Read fields of gold reviews, rating & opinions:

Check all fields of gold reviews below or publish your opinion.

100 Reviews Found

Sort by: Most Accurate (default) | Newest | Top Rated

  • 0

    Useful review?

    clash of clans []  2020-5-11 22:47

    recommend amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing amazing

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    guns of glory []  2020-5-21 22:34
    [email protected]

    Just played Guns of Glory on a phone application via mistplay reviews. Played this one with amazing interest as on the mobile you got the impression of controlling your characters on the ground level, helping catch pick pockets etc etc. Like all mobile ads this was misleading. Don't obtain me wrong the android game itself was addictive and you can spend hours playing (If you play via mistplay you can earn a fair few Amazon vouchers), but yeah false advertising? Really? Unfortunately this is a huge pitfall a lot of android games like these fall into. For example you can expect a nice create your kitchen safe android game but instead you obtain something quite various (garden scapes see add for application and play game)

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Gold to Bluegrass: From the Oil Fields of Texas to Spindletop Farm of Kentucky []  2020-2-7 19:37

    been wanting to read this book for years

    0  


    Add your opinion on fields of gold or scroll down to read more reviews ↓

     

  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Gold to Bluegrass: From the Oil Fields of Texas to Spindletop Farm of Kentucky []  2020-2-7 19:37

    Amazing story!!! Love the book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Gold to Bluegrass: From the Oil Fields of Texas to Spindletop Farm of Kentucky []  2020-2-7 19:37

    This is a very readable and very interesting acc of the rise of the Yount-Lee Oil Company and Pansy Younts subsequent contribution to the American Saddlebred Horse industry. This is unlike previous accounts in that this acc is ACCURATE and based completely in fact. I enjoyed it immensly and would recommend it to one and all.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Gold to Bluegrass: From the Oil Fields of Texas to Spindletop Farm of Kentucky []  2020-2-7 19:37

    Really a fascinating read. The saga of the Yount's, it truly a Texas tale. I really enjoyed the vintage photos, I have seen the oil manisons in Beaumont and they are quite spectacular, though the most popular the McFaddin Mansion was not shown, but this was a book that focused mainly on the Younts and though their mansion on Calder is long gone, the Amazing Gatsbyish Caldwood mansion is still extant and still breathtaking. This book is well researched and I believe anyone with an interest in a amazing story will have fun this book: Mrs. Yount was one of a kind. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Gold to Bluegrass: From the Oil Fields of Texas to Spindletop Farm of Kentucky []  2020-2-7 19:37

    Very interesting book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Gold to Bluegrass: From the Oil Fields of Texas to Spindletop Farm of Kentucky []  2020-2-7 19:37

    The book I got was damaged...and had to be sent back, but it would have been interesting to read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Gold to Bluegrass: From the Oil Fields of Texas to Spindletop Farm of Kentucky []  2020-2-7 19:37

    Very comprehensive and fascinating history of the Yount family.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Black Gold to Bluegrass: From the Oil Fields of Texas to Spindletop Farm of Kentucky []  2020-2-7 19:37

    Black Gold To Bluegrass is an perfect and very readable book about the Second Spindletop Oil Boom, which occurred in 1925 in Beaumont, Texas. The authors have very diligently researched all their facts and have created the people involved in this story seem very true to the reader.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    Latest Train from Not good Valley is one of the best tracks on this awesome acoustic, folk, guitar album. The entire cd is amazing!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    On the 40th anniversary of its release, this album is as listenable now as it was then (yes, I bought it 40 years ago), and its importance can now be viewed in its historical context. Norman Blake has been described as a neotraditionalist; he plays both traditional and original tunes. His original tunes, however, such as "lord won't you support me", "billy gray", "church road blues" and a lot of others, while often addressing contemporary themes, clearly present their traditional roots and became instant classics. His influence in contemporary American roots melody is immense and his songs have been widely covered by other artists such as Tony Rice, Robert Earl Keen and Sara ere is an authenticity and warmth to Mr. Blake' singing and playing that is irresistible. This album includes some of Blake's best compositions. The performances are outstanding, and the arrangements innovative in that they employ instrumentation such as cello and dobro non-traditionally, and it actually rman Blake has never created an even remotely poor album, but this is one of his best and it is a classic, and so is he.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    Early 1970s Norman Blake studio album. You can feel the love blooming between our favorite flattop picker and his cellist, Nancy, whom he would marry and with whom he has done so much splendid work over the e Cast:Norman Blake - guitar, fiddle, dobro, mandolin, vocalsCharlie Collins - guitar, fiddleRobert Arthur "Tut" Taylor - dobroNancy Short - celloThe Numbers:1."Green Leaf Fancy"2."Last Train from Not good Valley"3."White Oak Swamp"4."Ruins of Richmond"5."Graycoat Soldiers"6."Caperton Ferry"7."Southern Railroad Blues"8.."Lord Won't You Support Me"9."Krazy Kurtis"10."Coming Down from Rising Fawn"11."Uncle"12."The Old Brown Case"13."The Fields of November"This is the true deal; accept no substitutes. I burned it to my XBOX 360 hard drive so's i can send it to my son in Rising Fawn: a neighbor of the Blakes. I will play it every November for the rest of my natural life - once a year - for savoring.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    One of the classics in traditional melody and a must-have for Norman Blake fans. That's the original "The Fields of November" I'm referring to. In this CD you obtain that album plus one called "Old and New." Whereas I give 4-5 stars for each track on TFoN, I would give 3-4 stars for tracks on OaN. Still great, but it's worth listening to the tracks for TFoN together, to obtain a sense of what a classic the original vinyl was. I only bought the CD because I've worn out the vinyl copy to the point that there are a fair number of pops and clicks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    Really amazing two album set in one CD. Fields of November is a attractive tune, and a lot of amazing old Norman Blake tunes and songs. This one is a wow!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    This recording, actually a compilation of two records released by Flying Fish Records in the 70's, provides the bridge between Norman's early solo work and his later efforts with the Rising Fawn String Ensemble. A marvelous mix of original songs (Graycoat Soldiers, Old Brown Case, Billy Gray, Latest Train from Not good Valley) and traditional tunes (most interesting - a three-part Cuckoo's Nest) presented with understated elegance, mostly by Norman with Nancy Short (later Nancy Blake), Charlie Collins, Tut Taylor, and Sand Mountain fiddler James is one, by the way, drives guitar players crazy due to the fact that Norman doesn't always play in standard (A=440) tuning, preferring to tweak the strings up or down just a bit as it fits the song. Norman once said at a workshop "Sometimes I guess I just hear a song a small various than standard..."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    I don't know how a lot of times I've listened to this album, probably on a weekly and some times everyday basis. I had forgotten, though, until I place on one of the vinyl copies I own about the two tracks they left off Fields of November so they could cram two albums on to one CD: Ruins of Richmond and Caperton Ferry. They are both instrumental tracks and are NOT filler. The vinyl isn't terribly hard to find; I wouldn't discourage anybody from getting the CD, but I strongly encourage every one to obtain a vinyl copy so you can have the complete picture. Old and Fresh has some amazing songs on it, but Fields of November captured a unique moment in time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    I have it on vinyl somewhere but can't search it. this has the originals plus some extras. these are some of his best songs--Grey coat soldiers, uncle, Latest train from not good valley, etc, etc, etc.. gotta have it!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    Norman Blake is a very amazing guitar player and it comes through with all his instrumentals. Yet the song I like best is "Billy Gray" since Norman's voice for western tunes is so good. I would like more vocals on his CDs.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Fields of November []  2020-1-3 23:50

    An essential part of the collection for anyone interested in folk or traditional American music. Sometimes Norman Blake can be a small off-putting because of his technical skills. Fans of the Harry Smith anthology might appreciate a small rougher sound. Fields of November exemplifies Blake's awesome licks without being too showy. It stays real to the old styles without wandering into Fresh Grass or Jam band hippie music. Especially the title track, with the cello and violin, sounds like down home. I have loved this album since I was a child in the seventies.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gears of War: Aspho Fields []  2020-1-31 22:20

