Read farewell to growth reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all farewell to growth reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to Manzanar []  2020-1-11 19:12

    I read this book with my three boys (ages 13 and a pair of 12 year old twins) as an adjunct to Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank. I read Diary of a Young Girl as a pre-read for the twins' 7th grade literature assignments coming up this school year. The book was dreaded by the boys but ended up being "not so bad." As an extra perspective on WWII, following the recommendation of the twins' academic counselor, we read this book, which was very amazing and a bit more relevant to half-Chinese children growing up in California.Farewell to Manzanar is a memoir, written by a woman who was 7 when the Japanese bombed Pearl Harbor. She is a Nissei, which is a first-generation Japanese; her father left Japan as a young man to test his luck in the U.S. The story starts with her memories of December 7, 1941, and moves through the multiple relocations and forced evacuations and mysterious arrest and imprisonment of her father. She describes Camp Manzanar, and reflects poignantly about her father's emotional challenges and her own struggle with racial and cultural is is a lovely, low-commitment read which lends touching insight not only into the not good method Japanese-American civilians were treated by the American government, but also, more broadly, the challenges I believe all Asian cultures face - the dilemma of assimilation v. individual rights. Racial bias exists in the oddest locations and often, when encountered, is either innocuous or ridiculous enough to warrant disbelief, dismissal. However, the stain of private shame is unavoidable in all of these situations, and Farewell to Manzanar eloquently depicts this exquisite conundrum.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to Manzanar []  2020-1-11 19:12

    First off, I'm 68 years old and was born several years after WWII. My knowledge of the Japanese internment camps could be summarized in a sentence or two. These weren't concentration camps like in Europe. But they still seemed unfair. This book is the very private experience of one Japanese family. I can only guess whether it typifies the experiences of others. I would have liked a wider view of how the experience affected more persons and families, but that wasn't the plan of this book. As a private memoir, I think the authors did a credible job taking us they their lives and the lasting memories of this difficult period.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Paradise []  2020-9-8 18:20

    A cleverly written whodunit mystery, after a few pages it becomes a page-turner one doesn't wish to place down until the mystery is resolved. Spares and direct language, no filler paragraphs of endless repeats or flowering descriptions of non-essential locals or landscapes. Very refreshing compared to some of the latest NYT 'mystery' bestsellers.

    0  


    Add your opinion on farewell to growth or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Paradise []  2020-9-8 18:20

    An exciting page-turner which you can’t place down. Loved it as much as Bangkok Rules and can’t wait for the next book!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Paradise []  2020-9-8 18:20

    Another perfect novel by Harlan Wolff. Picking up when Bangkok Rules left off, it grabs your attention and keeps your interest. Direct, even pithy, he creates a vibrant globe without extraneous distraction, which makes you wish to stay up all night reading. You won't wish to place it down until you are finished. We hope the third installment is n't too far out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Arms []  2020-1-31 1:34

    While I have read the story before and it is amazing, this book was an absolute waste of money. I spent the cash expecting to obtain the entire book yet I only received half as if the publisher decided I can do this and sell a lot more. There we multiple typos too a lot of to count. The final problem was there were no page numbers. after buying this book for a college course I was disappointed that this was a waste of time and money. I would recommend looking for a pdf copy off of Google or perhaps go to your local library it is much more useful than buying this particular group.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Arms []  2020-1-31 1:34

    Ernest Hemingway really was a amazing writer. His plain-spoken style is symbolic of the main character's values, as well as his is novel will shred you to pieces. Hemingway was trying to communicate a specific emotion with this novel -somewhere between hope, hopelessness, and numbness- and he really achieves it. Behind this novel is the plain and constant shock of modern warfare, and the strange method that affects men's minds, for better or autiful novel. A ar in modern literature on the rite of manhood.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Arms []  2020-1-31 1:34

    Hemingway's literary simplicity provides a nice break from the more common writing styles practiced by most authors. The raw emotions are much easier to connect with and appreciate when they aren't obscured by the excessive use of words and flowery descriptions. Hemingway gets the notice across in a easy method that's simple to understand, and this writing style is simple to at being said, I did not absolutely love this story. The plot meandered along and the story progressed very slowly. If you're expecting a battle memoir with a side of love story, I'd avoid this book. The main hero is an ambulance driver and the majority of the book is spent describing his love for a nurse; the description on the back of the book was a small misleading in this regard because it seems to have an equal proportion of references to battle and love.Farewell to Arms is an simple read, but it definitely hasn't earned a spot as one of my favorite books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Arms []  2020-1-31 1:34

    Ernest Hemingway's "A Farewell to Arms" is one of the books I have re-read the most throughout my life, along with Hemingway's "The Sun Also Rises," Conrad's "Heart of Darkness" and "Under Western Eyes" and Joyce's "A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man." In a lot of ways, it is to me, as 'perfect' as any novel I have ever read. Its structure is flawless, the characters unforgettable, and the writing is bold and terse, hard and yielding all at the same time. I never fail to learn something fresh each time I read this unbelievable work of art. If I was to teach a class on how to write a novel, this would be the book I would assign to my e Hemingway Library Edition of "A Farewell to Arms" I received as a bonus also came with an Appendix that included the thirty-nine other endings Hemingway considered for the novel. A lot of are quite telling and a two were used in the serialized versions that appeared in Scribner magazines before the actual publication of the book. I simply love this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Arms []  2020-1-31 1:34

    I was forced to give this garbage at least one star, when in fact it deserves negative five. This is by far the worst item I have ever purchased, granted I will take some of the responsibility, for I did not thoroughly inspect and examine the product page. However, one should not have to examine a book with such caution, how hard should it be to buy a book? This however proves that you MUST read every aspect of the product page, because what I received is so very not what I was led to believe I was purchasing. It is someone's attempt at home publishing, or as far as I can tell that is what it is. The format is non existent, there are no paragraphs and the scattered sentences do not flow and the pages themselves are broken at random places. It is an absolute disaster. There is no publication information, no editing information, no info at all. Someone took these mangled pages and bound them in a cheap cover and smacked some stock photo on the front. Amazon should be ashamed of themselves for allowing this and for shipping it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Arms []  2020-1-31 1:34

