Read far away in another town reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all far away in another town reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to purchase lasix in Charlotte [purchase lasix cheap]  2020-9-14 2:9
    [email protected]

    where to lasix in Omaha online can u lasix over the counter top 11 best locations to lasix in Canada cost of lasix for dogs get lasix prescription how to lasix in Omaha cheap lasix in Fresno lasix dosage purchase lasix from Austin

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best price for lasix in Albuquerque [where to buy lasix in UK online]  2020-9-17 13:34
    [email protected]

    best for lasix in Poland top 5 best locations to lasix in United States where to generic lasix where to lasix in Japan top 9 best locations to lasix in Israel buy lasix online with prescription lasix online pharmacy in Oklahoma cheap lasix in Indianapolis buy lasix in Portland

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Oakland online [how to buy lasix in Puerto Rico]  2020-9-17 7:28
    [email protected]

    lasix online from Seattle buy lasix online from UK how to lasix in Portland lasix from Los Angeles lasix buy lasix online from San Diego where to lasix in Kansas online buy lasix in Sweden lasix online pharmacy in United States

    0  


    Add your opinion on far away in another town or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Albuquerque online [best price for lasix in Netherlands]  2020-9-13 17:18
    [email protected]

    cost of lasix lasix online canada lasix in Omaha where to lasix in Austria where to lasix in Detroit where to lasix in Memphis price lasix purchase lasix from Fresh York where to lasix in El Paso

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    my case in gov search [broward county civil case search]  2020-9-3 1:23
    [email protected]

    see post miami dade criminal case find brazoria county case find website here her comment is here search more his comment is here kcoj case find

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    top 7 best places to buy lasix in Finland [buy lasix in Toledo]  2020-9-14 1:27
    [email protected]

    lasix from Omaha lasix how much where to lasix in St Louis lasix online pharmacy in San Jose buy lasix online from El Paso how to lasix lasix online in india

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Czech Republic online [how to buy lasix in Italy]  2020-9-13 21:51
    [email protected]

    how to lasix cheap lasix in Hong Kong discount brand name lasix where to lasix in France lasix online india lasix per pill where to lasix in Buffalo where to lasix in Columbus

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    how to buy lasix in Chicago [lasix rx in canada]  2020-9-17 5:31
    [email protected]

    who can lasix buying lasix in canada how to lasix in Norway best for lasix in Long Beach where to lasix in Washington how can i lasix best method to search lasix in Czech Republic where is better to lasix cheap lasix in Singapore where to lasix in Fresh Orleans online

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best price for lasix in Portland [best price for lasix in New York]  2020-9-14 1:55
    [email protected]

    where to lasix in Sweden buy lasix in San Francisco where to lasix in Baltimore online lasix 40mg cheap lasix in San Antonio top 7 best locations to lasix in Hungary top 9 best locations to lasix in Netherlands purchase lasix from Saudi Arabia buy lasix online from Washington buy furosemide

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    lasix online pharmacy in Cleveland [buying lasix without prescription]  2020-9-17 5:15
    st[email protected]

    lasix in Greece lasix comparison lasix in Puerto Rico lasix in Germany where to lasix in Japan online how to lasix in Miami cheap lasix in Spain

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best price for lasix in San Diego [where to purchase lasix in Charlotte]  2020-9-13 14:26
    [email protected]

    united healthcare lasix best for lasix in Buffalo where to lasix in Cincinnati online how to lasix in San Diego where to lasix in Sweden where to lasix in Tulsa buy lasix fedex shipping

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Greece [cheap lasix in New York]  2020-9-13 15:58
    [email protected]

    where to lasix in Phoenix online top 8 best locations to lasix in Omaha lasix online pharmacy in Denmark where to lasix in Tucson online best method to search lasix in San Francisco how much does lasix cost where to lasix in Austria best for lasix in Fresh York

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    where to buy lasix in Denver online [best way to find cheap lasix in Long Beach]  2020-9-17 4:36
    [email protected]

    where to lasix in Boston canada lasix generic top 6 best locations to lasix in Los Angeles where to lasix in Toledo buy true lasix where to lasix in Greece online best for lasix in United Kingdom best for lasix in Austin best for lasix in Japan

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best way to find cheap lasix in Tucson [buy lasix online from Japan]  2020-9-13 22:54
    [email protected]

    lasix in Tucson lasix online pharmacy in San Francisco lasix online pharmacy in Kansas buying lasix best method to search lasix in Charlotte top 3 best locations to lasix in Indianapolis best for lasix in Norway

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    best way to find cheap lasix in Netherlands [lasix medication]  2020-9-17 6:15
    [email protected]

    how to lasix in Detroit where to lasix online canadian lasix online lasix online from Canada cheap lasix 100 canada lasix online pharmacy in Seattle lasix by mail

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Far Away []  2020-1-20 21:38

    love it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Far Away []  2020-1-20 21:38

    This is one of Kirk's earlier CD's, it's very pleasant, but not as amazing as some of his later work. I still have fun listening to it, even so.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Closer To Far Away []  2020-7-28 21:23

    Just as expected

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Far Away Bird []  2020-9-6 18:13

    Far Away Bird is a compelling, quick paced story inspired by real events. The main hero Theodora was very sympathetic, courageous and inspiring. I remained completely invested in the story as it unfolded. Douglas Burton develops the setting and characters so skillfully that I felt as if I were right there and I cared. I am eagerly looking forward to his next book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Far Away Bird []  2020-9-6 18:13

    If you like historical fiction, you will love this book. Douglas A Burton takes a woman known mostly to historians and turns her into someone that everyone can relate to. The book holds you interest until the very end. I can't wait to read the sequel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Far Away Stories [App]  2019-4-23 13:11

    This is a very cute, easy application that does exactly what it sets it to do.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Closer To Far Away []  2020-7-28 21:23

    Very meditative, rich, powerful. Carries me away.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Closer To Far Away []  2020-7-28 21:23

