Read father daughter quotes reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all father daughter quotes reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father Daughter Quotes [App]  2018-7-20 13:10

    It created me realise and love my dad love my dad more

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daughter Quotes [App]  2018-10-13 21:7

    Attractive 😀

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father Quotes and Sayings [App]  2020-6-24 22:11

    Father Quotes and saying is perfect app. Almost all quotes in best.

    0  


    Add your opinion on father daughter quotes or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father Quotes and Sayings [App]  2020-6-24 22:11

    Best saying and best motivational thoughts

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father Quotes and Sayings [App]  2020-6-24 22:11

    Explicit

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father Quotes and Sayings [App]  2020-6-24 22:11

    Best Father quote collection 👌

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father Quotes and Sayings [App]  2020-6-24 22:11

    I read a few amazing quote's of fatherhood very inspirationally said . I give it thumps up!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father Quotes and Sayings [App]  2020-6-24 22:11

    Speechless

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father Quotes and Sayings [App]  2020-6-24 22:11

    Nice apps please

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father Quotes and Sayings [App]  2020-6-24 22:11

    Best Father Quotes collection!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father Quotes and Sayings [App]  2020-6-24 22:11

    Cool

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father Quotes and Sayings [App]  2020-6-24 22:11

    Father quotes and saying is awesome app. I like almost all quotes.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father Quotes and Sayings [App]  2020-6-24 22:11

    Gud

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mother Daughter Quotes [App]  2018-8-28 21:7

    Amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Mother Daughter Quotes [App]  2018-8-28 21:7

    works excellent

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Parents Quotes - Father, Mother Family Love Status [App]  2019-3-11 13:10

    won't even begin

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Daughter Day: Greeting, Wishes, Quotes, GIF [App]  2019-9-27 13:59

    v nice application

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers [Book]  2017-12-10 18:0

    Sad but very interesting and filled in a lot of history for someone who grew up during the Vietnam was and the conflicts in Cambodia. Gave me a fresh perspective on the current influx of refugees in the middle east right now.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers [Book]  2017-12-10 18:0

    I chose this rating because it's written in a flowing manner; a real story, albeit somewhat sad in parts.I would recommend this book to anyone wanting insight into the Khmer Rouge. I'm of the Viet Namera, and remember hearing about it on the nightly news, as a teenager. My daughter recently returned froma visit to Cambodia and recommended the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father - Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-19 20:51

    I bought this book mainly because I like real stories and because I hate crooked cops. John Busby was not a crooked cop. It was tragic what this family had to go through and the injustice that they had to endure. they created it though so a sorta satisfied ending. I googled this and read a few newspaper articles about this case and I can not believe no one was ever charged for this. As you can see, my name is Busby and my father was a sherrifs deputy. I was never aware, when I was a kid that there was any danger involved. Thank whomever he was never shot and I didn't have to go through what these not good children did. He did die when he was forty five years old in a motor cycle wreck, so Erick, Shawn and Cylin be thankful John's still around. Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father - Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-19 20:51

    This was very eye opening. The method of life for this family that changed them all. That this corruption and level of bullying happened in a little community to a man in a public service roll is so disheartening. This lone happening changed them all for the rest of their lives. The trials and how the parent and the kid viewed them in their ow method was a amazing comparison int his memoir. This was a page turner, the fact that what you were reading was real only added to the drama of what you reading. Congratulations to this family for coming out the other side and supporting each other thru the difficulties. What a story to have for the grand kids of Polly & John. Cylin, hold writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father-Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-23 0:17

    How I found this book was the ad for it when I had opened my kindle (in protective case). Each time I grab my kindle, and begin the case flap, there is a book offer. It appeared interesting, I followed the link to read the short synopsis regarding this story. I liked what I read, and decided to this ebook.I was hooked right away and stayed extremely interested through out her story. I loved the method Cylin Busby wrote about the real happenings regarding her father & herself. As she wrote it flipped back and forth between her view point, and that of her father.I enjoyed this read so much that at the end of this book it advertises other books along the same line, also other book(s) this author wrote. I saw that Cylin Busby wrote another novel called "Blink Once". This book was soooooooooo amazing too...If you are thinking about this book, and reading reviews - trust me - it is worth your time to do so... Also check out her other book "Blink Once" afterwards.... I look forward to her writing another book, and I sure hope it's soon!!! I read a lot, probably averages a few books a week. I enjoyed this lady's writing so much I took the time to do this review - believe me I don't take this time out of my life easily...Thanks for your timeVikky

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father-Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-23 0:17

    Really enjoyed reading this book. Hearing various perspectives from father and daughter was very telling. Interesting to hear about internal 'corruption' in a smaller city police department, which I'm sure happens more often than we might think.I felt left hanging about the Dad's recovery--the story itself in regard to Dad's ability to speak, eat, and lead a normal life disappeared shortly after they moved. But the Epilogue makes it clear that he does regain some of those skills, but who knows when or how. Required more detail about that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers [Book]  2017-12-10 18:0

    If you are going to Cambodia (or Vietnam), this biography gives you an understanding of the times of the Kymer Rouge in terms of the life of a very courageous and brave small girl. She tells her journey from a privileged kid to a refugee to a kid soldier (at age 8). The outcome is amazing. I am looking forward to reading the sequel, Lucky e book is harrowing but well-written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father-Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-23 0:17

    Awesome story, yet so sad. As a police wife, I wasn't sure whether I truly wanted to read this or not, but I'm glad because it gave me insight into what life could potentially be like for my family or that of my friends, should this ever happen. It didn't scare me the method I thought it would, making me wonder if my husband was ok every second of the day. But, it did create me realize that not everyone can be trusted, nor should they be trusted. I have since passed it along to other wives and I hope we can all take away some knowledge from this raw, honest, story about what can happen to a police family in the matter of seconds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father-Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-23 0:17

