WWII dog try trials that used young Japanese men as "bait", believing that the Japanese exuded a various scent than Americans. These trials were authorized by President Roosevelt. Although this book was a YA adult book (I read in less than 3 hours), it was interesting enough to hold me glued to the pages! 5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eyes of the Emperor []  2020-1-29 10:35

    amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eyes of the Emperor []  2020-1-29 10:35

    I have always been interested in Globe Battle II. Reading of the sacrifices the people created and the suffering they went through and reading of their determination and bravery is an inspiration to me. I would recommend this book to all as we need to learn of others strength in trials that we may be able to withstand our trials also and those that may come our way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eyes of the Emperor []  2020-1-29 10:35

    Interesting. I was expecting more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eyes of the Emperor []  2020-1-29 10:35

    I loved this book, especially how Salisbury captures the "Americaness" of the young protagonist. The section in which he allows himself to be used as bait in a horrible K-( experiment was hard to read, but worth it.His use of Island patois among the characters is a convincing hero a side note, some of it's readers might have fun Barstow Bones, in which an Asian-American college student hides out in a post-Pearl Harbor Barstow film theater while a while a gang of white teen-age thugs, pursue him. When newsreel footage of a Japanese Zero being shot down present s on the screen, Tommy cheers along with the rest of the audience. He is, like the young protagonist of Eyes of the Emperor, first of all an American.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eyes of the Emperor []  2020-1-29 10:35

    Amazing quality. Quick Shipping

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eyes of the Emperor (Prisoners of the Empire Series) []  2020-7-31 19:0

    I recommend this to anyone interested in WW II stories, and particularly people from Hawaii, or of Asian ancestry.A thoroughly engaging book. I live in Hawaii, and I know lots of people just like the men described seems laughable now that smart people once thought that Asians smelled various that Caucasians, but here's the story, folks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eyes of the Emperor (Prisoners of the Empire Series) []  2020-7-31 19:0

    I have always been interested in Globe Battle II. Reading of the sacrifices the people created and the suffering they went through and reading of their determination and bravery is an inspiration to me. I would recommend this book to all as we need to learn of others strength in trials that we may be able to withstand our trials also and those that may come our way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eyes of the Emperor (Prisoners of the Empire Series) []  2020-7-31 19:0

    Very interesting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eyes of the Emperor (Prisoners of the Empire Series) []  2020-7-31 19:0

    Interesting. I was expecting more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eyes of the Emperor (Prisoners of the Empire Series) []  2020-7-31 19:0

    About a third of my method through but felt confident that my review would be valid. Very well written bringing out the essence of people's thoughts and feelings in that timeframe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eyes of the Emperor (Prisoners of the Empire Series) []  2020-7-31 19:0

    amazing book

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eyes of the Emperor (Prisoners of the Empire Series) []  2020-7-31 19:0

    I loved this book, especially how Salisbury captures the "Americaness" of the young protagonist. The section in which he allows himself to be used as bait in a horrible K-( experiment was hard to read, but worth it.His use of Island patois among the characters is a convincing hero a side note, some of it's readers might have fun Barstow Bones, in which an Asian-American college student hides out in a post-Pearl Harbor Barstow film theater while a while a gang of white teen-age thugs, pursue him. When newsreel footage of a Japanese Zero being shot down present s on the screen, Tommy cheers along with the rest of the audience. He is, like the young protagonist of Eyes of the Emperor, first of all an American.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eyes of the Emperor (Prisoners of the Empire Series) []  2020-7-31 19:0

    Amazing quality. Quick Shipping

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eyes of the Emperor (Prisoners of the Empire Series) []  2020-7-31 19:0

    Eyes of the Emperor by Graham Salisbury is the novelized ver of WWII dog try trials that used young Japanese men as "bait", believing that the Japanese exuded a various scent than Americans. These trials were authorized by President Roosevelt. Although this book was a YA adult book (I read in less than 3 hours), it was interesting enough to hold me glued to the pages! 5 stars

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eyes of the Emperor (Prisoners of the Empire Series) []  2020-7-31 19:0

    Amazing book, Japanese American fought for this country.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meditations Of The Emperor []  2019-12-31 18:53

    Not as described and not good return policy- save your and don’t purchase

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meditations Of The Emperor []  2019-12-31 18:53

    Terrific. Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meditations of the Emperor []  2020-7-26 19:42

    Beautiful amazing read, most of the words need a dictionary to understand, improves your vocabulary! :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meditations Of The Emperor []  2019-12-31 18:53

    I just received it. It is a very odd sized book, maybe 10" x 7". And the print is crazy little maybe 10 pt. The translation from what small I read seems nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meditations Of The Emperor []  2019-12-31 18:53

    I had read this book in high school Latin class at a public high school! After a lot of years , the memory of it was recalled in a Bible study class. It's an perfect book, that presages Christianity in Rome. It's still relevant today! I highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meditations of the Emperor []  2020-7-26 19:42

    It was professional

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meditations Of The Emperor []  2019-12-31 18:53

    Amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meditations Of The Emperor []  2019-12-31 18:53

    I read a 1000 books and this is one of the top 5

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meditations of the Emperor []  2020-7-26 19:42

    This is an interesting approach to the globe and is an treatise in the stoic philosophy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meditations of the Emperor []  2020-7-26 19:42

    I read a 1000 books and this is one of the top 5

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meditations Of The Emperor []  2019-12-31 18:53

    Beautiful amazing read, most of the words need a dictionary to understand, improves your vocabulary! :-)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meditations Of The Emperor []  2019-12-31 18:53

    It was professional

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meditations of the Emperor []  2020-7-26 19:42

    I just received it. It is a very odd sized book, maybe 10" x 7". And the print is crazy little maybe 10 pt. The translation from what small I read seems nice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meditations of the Emperor []  2020-7-26 19:42