    Though the two "Sacred Spirit" CD's continue to be my favorite AmerInd music, this one is almost equally well done. Spotted Eagle's flute provides the leading motif on all the tracks, joined by muted drums, traditional chant (as in "Bii'saao'beh" and "Brother, Father, Warrior, Son"), and contemporary European instruments. Most are slow and contemplative, but "House Created of Dawnlight" makes me imagine dancers moving lightly over grass (perhaps Native pixies, if there are such things), and "Little Ritual," with its deep-toned male-chorus chanting, sounds like just that. I'll be looking for more CD's by this artist.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Far Away Bird []  2020-9-6 18:13

    You know how awesome a book is when you continue to think about the characters after you are finished. This adventure takes you to Constantinople, where a Byzantine woman’s life unfolds in the most awesome and charming ways. Theodora is a strong, fearless and clever woman who will capture your heart. Well written and meticulously researched, this book of historical fiction is not to be missed! Can’t wait for the sequel!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Far Away Bird []  2020-9-6 18:13

    -Vivid and attractive imagery-Raw and true emotion-Theodora's experiences transcend timeBurton's book is the one of the best I have read in a very long time. Sometimes it is difficult to search a book that inspires and touches you; Far Away Bird does that. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for their next awesome read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Closer To Far Away []  2020-7-28 21:23

    Just not what I was looking for.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Far Away Bird []  2020-9-6 18:13

    Bravo Mr. Burton. I enjoyed reading Far Away Bird. The strength and resilience of Theodora in a time when women had no rights really showed how strong women can be. I was immersed in this book and couldn’t place it down. The descriptions and the writing really allowed you to have emotions and to escape to another world. It also created you feel grateful for how far humanity has come. I would highly recommend this book for anyone wanting to understand another time, the strength of women, and how far we have come.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Far Away Bird []  2020-9-6 18:13

    Burton fully immerses the reader into 6th century Constantinople, then Sozusa, and Alexandria. I love a book that really paints the setting well, and this was a success. We learn about Theodora as a person and with her demons, internal struggles, and doubts. We watch her transform several times throughout the story and see her grow into a strong woman who doesn’t let her past to dictate her character. She’s willing to risk her life for justice which is admirable. This is the type of book you wish to binge read but also don’t wish it to end. I look forward to book two!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Closer To Far Away []  2020-7-28 21:23

    Some of the best Native American flute melody you can find. Thanks Jamie!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Closer To Far Away []  2020-7-28 21:23

    I listen to it every night as I go to sleep. Wake up feeling like I had a amazing nights sleep.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Closer To Far Away []  2020-7-28 21:23

    Some of the better melody that has been digitally mixed with a touch of Native Amercian Indian roots.We really have fun thier work

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Far Away Bird []  2020-9-6 18:13

    The writer, Douglas Burton, bases his book upon the life of Theodora, whose home was Constantinople during the declining Roman Empire. It explores her girlhood and young womanhood in the light of patriarchal norms that affected her deeply. She learns, through mentorship and tragedy both, to integrate her experience and to become her real self in the is book describes Theodora's struggles graphically, but never unnecessarily. It presents a lesson about heroism that aptly applies to our times as well as to the period of late antiquity. I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Far Away Bird []  2020-9-6 18:13

    Rarely do I search a novel so well written. I cannot recommend this book highly enough,the story of Theodora and Justinian is so popular and yet the woman Theodora as opposed to the empress has not been told and this story is epic. I look forward to the next novel.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Closer To Far Away []  2020-7-28 21:23

    If you like native American flute melody you will like this album. It is so much more than that. My favorite of all in this album was The song called Return. I listen to this album when writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Closer To Far Away []  2020-7-28 21:23

    Really have fun this CD.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Closer To Far Away []  2020-7-28 21:23

    I have used his cd for years to support me sleep at night -- wore out the orginal had to replace it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Far Away Bird []  2020-9-6 18:13

    The best historical novels breathe life into an era that’s been rendered two-dimensional by time, making the globe blossom around the reader in full color. Not only does Douglas A. Burton excel in that regard, immersing the reader in sixth-century Constantinople in a method that feels warm, vibrant, and authentic--a feast for all the senses--he also brings to life a compelling, sympathetic, and entirely relatable human being in his rendition of the girl who grew up to become Empress Theodora.Far Away Bird begins by transporting us to the rooftops of Constantinople, where we spy on the roads below with 14-year-old Theodora and her sister Comito as the town is swept up in the danger and excitement of a political uprising. Theodora longs to dive into the action instead of watching from the margins, but life in the margins is the most a woman could expect in that era. This helplessness is underscored when tragedy strikes Theodora’s family, revealing how few options are available for saving themselves. It is how Theodora learns to cope with strife and war for her own power that makes this a brilliant tale--taking us along on her journey from a vulnerable child, to a betrayed adolescent cultivating masks and embracing her shame in an attempt at empowerment, to a grown woman allowing her real soul to emerge as she learns what genuine power is and how to keep her own among men.Burton’s novel is marvelously human and ultimately a story of triumph, even in this volume set before Theodora takes the crown. The women who populate the book are truly inspirational in their strength, courage, compassion, and wisdom--I could use a mentor like Macedonia in my life--but Theodora is a worthy star of the show: beautiful, stubborn, outrageous, and flawed. The reader will fall in love with her and cheer her on with enthusiasm. Add in a compelling romance that we know leads to an extraordinary future, plus Burton’s bonus for visual storytelling, and you have a brilliant debut.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Far Away Bird []  2020-9-6 18:13

    Historical fiction that is well written and well researched. The depth of understanding this author has in this time period and the story telling in which he wraps it is truly artistic. The development of Theodora's heroine journey to self realization is one worth telling, and Douglas Burton does it fantastically.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another River, Another Town: A Teenage Tank Gunner Comes of Age in Combat--1945 [Book]  2018-2-26 18:0

    This was a book that I think should be read by all Globe Battle 2 history ally enjoyed the first person narrative and the writer puts you in his shoes.I think this book would be enjoyed more by veterans then non veterans. His stories are awesome and no flag waving takes put and no mention of glory hounds. Just brave, humble men of the greatest generation saving the globe from tyranny. We can never repay these wonderful men and women who saved us from evil both in the Europe and the Pacific theater of this book if you have fun amazing Globe Battle Two books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another River, Another Town: A Teenage Tank Gunner Comes of Age in Combat--1945 [Book]  2018-2-26 18:0