    An attempted murder of a police officer, the aftermath of his recovery and the result on his family. The book was interesting as it switched between what the father was experiencing and what the daughter and the rest of the family were experiencing. The officer's injuries were horrendous. The crime went unsolved for a long period of time. The criminal isn't charged until almost the end of the book. The reason I didn't give it more stars is because there were too a lot of questions left unanswered or just glossed over. I would have liked to know what caused the criminal to confess, and was he incarcerated? If so, for how long. I would like to know more about the officer's progress. Was his reconstruction completed? Was he able to eat and speak? How is the family doing? Did they continue to live a life of secrecy and seclusion?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father - Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-19 20:51

    I did not think this book was going to be sooooo good. I bought it on a kindle for some kind of awesome deal, and as soon as I started it, I could not stop thinking about it. Even now that I'm done, I think about it. The story of a policeman who gets shot and his family lives in a horrible state of fear. The book is written by him and his daughter, every other chapter they switch off. I thought this would be confusing or cheapen the story but it actually makes it an interesting twist. You obtain to see two very special perspectives. The story was not only amazing, and keeps you interested, but I can hardly believe it's nonfiction. I was aghast at the injustice this family suffered, and I'm glad they were brave enough to write a book about this. It was a amazing book, and an simple read. I would recommend this book to everyone from probably 8th grade and up, and it's such a amazing story that almost anyone would stay interested! I could even see this turning into a movie, it would create a GREAT film.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father - Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-19 20:51

    A peaceful summer night is shattered by gunfire as an unseen assailant tries to murder police officer John Busby. Though horribly wounded, Busby survives. But the perpetrator remains at large, meaning neither Busby, nor his wife, nor their three kids are safe. In separate chapters John and his daughter Cylin, who was nine at the time, recount the story of that year. John writes graphically, and movingly, of his wounds, his pain, his multiple surgeries, and his rage. Cylin tells their story from a child's point of view, sharing vivid memories of confusion, loss of friends, and the struggle to build a fresh gether, father and daughter craft an unforgettable picture of fear, of police corruption, and of a malignant thug who no one dares to cross. Yet their story is also one of redemption and recovery, and ultimately of hope and healing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father - Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-19 20:51

    This was a special approach to a book---with the father and daughter writing alternate chapters. The daughter's portion was written when these happenings actually occurred, which created the memoir seem more present-day. Her addition to the book makes it even more tender, allowing us to feel the tragedy and how it affects the children. This is such a amazing story. Even though there is tragedy in the story, the family finds strength as a family to obtain through some beautiful tough circumstances. The wife is especially powerful and resilient. I read it in a small over one day. I could hardly place it down. Perfect hero development and a truly amazing story. Well done! I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers [Book]  2017-12-10 18:0

    I read this book while I was in Cambodia. I was familiar with the history of the country under Pol Pot, but the book added another dimension to the time I spent there. Certainly worth reading for anyone who is planning a trip to Cambodia, or anyone interested in what happens at ground zero when faulty ideologies and manipulative leaders run amok.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers [Book]  2017-12-10 18:0

    Loung takes us through the brutal and barbaric reality of war, but also the emotions and inner changes important for her human psyche to survive. I was scared to turn the page but scared to place it down. My heart goes out to her and her family and I want them only peace, happiness, and the possibility to heal in this life. I applaud her for dedicating this to the page, and it gives me so much more of an understanding of what the Cambodian people have been through. Huge hug, Loung.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers [Book]  2017-12-10 18:0

    The human mind has the uncanny ability to persevere even in the most unfavorable of circumstances. This story of a young girl and her family from Cambodia, displaced by the invasion of Pol Pot's Khmer Rouge guerrilla army, is horrifying, gripping and inspiring all at the same time. Battle truly is hell and the innocent are always created to suffer. I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father-Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-23 0:17

    I bought this book mainly because I like real stories and because I hate crooked cops. John Busby was not a crooked cop. It was tragic what this family had to go through and the injustice that they had to endure. they created it though so a sorta satisfied ending. I googled this and read a few newspaper articles about this case and I can not believe no one was ever charged for this. As you can see, my name is Busby and my father was a sherrifs deputy. I was never aware, when I was a kid that there was any danger involved. Thank whomever he was never shot and I didn't have to go through what these not good children did. He did die when he was forty five years old in a motor cycle wreck, so Erick, Shawn and Cylin be thankful John's still around. Amazing book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father-Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-23 0:17

    This was very eye opening. The method of life for this family that changed them all. That this corruption and level of bullying happened in a little community to a man in a public service roll is so disheartening. This lone happening changed them all for the rest of their lives. The trials and how the parent and the kid viewed them in their ow method was a amazing comparison int his memoir. This was a page turner, the fact that what you were reading was real only added to the drama of what you reading. Congratulations to this family for coming out the other side and supporting each other thru the difficulties. What a story to have for the grand kids of Polly & John. Cylin, hold writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father - Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-19 20:51

    How I found this book was the ad for it when I had opened my kindle (in protective case). Each time I grab my kindle, and begin the case flap, there is a book offer. It appeared interesting, I followed the link to read the short synopsis regarding this story. I liked what I read, and decided to this ebook.I was hooked right away and stayed extremely interested through out her story. I loved the method Cylin Busby wrote about the real happenings regarding her father & herself. As she wrote it flipped back and forth between her view point, and that of her father.I enjoyed this read so much that at the end of this book it advertises other books along the same line, also other book(s) this author wrote. I saw that Cylin Busby wrote another novel called "Blink Once". This book was soooooooooo amazing too...If you are thinking about this book, and reading reviews - trust me - it is worth your time to do so... Also check out her other book "Blink Once" afterwards.... I look forward to her writing another book, and I sure hope it's soon!!! I read a lot, probably averages a few books a week. I enjoyed this lady's writing so much I took the time to do this review - believe me I don't take this time out of my life easily...Thanks for your timeVikky

