Read fantastical reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all fantastical reviews below or publish your opinion.

40 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fantastical []  2020-1-14 19:20

    I'm giving this one 3.5 stars. It was amazing but I expected more. I thoroughly enjoyed books 1 & 2 but this one left me lacking in some aspects.Unfortunately, I was not a large fan of the hero's initially treatment until almost the end of the book. His treatment of her was appalling so a lot of cases and her inability to stop her emotiins from runnung ramling and of course fall for a guy, even his hurtful treatment rubbed me the wrong way.I did have fun the heroines no holds barrel on life, her inability to sit still, or allow the hero's verbal beat down stop her from being her. The character seem to have fun the android game that her believed she was playing and of course it was odd for someone who disliked someone so much to stop at nothing to protect her, this helped to add a bit of positivity to his character, and yet the character was so wrapped in past hurts to see what was before him almost the end of the is book is making me feel a slight dread at attempting to read the next book in the series. This alone should present how much this book was a place off for me. Yes, I enjoyed it, but it I will not read this again, once was more than enough for this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fantastical []  2020-1-14 19:20

    Fantastical was another amazing adventure in the Fantasyland ra Goode is a amazing e finds herself in a strange world. Unlike Finnie and much like Circe, changing worlds was not her idea. She is enthralled by the fresh globe but has problem adjusting, which is ra realizes she has switched placed with a not so nice person, who treated those around her and who is married to a Prince. A prince who despises her.But that, gradually, changes.Her prince, Tor is [email protected]#$%, at first. He doesn’t Believe Cora or her outlandish stories.But he soon sees she is various than the woman he married.He might not trust her, but he begins to have fun e beginning of the book was all over the place, but soon things settled, Tor and Cora found their rhythm, the fought all the time but it was mostly ra, like all the heroines in the series, took to the fresh world, strange customs and magnificent ra was a Princess but an simple going one, who got to know the people her husband would one day rule, who won over his servants and loyal man.I enjoyed seeing Tor transformed to Cora's globe and his adjustment process. I always wondered what an alpha male from another world, who is used to a position of power, would do faced with the dame circumstances Circe, Finnie and Cora faced, and in Fantastical I got my [email protected]#$%! was entertaining watching Cora and Tor interact in her world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fantastical []  2020-1-14 19:20

    So glad I finally picked this one up!I think I liked Golden Dynasty a bit more but Fantastical was great. It had a small of everything; princes, princesses, magical spells, whimsical kingdoms, an evil sorceress, an age-old curse & a parallel universe. Not to mention the breath-stealing kisses & heart-stopping romance. *le sigh*Yeah, Tor was an a** in the beginning; what with being rough with her & the method he talked about her behind her back but... I couldn't blame him for the talking behind her back part. Who wouldn't have questioned the whole parallel universe thing? But the method he always protected her, the method he danced to Dave Matthews with her, the moment he realized her soul was the other half of his... Totally a was sweet, albeit a tad cooky but that was a part of her charm. I loved her spirit, how she continuously created the best out of what she was given & how she wasn't a runner kind of heroine. She & Tor had fab chemistry together!The only thing that really bugged me were the overly descriptive passages but... once again, that's par for the course with this author. Fortunately, those passages were simple to skim.Looking forward to reading more books in this series. Think I'll begin by backtracking & finally tackling Wildest Dreams. :)

    0  


    Add your opinion on fantastical or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fantastical []  2020-1-14 19:20