    In what is supposed to be Hemingway's tour de force novel, I was left happy overall, but somehow disappointed. The book dragged in segments and is hard to place down at other points. At his best Hemingway is peeling the layers of war, describing the struggles of men and the magical sparks of romance and love; however, his poor moments consist of vapid and shallow dialogue with characters not doing a whole bunch of anything in the method of advancing the story and hero motivations.I'm far from a Hemingway aficionado, but i would recommend the Sun Also Rises and the Old Man and the Sea before this novel. I think it was worth the read and the latest sixty pages were like the latest round of a boxing match in which a K.O on either side is inevitable. His prose is tight, as advertised, if only Hemingway could sustain his genius for the whole length of this book. Unfortunately, he fails in this aspect. He excels in the short story because it seems Hemingway runs into problem with the longer novels that need to be hunkered down with on both the reader and authors side.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to Manzanar []  2020-1-11 19:12

    The WWII Japanese Internment camps represent a sad, embarrassing chapter in American history, which is probably why I never read about it during my time in school. Over 110,000 Japanese people were forcibly sent to 1 of 10 camps throughout the West. The majority of the internees were actually U.S. citizens, some 2nd or 3rd generation. The author was only 7 when her family was bused from Los Angeles to Manzanar in a remote corner of the Eastern Sierra between Mt. Whitney and Death Valley. The camp wasn't even completed yet when the first internees arrived. Families were assigned half of a flimsy barracks building with no walls for privacy. They ate communal meals and used communal e climate was hostile, with massive winds howling down off of the mountains kicking up dust constantly. The cold winter weather penetrated the thin tar-papered walls of the barracks buildings. In spite of the remote, hostile environment, the inhabitants worked to create their temporary home more comfortable, by decorating and building partitions. They cultivated vegetable gardens and harvested fruit from the orchards. Children went to school; babies were conceived and born at the camp. In short, life went on. However, the camp life lead to an inevitable deterioration in the family structure. Meals were communal rather than family events, and parents had no method of providing for their families in the traditional method. Jeanne's father had a very difficult time in camp, and deteriorated into alcoholism. As she wrote in the book though her life started in camp, her father's life ended there. He never recovered his fishing business or his sense of self e book provides an insightful glimpse into the everyday life in the camps as well as the emotional and economic toll extracted from the inhabitants. They lost their businesses, their homes, their method of life and their dignity. In a sad commentary on the private havoc wreaked by the camps, the author noted that the latest to leave were the elderly people; they had nothing to return to, and no energy or confidence to go back into their old communities and rebuild so they hung onto camp life until forced to leave.I had the opportunity to visit the desolate, remote Manzanar camp in 2012. Only a couple of barracks are left, but there is an perfect visitor center that faithfully recreates what it must have been to live there. You can drive around the streets and see how huge the camp was. The magnificent mountain range looms huge on the horizon, with tantalizing beauty and freedom, which was denied to those inside the barbed wire fences.Farewell to Manzanar is a beautifully written necessary memoir since there is so small written about that time. Pay no attention to the number of 1 and 2-star reviews. It appears that most of those are written by school age kids who were forced to read the book and do a review, and probably didn't appreciate the cultural significance of the internment camps.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to Manzanar []  2020-1-11 19:12

    On a possibility visit to Manzanar National Historic Put in the East side of the Sierra Nevadas, I was reminded of a time when Americans of Japanese descent were forced to leave their homes and relocate to a number of camps throughout the country. Farewell to Manzanar has been in print since 1973 and continues to tell the private story of a family so relocated. The darker overtones of racism and ethnic stereotyping continue to problem this nation of immigrants as the American melting pot occasionally boils.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to Manzanar []  2020-1-11 19:12

    The writer tells of the three years she and her family lived in barracks in the desert as American-Japanese during WW Two and the discrimination afterward. The descriptions of life in the barracks makes the book worth reading, but it is also the story of a family and their struggles during a dark part of US history. I was fascinated about how well the people adjusted and changed their environment and provided education and recreation for their children.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Paradise []  2020-9-8 18:20

    It's rare that a novel grips but this novel is one such 's one of those books that you will read in a single session. Quick paced and laced with local knowledge.Write some more soon!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Paradise []  2020-9-8 18:20

    A Amazing read, on par if not surpassing "Bangkok Rules"! I have been blessed to have read excepts of the book prior it's publication, this pearl is definitely and absolutely well worth reading.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to Manzanar []  2020-1-11 19:12

    A private acc of how devastating it was for Japanese-Americans to be rounded up and interned during WWII. Previously I had only a vague notion of the facts. Reading this book was like living the fear, shame, and deprivation right along with the Wakatsuki family. After Pearl Harbor, when a fresh Federal policy labeled Japanese-Americans as undesirables and exiled them to remote desert camps, the plucky Wakatsukis, and over a hundred thousand more like them, struggled everyday to preserve their family life and their self-respect despite degrading conditions and helpless dependence on handouts. As the battle drew to a close the camps were shut down, but their effects on the interned Japanese-Americans were lifelong and reached into the next generation. This little but strong book is a page-turner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to Manzanar []  2020-1-11 19:12

    Farewell to Manzanar is an American tale depicting a dark side of U.S. History. The story chronicles Jeanne Wakatsuki and her family from running a successful fishing business in Long Beach California to internment. It is a story of the triumph of the human spirit - as the Wakatsuki's adjust to life behind fences - in the dusty Camp Manzanar. This thought-provoking memoir is a must read for everyone - young and old.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Arms []  2020-1-31 1:34