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father - Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-19 20:51

    This is the story of a father and daughter who endure the trauma of a horrific shooting. John Busby was a Falmouth, MA police officer who stood up to the wrong poor guys and for it. He was mercilessly shot in the face and almost killed. This is the story of his recovery and the impact on his family. The story is told from his perspectiive and also from the perspective of his daughter, Cylin. I liked this format because it helped me understand how the adults in the household felt about their situation, but also how the kids coped. Their story was eye opening to me because it gave me a whole fresh perspective about the sacrifices that police officers and other public servants sometimes have to create for the benefit of the public. I wished there had been more help for the Busbys, especially within the police department itself. This is a worthwhile read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers [Book]  2017-12-10 18:0

    An incredibly chilling and tragic real acc of the horrors experienced by the author as a small girl growing up in Cambodia during the years when millions of people were killed by the Khmer Rouge. This is not only her own account, but you will see what happened to her family--and to countless families in the killing fields of Pol Pot's disastrous regime. This book ought to be needed reading in schools alongside "The Diary of Anne Frank".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers [Book]  2017-12-10 18:0

    Told through the eyes of a 5 year old puts a clear view of not good human suffering caused by humans How very sad .This book is very educational.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father-Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-23 0:17

    I did not think this book was going to be sooooo good. I bought it on a kindle for some kind of awesome deal, and as soon as I started it, I could not stop thinking about it. Even now that I'm done, I think about it. The story of a policeman who gets shot and his family lives in a horrible state of fear. The book is written by him and his daughter, every other chapter they switch off. I thought this would be confusing or cheapen the story but it actually makes it an interesting twist. You obtain to see two very special perspectives. The story was not only amazing, and keeps you interested, but I can hardly believe it's nonfiction. I was aghast at the injustice this family suffered, and I'm glad they were brave enough to write a book about this. It was a amazing book, and an simple read. I would recommend this book to everyone from probably 8th grade and up, and it's such a amazing story that almost anyone would stay interested! I could even see this turning into a movie, it would create a GREAT film.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father-Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-23 0:17

    This was a special approach to a book---with the father and daughter writing alternate chapters. The daughter's portion was written when these happenings actually occurred, which created the memoir seem more present-day. Her addition to the book makes it even more tender, allowing us to feel the tragedy and how it affects the children. This is such a amazing story. Even though there is tragedy in the story, the family finds strength as a family to obtain through some beautiful tough circumstances. The wife is especially powerful and resilient. I read it in a small over one day. I could hardly place it down. Perfect hero development and a truly amazing story. Well done! I highly recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father - Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-19 20:51

    Awesome story, yet so sad. As a police wife, I wasn't sure whether I truly wanted to read this or not, but I'm glad because it gave me insight into what life could potentially be like for my family or that of my friends, should this ever happen. It didn't scare me the method I thought it would, making me wonder if my husband was ok every second of the day. But, it did create me realize that not everyone can be trusted, nor should they be trusted. I have since passed it along to other wives and I hope we can all take away some knowledge from this raw, honest, story about what can happen to a police family in the matter of seconds.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father - Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-19 20:51

    Really enjoyed reading this book. Hearing various perspectives from father and daughter was very telling. Interesting to hear about internal 'corruption' in a smaller city police department, which I'm sure happens more often than we might think.I felt left hanging about the Dad's recovery--the story itself in regard to Dad's ability to speak, eat, and lead a normal life disappeared shortly after they moved. But the Epilogue makes it clear that he does regain some of those skills, but who knows when or how. Required more detail about that.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers [Book]  2017-12-10 18:0

    Obviously this book is gong to have a lot of sad moments but the author is so awesome at rebelling her story. It was heartwarming and heartbreaking. I knew of the happenings in Cambodia but never to this extent, history books cant present you what this author does. I would recommend this book to anyone, history lover or not, you can't beat this story of raw human emotion and survival.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers [Book]  2017-12-10 18:0

    This book drew upon the unspoken horrors of the genocide in Cambodia under Pol Pot's regime. Loung writes about her own experiences in Cambodia as a kid while under both the rule of Pol Pot and the previous capitalist government. Due to the excruciating info provided, Loung provides the vivid imagery important to make a truly breath-taking novel. Bravo.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father - Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-19 20:51

    An attempted murder of a police officer, the aftermath of his recovery and the result on his family. The book was interesting as it switched between what the father was experiencing and what the daughter and the rest of the family were experiencing. The officer's injuries were horrendous. The crime went unsolved for a long period of time. The criminal isn't charged until almost the end of the book. The reason I didn't give it more stars is because there were too a lot of questions left unanswered or just glossed over. I would have liked to know what caused the criminal to confess, and was he incarcerated? If so, for how long. I would like to know more about the officer's progress. Was his reconstruction completed? Was he able to eat and speak? How is the family doing? Did they continue to live a life of secrecy and seclusion?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father-Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-23 0:17