    I enjoyed this book only because I am a fan, and since I am a fan, I can say that I really really enjoyed ever, if you are unfamiliar with the Gears storyline already, if you haven't played any of the android games and don't know a bit about each hero (what they look like, sound like, act like, their backstory) you will be completely lost on a lot of things. The author seems to take a shortcut assuming that her audience knows everything already (which most of us probably do), but I would have still liked a small more descriptive writing. She gets the story across, but a lot of moments in the book that should be really intense and climactic seemed lacking. It felt like reading a report of what happened with dialogue rather than reading something that place me there with the characters.I recommend this book to those that wish to know more about GOW, but for anyone looking for a amazing book to read, pass. I will however be reading the rest of the series... the story has hooked me, just not the writing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gears of War: Aspho Fields []  2020-1-31 22:20

    I'm not sure what else to say other than this was a Amazing series! The jumping around within the series was a small distracting but nothing that should deter anyone from reading them. I must say I am a large fan of the Gears of Battle series, both android game and books but the books really delve into the characters and their life storyline. Karen Traviss is an perfect writer and I really didn't wish to see an end to the series. These books really create you feel like Epic Android games did a really not good job with their storyline compared to the in depth detail Traviss included in the series. I also search it a plus that she stuck with what small storyline Epic Android games did giver her. Not to give anything away but Anyone who really enjoyed the android game should definitely give this series a eat job Karen Traviss!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gears of War: Aspho Fields []  2020-1-31 22:20

    I have to say, i didn't know what to expect when i ordered this book. I have always liked the video android game series and when i saw there were books i just had to have. These books are there to allow you know more about the characters.GoW: Aspho Fields is a story that takes put in show time and a flash back, 14 A.E and stretching all the method back to 12 years before emergence day when Marcus was just 10 meeting Dom and his brother for the first time, often switching between chapters. Most of the flash backs are about Marcus and Dom's brother, Carlos, time in the COG troops before the locust came. Also Dom's Commando days. we also obtain to see a lot more of hero like Bernie Mataki who isnt as huge of a hero in the a book alone i have to admit it isnt the best piece of literature but as a GoW fan i love it. Amazing length and details. a must for an Gears fan. Definitely begin with this book if you are fresh to the books.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gears of War: Aspho Fields []  2020-1-31 22:20

    Book is at 4 1/2 rating. I really got into this book, it answers a lot of questions people have especially since the first android game takes put 14 or so years into E-Day and this tells all of what happened before then when they were children so about 25 years in the past and just a week after the happenings of the first game. Shows how Marcus came to be such close mates with Dom and how their journey began as Gears together, yes a lot of people complained about the constant jumping back and fourth between time periods but if you attention then that shouldn't be a issue just imagine its a video android game stage I have never had that much jumping in between times, its a first and I found myself really pulled in by it. It goes into depth on Marcus and why he is the method he is, very detached and how he grew up compared to Doms family. It tells just how much emotions a lot of these men and women have and the struggles they have gone through since day one, there are a lot of scenes where they are very vivid to me because it was well written in my opinion, it tells you what the characters are feeling and you obtain to be inside these characters shoes. There are very deep well written pieces of text's here and tell a whole untold story all together. Any REAL Gears fan should read up on these novels because they tell nothing that are in the video games, trust me you may even end up feeling various about some of the characters once you obtain some more back-story on them!FRAG OUT!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gears of War: Aspho Fields []  2020-1-31 22:20

    Not good hero development. They were shallow. In her Republic Commando books and the Wess'har series, the characters were people we wound up caring about and invested in, but not this one. I guess I dont know what exactly was bably if you are a vet or know / knew someone who served, it would carry more e characters weren't heroic per se, nor did the story flow.Might be amazing if you are a Gears fan, but the Travis fans maybe should look azon lets you read inside here and there. Might be a amazing idea.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gears of War: Aspho Fields []  2020-1-31 22:20

    I can't obtain enough of gears. After finishing the games, I wanted to know more. I was so involved in this book, I got them all as a birthday gift. It definitely created me cry at the end. Loved knowing fresh characters and detail of their hairy situations. I'm On to Jacinto's reminent and I've gotten through the first chapter so far. LET ME TELL YOU. IT JUST KEEPS GETTING BETTER

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gears of War: Aspho Fields []  2020-1-31 22:20

    This book was amazing i am a large GoW fan and the book complements the android games very nicely. it explains allot about every aspect of the games. The book flipped from 14 years after Eday and and before Eday during the Pendulum war. some other posters left some poor reviews about how it was dumb that it did flip between the two times but i have to say they are wrong and by flipping between both times(14 years after Eday and the Pendulum war) it gave you a history of how the COGS began and there purpose and by doing so it answered allot of questions and explained why the plant Sera is they method it is show day. when you read the book or play the android game you see the planet Sera they are on and it has been ravaged by 90+ years of intense war.i guess without a understanding of the history of everything and not flipping back to the past one always wonders why and how things got to be and by knowing a history it adds so much more to least it did for me, its allot more than just a android game with chop scenes explaining a few things in between. the book explains allot about the major characters also. It would like to see the next book focus on Eday in amazing detail and hopefully more books will follow because this is one of the greatest stories and there is so much more they could write into more books.I just finsihed the book the other day and during reading it i could not place it down, i think i am going to read again here soon. it is well worth the time to read and a amazing story. i also thought the author described things with amazing detail for example when she described the locust getting chainsawed it created you feel as if you was watching your television screen and chainsawing them yourself while playing your xbox !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gears of War: Aspho Fields []  2020-1-31 22:20

    Not only does this book some amazing back back-story on the "Gears of War" series, it's stands as an perfect battle story. Traviss takes hardened fighters and spills their guts on the table for examination. Forgoing the temptation to create two-dimensional super-soldier heroes, she takes you for an inside look at their globe and what it takes to survive it. The pressures, the camaraderie, the adrenaline of combat, self-doubt, and the weight of the past threatening to tear down the show and future. Having Traviss as the author of all the novels (and, I believe, of the third game) a amazing method to have narrative consistency throughout for the entire series. The audiobook is wonderfully narrated by David Colacci as he manages to give all the characters and narration distinct voices, accents, and attitudes. Having listened to other audiobooks by narrators with less range always disappointed me, but Colacci delivers in ways I've never heard before. Having experienced this unbelievable collaboration, I will definitely be picking up a copy of the second novel, "Jacinto's Remnant".

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gears of War: Aspho Fields []  2020-1-31 22:20

    My review is based on the Kindle Fire Edition. This was the first e-book I ever downloaded for my Kindle Fire which is a tell-tale indication that I am a Gears of Battle fan. I have played all three android games and enjoyed them pho Fields gives a taste of the back story and history for the characters in the android game and the globe of Sera. It doesn't give you a complete picture immediately as this is part a series of books on the Gears universe. More like a tantalizing begin and a promise for more info in later e book does fill in the gaps and adds more depth to which in turn creates a better understanding of the android game characters. As I read through the book you almost have to meld the book and the android game together and you come to a fresh appreciation for Gears of Battle in general. The book's narrative style consists of jumping from flashbacks to show ever, I did search the book difficult to read despite being a fan of the franchise. Knowing what things look like in the globe of Sera, based on the game, I would have thought reading through the book would create comprehending the storytelling easier but it didn't. The flow of the story was plodding and monotonous. It felt like the author pulled Gears information to build a frame of a story around that info, threw in some dialogue and hope that the reader is familiar enough with the Gears universe to keep the whole thing together. The storytelling could have been better. I don't know if it's the pace or the author's writing style, but I wanted more creativity and it felt ybe because this is the first book and because it is a android game franchise, things are already set in stone which might limit how the story is told? I don't know but I found myself wishing there was more to the method the story was told then what was presented.If you are not familiar with Gears of Battle at all, this book will not be a amazing read. It's going to be shallow at best and would not keep your interest. If you're a fan, like me, who found the characters and story endearing in the android game than this book is more like a supplemental to the whole experience. Recommended to any Gears of Battle fan looking for a amazing read about the android game we all love.On a technical note, some pages on the Kindle Fire ver would come up blank. In to bring out the page I had to press on where a word would be to highlight the word and that fixes the missing page. It pops up.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Gears of War: Aspho Fields []  2020-1-31 22:20

    I love the Gears of Battle android games and this fits perfectly in the universe. The story fills in the gaps of the android game story that I have always wondered about. If you're a Gears can or military Sci-Fi fan then you'll have fun this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Years in the Klondike and Alaskan Gold Fields 1896-1898: A Thrilling Narrative of Life in the Gold Mines and Camps []  2019-12-23 20:23