    I swear that no one but Kristen Ashley can create me fall head over heels for every man that she writes. It just isn't possible for anyone else to do. And I really thought it was going to be a challenge for her with this series. I could not have been more wrong. This series is the one that I honestly felt I would have no interest in, because I had never before had the urge to read of other realms, elves, dragons and witches. But this is KA- I should have known better than to doubt the Queen. If anyone can create me wish to devour a book of this kind- it is this woman!!That said, Tor Hawthorne has been the hardest for me to like so far of the series. Yep, I said it. I actually had problems with one of KA's men. How can that be possible, you say? Well, because from the beginning of the book- Tor treated Cora worse than a bug on the bottom of his shoe. He was blinded by his hate for his "other" Cora, so much so, that he refused to see that this Cora was absolutely nothing like the last, and could no method be of his world. He refused to even entertain the chance that magic could be at play, even as he knew that it existed in his world, and that it surrounded him daily. So, he treated Cora like dirt. He was cruel to her, he was physical with her, and even relished in the times that he created her cry, even when deep down- I think he knew it was wrong. He only thought she was playing a android game with him, in to please herself, and accomplish her own selfish goals. And that, well that damage my heart. I couldn't stand to see one of KA's men be cruel to the woman that I knew he would grow to love, to cherish, and to ultimately vow to give everything for.If there was ever a man that had some 'splainin to do- it was Tor. He had so much to redeem himself for- he may as well have decided to create himself a permanent statue on his knees at the alter of Cora.But Cora, in all of her gracious beauty and kindness, could not create him suffer as he should've. She opened her heart, not only to Tor, but to his globe and his people- even if they refused to do so to her, as the "other" Cora has treated them no better than Tor had treated her. So, not only did Cora have to teach Tor how to learn to love her- not the former evil Cora, but she had to teach an entire kingdom to as well. Luckily, she was one of the most determined heroines that KA has ever written. And for that, I loved her. She is definitely one of my all time favorites. I think I cried every time that she did, and my heart damage as much as hers every time that Tor was a jerk, or they were ripped apart, as well I rejoiced when he finally redeemed himself (in a freaking HUGE way), and when they were ultimately is series, as much as I originally thought it bizarre, is now one of my faves of Kristen Ashley's as it is so unique, so unreal- yet genuine, and so damn beautiful. I am now doing re-reads, just to obtain ready for Midnight Soul- something that I CANNOT flipping wait for!! So, next up for me, a re-visit with the luscious Apollo and Ilsa, and then on to Noc-- yippee!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fantastical []  2020-1-14 19:20

    I have read the first three books in this series, and this was beautiful good. (GOLDEN DYNASTY is the best.) FANTASTICAL is a bit more complicated than a typical Kristen Ashley book. In this case it seems to be due to setting up future books in the aracters, plot, romance, and style are all typical for this r me, Kristen Ashley's best books are KNIGHT and GOLDEN DYNASTY, and those were three stars. Unfortunately, I have never rated an Ashley book higher (although I like her stories) because the punctuation, dialogue, grammar, and wrong words knock me out of the story constantly. Examples in this book contain 'tracks' when she means 'tracts', 'tanner' should be written as 'more tan', and the typical horrendous punctuation.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fantastical []  2020-1-14 19:20

    This book is most definitely my favorite of the series so far. Tor is going into my top BBF's of 2018. Yes, I know he was written earlier than the current year but that is when I read him.I'm typical fashion, this author continues to weave this awesome globe in such a method that it astonished me. I can only imagine this is what people felt like when they saw Technicolor the very first is story had a more fairytale feel to it than the others. I kept getting small photos of Snow White, Cinderella, and Sleeping Beauty in how certain things were described. I loved Cora in this book. She was a fictional People's Princess. I really liked the concept of sharing a soul and the curse.I really appreciate the author tying in the other characters and bringing them all together. It raised a lot of questions that I hope will be answered in the next book.Hands down one of the best I have read this year and this entire series is going into the all-time favorites vault.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fantastical []  2020-1-14 19:20

    While each of these books are standalones, they happen in the same parallel universe and consist of the same characters. There is a huge happening that is coming and each book is leading up to that event. So although you could read this book alone, it would best be enjoyed by starting at the beginning. Besides, the first two books in this series are amazing so no reason not to have fun them ra had no idea a parallel universe existed until she woke up in a strange attractive globe and assumed she was dreaming. That didn’t latest long however, because her actions caused the begin of a centuries old curse. Tor may have saved her, but she discovered that he was her husband in this globe and he absolutely despised her. She quickly learned the Cora of this globe was a b$&#h to everyone she met, was selfish and widely disliked.I loved Tor. Although he was cold to Cora at first, you soon learn the reasons why, and it became obvious he had been damage terribly by the other globe Cora. He’s gorgeous and protective and underneath it all, the man is gentle, sweet and tender. Cora is adorable. She’s friendly and is deeply damage by the reaction she receives from everyone. She learns quickly that looking like the other Cora has it’s drawbacks. But Cora is attractive and she is strong, and she is determined not to give up.I’ve fallen in love with this alternate universe and the people there. I cannot wait to begin the next book to see what happens next.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fantastical []  2020-1-14 19:20