    I have never written an Amazon review before, but that is because I have never been so disappointed. That is because Amazon appears to have started using a various publisher for this book just at the beginning of this month, but kept all of the reviews and ratings from the previous publisher. This copy is absolute TRASH. The typeset is so not good that it renders the book practically unreadable. They literally chop some words off in the middle and then print them in the middle of the next page. Some paragraphs are segmented into a number of chunks that follow no rhyme or reason. Not to mention the numerous typos throughout. I simply do not understand how this is acceptable.(Note: At the time of this review, the publisher is currently listed as: Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (March 3, 2018) )

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Arms []  2020-1-31 1:34

    This is an extraordinary book that packs a whopping emotional punch. It'll grab you by the gut and squeeze until tears stream out of your eyeballs.I've recommended this book to a few mates and they've all reported back with "meh" reviews, some not even finishing it. Here's why: this isn't f***ing tail hour, this is all business, and like all of Hemingway's books it takes a few hundred pages of build up to obtain to the true meat and potatoes, to the amazing stuff. A Farewell To Arms demands the reader's patience, and then rewards it ten-fold. For example, there is a specific passage toward the end of the book which F. Scott Fitzgerald praised as "the finest passage ever written in the history of the English language." (or something to that effect, *not a direct quote*, but you obtain the idea).Special note: this Library Edition is a attractive book that includes all kinds of goodies (see product description) -- a must for writers and serious readers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Paradise []  2020-9-8 18:20

    I love the method Wolff spins story, his unbelievable use of humor and the satisfying ending. He always delivers. This will create a amazing film.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Paradise []  2020-9-8 18:20

    I love detective fiction set in Thailand and this one doesn't disappoint

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to Manzanar []  2020-1-11 19:12

    This book is one of the best accounts of Japanese internment that I've come across. There are too few accounts existing, but this one bridges from the viewpoint of a kid to the reality of adulthood. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting a first person narrative of internment. The lessons in this book are one every generation must learn and apply.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Arms []  2020-1-31 1:34

    After years of hearing how Hemingway was a genius and a writer that brought the truth of battle to readers, this was a large disappointment. Ponderous, constant use of unintelligible slang, endless useless conversations. I tried slogging through this mess, but finally gave up and sought better books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Paradise []  2020-9-8 18:20

    Another very well written story by Harlan Wolff. This book makes a seamless segue from Bangkok Rules. The author provides enough detail to paint a vivid picture of events, but does not obtain mired down with minutiae. The characters are believable and well-developed. Now looking forward to the protagonist's next adventure.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Paradise []  2020-9-8 18:20

    I do like your style Sir. Cards loosely held close to your chest as you deftly played the winning hand over and over again, all my awe and gratitude..C. F.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to Manzanar []  2020-1-11 19:12

    WARNING! CONTAINS SPOILERS! I am eleven years old and I read this book for summer reading. I am an advanced reader but it was very confusing because the times and years kept bouncing around. It is a real story mainly about a girl, who is the youngest of ten, from a Japanese- American family during Globe Battle II. After the attack on Pearl Harbor, they're sent to an internment camp. SPOILER ALERT! Her dad is sent to jail for allegedly sending oil to Japan. In the beginning of the story, Jeanne is seven years old , but she is about 35 at the end. The story is set in the internment camp, middle school, high school, and home. It is a very sad book, but also happy. When I finished the book, I was both sad and confused. I give this book three stars because the book was kind of interesting but confusing at the same time. If I could change anything, I would place the story actually in chronological order, instead of the storyline bouncing around. My favorite part was the end when Jeanne comes back to the internment camp with her children years later and she looks around, remembering funny and sad memories. It was the most emotional part of the story. I would recommend this book to teens and adults.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to Manzanar []  2020-1-11 19:12

    In the 1960s, when I was young, in California, no one Japanese would talk about this. We weren't taught about it. The one time I asked a close co-worker whether she knew about it, not realizing how rude that I was being, she declined to do more than to say the subject was a source of shame and embarrassment to her. I later learned that it was to a lot of who were forced into "internment camps," really prisons. This perfect memoir goes far to share the complexities of having had to grow up under such cirtances and then figure out its impact on the author and her family. Gripping, a page-turner, and disturbing in its clear evidence of governmental abrogation of the civil and human rights of its citizens and their families. A must-read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Arms []  2020-1-31 1:34

    A lot of people don't picture Hemmingway as a Veteran of WWI, but he was and I believe that it deeply affected him. Hemmingway was huge and full of life. This novel shows a side of the author not captured in any other novel. It is the recollections of a young man who experienced the horrors of a battle that was such a waste of humanity. The work of am ambulance driver sounds safe enough. However, the hurt cause by early tanks, machine guns, high powered artillery, chemical weapons, etc. must have been tough to see on a everyday basis.Hemmingway is never really light reading, so buckle up. The crucible of WWI produced a number of amazingly amazing authors (Tolkien and C.S. Lewis, in latest movies). These experiences clearly impacted all of these authors writings and how they viewed their latter lives. Still not convinced? Hemmingway even got involved in WWII and nearly got himself killed with the resistance. I always wondered if Hemmingway developed a distrust of modern technology in WWI as he witnessed the hurt that modern weaponry caused in the face of old fashioned war tactics. Hopefully, WWI is not the first act in a three act tragedy. Either way, this book is amazing background reading on the effects of this widespread conflict that caused such wonderful scarring in Europe.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Paradise []  2020-9-8 18:20

    A ripping amazing tale of crime, murder and amazing detective work set versus the backdrop of the underbelly of Thailand, from a man who knows it well. Amazing plot, characters, and local color.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell []  2021-3-12 20:23

    Love this movie

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell []  2021-3-12 20:23

    Heard this on the first trailer for 'Inside Llewyn Davis' and started trying to track it down. Attractive unheard ver of this little-known Dylan song. Well worth a buck.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tubthumping / Farewell to Crown / Football []  2020-1-18 22:39