    I had read this book in high school Latin class at a public high school! After a lot of years , the memory of it was recalled in a Bible study class. It's an perfect book, that presages Christianity in Rome. It's still relevant today! I highly recommend it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meditations Of The Emperor []  2019-12-31 18:53

    This is an interesting approach to the globe and is an treatise in the stoic philosophy

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meditations of the Emperor []  2020-7-26 19:42

    Not as described and not good return policy- save your and don’t purchase

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meditations of the Emperor []  2020-7-26 19:42

    Amazing read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Meditations of the Emperor []  2020-7-26 19:42

    Terrific. Thank you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of Any Place []  2020-1-11 19:29

    Although this is clearly marketed as a young-adult book, I was attracted to its topic and so ordered it. And read it with amazing pleasure, too, all the time wondering why it had this classification. Well, the protagonist, Evan Griffin is still a teenager at 16 -- but in Toronto where he lives, that is apparently old enough not to be taken into care when his father dies. And that's the first thing that is surprisingly mature about the book: it opens with the death of Evan's father, who had brought him up alone since childhood in a remarkably close relationship. Evan can cope remarkably well in the house, but he needs to call in his grandfather to support with the legal work. And there's the problem: "Griff," as he was called, is a retired Sergeant Major of Marines; Evan's father, a Vietnam draft-dodger, rebelled versus his spit-and-polish style, and now the grandson has inherited that legacy of hate. Though Griff may be a small stereotypical, there are surprisingly adult themes here.Just before he died, Evan's father had been sent a privately-printed book called "Kokoro-Jima, the Heart-Shaped Island." It is the acc of a Japanese soldier marooned on an island not far from Tinian during the Pacific War, and his encounter with an American airman whose plane crashed there. It is a kind of ROBINSON CRUSOE story, and a terrific one, though distinguished by two features. One -- again mature and very instructive -- is the portrayal of both Japanese and American actions in the Second Globe War, a realistic background that the author makes no attempt to sanitize. The other is the thing that most clearly qualifies the book for young-adult status: the island is also populated by monsters of fantasy -- the ghosts of the unborn, the ghosts of the never-to-be-born, and a creature they call Tengu. Normally such elements would turn me off, but so powerful is Wynne-Jones' writing that I took it all in my soon becomes clear that Griff, whose role in the WW2 story appears only later, is determined to prevent the full publication of the book, which sets him into further conflict with his grandson Evan. Alas, although I was fully prepared to give the book five stars most of the method through, I found that the resolution of this conflict and the eventual rapprochement between old man and boy lacked the density of most of the earlier writing, and involved the last-moment introduction of quite another plot strand. So while I would still recommend the book for young adult readers, I cannot quite give the five stars on my own.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of Any Place []  2020-1-11 19:29

    The Emperor of Any Put is one of the most special books I have ever read. This story revolves around Evan who has just lost his father to a heavy heart attack. A most intriguing mystery occurs when he begins to read a book that his father had in his possession. The book is an acc of a Japanese soldier who is stranded on a deserted island during WWII and it's a book his estranged grandfather and battle veteran, Griff doesn't wish e story goes back and forth in time to Evan's show life and when he reads the mysterious book, he is transported to the island called Kokoro-Jima, The Heart Shaped Island is full of mystery, danger and ghosts. The story of the island is written by Isamu Oshiro-and for some reason, the grizzled old Griff doesn't wish the acc to be published in book form. Evan invites Griff to the house to support him with his father's estate even though he feels like he is inviting the opponent to come and stay with him. His father and grandfather never got along and always had opposing opinions on life in is is a very original work. The writing is great, the story is entrancing and mysterious to the latest page. After reading this book, I think of things a small differently than I did before reading it. This is a beautiful impressive book about war, family connections and relationships.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of Ocean Park []  2020-1-3 22:48

    The writing, the use of language is all that kept me going. I enjoyed the author's writing. I quit several times, though, because I couldn't search the plot. I couldn't even guess the genre. I kept coming back to it because in some ways it was pleasant to read. But the characters were too slow to develop; I never came to care for anyone. I didn't know if it was a mystery or a hero study or what. It was NOT a thriller. I finally chop my losses and quit. A more patient person would probably like it better than I did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of Ocean Park []  2020-1-3 22:48

    Although I suspect this book was not wildly popular, I loved it. I found myself drawn into the mystery that Carter cleverly weaves. I say clever but I mean smart because ultimately this book's virtues rests on Carter's wise, smart writing. In fact, the only defect might have been the temptation to edge the book toward being a Grisham-like potboiler instead of a more literary work. Not that I think Carter doesn't have a bonus for interesting plot twists. He does. But his true strengths, in my estimation, are hero development and dialog. I came home from work each night anxious to learn what the characters were up to and what interesting insight or wisdom would be revealed. A rare quality I associate with a writer like Tag Helprin or Leo Tolstoy.I am sure this book was famous enough that Carter's publisher will be insisting he write another book. I certainly hope so and anxiously look forward to it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of Ocean Park []  2020-1-3 22:48

    Interesting read but I felt it left some characters hanging. Considering the length of the book I would have like to known more about the uninvolved brother and it just didn’t end right.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eve of the Emperor Penguin []  2020-1-23 0:23

    Amazing book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of All Maladies []  2020-1-22 19:43