    Learn what it's like to war from a Sherman or Pershing tank in WW II and how easily those tanks were killed.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another River, Another Town: A Teenage Tank Gunner Comes of Age in Combat--1945 [Book]  2018-2-26 18:0

    I was surprised considering the number who served, how few first hand accounts by US tankers exist. This book is a well written, interesting acc of armored warfare late in the battle on the western front. A lot of people consider the battle virtually over after the Bulge, but for those on the hint of the armored sweeps through Germany, it was still very risky and full of e author does a amazing job of giving the reader the feeling he is riding along with tank crew. He gives concise descriptions of the fast deadly contacts that occur in armored warfare without letting it bog down in insignificant info like so a lot of of these type accounts tend to do. This is a memoir, not a technical treatise, so if you are looking for yet another rehashing of why this tank was better than that one, or what strategies were used, look elsewhere, though it does especially stand out as a rare testimony to the capability of the Pershing. The fact the author was gunner in the only "Super Pershing" makes it quite historically significant as an added bonus. But the book is not about the tank, it's about the men.War is not a board android game and this acc gives insight as to why so a lot of other factors than the tank itself mattered. Supply, squad training, leadership, and morale had as much or more bearing. Factors such as armor thickness and gun size are all but meaningless if you are the lead Sherman pushing through a German town defended by fanatical SS. Sometimes your number is just up, and the author understood this very well and seemed to be at peace with it during the war, in contrast to his driver who required "liquid courage" just to hold me reviewers wish to fixate on a minor mistake here or there, or the fact its not the longest book on the subject. I search it refreshing its pared down to hold things interesting and the book is not as short as some test to create it. Amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another River, Another Town: A Teenage Tank Gunner Comes of Age in Combat--1945 [Book]  2018-2-26 18:0

    This book read like I was watching a amazing battle movie. The author joined his unit at the Rhine and is involved in the armoured fighting across Germany in the latest few months of the war. The author eventually found himself as a gunner in the M26 Pershing tank. Since this tank arrived late in the war, I don't believe there are any other private accounts with the Pershing tank. The book is an simple read. It's a private acc of his combat actions as well as some of his down time between battles. Highly recommend.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another River, Another Town: A Teenage Tank Gunner Comes of Age in Combat--1945 [Book]  2018-2-26 18:0

    The battle as viewed by a teenage tank gunner. Really well written and yet not the sort of book you would often read. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another River, Another Town: A Teenage Tank Gunner Comes of Age in Combat--1945 [Book]  2018-2-26 18:0

    With so a lot of private accounts of Globe Battle II being published, it’s hard to pick and choose which one to read; so, I test to read any that I come across. While I search most all of these books good, some stand out more than others … ANOTHER RIVER, ANOTHER TOWN is one that stands hn Irwin admitted he was nothing more than a naïve, self-absorbed teenager upon entering the troops … in other words, a typical American kid. After proving he was best-qualified to be a tank-gunner, he is shipped out to Europe following the War of the Bulge as a gunner in a M4 Sherman. From the book’s beginning, Irwin reveals himself to be self-deprecating, honest and quite detailed in his recollection of his service. Baptized by a lesson in humility from the very begin of his foray into the front lines, Irwin gradually finds a comfortable niche with his fellow M4 crewmates and proves himself as being an able gunner and comrade.ANOTHER RIVER, ANOTHER TOWN is a short, but riveting read. Irwin’s combat tour may have been brief (5 months), but it was full of action. There are no lulls in his story-telling, even when resting between incidents of contact with the enemy. What readers will obtain is a teenager’s view of Globe Battle II, not just what he sees, but what he thinks as well. Some of the best excerpts of the book are Irwin’s interactions with his crewmates (a hodge-podge of veterans and replacements each with his own quirks). With visions of heroic duty erased on his first days in Europe, Irwin gradually matures under the guidance of two grizzled combat vets whose trust he manages to earn and value more than e combat described in the book is straight-forward, exciting and fast … a series of brief skirmishes with German tanks, infantry and even German children with Panzerfausts (disposable, but deadly hand-held anti-tank guns). Some of Irwin’s crewmates become casualties, as does the M4 (which is replaced with the more-able and rare Super-Pershing). His straight-forward and vivid recollection of happenings are what makes the book such an enjoyable read. There are moments throughout where Irwin experiences coming-of-age incidents (one being the moment he knows he’s killed someone and another being the opportunity of his first experience). The five months that elapse between joining the Troops and the war’s end reveal a maturation process that has one forgetting the author is only eighteen years old (until he divulges in thoughts or actions typical of teenagers). In a lot of ways, the entire book is presented as a scary adventure on a grand scale, related to how most youngsters view defining moments in their lives. There is an element of sadness knowing that Irwin was but one of a lot of who were forced to grow up under such dire circumstances; he survived the experience, but a amazing a lot of did not.ANOTHER RIVER, ANOTHER TOWN is an exciting and enjoyable read. Seeing how the battle was fought through the eyes of a teenager proved to be a special perspective for me.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another River, Another Town: A Teenage Tank Gunner Comes of Age in Combat--1945 [Book]  2018-2-26 18:0

    This is a unbelievable book. There are fewer tanker memoirs in the WW2 literature compared to the infantry, but if I could only have one first-person American memoir of WW2 tank warfare this would be it. Without a doubt, it puts you right there in the tank with the author. The only thing keeping me from giving it a five-star rating is its relatively short length. This is not a fault of the author, simply a reflection of the fact that the meat of the book concentrates on his time in combat and didn't obtain to the front until after the War of the Bulge - i.e. his time in combat while intense was relatively short.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another River, Another Town: A Teenage Tank Gunner Comes of Age in Combat--1945 [Book]  2018-2-26 18:0

    I absolutely loved the book! If you wish a detailed acc of a young teenage boy, barely out of his teens, thrust into the hell of combat, then read this book. It tells it like it was, bloody, dirty, and godawful. There is a part of the book where the author is one of the first to liberate a concentration camp. His description of this evokes the real horror found in these atrocious places. I would recommend this book to any person, historian or not, who wants to know what it was like being a teenage boy caught in the death throws of the most evil regime in history.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another River, Another Town: A Teenage Tank Gunner Comes of Age in Combat--1945 [Book]  2018-2-26 18:0