    A peaceful summer night is shattered by gunfire as an unseen assailant tries to murder police officer John Busby. Though horribly wounded, Busby survives. But the perpetrator remains at large, meaning neither Busby, nor his wife, nor their three kids are safe. In separate chapters John and his daughter Cylin, who was nine at the time, recount the story of that year. John writes graphically, and movingly, of his wounds, his pain, his multiple surgeries, and his rage. Cylin tells their story from a child's point of view, sharing vivid memories of confusion, loss of friends, and the struggle to build a fresh gether, father and daughter craft an unforgettable picture of fear, of police corruption, and of a malignant thug who no one dares to cross. Yet their story is also one of redemption and recovery, and ultimately of hope and healing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Year We Disappeared: A Father-Daughter Memoir []  2020-1-23 0:17

    This is the story of a father and daughter who endure the trauma of a horrific shooting. John Busby was a Falmouth, MA police officer who stood up to the wrong poor guys and for it. He was mercilessly shot in the face and almost killed. This is the story of his recovery and the impact on his family. The story is told from his perspectiive and also from the perspective of his daughter, Cylin. I liked this format because it helped me understand how the adults in the household felt about their situation, but also how the kids coped. Their story was eye opening to me because it gave me a whole fresh perspective about the sacrifices that police officers and other public servants sometimes have to create for the benefit of the public. I wished there had been more help for the Busbys, especially within the police department itself. This is a worthwhile read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Unavailable Father: Seven Ways Women Can Understand, Heal, and Cope with a Broken Father-Daughter Relationship []  2020-2-2 8:19

    I enjoyed this book and the author did give me some insight as to certain personality traits and characteristics that women with these particular fathers have. I do want she would have went into more detail on fathers who are actual drug abusers. I do recall she spoke on substance abuse (specifically alcohol) but only limited it to alcohol. I also would have liked more writing on the type of relationships with men that these women tend to go for and how to work thru their subconscious conditioning based on their unavailable relationship with their fathers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Unavailable Father: Seven Ways Women Can Understand, Heal, and Cope with a Broken Father-Daughter Relationship []  2020-2-2 8:19

    tough read...

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Unavailable Father: Seven Ways Women Can Understand, Heal, and Cope with a Broken Father-Daughter Relationship []  2020-2-2 8:19

    This book outlines the various ways our fathers can fail us but was very vague. I believe this book is aimed at younger readers in the early stages of seeking info regarding father failure and not necessarily for those of us who are older and more familiar with this issue and seeking in depth material.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Unavailable Father: Seven Ways Women Can Understand, Heal, and Cope with a Broken Father-Daughter Relationship []  2020-2-2 8:19

    I liked this book. Not all of it was necessarily applicable and some things were left vaguely answered, but overall I felt stronger and more equipped to handle past happenings after understanding things from this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Unavailable Father: Seven Ways Women Can Understand, Heal, and Cope with a Broken Father-Daughter Relationship []  2020-2-2 8:19

    It is for my daughter. I am reading it first. I think and hope it may benefit vian

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Unavailable Father: Seven Ways Women Can Understand, Heal, and Cope with a Broken Father-Daughter Relationship []  2020-2-2 8:19

    I pre ordered this book and was very satisfied. I could relate to much of what the author has written

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Unavailable Father: Seven Ways Women Can Understand, Heal, and Cope with a Broken Father-Daughter Relationship []  2020-2-2 8:19

    Once you understood what your father's emotional unavailability was, it didn't really give you helpful tools to work through. I would have liked to see more of the effects of this unavailability on the daughter long term.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Unavailable Father: Seven Ways Women Can Understand, Heal, and Cope with a Broken Father-Daughter Relationship []  2020-2-2 8:19

    The first book in my life that I have thrown into directly into the garbage after reading. Absolute waste of time. This women sincerely thinks a man is the ultimate respond to a woman's abusive past with her father. Total quack.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Unavailable Father: Seven Ways Women Can Understand, Heal, and Cope with a Broken Father-Daughter Relationship []  2020-2-2 8:19

    Very difficult emotionally to read, it brought home reality I have never fully recognised. I had to read it, and place it down several times through tears. It was not until my father died that I felt the freedom to be who and what I am. Must read for anyone who has gone through this

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Unavailable Father: Seven Ways Women Can Understand, Heal, and Cope with a Broken Father-Daughter Relationship []  2020-2-2 8:19

    Possibly the worst book I've ever read. Her respond to solving Daddy problems is to search a amazing man to create it all better for you. Wonder how that's working for her now?

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead White Guys: A Father, His Daughter and the Great Books of the Western World [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    Bought this book because I was teaching philosophy to my home school 9th grader and wanted another resource to add to the texts we had at hand. Then it became a reading requirement for him! Covers the dense items in a lighter vein.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maker Dad: Lunch Box Guitars, Antigravity Jars, and 22 Other Incredibly Cool Father-Daughter DIY Projects [Book]  2018-1-25 18:1

    This is a cute book with some projects to support a dad spend time with his child.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father Daughter Pendant - Personal Gift Charm Necklace From Dad To Girl - Love Engraved Dedication - Silver []  2019-12-17 18:21

    It's not the most effeminate thing a daughter could obtain for Christmas, but it's well made.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father Daughter Pendant - Personal Gift Charm Necklace From Dad To Girl - Love Engraved Dedication - Silver []  2019-12-17 18:21

    So so little heated it

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Braving It: A Father, a Daughter, and an Unforgettable Journey into the Alaskan Wild []  2020-1-19 22:18