    Latest April I was diagnosed with acute leukaemia. After a stem cell transplant I am coming up for a year.When you are told you have cancer you are bewildered. You are also very angry. I asked myself was there something I had done in my past that was going to deprive me seeing my two sons grow up into satisfied young men and dads. The first two weeks go by in a weird nightmare. Day 17 your hair falls out. Your peeing orange from the chemo drugs, which have place me off lucozade for life. You double check all your insurances are up to date and modernize a well to create sure my wife does not have any hassles with the tax authorities. At the age of 44 you are very angry. You realise you are likely going to die. You are mad because you have no idea what is doing it. What you planned for when you were older is all meaningless. But, thanks to certain stubbornness and awesome treatment and care, and a generous sift of life from a German donor of life giving stem cells, I am is book helps explain a lot of of the questions I had. It does it in a method that makes sense if you don't have a degree in science. What was until recently a death sentence is no longer the case. The war versus cancer was waged by intrepid individuals, and this book explains the battle so far. It outlines the causes of cancer, whether it is a virus, bacteria, induced by smoking or chemicals, or just our own body playing up and turning on itself. It explains how our own understanding is still primary but advancing year by year, and treatments, if not cures, are being found for many, although not all cancers.I learned that was once a death sentence is not the case today. I am looking forward to see my sons become men. This book gave me clarity, it gave me hope.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of All Maladies []  2020-1-22 19:43

    I picked the book up because I have an interest in cancer for several reasons. First, 1/3 of all humans die from cancer. Second, from a scientific perspective it is a fascinating, challenging and complex is is an extremely well written, well planned out and organized book. I'm almost as much in awe of the author's command of the English language as I am of the skill he had in organizing the material. If anyone else were to do a history of cancer, they truly could not match the quality of this book. I say this because the author strikes a excellent balance between focusing on info when required and focusing on the huge picture when needed. And he presents the material in such a method that the key points really stick with you. You walk away with an perfect understanding of the disease - certainly much more than the layman and probably more than some medical specialists - and a comprehensive understanding of how human beings have tried, and continue to test to understand this disease.I think a lot of people should read this book. First of all to expel the myths and misunderstandings that people have about cancer. Second, to have a much better understanding of doctors and medical profession, including their limitations. And third because we all have been, will be, or know someone who is affected.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Emperor of the North Pole [Movie]  2017-10-13 21:49

    Nobody gets a ride on this train! It's the amazing depression and the US is now home to a lot of homeless hobos. Shack is a particularly nasty piece of work, devoid of any compassion for the homeless, he prides himself on not letting any one ride aboard the train he conducts upon. But in the midst is hobo supreme, A No. 1, a man who is never afraid to take up a challenge, so along with Cigaret, a young wannabe legend, he sets about destroying Shack's reputation whilst furthering his own. Make no bones about it, Emperor Of The North Pole is unashamedly macho, director Robert Aldrich filling his picture with machismo beefcakes and molding a story of brawn vs brawn aboard the unlikely setting of a steam train journey. Boasting Lee Marvin and Ernest Borgnine {both excellent} as the twin main leads signals the movies intent, yet the picture more than just egotistical bluster. We obtain a very engrossing feel of a most depressing time in history, a time when men wanted to be men but were struck down by misfortune. Some of the dialogue is very sharp, listen to Marvin's A No. 1 wry observations on the globe and you know that this movie has quite a bit to say. The other major thing to note is that some of the technical work is brilliant, the photography from Joseph F. Biroc is priceless, some of the train sequences are feasts for the eyes. Aldrich's undervalued flair for action also comes to the fore here, from a near miss train crash to the defining confrontation between our two pit bull protagonists, it really is a most accomplished piece across the board. Even young Keith Carradine as Cigaret comes out with much credit, it would have been simple for him to have been lost under the sheer weight of the beef talent around him, but he holds his own and is integral to the movies ultimate success. It's a difficult one to recommend with any amazing confidence because it has kind of got an acquired taste to it, but to me it remains one of the 70s hidden treasures, a movie that I'm always going to have the utmost regard for. 9/10

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of Any Place []  2020-1-11 19:29

    This book is... Different. I'd seen reviews mentioning a supernatural element, and I guess, yeah, that's what it is? But one specific thing was just over the top hard for me and it ended up throwing off my reading. I don't wish to say what it was, but I would liken it to magical realism: everything is completely normal, it's simply a historical read that flips back and forth between that and contemporary (I totally obtain what the author meant when mentioning Mal Peet's TAMAR, because it spans over timeframes the same way), and then these things are thrown in, and fine, I was able to wrap my head around that, but then the other thing? I don't know. I almost felt like there was some sort of "it" factor that had to be thrown in to create it even bigger than it was (and it was a GOOD read!), as if "it just wasn't enough, so here, let's drop THIS in", and that nearly spoiled the whole thing for .. With that being said, I'd say 3.75 stars (I rounded it up here). The characters were great, their development was great, everything fell into place, I appreciated following the mystery, but then that thing, that one huge thing, it just deflated the read for ill, if you have fun WWII historical fiction or family sagas or stories about survival or zombies (yes, that's what I said--sorry, not sure if that would be a spoiler, but I wouldn't have read this had I known, so I figure the reader deserves fair warning), this could be your cup of tea.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of Ocean Park []  2020-1-3 22:48

    This would give an English teacher nightmares because it is so poorly written. Every thought Mr. Carter ever had is in the book whether it has anything to do with the story or not. He can't decide whether it is a mystery or a book of his philosophy, but either method he spends almost 700 pages going nowhere. If I didn't have to read this for book club I would have deleted it before I got through 10%. Awful!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of All Maladies []  2020-1-22 19:43