    This is the single that introduced me to Chumbawamba's political material. Until now, I'd only known them for Tubthumper (aka the best drinking song ever). But after listening to "Farewell to the Crown" and loving it, I looked up more of their material and was surprised to search out they were hardcore anarchists who created a habit of infusing their politics into all their music. Now they're one of if not my all-time favourite bands ever

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to Fairacre: A Novel []  2021-4-6 22:52

    If I hadn't read all of Miss Read's books in hard copy previously, I would not bother reading a second one after this. I've seen a few typos in other Kindle books, but this is the worst by far. Most words can be puzzled out, but not all. Some of the errors are very distracting and take away from the enjoyment of the stories. I would love to obtain all of the Miss Read books on Kindle, but will stick with my old books now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to Fairacre: A Novel []  2021-4-6 22:52

    Love the stories and the characters that live in Fairacre. They are simple, yet express the primary human emotions we share. Always a comfort to return.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tubthumping / Farewell to Crown / Football []  2020-1-18 22:39

    Catchy song, giving it to the grandkids for presents. It is inspirational melody that they can sing when they feel like it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to Fairacre: A Novel []  2021-4-6 22:52

    I am very impressed with this seller. The book came earlier than expected and arrived looking brand new. It is a 1993 hardback edition and doesn't have any wear except what one might expect from simple shelf life or perhaps life in a e story of course is magnificent like all Miss Read books. (A small spoiler alert) I had been afraid by the title that the main hero was leaving her beloved village, but it turns out she only retires and all of the old characters are still very much in the thick of the story... even the children. =)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to Fairacre: A Novel []  2021-4-6 22:52

    Love all Ms Read stories.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tubthumping / Farewell to Crown / Football []  2020-1-18 22:39

    great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to Fairacre: A Novel []  2021-4-6 22:52

    I have read all of Miss Read's books, and this one several times. As I obtain older, they all obtain even better! I hate to obtain to the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to Fairacre: A Novel []  2021-4-6 22:52

    This is a very enjoyable series. If you like a mellow but entertaining read, give these a try!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to Fairacre: A Novel []  2021-4-6 22:52

    A very interesting method of life very various from my own. It calms my soul ( so to speak) and keeps my interest. I have enjoyed all the books I've read so far.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tubthumping / Farewell to Crown / Football []  2020-1-18 22:39

    (Sorry it took so long to rate this item). I'm not a large fan of this band, however, I like this song, and one of the B-sides that come with it. I actually bought it with one particular B-side in mind. It seemed to be a rare song, and this cd single was the only method to get it. No issues or complaints with the quality, packaging of item or delivery time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tubthumping / Farewell to Crown / Football []  2020-1-18 22:39

    1. Tubthumping - 3:342. Tubthumping (Butthumping Mix) 5:243. Tubthumping (Danny Boy Mix) 5:384. Tubthumping (MAWR Mix / Pablo & Lawrie) 5:125. Tubthumping (Timeshard Mix) 4:596. Tubthumping (Gunshot Mix) 5:20

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to Fairacre: A Novel []  2021-4-6 22:52

    Again I really have fun Miss Read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Tubthumping / Farewell to Crown / Football []  2020-1-18 22:39

    the Tubthumping sessions are unique. it's what brought chumbawamba globally with the hit single. not only does this CD have that song, but it has Farewell to the Crown and Football Song, in which both of those songs are freaking Amazing to sing and dance to. the two remixes to tubthumping add a various nice touch to the song. the Danny Boy remix is the coolest of all Tubthumping remixes, so i recommend this CD for its amazing sounds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to Fairacre: A Novel []  2021-4-6 22:52

    I always have fun a visit to Fairacre! Pleasant reading, but I must go out and buy tea afterwards!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to Fairacre: A Novel []  2021-4-6 22:52

    Love Miss Read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to the East End. Jennifer Worth []  2020-2-1 9:58

    This latest book was a small various to the others and definitely a lot less like the photos presented by the tv series. This was gritty, hard-hitting to the point of painful in it’s presentation of that era and that part of London and the pitiful conditions people had to contend with. Yet at the same time there was such a spirit of selflessness, generosity and humanity in the realistic telling that the reader felt they were witnessing rather than reading the unfolding events.I have loved both the series and the Call the Midwives books but this was an exceptional experience and a humbling one in the meaning of faith as opposed to roughly recommend this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to the East End. Jennifer Worth []  2020-2-1 9:58

    If anyone has watched the Masterpiece Theater's "Call the Midwife" that's on tv right now and wanted more in-depth info about the TV characters, I highly recommend this series. Aside from the writing itself, which flows naturally and is an enjoyable read, this book follows the series very closely and goes into much more depth about the characters on the show, the lives of the midwives and nuns, and about what life and midwifery was like in the East End in the 50s. Not that married (or even unmarried for that matter) women had much of a choice about being pregnant in that time, they all deserve kudos for their bravery and endurance. As a woman living in modern times and in which birth control methods are readily accessible (at least in my state; given the direction of some legislation, I no longer take birth control for granted), as are hospitals with sterile equipment, well-trained doctors and nurses, and pain-numbing medication(!) available, I cannot imagine giving birth under the conditions these women did. I hope we never go back TO a time like that, frankly. Birth is a miracle, and pregnancy wondrous, but it is also always an unknown risk, so kudos to mothers everywhere, then and now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to the East End. Jennifer Worth []  2020-2-1 9:58

    The main characters are related but lots of stories about patients and especially their struggle with poverty.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Candyman: Farewell To The Flesh [Blu-ray] []  2020-7-10 20:13

    I was looking over the entire gamut of internet websites for a copy of this movie and after a hard fought war with "NO" I found it on Amazon.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Candyman: Farewell To The Flesh [Blu-ray] []  2020-7-10 20:13

    as described

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crowded House: Farewell To The World [DVD] []  2020-12-11 19:37