    I got some true Sleeping Beauty/Disney princess vibes from this one but tailored for a more, eh, mature audience. Lol. Cora wakes up in a real fairytale land full of bright color, sweet talking birds, and a handsome prince sworn to protect her, but it all comes crashing down as she unwittingly unleashes a cataclysmic curse leading to the kidnapping of her sister, the evil cackling of a strong witch, and a prince who wants nothing to do with her. All of this is created worse by the fact that Cora is not in fact the cold-hearted, lazy, manipulative girl they think she is, in fact she's an innocent snatched out of her globe and dropped into one that makes her eyes wide as she takes in the enchanting beauty around her even while the people in her path create her gnash her teeth angrily at the injustice of being treated as someone she isn't. But how can she convince them she's a doppelgänger from another globe and innocent of the other Cora's crimes?Honestly if you've been enjoying this series so far then you'll love this book too. Not as violent and rough to read as book 2/The Golden Dynasty (for those of you who did not have fun that one) but still just as swoony as the others while following the enemies-to-lovers theme. This one though has the of witnessing a fairytale prince having to absorb our globe for a time and that was just as much fun to read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fantastical []  2020-1-14 19:20

    I really enjoyed book 3 of the Fantasyland series. Tor and Cora were both really likeable and I was quickly invested in both of them and their story. Once I started Fantastical, I couldn't place it down and ended up reading it in one day. It wasn't my favorite of the series but well worth the read. It's probably my 3rd favorite, with Book 1 my absolute favorite. It was amazing to see a brief glimpse of the main characters from the first two books. I'm super anxious to see what happens next. The largest allow down for me is that the end beautiful much leaves us hanging for what happens next for all of them with the fresh drama that came about in the epilogue. I just love this series and these characters so much, I need everything for all of their futures.Overall, I give Fantastical 4-4.5 stars. Probably only because books 1 and 2 blew it out of the water and were easily 5+ star books and this one just didn't achieve that level of rocking my world.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fantastical []  2020-1-14 19:20

    ❝You're the other half to my soul,❞I blinked before I whispered, ❝What?❞❝You heard me.❞Kristin Ashley sure has set the bar high! With each book I read in The Fantasyland series, I realize I may never take a possibility at fantasy/PNR again. I have LOVED each book in this series. And that surprises me each time I finish a book from the series. I have tried others, but none have intrigued me. I have not finished any of them, until tastical is the third book in the Fantasyland Series. As with the others in the series, this with a heroine who awakens in an alternate universe.When Cora Goode awakens in a put where animals speak and the globe is vibrant and full of color, she knows things are not good. Then her "sister" Rosa is taken by Minerva and all she wants to do is awaken from the poor dream. Only this isn't a dream and everyone blames her for the situation. Her "twin" in this parallel universe is awful, mean, rude and cunning, and out for only herself. No one likes her, including her "soul mate" and husband, Noctorno (Tor) Hawthorne. To create matters worse, everyone believes she is the "bad" Cora and hates her. Including the man she is said to be married to, the black e tried to convince him that she was not of this world, was not the Cora he was married to. But Tor didn't believe her. He was convinced it was another android game Cora was playing. However in the process of trying to convince him, Cora falls in love.❝I was falling for a black prince who conquered lands, took care of his people, gave in when I wanted to save a little bird and took time to present me his world.❞I believe Tor was falling for her, too. He was just confused. (I have to believe this otherwise, his antics would thoroughly @#$% me off. And I loved him, so that would be sad!) There were times when he acted like he loved her, when he acted like he believed her and then others when he stated she couldn't fool him and he would not be played.When the two souls meet, the love was undeniable and undeniably hot! Kristin Ashley knows how to write those scenes, you know which ones I'm talking about. The ones that obtain you as hot and bothered as her characters? yeah. I thought so.❝I'm about to F my wife and the only words I wish her saying when I do it are 'yes', 'Tor', 'my prince', 'baby', and 'oh my God'. Am I understood?❞She always writes kick-butt, powerful female characters, and sexy as heck heroes. And I eat it up like caramels! (Because those are my favorite candies.)I'm off to read the next book, and all about the mysterious, heartbroken Appolo, in Broken Dove.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Journey: My Fantastical Walt Disney Imagineering Career []  2020-4-5 18:39

    Could have been a amazing book, but instead it's something that could have been written by the PR department at Disney. How about some insights into the not so amazing times, Kevin? You say next to nothing about Bob Iger, and what about Paul Pressler? What did Save Disney have to do with Vehicles Land? There could have been A LOT more insight. I expected more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Journey: My Fantastical Walt Disney Imagineering Career []  2020-4-5 18:39