    I only read this book because Ken Burns produced a documentary on it that is coming out in the Spring of 2015. I really love Ken Burns documentaries, hence the interest. Across the book, there is only one common character, cancer. Although cancer is not a single disease but a collection of several diseases characterized by uncontrolled growth and spread of cells in the body, the book portrays cancer as a amazing villain, lurking in the shadows, ready to strike at any time. What makes this story various and far from dry is the method S. Mukherjee tells it: "the story of leukemia - the story of cancer - isn't the story of doctors who struggle and survive, moving from one institution to another. It is the story of patients who struggle and survive, moving from one embankment of illness to another. Resilience, inventiveness, and survivorship — qualities often ascribed to amazing physicians — are reflected qualities, emanating first from those who struggle with illness and only then mirrored by those who treat them. If the history of medicine is told through the stories of doctors, it is because their contributions stand in put of the more substantive heroism of their patients."Across the book, we are also introduced to ways of fighting or stalling the advance of cancer: radical surgery and radical mastectomy, X-rays, cytotoxics, monoclonal antibodies, tyrosine kinase inhibitors and S. Mukherjee explains really well how all of the above function (or don't function in some cases). One of the strengths of the book is that it gives a behind the scenes look at how certain drugs or procedures came to be (Druker's struggles with developing imatinib) or how other procedures were proven to be too radical and changed such as Halsted's radical e war to search a cure for cancer has triggered enormous social forces in the 20th century and in the book we are introduced to some of the main characters: Sidney Farber and the Jimmy Fund, Mary Lasker and the American Cancer Society both determined to enact policy changes that will obtain more resources allocated to the battle versus cancer. These are just a few figures in this war, but there were other forces as well that fought for cigarette labeling for example, or more private struggles similar to compassionate drug use.S. Mukherjee ends the book on a more positive note. All throughout the book we obtain the impression that primitive forces are battling a very complex disease, using disfiguring surgery or drugs that oftentimes end up causing cancer themselves. The final few chapters are not so gloomy, he takes a molecular biologist's view of the disease and explains our current understanding of the processes and pathways involved and you do obtain the impression that by 2050 we will be able to target the specific pathways and mutations that create up a particular form of cancer.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of All Maladies []  2020-1-22 19:43

    Siddhartha Mukherjee's "The Emperor of all Maladies: A Biography of Cancer" is one of the most necessary books I have ever read. Champion of the Pulitzer Prize, it is an astonishing achievement that traces the history of cancer back over 2,000 years to the show (2009). It is beautifully written, simple to read and understand, informative, and it shines an illuminating light on the a lot of scientists, researchers, doctors, nurses, philanthropists and patients that have all played such major roles in the war versus a disease with so a lot of various faces and transformations... An adversary like none might be simple for people to wish to shy away from a book about cancer, but Mr. Mukherjee's approach is so uniquely humane, as a lot of reviewers have noted, that the burden and heartache of this disease (maladies) are almost secondary to the info and history that is so brilliantly presented.A MONUMENTAL ACHIEVEMENT.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of All Maladies []  2020-1-22 19:43

    This is a unbelievable book for anyone interested in cancer treatment. I was an oncology nurse years ago, but have not practiced in that zone for years. It was a JOY to read of the cures for some of the diseases that we simply had nothing to use to treat patients when I was working. This book is surprisingly simple to read, and even enjoyable, as the author place it together in a method that is not just chronological, but that manages to pull the strings to connect thoughts and ideas. I encourage anyone interested in health care, science, cancer treatment or even the march of human knowledge to read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eve of the Emperor Penguin []  2020-1-23 0:23

    1 this book was vary boring to me hshshhshsbsbsbsbsb bzhzbzhzhsbbsbs substandard she says. Subset end dogs. She said best by

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eve of the Emperor Penguin []  2020-1-23 0:23

    My 8 year old son loves this series

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of All Maladies []  2020-1-22 19:43

    A beautifully written, fascinating, well researched, and, ultimately, sobering look at cancer. I bought this book because I have recently been diagnosed with breast cancer. I wanted a deeper understanding of cancer than I could search on the usual cancer www services patients are directed to. This book delivered in spades. It delves into the history of cancer - our understanding of it and treatment through the ages. It goes into the biology of cancer and how scientists have come to understand more about it. It talks about latest advances in treatment and how they were discovered and brought to market. Most importantly, the author does it all with an awesome sense of the impact on individuals affected by cancer. He is a medical oncologist who tells the stories of his patients' wars with cancer. It's a fascinating story told with so much humanity and so much humility. He makes very clear what a devastating disease this is, how complex it is, and what a wily enemy cancer is. As a cancer patient I wanted a deeper understanding of cancer, and I got it. But it is such a sobering book that I doubt I will sleep any better for having read it. It's an awesome and beautifully written book, one of the best I have ever read. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eve of the Emperor Penguin []  2020-1-23 0:23

    For school. It’s a amazing book to read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eve of the Emperor Penguin []  2020-1-23 0:23

    Amazing Book. Obtain the Nonfiction Companion to Magic Tree House

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eve of the Emperor Penguin []  2020-1-23 0:23

    We love this whole series. If you have a kid that likes to read they need the whole set!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of Any Place []  2020-1-11 19:29

    A small difficult initially and on the sad tone but engaging. Amazing visual pictures of characters.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of Any Place []  2020-1-11 19:29

    Evan, age 16, has just found his father Clifford dead of hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. He was raised by his father because his mother left when he was about three years old. Evan finds a mysterious yellow book on Cliff’s desk –Kokoro-Jima, the Heart Shaped Island.Evan’s grandfather, Griff, arrives at Evan’s home after Cliff’s passing. Griff is estranged from Cliff because Griff is a career Marine and Cliff was a pacifist. Cliff fled to Canada during the Viet Nam era. Evan and Griff really don’t know what to think of each other because they’d never even met. Griff knows that Evan knows about the yellow book, but the older man really wants nothing known at all about ers see three points of view in this novel. Some of the novel is told from Evan’s point of view, the show day, in a suburban Anytown in Canada; some of it is told from the viewpoint of two soldiers who were stranded on Kokoro-Jima during Globe Battle 2: Derwood, an American, and Ohiro, a Japanese . Some parts seems surreal, and the readers – and the characters involved – wonder whether they are dreaming or something worse. The writing style and some calligraphy create it very clear to readers where and when they are and in whose is is a well-written novel that tells three young men’s tales – and readers will see whether or not the wall between Evan and his grandfather comes down or stays up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of Ocean Park []  2020-1-3 22:48