    This is a little book. Given this, it's amazing that the author doesn't waste time and he starts off his acc promptly with joining up with his unit, Company `I', 33rd Armd Regt, 3rd Armd Div. This is a `tankers' view of battle and it seems to have a various feel to it. I'm not quite sure why this is, maybe it's because the author's experiences are restricted by the limited numbers in his tank squad or the vision of his gunner's e author does go into detail but not to the extent that I would've liked. This said, he writes about fighting Tiger 2's, JagdTigers and the panzerfaust troopers lying in wait for him. He is the gunner and he scores a amazing number of `hits', though he doesn't give a face to those he fought and this has created his acc seem less vivid. He is more forthcoming giving voice to his own fears and those he shares his tank with though. Again, interesting but without giving me the feel of being in that smelly tank with him. The other thing I suppose, is that his time in the ETO is in the few months before VE Day, there is no Bulge for instance. His experiences do contain liberating the V weapon slave camp at Nordhausen and fighting those Tigers near the training facility at Paderborn. He also found himself to be the lucky recipient of one of the first Pershings. There's also some interesting road fighting, in help of infantry.Overall, a solid read, with some various perspectives and experiences to those of the infantry. However compared to most of those, I feel it lacks depth, probably due to being a bit on the short side.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Another River, Another Town: A Teenage Tank Gunner Comes of Age in Combat--1945 [Book]  2018-2-26 18:0

    Simply written, but to the point. An entertaining read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Angry BaBa: Hit & Far away [App]  2019-1-8 13:0

    ad gifts don't work, and actually cause you to lose the bonus. otherwise I would say it's a fun time assassin

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Over the Hills & Far Away []  2020-2-2 20:9

    As I have said before in my reviews of Nightwish, their melody is amongst the most attractive melody that I have ever heard. Tarja has vocals that sound very heavenly. 'Over the Hills and Far Away' is not a full album as it only includes two fresh songs, a cover, and a remake. But this is a long cd! The band included six live tracks originally found on the DVD, 'From Wishes to Eternity.'The title track is a cover that Nightwish has brilliantly chosen to perform. It is a very fun song and has some amazing celtic melodies. The chorus is really addicting! The songs '10 Men Down' and 'Away' are wonderfully done and were written specifically for this EP. The remake of 'Astral Romance' is very pleasing to the ear and is one of the best songs on the album. The live songs that are show are amazing choices. I would have really liked to hear 'Dead Boy's Poem,'or 'Come Cover Me,' but that is just me wanting more on this unbelievable cd. Included are a lot of songs from the albums Wishmaster and Oceanborn. After this EP, the band would later write the majestic 'Century Child.'This is not typically a first choice album to obtain for a newcomer to Nightwish..as I would recommend Oceanborn, or maybe Century Child...but this is a amazing one to own in one's collection. The Song 'Over the Hills and Far Away' is almost worth the alone, but having 10 songs is a true treat. It saddened me to hear about the departure of vocalist Tarja from the band, but she did a phenominal job with all of her hard work on every album. I look forward to hearing fresh Nightwish material in the very near future!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Over the Hills & Far Away []  2020-2-2 20:9

    A must for any Nightwish fan's collection. I got the physical CD, because holding the disk in my hand feels realer to me than simply having the melody on my computer. It contains "Over the Hills and Far Away," "10th Man Down," and others, which were originally found on the EP in the early 2000s. The ver offered now is the extended collector's edition, and it is fantastic, including lots of live tracks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Small Person Far Away []  2020-9-4 18:40

    The final in the Judith Kerr memoirs, oh how I want for more!! All three of these books gives one the sense of what it was like to live in Europe in the 30’s and 40’s, especially this refugee family.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Small Person Far Away []  2020-9-4 18:40

    I've read the two previous books as a child/teen. I am now too in my 30s and I can relate to the complicated problems and relationship you obtain to your parents and siblings as you grow up. It is less "adventure" than the previous two books. It is the most "complex" book - dealing with guilt, loyalty, siblings, accusations and both internal and external conflicts that you'll need to with as an adult. There were too a lot of "dream scenes" which is quite various to her two previous books that were rather "matter of fact". It is however still interesting!She allows Anna to grow up both but keeping the same language - It just turns into a more adult voice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Angry BaBa: Hit & Far away [App]  2019-1-8 13:0

    how to play?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Over the Hills & Far Away []  2020-2-2 20:9

    Really something unique this band is for sure

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Over the Hills & Far Away []  2020-2-2 20:9

    Nightwish with Tarja!Awesome!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Over the Hills & Far Away []  2020-2-2 20:9

    Though this album is an EP it should be its own album! I was very impressed with the melody and the item arrived in excellent condition.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Small Person Far Away []  2020-9-4 18:40

    This is the latest of a trilogy which follows this renowned British children's books author from her and her family's flight into exile at age 9 (Vol 1 When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit) through young adulthood (Vol.3). Each is written beautiful much from the perspective of the person at the age she is in the particular volume and thus in a lot of ways Vol 1, written from the perspective of a 9 year old, albeit by her as an adult, remembering) is by far, I believe the most effective. Nonetheless all are worth a read. They capture wonderfully the excitement (for a child) and extreme economic and professional difficulties for adults in making major cultural and linguistic adjustments. As an immigrant kid in a lot of of the same circumstances and married to one as well, I have often pondered on the disparate ways in which we kids lived and experienced such change --basically as a unbelievable opportunity -- to the multiple difficulties the adults in our respective families encountered in making the adjustments. The entire trilogy is well worth the read and the ponder.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Small Person Far Away []  2020-9-4 18:40

    The author created me the reader feel safe while reading difficult experience that Anna and her Mother required to address. Sometime it felt overly simplified, but amazing and interesting to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Over the Hills & Far Away []  2020-2-2 20:9