    Best Imagineering book ever written! Such clever, fun writing and so a lot of real stories that I have never read before. It is nice to read about the career of an artist that is still alive to tell his own adventures! I can easily see how this man, with his amazing story telling talent, was such a amazing Disney Imagineer!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Journey: My Fantastical Walt Disney Imagineering Career []  2020-4-5 18:39

    Super storyteller chronicles his career with Walt Disney Imagineering. What more could you ask for? Anyone remotely interested in theme parks and the art of storytelling should pick up Rafferty’s book. It’s full of laughs and groans (for amazing reason - it’s got puns galore!). There aren’t really any autobiographies of Imagineers. Hopefully this is a sign of more to come!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Journey: My Fantastical Walt Disney Imagineering Career []  2020-4-5 18:39

    This is an awesome book. It’s not just a bunch of fast stories but an in depth review of this awesome man’s journey and experiences. Nothing is held back. If you’re looking for an honest and heart felt review of an Imagineer’s life and career, this is the book for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Journey: My Fantastical Walt Disney Imagineering Career []  2020-4-5 18:39

    One of the best reads! Could not place this book down, Kevin did an wonderful job giving insights and those popular Imagineer stories. Can’t wait to read it again! Don’t hesitate to this if you’re even remotely a fan of Disney. Heck, even if you’re not, you’ll soon become one!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Journey: My Fantastical Walt Disney Imagineering Career []  2020-4-5 18:39

    A simply brilliant book detailing Kevin's journey from bottom of the latter in Disneyland to becoming one of the most influential imagineers in Disney parks' history. Kevin does a amazing job telling his stories, most people probably never heard of before, and the tone feels very conversational. Surprisingly, the design of the book is really beautiful to look at as well as you read, with neat pictures and illustrations. Highly recommend checking out this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Journey: My Fantastical Walt Disney Imagineering Career []  2020-4-5 18:39

    I intuitively and logically understand that working at Walt Disney Globe is outside the destiny/life purpose career cards for me. However, I am at times drawn to looking at stories related to this because I frequently search it inspiring when I search stories of people who have worked particular careers for a long period of time especially because I admit to having an interest in gathering info/details about other people who have had careers of longevity (working at a particular career for 20 to 40 years) andor having some type of job security are some of the multiple locations that draw my interest. I luckily had the privilege to pre-order this kindlebook that is Magic Journey My Fantastical Walt Disney Imagineering Career by Kevin Rafferty on August 31, 2019. An necessary beginning history info on the author from one of the author’s family members, Kevin Rafferty contains how his first job was selected to be a d.m.o, his experience of being professionally exposed and inspired from the multiple specialists in his career who often utilized creativity in their roles, the author’s connection with Marty Sklar, the circumstances that led to the author’s transition into Imagineering, the author’s work with Toy Story Midway Mania and Vehicles Land, and much more.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Journey: My Fantastical Walt Disney Imagineering Career []  2020-4-5 18:39

    Being a retired industrial designer with 37 years of experience I can really appreciate the story of Kevin’s career as an imagineer. To a huge degree I can relate to it, but mostly it almost makes me feel that if I had it all to do over, I want I would have thought about Disney as a possible career. (Not that I would have possibly been hired). Ever since I took my Grandson to Disney Globe in the fall of 2019 I have been reading everything I can about Disney. I was blown away with the detail everywhere I looked. This book helps me to better understand the people who were responsible for the excitement I felt while there. Even as a 66 year old, I was as giddy as a 7 year old. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was a various perspective than just studying Walt Disney and I liked that. I also found it to be very inspiring to do the best you can at whatever you do. Maybe that’s why I hold dreaming and creating things even as a retiree. Thanks Kevin for a unbelievable look in to your globe and the globe behind the curtain at Disney.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Journey: My Fantastical Walt Disney Imagineering Career []  2020-4-5 18:39