    James Campbell tells the story of his making an indelible tag on his daughter over the course of three trips to Alaska in her fifteenth is book works as a father-daughter relationship book (somewhat) and as a glimpse of what living and travel above the Arctic Circle is like. The first two trips involve Campbell and daughter joining his cousin Heimo and his wife on their lonely homestead along the Coleen River. First, in summer, they support Heimo build a fresh cabin to escape the changing course of the river imperiling their home site. Father and Daughter give into wanderlust on returning to their home in Wisconsin and travel again to spend some time with Heimo in winter. There, they meet extreme cold as they accompany Heimo and his wife on his hunting and trapping expeditions (Heimo subsists on animal furs caught and sold).All this in preparation for the ultimate father daughter trek, a summer hike to their place in on the Hula-hula River and canoe trip down the river to the Arctic Ocean. While experienced in handling a canoe in the lower 48, they wisely teamed up with two experienced Alaskan adventurers. The latest part of the book chronicles their challenging hike and rapid filled canoe e author faces both aging and the moods of a teenaged girl in his frequent inner dialogues in the book. No revelations here, but his experience and wanderings about his own bodily changes and the challenges of interacting with a daughter on the brink of woman-hood are interesting as a lot of readers no doubt have or will experience the is is a beautiful amazing book. The picture of life and travel in the harsh Alaska outdoors is interesting and the best part of the book. The relationship forms the backdrop and provides the reason for the setting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Braving It: A Father, a Daughter, and an Unforgettable Journey into the Alaskan Wild []  2020-1-19 22:18

    Two of the three parts were a amazing modernize to "The Final Frontiersman: Heimo Korth and His Family, Alone in Alaska's Arctic Wilderness " which he also wrote. We learn how Heimo and Edna are doing years later. Be forewarned that sometimes you'll be reading this book and some paragraphs or pages feel like direct (lazy) lifts from that better work. But hey, if he wrote both, it ain't plagiarism (maybe subsistence writing).I got the book since the WSJ review implied it was a positive growth experience and thus approach to parenting. To me, he came across as self-centered and a bit of a jerk who hadn't matured. At times he treats his daughter poorly or puts her in situations with insufficient preparation, but hey, its ok, she loves him (he is, after all, the one doing the writing). Or he's deep in the wilderness, specifically hides health problems from the other two adults (and never writes that he reveals them). Implicitly, it is clear he's holding the squad back and others are stepping-up to hold things going. But hey, the end justifies the means; its all about him. What if things had gotten worse? Shouldn't his teammates be able to agree to the risks, or be mentally prepared to handle possible situations, or be able to help to one another on that specific subject (e.g. to his daughter)?Yes, she likely volunteered for all three trips, and yes, she likely got a lot out of them. But the may go to Heimo & Edna for two of them, and herself for the third. He had the contacts, but is found wanting in other dimensions.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    8 Simple Rules for Dating My Teenage Daughter: And Other Tips from a Beleaguered Father []  2020-1-19 22:18

    Gave as a bonus to our son with a teenage daughter. Thanks Bruce for the ability to see humor through the painful times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    8 Simple Rules for Dating My Teenage Daughter: And Other Tips from a Beleaguered Father []  2020-1-19 22:18

    I really enjoyed this book. I gave it to a mate to read. It's funny to think teenagers think they are so special but all alike. The chapter on telephones is not pertinent anymore though, all teenagers are now texting.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Build a Boat: A Father, His Daughter, and the Unsailed Sea []  2020-5-15 19:7

    I am always suspect of professional writers doing something of substance then squeezing a book out of it He did an adequate job. Very, very amazing writer. Time will tell with fatherhood.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers (P.S.) []  2020-2-7 19:35

    In 2000, Loung Ung published her childhood memoir which quickly became a national bestseller. Loung Ung’s memoir opens to the picture of a satisfied childhood in Phnom Penh. However the family’s satisfied existence abruptly changes with the invasion of the Khmer Rouge. The author describes the tragedy that befell her family and her fellow Cambodians during the nightmarish rule under Pol Pot’s reign of terror in the 1970’s. Ms. Ung relates their struggle to survive and the decisions they created which dictated their future. The author covers the invasion of the Vietnamese troops who conquer the Khmer Rouge and of her reunification with her siblings. Loung Ung’s memoir, though she lived through horrific experiences, speaks to endurance, and to the love of family. Recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers (P.S.) []  2020-2-7 19:35

    I happened to be touring the "Re-Education" School in Phnom Penh and the Killing Fields outside the town while reading this book. I can't say that I have ever felt I was living history by doing so. It was a profound experience. The book, so beautifully written in first person, tells a harrowing story of a little girl whose bravery surpasses anyone I have known or read about. Her writing deftly handles facing death, torture, starvation and endless cruelty aside times of overwhelming joy and compassion and the struggle to understand the dichotomy. Thank-you Ms. Ung, for sharing your story which will always be tattooed to my heart.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers (P.S.) []  2020-2-7 19:35

    This memoir is a stunning acc of the Pol Pot era and the ruthless khmer rouge that destroyed its own people by murder and starvation. Young Ung's family wen't from a wealthy political family to prisoners of battle overnight. Forced to labor in fields from which they could not eat from Loung gets separated from her family members who die and are murdered and her salvation comes from America's opponent the vietkong--but they're not all good. When nobody's looking even savior test to obtain away with rape and murder. I bought this book while backpacking SE Asia in to understand what happened there. You will not obtain to the end of this book without getting @#$%ed and wanting revenge on Pol Pot who was never really punished for his evil acts. I heard recently that Angelina Jolie is making a movie about this book but don't allow movie ruin a amazing story--READ THE BOOK FIRST!!!!!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father to Daughter, Revised Edition: Life Lessons on Raising a Girl []  2020-6-17 18:26