    I'm not a longtime fan of Nightwish, nor am I an expert on music. All I can say is that this CD is flippin' SWEET, go it!I was first introduced to Nightwish via YouTube of all places, where I saw sort of a "music video" of the True Ghostbusters set to "10th Man Down." The more I watched the video, the more I loved the song...so I set out to the album that it was from. And I'm glad I did! I guess I would describe them as "Metallica" meets the "Trans-Siberian Orchestra," if that fits.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Angry BaBa: Hit & Far away [App]  2019-1-8 13:0

    meh game, turned from once to amount money grab with in application purchases.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Small Person Far Away []  2020-9-4 18:40

    This was an interesting addition to the trilogy. Hearing from Anna as an adult gave a fresh perspective on life with her parents. I have enjoyed all three books and highly recommend the entire trilogy.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Small Person Far Away []  2020-9-4 18:40

    The final part of Judith Kerr's Out Of The Hitler Time trilogy, A Little Person Far Away, is as splendid and fascinating a piece of autobiography-turned-into-fiction writing as the previous two, When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit (Essential Modern Classics) and Bombs on Aunt DaintyJudith Kerr (fictionalised as Anna in the book) is now in her late 20s, happily married to her scriptwriter husband Nigel Kneale, (fictionalised as Richard) and beginning to create her own journey as a e structure of this third book is particularly satisfying, as different motifs and minor occurrences serve as small memory portals back to the past ( a attractive rug, finding the receipt for the rug in her coat pocket during a particularly stressful episode, so there is a hook back to the memory, and the simultaneous experience of then and now) This is all done in a very natural, unforced, organic way. She is a remarkably amazing writer, there is true psychological depth going on, amazing observation, a really powerful sense of narrative - and the ability to startling photos in an arresting way, that feels very in the previous books, the major happenings all happened, but she has crafted and tightened and carefully chosen, I guess, central moments, and pared out and removed padding. I have a sense that her artist's eye for composition has been place to perfect use in her writing. It's not that she gets involved in a lot of visual description, it's more a sense of composing the frame and placement of t mainly in Berlin again, where her mother is now living, the narrative superficially inhabits a very short time frame of a few days in 1956. Anna has returned to Berlin because her mother is seriously ill; this itself is quite complex. The few days coincide with both the Hungarian Uprising and the Suez Crisis - so, again, we are in a time when another war, from two directions, seemed like a distinct possibility. Inevitably for those who lived through one devastating war, so very recently, all those old terrors and memories must have been freshly re-awakened. So, over those days, Anna is constantly revisiting her past."She suddenly remembered that when she was small, too, she had listened to distant trains in bed. Probably it's the same line, she thought. Sometimes when she had found herself awake when everyone else was asleep, she had been comforted by the sound of a goods train rumbling interminably through the night. After Hitler, of course, goods trains had carried quite various cargoes to quite various destinations. She wondered if other German kids had still been comforted by their sound in the might, not knowing what was inside them. She wondered what had happened to the trains afterwards, if they were still in use"I like the quiet and rather modest method she drops the reader into chasms and intense reflections, without ostentationI can't recommend this trilogy highly enough - and I'm amazed that I had never heard of Kerr until so very recently, when these marvellous books have been around for some time (- perhaps because primarily she became known as a writer and illustrator of books for young children.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Over the Hills & Far Away []  2020-2-2 20:9

    this cd has so much energy into its ten tracks that even my own mind becomes easily taken in by it. "over the hills and far away," a cover of Gary Moore's 80s song, improves so immensely on the original that hearing Moore's ver makes you think that his is a not good ver of the Nightwish song. The most necessary element of that song, the drumline, is done as amazing as it can e next 2 tracks are both original Nightwish songs and provide a amazing foundation for which to anticipate the upcoming 6 song live set. "10th Man Down" is my private favorite of the two tracks, but then again, "away" is often more along my mood when i need to listen to this cd to ack 4 is a remake of the song "astral romance," which appeared on their first disc. i prefer this ver over the original; it's interesting to see how Nightwish's interpretation of their own songs has evolved in 4 someone who lives in the USA, and has never had the possibility to see Nightwish live, and knowing that perhaps this may never happen due to the current fashion of nu-metal that has taken over the hard rock industry, hearing the final 6 live tracks makes me feel as close to a live concert as i can get.with the first 4 tracks like an opening band for Nightwish, the band starts off with the intense song "Kinslayer" (a tribute to the Columbine massacre), and once you have heard the passionate voice of Tarja in just one song live, i guarantee you will not stop the cd until the latest note of the disc!"She is my Sin" is done just as well as the studio ver too, and one cannot support but love the live ver of "Sacrament of Wilderness," the most inspirational song i feel keyboardist Tuomas (who writes nearly all their stuff) has written."Walking on Air" i feel sounds much more true live than the studio version, especially if you consider the topic matter of the song... something done with the freeness of a live performance feels much more in tune with how one would feel if they literally were walking in the air."Wishmaster" is just an epic in itself, and provides one of the most special vocal styles in metal perhaps ever. The final track is actually the only thing various from the more common ver of "Over the Hills and Far Away". This disc includes a live ver of the single "Deep Silent Complete," which i prefer over the song "Beauty and the Beast," which can be found on the disc with the snow covered mountains as the cover. Tarja's voice at the beginning of "Deep Silent Complete" in this live ver is enough to create chills through a lot of a body, and the energy of the song is even higher than the studio version.I have recommended this disc (or the other version) to each person i've had the possibility to, and not one has told me they cannot appreciate one of the few bands that has mastered traditional metal techniques, without ever overdoing it. ...Buy this disc! Help Nightwish and the growing metal underground, especially if you are from the USA. Just remember that this disc topped the charts in Finland and Germany--where nu-metal has not controlled airwaves. 5 stars!!~eternal fear nov.19.2001~

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Over the Hills & Far Away []  2020-2-2 20:9

    Such a amazing EP to have, a must have for any nightwish fan 😉

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Long Ago (And Far Away) []  2020-8-18 20:40

    This is the first Earl Klugh song I heard around 40 years ago. I've been hooked ever since. Amazing song!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Small Person Far Away []  2020-9-4 18:40

    I really like reading this author. Its autobiographical aspect is sweetly disguised.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Small Person Far Away []  2020-9-4 18:40

    This book was amazing! I loved how descriptive the author was about her feelings. I loved how a lot of memories of her childhood she had throughout the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Over the Hills & Far Away []  2020-2-2 20:9