    Amazing DVD. Amazing camera work from the live show. Perfect scene show. The gift features on disc two very likely could have fit onto Disc One with the concert, but there's something about a multi-disc set that makes a DVD release seem like it has "value-added" nerally satisfied with the set list, though I want "That's What I Call Love" was on there. I saw the band in a club in Memphis in 1986 and recorded a live concert of theirs off the radio about the same time. Both shows featured "TWICL" and they were rockin' and a true highlight.Oh well -- at least I got to meet the band after the present and obtain my cassette of their first album autographed. Wonder if I still have d DVD and amazing value for the money.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crowded House: Farewell To The World [DVD] []  2020-12-11 19:37

    This is a amazing concert and a amazing DVD. It is hard to imagine why the group decided to break up and say farewell to the world. PBS has in the latest year aired the reconstituted Crowded House performing on Austin Town Limits which is an perfect show. The personnel are the same except the drummer. Paul Hester died owded House is a band which grows on you. Their trademark 'Don't Dream it's Over.' just gets better with age.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Walmart (Kindle Single) []  2020-2-10 19:1

    Perfect story about what it’s like to grow up awkward in an even more awkward town. Unique guest appearance by Chewbacca (seriously).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Walmart (Kindle Single) []  2020-2-10 19:1

    Cute small story, but didn't like ending - it just stopped.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to the Horse: A Cultural History [Book]  2018-4-2 18:2

    Having read the glowing reviews in national print media, I had high expectations. I should have known better. The book is Eurocentric, understandable considering the author and publisher, and there is no doubt the author is brilliant and writes well. But, this is the cultural history of the horse as in relation primarily to art and war, small more. The one chapter on the American West was too brief and contained a couple of inaccuracies. I am sure a lot of people will love this book, but if you live west of the Mississippi in America you might be bored to death. I have fun all histories, including battle and art, but I found myself regretting the purchase. I'm glad I read it. I'm glad I own it. I only want I would have waited and purchased a used copy a year from now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to the East End. Jennifer Worth []  2020-2-1 9:58

    I finished the latest book in the series like I was farewelling old friends. The hero development is a work of genius and I loved each one of them I was reduced to tears and uplifted and inspired at other times. Loved these t only was I enthralled by Jenny's stpory but she taught me much historical background and laws that I was unaware of. Inspirational work.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to the East End. Jennifer Worth []  2020-2-1 9:58

    Jennifer Worth is a unbelievable writer. She transports the reader into the story with the ability to create the reader feel as though they are part of the story. I felt the anguish, the squalor, the abject poverty but most of all the tenacity with which the people of Poplar clung to life. The nurses and the nuns of the time were truly dedicated to their vocation and one wonders if they were the latest of a dying breed? I highly recommend the three books for anybody with an interest in the historical value that they impart. What truly interesting lives the characters led.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Walmart (Kindle Single) []  2020-2-10 19:1

    This was a fun, simple book to read. Would recommend it for a plane ride.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Candyman: Farewell To The Flesh [Blu-ray] []  2020-7-10 20:13

    For years I was intrigued by the cover art for this horror movie as it’s seen here, so it was back in the day on the vhs boxes. I’d also heard for quite some time that this movie was complete garbage, and so I never watched it. It was during the latest coronavirus pandemic (March, 2020) and subsequent quarantine that I decided to purchase this Blu-ray once and for all and give it an honest and begin viewing. I must also say, I did this after revisiting the original, and with much anticipation for the reboot hopefully to hit theaters this summer!I have watched dated sequels, even original movie deemed famous in the past and long after their expiration dates. Often the results don’t bode well on the little screens. Not for me. I feel that these films from back in whatever day it was don’t fit often with the current mindset. I can see how the movies fit their respective eras, they just don’t age l of this being said, this movie surprised me. Maybe my expectations were lowered by the prevalent and negative word of mouth, but I truly enjoyed this sequel! I felt that it continued the story. It was interesting. It brought fresh elements to the main character. The setting was different. I thought that was cool. It was short and not bloated in length or running time. It wasn’t scary, but I didn’t think the original was either. I know this is part of a trilogy and now I will have to see the third (which I didn’t even know existed!) and appears to be just as disliked as this film if not more so. So. Call it lowered expectations. Call it quarantine boredom. But I liked this film and I recommend it. I hope the reboot plays in theaters this summer!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Candyman: Farewell To The Flesh [Blu-ray] []  2020-7-10 20:13

    amazing film clive on of the best thanks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Candyman: Farewell To The Flesh [Blu-ray] []  2020-7-10 20:13

    Great

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crowded House: Farewell To The World [DVD] []  2020-12-11 19:37

    The 3 Doentaries contain REALLY amazing rehearsal footage, TV interviews and BEHIND THE SCENES items that REALLY create the DVD worthwhile! I saw CROWDED HOUSE every time they came through CHICAGO and they are in my top 5 favorite bands of all time. This DVD doesn't disappoint and now CROWDED HOUSE are reforming! Neil and Nick are looking for a fresh DRUMMER in their hometown and LA...so we may be treated to some more concerts VERY soon! Ironically, another favorite band is reuniting...THE POLICE and opening the GRAMMY AWARDS in 2007!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to the East End. Jennifer Worth []  2020-2-1 9:58

    This book may not be for everyone, for the faint-hearted and queasy, but for those who are interested in the miracle of childbirth, the tragic stories abounding in post-war London, the attractive tales of human kindness and the power of love, this book is an enticing read, with its scientific but easy-to-understand info about having a baby, its historically accurate and most interesting yarns about London's poorhouses and re-housing programmes, about illegal abortion and the victims of social exclusion. But more importantly, it is an honest and moving end to a unbelievable trilogy that pays tribute to the courageous women (in habit, uniform or civilian clothes) of the past whose actions have had a profound impact on our lives today.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to the East End. Jennifer Worth []  2020-2-1 9:58