    I got this small book after my wife passed away and I suddenly realized that my job as Dad to my three daughters had become immensely bigger, even though my daughters are all in their 20s. I should have read this book sooner, but it is never too late. I have already place some of the ideas into action, in particular the one about getting your daughter a necklace - which I place my own spin on - getting them each a necklace with an angel's wing to remember their mom by.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead White Guys: A Father, His Daughter and the Great Books of the Western World [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    I absolutely loved this book!Hated the title. Was prejudiced about it because of the title. Bought it on a discount through Bookbub, thinking I should be more begin minded.And there was a unbelievable exposition of critical thoughts, which-in this time- I could not support to welcome, and honor. What this man chooses to share with his daughter is indeed a bonus to us now.I was so taken with this book, I wanted to place it on Staff Rec, but it seems to be out of ease

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead White Guys: A Father, His Daughter and the Great Books of the Western World [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    I cannot recommend this book enough. It delivers the meat of a lot of of the greatest discussions and does so in a fun and heartwarming manner.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maker Dad: Lunch Box Guitars, Antigravity Jars, and 22 Other Incredibly Cool Father-Daughter DIY Projects [Book]  2018-1-25 18:1

    A amazing book, but agree with others that you need to read and obtain the supplies to execute the projects. Not a lot you can just do spur of the moment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers (P.S.) []  2020-2-7 19:35

    It has been more than 40 years since the black-uniformed columns of the Khmer Rouge rolled into Phnom Penh and changed the life of a 5-year old girl named Loung Ung forever. With the benefit of distance, it may be all too simple to dismiss the horrors of that era to a distant corner of memory, or to [email protected]#$%! off as a bizarre aberration of history. That would be a mistake. Communism as an ideology may be bankrupt, but the specter of Utopian extremism lives on. A lot of young men and women who flock to ISIS today are fired by the same misguided zealotry, the same disdain for common human decency in the name of a supposedly better world, that brought young men and women into the folds of the Khmer Rouge 40, 50, and 60 years ago. In fact, the parallels are chilling - like a lot of leading figures of ISIS, Al Qaeda, and the Taliban today, the leaders of the Khmer Rouge were by and huge teachers. They wrote beautifully, if somewhat naively, of a return to innocent rural simplicity. They impressed their students with their erudition, simplicity of living, and apparent dedication. How can such earnest people do any wrong? A lot of will search out at the cost of their lives.Loung Ung's autobiography is a moving memorial to all the lives lost in that deranged quest for Utopia. In the eyes of the Angkar (the Khmer Rouge "organization"), liquidating the members of the old regime is but a important prelude to building a society of real believers. And if the Angkar believes that each hectare can yield 3 dozens of rice (even though the best yield before the battle was only 1 ton/hectare), then it must be achievable if everybody just works hard enough. The starry-eyed school-teachers of yesteryear who dreamed of an agrarian paradise had become totally out of touch. And with the absolute power they wielded, nobody was about to tell them otherwise. The effect was mass famine as local cadres starved the people to turn in their production quota. As millions perished, the top leadership witch-hunted for "saboteurs" and berated their topics for lack of revolutionary fervor.Ung's book is full of vivid descriptions and keen observations that bring the vicissitudes of that era poignantly to life. A lot of passages are naturally cinematic. These include:- Her idyllic family life in pre-KR Phnom Penh. The author was young, but her memory is sharp. Her colorful description of early 1970's Phnom Penh with its a lot of exotic (to an American audience) sights, sounds, and colors is an adventure in itself;- The arrival of the KR in Phnom Penh. A moment of high historical drama, but perhaps the author was too young to remember the details. This is where Chanrithy Him's dramatic acc some truly memorable moments;- Getting through the KR check points on the method out of Phnom Penh, as KR soldiers systematically rounded up all former members of the old regime. Most would be executed within days;- A widow who took refuge with the author's family, tenderly talking to the baby that she carried with her everywhere, refusing to accept that he was already dead; (p.86)- The ritual brainwashing of kids at a kid labor camp, with the clapping, the chanting of "Angkar!", the endless repetition of propaganda;- Loung's savage attack versus one of her tormentors, a bully in the children's labour camp who despised her because of her light skin. Even as a 7-year old she dreamed of the day when she'd have the power to come back to look for the bullies and "beat them until she was tired". She vowed never to forget. Her sweet-natured sister couldn't understand why she wanted to retain such horrible memories. But as Loung explained, she required the anger, the thoughts of retribution, to fill the bottomless sadness in her soul.I've always said that anger, or at least righteous indignation, is a much under-rated emotion. It needs to be controlled. It needs to be properly-channeled. But it's the juice that drives much social ly, a few observations about the author's family background. A few readers took offense at the author's perceived lack of sensitivity. Perhaps she took too much pride in her family's light skin, high status, and economic prosperity. Reading her acc of her family's encounter with the villagers in the KR base areas, it's quite evident there was much class resentment and perhaps plain-old jealousy on the part of the country folk. Even to this day a lot of villagers in the old KR base locations seem to recall that era wistfully - Pol Pot's cremation website seems to have become something of a shrine. No doubt the villagers didn't have fun the regimentation, but it was a topsy-turvy time when not good people like themselves could feel superior to the town folk who probably looked down on them. Not that the Khmer Rouge cadres themselves were particularly holy, of course. Plenty were mere opportunists. The Khmer Rouge village chief who lorded over the "new people" ate better, dressed better, and was apparently not above trading additional meal for gold at exorbitant prices. (Ironically his corruption probably saved some lives, because life definitely got a lot harder after Angkar tightened things up and sent more soldiers into the villages.) As for Pol Pot, the young Loung Ung knew almost nothing about him, except that he was "fat" in a country of living skeletons.A postscript: Those readers who are interested in how Loung and her siblings fared after the battle may be interested in reading her second book, Lucky Child. While some readers may search the happenings in her later life less dramatic, I found it equally fascinating to read about her endeavors to come to terms with her past while trying to create a fresh life for herself in America. Like a lot of kids from related backgrounds, she went through a phase when she attempted to chop all ties with her past (to the point of deliberately avoiding contact with her siblings) and plunged headlong into mainstream American youth culture. As she got older, she discovered that she could only defeat the ghosts of her past by embracing her roots, and to rise above her private losses (and petty private vengeance) by making them her life-long cause. While my own life experiences were nowhere nearly as dramatic as Luong's, there are enough similarities that what she wrote rang real to me and resonated. Well worth a read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers (P.S.) []  2020-2-7 19:35