    I've heard every Nightwish album released and love every single one. It took me a while to obtain around to this one as I normally skip EP's but I'm glad I listened to this record. I ordered it simply to add it to my collection and soon fell in love with it. The studio tracks are some of the best Nightwish has to and even the live tracks are great, better than the ones on End of an Era. A must have album

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Over the Hills & Far Away []  2020-2-2 20:9

    Perfect purchase,great seller,fast anks!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Small Person Far Away []  2020-9-4 18:40

    I really enjoyed the first two books in this series, but not this one. I suppose that Ms. Kerr was wanting the reader to feel the anxiety that Anna was feeling and if that was her objective, she succeeded. But I do not read a book to feel anxiety through the entire reading of the book. I certainly would not recommend this book to young adolescents.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Small Person Far Away []  2020-9-4 18:40

    I found this lovely and honest. Want she had written more novels.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Far Away from the Tigers: A Year in the Classroom with Internationally Adopted Children []  2020-2-3 19:51

    A unbelievable book by a gifted teacher and writer on the joys and challenges facing internationally adopted kids and their families - and what it's like to be their teacher. With scenes from the classroom and discussions with the parents, the author shares how she came to understand the challenges that her students face, and learned to allow them develop at their own pace. Fascinating, warm and wise.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Far Away from the Tigers: A Year in the Classroom with Internationally Adopted Children []  2020-2-3 19:51

    What a attractive book and a rare invitation into the classroom and interactions of these young children! This book is a bonus to parents and kids alike - and should be a "must read" for teachers.Jane's courage to look within herself and continue to reevaluate, reexamine and learn, even after decades in the classroom and professional acclaim, is an inspiration. She helps us look at kids differently. She helps us ask more thoughtful questions (and more of them). She helps us listen more lucky are these kids to have Jane as a teacher and mentor! And how lucky are we to benefit from her wisdom and experience!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Far Away Brothers (Adapted for Young Adults): Two Teenage Immigrants Making a Life in America []  2020-1-11 19:8

    The story is so close to the truth that’s going on now. It’s a hard feeling to know that we could send people back to that violence that they are running away from.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Far Away from the Tigers: A Year in the Classroom with Internationally Adopted Children []  2020-2-3 19:51

    It is rare to search a book about a important and compelling topic that utilizes the authentic voices of the children. In Jane Katch's book Far Away from the Tigers, the experience of the kids is a important part of the narrative voice of the book. Not only is this book useful for parents who are trying to understand the backstory that might impact their adopted child's transition and performance in the classroom, it is invaluable for teachers. Throughout the book, Jane Katch maintains her characteristic respectful and innovative approach to children. By also giving voice to the stories of the parents, she puts the entire foreign adoption experience in a fresh perspective. This is a book to return to again and again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Far Away from the Tigers: A Year in the Classroom with Internationally Adopted Children []  2020-2-3 19:51

    I thoroughly recommend this book to anyone who is dealing with adoption. It's a lot more interesting than the other adoption manuals I've read. The author did a very amazing job in trying to understand and meet her pupils' diverse needs. I really hope I obtain a teacher like that for my future adopted child. I also appreciated the fact that she took the time to follow up on the kids and tell us what happened up to a couple of years after they left her classroom.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Far Away from the Tigers: A Year in the Classroom with Internationally Adopted Children []  2020-2-3 19:51

    This book is a must read for adoptive parents and, most importantly, for educators of adopted children. Jane Katch recorded her experiences and shows the main problems she and the adoptive families had to face. How they noticed potential or true problems, how they built a tactic together, and how they effectively applied it. It's heartwarming how the author also reports her little but necessary successes with the kids. The book effectively shows the role of time and repeated consistent efforts.I love that she chose cases very various from each other to report, it shows a wide slice of ch recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Far Away from the Tigers: A Year in the Classroom with Internationally Adopted Children []  2020-2-3 19:51

    Ms. Katch's empathy and capacity for listening are contagious. Since reading her book, I have found that I am better at asking questions and less attached to my preconceived answers. The scenes in the classroom are beautifully woven with Katch's musings and I love that she is constantly striving to learn from the children, the parents and herself. And we learn with her. This is a must read for any teacher or parent, whether or not they are working with internationally adopted children.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Planet Wise Reusable Diaper Pail Liner, Far Far Away []  2020-8-4 19:11

    I have two of these that I interchange between washings. My pail is a medium size thrash can-in between a kitchen sized can and a bathroom sized can. The liners fit my can well. I would say it would fit a kitchen size thrash can well too. My bag gets full everyday as I have two in diapers. I havent had any issues with leakage. When it's time to do a load od diapers I just pick the bag up, empty it in the washer, and wash on hot with a second rinse. At keast one of my liners/bags is in the wash daily. I havent had any of the material rip or present signs of wear. Mine have been through the dryer quite a bit without showing any aigns of wear. To pronlong their life I have switched to line drying but as I stated the dryer did no harm. Line drying is my prefrence. These are high quality. Im so glad I bought them.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Planet Wise Reusable Diaper Pail Liner, Far Far Away []  2020-8-4 19:11

    We've been using these for 7 months now and they work great. I normally dump a half cup of baking soda in the bag before filling it and then throw the whole thing in the [email protected]#$%!&? fits well in the Dekor pail.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Planet Wise Reusable Diaper Pail Liner, Far Far Away []  2020-8-4 19:11

    I have used the little size of these reusable trash can liners with amazing success in several 5 gallon trash cans in my when I decided it was time to obtain a huge expensive trash can, I was satisfied to learn that the huge size fits a 45L/12 Gal trash can like the SimpleHuman Slim step can. That particular model has a ring that covers the trash bag, so I was concerned as to whether the elastic of the PlanetWise would be too thick. I am satisfied to report there's no issue at all.I am so happy that I will not be forced to use single use plastic trash bags in that expensive trash can. Yay! Thank you, PlanetWise!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Planet Wise Reusable Diaper Pail Liner, Far Far Away []  2020-8-4 19:11