    You know how when you were younger you may have thought you wanted to sign on to work on a whaler like the 'Pequod' because it sounded so adventurous, or maybe become an astronaut, climb Mount Everest or find for gold in the Klondike in the late 1890's? Then you read a book and you say to yourself 'What was I thinking!? I must be crazy!' This is one of those e writer, in his 20's - bored and living in Fresh England, decides to create his fortune searching for gold out west. He meets a like minded man who has already panned for gold in Alaska and decides to go with him on his return trip the following year, which if I remember would have been 1896. What follows is a meticulously detailed acc of everything - and I mean EVERYTHING - you'll need to obtain to the Alaska gold country, survive for 2 years, hopefully become rich, and leave the country while you're still breathing. Long lists of clothing you'll have to bring, why you'll have to bring that type of clothing - whether you're a man or a woman - what meal to bring, how much of each type, what route to take - either over land or via the different river systems - who to hire to support you (the writer - and probably most Americans at the time - considers Indians in the zone lower than low. Shiftless, worthless, thieving, useless wastes of zone that have zero reason to exist on the planet) what animals to buy, how to build boats, how to build cabins, how to build sluice boxes, how much meal will cost once you obtain to Alaska/Klondike, everything you'd possibly need to know to mine/sluice for gold whether it's during the summer or the 9 month long winter. Everything about the weather (it's bad) the mosquitos (also bad) the mud (deep) the cold (nearly relentless) the danger (ever present) and this is all followed by stories of miners who search nothing, but there's also countless stories of men who strike it e thing is the book is rather long and that's mostly because the major points in the story are retold over and over again. Hearing 5 various versions of how 5 various groups of gold seekers test to climb over the same high mountain pass can be interesting to a point, in general quite a bit of it gets very if you're looking for the definitive non-fiction acc of the trials and tribulations of gold seekers who basically place their life on the line almost every day to test and strike it rich in the wilderness of Alaska and Canada about 125 years ago, this is the book for you. Just remember, you can speed read through the latest half of the book and you won't miss much.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Years in the Klondike and Alaskan Gold Fields 1896-1898: A Thrilling Narrative of Life in the Gold Mines and Camps []  2019-12-23 20:23

    I lived, hunted, fished and even panned a small gold in the zone Mr. Haskell discusses in this book. Oneof the best descriptions of the zone I have came across. Well written and what I believe to be very accurate. If interested in Alaska, you will have fun this book. I highly recommend it.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Years in the Klondike and Alaskan Gold Fields 1896-1898: A Thrilling Narrative of Life in the Gold Mines and Camps []  2019-12-23 20:23

    This is not a light weight book full of tales and glory. The author is full of insight as a participant in the rush. He fully explains the nuts and bolts of an adventure like this. Adequately covers the good, bad, and the ugly aspects of such an undertaking. Well written,rarely slow , and when you finish, you realize the amazing knowledge gained from such a amazing author and adventurer. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Years in the Klondike and Alaskan Gold Fields 1896-1898: A Thrilling Narrative of Life in the Gold Mines and Camps []  2019-12-23 20:23

    This is a wonderfully exciting narrative, written and published more than a century ago by a Klondike prospector who'd "been there, done that." It was probably not transcribed directly from a diary, but was certainly written soon after events, while memories were still fresh. The author briefly prospected for gold in the Cripple Creek mountains of Colorado, following which he and his partner joined the angry stampede and hazardous trek over Chilkoot Pass, thence down the Yukon River to the Klondike gold field. The original publication was seemingly scanned using optical hero recognition, resulting in occasional typographical errors, which are simple to ignore. The author writes in a highly literate manner, and the text is very well edited. The story comes across as interesting and as exciting as the best fictional portrayal of that era (i.e., James Michener's "Alaska" and others)--and is a amazing example of truth at times being stranger than fiction. This book will be of serious interest to the historian, and is also an exciting page-turner. Highly recommended!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Years in the Klondike and Alaskan Gold Fields 1896-1898: A Thrilling Narrative of Life in the Gold Mines and Camps []  2019-12-23 20:23

    The author and his mate decide to mine for gold in the Klondike at the beginning of the stampede. The book is full of private accounts of the difficulties of mining in the frozen north. He contains a lot of accounts of winners and losers. I particularly liked his description of the women miners (not showgirls but miners). He found a modest fortune but almost lost his life several times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Years in the Klondike and Alaskan Gold Fields 1896-1898: A Thrilling Narrative of Life in the Gold Mines and Camps []  2019-12-23 20:23

    This was not only a very informative read, but a very helpful read pertaining to the history of Alaska and the Yukon zone itself. It was because of the gold and the gold seekers that so a lot of of today's towns were born. It was so fascinating to hear of the hardships and difficulties the people endured to obtain to the gold fields and to read of the conditions in which they worked and lived. I seriously doubt that a lot of people today could or would endure the life and lifestyle that these hardy people endured. Seeking gold was not for the faint of heart. One had to be truly ready to give up almost all aspects of the life they were use to in to come create the arduous trip to Alaska in find of gold. Not all created it there and a lot of of the ones that did found only empty dreams. This was a very amazing first hand acc of the events at the turn of the 20th century. If you are interested in history and or people going the distance this will be a amazing read for you.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Years in the Klondike and Alaskan Gold Fields 1896-1898: A Thrilling Narrative of Life in the Gold Mines and Camps []  2019-12-23 20:23

    An excellent, well written book that info what the gold seekers went through in attempting to "strike it rich" in Alaska in the late 1890's. More than just the day-to-day life of the miners, it covers the history of the Alaskan gold rush, the financial, physical and mental costs involved, and the multitude of hazards they faced just to survive. Could the clock be rewound to that time, it would be on the "Must Read First" list of any prospective miner who caught gold fever and was contemplating joining the crowd. Highly recommended.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Years in the Klondike and Alaskan Gold Fields 1896-1898: A Thrilling Narrative of Life in the Gold Mines and Camps []  2019-12-23 20:23

    This is an interesting book and overall i enjoyed it, but it did drag and am not sure if some of the passages actually added anything to the content of the book. Also, I really would have liked drawings, maps, and pictures, especially of the tools, boats, sleds, equipment that they used. I know that photography existed then, so some images of the towns would have been really helpful. also, without maps, it is really hard to understand where things happened, or distances from point to point. The book was OK, but could have been a lot better.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Years in the Klondike and Alaskan Gold Fields 1896-1898: A Thrilling Narrative of Life in the Gold Mines and Camps []  2019-12-23 20:23

    I always search private narratives appealing, and the Klondike is a fresh zone for me. This one is beautiful good, and I think most readers who have fun hearing about a young man's trip west and then north--and the a lot of adventures along the way--will be reasonably pleased.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Years in the Klondike and Alaskan Gold Fields 1896-1898: A Thrilling Narrative of Life in the Gold Mines and Camps []  2019-12-23 20:23

    Surprisingly well written, some historical pieces are not. Drags a bit when describing areas but I’m sure that was fascinating for wanna-be gold miners when it was written. It does give a sense of what this country and the Klondike gold rush was like.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of War: Battle of Normandy []  2020-1-20 19:49

    If you are planning to visit France WWII battlefields STOP HERE and this book. It is the most detailed, well researched and hands down the best book on the subject. No other tutorial tutorial book comes close to the breadth of Fields of War. From the outset, it is obvious the author is passionate and thoroughly familiar with the French WWII battlefields, and this book is very well organized, researched and a important companian for any European battlefield tour. For WWII history buffs, it is a amazing read and very informative even if a European trip is not on the horizon. I cannot say enough about this book and highly recommend it for anybody remotely interested in this topic.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of War: Battle of Normandy []  2020-1-20 19:49

    Incredibly thorough detailed book. Will save you hours in finding hard to locate war sites. Perfect descriptions of engagements. I wore my copy out. If you are going to use only one book this is the one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of War: Battle of Normandy []  2020-1-20 19:49

    Perfect overview especially for those that have ben there or know it well and are planning on going,

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of War: Battle of Normandy []  2020-1-20 19:49

    Well Written. Perfect guide.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of War: Battle of Normandy []  2020-1-20 19:49

    This was the very best of my tutorial books I used in my seven day self tour of Normandy around the town of Carentan.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of War: Battle of Normandy []  2020-1-20 19:49

    excellently explored and presented - unique!will most probably be of interest for pacifists, as well

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Years in the Klondike and Alaskan Gold-fields (1898) []  2020-4-1 19:46