    I decided to add a few comments for the benefit of those who like myself, collect books. You will be sad if you miss the opportunity to acquire a spectacular volume while available as a 1st/1st! After completing it I will add a more in-depth review.I was initially struck by how this book was place together. I opened it and quickly discovered that it wasn't your average release. It is obviously place together by an author that wants you to immediately be aware of the pride he holds in relating his story. The boards are printed in full-color and designed with the flair, skill and artistry one would expect from an imagineer. I opened the volume and every single page was printed in full-color on an extremely smooth, high quality paper stock. The "frease" on each page was "tipped" carrying over the design of the art used on it's page dividers! Every attractive image was printed with an obvious detail not often found in books of this size. And while I am on that topic, when was the latest time you felt the pleasure of holding a book in your own two hands (not an art book or large coffee-table creation) and still felt that joy of turning each page and understanding from the onset, that it was a labor of love? The color separations on each photograph are perfect. Clearly made by someone exhibiting such attention to detail they surely must be an Imagineer! I have a hunch that this author will forever consider himself an Imagineer FIRST and then perhaps retired! There is also a tremendous amount of info in it's compact 304 pages. It is so well done that I had no difficulty reading it, even though the type is slightly smaller than most. For the record, the effort place into this book by the production squad involved in producing Mr. Rafferty's fine book, makes it worth a $50 book which I would have gladly forked over as a collector... but I am glad that we we're only asked to the list of $24.99!As I said, I'll add a more detailed review on the story in a couple of days as I'm behind in my reading with two books ahead on my wait-list. I rarely have said this, in fact it's been years, take a risk and add this book to your collection. I feel confident that at the very least you will keep it in your own two hands and remember fondly of why you still printed books! It was that joy of reading a printed volume and once again feeling assured that in our digital age there will indeed be a put for the artistry of creating and publishing a quality book! Pick one up!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Magic Journey: My Fantastical Walt Disney Imagineering Career []  2020-4-5 18:39

    The American Dream is actually for anyone to pursue and realize. I got this book for my very creative daughter who actually being inspired, for her very first job, decided to seek employment with a special live action Old English public attraction venue. She quickly moved up from a seamstress to a complex costume designer and was asked to even be an actor.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sweet Shoppe Coloring Book: A Fantastical and Splendid Display of Divine Confectionary Creation and Exquisite Candied Delights []  2020-7-2 19:0

    Very old fashioned, kinda clip art collage style coloring book, on quality paper, bound across the top, so, amazing for lefties too~The paper is slightly creamy colored, thick (not floppy thin, not cardstock thick), amazing for all mediums. The photos are amazing for beginners all the method to advanced. There are 41 full page 's a quality coloring book, priced right for what's in it. Definitely bonus worthy!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sweet Shoppe Coloring Book: A Fantastical and Splendid Display of Divine Confectionary Creation and Exquisite Candied Delights []  2020-7-2 19:0

    The idea of this coloring book is great, but almost all of the photos were method to dark and created it difficult to color. For the I had hoped for better images.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sweet Shoppe Coloring Book: A Fantastical and Splendid Display of Divine Confectionary Creation and Exquisite Candied Delights []  2020-7-2 19:0

    I like it but a small too much black love the nostalgia

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sweet Shoppe Coloring Book: A Fantastical and Splendid Display of Divine Confectionary Creation and Exquisite Candied Delights []  2020-7-2 19:0

    I love this book. I have the collection. I like that I can add any easy medium or just water color markers to every picture and they turn out beautifully. I am however, disappointed that it seems Amazon has become careless about how the ship my coloring books and alot of them are coming in damaged and this attractive book is banged up beautiful good. It came in wrapped in a brown paper bag that had torn begin along the method and all its corners bent and folded from lots of shuffling. It saddens me people dont take more pride in their product. Especially now when I cant obtain out to return due to restrictions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sweet Shoppe Coloring Book: A Fantastical and Splendid Display of Divine Confectionary Creation and Exquisite Candied Delights []  2020-7-2 19:0

    I love detailed coloring books ... I have more than a hundred. I was SO EXCITED about this book, but the illustrations are overly shadowed; which makes coloring very difficult. Lots of dark shading included in most or all illustrations. Do not recommend for casual coloring, but paper is durable enough to withstand paint.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sweet Shoppe Coloring Book: A Fantastical and Splendid Display of Divine Confectionary Creation and Exquisite Candied Delights []  2020-7-2 19:0

    That Book is absolutely Gorgeous, theirs lot of unbelievable old elements on this book and the candies on the Glass Jars well just love to colourful on that Fabulous book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sweet Shoppe Coloring Book: A Fantastical and Splendid Display of Divine Confectionary Creation and Exquisite Candied Delights []  2020-7-2 19:0

    The drawings have thick black lines and are inked heavily. I tried guessing at what some of the sweets were too because there is clutter with lots of images. There are some pages I will have fun coloring though, and the pages have the photo on one side, and the paper is nice for pencils and markers if you place a paper in between the pages. I left a colourful page I did with Prismacolor Premiere colourful pencils.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sweet Shoppe Coloring Book: A Fantastical and Splendid Display of Divine Confectionary Creation and Exquisite Candied Delights []  2020-7-2 19:0