    If there were a need to choose ten all-time favorite reads to take on that island, for me this one makes the list. I ran across it while browsing for historical mysteries and was completely hypnotized by the story, it's put in time, the characters, and the weaving of their lives in a time I actually lived through myself. This author writes with a clarity and insight that is rare. And he gives to the reader a realistic understanding of the culture and politics of a time not all of us have had a possibility to understand. The story itself is basically a love story. But it's a mystery set in a time when what was event in the USA established an impact still being felt today. In short, this is one of the best reads I've enjoyed in years and I'm going to read it again and maybe again. Thank you, Professor Carter for that experience!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of Ocean Park []  2020-1-3 22:48

    I read this book for my mystery book club and I was not disappointed. I found the book compelling, intelligent, and full of interesting situations and characters. It was a long book, but I didn't wish it to end! It's refreshing to read a book that's modern but doesn't include graphic depictions of or loads of profanity. The book is written in first person by a Christian man, and his protagonist, Talcott Garland, is a Christian man who struggles to follow his faith the best that he can, often failing yet never giving up. The story contains conversations with a preacher that are serious discussions about what it means to be a follower of Christ. There are also confrontations (a lot of them!) with colleagues and family members who have their own reasons for objecting to some of Professor Garland's behavior. I found him sympathetic and frustrating, just like people in true ing this book also affords the reader the opportunity to crawl inside the mind of a black man in America. How does he view white people? How does he perceive that white people view him? Along the way, you might be surprised to search you have some prejudices of your own (I was).The language is erudite but not ostentatious--the author is not showing off (as I often felt William Styron was); both the author and his main hero are educated and smart men who work at a university. I learned a few fresh words (apercu and kilim), but it's not one of those books where you have to look up every third 's amazing to read a book that is concerned with ethics and morals and that is really about something. The mystery was amazing too--expertly crafted so that I could guess part of it but be mystified by other parts. The solution was satisfying, but left a few loose ends, again, just like true life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of Ocean Park []  2020-1-3 22:48

    My husband wanted a hard copy of this to add to his library. I was surprised at how worn the book was. The flap was so thin that I tore it just by sliding it down into a separate box so I could wrap it. I had not anticipated it to be in this condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of Ocean Park []  2020-1-3 22:48

    In ways, I think it's safer to hate a book than to love one, which may explain some of the reviews that have been posted. But I loved The Emperor of Ocean Park, in spite of all its apparent flaws. Look, I admit that Carter's prose can be a small stiff, a small massive on adjectives, a small too prone to interruptions. But when I wish to complain about pompous sentences, I'll complain about Henry James, William Faulkner, and Cormac McCarthy. Stephen Carter moves at an unhurried pace that greater economy would simply spoil. Too much of today's fiction is self-consciously sparse. Which is irritating. To say the least. I admit, also, that Carter's mystery is a bit contrived. But some awfully amazing entertainment rests on contrived government and corporate conspiracies (though, it's true, these conspiracies seem more and more realistic these days). If Carter is asking for a small credulity, I'm ready to give it to him. I'd do no less for Agatha Christie or Raymond Chandler. I also admit that the book is long. But all books can be shortened. And a lot of don't seem to lose a lot in the shortening. At least, that's my experience with books on tape. I read all of The Emperor of Ocean Park, every word, and was not impatient for it to be much for the book's flaws. It also has a lot of strengths. For one thing, the protagonist is neither superhero nor whiner. He's an imperfect, sometimes angry, but nonetheless decent guy who tries to do what's right, takes chances he'd rather not, and manages not to despise, or not to despise too much, the a lot of people who do him dirt. (In other words, I like Talcott Garland just because I do. People who don't like him are wicked, I suspect.) It also has a amazing sense of people and place. No, those are not Carter's colleagues and not his family. But I obtain the sense that Carter knows what he's talking is I'm certain about: Stephen Carter has not, as someone wrote, embarrassed himself. (It's not particularly civil phrase, is it?) It's a amazing book. A very amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of Any Place []  2020-1-11 19:29

    Tim Wynne-Jones delivers another outstanding story that reaches into family history and lays it out for the reader with masterly skill that will take the you back in time with characters that will live on in your heart. This multi-generational story of male relationships revealing fears, strength and fantastical challenges will sit on your bed stand, wake you up, hold you up until about 3/4 of the method through as you realize the latest page is not far away. Then it slows you down and the dilemma of making it to the latest page means the story is over, regretfully. It is a story for all ages, that will have you rereading passages, imagining scenes, amazing meal for the imagination as well as a thunderous massage for the heart along the way.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of Any Place []  2020-1-11 19:29