    This is an interesting tale told by an actual participant in the Alaskan gold rush. I was delighted to search he was a decent writer and some of his lines were actually poetic. His tale leads us from moments of gut-wrenching hardiship and terror brought about by the effort to move men, animals, supplies over treacherous mountains and through the permafrosted valleys, all in the pursuit of is book is full of description of the Alaskan wilderness in it's most attractive and its most miserable. The book does not actually have a plot, since it is a first person acc of Haskell's wild and wooly experience. But it does follow a logical sequence. A lot of times Haskell finds himself knee-deep in freezing water wondering if the little flakes he seeks are worth the he's in physical effort. But in the end he's an optimist, and rewards the reader with a lot of amazing tales of his adventure.I recommend this book.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Years in the Klondike and Alaskan Gold-fields (1898) []  2020-4-1 19:46

    There are plenty of books on the subject, but this one is a gem. The author’s command of the English language and ability to tell a story are equaled only by his wonderful insight and wisdom.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Years in the Klondike and Alaskan Gold-fields (1898) []  2020-4-1 19:46

    I chose this book because I have fun true life adventure & survival stories. The book is written in a manner of the times. Some have complained about, but I enjoyed the forthright & honesty that the author brings to the story. There are a couple of terms that the "Politically Correct Police" might have a issue with, but oh well. He does obtain a bit long a couple of times when he talks about how much gold was mined & where. It's awesome the conditions they had to endurer just to obtain there.Which reminds me! Do yourself a favor, obtain a amazing map of Alaska & the surrounding zone & hold it close by so when he's talking about certain towns, rivers, etc. you'll be able to orient these locations on a map & it'll create a lot more largest complaint is the sloppy job converting it to Kindle format. Some letters have been misprinted & the original page breaks can occur in the middle of the Kindle page. At the begin I was scratching my head a bit, but it was easier to fit the pieces together as I went along. Too poor the pictures weren't my humble opinion, still worth the read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Years in the Klondike and Alaskan Gold-fields (1898) []  2020-4-1 19:46

    Quit detailed informational. Not a novel reading. A lot of experiences & helpful tips if thinking of going to prospect. Wouldn't read urbanism

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Years in the Klondike and Alaskan Gold-fields (1898) []  2020-4-1 19:46

    Totally fascinated by the Klondike and it's history! After watching The Discovery Channel mini series based (loosely, very loosely) on William Haskell's two years in the Klondike, I searched out to read his actual book he wrote of his is was a very difficult read due to the early 20th century writing style and the very not good formatting of the Kindle download. The writing I was able to obtain through after learning Haskell's writing style, but the formatting of the text was very distracting and I feel could of been handled much better. I also believe that there were originally pictures, maps, and diagrams that were never formatted into the Kindle e-version which took away from the reading experience. This is the first Kindle e-book that has been a disappointment in the over 90 titles that I have bought. At this point I would really love to see an original copy of this book just to see the method it was originally written.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Farmers: Interning, Mentoring, Partnering, Germinating []  2019-12-19 18:51

    I think Joel Salatin is inspiring. This book excited me more about health, farming, and life in general than beautiful much anything I've ever read.He's very clear, he practices what he preaches, and he really conveys his own spirit and vision for the future in his writing. I came away thinking: "I can do this." Even if I never do an internship at Polyface, I feel like I've been pointed in the right direction.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Farmers: Interning, Mentoring, Partnering, Germinating []  2019-12-19 18:51

    amazing book , simple read, Joel's humor as all his books . A amazing read for the aging farmer trying to figure out how to hold the farm going . Im the 3rd generation on my put , none of my children are interested in keeping the farm going. This book gave me some ideals.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire (Frontlines Book 5) []  2020-1-6 18:53

    The Skinny: happenings take put a small over a month after the 4th novel. Earth's forces are gearing up for a major offensive versus the Lankies controlling Mars. The fate of Earth depends upon success. The problem, the once seemingly dumb Lankies are now acting very e Good: Kloos keeps the pace of the story cranking. It's an action story. He delivers, and even does so with some even e Bad: Throughout four books I've been thinking "this is a spacefaring race, yes they are 'alien', but they act without tactic and tactics". Finally, the question is being answered, but a bit too e action is good, but the story doesn't so much go forward as it meets a stalemate. Book 6 needs to provide more answers. Book 4 started some hero development, but book 5 e Ugly: Lots of "F" oughts: This is an simple to read series; however, I never got excited about this volume. Usually, I tear threw these in less than a week, this one didn't inspire me to turn pages. Kloos needs to develop his Poor Guy Aliens beyond that. Now, they are the simple to hate aliens. He toys, a small bit, with his characters seeing them as less alien, and more human, but not enough.I'm ready for Lt Grayson to develop beyond just a amazing soldier.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire (Frontlines Book 5) []  2020-1-6 18:53

    Where other series live long enough to see themselves become the villain, Frontlines continues to capture my attention and keeps me craving more and more of this story. I haven't been able to place my kindle down since I read the first book. Andrew manages to stay grounded and focused despite his increasingly jaded outlook and extinction plopping it's ugly carcass on humanity's front e Lankies always have seem to have surprises waiting for humans and this book is no exception as they take the war to the Lankies for the first time in a massive, united front. The surprises are nothing overly innovative or necessarily mind-blowing, but as in the past, they are almost enough to derail everything, as a slight shift in their alien strategies requires us (humans) to change our entire paradigm prior to the next 's going to be a long year until the next one comes out.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields Of Grace [Studio Series Performance Track] []  2020-1-31 9:27

    Love it. Delivery was quick

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields Of Grace [Studio Series Performance Track] []  2020-1-31 9:27

    Awesome

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Farmers: Interning, Mentoring, Partnering, Germinating []  2019-12-19 18:51

    For someone like me, a former management consultant for fortune 500 companies and now, owner of a company catering to Agri-Businesses I like this book. It provides a fundamental understanding of the challenges faced by farmers in the US. There are clear examples of success and practical tutorials such as how to structure contracts, MOU's (memorandum of understanding), insights to profitability, how to run a farm like a business, succession planning and of course there is no lack of amazing wit and humor from Joel Salatin.But there is more, I found consistent mention of SOP's (Standard Operating Procedures) something that is so fundamental for any business, I would concur this is critical especially for farming operations. Running a business based on consensus planning and execution (Sales & Operations Planning) where different representatives such as Marketing, Operations, Processing & Distribution are brought together to create decisions; is something even fortune 500 companies struggle with today and they look to optimize on a periodic basis via Sales & Operations Planning is book has amazing insights, Mr. Salatin could probably advise a management board based on these principles. And as for making use of the energy, innovation, willing to change the globe that comes with youth these concepts are also employed by huge profitable companies. I think this book makes a amazing attempt to highlight those opportunities, so read this with an begin mind and you may search insights to drive your business like you never thought possible.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire (Frontlines Book 5) []  2020-1-6 18:53

    The fifth installation delivers. I've reviewed every entry into this series, and Kloos gets better at every milepost. This series ihas been largely plot driven, and feels new for a pew-pew military SF series. In this entry, Kloos shows his hero chops as for the first time time I'm flipping through pages sweating about who is going to create elds of Fire is the campaign to retake Mars, and I would have been satisfied with a routine "turning of the tide" novel, which I fully expected. But he even manages to shake that up a bit and take it in a direction I didn't expect. Well played.When I reviewed "Terms of Enlistment" I advised that you should scoop it up before he wasn't novels at Indy any more. Here's my tip now - scoop up the series before his numbers dictate fresh novels at 15 bucks.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire (Frontlines Book 5) []  2020-1-6 18:53

    As I've stated in my earlier reviews I suckered myself into this series and I'm still impressed with Mr. Kloos's writing. If I have anything I want with the series it's that I want he'd more with the social/economics of the globe because he does have some interesting insights. Having said/wished that we're now watching Andrew invade Mars to save Earth and humankind. Something that I like in this one is we're finally seeing the Lankey's use more than just "brute" bulk. Having said that I'm not impressed by the lack of intelligence by humankind. Given the growth of UAVs in our time period I'd expect human's to have had better control of the air and the intel capability there. I'd also expect the humans to have figured out clean methods to have cleared the Lankey minefields out to insert their own satellites and that 1/2mvsquare is the method to slay Lankey's (please, a easy formula that works great. I'd expect amazing reliance on mechanized cars since they have the ability to carry weapons that are guarantee Lankey assassins be it in the form of rapid fire 76mm, 90mm, or 105mm or even 120mm guns). Having said that and seen the limited use of armor in this novel and the lack of intel (past what Andrew learns and brings forward) makes me wonder about humankind. Having said taht I do have fun reading about Andrew and have to say this was a amazing "first attempt" at Mars, looking forwrd tot he next in the series. I'm also hoping that Mr. Kloos has humankind doing research on the Lankey bodies to determine the proper ammunition to bring to the party next time.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields Of Grace [Studio Series Performance Track] []  2020-1-31 9:27