    This book has some really cute photos to color. My only want is that there were less black ink on each page... meaning there are too a lot of filled in spaces. It's a bit hard to with when coloring with colourful pencils and the overall look is just a bit too massive with all that black.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sweet Shoppe Coloring Book: A Fantastical and Splendid Display of Divine Confectionary Creation and Exquisite Candied Delights []  2020-7-2 19:0

    This color book has such nice detail, almost afraid to color it. One picture per side, not perforated. Paper good, I like gel pens & they don't bleed thru. Did the Curiosity Shoppe of this series.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Sweet Shoppe Coloring Book: A Fantastical and Splendid Display of Divine Confectionary Creation and Exquisite Candied Delights []  2020-7-2 19:0

    This is simply one of the worst coloring books I have ever had. The black shadowing is so thick that it takes over the pictures. The pictures would be amazing if it could be cleaned up of all the messy shadowing. Very disappointed and I will not anything from this publisher or illustrator again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Boom Town: The Fantastical Saga of Oklahoma City, Its Chaotic Founding... Its Purloined Basketball Team, and the Dream of Becoming a World-class Metropolis []  2020-1-7 19:1

    I would love to tell all that I loved about "Boom Town" but there is probably just too much. I would love to contact Sam Anderson to allow him know how much I loved his book, but I don't know how. I would love to go back and read this book for the first time again, but that isn't likely possible. All I can do is to allow anyone who wants to know that I absolutely loved this was a delight to read. The author writes non fiction with a gifted storytellers voice. The sports history genre now has one of its finest entries of the past decade Is this book sports history? I think this book can safely be listed as sports history. As well as Modern history, Oklahoma history, any number of categories can (and should) war for this books membership.I read a lot of non fiction, and my hat is off to Mr. Anderson for his incredibly interesting, emotionally touching, quite informative, and superbly readable book. My hope is that a lot of read this and that Sam is at work on another book. Whatever he writes next is something that I will eagerly anticipate.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Boom Town: The Fantastical Saga of Oklahoma City, Its Chaotic Founding... Its Purloined Basketball Team, and the Dream of Becoming a World-class Metropolis []  2020-1-7 19:1

    I can't explain how it feels to have a globe class writer contextualize your entire childhood for you, but Mr. Anderson does it. How awesome to see my home city through the eyes of a benevolent outsider -- someone who honestly sees more color and hero in Oklahoma Town than I did before I read the book. If you don't happen to come from Oklahoma Town and, instead, are one of the a lot of people I've met in my life whose relationship to Oklahoma Town is "Yeah, I drove through there once", then consider this book the reading equivalent of stopping for gas and discovering a secret Disneyland out behind the truck so, there's a lot of basketball.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Boom Town: The Fantastical Saga of Oklahoma City, Its Chaotic Founding... Its Purloined Basketball Team, and the Dream of Becoming a World-class Metropolis []  2020-1-7 19:1