    I didn't have any expectations when I bought the book before the Netflix film, but I'm glad I read it after watching the film. All I can say is that the book goes further than the film, and a few happenings were differently represented in the film. The book is a amazing read in the sense that the narrative reveals a very special perspective shared by the people who were unfortunate enough to experience the events--including emotions, uncertainties, confusion, desperation--that occurred during that period after the American-Vietnam conflict. A person with any interest(s) or curiousity about the effects after the Vietnam Battle would do well to read this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Braving It: A Father, a Daughter, and an Unforgettable Journey into the Alaskan Wild []  2020-1-19 22:18

    I absolutely loved this book! I love reading outdoor survival books. This was one the best books not only because of what they did but the Dad taking his 15/16 year old daughter on three huge outdoor survival trips in the middle of nowhere in Alaska was priceless! I loved his style and the topic matter I could hardly place the book down. You probably won`t see a lot of survival books that a young female teenager is featured in the book and how she and her Dad`s relationship worked in this book. I hope this books sells well because it is a total classic read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Braving It: A Father, a Daughter, and an Unforgettable Journey into the Alaskan Wild []  2020-1-19 22:18

    Jim Campbell is an epic storyteller, bringing us along for the ride on the journeys he took with his daughter to the wilds of Alaska--not once, but three times! From building a cabin in the summer to a wintertime hunting and trapping visit and on to an awesome canoe trip. This story created you both love and fear the wilderness of Alaska. This is a amazing read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    8 Simple Rules for Dating My Teenage Daughter: And Other Tips from a Beleaguered Father []  2020-1-19 22:18

    My daughter loved the humor in this book and has shared it with several friends. They all enjoyed it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    How to Build a Boat: A Father, His Daughter, and the Unsailed Sea []  2020-5-15 19:7

    The beauty of HOW TO BUILD A BOAT is that the author is as ignorant of boatbuilding as the landlubbing reader. The two learn the techniques, processes, and the queer names time has given them, together, for the first time. Fortunately, Gornall has the patience and imagination to impart serviceable understanding of the jargon if not its full meaning. The learning curve is steep but well worth the effort, because if the struggle were glossed over, if the pains diluted, if the reader spared any part of the trial; then he/she would miss the whole point. Gornall works out a reconciliation and absolution for himself in building a boat for his four year old daughter, Phoebe; and we are there to see him through.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father Daughter Pendant - Personal Gift Charm Necklace From Dad To Girl - Love Engraved Dedication - Silver []  2019-12-17 18:21

    Purchased for my step - daughter. She's 18 and was thrilled her dad gave it to her

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father to Daughter, Revised Edition: Life Lessons on Raising a Girl []  2020-6-17 18:26

    I purchased this for my son who has a 3yr daughter. Although he is a terrific dad, thought I would give him a small insight to how necessary he is, and always will be in her life. I just received the book today and flipped through a few pages. I love how the words flow and create excellent sense in such a easy way. When I flipped to the very latest page, I had to place the book down a just cry. Three small words, although very hard to say, had so much meaning and love and all kinds of emotions that I can't believe it overwhelmed me so much. Fathers, be real to your daughters. Girls can't support but love you!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father to Daughter, Revised Edition: Life Lessons on Raising a Girl []  2020-6-17 18:26

    Love this book! It's filled with quotes and teachings for every age range of your small princess. Not your traditional book I would say. Nonetheless it is a very amazing book and worth the read

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father to Daughter, Revised Edition: Life Lessons on Raising a Girl []  2020-6-17 18:26

    It may seem silly to others but I’m disappointed in the fact that the cover is green with a teddy bear when the book shows that it is clearly pink with a small girl... Other than that the book is really good, I read through quite a few pages myself before giving it to my partner & love the hints it gives.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father to Daughter, Revised Edition: Life Lessons on Raising a Girl []  2020-6-17 18:26

    One of the two best books I've ever purchased... PERIOD! I bought an original about 15 years ago and had to replace it due to being worn.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maker Dad: Lunch Box Guitars, Antigravity Jars, and 22 Other Incredibly Cool Father-Daughter DIY Projects [Book]  2018-1-25 18:1

    Super cute and totally doable ideas. Amazing difficulty rating scale. Would again for other dads!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Maker Dad: Lunch Box Guitars, Antigravity Jars, and 22 Other Incredibly Cool Father-Daughter DIY Projects [Book]  2018-1-25 18:1