    Composed of a book within a novel, “The Emperor of Any Place” is a heart-wrenching story of conflict and reconciliation, of loss and of discovery, and in the end a story of the healing power of love. Tim Wynne-Jones’ recent novel is one that is beautifully crafted, engaging from the first page to the latest one, and memorable in the truths it tells and the lessons to be learned from both stories.Having fled to Canada rather than being drafted and having to serve in Vietnam, Clifford E. Griffin III is a gentle, modest man. While reading a mysterious book that will become indispensible to the overall themes of “The Emperor of Any Place”, he dies of hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. His son Evan finds him. Following the funeral, seventeen-year old Evan lives alone at 123 Any Place, the nickname he and his father gave to their address. Although his father is gone, Evan retains the habits and manners he had been taught. “… So much of grief is unlearning …” Estranged from his own father, eighty-one year old Chief Master Sergeant Clifford E. Griffin Jr., Cliff had warned Evan to avoid his grandfather. When Griff calls and tells Evan, he has arrived early to support him settle things, their resulting conflict and eventual respect for and understanding of one another propels the show day portion of the e book within the novel “The Emperor of Any Place” is the diary of Lance Corporal Isamu Oshiro, a Japanese infantryman who was marooned on the island of Kokoro-Jima during the waning days of Globe Battle II. Isamu believes in the Emperor and the Japanese method of life. “…There can be no surrender. A amazing man should die a shattered jewel …” Yet Isamu is also a realist, making sure no one who reads his story misunderstands where his loyalties lie. “…I realized it was wicked to suggest the Empire might ever be defeated …So allow me add …the Emperor is in my prayers …it is my fervent desire that we will prevail …” Through his eyes, the reader is drawn into the private stories of both Isamu and of Flight Lieutenant Derwood Kraft. Kraft, an American who was also marooned when the plane in which he was a passenger crashed, survives the early days only through the kindness and ministration of Isamu. As the two start to understand one another and form an unlikely friendship, based on both mutual respect and necessity, their attitudes toward “enemy combatants” start to e horror of battle and its impact on the combatants are a major theme within Isamu’s story. As he writes about the plane crash and the reason he did not react to the noise and fire, Isamu says: “…the sound of things exploding has become …a part of me …” The weariness he felt and the relief at being marooned are evident. “The truth is, I had just escaped from the war, and I had no desire to go back …” Similarly, Derwood Kraft writes “…it was my duty …to obtain myself back into the action. I suffered some misgivings about shirking this responsibility …I would create no attempt to return to the action if by doing so it would risk Isamu’s security …He was …my savior …”Both Isamu and Derwood have visions of supernatural beings, the evil Tengu and the ethereal Jikininki. As Isamu’s narrative progresses, one begins to understand the Tengu represents battle – the evisceration and mutilation of men, regardless of their loyalties. The Jikininki, beings who ate memories because they were able to form none of their own since they had never been born, represent the kids who will never exist because they were never e psychological impact of battle is evident throughout the novel. “In war, sanity is a difficult thing to keep on to …” “…It is not hard to die …[it is] hard to settle, to search a put of rest …” The internal conflict that arises when the opponent does not act as anticipated weighs heavily on those involved in the battle effort. Isamu writes, after seeing Americans displaying kindness “…I lay my head down …confused and ashamed …war is madness …I faded off …exhausted by the attempt to care …”Just as Isamu and Derwood must learn to cooperate and communicate in to survive, so must Evan and Griff lay aside their differences, learn to communicate and to understand one another. As their portions of “The Emperor of Any Place” develop, one begins to see the parallels between their story and that of Isamu and Derwood.Tim Wynne-Jones realistically captures the attitudes and mannerisms of the Japanese people and their culture. At one juncture, Oshiro is writing to his wife and says: “…I am glad you shouted at me …even if it was most impolite of you …” When he scavenges stuff from the wreckage of the American airplane and bumps the dead copilot, he apologizes, thinking. “…How grievously I was treating him …” The dead, both human and even the Tenju, a creature haunting the island, are accorded respect and a burial in accordance with cultural customs. “…we granted the monster both rites, as if he were both Eastern and Western …”“The Emperor of Any Place” is an extraordinary novel and one that is almost impossible to place aside. I will be recommending it to my Book Club and to my reading friends.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of All Maladies []  2020-1-22 19:43

    This book was outstanding, and one that should be read with care for anyone working in oncology. Although factually interested, I felt the book was slightly dry while reviewing the early history of cancer care. The change in prose was palpable as it transitioned to modern oncology, where the author gave detailed, emotional accounts of his own patient interactions. The latest 200 pages were phenomenal and often describes why I chose oncology as a profession. It gives attractive descriptions of the grit patients have to endure such debilitating disease; transcending the physical body into a higher understanding.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of All Maladies []  2020-1-22 19:43

    An informative overview of the evolution of healthcare and health research, in addition to the specific history of cancer. A captivating historical narrative. A bit too candid for someone currently undergoing cancer treatment. That individual may benefit from reading that is focused more upon the very hopeful progress that has been made, eve in the time since the book was completed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eve of the Emperor Penguin []  2020-1-23 0:23

    Highly recommended for imagination and amazing values. We love them...don't pass it up if you're a parent. Magic, magic, magic

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eve of the Emperor Penguin []  2020-1-23 0:23

    My girl loves these

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of Ocean Park []  2020-1-3 22:48

    This book is like amazing chocolate. Don't chew it up and swallow it. Savor it, allow it melt in your mind. I took a lot of little sessions to finish this book. Lots of twists and turns. The development of the characters was wonderful. The story line seemed to be beautiful easy at first and then just started to develop in so a lot of various directions. It created me stop and think. Life is not black and white, but all shades of grey. The complexity of the relationships in our own lives and families is expressed we view the past is from our own view-point. These main characters got to see the past through other's eyes. Same set of circumstances, but various view-points. Was sorry to see "the end".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of Any Place []  2020-1-11 19:29

    At the library, they a personalized reading list based upon one's favorite reads. Having loved The Book Thief, this book was suggested as a book I might enjoy. In my mind, The Book Thief sets a very high bar. Although I did not like it as well as The Book Thief, I found the main characters well developed and very engaging. I thought the story was thought provoking and compelling, portraying well, the tragedy and futility of war.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of Any Place []  2020-1-11 19:29

    Sweet, well written story, maintains interest throughout with a very satisfying conclusion. The characters became endearing and I wished the story could’ve continued.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of Any Place []  2020-1-11 19:29

    This was a phenomenal book! Wynne-Jones does an wonderful job of weaving the story of a long dead Japanese soldier into the life and imagination of a 17-year old Canadian boy who has just had his entire life rearranged when his father suddenly dies.I do not like battle books and I’m not a large WWII history fan, but I could not place this book down. The pacing and tension throughout the book had me on the edge of my seat. And I wasn’t just interested in what happened to Isamu but I became invested in Evan’s own story as well. The books moves seamlessly back and forth from show day Ontario to 1944 and a Japanese island dubbed Kokoro-Jima by the Japanese soldier who finds himself stranded e characters in this book have a depth that one doesn’t typically search in these stories. From the protagonist Evan to that long-ago soldier, Isamu Oshiro, to Evan’s retired marine grandfather, Griff, each hero had his own complex reality that created him come e book has everything a successful story has: adventure, mystery, heartbreak and resolution. I highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys a amazing read. I think it will especially resonate with tween boys, who are reluctant readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of Ocean Park []  2020-1-3 22:48