    Bought set for! My Mom

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Walmart (Kindle Single) []  2020-2-10 19:1

    **** NO SPOILERS REVIEW****Carly Hallman has a true talent, with new prose and a special voice. The framing of this story around the local Walmart is a clever device. Said supercenter is the framework around which her young life centers in this tale of an awkward child in a little town. The happenings that unfold are not momentous. There are no earthshattering occurrences, just the little happenings of a little life. Like most kids, most everywhere, Carly dreams of moving away--AWAY--that mythical put that is always just over the next hill. As one who had that same dream, I completely empathize with the author's yearning. However, I did take pause when she went just a bit over the line in a few places, seeming to Indict small, southern towns as hopelessly racist, religiously intolerant and homophobic. I don't think that's how she intended to characterize EVERYONE who lives in such places, but I think she got a small overzealous in illustrating her points in a few spots. Such potholes are her largest nemesis and cause her to appear terribly snobbish in some places. Still, she's a talent to watch--and I'll definitely be doing that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Walmart (Kindle Single) []  2020-2-10 19:1

    It was a cute coming of age kind of story. It fit with what I remember about Texas in the 70’s. As far as I know it hasn’t changed much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Candyman: Farewell To The Flesh [Blu-ray] []  2020-7-10 20:13

    i have a portable high end blue ray player that should play any file format i tried all sorts of blue ray programs players all sort of high end programs like CyberLink PowerDVD 20 also a foreign region free blu ray software called VideoSolo Blu-ray Player and also for amazing messure VLC media player an what not to test to play the blue ray they all could not play the disc i paid alot for a film that does not work on any thing i tried i spent a lot of hours trying to play this blue ray

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Candyman: Farewell To The Flesh [Blu-ray] []  2020-7-10 20:13

    Quick delivery, amazing product

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crowded House: Farewell To The World [DVD] []  2020-12-11 19:37

    I won't go on and on about the quality of the sound or picture on this DVD. This present is so full of emotion, from both the band and the audience. Witness the latest two tracks. The looks on the faces of the audience; but especially the band members themselves. Paul Hester, who joked it up throughout the show, is nearly in tears towards the end of "Don't Say It's Over". How sad it is that he's not here now to be reunited with the rest of the group, as rumored. This is one fine show. But it still brings a tear to your eye at the end.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Walmart (Kindle Single) []  2020-2-10 19:1

    This book was creepy, it was like someone was writing about my own adolescences...right down to the veggie Subway sandwiches. The writing was fun and interesting I just want there was more of it. Each chapter is a little small vignettes that are just enough to create me wish to know about this author but then it's over. I hope to read more by this talented author.I received this book for free from the publisher through a Goodreads Giveaway in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Walmart (Kindle Single) []  2020-2-10 19:1

    Whatever you think this book is about, you are likely wrong. But give it a try. Create your own judgment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Walmart (Kindle Single) []  2020-2-10 19:1

    This is a really sweet story. My only complaint was that it's beautiful short.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to the East End. Jennifer Worth []  2020-2-1 9:58

    This book follows on from the first one 'Call the Midwife' and is just as fascinating to read. I was sorry to come to the end of the book and wished that it had been longer. As I was born in 1940, the 1950's time frame of these books was relevant to me although I grew up in Australia, not London. We did have our fair share of midwifery issues I suppose, but few would have compared with the wives and mothers of the East End just after the war. Living sometimes in the most abject poverty in unhealthy and unsanitary conditions these women excelled. Being in the time when the man of the family never got involved with 'women's issues' these women, sometimes with ten or more kids living in just two or three rooms with no inside plumbing or cooking facilities would support each other. In time of crisis neighbour would support neighbour, mother would support daughter. I recommend this book, especially if you can relate to the era, as it brings home just how folk lived in the East End of London. The close-knit community spirit was destroyed once the zone was demolished and the inhabitants re-housed in other locations further away.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to the East End. Jennifer Worth []  2020-2-1 9:58

    These are memories of a person, who at the time she recalls, was a student midwife. She had entré into any home where a fresh baby was going to be born, or to anyone else who required constant nursing care, so she saw exactly how the people lived and talked and found out what their values were. This book is about a part of London, and the people that lived there, that no longer exists. It is sometimes sad and sometimes horrifying to read what the lives of the people who lived there were like. A "culture" that was once part of London, but is no more, fascinating to read about it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Candyman: Farewell To The Flesh [Blu-ray] []  2020-7-10 20:13

    I definitely enjoyed this movie.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crowded House: Farewell To The World [DVD] []  2020-12-11 19:37

    Of all of the musical concert purchases I have ever created at Amazon whether instant or through pre-order, this is without question the one I looked forward to the most once the order had been placed. I could not believe that this concert was created available and never expected to hear them again. When I first read about CH in 1999...yep, I missed them as they flew, I had no idea who they were. I had read an online review here, (thank you, whoever you are) took a chance, and I have never regretted it. Forunately, those of us latecomers were able to see and hear Neil and Tim together and alone over the years.And now to hear that the band is reforming, albeit without their beloved drummer, well, all I can say is despite all the sh#* that goes down in this world, it is a amazing time to be alive to hear this band create their magic once s and exceeds all expectations of a live concert DVD. Let's create it # 1 and hold it there for awhile and let Neil's band to keep the credit they richly deserve.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crowded House: Farewell To The World [DVD] []  2020-12-11 19:37