    Amazing melody as always by BDW,. Obtain all BDW cds if you can, there all good. blah blah blah blah.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields Of Grace [Studio Series Performance Track] []  2020-1-31 9:27

    I thought to myself. I have a three hour drive ahead of me and I wish something fresh to listen to. I saw this Album, "Fields of Grace ~ Huge Daddy Weave." I'm thinking to myself, who are they. I'll pick it up and if I don't like it I will return it.Well after the first few songs, I was hooked. Now, I'm trying to search more by eat Album

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Years in the Klondike and Alaskan Gold-fields (1898) []  2020-4-1 19:46

    Since I have been to Skagway and Whitehorse, I found this book very interesting. I followed along the trail they took to the Yukon on a map and enjoyed the fact that I have seen the same landscape although over a hundred years later. (Not much has changed) The author does give a lot of info about other miners and their successes and failures, it is still interesting to know gold was actually within simple reach. Read about the other expenses that created it unprofitable though.I must say the author would be considered very racist in this day and age. His opinion of the native people is very low. He does not see their point of view from a culture old as the latest ice age. This part of the story might offend so beware.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Years in the Klondike and Alaskan Gold-fields (1898) []  2020-4-1 19:46

    Much valuable info here and hero description is ok. However the author does grind on incessantly about panning results of different areas and locations suspected of having gold. I found myself skipping a lot of pages of his repeating the same thing too a lot of times.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Years in the Klondike and Alaskan Gold-fields (1898) []  2020-4-1 19:46

    I've read tons of gold rush style books and this was one of the best. Well written and a gripping story. Even though it was written a long time ago obviously for gold seekers it's still an simple read today. The hardships the gold rushers endured are amazing.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Years in the Klondike and Alaskan Gold-fields (1898) []  2020-4-1 19:46

    This book is a fascinating first-hand acc of a two-year trip to the Yukon River valley's gold fields being discovered and initially developed at the end of the 19th century. Young but experienced William Haskell and his best mate and partner set off for Alaska in 1896, just prior to the large Klondike gold strike which started the fabled stampede north in 1898. He is an eye witness to the stampede! The primitive conditions, private deprivations, and extremes of environment they experienced are nothing short of incredible. Haskell is a surprisingly amazing writer. The book was obviously written as a combination memoir and travel tutorial for contemporaries contemplating the trip north. I highly recommend it to anyone with an interest in Alaska, the Canadian Northwest, and/or the Alaska Gold [email protected]#$%!& will leave you with a sense of awe regarding the ability of people to struggle and survive versus incredibly brutal note - I read the Kindle ver of the book. It is obviously a scan of the original book with very small if any editing. As a result, there are numerous typos. The Kindle ver also lacks the illustrations, etc. Missed the extra material, but I was able to wade through it. Some might search it annoying, but the book is out of print.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Two Years in the Klondike and Alaskan Gold-fields (1898) []  2020-4-1 19:46

    I found it simple to read, engaging and informative. My wife and I had just done a land/sea cruise to Alaska the first week of September and it helped me a lot to picture some of the things the author describes. His descriptions of sights and situations does a amazing job of creating what the eye sees with words. It gets a small long but every time I place it down I found myself wanting to pick it up again and read on - which I did, and am glad I did.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields Of Grace [Studio Series Performance Track] []  2020-1-31 9:27

    I have fun listening to this effort, but it's not my favorite Huge Daddy Weave album. It deviates a small from their defined style, and not in a poor way, but it's just not my favorite because I prefer their style of going massive with instruments besides just guitars.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields Of Grace [Studio Series Performance Track] []  2020-1-31 9:27

    They really came into their best writing later on.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields Of Grace [Studio Series Performance Track] []  2020-1-31 9:27

    As a follow up to their 1st album "One and Only"I can only say that I feel Huge Daddy Weave left a lot of holes on "Fields of Grace". Gone are the soaring sax solos and even the mix has the sax in the background except for the final song. Maybe the mixers at the fresh label don't understand what a "lead solo" sax player is. Think of jazz and the groups of the 60's and 70's., soul and funk and the predominance of horns, not just as backups, but as much soloists as guitars and organs. Their 1st album nailed it. This album leaves them,without the sax-loaded songs and soloing,just another ordinary pop christian group.Even when riffing behind the vocals,the guitars and rhythm are louder than the ing back the horn-- you don't hear enough amazing sax players nowdays. They have one --- use him and mix him properly. Allow your group stand out from the others with its special horn-loaded sound.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Farmers: Interning, Mentoring, Partnering, Germinating []  2019-12-19 18:51

    Husband read this.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire (Frontlines Book 5) []  2020-1-6 18:53

    Fields of Fire, Marko Kloos. I can't praise Marko Kloos enough for this book. It is the best military science fiction work I have read this year. Kloos has written a compelling action packed battle story, with an anti battle message. The globe Kloos creates has depth. The two principle characters Grayson and Haley have a love story that seems true but is not perfect. The method Kloos interweaves the basic battle story and its effects on their relationship has the air of reality. The soldiers in this story take the time to reflect on what they doing. The readers see the horror of battle and no champion choices that are characteristic of conflict. Unlike other military science fiction novels Kloos does not over load his readers with military jargon without explaining what it means. Kloos' Frontlines series has five separate novels in it to date Each book can stand on its own yet each builds on the other. The characters both principle and secondary are written with a complexity that is unusual this type of literature. The one fault with this story and the series in general is the lack of sophistication of the alien Lankys. Aliens that are capable of building star spanning spaceships should have a better war plan than simply running and stomping on their enemies. In this story Kloos tips that the Lankys are adjusting to the method humanity fights. My question is do the humans search this odd? Also why are the Lankys not using hand held weapons or armor? I hope these questions will be addressed in future books

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire (Frontlines Book 5) []  2020-1-6 18:53

    The fifth book in the Frontlines series, Fields of Fire drops us immediately into Humanity's huge push to eradicate the Lanky threat at Earth's ch of the novel is spent in the build-up to assaulting Mars, the current stronghold of the alien Lankies within the solar system. Again Marko Kloos leans on his real-world combat experience to deliver a amazing novel that honestly only has a few Kloos once again expands the globe of Frontlines by bringing in fresh human factions, most notably the Eurocorps, the European Union's fighting force. Although little and previously unseen, Kloos manages to create this fresh faction interesting by showing their various route of approach to warfare as opposed to the North American Commonwealth and the SIno-Russian Alliance, the two biggest factions in the series. It is easily the highlight of the novel, seeing this fresh injection of tech and fighting blood as the clock ticks closer to zero hour for the assault on Mars. And some intriguing turn of happenings shed fresh light on the still highly alien Lankies, giving them slightly more depth as we start to see how their technology functions, and that they are more than just plodding proto-dinosaur aliens that simply charge blindly into the bullets of the main ever, as thrilling as the combat sequences are, I felt that Mr. Kloos spent far too much time focusing on areas that, while they forward the story, seem rather boring and somewhat clumsy. The sequence in Greenland, for example, very much comes off as an attempt to write horror and it stumbles more often than it succeeds. Another flaw is that Mr. Kloos increasingly over-sells the romantic sub-plot between the main hero and his wife Halley. There's one thrilling moment in the romantic plot, however, and I found that singular moment almost more enjoyable than the rest of the novel place together.Once again Mr. Kloos's characterizations and descriptions are massively improved over the first two novels of the series, but he drags his heels somewhat and there's more than a small filler before the main event. However when the War for Mars kicks off, it's hard to turn your eyes away. Mr. Kloos simply needs to work on refining the romantic sub-plot to being less tedious. Again and I mean no offense by it, the romance between Grayson and Halley just feels like a mirror or a podium that Mr. Kloos can climb up on and say how much he loves his actual wife. It just got beautiful l in all, another perfect read with a few flaws that keep what honestly feels like a series book-end back.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields Of Grace [Studio Series Performance Track] []  2020-1-31 9:27