    Quick: what do you know about Oklahoma City? Chances are, if you're over the age of forty, you'll mention Timothy McVeigh and the destruction in 1995 of the Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building. One hundred sixty-eight people died then, and more than 500 were injured, in our country's largest-ever attack by domestic terrorists. Of course, if you're a sports fan, you may mention the Oklahoma Town Thunder, a professional basketball squad that has been frequently a contender but never a winner since the squad moved there from Seattle in 2008. However, there's a lot more to the place. A lot more. And journalist Sam Anderson spills it all out for all to see in his delightful acc of the city's history, Boom Town. In this amusing tale of a single mid-sized city, the real reality of America is revealed in all its erica revealed in a single quirky cityAnderson tells the story of this quirky mid-American town in breezy, conversational language. You can imagine him talking to you, often with a smile (or even a grin) on his face. From the city's founding in the Land Run of 1889, through the lean years that followed, the booms and busts, the boosterism, the racial conflicts and corporate dominance, to the machinations that led the town to acquire an NBA team, Anderson brings the story into the present. Along the way, he paints a picture that can stand for America itself: the theft of Indian lands, the oil boom, the KKK and a race riot, the NAACP and the Civil Rights Movement, urban renewal, the all-powerful Chamber of Commerce, and the obsession with professional sports."One of the amazing weirdo cities of the world"I live in a city that's sometimes called Berzerkeley. But our madness pales beside the utter strangeness of Oklahoma Town as Sam Anderson describes it. As he notes in the Prologue, "I have come to believe, after my time there, that Oklahoma Town is one of the amazing weirdo cities of the world—as strange, in its way, as Venice or Dubai or Versailles or Pyongyang." In Boom Town, he follows a handful of remarkable individuals who have left their imprint on the place.** There's Angelo Scott, the lawyer who brought sanity and stability to the fledgling community.** Stanley Draper, the official with the Chamber of Commerce who dominated the city's governance for four decades.** Newspaper publisher Roscoe Dunjee and activist Clara Luper, whose decades of aggressive efforts finally succeeded in integrating the town's businesses.** The outrageously flamboyant rock star Wayne Coyne, leader of the Flaming Lips.** Legendary author Ralph Ellison, who was born and raised (some of the time) in Oklahoma City.** Gary England, a beloved tv meteorologist who pioneered in investigating and reporting on the tornadoes and saved countless lives from the storms.** Basketball superstars Kevin Durant, Russell Westbrook, and James Harden, whose spats and squabbles, ups and downs, kept sportswriters busy for e limitations of so-called "conservative" governmentIf there are lessons to be learned from Boom Town, one is political. Because Anderson vividly illustrates the limitations of so-called "conservative" government. "It would be hard to search a put more dependent on the federal government," Anderson writes, "—a town that was created, on someone else's land, by federal fiat and then bailed out and subsidized more or less constantly to ensure its survival and flourishing. The U.S. government had saved the people of Oklahoma Town from starvation and bank failures. Even the renegade capitalists of the oil and gas industry, the source of the modern city's booms and busts, prospered largely through the generosity of large federal tax breaks." And that is one of the most obvious truths about America revealed in this account.Oklahoma Town today is ranked the twenty-seventh biggest town in the US by population, with an estimated 650,000 people. It's about the same size as Portland, Memphis, and Las Vegas. (But, given its zone in a sparsely populated region, it's only forty-first with 1.4 million people, in terms of its Metropolitan Statistical Area.)About the authorSam Anderson is a staff writer for the Fresh York Times Magazine. Previously, he was a book critic for Fresh York magazine, where he received an award from the National Book Critics Circle. Boom City is his first book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Boom Town: The Fantastical Saga of Oklahoma City, Its Chaotic Founding... Its Purloined Basketball Team, and the Dream of Becoming a World-class Metropolis []  2020-1-7 19:1

    Most importantly Sam Anderson is a amazing storyteller. I think he could create writing about the tax code fascinating. Like every other reviewer, I grew up in OKC. I lived through the Boom and Bust times of the 70's and 80's. Never did see a tornado however the stories of Gary England brought back memories. As a kid, I remember dreading Spring and the "green skies". For that reason, I watched Fred Norman (he was more optimistic in his forecast).The premise of bringing together Oklahoma history and the NBA Thunder seemed trite however Mr. Anderson created it work. I still enjoyed the history more than the basketball and I thought he should have spent more time talking about the MAPs program. Hard to believe a government program that is for prior to initiation and resuscitated an entire metroplex. In this era of ever-increasing government debt, I thought the program deserved more attention.Overall amazing job Sam.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Boom Town: The Fantastical Saga of Oklahoma City, Its Chaotic Founding... Its Purloined Basketball Team, and the Dream of Becoming a World-class Metropolis []  2020-1-7 19:1

    This book is really amazing on at least three levels. The narrative alternates between basketball and Oklahoma Town history. This works well because OKC history is very strange and surprising, and the basketball squad is also unique, and they intertwine for a very amazing story. Secondly, the author gets inside the heads of Durant, Westbrook, and Hardin, and describes key android games in a method that created me realize that I have seen, but not understood, what was event on the court. Thirdly, the author weaves a very first-hand narrative about OKC famous culture, characters in town government, and native son musician Wayne Coyne. Anderson’s style is clever and funny, and I found myself sharing quotes with friends. Anderson actually spent a lot of time living in, observing, and researching OKC. He probably knows the town better than long-time residents.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Boom Town: The Fantastical Saga of Oklahoma City, Its Chaotic Founding... Its Purloined Basketball Team, and the Dream of Becoming a World-class Metropolis []  2020-1-7 19:1