    Recorded in 1996 at the Sydney Opera House plaza, "Crowded House" plays their farewell concert to an appreciative crowd of over 120,000. The 24-song set includes amazingly pure and tight sound with Neil Finn's voice at its best. There are no stand-out cuts, as the band gives it best performance to date on every track. It is flawless. The comments from the band to the audience between songs makes this one of the most personable concerts ever recorded. Slight variations on some songs and an accent here and there create the fans sing along throughout. The closing song, "Don't Dream its Over" is as emotional as ever, with shots of the crowd signing along and the band emoting, realizing this really is their latest song together. It's one of the best concerts of the latest two e extras contain an optional commentary by the band in subtitles. The second disc has a 20-minute doentary about the enormous planning it took to scene this event, mostly narrated by the band's manager. Also included are a few featurettes, a image gallery and the full "Crowded House" discography. This is one of those collectable packages that you'll never tire of.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crowded House: Farewell To The World [DVD] []  2020-12-11 19:37

    What a setting for a live concert, the steps of the Sydney opera house with 120,000 lively fans in attendance. As others have said, the musical performance is stunning. Compliments must also go to everyone involved in the production - the sound is to die for, the cameras give every performer his due in sharp focus, the staging and colors are eye-candy. This is one of those things that gets better with each viewing. One of the best performance videos I've seen.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell to the East End. Jennifer Worth []  2020-2-1 9:58

    I loved this book and felt quite sad when I came to the latest page! LIke all of her books, Jennifer has portrayed what conditions were like for the not good community in the East End of London during the post battle period. The book is written in Case Book style, and covers what it was like to be a Midwife working in the Community, and often being confronted with very difficult births alone sometimes in the middle of the night without simple access to a telephone to summon help. Hygiene was non existent in some situations, and housing atrocious for some very huge families. I gather the East End of London is very various today and most births in the U.K will be monitored by a Midwife and delivered in the safe environment of an Obstetric ere were some very amusing stories about the Nurses off duty periods, and what it was like to be training with the Nuns at Nonatus House. I have now read all of Jennifer Worth's books and while I am a retired Nurse and able to relate to some of the situations, this book would appeal to non medical readers as lleen Brown Dunedin Fresh Zealand

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Walmart (Kindle Single) []  2020-2-10 19:1

    Nice for a short story. I enjoyed looking through the eyes of a young person and experiencing life in a little town.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Walmart (Kindle Single) []  2020-2-10 19:1

    Farewell to Walmart is an amusing insight into growing up and not necessarily in the suburbs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Candyman: Farewell To The Flesh [Blu-ray] []  2020-7-10 20:13

    Glad I was able to pick this up at a amazing price before if went out of print.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Candyman: Farewell To The Flesh [Blu-ray] []  2020-7-10 20:13

    It wasn't bad, but the original one was sooo much better. In this movie you search out more about Candyman's origin story, and he's much more human in that sense.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crowded House: Farewell To The World [DVD] []  2020-12-11 19:37

    As fans know, Crowded House was a tremendous live band. Each present I saw was always special and amazing fun. The DVD ver of the latest CH concert only confirms the memories. What a amazing method to end (and kick start) a amazing band. The Farewell present is awesome for its song selection, so a lot of amazing CH classics, the adoring crowd and most of all, to celebrate the talents of the band. The concert is filmed with no gimmicks. Just the band playing and the usual fun interplay between songs, obviously a small more somber on this occasion. Listening to the 5.1 sound is terrific: you obtain the full, clear sound of the instruments and to appreciate the unbelievable vocal harmonies and counter-play of their voices. The full sound of the band, Neil's guitar, Paul Hester's talent as a drummer, Nick Seymour's ever bouncing bass and Tag Hart's multi instruments, never sounded better. They are tight and sound great. Tim Finn also appears on amazing versions of "Weather with You" and "It's Only Natural". Disc One is the full show, in all of its glory. Disc Two has three doentary/ newscasts about the show, which are not to be missed. There are also two unreleased versions of "Instinct" and Paul Hester penned "Italian Plastic".As sad an occasion as this latest present (for the moment) was, as Neil says in one of the interviews on Disc Two, it was a celebration of a amazing band. Now, with all of the rumors of the reunion, fresh album and tour, obtain ready world, for the rebirth. Farewell to the Globe will stand as a testament to the greatness of CH, Neil Finn's brilliant songs and the collective talents of the band. Paul surely will be missed and always remembered yet it appears that the time is ripe for more. While we gear up for what is upcoming, obtain this one now. This is one of the greatest concert DVDs and extras that you will find.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crowded House: Farewell To The World [DVD] []  2020-12-11 19:37

    Incredible! I just got Farewell to the globe and though I have been a fan since Don't Dream It's Over hit the airways in America, I never got the possibility to see them. I have seen Neil Finn, every possibility I have gotten since the latest ten years of CH's absence. But wow, now that I see this dvd, I finally see Crowded House in all their glory with adoring fans in front of the Sydney Opera House. Such bliss! For those of you that missed CH, this is a amazing put to start. And for those you that still might think of them as a one hit wonder from the eighties, think again.And I am greatly looking forward to their reunion. I am so lucky that they are coming to me as I live a near The Coachella Festival where they will be performing in April. Hallelujah!! The future suddenly looks very ul Hester will certainly be missed this time around, but he lives on in this dvd and is completely brilliant.I am as I type in my first viewing of FTW and I guess I must have missed the audio sync issue the other reviewer mentioned. But it sounds wonderful and looks great. Attractive set, amazing production value, and Sydney Harbor and the Opera House. I am a bit sorry that though I ordered and paid for the Deluxe Package, I got the rather nondeluxe package. Will deal with it I guess, though I am not sure I wish to part with the extremely deluxe concert inside the not so deluxe it now!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Crowded House: Farewell To The World [DVD] []  2020-12-11 19:37

    there is a really poor audio sync issue that rears its ugly head at the beginning of the song 'fall at your feet'. you will begin noticing it when they pan out into the crowd and the clapping sound does not match the movement of peoples' hands. you also see it on neil's lips when they do a close up of him and on the other band members' hands and fingers when they play their instruments.UPDATE: after watching the video on various dvd players and a home computer, it seems the audio sync issue affects 'fall at your feet' then the songs after it are alright. but then the audio sync issue comes back again on 'its only natural' and all the songs after it. quite annoying.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Facing Farewell - Making The Decision To Euthanize Your Pet []  2020-12-9 18:43