    I love Huge Daddy's music. My favorite song on this particular CD is "Fields of Grace" When I listen to that song I can actually see myself dancing before God in a Field.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Farmers: Interning, Mentoring, Partnering, Germinating []  2019-12-19 18:51

    An Entertaining, straight-talking y thought provoking problems to be aware of b4 entering into any intern or apprentice arrangement (on both sides).I Highly recommend to anyone considering a work-edu exchange:~clarifies a healthy path (to follow and blaze) to maintain clear, begin communication, integrity, and how to manage expectations for mutual benefit and partnering

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Farmers: Interning, Mentoring, Partnering, Germinating []  2019-12-19 18:51

    You may wish to consider reading some of Salatin's other books first. You will appreciate more of what he has to say. However, if you are looking to intern or hire interns or apprentices, of any vocation, this is your book. This is Salad Bar Beef or Pastured Poultry Profits of interning.I have fun farming, agriculture, and environmentalism so this was amazing to curb that appetite. Very personal, and a lot of amazing stories. This is a very niche book, an not what I expected, but well worth owning. I aspire to grow earth healing methods of agriculture, so I am happy to have read this work. I hope Polyface grows to be an institute of higher learning. This brings Joel one step closer, and will add to anyone's farming curriculum.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Farmers: Interning, Mentoring, Partnering, Germinating []  2019-12-19 18:51

    This is the first book I read by Joel Salatin. Unfortunately, I am exactly the type of person this book is not geared toward. I have seen documentaries, talks, and other media by Mr. Salatin and have held his opinion in high regard. While this is mostly still true, being an early 40s mid-career changer, this book is beautiful discouraging overall. The book is specifically geared towards two types of people: young people who wish to learn about and obtain involved in farming, and older farmers looking to pass on their knowledge, and their farms apparently, to a younger generation. If you are one of these, I suppose the book has merit. However, if you are not, then steer clear, for as this book seems to advise, farming is not for you. So, disappointed but undaunted, I continue to use Mr. Salatin's books as research fodder. This one just turned out to be a bust. Contrary to what this book seems to suggest, I still firmly believe anyone can learn to farm if they are willing to create the important sacrifices to do so.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Farmers: Interning, Mentoring, Partnering, Germinating []  2019-12-19 18:51

    Very information. A wealth of knowledge.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire (Frontlines Book 5) []  2020-1-6 18:53

    This is book 5 of the "Frontlines" series, and it is even better than the perfect Book 4. There is much to like here. Firstly, as I have said in other reviews, the aliens in this novel are truly alien, nothing like humans. This is good. We humans have never met aliens and we know nothing about what they might be like. In this series, the aliens are truly alien and appear to treat humans with disdain; regarding us more or less as pests for them to eradicate, unworthy of compassion or any more regard that we humans give to e characterizations in this novel continue to develop as well. Kloos creates characters that the reader will care about and e action in this novel is very good. Too a lot of zone opera novels rapidly turn action scenes into nothing but technobabble, which is essentially a cop-out substitute for an actual plot. You won't search that here. The action is integral to the plot, largely eschews technobabble, and held my interest throughout (not always easy).This one is worthy of a five-star rating for the zone opera genre. RJB.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire (Frontlines Book 5) []  2020-1-6 18:53

    With the lankies controlling the surface of Mars, it's time to take it back. So we place together everything we have including the kitchen sink and go tell tell them we wish our location back. Only one issue The lankieslankies a vote, and they've been paying eat continuation of the series, not much true hero expansions but heroics abound as the Earth forces continue to resist. Again the expansion on current military technology as envisioned100 years in the future with a minimum of fresh tech but plenty of fresh applications makes The whole read believable and a Twist on what happens when the aliens arrive and what they are. On to book 6

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Farmers: Interning, Mentoring, Partnering, Germinating []  2019-12-19 18:51

    I’ve read most of Joel Salatin’s books and I always search creativity and enthusiasm within them. This book – Fields of Farmers – is no e primary premise of the book is for current farmers (or landowners) to begin considering how they can best attract younger people to take on the challenge of healing the land – and figuring out a method to create a amazing living doing it. Salatin spends the first half of the book focusing on the apprentice program he runs at Polyface Farm (in Swoope, Virginia) and the blessings (and occasional disasters) that occur when you turn over vital operations and duties to those who have few such experiences in their lives.But the end sum of Salatin’s book is to nudge the aging landholder (with sledge-like finesse) to think of creative ways to begin up opportunities to others, to broaden the revenue streams possible from a finite piece of land, and thereby begin an expanding operation that can grow according to the talents, inspirations hard work of all the people involved.If you’ve got an orchard, why not run chicken tractors under them, and begin a cider line? YOU don’t have to do it. Your fresh partner can. Salatin’s appeal is an exciting method to structure strategic planning, but it also opens the chance for unexpected opportunities as well.I want a million people would read this book; then if 10-percent of them place Salatin’s words into action, we’d see clusters of home farming operations that would turn the population declines of our rural neighborhoods around. And using Polyface, land-nurturing principles, the blessed ground would be all the better for it for the millennia to come.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Farmers: Interning, Mentoring, Partnering, Germinating []  2019-12-19 18:51

    Joel's heart comes out in an unparalleled appeal for the young and old to lay aside their differences and collaborate towards equipping the next generation of farmers. Joel opens his own farm in a true vulnerable method that serves to drive the notice home. A must read.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire (Frontlines Book 5) []  2020-1-6 18:53

    I thought quite highly of Marko Kloos "Frontlines" series, calling it the best of ground-based mil sci-fi. Somehow, the fifth book in the series raised the bar even further!. It's Earth versus the Lankies in Greenland and on Mars, so for setting alone it is worth reading. But it is not a homogenous "Terran" force but one created up of Americans like Lt. Grayson and his wife Halley and also Russians and a dozens of Europeans; Chinese are fighting the Lankies, too, but out of our sight. Their equipment is advanced but understandable, and Mr. Kloos stays very real to the limitations of the soldiers' arms and e large Lankies are some of the best and most "alien" foes in the genre. We never truly understand them, though the range of their capabilities become a bit more evident in this book. They have taken Mars, trapping our settlers in a number of huge bunkers while the Lanky ver of terraforming is done. Clearly, a Lanky presence there cannot be allowed to remain, so the stakes are never in doubt. The drop ships and SI troopers are needed, but the task is one that may be too ly, the writing is first rate and some of it, particularly at home in Liberty Falls, rises above the genre. A pleasure to read!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Fire (Frontlines Book 5) []  2020-1-6 18:53

    I have just finished the 6th book in the series, so I'm just going to shortly review it as a whole. The writing is good, and I enjoyed the story, audible quality was also good. There is obvious that the writer has military experience, as the atmosphere he creates puts you directly there, on the , why I am giving only 4 stars, is because it always takes too long to obtain to the action, and from one point to another. There is too much descriptive content, and even if it gives you a better view of the globe around, I could easily do without maybe 30% of content. I would like to see a more quick paced content in the next iteration of the series, and also search out more about the aliens. There were years since the 1st contact, and still too small is being known about e series starts from the beginning of a military career and the main character goes slowly up the ladder. He's not your usual main hero around which the fate of the humanity revolves, but instead we're given the recount through the eyes of a survivor of certain key events, and this is a nice change. Oh and yea, the character always looses his rifle...This being said, I'm looking forward to the next book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields Of Grace [Studio Series Performance Track] []  2020-1-31 9:27

    I absolutely love this album because it demonstrates a fresh revelation to much of the church today "grace" and it's real meaning. This group, unlike a lot of Christian groups (but more all the time), understand grace celebrate it in this album. Amazing group! The truth about grace has set me free, and when that happens you have to rejoice.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields Of Grace [Studio Series Performance Track] []  2020-1-31 9:27

    This album is unbelievable from begin to finish. When the track Fields of Grace plays my spirit dances! Amazing album.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Quantum Theory of Fields: Volume 2, Modern Applications (Quantum Theory of Fields Vol. II) []  2020-7-5 18:50