    As an Oklahoma native and lifelong sports fan, I eagerly anticipated the release of this book and devoured it on my first break from my grad school studies. The book itself is excellent, and it's equal parts fascinating and horrifying. It's well-written, even when the tone borders on sardonic, and the author is special in that he is an outsider writing about OK history. Being kind of a nerd, I've read a lot of books on the history of Oklahoma City, all of which were written by sentimental, proud Oklahomans. These authors--knowingly or unknowingly--may have glossed over some of the more unsavory aspects of Oklahoma's backstory, and I can't really blame them. This is more like looking at a magnification mirror under fluorescent lighting. From the author's detailed accounts of Wayne Coyne being Wayne Coyne to the flip headline employed by The Oklahoman to describe a Ku Klux Klan rally and parade in 1923, Anderson's history is an unflinching look at a flawed but proud city. A worthy read, but some Oklahomans will have a difficult time digesting it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Boom Town: The Fantastical Saga of Oklahoma City, Its Chaotic Founding... Its Purloined Basketball Team, and the Dream of Becoming a World-class Metropolis []  2020-1-7 19:1

    It's been awhile since I've read in book in almost one sitting. Boom City was hard to place down, it took me two days!Anderson starts off with the story of the assassin of the assassin of Jesse James – Red Kelley and jumps almost immediately into the saga of the Beard. The book takes lots of turns and twists with flashbacks to the early days of the land run and statehood, as well as the declines, booms and folly of the government. But woven throughout is the life cycle of the Thunder, mentioning things as fans we've never known about and a glimpse of the thinking of the powers that be. It was a fascinating read for me, a person who has never quite felt like I belonged here. I'm still not sure if I do – but now I can pinpoint some of the reasons s that are familiar to all who lived here come alive as the history lesson unfolds in method that you won't read in typical history ara Luper comes alive with the sadness of the race problems that plagued and still plague this state and will haunt me for a long time. In another part of the story is Wayne Coyne, you know the Flaming Lips guy. Again, another enlightenment as I never understood how he fit in and wound up being so necessary to the city. Meanwhile the description of one of architects of the city, Angelo Scott, sounds like he could have been an ancestor of Sam e parts that surprised me the most was the emotions I felt at retelling of the bombing and preceding days of McVeigh. Next, the descriptions of the popular tornadoes that hit in the town in 1999 and 2013. It created me feel physically ill as they came alive through another's eyes and from the point of view of Gary England. I was never a large fan of his before, that changed and the story just reiterated my feelings for David Payne. Not amazing ones.And when the author starts retelling the life cycle of the Thunder seasons, when they were hit with injuries, the trades and treason, I had to place the book down., even though I knew what was going to happen. As an outsider I also felt a bit vindicated for some of the feelings I've had over the years. Yes, finally someone else saw what I saw watching from e book finally ends on September 29, 2017, another boom day for Oklahoma.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Boom Town: The Fantastical Saga of Oklahoma City, Its Chaotic Founding... Its Purloined Basketball Team, and the Dream of Becoming a World-class Metropolis []  2020-1-7 19:1

    As a native Oklahoman who travels thru OKC more than to it, I thought I knew quite a bit about the place. This book created me realize that I knew almost nothing. I'm not a huge sports fan, but of course I got interested in the Thunder when they almost won the championship. Those chapters (about the Thunder) support tie the book together, but it was the other chapters that I found the most entertaining -- from Wayne Coyne to Gary England and everyone in between. And so much history, presented in a method that makes it totally interesting. I'm planning to give copies to my mates for Christmas!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Boom Town: The Fantastical Saga of Oklahoma City, Its Chaotic Founding... Its Purloined Basketball Team, and the Dream of Becoming a World-class Metropolis []  2020-1-7 19:1

    Before reading, I thought this book would be a condescending piece by a snobbish Fresh York writer, but I was very wrong. The book is a labor of love by Sam Anderson. He is a tremendous writer, causing me to laugh out loud at several points, especially his recounting the dedication of Flaming Lips Alley. The objects of our love, though imperfect, still attract us. This book should be needed reading for anyone with even a tangential interest in Oklahoma City. As a genre, it presents the same insights as "The Nine Nations of North America", by Joel Garreau, except "Boomtown" looks at a single location. "Boomtown" is a significant book, well researched, well edited, and well written. I heartily recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Boom Town: The Fantastical Saga of Oklahoma City, Its Chaotic Founding... Its Purloined Basketball Team, and the Dream of Becoming a World-class Metropolis []  2020-1-7 19:1

    Basketball and Flaming Lips dominate this book. There is some interesting historical commentary, especially the all too brief section on Clara Luper. Chapters on Thunder Basketball and the Flaming Lips headman dominate, however. This isn't so much a book about Oklahoma Town as it is a book about basketball and an inconsequential rock band. Fabulous intro, though!

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386