    The elastic fit perfectly, the size was great. I am using it for my kitchen garbage can. I haven't washed it yet, so we shall see how it holds up, but it is exactly what I needed. I am beautiful sure when I posted a picture to my IG story--several mates bought them. A lot of people don't know this items exists to reduce plastic poor waste

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Planet Wise Reusable Diaper Pail Liner, Far Far Away []  2020-8-4 19:11

    We bought two of these for our Ubbi diaper pail and use it for cloth diapers and wipes. They are excellent for that purpose and they have been durable for the first 4 months so far of consistent use. I typically fill one up, take it out and dump the contents into my washer, then throw the bag in with the cloth diapers and wipes. Then I just place the additional one into to Ubbi while the other gets clean. I wash them a few times a week and they are holding up beautiful. No leaks or problems in the diaper pail.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Planet Wise Reusable Diaper Pail Liner, Far Far Away []  2020-8-4 19:11

    Before our daughter was born, we bought one of these. It's amazing -- goes in the wash with the diaper laundry, comes out smelling nice and fresh, and keeps the diaper pail from smelling too badly. However, we found one key flaw: you can't add dirty diapers to it while it's going through the washer. And babies, well, they pee a lot in the ter we'd gone through a few weeks (I can't honestly tell you how long it took us to come to our senses, what with the Newborn Time Distortion Effect) with only one, praying the dryer would finish before her next diaper change while stuffing dirty diapers into a plastic baggie on the floor (thus defeating the purpose of a REUSABLE liner), we finally ordered a second diaper pail liner, and haven't looked back. 6 months in, they still both look as shiny fresh as when we got them and still smell nice and new (which is to say, no odor at all).Learn from my mistake and two now. When you change a diaper while the first liner is in the wash, I hope you think, "Hey, random lady reviewing things on Amazon, thanks." And then go lie down and take a nap. You deserve it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Planet Wise Reusable Diaper Pail Liner, Far Far Away []  2020-8-4 19:11

    We have two of these in continues use for 18 months. They are starting to present wear (they are thinning in a few locations and the waterproofing is not as amazing as it was) and will likely need replacing soon, but I don't mind. They've been e company doesn't recommend bleach, but I have bleached a couple of times to obtain rid of yeast.. Definitely do so at your own risk. They also don't recommend hot water, and ours always obtain washed in hot. I think if we had follow the guidelines they would still be waterproof, but I don't mind replacing them a small more often if it means they are 'll wish two so that when one is washing you still have one in the pail.Update: We had to do a couple of rounds with bleach to combat yeast in our cloth diapers, and these pail liners do leak now. They work fine for a lot of things, just not for sipping wet freshly sprayed diapers. However, they held up for 15 months of twice a week washing, so still a beautiful amazing in my opinion

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Planet Wise Reusable Diaper Pail Liner, Far Far Away []  2020-8-4 19:11

    These are great. We bought two so we could immediately switch in a fresh one while we washed the old one with the dirty cloth diapers. I'm sure the water resistant characteristics would latest longer if I hadn't used the dryer as often as I did, but even so it lasted at least 3 years with getting washed 1.5 times per week on average, and still had enough life left in it to pass on to another mom. I would have continued using them myself if we had done cloth diapers with our third, but at that point I chose ease, which meant not adding 3 additional loads of laundry each week (the cloth diapers). I have recommended to others and would do so again.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Planet Wise Reusable Diaper Pail Liner, Far Far Away []  2020-8-4 19:11

    I purchased 2 of these in august of 2014 when starting to cloth diaper my first child. I dry it with my inserts and fitteds and have alternated use of these 2 bags twice a week for over 2 years. To this day I have had zero leaks and the PUL is in excellent condition. I would highly recommend this bag and purchasing 2 since one will be in the wash regularly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Planet Wise Reusable Diaper Pail Liner, Far Far Away []  2020-8-4 19:11

    Trying to move away from plastic, I started using Planet Wise Diaper Pail Liners as kitchen garbage bags. They're GREAT. I have two and switch them off so that one's in the bin and one's in the wash. No more plastic garbage bags for us!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Long Time Ago in a Cutting Room Far, Far Away: My Fifty Years Editing Hollywood Hits―Star Wars, Carrie, Ferris Bueller's Day Off, Mission: Impossible, and More []  2020-2-7 19:29

    Paul Hirsch is one of Hollywood's unsung heroes (as most editors typically are). While producers, writers, and directors are typically the members of the production squad that obtain the most glory, it's the editor that truly makes it all come a Star Battles fan I picked up this book for Paul's work on both the first Star Battles movie and its sequel, 'The Empire Strikes Back'. As a filmmaker (and fellow editor) I was enthralled by his overall experience in the movie industry over the years and his work on some of my other favorite films, 'Ferris Bueller's Day Off', 'Planes, Trains, and Automobiles', and 'Falling Down'. But that is just the hint of the ul's book is both insightful, informative, entertaining, and chock full of stories that any cinephile will enjoy. It is a well written book and hard to place down once you obtain going.I can't recommend this book enough - if you know anyone in your life who loves films (and/or Star Wars) them this book as a gift! You (and they) won't be disappointed!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Long Time Ago in a Cutting Room Far, Far Away: My Fifty Years Editing Hollywood Hits―Star Wars, Carrie, Ferris Bueller's Day Off, Mission: Impossible, and More []  2020-2-7 19:29

    If you're looking for a book about how films are created from the inside, then I cannot recommend "A Long Time Ago In A Cutting Room Far, Far Away" by Paul Hirsch, enough. Paul Hirsch writes about his fifty years in the movie business with amazing humor, humility, love and respect for all of his experiences - Amazing and Bad. This book should be needed reading for all aspiring movie students, along with William Goldman's "Adventures In The Screen Trade" and Norman Hollyn's "The Editing Room Handbook".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Long Time Ago in a Cutting Room Far, Far Away: My Fifty Years Editing Hollywood Hits―Star Wars, Carrie, Ferris Bueller's Day Off, Mission: Impossible, and More []  2020-2-7 19:29