    Carter's foray into fiction is a smashing success mostly because he writes a story that can be BELIEVED even while being enjoyed. One might wonder how an intellectual like Carter, with plently of NON-fiction under his belt, would create the jump to fiction. The respond is: flawlessly. He writes with depth and hero analysis that creates a tantalizing thriller on several levels: a whodunnit (and did anyone DO it) murder mystery, a chess and map puzzle for the ages, mysterious figures surrounding a failed judicial nomination from the 80s affecting a potential judicial nomination during the story, and the paranoia and anxiety of suspicions of infidelity and a failing marriage. The narrator speaks with such passion in his bitter outlook on society (with plenty of biting yet satisfying commentary on subjects like race relations, family relations, marital relations, politics, judges,and the legal/ academic profession) that this book could have easily been a sequence of intereting essays on each - and the mystery is enhanced accordingly by these topics' inclusion in the tale. The narrator drags you down with him as he drifts deeper and deeper into a mystery that threatens his stability and his sanity. There is enough "Hollywood" action - the mandatory vehicle chases, foot races, and shootouts in the rain, etc - to hold the story exciting, yet I found the REAL action to be the mental struggles of the narrator. And I give EMPEROR high marks for putting together a "solution" to the different mysteries that give you plenty of "a-HA!" while not seeming contrived or too "perfect" - at the end of the story, the reader still has plenty left unresolved, but in a realistic method - in which Carter suggests that for a lot of life's struggles, there ARE no solutions or answers. An EXCELLENT read. I will certainly Carter's next fiction novel as soon as it comes out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of All Maladies []  2020-1-22 19:43

    I read this book after being treated with chemo, radiation and surgery for scene II breast cancer. The author's writing is luminous, passionate and powerful. What could have been a dry textbook of voluminous facts becomes an awe-inspiring journey through the history and future of cancer. The author's comprehensive knowledge and sharp intelligence create this book a riveting and compelling page-turner of mammoth scope and extraordinary detail. As a cancer survivor, I highly recommend this book to anyone touched by the disease.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Emperor of All Maladies []  2020-1-22 19:43

    I had heard that The Emperor of All Maladies – written by award-winning oncologist Siddhartha Mukherjee – is a “must-read” about cancer. I was not disappointed. The book is fascinating, examining all aspects of the disease in the framework of a broad story arc. Mukherjee did an perfect job interspersing captivating language and vignettes – such as a quote from Susan Sontag about illness being the dark side of life – with science and history on an all-important e book provides a comprehensive history of cancer, beginning from its first identification by the Greeks (as “oncos” ) to the present. The detailed descriptions of the development of chemotherapy, radiation, and surgery treatments were engrossing. I was struck by the importance of blood cancers for the development of the first chemotherapeutic agents, as well as the importance of surgeons such as William Halsted in devising different ways to remove tumors.I was interested to learn about the early work on epidemiology and prevention in relation to lung cancer. Richard Doll and Austin Bradford Hill pioneered a fresh approach to epidemiological statistics to link cigarette smoking and cancer. These researchers deserve high praise for making this critical link and changing the field of kherjee also discusses other aspects of cancer, including the development of a heavy apparatus for cancer funding with institutions such as the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and the Jimmy Fund, and how these came together successfully to raise millions of dollars to war the e only thing I felt the book was missing was a section describing how latest developments in cancer immunotherapy fit into the whole discussion. Nonetheless, I whole-heartedly recommend the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eve of the Emperor Penguin []  2020-1-23 0:23

    😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁😁

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Eve of the Emperor Penguin []  2020-1-23 0:23

    Excelente

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Eyes of Darkness []  2020-4-3 19:7

    Very gripping book that you'll not one to place down but tried and finished it income sitting. The love of a mother won't stopped at anything to look for her lost 's actually wasn't a prediction of a global danger. When he wrote the book in 1981.. plus there was no mention of the virus being Coronavirus. Just the word. WUHAN-400.. Because it was brought out from the town of Wuhan by chinese scientists defected to the US.He developed it an all was recorded in the diskettes and he brought along when he defected to the US. And then carried out the try on the group of students and 2 adults while they accidentally stumbled in .. And then carried out the try on the group of students while they were on their method to scout camp up in the High Sierra mountain area. They got abducted and created try specimens..only 1 boy.. Danny survived the try .He have psychic power.. while he was so what imprisoned by the poor guys . He tried to contact his mother using his psychic power .. telekinesis ..in her dream and weird gripping event at home, even her working place..

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Eyes of Darkness []  2020-4-3 19:7

    "The Eyes of Darkness" is a fairly well written science fiction / thriller story. It is set in Nevada in contemporary America. The language is in modern conversational [email protected]#$%!&? is of medium length. I listened to an audiobook rather than read the actual book. I was able to follow most of it although I had to re listen to parts of the story where there is a lot of describing of scenery. The narration is of professional us far I have only read three Dean Koontz novels. Those three are "Funhouse", " Whispers", and now "The Eyes of Darkness". I did not really care for either of the previous two novels. They are various than this one as they involved more savage criminality and more abject darkness. This novel is more of a science fiction / thriller novel, and although at times dark, there are also moments of lightness and some romance.I do need to mention that this novel was called to my attention at this time, due to the mention within it of a virus and a particular zone in China. I found that that is only an incremental part of this story and although a strange coincidence, not really what the story is about. I have an aversion to writing anything to spoil anyone's reading experience. I only state this in case one wishes to read this story at this time for that reason.I am only beginning to study Dean Koontz novels. This is easily my favorite thus far. I can sense his maturation as an author. Except for the purposes of comparing and contrasting, I consider the previous two that I have read to be forgettable. I am glad to have found a Dean Koontz novel that I actually liked as he was born and raised in my home state of Pennsylvania and I have fun studying authors from Pennsylvania. Thank You...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Eyes of Ara [App]  2019-5-23 13:0