    First, as a lot of reviewers have noted, study Steven Weinberg's volume one before attempting this second with that volume one, this second volume requires undivided attention. Both volumes refer back to each r instance: "it is important that the action should include all possible terms allowed by the assumed symmetries of the theory (here, page 234), also in volume one (page 506). Now, volume one "Is Renormalization Important ? "(page 521) refers to volume two, with info for low-energy Pions. Also, volume one: "a formula like #9.5.64 allows us to derive nonperturbative results by using topological theorems to derive info about the eigenvalues of kernels (page 413), this will be pursued further in volume two. In other words, study both volumes together. Hold two references handy: Hardy's Divergent Series (referenced page 294), regarding Borel Transformation and the 1980 MIT Volumes, Encyclopedia of Mathematics (referenced on page 238), regards De Rham Cohomology. These references are useful, whether or not you study Steven Weinberg ! Now, more Weinberg words of wisdom:(1) "There is today a widespread view that interacting quantum field theories that are not asymptotically free, like quantum electrodynamics or the scalar field theory with phi-four interaction, are not mathematically consistent; fortunately, the question of whether a theory is asymptotically for some finite range of coupling constants can be settled by perturbative calculations." (page 138).(2) "it is possible that the quarks and gluons exhibit some fresh kind of interaction at energy scale much larger than the scale characteristic of quantum chromodynamics." (page 153).(3) "Spontaneous symmetry breaking actually occurs only for systems that are infinitely large." (page 164).(4) "Spontaneously broken local symmetries do not lead to Goldstone Bosons." (page 172).(5) "Effective field theories provide the most convenient way for working out the consequences of symmetries and the general principles underlying quantum field theory." (page 209).(6) "As has happened earlier (dispersion relations and Feynman's diagrammatic rules) the effort to bypass quantum field theory led to valuable general results, but results that can be understood as general properties of quantum field theory." (page 252).(7) "A superconductor is simply a material in which the electromagnetic gauge invariance is spontaneously broken." (page 332).(8) " This feature of superconductivity, that a Goldstone Boson forms for an beautiful potential--however weak the potential may be--is a consequence of the existence of a Fermi surface, which enhances long-range effects."(page 351).It is interesting to note that the efficacy of Steven Weinberg's approach is that the methodology which he embraces serves the student for a lot of a year, that is, a lot of a year past any 'required' coursework. From General Relativity to Cosmology to Quantum Mechanics, finally, Quantum Field Theory--I have benefited enormously from his should you !

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Quantum Theory of Fields: Volume 2, Modern Applications (Quantum Theory of Fields Vol. II) []  2020-7-5 18:50

    Perfect book!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Quantum Theory of Fields: Volume 2, Modern Applications (Quantum Theory of Fields Vol. II) []  2020-7-5 18:50

    I have found this text extremely useful as a tutorial to the essentials of modern renormalization theory, as well as modern quantization techniques for Non-abelian gauge theories. The chapter on extended field configurations is nice, though it is meant as an overview and tutorial to the literature. What I like most about this volume is the discussion of experimental or phenomenological problems that complements a lot of of the discussions. He has a broad base of knowledge in particle physics, as well as field theory. If you don't have volume 1, obtain that first.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Quantum Theory of Fields: Volume 2, Modern Applications (Quantum Theory of Fields Vol. II) []  2020-7-5 18:50

    without peer

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Quantum Theory of Fields: Volume 2, Modern Applications (Quantum Theory of Fields Vol. II) []  2020-7-5 18:50

    Before Weinberg's books, a typical graduate student in theoretical physics would study the standard textbooks (e.g. Itzykson-Zuber, Peskin-Schroeder) to pass QFT courses. When confronted with actual research problems, he would explore that all he has learned is how to do calculations in perturbation theory, that he is unfamiliar with a host of ideas and techniques that are widely used in the present-day research literature and that he has to resort to original papers and reviews to learn them.Weinberg's three-volume set drastically changed this situation, giving the most authoritative and complete presentation of QFT to appear in a textbook. Although it is not suitable for beginning graduate students, it is invaluable for covering all these subjects that are typically omitted in QFT courses and for providing valuable insight missing from other e highlight of the set is Volume 2, which contains most subjects where Weinberg has created his own invaluable contributions. In his inimitable style, Weinberg tutorials us through the amazing developments in QFT from the 1960's to the 1980's, including most subjects that are essential for a working knowledge of modern QFT. The presentation is crystal clear throughout and every subject is presented in as much detail as it deserves. In particular, the chapters on spontaneously broken symmetries are simply masterpieces, the treatment of anomalies is the most complete ever, while the chapter on extended objects is a thorough overview of an ever-expanding subject. This book is a must for everyone working on theoretical physics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Quantum Theory of Fields: Volume 2, Modern Applications (Quantum Theory of Fields Vol. II) []  2020-7-5 18:50

    If you wish to understand QFT deeply, don't look elsewhere. Just read this (and the first volume).

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Quantum Theory of Fields: Volume 2, Modern Applications (Quantum Theory of Fields Vol. II) []  2020-7-5 18:50

    This book has some of the most exquisite expositions on the theoretical aspects of quantum field theory that you are ever likely to run into, i.e. Weinberg's name is literally stamped on every page for brilliance. There are subjects treated here that are not likely to be found anywhere else, for instance Batalin-Vilkovisky Quantization. Weinberg's treatment of the proof of renormalizability is compact and yet very readable. And his chapter on anomalies is simply speaking the authortiative treatment. This book is a must have for anyone interested in the more theoretical aspects of Field Theory. Though I would recommed a few months with Peskin & Schroeder, and volume 1 of Weinberg to obtain the full flavour of Weinberg's treatment.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    The Quantum Theory of Fields: Volume 2, Modern Applications (Quantum Theory of Fields Vol. II) []  2020-7-5 18:50

    Very Good!

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Blood: Religion and the History of Violence []  2020-1-29 10:13

    Karen Armstrong should not need another introduction. She left behind her life as a Roman Catholic nun to devote a lifetime studying globe religion, and she becomes one of the greatest religious scholars that has ever lived in the process. She is now, in her own words, a "freelance monotheist", and it is reflected in her careful, respectful and unbiased method of writting on every various religion. This book is another testament on this deep care and her range of knowledge on the topic matter. Fields of Blood seemingly discusses every single violence conducted in the name of religion, from ancient societies like the Summerians, the Assyrians, the Egyptians, the Greeks, Zoroastrians, Confucian, to the Abraham religion and the a lot of religions in the Sub Continent, to the era of first secular states (the US and post-revolution France), until the rise of Zionism, the current "war on terror" era and the most latest rise of ISIS. Within this scope, she masterfully narrated on the politics, the struggles and the social interactions in each one of those eras, and explains us the gradual and intricate evolution of religion from the time religion, state and everyday lives have not been separated yet, into the religion as we know it e book is so full of info and so airtight, however, that it can sometimes feel a small too complicated and unecessarily detailed. But I believe it is not meant to be memorised but rather to give us the huge picture of how massively complex religious evolution always, Ms Armstrong focused on the historical facts rather than the mystics or the folklores, and thus some may search the revelation in the book unsettling, such as the degree of editing the Bible experienced, or how Islamic Hadits were conveniently tailored, or the mysterious discovery of questionable scrolls containing the teachings of Moses for the Jews, despite the fact that during Moses' time in 8th century BC teachings were taught verbally rather than in writting - all of which have 1 underlying purpose: to match the rulers' political needs at the time. And this is the central thesis of the book, where all violence that are conducted in the name of religion are all ultimately man made. And the scripture-based justification that comes with them are nothing short of a political doctrine, not much various than the atheist doctrines by Hitler, Stalin and Karen Armstrong herself puts it "terrorism is fundamentally and inherently political, even when other motives—religious, economic, or social—are involved. Terrorism is always about "power—acquiring it or keeping it." And so, according to one of the pioneering experts in the field, "all terrorist organizations, whether their long-term political aim is revolution, national self-determination, preservation or restoration of the status quo, or reform, are engaged in a struggle for political power with a government they want to influence and replace."" Indeed, our main focus when it comes to religious violence should not be the religion, but what have happened in that specific occurance that made violence in the name of religion. And to that end, learning from this book, there seems to be a pattern where all root causes of violence eventually come from these 4 stages: 1. A group of minority are treated unfairly or even oppressed 2. A leader emerged among them to war for their cause, which originally preach non-violence 3. Only to be crushed by those in power, pushing them further into the edge and force them to be radical 4. And so they begin their radical offensives, justifying their violent acts by (mis)quoting their Holy Book and fitting their oppressor into their doctrine (i.e. Infidels, the devil, etc).Karen Armstrong then elaborate, "the claim that the basic motivation of a terrorist action is political may seem obvious—but not to those who seem determined to regard such atrocious acts of violence as merely "senseless." A lot of of that view, not surprisingly, search religion, which they regard as a byword for irrationality, to be the ultimate cause." Questioning which religion is more violent than the other is, therefore, completely missing the point. Although she did admit that "this, of course, is not to deny that religion has often been implicated in terrorist atrocities." But nevertheless, "it is far too simple to create it a scapegoat rather than trying to see what is really going on in the world." There are thousands more words that can be written in this review, with thousands specific examples can be derived from this book. It is indeed the hardest review I've written so far, simply because there are so a lot of amazing things about the book, and so a lot of necessary points that I wish to cover but could not possibly fit them all in just one short review. It is definitely one of my top 10 books to read to understand how the globe really works. It is trully a masterpiece.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Blood: Religion and the History of Violence []  2020-1-29 10:13