    Paul HIrsch, who has, in his long and stellar career, edited Star Wars, Carrie, Footloose, Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, MIssion Impossible and Ray among other movies has a lot to write about. Written in a breezy and fluid style, it is laid out chronologically as a memoir, but you can’t support but learn a lot about how films are edited. I’m a film fan and I just loved how you obtain exposed to the nuts and bolts of movie-making at the top. Along the method you will learn who are the amazing guys and the poor guys among the A-listers, and how one gets and maintains a Hollywood career. Although it’s not a tell-all, he pulls no punches and is an begin enough person to be self-critical as well. Chapters are really written as complete stories and were like eating candy- when I finished one I couldn’t resist going to another. Totally recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Long Time Ago in a Cutting Room Far, Far Away: My Fifty Years Editing Hollywood Hits―Star Wars, Carrie, Ferris Bueller's Day Off, Mission: Impossible, and More []  2020-2-7 19:29

    There are a few books on editing that really describe what it’s like to be a working feature movie editor, and this is one of them. Hirsch starts with a brilliant introduction on what the “invisible” art of editing actually is, then describes his steady rise in post production from movie to film. He recounts behind-the-scenes stories about cutting and re-cutting some of our most beloved famous movies (Star Wars, The Empire Strikes Back, Trains Plains and Automobiles) and shares the equally necessary story of his close collaboration with directors and composers, providing frame-accurate info of key decisions created inside the cutting room. There are a lot of thrilling examples of a story honed and saved in editing, sometimes by restructuring, other times through diligent and patient hard we travel the timeline of his career, he also explains what editing on movie was like before the days of computers, where the technical limitations needed amazing craft and ingenuity. He also presents the challenging political environment of the editing room: where the editor’s intellectual, intuitive and creative ideas must be presented with amazing diplomacy. Hirsch is also well-versed in melody and gives specific examples of his early choices to present how editors use temporary melody to help the movie in progress and to influence the composer. Reading the scope of his life story also shows a realistic portrait of the unstable and challenging freelance life, and the dedication needed to travel on zone with a family.Editing is a constant process of and error- screening and listening to your audience, then re-cutting- and Hirsch shows you this challenging process throughout the brilliant triumphs and failures (Pluto Nash!) of his long and awesome career.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Long Time Ago in a Cutting Room Far, Far Away: My Fifty Years Editing Hollywood Hits―Star Wars, Carrie, Ferris Bueller's Day Off, Mission: Impossible, and More []  2020-2-7 19:29

    As a professional video editor, I love the craft and the art. But to hear all of the front-line stories from the businesses best? A ns of amazing stories and behind the scenes anecdotes.I love the inside look at the making of some of my favorite movies. But to then hear about the heartbreak of a bomb-in-the-making. No one wanted "The Adventures of Pluto Nash" to bomb... especially the people behind the scenes. To hear what happened is so interesting and riously... a amazing read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Long Time Ago in a Cutting Room Far, Far Away: My Fifty Years Editing Hollywood Hits―Star Wars, Carrie, Ferris Bueller's Day Off, Mission: Impossible, and More []  2020-2-7 19:29

    This well-written, engrossing book traces the decades-long career of its author, movie editor Paul Hirsch, who chop some of the most iconic movies of all time, including STAR WARS and THE EMPIRE STRIKES BACK. Packed with recollections and stories about his work with directors like George Lucas, Brian DePalma, and John Hughes, it's full of stories and fascinating info that will appeal to movie fans and movie specialists alike.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Long Time Ago in a Cutting Room Far, Far Away: My Fifty Years Editing Hollywood Hits―Star Wars, Carrie, Ferris Bueller's Day Off, Mission: Impossible, and More []  2020-2-7 19:29

    I've read a lot of books on the movies, but I can't recall reading one as enjoyable of Paul Hirsch's memoir of his life as a movie editor. Hirsch worked as the principal editor on a number of great--Star Wars, Mission Impossible--and not so great--The Adventures of Pluto Nash--films over a career that has lasted 50 years and e book is filled with anecdotes about some of Hollywood's greatest stars (get on Tom Cruise's amazing side and you'll keep a cocoanut cake every Christmas) and directors (George Lucas seems like a amazing guy; Francis Ford Coppola, not so much). You also obtain a fast education in how movies used to be edited in pre-digital days and how they are edited today.Hirsch writes very well and the book zips along. He seems like a modest guy and is careful to relate his gratitude to the a lot of people who helped him or treated him well along the way. The backstabbing and credit-hogging that dominate Hollywood in some accounts are mostly absent here.If you have an interest in the film business or in how films are assembled into finished products, you'll undoubtedly have fun this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Long Time Ago in a Cutting Room Far, Far Away: My Fifty Years Editing Hollywood Hits―Star Wars, Carrie, Ferris Bueller's Day Off, Mission: Impossible, and More []  2020-2-7 19:29

    Whether you come to this book looking for editing wisdom or Hollywood insider gossip, you’ll be satisfied that it delivers. A wonderfully transparent and honest view at a fascinating life. Well written and eminently readable.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Long Time Ago in a Cutting Room Far, Far Away: My Fifty Years Editing Hollywood Hits―Star Wars, Carrie, Ferris Bueller's Day Off, Mission: Impossible, and More []  2020-2-7 19:29

    Through clever use of colourful examples, movie editor Paul Hirsch explains four mysterious processes extremely well: what movie editors do, where ideas come from, how free-lance careers work (and don’t) and how creative people collaborate to create the best possible movie for the audience. I found the description of his cutting process for Ferris Beuller, Planes, Trains and Automobiles and Star Battles particularly illuminating.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Long Time Ago in a Cutting Room Far, Far Away: My Fifty Years Editing Hollywood Hits―Star Wars, Carrie, Ferris Bueller's Day Off, Mission: Impossible, and More []  2020-2-7 19:29

    I set out to read this book to obtain a small more insight into the making of the first two Star Battles films, which it delivered in abundance. I didn’t expect to delve into so a lot of other favorite films, or that I would learn so a lot of fascinating lessons about movie editing, something I only dabbled in back in college.I’ve been one of Paul Hirsch’s largest fans for 40 years - I just didn’t realize it until I read his is one gets a rare five stars from me. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Far Away, Down On A Georgia Farm []  2019-12-24 20:59

    Really amazing items and various than anything else he has done. Throw back to old timey and rag.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386