    Such a polished and well thought-out android device game. A surprisingly smooth transition from PC to Android. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Eyes Of Darkness [App]  2020-3-29 14:56

    Perfect book ever.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Eyes Of Darkness [App]  2020-3-29 14:56

    Excellent,more books to read..👍👍👍

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Eyes of Darkness []  2020-4-3 19:7

    Not my normal genre but I had to read it as a effect of it being 2020 and we are the middle of the Corona virus. How did the author know?? I may be tempted to read more novels by Dean Koontz

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Eyes of Darkness []  2020-4-3 19:7

    Just to clarify, I bought this book when it came out in 1981, so I don't need to it again on Amazon.Koontz was from 2021 when he went back to 1980, then began writing this book for publishing in 1981. He seen what was going to happen next year as this virus spreads and mutates. He is trying to save mankind. If he created this book non-fiction then officials around the globe would have captured him and hidden his story. He got support from Bill, Ted, Marty, and Doc Brown (look them up, they have worked in time travel research). Here's an photo of the time machine. Hurry, this book before it's taken off the market.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Eyes Of Darkness [App]  2020-3-29 14:56

    Its very useful

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Eyes of Darkness []  2020-4-3 19:7

    The current global happenings create this book, written in 1981, paricularly disturbing and ould create us think about mankind's potential self made extinction

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Eyes of Darkness []  2020-4-3 19:7

    The Eyes of Darkness (TEOD) is a revamped ver of a much earlier book by Koontz, writing under the pseudonym Leigh Nichols, from 1981. I was still in high school and had never heard of the book, nor Leigh Nichols, nor Dean Koontz. It was 1987 when I discovered Watchers and scrambled to search anything he had written previously. Like a lot of others, I also became a fan. According to TEOD's afterward, this is the latest of five books he has reissued (writing under the Nichols' name) that has been updated and slightly edited to be more relevant in the 21st century.TEOD is an utter treat. While a few locations stumbled here and there, the narrative, protagonists, antagonists, the minor characters, settings, dialogue, were all interesting without being overly wordy. This was the Koontz I remembered from 1987 onward. Not the current dreck he seems to spit out about twice a year. I found paragraphs in TEOD that ranged from 2 sentences to a whole page, with descriptions of everything from the cold, short winter days to the smells of a small-town diner to the evergreens on a snow-capped mountaintop. You actually felt like you stepped into the globe his imagination had made for you.And while TEOD's plot involved a cold war-era meme reminiscent of the '70s and passed on into the early '80s, he was able to modernize the book to create it seem more relevant for today's times. You could feel the mother's anguish, confusion, and eventual anger: She was the Ripley from Aliens before we had a Ripley from Aliens.But don't allow the cold-war sub-plot place you off. Koontz ties up that theme where it's within one's reach of believability. Just imagine the feeling you obtain when you watch a 007 film from the early '80s and giggle over how silly those plots were (compared to the latest Bond movies with Daniel Craig). TEOD might give you that feeling of déjà vu, sans the chuckling.Even though I know how his other book, Strangers, ends as well as the underlying plot, reading TEOD created me wish to go out and search a used ver of that book, or maybe Lightning, or The Poor Place. That's the other déjà vu you get. Wow, what a amazing writer Koontz was. The latest book I read by him before TEOD was What the Night Knows: A Novel. Though not reviewed yet by me, I'd give that one 2.5 stars. It's probably one of the few books in the latest decade that I enjoyed, until it went off the rails and into the supernatural. The closest Koontz comes to the supernatural are his Odd Thomas books, a blatant knockoff of The Sixth Sense (Collector's Edition Series), in my humble opinion.I also just finished another re-issue of an earlier book, The Voice of the Night, he wrote under another pen name in 1979 that was pure simplicity and sheer joy. Like TEOD, there was no preaching, no wearing one's faith on one's sleeve, no pandering to the reader, no silly dialogue just for the sake of having dialogue. Everything had a purpose, every sentence had a meaning, every hero relatable, and when not, their actions understandable.I give TEOD 4.5 stars but Amazon doesn't do half stars for some reason. I highly recommend this book. It's a classic Koontz thriller and you won't be disappointed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Eyes Of Darkness [App]  2020-3-29 14:56

    How to I can the Original application please support me

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Eyes of Darkness []  2020-4-3 19:7

    Came across this on Fb today and I cannot wait to read this book now! How cool is it that he even got the city!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Eyes of Darkness []  2020-4-3 19:7

    So riveting can place it down when you begin reading. It is about mummy's love for her son. Chapter 39 is so prophetic I really can't believe it. The author must have a vision for the future, it can't be coincidental!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Eyes of Darkness []  2020-4-3 19:7

    I thought I had read everything Dean Koontz had written. Having just finished reading his recent release in The Jane Hawke series and having searched through my Kindle library to choose a book to re-read and realized I'd read everything written by Dean Koontz at least twice I decided to go to the Kindle shop on the off possibility I'd search something new. I found this title. The Eyes of Darkness had me from page one. I was not disappointed. My only want is that there was indeed a method to obtain this author's books from page to screen with his stories intact and real to his intentions. I can't pretend to understand the wonderful agony Mr Koontz endured trying to obtain this story from page to screen. But I do understand the frustration he endured. Hold writing Mr Koontz! You are an awesome author!!!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386