    Karen Armstrong seeks to respond the claim that “religion has been responsible for more war, oppression, and suffering than any other human institution.” Her answer? “More than what?”Before the creation of the nation-state, Armstrong suggests that people thought about politics in a religious way. In fact, without professional armies, “society would either have remained in a primitive state or would have degenerated into ceaselessly warring hordes.” She reaches these conclusions in almost 400 pages sourced by over a thousand footnotes and thirty pages of bibliographic mstrong begins with human society as farmers and herdsmen. Violence and coercion was the heart of human existence, often ritualized by animal sacrifice. Herdsmen discovered life was easier when they raided and stole from the farmers. Leaders became and retained their position by violence and by issuing ‘laws’ that helped them retain their position. Warfare became a part of “life, central to the political, social, and economic dynamics” of society. Society remained harsh really until only the latest few hundred years – and it remains harsh in those parts of the globe where religion and politics have not been truly ’s a amazing read. Not an simple read, but a amazing one.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fundamental Forces of Nature:The Story of Gauge Fields []  2020-6-30 18:50

    This book is a sweeping overview and historical perspective of Standard-Model Physics. All interaction is based on Gauge Fields which themselves are consequences of local symmetry postulates. Some parts of the book, such as the historical background sections can be enjoyed by any reader interested in this most fundamental of all the sciences, Physics. Other parts, such as the chapter on Yang-Mills fields are best appreciated by someone who already has some primary particle physics training. I greatly enjoyed this book and its clear exposition of the fundamental concepts we currently use to create a model of reality.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Blood: Religion and the History of Violence []  2020-1-29 10:13

    This ambitious work purports to examine "religion and the history of violence." I would recommend it for more than that, however. For its first 10 chapters (spanning the very beginnings of civilization to 1914), the book functions as a worthy introduction to globe history for those who don't have the time to devote to the Durants' multi-volume "Story of Civilization." Yes, you do need to know a small about globe history for this book to create sense, but anyone in college or later should be able to integrate it into their mstrong's overall politics are clearly left-liberal, but she manages to fairly describe the role of religion in the majority of human history, when a sacred context was sought for all human activity. She describes how Western Enlightenment philosophers and European politicians turned religion into a personal location of inner beliefs and rarely action -- and then loses interest in the West. The latest three chapters focus almost exclusively on the Middle East and South Asia as a sort of rebuttal to the received wisdom of unthinkingly pro-Western elites like Thomas Friedman and the early Andrew Sullivan.I frankly do not have time here to grapple with all the worthy arguments created in this book, although I have decided to join the discussion group at my father's church that reads one chapter a week, and may well use the book for a future discussion group at my own church. Armstrong's insight into the human condition is captured by this paragraph from the Afterword:"John Locke believed that the separation of church and state was the key to peace, but the nation-state has been far from war-averse. The issue lies not in the multifaceted activity that we call 'religion' but in the violence embedded in our human nature and the nature of the state, which from the begin needed the forcible subjugation of at least 90 percent of the population. As Ashoka discovered, even if a ruler shrank from state aggression, it was impossible to disband the army. The Mahabhrata lamented the dilemma of the warrior-king doomed to a life of warfare. The Chinese realized very early that a degree of force was essential to civilized life. Ancient Israel tried initially to escape the agrarian state, yet Israelities soon discovered that much as they hated the exploitation and cruelty of urban civilization, they could not live without it; they too had to become 'like all the nations.' Jesus preached an inclusive and compassionate kingdom that defied the imperial ethos, and he was crucified for his pains. The Muslim ummah began as an alternative to the jahili injustice of commercial Mecca, but eventually it had to become an empire, because an absolute monarchy was the best and perhaps the only method to hold the peace. Modern military historians agree that without professional and responsible armies, human society would either have remained in a primitive state or would have degenerated into ceaselessly warring hordes."The latest sentence seems especially appropriate for Memorial Day -- we really do owe it all to the troops. Armstrong's latest few chapters, particularly chapter 10, perfectly summarize how while a lot of things have gotten better as a effect of the Enlightenment and the Industrial Revolution, other things have gotten worse. The latest three chapters argue that people in developing countries, especially those where the US is conducting military operations, owe their misery to the West and that we therefore reciprocally owe them some interest in their welfare and right to develop, according to the tenets of every religion in history. This sweeping review of the history of warfare, religion, and their relationship belongs on the bookshelf of anyone with an interest in these topics.

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Blood: Religion and the History of Violence []  2020-1-29 10:13

    Review of Karen Armstrong's Fields of Blood: Religion and the History of Violenceby Jerry WoolpyThe thesis is that secular movements and nations co-opt religion to help aggression within their countries and abroad; and that all major religions, Hindu, Jewish, Christian, Muslim, Confucius, Buddhist, Sikh and others have reacted strongly versus militarism and for neighborliness. In fact most religious movements are founded on preachments versus violence. Starting with our evolution from hunter gatherers to agrarians, conflict over land and then industrial materials has been the basic cause of exploitation and war. By a comprehensive overview of archaeological and historical evidence Armstrong argues versus the claim that religion, properly understood in the terms of its founders and serious practitioners, has not been the casus belli. In fact it has been quite the one of her most convincing lines of evidence she traces the history of Islam from its inception, through the Crusades, Byzantium, the Ottomans, the arbitrary national divisions created by the colonial-imperial allies after WWI, the founding of Israel after WWII, and Osama bin Laden. She vindicates the Islamic faith and otherwise explains jihad as predominately chauvinistic and secular. Jihad and the ideology of those who would restore the caliphate are largely contradictory to the primary principles of the religion. In fact one of our most feared Islamic traditions, Shariah Law, forbids violence versus civilians and prohibits any attack on a country where Muslims are allowed to practice their religion freely. According to the Quran, Muslims must not strike back but must leave revenge to Allah. Ninety-three percent of those polled by Gallup in thirty-five predominately Muslim countries from 2001 to 2007 condemned the attacks of 9/11 and quoted the Quran to present that the killing of innocent people could have no put in Islam. But, Armstrong concludes her 529 page highly recommended book, "We are all, religious and secularist alike, responsible for the current predicament...There is no state...that has not incurred the taint of the warrior."

    0  


  • 0

    Useful review?

    Fields of Blood: Religion and the History of Violence []  2020-1-29 10:13

    The content of the book has been scholarly conceived. It weaves amicably the actions of individuals as well as societies and belief sets, revealing the similarities of the outcome in the spectrum from goodness to evilness and visa om the book I extracted human nature manifests itself through dozens of actions that are painstakingly justified through a jumble of social, religious and political nclusion, people when perceive threat, existential or otherwise, will react instinctively and justify their justifiable or unjustifiable actions through one of the above or a mixture of the above listed deliveries.

    0  



    Search Cloud

    About us

    Use our product reviews finder and generate tons of ratings & opinions on any item, shop product or service. Search, read and publish reviews for brands, TV shows, ebooks, gadgets, video games, meals, music, household items or movies. Would you like to rate recently purchased thing? Go ahead! Express satisfaction or sadness, describe own experience & identify strengths and weaknesses of the product. Write short or detailed review with a few clicks.

    Community

    Publish review of any item you find here, registration is not required
    Share own experience, point out the pros and cons, warn or recommend
    Search for opinions on any item, product or service, read tons of reviews

    Contact

    www.add-reviews.com

    Use contact form to reach us or write a message via email:

    [email protected]

    Describe your problem, share ideas or report a bug on the site.

    https://add-reviews.com/
    0856-458-386