    Dad and daughter are having fun with this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead White Guys: A Father, His Daughter and the Great Books of the Western World [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    In Dead White Guys, Matt Burriesci takes readers on a tour of the amazing classics of Western Civilization, from Plato to Marx. Though it is ostensibly a letter to his daughter Violet, it is really a private memoir from which we can all learn something. His essays are sprinkled with tales from his own life, making this book come alive with private insights. Whenever we read literature, we relate to it on a private level. Burriesci does not shy away from this, and his insights and real-life examples create these old classics come to life. Amazing refresher on timeless books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead White Guys: A Father, His Daughter and the Great Books of the Western World [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    I would like to give this book 3.5 stars if I could. I have to say that I thoroughly enjoyed it. I purchased a second copy and sent it to my Dad so that we could discuss the forms and philosophies of government. Because the two of us are especially interested in the topic of thought and philosophy through the ages, we rate "Dead White Guys" highly for is book reads like an outline and synopsis of the early volumes in the Britannica set "Great Books of the Western World". I enjoyed the use of modern language and the unmistakable synchronicity of the earliest democratic states and republics with the contemporary American political scene. We agreed that our own discussion of the different historical aspects of government as presented by the author were more valuable than his editorial content. Like a lot of books, it started out powerful and then wrapped up rather abruptly.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Dead White Guys: A Father, His Daughter and the Great Books of the Western World [Book]  2018-1-6 18:0

    A good, quick, simple to follow (for the most part) introduction to western civilization's amazing books and deep thinkers.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father Daughter Pendant - Personal Gift Charm Necklace From Dad To Girl - Love Engraved Dedication - Silver []  2019-12-17 18:21

    Just perfect. For my daughter s birthday.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father Daughter Pendant - Personal Gift Charm Necklace From Dad To Girl - Love Engraved Dedication - Silver []  2019-12-17 18:21

    It was absolutely beautiful. Better than the picture. My husband gave it to our daughter to build confidence!! She loved it and even cried at age 11.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father Daughter Pendant - Personal Gift Charm Necklace From Dad To Girl - Love Engraved Dedication - Silver []  2019-12-17 18:21

    So sweet. Very nice weight. We were really pleased.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Braving It: A Father, a Daughter, and an Unforgettable Journey into the Alaskan Wild []  2020-1-19 22:18

    I read this as an immediate sequel to Heimo North, the Final Frontiersman. I was not expecting as amazing a read as it turned out. It was going to be a bog much different. Having done some flat and whitewater canoeing myself urged me to read it. Besides, I like the author's style. I found I could appreciate the river challenges and difficulties. The author did a amazing job detailing the scenery, the danger, challenges and triumph of the trip. It was exciting and he created me feel I was right along with them. The trials and tribulations of guiding a daughter on such a challenging trip as she literally grew up on the trip were heartwarming and I could relate to the ups and downs of dealing with a teenager. Worthwhile story and I highly recommend. I have camped, canoed, hiked and hunted much in my lifetime, but never having been to Alaska almost created me feel like I had been there and surely regret that I never have. Descriptions of the land, scenery and brutal weather are very real. Although much more intense because of the expedition, most parents can relate to the teen-parent communication difficulties and there is something for everyone to learn.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Braving It: A Father, a Daughter, and an Unforgettable Journey into the Alaskan Wild []  2020-1-19 22:18

    I read Braving It for my book club, and it proved to be a thought-provoking and illuminating read. Braving It created me reflect on how I was raising my own kids and the kinds of opportunities that I would like to them in the wilderness. James Campbell gives his daughter Aidan the possibility to push herself out of her comfort location while doing all he can to ensure her safety. As a effect of her experiences in the Alaskan wilderness, Aidan learns to be more self-reliant and confident—qualities we all wish for our teenage kids before they leave home. The book is beautifully written with poetic descriptions of the Alaskan landscape and a poignant exploration of the father-daughter relationship.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    8 Simple Rules for Dating My Teenage Daughter: And Other Tips from a Beleaguered Father []  2020-1-19 22:18

    I enjoyed reading it but it was just good, not great. Mostly funny and I did like his writing style. Our daughter read it cover to cover quickly and seemed to like it, but refuses to admit it. My wife is reading it now and she also likes was written at the begin of the cell phone era so the material relating to phone lines in the house and cell phones is very dated.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    8 Simple Rules for Dating My Teenage Daughter: And Other Tips from a Beleaguered Father []  2020-1-19 22:18

    Every dad's nightmare... Bruce eases the pain of raising a teenage daughter. His observations and assessments are spot on. I would like to see an modernize on how 'technology' plays a more prevalent role.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father to Daughter, Revised Edition: Life Lessons on Raising a Girl []  2020-6-17 18:26

    Simple to read and it's not rhetorical. Also the is amazing! My hospital shop wanted 20.00 for this bby comes home after work and sips his drink while reading this book. I hear him agreeing and even giggling. I'm 38 weeks pregnant with our first born. Recommend this book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father to Daughter, Revised Edition: Life Lessons on Raising a Girl []  2020-6-17 18:26

    Amazing book. Full of statements that challenge any dad to take a close look at himself.Certainly got my share of chuckles along with some eye opening impressions.Feel like this may give me some insight into things to come.Would recommend for all dads with daughters!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Father to Daughter, Revised Edition: Life Lessons on Raising a Girl []  2020-6-17 18:26

    The quotes are solid and in alignment with my values. I was expected it to be an actual instructional book, but it's a little fit-in-your-palm book that has a short thought on each page. I read it out loud to my wife as we're getting ready for bed, and I can see myself re-reading it to remind myself of things that I should do with my baby girl during her life.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers (P.S.) []  2020-2-7 19:35

    I read the Kindle ver of this book, which contained distracting typos. I do not know whether these exist in all versions of the ere were a couple of times in the book after a person disappeared that Loung wrote what she imagined happened to them. It was hard for me to believe that a six-year-old would imagine the things she described, so those passages felt less genuine to me and felt more like she read about info of the Khmer Rouge’s practices as an adult and wove them into the story for dramatic effect.Typos and writing devices aside, this was obviously bound to be a terribly sad story. It is difficult to read about the atrocities of genocide, especially having seen in person the turrets of human skulls left behind from the heavy killings.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386