    Very nice book, not done with it yet, but so far it beautiful much covers everything, very well written book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Ice: A Report from the Arctic []  2020-7-9 18:36

    Although the prediction by Prof Wadhams that we would see ice free conditions in the Arctic (>1m square km) at the minimum in 2015 proved to be a small early, he is right on the cash about what is event in the Arctic. The decrease of ice is erratic but the trend is clear and the predicted effects on the rest of the world, very likely. Another year like 2012 added (actually subtracted) from the trend will place us very close to his prediction. Incidentally, look at the NSIDC effect for the recovery of ice in Oct 2016,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Ice: A Report from the Arctic []  2020-7-9 18:36

    I have long been wanting to write and say something about this book. I have read a couple of other books on this subject of climate change but this book just blew me away. The lucidity of his thoughts in trying to give us this notice on what we're doing to the planet and what the long term consequences are going to be is something that I feel each one of us should be created aware of. His manner of explaining things in ways in which everyone could relate to is amazing!In my opinion some form of this book must be adopted in schools to prepare children for what is to is book is a sobering reality check for our careless species. I hope there is some method in which we can still course-correct .

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Farewell To Entropy, A: Statistical Thermodynamics Based On Information []  2020-5-9 18:41

    Finally a book that brings info theory and thermodynamics together in a comprehensive way! Ben-Naim paves the method for a future generation of innovation in statistical thermodynamics using the tools of info e traditional understanding of entropy associates it with disorder. While this view is useful in a lot of contexts, it fails to explain some properties of entropy. Ben-Naim leads us into identifying entropy with uncertainty, or the "missing information" of the system. Info possessed by whom? In this case, we are not talking about perception or communication. Wherever the number of states of a thermodynamic system resides, there resides the n-Naim explains the so-called Gibbs-paradox in a most satisfying method (Appendix O). A similar phenomenon occurs when we mix two chemical species and leave the volume and temperature unchanged. We originally have Na moles of gas A and Nb moles of gas B, each in its respective container of volume V. If we now mix both substances into a single container also of volume V, the entropy remains unchanged. If we insist in understanding entropy as disorder, the mixed container looks more disordered; but the entropy stayed constant. This is not a paradox. In this process, the volume available for substance A and substance B to discover never changed, so the counting of states is unaltered. The missing locational info about gas A and gas B is constant for this process. This treatment applies to ideal mixtures, where the particles don't interact among r processes where the particles do interact, we will observe extra correlations which reduce the missing information, a.k.a. entropy. The physical coupling of intermolecular forces translates into statistical correlations. Ben-Naim's presentation (Chap. 5) creates a further bridge between the statistical, info theoretical understanding and thermodynamic entropy.What I would call the jewel of the book is a rederivation of the Sackur-Tetrode equation for the entropy of an ideal gas (Sec. 5.4). We learn this equation from physical chemistry books as set in stone, but what does it mean? The author rederives it by stacking the missing info due to 4 terms: locational uncertainty, momenta uncertainty, quantum mechanical uncertainty principle and the indistinguishability of the r all the bridges that Ben-Naim constructs between info theory and thermodynamics, there remain some gaps. "There is no formal proof that [the counting of states and the quantity defined by Clausius in terms of heat transfer and temperature] are identical. The validity of the relationship between the two quantities ultimately rests on the agreement between the calculated values of [entropy] and experimental data based on Clausius' definition". This state of affairs is however not special to entropy, as science rests on a lot of empirical e book is well-written and can be used by researchers and students of undergraduate and graduate levels.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Entropy:Statistical Thermodynamics Based on Information []  2020-1-29 2:33

    I read this book with amazing joy. I think an necessary contribution to the understanding of entropy as info loss. highly recommended

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Arms: The Hemingway Library Edition []  2021-4-6 22:31

    I am beginning to realize that a amazing chunk of classic novels aren’t that great. This is one of them. While there were some passages that were lovely, the rest of the story seemed void of anything substantial. Battle is horrible, the toll it takes on people and civilization as a whole even worse, but I didn’t obtain that from reading this book. I didn’t care about any of the characters and had to push myself through to finish. I want I could say that I loved it because Hemingway is considered one of the best novelists of all time but I honestly do not understand why.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Arms: The Hemingway Library Edition []  2021-4-6 22:31

    The Kindle transfer works fine, and if you like Hemingway, or, at least, can stand it, this will work for you. It also adds some interesting features, such as notes and alternate endings and a couple of pithy insights from family members and others. All of this helps Dear Reader better understand the work e story itself, for me, kind of meanders, and I search the ending a cop out. I know those who revere Hemingway think he is being sardonic, with lots of deliberate underlying subtext and philosophy. To me, it feels like he just couldn't think of a better ending, so he did this and just stopped I said: It's Hemingway. If you like it, this edition adds insight and makes the work more meaningful.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    A Farewell to Arms: The Hemingway Library Edition []  2021-4-6 22:31

    Now having devoured several of Hemingway's greatest hits, I feel as though this is his greatest tale. Front to back, "A Farewell to Arms" tells his best story in a page flipping commercial hit. This book was timely and life-changing for the generation it was written for. All of these years later, the book continues to search ways to jump off the page and walk beside you. I loved the beginning the most, when Tenente courts a young Catherine and they walk together in the garden. I can see it in this very moment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Path to Growth - Macy's [App]  2019-11-30 13:22

    My email address and password was rejected

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Path to Growth - Macy's [App]  2019-11-30 13:22

    The application cannot be used without logging in. Login is not possible. Totally useless.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Path to Growth - Macy's [App]  2019-11-30 13:22

    The application is very difficult to be used, I dont tip to download it.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386